Staff Favorites

If you’re going to have Robert Parker or Stephen Tanzer over for dinner, selecting a wine they’ve rated highly will be a nice choice. However, when you’re buying wines for yourself, we’d love to see you find wines that match up your unique palate and pocketbook. We have a large staff of friendly and knowledgeable wine professionals that taste hundreds of wines each week. They can put you in touch with bottles that you are likely to love, often at a much lower cost than the highly-rated gems that often see a run-up in price and frequent availability issues. Like any great group of opinionated professionals, our staff has varied tastes themselves. Often our customers will find a particular staff member with a style that corresponds to their own. That concept works extremely well in our retail stores, and this section is our effort to bring you the same online. Don’t get us wrong, we love the highly rated wines from the press and will continue to offer them, but we think you’re missing out if you’re not augmenting those selections with picks from our excellent staff. Here are their favorites. (Click on a name to see their other selections - or to drop them a line.) Cheers!

Reviews

  
Page: 1 2 3 next >>
2010 Josephine de Boyd, Margaux
By: Clyde Beffa Jr. | Review Date: 7/22/2017 | Send Email
The Josephine de Boyd is one of the second labels of Chateau Boyd Cantenac along with Jacques Boyd. An elegant 2010: feminine style with some violets on the nose and red fruit flavors. We carried the Jacques and sold out quickly a year ago.
Drink from 2017 to 2017
Price: $29.99 Add To Cart

2009 Puygueraud, Côtes de Francs
By: Clyde Beffa Jr. | Review Date: 7/22/2017 | Send Email
“Violets and blackberries with hints of spices on the nose. Full body, with soft and velvety tannins and a juicy finish. Drink now or hold. Always an excellent value.” JS I love this wine—sweet and lovely, a bit modern and 100% delicious. Nicolas Thienpont is the great winemaker here. I agree with James.
Drink from 2017 to 2017
Price: $19.99 Add To Cart
JS 92 RP 90

2014 Poujeaux, Moulis
By: Clyde Beffa Jr. | Review Date: 7/22/2017 | Send Email
I love Poujeaux in almost any vintage. One of the better values in all of Bordeaux. This 2014 has plenty of cassis aromas and flavors. Quite sweet on the palate and a lingering finish. At under $30 it is a steal.
Drink from 2017 to 2017

2014 Haut de Poujeaux, Haut-Médoc
By: Clyde Beffa Jr. | Review Date: 7/22/2017 | Send Email
Poujeaux has at least two second wines—Salle de Poujeaux and this one. We have carried both and have found no difference in the quality. Clyde's notes: Toasty, oaky aromas. After decanting the wine opens up to a red fruit forward beauty. This wine is SO good to enjoy now.
Drink from 2017 to 2017
Price: $18.99 Add To Cart

2014 Beaumont, Haut-Médoc
By: Clyde Beffa Jr. | Review Date: 7/22/2017 | Send Email
I always love this elegant wine made by the Beychevelle team. Pretty red fruit aromas--quite soft on the palate. The folks at the Wine Enthusiast love it also at 92 points.
Drink from 2017 to 2017

2014 Segonzac 'Vielles Vignes', Premieres Cotes de Blaye
By: Clyde Beffa Jr. | Review Date: 7/22/2017 | Send Email
The folks at Chateau Segonzac are sticklers for quality. They hand harvest the fruit from the “old vines” and all the grapes are hand sorted once they get to the winery. The careful selection process at Segonzac helps to create concentrated, full flavored wines. The bright, lush fruit is balanced with plenty of ripe tannins. Old school label and very good tasting wine for under $10.
Drink from 2017 to 2017
Price: $9.99 Add To Cart

2014 Les Tourelles de Longueville, Pauillac
By: Clyde Beffa Jr. | Review Date: 7/22/2017 | Send Email
This wine is really NOT the second wine of Pichon-Baron, but rather a separate plot of mainly Merlot grapes. The wine tends to be more feminine than the Baron and this one is sweet and lovely. Blackberry fruit flavors in a region known for red fruit flavors. Plummy and lush. Decant and enjoy.
Drink from 2018 to 2018
Price: $36.99 Add To Cart

2014 Sansonnet, St-Emilion
By: Clyde Beffa Jr. | Review Date: 7/22/2017 | Send Email
We have carried a few vintages of this property over the years--notably the 2000 and the 2005. A blend of 85% Merlot and 15% Cabernet Franc from the limestone plateau of St-Emilion. This wine offers raspberry and black cherry fruit intermixed with licorice and chalky notes. Very nice wine for the low price.
Drink from 2017 to 2017
Price: $34.99 Add To Cart

2015 Lafont-Fourcat, Bordeaux Rouge
By: Clyde Beffa Jr. | Review Date: 7/22/2017 | Send Email
A lot of wine for under $10 and from the great 2015 vintage. Here is a party wine with that tell-tale sweet, ripe 2015 Bordeaux fruit. Great with hamburger.
Drink from 2017 to 2017
Price: $9.99 Add To Cart

