Staff Favorites

If you’re going to have Robert Parker or Stephen Tanzer over for dinner, selecting a wine they’ve rated highly will be a nice choice. However, when you’re buying wines for yourself, we’d love to see you find wines that match up your unique palate and pocketbook. We have a large staff of friendly and knowledgeable wine professionals that taste hundreds of wines each week. They can put you in touch with bottles that you are likely to love, often at a much lower cost than the highly-rated gems that often see a run-up in price and frequent availability issues. Like any great group of opinionated professionals, our staff has varied tastes themselves. Often our customers will find a particular staff member with a style that corresponds to their own. That concept works extremely well in our retail stores, and this section is our effort to bring you the same online. Don’t get us wrong, we love the highly rated wines from the press and will continue to offer them, but we think you’re missing out if you’re not augmenting those selections with picks from our excellent staff. Here are their favorites. (Click on a name to see their other selections - or to drop them a line.) Cheers!

Reviews

  
Page: 1 2 3 next >>
2016 Terra Santa Ile de Beaute Rosé (Corsica)
By: Olivia Ragni | Review Date: 5/25/2017 | Send Email
Corsican Rose has got me smitten over the past few years, with esoteric native varietals and a price tag that provides crazy value, and the 2016 vintage may just be the best yet for this little bottle. The Terra Santa is one of my favorite rosés in the store, and for under $10 the quality out performs the price immensely. In the glass this is a beautiful rose petal pink color, notes of white cherry, slate-like minerality, and watermelon are coupled by juicy, crisp acidity and a bone dry finish. This unusual rosé is perfect to have around the house, and a great conversation started when people find out it's from the island of Corsica!!
Price: $8.99 Add To Cart

2012 Nelles "Blue Label" Spätburgunder (Pinot Noir) Ahr
By: Steve Bearden | Review Date: 5/25/2017 | Send Email
This is rich and ripe with smoky black cherry fruit, a touch of oak and slate like minerality on the long finish. The wine is very textural, warm and Burgundian in personality yet with clean and precise lines that are uniquely German. Highly recommended for any Pinot lover.
Price: $24.99 Add To Cart

2016 Puy-Blanquet, St-Emilion
By: Steve Bearden | Review Date: 5/25/2017 | Send Email
At the Moueix tasting April 6th this super affordable wine went up against the big guns from this portfolio and absolutely held its own. This is sweet, fruity and oh so smooth with raspberry and cherry flavor in spades. The dark and creamy middle has wonderful freshness and the finish has the perfect amount of grip. This is one of the great values of the appellation.
Price: $23.99 Add To Cart

2007 Bollinger "Grande Année" Brut Champagne
By: Scott Beckerley | Review Date: 5/25/2017 | Send Email
As they said on Monty Python, "and now for something completely different!" This latest release of Grande Annee is as different from the 2005 vintage as can be. Whereas the 2005 is "classic" Bollinger with loads of creaminess, well-rounded oak and toasty notes, the 2007 is restrained with crystal clear acidity. Although dosed higher at 7g/l (the 2005 is 6g/l) this release comes off brighter. The 2007 has a peach and stone fruit character and white floral nose. A long finish with lemon/lime notes and in the backgroun and, that Bollinger creme caramel. Bollinger has given us the best of two completely different styles with the 2005 and the 2007 siblings.
Price: $99.99 Add To Cart

2005 Bollinger "Grande Année" Brut Champagne
By: Gary Westby | Review Date: 5/25/2017 | Send Email
When does a vintage Champagne like this show at its best? Usually right after it sells out, and this is about to! The lush, rich, toasty, decadent 2005 Bollinger "Grande Année" Brut Champagne is one of our most delicious vintage bottles in the store for drinking now. It should also keep very well! The 2005 is almost all estate, and composed of 70% Pinot Noir (mostly Ay and Verzenay) and 30% Chardonnay (mostly Mesnil, Avize and Chouilly). Like all Bollinger vintage, treated to long ageing on the lees on a cork instead of a cap, so the cork that you pop before enjoying is the 2nd that has been in the bottle.
Drink from 2017 to 2017
Price: $99.99 Add To Cart
JS 94 WS 94

