Staff Favorites

If you’re going to have Robert Parker or Stephen Tanzer over for dinner, selecting a wine they’ve rated highly will be a nice choice. However, when you’re buying wines for yourself, we’d love to see you find wines that match up your unique palate and pocketbook. We have a large staff of friendly and knowledgeable wine professionals that taste hundreds of wines each week. They can put you in touch with bottles that you are likely to love, often at a much lower cost than the highly-rated gems that often see a run-up in price and frequent availability issues. Like any great group of opinionated professionals, our staff has varied tastes themselves. Often our customers will find a particular staff member with a style that corresponds to their own. That concept works extremely well in our retail stores, and this section is our effort to bring you the same online. Don’t get us wrong, we love the highly rated wines from the press and will continue to offer them, but we think you’re missing out if you’re not augmenting those selections with picks from our excellent staff. Here are their favorites. (Click on a name to see their other selections - or to drop them a line.) Cheers!

Reviews

Page: 1 2 3 next >>
2016 Roquefort Blanc, Bordeaux
Reviwer Picture By: Sharon Kelly | Review Date: 10/22/2018 | Send Email
If your Sauvignon Blanc playlist has Sancerre on repeat, it's time to change things up with something different that still hits the mark - like this gem from Bordeaux. It has invigorating citrus (grapefruit, orange zest) and delicate white flower flavors and aromas, but it's not weighty in body. It's rather crisp and refreshing on the palate with peppy acidity and an enduring finish. Try this paired with capellini pasta with sauteed garlic, pea tendrils, basil and shaved ricotta salata. Fab!
Price: $11.99 Add To Cart

2017 Les Champs de l'Abbaye Bourgogne Rouge
Reviwer Picture By: Sharon Kelly | Review Date: 10/22/2018 | Send Email
Made with fruit from 10-15 year-old vines, this Pinot Noir has plenty of juicy red fruits on the palate which are balanced by great acidity and gentle tannins. Bottled unfined, unfiltered and with very little added sulfur - this is minimal intervention with maximum results! Pop the cork and let this breathe for about an hour before consuming - the extra air time really makes everything come alive.
Price: $19.99 Add To Cart

2014 Tenuta Roveglia "Vigne di Catullo" Lugana Riserva
Reviwer Picture By: Sharon Kelly | Review Date: 10/22/2018 | Send Email
The white wines of Italy never disappoint. Fresh, flavorsome, and mouth watering with notes of stone fruit, white flowers, and a hint of salinity, this has beautiful succulence while retaining bright, zippy acidity that will have you reaching for that third glass. Enjoy with cioppino, chicken, pork and good friends. Bevi, amici!

2016 Château Saint Roch "Kerbuccio" Maury Sec
Reviwer Picture By: Heather Vander Wall | Review Date: 10/22/2018 | Send Email
Full luscious black fruited plum and cassis, accented by cedar notes on the nose give way to a silky and lusciously textured palate. The deep black fruit notes continue on into the palate, combining with elegant licorice and subtle mint elements. The finish is generous and long, lingering a full minute or more. I would highly recommend trying this lovely little wine, particularly if you are int he market for a wine that's open and ready to drink now.
Price: $19.99 Add To Cart
DC 96 RP 92

2016 Château Saint Roch "Kerbuccio" Maury Sec
Reviwer Picture By: Alex Pross | Review Date: 10/22/2018 | Send Email
What a seductive nose! Exotic spice notes, clove and aromas of blackberry puree abound in this sexy wine. The palate is a silky combination of black fruits, coffee, bitter chocolate and volcanic rock. Smooth and harmonious there's a nice lift on the end of this velvety smooth wine.
Top Value!
Price: $19.99 Add To Cart
DC 96 RP 92

