Staff Favorites

If you’re going to have Robert Parker or Stephen Tanzer over for dinner, selecting a wine they’ve rated highly will be a nice choice. However, when you’re buying wines for yourself, we’d love to see you find wines that match up your unique palate and pocketbook. We have a large staff of friendly and knowledgeable wine professionals that taste hundreds of wines each week. They can put you in touch with bottles that you are likely to love, often at a much lower cost than the highly-rated gems that often see a run-up in price and frequent availability issues. Like any great group of opinionated professionals, our staff has varied tastes themselves. Often our customers will find a particular staff member with a style that corresponds to their own. That concept works extremely well in our retail stores, and this section is our effort to bring you the same online. Don’t get us wrong, we love the highly rated wines from the press and will continue to offer them, but we think you’re missing out if you’re not augmenting those selections with picks from our excellent staff. Here are their favorites. (Click on a name to see their other selections - or to drop them a line.) Cheers!

Reviews

  
Page: 1 2 3 next >>
1976 Domaine de Baraillon 40 Year Old K&L Exclusive Armagnac (750ml)
By: David Othenin-Girard | Review Date: 2/22/2017 | Send Email
Even after years of doing this, I'm still flabbergasted that we're able to bring you such high quality old brandy for this outrageous a price. After 40 years in the barrel, this brandy is reaching levels we'd describe in french as surmaturité (overripe in the context of grapes) but in this case we're talking about those ultra rancio flavors that only the oldest of aged product exhibit. Here we're in the realm of a great old Oloroso, with a splash of old Madeira added in for good measure. Dark nutty, roasted coffee beans, the thickest fruit compote and the most subtle hints of wild honey and dried herbs. The palate remains lifted although it's very dry and not as nutty as the nose might imply. Still on the dark woodsy flavors, a little bit of air tames the intensity on the palate nicely. That wonderful subtle Baraillon funk and oak spice take over and build into a big warm spicy finish. This is not one for those with a sweet tooth, but represents serious old school full mature brandy.
Price: $129.99 Add To Cart

2014 Olivier Leflaive Bourgogne Blanc "Les Sétilles"
By: Dulcinea Gonzalez | Review Date: 2/22/2017 | Send Email
These days, my number-one recommendation for budget fans of the rich and toasty style of Chardonnay is a wine sourced from vineyards in Puligny Montrachet and Meursault, the 2014 Olivier Leflaive’s Les Setilles. This wine is a succulent everyday drinker that carries its oak influence nicely without overpowering the bright notes of stonefruit and lemon. This is a sure-fire crowd-pleaser, a great dinner wine and makes a perfect match with dishes served in a cream sauce.
Price: $19.99 Add To Cart

2014 Domaine Henri Boillot Bourgogne Blanc
By: Dulcinea Gonzalez | Review Date: 2/22/2017 | Send Email
Fresh, focused, and elegant, the 2014 Domaine Henri Boillot Bougogne Blanc is a delicious blend of bees wax, stonefruit and white pepper on the nose. The palate beautifully integrates a silky, creamy texture with lifted fruit flavors of lime and yellow orchard fruit. Elegant and refreshing, this is a pure pleasure to sip. Super recommended!
Price: $29.99 Add To Cart

2014 Domaine Thomas Morey Bourgogne Blanc
By: Dulcinea Gonzalez | Review Date: 2/22/2017 | Send Email
Another well-made, super-value white Burgundy contender is the 2014 Thomas Morey Bourgogne Blanc. This wine has a delicious nose, ripe with spice, citrus and stonefruit. The palate shows a good balance of richness vs. acidity, with generous layers of green apple, wet stone and salinity. Overall, a totally solid release!
Price: $19.99 Add To Cart

2014 Domaine Francois Carillon Bourgogne Blanc
By: Dulcinea Gonzalez | Review Date: 2/22/2017 | Send Email
2014 Domaine Francois Carillon Bourgogne Blanc is an easy-drinking wine of solid value, one that expresses a vibrant nose of yellow fruit with a touch of toast. It's deliciously bright and energetic, showing lemon-like flavor, firm acidity and a minerality that keeps things interesting. This is a perfect wine for every-day quaffing. Recommended!
Price: $17.99 Add To Cart

