Reviewers


K&L Email Alerts

Sign up to receive custom alerts, new arrivals and the latest happenings from K&L Wines

Staff Favorites - Gary Westby

Gary Westby
Gary Westby  | Send Email  |   Subscribe to My Sommelier Service
I started at K&L in February of 2000, after 4 years of working down the street for another retailer, and although I take care of the Champagne buying here at K&L, I love to drink wine from all over the world. I prize authenticity in wine, and love representative examples of many different styles, whether it is a spicy dry creek zinfandel or a mineral driven Manzanilla. I almost always drink my wine with food, and am drawn to food wines rather than the softer styles that are good for drinking on their own. My wife Cinnamon and I cook a lot of Italian & French food at home, and my list of wines reflects those food choices. I also love value, at every price point, and can't stand "prestige" labels that under deliver in the bottle. I love honest wines for the table. If you love good wine to go with your good cooking too, I think that by joining my personal Sommelier list you will be treated to a wide variety of wines that represent a strong value for money at what ever price range you feel comfortable with. Give it a try!


Reviews

Page: 1 2 3 4 5 next >>
Alexandre Le Brun "Tradition" Brut Champagne
Review Date: 01-11-2018
The hands on crafting of this one-man-show Champagne producer comes through beautifully in this fantastic value bottle. This is composed of a third each Chardonnay, Pinot Noir and Meunier from Mr. Le Brun’s estate, and nearly every wine in this blend has gone through malolactic. This Champagne has a rich bready nose from the over 36 months it has aged on the lees and some very nice savory qualities as well. In the mouth the high quality Meunier gives this wine great roundness as well as some tasty baked apple flavors. The cool climate Chardonnay and Pinot Noir show their stuff on the dry, long finish. It is dosed at 6g/l.
Top Value!
Price: $34.99 Add To Cart

2007 Alexandre Le Brun "Cuvée Fascination" Brut Blanc de Blancs Champagne
Review Date: 01-11-2018
The only problem with this great Champagne is the production- it is only one press load so we can't get very much! This Champagne is all Chardonnay from two long rows in the Monts Aigu parcel of the Grand Cru of Chouilly- right across a small path from Cramant. If you love the high class toast of Taittinger’s Comte de Champagne, this is a bottling that you don’t want to miss. The Chardonnay in this bottle has top notch concentration and texture as well as a complex array of flavors; baguette, succulent nectarine and bright chalk. This wine is labeled as Extra Brut since the dosage is very low, but while it is quite dry, it is not overly austere. It has one of the longest finishes of any type of wine that we carry- truly top notch!
Drink from 2018 to 2018
Price: $69.99 Add To Cart

Russell's Reserve K&L Single Barrel #998 Kentucky Bourbon (750ml)
Review Date: 01-11-2018
I love this whiskey! The feral rye character of this Bourbon marries perfectly with corn richness and fabulous new American oak vanilla roundness. The Russell's have another winner with this big, 110 proof whiskey. Our stocks of this are limited, so I better buy my bottle of this single barrel stuff now.
Price: $59.99 Add To Cart

Real McCoy 10 Year Old Limited Edition Virgin Oak Rum (750ml)
Review Date: 01-11-2018
What a great surprise! This fabulous bottle of sipping rum has an subtle, intricate complex nose not only of butterscotch and exotic fruit, but also mellow vanilla. In the mouth it is rich, without being at all sugary. The serious, no additives allowed approach shows through in the laid back complexity and long, long finish. I can't wait to have a glass of this by the fire tonight after dinner!
Price: $59.99 Add To Cart

Baron-Fuenté "7" Brut Champagne
Review Date: 01-11-2018
I have been waiting eight long years for the premier of this tete de cuvée Champagne from Baron Fuente, and I am thrilled to finally be able to offer it! This wine has concentration and focus that is up their with the best Champagne that we offer. It is the first time that they have introduced a proportion of barrel fermented Champagne in one of their wines, and just like the vintage offerings from houses like Billecart and Roederer, it only shows in texture- there is no wood flavor at all! This is vibrant, mineral driven Champagne that has the pin point streamers and fine texture that only a long seven years of ageing on the lees will bring. This is one of the great deals in top notch Champagne that we offer!
Top Value!
Price: $49.99 Add To Cart

