Staff Favorites

If you’re going to have Robert Parker or Stephen Tanzer over for dinner, selecting a wine they’ve rated highly will be a nice choice. However, when you’re buying wines for yourself, we’d love to see you find wines that match up your unique palate and pocketbook. We have a large staff of friendly and knowledgeable wine professionals that taste hundreds of wines each week. They can put you in touch with bottles that you are likely to love, often at a much lower cost than the highly-rated gems that often see a run-up in price and frequent availability issues. Like any great group of opinionated professionals, our staff has varied tastes themselves. Often our customers will find a particular staff member with a style that corresponds to their own. That concept works extremely well in our retail stores, and this section is our effort to bring you the same online. Don’t get us wrong, we love the highly rated wines from the press and will continue to offer them, but we think you’re missing out if you’re not augmenting those selections with picks from our excellent staff. Here are their favorites. (Click on a name to see their other selections - or to drop them a line.) Cheers!

Reviews

  
Page: 1 2 3 next >>
2014 Domaine Charles Audoin Bourgogne Rouge
By: Andrew Stevens | Review Date: 7/25/2016 | Send Email
This is a lovely little Bourgogne Rouge and proof that even in Burgundy we are able to find great deals for our customers. Bright red berry on the nose with a little earth lead to a very pretty wine on the palate. Notes of raspberry and tart cherry are enhanced by floral notes and a touch of minerality. For those looking for a more elegant and feminine style Burgundy at a killer price this bottle is exactly what you should get into.
Price: $21.99 Add To Cart

2012 Gundlach Bundschu "Mountain Cuvée" Sonoma County Red Blend
By: Jacques Moreira | Review Date: 7/25/2016 | Send Email
With a very unusual blend of grapes, this wine delivers nonetheless in its simplicity and easiness of character. Not to mention it really matches with almost everything really.
Price: $16.99 Add To Cart

2014 Oakridge Estate "Willowlake Vineyard" Pinot Noir Yarra Valley
By: Ryan Woodhouse | Review Date: 7/25/2016 | Send Email
I love the delicacy of this Pinot Noir. If you are looking for a big "fruit bomb" Pinot...this isn't it. If you are curious about cool climate, elegant, balanced expressions of this majestic varietal...this is a pretty great place to look. Oakridge's wines are pure, restrained faithful expressions of vineyard site. This bottling shows the more feminine side of the varietal; the extraction is light, the fruit pure but not sappy or extracted. The wine expresses lots of the finer, more savory aspects of the grape with an array of fresh picked herbs, smoky spice, volcanic mineral tinges and leaf litter. For years now a bottle of Oakridge Pinot and a roast chicken has been a rite of passage at K&L in Redwood City...this great Willowlake bottling will no doubt continue that honored tradition.
Top Value!
Price: $19.99 Add To Cart
JH 96

Michel Couvreur Pale Single-Single Whisky (750ml)
By: Jeffrey Jones | Review Date: 7/25/2016 | Send Email
Absolutely fantastic. The Couvreur Pale has inviting malt and floral aromas. In the mouth it is soft, round and malty, with subtle dried fruit nuances. A nice long finish helps round out this wonderful wine.
Price: $99.99 Add To Cart

2012 Roc de Cambes, Côtes de Bourg
By: Jacques Moreira | Review Date: 7/25/2016 | Send Email
A sweet nose of cherries, chocolate and vanilla followed by a palate rich in cocoa, cherries, and incense. Still has its minerality and earthiness in check. A beautiful wine, with lots of complexity
Price: $49.99 Add To Cart
VN 93

2012 Peyrabon, Haut-Médoc
By: Jacques Moreira | Review Date: 7/25/2016 | Send Email
This is the vintage for those that want to drink their wines now. The 2012 Peyrabon delivers a lot of lifted notes of violets, cassis and wet rock. The lightness on the palate along with its medium tannins make it a perfect candidate to have with lighter dishes this summer.
Price: $14.99 Add To Cart
WE 90 - 92

2013 Carbonnieux Blanc, Pessac-Léognan
By: Jacques Moreira | Review Date: 7/25/2016 | Send Email
A very classic Bordeaux Blanc in the sense of having a a more complex roundness along with the juicy acidity. Perhaps it is the Semillon (25%) on the blend that imparts these notes. Citrous and peaches. A very pleasing white wine for the table as well as for the porch!