2013 Tenuta Roveglia "Vigne di Catullo" Lugana Riserva
By: Mike Parres | Review Date: 5/25/2017 | Send Email
Pure and fresh, this is a delicious dry white wine. Lugana is one of Italy's most popular white wines, probably because the good ones like this are so smooth, light, and easy to drink. This wine comes from the southern shores of Lake Garda. This is the perfect wine for your summer sipping and Sunday brunches.
Price: $17.99 Add To Cart
WE 94

2014 Domaine Damien Coquelet Chiroubles Vieilles Vignes
By: Ivan Diaz | Review Date: 5/25/2017 | Send Email
From higher elevation plots in Chiroubles experiencing lower temperatures than most of Beaujolais comes the 2014 "Vieilles Vignes" by Damien Coquelet. This particular placement and climate is perfectly suited here, as the wine, for all its complexity, maintains an air of lifted freshness from start to finish. This isn't to say it lacks complexity, however. Quite the opposite. Starting with fresh cherries and bright raspberries, the flavors give way to compelling terroir elements like loam, dusty black pepper, crushed flowers, baking spice, and subtle gaminess, all kept afloat by the high-toned acidity. This is about as good a Beaujolais as I've ever had and it's under $30. I would put this in competition with any Burgundy twice the price any day.
Price: $25.99 Add To Cart
VN 93

2015 Talley "Rincon Vineyard" Arroyo Grande Valley Chardonnay
By: Ivan Diaz | Review Date: 5/25/2017 | Send Email
The Rincon bottling (from vines planted in 1984) is a bright, refreshing style with an abundance of nuances that continue to unfold as the wine opens in the glass. Starting off with crunchy apple and bright lemon, it then reveals subtle notes of honey, almond, and hazelnut, along with a wave of of tropical pineapple and pear. Mineral notes of flint and stone make an appearance toward the back end, providing the finish with beautiful freshness, salinity, and an invitation for another sip.
Price: $42.99 Add To Cart

Spirit Works Distillery Sloe Gin (750ml)
By: Andrew Stevens | Review Date: 5/25/2017 | Send Email
I got very lucky and happened to pop into our RC store about 10 minutes before David was set to taste the full Spirit Works lineup. I had been curious about them when we used to carry them and so I jumped on the chance to taste with him. Let me tell you they are all good, however the Sloe Gin is more than good. They start by importing whole Sloe berries in as opposed to a compote or syrup, the result is a sweet flavor that still has tons of vibrant acidity and becomes part of the botanicals in the gin rather than masking them. I brought a bottle home last night and used the rep's idea about substituting it for Sweet Vermouth in a Boulevardier and let me tell you, yummy!
Price: $34.99 Add To Cart

2016 Tablas Creek "Patelin de Tablas" Paso Robles Rosé
By: Anthony Gittings | Review Date: 5/24/2017 | Send Email
The latest rosé offering from Tablas Creek is a blend of estate-grown Grenache, Mourvedre, Counoise and Syrah. The nose offers floral notes, nectarine and grapefruit. On the palate you can find yellow peach and raspberry nicely balanced with juicy acid, a lemon drop salty characteristic and wonderful minerality.
Price: $24.99 Add To Cart

2016 Stolpman "I Love You Bunches" Ballard Canyon Carbonic Sangiovese
By: Anthony Gittings | Review Date: 5/24/2017 | Send Email
This a carbonically fermented Sangiovese with the playful name of "Love You Bunches." Carbonic Fermentation (in short) is a process that ferments the majority of the juice within the grape's own skin--the bottom fruit is crushed by gravity and ferments naturally. The resulting product from this method is low-tannin, light, fruity wine. Love you Bunches is exactly that, a fun wine that offers loads of bright tart cherry acidity, a light but complex body and a long, fresh finish. Chilling it for 20-30 minutes creates the perfect aperitif on a hot day
Price: $19.99 Add To Cart

