Reviewers


K&L Email Alerts

Sign up to receive custom alerts, new arrivals and the latest happenings from K&L Wines


Staff Favorites

If you’re going to have Robert Parker or Stephen Tanzer over for dinner, selecting a wine they’ve rated highly will be a nice choice. However, when you’re buying wines for yourself, we’d love to see you find wines that match up your unique palate and pocketbook. We have a large staff of friendly and knowledgeable wine professionals that taste hundreds of wines each week. They can put you in touch with bottles that you are likely to love, often at a much lower cost than the highly-rated gems that often see a run-up in price and frequent availability issues. Like any great group of opinionated professionals, our staff has varied tastes themselves. Often our customers will find a particular staff member with a style that corresponds to their own. That concept works extremely well in our retail stores, and this section is our effort to bring you the same online. Don’t get us wrong, we love the highly rated wines from the press and will continue to offer them, but we think you’re missing out if you’re not augmenting those selections with picks from our excellent staff. Here are their favorites. (Click on a name to see their other selections - or to drop them a line.) Cheers!

Reviews

Page: 1 2 3 next >>
Le Gallais Cuvée du Manoir Brut Champagne
Reviwer Picture By: Elsa Baez | Review Date: 9/18/2019 | Send Email
A new direct import we recently added to our line-up and I'm so excited for our customers to try them out! The profile is bright, vivacious, great texture, fine beads, toasty aromas and finishes elegantly. An easy champagne to sip before or after dinner.
Price: $34.99 Add To Cart

Damien Hugot Brut Blanc de Blancs Grand Cru
Reviwer Picture By: Elsa Baez | Review Date: 9/18/2019 | Send Email
To offer another Grand Cru direct import is very exciting and Damien Hugot does not disappoint in quality and flavor profile! The nose is rich with brioche and and golden apple aromas and finishes with a balance of weight and a nice zing of lemon zest on the chalky finish.
Price: $34.99 Add To Cart

Damien Hugot Brut Rosé
Reviwer Picture By: Elsa Baez | Review Date: 9/18/2019 | Send Email
To offer another Grand Cru direct import is very exciting and Damien Hugot does not disappoint in quality and flavor profile! Concentrated strawberry aromas, beautiful weight, and a nice long finish. If you're looking for a refreshing champagne with restrained richness, this is it!
Price: $39.99 Add To Cart

2014 Barde-Haut, St-Emilion
Reviwer Picture By: Sharon Kelly | Review Date: 9/18/2019 | Send Email
At a recent winemaker dinner featuring this property we had the opportunity to taste a range of vintages. I find the 2014 shows more blackberry than plum and red fruits and the savory notes speak a little louder than the 2012 or 2015. It has considerable backbone - give it time to open up then enjoy with grilled meats and good company.

2016 Antonelli Montefalco Rosso
Reviwer Picture By: Sharon Kelly | Review Date: 9/17/2019 | Send Email
Delicious. This is a winning combination of fruit, tannin, acid and complexity. Medium-bodied and so flavorful with plenty of cherries, plums, earth, herbs and very pleasant persistence. I'm placing this one into my "case-worthy purchase" category.
Price: $16.99 Add To Cart

2018 Cave de Tavel "Cuvée Royale" Tavel Rose
Reviwer Picture By: Jeffrey Jones | Review Date: 9/17/2019 | Send Email
This is one of my favorite rose offerings of this season.It has a deep pink color that is typical from Tavel. Full bodied and juicy, it is packed full of red berry flavors. The Cuvee Royale is also a dry wine and will go well alone or with many foods like fish, chicken and salads.
Price: $16.99 Add To Cart
WE 90 WS 90

2015 Guido Rivella "Fausoni" Barbaresco
Reviwer Picture By: Jeffrey Jones | Review Date: 9/17/2019 | Send Email
This is from one of my favorite producers who is working with the nebbiolo grape. He seems to bring out the best that this grape and region have to offer. It is classic with inviting and expressive aromas that lead to a full bodied wine.It is complex with fruit, earth, acid and tannins all coming together to make a delicious wine. It is on the young side but will open up with a few hours of decanting. This will go well with hearty foods.
Price: $69.99 Add To Cart
VN 92

