Staff Favorites

If you’re going to have Robert Parker or Stephen Tanzer over for dinner, selecting a wine they’ve rated highly will be a nice choice. However, when you’re buying wines for yourself, we’d love to see you find wines that match up your unique palate and pocketbook. We have a large staff of friendly and knowledgeable wine professionals that taste hundreds of wines each week. They can put you in touch with bottles that you are likely to love, often at a much lower cost than the highly-rated gems that often see a run-up in price and frequent availability issues. Like any great group of opinionated professionals, our staff has varied tastes themselves. Often our customers will find a particular staff member with a style that corresponds to their own. That concept works extremely well in our retail stores, and this section is our effort to bring you the same online. Don’t get us wrong, we love the highly rated wines from the press and will continue to offer them, but we think you’re missing out if you’re not augmenting those selections with picks from our excellent staff. Here are their favorites. (Click on a name to see their other selections - or to drop them a line.) Cheers!

Reviews

  
Page: 1 2 3 next >>
Le Brun de Neuville "Authentique Assemblage" Brut Champagne
By: Alex Schroeder | Review Date: 3/1/2017 | Send Email
In a direct import program that boasts hundreds of stunning grower-producer Champagnes at incredible values, the “Authentic Assemblage” from Le Brun de Neuville belongs near the top of the list not just in terms of value for the price but in overall quality. It boasts a rich, decadent style that comes from aging on its lees for five years under cork instead of bottle cap, a practice still used by only a tiny percentage of producers in Champagne. This allows for micro-oxygenation, which gives the wine a rich, rounded texture that perfectly balances out the crisp chalky minerals and the rich flavors of nectarine, honeysuckle, brioche and clove. The fact that it is available under $35 is a Champagne miracle.
Price: $34.99 Add To Cart
WE 90 WS 90

2006 Pol Roger "Extra Cuvee de Reserve" Brut Champagne Magnum (1.5L)
By: Gary Westby | Review Date: 2/28/2017 | Send Email
It is no surprise that at 10 years old, many of the 2006 Champagnes are really starting to show well. The best I tasted at this year’s staff summit was the 2006 Pol Roger "Extra Cuvée de Réserve" Brut. This is one of the most masculine, vinous, broad and powerful Champagnes of the day. It is composed of about 60% Pinot Noir to 40% Chardonnay, but that Pinot is powerful Mountain of Reims Grand and 1er cru stuff… And it shows! I loved the big, hazelnut and black cherry savor in this rich, yet very dry Champagne. This will be a top recommendation for anyone married in 2006 or with a child born in this year, because while it drinks well now, it will be great for a long, long time.

Le Brun de Neuville "Authentique Assemblage" Brut Champagne
By: Diana Turk | Review Date: 2/28/2017 | Send Email
Bright but also mushroomy, earthy and slightly oxidative thanks to aging five years on the cork – an intensive process normally reserved for Tête de Cuvées of big houses (Bollinger Grande Année comes to mind) – this is an incredible value that encompasses (seemingly) conflicting qualities, all in the same glass. Creamy but lively with elegant acid, rounded yet crisp fruit, plus chalky undertones and a subtle nuttiness, the “Authentique Assemblage” nevertheless drinks cleanly through to the finish. This multifaceted Direct Import is a high-quality Champagne from a talented winemaker: Le Brun de Neuville was one of the biggest hits at our Los Angeles Champagne Tent Event, and after taking home a bottle, it’s easy to see why.
Price: $34.99 Add To Cart
WE 90 WS 90

2013 Lincourt "Steel" Sta. Rita Hills Chardonnay
By: Mari Keilman | Review Date: 2/28/2017 | Send Email
This Chardonnay is a no-brainer! The Lincort no-oak Chard is clean and refreshing with aromatics of yellow fruit, white nectarine and melon. Throw in a surprisingly medium bodied palate and a zippy tart finish and you have the perfect spring soiree wine!
Price: Hidden View Price