2010 San Filippo Brunello di Montalcino
By: Greg St. Clair | Review Date: 7/25/2016 | Send Email
A very intense nose that seems more like a pot roast cooking, savory, earthy, bay leaves, porcini and root vegetables. On the palate the wine’s braised meat flavors continue but are captured by the texture, this wine becomes tactile, less flavor driven yet is wildly interesting, and indescribable layers of consistency, grain, fineness and feel infuse the wine with a vibrant almost tactile flavor. The flavors are there, that same batch from the nose but hints of spiced cherry emerge in the long, vibrant albeit slightly grippy finish.
Drink from 2017 to 2017

Michel Couvreur K&L Exclusive Overaged Peated Malt Whisky (750ml)
By: Jeffrey Jones | Review Date: 7/25/2016 | Send Email
This Michel Couvreur Malt Whiskey is a perfect marriage of smoke and sherry aged spirit. There is a nice amount of smoke aromas and flavors that are integrated well with the richness from the sherry barrels. On top of this it is complex and will surprise and delight.
Price: $82.99 Add To Cart

Michel Couvreur Pale Single-Single Whisky (750ml)
By: Andrew Stevens | Review Date: 7/24/2016 | Send Email
Ready for the whisky of the summer? Where do you go when the heat means big smoky, peaty flavors do not work as well? Here, this bottle, this delightful and delicious offering from Michel Couvreur. Lovely dense white stone fruit in the nose lead to a seriously elegant Scotch. The play of light fruit and floral notes are just so well harmonized here and are backed up by a tingly baking spice finish. This whisky showcases the deftness that a master blender can have in creating something truly elegant.
Price: $99.99 Add To Cart

Michel Couvreur K&L Exclusive "Blossoming Auld Sherried" Malt Whisky (750ml)
By: Andrew Stevens | Review Date: 7/24/2016 | Send Email
With the exploding popularity of Compass Box and companies like Suntory releasing the Hibiki Harmony it behooves us to recognize great blended whiskey. These bottles perhaps does not share in the fame of those mentioned, but they do not fall short on the quality. The Blossoming Auld Sherried Malt from Michel Couvreur opens with a big rich nose of caramel and dense fruit. A rather creamy mouthfeel follows, fell of baked fruit, almonds and the richness that Sherry casking brings. Add to all of this a slightly hot baking spice finish and you have yourself a spectacular whiskey that is well worth drinking.
Price: $219.99 Add To Cart

2015 Zudugarai "Amats" Getariako Txakolina
By: Heather Vander Wall | Review Date: 7/24/2016 | Send Email
This is one of my favorite appetizer wines! Perfect for opening up your palate and excellent with tapas and salty foods. The 2015 Amats Txakoli is bright and expressive, with light effervescence and zippy acidity. We were very excited to bring in these wines directly and add a more affordable Txakoli to our portfolio, and the wines seem to be better and better each vintage. Don't miss out on this great bottle for those hot summer days!
Price: $13.99 Add To Cart

Michel Couvreur K&L Exclusive Overaged Peated Malt Whisky (750ml)
By: Andrew Stevens | Review Date: 7/24/2016 | Send Email
For those who missed out on the Compass Box "5th and Harrison" K&L Exclusive, for those who are starting to realize how good blended whiskey can be, or for those who simply love good Scotch here is a bottle for you. From Michel Couvreur comes a truly beautiful peated smoky whisky that is elegant, balanced, smooth, and just so good. A rich nose resplendent with notes of caramel, toffee and a hint of butterscotch lead to a full, rich Scotch. There is a lot of good baked fruit notes here with the peat accenting them and swaddled in smooth smokey notes. Despite the richness of this whiskey it is well balanced and never feels to full of itself and leads the palate to a lovely soft finish that fades slowly. Get a bottle of this now and buy another for a gift. This is completely worth it.
Price: $82.99 Add To Cart