2017 Bedouet "Clos des Grands Primos" Muscadet Sèvre et Maine Sur Lie
Reviwer Picture By: Morgan Laurie | Review Date: 10/19/2018 | Send Email
This is a great little crisp white to have around for the upcoming Dungeness crab season! The estate, which began converting to organic in 2010, is now fully organic from the farming to the production. This is refreshing and bright, brimming with notes of freshly sliced citrus, stone fruit and saline. It spends a good deal of time on it's lees, so you get a little note of richness on the nose, but the palate is zippy and clean. This is a great bottle to have around for any type of seafood, but it also hits the spot for any time you need a crisp, light white wine.
Price: $12.99 Add To Cart
WE 90

2014 Anthem "Beckstoffer Las Piedras Vineyard" St. Helena Cabernet Sauvignon
Reviwer Picture By: James Bradshaw | Review Date: 10/19/2018 | Send Email
Rather than "Anthem" a more accurate name for this gorgeous 2014 Napa Cab would be "Power Ballad." Ripe, unctuous, plump, and unabashedly hedonistic, this is Beckstoffer fruit in its most unadulterated expression. Black, blue, and purple fruit abounds and is buttressed by the perfect touches of oak spice. The nose bursts with scents of mint and eucalyptus, but quickly shifts to vanilla and blueberry compote. As round and flashy as it is, things are strikingly well balanced. This is a terrific red to drink now, but it will be exciting to see what it does ten to fifteen years down the line. An absolute tour de force and a bargain considering its pedigree.
Price: Hidden View Price
WS 94

2015 Domaine Les Pins "Le Clos les Pins" Bourgueil
Reviwer Picture By: Morgan Laurie | Review Date: 10/19/2018 | Send Email
Domaine Les Pins is a family owned estate, making wine for over five generations. As an independent grower/producer, they are hands on with every aspect of their production and work traditionally at every stage. The "Le Clos les Pins" is a single parcel of Cabernet Franc, the only varietal they work with. This is a little more savory and rustic in it's profile. The nose has an almost umami aspect to it with rich black olive notes, a touch of menthol and a bit of saddle leather that marries nicely with the bright, punchy red fruit. The palate has a bit of tannin, but it's all very soft and velvety with a nice punch of acid, making this a fantastic wine for the dinner table. This would be great with everything from roast chicken to roast beef. Another delicious Cab Franc to add into my weeknight rotation!
Price: $15.99 Add To Cart
WE 90

2014 Anthem "Beckstoffer Las Piedras Vineyard" St. Helena Cabernet Sauvignon
Reviwer Picture By: Ryan Moses | Review Date: 10/19/2018 | Send Email
Coming from one of Napa's most cherished vineyards, and one whose name usually carries a hefty price tag, this is a no-compromise expression of Beckstoffer Las Piedras at an incredibly accessible price. The aromas carry high-tones red and black fruit. The texture is luxurious and abundant flavors of blackberry and deep red cherry line the palate, finishing with hints of bitter chocolate and sage. Bright acid carries a long and powerful finish. This is an irresistible Cab that has no qualms in showing its Napa roots. This will evolve well for the next 10-15 years, but is flat out delicious with a short decant at this early stage. Very limited production here - grab what you can while available as Las Piedras cab this good is usually around three times the price.
Price: Hidden View Price
WS 94

2017 Abbazia di Novacella Schiava Alto Adige
Reviwer Picture By: Blake Conklin | Review Date: 10/19/2018 | Send Email
The Abbazia di Novacella Schiava may easily be the Italian Steal of the Century. Aromatic and complex, this blend reminds of Gamay if gamay wanted to be a little earthier. This is another wine I would love to add to an epic thanksgiving lineup. There's so much going on in this blend, that you're getting way more bang for your buck under 15 dollars.
Price: $14.99 Add To Cart

2017 Torti Pinot Noir Pavia
Reviwer Picture By: Blake Conklin | Review Date: 10/19/2018 | Send Email
As a self proclaimed Pinotphile, I'm always on the hunt for a new pinot that's coming from another region or country that I don't tend to have much pinot from. The Torti from Italy is a fantastic buy, and it's such an easy sipper too. I can easily see this part of my lineup for a big thanksgiving haul. And for being under 15 dollars, you seriously can't go wrong... Worth a whirl in every sense of the word.
Price: $14.99 Add To Cart

