Staff Favorites

If you’re going to have Robert Parker or Stephen Tanzer over for dinner, selecting a wine they’ve rated highly will be a nice choice. However, when you’re buying wines for yourself, we’d love to see you find wines that match up your unique palate and pocketbook. We have a large staff of friendly and knowledgeable wine professionals that taste hundreds of wines each week. They can put you in touch with bottles that you are likely to love, often at a much lower cost than the highly-rated gems that often see a run-up in price and frequent availability issues. Like any great group of opinionated professionals, our staff has varied tastes themselves. Often our customers will find a particular staff member with a style that corresponds to their own. That concept works extremely well in our retail stores, and this section is our effort to bring you the same online. Don’t get us wrong, we love the highly rated wines from the press and will continue to offer them, but we think you’re missing out if you’re not augmenting those selections with picks from our excellent staff. Here are their favorites. (Click on a name to see their other selections - or to drop them a line.) Cheers!

Reviews

  
Page: 1 2 3 next >>
2001 Bel Orme Tronquoy de Lalande, Haut Medoc (1.5L)
By: Steve Bearden | Review Date: 7/20/2017 | Send Email
Here is a deep and husky bargain with earthy blackberry aromas. The deep middle is filled with black cherry and berry fruit that glides into the firm, crisp finish. This is a great bottle of 13 year old Bordeaux for dinner parties that won't break the bank.
Price: $34.99 Add To Cart

2014 Haut-Bailly, Pessac-Léognan
By: Steve Bearden | Review Date: 7/20/2017 | Send Email
This is elegant and complex with touches of earth and tobacco, plenty of sleek dark fruit and very classy lines. Intense, bubbling with potential and in need of a few years in bottle or a few hours in decanter; this is a fantastic wine.

2010 Poggio dell'Otto Brunello di Montalcino Riserva
By: Steve Bearden | Review Date: 7/20/2017 | Send Email
A Brunello Riserva from a fantastic vintage selling for under thirty dollars is a rare find. One this approachable is a steal. This is filled with sun baked soil, dusty cherries and earthy darker fruit all in an elegant and gentle package. The power of the vintage seems completely in check until the fine tannic grip shows up on the finish.
Price: $27.99 Add To Cart

2014 Siran, Margaux
By: Steve Bearden | Review Date: 7/20/2017 | Send Email
An outrageous bargain for the Margaux appellation and showing surprising class and precision. This sophisticated wine has flowery aromas, wisps of oak, a middle of sweet blackberry fruit and a finish showing very fine grip. Great value here.

2015 Domaine Bart "Les Longeroies" Marsannay Rouge
By: Joe Manekin | Review Date: 7/20/2017 | Send Email
Our favorite Marsannay specialists, Domaine Bart, are back in the house, with an impressive nine different Marsannay bottlings for you to play around with. In fact, in the name of thoroughness, I am in the process of doing just that! Les Longeroies is a clay and marl vineyard, and the plump, generous mixed berry fruit with round, elegant tannins reflects this soil type. It is always one of my favorite Marsannays, succulent and purely fruited, but with the structure to age a bit. Delicious, and as I previously mentioned a favorite bottling amongst one of my favorite producers in Domaine Bart.
Price: $26.99 Add To Cart

2010 Langoa-Barton, St-Julien
By: Steve Bearden | Review Date: 7/20/2017 | Send Email
This is big, bold and balanced with a middle of sweet cherries, cola, spice and a long, ripe finish. With decanting this is delicious today but will only get better.

2014 Léoville-Barton, St-Julien
By: Steve Bearden | Review Date: 7/20/2017 | Send Email
This is expressive and bright with violet aromas and spicy and crunchy berry fruit that is already gaining complexity. There is great balance and freshness to this big, dry wine that is already hard to resist.

