Staff Favorites

If you’re going to have Robert Parker or Stephen Tanzer over for dinner, selecting a wine they’ve rated highly will be a nice choice. However, when you’re buying wines for yourself, we’d love to see you find wines that match up your unique palate and pocketbook. We have a large staff of friendly and knowledgeable wine professionals that taste hundreds of wines each week. They can put you in touch with bottles that you are likely to love, often at a much lower cost than the highly-rated gems that often see a run-up in price and frequent availability issues. Like any great group of opinionated professionals, our staff has varied tastes themselves. Often our customers will find a particular staff member with a style that corresponds to their own. That concept works extremely well in our retail stores, and this section is our effort to bring you the same online. Don’t get us wrong, we love the highly rated wines from the press and will continue to offer them, but we think you’re missing out if you’re not augmenting those selections with picks from our excellent staff. Here are their favorites. (Click on a name to see their other selections - or to drop them a line.) Cheers!

Reviews

  
Page: 1 2 3 next >>
Russell's Reserve K&L Exclusive Single Barrel #175 Kentucky Bourbon (750ml)
By: Jeffrey Jones | Review Date: 7/29/2016 | Send Email
Another delicious impressive single barrel from Russell's Reserve.There are wonderful rich aromas of vanilla and caramel that lead to a round full bodied Bourbon that is packed full of flavor. This complex spirit offers vanilla , caramel and subtle spice in a juicy package that has an creamy like mouth feel. There is a long finish that helps make this a first class selection. A little splash of water will help soften and open up this offering from Russell's Reserve.
Price: $59.99 Add To Cart

Russell's Reserve K&L Exclusive Single Barrel #175 Kentucky Bourbon (750ml)
By: Andrew Stevens | Review Date: 7/29/2016 | Send Email
During Christmas last year the Russell Reserve Exclusive Barrel was one of my top choices for people looking to give gifts or have a special holiday bottle of Bourbon, so I was excited to see a new one come in last week. This is another winner from the masterful father/son team of Jimmy and Eddie. Vanilla and spice with a touch of wood in the nose lead to a bright and lively bourbon. The caramel in this bottle is wonderfully layered with cinnamon and vanilla bean and finishes with racy spicy that tingle on the tongue. This is a big bourbon at 55% so it definitely needs some water or ice to calm, down the heat, however that will not dampen the fun and flavor that this whiskey has to offer.
Price: $59.99 Add To Cart

2015 Sigalas "Aa" (Assyrtiko/Athiri) Santorini
By: Mahon McGrath | Review Date: 7/29/2016 | Send Email
Stone fruit, wet rocks, and a lush floral notes lead you to expect something rather fulsome, but you actually get little of that. Instead, the initial abundance is immediately countered by a surprisingly taut, powerful, mineral-accented wine of sparkling purity. It puts me in mind of an afternoon sun-shower, where the rain leaves a hair raising coolness to the air in its wake. The flavors, writ small, linger on after the implacable steam-rolling they receive. Dynamic!
Price: $19.99 Add To Cart
RP 92

2014 Radley & Finch Cabernet Sauvignon Western Cape
By: Ryan Woodhouse | Review Date: 7/29/2016 | Send Email
I'm stoked on these new wines from Radley & Finch! The labels are quirky and fun but the wine inside is way more serious than the sub-$10 price point suggests. Radley & Finch is a new project / partnership between young gun, rising star winemaker Thinus Krüger and boutique S. African wine importer Pascal Schildt. Basically they got sick of cheap, poorly made S. African wines flooding the market and decided to do something about it. Thinus makes the majestic FRAM wines that we also sell at K&L and has access to great fruit. Pascal has the know how to get the wines here economically so we can sell this premium juice at super sharp price points. The Cabernet is fruit forward and juicy with soft tannins and some nice varietal tobacco, wintergreen, charred oak characters alongside the primary fruit. Perfect for burgers fresh off the grill or carne asada tacos.
Top Value!
Price: $9.99 Add To Cart