2016 Fèlsina Chianti Classico
Reviwer Picture By: Will Blakely | Review Date: 10/18/2018 | Send Email
As expected from wine conceived in the Chianti Classico region, this was born to pair with food. Its lovely aromatics evoke the picturesque landscape in which the grapes are cultivated - cherry blossoms, rich soil and a hilltop breeze. The flavor fares even better; multi-faceted and properly integrated, it offers wild cherries and subtle sassafras that finishes in dense, earthy mocha. This vintage properly and thorouhly encapsulates everything that makes Tuscan Sangiovese such a timeless joy.
Price: $19.99 Add To Cart
JS 93

2014 Tenuta Roveglia "Vigne di Catullo" Lugana Riserva
Reviwer Picture By: Will Blakely | Review Date: 10/18/2018 | Send Email
Such an astounding wine, I might characterize it as "destructively good." A heady perfume entices you like a siren's call, causing your mouth to water before your first sip. Then like a jolt of electricity, vibrant fruits shock your senses - ripe pears and juicy pineapple - accompanied by heavenly aromas of orchard flowers. The acidity here is palpable but not overwhelming, and joins with perfectly poised minerals and a whisper of salinity to give this wine an inimitable texture and extravagantly long finish. Whether you enjoy this tomorrow or 10 years from now, I think you will agree that nothing else comes close.

2017 Tenuta Roveglia "Limne" Lugana
Reviwer Picture By: Will Blakely | Review Date: 10/18/2018 | Send Email
Our favorite Italian white is back with another vintage. Absurdly complex for the price, the Limne has something for everyone. White peach, green apple and tropical fruit mingle with brilliant acidity and gorgeous minerality. The late harvest for these Verdicchio grapes allows for optimal ripeness, providing ample body and delicate floral aromas. The finish brings a hint of savory almonds, but the fruit and flowers remain present throughout. Impress your friends by bringing this to dinner or a party.
Price: $12.99 Add To Cart
WE 90

2016 Fèlsina Chianti Classico
Reviwer Picture By: Kaj Stromer | Review Date: 10/18/2018 | Send Email
If everyone made Chianti Classico like Felsina made Chianti Classico, it would certainly be one of the most respected wines made. I love Sangiovese and I love Italian food as we know it in the US; red sauce, a meatball, garlic, grated reggiano. This perfectly balanced, fresh Sangio possesses abundant fresh cherries and a touch of spice. The ’16 vintage ensures that the wine is properly ripe but lively and light on its feet. This is a lovely wine and a sensational value.
Price: $19.99 Add To Cart
JS 93

2013 Conn Creek "Anthology" Napa Valley Cabernet Sauvignon
Reviwer Picture By: Kaj Stromer | Review Date: 10/18/2018 | Send Email
If I sat down at my local steakhouse and was served this as the wine by-the-glass, I’d be extremely pleased. The wine is ready to drink. No need for a long haul in the cellar. It has blackberry, cassis, wood spice, and just the appropriate amount of tannins to give it structure and added complexity. I would strongly recommend you load up on this for the holiday entertaining season as the wine is built to be served and enjoyed. My compliments to the K&L Buying team! This is a great value.
Price: $34.99 Add To Cart
RP 90

Compass Box Story of the Spaniard Blended Malt Whisky (750ml)
Reviwer Picture By: Will Blakely | Review Date: 10/18/2018 | Send Email
This latest release from Compass Box reflects the mastery of their blending techniques in a bottle everyone can enjoy. Cozy scents of sea air, marzipan and apricot greet you immediately, imploring you to sit and savor the dram. Though relatively light in body, it provides impressive concentration of flavor. Its complex charactger pairs candied citrus and salty caramel with delicate spice and a savory finish. I consider myself fortunate to sample such a friendly, generous whisky; I encourage you to treat yourself to a taste.
Price: $64.99 Add To Cart