2016 Stolpman Ballard Canyon Grenache Rosé
By: Anthony Gittings | Review Date: 5/24/2017 | Send Email
This is all-estate grown rosé that is made from 100% Grenache. A fresh and elegant approach that is one of the best examples of rosé I have had in recent memory. Fresh watermelon, strawberries enliven the senses, while juicy acidity and a touch of slate give the wine a nice mouthfeel.
Price: $17.99 Add To Cart

2015 Tatomer "Meeresboden" Santa Barbara County Grüner Veltliner
By: Anthony Gittings | Review Date: 5/24/2017 | Send Email
Meerresboden translates to ocean soil, and the wine embodies it. The grapes are grown on ocean deposit soils which helps give the wine a beautiful minerality. In addition to fantastic soil, the juice was fermented in 80% steel and 20% Acacia barrels, adding just the right amount of texture and mouthfeel. The wine offers a fresh lemon tone with bright, juicy acidity and a long, salty and savory finish.
Price: $26.99 Add To Cart
VN 90

2015 Au Bon Climat/K&L Wine Merchants "Bien Nacido Vineyard" Santa Maria Valley Pinot Noir
By: Anthony Gittings | Review Date: 5/24/2017 | Send Email
This is a real team effort and a wonderful partnership between Au Bon Climat and K&L. Cherry and strawberry are pronounced on the palate, but the undertones of mushrooms, sage and baking spices really tells the story. The acid is racy and fresh and the finish is elegant and refined, everything that you would expect from Bien Nacido fruit.
Price: $29.99 Add To Cart

2014 Scar of the Sea "Block Q-Bien Nacido Vineyard" Santa Maria Valley Pinot Noir
By: Anthony Gittings | Review Date: 5/24/2017 | Send Email
The Block Q Pinot Noir from Scar of the Sea was one of my favorite wines that I tasted from our trip to the Central Coast. Made from the organically grown Pommard clones that were planted in the early seventies. The wine is full of dark cherry, velvety and powerful tannin, a touch of smoke and beautiful spicy wood.
Price: $59.99 Add To Cart
WE 94 VN 93

2011 Proprietà Sperino Lessona
By: John Downing | Review Date: 5/24/2017 | Send Email
The wines of Lessona normally express a more elegant and aromatic side of Nebbiolo yet possess the ability to age for decades in the best of vintages. 2011 was a departure from the norm as vegetation occurred far earlier than anticipated and the temperatures were unseasonably warm during the summer months. As a result, the Sperino Lessona is ripe and rich with slightly lower acidity than usual making it a bit atypical as it's approachable now. The fruit is flavor-packed and mouth-filling with nicely placed French oak that rounds it out. Although it's delicious now it will definitely cellar well.
Price: $69.99 Add To Cart
WE 96

2016 Croix de Beaucaillou, St-Julien
By: Steve Bearden | Review Date: 5/24/2017 | Send Email
This is thick, rich and creamy with fat and ripe berry fruit flavors and a mouth coating texture. The same tension and sense of elegance present in the first wine is on display here imparting a wonderful freshness and balance.

High West Bourye Bourbon/Rye Whiskey (750ml)
By: David Othenin-Girard | Review Date: 5/24/2017 | Send Email
The excellent Bourye is always a special treat. There are so few opportunities to taste old American whiskey at a reasonable price. The Bourye is always a reminder that High West is really an American blending house. Sure, they distill stuff, but what they're good at is figuring out the precise proportions to maximize the impact of each component of a blend. The new Bourye is no exception. The heady spice of old rye and the rich, woodsy sweetness of well-aged bourbons are mingled perfectly for one of the most obvious and delicious bottles on the shelf today. Has this wonderful old-style feel to it and represents quite a good value considering many aged-stated rye and many bourbons are asking upwards of $100.
Price: $69.99 Add To Cart
WE 96

