Staff Favorites

If you’re going to have Robert Parker or Stephen Tanzer over for dinner, selecting a wine they’ve rated highly will be a nice choice. However, when you’re buying wines for yourself, we’d love to see you find wines that match up your unique palate and pocketbook. We have a large staff of friendly and knowledgeable wine professionals that taste hundreds of wines each week. They can put you in touch with bottles that you are likely to love, often at a much lower cost than the highly-rated gems that often see a run-up in price and frequent availability issues. Like any great group of opinionated professionals, our staff has varied tastes themselves. Often our customers will find a particular staff member with a style that corresponds to their own. That concept works extremely well in our retail stores, and this section is our effort to bring you the same online. Don’t get us wrong, we love the highly rated wines from the press and will continue to offer them, but we think you’re missing out if you’re not augmenting those selections with picks from our excellent staff. Here are their favorites. (Click on a name to see their other selections - or to drop them a line.) Cheers!

Reviews

  
Page: 1 2 3 next >>
2014 Domaine de Bila Haut "Les Vignes de Bila Haut" Côtes du Roussillon Villages
By: Keith Mabry | Review Date: 7/26/2016 | Send Email
Lafage, Cabirau and Chapoutier. These three wineries have offered some of the greatest wine values we've seen in the last two years. All three projects are located in Roussillon, the region running along the Mediterranean to the south of Languedoc and just to the north of Spain. What makes this area so great for such good value when it comes to Rhone grape varieties? Well, several reasons. Foremost, great diversity of soil types that span from granite, to gneiss, to schist, to limestone, all of which emerged as a result of the Pyrenees mountain range pushing the surrounding geology skywards millions of years ago. There, a long culture of wine production began, resulting in loads of old vine Grenache and Carignan planted throughout the region. And, ingenuity. Entrepreneurial winemakers recognizing great soil and old vines and evolving classic winemaking styles forward and putting them into a modern context. So, Chapoutier. Truly, one of the greats of the Rhone Valley. Michel ventured to the Roussillon in search of new opportunities, looking to expand his portfolio of already great wines. A master of Syrah (he started in the northern Rhone, the home base of the world's best Syrahs) and determined that Roussillon is a most suitable place for growing this noble grape. Grenache and Carignan are the kings here but Syrah's contribution is strong in the Chapoutier wines Roasted cherries, strawberry confiture, aromas of lilacs and jasmine, musky meaty tones. All wrapped up in a silky, seamless package. This is a whole lot of wine for a very fair price. You would be hard pressed to find a better value from anywhere in the world.
Price: $10.99 Add To Cart
RP 90 WS 90

2015 Domaine de Bila Haut "Les Vignes de Bila Haut" Pays d'Oc Rosé
By: Keith Mabry | Review Date: 7/26/2016 | Send Email
The Bila Haut rose is that everyday classic porch pounder of a wine you crave when you get home from work. Pristine clarity of fruit with notes of strawberry and lemon zest. A finish that that has that hint of wet stones. Bright acidity but soft enough on the palate it goes down without a care in the world. For under $10, how can you go wrong?
Price: $9.99 Add To Cart

2014 Domaine de Bila Haut "Les Vignes de Bila Haut" Côtes du Roussillon Villages
By: Daniel Maas | Review Date: 7/26/2016 | Send Email
Take a good look at this wine's label. Go ahead; I'll wait. Lean in nice and close, and focus your pupils on the white paper. Now, run your fingers over the surface. What's that, you wonder? Little bumps? It then hits you. BRAILLE! Now, you must be wondering why they would include such a feature. Well, dear readers, to find out, simply pop that cork and the answer will be obvious. Simply put, one sip of this blend (Grenache, Syrah, and Carignan), and you'll feel your eyes swell up with SO MUCH PLEASURE, that they will indeed eventually cease to function.What then are you to do? Luckily, the gang at Chapoutier have got you covered. Always will you be able to identify the bottle that you continually crave; The wine that boasts luscious layers of berry fruit, black pepper, and lively floral aromatics. Yes, the labeling of this wine does indeed represent much fore-thought, as it takes a true artisan to predict the dangerous pleasure that this bottle delivers year after year!
Price: $10.99 Add To Cart
RP 90 WS 90

