Staff Favorites

If you’re going to have Robert Parker or Stephen Tanzer over for dinner, selecting a wine they’ve rated highly will be a nice choice. However, when you’re buying wines for yourself, we’d love to see you find wines that match up your unique palate and pocketbook. We have a large staff of friendly and knowledgeable wine professionals that taste hundreds of wines each week. They can put you in touch with bottles that you are likely to love, often at a much lower cost than the highly-rated gems that often see a run-up in price and frequent availability issues. Like any great group of opinionated professionals, our staff has varied tastes themselves. Often our customers will find a particular staff member with a style that corresponds to their own. That concept works extremely well in our retail stores, and this section is our effort to bring you the same online. Don’t get us wrong, we love the highly rated wines from the press and will continue to offer them, but we think you’re missing out if you’re not augmenting those selections with picks from our excellent staff. Here are their favorites. (Click on a name to see their other selections - or to drop them a line.) Cheers!

Reviews

  
Page: 1 2 3 next >>
2014 Oakridge Estate "Willowlake Vineyard" Pinot Noir Yarra Valley
By: Jeff Garneau | Review Date: 7/29/2016 | Send Email
A terrific example of topnotch Aussie winemaking expertise inspired by French traditions. New World Pinot Noir in a Burgundian style. The 2014 Oakridge Estate Willowlake VIneyard Pinot Noir Yarra Valley offers crisp, slightly "crunchy" red fruits with notes both floral and spicy. Think Chambolle Musigny. Astonishing quality here at this price. "Bonjour, mate! Merci beaucoup!"
Price: $19.99 Add To Cart
JH 96

2014 Roquefort Blanc, Bordeaux
By: Jeff Garneau | Review Date: 7/29/2016 | Send Email
My personal favorite so far from this 2014 vintage and a perfect example of an entry level Bordeaux blanc. The most expensive dry white wines from Bordeaux are aged in oak barrels and are typically cellared for a decade or more prior to consumption. By contrast, the 2014 Chateau Roquefort Blanc is available for a mere $11.99, is aged entirely in stainless steel tanks, and is ready to drink right now. The wine is delightfully fresh and lively in character, quite crisp and dry but with remarkably generous fruit. A blend of 85% Sauvignon Blanc and 15% Semillon. Mostly citrus here with mouthwateringly fresh, white grapefruit notes and the barest hint of something a bit more exotic and tropical. If you are a fan of Sauvignon Blanc and have yet to discover the quality of the white wines of Bordeaux, this is the perfect wine with which to begin.
Price: $11.99 Add To Cart

Louis Brochet 1er Cru Extra Brut Champagne
By: Gary Westby | Review Date: 7/29/2016 | Send Email
Line up the oysters, order the sushi and put fire the scallops! This is our ultimate extra brut for matching with seafood. Many extra bruts are just plain mean spirited and screechy, but the Brochet is steely dry without going over the edge. At this price, I will always be able to have one in my fridge!
Price: $29.99 Add To Cart

2009 Louis Brochet "Millésimé" Brut Champagne
By: Gary Westby | Review Date: 7/29/2016 | Send Email
If you enjoyed the clean, ripe 1990 vintage in Champagne, 2009 is almost a repeat. This Pinot powered gem from the picturesque 1er cru of Ecueil has plenty of richness and concentration, as well as texture that only over six years on the lees will bring.
Drink from 2016 to 2016
Price: $34.99 Add To Cart

2008 Louis Brochet "Millésimé" Brut Champagne
By: Gary Westby | Review Date: 7/29/2016 | Send Email
This is stunning vintage Champagne from a great producer in Ecueil on the slopes of the little mountain of Reims. If you like Pinot Noir power and structure, along with the finesse of long lees ageing, this will make you very happy. I don't think I can say enough up about the greatness of the 2008 harvest; not only did it have the tremendous ripeness of a sunny year, but also near 1996 level acidity. It is the whole package! You can drink this now, or save it for a generation (do you have kids born in 2008?)- it will be great either way.
Drink from 2016 to 2016
Price: $34.99 Add To Cart

2015 Fromm "La Strada" Sauvignon Blanc Marlborough
By: Kirk Walker | Review Date: 7/29/2016 | Send Email
Another facet of New Zealand Sauvignon Blanc. This wine has subtle concentration and richness, minerality and great cut. It is not your typical lush, grassy Sauvy, in fact we sell Sancerres that can only dream of being this good!

