Staff Favorites

If you’re going to have Robert Parker or Stephen Tanzer over for dinner, selecting a wine they’ve rated highly will be a nice choice. However, when you’re buying wines for yourself, we’d love to see you find wines that match up your unique palate and pocketbook. We have a large staff of friendly and knowledgeable wine professionals that taste hundreds of wines each week. They can put you in touch with bottles that you are likely to love, often at a much lower cost than the highly-rated gems that often see a run-up in price and frequent availability issues. Like any great group of opinionated professionals, our staff has varied tastes themselves. Often our customers will find a particular staff member with a style that corresponds to their own. That concept works extremely well in our retail stores, and this section is our effort to bring you the same online. Don’t get us wrong, we love the highly rated wines from the press and will continue to offer them, but we think you’re missing out if you’re not augmenting those selections with picks from our excellent staff. Here are their favorites. (Click on a name to see their other selections - or to drop them a line.) Cheers!

Reviews

Page: 1 2 3 next >>
2019 Coudoulet de Beaucastel Côtes-du-Rhône
Reviwer Picture By: Scott Beckerley | Review Date: 1/15/2022 | Send Email
This is a superb vintage for our beloved "Baby Beaucastel". Drink this one while waiting for your Beaucastel Chateauneuf-du-Pape to come of age in the next 10 years! A lively nose of dark red berries, anise and freshly turned earth, with light herbs and spices. In the mouth, it starts out quite fleshy with ripe, dark cherries and black plummy goodness. The spices and minerals kick in and that leads to bright acidity and the lingering finish. The beauty of this wine is that it will also age very well over the next fives years or more. A clear winner.

Sorelle Bronca Prosecco di Valdobbiadene Extra Dry
Reviwer Picture By: Scott Beckerley | Review Date: 1/15/2022 | Send Email
Glass Full image Glass Full image Glass Full image Glass Full image Glass Half image
Normally, I have mixed feelings about Prosecco and have to be in the mood to drink it. Sometimes, it is a little too fruity for me. However, this Sorelle Bronca is nice and dry and tart! A pretty nose of orange blossoms, mandarin oranges and toasted nuts. Crisp acidity with citrus fruits and minerality on the palate. A great way to start a meal and a great alternative to Blanc de blancs Chamapgne. 1/14/2022-Update: It's been a long time since a revisit to this Prosecco and it is still just great! Still pretty with orchard and stone fruits, in addition to the crisp citrus. This is not a sticky sweet Prosecco. This is the real deal. Balanced, fresh and elegant.
Price: $19.99 Add To Cart

2018 Carlo Giacosa Langhe Nebbiolo
Reviwer Picture By: Thomas Smith | Review Date: 1/14/2022 | Send Email
I’ve been on a huge Nebbiolo d’Langhe kick recently and have been slowly working our way through our selection and continue to be struck how interesting, versatile and delicious they can be. Tonight’s selection is the Carlo Giacosa, and wow, is this one spectacular. The nose is incredibly dark and brooding with black cherry fruit, savory undertones and the with a slight tart note that’s reminiscent of wines like Lopez De Heredia. This is hardly a polished, perfect, 100 point wine. For me, it’s actually so much more. I love the tiny details, the herbal notes, the undeniable authenticity of this wine. On the palate, there’s a burst of acidity and fruit that sparks on the palate. Depending on the wine, Nebbiolo can have some of the most aggressive tannin out there. And to be sure, the Carlo Giacosa has plenty of teeth to it. Surprisingly in fact, for a Nebbiolo d’Langhe. But I like that it gives substance and structure to the overall wine. This is a wine for those who love wine–I wouldn’t change a thing about it.
Price: $27.99 Add To Cart

2017 Clairault "Estate" Cab/Merlot Margaret River Western Australia
Reviwer Picture By: Thomas Smith | Review Date: 1/14/2022 | Send Email
Woodlands began when David and Heather Watson first purchased this Margaret River wine estate in 1973, making them one of the first winegrowers in the region alongside Vasse Felix and Leeuwin Estate. As an entirely family-run business, production has always been small and focused on achieving the highest quality from this exceptional site in the heart of the Wilyabrup subregion. The nose here is black currant and graphite; a swirl reveals elements vanilla and spice. I love the composition here: Cabernet takes the lead with fruit, with Malbec providing rigidity and savory notes while Merlot adds softness. What I love about this wine is that despite its intense concentration of black fruit it isn’t weighed down at all. The palate is lively and balanced, making sip after sip effortless. The oak execution is perfect, complementing the fruit and adding warm spices to complement its generous fruit. There are plenty of Bordeaux sensibilities to this wine, but the concentration of fruit and softened tannin make it all its own. Charming and yet serious, this is an absolutely delicious bottle of wine in every way.
Price: $19.99 Add To Cart

2019 Walter Scott "Cuvée Anne" Eola-Amity Hills Chardonnay
Reviwer Picture By: Ryan Woodhouse | Review Date: 1/14/2022 | Send Email
This cuvee offers exceptional value and great insight into the upper tier Walter Scott wines. Sourced from A+ vineyards (Justice, X Novo, Seven Springs,) this bottling shows the very Burgundian style of these wines. Low crop loads in the vineyards mean very concentrated flavors, grapes are picked preserving bright, fresh acidity. Wild yeast fermentation brings out a complex struck-flint, matchstick, reductive edge, with mouth watering citrus fruit, salted lime, grapefruit, tart quince, toasted grains, raw almond and subtle fine grained oak. A vibrant, focused, linear wine early on its ascent, and destined to be great. An Oregon Chardonnay masterclass you don't want to miss.
Top Value!