2011 Le Tertre du Bosquet Sauternes
By: Steve Bearden | Review Date: 7/26/2016 | Send Email
This is light to medium weight with a fresh, clean personality and a very mineral finish with a touch of bitter grapefruit pith. I taste tangerine, honey, soft peach, saffron, spice and hints of tarragon.. This is not particularly fat or tropical but is a very sweet and refreshing drink at a bargain price.
Price: $19.99 Add To Cart

2012 Hess Collection "19 Block Mountain Cuvée" Mount Veeder Red Blend
By: Steve Bearden | Review Date: 7/26/2016 | Send Email
This interesting blend starts out with notes of effusive mixed berries, cherry liqueur and unsweetened dark chocolate. The opulent middle of spiced blackberry fruit has enough tension to hold the ripeness in check and allow some pleasingly tangy mountain elements to peak through. Overall, a rich, plush and satisfying bottle.
Price: $26.99 Add To Cart
RP 93 JS 90

2014 Domaine Marc Colin "Les Charmois" St. Aubin 1er Cru
By: Steve Bearden | Review Date: 7/26/2016 | Send Email
This is finer, longer and has a more pronounced mineral strike than the "La Chateniere" bottling, but what it gives up in richness and weight it more than makes up for in intensity and complexity. This has the stature and elegance of a much more expensive bottle from a more prestigious appellation.
Price: $34.99 Add To Cart
BH 91 RP 90

2014 Domaine Marc Colin St-Aubin 1er Cru "La Chateniere"
By: Steve Bearden | Review Date: 7/26/2016 | Send Email
Here is a great bargain in ready to drink white Burgundy from an appellation known to over deliver. This starts out toasty with hints of talc and wet stones before the sweetness of the ripe yellow fruit take over in the plush middle. There is depth, balance and a long mineral finish to this very drinkable bottle.
Price: $39.99 Add To Cart
BH 92 RP 91

2015 Guillaume Clusel "Traboules" Coteaux du Lyonnais
By: John Downing | Review Date: 7/26/2016 | Send Email
This wine really took me by surprise. After having sampled a disappointing string of wines one afternoon, my colleague urged my to try this one. What a terrific Gamay! This is the kind of sub $20 red that I hope to come across in a bistro or café but rarely do. One that exceeds its price with delicious berry and blue fruit and a real sense of place. It's a versatile red that will pair with a wide range of foods (and maybe even seafood). Whether you're looking for a great table red or don't feel like springing for a Cru Beaujolais, try this one.
Price: $15.99 Add To Cart
VN 90 - 91

2013 Clos des Fous "Cauquenina" Maule Valley
By: Heather Vander Wall | Review Date: 7/26/2016 | Send Email
​The 2013 Clos des Fous Cauquenina is a deep-hued wine, with plenty of expression and depth. Conceived as a classic "field blend", this old vine cuvee yet betrays the hand of a master. With the number of varietals going into this blend, it would be easy to achieve a muddled, indistinct wine, but here you find the character and style of each contributing to the whole. True to the region, the wine exhibits wild aromas, dark fruit, and earthy undertones. The structure is sound, though the fruit is exuberant, creating a wildly expressive wine with definite terroir and lasting intensity.
Price: $19.99 Add To Cart
JS 94 RP 93

2013 Einaudi "Vigna Tecc" Dogliani (Dolcetto)
By: John Downing | Review Date: 7/26/2016 | Send Email
Dogliani is a geographic region to the South of the Barolo zone that is planted almost exclusively to Dolcetto. It's here that this grape varietal reaches a level of concentration and complexity that many consider to be Dolcetto at its finest. The Einaudi estate is one of the top producers in Dogliani their latest wines have just arrived. Vigna Tecc is produced from their best vines and the 2013 is both fragrant and flavorful offering waves of blue and berry fruit along with ripe tannins and a hint of almond on the finish. Although it's wonderful to drink now, don't hesitate to cellar it for a couple of years. Especially good with meats, pastas, pizza and stews.
Price: $22.99 Add To Cart

2015 Pyramid Valley "Growers Collection - Hutchinson Vineyard" Pinot Blanc / Pinot Gris Marlborough
By: Heather Vander Wall | Review Date: 7/26/2016 | Send Email
This is one of the more fascinating and complex white wines I have tasted in awhile. While it carries all the richness of an Alsatian style Pinot Blanc, with smooth, honeyed melon fruit, and pleasantly plump weight, it also exhibits a surprising structure and freshness. I believe the Pinot Gris adds just the right touch of linear acidity and herbal bite to the wine, making it both full and fresh. The combination is seamless here, and highlights the potential of both varietals.
Price: $29.99 Add To Cart

