Reviewers


K&L Email Alerts

Sign up to receive custom alerts, new arrivals and the latest happenings from K&L Wines


Staff Favorites

If you’re going to have Robert Parker or Stephen Tanzer over for dinner, selecting a wine they’ve rated highly will be a nice choice. However, when you’re buying wines for yourself, we’d love to see you find wines that match up your unique palate and pocketbook. We have a large staff of friendly and knowledgeable wine professionals that taste hundreds of wines each week. They can put you in touch with bottles that you are likely to love, often at a much lower cost than the highly-rated gems that often see a run-up in price and frequent availability issues. Like any great group of opinionated professionals, our staff has varied tastes themselves. Often our customers will find a particular staff member with a style that corresponds to their own. That concept works extremely well in our retail stores, and this section is our effort to bring you the same online. Don’t get us wrong, we love the highly rated wines from the press and will continue to offer them, but we think you’re missing out if you’re not augmenting those selections with picks from our excellent staff. Here are their favorites. (Click on a name to see their other selections - or to drop them a line.) Cheers!

Reviews

Page: 1 2 3 next >>
2016 Farnetella Chianti Colli Senesi
Reviwer Picture By: Thomas Smith | Review Date: 4/25/2019 | Send Email
I think it’s fair to say that as far as my palate is concerned, I often struggle with the ruggedness and lack of polish I find in most Chanti. And at under $15? Forget about it. I’ll pass. But every once in a while you hit a wine that totally defies your expectations and makes you reconsider looking the other way when you pass them in the hall. The Farnetella Chianti Colli is that wine for me. In the scribbled tasting notes I have for this wine you’ll see “really charming”, “ super friendly”, and “totally delicious”. It’s got a great nose that made me immediately recall Rosso di Montalcino. On the palate, bright cherry fruit, strawberry for days, and brambly with nicely structured tannin. Up front and incredibly tasty, I think this actually blows up the under $15 Italian red category. I dare you not to like this wine.
Price: $11.99 Add To Cart
JS 91

2015 Tenuta Roveglia "Vigne di Catullo" Lugana Riserva
Reviwer Picture By: Thomas Smith | Review Date: 4/25/2019 | Send Email
Tenuta Roveglia is kind of legendary around here. Their lower-tier “Limne” Lugana was my easy grab for San Mateo’s concert in the park last Summer. In fact, I think I bought more bottles of that wine than any other in the last calendar year. So when I had the chance to try the upper-tier Catullo Riserva, there was a lot of anticipation. I’m happy to say that this wine blew away my expectations. The nose is incredibly floral with tons of minerality, honeycomb and subtle stone fruits. Beautifully textured with citrus carrying though on the palate. A brilliant display of balance, it’s not often that the follow up to an epic wine performs even better than the original. I’m convinced that where Tenuta Roveglia is concerned, this summer I’m definitely trading up to the Catullo.
Price: $17.99 Add To Cart
WE 92

2016 Farnetella Chianti Colli Senesi
Reviwer Picture By: Jeffrey Jones | Review Date: 4/25/2019 | Send Email
A delicious and great value. There are dark red fruit flavors that are balanced out with a nice dry finish. There is a nice and smooth mouth feel. This will go great with pizza and pasta.
Price: $11.99 Add To Cart
JS 91

2016 Emerson Brown Napa Valley Cabernet Sauvignon
Reviwer Picture By: Keith Mabry | Review Date: 4/25/2019 | Send Email
This collaborative side project from winemakers Keith Emerson and Brian Brown needs to be on everyone's watch list. Between the two of them, their resumes read like a who's who of California movers and shakers. These long established relationships have given them access to some of the best growers in Napa, including a few culty start-ups we can only allude to here. The Napa Cabernet itself is a beautifully balanced red showing hallmark characteristics of black cherry, kirsch and currant aromas. Notes of tobacco and spice round out the character. It is a pure and elegant expression that has longevity written all over it. Most wines with this Napa pedigree would be twice the price of this stellar offering here. Not to be missed.

2018 Marquis d'Alesme, Margaux
Reviwer Picture By: Trey Beffa | Review Date: 4/25/2019 | Send Email
Lovely sweet middle fruit that is well balanced and elegant in the mouth. Hints of chocolate and vanilla bean, dark cherry fruit with a fleshy middle texture and firm but integrated tannic finish.

