Staff Favorites

If you’re going to have Robert Parker or Stephen Tanzer over for dinner, selecting a wine they’ve rated highly will be a nice choice. However, when you’re buying wines for yourself, we’d love to see you find wines that match up your unique palate and pocketbook. We have a large staff of friendly and knowledgeable wine professionals that taste hundreds of wines each week. They can put you in touch with bottles that you are likely to love, often at a much lower cost than the highly-rated gems that often see a run-up in price and frequent availability issues. Like any great group of opinionated professionals, our staff has varied tastes themselves. Often our customers will find a particular staff member with a style that corresponds to their own. That concept works extremely well in our retail stores, and this section is our effort to bring you the same online. Don’t get us wrong, we love the highly rated wines from the press and will continue to offer them, but we think you’re missing out if you’re not augmenting those selections with picks from our excellent staff. Here are their favorites. (Click on a name to see their other selections - or to drop them a line.) Cheers!

Reviews

  
Page: 1 2 3 next >>
2015 Domaine Lafage "Novellum" Chardonnay Pays d'Oc
By: Greg St. Clair | Review Date: 8/30/2016 | Send Email
The nose is luxuriously fruity, full of tropical fruit. On the palate the wine is supple, and is reminiscent of California Chardonnay from a decade or two past except it doesn't have that big Oak signature. A value at the price, drink it cold!
Drink from 2016 to 2016
Price: $10.99 Add To Cart
RP 90

2014 Domaine Cabirau "Serge & Nicolas" Maury Sec
By: Greg St. Clair | Review Date: 8/30/2016 | Send Email
A really fruit first Rhone value, the nose on this wine is quite vibrant and I really liked the supple nature on the palate and while that fruit played itself out it still had a balanced, dry, clean finish. Perfect for grilled pork chops
Drink from 2016 to 2016

2014 Domaine Cabirau "Serge & Nicolas" Maury Sec
By: Andrew Stevens | Review Date: 8/30/2016 | Send Email
Beautiful red wine that is more structured and elegant than last year. The Domaine Cabirau is a lovely mix of bright red fruit alongside darker, richer fruits with floral and mineral notes adding complexity. The acid and tannins in this wine give it lift and length and help to make it a great food wine to keep around the house.

2014 K Vintners "Milbrandt" Wahluke Slope Syrah
By: Gary Norton | Review Date: 8/30/2016 | Send Email
The 2014 K Vintners Milbrandt Syrah may be the best red wine that K Vintners/Charles Smith has released this year. Dried violets, purple/blue fruit and some subtle gamy notes appear on the nose. The palate explodes with more dark berry and black plum notes plus the inclusion of a persistent layer of acid that keeps the character of the wine in tact. Yes, it's a fruit-laden, unapologetically massive wine. It's also massively delicious and will sell out quickly (especially at $27 bucks apiece), so my recommendation is to nab a few bottles of this one while you can.
Price: $26.99 Add To Cart
RP 94

2014 K Vintners "Milbrandt" Wahluke Slope Syrah
By: Bryan Brick | Review Date: 8/30/2016 | Send Email
Charles Smith, the crazy haired maniac that has helped put Washington State wine on the map is about as big of a character as all the stories, both true and rumored, would have you believe. I have some of my own stories but those would be inappropriate in this, or about any other setting. The one thing about him that I can talk about though without any hesitation is his unflinching commitment to quality whether it is in his massive bottlings of $15 dollar wine or in his one barrel of $150 wine he never cuts corners and the ultimate product is all that matters to him cost or time be damned.
The 2014 Milbrandt Syrah is a perfect example of this attention to detail and overall quality. From two different vineyards, Clifton and Northridge, both farmed and planted by the Milbrandt brothers this 100% Syrah is big and burly with a bursting fruit driven intensity and plenty of cured meat spice. Coffee bean and mocha blend with fennel pollen and white sage on the nose in this flagship Syrah. Plush and velvety this is electric Syrah with the typical K Vintners crushed violet tones, chocolate covered cherries, pan fried bacon and chocolate milkshake flavors. Savory and with tremendous length the white pepper studded finish is on par with some of the best Syrahs the US has to offer. This is one powerful, massive wine that still has good generosity and drinkability, easily enjoyable now or over the next 8-12 years.
Price: $26.99 Add To Cart
RP 94

