Best Sellers New Arrivals Local Events Locations Gift Cards My Account Advanced Search

Staff Favorites

If you’re going to have Robert Parker or Stephen Tanzer over for dinner, selecting a wine they’ve rated highly will be a nice choice. However, when you’re buying wines for yourself, we’d love to see you find wines that match up your unique palate and pocketbook. We have a large staff of friendly and knowledgeable wine professionals that taste hundreds of wines each week. They can put you in touch with bottles that you are likely to love, often at a much lower cost than the highly-rated gems that often see a run-up in price and frequent availability issues. Like any great group of opinionated professionals, our staff has varied tastes themselves. Often our customers will find a particular staff member with a style that corresponds to their own. That concept works extremely well in our retail stores, and this section is our effort to bring you the same online. Don’t get us wrong, we love the highly rated wines from the press and will continue to offer them, but we think you’re missing out if you’re not augmenting those selections with picks from our excellent staff. Here are their favorites. (Click on a name to see their other selections - or to drop them a line.) Cheers!

Reviews

Page: 1 2 3 next >>
1984 Caol Ila 34 Year Old "Old Particular" K&L Exclusive Single Barrel Cask Strength Single Malt Scotch Whisky (750ml)
Reviwer Picture By: David Othenin-Girard | Review Date: 12/11/2018 | Send Email
I literally said the word, "holy sh*t" under my breath when I first tasted this special cask. Now we're no strangers to old Caol Ila, in fact we seek it out like blood hounds. Why? Because it's one of the only old Islay heavy hitters that's available at semi-reasonable prices. Well, that's technically not true. All but this one very special source have dried up or becoming so prohibitively expensive that they effectively don't exist in our world. It's true that last year we bottled a sister cask to this one and for $25, but this whisky is in a whole other league. That's not to imply that that special whisky was a slouch by any means and the appreciation is relatively minimal compared to other casks. Stocks similar to the '83 Signatory 30 year we bottled 5 years ago (retail $300) would now retail for at least $1000. Old bottles from that same period are still selling around the world for around $700. If you're lucky you might find the bottlers current release in Europe for $500+ and the distillery releases a 35 Year, which commands upwards of $1000 as well. But this whisky is more than just a good deal. It's an absolute star. The first little moment the whisky hits your glass you're blasted with massive billowing smoke. As it aerates it begins to offer some more nuance - lemon skins scorched in a pile of burning spices, the embers of a fire on an Islay beach - the smells of the bay, dried seaweed, and fresh peat burning in homes over the hill. On the palate this thing just about cuts you in half. Sooty bold peat, oyster shell, brine, tangy lemon rind, ashen embers of expensive incense. The finish is long and lingering. Too long to calculate as it forces another sip. Normally I'd recommend avoiding water on something this old, but the beast can handle it. With just the tiniest drop of water, the whole package coalesces. Salted fruits, cured meats, smoked salty fish, high end nori, sweet Meyer lemon. On the palate the water actually brings the oily texture out revealing and almost thick mouth feel that coats every taste bud and drowns it in sooty sea spray and sweet citrus front. An absolute star that probably deserves to be much more expensive, but I'll hesitate to anoint it with the term, value. Just too good to be ignored.
Price: $375.00 Add To Cart

1984 Caol Ila 34 Year Old "Old Particular" K&L Exclusive Single Barrel Cask Strength Single Malt Scotch Whisky (750ml)
Reviwer Picture By: William Beare | Review Date: 12/11/2018 | Send Email
Attention lovers of peat: line up and hold out your glasses! Drinking this beautifully aged Caol Ila is like stepping in to a meat smoker for a light nap. The age here is not so much adding the overt sweetness found in other well-matured peaters, but instead a savory, meaty richness to the healthy dose of smoke you get right at the front of the palate. The salinity comes in similar barbeque fashion-- like a salt-cured rack of pork ribs, lightly coated in a sweet and spicy honey glaze. In the typical line-up of Islay scotches, this Caol Ila stands out in a beacon of light. Fascinating, exotic, and deeply pleasing to drink.
Price: $375.00 Add To Cart

2016 d'Arenberg "The Stump Jump" Shiraz McLaren Vale
Reviwer Picture By: Neal Fischer | Review Date: 12/11/2018 | Send Email
This is a killer value on great Australian Shiraz! The wine touches on a bunch of palate points and exhibits wonderful complexity. There's juicy dark fruits like blackberry and plum, earthy spice, with just enough acidity and tannin to provide solid structure and balance. This could easily become your next favorite everyday red wine.
Price: $9.99 Add To Cart
WS 90