2014 Domaine Vincent & Sophie Morey Bourgogne Blanc
By: Dulcinea Gonzalez | Review Date: 2/22/2017 | Send Email
Well-balanced and succulent the 2014 Vincent Morey Bourgogne Blanc exhibits aromas of green apple and spice. The oak influence adds a lovely texture and plumpness to the mid-palate, layered with zesty notes of citrus peel. This is a very food-friendly wine, versatile and drinking beautifully right now.
Price: $19.99 Add To Cart

1987 Domaine de Baraillon 29 Year Old K&L Exclusive Armagnac (750ml)
By: David Othenin-Girard | Review Date: 2/22/2017 | Send Email
The exceptional '87 vintage has become prolific in the Gers and elsewhere in high quality growing regions in Armagnac. Just now reaching maturity this wonderful brandy has everything you want from middle aged Armagnac. The nose is this wonderful balance between rich exotic savoriness and dried sweet fruit. Cigar box, cedar, sandalwood covered in stewed fruits, candied plums and dark black tea. On the palate we get subtle nuttiness and wonderful oxidized fruit (slight oloroso note), which build into a big spicy finish. Exhibiting great texture despite the relatively low proof and a building dryness as it travels the palate. It's so drinkable and appealing its down right dangerous. Stay at home with this one.
Price: $79.99 Add To Cart

2015 Loyasson, Bordeaux
By: Steve Bearden | Review Date: 2/21/2017 | Send Email
Aromas of truffle and crushed flowers lead to a middle of sweet and jammy black raspberries. This is smooth and effortless with wonderful freshness throughout and a clean, fine finish. This early release from a spectacular vintage is one to buy by the case.
Price: $9.99 Add To Cart

2014 Château Viella Pacherenc du Vic Bilh Blanc Sec
By: Steve Bearden | Review Date: 2/21/2017 | Send Email
Here is a palate cleansing and gulpable white that is easy on the wallet. This has aromas and flavors of almond, apricot and orange rind that are smooth, lively and surprisingly layered and complex.
Price: $12.99 Add To Cart

2014 Domaine Dauliac Cahors
By: Steve Bearden | Review Date: 2/21/2017 | Send Email
This is an earthy, lilac scented wine with crunchy black current fruit, dark cocoa and talc-like tannins on the crisp finish. The dark middle is sleekly textured and graceful in this food friendly and palate refreshing bottle.
Price: $13.99 Add To Cart

2014 Sobon Estate "Rocky Top" Amador County Zinfandel
By: Stephanie Vidales | Review Date: 2/21/2017 | Send Email
The Sobon Estate label was established in 1989 with the purchase of the D'Agostini winery which is one of the oldest in California and has been designated as a California State Historic Landmark. The old vine Zinfandel was kept on the property and is used in this Rocky Top Zin. Aromatic and full-bodied, this wine is loaded with blackberries, earthiness and peppery notes that would make a fabulous bbq wine!
Price: $13.99 Add To Cart
WE 90

2014 Artezin "Old Vine" Mendocino County Zinfandel
By: Stephanie Vidales | Review Date: 2/21/2017 | Send Email
This Zinfandel has a good amount of complexity for being only $12.99! Made from vines that are 40+ years old, this juicy wine is loaded with brambly red and black fruits, cedar, vanilla, sweet tobacco and black pepper. Load up on this wine for you and your Zin loving friends!
Price: $12.99 Add To Cart
WE 92 VN 91

2014 Obsidian Ridge "Obsidian Ridge Vineyard" Red Hills Lake County Cabernet Sauvignon
By: Stephanie Vidales | Review Date: 2/21/2017 | Send Email
This Cabernet from Lake County is a truly delicious find! The texture is round, structured and rich with deep, dark fruit and a lovely sweet spice component. The 100% Hungarian oak that's used gives this wine a unique character and isn't seen much in domestic cab production. This is one of my favorite cabs under $30!
Price: $25.99 Add To Cart
RP 92