2009 Baron-Fuenté "Grand Millesime" Brut Champagne
Review Date: 01-11-2018
The lovely, old school toastiness of this Grand Millesime grabbed me from the very first sniff! Baron Fuente has got a real winner from the warm 2009 harvest here, with beurre d'isigny cream and savor, but backed up with more than enough snappy refreshment to keep me coming back for more. This is an excellent aperitif, but will also go very well with gougeres or other finger foods.
Drink from 2018 to 2018
Price: $29.99 Add To Cart

2015 Domaine La Loyane Lirac
Review Date: 01-11-2018
So many of our customers are excited about buying the 2015's from the Rhone, and the La Loyane Lirac is a great example of why. This is dense, rich southern Rhone, but still has great earthiness and enough acidity to balance its tannin. If you are looking for a great Rhone to pair with grilled meats, or even cassoulet, this is a great choice. It will also reward medium term cellaring, so if you like it as much as I do, get a couple extras for years to come.
Drink from 2018 to 2018
Price: $17.99 Add To Cart
RP 92

2015 Chappellet "Signature" Napa Valley Cabernet Sauvignon
Review Date: 01-11-2018
This rich, flashy, dark Cabernet has all of the toasty oak and dark currant fruit to impress on the very first sip. It also has real Cabernet structure underneath with real power for your next big steak meal. If you like big cab, this is a great choice. Fire up the grill, put on some big ribeyes and enjoy this very good Cabernet!
Drink from 2018 to 2018

Launois "Severine" Brut Blanc de Blancs Champagne
Review Date: 01-05-2018
The Launois Severine is 100% Mesnil Grand Cru that is fermented in barrels. The barrels are made from oak timbered from their property right there in Mesnil. The wood has now been used a number of times, and although the first few batches were very oaky, the current release is super well balanced. This Champagne has the breadth and richness of a full on barrel fermented Champagne, but also the crisp precision of Mesnil Chardonnay. It is a fantastic Champagne, best suited to cuisine. I love it with grilled salmon -- especially done on a cedar plank!
Price: $59.99 Add To Cart

1998 Poujeaux, Moulis
Review Date: 01-04-2018
Poujeaux needs twenty years to drink the way that I like it, and this is in a perfect spot, not showing any sort of fragility. We tasted this blind, and I was over the moon for the quality and finesse of this now mature claret. If you are looking for something special for your next steak dinner, this Moulis has the excellent texture, dark fruit and perky finish that will complement your meal perfectly.
Drink from 2018 to 2018
Price: $59.99 Add To Cart

2015 Capbern, St-Estèphe (1.5L)
Review Date: 01-04-2018
I never thought that I would be able to say this, but St. Estephe is the home of value for thoroughbred Bordeaux! This concentrated, even chocolaty, exotic claret has power and dark fruit to spare. It also has a surprisingly elegant, long, dry finish and very good complexity. If you are looking for a great bargain in 2015 for the cellar, look no further! This magnum will keep for a very long time, and is ideal for anniversary year or children's birth year purchases!
Drink from 2025 to 2025

2015 Capbern, St-Estèphe
Review Date: 01-04-2018
I never thought that I would be able to say this, but St. Estephe is the home of value for thoroughbred Bordeaux! This concentrated, even chocolaty, exotic claret has power and dark fruit to spare. It also has a surprisingly elegant, long, dry finish and very good complexity. If you are looking for a great bargain in 2015 for the cellar, look no further!
Drink from 2018 to 2018

2015 Saint-Paul, Haut-Medoc
Review Date: 01-04-2018
This super value 2015 comes from just north of St. Estephe. It not only has the ripeness and power that make this vintage a wine critic favorite, but also the focus that will bring real pleasure at the table. These 2015's will be hard not to drink young, they have so much nice fruit and are incredibly open right now. I say buy some for now and some for later!
Drink from 2018 to 2018
Price: $19.99 Add To Cart
JS 89 - 90

2014 La Dame de Montrose, St-Estèphe
Review Date: 01-04-2018
Chateau Montrose had a monumental success in 2014, and that shows through beautifully in this great 2nd wine. This has the powerful dark fruit and gamy intensity of the best of St. Estephe, as well as high gloss polish of the fanciest of red wines. It is hard to believe that this detailed, concentrated wine isn't the Grand Vin! It manages quite a bit of breadth and richness without being heavy in any way. Delicious.
Drink from 2018 to 2018

