Staff Favorites

If you’re going to have Robert Parker or Stephen Tanzer over for dinner, selecting a wine they’ve rated highly will be a nice choice. However, when you’re buying wines for yourself, we’d love to see you find wines that match up your unique palate and pocketbook. We have a large staff of friendly and knowledgeable wine professionals that taste hundreds of wines each week. They can put you in touch with bottles that you are likely to love, often at a much lower cost than the highly-rated gems that often see a run-up in price and frequent availability issues. Like any great group of opinionated professionals, our staff has varied tastes themselves. Often our customers will find a particular staff member with a style that corresponds to their own. That concept works extremely well in our retail stores, and this section is our effort to bring you the same online. Don’t get us wrong, we love the highly rated wines from the press and will continue to offer them, but we think you’re missing out if you’re not augmenting those selections with picks from our excellent staff. Here are their favorites. (Click on a name to see their other selections - or to drop them a line.) Cheers!

Reviews

  
Page: 1 2 3 next >>
2015 Mas Karolina Côtes Catalanes
By: Keith Mabry | Review Date: 7/26/2017 | Send Email
The 2015 vintage is pure and deep, landing some of the highest critical praise to date. Caroline’s wine is a blend of Grenache and Carignan and shows the vintage’s hallmark qualities by delivering a deep, satisfying richness with flavors of raspberry coulis, dark chocolate and exotic spices. The wine is saturated and long on the palate.
Price: $12.99 Add To Cart

2014 Château Saint Jacques d'Albas "Le Chateau d'Albas" Minervois
By: Keith Mabry | Review Date: 7/26/2017 | Send Email
The d'Albas team led by Graham Nutter has been doing some terrific things with this beautiful estate in Minervois. Nutter retired from the finance grind in London and fled to the small hamlet of Laure-Minervois. Of course he is a dedicated worker and upon finding this estate began his second career restoring the property and renovating the winery and castle. Some replanting took place, organic farming became the mainstay and Syrah (one of Graham's favorite grapes) took the lead position. The "Chateau" bottling is the winery's namesake wine representing the quality of the Minervois appellation. The wine has a gorgeous nose of potpourri, dried tobacco and black cherries. It is saturated and mouthfilling but never heavy or clumsy. Great acid structure and balance, it finishes long giving you the sense that you are drinking a wine valued at twice the price. The "Chateau" wine is one of my favorite Rhone-styled values at the moment representing the synergy that Grenache and Syrah can have when handled with a deft and dedicated hand.
Price: $13.99 Add To Cart
DC 90

2015 Moulin de la Gardette "Tradition" Gigondas
By: Keith Mabry | Review Date: 7/26/2017 | Send Email
I've had the chance to taste and/or drink this wine several times over the last few months and each time it has never failed to please and excite. First, during our Rhone trip, Alex Pross and I visited Gardette’s proprietor, Jean-Baptiste Meunier and in eager anticipation, tasted the wine both knowing afterwards this was going to be a huge success. Second, JB came to visit our LA store where we did an in-store tasting and consumer dinner afterwards. Consistently throughout the evening, every patron asked two questions - can I have some more wine to drink, please and when does the shipment get here? Finally, I tasted it this week with the LA staff, who flipped over it, and I finally have an answer for the previous questions. It's here and you can have as much as you want! At least for now... The 2015 Rhone vintage continues to excite and delight. The wines have a beautiful purity of fruit and concentration but lack the heaviness and headiness of the 2007 vintage. There is just so much fresh brambly fruit that I personally can't get enough. The Gardette is a benchmark producer for me and its appellation of Gigondas. It has the ripe fleshy black fruit, the savory white pepper and Asian spiced palate plus it finishes with the toasty garrigue notes so classic to the region. On every level, this wine is a success. It's one of the reasons Jean-Baptiste has become such a good friend to our stores and a great partner to work with. The wines always hits home runs regardless of vintage but in a vintage like 2015, it's a Grand Slam!
Price: $24.99 Add To Cart
RP 90 - 92