1988 Bunnahabhain 30 Year Old "Old Particular" K&L Exclusive Single Refill Butt Cask Strength Single Malt Scotch Whisky (750ml)
Reviwer Picture By: William Beare | Review Date: 12/11/2018 | Send Email
Really, truly, exceptionally good whiskey triggers sense memories for me. The first sip of this heavenly liquid lifted me out of my seat and set me strolling down a New Orleans side street, stopping- transfixed- to watch through a window as pralines were made. Gooey, richly colored caramel and pecan laddled with perfect precision onto waiting sheets of wax paper. Drinking this scotch is like all at once being the praline and watching the process. You feel in every taste bud, at every stage, the perfect balance between earthy smoke, warm, bubbling brown sugar and nutty, almost saline savories. Sweetness on the front-- nutty on the back. Though the high price tag might give you pause, rest assured that Scotch of this quality and pedigree could easily fetch twice what you could bring it home for today.
Price: $275.00 Add To Cart

Old Forester K&L Exclusive Single Barrel #0755 (Warehouse H, Floor 7) Straight Kentucky Bourbon Whisky (750ml)
Reviwer Picture By: Shaun Green | Review Date: 12/11/2018 | Send Email
Fantastic old school Bourbon, the kind we remember drinking in the past! Dry and creamy with wonderful smoky wood, notes of spice a nice smooth mid palate and fine finish. This is how Bourbon used to be and I love it!
Top Value!
Price: $39.99 Add To Cart

2016 d'Arce, Côtes de Castillon
Reviwer Picture By: Steve Bearden | Review Date: 12/11/2018 | Send Email
This is only the third vintage of this wine and since we have carried all three I can safely say it has quickly become one of the most elegant wines of the Cotes de Castillon appellation, an area known more for richness than finesse. Although this has a slightly darker profile than other vintages it is still primarily red fruited with hints of spice and toast. This shows amazing poise and pedigree for an under $20 bottle and is delicious to drink right now.

2015 Eric Kent "1 KM West" Sonoma Coast Chardonnay
Reviwer Picture By: Steve Bearden | Review Date: 12/11/2018 | Send Email
This is toasty and bright with just a whiff of a tropical profile before the ripe apple and pear flavors take hold. The acidity is well integrated and there is plenty of weight and texture to counterbalance the oak and ample fruit. This is a bargain for the style and stops well short of being at all over the top.
Price: Hidden View Price
WS 92

2013 Poggiarellino Brunello di Montalcino
Reviwer Picture By: Mike Parres | Review Date: 12/11/2018 | Send Email
Wow! Is what I first wrote down as this exploded on my palate, this has a lot more Montalcino in the glass than past years. Dark fruit, leather, terroir and good tannin structure, balanced with acidity, this is Brunello at its best!!! It reminds me of the 2007, that’s still in my cellar. A wine to buy for long term, will age over the next Five to Ten years.
Price: $34.99 Add To Cart
WE 93

1990 Bruichladdich "Black Art - Edition 6.1" 26 Year Old Islay Single Malt Whisky (750ml)
Reviwer Picture By: Andrew Whiteley | Review Date: 12/11/2018 | Send Email
Glorious. An amazing array of flavors and decidedly the kind of whisky you can spend all night dissecting. The complexity of cask selection indeed speaks to the blender's Black Arts. The whole comes together in such a seamless way that it is very difficult to describe and pick out individual components. It is clear that there is a fair influence of wine casks of various types. Sherry of all persuasions seem to meld together with sweet red notes of the finest French reds of Burgundy and Bordeaux. The liquid is honeyed, nutty, and laden with fruits both fresh and dry. While I tend to enjoy whisky on its own, I would love to tuck into a bottle with a smorgasbord of cheese and charcuterie. It's fantastic by itself, but it calls out for food in a way that I rarely experience in whisky. Want to build a cozy holiday dinner around a dram with your closest friends? This is the bottle to do it with.
Price: $399.99 Add To Cart

2014 Helen's Hill "Range View Reserve" Pinot Noir Yarra Valley Victoria
Reviwer Picture By: Cameron Price | Review Date: 12/11/2018 | Send Email
If someone asked for a Burgundy style Pinot Noir from anywhere but Burgundy, this is what I'd recommend. Coming from the single 'Pommard' clone, the vines are planted atop Helen's Hill overlooking the Yarra Valley taking in all the necessary sunlight for ripeness. For Pinot Noir that means not too much sunlight, as these vines are on a the east side of the hill shaded from the harshness of the afternoon sun but do see a fare amount of weather making these the ultimate hardy vines comparable to those in Burgundy. At $25 this wine is outstanding. Big, earthy fruit and solid herbaceousness and soothing freshness composes a stand out in the 'New World' Pinot game.
Price: $24.99 Add To Cart
JH 96

1996 Tobermory 22 Year Old "Old Malt Cask" K&L Exclusive Single Barrel Cask Strength Single Malt Scotch Whisky (750ml)
Reviwer Picture By: Andrew Whiteley | Review Date: 12/11/2018 | Send Email
Salty like ramen noodles. Malty like a vanilla shake. Spicy like a ginger snap. This is a very special whisky from a refill butt that combines freshness and maturity. It is beautiful golden straw in color like a fine Manzanilla sherry and has the zip to match. But on the palate it's a super rich compilation of citrus, ginger, vanilla, caramelized sugar, and just a touch of fresh cut hay. Long and lingering the finish reminds me of standing on a foggy beach wrapped in a warm jacket watching a storm roll in. You can smell the salt, the seaweed, the cold wind carrying the notes of some far off island. It's beautiful.
Price: $89.99 Add To Cart