2010 Capanna Brunello di Montalcino
By: John Downing | Review Date: 7/26/2016 | Send Email
I've always considered Capanna among the most classic style producers as they stick to traditional farming and the use of large barrels during the aging process. In the best vintages their wines are generally well structured with firm tannins and substantial acidity. Well, their 2010 is in a class of it's own as it is blessed with more of everything. Concentrated fruit, bold tannins, impressive acidity and overall freshness that combined, make this one of the most intriguing 2010 Brunellos. Put this one in the cellar for at least a couple of years or give it a good decant if opening it sooner.
Price: $46.99 Add To Cart
JS 94 VN 94

2014 Domaine de Bila Haut "Les Vignes de Bila Haut" Côtes du Roussillon Villages
By: Alex Schroeder | Review Date: 7/26/2016 | Send Email
No matter how low the price, the wines of M. Chapoutier never fail to impress, and this Roussillon offering from the Domaine de Bila Haut is no exception. Made from totally-destemmed Syrah, Grenache and Carignan, it offers very pure fruit flavors of mulberry and plum that are supported by silky tannins and the perfect amount of acid. The price to quality ratio is incredible. Perfect for duck schnitzel or grilled quail!
Price: $10.99 Add To Cart
RP 90 WS 90

2014 Domaine Charles Audoin Bourgogne Rouge
By: Dulcinea Gonzalez | Review Date: 7/26/2016 | Send Email
This is a perfectly approachable Bourgogne rouge that is perfumed with red raspberries and a hint of wood spice. Clean on the entry with fresh acidity, this is a well-structured wine that delivers pretty, bright red fruit on the palate infused with subdued oak character . At this price, this is a no-brainer, and a go-to house red! Recommended!
Price: $21.99 Add To Cart

2014 Domaine Bart Bourgogne Rouge
By: Dulcinea Gonzalez | Review Date: 7/26/2016 | Send Email
When it comes to affordable red Burgundy, Domaine Bart really is one of our best. With a vibrant dried cherry nose and a hint of spice and oak , this is a solid middle weight with ample structure and cranberry flavors layered with baking spices. This would make the perfect companion to a stinky cheese or savory poultry dish. Recommended!
Price: $18.99 Add To Cart

2014 Neyers "Left Bank Red" Napa Valley Red Blend
By: Mari Keilman | Review Date: 7/26/2016 | Send Email
​​​​Dang this is good wine! Neyers has set the benchmark for what NV Bordeaux blends should be. On the nose are alluring notes of black raspberry, cassis and purple flowers. The intense dark, concentrated fruit on the mid-palate leads you to think that this wine is going to be massive and extracted but this blend is so perfectly balanced. Ripe without being sweet, dense without being heavy, full-bodied without being cloying...just beautiful.
Price: $29.99 Add To Cart

2015 Domaine de Bila Haut "Les Vignes de Bila Haut" Pays d'Oc Rosé
By: Alex Schroeder | Review Date: 7/26/2016 | Send Email
At the moment, this wine from team Chapoutier is the best value rosé in the store! Created from Grenache and Syrah grown in the Roussillon region, it displays focus and depth generally not available at such a low price. Crisp, bright flavors of strawberries and white cherries saturate the palate, and give way to a dry, super clean finish with a lingering hint of spice from the Syrah. Considering the quality, price and limited availability, it’d be a good idea to order a few bottles while you can!
Price: $9.99 Add To Cart

2014 Neyers "Left Bank Red" Napa Valley Red Blend
By: Illya Haase | Review Date: 7/25/2016 | Send Email
I talk about cross over wines all the time. But, it is usually in regards to trying old world wines. For example, if you like Napa Cabernet you should try this 2009 Bordeaux. So let us flip the script! This is a great opportunity for people who like old world wines to try something similar in style from Napa. Neyers "Left Bank Red" is that wine. Crushed floral, red berry fruit and hints of oak linger in the glass. There is nothing overpowering, just a really balanced wine. Balance is the key word that kept coming back to me from beginning to end. This wine has great acidity along with black and blue fruit that dances on the palate. Seamless tannins finish off this unique traditional Bordeaux-style wine from the Napa Valley. This wine is not to be missed.
Price: $29.99 Add To Cart