2016 Alain Jaume "Terrasses de Montmirail" Gigondas
Reviwer Picture By: Cameron Hoppas | Review Date: 9/16/2019 | Send Email
I've long been a fan of Alain Juame's wines. To me, they appeal to a classic sense of the southern Rhone. This Montmirail Gigondas is no exception. Rich dark fruit are at the core of this wine, but without being raisiny or sappy. It has beautiful texture with just enough grip to give the wine some structure. The tertiary aromas are lovely and elegant--dried meat, dried herbs, and a savory finish. This is a classically well made wine period.

2016 Alain Jaume "Terrasses de Montmirail" Gigondas
Reviwer Picture By: Elsa Baez | Review Date: 9/16/2019 | Send Email
Full bodied, rich and velvety.

2015 Isole e Olena Chianti Classico
Reviwer Picture By: Sharon Kelly | Review Date: 9/16/2019 | Send Email
Five years ago, on a whirlwind trip to Italy, I made a last minute tasting appointment with property owner Marta de Marchi, who informed me that I “would have to taste with a group of Canadians” (what a dilemma). When the Canadians left, she gave me a tour of the facility then handed me off to her always charming husband and winemaker, Paolo, who took me around the vineyards and sent me home with a bottle of their estate-produced olive oil. 2015 was a fab vintage for the area, so fruit is well represented here with lots of cherry, blackberry, ripe plum and scrubby, wild herbs. The tannins and acidity are well balanced and the lingering finish completed my tasting experience, taking me back to that memorable visit. I had a glass as soon as I popped it open then tried it after letting it breathe for an hour. Either way, even if you're in a hurry to consume this bottle, you're in for a treat.

2016 Alain Jaume "Terrasses de Montmirail" Gigondas
Reviwer Picture By: Lauren Seward | Review Date: 9/16/2019 | Send Email
What a way to kick off the impending Autumn season. Intensely silky and filled to the brim with dark fruit, black tea and a delicate earthiness, Jaume’s "Terrasses de Montmirail" Gigondas is structured, but casual. Enjoy with classic British comfort food (think stews and bangers & mash) and other cold weather indulges like braised lamb, pizza, and baked macaroni & cheese. Drink now or let it sit for a few years.

2016 Alain Jaume "Terrasses de Montmirail" Gigondas
Reviwer Picture By: Miles Philippe | Review Date: 9/15/2019 | Send Email
Dark red fruit on the nose, with a nice dried fig note being dominant. Supple and ripe red fruits appear on the palate, but supported by soft tannins and good acidity. Some oak presence, but the fruit is king here. No wait time required; just drink and enjoy!

2017 Barter & Trade Columbia Valley Merlot
Reviwer Picture By: Blake Conklin | Review Date: 9/15/2019 | Send Email
Hot damn! Andrew Jones (of Field Recordings fame) is doing a stunning job showing just how good Washington state wines can be. We all know merlot took a big hit after a little known movie called Sideways was released. If you haven't had a merlot in awhile, or if you just decided to ignore it altogether, you are doing yourself a huge disservice, even if you consider yourself more of a cab person. This merlot is under 20 bucks, and it's really fantastic. It has body, structure, great flavors of dark cherry, black currant, and it makes a great wine for bbq, burgers, or anything red meat related. But it's also fantastic by itself. Definitely worth a whirl.
Price: $17.99 Add To Cart

2015 Barde-Haut, St-Emilion
Reviwer Picture By: Clyde Beffa Jr. | Review Date: 9/15/2019 | Send Email
Glass Full image Glass Full image Glass Full image Glass Full image Glass Half image
These guys/gals are on a roll--so sweet and lovely. You can not go wrong with Barde haut in last ten years.
Drink from 2020 to 2020

2014 Lilian Ladouys, St-Estèphe
Reviwer Picture By: Clyde Beffa Jr. | Review Date: 9/15/2019 | Send Email
Glass Full image Glass Full image Glass Full image Glass Full image Glass Half image
We just retasted this beauty-a big winner for value. 2014 was a GREAT year in the north medoc and not many properties are more north than ths one. Love this wine.
Drink from 2020 to 2020

