Staff Favorites

If you’re going to have Robert Parker or Stephen Tanzer over for dinner, selecting a wine they’ve rated highly will be a nice choice. However, when you’re buying wines for yourself, we’d love to see you find wines that match up your unique palate and pocketbook. We have a large staff of friendly and knowledgeable wine professionals that taste hundreds of wines each week. They can put you in touch with bottles that you are likely to love, often at a much lower cost than the highly-rated gems that often see a run-up in price and frequent availability issues. Like any great group of opinionated professionals, our staff has varied tastes themselves. Often our customers will find a particular staff member with a style that corresponds to their own. That concept works extremely well in our retail stores, and this section is our effort to bring you the same online. Don’t get us wrong, we love the highly rated wines from the press and will continue to offer them, but we think you’re missing out if you’re not augmenting those selections with picks from our excellent staff. Here are their favorites. (Click on a name to see their other selections - or to drop them a line.) Cheers!

Reviews

  
Page: 1 2 3 next >>
2012 Malartic-Lagravière, Pessac-Léognan
By: Jacques Moreira | Review Date: 8/29/2016 | Send Email
For some reason this wine reminded more of a Margaux than a Pessac. Perhaps because of its beautiful floral aromatics of violets. The palate follows with coffee, blackberry, graphite and spices. It needed decanting to open up all its potential on our tasting, but it did, and it showed beautifully.

2012 Le Thil, Pessac-Léognan
By: Jacques Moreira | Review Date: 8/29/2016 | Send Email
A very friendly wine, with enticing aromatics of cassis, cherries, cocoa, graphite. It is medium body with present but agreeable tannins. Ready to go!

2012 Smith Haut Lafitte Rouge, Pessac-Léognan
By: Jacques Moreira | Review Date: 8/29/2016 | Send Email
A perfect example of the 2012 vintage. Approachable yet complex. Sweet ripe fruit, and yet with stunning minerality. Blueberries, graphite, leather and cocoa, soft tannins and just about one of the most elegant wines of 2012.

2010 Podere Marini "Korone" IGT Calabria Rosso
By: Greg St. Clair | Review Date: 8/29/2016 | Send Email
The nose of this wine really threw me, wild, gamy and full of dense fruit that was alluring and made me put my nose back in several times for more and again more. On the palate the wine shows a richly textured structure, plump yet focused, fleshy yet wiry, and more chocolaty, cassis like flavors come forward but always with a hint of wild brush, dried violets, herb and spice. The finish starts to focus the center of the wine and its lushness fades as more of a vibrant and lifting feeling finish the wine. A superb blend of predominantly Sangiovese, with a hint Merlot and of Cabernet Sauvignon, mostly stainless steel with a very small percentage of barrel aging….Super Tuscan in Calabria? We call it the Silver Snake!
Drink from 2016 to 2016
Price: $19.99 Add To Cart

1981 d'Issan, Margaux (1.5L)
By: Jacques Moreira | Review Date: 8/29/2016 | Send Email
I was very surprised about this wine. I shouldn't be. The pristine condition of the bottles and the often forgotten quality of the best wines of 1981, (which was mostly upstaged by the famous 1982 vintage) should have given me a clue on how not just alive but indeed offering an incredible experience of a perfectly aged Bordeaux. This is an opportunity like no other for the Bordeaux lover. I had it from a regular 750ml bottle, a magnum should offer a even better experience.
Price: $219.99 Add To Cart

1981 d'Issan, Margaux
By: Jacques Moreira | Review Date: 8/29/2016 | Send Email
I was very surprised about this wine. I shouldn't be. The pristine condition of the bottles and the often forgotten quality of the best wines of 1981, (which was mostly upstaged by the famous 1982 vintage) should have given me a clue on how not just alive but indeed offering an incredible experience of a perfectly aged Bordeaux. This is an opportunity like no other for the Bordeaux lover.
Price: $109.99 Add To Cart

2014 Villa Sparina Gavi
By: Greg St. Clair | Review Date: 8/29/2016 | Send Email
The nose is elegant, delicate, with hints of white peach and a classic Gavi minerality. On the palate the wine is medium-bodied, balanced, while supple and round no edginess here. The finish is subtle, yielding and all the while entertaining with hints of white flower and nutmeg. The perfect accompaniment to more delicate fish like Red Snapper or Striped Bass or just by itself on a scorching hot day!
Drink from 2016 to 2016
Price: $13.99 Add To Cart