2014 Helen's Hill "First Light" Pinot Noir Yarra Valley Victoria
Reviwer Picture By: Cameron Price | Review Date: 12/11/2018 | Send Email
This wine is a steal at only $24.99 offering $60 value. This wine shines gorgeous medicinal cherry notes with savory herbs of Thyme and Rosemary and would be perfect with any gamey holiday meals you plan to serve this season. This wine stems off of Helen Hill MV (Master Vine) cuttings of the original Clos Veugeot vines in Burgundy and the current release was planted in 1980. These old vines give a beautiful concentrated Pinto Noir that will definitely impress and definitely won't last on the shelf for long.
Price: $24.99 Add To Cart
JH 95

Somerset Cider Brandy Co. 10 Year Old Apple Brandy (750ml)
Reviwer Picture By: Andrew Whiteley | Review Date: 12/11/2018 | Send Email
Incredibly intense in comparison to the 5 year old. This 10 year old brandy retains a huge amount of mouth watering acidity. The final result is a satisfying and dangerously easy to drink rich and mature apple brandy. The same beguiling complex mineral drive of the 5 year is still present and enveloped by a velvety robe of fresh and wild apple varieties. It has a flinty component that is unique to these brandies. I daresay a spectacular terroir is responsible for it without having seen it myself. It offers both the freshness of biting into an apple plucked from the tree and enjoying the complex and earthy tones of cooked fruits baked in a pie.
Price: $49.99 Add To Cart

Somerset Cider Brandy Co. 5 Year Old Apple Brandy (750ml)
Reviwer Picture By: Andrew Whiteley | Review Date: 12/11/2018 | Send Email
Robust and very apply. This is a slam dunk for any cocktail calling for Apple brandy of any type. It's smooth and refined enough to play as Calvados and has enough apple kick to be Applejack. It just so happens to be inexpensive due to our direct relationship with the producer, so you can basically do whatever you please with it and not feel guilty! It's also fantastic on it's own. I prefer it over ice as an aperitif. There is a strong mineral component that provides a shocking amount of complexity for only being 5 years old.
Price: $36.99 Add To Cart

1988 Bunnahabhain 30 Year Old "Old Particular" K&L Exclusive Single Refill Butt Cask Strength Single Malt Scotch Whisky (750ml)
Reviwer Picture By: David Othenin-Girard | Review Date: 12/11/2018 | Send Email
Few whiskies will match the majestic complexity of old Bunnah in sherry. The fact that it's in second fill makes it that much more special. Imagine where this butt might have been 18 years before it was filled a second time in 1988, probably in some old bodega's oloroso solera dating back decades. So a refill cask from the 80s was likely coopered originally sometime around the first world war. The nearly century long journey of that barrel to be our suppliers warehouse and eventually to your glass make this bottle particularly interesting. But ultimately, it's the destination that makes it truly special. The otherworldly flavors the emanate from the glass are completely bewitching. A complex stew of dark fruit, exotic woods (particularly sandalwood and mahogany), burnt orange peel and this wonderful strange exotic salt. On the palate is rich but not stewed or thick. Tons of bold spice and no bitterness even after 30 years. The lowish proof feels somehow like a benefit for once, but DO NOT add water as it's in perfect balance right out of the bottle - a drop of water creates and interesting change in the nose but breaks the delicate palate. A truly distinguished old Islay unlike any other we've ever sold and not likely to be repeated ever again.
Price: $275.00 Add To Cart

Old Forester K&L Exclusive Single Barrel #0755 (Warehouse H, Floor 7) Straight Kentucky Bourbon Whisky (750ml)
Reviwer Picture By: Andrew Whiteley | Review Date: 12/11/2018 | Send Email
This is one of the richest barrels of Old Forester we have had the pleasure of selling. It's sweet and full bodied and deeply spicy all at the same time. The brown sugar notes are off the charts. The nose and palate are both full of sweet wood spices, tobacco leaf, creme brulee, and toffee. The tannins are super fine and bring in an earthy and savory component that keeps everything lined up. Vanilla and cream abound on the finish. All in all, this is a perfect classic bourbon. Rich and smooth, a delight to sip.
Price: $39.99 Add To Cart

1988 Bunnahabhain 30 Year Old "Old Particular" K&L Exclusive Single Refill Butt Cask Strength Single Malt Scotch Whisky (750ml)
Reviwer Picture By: Andrew Whiteley | Review Date: 12/11/2018 | Send Email
Unquestionably one of the finest bottles we have ever sold. The specs are flawless. The price, while high, is an absolute steal. The deep mahogany color entrances you from the get-go. You don't even have to lift the glass to your nose to be hit with the sweet smell of cream, roasted pecans, caramelized sugar, and a faint sherry rancio note. Dive in and the full sensual glory of toffee, apple pie, and caramels fills you with joy. After you come to, you might lift the glass to your mouth and let the richness of the spirit roll over your tongue. An ever-changing array of sweet fruits, damp earth, fresh cream butter, rancio, chocolate, brandied pears cascades down your palate. The finish is dry and spicy with the sweetness of flamed orange peel lingering behind. It's long and clean, endlessly pleasant and certainly of a quality you will not forget.
Price: $275.00 Add To Cart