2016 La Gaffelière, St-Emilion
Reviwer Picture By: Clyde Beffa Jr. | Review Date: 9/15/2019 | Send Email
Glass Full image Glass Full image Glass Full image Glass Full image Glass Full image
Better than their great 2015--buy this property from 2015 on-perfect terroir just below Ausone. So vibrant and lively with blackberry aromas and flavors. Superb length and spice on the palate.
Drink from 2021 to 2021

2015 La Gaffelière, St-Emilion
Reviwer Picture By: Clyde Beffa Jr. | Review Date: 9/15/2019 | Send Email
Glass Full image Glass Full image Glass Full image Glass Full image Glass Full image
So sweet and sexy. Elegant wine-not overstated at all. Tons of blackberry aromas and flsvors. Please watch this property from 2015 vintage il 2020-superb wines with great terrior.
Drink from 2020 to 2020

2016 Cantemerle, Haut-Médoc
Reviwer Picture By: Clyde Beffa Jr. | Review Date: 9/15/2019 | Send Email
Glass Full image Glass Full image Glass Full image Glass Full image Glass Half image
The 2016 Cantemerle has a fresh bouquet of airy, floral black fruit; light violet scents emerge with time.This wine is always one of the best values in Bordeaux and 2016 is no exception. Full and fine on the palate. Will cellar well for many yars.
Drink from 2021 to 2021

2009 Brane-Cantenac, Margaux
Reviwer Picture By: Clyde Beffa Jr. | Review Date: 9/15/2019 | Send Email
Glass Full image Glass Full image Glass Full image Glass Full image Glass Full image
Off the charts great wine from a fabulous property and the best vintage in MANY years. Sweet and sexy and so Margaux with its violet aromas and elegant palate entry. Here is a wine for 20 years ageing or just 10 with decanting.
Drink from 2020 to 2020

2009 Sociando-Mallet "Cuvee Jean Gautreau", Haut-Médoc
Reviwer Picture By: Clyde Beffa Jr. | Review Date: 9/15/2019 | Send Email
Glass Full image Glass Full image Glass Full image Glass Full image Glass Full image
Fabulous wine. This special cuvee is only made in the greatest of years--and 2009 is one of those years. A small batch made to honor Jean Gautreau's 25th year of making this great value. Product. Sociando was the first Bordeaux I ever visited in April 1985-drinking the 1984. This is a powerhouse cuvee with the richmess of the vintage and the power of small selection. A must for the cellar.
Drink from 2022 to 2022
Price: $69.99 Add To Cart
VN 93

Mulholland Vodka (750ml)
Reviwer Picture By: Jeffrey Jones | Review Date: 9/15/2019 | Send Email
This is a bright and easy Vodka. It is made with corn and is slightly sweeter than most vodka. This makes it perfect for cocktails. I think that a vodka and soda with a wedge of citrus would be a very refreshing cocktail with Mulholland Vodka.
Price: $19.99 Add To Cart

2018 Melville "Inox-Clone 76" Sta. Rita Hills Chardonnay
Reviwer Picture By: Blake Conklin | Review Date: 9/15/2019 | Send Email
I've drank a good amount of California chardonnay this year, and this is definitely in my top 5 favorites of this year. If you aren't a fan of that oaky buttery "California style" chardonnay, then you should definitely check out the Inox Clone 76 from Melville, as it is the polar opposite of said California style. Bright, and packed with brilliant acidity and minerality. It reminds me more of a Chablis in style, and it only got better sip after sip.
Price: $39.99 Add To Cart

