Staff Favorites

If you’re going to have Robert Parker or Stephen Tanzer over for dinner, selecting a wine they’ve rated highly will be a nice choice. However, when you’re buying wines for yourself, we’d love to see you find wines that match up your unique palate and pocketbook. We have a large staff of friendly and knowledgeable wine professionals that taste hundreds of wines each week. They can put you in touch with bottles that you are likely to love, often at a much lower cost than the highly-rated gems that often see a run-up in price and frequent availability issues. Like any great group of opinionated professionals, our staff has varied tastes themselves. Often our customers will find a particular staff member with a style that corresponds to their own. That concept works extremely well in our retail stores, and this section is our effort to bring you the same online. Don’t get us wrong, we love the highly rated wines from the press and will continue to offer them, but we think you’re missing out if you’re not augmenting those selections with picks from our excellent staff. Here are their favorites. (Click on a name to see their other selections - or to drop them a line.) Cheers!

Reviews

  
Page: 1 2 3 next >>
2009 Franck Bonville "Millesime" Brut Blanc de Blancs Champagne (1.5L)
By: Diana Turk | Review Date: 5/23/2017 | Send Email
This is the dark horse in Bonville’s lineup: it’s sophisticated with a steely, chalky backbone, yet soft and accessible enough to for non-Champagne drinkers to appreciate. Yeasty with caramel notes right from the top, "Millesime" Brut showcases the house’s mineral-driven style, with the bonus drinkability of a rich, easygoing vintage. While the additional time on the lees really comes through (surprising even Bonville – this was accidentally left in the cellar an extra 2 years!), this still a bright Blanc de Blancs with tiny mousse, lemon and green apple fruit, and a clean yet lingering finish. I planned to be impressed with this practically-priced offering (Grand Cru! Avize!), but this release, especially magical in magnum format, will elevate expectations of just how special your celebration can be.
Price: $84.99 Add To Cart

2011 Proprietà Sperino Lessona
By: Greg St. Clair | Review Date: 5/23/2017 | Send Email
The nose of this wine is so incredibly sensual; it is the proverbial siren’s song. Waves of savory complexity, laurel, cardamom, salted plum, middle-eastern spices fill your nose. On the palate you can tell this is Nebbiolo, there’s no doubting the lacy tannic structure that defines the wine’s size, but the tannins are sweet, long and give the wine length without losing its supple smoothness. The flavors on your palate are once again more savory, dried herbs, salted plum, fresh leather and dried cherries. The finish is long, persistent and reaches every corner of your palate leaving a layer of spice, intrigue and memory. This is a wine that is drinkable now…yet will last another 30 years; the wines from Alto Piemonte are incredibly long-lived and a century ago were Italy’s most famous, wars, economics, history changed the face of this zone that has only resurfaced in the past few decades as once again some of Italy’s greatest red wines. The winery is owned by the de Marchi family, the owners of Isole e Olena the famed Chianti producers, this is original family estate.
Drink from 2017 to 2017
Price: $69.99 Add To Cart
WE 96

Franck Bonville "Belles Voyes" Brut Blanc de Blancs Champagne (1.5L)
By: Diana Turk | Review Date: 5/23/2017 | Send Email
This might just be my favorite Champagne that we carry, and drinking it out of a magnum is especially luxurious. Whether you’re looking for a generous gift or just selecting something incredibly special for yourself, Franck Bonville "Belles Voyes" Brut Blanc de Blancs Champagne should be on your radar. It drinks like Krug and the distinctive bulbous bottle adds glamour, especially in this striking 1.5 liter size. This release is sourced exclusively from the already-accessible 2009 harvest and is 100% Chardonnay from Bonville’s tiniest vineyard in Oger. Belles Voyes easily outshines exponentially more expensive options, showing apple brightness and intense floral aromatics, plus leesy complexity, brioche notes and a heady, indulgent texture balanced by racy minerality. The perfect celebratory investment.
Price: $139.00 Add To Cart
WS 91 WE 90