1984 Caol Ila 34 Year Old "Old Particular" K&L Exclusive Single Barrel Cask Strength Single Malt Scotch Whisky (750ml)
Reviwer Picture By: Andrew Whiteley | Review Date: 12/11/2018 | Send Email
"Buried how long?" Almost 35 years. "You had abandoned all hope of being dug out?" "Long ago." My personal tastes for whisky have changed dramatically over the years. I've at times found myself going gaga over loaded sherry bombs, exalting the finesse of delicate drams, and seeking out the peatiest of peatys. One thing that has been a constant over the last decade of my Scotch drinking life is my affection for well-aged smoke. As heavily peated spirits age the intensity of the smoke falls away into richness and body. It's a particular and special characteristic that cannot be counterfeit or short cut. This specimen is a perfect example of why it is so compelling. I'm not saying this isn't a smoky whisky, it certainly is. It's just also so much more than that. The smoke has become a rich and oily slip'n'slide of flavor. There is a slight brine characteristic to it, not iodine, but a lighter kind of salinity. Sweet malt marries perfectly with a bit of tangy BBQ sauce. The freshness of fruit, once readily apparent in this whisky's younger days has developed into a rich tapestry of salted and cured fruits. A refilled hogshead was undoubtedly the perfect vessel for this whisky, tame enough to stand up to many long seasons in the warehouse, and rich enough to make sure that this whiskey, after many long years in darkness would be "recalled to life."
Price: $375.00 Add To Cart

1988 Bunnahabhain 30 Year Old "Old Particular" K&L Exclusive Single Refill Butt Cask Strength Single Malt Scotch Whisky (750ml)
Reviwer Picture By: Jeffrey Jones | Review Date: 12/11/2018 | Send Email
A mature single malt that is lively and drinking well now. The nose is rich and full with sweet floral and dried fruit aromas. In the mouth it is a delicious nectar with rich malt and dried fruit flavors that are mouth-filling. There is a long finish. It was perfect without added water.
Price: $275.00 Add To Cart

2015 Eric Kent "1 KM West" Sonoma Coast Chardonnay
Reviwer Picture By: Sharon Kelly | Review Date: 12/11/2018 | Send Email
I was first introduced to Kent Humphrey's wines by his sister Renee, when they were just starting out about 15 years ago - they had graciously provided the wines for a mutual friend's wedding dinner. The wines were pretty fabulous right out of the gate and over the years I've continued to be impressed with the quality and integrity that is so evident in his brand. This bottle has ripe apple flavors and a creamy mouthfeel that wraps around the palate with an oak profile that is present but very well-integrated. The acidity is vivid from the first sip through to the finish. Overall, this is a fresh, graceful expression of California Chardonnay.
Price: Hidden View Price
WS 92

5 Sentidos Sierra Negra/Tobala "K&L Exclusive" Mezcal (uncertified) (750ml)
Reviwer Picture By: Neal Fischer | Review Date: 12/11/2018 | Send Email
Is the garden on fire or is it just me? There's something fresh and floral going on here that gets overtaken by a very earthy aroma and some big bad smoke. These characteristics waffle back and forth playfully, so that one second the smoke seems dominant yet then here comes notes of freshly turned soil then flowers, and then back again. The palate offers these flavors and more, adding vanilla, a nice vegetal note, and soft fruits. The finish turns a touch spicy, but that spice cools rapidly leaving a lovely mouth tingle.
Price: $119.99 Add To Cart

Maker's Mark 46 "K&L Exclusive Barrel #905" Private Select Kentucky Bourbon (750ml)
Reviwer Picture By: David Othenin-Girard | Review Date: 12/11/2018 | Send Email
Maker's Mark Private Select is quickly becoming one of our most beloved single barrel programs. We've messed around with several different recipes but this particular mixture of wood types seems to be the sweet spot. Many of our customers have compared these exceptional whiskies to the very best available, if not better. This awesome barrel is just more of the same deliciousness. The incredible, rich, sweet wheat of the cask-strength Maker's is bolstered significantly by the heady vanilla and spice of the various staves. The powerful concoction is balanced on the palate, drinking way below its proof, with absolutely no burn. Instead, a dark roasty coffee bean and stewed tropical fruit keep the spice and caramel in check on the palate. Another slam dunk from the little distillery in Loretto.
Price: $69.99 Add To Cart