2013 Trellis (Amelia Park) Cabernet Sauvignon-Merlot Margaret River
By: Jeff Garneau | Review Date: 7/24/2016 | Send Email
If I had tasted the 2013 Trellis (Amelia Park) Cabernet Sauvignon-Merlot Margaret River blind, I would have assumed it was a much more expensive wine. However, since I was aware of the true retail price, my actual response at first sip was a calm, restrained, very professional “Holy &%$@!” I don’t know what to say about this wine that won’t be dismissed as mere hyperbole, but I can tell you honestly that it may very well be one of the top $10 reds we currently have available. This is classic Margaret River Cab (actually a blend of 85% Cabernet Sauvignon and 15% Merlot) for a mere song. The nose is lightly floral with a hint of mint. On the palate, notes of cherry and raspberry, generous red fruits, sweet and ripe. The wine is rich in texture but with near perfect balance. Bright and lively with ultra-fine tannins. An absolute delight to drink and an unbeatable value. I repeat, there is simply NO way for me to convey how good a deal this wine is and make you believe me. You will have to try it for yourself. Once you do, your friends won’t believe you either, so do them a favor and pour them a glass. You'll make believers of them, too.
Top Value!
Price: $10.99 Add To Cart

2014 Neyers "Left Bank Red" Napa Valley Red Blend
By: Olivia Ragni | Review Date: 7/24/2016 | Send Email
I was blown away by balance and precision in the Neyers Left Bank blend. Beautiful fruit purity, not over-extracted or over-oaked with notes of purple fruit like cassis, fresh ground coffee, graphite and round, soft tannins. This is one of the best California Bordeaux blends for under $50 that I've had in a long time.
Price: $29.99 Add To Cart

Siete Misterios Doba-Yej Mezcal (750ml)
By: Andrew Stevens | Review Date: 7/24/2016 | Send Email
In many ways I am still just now exploring the wonderful world of Mezcal. Although there is much to be said about various sipping Mezcals and how good and complex they can be, for me it is all about making them into cocktails. It may be my bartending background, but the world of the Mezcal Cocktail is where I am focusing much of my exploration into this spirit. With that in mind I was excited to taste this new one that we got in. It was at the right price point for a mixing Mezcal, but it needed to have other elements as well. Fortunately this spirit completely delivered. Fruity nose with lots of white pepper and some smoke immediately entranced me. Soft layers of fruit with pepper notes and just the right amount of smoke sold me. This is exactly the kind of Mezcal that I cannot wait to make Palomas, Negronis, and tons of other drinks with. Although there is no reason not to sip this one, do yourself a favor and try it out in other drinks and taste how good they can be.
Price: $34.99 Add To Cart

2010 Miguel Merino "Unnum" Rioja
By: Heather Vander Wall | Review Date: 7/24/2016 | Send Email
This is a very unique bottling of Rioja, from one of our favorite producers! With intense, dark fruit sourced from the oldest vines on the property, this wine is quite serious and concentrated. The Merinos use all French oak on this big, full-bodied wine, resulting in a quite structured, yet rich expression, with great aging potential. For lovers of old-school Napa wines, or slightly richer Bordeaux, this is a natural cross-over. Try one today, and lay a few down for the future!
Price: $29.99 Add To Cart

2015 Eric Cottat Sancerre
By: Mahon McGrath | Review Date: 7/24/2016 | Send Email
There is a real sense of ease to the 2015 vintage. It has a juicier, sunnier disposition than some of the lean, stony and green Sancerres. That said, it is still recognizably of Sancerre, yielding cantaloupe, lemon and wet stone aromas, and flavors that run to powdery florality, melon, orange, tomato leaf and red jalapeno. A dusting of minerality brings up the rear, playing a subsidiary role here, as does the acidity, which, while ample enough, isn't the first and last thing you notice, instead underpinning the gently radiant, diaphanous tranquillity of the summer-ready flavors. Grab some while you can!
Price: $18.99 Add To Cart