2015 Noemia de Patagonia "A Lisa" Malbec Rio Negro
By: Alex Schroeder | Review Date: 5/24/2017 | Send Email
On the nose, dark cherries, blackberries, ripe strawberries, crushed gravel, cocoa and a hint of toast. On the palate, great balance between the rich fruit, plush, silky tannins and acid that provides lift and a crisp, long finish. This is a delicious Malbec that would raise any meal a culinary notch or three.
Price: $16.99 Add To Cart
RP 93 JS 92

2015 Domaine Renaud Mâcon-Charnay
By: Jim Barr | Review Date: 5/24/2017 | Send Email
We have directly imported this lovely single vineyard production from the Reanuds for over five years, and this effort is, without a doubt, their best Chardonnay production to date. A superb nose of tropical fruit, white peach, and jasmine-like fruit is enhanced by undertones of wet-river stone to slate-like minerality, all of which carries over to a rich, lush, elegant palate impression that shows excellent structure and broadness of flavor on through its mouthwatering finish. This Gem is a fabulous representation of what wonderful wines can come from this area. Many of my colleagues have called this an excellent "crossover wine for our customers," and I just maintained that it doesn’t matter; it is just a brilliant production of Chardonnay. The Bean has demanded that I bring home several cases of this Gem for our consumption over the next three to five years. A SUPER VALUE” >>>A K&L WINE MERCHANTS’ DIRECT IMPORT<<< ***** 13.0% ABV *****
Drink from 2017 to 2017
Price: $14.99 Add To Cart

2009 Franck Bonville "Millesime" Brut Blanc de Blancs Champagne (1.5L)
By: Diana Turk | Review Date: 5/24/2017 | Send Email
This is the dark horse in Bonville’s lineup: it’s sophisticated with a steely, chalky backbone, yet soft and accessible enough to for non-Champagne drinkers to appreciate. Yeasty with caramel notes right from the top, "Millesime" Brut showcases the house’s mineral-driven style, with the bonus drinkability of a rich, easygoing vintage. While the additional time on the lees really comes through (surprising even Bonville – this was accidentally left in the cellar an extra 2 years!), this still a bright Blanc de Blancs with tiny mousse, lemon and green apple fruit, and a clean yet lingering finish. I planned to be impressed with this practically priced offering (Grand Cru! Avize!), but this release, especially magical in magnum format, will elevate expectations of just how special your celebration can be.
Price: $84.99 Add To Cart

2011 Proprietà Sperino Lessona
By: Rachel Vogel | Review Date: 5/24/2017 | Send Email
Hailing from upper Piemonte near the Swiss border, the Sperino Lessona is filled with dense crushed cherry, bold baking spice and savory tobacco on the nose. The small addition of Vespolina helps build those bold aromatics. The wine is fermented with natural yeast and is kept on it's skins for just under three weeks giving it structure and depth. Some lees aging before bottling adds to the full-bodied texture of the wine. It is held to age in bottle for a few years before release to allow the structure of the wine to integrate. When I first opened the bottle the tannins were filled with baking spice and had almost a granulated texture, but when I tasted it a few hours later, the structure was focused and elongated. It is a beautiful wine filled with complex fruit and spice character that is completely delicious now, but could continue to age for the next 5+ years.
Price: $69.99 Add To Cart
WE 96

2015 Meyer-Näkel "Estate" Pinot Noir Ahr
By: Morgan Laurie | Review Date: 5/24/2017 | Send Email
This is one of the best Pinots I have tried in some time! Germany takes their Pinot Noir seriously and it shows in this incredibly delicious "Estate" Pinot Noir from Meyer-Nakel. The nose on this is so fragrant and inviting! Floral, cherry-scented goodness makes this a wine to savor. It will knock your socks off! It has a delicacy to it but enough grip to prove that it's serious. If you've never had a German Pinot Noir before, this is a must-try and a great introduction to just how lovely these wines can be.
Price: $29.99 Add To Cart