2018 Labégorce, Margaux (1.5L)
Reviwer Picture By: Trey Beffa | Review Date: 4/25/2019 | Send Email
Toasty and aromatic in the nose. Spicy, crunchy fruit. Quite ripe and fleshy in the mouth but with lots of freshness and finesse.
Price: $64.99 Add To Cart
WE 93 - 95

2018 Labégorce, Margaux
Reviwer Picture By: Trey Beffa | Review Date: 4/25/2019 | Send Email
Toasty and aromatic in the nose. Spicy, crunchy fruit. Quite ripe and fleshy in the mouth but with lots of freshness and finesse.
Price: $29.99 Add To Cart
WE 93 - 95

2018 Angélus, St-Emilion
Reviwer Picture By: Trey Beffa | Review Date: 4/25/2019 | Send Email
The 2018 Angelus is a big, dense and powerful wine underneath its upfront fruit and spice. The middle fruit is lush, concentrated and velvety, before the tannins grab you on the finish. This is a great cellar selection!

2018 Angélus, St-Emilion (1.5L) 3-Pack in OWC
Reviwer Picture By: Trey Beffa | Review Date: 4/25/2019 | Send Email
The 2018 Angelus is a big, dense and powerful wine underneath its upfront fruit and spice. The middle fruit is lush, concentrated and velvety, before the tannins grab you on the finish. This is a great cellar selection!

2018 Angélus, St-Emilion 6-Pack in OWC
Reviwer Picture By: Trey Beffa | Review Date: 4/25/2019 | Send Email
The 2018 Angelus is a big, dense and powerful wine underneath its upfront fruit and spice. The middle fruit is lush, concentrated and velvety, before the tannins grab you on the finish. This is a great cellar selection!

2018 Marquis d'Alesme, Margaux
Reviwer Picture By: Ralph Sands | Review Date: 4/25/2019 | Send Email
Winemaker Marjolaine de Coninck is making fantastic wine at this stunning newly renovated winery. 2018 Ch. Marquis d'Alesme is a blend of 63% Cabernet Sauvignon 30% Merlot 5% PV and 2% Cab Franc. Loaded with brilliantly fresh, juicy blue fruits, zesty clean with a long elegant finish. A very tasty and exciting wine! 2 Stars! Ralph Sands

2018 Labégorce, Margaux
Reviwer Picture By: Ralph Sands | Review Date: 4/25/2019 | Send Email
2018 Ch. Labegorce is composed of 50% Cabernet Sauvignon 44% Merlot and 3% Petite Verdot. Big juice here, deeply flavored wine with an old vine character and lots of spice and oak. Winemaker Marjolaine de Coninck has Labegorce and Marquis d'Alesme on a great roll of quality! Tasted 3 times with consistent notes. Ralph Sands
Price: $29.99 Add To Cart
WE 93 - 95

2016 Emerson Brown Napa Valley Cabernet Sauvignon
Reviwer Picture By: Blake Conklin | Review Date: 4/25/2019 | Send Email
Looking for an outstanding Napa Cab thats drinking incredibly now? Look no further. The Emerson Brown delivers! 100% Cabernet and very textured tannins, the wine finishes smooth with flavors of black currant, vanilla, and everything else you want in a Napa Cab, yet at such a very fair price.

2015 Silvia Rivella "Fausoni" Barbaresco
Reviwer Picture By: David Othenin-Girard | Review Date: 4/25/2019 | Send Email
An absolutely stunning example from this Master. While the wine is just a baby right now, it's already showing extreme depth and unparalleled distinction. The 2015 is a scary one for lovers of acidity and structure, due to the heat and ripeness, but Guido has managed to produce a wine of great balance and restraint without losing his signature intensity. An absolute benchmark by any measure and exactly the type of nebbiolo I like to sink my teeth into.
Price: $69.99 Add To Cart
VN 92

2016 Farnetella Chianti Colli Senesi
Reviwer Picture By: Kirk Walker | Review Date: 4/25/2019 | Send Email
This is a charming expression of Tuscany; ripe cherry, a touch of floral lift, earth, and leather. It is medium bodied with generous fruit up front, that classic Sangiovese acid but it is not tart nor tannic. This is a house Red if there ever was one. What's for dinner?
Price: $11.99 Add To Cart
JS 91