2014 Oakridge Estate "Willowlake Vineyard" Chardonnay Yarra Valley
By: Kirk Walker | Review Date: 7/29/2016 | Send Email
This wine is "Burgundian" but that is such a loaded and sometimes misleading term. I would rather say we have Chardonnay wines in the store, made in Burgundy, that are "Yarra Vallian". Better yet they wish they were more like this wine! Focus, purity, subtle richness, complexity and length you typically have to spend $40 or more to get a Burgundy that delivers all that wine wine does.
Price: $19.99 Add To Cart
JH 97

2012 Seresin "Rachel" Pinot Noir Marlborough (Biodynamic)
By: Ryan Woodhouse | Review Date: 7/29/2016 | Send Email
Very impressive Pinot from Seresin. This is serious, deep, structured Pinot made to age and develop in bottle. Tasting great right now but has a long life ahead still. From select parcels of fruit in all three of Seresin's estate vineyards but mostly from Raupo Creek vineyard in the southern valleys. Lots of saturated dark fruit, earth, truffle and leaf litter. Powerful but not in a brawny or over-extracted way. Certainly not a fruit bomb style, just one of depth, layers and concentration. A really engaging, complex bottle of Pinot.
Drink from 2016 to 2016

2014 Momo (Seresin) Sauvignon Blanc Marlborough
By: Ryan Woodhouse | Review Date: 7/29/2016 | Send Email
This has long been one of my go-to Marlborough Sauvs. Seresin are certified organic and biodynamic and have a fantastic estate bridging the Renwick and Southern Valleys subregions of Marlborough. This wine incorporates a dash of barrel fermented Semillon to add texture and intrigue. The entire wine is very naturally made with wild yeast ferments and minimal intervention. The best thing is that this vintage the price has actually decreased allowing us to sell this little beauty under $20! It's now ever easier to recommend to anyone.
Top Value!
Price: $14.99 Add To Cart
BC 92

2015 Kalinda "Reserve" Sonoma County Chardonnay
By: Dave Genevro | Review Date: 7/28/2016 | Send Email
This might just be my favorite Kalinda label Chardonnay to date. The oak is very balanced and integrated, which adds great character to the wine. The fruit has a real lovely fleshy character, purity and good weight while the long, but not over-done richness sails along the palate. Also, the acids are quite focused and lively. I would love to see this wine again in two years time to see how it has evolved. A great job by whoever made this Chardonnay bottling for us all to enjoy!
Top Value!
Price: $18.99 Add To Cart

2014 Chappellet "Signature" Napa Valley Cabernet Sauvignon
By: Gary Norton | Review Date: 7/28/2016 | Send Email
Wow. The 2014 Chappellet Signature is strikingly approachable right now. Showing notes of dark berry fruit, bramble, red licorice, parsley leaf and mocha. Most releases from Chappellet (especially their flagship cab blend) need a year or two to settle in but this young wine is fresh, vibrant and drinking very well already. I have a strong feeling that this offering from Chappellet is going to garner high praises from the critics so it may be advisable to stock up now while they're still available.
Price: $59.99 Add To Cart

2014 Domaine Marc Colin Chassagne-Montrachet "Les Encégnières"
By: David Driscoll | Review Date: 7/28/2016 | Send Email
This is one of the best white wines in the store currently, just a beautiful chardonnay from front to back. There's a piercing note of pure acidity on the entry and that gives way to a lithe mouthful of soft fruit and clean minerality. It's been a while since I could say we had a handful of superb white Burgundies in between $30 and $60. Marc Colin is definitely the best thing to hit our Burgundy department in the last few years. Watch out, however, because the staff is likely to buy most of this.

