Staff Favorites

If you’re going to have Robert Parker or Stephen Tanzer over for dinner, selecting a wine they’ve rated highly will be a nice choice. However, when you’re buying wines for yourself, we’d love to see you find wines that match up your unique palate and pocketbook. We have a large staff of friendly and knowledgeable wine professionals that taste hundreds of wines each week. They can put you in touch with bottles that you are likely to love, often at a much lower cost than the highly-rated gems that often see a run-up in price and frequent availability issues. Like any great group of opinionated professionals, our staff has varied tastes themselves. Often our customers will find a particular staff member with a style that corresponds to their own. That concept works extremely well in our retail stores, and this section is our effort to bring you the same online. Don’t get us wrong, we love the highly rated wines from the press and will continue to offer them, but we think you’re missing out if you’re not augmenting those selections with picks from our excellent staff. Here are their favorites. (Click on a name to see their other selections - or to drop them a line.) Cheers!

Reviews

Page: 1 2 3 next >>
2015 Antech "Cuvée Héritage 1860" Cremant de Limoux
Reviwer Picture By: Keith Mabry | Review Date: 9/25/2018 | Send Email
One of our oldest relationships in the Languedoc is with producer Francoise Antech-Gazeau. Based in the village of Limoux, Francoise took the helm of the estate from her father and uncle and now fashions some of our most popular and delightful sparkling French wines. Limoux offers terrific value, located in the cooler hills outside the village with more clay and limestone in the soils. Historically, Limoux even predates Champagne as a sparkling wine producing region. A visit a few years ago to the property, Francoise introduced me to the Heritage 1860, a new tete de cuvee that is fashioned with more Chardonnay in the blend and sees a touch longer aging on the lees to develop more autolytic (doughy, yeasty) qualities. Now the third vintage we have carried, the 2015 is the best to date! It offers up a creamy palate of golden delicious apples, Anjou pear notes and a touch of white flowers. A light biscuity tones rounds out the flavor profile. If you're looking for a great sparkling wine that delivers above and beyond its price, look no further than our queen of bubbles from Limoux, Francoise!.
Price: $17.99 Add To Cart
DC 90

2016 Domaine Giraud "Tradition" Châteauneuf-du-Pape
Reviwer Picture By: Keith Mabry | Review Date: 9/25/2018 | Send Email
During my last visit to Chateauneuf-du-Pape earlier this year, my last stop in the area was with Domaine Giraud and it is always a treat. Their humble facility is just on the edge of the village of Chateauneuf-du-Pape. Last year I met with winemaker Marie Giraud who delighted our team with the 2015s freshly bottled and some advance tasting of the 2016s. This year I met her brother Francois for the first time who handles the viticultural work. We ran through the just bottled 2016s and did a little tank tasting of the 2017s. Giraud’s wines are full rich and extracted styles but they come with a finesse and balance that keeps them from reaching over-the-top. The 2016s are some of the most impressive wines I have tasted from this estate but at its core the wine to get is the “Tradition.” The wine is loaded with a panoply of red ripe fruit followed by violet and lavender aromas. The blend is primarily Grenache about 70% with about 20% Syrah and the rest Mourvedre. It comes from the galets portions of the vineyards with deep limestone clay underneath. Delivering on all cylinders, this is impressive juice for an impressive price.

2016 Cécile Chassagne Gigondas
Reviwer Picture By: Kate Soto | Review Date: 9/25/2018 | Send Email
This Gigondas from second-generation winemaker Cecile Chassagne has a voluptuous charm, with deep dark notes of blackcurrants and cranberries and underlying hints of candied violets. It's sweet and broad on the palate, but not at all sappy. It exudes fresh, ripe plums and a supple texture but is still light on its feet.