Michel Couvreur K&L Exclusive "Blossoming Auld Sherried" Malt Whisky (750ml)
By: David Othenin-Girard | Review Date: 7/22/2016 | Send Email
The first time I tasted the Blossoming Auld Sherry was at a wonderful little bistro in Levernois outside of Beaune called Du Bord De L'Eau. After a wonderful meal at this exceptional casual restaurant, the director of Couvreur Jean Arnauld suggested we finish the night with a taste of something special from his exceptional collection. We could have taken the exceptionally expensive vintage offerings, but he recommended this special little treat. From the moment I put my nose to the glass I was transfixed. Of course, I know Couvreur's style and what to expect, but this was unlike anything I'd yet come across. It was truly like diving head first into the finest Sherry, but at 90 proof!!! The nose exhibits an intoxicating bouquet of plum preserves, old exotic wood, fresh leather, tobacco and the intricately carved wooden pipe to pack it. The palate is SO smooth. When someone says they like something "smooth," it's such a vague notion, and difficult quality to guarantee in a product, but THIS is what they're talking about. The density of the fruit remains on the palate, but it's pointed with wonderful dried citrus and sweet herbal notes. This is the real deal, and while not inexpensive, it out-performs its price point by a mile and then some. Imagine having a bottle of sherry that never goes bad, which you can sip by the ounce and clocks in at 45%! You'd never stop, so you know, you shouldn't. We're the exclusive source for this product in California and will likely buy the entire US allocation of 20 cases.
Price: $219.99 Add To Cart

2012 Hess Collection "19 Block Mountain Cuvée" Mount Veeder Red Blend
By: Bryan Brick | Review Date: 7/22/2016 | Send Email
The family of Hess Wines has long been synonymous with great value. Whether it be for their fairly ubiquitous “Select” series, which is more big box store oriented, or the interesting mountain fruit-driven series that this 19 Block Mountain Cuvee is part of, they have a long history of making great wines for great prices. This wine is a bit of an outlier in the world of Bordeaux-styled blends in that it is dominantly Malbec, at 60%, with 30% Cabernet Sauvignon and 10% Syrah. With all that Mount Veeder Malbec in the blend you’d think that this was some sort of inky beast, but in reality it is actually quite refined and approachable, with a pretty porcini mushroom, dried raspberry, cherry cola and sweet oak-driven nose. Graceful and layered on the palate, this is one delicious blend, with well-formed flavors of dried meats, savory chaparral, roasted beets and pitchy wild berry fruit that resonates well into the broad and refined finish. If you are looking to break out of the box a bit, this blend is a great option and would be a great option for BBQs, burgers, brats and any other meaty treats.
Price: $26.99 Add To Cart
RP 93 JS 90

Michel Couvreur 12 Year Overaged Malt Whisky (750ml)
By: David Othenin-Girard | Review Date: 7/22/2016 | Send Email
The most classic of all of Couvreur's offerings actually provides some of the best bang for you buck drinking in the store. This is indeed a very similar blend to the K&L Exclusive, less the peated element. There is a tiny hint of peat here, and I have to say, I think this blend has improved seriously over the last 10 years since I first tried it. Less raw and pointed now, we have more influence on the sherry and more of those wonderful damp cellars notes that we love about Couvreur. Big bold vanillas and fruit notes jump from the glass around the funky malt and remain through the palate. Thanks to going direct on this one we've been able to get the price down. A stupendous deal for when you're not feeling like the peaty attack of the K&L Overage.
Price: $69.99 Add To Cart

2015 Kalinda Riesling Rheingau
By: Illya Haase | Review Date: 7/22/2016 | Send Email
Wow, the 2015 Kalinda Rheingau Riesling is outstanding! Classic racy mineral, well balanced acidity, and the aromatic fruit character that I look for in my Rheingau Riesling. From a quick read, sounds like the 2015 vintage is going to be a good one. This bottle will be my go-to for any sushi night!
Price: $11.99 Add To Cart