2015 Radley & Finch Sauvignon Blanc Western Cape
By: Ryan Woodhouse | Review Date: 7/29/2016 | Send Email
I'm stoked on these new wines from Radley & Finch! The labels are quirky and fun but the wine inside is way more serious than the sub-$10 price point suggests. Radley & Finch is a new project / partnership between young gun, rising star winemaker Thinus Krüger and boutique S. African wine importer Pascal Schildt. Basically they got sick of cheap, poorly made S. African wines flooding the market and decided to do something about it. Thinus makes the majestic FRAM wines that we also sell at K&L and has access to great fruit. Pascal has the know how to get the wines here economically so we can sell this premium juice at super sharp price points. The Sauv Blanc is a zesty citrus driven wine with clementine, mandarin and zippy acidity. Some subtle herbaceous edges are balanced out by a dash of Chenin Blanc in the blend that adds depth and texture. Porch pounder / summer sipper...have at it!
Top Value!
Price: $9.99 Add To Cart

2015 Radley & Finch Chenin Blanc Western Cape
By: Ryan Woodhouse | Review Date: 7/29/2016 | Send Email
I'm stoked on these new wines from Radley & Finch! The labels are quirky and fun but the wine inside is way more serious than the sub-$10 price point suggests. Radley & Finch is a new project / partnership between young gun, rising star winemaker Thinus Krüger and boutique S. African wine importer Pascal Schildt. Basically they got sick of cheap, poorly made S. African wines flooding the market and decided to do something about it. Thinus makes the majestic FRAM wines that we also sell at K&L and has access to great fruit. Pascal has the know how to get the wines here economically so we can sell this premium juice at super sharp price points. The Chenin Blanc has all the varietal character you would expect in a more expensive bottle. Ripe yellow stone fruit, white peach, yellow plum and Graham Cracker / pie crust lees nuances; with a stoney granite mineral infused finish. Juicy, easy, quaffable and classy - a steal for every night drinking.
Top Value!
Price: $9.99 Add To Cart

2014 Domaine Marc Colin St-Aubin 1er Cru "La Chateniere"
By: Philip Bohorfoush | Review Date: 7/29/2016 | Send Email
The Domaine Marc Colin white burgundies are consistently one of Burgundy’s best values. The wines are very precise with superb definition. The estate is now run by Marc’s children Damien, Joseph, and Caroline. Marc’s eldest son Pierre-Yves split off with his holdings to start the impressive Domaine Pierre-Yves Colin Morey in 2005. The 2014 “La Chateniere” starts with a concentrated wave of pure White Burgundy fruit full of white peach, lemon curd, citrus, and mineral. The fruit here is richer than the more racy and stony “Le Charmois”. Finishes with excellent depth, concentration, and minerality. Serious quality for the money here.
Top Value!
Price: $39.99 Add To Cart
BH 92 RP 91

2014 Domaine Marc Colin "Les Charmois" St. Aubin 1er Cru
By: Philip Bohorfoush | Review Date: 7/29/2016 | Send Email
The Domaine Marc Colin white burgundies are consistently one of Burgundy’s best values. The wines are very precise with superb definition. The estate is now run by Marc’s children Damien, Joseph, and Caroline. Marc’s eldest son Pierre-Yves split off with his holdings to start the impressive Domaine Pierre-Yves Colin Morey in 2005. The 2014 “Le Charmois” is stony and focused with notes of sea breeze, bright orchard fruit, green pear and Chablis like aromatics. This is brighter than the richer “La Chateniere” finishing racy and flinty. There is no hurry on this and it will really blossom with a few years.
Top Value!
Price: $34.99 Add To Cart
BH 91 RP 90

2014 Domaine Marc Colin Chassagne-Montrachet 1er Cru "Caillerets"
By: Philip Bohorfoush | Review Date: 7/29/2016 | Send Email
The Domaine Marc Colin white burgundies are consistently one of Burgundy’s best values. The wines are very precise with superb definition. The estate is now run by Marc’s children Damien, Joseph, and Caroline. Marc’s eldest son Pierre-Yves split off with his holdings to start the impressive Domaine Pierre-Yves Colin Morey in 2005. The premier cru vineyard “Les Caillerets” lies on the upper slope of the village on leaner, chalky soils and is one of Chassagne-Montrachets finest vineyards with Ruchottes and La Romanée. The 2014 “Les Caillerets” is floral and aromatic along with notes of quince, nectarine, anjou pear and crystalline minerality. There is excellent purity with the classic “Les Caillerets” detail and finesse on the lingering finish. Highly recommended.