2017 Reynon Blanc, Bordeaux
Reviwer Picture By: Clyde Beffa Jr. | Review Date: 10/18/2018 | Send Email
Glass Full image Glass Full image Glass Full image Glass Full image Glass Half image
A long time favorite for K&L and the 2017 is a great vintage for white Bordeaux. Spicy, lively and crisp. Will sell quickly.
Drink from 2018 to 2018
Price: $14.99 Add To Cart

2014 d'Arenberg "The Dead Arm" Shiraz McLaren Vale South Australia
Reviwer Picture By: Kaj Stromer | Review Date: 10/18/2018 | Send Email
I used to call this wine the “poor mans” Grange. But there is nothing poverty about this wine as it totally stands up to the best of its kind. The Dead Arm is the kind of Shiraz that others tried to duplicate but seldom could. The wine possesses all the rich bold, dark fruit you come to expect from Aussie Shiraz but it's also perfectly balanced with a finesse the likes of which only truly great wines possess. You can approach this wine now but it will slumber soundly in your cellar for years to come if you chose. In which case, please call me when you open it. This is a real achievement.

1999 Bellerose Figeac, St-Emilion
Reviwer Picture By: Clyde Beffa Jr. | Review Date: 10/18/2018 | Send Email
Glass Full image Glass Full image Glass Full image Glass Full image Glass Half image
We sold out of this wine years ago and we just found 50 more cases lying in a cool cellar in St Emilion. This wine is in the modern style mode and from a non-modern vintage-perfect match. Decant and enjoy with a flank steak.
Drink from 2018 to 2018
Price: $19.99 Add To Cart

2009 Les Violettes, Côtes de Blaye
Reviwer Picture By: Clyde Beffa Jr. | Review Date: 10/18/2018 | Send Email
Glass Full image Glass Full image Glass Full image Glass Full image Glass Full image
2009 Bordeaux for under $15.00! So fresh and lush at the same time. Asian spice aromas that follow to the palate. Long and sweet finish. A Steal!
Drink from 2018 to 2018
Price: $12.99 Add To Cart

2015 Black Slate "Porrera" Priorat
Reviwer Picture By: Kaj Stromer | Review Date: 10/18/2018 | Send Email
One really has to laugh when you taste the wine and look at the price. How do they do it?! Regardless, you need to run, not walk, to grab some of this ASAP. The wine is wildly aromatic on the nose with all kinds of spice and dark fruits. It’s an inky dark little beast but perfectly balanced on the palate. I could drink several glasses of this and not get bored. I can see serving this with hearty dishes like cassoulet or a hearty stews. This is an amazing value.
Price: $15.99 Add To Cart
JD 93 RP 91

2015 Clos Renon, Bordeaux Supérieur
Reviwer Picture By: Clyde Beffa Jr. | Review Date: 10/18/2018 | Send Email
Glass Full image Glass Full image Glass Full image Glass Full image Glass Half image
Great value! So spicy and lively-another superb value from the 2015 vintage. Hamburger wine at its finest.
Drink from 2018 to 2018
Price: $11.99 Add To Cart

2015 Black Slate "Porrera" Priorat
Reviwer Picture By: Will Blakely | Review Date: 10/18/2018 | Send Email
True to its name, the Black Slate opens with dark, dense aromas - mocha and cassis. On the palate, however, it shows supple texture and plush fruit, in addition to well-integrated tannin and spice from the oak influence. Boasting tremendous conentration for a wine at this price, it should please the palate of new-world wine drinkers while still offering classic Priorat richness balanced by savory tones from the Cariñena. Overall, a tremendous value for a wine with exceptional pedigree.
Price: $15.99 Add To Cart
JD 93 RP 91