2015 Kistler Sonoma Mountain Chardonnay
By: Mari Keilman | Review Date: 2/28/2017 | Send Email
The 2015 Kistler Sonoma Mountain Chardonnay is everything you could want in a classic Cali Chard. Intense tropical and citrus notes along with a judicious amount of carmalized toast and brioche are matched on the palate with a full body, glycerol creaminess. And just when you think this wine is about to go over the top, the bright, zippy acidity from the Sonoma Mountain AVA keeps it in check and creates a complete and balanced crowd pleaser Chardonnay.
Price: $64.99 Add To Cart

2014 Valravn "Old Vine" Sonoma County Zinfandel
By: Jeff Garneau | Review Date: 2/28/2017 | Send Email
I recall a winemaker once explaining how difficult Zinfandel could be to grow since the grape clusters tend to ripen unevenly, with some grapes still mostly green while others had started to raisin. I have always thought that the best California Zins seem to capture the essence of this phenomenon, being both tart and richly sweet all at once. The new 2014 Valravn Old Vine Sonoma County Zinfandel hits all the marks with lively acidity and rich, sweet dark fruit. Superb varietal typicity here and an absolutely delicious bottle of wine.
Price: $19.99 Add To Cart

2014 The Calling Russian River Valley Pinot Noir
By: Jeff Garneau | Review Date: 2/28/2017 | Send Email
A forward, fruit-driven effort that will please those California Pinot Noir drinkers who are always looking for a little more in their wines. Generous and lush in style yet retaining good varietal character.
Price: Hidden View Price
WE 91

2014 Artezin "Old Vine" Mendocino County Zinfandel
By: Gary Norton | Review Date: 2/28/2017 | Send Email
Old Vine Mendo Zin? Count me in, especially at less than fifteen bucks. These are spicy and forward, boasting notes of white pepper, dark fruit preserve, cocoa and a touch of grip on the back end. Very complex wine for the money.
Price: $12.99 Add To Cart
WE 92 VN 91

2013 Lincourt "Steel" Sta. Rita Hills Chardonnay
By: Gary Norton | Review Date: 2/28/2017 | Send Email
This wine is reminiscent of the success we enjoyed last year when we released the value-driven Alma Rosa Santa Barbara Chardonnay. It's totally unoaked, showing notes of grapefruit, yellow nectarine and Mandarin oranges. If you prefer linear styled whites and a touch of ripeness, this is a wine you should be buying by the case.
Price: Hidden View Price

2015 Domaine Tortochot "Cuvee Fine Selection" Bourgogne Rouge
By: Heather Vander Wall | Review Date: 2/28/2017 | Send Email
The 2015 Red Burgundies are just beginning to appear, and are far outstripping our expectations. Domaine Tortochot has been a perennial favorite for me, and the 2015 is superb. Although it is still rather taught and structured at the moment, it has all of the qualities one looks for in a good Burgundy. Elegant, poised fruit with plenty of body, fine tannin, crisp acidity, and, with signature Tortochot finesse, very open and expressive aromatics. This wine should begin to integrate in the next 6 months, but will live and drink far longer than a decade.
Price: $23.99 Add To Cart

Michel Arnould "Reserve" Brut Verzenay Champagne
By: Jeff Garneau | Review Date: 2/28/2017 | Send Email
One of the remarkable things about our direct import program in Champagne and the many small grower producers with whom we work is the opportunity to taste wines from a specific region of Champagne, wines that reflect the particular terroir of one village or another. Upon first sip, I absolutely fell in love with the wines of Michel Arnould. In places like Verzenay and Bouzy in the Montaigne de Reims, Pinot Noir is king. These are big, bold, black fruited Champagnes that really deserve to be drunk out of a Burgundy glass and paired with a meal. The Michel Arnould Verzenay Reserve Brut Cham[pagne is a great introduction to the region, and a steal at this price.
Price: $32.99 Add To Cart

2014 Husch Anderson Valley Pinot Noir
By: Gary Norton | Review Date: 2/28/2017 | Send Email
Anderson Valley is one of California's most under-rated appellations and thankfully for you the average price per bottle reflects as such. Husch consistently produces restrained wines that show racy red-fruits and earthy undertones. These age-worthy, truly Burgundian wines are available at a laughable price point considering what you're getting for the money.
Price: $19.99 Add To Cart
WE 92