Egrot Brut Champagne (2008)
Reviwer Picture By: Scott Beckerley | Review Date: 1/13/2022 | Send Email
This newly arrived gem, from that marvelous winemaker Elisabeth Goutorbe, is definitely having a look at. A clean nose of minerals, pastry dough, honey and nuts. On the palate, lemon, candied ginger, Marcona almond and minerals. After a little air time, Granny Smith apples come to the forefront. I'm definitely buying this. Especially at this price.
Price: $34.99 Add To Cart

1989 Isle Islay Malt 31/32 Year Old "Redacted Bros." (Thompson/Dornoch) K&L Exclusive Single Refill Hogshead Cask Strength Islay Single Malt Scotch Whisky (700ml)
Reviwer Picture By: David Othenin-Girard | Review Date: 1/12/2022 | Send Email
The source of these three special casks must remain a mystery, but I can say that it is from one of the excellent distilleries on the southern shores of the mystical isle of Islay. You can do the math. Distillery bottlings from either of the three distilleries around there would sell for 10-20 fold of what we're charging. We're not exactly certain where/how they were acquired, but sometimes it's best not to ask too many questions. This is the big daddy of the three casks. Distilled on November 15th of 1989. This one is the cleanest and most linear of the three casks. Sweet lemon rind, very clean white ashy smoke, salted plums. Vibrant zesty salty and clean (comparatively) on the palate with a long sweet citrus finish and a pure lifted white smoke that lingers for ages. This is the easiest to love of the three and reminds me more of Ardbeg than Laphroaig, but many who taste all three will likely prefer this excellent whisky because it's so friendly and open.
Price: $349.99 Add To Cart

1990 Isle Islay Malt 30/31 Year Old "Redacted Bros." (Thompson/Dornoch) K&L Exclusive Single Refill Hogshead Cask Strength Islay Single Malt Scotch Whisky (700ml)
Reviwer Picture By: David Othenin-Girard | Review Date: 1/12/2022 | Send Email
The source of these three special casks must remain a mystery, but I can say that it is from one of the excellent distilleries on the southern shores of the mystical isle of Islay. You can do the math. Distillery bottlings from either of the three distilleries around there would sell for 10-20 fold of what we're charging. We're not exactly certain where/how they were acquired, but sometimes it's best not to ask too many questions. The middle sibling was distilled on November 20th, 1990. This one is distinctly off the briny olive nose that the younger one exhibits. Instead more fresh green peat, tobacco leaf, salted pears, algae covered old wood, stony beach, old kirsch. On the palate it has plenty of leather, sweet lemon, rich smoldering underbrush, sage oil, tobacco again. Altogether magical, but less ocean and salty, more earthy and savory.
Price: $299.99 Add To Cart

1991 Isle Islay Malt 29/30 Year Old "Redacted Bros." (Thompson/Dornoch) K&L Exclusive Single Refill Hogshead Cask Strength Islay Single Malt Scotch Whisky (700ml)
Reviwer Picture By: David Othenin-Girard | Review Date: 1/12/2022 | Send Email
The source of these three special casks must remain a mystery, but I can say that it is from one of the excellent distilleries on the southern shores of the mystical isle of Islay. You can do the math. Distillery bottlings from either of the three distilleries around there would sell for 10-20 fold of what we're charging. We're not exactly certain where/how they were acquired, but sometimes it's best not to ask too many questions. This is the youngest of the and was distilled on December 12th, 1991. There's absolutely nothing like old heavily peated single malt scotch. The decades of aging polishing the rugged edges of this rare gem. The nose has a purity of ocean character that cannot be achieved, but from standing on the shores of the straights of Islay. The sweetness is astounding though, contrasting the decadent wafting smoke. It's really very difficult to describe. Ozone, limestone, lemon, salt, gun smoke, kastuoboshi, diesel engine, orange oil, olive oil, olive leaves and beeswax. On the palate, texture and rich with plenty of zesty citrus oil and smoldering old fire pit. It's just absolutely lovely. Don't regret not buying plenty of this if you can manage it.
Price: $299.99 Add To Cart

2013 Caol Ila 8 Year Old "Redacted Bros." (Thompson/Dornoch) Single Refill Hogshead Cask Strength Islay Single Malt Scotch Whisky (700ml)
Reviwer Picture By: David Othenin-Girard | Review Date: 1/12/2022 | Send Email
I don't know who at Diageo loves the Thompson Brothers, nearly as much as I do, but they seem to have access to some insanely high quality stocks at ridiculously low prices. This absolutely perfect young Caol Ila is everything we love about the special Islay distillery, bottled at cask strength and sold for a stupendously low price. While it's listed as a refill hogsheads, it's not one of those crystal clear ones definitely has some active wood to balance to rugged ocean-y peat character that makes Caol Ila so special. The color is amber. The nose offers a heady mixture of bacon smoke, salted fish, capers, burnt lemon peel, fresh rubber, fancy candle wax, salted plums and camphor. On the palate the fresh peat absolutely hammers the front in the most inviting way. We move into gorgeous cinnamon, black olive, caraway, roasted pumpkin seed, waxy salted lemon preserve and a fresh earthy peat and malty sweetness. With a splash of water it becomes much more ocean-y. A stunning basket of savory spices, salty sea spray, old cedar resin, old rain slicker, smoldering coal embers. It's lost it's peaty power on the front end, replaced with salt and citrus only to be rejoined on the finish with a long ashy smoke. This stuff is just too good. I firmly believe you can't have enough Caol Ila in your life.
Price: $49.99 Add To Cart

1990 Speyside Region 30 Year Old "Redacted Bros." (Thompson/Dornoch) Single Refill Barrel Cask Strength Single Malt Scotch Whisky (700ml)
Reviwer Picture By: David Othenin-Girard | Review Date: 1/12/2022 | Send Email
Absolutely no indication, despite my best efforts, of the true source for this stupendous old Speysider. Honestly anything Speyside in this age range is worth $200 these days, but this cask is particularly lovely. It's kind of a no brainer and I'm surprised it hasn't sold out completely considering there is much high praise for the already release UK/EU version of this bottling, but we'll have a taste for good measure. The color is old gold. The nose has a very old school vibe and while I have difficulty not spending my energy trying to guess where it might be from, it's precisely the style I want out of a Speysider of this age. Gorgeous just under ripe white peaches, almond candy, yellow cherries, mint, cedar, the tiniest hint of some old shellac. On the palate it's rich and waxy with sweet yellow plums, oily pine resin, spicy ginger, wild honey, dried herbs and some tropical fruit. A truly lovely and utterly drinkable old malt of the highest order.
Price: $209.99 Add To Cart

