Staff Favorites

If you’re going to have Robert Parker or Stephen Tanzer over for dinner, selecting a wine they’ve rated highly will be a nice choice. However, when you’re buying wines for yourself, we’d love to see you find wines that match up your unique palate and pocketbook. We have a large staff of friendly and knowledgeable wine professionals that taste hundreds of wines each week. They can put you in touch with bottles that you are likely to love, often at a much lower cost than the highly-rated gems that often see a run-up in price and frequent availability issues. Like any great group of opinionated professionals, our staff has varied tastes themselves. Often our customers will find a particular staff member with a style that corresponds to their own. That concept works extremely well in our retail stores, and this section is our effort to bring you the same online. Don’t get us wrong, we love the highly rated wines from the press and will continue to offer them, but we think you’re missing out if you’re not augmenting those selections with picks from our excellent staff. Here are their favorites. (Click on a name to see their other selections - or to drop them a line.) Cheers!

Reviews

  
Page: 1 2 3 next >>
2014 Mignanelli Central Coast Pinot Noir
By: Anthony Gittings | Review Date: 2/24/2017 | Send Email
This is outstanding $20 Pinot Noir. When people talk about a wine over-delivering, this is what they are talking about. Dark cherries, cola, rhubarb, are all wrapped in a soft bed of rose petals. Soft cedar notes play perfectly with opulent and rich fruit, a touch of cocoa and coffee give this wine a long lingering finish.
Price: $19.99 Add To Cart

2014 Mignanelli "Nelson Family Vineyard" Santa Cruz Mountains Pinot Noir
By: Anthony Gittings | Review Date: 2/24/2017 | Send Email
This was the first time I've tasted this Pinot Noir and I was very impressed. Delicious cherries and fresh savory herbs are prominent on the nose. Tart acid, red beets, and sage fill the palate while supple clean wood is softly integrated. This is exceptional Pinot Noir coming out of Santa Cruz Mountains.
Price: $29.99 Add To Cart

2010 Antech "Grande Cuvée Oublié" Cremant de Limoux
By: Heather Vander Wall | Review Date: 2/24/2017 | Send Email
This is a new project for an old favorite producer! Antech's "Grande Cuvee Oublie" is literally a "forgotten" wine, as the title suggests. In other words, this wine has been left to age on the lees for almost 6 years, a very unusually long time for a Cremant de Limoux. The result is a lovely, full, creamy texture, with plenty of weight and more autolytic characteristics than is common in these wines. That said, the wine still retains very open, floral and fruit tinged aromas which carry through to the palate. Overall, an incredibly complex and beautiful wine for the price!
Price: $17.99 Add To Cart

Le Brun de Neuville "Authentique Assemblage" Brut Champagne
By: Jeff Garneau | Review Date: 2/24/2017 | Send Email
La Maison Le Brun de Neuville is one of the top producers in the Côte de Sézanne. This lesser known region of Champagne is sometimes dismissed as merely a southward extension of the Côte des Blancs, but to do so is to ignore the unique character and exceptional quality of these wines. The Le Brun de Neuville Authentique Assemblage is aged under cork for five years, a practice that requires manual disgorgement using a centuries old technique. The result is Champagne that is rich in style with an ultra-fine bead, opulent yet focused, creamy in texture yet very fresh and lively. Rarely available in the US, don’t miss the chance to sample the best of this remarkable region.
Price: $34.99 Add To Cart
WE 90 WS 90

2014 Mignanelli Central Coast Pinot Noir
By: Andrew Stevens | Review Date: 2/24/2017 | Send Email
Finding good Central Coast Pinot for $20 should be a daunting task, yet our buyer keeps managing to make this happen time and time again. The Mignanelli Central Coast pinot opens with a touch of savory notes on the nose in addition to the ripe berry notes. There is a lovely core of acid here that balances the wine and helps to keep the ripe red berry notes from being cloying. The finish is rather soft with just a hint of coating tannins, this wine is well worth getting in to.
Price: $19.99 Add To Cart