2010 Lamothe-Bergeron, Haut-Médoc
By: Jeff Garneau | Review Date: 2/28/2017 | Send Email
From Cussac Fort-Medoc, just south of Saint Julien. This is a big full-bodied red wine that is very much a product of the 2010 vintage, with more of, well, everything. Loads of rich, dark fruit, sweet and ripe combine with lively acidity and firm tannins. A touch floral on the nose buttressed by hints of oak spice and vanilla. Modern and forward in style. Decant for best results.
Price: $19.99 Add To Cart
WE 91 WS 90

2015 Kistler Sonoma Mountain Chardonnay
By: Gary Norton | Review Date: 2/28/2017 | Send Email
These wines always change my view when it comes to high-tier domestic whites. Many expressions of Chardonnay at this price point are overblown and heavy, indicating that I am subsidizing the estate's new barrel program rather than paying for a well-made, balanced Chardonnay. I trust Kistler with my money and you should too. These wines are worth every penny and it's clear that the price point is reflective of the quality of the wine and the people behind the production. Arguably the best producer of white wines in California. Period.
Price: $64.99 Add To Cart

2014 Domaine Baud Chardonnay l'Etoile Blanc
By: Steve Bearden | Review Date: 2/28/2017 | Send Email
This delicious Chardonnay is clean and smooth with a slightly salty tang and wonderful limestone and damp clay mineral tones. The finish has hints of savory wild herbs like tarragon and fennel and ends with a juicy citrus rind splash.
Price: $16.99 Add To Cart

2013 Domaine de l'Espigouette Vacqueyras
By: Steve Bearden | Review Date: 2/28/2017 | Send Email
This is deep, dark and slick with a tight core of black and blue fruits, licorice and violets all showing refinement and great tension. There is plenty of energy encased in the dark, fruity middle with great complexity fanning out along the finish.
Price: $24.99 Add To Cart
RP 89 - 91

2014 Domaine Dauliac Cahors
By: Steve Bearden | Review Date: 2/28/2017 | Send Email
This is an earthy, lilac scented wine with crunchy black current fruit, dark cocoa and talc-like tannins on the crisp finish. The dark middle is sleekly textured and graceful in this food friendly and palate refreshing bottle.
Price: $13.99 Add To Cart

2014 Château Viella Pacherenc du Vic Bilh Blanc Sec
By: Steve Bearden | Review Date: 2/28/2017 | Send Email
Here is a palate cleansing and gulpable white that is easy on the wallet. This has aromas and flavors of almond, apricot and orange rind that are smooth, lively and surprisingly layered and complex.
Price: $12.99 Add To Cart

2014 Farnetella Lucilla Toscano Rosso
By: Steve Bearden | Review Date: 2/28/2017 | Send Email
What a fantastic value on a food friendly and interesting wine. This is a touch earthy with intense flavors of dark cherry, spice, ripe blackberry and uplifting minerality on the rich finish. This drinks like a $25.00 bottle.
Price: $10.99 Add To Cart
JS 93

2011 E. Guigal Gigondas
By: Steve Bearden | Review Date: 2/28/2017 | Send Email
Surprisingly hearty and rustic given the vintage but a great value for a quality wine from this appellation boasting 4 years of bottle age. This is earthy, mellow and meaty with good sweetness and spice to the cherry berry fruit and tapenade flavors. Drink this tonight with hearty food.

2014 Domaine Louis Moreau Chablis 1er Cru "Vaulignot"
By: Heather Vander Wall | Review Date: 2/28/2017 | Send Email
2014 is a fantastic vintage for classic Chablis, and Lous Moreau's "Vaulignot" is no exception. Driven and focused, with plenty of chalky, mineral influence, and yet soft and floral in aromas, this is quintessential Chablis. One of the better values you will find in white Burgundy, this little Premier Cru from Chablis far outstrips many a wine of the same price from the Cote d'Or.
Price: $24.99 Add To Cart
WE 91 BH 90