2012 Albatreti Brunello di Montalcino
Reviwer Picture By: David Othenin-Girard | Review Date: 4/25/2019 | Send Email
We sell a lot of Brunello. It's difficult to argue with the general quality of this very special place, but we do have issues sometimes teasing out the really special wines from a selection of incredible pedigree and value. This Albetreti hits all the notes and delivers on the promise of Brunello that it's the best Sangiovese your money can buy. I love this special grape and this region provides such a variety of styles, it never gets boring for me. But also it's hard to argue that $40 can take you further anywhere else in the world. 7 Years since harvest and this wine is already in developed some serious stuffing. The nose is bold dark brambly berry fruit, but never fruity or jammy feeling. Dense earthy undertones tamp down the fruit. The palate is chewy and dense, although the tannins have softened and we're well into the drinking phase of this special wine. I'm a strong believer in the power and grace of old brunello and this is one that will easily repay your patience, but is already on deck for those that need something tonight!
Price: $39.99 Add To Cart
JS 93

2015 Black Slate "La Vilella Alta" Priorat
Reviwer Picture By: Kirk Walker | Review Date: 4/25/2019 | Send Email
This is a crazy good deal. With a rich broad nose that opens with spice and earth and a mixed red fruits that build and builds as with wine opens. This is a hearty rich wine with layers of currant and cherries, peppered with spice all overlaying a fine mineral element. It is complex and nuanced. Best of all it is a uniques expression of a single village Priorat that is affordable. We have emailed other Black Slates, this is a different village and a different animal. It is like a Cotes du Rhone Village or like Burgundy. Really it is both. It is the unique blend of the varietals, the unique soil composition, and exposure, of each village that this project lets everyone explore. Delicious and educational.
Price: $16.99 Add To Cart
JD 94 RP 90

2015 Vecchie Terre di Montefili Chianti Classico
Reviwer Picture By: David Othenin-Girard | Review Date: 4/25/2019 | Send Email
These Montefili wines are in a special class. The "regular" chianti straddles that perfect line between feeling authentic and old school while clearly being made with the utmost care and attention. The nose is classic sangio balance between deep red fruit and earthy aromatics. The palate has wonderful lift and balance, utilizing the acidity of the grape to add length and offset fruit, but not overpower or obstruct. Wonderful purity. Classic, but clean style Chianti that reminds us this is can be a world class terroir.

2017 Casa d'Ambra Ischia Bianco
Reviwer Picture By: David Othenin-Girard | Review Date: 4/25/2019 | Send Email
This wine takes me right back to the rocky shores of Campania. A wine with character, but fresh and light. Low fruit, but not austere. Like the coast off which it sits, this Ischia producer makes wines of great beauty and elegance, but with a frivolity that can only be understood by those who experienced this magnificent place. But even if you've never been to Campania, you'll love this easy drinking quaffer. A nose of mineral and fresh citrus peel. Touches of floral aromatics, but not perfume-y at all. Good acid and low fruit. Perfect wine to power through all summer.
Price: $16.99 Add To Cart
RP 91

2015 Tenuta Roveglia "Vigne di Catullo" Lugana Riserva
Reviwer Picture By: David Othenin-Girard | Review Date: 4/25/2019 | Send Email
Another absolutely stunning effort from this benchmark Lugana producer. We've worked with Roveglia for years, but every time we pop a bottle it's like I'm trying it for the first time, revelation. These wines love a little bit of age and tend to get huge scores when they're reviewed so get a head of the crowd and stock your cellar full. The nose is explosive aromas of tangerine, creamy sherbet, tropical spice and attractive mineral undertones. The palate is weighty, textured, but lifted. Pungent Amalfi lemon peel, tense just ripened stone fruit and a balancing spice note. The texture is there for anyone who likes to chew their whites a bit, but it never feels overwrought. Just an incredibly satisfying and complex wine that will continue to improve in the cellar for years to come.
Price: $17.99 Add To Cart
WE 92

2012 Albatreti Brunello di Montalcino
Reviwer Picture By: Kaj Stromer | Review Date: 4/24/2019 | Send Email
The bass notes keep pounding! This is a dark beast of a Brunello. I love its weight, power, and assertiveness. It’s kind of a “take no prisoners” style. Dark plums, black berries, and a dose of heartiness inform this earthy, savory wine. It was a great surprise to come up with this 2012 hold over. Such an amazing find. I dare you to find the hearty dish that it can’t stand up to. Drink it now or age it for 100 years! I think it might go the distance, even if I may not.
Price: $39.99 Add To Cart
JS 93

