Staff Favorites - Gary Westby

Gary Westby
Gary Westby  | Send Email  |   Subscribe to My Sommelier Service
I started at K&L in February of 2000, after 4 years of working down the street for another retailer, and although I take care of the Champagne buying here at K&L, I love to drink wine from all over the world. I prize authenticity in wine, and love representative examples of many different styles, whether it is a spicy dry creek zinfandel or a mineral driven Manzanilla. I almost always drink my wine with food, and am drawn to food wines rather than the softer styles that are good for drinking on their own. My wife Cinnamon and I cook a lot of Italian & French food at home, and my list of wines reflects those food choices. I also love value, at every price point, and can't stand "prestige" labels that under deliver in the bottle. I love honest wines for the table. If you love good wine to go with your good cooking too, I think that by joining my personal Sommelier list you will be treated to a wide variety of wines that represent a strong value for money at what ever price range you feel comfortable with. Give it a try!


Reviews

Page: 1 2 3 4 5 next >>
Ardmore Legacy Single Malt Scotch Whisky (750ml)
Review Date: 07-19-2018
I love a dram of good whisky after dinner and the Legacy from Ardmore is just my style for enjoying after the meal. Beautifully light, this has just the right amount of peat to cut through and settle the stomach after a nice weekend meal. It bucks the extreme, flavor blasted trend that makes all the headlines on the whisky blogs and instead offers the graduate an effortless, subtle style to enjoy again and again. This still has plenty of flavor, but prizes balances above power. What a great value!
Top Value!
Price: $37.99 Add To Cart

Rieger's Midwestern Missouri Dry Gin (750ml)
Review Date: 07-19-2018
The story of this gin is amazing- the master distiller of Tanqueray taking on a passion project in the midwest, but the spirit itself is even more so! This runs straight down the middle with firm juniper flavor married to a flawless, creamy texture. The quality is just higher than most in this style, and the price is considerably lower than most gins of this superlative quality. I never thought I would fall in love with a gin from Missouri!
Price: $29.99 Add To Cart

Piùcinque Gin 750ml
Review Date: 07-19-2018
What a stylish bottle of gin! I suppose we should expect as much from the Italians! With haunting citrus notes from the deft use of bergamot and a rich, creamy texture that never becomes heavy, this is worthy of being considered in the top tier of gin. The sage in the recipe gives this the right amount of green lift to balance out the exoticism, and I can't wait to get this home and make a G&T with it!
Price: $39.99 Add To Cart

J.H. Cutter Whiskey (750ml)
Review Date: 07-19-2018
This blend is definitely greater than the sum of its parts! Four fifths of this blend is from the heart of Kentucky bourbon country, and grounds this whiskey with the richness and smooth manners of a southern gentleman. The other fifth is wild rye from the left coast, giving this spice, wildness and energy. It all works out in perfect harmony, making it my favorite new American whiskey that I have tried since the "craft" whiskey movement started!
Price: $49.99 Add To Cart

Dudognon "K&L Exclusive Cuvee" Napoleon II Cognac (750ml)
Review Date: 07-19-2018
Dudognon breaks the mold of mainstream Cognac in every way, and the results are complex, delicious and offer surprising value. Instead of huge advertising campaigns, they rely on their estate vineyards to grow the best possible grapes to make the best possible brandy. This has the authentic rancio character from long age that I look for in my digestif, as well as layers of dried fruit and subtle vanilla. This is far less sweet than most Cognac, making it perfect for enjoying after big meals!
Price: $49.99 Add To Cart

2016 Arboleda Pinot Noir Aconcagua Costa
Review Date: 07-17-2018
This excellent Pinot Noir from Arboleda just proved to me that sometimes you can have it all at a reasonable price. Not only does it have generous, open knit, brambly red fruit, it also has savor and complexity. I can't remember trying much Pinot that comes in at this price that has this kind of intrigue and depth, and I can't wait to try it with some lamb chops at home. I can count the number of Aconcagua Costa bottlings I have tried on my fingers, but now I will be seeking them out!
Top Value!