2016 Black Slate "Porrera" Priorat
Reviwer Picture By: Kirk Walker | Review Date: 9/14/2019 | Send Email
The educator in me loves these Black Slate wines. The nerd in me loves these wines. The hedonist in me loves these wines. Priorat that smells and tastes like this, how can you not? This aromatic red has sappy dark red fruits and berries jump out of the glass. They are backed by earth and spice and a fine herbal note. There is a sun drenched afternoon scrambling on a scrubby rocky mountainside quality to the nose. The wine explodes on the palate. It is a big impact wine; it plays broad and round but not heavy. There is also a liveliness to it, it is not content to just sit on your palate. The acid helps focus the finish and really brings out the llicorella earthy minerality. This is where the nerd come in. The llicorella or slate soils located around Porrera are some of the oldest soils in the region. The eastern location of the village brings cooling mediterrean breezes. This is where the Vi de Vila system comes in. Let’s dig down into the nitty gritty of this region, why are the villages different, why are certain varietals planted where they are. This series of wines is a crash course in one of the great wine regions of the world and it is affordable The educator, nerd and enthusiast are all happy with this wine..
Price: $17.99 Add To Cart
JD 94 RP 92

2016 Black Slate "Porrera" Priorat
Reviwer Picture By: Will Blakely | Review Date: 9/13/2019 | Send Email
The new vintage has arrived, and it's stunning. This time around it's taken on a different profile, however; more savory and rustic, some of the overripe fruit has made way for woody spice and brighter acid. The bold berries are still present, but the balance feels better overall -- a bit less extracted and a bit more structured. This is one that you can age in the cellar just as easily as you can drink case after case of it now.
Price: $17.99 Add To Cart
JD 94 RP 92

Le Gallais Cuvée du Manoir Brut Champagne
Reviwer Picture By: Scott Beckerley | Review Date: 9/13/2019 | Send Email
This brand new release (for us) is one of the most interesting Champagnes that we are currently stocking. It was a favorite with the SF staff when I opened it for them. There are nice, chalky undertones with dark cherry fruit and toasted nuts. The texture tends toward soft, smooth and silky. Frighteningly easy to drink!
Price: $34.99 Add To Cart

Damien Hugot Brut Blanc de Blancs Grand Cru
Reviwer Picture By: Scott Beckerley | Review Date: 9/13/2019 | Send Email
Twenty-five generations of history with the Hugot family in Champagne indicate why this Blanc de Blancs is so very good! It has a pretty nose of light minerals and lemon cream. On the palate, it is quite a bit richer with some mineral "tang" on the finish. There are flavors of whipped cream, lemon curd, (light) nuttiness and a little chalk. Rich, but, not overly so!
Price: $34.99 Add To Cart

Mulholland New World Gin (750ml)
Reviwer Picture By: Scott Beckerley | Review Date: 9/13/2019 | Send Email
This floral smelling gin has a light nose with (light) herbal spices and clean clay scents. Starts out slightly weighty in the palate and brightens quickly with spice, juniper and cream. The juniper is nicely integrated, as it is more in the background and not one of those slap you in the face monsters that make you think you just ate a juniper branch. I tried it "neat" and it was very nice just like that. With the delicacy of this style, I would imagine that it would be just wonderful with the Fever Tree Indian tonic. Gluten free, peeps!
Price: $26.99 Add To Cart

Mulholland Vodka (750ml)
Reviwer Picture By: Scott Beckerley | Review Date: 9/13/2019 | Send Email
OK, bear with me here...I am not really used to describing spirits aromas and flavors, so here goes. This vodka from Mulholland has a vanilla bean, anise, and clean linen nose. On the palate, very round and rich, with (you guessed it) vanilla and cream. Not at all "hot" or um, rubbing alcohol-esque, which is good, yes? I tried it "neat" and it was delicious without a mixer. However, I would imagine that it would make an excellent mixed drink due to the overall creamy character. There it is. I did my best! P.S. It's also gluten-free!
Price: $19.99 Add To Cart

2017 Susana Balbo "Signature" Malbec Mendoza
Reviwer Picture By: Will Blakely | Review Date: 9/13/2019 | Send Email
If ever I need to explain why Susana Balbo is such a celebrated winemaker, I simply point to this wine. Dark, perfumed, and voluptuous, it might appear at first sniff to be a dense beast of a wine. Not so: silky tannin, exquisite fruit, and high-toned acid paint a perfect picture of Mendoza Malbec that is at once easily approachable yet remarkably refined. Endlessly drinkable, this is one you'll want to revisit again and again.
Price: $19.99 Add To Cart
JS 94