2015 Domaine Bart "Les Finottes" Marsannay Rouge
By: Joe Manekin | Review Date: 7/20/2017 | Send Email
Domaine Bart makes no less than nine, count them nine, Marsannays! And I'm excited that in this great vintage, we have them all to show off the differences in site - a true Burgundian lesson in terroir without the need to shell out three digits per bottle. Les Finottes is actually a monopole vineyard - exclusively owned by Domaine Bart - featuring sandy soils and some really old vines (up to 90 years old). A step up in complexity from the straight Marsannay, the wine is big, spicy, woodsy, dark fruited, and structured, with tannins that grip but are ultimately well balanced. The scale and richness of fruit on the nose nearly reminds me of Central Otago, though on the palate, even in this ripe vintage, we are clearly in Burgundy. At under $25, this is a lot of wine, and it should cellar well for another 7-8 years.
Price: $23.99 Add To Cart

2009 La Rioja Alta "Viña Arana" Reserva Rioja
By: Andrew Stevens | Review Date: 7/20/2017 | Send Email
I am definitely a fan of this winery and was excited to get to taste a new one (for me) from La Rioja Alta and I was not disappointed in the slightest. This is one of those bottles that helps to showcase why I like Rioja as a region so much. Bright red fruit notes with plenty of earthy notes. Alternating sweet and savory notes with a lovely mouth feel, I was fortunate to taste this a day after it had been opened and it was screaming good.
Price: $24.99 Add To Cart
JS 94

2012 Reserve de Léoville-Barton, St-Julien
By: Steve Bearden | Review Date: 7/20/2017 | Send Email
The second wine of Leoville Barton is floral and fresh with the same sweet red and dark fruit as the first wine but none of the tannic scale. This has lots of Leoville character in an approachable style and price.
Price: $31.99 Add To Cart
JS 90

2014 Le Murmure de Larcis-Ducasse, St-Emilion
By: Steve Bearden | Review Date: 7/20/2017 | Send Email
The second wine of Larcis Ducasse is fat, sweet and plump with lots of cherry and raspberry fruit, hints of oak and limestone shadings on the finish. This young wine is precocious and already easy to drink.
Price: $29.99 Add To Cart

2013 Aleph Semillon Mendoza
By: Joe Manekin | Review Date: 7/20/2017 | Send Email
Argentina has around 900 remainining hectares of Semillon vines, many of them brought over in the first half of the 20th century. In this case, these 70 year-old vines yield a lovely wine with waxy white fruit and a soft texture. Roberto, whose family hails from Galicia, Spain, suggests serving this delicious white with octopus.
Price: $19.99 Add To Cart

2003 Aleph "Old Vines" Malbec Mendoza
By: Joe Manekin | Review Date: 7/20/2017 | Send Email
This is terrific Malbec, with nearly 15 years bottle age, and therefore a real rarity. Great presence on the palate - dark fruits, graphite and some savory hickory smoke notes as well, but still fresh. The Malbec in this bottle comes from 90 year old vines in the La Consulta district of the Uco Valley. Maybe one of our best deals in serious Argentinian Malbecs.
Price: $39.99 Add To Cart

2010 Aleph Malbec Mendoza
By: Joe Manekin | Review Date: 7/20/2017 | Send Email
Aleph continues to make some of our favorite Malbecs - delicious and often with the added bonus of some extra bottle age. Fruit is sourced from Lujan de Cuyo, the traditional home base for Mendoza wine country's historic bodegas as well as the area containing the largest number of older vineyards. As usual, this bottling is bright and quite tasty, with excellent depth of flavor and texture.
Price: $24.99 Add To Cart

2015 Moulin de la Gardette "Tradition" Gigondas
By: Alex Schroeder | Review Date: 7/20/2017 | Send Email
Always a favorite Rhone blend of mine, this 2015 vintage is remarkably on point! It has those deep brambly, blackberry flavors from 80% Grenache, with the classic garrigue/herb profile often found in great Gigondas. The depth of fruit is well balanced by refreshing acidity from Gigondas’ high eleveation, and the tannins are pronounced but well integrated. This would definitely benefit from some time in the cellar.
Price: $24.99 Add To Cart
RP 90 - 92