2014 Poujeaux, Moulis
Review Date: 01-04-2018
This is one of the very best values in cellar worthy wine in the entire store. We tasted this along side the 1998 vintage, which has aged effortlessly, and it rammed home the point of just how wonderfully Chateau Poujeaux does with time. This has the perfect combination of cassis fruit and classy Bordeaux earth that excites me. It is a firm, serious wine with plenty of structure for the long haul. If you have children born in or an anniversary in 2014, I would say that this is a must buy. Wine of this sort of class and length are almost never sold at such a reasonable price!
Drink from 2024 to 2024

2011 Egrot (formerly Elisabeth Goutorbe) Brut Grand Cru Champagne
Review Date: 12-30-2017
This Champagne comes from the impossibly steep slopes of Ay grand cru in the heart of the Marne Valley. It is composed of 2/3 Pinot Noir and 1/3 Chardonnay from some of the chalkiest soil in all of Champagne. While this vintage proved challenging for many, some of the best plots in the grand crus did exceptionally well, producing wines of both power and finesse. This is one of those wines, and has plenty of richness for drinking on its own, but also the backbone of minerality to pair with the best salmon or tuna fillets.
Price: $39.99 Add To Cart

Wine Club

$34.99

Charles Ellner "Qualite" Extra Brut Champagne
Review Date: 12-30-2017
Champagne Charles Ellner is one of the largest vineyard holders in Epernay, and wine comes exclusively from these vines. It is composed of 50% Pinot Noir, 30%Chardonnay and 20% Meunier, is aged for almost five years on the lees and is treated to an addition of 1/3 reserve wines. This has great red cherry Pinot Noir fruit framed by baguette toast from the long ageing, as well as surprising snap and length. This is an ideal aperitif, and will go fantastically well with gougers, parmesan crisps and all manner of finger foods.
Price: $39.99 Add To Cart

Wine Club

$34.99

Ariston Aspasie "Carte Blanche" Brut Champagne
Review Date: 12-22-2017
I can't think of a single bottle of Champagne at K&L that has brought me such consistent pleasure as the Ariston Aspasie Carte Blanche. The Ariston family has worked very hard to deliver this great bottle to the Champagne lovers of the world. Most producers age their Champagne for less than three years in the bottle before shipping, but the Carte Blanche gets five years. It is entirely estate grown by one of the most careful growers in the business. On top of all that it is made in one of the most modern facilities of any small producer that I have visited. The pressing is done in a 1/4 million euro Coquard diaganol press and the fermentation is all done in computer regulated temperature controlled tanks. The result is one of the best aperitif bottles that we sell; toasty and full, yet refreshing and crisp, a perfect balance between aged complexity and youthful vigor. And then there is the price--so fair that Cinnamon and I have had the opportunity to impact the world supply with our consumption! Don't miss it.
Top Value!
Price: $27.99 Add To Cart

Pol Roger "White Foil - Extra Cuvée de Réserve" Brut Champagne
Review Date: 11-28-2017
A classic for a reason. The cellars of Pol Roger are the deepest and coldest in Epernay, reaching over 110 feet into the chalk, and here every bottle is still hand riddled. This toasty, well balanced grand marque is composed of about 1/3 each Pinot Noir, Chardonnay and Meunier. It is treated to four years of ageing on the lees and has 25% reserve wines in the blend. It makes a lovely aperitif, and is supremely well balanced. If you haven't had this lately, it is a must try!