Le Gallais Cuvée du Manoir Brut Champagne
Reviwer Picture By: Gary Westby | Review Date: 9/13/2019 | Send Email
I drank this last night at home, and loved it every bit as much as I did when I was inside the clos Boursault where it was grown. This Champagne is so easy to drink, but has so much depth and complexity underneath its easygoing exterior, that it's hard to believe it sells for such a low price. The baguette toast, creamy texture, and fine bead show off the wine's four years of ageing on the lees, while its smooth character and multi-faceted intrigue show off the underground solera where the Gallais store their reserve solera. This is a great aperitif for a party, but even a better bottle for two. The second glass is better than the first!
Top Value!
Price: $34.99 Add To Cart

2016 Alain Jaume "Terrasses de Montmirail" Gigondas
Reviwer Picture By: Will Blakely | Review Date: 9/13/2019 | Send Email
Gigondas consistently offers world-class, terroir-driven wines that come at a fraction of the price of its Chateauneuf-du-Pape counterparts, and Alain Jaume has delivered a nigh-perfect expression of this stellar vintage. Garrigue and violets on the nose revealing only a hint of the savory edge underneath. Plush, dark fruit flows sumptuously across the palate with a striking mineral core. Balanced, elegant, and with just enough grip and spice, this is on my short-list for the fall season's top reds.

2018 Kalinda Sonoma Coast Chardonnay
Reviwer Picture By: Clyde Beffa Jr. | Review Date: 9/13/2019 | Send Email
Glass Full image Glass Full image Glass Full image Glass Full image Glass Half image
A super value for everyday-drinking Chardonnay. Not too oaky or buttery, but has quite a nice balance on the palate. Plenty of apple and toast on the nose and palate. We can not tell you who made it, unfortunately.
Drink from 2019 to 2019
Price: $14.99 Add To Cart

2015 Cune "Imperial" Reserva Rioja
Reviwer Picture By: Chris DePaoli | Review Date: 9/13/2019 | Send Email
Our Spanish buyer has been delivering on Rioja and the 2015 Cune "Imperial" is another exceptional entry to the list. A rich nose of vanilla, black cherry, toast and sweet spice. On the palate these are joined by black licorice, dark and grey stone with a light dust note framing the long finish. Bigger medium body and balanced acid, this is great Rioja anywhere near the price point.

2015 Cune "Imperial" Reserva Rioja
Reviwer Picture By: Kirk Walker | Review Date: 9/13/2019 | Send Email
This is always a wine that you have to pay attention to--but it is really hard not to. The nose is great. It is everything that I want a Rioja to do. It is intense, complex, yet restrained. It gives you everything: dark fruit, spice, earth, oak, but it is integrated and settled, in that no one component jumps out in front of the other. It is just a pleasure to smell and to anticipate that first sip. The promise of the nose is delivered on the palate. This is a full-bodied red that is not heavy; it is lively without edges. These are deep and harmonious flavors that continue to roll on the palate during its long finish. I know I am biased, but this is a ridiculously good wine; and it's in contention for the best red in the shop at the price point.

Mulholland American Whiskey (750ml)
Reviwer Picture By: Scott Beckerley | Review Date: 9/13/2019 | Send Email
This fragrant whiskey has a cool nose of vanilla, cola, spices, and corn cake. On the palate, like their gin, it starts out rich and finishes lightly spicy. Kind of like if you could mix a piece of toffee with a piece of ginger candy. The finish lingers for quite a while and is extremely pleasant. I tried it "neat," and though it should make a fine mixed drink, I really enjoyed it that way. I don't usually like to harp on price, but, the Mulholland line represents some really fine bargains for what is being offered.
Price: $29.99 Add To Cart

2017 Domaine du Vissoux (Pierre-Marie Chermette) Moulin-à-Vent "Les Trois Roches"
Reviwer Picture By: Sharon Kelly | Review Date: 9/13/2019 | Send Email
Gamay is so good, it can be a little too "gluggable." However, when it comes to Moulin a Vent, my tone is more serious and I take my time to ponder what’s in my glass. The array of aromas that make Beaujolais so enticing are abundant in this wine, showing violet, cherry and red berries, but it’s the structure on the palate that kicks things up a few notches. This has backbone! With hints of iron (there's that mineral component), medium tannins, a spicy edge, and a persistent finish, this is very focused and clean. This has everything it needs to make it worthy of cellaring.