2015 Tenuta Roveglia "Vigne di Catullo" Lugana Riserva
Reviwer Picture By: Kaj Stromer | Review Date: 4/24/2019 | Send Email
Tasting through the Roveglia line up I considered the charms of both the “Limne” and “Vigne di Catullo” bottlings. It’s remarkable to see two such different expressions of Verdicchio. While the Limne hits you with its firm minerality, it’s the sensual lushness of the Catullo bottling that wins you over. The wine is simply fruity, fresh, and lively with soft fruit notes of melon, peach, and apples. This would be a perfect choice to start a summer evening and transition into a finely selected plate of salumi and cheese.
Price: $17.99 Add To Cart
WE 92

2016 Emerson Brown Napa Valley Cabernet Sauvignon
Reviwer Picture By: Kaj Stromer | Review Date: 4/24/2019 | Send Email
This wine captures a style of Cabernet Sauvignon I’m particularly partial to. There’s an elegance and freshness here not typically found in big reds from Napa Valley. The upfront aromatics allude to a bowl full of fresh red, blue, and black berries. There’s a cool element to the nose that hints at sage, spice, and a touch of mint. It’s not common to refer to Cabernet as refreshing but this wine has it. The wine soft and accessible with just enough tannin to give the wine some palate pleasing grip resulting in a long creamy finish. This is 100% pure Cabernet Sauvignon aged in 40% new French Oak. It’s classically styled and currently available only at K&L at a very customer friendly price.

2015 Vasse Felix Cabernet Sauvignon Margaret River Western Australia
Reviwer Picture By: Miles Philippe | Review Date: 4/24/2019 | Send Email
Red currants and red plum layered on top of some hints of mint and tobacco leaf...This is not a Cab that is black and purple fruit driven, which I find refreshingly interesting and seriously delicious. My main impression of this wine is the wonderful backbone of acidity that integrates so elegantly with the fruits. I was lucky enough to taste this about 24 hours after it was opened, which was not something I thought I'd be writing on a review for a bottle of this price. Even after being open for so long, it was extremely lively.

2015 Vasse Felix Cabernet Sauvignon Margaret River Western Australia
Reviwer Picture By: Shaun Green | Review Date: 4/24/2019 | Send Email
Coming from Margaret River, it isn't surprising that the Vasse Felix is a stunning and complex example of Cabernet. Great balance and texture and restrained rather than one of the big bold monsters some associate with Australia. A bright red cassis nose laced with a minty herb and lovely earthy undertone give way to a palate of medium bodied red and blue fruits with fine tannins and a wonderful elegant minerality. Even after 24 hours this wine was still opening up so do yourself a favor and put a few away for a few years.
Top Value!

2016 Domaine de l'Amandine Côtes du Rhône-Villages Seguret
Reviwer Picture By: Keith Mabry | Review Date: 4/24/2019 | Send Email
A recent tasting with the folks of Domaine de l'Amandine affirmed my original feelings when I met them last year - they are one of my favorite new producers in our portfolio of Direct Imports. The Cotes du Rhone range is all wonderful with a range of bright and fruit filled wines with spot-on regional character. It is the flagship Seguret wine that really hits the mark though. The Seguret opens with a lovely red fruited nose of strawberry and cherry and a gorgeous perfume or violets and lavender. The structure offers fine tannins and plenty of balancing acidity making this a perfect daily sipper but also great with food. The 2016 finds a harmonious mix of a great vintage and an upstart producer emerging to become one of the new hot properties of the Rhone. All that and we have it for a fraction of what it might cost you elsewhere. This is one property to keep your eye on.
Price: $13.99 Add To Cart
WE 92 DC 91

2015 Vasse Felix Cabernet Sauvignon Margaret River Western Australia
Reviwer Picture By: Alex Schroeder | Review Date: 4/24/2019 | Send Email
On the nose are red currants, savory strawberry compote, a touch of scorched earth and gravel and a bit of the mint and eucalyptus typical of Margaret River red wine. The fruit is rich but vibrant and fresh with an acid line that gives lift and cuts through the ripe fruit perfectly. This is a knockout.