2017 Domaine des Côtes Blanches Sancerre
Review Date: 07-17-2018
The Cotes Blanches is a wonderful bottle of Sauvignon Blanc. Not only does it have some great fruit up front, but also a great line of acidity that will keep you refreshed and coming back for more. The 2017 is nearly exotic on the nose, with some nearly pineapple like notes peeking through. The minerality of the finish is unmistakably Loire Valley, and makes it an easy wine to drink.
Price: $18.99 Add To Cart
WE 90

2016 Olivier Leflaive Bourgogne Blanc "Les Sétilles"
Review Date: 07-17-2018
One sip of this transported me back to La Table, Olivier Leflaive’s very nice bistro in the center of Puligny. The Les Setilles has both the meyer lemon citrus drive and the only-in-Burgundy earthiness in spades, all at a great price. Their is not much of the frost affected 2016 to be had, but the quality is at least as good as the fantastic 2014's.
Top Value!
Price: $19.99 Add To Cart
JS 91

2016 Baracchi "O'Lillo!" Toscana
Review Date: 07-17-2018
A super Tuscan that fits the budget! This even blend of Sangiovese, Cabernet Sauvignon, Syrah and Merlot keeps its Italian flavor even though it is 3/4's French grape varieties, and has the bright red fruit that people love in Tuscan wine. This will make a great partner for your favorite bolognese recipe, or even your Tuesday night pizza.
Top Value!
Price: $16.99 Add To Cart
JS 91

2016 Oakridge Estate "Willowlake Vineyard" Chardonnay Yarra Valley
Review Date: 07-17-2018
This super flinty, focussed, concentrated Chardonnay from Oakridge Estate smashes every stereotype of Australian wine. With excellent acidity, light body, but undeniably concentrated minerality, this is a perfect wine to pair with everything from oysters to grilled shrimp. The cool, refreshing style of this Willowlake Chardonnay is far from the fat wines of Barossa as Chablis is from Chateauneuf!
Price: $19.99 Add To Cart
JH 97

1989 Haut-Bailly, Pessac-Léognan
Review Date: 07-12-2018
Chateau Haut Bailly is one of the greatest of all terroirs in Bordeaux, and one of the few that has flown mostly under the radar. While this great 1989 vintage is expensive, it is in a class that is usually far more dear. This is a wine that is not yet old- on the contrary, I would say that it is just now entering its drinking window. It has it all; high class gravelly earth, silky texture, firm dark fruit and near infinite length. If you are looking for a special occasion bottle to pair with the best dry aged ribeye you can buy, this is it. I won't forget tasting it!
Drink from 2018 to 2018
Price: $149.99 Add To Cart
WS 92 RP 91

2004 Barde-Haut, St-Emilion
Review Date: 07-12-2018
This St. Emilion is drinking perfectly right now. If you like the richer style of the right bank, but can do without the excess alcohol, I think you will love this very fairly priced 2004 from Barde Haut. It is spicy, full bodied and still has plenty of plummy, dark fruit in the middle. This is a perfect pairing for skirt steak on the grill, or for a more sophisticated dish like beef Wellington.
Drink from 2018 to 2018
Price: $29.99 Add To Cart
WS 91

2004 Coufran, Haut-Médoc
Review Date: 07-12-2018
This is my style of Bordeaux. The Coufran has an amazing, generous nose of cedar and brambly, plummy fruit, texture that can only be won with patience and a very long finish. It doesn't have any trace of heaviness, and is very much in the medium bodied style that goes so very well with food. This estate has the highest ratio of Merlot planted that I know of on the left bank of the river at 85%. The remaining 15% is Cabernet Sauvignon. The vine age averages 40 years, giving this wine its authority and concentration of flavors, but not at the expense of ease of drinkability. I will be buying a case of this one for sure!
Top Value!
Price: $19.99 Add To Cart

2008 A.D. Coutelas Vintage Brut Champagne
Review Date: 07-05-2018
The Coutelas have made a great 2008 with this bottling, and although it drinks great now, it should continue to improve for a decade. This all 1er cru Vintage Champagne comes from vineyards in the village of Dizy, just north of Epernay and east of Ay. I love the balance and poise of this half each blend of Chardonnay and Pinot Noir; it has complex intrigue from the savory, nearly truffle like Pinot Noir and great cut and minerality from both the Chardonnay and the character of the great 2008 vintage. The real kicker for me is the creamy texture- I don't know how they get this kind of elegant velvet into a wine that is still so lively and long. This performs way above its price tag!
Top Value!
Price: $34.99 Add To Cart
WE 91