2001 Marchesi di Barolo "Sarmassa" Barolo
Review Date: 11-15-2017
If you are looking for ready to drink Barolo- you just found it! The Sarmassa is full of the tar and roses that we love Barolo for, and still has plenty of tannic power and freshness. This will be perfect with rich meaty dishes!
Price: $59.99 Add To Cart
WS 90

2015 Cantina di Gallura "Genesi" Vermentino di Gallura
Review Date: 11-15-2017
This incredible bottle of Vermentino Di Gallura has the kind of effortless class, seamless texture and near infinite length that one only expects from the most famous white Burgundy producers. If you are looking for a flat out great bottle of white wine that is a real discovery, try this Cantina Di Gallura Genesi. It makes a great drink on its own, but I can't wait to try it with crab risotto!
Price: $34.99 Add To Cart

2008 Fallet-Dart Vintage Brut Champagne
Review Date: 11-07-2017
I consider the 2008 Fallet Dart to be the most exciting vintage Champagne that we have in stock. It comes from estate vineyards in the far west of Champagne, in the tiny hamlet of Drachy, from a family that has been growing grapes for an astounding 17 generations. This bottling is composed of 70% Chardonnay and 30% Pinot Noir, and most of the Chardonnay comes from one of the few "clos" sites in Champagne, the Clos du Mont. This vineyard was the first monastic site in the region and perhaps the oldest of the "clos" in Champagne, first planted around the same time as the l'eglise Drachy was built: 741! The wine has the electricity, length and mineral drive that one would expect from the great 2008 vintage. The surprise is how much body and structure comes along with the minerality, and the complex, seemingly every changing flavors of the wine. I found it to have everything from sourdough to truffles to nectarines from one sip to the next. We tasted this next to the 1999, a much softer vintage that is still going strong... This is a bottle for the ages- if you can keep your hands off of it!
Drink from 2017 to 2017
Price: $39.99 Add To Cart

2006 Bollinger Rosé Champagne
Review Date: 11-07-2017
This super rich, all barrel fermented Champagne from Bollinger is usually sold as "La Grande Année" Rosé for $60 more a bottle. Since the team at Bollinger does not feel that this ripe 2006 will last a generation, they decided to sell it as regular vintage- a first for them. Since it was originally made as "La Grande Année" Rosé, this wine it has been aged all the time on the lees on a cork rather than a crown cap. This is a full, toasty, powerful dry style that will thrill fans of this house, at a price that is too good to miss!
Drink from 2017 to 2017
Price: $119.00 Add To Cart
DC 94 JG 92

2010 Louise Brison Brut Champagne
Review Date: 10-17-2017
The vintage wines from Louise Brison are an incredible deal in fine wine. Delphine Brulez is one of the few grower-producers that we work with to have a diploma in oenology, and she works her vines in Noe-les-Mallets organically before fermenting her juice entirely in small oak barrels. The results in 2010 are electric and refreshing, but still round enough to have alone as the aperitif. This blend of half each Chardonnay and Pinot Noir will fool even the most discerning connoisseur for Champagne that costs no less than 50% more. We recently had a bottle of the 1992, and I am here to tell you that if you can keep your hands off of it, it will age very well too! If you like your Champagne clean, refreshing, dry and long, this is one to load up on.
Drink from 2017 to 2017
Price: $29.99 Add To Cart

Canard-Duchêne "Authentic" Brut Rosé Champagne
Review Date: 10-05-2017
This charming rose is an excellent value, and I love the creamy texture and beautiful ripe strawberry fruit. The team at Canard Duchene has sourced almost all of the fruit for this rose from the mountain of Reims. It is composed of 45% Pinot Noir, 30% Chardonnay and 25% Meunier. While this rose has great fruit on the nose and on the palate, it finishes nice and dry. At this price, why not try it?
Price: $34.99 Add To Cart

Canard-Duchêne "Authentic" Brut Champagne
Review Date: 10-05-2017
If you are looking for a richer, toastier style of Champagne for the aperitif, this Authentic from Canard-Duchene is a great choice. It is composed of 43% Pinot Noir, 25% Meunier and 20% Chardonnay and comes almost exclusively from sites owned or contracted on the Montagne de Reims. It is delicious, round brut at its easy going best and it will thrill your guests with its charm.
Price: $29.99 Add To Cart

2008 Baron-Fuenté "Grand Millesime" Brut Champagne
Review Date: 10-05-2017
This is a very special bottle of vintage Champagne. For many years now, the Baron Fuente Millesime has been one of the greatest values in the entire category. The 2008 is certainly the very best vintage we have had from them.. Even better than the great 1996! Like past vintages, this has great richness and toast from a nice long rest on the lees, and fine power from their great estate vineyards. The great 2008 vintage has added an electric length and profound minerality to this wine that is rare in Champagne at any price, and almost unheard of at this price! Take a case... You won't regret it!
Drink from 2016 to 2016
Price: $29.99 Add To Cart