2014 Domaine Marc Colin "Les Charmois" St. Aubin 1er Cru
By: David Driscoll | Review Date: 7/28/2016 | Send Email
Almost every buyer at K&L has been throwing their hat into the Burgundy ring over the last few years, hoping to find something new from France, mainly because it's what many of us enjoy drinking personally. I went over a few times during my whisky trips to see if I could find a few leads, but facts are facts: Burgundy is made in small amounts and it's coveted all over the world. Thank goodness Trey and Alex put together a game plan on their recent trip to bring us these amazing Marc Colin wines. The Charmois is pure elegance on the palate, fresh with acidity and long with grace. There are subtle mineral notes on the finish. All of Colin's whites are worth getting excited about. Real value-oriented Burgundy is back at K&L.
Price: $34.99 Add To Cart
BH 91 RP 90

2012 Oakridge Estate "Whitsend Vineyard" Cabernet Sauvignon Yarra Valley
By: Joe Manekin | Review Date: 7/28/2016 | Send Email
GREAT CAB. This satisfying Cabernet is for: -People who like Ridge or Mount Eden Cab -Those who enjoy Cabernet with fresh fruit and a balanced hit of leafy or green notes in the background -Anyone who is seeking out top quality stuff for under $20! This is easily one of my favorite and more noteworthy Cabs I've tasted this year.
Price: $19.99 Add To Cart
JH 96

2013 Clos des Fous "Cauquenina" Maule Valley
By: Ryan Woodhouse | Review Date: 7/28/2016 | Send Email
Very complex wine. I like this wines unabashed opulent nose with lashings of dark fruit, sweet spices, warm earth and graphite. The palate is saturated and intense but with nice line a length. The structural component balances the richness of fruit perfectly. I think the age of the vines comes into play here; old vines can typically produce these types of concentrated fruit flavors whilst still maintaining balanced acids bringing lift and freshness to the wines. For the depth, power and balance the Cauquenina displays this is a great value.
Top Value!
Price: $19.99 Add To Cart
JS 94 RP 93

2014 Chappellet "Signature" Napa Valley Cabernet Sauvignon
By: Ryan Moses | Review Date: 7/28/2016 | Send Email
The main story here is that this is a great vintage of Chappellet Signature. Ask the professionals (especially Galloni and Parker) and the amateurs alike and this is the first name that you'll usually hear for a wine that can rival some of the Napa Cabernet colllectibles and cults but still rewards the price point. This vintage is a bit cooler and more accessible than the 2013 to date. The flavors are a bit primary (it is a 2014 after all) but the texture, structure, and depth all play up to a seriously impressive Cabernet that showcase the caliber and class of this label. It will compete with some of their best vintages but perhaps will find its drinking window a bit sooner. It's hard to follow in the footsteps of their monumental 2013, but this one fits the bill and won't have trouble finding the same kind of acclaim and adoration in 2014.
Price: $59.99 Add To Cart

2014 Chappellet "Signature" Napa Valley Cabernet Sauvignon
By: James Bradshaw | Review Date: 7/28/2016 | Send Email
Wow! Don't know that I've ever had a wine that carried such a strong note of baking chocolate - in a super good way. Behind the chocolate are plenty of ripe, fleshy flavors of boysenberry, plum, and loads of cassis. The tannins even at this young age are soft and supple making for a very smooth approach and finish. The longevity in this wine will most certainly come from its solid core of acidity. It is amazingly lively and youthful and will likely remain that way for many years to come. This is an amazing value in Napa Cab you won't want to miss.
Price: $59.99 Add To Cart