2014 Domaine Marc Colin St-Aubin 1er Cru "Les Combes"
By: Heather Vander Wall | Review Date: 2/28/2017 | Send Email
If you are looking for a truly remarkable white Burgundy in the $50 range, you can hardly do better than this lovely St. Aubin from Marc Colin. Marc Colin wines have always been elegant and poised, but in the excellent 2014 vintage, the domaine' s style takes on a whole new depth. The aromas are subtle in this wine, with cream and light flint notes dominating. On the palate it is slightly fuller than one might expect, given the structure and the acidity. The fruit is mostly melon and peach, with an excellent textural quality, and the finish is extremely long.
Price: $49.99 Add To Cart
BH 90

2015 Kistler Sonoma Mountain Chardonnay
By: David Othenin-Girard | Review Date: 2/28/2017 | Send Email
The wonderful '15 Kistler Sonoma Mountain lives up to every expectation. A big nose of ripe tropical fruit, well integrated toasty oak, and decadent vanilla cream. The powerful nose makes you expect a total monster on the palate and it is REALLY rich, but there's this lovely lemony zesty side that reminds us, yes indeed this is Chardonnay. Really the total package from the highest quality Sonoma Mountain Chard producer.
Price: $64.99 Add To Cart

2014 La Jasse Castel "Bleu Velours" Languedoc-Montpeyroux
By: Diana Turk | Review Date: 2/28/2017 | Send Email
Violet floral up front with considerable peppery spice, lift and deep berry – mostly blue – fruit through the palate, “Bleu Velours” red blend has a bigger finish than I expected, structured and grippy, though stays smoothly elegant and should age well. La Jasse Casteel is a welcome addition to our collection of wines made by members of the Vinifilles, women winemakers of the Languedoc, and her 2014 offerings are sophisticated yet approachable.
Price: $24.99 Add To Cart

2015 Domaine Paul Pernot Bourgogne Aligote
By: Anthony Gittings | Review Date: 2/28/2017 | Send Email
Wow, is in order here! This a wonderful example of what Aligote can be. A fresh and aromatic nose gives way to bright acid, hints of honey, and a touch of flint. I highly recommend this to anyone interested in trying a lesser known grape within Bourgogne.
Price: $18.99 Add To Cart

2015 Kistler Sonoma Mountain Chardonnay
By: Stephanie Vidales | Review Date: 2/28/2017 | Send Email
Kistler's 2015 Sonoma Mountain Chardonnay was the first Kistler wine I have tasted and I can see why it is so popular. Elegant and balanced, this wine offers all you'd want in a California Chardonnay. The fresh citrus and tropical fruit combined with luscious richness, toasty oak and bright acid come together to make a tasty well-rounded Chardonnay.
Price: $64.99 Add To Cart

2014 Maison L'Envoyé "The Attaché" Willamette Valley Pinot Noir
By: Stephanie Vidales | Review Date: 2/28/2017 | Send Email
Maison L’Envoye, founded by Mark Tarlov, began in Burgundy and is now making wine in Tasmania and Williamette Valley as well. The Attache Pinot Noir is a barrel selection of the best lots and showcases true Williamette Valley terroir. Lifted and lush with blue and red fruits, the oak and spice add even more layers to this powerful Pinot.
Price: $29.99 Add To Cart
VN 93 WS 92

2014 Sobon Estate "Rocky Top" Amador County Zinfandel
By: Jim Boyce | Review Date: 2/28/2017 | Send Email
The Sobon Estate Rocky Top just may be the most consistent K&L staff favorite Zinfandel every release. This all estate, single vineyard wine has an incredible nose of dark cherry, blackberry, and baking spices. Blue fruits shine on the palate, alongside beautiful oak spices. This is clean and focused zinfandel that is perfect with any red meats on any day of the week!
Top Value!
Price: $13.99 Add To Cart
WE 90

2014 Artezin "Old Vine" Mendocino County Zinfandel
By: Jim Boyce | Review Date: 2/28/2017 | Send Email
Mendocino Valley Old Vine Zinfandel from the Hess winemakers at $13?! Sign us up! Full of lush and jammy blackberry and blueberry fruits, cracked black pepper, slight tanin, and enough acid to keep it from being over the top, this wine is a no brainer for zin fans.
Top Value!
Price: $12.99 Add To Cart
WE 92 VN 91