2013 Farnetella Chianti Colli Senesi
By: Greg St. Clair | Review Date: 7/22/2016 | Send Email
I love the nose on this wine it is so full of a complex blend of wild fruits and earthy intrigue. The waves of aromas flowing from the glass will capture your attention immediately. On the palate the wine flows, is supple and easy yet backed up with excellent structure. The fruit is the first thing you see, complex plums and wild cherries then bits of leather, spice and earth. The finish is solid, persistent and it gives you a feel like you really are drinking wine that you paid much more for! Perfect for backyard BBQs or a little spaghetti Bolognese!
Drink from 2016 to 2016
Price: $12.99 Add To Cart
JS 92 WS 91

2014 Domaine Bart Bourgogne Rouge
By: Gary Westby | Review Date: 7/22/2016 | Send Email
What a great Burgundy value! I have been waiting (rather impatiently) for the Bart to arrive since visiting Martin and Pierre last October in Marsannay. When it arrived last week I bought one of everything we received. Cinnamon and I enjoyed this with a simple steak sandwich with leftover ratatouille on Wednesday night, and it was spectacular. It has great crunchy fruit, bracing acidity and a purity and minerality that only Burgundy can deliver. If you love serious, dry Pinot Noir, this is a must try!
Price: $18.99 Add To Cart

2015 Tormaresca "Calafuria" Salento Rosato
By: Mike Parres | Review Date: 7/22/2016 | Send Email
Most of our customers know Tormaresca label for their GREAT inexpensive red and now we introduce you to their Rose’. Yea!!! It’s 100% Negroamaro, a light salmon pink color, fascinating aromas of wild mountain strawberries, some herbal notes and lots of great acidity and with a touch of mineral on the long-lasting aftertaste. Buy a few—the bottle empties quickly. This is a great wine for the brunch crowd or just sipping some while sitting on the porch with a favorite book.
Price: $14.99 Add To Cart

2015 Eric Cottat Sancerre
By: Olivia Ragni | Review Date: 7/22/2016 | Send Email
I always love the Cottat Sancerre, this vintage it has a wonderful balance of fruit and minerality. Aromas of flint, white flowers and yellow Mirabelle plums burst from the glass to lead you into an elegant palate of crushed stone, orange blossom and lemon peel with juicy acidity.
Price: $18.99 Add To Cart

2014 Corofin "Cowley Vineyard - Main Slopes" Pinot Noir Marlborough
By: Ivan Diaz | Review Date: 7/22/2016 | Send Email
One of the tinier producers working in the Marlborough region of NZ, Corofin carves out its distinctive personality by going old school. The estate is run by a native Kiwi couple who have been working this land for most their lives, and who adhere to strict sustainable practices. The fruit in this bottling comes from a single vineyard farmed both organically and biodynamically from north-facing slopes perfect for Pinot Noir. This is a light, pretty style that represents the earthiness of the terroir beautifully while delivering a linear, elegant fruit profile. Tasted blind you'd think this was Burgundy worth twice the price.

2012 Hess Collection "19 Block Mountain Cuvée" Mount Veeder Red Blend
By: James Bradshaw | Review Date: 7/22/2016 | Send Email
The color is amazing on this wine — it's dense, inky, with a lovely violet hue on the rim. The nose is a tad shy at first, but when given a chance, opens to reveal aromas of stewed fruit, fresh berries, and a wild flowers. On the palate there is more zip and verve than one might expect. It perfectly finds that balance between lush and lively, so there is far more going on here than a simple fruit bomb. Additional elements of mushrooms, earth, cola, and mocha all come into play and all in perfect pitch. Top-notch effort from some great Mt. Veeder sites.
Price: $26.99 Add To Cart
RP 93 JS 90