2014 Domaine de Bila Haut "Les Vignes de Bila Haut" Côtes du Roussillon Villages
By: Keith Mabry | Review Date: 7/27/2016 | Send Email
Lafage, Cabirau and Chapoutier’s Domaine Bila Haut. What do these wineries share in common? All three have offered some of the greatest wine values we've seen in the last two years and all three projects are located in Roussillon. The whole Roussillon has drawn winemakers from all over the world because they recognize the potential of the region. There is great soil diversity, warm consistent weather with low disease pressure and ingenuity. And that brings us to Chapoutier. Truly one of the greats of the Rhone Valley, Michel ventured to the Roussillon in search of new opportunities, looking to expand his portfolio of already great wines. A master of Syrah (he started in the northern Rhone, the home base of the world's best Syrahs) and determined that Roussillon is a most suitable place for growing this noble grape. Grenache and Carignan are the kings here but Syrah's contribution is strong in the Chapoutier wines and adds beautiful depth to their character. The "Les Vignes" is everything an entry level wine from Roussillon should be. It possesses flavors of roasted cherries and strawberry confiture, followed by aromas of lilacs and jasmine with a light musky meaty tone. This is all wrapped up in a silky, seamless package. The "Les Vignes" is a whole lot of wine for a very fair price. You would be hard pressed to find a better value from anywhere in the world.
Price: $10.99 Add To Cart
RP 90 WS 90

2014 Patz & Hall "Dutton Ranch" Russian River Valley Chardonnay
By: Mellyn Craig | Review Date: 7/27/2016 | Send Email
Patz & Hall does it again! The 2014 Dutton Ranch Chardonnay finds that beautiful balance of richness, structure and freshness. The nose is nutty and rich with honey and white flowers. On the palate, the zippy acidity freshens up the rich characteristics and is complimented with stone fruits and creamy citrus. All this wrapped up with a great price bow on top! This wins is delicious now and definitely has the acidity that will help this Chardonnay cellar well.
Price: $37.99 Add To Cart
WE 95 RP 93

2014 Oakridge Estate "Willowlake Vineyard" Pinot Noir Yarra Valley
By: Dave Genevro | Review Date: 7/27/2016 | Send Email
So delicious! Red fruits, vibrant nose, balanced, layered, with some great rustic/forest notes. These Pinot Noirs always seem to display great varietal characters, purity and focus. This single vineyard bottling from legendary David Bicknell in the Yarra Valley, is as good as it gets at this price...enjoy, I sure will!
Top Value!
Price: $19.99 Add To Cart
JH 96

2014 Oakridge Estate "Willowlake Vineyard" Chardonnay Yarra Valley
By: Dave Genevro | Review Date: 7/27/2016 | Send Email
This single block wine is oaked, with very neutral wood. This gives this cooler climate Chardonnay more texture, richness and brings out some great vanilla notes I love in his wines. The wines are balanced, vivacious, lively and not buttery...as they do not go through any malolactic fermentation. A great style of Chardonnay for all wine drinkers to experience.
Top Value!
Price: $19.99 Add To Cart
JH 97

2014 Frankland Estate "Isolation Ridge" Riesling Frankland River Western Australia
By: Dave Genevro | Review Date: 7/27/2016 | Send Email
The nose is filled with stones and slate. Lively acids, and very solid length down the palate. Quite focused.

2015 Guillaume Clusel "Traboules" Coteaux du Lyonnais
By: Alex Schroeder | Review Date: 7/27/2016 | Send Email
This 100% Gamay from The Coteaux du Lyonnais is a recent project of Guillaume Clusel, whose family has been producing wine in Cote Rotie since the 1950s. It comes from on-average 30-year-old vines that lie between the Rhone Valley to the South and the famed Beaujolais region to the north. The fruit is opulent and rich, creating a dense purple robe with a bright pink outline. On the nose, cranberry and lavender perfume. On the palate, dense Gamay fruitiness--cherry and cranberry--with a solid tannic structure that quickly slides into a smooth raspberry acid finish. A very fun, unique and delicious regional wine! ​
Price: $15.99 Add To Cart
VN 90 - 91

Fallet-Dart Grand Reserve Brut Champagne
By: Alex Schroeder | Review Date: 7/27/2016 | Send Email
70% Pinot Meunier, 30% Pinot Noir. I had this recently to celebrate a good friend’s birthday and we were all stunned by its goodness! It had wonderful fresh pear and apple fruit notes, a broad presence on the palate, and a crisp finish that left a nice yeastiness lingering for over a minute! If you’re on the grower-producer train, this is an essential!
Price: $29.99 Add To Cart