2014 K Vintners "Milbrandt" Wahluke Slope Syrah
By: Andrew Stevens | Review Date: 8/30/2016 | Send Email
I love to steer customers looking for rich, dark, smooth luscious wine towards Washington Syrah because generally this is where you can find it. Unfortunately, unlike Cabernet coming from this area the Syrah is generally more expensive because people are aware of how good Washington Syrah can be. So I was surprised when I saw we had a new vintage from K Vintners, one of Charles Smith's projects, for under $30. This wine is bold, dark, and smooth, the fruit is overlaid with cassis, liquorice and a spice finish. Pick one of these bottles up now, wait until big Holiday meals happen and taste the magic of this Syrah.
Price: $26.99 Add To Cart
RP 94

2012 Joan d'Anguera "Finca L'Argata" Montsant
By: Joe Manekin | Review Date: 8/30/2016 | Send Email
Joan and Joseph d'Anguera have been making some serious changes at their family-owned winery over the past decade or so. Starting with a focus on organic farming, the brothers soon reaped the rewards of healthier vineyards and fruit, but felt that they were still looking for brighter, lighter, fresher wines. To achieve this they began picking a bit earlier and including some whole clusters in the fermentation, going for what Joseph calls more an "infusion" rather than extraction, of color and flavor. This 2012 consists primarily of Garnacha, with 15% Syrah added in. This is an intense wine, but also a taut one, rather linear, with fresh aromas and flavors of wild berries and fennel. Serious, but very drinkable wine.
Price: $29.99 Add To Cart
VN 91 WE 90

2013 Cà Viola "Brichet" Barbera d'Alba
By: Alex Schroeder | Review Date: 8/30/2016 | Send Email
This is a very well made Barbera! Violet, lavender and plum aromas lift from the glass, and on the palate the fruit is remarkably fresh tasting, neither overripe or wanting for depth. I detect a small hint of cola that enriches the flavor profile and its medium-bodied tannins make it the perfect partner to a hearty Italian meal!​

2010 La Velona Brunello di Montalcino Riserva
By: Alex Schroeder | Review Date: 8/30/2016 | Send Email
The 2010 vintage in Montalcino has been incredibly generous to us wine lovers over the past year. And sure enough, one-by-one, our inventory on most producers has dropped to zero. Alas, the Riservas, aged a year longer and only now ready for release, will provide us one last hurrah! La Velona’s Riserva Brunello is incredible! It is a big, rich wine, with notes of cola framing rich savory fruit flavors of raspberries and blueberries, with elements of scorched earth and just a hint of herbs and spice. The texture is silky and hearty at the same time! It’s a wine so well-structured it kept tasting better and better up to three days after opening it! Being one of our direct imports, the cost is ridiculously low, so don’t expect this wine to stick around for very long. ​
Price: $39.99 Add To Cart
JS 93 RP 91

2014 K Vintners "Milbrandt" Wahluke Slope Syrah
By: Stephanie Vidales | Review Date: 8/30/2016 | Send Email
This Syrah is bold, elegant and a match made for barbecue beef or pork. On the nose there's plum, blueberry, cedar and allspice. The palette is full and round with balanced tannin and elegant texture. This wine from Washington truly delivers and will be great to have on hand!
Price: $26.99 Add To Cart
RP 94