Michel Couvreur Pale Single-Single Whisky (750ml)
By: David Othenin-Girard | Review Date: 7/22/2016 | Send Email
A single malt from a single cask from this renowned blender is always a treat. Here we're off the big sherry notes that Couvreur is known for and onto something more malt-driven. Still with that beautiful Burgundian cellar experience, but now pointed with Highland flowers, wild honey, white and yellow fruit. I'm wanting to say this is Clynelish, but cannot confirm. Now that we're able to list this below $100 it's a no-brainer and certainly a unique experience that's not easily replicated anywhere else on the shelf.
Price: $99.99 Add To Cart

2012 Hess Collection "19 Block Mountain Cuvée" Mount Veeder Red Blend
By: Gary Norton | Review Date: 7/22/2016 | Send Email
Rich and round, the 2012 Hess Collection 19 Block Red Blend is a fun little wine. Frankly, I'm not the biggest fan of Malbec heavy blends (I find them a little flabby more often than not) but was pleasantly surprised by the depth and complexity of this one. Dark fruit, blackberry pie and a kick of menthol, mocha and baking spices to finish it off. Don't miss out on this.
Price: $26.99 Add To Cart
RP 93 JS 90

Uberach "Assemblage" Alsace Single Malt Whisky (750ml)
By: Illya Haase | Review Date: 7/22/2016 | Send Email
Being a Kentucky boy, it is difficult giving any other whiskey a chance, other than bourbon. I am always willing to try any whiskey David puts in front of me. But, France and whiskey? Bottle #147 of 160 of the Uberach single malt from Alsace was a lovely surprise. The nose is fresh baked apple pie with a scoop of vanilla on top. The mouth is a balance of fruit, spice and good weight on the palate. Nice little kick of heat at the end too! You can add a cube or a drop of water for all you non George T Stagg drinkers. SOLUTE!!
Price: $59.99 Add To Cart

2012 Hess Collection "19 Block Mountain Cuvée" Mount Veeder Red Blend
By: Andrew Stevens | Review Date: 7/22/2016 | Send Email
This is a fun, super easy drinking red wine that delivers good fruit and spice without falling flat or getting flabby. Dark rich fruit in the nose leads to creamy, ripe dark berry from the Malbec. A little mocha and coffee notes help round this wine out and notes of baking spice to finish it off. This is a nicely rounded rich red wine that definitely delivers without falling apart at the end, and at 14.6 ABV it doesn't go overboard on the alcohol. Definitely worth checking out.
Price: $26.99 Add To Cart
RP 93 JS 90

2015 Riposte "The Dagger" Pinot Noir Adelaide Hills South Australia
By: Ryan Woodhouse | Review Date: 7/22/2016 | Send Email
The nose on this wine lets you know exactly what's in store on the palate. It's literally bursting with vibrant, ripe berries, Christmas cake spice and raspberry compote. You can smell the bouquet inches from the glass. On the palate the wine has beautiful "pinosity" combining the sweet red fruits from the nose with some darker tinges and lovely soft, mellifluous texture. My favorite attribute of this wine (and it seems like a perennial achievement of Tim Knappstein) is how it combines ripeness of fruit profile without excessive extract or alcohol. The wine is pure and fruit forward but without being heavy; and the alcohol checks in at a balanced 13.5%. This is such an easy drinking wine that will surely be a serious crowd-pleaser once again.
Top Value!
Price: $14.99 Add To Cart
JH 94

2012 Hess Collection "19 Block Mountain Cuvée" Mount Veeder Red Blend
By: Steve Bearden | Review Date: 7/22/2016 | Send Email
This interesting blend starts out with notes of effusive mixed berries, cherry liqueur and unsweetened dark chocolate. The opulent middle of spiced blackberry fruit has enough tension to hold the ripeness in check and allow some pleasingly tangy mountain elements to peak through. Overall, a rich, plush and satisfying bottle.
Price: $26.99 Add To Cart
RP 93 JS 90

2013 Hall Napa Valley Cabernet Sauvignon
By: Steve Bearden | Review Date: 7/22/2016 | Send Email
This rich, smooth and creamy wine is classic Napa Valley floor through and through. Oodles of plush and sweet fruit smother the ripe tannins as this glides across your palate. Go ahead and decant but don't feel you need to wait on this in-your-face and approachable bottling. Lovers of Caymus take note.
Price: $46.99 Add To Cart
RP 92