2011 Proprietà Sperino Lessona
By: Kirk Walker | Review Date: 5/24/2017 | Send Email
Lessona could be the Priorat of Italy. What does that mean? It was a historically significant region for Nebbiolo with dramatic isolated alpine terraced vineyards. It was almost lost to the pages of history after suffering Phylloxera, WW2, industrialization and urbanization. It was too expensive and difficult to maintain these great sites and they were all but abandoned. But not completely, thankfully. In the last decade we have been seeing more and more very good to great wines coming from this appellation. Sounds kind of like Priorat, right? And like Priorat these wines can challenge the great wines that are being produced elsewhere in Italy. I would gladly insert this wine in a tasting of Barolo and Barbaresco, and it would put quite a few of them to shame. This is a wine of complexity and structure. Notes of macerated red and dark fruits, with spice and balsam notes and floral element too. Fresh acidity and dusty earthy tannins drive this wine through its long finish. This is a compelling wine now but has tremendous cellaring potential.
Price: $69.99 Add To Cart
WE 96

2011 Proprietà Sperino Lessona
By: Alex Schroeder | Review Date: 5/24/2017 | Send Email
At its base, easily recognizable Nebbiolo traits like silky, savory dark fruit and grippy tannins are at the helm. The Vespolina blended in quickly makes itself known, however, adding expressive red-fruited acidity and minty herbal notes that make the Lessuna an immediate pleasure to enjoy and contemplate.
Price: $69.99 Add To Cart
WE 96

2014 Antinori "Pian delle Vigne Rosso di Montalcino
By: Greg St. Clair | Review Date: 5/24/2017 | Send Email
Antinori’s Pian delle Vigne estate is on the western edge of the Montalcino appellation west of the village of Camigliano. Pian delle Vigne’s location is in the warmer, drier, western portion of Montalcino the harvest is generally a couple weeks earlier than what it would be in Chianti Classico and all around Montalcino. In the wet, cool 2014 vintage it helped to be in a warmer drier location and the wine’s 100% Sangiovese shows a fleshier balance than many of the other 2014s. Aged in large oak casks the wine has complex character of plum, leather and spice, perfect for a plate of Pinci, the hand-rolled spaghetti-shaped pasta that you will undoubtedly have with a wild boar sauce when you are in Montalcino!
Drink from 2017 to 2017
Price: $27.99 Add To Cart

Rebel Yell "Reserve" Straight Kentucky Bourbon (750ml)
By: Andrew Stevens | Review Date: 5/24/2017 | Send Email
When Driscoll told me I would be meeting with a Luxco rep to taste through their line, he asked me if I was familiar with the Rebel Yell line. I laughed because I am not sure there is a sub-$25 bottle of bourbon out there I have not tried yet, still it is always fun to retaste something I have not had in a long time. I was super impressed: I mean, not only have they done a great job updating the packaging but what was inside was not what I remember. I had always liked Rebel Yell, and this time around I was more impressed with what I was tasting. Soft vanilla notes, with notes of caramel and baking spice are all well balanced and the finish was super smooth and surprisingly long, huzzah!
Price: $21.99 Add To Cart

2014 Stolpman "L'Avion" Estate Santa Ynez Valley Roussanne
By: Anthony Gittings | Review Date: 5/24/2017 | Send Email
This is such a fun and interesting wine. L'Avion is composed of 100% Roussanne and it is 100% spectacular. An elegant vanilla and brioche tone flows through the wine seamlessly from nose to finish. Golden raisin and pineapple are accentuated by elegant white flowers, a touch of green fig and delicate poached pear.