2013 Domaine de l'Espigouette Vacqueyras
By: Gary Westby | Review Date: 2/21/2017 | Send Email
This bottle is a blast from the past and reminds me so much of the dry, vinous, serious Chateauneuf's in the days before the critics turned them into sumo wrestlers. This bottle has the great powerful dark fruit of the warm climate, earthy sauvage flavors and great tannic backbone. This would be perfect with a roasted leg of lamb!
Price: $24.99 Add To Cart
RP 89 - 91

2014 La Jasse Castel "La Pimpanela" Terrasses du Larzac
By: Gary Westby | Review Date: 2/21/2017 | Send Email
The Pimpanela was a huge star in today's staff tasting of French country wines. If you like the GSM's of Australia and South Africa, this is a must try. While it is ripe and full bodied, it is not over the top, and the fruit here is super clean and pure.
Top Value!
Price: $14.99 Add To Cart

2014 Château Viella Pacherenc du Vic Bilh Blanc Sec
By: Gary Westby | Review Date: 2/21/2017 | Send Email
At this price range, our buyers at K&L routinely find tasty straightforward wines. This Chateau Viella is so much more than that- it is loaded with intrigue, and a real original. I loved the exotic aromas from the indigenous varieties, and assumed I would have to pay the price with flab on the back end. Nothing could be further from the truth! This little value has acid zip on the level of the Cote de Blanc or Chablis! If you like complex, racy white wines, you can't afford not to try it!
Top Value!
Price: $12.99 Add To Cart

2014 Domaine de Verquière Côtes du Rhône-Villages Plan de Dieu
By: Gary Westby | Review Date: 2/21/2017 | Send Email
This great bottle comes from old vine plots in the very rocky, flat parcels between the named villages. I love its hearty richness and authentic Cotes Du Rhone flavor profile. It is ripe, but you won't find the raisins, prunes and excessive alcohol that too many Rhone wines these days have. What a great bottle for the mixed grill!
Top Value!
Price: $13.99 Add To Cart

2014 Domaine de Verquière Rasteau
By: Gary Westby | Review Date: 2/21/2017 | Send Email
This great value Rasteau has all of the features that made me fall in love with southern Rhone wine. It is full bodied and has great earthy, ripe flavors, but is completely free of the residual sugar and excessive alcohol that sometimes spoils modern high end Chateauneuf. If you are looking for a full bodied, dry red to go with your weeknight meals, you have found it!
Price: $14.99 Add To Cart

2013 Domaine Baud "Ancestral" Côtes du Jura Rouge
By: Andrew Stevens | Review Date: 2/21/2017 | Send Email
Another great wine to throw into the mix of my ever growing list for light, well balanced red wines. This blend of Trousseau and Pinot Noir is earthy and mineral driven as is to be expected from a Jura. However, the Pinot blended into it gives it a little more blue fruit and adds a layer of complexity to this wine that completely works. The acid stays focused driving the wine forward and it finishes with a hint of dusty structure. Super tasty and fun for those looking at other options in light bodied red wines.
Price: $16.99 Add To Cart

2013 Domaine de l'Espigouette Vacqueyras
By: Steve Bearden | Review Date: 2/21/2017 | Send Email
This is deep, dark and slick with a tight core of black and blue fruits, licorice and violets all showing refinement and great tension. There is plenty of energy encased in the dark, fruity middle with great complexity fanning out along the finish.
Price: $24.99 Add To Cart
RP 89 - 91

2014 Domaine Baud Chardonnay l'Etoile Blanc
By: Steve Bearden | Review Date: 2/21/2017 | Send Email
This delicious Chardonnay is clean and smooth with a slightly salty tang and wonderful limestone and damp clay mineral tones. The finish has hints of savory wild herbs like tarragon and fennel and ends with a juicy citrus rind splash.
Price: $16.99 Add To Cart