2014 Domaine de Bila Haut "Les Vignes de Bila Haut" Côtes du Roussillon Villages
By: John Majeski | Review Date: 7/27/2016 | Send Email
As an unapologetic political animal, I actually sat through several hours of the 2016 Republican National Convention recently, and following that 'ultimate endurance test', believe me, I was ready for some red meat! But what to drink? Luckily we just received the new vintage of this robust red blend from the raw heart of Roussillon, and it didn't disappoint, delivering a full, mouthwatering array of blackcurrant, cherries, wild herbs, violets and smoke on the palate. Remarkably concentrated and rich for a wine of such modest price, it should, excuse the expression, 'trump' most reds in that category. Fortunately, there's plenty to go around for the DNC as well.....
Price: $10.99 Add To Cart
RP 90 WS 90

2014 Chappellet "Mountain Cuvée" Napa Valley Bordeaux Blend
By: Bryan Brick | Review Date: 7/27/2016 | Send Email
Very few Domestic Cabernets have outperformed the Chappellet Signature bottling over the last few years. Both the 2012 and 2013 were gigantic hits with both our customers and staff selling out quickly and having both asking for more. So when the 2014 was released a few days back we rushed at the opportunity to try the wine and get it out in front of you before everyone catches on to just how good this wine is again.
From 2014, the third in a series of tremendous and plentiful vintages in Napa, this deeply set, richly hued Cabernet Sauvignon is packed with character and youthful exuberance. Pastilles, spiced plum, figgy pudding, lavender fields and a sweet hued black currant fruit pack the overt nose. Shockingly seamless for a wine of this ilk and age this has a long and wide palate of blackberry cobbler, cocoa nibs, cured black olives, white pepper, sweet black tea and nicely positioned tannins towards the back of the mid-palate. I loved the tension here between the sizeable grip and the mass of sweet, exotic fruit that dries the wine forward. There are going to be a lot of $60 Cabs that can’t hold a candle to this released over the next few months, probably with plenty of high scores. We’d recommend grabbing one of the best why you can before the press, or the groundswell of interest catches up with it.
Price: $32.99 Add To Cart

2009 Poujeaux, Moulis
By: Steve Bearden | Review Date: 7/27/2016 | Send Email
Blackberry, raspberry and warm fig ooze from this seamlessly textured, gentle and rich wine. This is plump and soft with no edges showing and no tannin peeking through the pillows of ripe, decadent fruit. Will age gracefully but this is delicious now.

2014 Domaine Marc Colin "Les Charmois" St. Aubin 1er Cru
By: Steve Bearden | Review Date: 7/27/2016 | Send Email
This is finer, longer and has a more pronounced mineral strike than the "La Chateniere" bottling, but what it gives up in richness and weight it more than makes up for in intensity and complexity. This has the stature and elegance of a much more expensive bottle from a more prestigious appellation.
Price: $34.99 Add To Cart
BH 91 RP 90

2014 Domaine Marc Colin St-Aubin 1er Cru "La Chateniere"
By: Steve Bearden | Review Date: 7/27/2016 | Send Email
Here is a great bargain in ready to drink white Burgundy from an appellation known to over deliver. This starts out toasty with hints of talc and wet stones before the sweetness of the ripe yellow fruit take over in the plush middle. There is depth, balance and a long mineral finish to this very drinkable bottle.
Price: $39.99 Add To Cart
BH 92 RP 91

2014 Patz & Hall "Dutton Ranch" Russian River Valley Chardonnay
By: Ralph Sands | Review Date: 7/27/2016 | Send Email
Great Chardonnay from a great source! This is not a big, fat, buttery and clumsy wine. This wine has beautiful fresh Chardonnay aromas; precise and perfectly ripe fruit, without a trace of over ripeness. A shining wine in perfect balance. The nose says California but the brightness, freshness and dry finish remind me of fine Puligny Montrachet. A lovely combination and top quality California Chardonnay for more than fair price. Bravo!
Price: $37.99 Add To Cart
WE 95 RP 93