Wyoming Whiskey "Private Stock" K&L Exclusive Barrel Strength Single Barrel Straight Bourbon Whiskey (750ml)
By: Illya Haase | Review Date: 7/26/2017 | Send Email
Wyoming Whiskey? I have to admit that I am a tough sell, being from the land of Bluegrass and Bourbon! Still, the K&L barrel is something to behold, with its deep amber coloring, slightly softer nose, and the beauty of the winter wheat showing through. Also, baking spices of cinnamon and allspice await you in the glass. Don't let the nose fool you. On the palate it has a kick like a wild mustang. Big and rich with just the right burn to keep you coming back for more, highlighted by citrus peel and honeysuckle on this super long finish. I tip my hat to you, Wyoming. Mighty fine whiskey y'all got there.
Price: $54.99 Add To Cart

1995 Fettercairn 21 Year Old "Old Particular" K&L Exclusive Single Barrel Cask Strength Single Malt Whisky (750ml)
By: Andrew Stevens | Review Date: 7/26/2017 | Send Email
Here is another fantastic bottle to add to the "summer Scotch" collection that we are all building (I am not the only one, right?) Fettercairn is a beautifully balanced, delightfully delicate, and lingeringly long whisky full of light fruits, with vanilla, citrus, hay, and a perfect amount of spice to bring everything to a close. At 21 years this bottle has the right amount of age to soften the cask strength and keep this Scotch oh so sippable and smooth.
Price: $79.99 Add To Cart

2015 Domaine Renaud Mâcon-Villages
By: Andrew Stevens | Review Date: 7/26/2017 | Send Email
The Renaud wines continue to be among my favorite white burgundies. This is because every year they seem to over deliver considering their price point. The 2015 Macon Villages has all the elements I like a good white burgundy wine, fresh ripe orchard fruit, with plenty of minerality and driving acid. The richness of the vintage is really shown off here, however the ripeness is held in balance and matched against the freshness of the acid. Just a delightful bottle of wine that tastes a lot more serious than one would think.
Price: $13.99 Add To Cart

2014 Melville "Estate" Sta. Rita Hills Pinot Noir
By: Christina Stanley | Review Date: 7/25/2017 | Send Email
The Melville Estate is dedicated to the cultivation and sustainability of their cool climate vineyards, which are planted in several blocks on sandy soils. All sixteen clones of Pinot Noir planted at the estate are included in this wine, which creates exceptional complexity. There is 40 percent whole cluster in the fermentation, and as a result, the wine exhibits some Old World charm, with a slightly gamey and smoky undertone. What I really appreciated most about this wine was the way it opened up, like a fine Burgundy, over the course of the evening. With aromas of dried rose petal and cinnamon, and intriguing flavors of blood orange, cinnamon and ripe Bing cherry, this wine is a gem.
Price: $29.99 Add To Cart

2010 Contino Reserva Rioja
By: Joe Bruno | Review Date: 7/25/2017 | Send Email
The 2010 vintage was widely celebrated growing season in Rioja, and the respective Contino Reserva was a great example of this. A blend of predominantly Tempranillo (85%), with a splash of Graciano (10%), and the remainder being Mazuelo and Garnacha. Classic nose of dark cherry, stewed cranberries, and plum. Some prunes as well. A juiciness on the palate, with flavors of ripe red fruit, cherry in particular. Secondary notes of old leather accompanied by a dusty minerality. This wine would be a fantastic choice with food items that have a slight gaminess to them, such as rabbit, wild boar, or morcilla (Spanish blood sausage).

2009 Léoville-Barton, St-Julien
By: Joe Manekin | Review Date: 7/25/2017 | Send Email
A textbook Leoville-Barton, the fantastic '09 opens with pure crushed currant aromas and a lovely, leafy undercurrent of Cabernet complexity--just a beautiful nose. Black fruits on the palate are supported by elegant tannins. While the wine is still in its youth, the fruit expression and overall balance suggest a long life ahead.