2012 Leeuwin "Art Series" Cabernet Sauvignon Margaret River Western Australia
By: David Othenin-Girard | Review Date: 2/21/2017 | Send Email
The majestic wines of Leeuwin are such a pleasure to consume, we often forget how special they are, whether the reason be the screw top or their limited availability. The potential of Margaret River on full display here, with incredible depth matching stupendous freshness. This is what Cabernet is all about. The wonderful deep dusty cassis fruit, the eucalyptus, the high grade fresh tobacco leaf, fancy leather imply a powerful. Perhaps the most intriguing aspect is that it achieves such depth and complexity, a full bodied experience while remaining elegant and somehow demure. Not bombastic, but a completely encompassing experience nonetheless.
Price: $44.99 Add To Cart
JS 97 JH 96

2005 Domaine A Cabernet Sauvignon Tasmania
By: David Othenin-Girard | Review Date: 2/21/2017 | Send Email
Love this Old School style. A legend in a different hemisphere this special wine is truly a unique offering. Deep dark cassis, minty fruit, salted fruit, exotic wood, fine pipe tobacco. The wonderful fruit and slight funky savoriness add to the incredible length on the palate. I keep wanting to compare this to Bordeaux, but it's hard to pigeon hole it because it's just so unique and so familiar at the same time. A stupendous wine that should be included in both serious collectors and accomplished drinkers portfolios.

2014 Domaine Dauliac Cahors
By: Andrew Stevens | Review Date: 2/21/2017 | Send Email
I love finding red wine that showcases the purity of the fruit without any oak influence. I do not mind oak, but with the foods I typically cook I find that I gravitate toward these types of reds. I also love Malbec, but never did I think these two preferences of mine would ever meet. However, thankfully I just got a chance to taste this Malbec from Cahors and I am thrilled. Beautiful, pure, rich red fruit are present here along with spice and a wonderful balancing acid. The finish is clean and bright due to the lack of oak. So very tasty!!
Price: $13.99 Add To Cart

2013 Helen's Hill Estate "Old Block Reserve - MV6 Clone" Pinot Noir
By: David Othenin-Girard | Review Date: 2/21/2017 | Send Email
Wow! I said out loud on first nosing. This incredible juicy open and refreshing Pinot is one of the most drinkable $25 Pinot I've come across in years. The nose is fragrant with hibiscus, bright red cherry, and clean as a whistle. On the palate medium acidity keeps it juicy as can be, reminding me of the most quaffable Burgundian at about half the price. Maybe it could Fixin or Aloxe-Corton, but at this price you'd never guess it. A fabulous wine for those who really want to easy drinking Pinot with out the headache.
Price: $24.99 Add To Cart
JH 96

2015 Felton Road "Calvert" Pinot Noir Central Otago (Biodynamic)
By: David Othenin-Girard | Review Date: 2/21/2017 | Send Email
Many California Pinot drinkers wouldn't bat an eye to spend $50 on a high quality Sonoma or Santa Rita Pinot Noir. Burgundy drinkers are just barely getting started at this price point, yet Felton Road is making absolutely world class wines and it feels like NO ONE IS NOTICING! Blind there would be no doubt to the trained aficionado that this is the fanciest Pinot. It's easy to recognize the world class wine making behind this special bottle. Powerful mineral complexity plays off a deep dark cherry and subtle savory quality. Incredibly pure and sound with a seamless structure that indicates years of further development ahead.
Price: $54.99 Add To Cart

2013 Dog Point Chardonnay Marlborough
By: David Othenin-Girard | Review Date: 2/21/2017 | Send Email
Another stupendous wine from Dog Point. Deep and leesy with profound acidity and great textural complexity. Hard to compare this to Chardonnay from any other region, but it easily out performs the vast majority of similar wines in the price point. This wine is showing no signs of slowing down 4 years after harvest and I really want to stick a case in the cellar to see how this develops over the next half decade.