Franck Bonville Brut Rosé Champagne (1.5L)
By: Diana Turk | Review Date: 5/23/2017 | Send Email
Bonville’s delicate, visually-stunning rosé is here in a size perfect for bigger celebrations. This release is delicious and elegant, but also substantial: Franck Bonville Brut Rosé Champagne feels important, with quality that far exceeds its price point. Mainly Avize fruit but featuring 8% Pinot Noir from Grand Cru village of Ambonnay, this crisp rosé features vivid red fruit on the nose but finishes fresh, with the linear snap expected of 92% Chardonnay, mostly from the colder 2011 vintage. There is electric acidity on the palate but also a plusher component thanks to a luxuriously fine bead. Luxurious, dry, and easydrinking – this is a rosé I’ve returned to again and again, and the magnum just makes it even more special.
Price: $84.99 Add To Cart
WS 92

Franck Bonville Brut Rosé Champagne (375ml)
By: Diana Turk | Review Date: 5/23/2017 | Send Email
Now featuring the new labels! Bonville’s delicate, visually-stunning brut rosé is delicious and elegant, but also substantial: this feels like important Champagne, with quality that far exceeds its price point. Featuring 8% Pinot Noir from celebrated Grand Cru village of Ambonnay, this crisp rosé features vivid red fruit on the nose but finishes fresh, with the linear snap expected of 92% Chardonnay, mostly from the colder 2011 vintage. There is electric acidity on the palate but also a plusher component thanks to a luxuriously fine bead. Luxurious, dry, and easydrinking – this is a favorite rosé for not only celebratory occasions, but to make any day special, and the smaller size is picnic-perfect.
Price: $21.99 Add To Cart
WS 92

Franck Bonville Brut Rosé Champagne
By: Diana Turk | Review Date: 5/23/2017 | Send Email
Consistently incredible! Bonville’s delicate, visually-stunning brut rosé is delicious and elegant, but also substantial: this feels like important Champagne, with quality that far exceeds its price point. With 8% Pinot Noir from celebrated Grand Cru village of Ambonnay, this crisp rosé features vivid red fruit on the nose but finishes fresh, with the linear snap expected of 92% Chardonnay, mostly from the colder 2011 vintage. There is electric acidity on the palate but also a plusher component thanks to a luxuriously fine bead. Luxurious, dry, and easydrinking – this is rosé I’ve returned to again and again.
Price: $39.99 Add To Cart
WS 92

2015 Domaine Renaud Mâcon-Charnay
By: Jim Barr | Review Date: 5/23/2017 | Send Email
We have directly imported this lovely single vineyard production from the Reanuds for over five years, and this effort is, without a doubt, their best Chardonnay production to date. A superb nose of tropical fruit, white peach, and jasmine-like fruit is enhanced by undertones of wet-river stone to slate-like minerality, all of which carries over to a rich, lush, elegant palate impression that shows excellent structure and broadness of flavor on through its mouthwatering finish. This Gem is a fabulous representation of what wonderful wines can come from this area. Many of my colleagues have called this an excellent ‘crossover wine for our customers,’ and I just maintained that it doesn’t matter; it is just a brilliant production of Chardonnay. The Bean has demanded that I bring home several cases of this Gem for our consumption over the next three to five years. A SUPER VALUE” >>>A K&L WINE MERCHANTS’ DIRECT IMPORT<<< ***** 13.0% ABV *****
Drink from 2017 to 2017
Price: $14.99 Add To Cart

2015 Domaine Renaud St-Véran
By: Jim Barr | Review Date: 5/23/2017 | Send Email
After all these years in the wine retail trade, I am still captivated by the notion that two neighboring Macon Villages of Burgundy (Pouilly-Fuisse and Saint-Véran) can have vastly different prices for the same grape (Chardonnay), produced in virtually identical styles, and, in most instances, from the same producers. The concept for this vast price variance (Pouilly-Fuisse retailing for fifty percent or more than Saint-Véran) stems from the fact that many Americans way back when thought it much more romantic and classier to say at a restaurant, "I would like to have a bottle of Pouilly-Fuisse with this dinner, waiter," than to ask for a bottle of a much more mundane, rural sounding word as Saint-Véran, thereby creating a much greater demand. What amuses me the most, I believe, is the fact that this "variance" has been able to sustain itself, even with many of us wine "specialist" telling everyone that this pricing is stupid. This gorgeous, estate Saint-Véran from the Renauds is a perfect example of just how brainless that notion of pricing can be. Tons of bright apply, melon-like to lime zest tones with a slate-like mineral undertone abounds in the nose and on the palate of this remarkably rich, well-structured, classic style Chardonnay from that village of Macon and will rival any exceptional Pouilly-Fuisse. The finish is bright, clean, and crisp and invites another glass or two or three. Rizzo has asked me to bring home several cases of this finely crafted Gem for our near-term consumption over the next two to five years. A REALLY, REALLY NICE VALUE!! >>>A K&L WINE MERCHANTS’ DIRECT IMPORT<<< !***** 13.0% ABV *****
Drink from 2017 to 2017
Price: $18.99 Add To Cart