2014 Oakridge Estate "Willowlake Vineyard" Pinot Noir Yarra Valley
By: Jeff Garneau | Review Date: 7/29/2016 | Send Email
A terrific example of topnotch Aussie winemaking expertise inspired by French traditions. New World Pinot Noir in a Burgundian style. The 2014 Oakridge Estate Willowlake VIneyard Pinot Noir Yarra Valley offers crisp, slightly "crunchy" red fruits with notes both floral and spicy. Think Chambolle Musigny. Astonishing quality here at this price. "Bonjour, mate! Merci beaucoup!"
Price: $19.99 Add To Cart
JH 96

2014 Roquefort Blanc, Bordeaux
By: Jeff Garneau | Review Date: 7/29/2016 | Send Email
My personal favorite so far from this 2014 vintage and a perfect example of an entry level Bordeaux blanc. The most expensive dry white wines from Bordeaux are aged in oak barrels and are typically cellared for a decade or more prior to consumption. By contrast, the 2014 Chateau Roquefort Blanc is available for a mere $11.99, is aged entirely in stainless steel tanks, and is ready to drink right now. The wine is delightfully fresh and lively in character, quite crisp and dry but with remarkably generous fruit. A blend of 85% Sauvignon Blanc and 15% Semillon. Mostly citrus here with mouthwateringly fresh, white grapefruit notes and the barest hint of something a bit more exotic and tropical. If you are a fan of Sauvignon Blanc and have yet to discover the quality of the white wines of Bordeaux, this is the perfect wine with which to begin.
Price: $11.99 Add To Cart

Louis Brochet 1er Cru Extra Brut Champagne
By: Gary Westby | Review Date: 7/29/2016 | Send Email
Line up the oysters, order the sushi and put fire the scallops! This is our ultimate extra brut for matching with seafood. Many extra bruts are just plain mean spirited and screechy, but the Brochet is steely dry without going over the edge. At this price, I will always be able to have one in my fridge!
Price: $29.99 Add To Cart

2009 Louis Brochet "Millésimé" Brut Champagne
By: Gary Westby | Review Date: 7/29/2016 | Send Email
If you enjoyed the clean, ripe 1990 vintage in Champagne, 2009 is almost a repeat. This Pinot powered gem from the picturesque 1er cru of Ecueil has plenty of richness and concentration, as well as texture that only over six years on the lees will bring.
Drink from 2016 to 2016
Price: $34.99 Add To Cart

2008 Louis Brochet "Millésimé" Brut Champagne
By: Gary Westby | Review Date: 7/29/2016 | Send Email
This is stunning vintage Champagne from a great producer in Ecueil on the slopes of the little mountain of Reims. If you like Pinot Noir power and structure, along with the finesse of long lees ageing, this will make you very happy. I don't think I can say enough up about the greatness of the 2008 harvest; not only did it have the tremendous ripeness of a sunny year, but also near 1996 level acidity. It is the whole package! You can drink this now, or save it for a generation (do you have kids born in 2008?)- it will be great either way.
Drink from 2016 to 2016
Price: $34.99 Add To Cart

2015 Fromm "La Strada" Sauvignon Blanc Marlborough
By: Kirk Walker | Review Date: 7/29/2016 | Send Email
Another facet of New Zealand Sauvignon Blanc. This wine has subtle concentration and richness, minerality and great cut. It is not your typical lush, grassy Sauvy, in fact we sell Sancerres that can only dream of being this good!

2014 Oakridge Estate "Willowlake Vineyard" Chardonnay Yarra Valley
By: Kirk Walker | Review Date: 7/29/2016 | Send Email
This wine is "Burgundian" but that is such a loaded and sometimes misleading term. I would rather say we have Chardonnay wines in the store, made in Burgundy, that are "Yarra Vallian". Better yet they wish they were more like this wine! Focus, purity, subtle richness, complexity and length you typically have to spend $40 or more to get a Burgundy that delivers all that wine wine does.
Price: $19.99 Add To Cart
JH 97