2014 Domaine Baud Chardonnay l'Etoile Blanc
By: Keith Mabry | Review Date: 7/20/2017 | Send Email
For those hesitant to explore the wine of Jura, this is the perfect crossover. The Chardonnay is all from Baud's vineyards in l'Etoile. One of the signature points of this region are the tiny fossilized stars found scattered throughout the vineyards. This little stars or "etoile" are from ancient sea urchin or anemone that roamed this prehistoric seabed. The soils are primarily limestone which are perfect for Chardonnay. This is a non-oxidative style, a now very common departure from the traditional oxidative wines of the region. The wine has gorgeous aromas of butter poached pears spiced with nutmeg, clove and cardamom. It is supple on the palate and beautifully balanced in the mouth. It is also an exceptional wine to pair with food. I personally love it with smoked salmon, creamier or medium cheeses and with steamed shellfish. For fans of White Burgundy and California Chardonnay, you will be amazed how close to home this brings you but with its own special Jurassic character.
Price: $16.99 Add To Cart

Domaine Baud "Cuvée Sauvage" Brut Cremant du Jura
By: Keith Mabry | Review Date: 7/20/2017 | Send Email
I have poured this wine for several dinner parties now and it is always a hit! The soils of the Jura are mostly marl and limestone sharing a lot in common with Champagne. This cuvee of Chardonnay and Pinot really explodes on the nose with the essence of spiced pear fruit, candied ginger and biscuity dough. Tight mousse and crisp acidity keep this lively and refreshing on the palate. The "Sauvage" makes an exquisite aperitif but I find it just as enjoyable with food. One of my favorite cocktail party starters is a spiced miso dip with crudites. This goes perfectly!
Price: $19.99 Add To Cart

2015 Clos de l'Anhel "Les Terrassettes" Corbières
By: Keith Mabry | Review Date: 7/20/2017 | Send Email
At my visit to the Millesime Bio Organic Wine Fair this past February, I had a chance to catch up with Sophie and her remarkable wines. Sophie excels with her non-intervention style producing wines reflective of her beautiful terroir in Corbieres all while farming organically. Oh yeah, and she does it all by herself! The 2014 was a rousing success with its polished tannins and lithe structure. The 2015 sits more generously in bottle than the 2014 though. Deeper purple fruit and a more intense perfume on the nose still finds a wine with beautiful polish but more heft and generosity. I expect the 2015 to have a long life ahead of it but it is such a pleasure to drink now.
Price: $16.99 Add To Cart

2007 La Rioja Alta "904" Gran Reserva Rioja
By: Andrew Whiteley | Review Date: 7/20/2017 | Send Email
This wine holds a special place in my heart. I recently returned from a trip to Spain on which my wife and I celebrated our 2nd anniversary with a tremendous meal at Taberna Herrerias in Logrono (at the suggestion of one of our direct import producers, Miguel Merino. Thank you Miguel!). While we typically sought out new wines to try on our trip, this was a special night that called for sure fire wine choices. I was thrilled to see this 2007 vintage on the menu. A stunningly classic wine the 904 Gran Reserva is a perfect example of old school Rioja with a touch of modern sensibilities. The sweet black fruits are pure and bright - full of black cherries and wild plums. But the fruit perfectly complements, never overshadows, the savory bass tones of the wine. There are tons of wet stones and rich healthy compost notes here. The oak integrates perfectly offering vanilla and baking spices. High acidity gives excellent freshness and lift to wine which finishes on long and silky smooth tannins. Everything is in perfect balance now and while there will certainly be lots of development to come, it is likely to remain that way for at least a couple of decades in the cellar. I've added several magnums to my cellar for future celebrations already.

2015 Moulin de la Gardette "Tradition" Gigondas
By: David Driscoll | Review Date: 7/20/2017 | Send Email
Everything about the 2015 Moulin de la Gardette is fabulous, from the gorgeously embossed bottle, to the classy front label, to the enticing aromas of blueberries and violets, to the delicate and intricate flavors on the palate, to the lithe and elegant finish. In summary, this is the perfect bottle of French red wine and it speaks to the beauty of Gigondas and Rhone wines on the whole when they're made with restraint and balance. It's the kind of bottle you bring to a dinner party that impresses the hell out of everyone, but for a price that makes complete sense.
Price: $24.99 Add To Cart
RP 90 - 92