2014 Baron de Montfaucon Châteauneuf-du-Pape
By: Sharon Kelly | Review Date: 5/22/2017 | Send Email
Two weeks ago, after ten years in business, my favorite restaurant permanently closed its doors. I don’t consider the closure of any good restaurant cause for celebration but this one in particular holds a special place in my heart so I made plans to commemorate their final dinner service with a fine bottle of wine in tow. Wanting something special to complement their food, I selected this Châteauneuf du Pape from winemaker Rudi des Pins. I could not have chosen a more perfect wine for the menu and the moment. Delicately restrained and beautifully elegant, we let this breathe a bit before consuming and it opened up to reveal gorgeous, bright red cherry fruits and exotic spices. This wine is drinking wonderfully now but do not hesitate to put one away for a few years as there is much to offer in this bottle.
Price: $34.99 Add To Cart

2001 Chateau de la Grangerie 14 Year Old K&L Exclusive Armagnac (750ml)
By: Andrew Whiteley | Review Date: 5/22/2017 | Send Email
Yep. This is my favorite Armagnac that we carry and it has been since we first got it into the store in 2015! It's been sold out for nearly 6 months and it's finally here again - still at the same unbelievable direct price! The nose is seductive - full of rich florals, butterscotch, vanilla, and salted caramel. The most incredible thing about it though is how light it feels. This isn't a dark and brooding Armagnac full of oak spice and tannin, but something light and ethereal still with lovely richness and palate weight. The finish is long, and lingers with the sweet fruit notes of a fresh-picked Honeycrisp apple, almost like a great Calvados of Adrian Camut. While any Bourbon drinker will immediately find something to love here (wood spice, great age, and low prices), this is truly for those who love the best Armagnac has to offer; delicate fruits, wonderful body, nuanced wood influence, and the ever important low prices.
Price: $49.99 Add To Cart

2011 Proprietà Sperino Lessona
By: Stefanie Juelsgaard | Review Date: 5/22/2017 | Send Email
A beautiful expression of how complex and elegant Nebbiolo can become when left to mellow and age for a few years. This wine is showing softness and rich fruits, with still just a hint of drying tannin in the front, as is expected from Nebbiolo from this region. It is drinking beautifully right now, but will certainly continue to soften and smooth out even more in the coming years. This is a delicious wine and, with it's subtle earthiness, would make a great food wine for many different dishes.
Price: $69.99 Add To Cart
WE 96

Blason Isonzo Bianco (3L Bag-in-a-Box) (cannot ship)
By: Jeffrey Jones | Review Date: 5/22/2017 | Send Email
This wine in a box is an easy way to get a glass of wine if you do not want to open a full bottle. One does not have to sacrifice quality with this wine. It is nice and medium bodied with a pleasurable round mouth fill and a clean and crisp finish.This wine is dry and will be nice and refreshing alone and will go well with fish and chicken.
Price: $24.99 Add To Cart

2016 Puy-Blanquet, St-Emilion
By: Jason Marwedel | Review Date: 5/22/2017 | Send Email
My top Left Bank value in 2016 has to be Château Puy-Blanquet. I have always enjoyed this château's wines, but the 2016 is operating on a whole new level. Deep dark color with notes of cherry, vanilla, bay leaf and black olive fill the glass. The palate is decadent, sweet and round with supple tannins and mouth-watering acidity. This is by far the best Puy Blanquet I have ever tasted!
Price: $23.99 Add To Cart