2012 Seresin "Rachel" Pinot Noir Marlborough (Biodynamic)
By: Ryan Woodhouse | Review Date: 7/29/2016 | Send Email
Very impressive Pinot from Seresin. This is serious, deep, structured Pinot made to age and develop in bottle. Tasting great right now but has a long life ahead still. From select parcels of fruit in all three of Seresin's estate vineyards but mostly from Raupo Creek vineyard in the southern valleys. Lots of saturated dark fruit, earth, truffle and leaf litter. Powerful but not in a brawny or over-extracted way. Certainly not a fruit bomb style, just one of depth, layers and concentration. A really engaging, complex bottle of Pinot.
Drink from 2016 to 2016

2014 Momo (Seresin) Sauvignon Blanc Marlborough
By: Ryan Woodhouse | Review Date: 7/29/2016 | Send Email
This has long been one of my go-to Marlborough Sauvs. Seresin are certified organic and biodynamic and have a fantastic estate bridging the Renwick and Southern Valleys subregions of Marlborough. This wine incorporates a dash of barrel fermented Semillon to add texture and intrigue. The entire wine is very naturally made with wild yeast ferments and minimal intervention. The best thing is that this vintage the price has actually decreased allowing us to sell this little beauty under $20! It's now ever easier to recommend to anyone.
Top Value!
Price: $14.99 Add To Cart
BC 92

2015 Kalinda "Reserve" Sonoma County Chardonnay
By: Dave Genevro | Review Date: 7/28/2016 | Send Email
This might just be my favorite Kalinda label Chardonnay to date. The oak is very balanced and integrated, which adds great character to the wine. The fruit has a real lovely fleshy character, purity and good weight while the long, but not over-done richness sails along the palate. Also, the acids are quite focused and lively. I would love to see this wine again in two years time to see how it has evolved. A great job by whoever made this Chardonnay bottling for us all to enjoy!
Top Value!
Price: $18.99 Add To Cart

2014 Chappellet "Signature" Napa Valley Cabernet Sauvignon
By: Gary Norton | Review Date: 7/28/2016 | Send Email
Wow. The 2014 Chappellet Signature is strikingly approachable right now. Showing notes of dark berry fruit, bramble, red licorice, parsley leaf and mocha. Most releases from Chappellet (especially their flagship cab blend) need a year or two to settle in but this young wine is fresh, vibrant and drinking very well already. I have a strong feeling that this offering from Chappellet is going to garner high praises from the critics so it may be advisable to stock up now while they're still available.
Price: $59.99 Add To Cart

2014 Domaine Marc Colin Chassagne-Montrachet "Les Encégnières"
By: David Driscoll | Review Date: 7/28/2016 | Send Email
This is one of the best white wines in the store currently, just a beautiful chardonnay from front to back. There's a piercing note of pure acidity on the entry and that gives way to a lithe mouthful of soft fruit and clean minerality. It's been a while since I could say we had a handful of superb white Burgundies in between $30 and $60. Marc Colin is definitely the best thing to hit our Burgundy department in the last few years. Watch out, however, because the staff is likely to buy most of this.

2014 Domaine Marc Colin "Les Charmois" St. Aubin 1er Cru
By: David Driscoll | Review Date: 7/28/2016 | Send Email
Almost every buyer at K&L has been throwing their hat into the Burgundy ring over the last few years, hoping to find something new from France, mainly because it's what many of us enjoy drinking personally. I went over a few times during my whisky trips to see if I could find a few leads, but facts are facts: Burgundy is made in small amounts and it's coveted all over the world. Thank goodness Trey and Alex put together a game plan on their recent trip to bring us these amazing Marc Colin wines. The Charmois is pure elegance on the palate, fresh with acidity and long with grace. There are subtle mineral notes on the finish. All of Colin's whites are worth getting excited about. Real value-oriented Burgundy is back at K&L.
Price: $34.99 Add To Cart
BH 91 RP 90

2012 Oakridge Estate "Whitsend Vineyard" Cabernet Sauvignon Yarra Valley
By: Joe Manekin | Review Date: 7/28/2016 | Send Email
GREAT CAB. This satisfying Cabernet is for: -People who like Ridge or Mount Eden Cab -Those who enjoy Cabernet with fresh fruit and a balanced hit of leafy or green notes in the background -Anyone who is seeking out top quality stuff for under $20! This is easily one of my favorite and more noteworthy Cabs I've tasted this year.
Price: $19.99 Add To Cart
JH 96