Del Maguey Minero Mezcal (750ml)
By: David Othenin-Girard | Review Date: 5/24/2017 | Send Email
Del Maguey single-handedly created the high-end mezcal category. And while their Chichicapa might be considered the flagship, it is their Minero that is the true star. Hand-milled agave cultivated at over 5,000 feet and roasted over mesquite, huamuchil, and eucalyptus wood is fermented in open wooden vats for up to 25 days. It's then distilled in traditional clay pots (the only standard release from Del Maguey using this type of still) to create one of the most viscous and powerfully rich mezcals available.
Price: $69.99 Add To Cart

2015 Maison Henri Boillot Bourgogne Blanc
By: Dulcinea Gonzalez | Review Date: 5/24/2017 | Send Email
Maison Henri Bouillot Bourgogne Blanc offers an amazingly fresh and surprisingly complex expression. Drinking well-above the price point, this wine has a super fragrant, pretty nose, and shows off plenty of layered fruit notes of lemon, pear and apple. With mouth-quenching acidity, this is my go-to white this summer. Super recommended!
Price: $24.99 Add To Cart

2016 Latour-Martillac Blanc, Pessac-Léognan
By: Ralph Sands | Review Date: 5/24/2017 | Send Email
Ch. Latour-Martillac ...Tasted twice and impressive both times. “Good, deep, broad, old vine fruit from front to back. Great texture, rounded tannins and long finish. The best wine I have ever had from L-M, surpasses the impressive 2000! 2 Stars! I really love it, and when you look at the prices of the finest wines from this area like Smith and Haut Bailly, this wine offers phenomenal value for the money!

2015 Rosi Schuster Rotberger (Zweigelt) Burgenland
By: Steve Bearden | Review Date: 5/24/2017 | Send Email
This is somewhat "meaty" and filled with sweet red fruits and ripe berries. Here is a dark and complex bottle that is easy to drink and super food friendly.
Price: $19.99 Add To Cart

2015 Noemia de Patagonia "A Lisa" Malbec Rio Negro
By: Joe Manekin | Review Date: 5/24/2017 | Send Email
When it comes to Malbec in the burgeoning Rio Negro region of Patagonia, Bodegas Noemia is the name to know. What you're getting here for well under $20 is a beautiful, supple Malbec, with dark and red fruits, well integrated oak, and a profile whose richness of fruit and fineness of tannins combine to make this seem considerably more expensive. Whether you are a fan of more elegantly styled Malbec such as Achaval Ferrer, or generally seek out value in red blends from California, this Patagonian Malbec should absolutely be on your radar.
Price: $16.99 Add To Cart
RP 93 JS 92

2015 Meinklang Zweigelt Burgenland (Biodynamic)
By: Steve Bearden | Review Date: 5/24/2017 | Send Email
This has a brambly character that reminds me of Carignane from the Southern Rhone. The middle is ripe, crunchy and filled with smoky granite laced red and blue fruit. There is tons of personality in this dark, snappy and crisp wine.
Price: $17.99 Add To Cart

2014 Stolpman "Originals" Ballard Canyon Syrah
By: Anthony Gittings | Review Date: 5/24/2017 | Send Email
Their 'Originals' Syrah is made from the oldest plantings they have and are also the oldest in the Ballard Canyon. Because of the age of the vines and use of dry farming, the yield is less than other blocks on the property. The small clusters of fruit they do produce are both rich and concentrated. They sort the fruit, using mostly whole clusters and ferment in cement, relying on the stem influence to add wood texture and tannin. The wine is elegant, powerful and focused allowing the limestone soil to fully show its influence on the vineyards. Blackberries and blueberries are in the fore front while undertones of pretty red flowers, smoke, and just the right amount of black pepper give the wine complexity and richness.