2014 Patz & Hall "Dutton Ranch" Russian River Valley Chardonnay
By: Jordan Stone | Review Date: 7/27/2016 | Send Email
This is a fascinating and complex Chard from Patz & Hall. The 2014 Dutton Ranch has a lite mouth feel but is rich in flavors . Bright citrus , Saffron , Nutty flavors , And nice integrated oak. This is very uplifting California chardonnay. This will be a K&L Favorite for sure! Stock up for the remaining warm weather months. Cheers!
Price: $37.99 Add To Cart
WE 95 RP 93

2014 Patz & Hall "Dutton Ranch" Russian River Valley Chardonnay
By: Sal Rodriguez | Review Date: 7/27/2016 | Send Email
A lovely Chardonnay with a bright, pretty, zesty nose. Hints of pear, honeysuckle, and orange blossom waft from the glass. There's a nice mid-palate weight that's not too heavy. A delicious, richer style that offers perfect acidity, and a high-toned herbal finish. This will hang with the "big boys" of California Chardonnay, but without the "big boy" price.
Price: $37.99 Add To Cart
WE 95 RP 93

2015 Rogers and Rufus Grenache Rosé Barossa (Dry)
By: Ryan Woodhouse | Review Date: 7/27/2016 | Send Email
Inspired by the great Grenache-based rosés of southern France, the Rogers & Rufus takes the fruit purity and mineral intensity these old vines give and sharpens it into a wonderfully precise and dry rosé. One of the more complex rosé wines I have tasted from the 2015 vintage. Exceptional value.
Price: Hidden View Price

2015 S.C. Pannell "Arido" Rosé Adelaide Hills
By: Gary Westby | Review Date: 7/27/2016 | Send Email
After 20 years in the wine business, I should learn not to be so prejudiced, but there is something about New World rosé that almost always leaves me cold. This Arido from Pannell broke that prejudice, and I have to wonder if it is the magic of the Meunier in the blend that won me over. After tasting it yesterday, I am bringing home a bottle tonight to go with my salad composé! This has both solid strawberry fruit and bright refreshment going for it. It is all mine for a price that makes it competitive with my beloved provençal pink!
Price: $14.99 Add To Cart
JH 93

2014 S.C. Pannell "Old McDonald Vineyard" Grenache McLaren Vale South Australia
By: Adam Winkel | Review Date: 7/27/2016 | Send Email
The incredible purity and intensity of this wine is what sets it very much apart from so many ho-hum, excuse-me examples of Grenache. The nose shows pure wild strawberry and brambly raspberry, a kiss of new leather wraps around the fruit. Following is a palate filled with perfectly ripened fruit, crystal clear raspberries, garnet colored cherries, with length and drive that gives the wine a very serious tone you would expect from 75 year old vines.
Price: $34.99 Add To Cart
JH 96 JS 96

2014 Patz & Hall "Dutton Ranch" Russian River Valley Chardonnay
By: Alex Pross | Review Date: 7/27/2016 | Send Email
Fans of Kistler, Aubert and Paul Hobbs Chardonnays except for the pricing can instead opt for the 2014 Patz & Hall "Dutton Ranch" Russian River Valley Chardonnay. Beautifully balanced with intoxicating aromas of orange blossom, iodine and cream with a rich palate of lemon crème, tropical fruits and rich oak accents. A big, rich Chardonnay that also has great acidity and balance. This is a quintessential California Chardonnay.
Drink from 2016 to 2016
Price: $37.99 Add To Cart
WE 95 RP 93

2014 Crystallum "Peter Max" Pinot Noir Hemel-en-Aarde Walker Bay
By: Ryan Woodhouse | Review Date: 7/27/2016 | Send Email
This wine shows South Africa’s potential with this varietal. Dusty raspberries and pomegranate fruit; a deliciously savory wine with wild herbs and smoky meaty nuances; some sweeter berries emerge with air. Very elegant with defined acidity begging for food. Seriously classy Pinot Noir with lovely balance and texture.
Price: $19.99 Add To Cart
ST 91