2013 Seven Hills Columbia Valley Cabernet Sauvignon
By: Andrew Stevens | Review Date: 2/24/2017 | Send Email
Last years vintage of this was one of my favorite go to wines for people looking for serious cab that was not going to cost them $50-$100. Having just tasted the new vintage I can continue to strongly recommend them to anyone seeking good Cabernet. The 2013 vintage is a big, structured vintage with good fruit and chewy tannins. Although this wine is drinking well now, this is one that will age exceptionally well, or needs some decanting time. Drinking a cab with this much length and structure it is almost a shock when I remember that it is $20.
Price: $19.99 Add To Cart
WE 91

2013 Super Substance "Northridge Vineyard" Wahluke Slope Merlot
By: Andrew Stevens | Review Date: 2/24/2017 | Send Email
I am primarily aware of Charles Smith for his high end Syrah under the auspices of K Vintner and his value driven Bordeaux blends (although his newer project Casa Smith is excellent as well). Seeing that we had brought in several cases of the Super Substance label intrigued me, and I was so glad we got to open this wine. Not surprisingly to me, this is a very well done Merlot that captures the dark rich blackberry and plum notes of Merlot without being too sweet. Rather this is a well balanced and soft wine, with plenty of juicy fruit but that does not go overboard in any way.

2013 Thomas Fogarty Santa Cruz Mountains Chardonnay
By: Andrew Stevens | Review Date: 2/24/2017 | Send Email
Santa Cruz has quickly become one of my go to areas for serious (and seriously good) wine here in California. Although I am most familiar with the spectacular offerings from Domain Eden I am always happy to taste some one else'. I have had my eye on Thomas Fogarty, but had not had a chance to taste the Chardonnay until now. I must say I am super impressed. The wine has been allowed to go through malo, but in a very natural way. This gives the wine some weight, smoke, and richness. Due to the elevation though there is plenty of acid here to balance that out. Complex with alternating layers of fruit, oak, minerality, and acid this is a serious offering.

2013 Lincourt "Steel" Sta. Rita Hills Chardonnay
By: Andrew Stevens | Review Date: 2/24/2017 | Send Email
While I love the amazing selection of value wines here at K&L I almost always go perusing through the offerings from France, New Zealand, or Spain hanks to our Direct Import program. So I was somewhat surprised and very pleased when I got to taste this $10 Chardonnay from Lincourt. The wine has a little fruit weight and showcases notes of white stone fruit and apples. There is no oak here so the acid come through really well, more balancing than bracing though and the finish is clean. All in all a perfect little white to throw into a party or drink on a Tuesday night.
Price: Hidden View Price

2004 La Tempérance Prestige, Haut-Médoc
By: Jeff Garneau | Review Date: 2/24/2017 | Send Email
From the portfolio of Bernard Magrez, owner of Chateau Pape Clement in Pessac-Leognan. While it might be too much to suggest that there is a "Magrez" style, it is true that many of his wines adopt a "take no prisoners" approach, combining toasty oak with a certain generosity of fruit. This 2004 Ch. La Temperance, Haut Medoc is no exception. There is a hint of age beginning to emerge on the nose here, with savory truffle notes combining with hints of roasted coffee. Plenty of sweet, ripe red and black fruits on the palate but with good underlying structure. The bright acidity and firm tannins are evident. A typical if slightly modern style Bordeaux to enjoy with tonight's dinner. Decant and enjoy!
Top Value!
Price: $14.99 Add To Cart

2013 Helen's Hill Estate "Old Block Reserve - MV6 Clone" Pinot Noir
By: Kirk Walker | Review Date: 2/24/2017 | Send Email
A dark, broad, deep and brooding nose on this one. Earth, spice and forest floor with subdued dark cherry notes. But Clean! It is something that I didn't realize that I was missing until you find it! Structured on the palate, with tannins and acid that grab and lead you down a delightful trail of earthy, spicy Pinot goodness. The tannins are super fine and polished, friendly but persistent. The acid has just the right amount of bite to it all of which is supported by cool dark fruits. The longer it is opened the more expressive they become. One of my new favorites.
Price: $24.99 Add To Cart
JH 96