2015 Dog Point Sauvignon Blanc Marlborough
By: David Othenin-Girard | Review Date: 2/21/2017 | Send Email
This gorgeous wine from Dog Point proves once again that they're not only on the forefront of Marlborough production, but one of the most exciting winery anywhere in the world. The quality and intensity for the price is only matched by the very best producers out of France and while Dog Point is a benchmark wine for the area it's not necessarily representative of the local style. Instead expect flinty, craggy rocks crushing ultra ripe lemons. Juicy, aromatic, but not grassy or tropical. Textural and satisfying like few SB in this price point anywhere in the world.

2012 Giacomo Fenocchio "Bussia" Barolo
By: Diana Turk | Review Date: 2/21/2017 | Send Email
Black tea on the nose, with lifted fruit and hints of tar and licorice, this Giacomo Fenocchio Barolo is classic and complex, sourced from perhaps the best part of the renowned Bussia vineyard, and treated to extended maceration – nearly 40 days on the skin! The earthy 2012 will benefit dramatically from more time and air but is still drinking beautifully now.

2013 Contrade di Taurasi (Cantine Lonardo) Aglianico Irpinia
By: Diana Turk | Review Date: 2/21/2017 | Send Email
Wow! What a great example of clean, classic Aglianico, with fresh cherry, some deeper plummy fruit and peppery finish, plus the sharp mineral notes of obviously volcanic top soil. I inadvertently left a bottle open for a few days longer than usual and it was really singing by day 3 when the tannins had mellowed a bit without losing any brightness of fruit. A lively, substantial wine to pair with grilled meat and heavier cheesy dishes.
Price: $22.99 Add To Cart

2015 l'Avocat Blanc, Graves
By: Diana Turk | Review Date: 2/21/2017 | Send Email
Soothing pale yellow in the glass, the bottle of L’Avocat Blanc I tried opened with a tropical nose, showing hints of pineapple, slightly tart citrus, and most specifically, those canned Cling peaches through the palate. But while the bigger 2015 is fruity, it’s not at all cloying, thanks to its 10% “secret weapon” Sauvignon Gris, which rounds out and brightens the traditional Semillon-Sauvignon Blanc blend. Combine a great vintage with solid acid and a clean finish, and you’ve got this delicious, well-priced Graves stunner.
Price: $14.99 Add To Cart

Yuu Baal Espadin Mezcal (750ml)
By: Andrew Stevens | Review Date: 2/21/2017 | Send Email
This is one of my favorite Mezcal in the store right now and one of the best I have tasted for cocktails and for its price. The line of Yuu Baal is relatively new to us here at K&L and are a great new find and fit. This company is a negociant of growers and producers actually in Oaxaca, people who know their land and their product intimately. The agave here presents as a soft more fruity style, with a lovely elegant core of smoke and earth. Although it is smooth enough to sip on this is currently my go to for making cocktails because it is so well balanced. The entire line is worth a try, and this is the one to pick up to get you started.
Price: $34.99 Add To Cart

2015 Pike Road Willamette Valley Pinot Gris
By: Jeffrey Jones | Review Date: 2/20/2017 | Send Email
I really like everything that I have tasted from Pike Road. The Pinot Gris tastes like it cost more money. It is clean and crisp but has enough fruit to make it very easy to drink. This wine is a very pleasurable drink/ It will go well alone or with fish or chicken.
Price: $13.99 Add To Cart

2013 Felsina Chianti Classico
By: Jeffrey Jones | Review Date: 2/20/2017 | Send Email
A delicious and wonderful Chianti. It has bright and juicy red fruit flavors and is medium bodied.It has a lot of fruit for a Chianti and will go well with paste and meat dishes.