2012 Les Griffons de Pichon-Baron, Pauillac
By: Jacques Moreira | Review Date: 8/29/2016 | Send Email
A second wine like no other and somehow involved in mystery. Much closer in style to the Grand vin than the other wine, Les Tourelles de Longueville, and coming from the same vineyards, made with the exactly same care as the Baron itself. It has the elegance of the finest Cabernet from Pauillac, which makes the majority of the assemblage, along with an also high quality Merlot. It is hard to say why this is a second wine and not just added to the grand vin... Excellent!
Price: $39.99 Add To Cart
VN 92 WE 91

2010 La Velona Brunello di Montalcino Riserva
By: Greg St. Clair | Review Date: 8/29/2016 | Send Email
I tasted this wine last September before it was officially released this January, it was brooding, angular, gritty and obviously needed time…..well time’s up! Wow, I tasted it yesterday and I was so impressed by the nose that was full of a gamey, mocha like aromatic that was backed up by a combination of umami driven plums and dark chocolate with hints of sandalwood and wild herbs. On the palate it was luxurious, rolling across your palate while at the same time it never gave one the sense of fat or heavy just a velvety texture while the flavors centered on the mocha and sandalwood backed up by the dark chocolate. The finish was long, powerful and beckoned me to drink another glass.. or two. An exceptional value for a Riserva from Montalcino’s best ever vintage!
Drink from 2016 to 2016
Price: $39.99 Add To Cart
JS 93 RP 91

2015 Cantina Terlano "Terlaner Classico" White Blend Alto Adige
By: Alex Schroeder | Review Date: 8/29/2016 | Send Email
This latest release from the cooperative in northeast Italy is a uniquely fun one! Made from 90% Pinot Bianco, supplemented by Chardonnay and Sauvignon Blanc, it has a great weighty texture holding up rich tropical fruit flavors like mandarin and banana with a subtle but satisfying acid finish that spreads evenly over the whole palate. I kept revisiting to make sure I wasn’t missing anything and can confirm - this wine is VERY drinkable! ​
Price: $21.95 Add To Cart
VN 91 RP 90

2015 Cantina Terlano "Terlaner Classico" White Blend Alto Adige
By: Greg St. Clair | Review Date: 8/29/2016 | Send Email
The nose on this wine is so enticing, so inviting I can hardly hold back from just swallowing, while waves of white flower, quince, kiwi, Bartlett pear pour from the glass. On the palate it is the weight and lushness that first grabs your attention but quickly the focus changes to the vibrant acidity and minerality that drive the wine across the full length of the palate. Then the flavors just explode, swirls of exotic fruits mixed with crushed quartz like minerality enveloping your palate. The finish is intense; full of vibrant fruit flavors a lingering minerality and an incredible sensation of viscosity that just doesn’t go away. This blend of grapes isn’t a “new” thing the folks in this village have been making this exact blend of Pinot Bianco, Chardonnay and Sauvignon Blanc for more than 100 years. A sensational wine from the truly sensational 2015 vintage.
Drink from 2016 to 2016
Price: $21.95 Add To Cart
VN 91 RP 90

2012 La Fleur de Boüard, Lalande-de-Pomerol (1.5L)
By: Jacques Moreira | Review Date: 8/29/2016 | Send Email
A very balanced wine. It has a lush fruit profile full of dark berries, plums, and attractive floral aromatics, along with a gentle herbal note that I found extremely enticing. Its velvety tannins adds even more appeal to this lush but definitely not over the top Lalande-de-Pomerol.

2012 Le Plus de La Fleur de Boüard, Lalande-de-Pomerol
By: Jacques Moreira | Review Date: 8/29/2016 | Send Email
Now here's a wine that is not holding back and yet maintains its classy pedigree. Ink purple color it's the first thing that greets you, followed by a nose that has intense blueberries, black berries and very dark cherries, and chocolate. On the palate in addition to all of that also shows an almost roasted meat and herb component. It is rich and definitely full body, but not heavy, and it is drinking beautifully now.