2016 Domaine de la Ganse Vacqueyras
Reviwer Picture By: Kate Soto | Review Date: 9/25/2018 | Send Email
This is a bright, juicy charmer, with lively acid and tons of personality--its energy is almost Richard Simmons level! On the nose there are notes of red berries that smell like they're fresh off the tree, leading to a sprightly, spicy palate and firm tannins. This would be lovely with sausages and cheese, or maybe even a gazpacho. What's even better is that winemaker Coralie Onde farms her estate organically and biodynamically. A super fun wine.
Price: $18.99 Add To Cart

2016 La Fortuna "Fortunello" Rosso di Toscano
Reviwer Picture By: John Downing | Review Date: 9/24/2018 | Send Email
Based upon its track record, we always expect this to be good but the 2016 is definitely La Fortuna's best to-date. The fruit is exceptional with rich black cherry and berry flavors that fill the palate and keep on going. This is truly a steal at $15 and a Sangiovese lover's delight.
Price: $14.99 Add To Cart

2015 Vigneti Massa "Costa del Vento" Timorasso
Reviwer Picture By: John Downing | Review Date: 9/24/2018 | Send Email
This is the most immediate of Massa's three single vineyard Timorassos as it's rounder and creamier than its counterparts and yet it remains mouthwatering and fresh with driving acidity and earthy mineral and saline notes throughout. An impressive contrast to Premier Cru Burgundy and an outstanding pour.
Price: $49.99 Add To Cart

2015 Vigneti Massa "Montecitorio" Timorasso Cru
Reviwer Picture By: John Downing | Review Date: 9/24/2018 | Send Email
"Montecitorio" is one of Walter Massa's three single vineyard Timorassos. It's located in a cooler site and while it's a bit more minerally than the "Costa del Vento", it's certainly more opulent and giving on the palate than the "Sterpi". This wine sees 2 1/2 days of skin contact and possesses a complex palate of honey and mineral and a lengthy finish. Pair this with fish, poultry and cheeses dishes.
Price: $49.99 Add To Cart

2017 Cantina Terlano "Terlaner Classico" White Blend Alto Adige
Reviwer Picture By: John Downing | Review Date: 9/24/2018 | Send Email
I've had the pleasure of selling this wine since 1999 and the 2017 is one of the best in recent memory. Appealing aromas of elderflower, mineral and gooseberry are surpassed by a bright, zesty palate with ample texture and acidity. This is an exceptionally good white that reminds of the consistently high quality of the wines emanating from Italy's Alto Adige region.
Price: $23.99 Add To Cart
RP 90

2010 Alter Ego de Palmer, Margaux
Reviwer Picture By: Jacques Moreira | Review Date: 9/24/2018 | Send Email
One of the most elegant wines I have tasted this year. A delicate whiff of incense greets you on the nose, along with coffee beans, cocoa and even violets! Astonishing complexity, and the fact that it is in Magnums, makes a great candidate for long term cellaring, if you can resist its youthful charms.

2010 Alter Ego de Palmer, Margaux (1.5L)
Reviwer Picture By: Jacques Moreira | Review Date: 9/24/2018 | Send Email
One of the most elegant wines I have tasted this year. A delicate whiff of incense greets you on the nose, along with coffee beans, cocoa and even violets! Astonishing complexity, and the fact that it is in Magnums, makes a great candidate for long term cellaring, if you can resist its youthful charms.

2010 Latour-Martillac, Pessac-Léognan
Reviwer Picture By: Jacques Moreira | Review Date: 9/24/2018 | Send Email
I decanted this wine for 2 hours, and it needed it. First it was quite shut down and austere, but it opened up, and showed all the elegance this Pessac-Léognan is known for. Spicy oak notes, cocoa, plums and even violets. But it definitely needs time.