2013 Kenwood "Jack London Vineyard" Sonoma Mountain Cabernet Sauvignon
By: Anthony Gittings | Review Date: 5/22/2017 | Send Email
Kenwood has been making quality wine since the 1970's and their latest Jack London Cabernet is another classic example from one of California's historic wineries. Healthy amounts of dark cherries and plum are nicely balanced with silky tannin, a touch of spice and a long lingering finish. Subtle vanilla and leather gives the wine a deep richness and adds complexity.
Price: $29.99 Add To Cart

2015 Domaine de Biéville (Louis Moreau) Chablis
By: Morgan Laurie | Review Date: 5/22/2017 | Send Email
This Chablis is truly a steal. It's got a bit of a fuller palate and length for days! There are some really bright citrus notes, like freshly grated lemon zest. The fruit is ripe, yet still refreshing. There's a bit of crispy green pear and an incredibly refreshing minerality. This is delicious!
Price: $16.99 Add To Cart

2010 Berliquet, St-Emilion
By: Jacques Moreira | Review Date: 5/22/2017 | Send Email
Complexity and value. That's how I would describe this wine. It is a classic St-Emilion, packed with its dark fruit and light incense notes. The palate is velvety and elegant, with its tannins that are never grippy. It shows some development on its alluring leather notes, but still with a good 10 years of drinking pleasure.
Price: $34.99 Add To Cart
JS 92 WS 91

2014 La Conseillante, Pomerol
By: Jacques Moreira | Review Date: 5/22/2017 | Send Email
An absolutely overachiever this wine. A palate with lots of complexity, with notes that run the spectrum from the beautiful Jasmin scent, to blood orange, incense and exotic spices. A premium bottle.

2016 Mount Edward Pinot Noir Rosé Central Otago
By: Morgan Laurie | Review Date: 5/22/2017 | Send Email
The wine makers of Mount Edward focus their efforts on producing organic, single estate, small production wines that are reflective of the terroir in which they are grown. This attention to detail is evident in this lovely Rose of direct press Pinot Noir. The nose on this wine is incredible and smells like white roses, fresh nectarines and juicy watermelon. The palate is a little softer but still has such incredible, zippy acidity. This is an elegant Rose that truly showcases the best of what Central Otago has to offer.
Price: $16.99 Add To Cart
RC 90 - 91

2015 Petit Figeac, St-Emilion
By: Jacques Moreira | Review Date: 5/22/2017 | Send Email
Petit Figeac is definitely a wine for those who appreciate a balanced wine that although soft it does deliver a complex and well integrated experience. I appreciated that very much.

2014 Branaire-Ducru, St-Julien
By: Jacques Moreira | Review Date: 5/22/2017 | Send Email
A very classic 2014 Bordeaux with a relative lighter body, cassis, plums and a touch of coffee. It's old school as usual, and its structure tells me it will need time in the cellar.

2010 Joanin Bécot, Côtes de Castillon (special label)
By: Jacques Moreira | Review Date: 5/22/2017 | Send Email
This wine is ready to be enjoyed. Very pleasing, and of a lighter body than what I was expecting. Enticing notes of sweet BBQ sauce, along with mocha, and plum with a touch floral as well.

2015 Gabaron, Bordeaux
By: Jacques Moreira | Review Date: 5/22/2017 | Send Email
I enjoyed this wine very much for what it is. Not for what it isn't. Reminiscent of a Cabernet Franc from the Loire Valley, and it works in similar ways. It is of a light color, medium-light body, floral and very fresh, and I would even put a bit of a chill on it to drink outside on an summer day.
Price: $9.99 Add To Cart

2014 Gainey "Estate" Sta. Rita Hills Chardonnay
By: Christina Stanley | Review Date: 5/21/2017 | Send Email
The Gainey Estate vineyards are located just ten miles East of the Pacific Ocean, and this Chardonnay is a blend of two of those vineyards: Rancho Esperanza and Evan's Ranch. These two vineyards produce fruit of differing characteristics, and the result is a harmonious combination of fruit, acid and minerality. Notes of bright ripe pineapple, meyer lemon and white peach dance on the medium bodied palate, and a trail of saline minerality creates a lasting finish.
Price: Hidden View Price
VN 92