2015 Moulin de la Gardette "Tradition" Gigondas
By: Andrew Whiteley | Review Date: 7/20/2017 | Send Email
It's always special when before you've even stuck your nose in the glass, you're struck by the intense color of a wine. This Gigondas pours with a deep ruby core promising intensity and a pale garnet rim eluding to the delicacy within. The nose does not disappoint. Wild cherries and ripe late summer brambles fill the glass. There is an herbal component to the nose that begs for this to be paired with a roast. On the palate the wine is lively and energetic. Intense purity of fruit combines all that was promised by the color and aroma. Rich ripe berries and herbaceous thyme and sage abound. The tannins are fine and dive into a long graceful finish. A splendid wine that will no doubt continue to showcase it's elegance for years to come.
Top Value!
Price: $24.99 Add To Cart
RP 90 - 92

2015 Domaine Bart Marsannay Rouge
By: Joe Manekin | Review Date: 7/20/2017 | Send Email
Domaine Bart is not only one of my favorite K&L direct import Burgundy domaines, it is amongst my favorite reds of any type in our inventory. The 2015 Marsannay is a good example of the Bart house style in a great Burgundy vintage: succulent fruit, lively/juicy acidity, supple tannins, and an overall feel that is as reflective of place as it is easy to drink. Recently I opened a bottle at home, intending to enjoy it over a couple nights to track the development. After about 15 minutes and a few glasses in, it quickly became apparent that there would be no steady tracking of this wine's evolution. In another 30 minutes, the bottle was empty. I think my wife had a glass while I quickly took care of the rest. My highest recommendation on this wine.
Price: $19.99 Add To Cart

2015 Kalinda Rutherford Cabernet Sauvignon
By: Anthony Russo | Review Date: 7/20/2017 | Send Email
The value here is ridiculous; I will be getting a case for myself to enjoy and see how it comes of age. This is the most fulfilling cab in this price point I have ever encountered. Absolutely delicious to the very last drop. Big, full, and structured. The only downfall being that the bottle is only 750 ml.
Price: $27.99 Add To Cart

2014 Chateau Guiraud "G" Bordeaux White
By: Andrew Stevens | Review Date: 7/20/2017 | Send Email
What an absolutely delightful and refreshing white wine. From the Sauterne house of Guiraud comes a wonderful dry white using 69% Sav Blanc and 31% Semillon. The wine is light and crisp, very clean with a little touch of salinity and excellent driving acid. Bordeaux blanc wines are often overlooked but for those looking for an excellent summer food and party wine this should definitely make the list.

2010 Poggio dell'Otto Brunello di Montalcino Riserva
By: David Othenin-Girard | Review Date: 7/20/2017 | Send Email
Coming across a great Brunello is not hard to do. We've got tons of them. Finding a great riserva is equally simple, if you've got the extra coin to throw at it. But, finding a riserva from a great vintage like 2010 for less than $30 that is absolutely UNHEARD of! It's just not something that happens. A nose of big dark fruit and earthy fresh herbs. Deep and powerful, but not inky. This is serious wine appropriate for anyone looking for a rich red. Grab a decanter and get to it!
Price: $27.99 Add To Cart

2016 Tohu Sauvignon Blanc Awatere Valley Marlborough
By: Ryan Woodhouse | Review Date: 7/19/2017 | Send Email
Tohu is a beautiful example of Awatere Valley Sauvignon Blanc. Many people don't realize that Marlborough is actually quite a large area composed of several quite distinct sub-regions. The Awatere Valley sub-region is cooler and more exposed than most parts;combined its deep river gravel soils this makes for highly aromatic wines, with bright acidity, white floral characters and plenty of zesty fruit. At their worst they can be downright vegetal...think canned asparagus...at their best (as in this instance) they represent an fantastically vibrant, dynamic, distinctive expression of Sauvignon Blanc that can be found no where else on earth. This wine has beautiful ripeness of fruit, juicy mouthwatering acidity and a stony mineral persistence that goes on and on. I'm so happy that folks at Decanter weren't scared to reward such an inexpensive wine with such a huge score (often reserved for much more "prestigious" wines) as I think it's a beautifully made wine that is a dazzling reflection of its place. This will be a staple for many, many people this summer and beyond.
Top Value!