2012 Ettore Germano "Prapo" Barolo
By: John Downing | Review Date: 2/20/2017 | Send Email
Sergio Germano's "Prapo" remains one of my favorite Barolos. "Prapo" is a vineyard directly below his house in Serralunga and the wine made from this property is always crafted in a traditional way with long masceration on the skins and aging in large oak barrels. His 2012 is fresh and elegant with fragrant aromas of red fruit, licorice, tar and spices while the palate is vibrant with fine chewy tannins and bright acidity. Although 2012 has yielded more elegant Barolos,(and this one is delicious now) don't hesitate to age this one for several years.
Price: $59.99 Add To Cart
WE 94 VN 90

2015 Ermacora Pinot Bianco Colli Orientali del Friuli
By: John Downing | Review Date: 2/20/2017 | Send Email
Although I always love the Ermacora wines, the Pinot Bianco is nearly always my favorite of theirs every vintage. The 2015 is crisp and minerally with subtle hints of bergamot and nutmeg and plenty of stuffing on the palate. Simply impressive.
Price: $14.99 Add To Cart

2015 Ermacora Friulano Colli Orientali del Friuli
By: John Downing | Review Date: 2/20/2017 | Send Email
This was a personal favorite during our visit to Ermacora in 2016. It opens with a complex aromatic array of anise spicing, white flowers and stone and an elegant palate with just the right touch of acidity and length. We can attest that it's terrific with vegetable and egg dishes and cured meats. A wonderful Friulano and a great introduction to Tocai for sure.
Price: $14.99 Add To Cart

2015 Ermacora Ribolla Gialla Colli Orientali del Friuli
By: John Downing | Review Date: 2/20/2017 | Send Email
As much as we enjoy this wine every vintage, the 2015 is even bolder. It's medium-bodied with a wonderful texture, crisp acidity and soft citrus notes that make it perfect not only as an aperitif but also with light soups, white and cured meats. Break out the prosciutto!
Price: $14.99 Add To Cart

2015 La Monacesca Verdicchio di Matelica
By: John Downing | Review Date: 2/20/2017 | Send Email
2015 was an exceptionally good vintage for white wine in Italy and we're reminded of this every time we taste this outstanding Verdicchio from our friends at La Monacesca. This richly endowed white combines scents of saline, dried honey, citrus and mineral with a creamy texture and mouthwatering acidity. Ideal with fish, poultry, lighter pastas and risotto.
Price: $17.99 Add To Cart

2015 Villa Poggio Salvi "Caspagnolo" Chianti Colli Senesi
By: John Downing | Review Date: 2/20/2017 | Send Email
When we visited the Poggio Salvi Estate while in Montalcino last May, we happily tasted their 2014 and 2015 vintages of this Chianti from their Colli Senesi property. Both were outstanding and the 2015 was available to us so we jumped. This is one of the best value priced Chiantis you're likely to come across. It's far more complex than its nominal price might normally indicate and it's packed with rich Sangiovese fruit and ample acidity. It's substantial enough to stand up to hearty dishes and is sure to impress.
Price: $9.99 Add To Cart
JS 91

1998 Malescasse, Haut Medoc
By: Jacques Moreira | Review Date: 2/20/2017 | Send Email
This wine must be one of our best bargain at the store right now. If not THE best one! Perfectly aged, and ready to be enjoyed, but far, far from being over its peak. The sweet fruit on the palate is the icing on the cake of a wine layered with exquisite classic aged Claret notes. Aromatic cedar, leather and smoke, olives and earth. Along with the faintest note of capsicum. This bottle would transform the most mundane of meals in a feast fit for a king. I really liked this one.
Price: $19.99 Add To Cart

2010 Miguel Merino "Unnum" Rioja
By: Jacques Moreira | Review Date: 2/20/2017 | Send Email
Exotic, sanguine/raw meat notes along with the more typical raisin, plums and black cherry. The dusty minerality rounds it all up. This a a very good wine indeed, and I have been recommending it to very happy customers on the store.
Price: $29.99 Add To Cart