Four Pillars "Faultline" K&L Exclusive Gin (750ml)
Review Date: 10-03-2017
This great bottle of gin comes across as a classic from the first sip, with poise, elegance and refreshment its main qualities. Even though it made out of a long list of exotic, only-in-Australia botanicals, the balance is still exquisite and exactly what I am looking for in my therapeutic gin and tonic. I am sure we will disappoint many customers looking for a second bottle of this after it all sells out. If you love it, make sure to get what you need quickly!
Price: $34.99 Add To Cart

Billecart-Salmon "Cuvée Jean George" Brut Champagne
Review Date: 10-01-2017
The Billecart family has pioneered the use of yeast strains that can work at very low temperatures, and the Jean George has the kind of freshness and brightness that you would expect from this great house. While this is great by itself, it will also go fantastically well with smoked salmon.
Price: $49.99 Add To Cart

Wine Club

$39.99

2014 Hyot, Côtes de Castillon
Review Date: 09-29-2017
Clyde has done it again: found another incredible value in Bordeaux. I can't remember enjoying a Right Bank vintage as much as 2014 since at least 1998. This shares the virtues of many of the more expensive wines from 2014 that I have tasted. While the Hyot is dark, loaded with flashy coffee and plummy fruit on the nose, it is medium bodied, and has very good lift on the long finish. This Cotes De Castillon is ideal for mid-week meals!
Top Value!

2009 Dom Pérignon Brut Champagne
Review Date: 09-28-2017
The 2009 Dom Perignon is one of the purest and most elegant that I have had of this famous tete de cuvee. I had an opportunity to taste a preview bottle back in March, and I was very impressed. The wine is much less yeasty than the 2006, and has rounder, riper fruit than the more mineral driven 2004. In an unusual move, but certainly a smart one, they decided to release this ahead of the 2008, which is still resting on its lees in Epernay!

2015 Albatreti Rosso di Montalcino
Review Date: 09-28-2017
The 2015 vintage is a special one in Tuscany, and this Albatreti Rosso Di Montalcino stands out even in such a strong field. This sangiovese has rich, beautiful rainier cherry fruit, clean earth and a perfect balance of brightness and tannin on the finish. I found it to be better than a lot of Brunello that I have tasted over the years!
Price: $17.99 Add To Cart

2014 La Massa "La Massa" Toscana
Review Date: 09-28-2017
K&L is crowded with values, but this La Massa stands out. It has the supple texture to drink on its own, but also plenty of acidity for Italian cuisine. I love the mix of dark cherry fruit and authentic galestro earthiness in this modern Tuscan red. Quality like this is rare even in our fantastic Italian section at this price!
Top Value!
Price: $14.99 Add To Cart
JS 91 WS 90

2004 Krug Brut Champagne
Review Date: 09-23-2017
Tasting the new 2004 Krug next to the 2002 was a revelation for me. This has the power and mid-palate presence that we all love from this great house, but it is married to the extraordinary freshness, minerality and purity of the 2004 vintage. As soon as I touched my lips to the glass I was transported back to the moment over a decade ago when I tasted the 1988 on release. The 2004s and 1988s are like peas in a pod, and I think this will be a vintage that collectors will be kicking themselves for not paying enough attention to. The finish on this bright, lively Krug is still with me the morning after drinking it. It is a Champagne for the ages.
Drink from 2017 to 2017

Ardbeg "An Oa" Islay Single Malt Scotch Whisky (750ml)
Review Date: 09-19-2017
This incredibly elegant and sophisticated Ardbeg retains the peaty personality of the distillery while showcasing a suaver side of Islay. I enjoyed my little taste of this immensly, and I can't wait to take it home and drink it my favorite way- after dinner. Any fan of Islay malts should have a bottle of this generous, textural Ardbeg!
Price: $59.99 Add To Cart
WA 93

2014 Poitevin, Médoc
Review Date: 09-16-2017
I can't believe how good Bordeaux can be for such a reasonable price! No matter how many times Clyde proves it to me, I am surprised again and again by the values in this category. The Poitevin is authentic, honest, satisfying claret for people who love an earthy, dry style to go with food. I am crazy about texture and grip of this Medoc, and can't wait to have it with a big charcoal grilled bone-in ribeye.
Drink from 2017 to 2017
Price: $14.99 Add To Cart