2013 Clos des Fous "Cauquenina" Maule Valley
By: Ryan Woodhouse | Review Date: 7/28/2016 | Send Email
Very complex wine. I like this wines unabashed opulent nose with lashings of dark fruit, sweet spices, warm earth and graphite. The palate is saturated and intense but with nice line a length. The structural component balances the richness of fruit perfectly. I think the age of the vines comes into play here; old vines can typically produce these types of concentrated fruit flavors whilst still maintaining balanced acids bringing lift and freshness to the wines. For the depth, power and balance the Cauquenina displays this is a great value.
Top Value!
Price: $19.99 Add To Cart
JS 94 RP 93

2014 Chappellet "Signature" Napa Valley Cabernet Sauvignon
By: Ryan Moses | Review Date: 7/28/2016 | Send Email
The main story here is that this is a great vintage of Chappellet Signature. Ask the professionals (especially Galloni and Parker) and the amateurs alike and this is the first name that you'll usually hear for a wine that can rival some of the Napa Cabernet colllectibles and cults but still rewards the price point. This vintage is a bit cooler and more accessible than the 2013 to date. The flavors are a bit primary (it is a 2014 after all) but the texture, structure, and depth all play up to a seriously impressive Cabernet that showcase the caliber and class of this label. It will compete with some of their best vintages but perhaps will find its drinking window a bit sooner. It's hard to follow in the footsteps of their monumental 2013, but this one fits the bill and won't have trouble finding the same kind of acclaim and adoration in 2014.
Price: $59.99 Add To Cart

2014 Chappellet "Signature" Napa Valley Cabernet Sauvignon
By: James Bradshaw | Review Date: 7/28/2016 | Send Email
Wow! Don't know that I've ever had a wine that carried such a strong note of baking chocolate - in a super good way. Behind the chocolate are plenty of ripe, fleshy flavors of boysenberry, plum, and loads of cassis. The tannins even at this young age are soft and supple making for a very smooth approach and finish. The longevity in this wine will most certainly come from its solid core of acidity. It is amazingly lively and youthful and will likely remain that way for many years to come. This is an amazing value in Napa Cab you won't want to miss.
Price: $59.99 Add To Cart

2014 Domaine de Bila Haut "Les Vignes de Bila Haut" Côtes du Roussillon Villages
By: Keith Mabry | Review Date: 7/27/2016 | Send Email
Lafage, Cabirau and Chapoutier’s Domaine Bila Haut. What do these wineries share in common? All three have offered some of the greatest wine values we've seen in the last two years and all three projects are located in Roussillon. The whole Roussillon has drawn winemakers from all over the world because they recognize the potential of the region. There is great soil diversity, warm consistent weather with low disease pressure and ingenuity. And that brings us to Chapoutier. Truly one of the greats of the Rhone Valley, Michel ventured to the Roussillon in search of new opportunities, looking to expand his portfolio of already great wines. A master of Syrah (he started in the northern Rhone, the home base of the world's best Syrahs) and determined that Roussillon is a most suitable place for growing this noble grape. Grenache and Carignan are the kings here but Syrah's contribution is strong in the Chapoutier wines and adds beautiful depth to their character. The "Les Vignes" is everything an entry level wine from Roussillon should be. It possesses flavors of roasted cherries and strawberry confiture, followed by aromas of lilacs and jasmine with a light musky meaty tone. This is all wrapped up in a silky, seamless package. The "Les Vignes" is a whole lot of wine for a very fair price. You would be hard pressed to find a better value from anywhere in the world.
Price: $10.99 Add To Cart
RP 90 WS 90

2014 Patz & Hall "Dutton Ranch" Russian River Valley Chardonnay
By: Mellyn Craig | Review Date: 7/27/2016 | Send Email
Patz & Hall does it again! The 2014 Dutton Ranch Chardonnay finds that beautiful balance of richness, structure and freshness. The nose is nutty and rich with honey and white flowers. On the palate, the zippy acidity freshens up the rich characteristics and is complimented with stone fruits and creamy citrus. All this wrapped up with a great price bow on top! This wins is delicious now and definitely has the acidity that will help this Chardonnay cellar well.
Price: $37.99 Add To Cart
WE 95 RP 93