2013 Helen's Hill Winery "Range View Reserve - Pommard Clone" Pinot Noir Yarra Valley Victoria
By: Kirk Walker | Review Date: 2/24/2017 | Send Email
High-toned red fruits and berries with lifted spice notes on the nose. The palate is all bright cherries with the faintest dusting of Cacao powder. The abundance of fruit is balanced with light but persisting tannins. The finish is long with lots of sappy fruits and spice. This is just charming, if you like Pinot you have to try this.
Price: $24.99 Add To Cart
JH 96

2015 Helen's Hill Winery "Ingram's Road" Pinot Noir Yarra Valley Victoria
By: Kirk Walker | Review Date: 2/24/2017 | Send Email
Cherries, wild strawberries, subtle spice with a lovely dusting of earth on the nose. Round ripe fruits greet you immediately on the palate, all ripe red berries. A dusting of oak and spice on a clean and easy finish. Way more expressive than any CA Pinot at the same price point.
Price: $14.99 Add To Cart
JH 94

Le Brun de Neuville "Authentique Assemblage" Brut Champagne
By: Muriel Sarik | Review Date: 2/24/2017 | Send Email
We have so many wonderful champagnes to choose from, that when one stands out I just have to tell everyone about it. The first word that comes to mind when I think of this champagne is Balance, all the components are in the right places. This is evolution in a flute. On the nose, the freshness is bright and lovely. It gains some weight after the second sip and becomes creamy on the mid palette, due to 5 yrs on the lees. Then it has an extra long intense finish with a slight tart aftertaste as one gets from eating tropical fruit.
Top Value!
Price: $34.99 Add To Cart
WE 90 WS 90

2013 Seven Hills Columbia Valley Cabernet Sauvignon
By: Anthony Gittings | Review Date: 2/24/2017 | Send Email
This is a stellar deal! This Cabernet Sauvignon embodies the terrior and wine making style of Columbia Valley. The nose is loaded with dark berries, pomegranate, and fresh white flowers. Big opulent fruit and powerful earthy tannin makes this perfect for any Cabernet lover. Soft integrated cedar notes help lift the dark fruit and add to this complex wine. For a $20 wine, there is a lot going on in the glass, a real bargain.
Price: $19.99 Add To Cart
WE 91

2015 Calera Mt. Harlan Chardonnay
By: Anthony Gittings | Review Date: 2/24/2017 | Send Email
Another fantastic offering from the folks at Calera. On the nose, fresh pears, honey, stone fruit fill the glass. The palate is delicate, but rich, soft, but round and loaded with crisp apple, creamy lemon meringue and a long beautiful finish. A touch of sandalwood is balanced with perfect minerality to give this wine a fantastic mouth feel. Enjoy!
Price: $39.99 Add To Cart

2013 Thomas Fogarty Santa Cruz Mountains Chardonnay
By: Anthony Gittings | Review Date: 2/24/2017 | Send Email
This is classic Santa Cruz style Chardonnay. A bright and fresh wine that is harmoniously balanced with bright juicy acid, clean fresh fruit and a rich complex body. Not afraid to let the grapes speak for themselves, this embodies the purity of wine making.

2013 Lincourt "Steel" Sta. Rita Hills Chardonnay
By: Anthony Gittings | Review Date: 2/24/2017 | Send Email
What can I say, this is incredible for the money. Fresh lemon peel and hits of sweet orange, first welcome you to the glass. The palate is clean and fresh and full of richness. Fresh herbs and bright lemon acid elevate this wine while the long finish leaves you wanting more. This might be one of the best $10 California Chardonnay's on the shelf. Cheers!
Price: Hidden View Price

2011 Domaine Le Colombier "Cuvée G" Vacqueyras
By: Heather Vander Wall | Review Date: 2/24/2017 | Send Email
For those of you looking for a richer, meatier style of southern Rhone, with some excellent bottle development, this is your wine! Drinking beautifully now with almost six years from the vintage, this wine exhibits deep, smokey aromas with notes of sweet tobacco and dark plum. On the palate, it shows a fuller body, bold dark fruit and rich, game-y notes. The finish is long and full. I would recommend decanting for at least a half an hour to enjoy the full power of this beauty.
Price: $21.99 Add To Cart
RP 91 ST 91