2011 di Majo Norante "Ramitello" Biferno Rosso
By: John Downing | Review Date: 7/25/2016 | Send Email
At $12.99, this wine definitely over delivers. It's smooth, velvety and packed with plummy black fruit and surprising concentration and length. Customers are already coming back for second or third purchases so we expect it to sell quickly. We think you'll love it as much as we do.
Price: $12.99 Add To Cart
WS 90

2014 Frankland Estate "Isolation Ridge" Riesling Frankland River Western Australia
By: Ryan Woodhouse | Review Date: 7/25/2016 | Send Email
A perennial benchmark Aussie dry Riesling. As the critics' huge scores suggest this is one of Australia's most revered white wines. It represents a family's absolute dedication to viticulture and winemaking. This bright, zesty, mineral rich Riesling is pure liquid rock. Selected from one certified organic block of old vines growing in ironstone gravel soils. It spends 6 months on fine lees building texture and more savory complexity. The acidity is laser focused drawing out the wines phenomenally long finish. An absolute joy with shellfish. Enjoy now or cellar for decades.
Top Value!

2014 Domaine Charles Audoin Bourgogne Rouge
By: Andrew Stevens | Review Date: 7/25/2016 | Send Email
This is a lovely little Bourgogne Rouge and proof that even in Burgundy we are able to find great deals for our customers. Bright red berry on the nose with a little earth lead to a very pretty wine on the palate. Notes of raspberry and tart cherry are enhanced by floral notes and a touch of minerality. For those looking for a more elegant and feminine style Burgundy at a killer price this bottle is exactly what you should get into.
Price: $21.99 Add To Cart

2012 Gundlach Bundschu "Mountain Cuvée" Sonoma County Red Blend
By: Jacques Moreira | Review Date: 7/25/2016 | Send Email
With a very unusual blend of grapes, this wine delivers nonetheless in its simplicity and easiness of character. Not to mention it really matches with almost everything really.
Price: $16.99 Add To Cart

2014 Oakridge Estate "Willowlake Vineyard" Pinot Noir Yarra Valley
By: Ryan Woodhouse | Review Date: 7/25/2016 | Send Email
I love the delicacy of this Pinot Noir. If you are looking for a big "fruit bomb" Pinot...this isn't it. If you are curious about cool climate, elegant, balanced expressions of this majestic varietal...this is a pretty great place to look. Oakridge's wines are pure, restrained faithful expressions of vineyard site. This bottling shows the more feminine side of the varietal; the extraction is light, the fruit pure but not sappy or extracted. The wine expresses lots of the finer, more savory aspects of the grape with an array of fresh picked herbs, smoky spice, volcanic mineral tinges and leaf litter. For years now a bottle of Oakridge Pinot and a roast chicken has been a rite of passage at K&L in Redwood City...this great Willowlake bottling will no doubt continue that honored tradition.
Top Value!
Price: $19.99 Add To Cart
JH 96

Michel Couvreur Pale Single-Single Whisky (750ml)
By: Jeffrey Jones | Review Date: 7/25/2016 | Send Email
Absolutely fantastic. The Couvreur Pale has inviting malt and floral aromas. In the mouth it is soft, round and malty, with subtle dried fruit nuances. A nice long finish helps round out this wonderful wine.
Price: $99.99 Add To Cart

2012 Roc de Cambes, Côtes de Bourg
By: Jacques Moreira | Review Date: 7/25/2016 | Send Email
A sweet nose of cherries, chocolate and vanilla followed by a palate rich in cocoa, cherries, and incense. Still has its minerality and earthiness in check. A beautiful wine, with lots of complexity
Price: $49.99 Add To Cart
VN 93

2012 Peyrabon, Haut-Médoc
By: Jacques Moreira | Review Date: 7/25/2016 | Send Email
This is the vintage for those that want to drink their wines now. The 2012 Peyrabon delivers a lot of lifted notes of violets, cassis and wet rock. The lightness on the palate along with its medium tannins make it a perfect candidate to have with lighter dishes this summer.
Price: $14.99 Add To Cart
WE 90 - 92

2013 Carbonnieux Blanc, Pessac-Léognan
By: Jacques Moreira | Review Date: 7/25/2016 | Send Email
A very classic Bordeaux Blanc in the sense of having a a more complex roundness along with the juicy acidity. Perhaps it is the Semillon (25%) on the blend that imparts these notes. Citrous and peaches. A very pleasing white wine for the table as well as for the porch!