2014 Senejac, Haut-Médoc
Review Date: 09-16-2017
This is a great addition to any cellar, the only problem with the wine is that it tastes too good now! The 2014's have a fresh lift to them that makes them almost irresistible young, but should prove to keep them drinking nicely for decades. I love the purity of the Cabernet cassis aromas and flavors in this Chateau Senejac, as well as the long, bright finish. Pair it now with grilled skirt steak or bury it in the cellar for decades to come- either way you will be very happy. At this price, why not do both?
Top Value!
Price: $17.99 Add To Cart

2013 Burgess "Estate" Napa Valley Cabernet Sauvignon
Review Date: 09-06-2017
This fantastic 2013 from the Burgess estate is a great bottle of full bodied, yet dry Napa Cabernet. If you are looking for a dark fruited, powerful mountain cab to go with some man sized rib eyes off the grill, look no further. While most Napa Cabernet in this price range is made from purchased valley floor fruit, this is entirely from the Burgess estate on Howell Mountain. Enjoy some now, and save some for a few years... I just drank a bottle of the 1993 a few months ago and it was still fresh at 24 years old!
Drink from 2013 to 2013
Price: Hidden View Price
RP 92 VN 92

Krug "Grande Cuvée" 164 Ème Édition Brut Champagne
Review Date: 08-31-2017
The 164th edition of Krug is only the second comercial release with the edition on the front label- and what an addition it is! Based on the fantastic 2008 vintage, this spectacular Champagne is composed of 11 different vintages going all the way back to 1990. While the 163rd edition drinks better today, this great bottle of Champagne will eclipse nearly anything that a collector could buy at this price after a few years in a good cellar. Not only does this have the breadth and depth of power that we all love in Krug, it has the chalky electric energy of the 2008 vintage. This is already becoming a legend in its own time... But in a few years, look out!
Drink from 2018 to 2018

Timothy Taylor "Landlord" Strong Pale Ale, England (500ml)
Review Date: 08-29-2017
I love the taste of the old country in this Pale Ale! Don't let the "strong" scare you off on the label- this under 5% Abv beer is exactly the kind a person can drink plenty of without getting fuzzy in the head or tired of the flavors. This elegant ale from Timothy Taylor has lovely balance, both fruit from the top fermenting yeast and pleasant bitterness from the hops. I can't wait to sit down for a long session with a few of these!
Price: $7.99 Add To Cart

Mahr's Bräu "Mastodon" Lager, Germany (500ml)
Review Date: 08-29-2017
I don't always drink Märzen named after metal bands, but when I do it is always the Mahr's Brau Mastodon. This is classic German brown lager, with very nice texture and malty flavors, balanced by enough hoppiness to keep it refreshing enough to have another two or three.
Price: $6.99 Add To Cart

Louis Brochet 1er Cru Brut Champagne
Review Date: 08-24-2017
This is composed of 80% Pinot Noir, 15% Chardonnay and 5% Meunier and dosed at 9 grams per liter. The blend is half reserves, with 35% from the previous two harvests and 15% from the solera that Louis started in 2010. The red cherry power of top Pinot Noir jumps from the glass and is framed by classy sourdough toast. I love the texture of this lighter style Pinot based Champagne, and the very high proportion and quality of reserve wines give it great texture, a fine bead and elusive complexity. This is hard to beat at the price!
Top Value!
Price: $29.99 Add To Cart

2012 Pauillac de Latour, Pauillac
Review Date: 08-22-2017
Tasting this today, I was floored by the breed and stateliness of this young claret. This third wine of Latour has the classic flavors of the first wine with lead pencil and cassis in perfect, classy balance. What it doesn't have recommends it even more- this is not a tannin bound wine like Latour proper would be at this age, but rather and open knit, delicious drinker. If you ever wondered what a first growth is all about, but didn't want to part with a grand, treat yourself to this!
Drink from 2017 to 2017
Price: $69.99 Add To Cart
JS 90
Limit of 24 per customer