2015 Blason Bruma Bianco Friuli
Reviwer Picture By: John Downing | Review Date: 9/24/2018 | Send Email
After a good deal of thought and attention to detail, Giovanni Blason has succeeded in producing a first-class oak aged white blend. This impressive combination of Malvasia and Friulano is golden in color with expressive floral and herb aromas along with spicy and savory flavors and a touch of saline on the finish. An opulent palate is offset by just the right amount of acidity.
Price: $16.99 Add To Cart
DC 96

2009 Sociando-Mallet, Haut-Médoc
Reviwer Picture By: Jacques Moreira | Review Date: 9/24/2018 | Send Email
There is no denying here, this wine needs a lot of time in the cellars, or a couple of hours in the decanter, but it is a classic. The property is also located in that sweet spot north of Saint-Estèphe, that I like so much. The aromatics really open up after decanting. Leather, violets and incense. Quite an exotic combination. The palate is rich and elegant, with sweet plum/cassis fruit along with black olives. A very smart buy for cellaring.

2009 Verdignan, Haut-Médoc
Reviwer Picture By: Jacques Moreira | Review Date: 9/24/2018 | Send Email
Located close to Saint-Estèphe, and possessing, what I like to call that je ne sais quois, I found on the wines of this area. Some spiciness, woodsyness, and a touch of the exotic! The wine showed well, and I would start drinking it from now on, and keep some in the cellar
Price: $21.99 Add To Cart
JS 92

2009 Sainte Marguerite, Médoc
Reviwer Picture By: Jacques Moreira | Review Date: 9/24/2018 | Send Email
Of course we expect wines of a higher pedigree appellations to be of a certain quality, but once on a while, we come across a bottle labeled simply as “Médoc”, and the wine “sings”. That is very much the case here. It is ready to be enjoyed now. The color is starting to show that beautiful garnet tone. The palate is woodsy, with lots of fruity, cassis and plums and a very intriguing note of meat bouillon/leather, and olives. I would still advise to decant it to soften its grippy but perfectly ripened tannins. So much complexity for its modest price, indeed a nice surprise.
Price: $21.99 Add To Cart

2009 Bellevue, St-Emilion
Reviwer Picture By: Jacques Moreira | Review Date: 9/24/2018 | Send Email
Silky and rich, one of the best Saint-Émilions, I have tasted lately and it is not holding anything back, ready to go! Again, due to the opulence of the vintage, it needs decanting, but oh what a wine! Lush chocolate covered cherries, cedar, exotic spices, nutmeg, and plums. It is utterly pleasing, and a must have.

2009 Grand-Puy-Ducasse, Pauillac
Reviwer Picture By: Jacques Moreira | Review Date: 9/24/2018 | Send Email
The Grand-Puy-Ducasse is very much a classic Pauillac with its masculine edged Cabernet Sauvignon. It still quite young and it needs a good amount of time in the cellar, however, the beautiful notes of cedar, cigar box are already showing. A promising wine, that needs to be stored and enjoyed for many years to come.

2009 Grand Pontet, St-Emilion
Reviwer Picture By: Jacques Moreira | Review Date: 9/24/2018 | Send Email
Owned by the Bécot family of Beau-Sejour Bécot and Joanin Bécot in Castillon, the Grand Pontet delivers a classic example of Saint-Émilion, it is a rich, voluptuous, full of chocolate and cherries, but with perfect balance throughout. Again I find it difficult to resist such sensuous wine. But its power tells me, cellar time is in order here. I would recommend getting a case or two really.
Price: $49.99 Add To Cart
RP 92

2009 La Tour Carnet, Haut-Médoc (1.5L)
Reviwer Picture By: Jacques Moreira | Review Date: 9/24/2018 | Send Email
The luscious nature of the vintage is quite apparent here, but so is the firm structure of the wine. The rich fruit, framed by its ripe tannins, and the fact that it is in a magnum, makes it destined for cellaring, and that is what I would suggest.