2014 K Vintners "Milbrandt" Wahluke Slope Syrah
By: Dave Genevro | Review Date: 8/30/2016 | Send Email
This is delicious, easy to enjoy Washington Syrah at it's best, at an even better price. The fruit is generous, with plump and generosity on the mid-palate, with a lovely and silky smooth spice backbone to round out the wine and give it texture and life. This deep purple Syrah from our dear friends at K Vintners is a knock out of the park. Enjoy!
Top Value!
Price: $26.99 Add To Cart
RP 94

2012 L'Arrosée, St-Emilion
By: Diana Turk | Review Date: 8/30/2016 | Send Email
Gorgeous foresty nose with hints of wet earth and faint violets, this release immediately feels both classic and intriguing. The green of Cab Franc shines up front while the palate brings rich cherry, blackberry and dark coffee notes. The finish is soft with silky but apparent tannins – this is a complex wine for under $35! Fans of the Right Bank should not miss Chateau L'Arrosée.
Price: $34.99 Add To Cart
RP 92 JS 90

2013 Cà Viola "Brichet" Barbera d'Alba
By: Rachel Vogel | Review Date: 8/30/2016 | Send Email
This intriguing Barbera starts with a nose full of dry spices such as cinnamon and cardamom layered with ripe red fruits. It is delicate on the palate with prominent acid, smooth round tannins, slight spice and red fruit. I find light notes of mint and fresh herbs on the long dry finish. An enjoyable and price friendly red!

2015 Cantina Terlano "Terlaner Classico" White Blend Alto Adige
By: Rachel Vogel | Review Date: 8/30/2016 | Send Email
While this Terlaner is only aged in 20% large oak barrels, I find the nose to be greatly influenced from that oak. It is rich with lemon butter and white flowers. I found the palate surprisingly bright in lemon acidity and to be almost effervescent while keeping that wonderful floral note. It had a long, clean finish that kept me wanting more!
Price: $21.95 Add To Cart
VN 91 RP 90

2015 Zudugarai "Amats" Rosé Getariako Txakolina
By: Shaun Green | Review Date: 8/30/2016 | Send Email
Fun and bright and clean and fresh, dry with just a hint of spritz, even a great price .... what is not to like here! Fantastic and crowd pleasing.
Top Value!
Price: $13.99 Add To Cart

2015 Siran, Margaux
By: David Driscoll | Review Date: 8/30/2016 | Send Email
2015 will not only be remembered as the vintage that brought sanity back to Bordeaux pricing, it will be remembered by enthusiasts as the year Margaux dominated the communes. Just about every wine we tasted from the region was balanced, beautiful, and elegant. When the combination of great pricing and great quality comes together, it only adds to our initial excitement. Just like the Malescot before (a Margaux wine we sold TONS of), the Siran showcases everything we loved about the vintage but at an even lower price. The difference here is the merlot dominance, but the grace is still there under all that dark fruit. The wine is alive and kicking, plush on the palate, and loaded with drive and panache. It's also less than thirty bucks. I'd say: go for it.

2009 Domaine de la Jaufrette Gigondas
By: John Downing | Review Date: 8/29/2016 | Send Email
Like their Cotes du Rhone, this is a classic Southern Rhone that we highly recommend. The Gigondas showcases a complex array of raspberry, cherry, leather, tea and a hint of licorice on both nose and palate with Grenache taking center stage. It's juicy and flavorful with pleasant grippy tannins on a long finish. This truly lights up with richer dishes. Outstanding!
Price: $39.99 Add To Cart

2014 Domaine Cabirau "Serge & Nicolas" Maury Sec
By: Jacques Moreira | Review Date: 8/29/2016 | Send Email
An absolutely pleasing wine, vibrant and floral, fruity and elegant. Classic Grenache notes of plums and raspberries, along with herbs and plenty of minerality. It's medium body, and its grippy tannins add a welcoming spicy element to it. A perfect companion to roast chicken and grilled vegetables. A deal!