2015 Te Mata "Coleraine" Bordeaux Blend Hawke's Bay
By: Ryan Woodhouse | Review Date: 7/19/2017 | Send Email
They say things come in threes...well the 2013 and 2014 Coleraine both received perfect 100 point scores. The 2015 release now seeks to complete the trio and is definitely flirting with perfection once again. The wine has only been reviewed by a limited number of critics and has already racked up two 98 point scores and two 96s. Chatting with GM / Owner Nick Buck I couldn't resist asking him what was his preference among this trio of back-to-back-to-back magic vintages...he would only answer that many writers, Somms and wine industry folks had raved about the new 2015 release and commented that it probably has more immediate appeal than the two prior vintages. I thought the wine was a classic Coleraine delivering all of what I have come to expect from this iconic release. But in this vintage it seems to have an intensely inky color and a particularly concentrated mid-palate. There is deep, plummy, blackcurrant fruit here but there is also plenty of fine grained, powdery tannins that will assure a long life. The 2015 Coleraine can undoubtedly stand shoulder to shoulder with the best vintages of this prestigious wine and really only time will tell which vintage comes out on top.
Drink from 2020 to 2020

Domaine Pacory "K&L Exclusive - Reserve" Domfrontais Cask Strength Calvados (750ml)
By: Anthony Russo | Review Date: 7/19/2017 | Send Email
Another insane K&L exclusive pricing on a unique and mouthwatering spirit. The high pear percentage of this recipe make a gorgeous contrast to the more typical apple flavors and make this a must try. Growing pears apparently takes a lot of patience, enjoying this takes none.
Price: $39.99 Add To Cart

Domaine Hubert "K&L Exclusive" Pays d'Auge Vieux Calvados (750ml)
By: Anthony Russo | Review Date: 7/19/2017 | Send Email
This was my first time drinking Calvados and instantly fell in love. Apple cider for adults. Distilled in old school, alembic copper stills, I couldn't believe how intense the flavors of cider, brown sugar, and warm apple pie can be found in a spirit at this price.
Price: $29.99 Add To Cart

VING Kale, Lemon Peel, & Cucumber Infused Organic Farm Fresh Vodka (750ml)
By: Anthony Russo | Review Date: 7/19/2017 | Send Email
Didn't think I would find a Vodka I enjoyed (let alone when kale is on the label), but this one really caught me off guard. The kale is infused as opposed to "flavored" and another distillation follows, making the taste subtle and delicate. The cucumber notes really stand out on the palate. This Vodka drinks almost like a super light Gin and would make a great crossover.
Price: $39.99 Add To Cart

2015 Rustenberg Chardonnay Stellenbosch South Africa
By: Anthony Russo | Review Date: 7/19/2017 | Send Email
A great South African Chardonnay that reminds me of Chablis, but with a touch of light and well integrated oak; no buttered popcorn here. Lemon zesty, lots of granny smith apples, acidic, and sharp aromas make this a great accompaniment to soft cheeses, fatty light meats, or just on its own.
Price: $17.99 Add To Cart
DC 95 VN 91

2014 Domaine Samuel Billaud Petit Chablis
By: Joe Manekin | Review Date: 7/19/2017 | Send Email
There is absolutely nothing "petit" about this impressive, chalky, mineral driven Petit Chablis! Having recently tasted this, alongside a nice line-up of Chablis which featured some 1er Cru as well as several Grand Clos Les Clos which included 2015 Dauvissat, I am happy to report that this not only held its own ,but was one my favorites! Just a wonderful, over achieving bottle from this fantastic producer. Highly recommended.
Price: $19.99 Add To Cart

2015 Porta del Vento Catarratto IGT Sicily
By: Greg St. Clair | Review Date: 7/19/2017 | Send Email
Just like in real estate wine is location, location, location… I wouldn’t have thought much of a Cattaratto coming from this part of Sicily but when I tasted Porta del Vento I was stunned, 2,000 feet of elevation can do a lot. The nose of this wine is superb, layers of ripe pear, spiced with just a bit of earth and garrigue that just pours from your glass. On the palate the wine has weight, density and a real supple richness that is brought to focus by a superb acidity and finishing minerality. The wine has structure, it’s got shoulders it’s powerful but no hint of any wood this wine has grown out of the ground structure, a real wine. The finish is wonderfully exuberant, full of super refreshing, ripe Bartlett pear that goes on and on, sensational wine. Pair this wine with a meatier fish like shark, swordfish or even Halibut.
Drink from 2017 to 2017
Price: $21.99 Add To Cart