2009 La Clotte, St-Emilion
Reviwer Picture By: Jacques Moreira | Review Date: 9/24/2018 | Send Email
Always a fair value for this fantastic Saint-Émilion, which is since 2014 under the same ownership as Château Ausone. Its tremendous quality is well known in the trade, and you should get to know it too. Rich and soft, showing the classic 2009 style. It’s approachable and quite honestly, delicious!
Price: $59.99 Add To Cart
RP 93

2015 Vigneti Massa "Costa del Vento" Timorasso
Reviwer Picture By: Rachel Vogel | Review Date: 9/24/2018 | Send Email
The most pristine, I've found, of Massa's ingenious wines. The Costa Del Vento shows the character its clay soils with beautiful, soft texture. The gentle fruit rests on your palate while a bit of spice moves into a long finish.
Price: $49.99 Add To Cart

2015 Vigneti Massa "Montecitorio" Timorasso Cru
Reviwer Picture By: Rachel Vogel | Review Date: 9/24/2018 | Send Email
In my eyes Walter Massa is a genius in the wine making world. Every bottle of wine I have had from him has been nuanced, unique and terroir driven. While the Montecitorio spends 5 days with skin contact, to me it is a little less textural than some of his other whites. However, it is beautifully balanced in texture and racy acidity with notes of sweet meyer lemon juice and a touch of pith.
Price: $49.99 Add To Cart

2015 Le Battistelle "Roccolo del Durlo" Soave Classico
Reviwer Picture By: Rachel Vogel | Review Date: 9/24/2018 | Send Email
With a little more power than its delicate sister wine, the Roccolo Del Durlo does not give up its mystery or elegant character. It is a little more racy with a tough more richness on the palate. The beautiful fruit and pleasant floral character still gently intermingle with the salinity of the wine. A perfect mixture of power and beauty.
Price: $16.99 Add To Cart

2016 Le Battistelle "Battistelle" Soave Classico
Reviwer Picture By: Rachel Vogel | Review Date: 9/24/2018 | Send Email
A romantic name for one of the best daily drinking whites we have on the shelf. This Alpine white grown in volcanic soil shows you its charming character with clean, fresh acidity and pretty fruit. It is elegant and floral with just a hint of a saline quality to keep it mysterious.
Price: $13.99 Add To Cart

2013 Negretti Barolo
Reviwer Picture By: Jeffrey Jones | Review Date: 9/24/2018 | Send Email
Barolo is one of the most interesting and delicious wines around. Often Barolos need time to develop into the great wines that they are. The 2013 Negretti is a classic Barolo that is ready to drink now. It is complex and layered with earth, leather and fruit flavors that are complemented with floral aromatics. Decant if you and enjoy it with hearty foods.
Price: $34.99 Add To Cart
JS 94

2015 Domaine Petroni Corse Rouge (Corsica)
Reviwer Picture By: John Majeski | Review Date: 9/24/2018 | Send Email
The Corsican grape Niellucciu may be a bit of a challenge to wrap your tongue around, but the wines blended from this lusty, robust variety require little effort to enjoy! A distinct, island variant of Sangiovese, plantings in heavily maritime-influenced Corsica are a product of the unique microclimate, mountainous terrain, and abundant sunlight (more than anywhere on the French mainland), ensuring perfectly ripe, beautifully-structured wines with bursting aromas and flavors of purple plums, raspberries, black pepper and a melange of minerals. Succulent and lingering, and so well-priced! The perfect red wine for dinner parties, festive gatherings.... just uncork, pour and enjoy!
Top Value!
Price: $12.99 Add To Cart
WS 90

2016 Chateau de Villeneuve "Le Grand Clos" Saumur-Champigny
Reviwer Picture By: John Majeski | Review Date: 9/24/2018 | Send Email
Glass Full image Glass Full image Glass Full image Glass Full image Glass Half image
Le Grand Clos is an extraordinary old vine lieu-dit surrounding the 18th century Chateau de Villeneuve, a magnificent, cream-colored fantasia fashioned from the signature tuffeau limestone of Saumur Champigny. There are so many tuffeau wine caves carved into the hillsides that they conjure an image of human honeybees, a humble hive of activity fashioned over centuries.This wine pays homage to low-yield organic winemaking, a wonderfully pure expression of Cabernet Franc revealed in all its charms, with polished, high-toned red fruits and leafy tobacco notes framed by a mineral spine, cosseted by supple tannins and appealing acidity. Drink this textural, alluring red wine with a slow-cooked pot of savory beef stew. It really doesn't get any better....
Top Value!
Price: $34.99 Add To Cart