2015 No Curfew California Chardonnay
By: Christina Stanley | Review Date: 7/25/2017 | Send Email
The 2015 No Curfew Chardonnay is a perfect wine for those who crave a dry, full-bodied Chardonnay with an abundance of tropical and citrus fruit on the palate, and a kiss of butter. This wine is clean and refreshing, with stony minerality. The No Curfew Chardonnay is undoubtedly one of the best values in California, and competes with wines three times the price!
Price: $11.99 Add To Cart

2013 Zaca Mesa Santa Ynez Valley "Z Cuvee" Red
By: Stephanie Vidales | Review Date: 7/25/2017 | Send Email
Lovers of California Rhone blends: meet your new go-to cuvee from Zaca Mesa! This Southern Rhone-inspired blend from Santa Ynez Valley is absolutely delicious and you won't have to break the bank with our price. Zaca Mesa was the first Santa Barbara County winery to plant Syrah so they have plenty of experience with Rhone varieties in the area. The nose is expressive and complex with dark berries and rose petal while savory elements and spice are shown on the palate.
Price: Hidden View Price
WE 91

2016 Innocent Bystander Pinot Noir Yarra Valley Victoria
By: Stefanie Juelsgaard | Review Date: 7/25/2017 | Send Email
A fantastic everyday Pinot Noir with juicy acidity and great length to back up the fruit. Not overly ripe or soft, this is a fun wine I think would work for any type of Pinot lover. It's a definite crowd-pleaser with approachable flavors and a medium-weight body. Easy to love and a great price for the value you get.
Price: $14.99 Add To Cart
JH 93 WS 90

2015 Von Hovel Riesling Kabinett Mosel (Saar)
By: Stefanie Juelsgaard | Review Date: 7/25/2017 | Send Email
This Riesling is absolutely phenomenal for the price and something I would be happy to drink any night of the week for any occasion. It is simply delicious with a touch of sweetness and lots of fruit to showcase. It still has that great Mosel minerality and acidity to keep it bright and lifted and well balanced. This is great representation of a Riesling from the Mosel and one I would highly recommend to any wine lover.
Top Value!
Price: $16.99 Add To Cart
RP 91

2011 Porta del Vento Perricone MaQue' IGT Sicily
By: John Downing | Review Date: 7/25/2017 | Send Email
Porta del Vento is located at 2,000 feet above Palermo near Camporeale. Here the hillsides are steep and subjected to high winds, extreme temperature shifts and difficult terrain. Owner and winemaker Marco Sferlazzo farms biodynamically and is one of the few to work with the rare red varietal known as Perricone. His is one of the finest made and boasts complex aromas of plum, blue fruits, violets, herbs and minerals. Additionally it's structured yet balanced with a medium-bodied palate of dried blue fruits, fine tannins, juicy acidity and low alcohol as well. This is a rare wine that Italophiles will especially enjoy.
Price: $24.99 Add To Cart

2010 Poggio dell'Otto Brunello di Montalcino Riserva
By: Rachel Vogel | Review Date: 7/25/2017 | Send Email
As the incomparable 2010 Brunellos swiftly left the store, knowing that the 2010 Reserves would eventually take its place was comfort for all. Now that the Poggio Dell Otto is in stock, we have one of the best values of the vintage! Right after opening the wine has fresh and bold acidity mixed with savory earthiness and great spice. The structure starts a little closed, but after being open an hour or so, the wine begins to spread it's wings. It's tight structure makes way for a balanced and savory backbone, the acidity mellows and integrates with deep fruit flavors of red cherry and savory dried plums. It is long and lean on the palate. Excellent to continue to age or a great food pairing!
Price: $27.99 Add To Cart