2009 Brane-Cantenac, Margaux
Reviwer Picture By: Ryan Moses | Review Date: 9/13/2019 | Send Email
This is one of the most impressive 2009s that we've tasted of late - it's evolved beautifully and show just how good recent vintages of Brane-Cantenac can be. Beautiful cut flower and cassis aromas lead to a palate that is precise, focused, and incredibly detailed with dark red fruits, bright acidity, and wonderfully fine tannins. There's a freshness to it that keeps it impeccably balanced. This is textbook Margaux, and it beautifully navigates the modern vintage in a classic way. A head-turner for sure.

2016 Maitre de Chai "Stampede Vineyard" Lodi Zinfandel
Reviwer Picture By: Ryan Woodhouse | Review Date: 9/11/2019 | Send Email
Vines were planted in the 1940s, own rooted. Soils are decomposed granite right at the base of the Sierra Nevada. Winemakers Marty Winters and Alex Pitts describe this wine as an ode to Paul Draper of Ridge Vineyards, for his classical style of restraint and finesse. I’d say they nailed it—it’s a very elegant style, nothing in excess.
Price: $29.95 Add To Cart

2016 Mike and Molly Hendry "R.W. Moore Vineyard" Napa Valley Zinfandel
Reviwer Picture By: Ryan Woodhouse | Review Date: 9/11/2019 | Send Email
From vines planted in 1905–06 in what is now known as the Coombsville sub-AVA of Napa Valley. Just two miles northeast of downtown Napa, this vineyard is also known as the “Earthquake Vineyard.” Potently aromatic, silky tannins, and high-toned fruit. Pure and powerful.
Price: $34.95 Add To Cart
WE 93

2017 Carlisle "Piner-Olivet Ranches" Russian River Valley Zinfandel
Reviwer Picture By: Ryan Woodhouse | Review Date: 9/11/2019 | Send Email
Mike Officer is one of the true guardians of old vine Zinfandel in California. His passion for these old vineyards centers around a very specific subregion in the Russian River Valley. Piner-Olivet is the intersection of two roads at the epicenter of old vines in the region. Fruit comes from: Carlisle (1927), Papera (1930), and Montafi (1926). Incredible stuff.

2017 Ridge Vineyards "Geyserville" Alexander Valley Zinfandel
Reviwer Picture By: Ryan Woodhouse | Review Date: 9/11/2019 | Send Email
Sourced from mostly 130-year-old Zinfandel vines, this is a blend of 68% Zinfandel, 18% Carignan, 12% Petite Sirah, and 2% Alicante Bouschet. One of the most ageworthy Zins out there, this often lasts for 10- to 15-plus years. Still one of the best values in all of the wine world.

2016 Ledge "Dante Dusi Vineyard" Paso Robles Zinfandel
Reviwer Picture By: Ryan Woodhouse | Review Date: 9/11/2019 | Send Email
Planted back in the 1920s, these head-trained, dry-farmed vines visible from Highway 101 are some of the most sought-after in the region. Winemaker Mark Adams, longtime assistant winemaker at Saxum, brings a huge skill set to the table. This particular wine is fermented wild, 50% whole cluster, and aged in neutral puncheons (double size barrels). The wine has a lift and vitality unlike many other Paso Zins. Check it out.