2015 Moulin de la Gardette "Tradition" Gigondas
By: Keith Mabry | Review Date: 7/19/2017 | Send Email
I've had the chance to taste and/or drink this wine several times over the last few months and each time it has never failed to please and excite. First, during our Rhone trip, Alex Pross and I visited Gardette’s proprietor, Jean-Baptiste Meunier and in eager anticipation, tasted the wine both knowing afterwards this was going to be a huge success. Second, JB came to visit our LA store where we did an in-store tasting and consumer dinner afterwards. Consistently throughout the evening, every patron asked two questions - can I have some more wine to drink, please and when does the shipment get here? Finally, I tasted it this week with the LA staff, who flipped over it, and I finally have an answer for the previous questions. It's here and you can have as much as you want! At least for now... The 2015 Rhone vintage continues to excite and delight. The wines have a beautiful purity of fruit and concentration but lack the heaviness and headiness of the 2007 vintage. There is just so much fresh brambly fruit that I personally can't get enough. The Gardette is a benchmark producer for me and its appellation of Gigondas. It has the ripe fleshy black fruit, the savory white pepper and Asian spiced palate plus it finishes with the toasty garrigue notes so classic to the region. On every level, this wine is a success. It's one of the reasons, Jean-Baptiste has become such a good friend to our stores and a great partner to work with. The wines always hits home runs regardless of vintage but in a vintage like 2015, it's a Grand Slam!
Price: $24.99 Add To Cart
RP 90 - 92

2001 Auchroisk 15 Year Old "Old Particular" K&L Exclusive Single Barrel Cask Strength Single Malt Whisky (750ml)
By: Joe Manekin | Review Date: 7/19/2017 | Send Email
I don't think I can recall a cask strength single malt as delicious and downright drinkable as the Auchroisk 15. It makes me thirsty thinking about tasting this yesterday, and now that I recall I think I momentarily broke with the professional convention of spitting; the whiskey tasted really good and I did not want to spit. I think I remember Driscoll describing this as ideal for the warmer weather, and I would absolutely agree with that. Light on its feet, subtle, harmonious, one that I will be drinking for sure.
Price: $59.99 Add To Cart

2010 Camerano Barolo Cannubi
By: Greg St. Clair | Review Date: 7/19/2017 | Send Email
I love this wine, a classic old school Barolo onion skin coloring around the rim and it looks as if it is already twenty years old! The nose of this wine is classic, filled with orange peel, leather, rose hips, accented by bits of smoke and truffle. On the palate the wine is full, young and vibrant yet it has a supple fluidity, oh there’s tannin but it’s what you’d expect from classically styled Barolo. The flavors reflect the nose with perhaps a bit more of that orange peel, sotto bosco, leather all subtle and bold in the same moment. The finish is long and very linear; the wine seems to go on and on. Perfect match for braised meats or wild mushroom risotto.
Drink from 2017 to 2017
Price: $58.99 Add To Cart

2001 Bowmore 15 Year Old "Old Particular" K&L Exclusive Single Bourbon Barrel Cask Strength Single Malt Whisky (750ml)
By: Joe Manekin | Review Date: 7/19/2017 | Send Email
It's always fun to have new cask strength bottlings of Bowmore, one of our favorite distilleries, come into stock. This is a beautiful expression, very full flavored, with a savory salty, bitter caramel profile, full of deep bass tones and wood smoke. It's tough to find as identifiable and strong a personality in the single malt section, at full cask strength, as the Old Particular Bowmore bottling. Great stuff.
Price: $89.99 Add To Cart