2011 Sportoletti "Villa Fidelia" Umbria Rosso
By: Rachel Vogel | Review Date: 5/21/2017 | Send Email
A bold Super Tuscan influenced by the vintage's August heat wave. The warm weather rested on the vines and particularly influenced the delicate Merlot grapes in early ripening bringing intensity, richness and a streamline of deep purple fruits into the bottle. Early harvest and irrigation that was possible from mid summer rain kept all grapes from over ripening and helped them hold onto enough natural acidity to balance the bold wine. The Cab Sauv and Cab Franc keep the wine spicey and softly structured making it layered and ready to drink!
Price: $19.99 Add To Cart
JS 93 RP 92

2014 Bishop's Peak San Luis Obispo Pinot Noir
By: Jim Barr | Review Date: 5/20/2017 | Send Email
One of my favorite Central Coast producers is Talley Vineyards, and the exceptional quality of the varietals that they produce under their primary label can easily be found also with their second label, Bishop’s Peak. And a perfect example to that assertion can be found in this well-structured, nicely drinking, way-underpriced Pinot, with the grapes coming from vineyards in San Luis Obispo. Medium-deep ruby in color, the nose offers up classic rose petal to strawberry to clove-like fruit aromas which is underscored by slate-like minerality and soft cedary tones. Balanced, lush, almost silky on entry in the mouth, this Gem broadens out over the mid-range and finishes with round, refined tannins in its complex presentation and finish. Rusty asked me how much this Gem cost and then demanded that I bring home cases of this delightful find. A WONDERFUL VALUE!!! ***** 13.7% ABV *****
Drink from 2017 to 2017
Price: $17.99 Add To Cart
VN 91

2015 Domaine des Terres Dorées (Jean-Paul Brun) Moulin-a-Vent
By: Lilia McIntosh | Review Date: 5/20/2017 | Send Email
Fresh Bing cherry and red plum aromas with spice notes jump out of the glass immediately. This is very soft and friendly Beaujolais but with beautiful brightness throughout. On the palate plum and cherry flavors linger on, and overall the wine is smooth and inviting. If you just starting to explore Beaujolais, this Moulin-A-Vent is a great start. It will make you want to know more and try other Crus of Beaujolais.
Price: $19.99 Add To Cart
JG 92 JS 92

2014 Domaine des Terres Dorées (Jean-Paul Brun) Moulin-a-Vent Les Thorins"
By: Lilia McIntosh | Review Date: 5/20/2017 | Send Email
Stellar wine! This is on the level of Premier Cru Burgundy for sure. Aromas are full of light, earthy strawberry and raspberry. Beautiful acidity cuts through the wine and makes it fresh, vibrant and energetic. Its mineral and earthy component is what makes me associate this wine with Burgundy the most. It's so structured and deep that it puts this Beaujolais on a whole different level.
Price: $25.99 Add To Cart
VN 93 JS 91

2013 Kenwood "Jack London Vineyard" Sonoma Mountain Cabernet Sauvignon
By: Christina Stanley | Review Date: 5/20/2017 | Send Email
This is a very dark, extracted and full-bodied Sonoma Mountain Cabernet. Its sturdy tannins and earthy notes of tobacco leaf, licorice and clove make it a great pairing for heartier dishes right now, but this wine shows great aging potential as well. A fantastic value for the price point, particularly for those who enjoy the ripeness of California Cabernet in a powerful incarnation.
Price: $29.99 Add To Cart

2015 Les Freres Perroud "Vieilles Vignes" Brouilly
By: Jim Barr | Review Date: 5/20/2017 | Send Email
It is really a delight to find Cru Beaujolais available on the market like this old vine production. Nearly fifty years ago, the French seriously considered ripping out the Gamay vineyards in Southern Burgundy because wine sales from that area, for many reasons, had virtually come to a halt. Regardless what you feel about the nouveau wines of Beaujolais, that evolution saved the Gamay vineyards of Beaujolais. Many producers have returned, since then, to making Gamay in the fashion that it was created fifty-plus years ago, much like its clonal parent of Pinot Noir is produced in the heart of Burgundy. This villages Cru is a perfect example as to how the wines from Beaujolais use to be made. Medium ruby in color, the aromatics are distinctive and pronounced with upfront strawberry to clove-like notes with an obvious mild cedary oak {yes, some barrel aging took place} background note, The palate is bright, balanced, yet rich, reductive, and subtle, with silky, very fine tannins and a finish that is long and deep. This Gem would give many villages Burgundy a great run for their money, and, according to Rusty, will be one of our house reds for the next couple of years. A K&L Wine Merchants' Direct Import. A WONDERFUL BEAUJOLAIS BUY! ***** 11.0% TO 14.0% ABV *****
Drink from 2017 to 2017
Price: $14.99 Add To Cart
VN 90