2015 Tenuta Roveglia "Vigne di Catullo" Lugana Riserva
Reviwer Picture By: Robert Cash | Review Date: 4/24/2019 | Send Email
The nose of this wine is so attractive and inviting with aromas of stone fruit, quince, and tropical fruit. Rich and round on the palate with notes of citrus zest, baked apple, with a creamy mouthfeel and zesty acidity. Delicious by itself, this would also pair beautifully with an almond and vinaigrette salad.
Drink from 2019 to 2019
Price: $17.99 Add To Cart
WE 92

2015 Tenuta Roveglia "Vigne di Catullo" Lugana Riserva
Reviwer Picture By: John Majeski | Review Date: 4/24/2019 | Send Email
Glass Full image Glass Full image Glass Full image Glass Full image Glass Empty image
Nestled near the magnificent southern shores of Lake Garda in Northern Italy, the Lugana DOC is home to fragrant, distinctive white wines that mirror the pure lacustrine breezes that flow through the vineyards, lengthening the growing season and adding structure, textural finesse and complexity to the fruit. Tenuta Roveglia was founded by Federico Zweifel, a Swiss emigrant who first planted vines in Lugana in the nineteenth century. Over time the estate grew to cover 250 acres, many of which were planted to the obscurely named Turbiana grape, better known as Verdicchio, one of Italy’s great white grapes. Riserva wines in Lugana are required to age two years prior to release, and this straw-colored wine, named for the sensualist Roman poet Catullus, is animated by rich and evocative flavors of ripe orchard fruits, meadow flowers, lemon meringue and melon, with lingering almond notes on the slightly saline finish. A wine to inspire the poet, cook and lover in us all…..
Top Value!
Price: $17.99 Add To Cart
WE 92

2017 Pessac-Léognan de Haut Bailly, Pessac-Leognan
Reviwer Picture By: Steve Bearden | Review Date: 4/24/2019 | Send Email
The 3rd wine of Haut-Bailly is a bargain and one of the first 2017's to land on our shelves. This is red fruited with aromas of gravel and spice and a supple texture for early drinking. The body is lively and fresh with the fruit and spice ending in a finish of very faint tannin. Decant and enjoy.
Price: $21.99 Add To Cart

2016 Farnetella Chianti Colli Senesi
Reviwer Picture By: Robert Cash | Review Date: 4/24/2019 | Send Email
This is a knockout Chianti for the price! Lovely nose of dried cherries, tobacco, red fruit, and subtle spice. It's quite fresh and juicy on the palate with a medium body and integrated tannins. Would go great with pizza or a burger.
Top Value!
Price: $11.99 Add To Cart
JS 91

2016 Enclos Tourmaline, Pomerol
Reviwer Picture By: Steve Bearden | Review Date: 4/24/2019 | Send Email
This deep purple 100% Merlot from vineyards near Fleur Petrus and Clinet is thick and creamy with a middle of deep blue fruit and aromas of chiseled granite. The wine is substantial but effortless with the tannisn taking on an almost plush texture as they poke through all the glossy fruit. A modern monster just waiting to be uncoiled.

2016 Gran Moraine Yamhill Carlton Pinot Noir
Reviwer Picture By: Ryan Woodhouse | Review Date: 4/24/2019 | Send Email
Beautifully polished, pure, exotic Pinot Noir. This really encapsulates the seductive, aromatic, silky side of the varietal. Perfectly ripe forest berries, cherry compote, Asian spice, mole and subtle vanilla. Its not sweet but the fruit is lush and bright. The oak is well judged and frames the primary fruit well. There's plenty of structure underneath all the layers to make sure this doesn't burn out after it's first few years. A really well made wine in a precise but expressive style.
Price: Hidden View Price
JS 95

2016 Berliquet, St-Emilion
Reviwer Picture By: Steve Bearden | Review Date: 4/24/2019 | Send Email
This is a firm and husky bottle that needs to be decanted to allow the fine grippy tannins on the finish to soften. As the wine opens a complex chorus of red fruits including ripe cherry and sweet raspberry take over the mid-palate along with hints of red licorice. This will evolve for many years to come.