2009 Bellevue, St-Emilion
Reviwer Picture By: Blake Conklin | Review Date: 9/23/2018 | Send Email
While I had no reason to doubt this wine, I was pleasantly surprised at just how good it was. 2009 is definitely one of my favorite vintages, and with 9 years of bottle age, the Chateau Bellevue is easily an outstanding wine and a definite crowd pleaser under $100. This is definitely a Bordeaux blend I will be drinking when it gets closer to the holidays.

2016 Levo Wines "Right to Bear Flowxrs" Santa Barbara County Grenache
Reviwer Picture By: Christina Stanley | Review Date: 9/23/2018 | Send Email
You have the right to bear Flowxrs! This delicious Grenache is blended with small percentages of Syrah and Petite Sirah, which give the wine smoky depth that pulls through the midpalate, leaving a lengthy impression. Heady aromas of rosepetal and underbrush lead to a refined, balanced palate with notes of black and sour cherry and bright pomegranate. The wine drinks like a perfectly ripe Chateauneuf du Pape, with polished, soft tannins.
Price: $39.95 Add To Cart

2016 La Fortuna Rosso di Montalcino
Reviwer Picture By: Sharon Kelly | Review Date: 9/22/2018 | Send Email
Sangiovese is my favorite go-to wine - it has yet to let me down when I am in a pinch or can't make up my mind. This one is dusty, showing a charmingly tart personality with cherry, orange rind, crushed stones, some juicy acid and a pleasantly tannic profile. A great wine with pizza, pasta, muchroom risotto or, when you’re pressed for time, a roasted chicken from the store (another favorite go-to).​
Price: $17.99 Add To Cart

2016 Clos de l'Anhel "Lolo de l'Anhel" Corbieres
Reviwer Picture By: Sharon Kelly | Review Date: 9/22/2018 | Send Email
Lolo is back! Velvety smooth and driven by notes of raspberry and plum, some spicy cinnamon, and even a whiff of cured meat, this wine just tastes and feels so fresh and clean. I recently took this to a night of jazz at the Hollywood Bowl and it was perfect for our sandwich and cheese plate picnic. Organic and (bio)dynamic!
Price: $12.99 Add To Cart

2016 Nicolas Idiart Sancerre
Reviwer Picture By: Sharon Kelly | Review Date: 9/22/2018 | Send Email
As soon as I put my nose in the glass it reminds me of fresh cut grass and summer. It’s a delicate, not overpowering smell and it makes me pause an extra minute to breathe it in before I take the first sip. In my mouth this wine expresses lime, quince and chamomile, a hint of grapefruit and a nice pop of acidity on the finish. An excellent Sancerre.
Price: $21.99 Add To Cart

2015 Domaine des Senechaux Châteauneuf-du-Pape
Reviwer Picture By: Stephen Allison | Review Date: 9/21/2018 | Send Email
Domaine des Senechaux is a property that has seen a handful of ownership changes in the last couple decades. Currently it is owned by JM Cazes, the owner of Lynch Bages in Pauillac, and has been since 2006. But importantly, if this 2015 is any evidence, the property is in capable hands. Reticent at first pour, with a little time to open the wine reveals gorgeous aromas of home-made raspberry and cherry preserves with a streak of something deeper such as boysenberry. Stony earthiness is indicative of the terroir of the region. Oak is well integrated with the wine, rounding its edges and adding refinement without being showy. On the palate things get even better. Very fine grained tannin reflects highly upon the quality of the wine making. Acidity is just right; it supports the weight of the wine without feeling biting or rigid. The wine gushes with flavor that can be enjoyed well into its long finish. Outstanding!
Price: $39.99 Add To Cart
RP 93 WS 93