2015 Santa Cristina Pinot Grigio delle Venezie
By: Mike Parres | Review Date: 2/24/2017 | Send Email
This is a mouthful of Pinot Grigio and a wine that has body and is perfectly balanced with zippy acidity and very aromatic, good complexity, length and that subtle elegance that shows muscle and long and flowing finish. It is a little spicy with red apple and melon, and LOTS of minerals on the aftertaste.
Price: $9.99 Add To Cart

2015 Ermacora Friulano Colli Orientali del Friuli
By: Mike Parres | Review Date: 2/24/2017 | Send Email
One of our BEST VALUE wines at K & L’s! As most of you know this wine from past vintages and it’s been too long since we had this wine in a let me just put it plain and simple IT ROCKS! This “Friulano” is full body ( a little crisper than past vintages) with ripe pear and red apple on the palate and on the very long finish I find a hint of almond, balanced with crisp acidity and is very aromatic with great length. This will work great with a cornucopia of vegetarian dishes.
Price: $14.99 Add To Cart

2015 Ermacora Pinot Grigio Colli Orientali del Friuli
By: Mike Parres | Review Date: 2/24/2017 | Send Email
This is our sixtieth of bringing Ermacora to you and in 1998 our price on the P/G was $11.99! We love beating that Euro down! and one of K & L’s best sellers since we started bringing them in. The perfect balance of acidity and tremendous aromatics, loaded with pear, apple, citrus and tropical fruit in an elegant, concentrated and superbly balanced wine. This is a Great wine for you to start the evening off with some pecorino and will work well with a first course of bruschetta or insalata mista.
Price: $14.99 Add To Cart

2015 Cantina Valle Isarco Pinot Nero-Blauburgunder
By: Mike Parres | Review Date: 2/24/2017 | Send Email
Blauburgunder (Pinot Noir) is a lovely wine. Sweet perfumed cherries, flowers and spices all come together in this harmonious wine. Cantina Valle Isarco's Blauburgunder captures an attractive middle ground between the lighter and richer styles of Pinot being made in Alto Adige. If you enjoy European-influenced Pinot with acidity, vibrancy and balance, this will blow you away! Melt some strong cheese, dip some bread and veggies in there, and enjoy with a glass (or a bottle) of Tyrolean red!
Price: $22.99 Add To Cart

2014 Moulin de la Gardette "Tradition" Gigondas
By: Heather Vander Wall | Review Date: 2/24/2017 | Send Email
This is a very expressive and classic Gigondas! With 80% Grenache, and a little Mourvedre and Cinsault to complement, this wine has both soft, generous fruit, and a nice smoky, gamey undertone. The 2014 vintage offers a very clean, fresh fruit profile, without any green notes or harsh structure. Rather, the wine is pleasantly open right off the bat, and is drinking beautifully now, though it will undoubtedly improve with a little time in the cellar. Easily one of the best values from Gigondas in the store right now!
Price: $24.99 Add To Cart
VN 90 - 92

2015 Ermacora Pinot Bianco Colli Orientali del Friuli
By: Mike Parres | Review Date: 2/24/2017 | Send Email
Here is one our most popular wineries from Colli Orientali del Friuli, just a few miles from the Slovenian border. I just tasted all of the new Ermacora wines and the first two things I have written down are OMG & Wow! Perfectly balanced, this wine has incredible depth and concentration with focus, there is ripe apples and pears with minerals on the front palate and is very rich and creamy on the mid-palate, great length on the finish. Serve with grilled chicken diablo or a seafood risotto.
Price: $14.99 Add To Cart

2015 Ermacora Ribolla Gialla Colli Orientali del Friuli
By: Mike Parres | Review Date: 2/24/2017 | Send Email
Ribolla Gialla enjoys a long history as one of Friuli's oldest indigenous vines, this extremely unusual wine would be worth buying solely on account of its very low price, but once you have tried this unusual grape varietals, you be back for more. The palate is intense and full with a supple body, echoing the wine's varietals character, exotic and honeyed bliss, floral notes, hints of flint and citrus, delivering several complex layers that transform as they evolve in the glass, the finish is dry with lots of acidity and pleasantly fresh.
Price: $14.99 Add To Cart