2010 San Filippo Brunello di Montalcino
By: Greg St. Clair | Review Date: 7/25/2016 | Send Email
A very intense nose that seems more like a pot roast cooking, savory, earthy, bay leaves, porcini and root vegetables. On the palate the wine’s braised meat flavors continue but are captured by the texture, this wine becomes tactile, less flavor driven yet is wildly interesting, and indescribable layers of consistency, grain, fineness and feel infuse the wine with a vibrant almost tactile flavor. The flavors are there, that same batch from the nose but hints of spiced cherry emerge in the long, vibrant albeit slightly grippy finish.
Drink from 2017 to 2017

Michel Couvreur K&L Exclusive Overaged Peated Malt Whisky (750ml)
By: Jeffrey Jones | Review Date: 7/25/2016 | Send Email
This Michel Couvreur Malt Whiskey is a perfect marriage of smoke and sherry aged spirit. There is a nice amount of smoke aromas and flavors that are integrated well with the richness from the sherry barrels. On top of this it is complex and will surprise and delight.
Price: $82.99 Add To Cart

Michel Couvreur Pale Single-Single Whisky (750ml)
By: Andrew Stevens | Review Date: 7/24/2016 | Send Email
Ready for the whisky of the summer? Where do you go when the heat means big smoky, peaty flavors do not work as well? Here, this bottle, this delightful and delicious offering from Michel Couvreur. Lovely dense white stone fruit in the nose lead to a seriously elegant Scotch. The play of light fruit and floral notes are just so well harmonized here and are backed up by a tingly baking spice finish. This whisky showcases the deftness that a master blender can have in creating something truly elegant.
Price: $99.99 Add To Cart

Michel Couvreur K&L Exclusive "Blossoming Auld Sherried" Malt Whisky (750ml)
By: Andrew Stevens | Review Date: 7/24/2016 | Send Email
With the exploding popularity of Compass Box and companies like Suntory releasing the Hibiki Harmony it behooves us to recognize great blended whiskey. These bottles perhaps does not share in the fame of those mentioned, but they do not fall short on the quality. The Blossoming Auld Sherried Malt from Michel Couvreur opens with a big rich nose of caramel and dense fruit. A rather creamy mouthfeel follows, fell of baked fruit, almonds and the richness that Sherry casking brings. Add to all of this a slightly hot baking spice finish and you have yourself a spectacular whiskey that is well worth drinking.
Price: $219.99 Add To Cart

2015 Zudugarai "Amats" Getariako Txakolina
By: Heather Vander Wall | Review Date: 7/24/2016 | Send Email
This is one of my favorite appetizer wines! Perfect for opening up your palate and excellent with tapas and salty foods. The 2015 Amats Txakoli is bright and expressive, with light effervescence and zippy acidity. We were very excited to bring in these wines directly and add a more affordable Txakoli to our portfolio, and the wines seem to be better and better each vintage. Don't miss out on this great bottle for those hot summer days!
Price: $13.99 Add To Cart

Michel Couvreur K&L Exclusive Overaged Peated Malt Whisky (750ml)
By: Andrew Stevens | Review Date: 7/24/2016 | Send Email
For those who missed out on the Compass Box "5th and Harrison" K&L Exclusive, for those who are starting to realize how good blended whiskey can be, or for those who simply love good Scotch here is a bottle for you. From Michel Couvreur comes a truly beautiful peated smoky whisky that is elegant, balanced, smooth, and just so good. A rich nose resplendent with notes of caramel, toffee and a hint of butterscotch lead to a full, rich Scotch. There is a lot of good baked fruit notes here with the peat accenting them and swaddled in smooth smokey notes. Despite the richness of this whiskey it is well balanced and never feels to full of itself and leads the palate to a lovely soft finish that fades slowly. Get a bottle of this now and buy another for a gift. This is completely worth it.
Price: $82.99 Add To Cart