Maker's Mark 46 "K&L Exclusive Barrel #905" Private Select Kentucky Bourbon (750ml)
Reviwer Picture By: Neal Fischer | Review Date: 12/11/2018 | Send Email
For the Private Select program, Maker’s Mark lets us choose the stave types going into the barrel for extra maturation. K&L spirits buyers selected a mix of American white oak, extra seared French oak, and a little of the classic Maker’s 46 staves. Bold spice is instantly noticeable with notes of cinnamon, fresh ground pepper, and clove. Then the wash of fresh vanilla bean, creme brulee, and caramel comes through with some fruity elements, most particularly coconut. The different wood types and char levels of the various staves really present themselves on the palate. This bourbon is downright toasty! It has very bold char flavors, a little campfire, burnt marshmallow, and then the coconut comes back all toasted too.
Price: $69.99 Add To Cart

Maker's Mark 46 "K&L Exclusive Barrel #905" Private Select Kentucky Bourbon (750ml)
Reviwer Picture By: Jeffrey Jones | Review Date: 12/11/2018 | Send Email
This is a really good bourbon. In the past few years bourbons with a high wheat content like Pappy Van Winkle have been very much in demand. The Maker's 46 is a bourbon with a high wheat content with added barrel influences. The nose is inviting with an expressive sweetness. In the mouth it is rich, elegant and spicy. There is a nice mouthfeel and a long finish.
Price: $69.99 Add To Cart

2015 Avennia "Valery" Columbia Valley Bordeaux Blend
Reviwer Picture By: Ryan Woodhouse | Review Date: 12/11/2018 | Send Email
A seriously impressive bottle. Explosive aromas of ripe plum, red currant, briary undergrowth, pipe tobacco and wintergreen. Medium to full bodied but not at all heavy or jammy...just perfectly ripe flavors and refined tannins. A wine that really has one foot in Bordeaux and the other in Washington! Avennia's "Valery" (named after the patron saint of St. Emilion, France) pays a fitting homage to the great wines of the right bank. I think this will probably age with the best growths in St. Emilion too...it's a very serious wine that continued to improve and flesh out over three days of tasting.

2012 Bodegas Altanza Lealtanza Reserva Rioja
Reviwer Picture By: Joe Manekin | Review Date: 12/11/2018 | Send Email
We have stocked Lealtanza's wine in the past, and have found the quality to be high, so it's perhaps not a surprise that this wine was the only platinum medal winner in this Fall's Decanter Asia Wine Awards. Produced from 100% Tempranillo, the fruit in this wine is lovely: primarily red, with a combination of fresh and dried fruit profiles on the nose, made more complex by the sort of savory, meaty notes which Rioja invariably picks up after some time in bottle. With its relatively lighter weight tannins and fresh palate profile, this is a Reserva for drinking now and over the next several years.
Price: $24.99 Add To Cart
DC 97

2016 Bodegas Aleanna "El Enemigo" Chardonnay Mendoza
Reviwer Picture By: Joe Manekin | Review Date: 12/11/2018 | Send Email
As I´m sure I have mentioned previously, wines that are scored very highly, particularly relative to their price point, are wines that I inherently judge critically, with a natural skeptic's perspective. That said, two highly enthusiastic reviews here piqued my curiosity, and I must admit...the wine is good. While I'd personally rate it somewhere between the two lower reviews, I do think this is very good Chardonnay for a few reasons: 1.) It's rich, structured and generous but 2.) has plenty of brightness and minerality and 3.) Has the flor factor. It reminds me of my early experiences with Chalone Chardonnay, which is a good thing! Must be something about limestone and decomposed granite (soil types that both Chalone and El Enemigo share..)

2015 Petra Zingari Toscana
Reviwer Picture By: Mike Parres | Review Date: 12/11/2018 | Send Email
The nose is classic"Super Tuscan", ripe cherries and strawberries and a hint of coco powder. On the palate of this medium-bodied wine, you will find the fruit describe above with a touch of minerals and soft tannins, which gives this wine a very lush feel to the palate and has an incredible long finish. Turn down the heat in your house; this will keep you warm on chilly winter evening!
Price: $14.99 Add To Cart
JS 94

2015 Avennia "Gravura" Columbia Valley Bordeaux Blend
Reviwer Picture By: Thomas Smith | Review Date: 12/11/2018 | Send Email
I was so impressed by this wine. Avennia has been on my radar for a while, but this really affirms that Washington State is one of the most exciting regions in the country for quality-driven wines. The Gravura hits all those perfect notes for me. Well-structured with an excellent balance of tannin, fruit and and acid. On the nose I found spice notes with candied cherry and plum, leading to a palate, that is broad and textured, hitting every single corner of the palate. Summing up the taste is a beautiful, slow finish with resonating red fruit tones. A level of quality that is absolutely worth checking out.

2015 Avennia "Valery" Columbia Valley Bordeaux Blend
Reviwer Picture By: Thomas Smith | Review Date: 12/11/2018 | Send Email
A touch more focused and concentrated than the Gravura, and the nose here is definitely St. Emilion-inspired. On the palate this wine is incredibly balanced with tons of graphite and cassis. There is an abundant minerality to this wine that I absolutely love. For me, this wine neatly fits into the category of exceptional Bordeaux blends from unexpected places--not unlike the Rustenberg from South Africa. There is a touch more fruit than you would otherwise find in most Bordeaux, but the level of quality is stunning. You can’t find Bordeaux this well made at this price point. This is well worth the effort of buying a case to stow away in the cellar.