2013 Law Estate "Beyond Category" Paso Robles Red Blend
By: Anthony Gittings | Review Date: 5/24/2017 | Send Email
This is a special treat for anyone who loves California blends. Comprised of 50% Syrah, 20% Cabernet Sauvignon, 15 % Grenache and 15% Petite Sirah. The wine is a rich and powerful wine that is jam packed with dark cherries, cocoa, blackberries, and a perfect amount of smoke. Add a touch of licorice, soft integated wood firm acid and finish it off with a long opulent finish.
Price: $71.99 Add To Cart

2016 Puy-Blanquet, St-Emilion
By: Jason Marwedel | Review Date: 5/24/2017 | Send Email
My top Right Bank value in 2016 has to be Château Puy-Blanquet. I have always enjoyed this château's wines, but the 2016 is operating on a whole new level. Deep dark color with notes of cherry, vanilla, bay leaf and black olive fill the glass. The palate is decadent, sweet and round with supple tannins and mouth-watering acidity. This is by far the best Puy Blanquet I have ever tasted!
Price: $23.99 Add To Cart

2016 Duhart-Milon, Pauillac
By: Clyde Beffa Jr. | Review Date: 5/24/2017 | Send Email
67% Cabernet and 33% Merlot. One of the best tasting young Duharts in a long time. So aromatic and not green at all! Red rose perfume- sweet on the palate.

2016 Echo de Lynch-Bages, Pauillac
By: Clyde Beffa Jr. | Review Date: 5/24/2017 | Send Email
This could be a great value if priced correctly. Lots of upfront cassis fruit flavors.

2016 Lynch-Moussas, Pauillac
By: Clyde Beffa Jr. | Review Date: 5/24/2017 | Send Email
Chocolate aromas here mixed with black raspberry. Sweet and lovely. This will only get better.

2016 Talbot, St-Julien
By: Clyde Beffa Jr. | Review Date: 5/24/2017 | Send Email
Flashy, modern style here. Lots of black cherries and blackberries on the nose. Slightly oaky. A bit new wave.

2016 Gloria, St-Julien
By: Clyde Beffa Jr. | Review Date: 5/24/2017 | Send Email
Wonderful red berry aromas and flavor. Cabernet at 65% shines through here. Quite spicy on the palate. Should be a fine buy for mid term aging. Slight tannic finish, but good balance.

2016 Puygueraud, Côtes de Francs
By: Clyde Beffa Jr. | Review Date: 5/24/2017 | Send Email
Very spicy, oaky, flashy style. A bit modern I would say. Tastes good!

2015 Domaine Marcel Lapierre "Cuvée Camille" Morgon
By: Dulcinea Gonzalez | Review Date: 5/24/2017 | Send Email
Cuvee Camille is a real beauty! Here you have a Burgundian-esqe bottle of Morgon with complexity that comes in layers of concentrated ripe berry fruit and plum, with a streak of earthy funkiness, and clove spice. Firmly structured with fine tannins and zippy acidity, this is a wine that shows power and finesse and is one not to be missed from the 2015 vintage!

2015 Domaine Marcel Lapierre "Cuvée Lapierre MMXV" Morgon
By: Dulcinea Gonzalez | Review Date: 5/24/2017 | Send Email
Grown from 100+ year old vines, here you have a stellar and delicious expression from Morgon. Intensely perfumed with inviting aromas of berry fruit and orange spice, this wine shows amazing layers of luscious fruit reminiscent of pomegrante and fig. Coupled with serious structure and depth, this is a bottle built to hold, but will open up for the impatient drinker (like me) with a good hour decant. This is a splurgey Beaujolais worth the investment! Super recommended!
Price: $44.99 Add To Cart
VN 94

Mezcal Amarás Cupreata (750ml)
By: David Othenin-Girard | Review Date: 5/24/2017 | Send Email
The exceptional Cupreata from Amaras is a great example of why Oaxacan mezcal isn't the only game in town. These wild harvest Cupreata are extremely flavorful and the quality and complexity easily bests that off similarly priced Oaxacan stuff. Tasting this stuff transports me directly back to the Mexican Riviera where the gorgeous tropical mountains tour over the beach. You order lunch under the palapa and a shot of local mezcal. The perfect pair for the aguachiles de cameron that you just ordered. Bold vibrant and full of soul, this is what mezcal is ALL about.
Price: $54.99 Add To Cart