2008 Linkwood 13 Year Old "Redacted Bros." (Thompson/Dornoch) Single Refill Sherry Butt Speyside Single Malt Scotch Whisky (700ml)
Reviwer Picture By: David Othenin-Girard | Review Date: 1/12/2022 | Send Email
The two brothers in Dornoch who bottler the "Redacted Bros" line of malts for K&L have proven to be extremely deft at not only ferreting out interesting casks, but also offering them at exceptional prices. This lovely barrel, of which only a small fraction was allocated for the US market, is the perfect example of how much value their offerings can deliver. Aged in a refill butt, this is no big sherry bomb, but it offers tons of character at such a ridiculously reasonable price compared to other single casks from this blue chip distillery. Here's my take. The color is pale gold. Not as forward on the earth malt as many younger Linkwoods, instead a crystalline maltiness that offers vibrant stone fruit, pulverized chalk, yellow flowers, ginger powder, lemon balm and honey. On the palate ginger snaps, biscuits, marmalade, honeysuckle and a sweet pepper crystal malt. With water it because a bit more orange-y and much creamier but I prefer this one without water.
Price: $69.99 Add To Cart

2010 Blended Malt (Miltonduff) 11 Year Old "Redacted Bros." (Thompson/Dornoch) First Fill Bourbon Barrel Blended Malt Scotch Whisky (700ml)
Reviwer Picture By: David Othenin-Girard | Review Date: 1/12/2022 | Send Email
Not sure why this one needed to be teaspooned, but I don't think anyone cares any longer if the word Blended Malt appears on the label. Most people have bested their blended fears after years of tariffs and this is first fill bourbon barrel was certainly filled with almost entirely malt from the Miltonduff distillery. A multi-cask version of this was for sale in the UK, but this single barrel is an absolute dream. I was just astonished by the quality. Here are my thoughts. The yellow gold color is very inviting. The nose is a heady mixture of moss-y stones, yellow winter fruits (quince, persimmon and gold delicious), sandalwood, ginger, vanilla bean and flinty almost smoky malt. On the palate, it's darker and maltier than the nose and has remarkable old school vibe to it. It's malt driven with plenty of barrel spice behind the rich dry heather character and some fruit. The tiniest note of highland peat rounds out the package for an interesting and unusual expression from the unstoppable siblings in Dornoch.
Price: $54.99 Add To Cart

2009 Teaninich 12 Year Old "Redacted Bros." (Thompson/Dornoch) Single Hogshead Highland Single Malt Scotch Whisky (700ml)
Reviwer Picture By: David Othenin-Girard | Review Date: 1/12/2022 | Send Email
Teaninich is one of these northern highland gems that have remained in the shadows more or less for the last two hundred odd years. Located just outside Dornoch, appropriately, where this exceptional bottler is based, this product is one of just a handful of single malts we've sold from the distillery and only the second exclusive. The first was a 41 year old sherry butt, so we've got different style here no doubt. This cask was split and sold partially in UK/EU, so it's been reviewed favorably already, but let's have a taste. The color is pale gold. The nose is a blast of fresh cut grass, bright citrus rind, savory underbrush and fresh crystal malt. Extremely chiseled but not astringent or one dimensional at all. On the palate a lovely oily texture with an almost incense-like woodsy-ness fighting the dry and fresh grasses of with a zesty lemon cross bow. Wonderful tension and depth considering the lack of overt wood influence and a purity that's started for me to become the hallmark of the northern highland region. With water, which I HIGHLY recommend, we get creamier lemon custard, some tropical green fruits, now more of a fresh meadow than just grass and a gorgeous mineral character that kicks up several notches. On the palate, much more pepper and less lemon but the long malty finish goes on surprisingly long. An absolutely lovely Spring/Summer time dram that shows the excellent quality of this under appreciated northern sleeper.
Price: $59.99 Add To Cart

2017 Pontet-Canet, Pauillac
Reviwer Picture By: Ryan Moses | Review Date: 1/11/2022 | Send Email
An all-star like always, Pontet-Canet is a breath of fresh air in 2017 Bordeaux from an estate that can seemingly do no wrong these days. Pure aromas of black and blue fruit lead to an extremely polished palate full of cassis, black cherry, and vanilla. There's tons of depth and complexity here but enough acid to carry everything through. Chewy, mouthfilling, and modern—those who have enjoyed Pontet-Canet in their modern years will find a lot to like here. Drink 2022 through 2038.

2016 Castello di Gabbiano "Cavaliere d'Oro" Chianti Classico Riserva
Reviwer Picture By: Thomas Smith | Review Date: 1/11/2022 | Send Email
This Chianti Classico is my new benchmark for great weeknight wine. It shows a beautiful nose of maraschino cherry, tobacco leaf and sage with savory undertones. Rich and full on the palate, there’s great acid and softened tannin. This is definitely a ripe style, but it is perfectly weighted. This is a stunner of a deal, and my new regular weeknight wine.
Price: $14.99 Add To Cart

2019 Domaine Lafage "Cuvée Nicolas" Grenache Côtes Catalanes Vieilles Vignes
Reviwer Picture By: Keith Mabry | Review Date: 1/8/2022 | Send Email
What can I say about the wines of Jean-Marc and Eliane Lafage that I haven't already said a million times before. Bastide Miraflors, Novellum, the new La Colline Aux Fossiles and now, the new vintage of the Cuvee Nicolas. Every wine the Lafages touch, blows the quality-to-price-ratio out of the water! The Nicolas is all old-vine Grenache that is rich and concentrated, especially reflecting the warm confiture of fruit flavors you get from this grape when it comes from Maury. The vines grown on red schist soils from the foothills in the Pyranees provides more structure. Not quite hedonistic, the Nicolas has lift and vigor that keeps it dancing lithely on the palate. You'd have to go to the Rhone and spend twice as much to find a Grenache that offers this level of intensity and depth. Yet another MUST BUY from Domaine Lafage!
Price: $15.99 Add To Cart