2015 Baron de Montfaucon Côtes du Rhône Blanc
By: Heather Vander Wall | Review Date: 2/23/2017 | Send Email
Another fantastic wine from our friends at Montfaucon! This lovely Cote du Rhone Blanc is composed mostly of very old-vine Clairette, which lends a lovely texture and strength to the wine. On the whole, though, this wine is light, playful and full of elegant fruit and floral notes. This would be a great wine to sip on its own, or in combination with lighter appetizers.
Price: $14.99 Add To Cart

2014 Joseph Drouhin Santenay Rouge
By: Heather Vander Wall | Review Date: 2/23/2017 | Send Email
Joseph Drouhin's Santenay Rouge is one of my favorites in this producer's portfolio. Santenay offers fantastic value, especially in classic vintages such as 2014, where there is an excellent balance of bright young fruit and structure to provide a well-rounded wine. Like many 2014's, the aromas in this wine are very forward, with delicate red currant, cherry and clove notes. On the palate the wine is light and poised, with just a touch of savory, mushroom notes. This will surely develop well with a few more years of bottle age, and I would highly recommend laying some of these down for future enjoyment.
Price: $27.99 Add To Cart

2014 Baron de Montfaucon Châteauneuf-du-Pape
By: Heather Vander Wall | Review Date: 2/23/2017 | Send Email
What a stellar example of top-quality Chateauneuf du Pape! This Montfaucon bottling is more restrained in style than many of its modern counterparts, with tighter structure, medium body, and clean, red fruit. With 92% Grenache, this wine embodies a more delicate and subtle style of Chateauneuf, but with the bones to age seamlessly. I highly recommend this wine as one of the great values to be found in the Rhone.
Price: $34.99 Add To Cart

2013 Seven Hills Columbia Valley Cabernet Sauvignon
By: Jim Boyce | Review Date: 2/23/2017 | Send Email
Seven Hills has some delivered a wine that packs way more punch than it's $20 price tag. Expressive aromas of black berry fruit and oak spices hint at the power of this vintage. Black currant and fresh raspberry fruits, black tea, graphite follow, with a lovely acidity and healthy dose of tanin to wrap up the entire package. This 2013 Cabernet should easily last a decade!
Top Value!
Price: $19.99 Add To Cart
WE 91

Le Brun de Neuville "Authentique Assemblage" Brut Champagne
By: David Driscoll | Review Date: 2/23/2017 | Send Email
This a fantastic new entry to our DI Champagne program that offers fresh and clean flavors balanced and buoyed by riper apple notes. It's both refreshing as an aperitif and satisfyingly full on the palate like I would expect from a fine cuvee. What's most important to note, however, is that the Neuville "Authentique" stands out from the pack of K&L selections I've grown accustomed to drinking over the years. It's snappier than the Aspasie Carte Blanche, fruitier than the Bonville Blanc de Blanc, and more complex than the Baron Fuente Grand Reserve; generally my three go-to bottles. I'm now adding the Neuville into that line-up as the fourth horseman as it's just so versatile. Also intriguing is the wine's origin from Sezanne; a part of Champagne I know nothing about, so it scratches an intellectual itch as well. A great find by Gary.
Price: $34.99 Add To Cart
WE 90 WS 90

2014 Daou Vineyards "Pessimist" Paso Robles Red Blend
By: Ivan Diaz | Review Date: 2/23/2017 | Send Email
Daou excels at producing a certain style of rich but well-defined red that offer lots of character and drinkability with a thankfully modest price-point. The Pessimist is a blend of Zinfandel, Syrah, and Petite Sirah, with bits of Tannat and Grenache that totally over-delivers for the price. Fans of Orin Swift will find plenty to enjoy about this bottling which features ripe raspberries, plums, black cherries, mocha, pepper, and woodsy spice for a great pairing with barbecue or just about anything off the grill.
Price: $21.99 Add To Cart
RP 90 - 92