2013 Cà Viola "Brichet" Barbera d'Alba
By: Greg St. Clair | Review Date: 8/29/2016 | Send Email
This vintage of the 2013 Ca’Viola Barbera d’Alba Brichet is classic Barbera, the nose is full of spice, leather and brambly fruit, while on the palate the wine has a crunchy cranberry like flavor, an archetypal acidic structure that leads to lots of earth, spice and a bit of grip in the finish. This is an ideal wine for rich pasta dishes or even roasted chicken!
Drink from 2016 to 2016

2010 Domaine de la Jaufrette Côtes-du-Rhone
By: John Downing | Review Date: 8/29/2016 | Send Email
Cotes du Rhone reds of this style are few these days as many emphasize riper fruit characteristics and elevated alcohol levels. That's not to say they aren't wonderful (we love them) but we miss the availability of wines like this one from Jaufrette. Their 2010 is more old guard with complex scents of black fruit, black olive, pepper, earth, deli meat spicing and garrigue and a compact palate with moderate tannins and plenty of concentrated black fruit. Give this one plenty of time to aerate and pair with lamb, stews, cheeses and heartier fare.
Price: $19.99 Add To Cart

2014 Clos de la Bonnette "Roches d'Arbuel" Condrieu
By: John Downing | Review Date: 8/29/2016 | Send Email
My colleague Keith Mabry discovered a hidden gem during his most recent sojourn in the Northern Rhone as I can attest after having tasted this stunning Condrieu. I'm rarely convinced by most Condrieu but this one is a head turner. A round and creamy palate of subtle orchard fruits envelops a core of minerality and acidity that together make this an ethereal experience. There's an overall combination of freshness, vibrancy and complexity that make this an especially compelling wine.
Price: $54.99 Add To Cart

2014 Villa Sparina Gavi
By: Rachel Vogel | Review Date: 8/29/2016 | Send Email
A great, refreshing weekday white! While the wine seems richer on the palate with notes of white flowers and honeysuckle; it has a balanced mouth feel with bright acid and flavors or lemon and lime zest. A perfect end to these warm days!
Price: $13.99 Add To Cart

2010 La Velona Brunello di Montalcino Riserva
By: Rachel Vogel | Review Date: 8/29/2016 | Send Email
This has been one of my favorite 2010 Brunellos! And the price is outstanding. The entire palate is wrapped by a beautiful savory note of salted black mushrooms. It encompasses deep, ripe cherry and plum notes and rounded yet noticeable tannins. The savory flavors are long on the finish and accompanied by dry spice. A beautiful wine to drink now as well as age.
Price: $39.99 Add To Cart
JS 93 RP 91

2014 Villa Sparina Gavi
By: John Downing | Review Date: 8/29/2016 | Send Email
Villa Sparina Gavi remains one of the sleeper picks within our Italian white selections and we are pleased to be able to offer it at this tremendous value price. It's a round, delicate and creamy style Gavi with just the right touch of acidity and a wonderful citrus finish that make it ideal with seafood, light pastas, white meats and vegetable dishes. Take advantage of this outstanding wine while it lasts.
Price: $13.99 Add To Cart

2015 Cantina Terlano "Terlaner Classico" White Blend Alto Adige
By: John Downing | Review Date: 8/29/2016 | Send Email
We've been smitten with the wines of Cantina Terlano since their entrance into California in 1999, and are once again reminded why with the arrival of their sensational 2015 "Terlaner" Bianco. This is one of their finest in years offering signature aromas of elderflower, gooseberry, citrus and mineral and a medium-bodied palate of exceptional fruit and incredible acidity that carries it to a very long, mineral-driven finish. In my opinion, Terlano consistently makes some of Italy's finest white wines and this one exceeds expectations.
Price: $21.95 Add To Cart
VN 91 RP 90