2014 Dominus "Napanook" Napa Valley Bordeaux Blend
By: Anthony Russo | Review Date: 5/20/2017 | Send Email
I wasn't sure I wanted to jump onto the bandwagon, but I'm definitely on board now... Elegant aromas of some sort of violet-y-black-olive-marmalade give this wine a sophisticated sense right upon pulling the cork. Full bodied, but balanced, flavors of blueberry, plums, blackcurrant, and coffee align with a perfectly ripened core. Awesome now, even better in years to come.

2014 Domaine des Terres Dorées (Jean-Paul Brun) Saint-Amour
By: Lilia McIntosh | Review Date: 5/20/2017 | Send Email
When I first smelled this Saint-Amour I was surprised and captivated by its delicate white pepper aromas and light red cherry notes. I just could not stop sniffing it! It's so mesmerizing. Just like with the "Les Thorins" cuvee this wine reminds me of Burgundy in every aspect. It's mineral, structured, it has great fresh acidity and a lot of savory and earthy notes that absolutely delicious red fruit. 2014 vintage in Beaujolais is my favorite so far.
Price: $21.99 Add To Cart
VN 93 RP 91

1982 Miltonduff 34 Year Old "John Milroy" K&L Exclusive Single Barrel Cask Strength Single Malt Scotch Whisky (750ml)
By: Anthony Russo | Review Date: 5/20/2017 | Send Email
Awesome complexities: soft stone fruit, dried tobacco wood, butterscotch, all leading to a lightly prickly, smooth finish. Make this your "Friday night and not sharing with anyone" special bottle.
Price: $229.99 Add To Cart

1989 Linkwood 27 Year Old "John Milroy" K&L Exclusive Single Barrel Cask Strength Single Malt Scotch Whisky (750ml)
By: Anthony Russo | Review Date: 5/20/2017 | Send Email
This Linkwood has an awesome, and very unique, "old wood" aroma that instantly makes your head spin (in a GREAT way). Beautiful and muted citrus zest, dark molasses, and a faint musky undertone round this scotch out. With loads of complexities and a great mouthfeel, the easy-going alcohol content make this juice go down nice and smooth. Grassy notes on the palate truly give this Scotch a sense of place. Settle into the couch after dinner with a glass of this.
Price: $149.99 Add To Cart

2016 Enclos Tourmaline, Pomerol
By: Steve Bearden | Review Date: 5/20/2017 | Send Email
Here is a fantastic wine that shows the quality, freshness and precision of the vintage. This big wine is almost black in color with a deep chiseled nose of granite and endless red and black fruit. The middle is thick, full and completely effortless and fine, integrated tannins sneak in on the finish. This is a roaring success.

2016 Palmer, Margaux
By: Steve Bearden | Review Date: 5/20/2017 | Send Email
This is silky, sweet, seamless and pure with great balance between the opulent fruit, elegant middle and satin finish. Flowery scents give way to flavors and aromas of dark plum, blackberry, cherry liqueur and baking chocolate that stay precise and articulated. More voluptuous than Chateau Margaux and my favorite of the appellation