Le Brun de Neuville "Authentique Assemblage" Brut Champagne
By: Andrew Whiteley | Review Date: 2/23/2017 | Send Email
Another stunner in the Champagne Direct Import quiver here at K&L. This blend of 60% Chardonnay/40% Pinot Noir shows the best of both varietals. The zip and freshness of the Chard shows beautiful crisp apples and some lovely and delicate floral notes while the Pinot Noir adds red fruited notes of cranberry and wild cherries. The really remarkable this about this bottle though is that it has been aged for 5 years on the lees - under a cork. This adds richness, a slightly nutty oxidative note, and typically a substantial amount to the price (compare to the also fabulous cork aged bottle of 2005 Bollinger "Grande Année" Brut Champagne for $100). At way less than half of that price this is a magnificent bottle with a unique story to tell.
Price: $34.99 Add To Cart
WE 90 WS 90

Le Brun de Neuville "Authentique Assemblage" Brut Champagne
By: Cindy Westby | Review Date: 2/23/2017 | Send Email
Sometimes it is impossible to separate an outstanding wine from an outstanding setting! I recently enjoyed this champagne in Point Reyes, under a huge umbrella in the pouring rain. And while slurping down the freshest oysters in the land, this champagne seemed to have as much complexity, as much vibrancy and as much freshness as my glorious surroundings.
Price: $34.99 Add To Cart
WE 90 WS 90

2014 Maison L'Envoyé "The Attaché" Willamette Valley Pinot Noir
By: Jim Boyce | Review Date: 2/23/2017 | Send Email
This mid tier offering from Maison L'Envoye shows aromas of fresh cherry and raspberry, baking spices, and a slightly savory, smoked meat quality that was particularly intriguing. Again, fresh red fruits shined with perfectly integrated oak and a hint of tanin on the back end. This is a seductive Pinot Noir; very pretty fruits and a bright palate, yet layered and quite powerful!
Price: $29.99 Add To Cart
VN 93 WS 92

2014 Obsidian Ridge "Obsidian Ridge Vineyard" Red Hills Lake County Cabernet Sauvignon
By: Jim Boyce | Review Date: 2/23/2017 | Send Email
Once again, what is this Obsidian Ridge Cabernet bottle far surpasses the price point! The fruit for this wine comes from an incredible, obsidian glass laden vineyard and is aged in Hungarian Oak. Fresh blackberry and black currant fruit, with a hint of blueberry, jumps out of the glass, with layers of baking spices, minerality, beautifully integrated oak, and medium tanin lending plenty of complexity and intrigue. Lake County has long been supplying fruit to many favorite Napa wineries, so put aside the designation and try this wonderful cab for what is inside the glass and not on the label - you will not regret it!
Top Value!
Price: $25.99 Add To Cart
RP 92

Le Brun de Neuville "Authentique Assemblage" Brut Champagne
By: Stephanie Vidales | Review Date: 2/23/2017 | Send Email
The Authentique Assemblage from Le Brun De Neuville definitely drinks well above its price. Aged 5 years on the lees, this wine expresses baked apple spice and nutty flavors with fresh acidity resulting in a very well-balanced, delicious bottle of bubbles. Champagne that is made with all estate fruit and lees aging, you can't go wrong for 35 bucks.
Price: $34.99 Add To Cart
WE 90 WS 90

Jacopo Poli Sarpa di Poli Con Tubo Grappa (750ml) (Can't Ship)
By: Alex Schroeder | Review Date: 2/23/2017 | Send Email
When I started working in the wine industry, I managed a store owned by a Greek family in Texas. Every year they would visit the mother country and bring back a true cornucopia of artisanal Greek paraphernalia: Kalamata olives, feta cheese, dried figs and wild oregano, olive oil and candied fruits. What I most looked forward to, though, was the grappa that an uncle made that came to me in a big plastic soda bottle. This stuff was the elixir of the gods. When I quickly and inevitably ran out I could never find a commercially available substitute…until I tried Jacopo Poli’s Sarpa di Poli. See, this grappa is made with as much care and in equally small batches in Schiavon, Italy as the Greek grappa that came in the soda bottle. It’s made from the pomace of Merlot and Cabernet Sauvignon and has deep penetrating aromas of jasmine, sweet pear, green fruits, coriander and anise. It’s bone dry and super clean on the palate but maintains that rich flavor profile for over a minute on the finish. I love all the spirits of the world, from rich Highland Single Malts to funky agricole Rhums, but when all is said and done, nothing is as exciting and satisfying for me as an artisanal grappa like this.
Price: $52.99 Add To Cart
WE 98