2015 Fattoria dei Barbi Rosso di Montalcino
By: Greg St. Clair | Review Date: 5/24/2017 | Send Email
One of Montalcino’s oldest wineries dating from the late 19th century is situated on the east side of Montalcino’s spine ridge not too far south from Biondi Santi. This is the first winery I ever visited in Montalcino way back in 1982 and their style is “classic” the nose is full of leather, earth, Tuscan brush and is slow to open. On the palate you sense a vibrant core of acidity and tannin that sets the tone for the wine, it is dynamic yet expanding. This is a wine to decant for 2-4 hours or to power decant it (pour back and forth between decanters multiple times), you don’t need to be gentle, the core of this wine begins to uncoil with air contact, or age, and if you drink half a bottle one night and go back the next you’ll be amazed at the growth. This is what all Brunello and Rosso used to taste like, a bit focused and tight that over time with air contact it then opens into a beautiful wine. On the palate the wine gives you real Sangiovese flavor, bright, wild cherry with a bit of earth and leather that has a bit of a gritty texture to remind you it’s a classic. The finish is tight, clean, focused and layered with earth, spice, leather and wild cherry, this wine needs a richer food so T-Bone… or American style lasagna would work as well.
Drink from 2017 to 2017
Price: $19.99 Add To Cart

2015 Talenti Rosso di Montalcino
By: Greg St. Clair | Review Date: 5/24/2017 | Send Email
The nose of this wine is so pure, so clean and so classically Sangiovese it thrills me. Talenti’s position on Montalcino’s western slope allows for a slightly riper profile but its elevation adds intrigue and focus. Lots of fresh plum, herb, and spice and glove leather flow from you glass in a gentle beckoning manner, never bold but always compelling. On the palate the supple, smoothness is the first thing you notice, the structure there is but it never protrudes as obvious, as the lithe wine glides across your palate it’s a more savory plum flavor that you notice, less fruity, more complex, more background earth and herb. The finish is long, balanced and seems to wander across the back of your tongue rather than forcefully play itself out. This wine will age well for the next 8-10 years; I like this wine with a slightly more delicate accompaniment, no wild boar for this, rabbit, or veal with some fresh pappardelle!
Drink from 2017 to 2017
Price: $19.99 Add To Cart

Elijah Craig "Small Batch" Kentucky Straight Bourbon Whiskey (750ml)
By: David Othenin-Girard | Review Date: 5/24/2017 | Send Email
Elijah Craig Small Batch remains one of the best values in the shop. 8 to 12 year old blend of bourbons distilled at the Bernheim Distillery in Louisville. Despite removing the age statement, Heaven Hill's flagship brand remains one of the best values in the store. This style is dark nutty, honeyed with and minty spice to round out the ultra rich texture. The higher proof does great things for this one and not a whole lot of stuff can touch this in the price point.
Price: $24.99 Add To Cart
WE 95 WA 91

Wild Turkey 101 Bourbon (750ml)
By: David Othenin-Girard | Review Date: 5/24/2017 | Send Email
This is benchmark whiskey. Jimmy Russell's personal favorite and still one of the staffs go to, the Wild Turkey 101 is great because it pulls no punches and makes no excuses. WT has consistently produced exceptional whiskey for over 60 years and what a lot of people assume to be a mass market brand, is actually qualitatively better than many of their competitors. They make old fashion whiskey in the most efficient way possible and Jimmy has made sure (over the course of many corporate take overs) that WT will NEVER compromise quality for profits. The 101 is for those who like to chew their whiskey. Big bold and spicy, it's relatively high rye content (13%) is noticeable, but not over the top. Textured, full of vanilla and sweet spice, the 101 remains one of Kentucky's great value bourbons.
Price: $20.99 Add To Cart

Page: 1 2 3 next >>