1995 Fettercairn 21 Year Old "Old Particular" K&L Exclusive Single Barrel Cask Strength Single Malt Whisky (750ml)
By: David Driscoll | Review Date: 7/25/2017 | Send Email
For those who remember the old Gordon & MacPhail bottling of Glenlivet 21 (the one with the old-timey label), this Fettercairn is a dead ringer for that whisky, just at at full proof and for a much better price. I adored that malt when we had it because it was such a throwback, both the bottle and the whisky itself. It was a no-frills Highland expression with pure flavors of barley, vanilla, fruit and biscuit. The Fettercairn has all of that, but with more body and a longer finish from the higher ABV. This whisky isn't going to change your life, but it's going to taste damn good on a later summer's evening when you've finished a long day of laying around the house. Again, our Brexit pricing continues to dominate the market. Few whiskies can match this quality at this price.
Price: $79.99 Add To Cart

2015 Von Hovel Scharzhofberger Riesling Kabinett Mosel (Saar)
By: Stefanie Juelsgaard | Review Date: 7/25/2017 | Send Email
A single vineyard offering from Von Hovel, this is a very different example than their Kabinett Saar Riesling, which is shocking given it's the same producer and region. This bottling showcases fascinating minerality and drive, but is beautifully balanced by the sweetness of fruit. If you were looking for a fruity, simple Riesling, this is not the bottle for you. This has great backbone and complex, lasting flavors. A very cool find and something I would be happy to share with anyone curious to branch out in Riesling.
Top Value!
Price: $21.99 Add To Cart
RP 93 VN 91

2013 Zaca Mesa Santa Ynez Valley "Z Cuvee" Red
By: Christina Stanley | Review Date: 7/25/2017 | Send Email
Planted on soil made up of diatomaceous shale and clay, the Grenache, Cinsault and Mourvèdre grapes of Z Cuvée reflect their Pacific terroir, imparting richness and minerality to the blend. The name Zaca Mesa comes from the terraced coastal vineyards in the Santa Ynez Valley that create this wine, which are elevated high above sea level between 1,300 and 1,500 feet. Dry, with peppery white and black pepper aromas, the Z Cuvée has a bright thread of acidity and fairly firm tannins. This wine is a wonderful value at $12.99, coming from appellation and vineyard specific sites.
Price: Hidden View Price
WE 91

A.D. Coutelas "Cuvée Louis Victor" Brut Champagne
By: Shaun Green | Review Date: 7/25/2017 | Send Email
Here's a very unique, complex and rich Champagne that any Champagne lover needs to try. Powerful with rich hazelnut, exotic fruits and spice box notes, lovely citrus peel and a layer of beautiful sweet chalky minerality. The long ageing in a solera style adds to the unusual complexity and intrigue of this Champagne. All this at an unbelievable price for the quality.
Top Value!
Price: $39.99 Add To Cart
WE 90

2015 Cloudline Willamette Valley Pinot Noir
By: Stephanie Vidales | Review Date: 7/25/2017 | Send Email
I'm a big fan of the Roserock Vineyard Pinots created by Domaine Drouhin of Oregon so I was pleased to see this second label release which includes fruit from that vineyard. Cloudline gives you access to high-quality fruit at an approachable price point. The mouthfeel of this fruit-forward Pinot is silky and elegant with flavors and aromas of pomegranate, cherry cola, baking spices and violets.
Price: $17.99 Add To Cart
JS 92

2014 Man O' War Bordeaux Blend Waiheke Island
By: Stefanie Juelsgaard | Review Date: 7/25/2017 | Send Email
It's awesome to see a wine from Waiheke Island stateside, especially at this price as they are often much higher, simply due to the cost of getting them over here. This is a smooth, soft, deep-fruited red blend that would pair greatly with a steak dinner. I love that it has some soft tannin and juicy acidity to give it structure and brightness, but overall it's silky and perfect for different kinds of red lovers.
Price: $14.99 Add To Cart
BC 95