2010 La Velona Brunello di Montalcino Riserva
By: Stephanie Vidales | Review Date: 8/29/2016 | Send Email
Fabulous Brunello from La Velona in 2010! There is plenty of lush dark fruit on the nose and palette along with subtle earthiness, grey tea and vanilla. The best part is it's a direct import for us so you can get your hands on it for a great price. Buy some to drink now, and then some revist in 5-7 years.
Price: $39.99 Add To Cart
JS 93 RP 91

2012 La Fleur de Boüard, Lalande-de-Pomerol
By: Jacques Moreira | Review Date: 8/29/2016 | Send Email
A very balanced wine. It has a lush fruit profile full of dark berries, plums, and attractive floral aromatics, along with a gentle herbal note that I found extremely enticing. Its velvety tannins adds even more appeal to this lush but definitely not over the top Lalande-de-Pomerol.

2015 Domaine de la Réserve d'O "Bilbo" Languedoc
By: Kelsey McNellis | Review Date: 8/29/2016 | Send Email
For just shy of $18 per bottle this wine is a steal. Easy to drink with just about anything, this medium-bodied red has flavors of fresh dark fruit. I taste dark cherries and plum the most with a subtle hint of spice and pepper. Definitely not a fruit overload but just enough to give it some character. I would buy a case to last the whole year, lots of value here!
Price: $17.99 Add To Cart

2015 Claude Riffault "La Noue" Sancerre Rosé
By: John Majeski | Review Date: 8/29/2016 | Send Email
Welcome to the 'Pink Peacock', or at least that's the name I just penned to reflect the ravishing spectrum of rosés on our shelves at this warmest time of year, all colors and tints from delicate rose petal to rapturous sunset competing for your artful eye and palate. I learned long ago to expand my horizons beyond the hue and cry of Provence and Tavel, and discovered one of my favorites from a parcel of limestone in Sancerre farmed by a talented young winemaker named Stephane Riffault. His La Noue rosé is a poised, sophisticated expression of high-toned, prismatic fruit— strawberries, cherries, watermelon, peaches— crisply dry and balanced by perfect acidity and the influence of marl-rich soils. Definitely a must try for all who covet these stylish wines. Time to raise your tints!
Price: $19.99 Add To Cart

2014 Antech "Cuvée Eugenie" Cremant de Limoux
By: John Majeski | Review Date: 8/29/2016 | Send Email
Looking for stylish elegance without spending a small fortune to achieve it? Planning a special party, wedding or retirement and don't feel inclined to spend your golden years paying off the caterer? Here's a suggestion: The sparkling wines of Limoux actually predate those of Champagne by at least a century, when a Benedictine monk in 1531 accidentally created the first brut wine in his cellar. Almost 600 years later, and they're still at it, with the Cuvée Eugenie, a joyfully effervescent expression named for an illustrious lady in the family. Combining a delicate mousse texture with aromas of white flowers, green apple and citrus fruit, this lightly toasty wine is the perfect, well-priced sparkling candidate for virtually any occasion where bubbles are called for. Enjoy!
Top Value!
Price: $13.99 Add To Cart

2014 Fossil Point Edna Valley Pinot Noir
By: John Majeski | Review Date: 8/29/2016 | Send Email
Being a lifelong admirer of all things ancient, primeval or petrified, it was easy to dig a wine that had the word 'Fossil' on the label. But be warned, this wine is very much undead once it hits your glass, alive with vibrant cherry, raspberry and blackberry fruit aromas, followed by potpourri and fresh-pie-from-the-oven flavors that hint of soft spice and smoke. To end on a terrible pun, I'd recommend you get 'Jurassic' in here and try a bottle, as you'll never have to say you're saurian...
Price: $15.99 Add To Cart
WE 90