2014 Olema Sonoma County Chardonnay
By: Jacques Moreira | Review Date: 2/20/2017 | Send Email
I gotta say I was impressed with this very flavorful Chardonnay. It has all the pretty notes I expect on a new-world wine, but none of the cloying, hyper-ripe fruit notes. Tropical? Yes. And it's all the better for it. Pineapple, peaches, and honeysuckle, and citrus, along with the cloves/cinnamon notes that make it just irresistible.
Price: $14.99 Add To Cart
JS 91

2015 The Fableist Paso Robles Cabernet Sauvignon
By: Jacques Moreira | Review Date: 2/20/2017 | Send Email
All round delicious wine with its notes of vanilla, red current, plums and some exotic wood spices. A Cabernet that is utterly pleasing, and would be as comfortable on the table, with a juicy steak or as a solo wine glass coming home from a hard day at work.
Price: $19.99 Add To Cart

2014 Trail Marker Wine Co. "Saveria Vineyard" Santa Cruz Mountains Pinot Noir
By: Jacques Moreira | Review Date: 2/20/2017 | Send Email
Intriguing notes of smoke, and the umami flavors, along with the cherry, and spice notes that embrace the palate, make this wine an intriguing Pinot, that is unfiltered. The finish shows an almost "piquant" note that I found delicious. This wine would be great with full flavor spicy foods like a chicken curry.
Price: $36.99 Add To Cart
VN 92

2014 Big Table Farm Willamette Valley Chardonnay
By: Jacques Moreira | Review Date: 2/20/2017 | Send Email
Very exciting wine, with nice perfumey aromatics, along with brown sugar, tonic, blood orange on the palate. It also possess some beautiful peppercorn spice notes which takes this Pinot to another level. The apparent oak is never intrusive, and the soft tannins make it a very velvety finish.
Price: $45.99 Add To Cart
VN 90 WS 90

1987 Glenturret 28 Year Old "Old Particular" K&L Exclusive Single Barrel Cask Strength Single Malt Whisky (750ml)
By: Andrew Stevens | Review Date: 2/20/2017 | Send Email
The pricing we are getting from Old Particular is almost bordering on the ridiculous at this point. I almost feel like I am in a time machine seeing 28 year old single malt for under $100. More importantly though is that it is very tasty. Soft and subtle on the nose with the fruit overlaying a touch of wood. The palate is light and delicate with notes of green apple, lemon bar, vanilla and spice. Surprisingly gentle finish, the heats starts slow and builds up but does not truly ever overpower. Delicious!
Price: $99.99 Add To Cart

2014 Ridge "Lytton Springs" Dry Creek Valley Zinfandel
By: Keith Palace | Review Date: 2/19/2017 | Send Email
This wine is starting to come into it's own since the last time I tasted it, about 6 months ago. The plumb and blackberry nose is still extremely intense, you will notice it before the glass is all the way up to your face. This is a big complex wine with lots of depth and a refined mouth feel. The Petite Syrah (18%) brings big tannins to the wine, but they are not over the top. The combination of big fruit, bold tannins and noticeable acid will allow this wine to age gracefully over the next 5-10 years. Drink one now but revisit it again in a few years.

2015 Domaine de Biéville (Louis Moreau) Chablis
By: Sharon Kelly | Review Date: 2/19/2017 | Send Email
The grapes for this wine were picked approximately 10 days after neighboring Chablis producers had begun their harvest—expect a rounder style with extra levels of ripeness and intensity. This is brimmingwith cheerful citrus, crisp green apple, peach pit and melon, and mouthwatering acidity lingers in the finish.
Price: $16.99 Add To Cart

2014 Obsidian Ridge "Obsidian Ridge Vineyard" Red Hills Lake County Cabernet Sauvignon
By: Anthony Russo | Review Date: 2/19/2017 | Send Email
This great value cabernet from Lake County instantly makes it's presence know with a full, dark fruit bouquet, matching its deep ruby color. On the palate, black berry, cherry, and plum flavors are supported by inviting, ripe tannins and lively acidity that will leave you wanting another sip from the glass or bite of saucy pastas and juicy meats.
Price: $25.99 Add To Cart
RP 92

Page: 1 2 3 next >>