2017 Xavier Vignon "Cuvée Vieilles Vignes" Côtes-du-Rhône
Reviwer Picture By: Keith Mabry | Review Date: 1/8/2022 | Send Email
I actually tasted this wine from Vignon a couple of years ago and was taken by the layered spiced fruit and garrigue tones. It was an instant classic in my mind. When we ordered it though, we were accidentally sent the Cotes-du-Rhone Villages, an equally pleasing wine but not this wine. I begged them to set aside the correct wine for shipping at a later date and because of our relationship, they accommodated our request. Well it's finally here and after retasting the wine, I am more than pleased. The benefit of a little more time in bottle has given the Cuvee Vieilles Vignes even greater character. Still laced with all the bay, fennel and spices I remember, it has developed a more polished palate with flavors of black cherry and dried blueberry emerging. With all this beautiful stuffing, it should continue to drink really well, and I mean REALLY well for several more years. A true classic and a steal for under $20 for all this old-vine elegance!
Price: $16.99 Add To Cart

2019 Tascante “Ghiaia Nera” Etna Rosso
Reviwer Picture By: Tim Telli | Review Date: 1/8/2022 | Send Email
This wine pours a really light, almost translucent color, but don't dismiss it for that as color can be deceptive in a wine such as this. The wine is very bright with a spicy nose and plenty of sour cherries. Almost pinot noir like in flavor and texture with great acid cut to it. This is a really nice wine that is on the more delicate side of the fruit spectrum yet has nice fruit concentration with great balance. Delicious on its own, this would also be the perfect foil to some fatty foods such as duck, pork or roasted chicken.

2021 Allan Scott Sauvignon Blanc Marlborough
Reviwer Picture By: Thomas Smith | Review Date: 1/6/2022 | Send Email
If there is one wine in New Zealand that deserves the best value wine of the year, it’s the 2021 Allan Scott Sauvignon Blanc. The staff here at K&L first fell in love with this wine with the 2019 vintage, and the 2021 is an incredible follow-up that is even better than the first. It's rare to find a wine at this price that is firing on all cylinders. Everything you’re looking for in exceptional Sauvignon Blanc is here in spades. With tart apple, crisp citrus notes and a refreshing, almost mountain springwater texture, this is gorgeous, classic Marlborough Sauvignon Blanc at its very best. The 2021 vintage was a difficult one, especially when an unusually late frost cut down yields by as much as 40% for many growers. But the vines responded by putting all their energy into the small crop that remained, making the quality of wines in 2021 absolutely exceptional. This is a once-in-a-generation vintage that may set a new benchmark for what’s possible in Marlborough. The Allan Scott Sauvignon Blanc is a must-have for any fan of the variety, but the small production means they definitely won’t be around for long.
Price: $13.99 Add To Cart

2020 Matt Connell "Rendition" Pinot Noir Central Otago
Reviwer Picture By: Neal Fischer | Review Date: 1/5/2022 | Send Email
This is a beautiful and complex Pinot Noir coming from one of New Zealand's most talented producers. The nose is lush with boysenberry, cran-raz, brandy cherries, and crushed rose petal with a little forest floor underneath it all. On the palate this wine gives more and more depth starting with tart mixed berry, white pepper, more intense cherry, and cedar wood. Overall, the wine has a welcoming soft structure to it, but there's a spice that kicks in at the back-palate that gives shift to the wine, both in terms of flavor and texture. A wonderful and mercurial Pinot!
Price: $29.99 Add To Cart

2016 Les Allées de Cantemerle, Haut-Médoc
Reviwer Picture By: Alex Schroeder | Review Date: 1/5/2022 | Send Email
Glass Full image Glass Full image Glass Full image Glass Full image Glass Full image
This second label of Chateau Cantemerle is singing! Clocking in at 13.0% abv, the precision of the 2016 vintage is on full display with bright raspberry and currant fruit, notes of tea leaves, smoky game and pepper. The fruit is rich and ripe and yet so fresh and bright at the same time. Based on older vintages of Allées that I've tasted, this is a great candidate for the cellar, too. You should stake your claim before they disappear.
Price: $24.99 Add To Cart

W.B. Saffell Limited Edition Batch #1 107 Proof Kentucky Straight Bourbon Whiskey (375ml)
Reviwer Picture By: David Othenin-Girard | Review Date: 1/5/2022 | Send Email
It's no secret that I'm a total Wild Turkey fan boy. I've been pining for this whisky for the better part of two years. While this batch was released in most markets in 2019, we didn't see it in California until two years later. While most other markets have sold out and the few stores that still have it are asking nearly double the original price, we've done everything in our power to purchase every single bottle we could find. There's simply nothing on the market as delicious and available as this incredible product. If you ever wanted to taste what pre-prohibition bourbon might have tasted like, this is about as close as you're going to get. The nose is never ending in its complexity. Every trip back is a different story. First it offers tons of sweet corn, rich caramel and brown sugar. When you return, now a powerful spice focused on cinnamon, but more complex and some added herbal savory character. Finally, zesty burnt orange peel and freshly toasted vanilla bean. On the palate, that fab WT earthiness, which I'm certain comes from the old 12 year element (of course distilled at the now demolished Old Ripy plant). Sweet oak, peppery spice, caramel syrup, it's full bodied but not obtrusively heavy, with a vibrant zesty-ness no doubt thanks to some excellent work by the blender. This is a whisky I'd like to be drinking all the time in perpetuity. It simply never gets old. After days with this bottle it continues to grow on me. There will be a the occasionally hater that quips about the price, but considering the junk that people throw money at these days, this is about the best bourbon we can sell to you dollar for dollar. This gets my highest recommendation!
Price: $49.99 Add To Cart