2013 Lincourt "Steel" Sta. Rita Hills Chardonnay
By: Stephanie Vidales | Review Date: 2/23/2017 | Send Email
I love a good unoaked Chardonnay that's inexpensive and this certainly fits the bill. Lincourt's Steel Chardonnay is a happy medium between crisp and juicy with plenty of citrus, melon and peach. There is a great expression of Santa Rita Hills fruit that won't disappoint in the upcoming warmer months!
Price: Hidden View Price

2013 Eisele Vineyard Napa Valley Cabernet Sauvignon
By: Trey Beffa | Review Date: 2/23/2017 | Send Email
This wine is obviously still a baby and has a long life ahead of it. While still being powerful and dense, it shows amazing purity and freshness. Flavors of blackberries, black cherry and plums are mixed in with hints of cedar and spice. This is serious wine that I would keep in my cellar and start to enjoy in 10-15 years and should last for many more.

2015 Clos de la Bonnette Syrah Vieilles Vignes Collines Rhodannienes
By: Alex Schroeder | Review Date: 2/22/2017 | Send Email
This stunning (and remarkably affordable) Northern Rhone Syrah is one of the best buys you can find in the varietal. It hails from 40-year-old vines from the Collines Rhodannienes (the area surrounding the steep slopes of the Northern Rhone) for a wine high in nuance and power, but with a fine and complex flavor profile. It tastes like violets, black pepper, cola berry, lavender and plum, with a full bodied roundness and great acid on the long finish. A glass of this with some barbecued pulled pork would put me on cloud nine.
Price: $24.99 Add To Cart

2014 La Jasse Castel "El Abanico" Pays l'Herault Blanc
By: Alex Schroeder | Review Date: 2/22/2017 | Send Email
The Languedoc region is so good at offering great values in table wine that people are sometimes taken aback at the prices of the Herault Blancs. But if you enjoy the rich, complex and refreshing white wines of the Rhone and other southern French regions, this is worth every penny. It has rich, almost (but not) sweet flavors of green grapes and Gala apples with a small touch of nuttiness and toast. It has a full bodied waxiness and great acid to keep it fresh and balanced. This is a beautiful addition to our Direct Import portfolio, and white lovers should not miss it.
Price: $29.99 Add To Cart

1987 Glenturret 28 Year Old "Old Particular" K&L Exclusive Single Barrel Cask Strength Single Malt Whisky (750ml)
By: David Driscoll | Review Date: 2/22/2017 | Send Email
Man, this cask of Glenturret is just delicious in an old fashioned Scotchy way. It's nothing more than sweet grains, sweet vanilla, sweet malt, and sweet oak from front to back and the creaminess from the 28 years spent in cask is apparent every step of the way. We sold out of our first Glenturret 28 year cask in about forty-five minutes last year. I'm hoping those of you who missed out that time can get a bottle this time around. It's one of the better values I've ever come across in my ten year career.
Price: $99.99 Add To Cart

2011 Domaine Dugois Vin de Paille Arbois (375ml)
By: Anthony Russo | Review Date: 2/22/2017 | Send Email
A stunning dessert wine! The orange-brown color yields wonderful aromas of brown sugar, maple, and a hint of nuttiness that is inviting for dessert wine fans who are looking for an extra nuance. It has a great mouth-coating effect balanced by an acidic backbone. The aromas come alive on the palate and are followed by a peanut butter finish. Pro-tip: drizzle it onto some vanilla or chocolate ice cream.
Price: $24.99 Add To Cart