Ginga Shizuku "Divine Droplets" Junmai Daiginjo Sake (720ml)
Reviwer Picture By: Stephen Allison | Review Date: 9/21/2018 | Send Email
Divine Droplets is a masterclass in elegance. When served yuki-hie (40 degrees), you will be treated to subtle aromas of melon, grape, lychee and sugar cane with touches of honey and pear. As the sake warms to hana-hie (50 degrees), its fruit flavor intensifies, but I prefer its quiet delicacy when enjoyed well chilled. The texture can be described as light bodied with a creamy, silky viscosity. Understated acidity and umami further contribute to its refinement. Deserving of its name, Divine Droplets is heavenly.
Price: $64.99 Add To Cart
ST 94

Rihaku "Dreamy Clouds" Tokubetsu Junmai Nigori Sake (Unfiltered) (720ml)
Reviwer Picture By: Stephen Allison | Review Date: 9/21/2018 | Send Email
A subtle and light nigori to counter the lusciously sweet style, Dreamy Clouds is a fantastic introduction to dry sake. Rihaku brews Dreamy Clouds with the premium rice variety Gohyakuman-Goku, prized for its clean and subdued flavors, polished to 59%. The Ginjo-level polishing ratio qualifies this sake as a Tokubetsu (special selection) Junmai, a designation reserved for brews a Toji is most proud of. The result is a sake with subtle aromas of white flowers and raw pine nuts, with hints of honeydew and bubblegum. On the palate, Dreamy Clouds is dry, lean, and bright with pronounced acidity and just a dash of chewiness from the very fine rice solids. If you've come to associate simple and sweet with the nigori category, be prepared to have your expectations elevated by Dreamy Clouds.
Price: $30.99 Add To Cart

2018 Deschutes Brewery "The Ages" Barrel Aged Geuze - Inspired Ale, Oregon (500ml)
Reviwer Picture By: Stephen Allison | Review Date: 9/21/2018 | Send Email
A real stand-out at a recent K&L beer tasting. Vanilla, marcona almond, pepper, tart yogurt, lemon and green apple aromas. The texture on the palate is fascinating for a sour; It is not the tense, focused tartness of most sours but relaxed and harmonious. A mature, cerebral brew that sour-lovers will gush over.
Price: $16.99 Add To Cart

2017 Domaine la Clef du Récit Sancerre
Reviwer Picture By: Blake Conklin | Review Date: 9/20/2018 | Send Email
2017 for Sancerre is really starting to show nicely, and the new vintage of Domaine La Clef Du Recit is beyond exceptional. With a fine balance of minerality and acidity, it's never overbearingly flinty, or acidic. It hits the right notes sip after sip, and it reminds me of why I fell in love with Sancerre in the first place. Fantastic terroir, limestone soils, that's all I need.
Price: $23.99 Add To Cart

2016 Mas de Sainte Croix "Tendresse d'un Climat" Côtes-du-Rhône Villages Valréas
Reviwer Picture By: Blake Conklin | Review Date: 9/20/2018 | Send Email
Mas De Saint Croix will always have a special place in my heart, as it was one of the first direct imports I tried when I first started working at K&L and fell in love with. I mean high quality Cotes Du Rhone Villages for under 15 bucks, what's not to love? The 2015 vintage of Tendresse was fantastic, and the 2016 vintage is nothing short of fantastic. With savory notes of creamy licorice and strawberries, this bottle is a solid every day winner.
Price: $12.99 Add To Cart

2015 Sesta di Sopra Rosso di Montalcino
Reviwer Picture By: Blake Conklin | Review Date: 9/20/2018 | Send Email
Now here's a Rosso that stands out and feels like it's in a league of it's own. For real though, I never thought I'd find such a fantastic quality rosso, and it really shows in every sip, with it's chewy tannins, medium body, and various flavor for days. If you're already a fan of Sesta Di Sopra, you already know there is quality in this bottle.
Price: $22.99 Add To Cart
JS 92