2014 Ramey "Platt Vineyard" Sonoma Coast Chardonnay
Reviwer Picture By: Kaj Stromer | Review Date: 10/18/2018 | Send Email
David Ramey has been one of my wine making hero’s since his days at Dominus and Rudd. After a long spell of making others look great he eventually founded his eponymously named winery and earned all the accolades he rightfully deserves. The ’14 Platt Vineyard Chardonnay is one of the most exciting white wines he’s made in years. I was dazzled by its freshness and nerve. For me, it was a dead ringer for a 1er cru Chassagne-Montrachet. It’s wines like this that make us hold our heads up high knowing that California produces such world class wine. Bravo David!
Price: Hidden View Price
RP 95 WE 93

Jean de La Fontaine "La Flatteuse" Brut Rosé Champagne
Reviwer Picture By: Will Blakely | Review Date: 10/18/2018 | Send Email
Another gorgeous wine from an exceptional producer in the Marne Valley, the Flatteuse rosé pampers the palate. Red fruit and candied citrus sing beautifully alongside counterpoint from gravelly minerals, a touch of salinity and a note of savory wood. In an usual step, they vinified this wine in oak rather than steel, but you can't argue with the results. This boutique style of winemaking, with its forward thinking and unmistakable quality, makes me excited about the future of Champagne.
Price: $34.99 Add To Cart
WE 90

2013 Il Valentiano "Campo di Marzo" Brunello di Montalcino
Reviwer Picture By: Mike Parres | Review Date: 10/18/2018 | Send Email
Here is a wine that packs a wallop and lots of bang for your buck all in one! Give this Brunello about an hour to open up and stand back, on the palate you will find strawberries and black cherries, a little bitter coco and some toasty oak & vanilla, fine tannins and a hint of Montalcino dust on the long finish.
Price: $32.99 Add To Cart
JS 91 RP 90

2015 Charles Baur Sylvaner Alsace
Reviwer Picture By: Alex Pross | Review Date: 10/18/2018 | Send Email
If you bought the Hugel Gentil and considered a bargain then you owe it to yourself to buy the 2015 Charles Baur Sylvaner. A pretty wine that displays citrus notes as well as white flowers and minerals this is a great value for the quality. A supremely tasty wine this is a great wine to use as an aperitif or starter with your next great meal.
Top Value!
Price: $13.99 Add To Cart
VN 92

2016 Charles Baur Muscat Alsace
Reviwer Picture By: Alex Pross | Review Date: 10/18/2018 | Send Email
I love a Muscat as a change of pace from the other aromatic whites. A Muscat offers a slightly different taste profile as it tends to lean towards orange and tangerine flavors rather than peach, mango and apricot flavors that Gewurztraminers do. The 2016 Charles Baur Muscat Alsace is killer deal with sexy aromas of orange flowers and spice while the palate bursts with tangerine and mandarin flavors.
Top Value!
Price: $16.99 Add To Cart
VN 92

2016 Charles Baur "Eichberg" Gewurztraminer Grand Cru Alsace
Reviwer Picture By: Alex Pross | Review Date: 10/18/2018 | Send Email
What a gorgeous wine, this is an fantastic Gewurztraminer. Ripe peach and orchard fruits deftly meld against wonderful acidity and structure to produce a harmonious white that truly personifies what a Grand Cru Gewurztraminer should taste like. A great synthesis of fruit, minerality, aromas and mouthfeel the 2016 Charles Baur Gewurztraminer Eichberg Grand Cru should be you Thanksgiving choice if you are searching for a Gewurztraminer.
Drink from 2018 to 2018
Price: $26.99 Add To Cart
VN 94 WE 93

2016 Charles Baur Gewurztraminer "Fronenberg"
Reviwer Picture By: Alex Pross | Review Date: 10/18/2018 | Send Email
For an entry-level Gewurztraminer this wine is outstanding. It starts off with a fabulous array of white flower and fresh picked orchard fruits. Never cloying or blousy this wine has a bone-dry feel and excellent structure and complexity. The ideal marriage of an aromatic white and fruit and mineral notes.
Top Value!
Price: $19.99 Add To Cart