2015 Mas de Sainte Croix "Passion d'Une Terre" Côtes-du-Rhône Villages Valreas
By: John Downing | Review Date: 7/24/2017 | Send Email
Since I'm a Rhone wine fan, I'm always on the lookout for new arrivals in our French section. Recently, I picked up a bottle of this latest arrival and opened it with dinner. Needless to say I was very impressed. For me it's somewhat of an atypical Cotes du Rhone in that it combines 25% Mourvedre with 75% Grenache without the addition of Syrah. The nose is a heady combination of dark berry and plum fruit with hints of licorice and mineral while the palate is full-flavored and concentrated with fruit that is certainly ripe yet maintains its freshness. As much as I love California Rhone blends, I'd have to spend far more to find one of this caliber.
Price: $12.99 Add To Cart
RP 90 - 92

2016 Gianni Doglia Moscato d'Asti
By: John Downing | Review Date: 7/24/2017 | Send Email
While so many of the Moscato d'Astis in our market are made commercially in large quantites, the same cannot be said of this one. It's really quite special and, in our opinion, among the best made. Gianni and Paola Doglia own a small property near Castignole Lanze, Asti that producers a mere 3500 cases per year. Their Moscato offers an impressive aromatic array of white peach, melon, orange and honey as well as a zesty and refreshing palate of creamy goodness. It's pleasantly sweet yet very fresh making it especially good at the end of a meal or on a hot afternoon.
Price: $14.99 Add To Cart

2014 Badala Etna Rosso
By: John Downing | Review Date: 7/24/2017 | Send Email
Until this vintage, the wines of Badala were sold only in Italy. Their tiny estate is located just shy of 2000 feet on Sicily's Mt Etna and farmed 100% biodynamically. Although elegant, this intriguing red also offers a deceptive layer of grippy tannins embedded within its rich black fruited palate. It certainly adds another dimension to our Etna Rosso selections and is one that we highly recommend.
Price: $29.99 Add To Cart

2016 Sergio Arcuri "Marinetto" Ciro Rosato Calabria
By: John Downing | Review Date: 7/24/2017 | Send Email
This really took us by surprise. Maybe it's that since most of the great rose wines we're familiar with hail from Spain, France or California, we don't have the same expectation when it comes to Italy. Regardless, this impressive gem from Calabria delivers earthy bright red fruit aromas and flavors along with juicy acidity and fine tannins that make this ideal with meats and heartier fare. "Marinetto" is made from 100% Gaglioppo and certainly brings intriguing character of Calabria to the table.
Price: $19.99 Add To Cart

2015 Sarno 1860 Fiano di Avellino
By: John Downing | Review Date: 7/24/2017 | Send Email
Fiano is one of the noble white grapes of Southern Italy and Sarno is without doubt one the finest producers of it. Theirs combines richness and structure and the 2015 vintage takes the aromatics and palate to another level. Subtle scents of beeswax, pear and citrus precede a round and seamless palate with a core of vibrant acidity and a chalky mineral finish. This sensational white will age gracefully and will develop more complex notes of honey and hazelnuts as it matures.
Price: $25.99 Add To Cart

2015 Contino Blanco Rioja
By: Joe Bruno | Review Date: 7/24/2017 | Send Email
This white Rioja from Contino surprises. A blend of predominantly Viura (80%), along with a touch of Garnacha Blanca (15%) and Malvasia (5%). A fresh, bright nose with aromas of yellow stone fruit, citrus zest, and lemon curd. A noted toasty bouquet as well, adding another layer of richness and complexity. Mouthwatering acidity on the palate, with distinct mineral qualities. Ripe fruit comes through; quite well-balanced. Reminiscent of a white Burgundy, but more fresh and bright in overall expression
Price: $39.99 Add To Cart

2010 Contino Reserva Rioja
By: Joe Manekin | Review Date: 7/24/2017 | Send Email
One of my all time favorite Rioja estates, Contino Reserva is always delicious: a lovely balance of ripe, forward, rich fruit, baking spices, savory tones and bright acidity. As wonderfully consistent as Contino is, it really excels in certain vintages - typically cooler years and vintages where acidities and tannins tend to be a bit higher than normal. Due to their protected, slightly warmer site, it is these vintages where Contino often produces something truly special, and 2010 is the most recent example. Aromatically a rich confit of cherries and plums, along with baking spices, leads to a palate that in short order delivers waves of rich, intense fruit, followed by the balancing acidity which refreshes and should allow for long ageing in bottle. Perhaps there is no Rioja that will appeal to as wide a range of wine drinkers as Contino. For the price, this may be the best Spanish wines I've tasted this year.