2015 Terra Santa Ile de Beaute Rosé (Corsica)
By: John Majeski | Review Date: 8/29/2016 | Send Email
'Sciaccarellu’ is an obscure, vigorous red variety long-cultivated on Corsica that translates as ‘the grape that bursts under the teeth’, notable for its juiciness, thick skins and fairly low tannins. It actually originated in central Italy where it is today almost extinct and known as Mammolo, or ‘shrinking violet’, the bashful one, perhaps because the lush grapes try to hide furtively beneath a canopy of vines. For being such a delicately-hued wine (conjuring a school of pink pearl erasers swimming by), this charming rosé conveys an amazing array of flavors, from fresh-cut strawberries to juicy raspberries to white peaches, with a bit of spice, salinity and mouth-quenching acidity to keep every thirst satisfied. And at under ten dollars, it is a super buy!
Top Value!
Price: $8.99 Add To Cart

2013 Trellis (Amelia Park) Cabernet Sauvignon-Merlot Margaret River
By: John Majeski | Review Date: 8/29/2016 | Send Email
Amelia Park, lying within the famed Margaret River region, has consistently been one of Western Australia's most heralded wineries, and when the opportunity arises to share their renowned, ebullient wines with customers, we rarely hesitate. The Trellis Cabernet Sauvignon-Merlot represents such an amazing value that it is hard to believe it navigated over 8,700 miles to arrive on our shelves, but don't ask why, the answer lies in the ravishing black and blue fruit, suave spice, touch of oak and smoothly polished tannins that envelops all doubters in its spell. One cannot help but wonder....
Top Value!
Price: $10.99 Add To Cart

1998 Faultline 17 Year Old "K&L Exclusive" Caribbean Blend Single Barrel Rum (750ml)
By: Jeffrey Jones | Review Date: 8/29/2016 | Send Email
This is a fantastic rum that shows just how complex and interesting rum can be. In the nose there are floral and fruity accents. This is followed with a dry style rum that has a savory earthy spice, and subtle notes of smoke. This is one of the best rums that I have tasted in a long while.
Price: $79.99 Add To Cart

Caveau du Mont July Bugey Cerdon Rosé
By: John Majeski | Review Date: 8/29/2016 | Send Email
Sparkling wines, the drier the better, right? Not so fast friends, especially when someone near and dear presents you with a lovely Tiramisu or Mango Mousse cake on your birthday. You need something that blurts out 'Celebration!', and popping the cork on this lustrous pink bubbly always does the trick, guaranteed. The youthful balance of delicious, bright Poulsard and Gamay fruit and spontaneous fermentation will ignite any festivity, and the creamy bubbles and lightly sweet flavors of raspberry sorbet and sliced strawberries will spread mirth with abandon. Please, indulge.
Price: $15.99 Add To Cart

2010 Fleur de Pedesclaux, Pauillac
By: Clyde Beffa Jr. | Review Date: 8/28/2016 | Send Email
This is the second wine of Château Pedescalux, a Pauillac property that offers a lot of bang for your buck. The Fleur de Pedesclaux is softer and more approachable, but in the same modern style, with plenty of fruit but softer tannins. A blend of 50% Cab, 45% Merlot, and 5% Cab Franc. This property is on a roll.
Drink from 2015 to 2015
Price: $24.99 Add To Cart

2014 Emmolo Napa Valley Sauvignon Blanc
By: Andrew Stevens | Review Date: 8/28/2016 | Send Email
I was surprised, impressed, and quite pleased when I tasted this Sauvignon Blanc from Napa. Despite having been in Napa for almost 100 years you can taste the mineral drive that I associate with many Italian whites. This wine has a lovely nose with white stone fruit and some melon notes, this follows on the palate along with bright acid. The balance and cleanness of the wine actually astonished me, I highly recommend this as a different, but excellent Napa Sauv. Blanc.
Price: $19.99 Add To Cart

Wine Club

$14.99

2009 Domaine de la Jaufrette Gigondas
By: John Majeski | Review Date: 8/28/2016 | Send Email
A sense of place, in this case, the galette-riddled ribbon of earth that comprises the vineyards of Gigondas, certain to deliver some of the finest, most memorable Grenache-based wines in the Southern Rhône, where the sturdy, tradition-born wines of Domaine Jaufrette are allowed to slowly mature for several years in vat, barrel and bottle before release. Few winemakers spend literally this much time nurturing their 'offspring', and it shows in the velvety texture and depth of this excellent vintage. Possessing deft aromas of mulberry, black plum and sous-bois, with a dark core of fleshy fruit and cocoa underpinned by supple tannins, this wine will complement rich beef dishes or savory autumnal stews. Reward yourself with a bottle, you won't regret it. ​
Price: $39.99 Add To Cart