2016 Nicolas Idiart "1911" Vin de France Rouge
Reviwer Picture By: Blake Conklin | Review Date: 9/20/2018 | Send Email
For the price, and what you're getting, this bottle is fantastic! If you're looking for a very approachable easy going every day red for under 20, look no further. The vineyard all 14 varieties are sourced, is over 100 years old, and you could really taste the quality in this wine. Steal of the century, I think so...
Price: $13.99 Add To Cart

2016 Baricci Rosso di Montalcino
Reviwer Picture By: Greg St. Clair | Review Date: 9/19/2018 | Send Email
I think that the 2015 Baricci Rosso di Montalcino got a lot of attention last year because of a 95 point score in Decanter; I wondered why it took so long for wine writers to catch up, because it’s been that tremendous for some time. This vintage I think is maybe even better than the 2015, its nose always smells of sweet earth to me, savory, spicy a bit wild but never rambunctious always focused yet subtle. On the palate it isn’t a “big” wine yet it lacks nothing, supple, sinewy, long and surprisingly muscular while the wine smoothly flows across your tongue. The flavors are full of wild cherry, violet and lilac, hints of Tuscan brush all subtly blended into one flowing flavor. So well balanced an elegant, a wine that never pushes it just glides, I had a bottle of the 2002 last November (2002 was a terrible vintage) and I thought I’d made an error by leaving it so long, but it turned out to be incredible it was Brunello not Rosso (Baricci made Brunello in 2002 as well so it wasn’t declassified). This wine is just superb, I’m going to bury a case or two in my cellar, you should too, we just don’t get that much.
Drink from 2018 to 2018
Price: $24.99 Add To Cart

2015 Hacienda Monasterio Ribera del Duero
Reviwer Picture By: Greg St. Clair | Review Date: 9/19/2018 | Send Email
The nose of this wine says refined from the beginning, layers of mineral, sweet dark cherry, swirls of vanilla bound from the glass. On the palate you find this is a powerful wine, sweet, polished tannins roll across your tongue blossoming into lustrous rich fruit. I’m not a fan of American oak but this is all French oak and it really gives the wine a polish and elegance without becoming the dominant flavor. Full bodied and focused this wine gives you the best of Tempranillo while adding hints of Cabernet Sauvignon and Merlot. I really liked this wine’s polish, focus and elegant flavors.
Drink from 2018 to 2018

2017 Bodega Chacra "Cincuenta y Cinco" Pinot Noir Rio Negro
Reviwer Picture By: Kirk Walker | Review Date: 9/19/2018 | Send Email
I was so excited to taste this wine that I made Joe open a bottle of the Sin Azufre to compare it against. The "without sulfur" bottling has been one of my favorite Pinots that I have tasted all year, and it comes from this vineyard. This was an opportunity to taste a "natural/minimal intervention" wine with a wine that is made with intervention from the same year, same vineyard and same winemaker! And while I still love the Sin Azufre the 55 has stolen my heart. This is a great bottle of Pinot. It got plenty of high notes and dark tones to really accentuate those high notes It dances on the palate with plenty of acid and just enough tannins. New world fruit and savory earthy core It has something for just about everybody. Wow!
Price: $49.99 Add To Cart
JS 97 RP 97

2015 Domaine Belle "Cuvée Louis Belle" Crozes-Hermitage
Reviwer Picture By: Greg St. Clair | Review Date: 9/19/2018 | Send Email
You can sense the power in this wine the moment you put your nose in the glass, deep, concentrated black fruits inter-spiced with black pepper and hints of vanilla. On the palate the wine has real depth; you can feel the weight, concentration, the tannin that encloses the wine but the fruit bursts through showing an array of complexity. The finish, is detailed, very fine tannins, hints of vanilla layers of spicy black fruit that all flow easily across your palate. A truly superb wine.
Drink from 2018 to 2018