Brasserie Lebbe "L'Amalthee" Saison, France (750ml)
By: Gary Westby | Review Date: 7/20/2016 | Send Email
France is not famous for its beer, but this Basque beauty is worthy of your attention! This has depth and intrigue, but not at at the expense of moreish refreshment. A 750ml of this goes down quite quickly. I have a question: why does the best beer in France have to come from the opposite side of the country to Champagne? I would love to see just one tap handle of this in Epernay... I would become a fixture in that bar!
Price: $11.99 Add To Cart

2014 Hugel "Gentil" Alsace
By: Mahon McGrath | Review Date: 7/20/2016 | Send Email
Focused, trim and nervy on the palate, this exhibits vibrantly floral, passion fruit, citrus and wet pavement notes. While this has plenty of tooth-sucking acidity, there is enough sweetness to the floral dimension that it keeps things from being too uncompromising. For my money, this significantly out-classes the majority of white wines available at the everyday price it comes in at. Well worth a look.
Price: $11.99 Add To Cart
JS 90

2014 Domaine Bart "Les Ouzeloy" Marsannay Rouge
By: Daniel Maas | Review Date: 7/20/2016 | Send Email
Is it me, or was the Marsannay vineyard known as "Les Ouzeloy" named by a Jewish fellow like me? I mean, come on.. "ouzel-OY?" Wines from this area are so amazing that, I'm sure, after finishing his bagel and setting about his task, our fearless namer opened a bottle of Domaine Bart's offering and shouted... "OY- this simply OOZES with beauty". Hence the name. And right he was. The complexity here is astonishing, with a high-tone texture of crushed and baked fruit, subtle hints of herbal tea, and a long finish. OY does not even begin to cover how good this is.
Price: $21.99 Add To Cart
BH 90

2015 Domaine Begude Grüner Veltliner "Exotique" Pays d'Oc
By: Diana Turk | Review Date: 7/20/2016 | Send Email
Bright with balanced acid and notes of nectarine, melon, and a hint of Meyer lemon, the slightly peppery yet easygoing Begude Exotique (secretly Grüner Veltliner) is a quenching porch pounder shining with sophistication and a minerally, dry finish. A stellar find from Limoux that will drink well throughout summer and beyond.
Price: $13.99 Add To Cart

Michel Couvreur K&L Exclusive "Blossoming Auld Sherried" Malt Whisky (750ml)
By: David Driscoll | Review Date: 7/20/2016 | Send Email
While the “Blossoming” label is not a custom one like the peated blend we make with Couvreur, this particular batch of the Blossoming Auld Sherried was bottled specifically for us and shipped as part of our exclusive order. It is utterly divine. It is the softest, smoothest, more concentrated sherry-aged whisky on the shelf by far. It’s like the sherry and the whisky have fused to become one perfect entity. As we know from our visit, Couvreur’s specialty is sherry. They select their own butts from Jerez personally and have connections going back to the 1960s. The result of that sherry is on display here.
Price: $219.99 Add To Cart

2012 Peyrabon, Haut-Médoc
By: Steve Bearden | Review Date: 7/20/2016 | Send Email
This easy to love wine from the folks at Domain Chevalier was a big hit at the July Bordeaux tasting in San Francisco due to its bang for buck ratio and overall quality. There is seamless balance to this dark and smooth blackberry filled wine which has earthy potting soil aromas and an ash-like quality in the rich middle. The finish is gentle with just a whisper of very fine tannin. This should be your next case purchase.
Price: $14.99 Add To Cart
WE 90 - 92

2014 Neyers "Left Bank Red" Napa Valley Red Blend
By: Andrew Whiteley | Review Date: 7/20/2016 | Send Email
This is a stunner from Napa. Truly a great Bordeaux blend and at a supremely attractive price point! There is dark concentrated cassis and blackberry on the nose along with cedar cigar box and a lovely earthy spice. It's rich, supple, and equally good with food or on its own. I suspect this wine would age beautifully if you can refrain from drinking it now.
Price: $29.99 Add To Cart