2015 Avennia "Gravura" Columbia Valley Bordeaux Blend
Reviwer Picture By: Ryan Woodhouse | Review Date: 12/11/2018 | Send Email
Avennia is a real staff fave here at K&L where we tend to enjoy wines with a little more elegance and poise that are food friendly and hold up well in the cellar. This is a beautiful wine from this producer that specializes in stunning Bordeaux style blends from Washington state. Highly aromatic with blue fruits, floral tones, cassis, freshly picked mint, cedar and gravelly minerals. Medium bodied with fine grained tannins. Lovely food wine, great focus and purity. Very refined and precise. Great value!

2016 Domaine Petroni Corse Rouge (Corsica)
Reviwer Picture By: Sharon Kelly | Review Date: 12/10/2018 | Send Email
This delectable wine from the Mediterranean island of Corsica has such personality, depth, and versatility! The nose is aromatic with dusty red raspberries and violets; on the palate it is bright and has a hint of spice and white pepper. There is great structure here too, with happy acidity and tannins that gently grip. I love introducing customers to regions that are not typically on their radar and Corsica is the first place I take them.
Price: $13.99 Add To Cart
JD 94

2016 Passopisciaro "Passorosso" Etna Rosso Sicilia
Reviwer Picture By: Thomas Smith | Review Date: 12/10/2018 | Send Email
One word for this wine: wow. Just when I thought I had a hand on Etna wines, this wine came along and blew what I thought I knew out of the water. This is beautiful expression of layered strawberry and cranberry red-fruit notes, accented by crushed black pepper and garrigue. Textured with full, bright acidity and the faintest touches of crackly tannin it can feel like dark, earthy Pinot Noir at one moment and brilliant, cool-climate Syrah at the next. Totally accessible and utterly delicious I can’t even tell you how much I loved this wine. It’s seriously unbelievable.
Price: $31.99 Add To Cart
WE 91

2006 Glenturret 12 Year Old "Old Particular" K&L Exclusive Single Sherry Hogshead Cask Strength Single Malt Scotch Whisky (750ml)
Reviwer Picture By: Jeffrey Jones | Review Date: 12/10/2018 | Send Email
The dark color of this selection provides a hint of what is to come. This Glenturret 12 is rich and round with deep flavors that show sherry barrel influence. Full bodied and creamy, dried fruit and caramel flavors make this a delicious whiskey. Fans of sherry aged whiskeys should love this selection
Price: $74.99 Add To Cart

2016 Chateau de L'Ou "Infiniment" Côtes Catalanes Rouge
Reviwer Picture By: William Beare | Review Date: 12/10/2018 | Send Email
What a fabulous winter-weather cuddle-buddy! This is a great bottle of Syrah that plays to both sides of the aisle. Sophisticated, yet friendly and inviting. Concentrated, without being weighty or sluggish. Right out of the gate big, bold layers of warming black fruit and clove spice burst forth. The pepper and earth that linger through the finish, however, will keep the more old-world Syrah enthusiasts engaged. An all-around crowd-pleaser at a great price.
Price: $24.99 Add To Cart
JD 94

2015 Petra Zingari Toscana
Reviwer Picture By: Greg St. Clair | Review Date: 12/10/2018 | Send Email
The nose of this wine was captivating from the get go, I had expected a innocuous flow of overripe fruit but this wine has an incredible nose full of vibrant, focused fruit character, you can smell the Sangiovese’s cherry like brilliance, the warm cassis of the Merlot and Petit Verdot and the spice from the Syrah. On the palate I was once again a surprised, excellent balance with a lifting acidity that freshens and focuses the fruit array. The flavors are bold yet restrained and the wine has a supple feel across your tongue. The finish is long and persistent, it really holds the flavors for a long time, an excellent wine at a steal of a price.
Drink from 2018 to 2018
Price: $14.99 Add To Cart
JS 94

1995 Craigellachie 22 Year Old "Old Particular" K&L Exclusive Single Sherry Butt Cask Strength Single Malt Scotch Whisky (750ml)
Reviwer Picture By: Jeffrey Jones | Review Date: 12/10/2018 | Send Email
This single malt bottling is a real value. Other single malts that offer this style of whiskey can easily cost much more. It is full bodied and rich with juicy and deep flavors. There is an influence from the sherry barrel aging but it does not dominate and helps give flavor and balance to this offering. There is a nice long finish and it opens up with a splash of water.
Price: $119.99 Add To Cart