2018 Bedrock Wine Company "Bedrock Vineyard - Heritage" Sonoma Valley Red Blend
Reviwer Picture By: Ryan Woodhouse | Review Date: 9/11/2019 | Send Email
Ground zero for Bedrock is this 131-year-old block in Sonoma Valley. Mostly Zin, but 27 varieties in all, including around 20% Carignan and 5% Mataro. One of the best examples of an old vine field blend you’ll find anywhere, and being Bedrock’s eponymous site, and home vineyard, you have to think this one gets even a little more attention to detail. This is exactly what I mean when I say that Zinfandel is the crown jewel of California’s vinous treasure.
Price: $49.95 Add To Cart

2017 Bedrock Wine Company "Old Vine" California Zinfandel
Reviwer Picture By: Ryan Woodhouse | Review Date: 9/11/2019 | Send Email
Probably my most recommended Zinfandel, period. You get the unrivalled vineyard knowledge and sourcing of the Bedrock team, plus their expertise in the cellar, for an absolute song. The average vine age here is 80-plus years, coming from vineyards such as: Evangelho, Bedrock, Nervo Ranch, and Teldeschi Ranch.
Price: $23.95 Add To Cart
WS 93 VN 91

2015 Ramey "Woolsey Road Vineyard" Russian River Valley Chardonnay
Reviwer Picture By: Ryan Woodhouse | Review Date: 9/11/2019 | Send Email
A lovely example of a full-bodied California Chard done right. Big, rich fruit, poached pears, pie crust, brioche, crème brûlée. Lovely palate weight and texture. Stony minerals, well-judged oak and a savory, nutty lees character to counterbalance the big fruit. Classic style from a classic producer.

2017 Hartford Court "Four Hearts Vineyards" Russian River Valley Chardonnay
Reviwer Picture By: Ryan Woodhouse | Review Date: 9/11/2019 | Send Email
A layered wine. Rich and flavorful, yet with plenty of energy and acidity. From old vines. Dense core of baked, caramelized orchard fruit, lemon curd, clove, river stone, and wisps of jasmine giving lovely floral lift. Round and creamy on the mid-palate, but drawn out long and fresh by the balanced acidity. Very complete.
Price: $39.95 Add To Cart
JD 97 RP 96

2015 Mindego Ridge "Estate" Santa Cruz Mountains Chardonnay
Reviwer Picture By: Ryan Woodhouse | Review Date: 9/11/2019 | Send Email
A lovely wine from a little vineyard at the northwestern edge of the Santa Cruz Mountains. Fruit is grown by husband-and-wife team, David and Stacey Gollnick. The wine is expertly crafted by none other than Ehren Jordan of Failla. I love the combination of fresh, bright, cool climate SCM Chardonnay with Ehren’s silky, lush, more exotic style of Chard. Beautifully done.
Price: $44.95 Add To Cart
VN 93 JD 92

2017 Morgan "Highland" Santa Lucia Highlands Chardonnay
Reviwer Picture By: Ryan Woodhouse | Review Date: 9/11/2019 | Send Email
Keep an eye on Morgan’s wines. This longtime stalwart has been reaching new heights, with winemaking now under the tutelage of Samuel Smith. The 2016 and 2017 vintages have been moving in a more Burgundy-inspired direction. This has some lovely, subtle reductive notes mingled with pristine and powerful fruit, plus wisps of oak spice and flint.
Price: $23.95 Add To Cart
WE 93 WS 91

2016 Presqu'ile Santa Maria Valley Chardonnay
Reviwer Picture By: Ryan Woodhouse | Review Date: 9/11/2019 | Send Email
I love what has been happening at Presqu’ile lately. In 2015 they brought in Jeremy Seysses of Domaine Dujac as a consultant, and within the first couple of vintages the quality has skyrocketed. The Santa Maria Valley bottling is estate fruit plus old vine Bien Nacido. While remaining very focused and linear, it has lots of power and phenolic density. Serious concentration of flavor.
Price: $34.95 Add To Cart
WS 90

2017 Joyce "Submarine Canyon" Monterey County Chardonnay
Reviwer Picture By: Ryan Woodhouse | Review Date: 9/11/2019 | Send Email
Russell Joyce’s wines are definitely worthy of your attention. This incorporates fruit from a few different sites including Zabala in Arroyo Seco. Beautifully refined Chard. Perfectly ripe but with plenty of freshness and vivacity. What a steal at this price.
Price: $19.95 Add To Cart

Page: 1 2 3 next >>