2012 Louise Brison Brut Champagne
Review Date: 07-03-2018
The 2012 is undoubtedly the best Champagne yet from Louise Brison. Delphine Brulez works hard in the vineyard, doing everything the old fashioned, organic hard way, and then continues in the cellar. All the wines are barrel fermented, and the main production, just like in Burgundy, is vintage dated. Sadly, upcoming vintages will be short for this great producer, as the Aube has been very hard hit with hail and spring frost, making for tiny harvests. This is a Champagne with great subtlety and depth, with hints of nut bread and fine cream on the nose, ripe cherry fruit and good citric zip in the mouth and a super long mineral finish. It is a super star.
Drink from 2018 to 2018
Price: $34.99 Add To Cart

Jim Beam Bonded 100 Proof Bottled in Bond Straight Kentucky Bourbon Whiskey (750ml)
Review Date: 07-03-2018
What a deal! This bottled in bond offering from Jim Beam is going to be a new family tradition for the Westby house. It is better than most of the craft whiskey that I have tasted at three times the price, and works just as well for neat sipping as it does for all of your Bourbon drinks. It has great vanilla flavor and corn richness, but doesn't finish candied or harsh. What a find!
Top Value!
Price: $18.99 Add To Cart

Mortlach 25 Year Old Gordon & Macphail Single Malt Scotch Whisky (750ml)
Review Date: 07-03-2018
Old single malt is becoming rarer and more expensive by the minute, and this Mortlach offers a rare opportunity to enjoy 25 year old whisky without getting into the stratosphere price wise. Unlike many malts this age, it hasn't gone to wood, and still has mid-palate presence as well as nearly endless length. I love the meaty, nearly saucisson sec flavors that subtly dial up the substance of this otherwise subtle, complex dram. If you are looking for a old school, complex malt that you will never tire of, you found it!
Price: $219.99 Add To Cart

2016 Conreria d'Scala Dei "Les Brugueres" Blanco Priorat
Review Date: 07-03-2018
I can count the white Priorat that I have had a chance to taste on one hand. These rare wines come around only once in a blue moon, and are a must try for fans of this region. For an area so strongly associated with gigantic, dark reds, the Les Brugueres Blanco couldn't be more different. This is light, not at all affected by oak, super crisp white wine. It is a subtle, understated white with considerable complexity and grace. Try it out- you don't know the whole Priorat story until you do!
Price: $29.99 Add To Cart
RP 91

2016 Black Slate "Escala Dei" Vi de la Vila Priorat
Review Date: 07-03-2018
What a difference high altitude makes in Priorat! The Escala Dei Vi De La Vila Black Slate is still a big, powerful wine, but has Beucastel like grace on the back end. The dark, intense fruit of this wine is quite nicely balanced by a good acid line as well as complex, earthy flavors. If you are a fan of old fashioned Rhone wines this will thrill you, if you love Priorat already, it is a must!
Price: $19.99 Add To Cart
JD 95 RP 92

2016 Seghesio Sonoma County Zinfandel
Review Date: 07-03-2018
I find Seghesio to be one of the most reliably good producers of Zinfandel in the state. Their regular Sonoma County offering is a huge success in 2016, with plenty of wild, dark, brambly fruit and great spice. It is low in tannin, but has good zip on the back end, and I can't wait to crack it open with a big rack of pork ribs!
Price: Hidden View Price
WS 93

2016 Penley Estate "Phoenix" Cabernet Sauvignon Coonawarra South Australia
Review Date: 07-03-2018
The Phoenix from Penley Estate has the big, open knit boisterous quality that people love in an Australian wine, but still finishes dry and clean. I love the brambly blackberry fruit, the good grip and and richness of this Coonawarra cab. This will be great with all sorts of grilled meat, but especially with beef!
Price: $16.99 Add To Cart
WS 93

2015 Robert Oatley Chardonnay Margaret River Western Australia
Review Date: 07-03-2018
When I saw the price for this my jaw dropped- Margaret River anything is never this good of a deal, especially when the wine is exciting as this. If you like European style white wine, this is for you, not only does the Robert Oatley have high end lime aromas and fantastic refreshment and length, it also has an incredible combination of subtle earth and subtle oak. It is very hard to pin down where one element starts and the other ends- a mark of a much more expensive bottle than what this is being offered for!
Top Value!
Price: $14.99 Add To Cart
JH 95 WE 91