Kirin Fuji Japanese Single Grain Whisky (750ml)
Reviwer Picture By: David Othenin-Girard | Review Date: 1/5/2022 | Send Email
Many people are rightfully skeptical of new Japanese whisky. Indeed there are so many fake and/or low quality products on the market, the industry has collectively agreed to stop the obfuscation that has led to multitude of sub-par "Japanese" whiskies. But ultimately the great distillers of Japan make exceptional whisky across the board, even when they might blend in a bit of Scotch. The few distillers that do release Japanese distilled whisky are often times extremely hard to get. There are several famous names that were once very available that are now ultra-allocated. One of the saddest departures from regular appearance on our shelves is the wonderful Nikka Coffey Grain whisky. That lovely high quality grain whisky was many drinkers introduction to the category. Now, we have very little non-imported grain available and most are usually made using sochu style methods. That's where this excellent whisky comes in. The Fuji Gotemba distillery has long been prized in Japan thanks to it's high quality techniques and pure water source. Located at the base of Mt Fuji, the label has rebranded for the release of this highly anticipate grain and is known simply as Fuji. What's most striking about this product is simply how overtly delicious it is. Not as wood driven or nutty as the Nikka Coffey, but with much more texture or character than any Scottish grain, it's simply a wonderful thing to have in you glass. Let's taste it! The color is yellow gold. Immediately a pungent basket of fresh ripe stone and citrus fruit. Subtle nutty character and hints of both vanilla and cinnamon. The entry is honeyed and very sweet before adding some baking spice, gingersnap cookies, fresh biscuits and a touch of licorice bark. It's so easy to drink, but not at all boring and singular. An excellent choice for anyone looking to try something new in the category or trying to fill a Coffey Grain shaped hole in your heart.
Price: $94.99 Add To Cart

1997 Ben Nevis 24 Year "Chapter 7, A Whisky Anthology - Monologue #16" Single Bourbon Hogshead #30 Cask Strength Highland Single Malt Scotch Whisky (700ml)
Reviwer Picture By: David Othenin-Girard | Review Date: 1/5/2022 | Send Email
I'm a total nerd for Ben Nevis. It goes right in line with my love of all western coast malts from Springbank to Pulteney and Clynelish in between, the western coast of Scotland seems to produce some of the most distinctive and enticing whisky in the world. Ben Nevis has become a veritable rarity and I do believe bottlings like this will be highly collectible in the future, but I dare you to try to keep this one shut. It's absolutely gorgeous. The color is old gold. The nose offers that very old school rich waxy character that's so damn hard to find these days. Flickers of Clynelish, some citrus rind as well, something strongly minerally as well, like a fabulous Savennières. It's chalky and wild! On the palate it's extremely fresh surprisingly supple. The implied austerity of the nose relinquishes completely and a gorgeous balanced purity with Meyer lemon, sweet crystal malt, white pepper, ginger and a great rich texture. The finish is long a slightly ocean-y, with a hints of crushed oyster shell and sea spray. With water the whole thing opens beautifully but it never lets go of the chiseled mineral character. With water it adds some tropical fruit -kiwi and lime- and some rich oily weight. Tough to tell which way is better. In any case, this is awesome old school highland malt very much out of the ordinary for modern malt. Easily worth the price of entry considering the quality and rarity for a similar experience.
Price: $274.99 Add To Cart

2015 La Salle de Poujeaux, Moulis
Reviwer Picture By: Alex Schroeder | Review Date: 1/5/2022 | Send Email
I was excited to try this second label from one of K&L's favorite left-bank chateaus for value, Chateau Poujeaux. 2015 was a warm, generous vintage in Bordeaux lending to incredible wines in the second-label category, and the Salle delivers! Heady aromas of red currants, licorice, cedar, minerals and smoke waft from the glass. Its rich texture glides over the palate like silk with wonderfully balancing acidity on the finish that makes this one of the most drinkable red Bordeaux values under $20.
Price: $19.99 Add To Cart

2019 Tascante “Ghiaia Nera” Etna Rosso
Reviwer Picture By: Alex Schroeder | Review Date: 1/5/2022 | Send Email
This is such an intriguing wine from the still-active volcano on Sicily! It pours a pale salmon color -- almost rosé! But the nose is full of red fruits like rainier cherries and wild strawberries, with floral rose notes and a touch of mineral salinity. It is light-bodied, but full flavored with refreshing acidity to make this so delicious and drinkable. This is my top pick for an under-$20 red in the store.

2018 Soutard, St-Emilion
Reviwer Picture By: Alex Schroeder | Review Date: 1/5/2022 | Send Email
It is difficult to find a rich, full bodied red wine as perfectly honed as the '18 Soutard. It is made from a blend of 63% Merlot, 28% Cabernet Franc, 7% Cabernet Sauvignon and 2% Malbec. It has an intriguing perfume of black currants, blueberries, stewed peppers, licorice, dried flowers, baking spice and smoke. It shows surprising restraint on the attack; the tannins are ripe and silky, and the rich dark fruits explode on the long, acid-driven finish with no lingering bitterness at all.

2015 Meyney, St-Estèphe
Reviwer Picture By: Alex Schroeder | Review Date: 1/5/2022 | Send Email
This Cru Bourgeois is consistently one of the best left-bank values in Bordeaux. Hailing from superb terroir in the northern commune of St. Estephe, its owners at the time were allowed to submit only one property for the Grand Cru classification of 1855 and chose La Tour Carnet (4th Growth) because it had the superior chateau. What this means for you is a great wine for a great price. The 2015 is displaying beautifully with rich cherry/red currant fruit, toasted cedar, wild game and subtle earth. It shows lovely freshness on the palate and is drinking well beyond its price point.
Price: $44.99 Add To Cart

2018 Saint-Estèphe de Calon-Ségur, St-Estèphe
Reviwer Picture By: Alex Schroeder | Review Date: 1/5/2022 | Send Email
Calon Segur made some of the best wine of St. Estephe in 2018. If the Grand Vin proves too tempting to keep your hands off until it has aged to perfection, this is a wonderful short to mid-term substitute. Made from the younger vines of the property (average age: 22 years), the third label displays incredibly expressive blackberry/blueberry fruit, licorice, herbs and spice, plush silky tannins and subtle acidity through an impressive finish. Blind tasted, I would never guess this was a low-cost third label. This is a steal!
Price: $29.99 Add To Cart

2018 Tour du Moulin, Fronsac
Reviwer Picture By: Alex Schroeder | Review Date: 1/5/2022 | Send Email
The power of 2018 is on full display in this right-bank gem. It shows blackberries, dark cherries, licorice and graphite across a full bodied, silky texture. Yet the wine remains so balanced and approachable, even in its youth. This is my pick for a burger pairing, but can easily hold its own with a rich ribeye. It would be a great wine to have lying around in the cellar for the next five to ten years.