2014 Crystallum "The Agnes" Chardonnay Hemel-en-Aarde / Overberg
By: Ryan Woodhouse | Review Date: 7/27/2016 | Send Email
A flinty, saline, yellow stonefruit-dominated wine with plenty of wet stone minerals and subtle almond skin nuttiness. Lovely textural weight on the palate but without being saturated with oak or drowned in butter. This has beautifully judged restraint and delicacy in a world of over-the-top Chards. A true pleasure to drink and a screaming value.
Price: $19.99 Add To Cart
ST 90

2014 Crystallum "Mabalel Vineyard" Pinot Noir Hemel-en-Aarde Walker Bay
By: Ryan Woodhouse | Review Date: 7/27/2016 | Send Email
From a truly special single vineyard site that produces refined Pinot Noir with ultra-fine texture and truly delectable flavors. There is nothing in-your-face about this wine—it’s light in color and body but has show-stopping “Pinosity.” Mabalel is delicately fragranced with rose petals, Asian spice, musk and pristine, small red fruits. Silk-like texture, very light extraction but plenty of flavor intensity. It dances on the palate—an ultimately seductive Pinot Noir.
Price: $39.99 Add To Cart
RP 91

2012 L'Evangile, Pomerol
By: Ralph Sands | Review Date: 7/27/2016 | Send Email
This is one of the greatest wines of the vintage! The rich, black fruit is sexy, polished and persistent; like a Ferrari. L'Evangile is just a fabulous-tasting wine in any vintage, and this tastes like a great one. 93% Merlot and 7% Cabernet Franc.

2014 Neyers "Left Bank Red" Napa Valley Red Blend
By: John Downing | Review Date: 7/27/2016 | Send Email
Neyers has really knocked it out of the park with the release of this outstanding red. It is without doubt one of the best Napa blends I've tasted in this price range for some time. "Left Bank" is lush and dense with loads of mouth-coating black currant fruit, fine ripe tannins and an overall complexity that satisfies from start to finish. Take this one to the next dinner party and pick up a couple of bottles for yourself as well.
Price: $29.99 Add To Cart

2011 Bava "Pianoalto" Barbera d'Asti Nizza Superiore
By: John Downing | Review Date: 7/27/2016 | Send Email
Although I generally prefer Barbera aged in steel tanks or used wood barrels or casks, Roberto Bava convinced me otherwise during our recent visit to his estate in Piemonte. He was kind enough to open a bottle of Pianalto 1998 and we did a double-take. It's still fruit-rich with vibrant acidity and deftly integrated oak from new barrels used in the aging process. We not only had a snapshot of just how good this latest Pianalto will age but also how fantastic it is today after re-tasting it. World class Barbera.
Price: $24.99 Add To Cart

2014 Frankland Estate "Isolation Ridge" Riesling Frankland River Western Australia
By: Ryan Woodhouse | Review Date: 7/27/2016 | Send Email
A perennial benchmark Aussie dry Riesling. As the critics' huge scores suggest this is one of Australia's most revered white wines. It represents a family's absolute dedication to viticulture and winemaking. This bright, zesty, mineral rich Riesling is pure liquid rock. Selected from one certified organic block of old vines growing in ironstone gravel soils. It spends 6 months on fine lees building texture and more savory complexity. The acidity is laser focused drawing out the wines phenomenally long finish. An absolute joy with shellfish. Enjoy now or cellar for decades.
Top Value!

2015 Domaine de Bila Haut "Les Vignes de Bila Haut" Pays d'Oc Rosé
By: Keith Mabry | Review Date: 7/26/2016 | Send Email
The Bila Haut rose is that everyday classic porch pounder of a wine you crave when you get home from work. Pristine clarity of fruit with notes of strawberry and lemon zest. A finish that that has that hint of wet stones. Bright acidity but soft enough on the palate it goes down without a care in the world. For under $10, how can you go wrong?
Price: $9.99 Add To Cart