2013 Trellis (Amelia Park) Cabernet Sauvignon-Merlot Margaret River
By: Jeff Garneau | Review Date: 7/24/2016 | Send Email
If I had tasted the 2013 Trellis (Amelia Park) Cabernet Sauvignon-Merlot Margaret River blind, I would have assumed it was a much more expensive wine. However, since I was aware of the true retail price, my actual response at first sip was a calm, restrained, very professional “Holy &%$@!” I don’t know what to say about this wine that won’t be dismissed as mere hyperbole, but I can tell you honestly that it may very well be one of the top $10 reds we currently have available. This is classic Margaret River Cab (actually a blend of 85% Cabernet Sauvignon and 15% Merlot) for a mere song. The nose is lightly floral with a hint of mint. On the palate, notes of cherry and raspberry, generous red fruits, sweet and ripe. The wine is rich in texture but with near perfect balance. Bright and lively with ultra-fine tannins. An absolute delight to drink and an unbeatable value. I repeat, there is simply NO way for me to convey how good a deal this wine is and make you believe me. You will have to try it for yourself. Once you do, your friends won’t believe you either, so do them a favor and pour them a glass. You'll make believers of them, too.
Top Value!
Price: $10.99 Add To Cart

2014 Neyers "Left Bank Red" Napa Valley Red Blend
By: Olivia Ragni | Review Date: 7/24/2016 | Send Email
I was blown away by balance and precision in the Neyers Left Bank blend. Beautiful fruit purity, not over-extracted or over-oaked with notes of purple fruit like cassis, fresh ground coffee, graphite and round, soft tannins. This is one of the best California Bordeaux blends for under $50 that I've had in a long time.
Price: $29.99 Add To Cart

Siete Misterios Doba-Yej Mezcal (750ml)
By: Andrew Stevens | Review Date: 7/24/2016 | Send Email
In many ways I am still just now exploring the wonderful world of Mezcal. Although there is much to be said about various sipping Mezcals and how good and complex they can be, for me it is all about making them into cocktails. It may be my bartending background, but the world of the Mezcal Cocktail is where I am focusing much of my exploration into this spirit. With that in mind I was excited to taste this new one that we got in. It was at the right price point for a mixing Mezcal, but it needed to have other elements as well. Fortunately this spirit completely delivered. Fruity nose with lots of white pepper and some smoke immediately entranced me. Soft layers of fruit with pepper notes and just the right amount of smoke sold me. This is exactly the kind of Mezcal that I cannot wait to make Palomas, Negronis, and tons of other drinks with. Although there is no reason not to sip this one, do yourself a favor and try it out in other drinks and taste how good they can be.
Price: $34.99 Add To Cart

2010 Miguel Merino "Unnum" Rioja
By: Heather Vander Wall | Review Date: 7/24/2016 | Send Email
This is a very unique bottling of Rioja, from one of our favorite producers! With intense, dark fruit sourced from the oldest vines on the property, this wine is quite serious and concentrated. The Merinos use all French oak on this big, full-bodied wine, resulting in a quite structured, yet rich expression, with great aging potential. For lovers of old-school Napa wines, or slightly richer Bordeaux, this is a natural cross-over. Try one today, and lay a few down for the future!
Price: $29.99 Add To Cart

2015 Eric Cottat Sancerre
By: Mahon McGrath | Review Date: 7/24/2016 | Send Email
There is a real sense of ease to the 2015 vintage. It has a juicier, sunnier disposition than some of the lean, stony and green Sancerres. That said, it is still recognizably of Sancerre, yielding cantaloupe, lemon and wet stone aromas, and flavors that run to powdery florality, melon, orange, tomato leaf and red jalapeno. A dusting of minerality brings up the rear, playing a subsidiary role here, as does the acidity, which, while ample enough, isn't the first and last thing you notice, instead underpinning the gently radiant, diaphanous tranquillity of the summer-ready flavors. Grab some while you can!
Price: $18.99 Add To Cart