2016 Terrasson "Cuvée Prévenche" Castillon Côtes de Bordeaux
Reviwer Picture By: Alex Schroeder | Review Date: 1/5/2022 | Send Email
The region of Castillon is difficult to beat in terms of ready-to-drink, younger, value wines, and this delicious cuvée is no exception. “Prevenche” is French for “Periwinkle,” probably so named because of the lovely floral aromas the wine has alongside its strawberry compote and sous-bois flavors. The wine is red-fruited, medium-bodied and shows the wonderful acid/tannin balance of the 2016 vintage— it is just so utterly delicious and drinkable for the price.
Price: $14.99 Add To Cart

2018 Cantemerle, Haut-Médoc
Reviwer Picture By: Alex Schroeder | Review Date: 1/5/2022 | Send Email
Cantemerle is one of the few left-bank Grand Cru Classé chateaus not located inside one of the main communes. As such, its price is usually much better than the other Grand Crus while its quality is right up there with them. 2018 was a difficult year for them; they had to cull over half of their fruit due to mildew. What survived, however, made great wine. This is one of the most expressive 2018s I’ve tasted with flavors of blueberries, raspberries, pomegranates and red currants, framed by subtle toast. The vibrant fruit is very lively and the finish is impressively long.

2015 Beau Soleil, Pomerol
Reviwer Picture By: Alex Schroeder | Review Date: 1/5/2022 | Send Email
This is a new Chateau for us, but when you find a Pomerol for under $30, you have to try it, and I’m glad we did! This has an unmistakably expressive Merlot bouquet of red fruits, mint, pepper, herbs and dark earth. The texture is true to the vintage— rich, generous and silky with pure fruit and a finish that tremolos for nearly a minute. This is one of the finest Merlot values in our store; it should move quick!
Price: $29.99 Add To Cart

2016 Barde-Haut, St-Emilion
Reviwer Picture By: Alex Schroeder | Review Date: 1/5/2022 | Send Email
Chateau Barde-Haut falls into the category of “All-Time K&L Favorite” for good reason. Many of you have met owners Helen Garcin and Patrice Leveque during one of the several wine dinners they have had with us. They are pure class. Their wines are quintessential St. Emilion, hailing from terroir just adjacent to Tour St. Christophe that is planted to 80% Merlot and 20% Cabernet Franc. The 2016 has a perfume of dark cherries, currants, violets, potpourri, toast and and baking spice. On the palate, it displays great freshness, tannic structure and vivacity behind the rich fruit, with a long, acid-driven finish. This is Bordeaux at its best for a relatively great price.

2015 CVNE "Cune" Gran Reserva Rioja
Reviwer Picture By: Kirk Walker | Review Date: 1/5/2022 | Send Email
This is a wine that immediately captures your attention. This delivers the complexity, the depth and the specialness of Gran Reserva with the charming forwardness of a much younger wine. This wine is a perfect example of what makes Rioja great. Sourced from vineyards in the heart of Rioja Alta it is a blend of predominantly Tempranillo with a splash of Graciano and Manzuelo. The wine is then fermented with native yeast in concrete and stainless and then spends 24 months aging in oak; a mix of young and old, French and American. That is Rioja but where it starts to become something even more is an additional 3 years aging in bottle before it was released. Time is one of Rioja’s secret ingredients. What is incredible, in a world where time is getting ever more expensive, this wine is a deal. The winery aged this wine for 5 years in order to qualify for that classification. No other region ages their best wines before selling them to you. OK but what is it like? It is layers and layers of aromatics. It is like walking into a spice shop, but without it being overwhelming. Sweet, savory, pungent, picant, woodsy, herbal with all sorts of highs and lows. All of that on top of a driving dark cherry note. The fruit starts with a dried, almost fruit leather quality that starts to freshen with a little time in the glass. This is so much fun to smell. It opens and develops giving you more and more. I was taken with just the nose, but on the palate the wine delivers, and delivers. It exceeds the expectation of the nose. All the aromatics are there to support the fruit. The wine is on the lighter side of full bodied. There is a lot of structure, very fine tannins, both fruit and oak and fresh driving acidity. How the nose builds in intensity, so does the palate. As the fruit freshens and awakens it takes on more intensity and body. It just keeps on becoming more. Persistent and driving, the finish lingers and makes you want to take another sip. This Gran Reserva delivers; tonight and a decade plus from now.
Price: $34.99 Add To Cart

2019 Tascante “Ghiaia Nera” Etna Rosso
Reviwer Picture By: Lilia McIntosh | Review Date: 1/4/2022 | Send Email
Absolutely gorgeous wine! Light and bright, but with an incredibly deep flavor and fine, polished texture. It starts with aromas of wet rocks, cloves and savory notes of underbrush. On the palate it's full of juicy muddled red cherry and barberries with lovely savory touch reminiscent of dried thyme. Tannins are refined and very mild, acidity is supple and tamed. It seems like every aspect comes together harmoniously and effortlessly in this beautiful Etna Rosso.