2015 Charles Baur Riesling "Cuvee Charles" Alsace
Reviwer Picture By: Alex Pross | Review Date: 10/18/2018 | Send Email
An absolute ridiculous bargain the 2015 Charles Baur "Cuvee Charles" Riesling is a fantastic example of the high quality of Alsatian Riesling that can be had at incredibly low prices. This wine sings with citrus, floral and mineral notes with a zippy palate that energizes itself thanks to a nice punch of acidity and orchard fruits. Robust and clean this is a great choice for the Riesling enthusiast or the beginner just starting to walk down the Riesling path.
Top Value!

2016 Charles Baur Riesling Grand Cru "Eichberg" Alsace
Reviwer Picture By: Alex Pross | Review Date: 10/18/2018 | Send Email
A complex Riesling, this wine displays all the hallmarks of coming from a Grand Cru lineage. Crisp with fine acidity and cut this is loaded with citrus and petrol notes as well as subtle flavors of nut skin and crushed white flower.
Top Value!
Price: $24.99 Add To Cart
WE 94 VN 91

Charles Baur "Emotion" Cremant d'Alsace Brut
Reviwer Picture By: Alex Pross | Review Date: 10/18/2018 | Send Email
Zesty & bright with excellent richness and subtle hints of minerals and petrol notes. Expansive on the palate this is the ideal sparkler to start off your Thanksgiving fun with family and friends.
Top Value!
Price: $19.99 Add To Cart
WE 90

2007 Alexandre Le Brun "Cuvée Fascination" Brut Blanc de Blancs Champagne
Reviwer Picture By: Miles Philippe | Review Date: 10/17/2018 | Send Email
The name does not lie; this is a Fascination! It’s a powerful, slightly saline beast that you can smell rather than see striding upon five legs across a landscape of orchards planted in chalk and seashells, perfuming and air with pleasantries and memories gone by... Poetics aside, this is a very unique and beautiful champagne. If you want something to ponder over, marvel at, and maybe write some poetry with, I cannot recommend this enough.
Price: $69.99 Add To Cart

Ca de Medici "Remigio" Sorbara Lambrusco
Reviwer Picture By: Miles Philippe | Review Date: 10/17/2018 | Send Email
A very fragrant and pretty wine, this is sure to accompany me on many lunches in the future! Bursting at the seams with strawberries and overall bright red fruits, this unassuming wine will pair wonderfully with everything from salads to cheese. In spite of expectations, this comes across as very dry and not sweet at all. In a word: Fun!
Price: $15.99 Add To Cart

2016 Fèlsina Chianti Classico
Reviwer Picture By: Keith Mabry | Review Date: 10/17/2018 | Send Email
I have a soft spot in my heart for Felsina. This was one of the first wines I collected when I first began my career in the wine business some twenty years ago. I still find myself drawn to it every time a new vintage arrives. Always balanced, the regular 2016 Classico shows the nice levity of the vintage with a pretty perfume of cherry, lavender and red currants. It is elegant, classic and the perfect foil for some pappardelle al ragu di cinghiale [pappardelle with wild boar (or pork shoulder if you can't find wild boar!)].
Price: $19.99 Add To Cart
JS 93

2015 Querciabella Chianti Classico
Reviwer Picture By: Keith Mabry | Review Date: 10/17/2018 | Send Email
Querciabella has always been one of my favorite Tuscan reds and it continues to deliver what I love in Sangiovese - warm red fruit flavors of raspberry ganache, chocolate covered cherries and baking spices that build to a silky finish. The warmth of the vintage shines through in this sexy and sultry Chianti. I can think of nothing better to go with my Bistecca alla Fiorentina!