2013 Seven Hills Columbia Valley Cabernet Sauvignon
By: Stephanie Vidales | Review Date: 2/28/2017 | Send Email
This 2013 Cab from Seven Hills is a big, rich red that that’s a killer value and shouldn’t be missed! Expressive notes of pomegranate, raspberry, ripe plum, cinnamon and coffee show on the nose and have underlying earth and herbal notes. The finish is long and lingering with big tannin and balanced well with oak.
Price: $19.99 Add To Cart
WE 91

2014 Husch Anderson Valley Pinot Noir
By: Jim Boyce | Review Date: 2/28/2017 | Send Email
If you have shopped at K&L in the last few years looking for cool climate Pinot Noir, it's almost a guarantee that one of our staff members have handed you a bottle of Husch! Long a staff favorite, this 2014 is off the charts with bright cherry and cranberry fruits, a fantastic spice profile from 25% whole cluster and French oak aging, finishing up with a touch of tanins. Overall, this is a simply delicious, must try wine that will please all Pinot Noir fans.
Top Value!
Price: $19.99 Add To Cart
WE 92

2015 Routestock Napa Valley Sauvignon Blanc
By: Jim Boyce | Review Date: 2/28/2017 | Send Email
Fresh gooseberry, citrus, and tangerine on the nose, followed by juicy tropical notes of pineapple and mango fruits on the palate. Combine those with refreshing acidity and a nice oak notes, this is a CA SB lovers dream wine!
Top Value!
Price: $14.99 Add To Cart
WE 91

2015 Einaudi Dogliani (Dolcetto)
By: Andrew Stevens | Review Date: 2/28/2017 | Send Email
An absolutely beautiful little bottle of red, this dolcetto will hopefully become a regular in my rotation of everyday reds. Ripe aromatics of wild cherry immediately greet you and lead to a lush body. Although there is good ripe fruit here, it is not plump or extracted at all. Rather the wine is soft with notes of dark cherry and spice and a soft finish. A surprisingly good wine to pair with hearty dishes on chilly evenings.
Price: $14.99 Add To Cart

2011 E. Guigal Gigondas
By: Keith Mabry | Review Date: 2/27/2017 | Send Email
When I first got into Rhone wines, my head was always turned most by the wines of Chateauneuf du Pape. Though I still have affection for these, my palate has shifted more towards it's little brother Gigondas just to the northeast. Gigondas offers similar weight and intensity but often at half the price for a competing Chateauneuf. Gigondas is also more hillside fruit on gravel with lots of red clay in the soil and forests of garrigue surrounding most of the vineyards. This higher altitude and heavier soil produces wines with intensity but have more of the potpourri, tobacco notes that I love. The Guigal Gigondas is a special treat because it captures all these characteristics with a very classic narrative on the palate. Full of brambly red and black fruit, the nose drifts towards herbs of Provence and finishes with Asian spicebox and toasted tobacco flavors. Guigal is serious about their Gigondas. They have had roots in the region for half a century and the average age of the vines in the cuvee are 40+ years old. Another great element of this Gigondas... the price! Ours is the lowest in the country. The importer is winding down this vintage so hurr and get some now both to enjoy and maybe cellar for a couple more years.

2012 Giacomo Fenocchio "Bussia" Barolo
By: John Downing | Review Date: 2/27/2017 | Send Email
Recently I've had a number of customers ask me to select what I consider to be a classic style Barolo that can be opened now or aged for a few years. I immediately pointed to this one. Fenocchio has been making outstanding wines of late and this one is especially noteworthy and worth seeking out. Nebbiolo fans will especially appreciate the classic aromas of deep purple fruit, tar, roses and minerals and a seamless palate with full, ripe tannins. We love this one.