2016 Emmanuel Darnaud "Les Trois Chenes" Crozes-Hermitage
Reviwer Picture By: Greg St. Clair | Review Date: 9/19/2018 | Send Email
The nose of this wine is powerful, dense yet aromatically open and fresher than I usually get for 100% Syrah based wines. On the palate the wine has power yet it isn’t clumsy or overly tannic it is remarkably balanced and open for a wine of this size and it shows a lot of secondary fruit complexity, earth, spice, pepper. Superb balance while showing a bit of tannin it is just a framework not obtrusive at all. I really liked this wine and will buy some for my cellar, I know… that’s a shocker, me and Syrah but this is sensational wine for the price.
Drink from 2018 to 2018
Price: $24.99 Add To Cart
VN 92

2017 Bodega Chacra "Cincuenta y Cinco" Pinot Noir Rio Negro
Reviwer Picture By: Greg St. Clair | Review Date: 9/19/2018 | Send Email
The nose is not what I expected from a South American Pinot Noir, I thought I was going to get a fruity, wood driven weak legged wannabe…man was I wrong. The nose on this wine is complex from the get go, full of savory, earthy, and then a bit of subtle fruit with a real feeling you’re getting something with real depth. On the palate the wine shows a bit of tannic grip that gives the wine dimension and frames it for your palate while the center of the wine unwinds slowly giving more Pinot character. It doesn’t hurt to have a vineyard that was planted in 1955 to give you depth of complexity and structure and this wine has it all. This doesn’t taste like Burgundy, but it is not supposed to, it’s really good Pinot Noir from old vines that just happen to be in South America, it reminds me a bit of Santa Cruz Mountain Pinot Noir, it’s an excellent wine…from the makers of Sassicaia.
Drink from 2018 to 2018
Price: $49.99 Add To Cart
JS 97 RP 97

Jean de La Fontaine "La Flatteuse" Brut Rosé Champagne
Reviwer Picture By: Greg St. Clair | Review Date: 9/19/2018 | Send Email
The nose of this wine is more masculine than its non rosé counterpart, deeper, more complex, more savory flavors and there seems to be muscle lying underneath. On the palate the flavors broaden, show a bit of grip and depth while the more savory Pinot flavors come out. The finish is bold, a real rosé statement of power and flavor and shows a lifted finish.
Price: $34.99 Add To Cart

Jean de La Fontaine "L'Éloquente" Brut Champagne
Reviwer Picture By: Greg St. Clair | Review Date: 9/19/2018 | Send Email
The nose on this wine is brilliant, clean and full of white flowers it is inviting, I was hooked from the get go. On the palate I’m always interested first in the balance and this wine’s balance is stunning, (I still can’t believe the price/quality) vibrant, long and remarkably persistent. The flavors pick up a bit of brioche to add to a focused, floral center. Long and complex finish this is a stunningly good bottle of wine for the price.
Price: $29.99 Add To Cart

2017 Abbazia di Novacella Schiava Alto Adige
Reviwer Picture By: Mike Parres | Review Date: 9/18/2018 | Send Email
Schiava, otherwise known as vernatsch, is not widely seen in the U.S., but it makes up a considerable portion of the red wines from Alto Adige and Trentino. At its best it is a bright, very dry red with strawberry notes and lively acidity. This one from Abbazia di Novacella is a natural with food. The color is like a dark rose, and it shares qualities of rose, too, being eminently quaffable and highly chillable. This was a HUGH hit in my consumer tasting in San Francisco last week, buy a few because the first bottle empties quickly.
Price: $14.99 Add To Cart

Old Potrero "K&L Exclusive Barrel #3" Single Malt Straight Rye Whiskey (750ml)
Reviwer Picture By: Sean Fernandez | Review Date: 9/18/2018 | Send Email
Scrumdiddlyumptions. A marriage of the power of a George T Stagg and the grace and complexity of a Sazerac 18. Weighty and viscous in the mouth with deep rich caramel and cinnamon. Never as hot as the proof suggests and with a warming spicy finish inviting you back for more. Wonderful item to have on hand when the Antique collection is out of reach.
Price: $99.99 Add To Cart

Page: 1 2 3 next >>