2014 Oakridge Estate "Willowlake Vineyard" Pinot Noir Yarra Valley
By: Dave Genevro | Review Date: 7/27/2016 | Send Email
So delicious! Red fruits, vibrant nose, balanced, layered, with some great rustic/forest notes. These Pinot Noirs always seem to display great varietal characters, purity and focus. This single vineyard bottling from legendary David Bicknell in the Yarra Valley, is as good as it gets at this price...enjoy, I sure will!
Top Value!
Price: $19.99 Add To Cart
JH 96

2014 Oakridge Estate "Willowlake Vineyard" Chardonnay Yarra Valley
By: Dave Genevro | Review Date: 7/27/2016 | Send Email
This single block wine is oaked, with very neutral wood. This gives this cooler climate Chardonnay more texture, richness and brings out some great vanilla notes I love in his wines. The wines are balanced, vivacious, lively and not buttery...as they do not go through any malolactic fermentation. A great style of Chardonnay for all wine drinkers to experience.
Top Value!
Price: $19.99 Add To Cart
JH 97

2014 Frankland Estate "Isolation Ridge" Riesling Frankland River Western Australia
By: Dave Genevro | Review Date: 7/27/2016 | Send Email
The nose is filled with stones and slate. Lively acids, and very solid length down the palate. Quite focused.

2015 Guillaume Clusel "Traboules" Coteaux du Lyonnais
By: Alex Schroeder | Review Date: 7/27/2016 | Send Email
This 100% Gamay from The Coteaux du Lyonnais is a recent project of Guillaume Clusel, whose family has been producing wine in Cote Rotie since the 1950s. It comes from on-average 30-year-old vines that lie between the Rhone Valley to the South and the famed Beaujolais region to the north. The fruit is opulent and rich, creating a dense purple robe with a bright pink outline. On the nose, cranberry and lavender perfume. On the palate, dense Gamay fruitiness--cherry and cranberry--with a solid tannic structure that quickly slides into a smooth raspberry acid finish. A very fun, unique and delicious regional wine! ​
Price: $15.99 Add To Cart
VN 90 - 91

Fallet-Dart Grand Reserve Brut Champagne
By: Alex Schroeder | Review Date: 7/27/2016 | Send Email
70% Pinot Meunier, 30% Pinot Noir. I had this recently to celebrate a good friend’s birthday and we were all stunned by its goodness! It had wonderful fresh pear and apple fruit notes, a broad presence on the palate, and a crisp finish that left a nice yeastiness lingering for over a minute! If you’re on the grower-producer train, this is an essential!
Price: $29.99 Add To Cart

2014 Domaine de Bila Haut "Les Vignes de Bila Haut" Côtes du Roussillon Villages
By: John Majeski | Review Date: 7/27/2016 | Send Email
As an unapologetic political animal, I actually sat through several hours of the 2016 Republican National Convention recently, and following that 'ultimate endurance test', believe me, I was ready for some red meat! But what to drink? Luckily we just received the new vintage of this robust red blend from the raw heart of Roussillon, and it didn't disappoint, delivering a full, mouthwatering array of blackcurrant, cherries, wild herbs, violets and smoke on the palate. Remarkably concentrated and rich for a wine of such modest price, it should, excuse the expression, 'trump' most reds in that category. Fortunately, there's plenty to go around for the DNC as well.....
Price: $10.99 Add To Cart
RP 90 WS 90

2014 Chappellet "Mountain Cuvée" Napa Valley Bordeaux Blend
By: Bryan Brick | Review Date: 7/27/2016 | Send Email
Very few Domestic Cabernets have outperformed the Chappellet Signature bottling over the last few years. Both the 2012 and 2013 were gigantic hits with both our customers and staff selling out quickly and having both asking for more. So when the 2014 was released a few days back we rushed at the opportunity to try the wine and get it out in front of you before everyone catches on to just how good this wine is again.
From 2014, the third in a series of tremendous and plentiful vintages in Napa, this deeply set, richly hued Cabernet Sauvignon is packed with character and youthful exuberance. Pastilles, spiced plum, figgy pudding, lavender fields and a sweet hued black currant fruit pack the overt nose. Shockingly seamless for a wine of this ilk and age this has a long and wide palate of blackberry cobbler, cocoa nibs, cured black olives, white pepper, sweet black tea and nicely positioned tannins towards the back of the mid-palate. I loved the tension here between the sizeable grip and the mass of sweet, exotic fruit that dries the wine forward. There are going to be a lot of $60 Cabs that can’t hold a candle to this released over the next few months, probably with plenty of high scores. We’d recommend grabbing one of the best why you can before the press, or the groundswell of interest catches up with it.
Price: $32.99 Add To Cart