2002 Piper-Heidsieck "Cuvée Rare" Brut Champagne
Review Date: 06-29-2018
The wonderfully rich Cuvee Rare from Piper Heidsieck reminds me of the great tete de cuvee's of years gone past. Like those, it is made in tiny quantities and only in the very best years- only 8 vintages have been made in 36 years! We drank this wine at a staff sushi and Champagne party at my house, and loved it with the eel especially, but I think the ultimate pairing for this wine would be a nice sunset. It doesn't need anything! I love the warm toastiness of this wine and its fine balance. The refreshing finish will have you coming back for more!
Drink to 0

2008 Louis Roederer "Cristal" Brut Champagne
Review Date: 06-05-2018
The most anticipated Champagne in my 20 years in the wine business is finally for sale. This has been so hyped up with 100 point scores that I figured it couldn't possibly be as good as the critics say... But it is. This is the most concentrated, long finishing Cristal I have ever tasted, and so loaded with chalky minerality and bright vivacious acidity that one could mistake it for a blanc de blancs. But then the hazelnut cream Verzenay Pinot Noir swells up to balance everything out, leaving me at a loss for words. The big shame is how much will be drunk down immediately (it is all too delicious right now) since the real story is the long term ageability of this masterpiece!
Drink from 2018 to 2018

Krug "Grande Cuvée" 166 Ème Édition Brut Champagne
Review Date: 05-31-2018
The wine was loaded with limey, Puligny like drive and a ton of chalky minerality, and I would have guessed that it had even more than the 39% Chardonnay that they did use in it. It cut the fish like a razor blade, and had fantastic structure and chalky length. I think this is a great one to put down for a few years. It is brimming with power! I think this is the most concentrated Grand Cuvée that I have drunk young. My suspicion is that little, and perhaps no vintage wine will be made at Krug in 2010, allowing them to use lots that would normally go into more expensive wines. This is the conundrum of multi-vintage blends. The market scrambles for lots like the 164- which had a majority of the great 2008 in it. But, we know that there will almost certainly be not only Krug vintage 2008, but also Clos du Mesnil and Clos Ambonnay, meaning those wines were not available for the Grande Cuvée. Many at Krug say that the best Grande Cuvée that they have drunk is the 157- which is mostly from the miserable 2001 vintage. They put all the best stuff in it- that is something to think about!
Drink from 2018 to 2018
Price: $159.99 Add To Cart

2006 Taittinger "Comtes de Champagne" Brut Blanc de Blancs Champagne
Review Date: 05-31-2018
We are getting down to the last of the 2006, with the 2007 waiting in the wings. When I had this last week, I found the limey, Puligny-like drive of this Champagne compelling and refreshing, and was happy to see this vintage living up to the legend of the Comtes de Champagne. This all Cote de Blancs Grand Cru Champagne is sourced from primarily estate vineyards in Avize, Chouilly, Oger and Mesnil. It is 95% fermented in stainless, but sees 5% small oak to add richness. The combination of toast from 8 years on the lees and lime zest from the top Chardonnay make for an exotic, yet elegant beauty of a Champagne.
Drink from 2018 to 2018

Alfred Gratien Brut Classique Champagne
Review Date: 05-31-2018
This fantastic non-vintage is entirely barrel fermented and then aged on the lees in the bottle for five years before release. It is composed of half Chardonnay and a quarter each Pinot Noir and Meunier. The long ageing has given this Champagne great depth and natural toast, but the old fashioned non-malolactic winemaking has balanced that with incredible dry finishing freshness. This is one of the finest famous names in Champagne, and this wine is an unbelievable value at this price!
Top Value!