2006 Balmenach 11 Year Old "Old Particular" K&L Exclusive Single Barrel Cask Strength Single Malt Scotch Whisky (750ml)
Reviwer Picture By: Jeffrey Jones | Review Date: 12/10/2018 | Send Email
This is from a distillery that we don't get to see often as a single malt bottling. In many ways it is a very pretty whiskey. The nose is really nice with sweet honey and spice aromas. In the mouth the sweetness continues but is balanced out with a pleasant dry finish. With water it opens up and becomes more complex with honey nuances and a dry finish.
Price: $54.99 Add To Cart

1994 Miltonduff 24 Year Old "Old Particular" K&L Exclusive Single Barrel Cask Strength Single Malt Whisky (750ml)
Reviwer Picture By: Jeffrey Jones | Review Date: 12/10/2018 | Send Email
We don't get to see a lot of Miltonduff which is ashamed. It offers a wonderful flavor prospective to the single malt selection at K&L. The nose has bright nice pear fruit like aromas that have wax and honey undertones. In the mouth the entry is sweet, followed with concentrated flavors that have dried fruit nuances. There is a long finish. I thought the Miltonduff 24 was enjoyable with and without an addition of water.
Price: $129.99 Add To Cart

2016 Château de L'Ou "Secret de Schistes" Côtes Catalanes
Reviwer Picture By: John Majeski | Review Date: 12/10/2018 | Send Email
Vine whisperers like Severine Bourrier of Chateau De L'Ou know that vineyards speak a rather earthy vernacular, if we could only hear them: "Quit taking my grapes for granite."....“Why should I root for you, you have a heart of clay!“ .. “Oh yeah, that wasn’t very gneiss of you! I think you’re full of schiste.” “l take that as a compliment, especially coming from you....besides, why should I gravel beneath your opinion?” Ok, you get the tone.... low vigor vines have to conserve their energy, in that a great bottle of wine is the best response to all that thrown dirt. And putting the name of your soil on the label certainly takes pride of place, as Severine's magnificent Syrah powerfully attests. One swirl, one sip and you will know....a symposium of dark fruits, perfumed with violets, sumptuous pepper spice, harmonious woodland notes and supple tannins. A generous wine to slate, excuse me, slake your thirst, from the good earth.
Price: $29.99 Add To Cart
JD 95

2004 Fettercairn 14 Year Old "Old Particular" K&L Exclusive Single Barrel Cask Strength Single Malt Scotch Whisky (750ml)
Reviwer Picture By: Jackson Lee | Review Date: 12/9/2018 | Send Email
A single malt from a distillery that usually goes into blends, I haven’t had a lot of experience with Fettercairn but after this, I wish I had. Amontillado Sherry was the first and most distinguishable note for me but the briney aspect dissipated quickly and was then left with white sage and heavily buttered caramel. That brine stuck through the palate, but just barely as light cola, honey, and whipped cream overran it as it lingered. The finish was short and sweet, not one for long goodbyes.
Price: $59.99 Add To Cart

1996 Bowmore 22 Year Old "Old Malt Cask" K&L Exclusive Single Barrel Cask Strength Single Malt Scotch Whisky (750ml)
Reviwer Picture By: Jackson Lee | Review Date: 12/9/2018 | Send Email
Smelling this dram pulled up an image of a smoked pork shoulder studded with pineapple rings, resting on a bed of spearmint. I’m pretty sure some unintentional noises were made as I sit at my desk, nosing the glass. Had someone been sitting on the other side of the partition, someone could have mistaken that questionable material might’ve been playing on my computer had there not been the sound of keys clacking on the keyboard, particularly when I tasted it. Bright, fruity notes swirled together with a light smoke, reminding me of smoked apples with honeysuckle. The finish was lush and left me with a feeling of euphoria. Great out of the bottle or hit it with a splash of water or an ice cube, a must taste for the Islay loving crowd (and even the ones on the fence).
Price: $149.99 Add To Cart

2004 Fettercairn 14 Year Old "Old Particular" K&L Exclusive Single Barrel Cask Strength Single Malt Scotch Whisky (750ml)
Reviwer Picture By: Jeffrey Jones | Review Date: 12/8/2018 | Send Email
We don't get to see a lot of this wonderful single malt so it is a treat to have some now. This is an elegant single malt with subtle floral and savory aromas. In the mouth it is light with nice sweet notes and floral undertones. Drinkable with out water, additional water opens this Fettercairn up and makes it more soft and easy.
Price: $59.99 Add To Cart

2010 Glen Garioch 8 Year Old "Old Particular" K&L Exclusive Single Barrel Cask Strength Single Malt Scotch Whisky (750ml)
Reviwer Picture By: Jackson Lee | Review Date: 12/8/2018 | Send Email
A scotch for the rum lovers! This 8 year old reeked with notes of agricole: funky banana, grassy, and then the floral jasmine, smoked honey, scotch notes come in to remind you what you’re actually sipping. The flavors were a bit more traditional, straying from the rebel nose notes that almost had me fooled. Sweet cream and a light floral component floated across the palate leaving a warm, tingly sensation on the tongue before fading into a dry finish.
Price: $49.99 Add To Cart