2016 Kalinda Reserve North Coast Sauvignon Blanc
By: Jim Barr | Review Date: 5/20/2017 | Send Email
I am in total agreement with Clyde’s review of this amazing, killer SB. After being here at K&L for over thirty years, I have seen a ton of excellent SBs that were produced for us come and go, and I don’t think any of them would come close to the wonderful aromatics and flavors of this one. In the nose, you will be treated to a distinctive, opulent set of aromas of honeydew melon, lime zest, Chilean Jasmine, and ripe apricots, all of which carries over brilliantly to a bright, perfectly balanced, voluptuous, yet clean and crisp set of refreshing flavors that leads to a mouthwatering, rich, long finish. If you were to serve this Gem to me blindly, my first reaction would have been a great, single vineyard Sancerre from a great vintage and from a great producer. The Bean is absolutely in love with this Gem and has ordered me, in no uncertain terms, to bring home cases of this great SB for our consumption for the next three to five years. A K&L Wine Merchants' exclusive. SUPER VALUE!!!***** 12.9% ABV *****
Drink from 2017 to 2017
Price: $17.99 Add To Cart

Wine Club

$14.99

2014 Jacques Bavard Bourgogne Blanc
By: Jim Barr | Review Date: 5/20/2017 | Send Email
If you have never been to Burgundy in France, it is a must trip for any serious wine consumer/collector. The vineyards are so closely planted and the “Clos” are so near each other with so many different, undefined growers/owners, you will ask yourself how do the Burgundians decide what gets declassified to a Bourgogne Rouge or Blanc, and what gets just a villages description. Single vineyard designations are simple. You will be amazed, for instance, that the difference between DRC’s La Tache and the Romanee Conti vineyard is a ten foot wide gravel roadway and two stone walls on each side. The vineyard that produces this exceptional Bourgogne Blanc is in that kind of position – it is a roadway just below one of the great vineyards of Puligny-Montrachet. Distinctive aromas of wet river stone minerality to green apple to hints of honeydew melon and lime-zest fruit abound in this Gem. All of this carries over prominently to a well-structured and well-defined Chardonnay that is clean, crisp, and bright both on entry and through its exceptional mid-range set of flavors and leads to a mouthwatering, delicious finish. The Bean has told me to bring home cases of this Gem for our consumption over the next five to ten years. GREAT VALUE! >>>A K&L WINE MERCHANTS’ DIRECT IMPORT<<< ***** 13.0% ABV *****
Drink from 2017 to 2017
Price: $19.99 Add To Cart

2014 Trébiac Rouge, Graves
By: Jim Barr | Review Date: 5/20/2017 | Send Email
After thirty years in the retail business, I think one of the aspects that still keeps me motivated is finding excellent quality wine, as with the 2014 Trébiac, in this price range. I have always found it easy, if not boring, to sell the expensive 'stuff' that has received a b'zillion points from the many different wine writers, but finding wine as this and selling it in quantity to our customers continues to excite me. This Gem is medium-deep ruby in color, offers a lovely nose of black cherry to cedary to earthy tones whcih carries over nicely to a soft, round, drinkable Bordeaux with a silky finish. Rusty has demanded that I bring home several cases of this Gem for our near-term consumption. GREAT VALUE!!!
Drink from 2017 to 2017
Price: $12.99 Add To Cart

2014 Elephant Hill Syrah Hawke's Bay
By: Steve Bearden | Review Date: 5/19/2017 | Send Email
Here is a super complex yet elegant Syrah that sells for a song. This has spicy blue and black fruits along with hints of red meat, pepper, iron and traces of iodine. Despite the warm and generous mid-palate the long finish is sweet, clean and crisp showing more traces of iron and pepper.

2010 Famille Perrin "Domaine du Clos des Tourelles" Gigondas
By: Thomas Smith | Review Date: 5/19/2017 | Send Email
I'm starting to get more and more used to 2010 Southern Rhones. In unbelievable vintage conditions, a serious wine like this gets kicked up a notch into totally different territory. The aroma has a huge amount of depth. On the palate, the structure really takes over. Tannin is hitting every corner of your palate, with acid jumping around the spots in between. This is a proper wine. A tightly coiled spring, packed with flavor that will go, and go, and go. An great example of what is capable in the Southern Rhone with ideal growing conditions. A total powerhouse of a wine that is sure to impress seasoned drinkers.