Laurent-Perrier "Grand Siècle" Brut Champagne
Review Date: 05-31-2018
The Grand Siecle has long been my favorite tete de cuvee, but for several years it has been out of reach. Since 2008, just a trickle has made it to the USA, and it was a fantastically expensive trickle. We managed to secure some at a very fair price and I can't say enough about what a great wine this is. Most big houses talk a big game about the "Blenders Art" and the synergy of Grand Cru terroirs when combined not just with balancing sites, but also across time. This is the embodiment of synergistic blending and monk’s patience. Nearly every Grand Cru in Champagne is represented; the wine is from three different vintages and aged over 10 years on the lees. I believe this is the most underrated of all the tête de cuvees in Champagne. First of all, it is real and honest tête de cuvee, representing only a sliver of their production and allowing them to select the cream of the crop for this bottling. Some of the most famous tête de cuvees are actually the second highest production wine from their respective houses! As one would expect from a Champagne that is aged this long from such excellent sources, it is very complex. This complexity is not a vinous, heavy complexity, however; in fact it is almost vanishingly subtle and elegant. I think it's necessary to spend time with the Grand Siècle to truly understand it. The wine is simply lovely with a fantastic bead of tiny bubbles to start and I always feel like a having second glass when I taste it. That is when I start to notice the complexity! That desire for more speaks volumes.

2015 Raised By Wolves "Old School" Cinsault - Cabernet Sauvignon Stellenbosch
Review Date: 05-30-2018
I love it when a wine surprises me like this one did! The "Old School" Cinsault from Raised By Wolves is made in a buy gone style- low alcohol, balanced and refreshing. If you are expanding your wine horizons, this is one not to miss, and I think it will go spectacularly with a sausage grill up or even a fancy steak. It is just wild and brambly enough from the Cinsault to keep you guessing!
Price: $29.99 Add To Cart

2017 Kloof Street (Mullineux Family Wines) Chenin Blanc Swartland South Africa
Review Date: 05-30-2018
This Chenin Blanc is an outstanding choice for wine lovers looking for both big body and refreshment from a white wine. The Kloof Street from Mullineux Family has broad flavors of melon and generous white flower aromatics and mouth filling richness, but the great acidity keeps it from becoming heavy or sweet. It has great complexity for the price, and I don't think you will get bored of it, even on the last bottle of your case!
Price: $19.99 Add To Cart

2016 Clos Henri "Petit Clos" Marlborough Pinot Noir
Review Date: 05-30-2018
What a surprise! Sub $20 Pinot Noir is rarely this exciting, but it seems like Marlborough is the place for value examples of this super sought after grape variety. I thought that this had the catnip tinged, expressive red cherry fruit that I normally only find in much more expensive bottles, as well as good richness without any sweetness. What a buy!
Top Value!
Price: $17.99 Add To Cart

2017 Frenzy Sauvignon Blanc Marlborough New Zealand
Review Date: 05-30-2018
This is a fantastic deal in refreshing Sauvignon Blanc with more body than normal. It is a great example of the Marlborough style, with white peach fruit and good acidity. At this price it makes a perfect weeknight glass of wine!
Price: $10.99 Add To Cart
W&S 91 WS 90

2008 Le Brun de Neuville "Grand Vintage" Brut Champagne
Review Date: 05-10-2018
This was one of the biggest highlights of my trip to Champagne this year. This spectacular offering from Le Brun De Neuville is all from Bethon, in the heart of the Sézanne. It is composed of 96% of Chardonnay and 4% Pinot Noir from some of the chalkiest soil in all of Champagne. You friends will not believe that they are drinking a Champagne that is well under $50 if you pop this tonight. Given how well the 1988 Le Brun De Neuville showed, it only can get better if you can keep your hands off of it!
Drink from 2018 to 2018
Price: $39.99 Add To Cart

2014 Domaine de la Begude Bandol Rouge
Review Date: 05-04-2018
This great bottle of Bandol inspired me with its traditional, earthy style and excellent long, fresh finish. As soon as I tasted it, I was wishing for a lamb shank and some géant haricots blancs! If you are looking for a red wine that combines the sun of the south with the cool of the sea breeze, it is all right here in this bottle.
Drink from 2018 to 2018
Price: $29.99 Add To Cart
WE 94

2014 Charles Joguet "Les Varennes du Grand Clos" Chinon
Review Date: 04-14-2018
This lovely Cabernet Franc not only has the olive tinged blue fruit and refreshment that fans of Chinon love, but also very nice mid-palate texture. Our allocation of Charles Joguet is always small, and it is a producer that no French wine lover should miss an opportunity to drink. The Les Varennes Du Grand Clos is a great example, and while precocious in its youth, will also reward some patience with even more texture and complexity!
Drink from 2018 to 2018
Price: $32.99 Add To Cart
W&S 94 WS 92