2007 Benrinnes 11 Year Old "Old Particular" K&L Exclusive Single Barrel Cask Strength Single Malt Scotch Whisky (750ml)
Reviwer Picture By: Jackson Lee | Review Date: 12/8/2018 | Send Email
What a lovely little Speyside from Benrinnes. I added a dash of water to my dram as I felt it was a bit tight out of the bottle, but once the water hit, it opened up into honeyed graham cracker, sesame brittle, and dried cedar wood on the nose. The palate mirrored those notes with a wonderful sweetness at the start. The finish was a bit hot but the sweet note prevailed through to the end.
Price: $54.99 Add To Cart

2005 Highland Park 12 Year Old "K&L Exclusive" Refill Sherry Hogshead Cask Strength Single Malt Whisky (750ml)
Reviwer Picture By: Jackson Lee | Review Date: 12/8/2018 | Send Email
I’m not usually the one to tell you how to enjoy your whiskey- neat, water, ice, mixed- as long as you’re enjoying and most importantly, appreciating your spirit, do what you like. With that said: ADD WATER. This bottling is coming in at a big 129 proof and there’s no denying it when you pour it into the glass. It’s hot and tight, not necessarily bad things day to day, but not something I want from my whiskey. After a generous addition of dihydrogen monoxide, the aromas and flavors made themselves more accessible past the alcohol vapor obstruction. Deep black plum, dark chocolate, whole cinnamon sticks, toasted sugar, and Worcestershire sauce saw fit to make themselves known. On the palate, the oak and baking spices were accentuated but sweet butter brown sugar notes also came forward to balance the woody spice. The spices lasted through the finish and departed with a light fruitiness.
Price: $159.99 Add To Cart

2015 Domaine Les Pins Bourgueil Vieilles Vignes
Reviwer Picture By: Morgan Laurie | Review Date: 12/7/2018 | Send Email
Domaine Les Pins is an estate that always churns out fantastic wine with a great price tag. Family run and focused on quality, this old vines Bourgueil is brimming with concentrated fruit. The nose is perfumed and seductive, and while this can be cellared for some time, it's also drinking beautifully now. There's a structure to this that is at once slightly firm but also completely approachable. The tannins have a bit of chew, but the wine itself is soft with ripe fruit easing the firmness of the structure. This a great bottle at an "everyday drinking" price point that feels way more elevated than a $16.99 price point.
Price: $16.99 Add To Cart
WE 91

2015 Domaine de la Janasse Cotes du Rhone Reserve
Reviwer Picture By: William Beare | Review Date: 12/7/2018 | Send Email
This is another absolutely smashing Rhone value! One of the most immediately engaging and pleasing Cotes-du-Rhones I have tried from the 2015 vintage (and if you've been drinking along with me-- you know this is saying A LOT). Right from the opening, this wine welcomes you with arms wide open. Creamy and silky-smooth on the palate, with an awesome bundle of sweet herbs on the finish. The fruit is dominated by fleshy, not-too-sweet strawberry (and a bit of tart cherry) with very light traces of that classic pepper. When that vibrant fruit and soft spice meet, it gives the impression of aerosolized strawberry-pepper preserve-- a beautiful mist you want to live and drink in forever. Grapes are all sourced from a single plot just East of Chateauneuf-du-Pape.
Price: $15.99 Add To Cart
JD 92 JS 90

2015 Domaine de la Janasse Cotes du Rhone Reserve
Reviwer Picture By: Lilia McIntosh | Review Date: 12/7/2018 | Send Email
I think this is the best Cote-du-Rhone I have tasted in the past 3 months. It comes from one of the best Châteauneuf-du-Pape producers and you can see its pedigree even in the simple Cote-du-Rhone designation. Aromas and flavors of strawberry rhubarb pie, pink peppercorns and freshly made strawberry preserve emerge from the glass and linger on the palate for quite some time, the texture is silky and wine is smooth and approachable yet spicy and charming . I am always in awe when I see great value wines of such complexity.
Price: $15.99 Add To Cart
JD 92 JS 90

2016 d'Arenberg "The Stump Jump" Shiraz McLaren Vale
Reviwer Picture By: Stefanie Juelsgaard | Review Date: 12/7/2018 | Send Email
When you come across any wine priced at under $10, most of us wouldn't expect much in the way of complexity or intensity, just something cheap and easy drinking. This bottling, however, coming from one of the most respected producers in McLaren Vale, blew all expectations of a $10 wine out of the water. Surprisingly structured and crisp, this is not the fat and flabby style many people associate with Oz. Made mostly from very old bush vines, the Stump Jump does have concentrated fruit and a weighted body, but is accompanied by dusky tannin, and a significant amount of spice. McLaren Vale sits right on the coast to the south of Adelaide and the cooling ocean breezes and southerly latitude give this wine real breadth and freshness.While some would consider a $10 price tag to suggest an inferior wine, it would be a mistake to assume that of this wine. It is in fact truly delicious and shattered my expectations in the best way.
Top Value!
Price: $9.99 Add To Cart
WS 90

Page: 1 2 3 next >>