2004 Haut-Bergey, Pessac-Léognan
By: Morgan Laurie | Review Date: 7/24/2017 | Send Email
The 2004 Haut Bergey is another great example of beautiful, well made Bordeaux at an exceptional price point. The wine opens up with some air and reveals ripe blackberry, tobacco leaf, cedar and sour cherries with a touch of smoke. It's velvety and balanced, perfect for a burger at home.
Price: $24.99 Add To Cart
RP 90

Stolen Rum "Overproof" 6 Year Old Pot Still Jamaican Rum (375ml)
By: Anthony Russo | Review Date: 7/24/2017 | Send Email
Very unique and the KEY ingredient to the best tropical drink! These folks manipulate the pH (completely naturally) in order to give the spirit its striking acidity, which, when combined with the high proof, give off tropical fruit phenols, just like a pineapple!
Price: $18.99 Add To Cart

Mezcalosfera de Mezcaloteca "Espadin/Mango & Habanero" Mezcal (750ml)
By: Anthony Russo | Review Date: 7/24/2017 | Send Email
I am very lucky to have tasted this spirit as only 287 bottles were produced (for the entire world), and K & L got a handful. The flavors are all natural, infused, and the juice is then distilled a 3rd time. Super smooth, delicate flavors, and light/sweet smoke on the nose leading into the typical firewood in the palate. Awesome.
Price: $159.99 Add To Cart

Hochstadter's Family Reserve 16 Year Old Cask Strength Straight Rye Whiskey (750ml)
By: Anthony Russo | Review Date: 7/24/2017 | Send Email
A ton going on in this old bottling, making every penny spent on it very worthwhile. Dark, deep, and full of spice, this rye tastes like a kitchen in action.
Price: $189.99 Add To Cart

Wyoming Whiskey "Private Stock" K&L Exclusive Barrel Strength Single Barrel Straight Bourbon Whiskey (750ml)
By: Anthony Russo | Review Date: 7/24/2017 | Send Email
Going bonkers over this wheated whiskey... Wanna support small, local, hand crafted operations? Here's your chance. These guys built an old school distillery, similar to the old Maker's, where they strictly use local grain for a recipe similar to some of the most sought-after brands. This juice is 6+ years old, the oldest they've ever bottled, and it's only for K & L.
Price: $54.99 Add To Cart

2014 Laventura Viura Rioja
By: Ryan Moses | Review Date: 7/24/2017 | Send Email
Perhaps one of the best kept secrets in the store for white wine. The textural refinement combined with refreshing, vibrant fruit and acidity make for a complete and delicious wine that stands out at nearly every tasting we've had. And not just telling the folks next to me that I enjoyed it, but folks from all three stores rallying to this wine because they had the same enthusiastic "we need to get the word out" type reaction. Every bit as good as the instantly sold-out 2013 vintage, but more attractively priced. This is a must-try wine for any palate.
Price: $16.99 Add To Cart
RP 90

2007 Suduiraut, Sauternes
By: Clyde Beffa Jr. | Review Date: 7/24/2017 | Send Email
A perfect 5 for value here. We sold it for over $60 and found a small parcel at a great price. A cellar selection from the Wine Enthusiest and 97 points. So lush and peachy. Will age for many more years.
Drink from 2017 to 2017

2007 Coutet, Sauternes
By: Clyde Beffa Jr. | Review Date: 7/24/2017 | Send Email
Great vintage-great property, great price! The aromas are intensely sweet, full of orange marmalade and honey. The palate goes more for spice, with oranges and brown sugar allied to fresh fruits, apricots and lychees. We sold this wine for over $50 previously-enjoy the bargain.
Drink from 2017 to 2017