2009 Poujeaux, Moulis
By: Steve Bearden | Review Date: 7/27/2016 | Send Email
Blackberry, raspberry and warm fig ooze from this seamlessly textured, gentle and rich wine. This is plump and soft with no edges showing and no tannin peeking through the pillows of ripe, decadent fruit. Will age gracefully but this is delicious now.

2014 Domaine Marc Colin "Les Charmois" St. Aubin 1er Cru
By: Steve Bearden | Review Date: 7/27/2016 | Send Email
This is finer, longer and has a more pronounced mineral strike than the "La Chateniere" bottling, but what it gives up in richness and weight it more than makes up for in intensity and complexity. This has the stature and elegance of a much more expensive bottle from a more prestigious appellation.
Price: $34.99 Add To Cart
BH 91 RP 90

2014 Domaine Marc Colin St-Aubin 1er Cru "La Chateniere"
By: Steve Bearden | Review Date: 7/27/2016 | Send Email
Here is a great bargain in ready to drink white Burgundy from an appellation known to over deliver. This starts out toasty with hints of talc and wet stones before the sweetness of the ripe yellow fruit take over in the plush middle. There is depth, balance and a long mineral finish to this very drinkable bottle.
Price: $39.99 Add To Cart
BH 92 RP 91

2014 Patz & Hall "Dutton Ranch" Russian River Valley Chardonnay
By: Ralph Sands | Review Date: 7/27/2016 | Send Email
Great Chardonnay from a great source! This is not a big, fat, buttery and clumsy wine. This wine has beautiful fresh Chardonnay aromas; precise and perfectly ripe fruit, without a trace of over ripeness. A shining wine in perfect balance. The nose says California but the brightness, freshness and dry finish remind me of fine Puligny Montrachet. A lovely combination and top quality California Chardonnay for more than fair price. Bravo!
Price: $37.99 Add To Cart
WE 95 RP 93

2014 Patz & Hall "Dutton Ranch" Russian River Valley Chardonnay
By: Jordan Stone | Review Date: 7/27/2016 | Send Email
This is a fascinating and complex Chard from Patz & Hall. The 2014 Dutton Ranch has a lite mouth feel but is rich in flavors . Bright citrus , Saffron , Nutty flavors , And nice integrated oak. This is very uplifting California chardonnay. This will be a K&L Favorite for sure! Stock up for the remaining warm weather months. Cheers!
Price: $37.99 Add To Cart
WE 95 RP 93

2014 Patz & Hall "Dutton Ranch" Russian River Valley Chardonnay
By: Sal Rodriguez | Review Date: 7/27/2016 | Send Email
A lovely Chardonnay with a bright, pretty, zesty nose. Hints of pear, honeysuckle, and orange blossom waft from the glass. There's a nice mid-palate weight that's not too heavy. A delicious, richer style that offers perfect acidity, and a high-toned herbal finish. This will hang with the "big boys" of California Chardonnay, but without the "big boy" price.
Price: $37.99 Add To Cart
WE 95 RP 93

2015 Rogers and Rufus Grenache Rosé Barossa (Dry)
By: Ryan Woodhouse | Review Date: 7/27/2016 | Send Email
Inspired by the great Grenache-based rosés of southern France, the Rogers & Rufus takes the fruit purity and mineral intensity these old vines give and sharpens it into a wonderfully precise and dry rosé. One of the more complex rosé wines I have tasted from the 2015 vintage. Exceptional value.
Price: Hidden View Price

2015 S.C. Pannell "Arido" Rosé Adelaide Hills
By: Gary Westby | Review Date: 7/27/2016 | Send Email
After 20 years in the wine business, I should learn not to be so prejudiced, but there is something about New World rosé that almost always leaves me cold. This Arido from Pannell broke that prejudice, and I have to wonder if it is the magic of the Meunier in the blend that won me over. After tasting it yesterday, I am bringing home a bottle tonight to go with my salad composé! This has both solid strawberry fruit and bright refreshment going for it. It is all mine for a price that makes it competitive with my beloved provençal pink!
Price: $14.99 Add To Cart
JH 93