2014 GRÜNER by Etz Grüner Veltliner Kamptal (1L)
By: Scott Beckerley | Review Date: 8/27/2016 | Send Email
This fantastic value Gruner is classic in character with limestone, nectarine and lemon/lime flavors. Peppery notes linger on the finish. Bracing acidity, but not over the top enough to take the enamel off of your teeth. Fantastic with a shrimp salad or a nice side dish of roasted Brussels sprouts with toasted, sliced almonds.
Price: $13.99 Add To Cart

2014 Spellbound California Chardonnay
By: Scott Beckerley | Review Date: 8/27/2016 | Send Email
This little bargain Chardonnay will leave you spellbound! It is one of our most popular domestic Chardonnays because of its tropical flavors, cream and bright acidity on the finish. Just a light hint of oak. Excellent in part because of its lineage from the Mondavi family, who as you know, have just a little experience in winemaking.
Price: $11.99 Add To Cart

2009 La Velona Brunello di Montalcino
By: Scott Beckerley | Review Date: 8/27/2016 | Send Email
Bargain Brunello! Whoever thought those two words would go together? This is indeed that elusive beast and it will be sold out soon. La Velona has always been lush with dark, black cherry fruit, cassis and boysenberry. Super silky tannins and ready to go now. Don't wait to buy it!

2015 Quinta da Aveleda Loureiro-Alvarinho Vinho Verde
By: Scott Beckerley | Review Date: 8/27/2016 | Send Email
This bright and semi-fizzy white is a great way to start a meal or to have at a picnic or to just plain enjoy by itself! Dry, with white stone fruits and peach notes, it pairs up very well with spicy foods. I like mine with ceviche.
Price: $8.99 Add To Cart
W&S 90

2015 Zudugarai "Amats" Getariako Txakolina
By: Sarah Covey | Review Date: 8/27/2016 | Send Email
Woohoo! It's finally Txak-o-clock! I love this affordable Txakoli. It's Red Delicious apple, lemon zest, saline, and Bartlett pear, with a refreshing acidity that makes me keep reaching for more! Lower alcohol, this is a wonderfully versatile aperitif wine. Perfect with fresh summer tomato crostini, the classic Spanish pairing of Marcona almonds and Manchego cheese, or even with a fish or chicken dish. Stock up!
Top Value!
Price: $13.99 Add To Cart

2008 Louis Brochet "Millésimé" Brut Champagne
By: Scott Beckerley | Review Date: 8/27/2016 | Send Email
This producer is brand-new to us, and finding a 2008 at this price is just phenomenal. There is a bright acidity and cleansing minerality to this release that will make it a good candidate for mid-term cellaring. All estate fruit, with partial barrel aging that lends a bit of toast to go along with the underlying caramel and golden apple flavors. If you like very rich, get the 2009. If you like more acidity and chalk, the 2008 is the one for you!
Price: $34.99 Add To Cart

2013 Mas Karolina Côtes Catalanes
By: Scott Beckerley | Review Date: 8/27/2016 | Send Email
This project of Caroline Bonville, cousin to the much admired Olivier Bonville (creator of one my favorite lines of small-estate champagne) is putting out many excellent reds from the Roussillon area. This particular example is bright and spicy, with a overlay of ripe fruit that makes it a little too easy to drink. There is a purity of red fruits and soft, smooth tannins that make this little affordable beauty a real gem. Perfect with barbecue and smoked meats.
Price: $13.99 Add To Cart

2014 Domaine Long-Depaquit (Albert Bichot) Chablis
By: Scott Beckerley | Review Date: 8/27/2016 | Send Email
Hello bargain Chablis! I love super clean whites like Gruner Veltliner and Albarino, so naturally, I love Chablis. It is even better when I can afford to buy it! This wonderful bottling of Long Depaquit has lime, white pepper and Anjou pear scents and flavors. Clean and full of grapefruit but, retains enough body to carry it off. Should age well for a couple of years, if you like to keep yours to soften the acidity. I love the acidity, so I enjoy it now.
Price: $19.99 Add To Cart