2016 Roc de Cambes, Côtes de Bourg
Reviwer Picture By: Steve Bearden | Review Date: 4/24/2019 | Send Email
The 2016 version of this wine is big, dark and oaky but with a long, sweet finish of ripe tannin and a real sense of freshness. The middle of blackberry and plum fruit is accented by Asian spice and charred mesquite and seems to plump up as he wine takes on air. A winner from one of the best properties of the appellation.
Price: $54.99 Add To Cart
VN 94

2016 de l'Aurage, Côtes de Castillon
Reviwer Picture By: Steve Bearden | Review Date: 4/24/2019 | Send Email
This tasty bargain shows up front flavors and aromas of sweet cherry fruit, red berries, oak spice and a touch of milk chocolate on the smooth finish. Here is an elegant and easy to drink youngster that has character and freshness in spades.

2016 Les Griffons de Pichon-Baron, Pauillac
Reviwer Picture By: Steve Bearden | Review Date: 4/24/2019 | Send Email
The 2nd wine of Pichon Baron is full of dark fruits, bakers chocolate, dark plums, a touch of iron and a plump, seamless texture. This big, masculine wine has everything in place and projects both power and finesse. Decant tonight or cellar 10 years.

2014 Lilian Ladouys, St-Estèphe
Reviwer Picture By: Steve Bearden | Review Date: 4/24/2019 | Send Email
One of only a handful of properties that can claim to have produced a wine as good (or better?) than their 2015. This starts with lively and complex aromas of spice and ripe berries. The mid-palate is smooth and filled with crunchy currant fruit and a tensile chalky finish. an over achieving bargain.

2015 Vasse Felix Cabernet Sauvignon Margaret River Western Australia
Reviwer Picture By: Thomas Smith | Review Date: 4/24/2019 | Send Email
Vasse Felix is an absolute benchmark Australian Cabernet. In 1967, Cardiologist Tom Cullity was the first person to plant vines in what would soon become one of the most recognized regions for Australian Cabernet: Margaret River. The 2015 Vasse Felix could not be more of a classic expression of Cabernet from their estate property. There’s a beautiful hint of mint on the nose, along with richer layers of dark fruit and anise notes. On the palate, this is a mouth coating Cabernet, full of rich fruit along with well-integrated spice and vanilla notes that carry through to the finish. There’s plenty of acid here as well that serves to lift the fruit--managing to keep the deep core of fruit while invigorating the palate. Full bodied, yet still elegant and bright, this is a killer deal that won’t last long..

2017 Wines Of Substance Columbia Valley Cabernet Sauvignon
Reviwer Picture By: Ryan Woodhouse | Review Date: 4/24/2019 | Send Email
Another year and another rocking wine from Charles Smith and crew. Yet again the Substance Cab delivers unbeatable value in rich, fruit forward, approachable Cabernet. A more "typical" growing season in 2017 after the record breaking heat and drought of 2016 has produced a wine with a little more restraint than previous iterations, but there is certainly no shortage of varietal Cabernet expression - black/red currant, bramble, mocha, shaved cedar and some sweet oak spice to round it out. A lot of wine for the money...sure to be another huge customer favorite again this year.
Top Value!
Price: $14.95 Add To Cart
JD 93

2016 Farnetella Chianti Colli Senesi
Reviwer Picture By: Steve Bearden | Review Date: 4/23/2019 | Send Email
This is surprisingly structured for the price point but has a rich overlay of ripe cherry fruit and a clean and wonderfully dry finish. Another pure and delicious bargain to buy by the case and drink with pizza, pasta, burgers or any picnic fare.
Price: $11.99 Add To Cart
JS 91

2016 Domaine Sylvain Langoureau St. Aubin
Reviwer Picture By: Sharon Kelly | Review Date: 4/23/2019 | Send Email
The wines of Saint Aubin are some of the best values in Burgundy. The slopes here are quite steep and the vines sit at high elevation so year-round temperatures in the vineyards are generally lower than other parts of the region - as a result the wines can have great precision and purity. A luscious medley of stone fruit, white flower and candied Meyer lemon aromas followed by vibrant citrus, a tinge of oak and uplifiting acidity make this wine a delight to drink. Sylvain and Nathalie Langoureau have represented the region beautifully with this well-crafted Chardonnay.
Price: $29.99 Add To Cart