2014 Langoa-Barton, St-Julien
Review Date: 08-22-2017
Langoa has made a fabulous wine for the cellar here, but you'll have to bury it at the bottom of a big stack... It tastes a little too good to hold onto right now! This great 2014 has an explosive nose of red fruit with bonbon ceris and extraordinary purity on the palate. The length is striking, as is the focussed acidity. This will prove to be one of the great Langoa's in time, if we can keep our hands off of it!
Drink from 2020 to 2020

2007 Tronquoy-Lalande, St-Estèphe
Review Date: 08-22-2017
The 2007 Tronquoy Lalande is a powerful, structured Bordeaux that pairs very well with rich, charcoal grilled steak and loaded potatoes! This wine, which I enjoyed a couple of Fridays ago for steak and claret night has an exotic, open, mocha and cassis nose as well as plenty of back end grip. This is manly Bordeaux for a manly steak, and should be even better in a few years time.
Drink from 2017 to 2017
Price: $27.99 Add To Cart

2004 Langoa-Barton, St-Julien
Review Date: 08-22-2017
Cinnamon and I drank this for our 13th anniversary (we were married in 2004) with steak frites at the lovely Mathilde French bistro in San Francisco. Today I had it again in our staff Bordeaux tasting, right next to the famous 2005. Both times, this wine exceeded expectations, and I couldn't help but buy a little for myself after this second great surprise! I thought this wine drank far better than the 2005 now, and has none of the green notes that critics of the 2004's complain about. The texture is all there at 13 years, and the fruit is dark, fresh and very well balanced by focussed acidity. If you have a steak dinner in your future, this top class Bordeaux is a great choice!
Drink from 2017 to 2017

2009 Coufran, Haut-Médoc
Review Date: 08-18-2017
We have a few house favorites when it comes to Bordeaux here at K&L, and the 2009 Coufran, Haut-Médoc confirms why we love this property. For the Haut-Medoc, this wine has a huge proportion of Merlot at 85% and just a touch of Cabernet Sauvignon at 15%. In its youth, the wine had a big, ripe, plumy nose, but was still very elegant in the mouth. It reminded me very much of old fashioned Pomerol; medium bodied, pure, racy Merlot without the extraneous sugar and oak. At the price, too much of this wine was probably consumed too young, but the patient will now be rewarded with a great experience at a very small price.

1990 Poujeaux, Moulis-en-Medoc
Review Date: 08-17-2017
For decades, I have been preaching the gospel of Poujeaux to anyone who would listen. I believe that these wines, given enough time in the cellar, will stand on the table with anything. This 1990 has been given that time in the cool cellars of one of our negociant partners in Bordeaux, and is not drinking absolutely beautifully. If you have been invited to a wine dinner where everyone else is bringing $200 bottles, you will not be out classed with this beauty from Moulis. It has integrated and gained complexity over the last 27 years, but still has excellent concentration and ripe Cabernet fruit. The finish is long, detailed and far more complex than many more expensive, famous bottles that I have had lately.
Drink from 2017 to 2017
Price: $69.99 Add To Cart

2016 Weon Carignane Maule Valley
Review Date: 08-01-2017
The light to medium bodied Weon challenged my prejudice against carignane at today's staff tasting. I loved the charm and easy going style of this delicately earthy, pretty, refreshing red wine. This would be a good wine to put in the mix with one's cru Beaujolais, Jura poulsard and even Oregon pinot!
Price: Hidden View Price

2013 Aleph Semillon Mendoza
Review Date: 08-01-2017
This semillon is one of the most inspiring Argentinian wines that I have ever tasted. The Aleph is loaded with waxy, complex, intriguing flavors, and has full body, not from oak, but from real concentration. It might seem expensive in context with other wines from the same country, but is an outstanding value as a wine. This would be a great ringer in a lineup of expensive white Bordeaux!
Price: $23.99 Add To Cart

Page: 1 2 3 4 5 next >>

More Favorites

Gary Westby is also a fan of the following items. To become a fan of Gary Westby, click here to join Gary Westby's Personal Sommelier Service.
2012 Chateau St. Jean Alexander Valley Cabernet Sauvignon ($23.99)

Baron-Fuenté "Galipettes" Brut Champagne ($34.99)

2007 Bodegas Puelles Rioja Reserva ($17.99)