2015 Montsecano Pinot Noir Casablanca Valley
By: Jim Barr | Review Date: 8/26/2016 | Send Email
There have been some great Pinot Noirs coming out of Chile the last few years, to the point that I have maintained to many of you that the Chileans should have planted Pinot many years ago. Their environment, in many areas, is perfect. This small production (375 cases which is equal to only 15 barrels) is deeply colored with opulent, powerful aromas of blueberry, blackberry, to floral fruit characteristics with undertones of forest floor to slate-like minerality, which carries well into a broad, rich, viscous palate impression. Complex, deeply flavored, silky and round, this well-integrated, superbly focused Pinot finishes with a long, lingering, mouthwatering set of flavors. This gorgeous Gem should continue to improve over the next five to ten years. Rusty has demanded that I bring home at least a case of this great Gem and honestly believes that you shouldn’t miss this wine, too. Great Value! ***** 13.5% ABV *****
Drink from 2016 to 2016
Price: $39.99 Add To Cart
JS 96

2010 La Velona Brunello di Montalcino Riserva
By: Mike Parres | Review Date: 8/26/2016 | Send Email
I am giving this two thumbs up ! ROCKIN Brunello, beautifully layered, expressive wine bursting with sweet, ripe strawberries, vanilla, black cherries intermingled with subtle earth and toasted oak notes, minerals and a hint of bitter chocolate on the finish; round and ripe tannins and a long aftertaste. YUM !!!
Price: $39.99 Add To Cart
JS 93 RP 91

2015 Zudugarai "Amats" Rosé Getariako Txakolina
By: Shaun Green | Review Date: 8/25/2016 | Send Email
Fun and bright and clean and fresh, dry with just a hint of spirits, even a great price .... what is not to like here! Fantastic and crowd pleasing.
Top Value!
Price: $13.99 Add To Cart

2004 Lopez de Heredia "Viña Tondonia" Reserva Rioja
By: Sal Rodriguez | Review Date: 8/25/2016 | Send Email
I'm consistently awed by the fine wines the folks at Lopez de Heredia have been making. I guess, being in the business for about 140 years you learn a few things about your craft. This superbly complex wine is something really special. I've had their late 90's Tondonia and they all seem to age like Tom Cruise has aged - Slowly, comfortably, and hard to believe it's the age that it is. Some of the highest quality wines you'll find in the price category. Cheers!
Price: $39.99 Add To Cart
RP 94 WS 90

2015 Zudugarai "Amats" Getariako Txakolina
By: Shaun Green | Review Date: 8/25/2016 | Send Email
When you're looking for a wine to have with light summer meals, or a dish that is hard to pair give this Txakolina a try. This delicious clean white has a slight spritz helping to make it extremely versatile
Price: $13.99 Add To Cart

2013 Cantina Valle Isarco "Sabiona" Kerner
By: Mike Parres | Review Date: 8/25/2016 | Send Email
Bright & enticing, with aromas of lemon drop, flowers and a hint of spice jump out of the glass. Then pristine and lively on the palate, with laser-like precision to the tropical fruit and white stone fruit flavors. The finish is long and minerally, with a mouthwatering quality thanks to the bright saline character and harmonious acidity.
Price: $44.99 Add To Cart

2013 Sparkman "Holler" Columbia Valley Cabernet Sauvignon
By: John Majeski | Review Date: 8/25/2016 | Send Email
With a rambunctious name like "Holler," this wine better be something to really shout about! Fortunately for the rest of us, Washington winemaker Chris Sparkman and his wife Kelly poured their everything into this bold and uncompromising Bordeaux blend. Both expressive in the glass and expansive on the palate, this wine displays opulent, velvety black fruits enhanced by rose petals, humidor, dark chocolate and lavish oak elements. The downside is there isn't much of this remarkable wine left in the physical universe, so please do not hesitate to indulge, you won't regret it. Your ribeye will thank you.....
Top Value!
Price: $27.99 Add To Cart
WS 94

2015 Mönchhof Erdener Prälat Riesling Auslese Mosel
By: David Othenin-Girard | Review Date: 8/25/2016 | Send Email
A legendary wine and one of the best Erdener Pralat I've ever tasted. Focused yet complex - this wine should evolve for several decades, but it will be difficult to keep your hands off it. Magical!!!
Price: $48.99 Add To Cart