1984 Caol Ila 33 Year Old "Old Particular" K&L Exclusive Single Barrel Cask Strength Single Malt Whisky (750ml)
By: Joe Manekin | Review Date: 7/19/2017 | Send Email
Wowee Zowee! This is as close to perfection in a single malt as I have tasted in a long time. There is something about good, older Caol Ila that, delicious as it is, I find nearly impossible to put into words. If you have not yet had the opportunity to taste older Caol Ila, to experience the interplay of honey, salt, and subtle smoke, that coat the palate and stick around for minutes, you really ought to splurge for this bottle. And if you are familiar with the magic that is older Caol Ila, then you don't need much convincing. This has my highest recommendation.
Price: $349.99 Add To Cart

2007 Teresa Raiz Decano Rosso
By: Greg St. Clair | Review Date: 7/19/2017 | Send Email
The 2007 Teresa Raiz Decano Rosso is a blend of 60% Merlot, 30% Cabernet Sauvignon and 10% Cabernet Franc, the grapes were grown on Friuil’s classic soils a mix of glacial morainic and rocky flat. The grapes were harvested the first part of October, fermented in stainless steel and then aged in French Allier barrique for 14 months. At 10 years old the wine’s age has allowed it to soften and have the flavors evolved into a complex blend of earth, fruit and spice, owner/winemaker Paolo Tosolini suggests you try it with braised meat dishes.
Drink from 2017 to 2017
Price: $29.99 Add To Cart

Wine Club

$23.99

2015 Kalinda Rutherford Cabernet Sauvignon
By: Muriel Sarik | Review Date: 7/19/2017 | Send Email
This is an elegant Cabernet from the Napa Valley. It is smooth, balanced and just the right amount of fruit. I love those dusty tannins. This is the true mark of a Rutherford red wine. All this for $27.99!
Price: $27.99 Add To Cart

2013 Einaudi Barbera Piemonte
By: Greg St. Clair | Review Date: 7/19/2017 | Send Email
The 2013 Einaudi Barbera Piemonte comes from vineyards on the estates of San Luigi and San Giacomo in Dogliani. The five and half acre vineyards are just over 1200’ planted on a calcareous clay soil with a south- south east exposure. The grapes are harvested in the beginning of October fermented in stainless steel and then aged for a year in a mix of traditional large Slavonian oak casks and French barriques. Barbera is an acidic grape so the vertical axis of the wine is most dominant and for me that will make it an ideal food wine. In Piedmont the food choices are so varied it’s incredible but one of my favorites would be risotto with wild mushrooms, the mushrooms add a bit of woodsy complexity to the bright fruit of the Barbera, give it a shot, you’ll love it!
Drink from 2017 to 2017
Price: $19.99 Add To Cart

Wine Club

$16.99
JS 93

2010 Gulfi "Nerosanlorè" Nero d'Avola Sicily
By: Greg St. Clair | Review Date: 7/19/2017 | Send Email
If you’re tired of simplistic Nero d’Avola and you’re willing to give Nero d’Avola one more chance this is your wine. Gulfi makes some of the best Nero d’Avola made, the Sanlore’ comes from a vineyard more than 60 years old scant meters from the Mediterranean and only 30 feet above sea level, in a head trained vineyard. This is one of the most Southerly points in Europe, it is actually south of the city of Tunis in Africa and this is the place for this grape. The nose is full of wild plum touched with a salty brine, it’s heady, thick like humid air. On the palate the wine shows a full, richly textured body while still demonstrating a facile, lively presence. The flavors are deep, pooling, still fruit, showing lots of dark fruit with a salty edge and finishes very clean. Wonderful flavors, balance in a supple, flowing wine, try this the next time you are grilling a New York steak!
Drink from 2017 to 2017
Price: $39.99 Add To Cart
VN 95

2014 Mount Edward Pinot Noir Central Otago
By: Joe Manekin | Review Date: 7/19/2017 | Send Email
Compared to the Wanaka Rd bottling, you can sense the darker tones to the fruit, the more serious structure, and the fact that this Pinot Noir, while terrific now with a meal (quick suggestion: grilled lamb chateaubriand served with roasted fingerlings), is built to improve in bottle. Mount Edward continues to make the best value Pinot Noir in New Zealand, which in turn places them amongst the best value Pinot Noirs in our selection.