2014 Sesta di Sopra Rosso di Montalcino
By: John Downing | Review Date: 2/27/2017 | Send Email
We recently re-tasted this in Hollywood and were reminded why this wine sells out quickly each vintage. Even in a more challenging year like 2014, Sesta di Sopra managed to craft another beauty. It's lighter and more elegant yet offers up plenty of spiced red fruit across the palate along with a delicious finish. Sublime.
Price: $19.99 Add To Cart

2013 Helen's Hill Estate "Old Block Reserve - MV6 Clone" Pinot Noir
By: Stefanie Juelsgaard | Review Date: 2/27/2017 | Send Email
The deep, rich, slightly savory nose on this Pinot Noir hits you right away and provides a great example of how expressive this grape can be. This refined wine from Helen's Hill gives a rare and unique glimpse into what a single clone of Pinot Noir can taste like, as many other wineries blend clones before they get to bottle. It is round and rich on the palate, but the minerality and acidity elevate those flavors and create brightness to the dark fruit and earthy elements. This Pinot is slightly broody and has layers of complexity not always present in a single clone. This is truly an incredible value for such a high-end Pinot. For a fun tasting night, pick up a bottle of Helen's Hill Range View to compare single clones side by side.
Price: $24.99 Add To Cart
JH 96

2015 Lunae Colli di Luni Vermentino
By: John Downing | Review Date: 2/27/2017 | Send Email
Lunae offers a wonderful rendition of Vermentino that hails from vineyards located in the Eastern corner of Liguria bordering on Tuscany.This customer and staff favorite is both ample and crisp with a fragrant array of apple, peach and honey and a mouthwatering palate with hints of mineral and saline on the finish. Unlike some of the more viscous and lime-fruited Vermentinos from the coastal zones, this one is light on its feet and a refreshing alternative. Ideal with vegetables, white meats, seafood and lighter pastas.
Price: $19.99 Add To Cart

2013 Helen's Hill Estate "Old Block Reserve - MV6 Clone" Pinot Noir
By: Ryan Woodhouse | Review Date: 2/27/2017 | Send Email
Such a cool wine. I could spend half an hour with this wine without even taking a sip. The nose is constantly changing a taking on new dimensions. It's earthy, gamey - then spicy and floral, shape shifting with each swirl. On the palate the wine is quite savory. Dusty fruits, smoked meat, some blood or iron notes. With time and air more dark rose petal aromas emerge and the fruit takes on some more density and richness. The mineral laden finish is long and intriguing, dry and moreish. It's almost like you can sense the vine's intimate relationship with this place and they are more interested in speaking of earth than of fruit. I'd love to put this in a Burgundy tasting and see how many people it fools.
Price: $24.99 Add To Cart
JH 96

2013 Helen's Hill Winery "Range View Reserve - Pommard Clone" Pinot Noir Yarra Valley Victoria
By: Stefanie Juelsgaard | Review Date: 2/27/2017 | Send Email
What an amazing example of what the Pinot Noir grape can be when tended to with such care and pride. The Range View offers every note you would expect of a high-end Pinot. It's rich and expressive without being overly ripe or heavy. The front of palate acidity evolves into a velvety mouthfeel in the back palate and the succulent red fruits blaze throughout. This wine is both bright and full, while maintaining it's elegance and subtlety. What a treat to be able to offer it at this price to our customers as a direct import. For a fun tasting night, pick up a bottle of Helen's Hill Old Block Pinot Nior to compare single clones side by side.
Price: $24.99 Add To Cart
JH 96

2013 Helen's Hill Winery "Range View Reserve - Pommard Clone" Pinot Noir Yarra Valley Victoria
By: Ryan Woodhouse | Review Date: 2/27/2017 | Send Email
After hearing about the Helen's Hill wines for a few years I'm so stoked to be able to offer these to you as a direct import. Alan's dedication to quality and authenticity is a thread running through all of their wines. The analogy that came to mind while tasting the wines was that of a raw diamond or gold nugget just pulled from the earth. There is a precious purity to these wines but they are still very much stained with earth from whence they came. They capture the essence of Pinot Noir and it's magnificent transparency. The Range View is slightly wild with red fruits, briary notes, undergrowth and freshly turned earth. It's savory acidity harks back to it's burgundian origins. A wine that really evolves in the glass and begs for food. The price belies the quality and depth of this wine.
Top Value!
Price: $24.99 Add To Cart
JH 96