1988 Climens, Barsac
By: Clyde Beffa Jr. | Review Date: 7/24/2017 | Send Email
To me one of the greatest Climens I have ever tasted. Perfect balance and rich lingering finish. As Neil Martin so aptly says: "The palate is wonderfully poised, pure and precise; more citrus than previous bottles with a good level of botrytis, building nicely towards the focused mellifluous, peachy finish that suggests this Climens has a long future ahead." The acid balance of 1988 Sauternes is the key part of the wines.
Drink from 2017 to 2017

2007 Malescot-St-Exupéry, Margaux
By: Clyde Beffa Jr. | Review Date: 7/24/2017 | Send Email
We loved 1987 and 1997 vintage Bordeaux-restaurant vintages with low scores and low prices combined with great taste. 2007 is 1997 on steroids. This wine is medium-bodied, with delicious fruit, soft, velvety tannins and a medium finish. Very balanced and nicely textured. Enjoy the of the vintage and the richness that jean Luc Zuger extracts from this beauty.
Drink from 2017 to 2017

2006 Malescot-St-Exupéry, Margaux
By: Clyde Beffa Jr. | Review Date: 7/24/2017 | Send Email
One of the best efforts from the 2006 Bordeaux vintage. Jean Luc Zuger has been bringing Malescot to the forefront of the Bordeaux scene for the last 20 years. Dark ruby/purple, medium to full-bodied, with superb concentration and moderate tannin, this is a beauty of finesse and substance that should be at its best between 2017 and 2024.
Drink from 2017 to 2017

2004 Malescot-St-Exupéry, Margaux
By: Clyde Beffa Jr. | Review Date: 7/24/2017 | Send Email
One of our favorite margaux wines. Jean Luc Zuger is fashioning some of the best values in all of Bordeaux. Do not miss his 2015 and 2016 vintages. 2004 was a classic Bordeaux vintage-we love the wines as they are always well-priced between the famous 2003 and 2005 vintages. Our good friend James Suckling scores it 92. "This is rich and decadent with truffles and blackberries on the nose that follow through to a full body, with ultra-fine tannins and a polished, pretty finish." I am a 93 on it.
Drink from 2017 to 2017

1999 La Gaffeliere, St-Emilion
By: Clyde Beffa Jr. | Review Date: 7/24/2017 | Send Email
One of the better value properties in St-Emilion. Fruity and forward, this wine begs to be drunk with a nice piece of prime rib. I will never forget the mindblowing 1970 vintage from them. (Clyde Beffa Jr., K&L) This wine is at about its peak for drinking. No hard edges just lots of plummy, black fruit flavors.
Drink from 2017 to 2017
Price: $69.99 Add To Cart

2007 Haut-Bailly, Pessac-Léognan
By: Clyde Beffa Jr. | Review Date: 7/24/2017 | Send Email
K&L's notes in 2008 - Good entry...sweet middle. Aristocratic. Very good. At the UGC the wine was full and ripe. Big wine on palate and sweet mid-palate impression. Tannic finish. At the property the wine exhibited a deep purplish color and fine red berry aromas and flavor. On the bigger side. 50 hectoliters per hectare here which is normal. 70% cabernet and 26% merlot with the rest cab franc. This wine could be the best value in older Haut Bailly wines-one of our favorites in Bordeaux.
Drink from 2017 to 2017

2000 Chasse-Spleen, Moulis
By: Clyde Beffa Jr. | Review Date: 7/24/2017 | Send Email
I will never forget my dinner in April of 1991 at Chasse Spleen with Bernadotte Villars. Unfortunately she died the following year on a hiking trip. Under any new classification, Chasse Spleen should certainly be a classed growth. Today it is among the leaders of the crus bourgeois. The 2000 is opulent, generous, stylish. Several raters scored it 91-i am a 92 on it.
Drink from 2017 to 2017