2014 Tenuta Roveglia "Vigne di Catullo" Lugana Riserva
Reviwer Picture By: Keith Mabry | Review Date: 10/17/2018 | Send Email
One of my big standouts at our latest Italian seminar was this little Lugana white. Generously fruited with flavors of peaches and candied Meyer lemon peel, it finishes with a silky luscious palate of fresh ginger and pear. This encapsulates everything I'm looking for in a dry white going into the holiday season. What a pleasure!

2014 d'Arenberg "The Dead Arm" Shiraz McLaren Vale South Australia
Reviwer Picture By: Stefanie Juelsgaard | Review Date: 10/17/2018 | Send Email
Any winery that takes the time and man power to foot tread every one of their wines, definitely takes winemaking seriously. Named after the Eutypa fungus that affects some vineyards, the 'Dead Arm' refers to one half of the vine that rots and falls off, while the fruit that lives on the remaining arm grows more concentrated and complex. That effect is very evident in this wine, as it showcases unbelievable power and structure. This is not one of the Shiraz fruit-bombs you may associate with Australia. This fruit comes from cooler-site McLaren Vale and the lift and tannin in the wine certainly showcase it's terroir. D'Arenberg is a highly sought after winery in Australia and after tasting this wine, it's not hard to see why.

Old Potrero "K&L Exclusive Barrel #9" Single Malt Straight Rye Whiskey (750ml)
Reviwer Picture By: David Othenin-Girard | Review Date: 10/17/2018 | Send Email
The Old Potrero brand is venerated particularly among California spirits geeks. For years the stocks were so small that we couldn't even get the standard releases consistently. When I saw it out at bars I ordered. When the supplier had it, we bought everything. Over the last several years a lot has changed at Mr. Maytag's old distillery, but they've always made this idiosyncratic single malt rye that is unparalleled anywhere else in the world. Now they're starting to have enough stock to sell barrels outright, usually it's cask experiments, but when we knew we had to jump on the new charred oak barrels as soon as they came up. With the recent sale of the Anchor Beer brand to the Japanese, the distilling component is moving away from the old branding, so these will be the very last Old Potrero barrels we'll ever see. And what a way to go out. Barrel 9 is showing less minty rye and more deep dark malt, cacao and savory spice. Textured and full bodied, this stuff is truly palate coating. Not for the faint of heart but an impressive example of why the Old Anchor Distilling Company was one of the great craft distillers of the modern era. A new chapter begins.
Price: $99.99 Add To Cart

2014 d'Arenberg "The Dead Arm" Shiraz McLaren Vale South Australia
Reviwer Picture By: Keith Mabry | Review Date: 10/17/2018 | Send Email
I had almost forgotten what a pleasure the Dead Arm from d'Arenberg is. Years ago, this was my go to wine from Australia with its generous fruit and savory spices. I remember buying a six pack of the 2002 and drinking it over the subsequent years and loving it every time. This new vintage reminds me of that past one with its deep flavors of blueberry and Maraska cherries with a touch of minty goodness. This ripeness persists but good focus and balance keep it on point. I'm equally glad to see the price has not reached the stratosphere either but given the pedigree and consistent quality, this wine from another region could've fetched twice the price. Wonderful!

2014 Ramey "Platt Vineyard" Sonoma Coast Chardonnay
Reviwer Picture By: Keith Mabry | Review Date: 10/17/2018 | Send Email
Wow! It's no surprise to me that I had this reaction from one of David Ramey's California Chardonnays. He always manages to get the right balance of fleshy fruit to creamy oak just right. This reaches another level for me though. The note of Key lime on the palate gives a lift to this that provides lively acidity and backbone to a pretty full-bodied white. A note of graham cracker crust takes me the rest of the way for this utterly engaging white. A touch reminiscent of Meursault but firmly California, there is a LOT to like here.
Price: Hidden View Price
RP 95 WE 93

2013 Conn Creek "Anthology" Napa Valley Cabernet Sauvignon
Reviwer Picture By: Keith Mabry | Review Date: 10/17/2018 | Send Email
I love old school Napa Cabernets and this hits all the right notes for me. Generous cassis and blackcurrant fruit that has a lively freshness behind it. This is full but not heavy and is the perfect under-priced buy from California right now.
Price: $34.99 Add To Cart
RP 90