1997 Bowmore 20 Year Old "Old Particular" K&L Exclusive Single Barrel Cask Strength Single Malt Scotch Whisky (750ml)
Review Date: 04-12-2018
The salty and sweet twenty year old Bowmore has all of the charm of the best of Islay along with the complexity and length that only time will bring. If you like the natural style of non-Sherry influenced Islay, but want the texture and interest of an older malt, this is a perfect choice.
Price: $149.99 Add To Cart

2012 Louis Roederer Brut Rosé Champagne (375ml)
Review Date: 03-15-2018
When it comes to vintage Champagne, Roederer is clearly one of the best. They start in the vineyard, and manage the vines for this rosé very differently than the sites that are used for the Blanc de Blancs, Cristal and regular Brut vintage. In the case of this wine, they use their steep sites in the Premier Cru of Cumieres to get the ripest Pinot Noir possible in the cold Champagne region. While the Pinot is macerating, they infuse Chardonnay from the coolest sites in the Grand Cru of Chouilly both to slow down the set of the pigment and add freshness and acidity to the wine. The 2012 vintage was a great one in Champagne, marked by low yields and warm harvest conditions, and this is a great example of the concentration and texture that this great year is capable of. The color is only a pale copper strewn pink, but the finish has great black cherry Pinot power. The top class chalk of the Chardonnay make this a long finishing, lengthy treat that should not be missed!
Price: $39.99 Add To Cart
JS 95 WE 94

2012 Louis Roederer Brut Rosé Champagne
Review Date: 03-15-2018
When it comes to vintage Champagne, Roederer is clearly one of the best. They start in the vineyard, and manage the vines for this rosé very differently than the sites that are used for the Blanc de Blancs, Cristal and regular Brut vintage. In the case of this wine, they use their steep sites in the Premier Cru of Cumieres to get the ripest Pinot Noir possible in the cold Champagne region. While the Pinot is macerating, they infuse Chardonnay from the coolest sites in the Grand Cru of Chouilly both to slow down the set of the pigment and add freshness and acidity to the wine. The 2012 vintage was a great one in Champagne, marked by low yields and warm harvest conditions, and this is a great example of the concentration and texture that this great year is capable of. The color is only a pale copper strewn pink, but the finish has great black cherry Pinot power. The top class chalk of the Chardonnay make this a long finishing, lengthy treat that should not be missed!
Drink from 2018 to 2018
Price: $64.99 Add To Cart
JS 95 WE 94

Laphroaig 10 Year Old "Batch 009" Original Cask Strength Islay Single Malt Scotch Whisky (750ml)
Review Date: 03-13-2018
The Original Cask Strength 10 Year Old from Laphroig is the quintessential Islay powerhouse. This thick, oily, rich, super smokey, iodine bomb is exactly what you need on a stormy winter night. I keep mine by my lantern for when the power goes out!
Price: $59.99 Add To Cart
WE 90

Port Askaig 110 Proof Islay Single Malt Scotch Whisky (750ml)
Review Date: 03-13-2018
The Port Askaig is our gentlemans Isaly, and is creamy and rounded even though it is high proof and peaty. I love the generosity and openness of this malt as well as much as its smoky peat. This is a great value for money, and I think that you will be impressed with how much Islay you get inside.
Price: $69.99 Add To Cart

Bruichladdich "Classic Laddie" Scottish Barley Islay Single Malt Whisky (750ml)
Review Date: 03-13-2018
I love Islay Malt, but find that many of them just end up filling up my liquor cabinet, as I am not drawn to drinking them the same way that I am impressed by tasting them. The Classic Laddie Scottish Barley from Bruichladdich is not at like that, and is super drinkable and moreish. This is the perfect malt for having a second dram of, since the fabulously salty complexity does not come with a bunch of excessive fat and heat. This is a very high quality malt, especially for the money.
Price: $49.99 Add To Cart

Veuve Clicquot Extra Brut Extra Old Champagne
Review Date: 03-13-2018
We had this Champagne with some mushroom pate that Cinnamon made out of hen of the woods and crimi’s from a local grower at the Menlo Park farmers market on toasts made out of the Woodside Bakery’s walnut bread. While the wine was clean, refreshing and bright the whole time, it also magically had vinous depth and complexity that on rarely encounters in current release Champagne. The subtle way that this power and depth presents itself is a testament to the blending mastery of Dominique Demarville, a cellar master at the top of his game. The savory, earthy flavors in the pate brought out the same in the wine, but without the food I might have missed them completely.
Price: $84.99 Add To Cart
JS 93 WS 92