2017 Woodlands "Clémentine" Bordeaux Blend Margaret River Western Australia
Reviwer Picture By: Thomas Smith | Review Date: 1/4/2022 | Send Email
Woodlands began when David and Heather Watson first purchased this Margaret River wine estate in 1973, making them one of the first winegrowers in the region alongside Vasse Felix and Leeuwin Estate. As an entirely family-run business, production has always been small and focused on achieving the highest quality from this exceptional site in the heart of the Wilyabrup subregion. The nose here is black currant and graphite; a swirl reveals elements vanilla and spice. I love the composition here: Cabernet takes the lead with fruit, with Malbec providing rigidity and savory while Merlot adds softness. What I love about this wine is that despite its intense concentration of black fruit it isn’t weighed down at all. The palate is lively and balanced, making sip after sip effortless. The oak execution is perfect, complementing the fruit and adding warm spices to complement its generous fruit. There are plenty of Bordeaux sensibilities to this wine, but the concentration of fruit and softened tannin make it all its own. Charming and yet serious, this is an absolutely delicious bottle of wine in every way.

2014 Alexandre Le Brun "Cuvée Fascination" Brut Blanc de Blancs Champagne
Reviwer Picture By: Gary Westby | Review Date: 1/4/2022 | Send Email
This scintillating, precise blanc de blancs comes from just two rows of vines in Chouilly, and is fermented entirely in barrel by the one man show that is Champagne Alexandre Le Brun. This wine not only has the precise meyer lemon cut and vigorous minerality that this grand cru is known for, but it is framed by delicate brioche. One of our most exciting grower Champagnes!
Drink from 2022 to 2022
Price: $69.99 Add To Cart

Torabhaig The Legacy Series "Allt Gleann" Isle Of Skye Single Malt Scotch Whisky (750ml)
Reviwer Picture By: David Othenin-Girard | Review Date: 1/4/2022 | Send Email
To say I'm skeptical of the multitude of new distilleries launching in Scotland these days is an understatement. Every time I see someone build a modern new distillery with steel washbacks and impressive efficiency estimates I think, who the hell are they making whisky for? Why would you spend a ton of money to build a new distillery to make whisky just like the big boys do. Efficiency is often the enemy of character in single malt production. But there are a choice few who have taken a different path - Ardnahoe, Ardnamurchan, Dornoch and this exceptional little distillery. These guys have really got their heads in the right place and while they're releasing very young whiskies, there's no question that the quality is top notch. Let's taste this, their second release. The color is old gold. The nose shows more briny ocean character and more citrus than the first release, which had harder edged tarry aromatics. This is exactly what Skye drinkers crave I think. The fresh ex-bourbon barrels also show up offering plenty of vanilla and subduing some of the brackishness. Zingy citrus, baking spice, baked orchard fruit and rich dark smoke offer great tension on the palate. It's got a very old school vibe to it and although the PPM seems lower on paper, the sticky lingering smoke on the palate is very welcome. Wonderfully balanced with a zesty citrus on the finish with keeps it all very lifted and fresh. Top notch stuff and a great indication of excellent whisky to come.
Price: $59.99 Add To Cart

2015 Clendenen Family Vineyards "Le Bon Climat Vineyard" Santa Maria Valley Chardonnay
Reviwer Picture By: Ryan Woodhouse | Review Date: 12/31/2021 | Send Email
I'm thrilled to offer this tiny parcel of 2015 Clendenen Family "Le Bon Climat" Vineyard Chardonnay. We got these cases direct from the winery and the wine is a perfect illustration of the talents and dedication of the late-great, Jim Clendenen. This limited bottling is crafted from the very best clusters of Jim's pride and joy estate vineyard in the Santa Maria Valley. Everything about this bottling shows his astute attention to detail and unflinching pursuit of perfection. Powerfully concentrated golden stone fruits, peach cobbler, almond croissant, smoky oak and struck stone mineral. Subtle hints of jasmine, lemon curd and salted caramel join the fray. Medium to full bodied with rich texture and plenty of weight on the palate. Despite being aged entirely in new oak for almost two years, the integration is wonderful and whilst the oak tones are present, never do they distract from the allure of the wines purity of fruit and sense of place. A rich and decadent Chardonnay that also has plenty of racy acidity and mineral tension. Simply stunning.
Drink from 2021 to 2021

W.B. Saffell Limited Edition Batch #1 107 Proof Kentucky Straight Bourbon Whiskey (375ml)
Reviwer Picture By: Andrew Whiteley | Review Date: 12/31/2021 | Send Email
Tantalizingly close to perfection. Painstakingly recreated from the study of historical notes, careful tasting of pre-prohibition bottles, and the ingenuity of the Russell's - The recreation of W.B. Saffell's famous whiskey is finally here. Bottled at 107 proof it's seamless, powerful, and graceful all at once. The nose is a stunner: fresh gingerbread, candied corn, sweet succulent grassy notes like a burst of springtime, butterscotch, vanilla, creme brulee, dark cocoa, toasted oak and fresh saw dust, caramel, it's got the whole nine yards. And that's just the first nosing. The palate is down right glorious. The combination of sweet corn, spicy rye, and toasty barrel is on point. It drinks like the very oldest Russell's barrels we've ever sold but with a softer silkier palate. The proof is dialed in just right. The finish is long and sweet with a hint of heat on the back end that is the exact reminder you need that this was made at Wild Turkey. It's maybe the easiest drinking AND most fully flavored Bourbon I've tasted all year.
Price: $49.99 Add To Cart

2016 Diatom (Brewer-Clifton) "Hilliard Bruce Vineyard" Sta. Rita Hills Chardonnay
Reviwer Picture By: Dejah Overby | Review Date: 12/30/2021 | Send Email
I am steadily becoming a fan of Greg Brewer's wine style. The Hillard Bruce Vineyard Chardonnay has been a favorite of mine for cool climate, slow ripening wines and this vintage puts the stamp on my reasoning for enjoying wines from this AVA. The most attractive aroma first is the marine, saltwater quality, there is a metallic mineral aroma, more like limestone that comes across most enjoyable. Spice notes of ginger, cumin, raw almonds, hay and celery salt make an appearance. On the palate the viscosity is medium plus and mouthfeel is filling and rich but not overwhelming. The finish is medium plus and in turn refers me to having this with a nutty aged sheep's milk cheese or a dish with a cream sauce and starch. There isn't a buttery component to this wine just a rich and weighty feel that would please the palate that enjoys medium to medium plus Chardonnays.