2015 Wanaka Road (Mount Edward) Pinot Noir Central Otago
By: Joe Manekin | Review Date: 7/19/2017 | Send Email
Produced from younger vines, this is spicy, fruit forward Pinot, with flavors of cranberry, juicy acidity, and a freshness that makes me want to drink a lot of it at one sitting! Delicious Pinot Noir for drinking now.
Price: $19.99 Add To Cart
RC 91

2011 Mount Edward "Morrison Vineyard" Pinot Noir Central Otago
By: Joe Manekin | Review Date: 7/19/2017 | Send Email
Compared to the Muirkirk vineyard, this bottling shows more juicy aromas, with a bright and slightly pungent quality. Flavors of cranberry and pomegranate are high toned, and framed by mellowing (though still firm) tannins. This is delicious Pinot Noir that is beginning to open up and sing. I see why Duncan chooses to re-release these from time to time!

2011 Mount Edward Estate "Muirkirk Vineyard" Pinot Noir Bannockburn Central Otago
By: Joe Manekin | Review Date: 7/19/2017 | Send Email
Today we had the pleasure of tasting with winemaker/proprietor Duncan Forsyth, and this was one of the real surprises of the line-up: a recently re-released bottling of single vineyard Pinot Noir. Savory, with aromas of dark fruit and an appealing, gamey quality, the wine also has quite a bit of concentration, structure and savor on the palate, all in terrific balance.

2015 Kalinda Rutherford Cabernet Sauvignon
By: Sharon Kelly | Review Date: 7/19/2017 | Send Email
Here is a Cabernet Sauvignon to keep handy this summer and through the rest of the year, frankly. There is plenty of juicy red fruits but the kicker for me is the freshness, the energetic acidity, sweet spices, supple tannins and overall structure that keep me reaching for the bottle. I usually lean in the opposite direction for my wines at this time of the year but it seems I've been swayed to the other side. And I love it.
Price: $27.99 Add To Cart

2015 Kalinda Rutherford Cabernet Sauvignon
By: Adam Winkel | Review Date: 7/19/2017 | Send Email
Deep color and cassis tones introduce what is an unmistakable profile in Napa terroir. Cocoa powder and soil tones fill in as the wine airs, but the virtue is that the savor is from that terroir; not the stilting of heavy new wood which can be difficult to differentiate in this day and age. But perhaps my favorite characteristic here is the focused juiciness driving into the finish that really makes you want to take another sip. As much as a wine like this could age, in its fresh voluptuousness I actually think there is plenty of virtue to drinking it young. There's an uncommon combination of concentration and drinkability to this wine that really floats my boat.
Price: $27.99 Add To Cart

2014 Passopisciaro "Passorosso" Etna Rosso Sicily
By: Greg St. Clair | Review Date: 7/19/2017 | Send Email
2014 was an outstanding vintage on Mount Etna perhaps less glorious in the rest of Italy but sensational for the Etna Rosso DOC. Passopisciaro Passorosso is a stunning wine the nose is full of smoke, wild cherry, leather, spice and gives you the sensation of having a lot more to give I couldn’t describe everything, it’s just overflowing. On the palate this wine makes a very bold statement, it fills your mouth with a luscious density that is a new dimension for Etna Rosso, so much richer than most. The flavors are saturated; waves of sweet, plumy/cherry fruit followed by flows of smoke, herb and leather then more fruit and again more fruit. This is a fairly high alcohol wine 15.5% but it isn’t out of balance, it’s very rich but it never loses its poise and focus. A truly outstanding wine!
Drink from 2017 to 2017
Price: $34.99 Add To Cart
VN 97

2014 Laventura Viura Rioja
By: Joe Manekin | Review Date: 7/19/2017 | Send Email
Dollar for dollar, for my money, this is the best white wine we have. Old vine Viura, complemented with heirloom varieties such as Malvasia and Calagraño, fermented and aged in Stockinger foudres for 18+ months, mineral as all get out yet also rich in the mid-palate with the length of a (very good) $40 white Burgundy. This stuff is fantastic. Proprietor/vigneron Bryan MacDonald's star is on the rise, and I would suggest that now is the time to get acquainted with this spectacular white wine. Load up for drinking now and for your cellar if you've got the room; this wine will age.
Price: $16.99 Add To Cart
RP 90

Page: 1 2 3 next >>