2011 Los Autores "El Brujo" Reserva Rioja
Review Date: 03-07-2018
I love traditional, unabashedly old school Rioja, and this is one of the best examples of the style that I have tasted in many years. As soon as it was in my glass, aromas of wild berries, earth and vanilla wafers were jumping out. The generous Los Autores El Brujo has perfect balance in the mouth, with seamless texture, spot on medium body and a long focussed finish. The tannins of this wine were left behind during the long ageing, leaving us nothing but red fruit, earth, refreshment and pleasure. If you like old fashioned Rioja to pair with food, this is our best offering! I am going to case up on this one for sure.
Drink from 2018 to 2018
Price: $19.99 Add To Cart

2015 Laventura "Lanave" Rioja
Review Date: 03-07-2018
This new breed Rioja opened my eyes to the possibilities of enjoying a completely different style of one of my most loved regions. The first wave of new Rioja was all about expensive new French cooperage, high alcohol and big points from the critics... And this wine could not be any different. Although the Laventura seems to rebel against the big earth and oxidative orange peel flavors of the old school, it also rejects the heat and over polish of those first wave rebels. This is pure, clean, red fruited Rioja, that seems like it could almost be poured as a substitute for Pinot Noir! A must try for any fan of Rioja!
Top Value!
Price: $14.99 Add To Cart
RP 90

2016 Castillo de Vinas Rosado Rioja
Review Date: 03-07-2018
This pale rosé impressed me with its cool strawberry aromas, its great balance of clean, dry drive and generous fruit flavors, but most of all with its length. This is a long finishing, classy rosé from Spain that will easily compete with wines costing $10 more from provence.
Price: $14.99 Add To Cart

2005 Vega Sicilia "Unico" Ribera del Duero
Review Date: 03-07-2018
The 2005 Vega Sicilia is an awe inspiring wine that ranks up with the finest bottles in the world. I was blown away by the kaleidoscopic complexity of this perfectly textured, medium to full bodied red. Most of the time, wines with a reputation as great as this can only disappoint, but this over delivered. This will be at home on the table with the best and most expensive wines that the world has to offer, and drinks fabulously now with the promise of generations of enjoyment to come!
Drink from 2018 to 2018

2015 Mas Karolina Côtes du Roussillon-Villages
Review Date: 02-21-2018
If you are a fan of the big wines like Amador Zinfandel and other Roussillon's like the Lafage, this is a must try. The Mas Karolina is super rich, powerful and sweet fruited dark red wine. This is a glass of "le soleil" from the south of France!
Price: $16.99 Add To Cart
RP 89 - 91

2016 Domaine du Vieil Orme Sauvignon Touraine Blanc
Review Date: 02-21-2018
The "vieil orme" or "old elm tree" is my new go to Sauvignon Blanc! This wine is perfect for popping after work on a Tuesday. It not only has the clean, no oak profile that fans of Loire Sauvignon Blanc love, but also good body and some exotic almost kiwi like fruit. Best of all, it comes together with a bright, dry, long finish. This is a lot of SB for the money!
Top Value!
Price: $11.99 Add To Cart

2014 Bedouet "Expression du Pallet Vieilles Vignes" Muscadet Sèvre et Maine Sur Lie
Review Date: 02-21-2018
When we tasted the Expression Du Pallet from Bedouet, I imagined myself in front of a giant plateau de fruits de mer on the coast of Brittany. This wine has serious white fruit power, with a small hint of honey, but is backed by the kind of minerality and nutty lees quality that I usually only expect from expensive Champagne. The values in Muscadet have long been touted here at K&L, but this has an extra special element. What a bottle!
Top Value!
Price: Hidden View Price

2015 Bedouet "Clos des Grands Primos" Muscadet Sèvre et Maine Sur Lie
Review Date: 02-21-2018
The Clos Des Grands Primos is a must for anyone who loves clean, unoaked, racy white wine at an everyday price. I love the vivacious zip and oyster shell complexity of this surprisingly long finishing wine. This makes a great glass to sip on after work, and is perfect for seafood!
Top Value!
Price: $12.99 Add To Cart

Wine Club

$8.99

Page: 1 2 3 4 5 next >>