Michel Couvreur K&L Exclusive "Blossoming Auld Sherried" Malt Whisky (750ml)
By: David Othenin-Girard | Review Date: 7/22/2016 | Send Email
The first time I tasted the Blossoming Auld Sherry was at a wonderful little bistro in Levernois outside of Beaune called Du Bord De L'Eau. After a wonderful meal at this exceptional casual restaurant, the director of Couvreur Jean Arnauld suggested we finish the night with a taste of something special from his exceptional collection. We could have taken the exceptionally expensive vintage offerings, but he recommended this special little treat. From the moment I put my nose to the glass I was transfixed. Of course, I know Couvreur's style and what to expect, but this was unlike anything I'd yet come across. It was truly like diving head first into the finest Sherry, but at 90 proof!!! The nose exhibits an intoxicating bouquet of plum preserves, old exotic wood, fresh leather, tobacco and the intricately carved wooden pipe to pack it. The palate is SO smooth. When someone says they like something "smooth," it's such a vague notion, and difficult quality to guarantee in a product, but THIS is what they're talking about. The density of the fruit remains on the palate, but it's pointed with wonderful dried citrus and sweet herbal notes. This is the real deal, and while not inexpensive, it out-performs its price point by a mile and then some. Imagine having a bottle of sherry that never goes bad, which you can sip by the ounce and clocks in at 45%! You'd never stop, so you know, you shouldn't. We're the exclusive source for this product in California and will likely buy the entire US allocation of 20 cases.
Price: $219.99 Add To Cart

2012 Hess Collection "19 Block Mountain Cuvée" Mount Veeder Red Blend
By: Bryan Brick | Review Date: 7/22/2016 | Send Email
The family of Hess Wines has long been synonymous with great value. Whether it be for their fairly ubiquitous “Select” series, which is more big box store oriented, or the interesting mountain fruit-driven series that this 19 Block Mountain Cuvee is part of, they have a long history of making great wines for great prices. This wine is a bit of an outlier in the world of Bordeaux-styled blends in that it is dominantly Malbec, at 60%, with 30% Cabernet Sauvignon and 10% Syrah. With all that Mount Veeder Malbec in the blend you’d think that this was some sort of inky beast, but in reality it is actually quite refined and approachable, with a pretty porcini mushroom, dried raspberry, cherry cola and sweet oak-driven nose. Graceful and layered on the palate, this is one delicious blend, with well-formed flavors of dried meats, savory chaparral, roasted beets and pitchy wild berry fruit that resonates well into the broad and refined finish. If you are looking to break out of the box a bit, this blend is a great option and would be a great option for BBQs, burgers, brats and any other meaty treats.
Price: $26.99 Add To Cart
RP 93 JS 90

Michel Couvreur 12 Year Overaged Malt Whisky (750ml)
By: David Othenin-Girard | Review Date: 7/22/2016 | Send Email
The most classic of all of Couvreur's offerings actually provides some of the best bang for you buck drinking in the store. This is indeed a very similar blend to the K&L Exclusive, less the peated element. There is a tiny hint of peat here, and I have to say, I think this blend has improved seriously over the last 10 years since I first tried it. Less raw and pointed now, we have more influence on the sherry and more of those wonderful damp cellars notes that we love about Couvreur. Big bold vanillas and fruit notes jump from the glass around the funky malt and remain through the palate. Thanks to going direct on this one we've been able to get the price down. A stupendous deal for when you're not feeling like the peaty attack of the K&L Overage.
Price: $69.99 Add To Cart

2015 Kalinda Riesling Rheingau
By: Illya Haase | Review Date: 7/22/2016 | Send Email
Wow, the 2015 Kalinda Rheingau Riesling is outstanding! Classic racy mineral, well balanced acidity, and the aromatic fruit character that I look for in my Rheingau Riesling. From a quick read, sounds like the 2015 vintage is going to be a good one. This bottle will be my go-to for any sushi night!
Price: $11.99 Add To Cart

2013 Farnetella Chianti Colli Senesi
By: Greg St. Clair | Review Date: 7/22/2016 | Send Email
I love the nose on this wine it is so full of a complex blend of wild fruits and earthy intrigue. The waves of aromas flowing from the glass will capture your attention immediately. On the palate the wine flows, is supple and easy yet backed up with excellent structure. The fruit is the first thing you see, complex plums and wild cherries then bits of leather, spice and earth. The finish is solid, persistent and it gives you a feel like you really are drinking wine that you paid much more for! Perfect for backyard BBQs or a little spaghetti Bolognese!
Drink from 2016 to 2016
Price: $12.99 Add To Cart
JS 92 WS 91