2014 Domaine de Bila Haut "Les Vignes de Bila Haut" Côtes du Roussillon Villages
By: Daniel Maas | Review Date: 7/26/2016 | Send Email
Take a good look at this wine's label. Go ahead; I'll wait. Lean in nice and close, and focus your pupils on the white paper. Now, run your fingers over the surface. What's that, you wonder? Little bumps? It then hits you. BRAILLE! Now, you must be wondering why they would include such a feature. Well, dear readers, to find out, simply pop that cork and the answer will be obvious. Simply put, one sip of this blend (Grenache, Syrah, and Carignan), and you'll feel your eyes swell up with SO MUCH PLEASURE, that they will indeed eventually cease to function.What then are you to do? Luckily, the gang at Chapoutier have got you covered. Always will you be able to identify the bottle that you continually crave; The wine that boasts luscious layers of berry fruit, black pepper, and lively floral aromatics. Yes, the labeling of this wine does indeed represent much fore-thought, as it takes a true artisan to predict the dangerous pleasure that this bottle delivers year after year!
Price: $10.99 Add To Cart
RP 90 WS 90

2011 Le Tertre du Bosquet Sauternes
By: Steve Bearden | Review Date: 7/26/2016 | Send Email
This is light to medium weight with a fresh, clean personality and a very mineral finish with a touch of bitter grapefruit pith. I taste tangerine, honey, soft peach, saffron, spice and hints of tarragon.. This is not particularly fat or tropical but is a very sweet and refreshing drink at a bargain price.
Price: $19.99 Add To Cart

2012 Hess Collection "19 Block Mountain Cuvée" Mount Veeder Red Blend
By: Steve Bearden | Review Date: 7/26/2016 | Send Email
This interesting blend starts out with notes of effusive mixed berries, cherry liqueur and unsweetened dark chocolate. The opulent middle of spiced blackberry fruit has enough tension to hold the ripeness in check and allow some pleasingly tangy mountain elements to peak through. Overall, a rich, plush and satisfying bottle.
Price: $26.99 Add To Cart
RP 93 JS 90

2015 Guillaume Clusel "Traboules" Coteaux du Lyonnais
By: John Downing | Review Date: 7/26/2016 | Send Email
This wine really took me by surprise. After having sampled a disappointing string of wines one afternoon, my colleague urged my to try this one. What a terrific Gamay! This is the kind of sub $20 red that I hope to come across in a bistro or café but rarely do. One that exceeds its price with delicious berry and blue fruit and a real sense of place. It's a versatile red that will pair with a wide range of foods (and maybe even seafood). Whether you're looking for a great table red or don't feel like springing for a Cru Beaujolais, try this one.
Price: $15.99 Add To Cart
VN 90 - 91

2013 Clos des Fous "Cauquenina" Maule Valley
By: Heather Vander Wall | Review Date: 7/26/2016 | Send Email
​The 2013 Clos des Fous Cauquenina is a deep-hued wine, with plenty of expression and depth. Conceived as a classic "field blend", this old vine cuvee yet betrays the hand of a master. With the number of varietals going into this blend, it would be easy to achieve a muddled, indistinct wine, but here you find the character and style of each contributing to the whole. True to the region, the wine exhibits wild aromas, dark fruit, and earthy undertones. The structure is sound, though the fruit is exuberant, creating a wildly expressive wine with definite terroir and lasting intensity.
Price: $19.99 Add To Cart
JS 94 RP 93

2013 Einaudi "Vigna Tecc" Dogliani (Dolcetto)
By: John Downing | Review Date: 7/26/2016 | Send Email
Dogliani is a geographic region to the South of the Barolo zone that is planted almost exclusively to Dolcetto. It's here that this grape varietal reaches a level of concentration and complexity that many consider to be Dolcetto at its finest. The Einaudi estate is one of the top producers in Dogliani their latest wines have just arrived. Vigna Tecc is produced from their best vines and the 2013 is both fragrant and flavorful offering waves of blue and berry fruit along with ripe tannins and a hint of almond on the finish. Although it's wonderful to drink now, don't hesitate to cellar it for a couple of years. Especially good with meats, pastas, pizza and stews.
Price: $22.99 Add To Cart

Page: 1 2 3 next >>