2015 Tenuta Roveglia "Vigne di Catullo" Lugana Riserva
Reviwer Picture By: Steve Bearden | Review Date: 4/23/2019 | Send Email
This is round, rich and textured with the weight and ripeness beautifully balanced by fresh acidity on the finish of salty mineral and juicy golden delicious apple. The middle is filled with ripe peach, almond and sweet crushed melon flavors. Generous and refreshing.
Price: $17.99 Add To Cart
WE 92

2017 Domaine Lafage "Novellum" Chardonnay
Reviwer Picture By: John Downing | Review Date: 4/23/2019 | Send Email
This well-priced Chardonnay is beloved by a wide cross-section of customers as it sees only a kiss of new oak and delivers a round, creamy texture, sumptuous fruit and perfectly integrated acidity. It's great on its own or with food and the flavors and freshness keep you coming back for more. An impressive and affordable white that exceeds expectation.
Price: $10.99 Add To Cart
JD 92

2014 Château Haute-Serre Cahors
Reviwer Picture By: John Downing | Review Date: 4/23/2019 | Send Email
Malbec hails from France although it has gained acclaim of late as one of the best known red wines of Argentina. When asked if we have Malbec from places other than Argentina, we're always pleased to direct them to Cahors (France)where Malbec thrives. This latest arrival is one of the more traditional wines of the zone as it's fermented in stainless and aged in used barrels. There's excellent depth of fruit and overall complexity combined with a touch of firmness and structure from the wine's acidity. Although excellent today with aeration, it will certainly drink well over the next few years.

2012 Albatreti Brunello di Montalcino
Reviwer Picture By: Cameron Price | Review Date: 4/23/2019 | Send Email
Most of our Brunello releases are of the 2013 vintage but this little guy has an extra year that makes all the difference! A wonderful savory nose of marinated raisins and balsamic makes the tummy growl with anticipation and once you get it into your mouth the soft abundant tannins will have you singing with joy! This wine is big and beautiful!
Price: $39.99 Add To Cart
JS 93

2016 Farnetella Chianti Colli Senesi
Reviwer Picture By: Cameron Price | Review Date: 4/23/2019 | Send Email
Awesome, aromatic Chianti for $12!!! Toast with savory black cherry glaze with great freshness and succulent juiciness. This wine at this price-point is very well balanced and should be a proud display on anyone's table!
Price: $11.99 Add To Cart
JS 91

2016 Nor'Wester (Omihi) by Greystone Pinot Noir North Canterbury
Reviwer Picture By: John Majeski | Review Date: 4/23/2019 | Send Email
Today is Earth Day 2019....why we allot but one day a year to show the love for the only real home any of us have is beyond me. I imagine those fragile remnants of humanity who inhabit the dwindling rain forest consider every day ‘Earth Day.' Nurture the thought. And on this miraculous orb, there are few places that can rival the enviable natural beauty of New Zealand. The Waipara region on the South Island produces fabulous Pinot Noirs of exceptional charm and elegance, as this wine amply demonstrates. Fermented with wild yeasts and aged in French barriques for ten months, this Pinot surrenders aromas and flavors of black plums, bright cherries, floral notes, spice and tapenade. Layered with silky tannins and pleasant acidity, it finishes with both impressive power and poise. Serve with pork tenderloin, wild mushroom risotto or seared ahi tuna.

2015 Tenuta Roveglia "Vigne di Catullo" Lugana Riserva
Reviwer Picture By: Cameron Price | Review Date: 4/23/2019 | Send Email
Looking for a refreshing white that has density and texture but will cool you down? This it IT! The Catullo has a beautiful round fleshy peach aroma with stone fruit qualities as well. The palate is soft and rich with an agreeable acidity and a dab of sweetness that makes this wine perfect for all aperitivos, digestivos and all in between!
Price: $17.99 Add To Cart
WE 92

2015 Vasse Felix Cabernet Sauvignon Margaret River Western Australia
Reviwer Picture By: Chris DePaoli | Review Date: 4/23/2019 | Send Email
A lighter bodied Cabernet, this wine has an elegance that gives way to an exceptional verve at the tail end of the palette. Subdued cassis notes layered way underneath the cooked bay leaf and black olives makes for a really great mid palette that transforms long after you might expect for a wine as fresh and lively as this is. Lower tannin, resulting in a freshness I don't normally associate with Cab but one I could definitely get used to.

Page: 1 2 3 next >>