2014 Edi Keber Collio Bianco
By: Greg St. Clair | Review Date: 8/29/2016 | Send Email
The structure and richness of the wine comes from Friulano which is 70% (Edi and Kristian still call it Tocai Friulano) of the blend. That’s followed by 15% each of Ribolla Gialla which gives the wine its snap, vigor and brightness and Malvasia Istriana which adds perfume, aromatic complexity and weight. The nose has aromas that are pear like and then is delicately spiced with flavors that remind me of crushed celery seed and bay leaf. The wine has a creamy density and viscosity to it yet still has a vibrant core of acidic balance. Capable of aging for many years I’d serve this with fish that has a meatier texture like halibut or swordfish or I had recently a Lobster Risotto at a new Oakland Restaurant called Belotti, and although I don’t go out of my way to eat Lobster it was so unfortunate I didn’t have the wine with me!
Drink from 2016 to 2016
Price: $25.99 Add To Cart
RP 90 WE 90

2015 Cantina Terlano "Terlaner Classico" White Blend Alto Adige
By: Alex Schroeder | Review Date: 8/29/2016 | Send Email
This latest release from the cooperative in northeast Italy is a uniquely fun one! Made from 60% Pinot Bianco, supplemented by Chardonnay and a little Sauvignon Blanc, it has a great weighty texture holding up rich tropical fruit flavors like mandarin and banana with a subtle but satisfying acid finish that spreads evenly over the whole palate. I kept revisiting to make sure I wasn’t missing anything and can confirm - this wine is VERY drinkable! ​
Price: $21.95 Add To Cart
VN 91 RP 90

2013 Cantina Valle Isarco Sylvaner "Sabiona"
By: Greg St. Clair | Review Date: 8/29/2016 | Send Email
This wine was a revelation to me, I’d never heard of this wine and I’ve been a big fan of Valle Isarco’s wines for years. Sabiona is a separate wine Estate it is actually a Benedictine Monastery and has been since 1687 and while the vineyards are truly dramatic they only make 2 wines and only 3,000 bottles of each. A bit of skin contact, 10 months on the lees in tank and then 1 year in the bottle before release. I came across this bottle almost by accident, it was in a box of samples a vendor dropped off for me and I really didn’t think much about it until I opened the bottle and a truly OMG moment happened. The wine has a vibrant floral aromatic but it is so tightly coiled it seems like just a wisp of flowers. On the palate the wine explodes, decidedly more open than the Sabiona Kerner not that it is lush it still shows searing acidity and minerality but couched in a richer denser mouth feel. The flavors are slightly riper pear, with just the slightest hint of tropical fruit. The finish is sensational, powerful and dynamic a really serious wine, try it with Halibut or even better Sea Bass or Grouper, but the wine is powerful enough to hold up to creamy pasta dishes.
Drink from 2016 to 2016
Price: $39.99 Add To Cart

2014 Jacques Bavard Auxey-Duresses "Les Clous" Blanc
By: Kelsey McNellis | Review Date: 8/29/2016 | Send Email
I love the Bourgogne Blanc by the same producer so I had high hopes for this wine and I was not disappointed! Very elegant and well-rounded with light butter and creaminess. Flavors of melon and pear on the palate give this a refreshing aspect too. Delicious wine for under $30 from a great producer.... a must buy!
Price: $29.99 Add To Cart

2015 Pedro Martinez Alesanco Rosado Rioja
By: Kelsey McNellis | Review Date: 8/29/2016 | Send Email
Perfect summer Rose that I will stock up on to take me into the fall for our warmer SF days in September and October. I love the slight creaminess of this rose with hits of mixed berries and strawberries. Not sweet but just enough fruitiness to give it some character and zing. It also is an amazing value for $9.99! Stock up before its gone.
Price: $9.99 Add To Cart

2015 Mt. Hector Sauvignon Blanc Wairarapa
By: Kelsey McNellis | Review Date: 8/29/2016 | Send Email
I honestly can't believe this Sauvignon Blanc is only $8.99. It might be my new favorite one from New Zealand! I love the kiwi and guava fruits on the palate that are not overwhelming. So light, fresh and perfect for Sunday brunch or a seafood and pasta dinner. Great acidity and fruit aromatics. Don't miss this steal!
Price: $8.99 Add To Cart