2014 Sobon Estate "Rocky Top" Amador County Zinfandel
By: Anthony Gittings | Review Date: 2/27/2017 | Send Email
I have always enjoyed the Rocky Top Zinfandel and this vintage is no exception. A rich and structured wine with ample amounts of rich blackberry and cherry fruit. Hints of spices, menthol and earthiness offer complexity and help round out the wine.
Price: $13.99 Add To Cart
WE 90

2015 Kistler Sonoma Mountain Chardonnay
By: Anthony Gittings | Review Date: 2/27/2017 | Send Email
Kistler wines are synonymous with high quality wine. This is one of Sonoma's premier wineries and I am proud we carry this Chardonnay. Sourced from the family's mountain vineyards, this wine delivers a unique Burgundian style. Juicy lemon and honey are well integrated with a rich creamy, almost meringue texture. A long clean finish polishes off this outstanding wine. I highly recommend this to anyone who is a Chardonnay lover!
Price: $64.99 Add To Cart

2014 Foley "Rancho Santa Rosa" Sta. Rita Hills Chardonnay
By: Anthony Gittings | Review Date: 2/27/2017 | Send Email
This was the first time I tried this wine and I was impressed enough to write a review. A delicate and fresh nose, full of lemons and pears. The lemon translates to palate, but enhanced with honeysuckle, and butter. This is classic California style Chardonnay for an extremely fair price.
Price: $22.99 Add To Cart
WE 93 W&S 91

2015 Domaine des Remizières "Cuvée Christophe" Crozes-Hermitage Blanc
By: Jacques Moreira | Review Date: 2/27/2017 | Send Email
Outstanding wine with an impressive orange, honey and white flowers aromatics, followed by a very complex palate. Wood spices, cloves, orange blossoms and even cinnamon, with a thick texture, but all in balance. It drinks like a wine at least twice its price.
Price: $23.99 Add To Cart

2013 Domaine de l'Espigouette Vacqueyras
By: Jacques Moreira | Review Date: 2/27/2017 | Send Email
A Vacqueyras that's light on its feet, with pretty floral aromatics, with a tinge of herbs, along with a delicious palate showing plums, and strawberry and white pepper. This is an incredibly well made wine, that is a delight to drink now, but will age beautifully as well.
Price: $24.99 Add To Cart
RP 89 - 91

2015 Clos de la Bonnette Syrah Vieilles Vignes Collines Rhodannienes
By: Jacques Moreira | Review Date: 2/27/2017 | Send Email
A very classic Northern Rhône Syrah with its characteristic violets and meat aromatics, along with blood orange and white pepper. Very good wine to pair with all kinds of stews and Indian food as well.
Price: $24.99 Add To Cart

2014 La Jasse Castel "Bleu Velours" Languedoc-Montpeyroux
By: Jeffrey Jones | Review Date: 2/27/2017 | Send Email
A stand out at a recent staff tasting.Beautiful aromas lead to a wine that has nice balanced fruit with mineral undertones that well work together. It is seductive with delicious dark fruit flavors that seem to get better with each sip.
Price: $24.99 Add To Cart

2014 La Jasse Castel "El Abanico" Pays l'Herault Blanc
By: Jacques Moreira | Review Date: 2/27/2017 | Send Email
I have to say all the wines from La Jasse Castel were remarkable. The Albanico, despite its cépages, reminded me of a grand Burgundy! That's crazy, right? But it did. Beautiful aromatics that combine Pierre à fusil and caramel, and a palate that is perfectly woodsy and yet refreshing. This is an exceptional wine.
Price: $29.99 Add To Cart

2014 Husch Anderson Valley Pinot Noir
By: Anthony Gittings | Review Date: 2/27/2017 | Send Email
Founded in 1971, Husch Vineyards is the oldest winery in Anderson Valley. The current Pinot Noir offering is outstanding. Lush dark berries and a beautiful bouquet of rose petals are balanced with soft integrated wood, and bright cherries on the palate. This Pinot Noir embodies the region and it's tradition.
Price: $19.99 Add To Cart
WE 92

Page: 1 2 3 next >>