2009 Verdignan, Haut-Médoc
By: Clyde Beffa Jr. | Review Date: 7/24/2017 | Send Email
This baby will cellar well til the '30s. The ripe,forward fruit of the 2009 vintage mixes well with the hardness of the wines from Verdignan. Plenty of sweet blackberry aromas and flavors. Situated near Pauillac, these vineyards are planted to 60% Cabernet Sauvignon, 35% Merlot, and 5% Cab Franc. On the stone lintel of the door's oldest vat of Verdignan there is ingraved a date: 1720! The 2009 is a great bargain from Bordeaux.
Drink from 2017 to 2017
Price: $19.99 Add To Cart
WS 89

2015 Cloudline Willamette Valley Pinot Noir
By: Christina Stanley | Review Date: 7/23/2017 | Send Email
Hailing from the famous Roserock Vineyard owned by Domaine Drouhin, this Pinot Noir is both elegant and expressive. Winemaker Véronique Boss-Drouhin continues her family's long tradition of crafting the finest Pinot Noir through Cloudline, the Drouhin's second label. At this price point, you just can't get a better Pinot. Clean aromas of dried peony and violet jump from the glass in a spicy potpourri. Flavors of tart raspberry and cherry evolve on the light bodied palate, underpinned by volcanic minerality, due to the ancient volcanic soils that drive RoseRock's unique terroir.
Price: $17.99 Add To Cart
JS 92

2007 Langoa-Barton, St-Julien
By: Joe Manekin | Review Date: 7/23/2017 | Send Email
Many 2007 Bordeaux's are in a sweet spot right now, beginning to deliver all the elegance, flavor development and balance one would expect in maturing Bordeaux. Langoa is one of our favorites and this 2007 is spot on: savory, rich cherry fruits and a suggestion of braised meat on the nose lead to a palate of red fruit and appealing earthiness. A well put together and complete, utterly delicious Langoa.
Price: $54.99 Add To Cart
WE 91

2012 Reserve de Léoville-Barton, St-Julien
By: Joe Manekin | Review Date: 7/23/2017 | Send Email
This is yet another 2012 that is drinking beautifully now. The red fruits of the vintage seem to dominate over the more typical dark fruits of Leoville Barton's first wine. With sweet earthy and spicy notes on the nose as well, this is a delicous example of the vintage and of the inherent value in picking a well made second wine from a prestigious property such as Leoville Barton (always one of our favorites).
Price: $31.99 Add To Cart
JS 90

2015 Domaine Bart "Hervelets" Fixin 1er Cru
By: Alex Pross | Review Date: 7/23/2017 | Send Email
*Barrel Notes* All the Domaine Bart wines were tasted on our annual buy trip from barrel in March 2017. One of my favorite vineyard sites in all of Fixin the "Hervelets" is always a source of top-notch wines. The 2015 vintage has given them the ideal raw material to make a stunning wine. Loaded with energetic red fruits, mineral notes and zesty tannins this beautiful wine is a bit restrained now but will open up marvelously to reveal a beautiful butterfly.
Price: $44.99 Add To Cart

2015 Domaine Bart "Les Saint Jacques" Marsannay Rouge
By: Alex Pross | Review Date: 7/23/2017 | Send Email
*Barrel Notes* All the Domaine Bart wines were tasted on our annual buy trip from barrel in March 2017. Bright and zesty, this bright and refreshing offering is clearly open and ready for business.
Top Value!
Price: $24.99 Add To Cart

2015 Domaine Bart Fixin
By: Alex Pross | Review Date: 7/23/2017 | Send Email
*Barrel Notes* All the Domaine Bart wines were tasted on our annual buy trip from barrel in March 2017. Nice earthy feel from the first sniff and taste. Notes of menthol, spice and red fruits spring from the glass. This wine has all the size and structure one would expect from the 2015 vintage and is quite a steal at $32.99.
Top Value!
Price: $32.99 Add To Cart

Page: 1 2 3 next >>