2014 Domaine Bart Bourgogne Rouge
By: Gary Westby | Review Date: 7/22/2016 | Send Email
What a great Burgundy value! I have been waiting (rather impatiently) for the Bart to arrive since visiting Martin and Pierre last October in Marsannay. When it arrived last week I bought one of everything we received. Cinnamon and I enjoyed this with a simple steak sandwich with leftover ratatouille on Wednesday night, and it was spectacular. It has great crunchy fruit, bracing acidity and a purity and minerality that only Burgundy can deliver. If you love serious, dry Pinot Noir, this is a must try!
Price: $18.99 Add To Cart

2015 Tormaresca "Calafuria" Salento Rosato
By: Mike Parres | Review Date: 7/22/2016 | Send Email
Most of our customers know Tormaresca label for their GREAT inexpensive red and now we introduce you to their Rose’. Yea!!! It’s 100% Negroamaro, a light salmon pink color, fascinating aromas of wild mountain strawberries, some herbal notes and lots of great acidity and with a touch of mineral on the long-lasting aftertaste. Buy a few—the bottle empties quickly. This is a great wine for the brunch crowd or just sipping some while sitting on the porch with a favorite book.
Price: $14.99 Add To Cart

2015 Eric Cottat Sancerre
By: Olivia Ragni | Review Date: 7/22/2016 | Send Email
I always love the Cottat Sancerre, this vintage it has a wonderful balance of fruit and minerality. Aromas of flint, white flowers and yellow Mirabelle plums burst from the glass to lead you into an elegant palate of crushed stone, orange blossom and lemon peel with juicy acidity.
Price: $18.99 Add To Cart

2014 Corofin "Cowley Vineyard - Main Slopes" Pinot Noir Marlborough
By: Ivan Diaz | Review Date: 7/22/2016 | Send Email
One of the tinier producers working in the Marlborough region of NZ, Corofin carves out its distinctive personality by going old school. The estate is run by a native Kiwi couple who have been working this land for most their lives, and who adhere to strict sustainable practices. The fruit in this bottling comes from a single vineyard farmed both organically and biodynamically from north-facing slopes perfect for Pinot Noir. This is a light, pretty style that represents the earthiness of the terroir beautifully while delivering a linear, elegant fruit profile. Tasted blind you'd think this was Burgundy worth twice the price.

2012 Hess Collection "19 Block Mountain Cuvée" Mount Veeder Red Blend
By: James Bradshaw | Review Date: 7/22/2016 | Send Email
The color is amazing on this wine — it's dense, inky, with a lovely violet hue on the rim. The nose is a tad shy at first, but when given a chance, opens to reveal aromas of stewed fruit, fresh berries, and a wild flowers. On the palate there is more zip and verve than one might expect. It perfectly finds that balance between lush and lively, so there is far more going on here than a simple fruit bomb. Additional elements of mushrooms, earth, cola, and mocha all come into play and all in perfect pitch. Top-notch effort from some great Mt. Veeder sites.
Price: $26.99 Add To Cart
RP 93 JS 90

Michel Couvreur Pale Single-Single Whisky (750ml)
By: David Othenin-Girard | Review Date: 7/22/2016 | Send Email
A single malt from a single cask from this renowned blender is always a treat. Here we're off the big sherry notes that Couvreur is known for and onto something more malt-driven. Still with that beautiful Burgundian cellar experience, but now pointed with Highland flowers, wild honey, white and yellow fruit. I'm wanting to say this is Clynelish, but cannot confirm. Now that we're able to list this below $100 it's a no-brainer and certainly a unique experience that's not easily replicated anywhere else on the shelf.
Price: $99.99 Add To Cart

2012 Hess Collection "19 Block Mountain Cuvée" Mount Veeder Red Blend
By: Gary Norton | Review Date: 7/22/2016 | Send Email
Rich and round, the 2012 Hess Collection 19 Block Red Blend is a fun little wine. Frankly, I'm not the biggest fan of Malbec heavy blends (I find them a little flabby more often than not) but was pleasantly surprised by the depth and complexity of this one. Dark fruit, blackberry pie and a kick of menthol, mocha and baking spices to finish it off. Don't miss out on this.
Price: $26.99 Add To Cart
RP 93 JS 90

Page: 1 2 3 next >>