2013 Cantina Valle Isarco "Sabiona" Kerner
By: Greg St. Clair | Review Date: 8/29/2016 | Send Email
This wine was a revelation to me, I’d never heard of this wine and I’ve been a big fan of Valle Isarco’s wines especially their Kerner. Sabiona is a separate wine Estate it is actually a Benedictine Monastery and has been since 1687 and while the vineyards are truly dramatic they only make 2 wines and only 3,000 bottles of each. A bit of skin contact, 10 months on the lees in tank and then 1 year in the bottle before release. As I started to write this the word etch kept coming to me over and over, it is the ϋber intense minerality and acidity that is scintillating, dramatic and one sensation you’re not going to forget. The delicate nose is full of the pear, white flower, crushed quartz and is awaiting years of aging to release all that it has. On the palate it screams down the center of your tongue, layering stone and salinity in a seemingly endless finish. This wine, scratch that, this place reminds me of wine grown in Austria’s Wachau, where the soil is more often the dominant factor rather than the grape and that’s what I feel here. The finish is surprising it leaves a layer of viscosity on the inside of your mouth, just an insane wine, after writing a couple of hundred words I still feel speechless. I'd decant this wine for an hour or two if you're going to drink it now.
Drink from 2016 to 2016
Price: $44.99 Add To Cart

2014 Clos de la Bonnette "Roches d'Arbuel" Condrieu
By: Jacques Moreira | Review Date: 8/29/2016 | Send Email
Condrieu for me it's one of the most fascinating wines of France, if not always a bargain. That's why I was not only surprised, but actually impressed by our Buyer, Mr. Mabry, to have found in this minuscule appellation a producer for our direct import program. The exotic Viognier grape display its array of flavors in this wine. Jasmine flower, apples, quince, honey, and orange flower, but fear not, it is dry, and definitely never heavy or cloying. If you like Indian curry, do yourself a favor and pair it with this wine, for an elegant dinner party.
Price: $54.99 Add To Cart

2009 Domaine de la Jaufrette Gigondas
By: Jacques Moreira | Review Date: 8/29/2016 | Send Email
One of my favorites producers from the Rhône, always making balanced wines. The Gigondas it's for me the top choice due to its complexity. Dark berries, cocoa, some roasted notes and exotic spices. Very elegant too. Quite a pairing with something like a Sunday Roast or a Coq-au-Vin.
Price: $39.99 Add To Cart

2013 Al-Cantara "Occhi di Ciumi" Sicilia
By: Greg St. Clair | Review Date: 8/29/2016 | Send Email
The nose of this wine is vibrant, saline, and full of lime leaf with crushed oyster shells and hints of peach. That may sound like a rather diverse mélange of aromas but it really works together; on the palate the wine is vibrant, zippy and refreshing replaying the nose but the minerality takes over in a driving, long finish. As the wine finishes it etches a path down your tongue and seemingly exposes more layers of flavor of peach and wispy hints of lime. This is a sensational accompaniment to scampi, vegetable pasta dishes or shellfish.
Drink from 2016 to 2016
Price: $19.99 Add To Cart

2000 Faultline 15 Year Old "K&L Exclusive" Single Barrel Nicaraguan Rum (750ml)
By: Jeffrey Jones | Review Date: 8/29/2016 | Send Email
This a wonderful clean and high quality rum. It is full bodied and rich but not too sweet, with a nice creaminess and a touch of savory. There is no caramel color and added sugar to get in the way of the delicious flavors that this Faultline 15 has to offer.
Price: $59.99 Add To Cart