2013 Tapiz "Alta Coleccion" Malbec Mendoza
By: Heather Vander Wall | Review Date: 8/25/2016 | Send Email
Looking for a fun new everyday bottle? Try this lovely little Tapiz Malbec! We recently tasted a bottle of this, and I was impressed with the nice balance and pretty fruit. Although slightly lighter than some Malbecs from the area, this wine shows lovely dark berry fruit and mild spice notes. Malbecs from this area are also extremely versatile for food pairing, and are a great go-to for weekday nights.
Price: $13.99 Add To Cart
JS 95

2007 La Rioja Alta "Viña Ardanza" Reserva Rioja
By: Heather Vander Wall | Review Date: 8/25/2016 | Send Email
I am in love with the 2007 vintage of Vina Ardanza from la Rioja Alta! Upon release the bottle was a bit shy, showing plenty of structure and little fruit, but checking back in a few months later, I find the wine has opened up and become even more elegant and expressive than the well-loved 2005 vintage. 2007 as a rule was a little cooler, and therefore the wine shows a bit more high-toned acidity and structure, but this also lends a more subtle character to the wine. Although it is already showing some savory development, this wine certainly has the structure to age further. Drink some now and save some for a couple of years!

2014 Gessinger "Josefsberg Old Vines" Zeltinger Sonnenuhr Riesling Spätlese ** Mosel
By: David Othenin-Girard | Review Date: 8/25/2016 | Send Email
This spectacular offering is the best of the best when it comes to balanced Spatlese. Showing stupendous acidity and tons of freshness with the first tiny hints of petrol peaking through. Powerful aromatic and mouth filling, the texture is perfectly balanced by the racy acid. Lovely price on this and the perfect pairing for SPICY foods.
Price: $24.99 Add To Cart
WE 92

2007 La Rioja Alta "Viña Ardanza" Reserva Rioja
By: Shaun Green | Review Date: 8/24/2016 | Send Email
If you're longing for Rioja like it used to be, look no further, here it is. Continuing a run of great Ardanza vintages, the 2007 will not disappoint.
Top Value!

2013 Tapiz "Alta Coleccion" Malbec Mendoza
By: Sal Rodriguez | Review Date: 8/24/2016 | Send Email
Looking for a bright, fruit forward, easy drinking Malbec, for not a lot of money? May I hand you a case of this? Party on with this easy to drink, lovely, red-fruited number that will surely charm your guests. Enjoy!
Price: $13.99 Add To Cart
JS 95

2004 Lopez de Heredia "Viña Tondonia" Reserva Rioja
By: Kirk Walker | Review Date: 8/24/2016 | Send Email
Always a favorite, just one sniff takes me to a happy place! It has a perfect blend of Fresh and dried cherry fruit balanced with spice, leather, earth and just a hint of funk. It keeps you coming back just to try to tease apart all of the aromatic layers. It is already seamless on the palate, with all of the complexity from the nose played out against a dusty fine tannins and juicy acidity. This is the friendliest Tondonia I have tried. It will be very hard not to drink it while it is young, but this wine has places it still needs to go. So go big, buy deep you will not regret it.
Price: $39.99 Add To Cart
RP 94 WS 90

2013 Hendry "Block 24" Napa Valley Primitivo
By: Kirk Walker | Review Date: 8/24/2016 | Send Email
For a Zin lover but not Zinfandel, no matter what legend or history you have read. This is dark fruited and spicy, just like Zin but different, and not just it is speaking with a heavy accent different. It plays different on the palate, just a subtle difference in the spice. It is delicious regardless. All that fruit and spice are balanced with enough tannin to make it a little more interesting at the dinner table.
Price: $29.99 Add To Cart

2012 Hendry "Blocks 7 & 22" Napa Valley Zinfandel
By: Kirk Walker | Review Date: 8/24/2016 | Send Email
Spicy. Herbal and pepper spice with lots of facets to it. Rich and supple with a dark berry fruit and balanced with good acidity. This is not a simple Zinfandel, crush it at a BBQ or take your time with it, you'll be coming back for more.
Price: $27.99 Add To Cart
W&S 90 WE 90

Page: 1 2 3 next >>