1988 Strathclyde 28 Year Old "Old Particular" K&L Exclusive Single Barrel Cask Strength Grain Scotch Whisky (750ml)
By: David Driscoll | Review Date: 2/22/2017 | Send Email
Strathclyde is one of the Chivas grain whisky components and as we're discovering here with this single cask release, it shines pretty well on its own as well. Grain whisky isn't just delicious and easy to love, it reminds me of why I like to drink in the first place. To be able to purchase 29 year old cask strength Scotch for seventy-nine bucks is fun! It takes the pressure out of savoring each drop, which is definitely what I would want to do if I were to have paid $200 or more. We've got more grains in store as the year goes on, but few that are this old and this well priced.
Price: $79.99 Add To Cart

2014 Farnetella Lucilla Toscano Rosso
By: Kirk Walker | Review Date: 2/22/2017 | Send Email
A Tuscan charmer! Lots of the dark cherry Sangiovese fruit made a little darker with the help of Cab and Merlot. A touch of spice, a whiff of Tuscan dust and a dry but not classically assertive finish. This will be a go to pizza pasta red while it lasts!
Price: $10.99 Add To Cart
JS 93

2012 Voyager "Girt by the Sea" Bordeaux Blend Margaret River Western Australia
By: Kirk Walker | Review Date: 2/22/2017 | Send Email
Here is another great Cabernet blend from Margaret River. This has become one of my go to regions for Bordeaux varietal wines. This wine is a charmer. Rich fruit, supple tannins and enough acid to pull it all together, that is why I like this region so much!!! There is a nice touch of oak and spice and well. There are lots layers to this wine but is not a cork dork wine. Pour yourself a big glass and enjoy!
Price: $22.99 Add To Cart
JH 94 VN 90

2013 Helen's Hill Estate "Old Block Reserve - MV6 Clone" Pinot Noir
By: David Othenin-Girard | Review Date: 2/22/2017 | Send Email
Wow! I said out loud on first nosing. This incredible juicy open and refreshing Pinot is one of the most drinkable $25 Pinot I've come across in years. The nose is fragrant with hibiscus, bright red cherry, and clean as a whistle. On the palate medium acidity keeps it juicy as can be, reminding me of the most quaffable Burgundian at about half the price. Maybe it could Fixin or Aloxe-Corton, but at this price you'd never guess it. A fabulous wine for those who really want to easy drinking Pinot with out the headache.
Price: $24.99 Add To Cart
JH 96

Boulard-Bauquaire "Carte Noire" Brut Blanc de Noirs Champagne
By: Alex Schroeder | Review Date: 2/22/2017 | Send Email
Power and depth are the hallmarks of Boulaird Bouquaire’s Carte Noir, a Blanc de Noir made from 50% Pinot Noir and 50% Pinot Meunier. The texture on the palate is round and lush, with deep rich flavors of honey, baked wheat, clove, hibiscus, lemon zest, apricots and ripe red fruit. The finish is long and supple and lends itself to making the bottle disappear a lot quicker than expected. Another phenomenal value from the K&L Direct Import Champagne program!
Price: $34.99 Add To Cart

1976 Domaine de Baraillon 40 Year Old K&L Exclusive Armagnac (750ml)
By: David Othenin-Girard | Review Date: 2/22/2017 | Send Email
Even after years of doing this, I'm still flabbergasted that we're able to bring you such high quality old brandy for this outrageous a price. After 40 years in the barrel, this brandy is reaching levels we'd describe in french as surmaturité (overripe in the context of grapes) but in this case we're talking about those ultra rancio flavors that only the oldest of aged product exhibit. Here we're in the realm of a great old Oloroso, with a splash of old Madeira added in for good measure. Dark nutty, roasted coffee beans, the thickest fruit compote and the most subtle hints of wild honey and dried herbs. The palate remains lifted although it's very dry and not as nutty as the nose might imply. Still on the dark woodsy flavors, a little bit of air tames the intensity on the palate nicely. That wonderful subtle Baraillon funk and oak spice take over and build into a big warm spicy finish. This is not one for those with a sweet tooth, but represents serious old school full mature brandy.
Price: $129.99 Add To Cart

Page: 1 2 3 next >>