2018 Vinoce St. Helena Cabernet Sauvignon
Reviwer Picture By: Ryan Woodhouse | Review Date: 12/30/2021 | Send Email
Napa Valley Cab...under $30...from a 100-point WA winemaker?! Yep, this is a true unicorn wine. Vinoce is a small, family run property that produces wines from St. Helena and Mt. Veeder. The wines are impeccably fashioned by celebrated winemaker, Keith Emerson of Vineyard 29 fame! 18 months of tasting room closures and other market factors, meant that we managed to negotiate a screaming winery-direct deal on a parcel of their 2018 St. Helena Cabernet for a flat-out ridiculous price of 50% off SRP. The 2018 Cab is chockful of dark fruits, black cherry, ripe plum, cassis, espresso and mocha tones layer in behind with dark cacao and barrel spice. Full bodied but not sweet or jammy, this wine is beautifully crafted to show the power and concentration this part of the valley can bestow on its wines. Scorched earth and cigar box tones linger into the finish with more exotic French oak charred spice. You just don't often find Napa Cabernet of this quality under $50...and very VERY rarely under $30! Don't be afraid to go deep on this one, it's got a good 10 years of prime drinking window ahead of it.
Top Value!
Price: Hidden View Price

2018 Mt. Brave Mt. Veeder Cabernet Sauvignon
Reviwer Picture By: Ryan Woodhouse | Review Date: 12/30/2021 | Send Email
The 2018 Mt. Brave Veeder Cabernet is a powerhouse of a wine. This is classic mountain grown Cab for the ages. I've long enjoyed the wines from this property, but this seems like a big step up in stature. The 2018 can hang with the very best cult Cabs of the vintage despite it's reasonable price point. One only has to look at the exceptional press this wine has amassed from just about every major publication. Its critical acclaim is simply unparalleled at this price point. It carries more shining praise and higher scores than many iconic wines at two to three times its price point. Having enjoyed a bottle recently I can see why! This wine captures the magic of Napa Cabernet with the unmistakable qualities of Mt Veeder pushed to the forefront. The nose explodes from the glass with lavender, blackcurrant, mulberry, pipe tobacco, cedar, crushed rock, toasted spices and leather. There's plenty of lush, rich fruit, supported by big, muscular tannins and beautiful fine grained oak. The exuberance of the fruit allows this to be approachable even at this young age, but the best of this wine is clearly down the road; I think this has the potential to be a magnificent 20 year wine showcasing the very best of the exceptional 2018 vintage. A definite candidate for top wine of the vintage regardless of price point.
Drink from 2025 to 2025

2020 Matt Connell "Rendition" Pinot Noir Central Otago
Reviwer Picture By: Lilia McIntosh | Review Date: 12/29/2021 | Send Email
One of the loveliest Pinot Noir wines from Central Otago! It opens up with an amazing aromas of cherries, wild thyme and black tea! It's one of the most savory and comforting aromas I've recently experienced in Pinot Noir. On the palate it's bursting with muddled cherry and sloe berries layered with thyme infused black tea notes with silky, savory mid-palate and smooth finish. It's a joy to sip it's on it's own, but it will be an amazing paring with rosemary and thyme pork tenderloin. Delicious!
Price: $29.99 Add To Cart

2020 Matt Connell "Rendition" Pinot Noir Central Otago
Reviwer Picture By: Alex Schroeder | Review Date: 12/29/2021 | Send Email
Wow! I haven't had a Pinot so packed with complexity and flavors, yet so utterly balanced and drinkable in a quite awhile. Maraschino cherry, wild shrub berries, lanolin, brooding smokiness, and wild herbs are all packed tightly into the bouquet - this takes time to completely unfurl. The palate is concentrated with rich fruit, savoriness and a touch of earth, but brightened by great acidity and a long finish that lingers for a minute. This is one that will age gracefully for years to come.
Price: $29.99 Add To Cart

2020 Matt Connell "Rendition" Pinot Noir Central Otago
Reviwer Picture By: Andrew Whiteley | Review Date: 12/29/2021 | Send Email
A remarkably powerful pinot with a lot of grace and poise. It's big fruited yet savory at the same time. Dusty tannins are reminiscent of a Rutherford Cab, but much more silky and refined. Sweet cherry, dark plum, and tart cranberries fill the glass but intermingle with a palate of tobacco leaf, cedar box, and savage. It's a seamless pinot noir from a top producer. If you're already a fan of Central Otago, room must be made in the cellar for more than a few bottles of this gem.
Price: $29.99 Add To Cart

2020 Matt Connell "Rendition" Pinot Noir Central Otago
Reviwer Picture By: Tim Telli | Review Date: 12/29/2021 | Send Email
I've been a fan of the Matt Connell wines for a number of years now and this new vintage of the 'Rendition' Pinot Noir is yet another tour-de-force in New Zealand winemaking. The wine opens with dusty spices, wild strawberries and cherries on the nose and then leads on the palate with some dark ripe fruit which is all balanced by perfect acidity. There is a hint of tannins on the finish, which is very long and persists for some time with dark and intense fruit and minerality. 25% new French oak frames the wine well. I find this to be classic Central Otago Pinot Noir that is a pure joy to drink.
Price: $29.99 Add To Cart

2017 Woodlands "Clémentine" Bordeaux Blend Margaret River Western Australia
Reviwer Picture By: Tim Telli | Review Date: 12/29/2021 | Send Email
I find this wine to be as close to a Bordeaux as pretty much anything I've tasted from the new world. High toned with hints of earth and forest floor, cassis and mushrooms. This smells like a traditional Bordeaux blend from a classic Left Bank producer and I'm surprised at how reminiscent this is of Bordeaux with its dusty, earthy aromas. The wine is lighter bodied than I expected yet still has some tannins suggesting a quick decant wouldn't hurt or just serve with a nice piece of beef. This is a very good bottle of wine that drinks well now and for another 10 years, probably longer.

Page: 1 2 3 next >>
;