2014 S.C. Pannell "Old McDonald Vineyard" Grenache McLaren Vale South Australia
By: Adam Winkel | Review Date: 7/27/2016 | Send Email
The incredible purity and intensity of this wine is what sets it very much apart from so many ho-hum, excuse-me examples of Grenache. The nose shows pure wild strawberry and brambly raspberry, a kiss of new leather wraps around the fruit. Following is a palate filled with perfectly ripened fruit, crystal clear raspberries, garnet colored cherries, with length and drive that gives the wine a very serious tone you would expect from 75 year old vines.
Price: $34.99 Add To Cart
JH 96 JS 96

2014 Patz & Hall "Dutton Ranch" Russian River Valley Chardonnay
By: Alex Pross | Review Date: 7/27/2016 | Send Email
Fans of Kistler, Aubert and Paul Hobbs Chardonnays except for the pricing can instead opt for the 2014 Patz & Hall "Dutton Ranch" Russian River Valley Chardonnay. Beautifully balanced with intoxicating aromas of orange blossom, iodine and cream with a rich palate of lemon crème, tropical fruits and rich oak accents. A big, rich Chardonnay that also has great acidity and balance. This is a quintessential California Chardonnay.
Drink from 2016 to 2016
Price: $37.99 Add To Cart
WE 95 RP 93

2014 Crystallum "Peter Max" Pinot Noir Hemel-en-Aarde Walker Bay
By: Ryan Woodhouse | Review Date: 7/27/2016 | Send Email
This wine shows South Africa’s potential with this varietal. Dusty raspberries and pomegranate fruit; a deliciously savory wine with wild herbs and smoky meaty nuances; some sweeter berries emerge with air. Very elegant with defined acidity begging for food. Seriously classy Pinot Noir with lovely balance and texture.
Price: $19.99 Add To Cart
ST 91

2014 Crystallum "The Agnes" Chardonnay Hemel-en-Aarde / Overberg
By: Ryan Woodhouse | Review Date: 7/27/2016 | Send Email
A flinty, saline, yellow stonefruit-dominated wine with plenty of wet stone minerals and subtle almond skin nuttiness. Lovely textural weight on the palate but without being saturated with oak or drowned in butter. This has beautifully judged restraint and delicacy in a world of over-the-top Chards. A true pleasure to drink and a screaming value.
Price: $19.99 Add To Cart
ST 90

2014 Crystallum "Mabalel Vineyard" Pinot Noir Hemel-en-Aarde Walker Bay
By: Ryan Woodhouse | Review Date: 7/27/2016 | Send Email
From a truly special single vineyard site that produces refined Pinot Noir with ultra-fine texture and truly delectable flavors. There is nothing in-your-face about this wine—it’s light in color and body but has show-stopping “Pinosity.” Mabalel is delicately fragranced with rose petals, Asian spice, musk and pristine, small red fruits. Silk-like texture, very light extraction but plenty of flavor intensity. It dances on the palate—an ultimately seductive Pinot Noir.
Price: $39.99 Add To Cart
RP 91

2012 L'Evangile, Pomerol
By: Ralph Sands | Review Date: 7/27/2016 | Send Email
This is one of the greatest wines of the vintage! The rich, black fruit is sexy, polished and persistent; like a Ferrari. L'Evangile is just a fabulous-tasting wine in any vintage, and this tastes like a great one. 93% Merlot and 7% Cabernet Franc.

2014 Neyers "Left Bank Red" Napa Valley Red Blend
By: John Downing | Review Date: 7/27/2016 | Send Email
Neyers has really knocked it out of the park with the release of this outstanding red. It is without doubt one of the best Napa blends I've tasted in this price range for some time. "Left Bank" is lush and dense with loads of mouth-coating black currant fruit, fine ripe tannins and an overall complexity that satisfies from start to finish. Take this one to the next dinner party and pick up a couple of bottles for yourself as well.
Price: $29.99 Add To Cart

Page: 1 2 3 next >>