2010 Domaine de la Jaufrette Côtes-du-Rhone
By: Jacques Moreira | Review Date: 8/29/2016 | Send Email
The Domaine de la Jaufrette always makes those very classic wines that reminds me of how a good Côtes du Rhône used to taste some 15 years ago, i.e. not over the top sweet and ripe. It is balanced with fruit and earthy notes. Nice spices add to the mix. Try pairing this beautiful wine with some spicy meat tacos, or a chile con carne.
Price: $19.99 Add To Cart

1974 Garnheath 42 Year Old "Old Particular" K&L Exclusive Single Barrel Cask Strength Grain Scotch Whisky (750ml)
By: Jeffrey Jones | Review Date: 8/29/2016 | Send Email
The best grain whiskey that I have tasted. It offers nice aromas of vanilla and grain . In the mouth it is soft with subtle vanilla and grain notes. What sets if apart is how complex it is. It is layered with with delicious and joyful flavors that lead to a long finish.
Price: $249.99 Add To Cart

2012 Malartic-Lagravière, Pessac-Léognan
By: Jacques Moreira | Review Date: 8/29/2016 | Send Email
For some reason this wine reminded more of a Margaux than a Pessac. Perhaps because of its beautiful floral aromatics of violets. The palate follows with coffee, blackberry, graphite and spices. It needed decanting to open up all its potential on our tasting, but it did, and it showed beautifully.

2012 Le Thil, Pessac-Léognan
By: Jacques Moreira | Review Date: 8/29/2016 | Send Email
A very friendly wine, with enticing aromatics of cassis, cherries, cocoa, graphite. It is medium body with present but agreeable tannins. Ready to go!

2012 Smith Haut Lafitte Rouge, Pessac-Léognan
By: Jacques Moreira | Review Date: 8/29/2016 | Send Email
A perfect example of the 2012 vintage. Approachable yet complex. Sweet ripe fruit, and yet with stunning minerality. Blueberries, graphite, leather and cocoa, soft tannins and just about one of the most elegant wines of 2012.

2010 Podere Marini "Korone" IGT Calabria Rosso
By: Greg St. Clair | Review Date: 8/29/2016 | Send Email
The nose of this wine really threw me, wild, gamy and full of dense fruit that was alluring and made me put my nose back in several times for more and again more. On the palate the wine shows a richly textured structure, plump yet focused, fleshy yet wiry, and more chocolaty, cassis like flavors come forward but always with a hint of wild brush, dried violets, herb and spice. The finish starts to focus the center of the wine and its lushness fades as more of a vibrant and lifting feeling finish the wine. A superb blend of predominantly Sangiovese, with a hint Merlot and of Cabernet Sauvignon, mostly stainless steel with a very small percentage of barrel aging….Super Tuscan in Calabria? We call it the Silver Snake!
Drink from 2016 to 2016
Price: $19.99 Add To Cart

1981 d'Issan, Margaux (1.5L)
By: Jacques Moreira | Review Date: 8/29/2016 | Send Email
I was very surprised about this wine. I shouldn't be. The pristine condition of the bottles and the often forgotten quality of the best wines of 1981, (which was mostly upstaged by the famous 1982 vintage) should have given me a clue on how not just alive but indeed offering an incredible experience of a perfectly aged Bordeaux. This is an opportunity like no other for the Bordeaux lover. I had it from a regular 750ml bottle, a magnum should offer a even better experience.
Price: $219.99 Add To Cart

1981 d'Issan, Margaux
By: Jacques Moreira | Review Date: 8/29/2016 | Send Email
I was very surprised about this wine. I shouldn't be. The pristine condition of the bottles and the often forgotten quality of the best wines of 1981, (which was mostly upstaged by the famous 1982 vintage) should have given me a clue on how not just alive but indeed offering an incredible experience of a perfectly aged Bordeaux. This is an opportunity like no other for the Bordeaux lover.
Price: $109.99 Add To Cart