2014 Domaine Bart Bourgogne Rouge
By: Olivia Ragni | Review Date: 7/20/2016 | Send Email
It's rare to find a great, drinkable Burgundy for an affordable price, so take advantage of Domaine Bart's Bourgogne Rouge and grab a few bottles, or even cases, to keep around the house. The Bourgogne Rouge shows bright, crunchy red fruit like cranberry and red cherry and a hint of forest floor and graphite. While it has lots of great acidity, the palate also provides soft, round tannins, creating great balance.
Price: $18.99 Add To Cart

2014 Domaine Bart "Les Ouzeloy" Marsannay Rouge
By: Mari Keilman | Review Date: 7/20/2016 | Send Email
Wines from Marsannay are extremely underrated in comparison to its famous neighbor Gevrey-Chambertin, and that's perfectly fine with me. That just means that we're able to get great quality Marsannay wine at a quarter of the price of anything coming out of Gevrey. Perfect example is the Les Ouzeloy from Domaine Bart. Pretty, elegant nose of subtle purple flowers, tea and dark cherry and a palate filled with lifted red fruit of Bing cherries and tart cranberry.
Price: $21.99 Add To Cart
BH 90

2013 Domaine Louis Moreau Chablis 1er Cru "Vaulignot"
By: Trey Beffa | Review Date: 7/20/2016 | Send Email
More depth and richness than the straight Chablis, the "Vaulignot" shows lots of wet stone fruit, citrus hints and a round, creamy finish.
Price: $24.99 Add To Cart

2011 Le Tertre du Bosquet Sauternes
By: Steve Bearden | Review Date: 7/20/2016 | Send Email
This is light to medium weight with a fresh, clean personality and a very mineral finish with a touch of bitter grapefruit pith. I taste tangerine, honey, soft peach, saffron, spice and hints of tarragon.. This is not particularly fat or tropical but is a very sweet and refreshing drink at a bargain price.
Price: $19.99 Add To Cart

2009 Lamothe Bergeron, Haut-Médoc
By: Steve Bearden | Review Date: 7/20/2016 | Send Email
The owner of Château Angelus is consulting here and it shows in this delicious, mildly earthy wine that is modern and super flavorful. Toasty and smooth with sweet red fruit flavors and ripe, round tannins.
Price: $19.99 Add To Cart
JS 90

2013 Reyneke Sauvignon Blanc Stellenbosch (Biodynamic)
By: Steve Bearden | Review Date: 7/20/2016 | Send Email
This barrel fermented Sauvignon Blanc is leesy and round, with the oak adding more texture than flavor. Freshly mowed hay, blanched nuts, pear skin and mouthwatering minerals form the body of this smooth and refreshing value. Here is one to buy by the case.
Price: Hidden View Price
RP 90 WS 90

2015 Ermitage "Victor" Costières de Nîmes Rosé
By: Steve Bearden | Review Date: 7/20/2016 | Send Email
Costieres de Nimes is directly across the river from Chateauneuf-du-Pape and the vineyards consist of large pebbles just like that famed appellation, yet the wines are far more affordable. This is crisp, very complex, super refreshing and amazingly food friendly. Here is a juicy, spicy easy to gulp summer bottle to buy by the case.
Price: $9.99 Add To Cart

1996 Bel Air Lagrave, Moulis-en-Medoc
By: Steve Bearden | Review Date: 7/20/2016 | Send Email
What a fantastic bargain in mature and delicious Bordeaux from a great vintage. This has warm dark plum and cherry fruit along with aromas of damp clay and earth in a sweet, crisp body. You can detect cedar, steeped tea and soft, ripe fruit along with a caressing leather tinged finish. No need to decant if you are in a hurry.
Price: $19.99 Add To Cart

Page: 1 2 3 next >>