2015 Black Slate "Porrera" Priorat
Reviwer Picture By: Keith Mabry | Review Date: 10/17/2018 | Send Email
The color and density of this wine are as "black" as the slate that this comes from. A generous and Priorato with flavors of candied fig, roasted plum and savory spices that delivers layer upon layer of flavor. Plenty of juicy acidity keeps the wine from being heavy on the palate and should give the wine lots of cellaring potential. But why wait, if you don't have to. This is dynamite right now!
Price: $15.99 Add To Cart
JD 93 RP 91

Old Potrero "K&L Exclusive Barrel #3" Single Malt Straight Rye Whiskey (750ml)
Reviwer Picture By: David Othenin-Girard | Review Date: 10/17/2018 | Send Email
Well this is it. Kind of the end of an era. And we scored two of the most special barrels I've ever tried yet from these guys. Both casks come a lot closer to the insane and unavailable Hotalings offerings that are sold at 10-16 years old than the younger offerings that are regularly available. The power rye malt and six years in a new charred oak barrel are a heady combination. I found cask 3 to be the drier of the two showing tons of baking spice, minty woodsy tones, and a rich malty character that sets the Old Potrero apart from other modern ryes. Bold spicy and dry, there's almost nothing on the market quiet like these, but they easily rank as some of the finest craft whiskies we've ever sold. A truly special offer that is will never be available again under this label.
Price: $99.99 Add To Cart

2017 Bedouet "Clos des Grands Primos" Muscadet Sèvre et Maine Sur Lie
Reviwer Picture By: Keith Mabry | Review Date: 10/17/2018 | Send Email
The Bedouet wines are one of our great new "gets" from the Loire Valley. The wines are farmed organically and are great expressions of terroir. The Clos des Grands Primos is all from a single-parcel planted over a mix of gneiss and mica-schist soils. The minerality crackles through, but 2017 is a generous vintage and there are beautiful fruit notes of peach and nectarine rounding out the yellow apple and citrus flavors. For those looking for clean dry whites, this should be your first stop. Great with all kinds of foods, especially shellfish, so I think a lovely crab salad with arugula and fresh grapefruit and orange sounds about right.
Price: $12.99 Add To Cart
WE 90

2015 Querciabella Chianti Classico
Reviwer Picture By: Stefanie Juelsgaard | Review Date: 10/17/2018 | Send Email
2015 was a warm vintage in Chianti and you will definitely find a broader than normal palate in this wine from the riper fruit, but it certainly does not lack acid or structure. Juicy dark fruit complements the drying tannin and makes this wine one you can drink now or hold onto. This would go perfectly with a steak or cream-based dish.

2016 Fèlsina Chianti Classico
Reviwer Picture By: Stefanie Juelsgaard | Review Date: 10/17/2018 | Send Email
One of the things I love about Italy is the vintage variations can be pretty stark, and they don't try to alter this by sticking to a pre-fab recipe. While the 2015 Felsina Chianti Classico was rich and supple, the 2016 is markedly different. Dry, spicy, more complex and structured, this is one you can definitely hold onto for a decade or more if you want. There is a nice red and black fruit balance to offset some of that power, and if you are drinking it soon, a little decanting wouldn't hurt.
Price: $19.99 Add To Cart
JS 93

2017 Abbazia di Novacella Schiava Alto Adige
Reviwer Picture By: Stefanie Juelsgaard | Review Date: 10/17/2018 | Send Email
What a fantastic wine to drink to usher in Fall. Light bodies and fruit, spicy and aromatic, and little herbal and crunchy on the finish. It seems a little Spätburgunder-like to me. A great interesting and tasty red at a killer price point.
Top Value!
Price: $14.99 Add To Cart

Page: 1 2 3 next >>