2014 Villa Sparina Gavi
By: Greg St. Clair | Review Date: 8/29/2016 | Send Email
The nose is elegant, delicate, with hints of white peach and a classic Gavi minerality. On the palate the wine is medium-bodied, balanced, while supple and round no edginess here. The finish is subtle, yielding and all the while entertaining with hints of white flower and nutmeg. The perfect accompaniment to more delicate fish like Red Snapper or Striped Bass or just by itself on a scorching hot day!
Drink from 2016 to 2016
Price: $13.99 Add To Cart

2012 Les Griffons de Pichon-Baron, Pauillac
By: Jacques Moreira | Review Date: 8/29/2016 | Send Email
A second wine like no other and somehow involved in mystery. Much closer in style to the Grand vin than the other wine, Les Tourelles de Longueville, and coming from the same vineyards, made with the exactly same care as the Baron itself. It has the elegance of the finest Cabernet from Pauillac, which makes the majority of the assemblage, along with an also high quality Merlot. It is hard to say why this is a second wine and not just added to the grand vin... Excellent!
Price: $39.99 Add To Cart
VN 92 WE 91

2010 La Velona Brunello di Montalcino Riserva
By: Greg St. Clair | Review Date: 8/29/2016 | Send Email
I tasted this wine last September before it was officially released this January, it was brooding, angular, gritty and obviously needed time…..well time’s up! Wow, I tasted it yesterday and I was so impressed by the nose that was full of a gamey, mocha like aromatic that was backed up by a combination of umami driven plums and dark chocolate with hints of sandalwood and wild herbs. On the palate it was luxurious, rolling across your palate while at the same time it never gave one the sense of fat or heavy just a velvety texture while the flavors centered on the mocha and sandalwood backed up by the dark chocolate. The finish was long, powerful and beckoned me to drink another glass.. or two. An exceptional value for a Riserva from Montalcino’s best ever vintage!
Drink from 2016 to 2016
Price: $39.99 Add To Cart
JS 93 RP 91

2015 Cantina Terlano "Terlaner Classico" White Blend Alto Adige
By: Greg St. Clair | Review Date: 8/29/2016 | Send Email
The nose on this wine is so enticing, so inviting I can hardly hold back from just swallowing, while waves of white flower, quince, kiwi, Bartlett pear pour from the glass. On the palate it is the weight and lushness that first grabs your attention but quickly the focus changes to the vibrant acidity and minerality that drive the wine across the full length of the palate. Then the flavors just explode, swirls of exotic fruits mixed with crushed quartz like minerality enveloping your palate. The finish is intense; full of vibrant fruit flavors a lingering minerality and an incredible sensation of viscosity that just doesn’t go away. This blend of grapes isn’t a “new” thing the folks in this village have been making this exact blend of Pinot Bianco, Chardonnay and Sauvignon Blanc for more than 100 years. A sensational wine from the truly sensational 2015 vintage.
Drink from 2016 to 2016
Price: $21.95 Add To Cart
VN 91 RP 90

2012 La Fleur de Boüard, Lalande-de-Pomerol (1.5L)
By: Jacques Moreira | Review Date: 8/29/2016 | Send Email
A very balanced wine. It has a lush fruit profile full of dark berries, plums, and attractive floral aromatics, along with a gentle herbal note that I found extremely enticing. Its velvety tannins adds even more appeal to this lush but definitely not over the top Lalande-de-Pomerol.

2012 Le Plus de La Fleur de Boüard, Lalande-de-Pomerol
By: Jacques Moreira | Review Date: 8/29/2016 | Send Email
Now here's a wine that is not holding back and yet maintains its classy pedigree. Ink purple color it's the first thing that greets you, followed by a nose that has intense blueberries, black berries and very dark cherries, and chocolate. On the palate in addition to all of that also shows an almost roasted meat and herb component. It is rich and definitely full body, but not heavy, and it is drinking beautifully now.

Page: 1 2 3 next >>