2013 Château Pesquié "Terrasses" Ventoux
By: Thomas Smith | Review Date: 5/19/2017 | Send Email
The nose points towards savory characteristics: bloody, charcoal, charcuterie. A perfect pairing for a murder mystery. Dark and brooding, on the palate there are plenty of black fruits with a slightly sweet undertone. This is exactly the kind of wine I really like and will totally end up taking home on a Tuesday.
Price: $11.99 Add To Cart
RP 91

2014 Gerard Bertrand Corbieres
By: Thomas Smith | Review Date: 5/19/2017 | Send Email
Aromatically, there is a slight gaminess right off the bat. Dark fruit tones bum-rush the palate. Yet, there is a lightness to this wine. I was shocked to find it much more balanced than most of the wines I try from Southwest France. Lighter in body, some interesting woody notes, not even a hint of bitterness. This is definitely a wine that screams "Drink now". Even the acid seems to meld seamlessly into the wine. It's an easy-drinker for sure, but there's a whole lot going on in this glass.
Price: Hidden View Price
WS 90

2016 Langoa-Barton, St-Julien
By: Steve Bearden | Review Date: 5/19/2017 | Send Email
This is surprisingly bright and balanced with crisp and effortless texture to the substantial body. Black cherry, dark plum, cola and damp clay are present in this structured, clean and fresh wine.

2016 Beychevelle, St-Julien
By: Steve Bearden | Review Date: 5/19/2017 | Send Email
**+ This huge wine has impressive heft and weight but stays light on its feet due to the finely tuned and fresh finish. Tons of smoky, spiced blackberries ooze through the thick middle but never overwhelm the classy lines.

2016 Siran, Margaux
By: Steve Bearden | Review Date: 5/19/2017 | Send Email
This is dark, sleek and grapy with a clean, fresh body and a strong finish. Already complex and should flesh out nicely. A great value for the appellation.

2016 Palmer, Margaux
By: Ralph Sands | Review Date: 5/19/2017 | Send Email
Grand Vin is 47% Cabernet Sauvignon 47%M 12%CF with 65% new oak. The wine starts with sweet, delicious black-red fruits with great viscosity, a bit firmer and stronger than Alter Ego but the tannins are finer and rounder, literally seamless. In my opinion it blows away Ch. Margaux. 3 Stars!

2014 Dominus "Napanook" Napa Valley Bordeaux Blend
By: Jeffrey Jones | Review Date: 5/19/2017 | Send Email
An excellent and seductive Napa red wine. It has nice fruit and structure but what is the most important is that it is packaged together with elegance and finesse. It is full bodied and delicious and should please anyone who wants a Napa red that will go well with food.

2014 Domaine des Terres Dorées (Jean-Paul Brun) Moulin-a-Vent Les Thorins"
By: Andrew Stevens | Review Date: 5/18/2017 | Send Email
Offering a more decadent style the Lies Thorins from Jean Paul Brun is all about rich round fruit with a ripe red berry nose. This may sound like it is some overly fruited Gamay, but this wine has depth and weight to stand up to the fruit. Seriously, this almost goes outside of the Beaujolais realm and could easily fool me in a blind tasting. A long finish with minerality sneaking in completes this wine and further cements it as a new regular in my lineup of wines to bring home.
Price: $25.99 Add To Cart
VN 93 JS 91

2014 Domaine des Terres Dorées (Jean-Paul Brun) Fleurie
By: Dulcinea Gonzalez | Review Date: 5/18/2017 | Send Email
They don't call Fleurie "The Queen of Beaujolais” for nothing! Here you have a deceptively light-on-the-palate wine that has amazing structure. With bright red fruit and a hint of rose, this is easy to drink but must be taken seriously to truly appreciate. A super bottle at $20, and perfect for your next summer get-together!
Price: $19.99 Add To Cart
JG 92 VN 92

2014 Domaine des Terres Dorées (Jean-Paul Brun) Fleurie "Grille Midi"
By: Andrew Stevens | Review Date: 5/18/2017 | Send Email
This was my second time getting to taste the Grille Midi and it is showing so incredibly well. Dark cherry nose with an herbal undertone that can be confused for Pinot Noir leads to a surprising layered and complex body. The berry here is a bit darker with earthier notes and tannic structure to balance out the acid. Notes of smoky spice also add to complexity here and the finish is super smooth. Drinking beautifully now, this bottle will also be good for a number of years.

Page: 1 2 3 next >>