2015 Mauvais Garçon "Bad Boy" Bordeaux
By: Clyde Beffa Jr. | Review Date: 7/22/2017 | Send Email
Here come the great Right Bank 2015s. This bad boy is bright and lively--a great buy for $15. This 50,000-bottle cuvee of 100% Merlot, coming largely from Fronsac, is fashioned by Jean-Luc Thunevin, the bad boy of St-Emilion. It is a new wave style wine--fresh and spicy with some oak evident. The bad boy refers to Robert Parker they say, not Mr Thunevin.
Drink from 2017 to 2017
Price: $15.99 Add To Cart

2014 Fleur de Pedesclaux, Pauillac
By: Clyde Beffa Jr. | Review Date: 7/22/2017 | Send Email
Tasted on our April 2017 Bordeaux trip. Spicy, peppery nose and flavors. A bit modern, but solid and extremely well-balanced. The second wine of Pedesclaux, and this property is really making outstanding wines. The north Medoc wines in 2014 are outstanding.
Drink from 2017 to 2017
Price: $27.99 Add To Cart

2010 Bois-Malot, Bordeaux Supérieur
By: Morgan Laurie | Review Date: 7/22/2017 | Send Email
Who says a good Bordeaux has to cost an arm and a leg! 2010 was a good all around vintage for Bordeaux lending structure and power to the wines. This wine is a fantastic value and shows especially well with a little air. There is a nice balance of dark, rich fruit, freshness and earth. At the price point this wine is at, buy one for your next steak and keep one to open in the future and see how it evolves over the next few years.
Price: $10.99 Add To Cart

2016 Montmassot Picpoul de Pinet
By: Morgan Laurie | Review Date: 7/22/2017 | Send Email
If you're like me and look forward to $1 oyster day at your local haunt, this is the wine you want to bring for your next visit. This incredibly crisp white is from the Languedoc in Southern France, bordering the Mediterranean. Along with the influence of cooling sea breezes, the varietal itself retains a mouthwatering acidity despite growing in a warmer climate. It's racy, fresh, citrusy and loaded with minerality. They are meant to be drunk young, so pick this up for your next seafood feast and drink quickly!
Price: $9.99 Add To Cart

2016 Franck Millet Sancerre Blanc
By: Morgan Laurie | Review Date: 7/22/2017 | Send Email
The wines of Domaine Franck Millet are always elegant and this is no exception. Millet is a third generation grower/producer working in the highly acclaimed village of Bue in Sancerre. On the nose, there are notes of under-ripe stone fruit, lemon and grapefruit zest and tons of minerality. Millet forgoes malolactic fermentation, preserving the zippy quality of this Sancerre. It has great acidity but also has a rounder palate due to a regular stirring of the lees for a period of three weeks to give this wine some nice roundness and body. This would be a well-suited partner for a salad with chicken and goat cheese.
Price: $16.99 Add To Cart

2007 Tronquoy-Lalande, St-Estèphe
By: Clyde Beffa Jr. | Review Date: 7/22/2017 | Send Email
A great value property run by the Montrose people. We love 2007 like 1997, but 2007s are better. Red berries, licorice, flowers and spices on the nose. Supple and sweet.
Drink from 2017 to 2017
Price: $27.99 Add To Cart

2012 Tour Léognan , Pessac-Léognan
By: Stefanie Juelsgaard | Review Date: 7/22/2017 | Send Email
I was very happy when I found myself lucky enough to be handed a bottle of this wine to try. It shows a good amount of soft fruit and the tannins are present, but not overwhelming or harsh. I found it to be very approachable now, which is not always the case with Bordeaux only 5 years old. It has many of the Cabernet characters I look for and I would definitely turn to it for a steak dinner any night of the week, especially at this price point.
Top Value!
Price: $19.99 Add To Cart

2014 Seghesio "Cortina" Dry Creek Valley Zinfandel
By: Christina Stanley | Review Date: 7/22/2017 | Send Email
This highly rated Zinfandel is mouthwatering, luscious and clean, with a thread of gorgeous acidity. The fruit is grown in Chen Vineyard in Dry Creek Valley, which is known for gravelly soil and breezes that contribute to the high-toned red fruit on the palate. Notes of juicy raspberry, grilled Asian plum, nectarine and blackberry waft in and out, and with its medium-bodied, yet condensed and vibrant mouthfeel, you'll want more than just one glass.
Price: $34.99 Add To Cart
WS 94 RP 90

2015 Chateau Vitallis Macon-Fuissé
By: Morgan Laurie | Review Date: 7/22/2017 | Send Email
Chateau Vitallis is an estate known for old vines, some of which are over 65 years old. The Chardonnay vines for this Macon Fuisse are 35 years old and grow on limestone rich soil, a preferable growing partner for Chardonnay. Vitallis utilizes natural fermentation in stainless steel and matures the wine on its fine lees for 6 months to preserve the fruit character and freshness. The use of oak is nuanced and provides a delicate toasty aroma and soft, round palate. It smells rich and complex like roasted apples, Meyer lemon curd, and crushed seashells. This wine is really lovely and far exceeds its extremely reasonable price point.
Price: $16.99 Add To Cart

Wyoming Whiskey "Private Stock" K&L Exclusive Barrel Strength Single Barrel Straight Bourbon Whiskey (750ml)
By: David Othenin-Girard | Review Date: 7/22/2017 | Send Email
I've enjoyed the Wyoming Whiskey and now count them as one of the best of the recent craft whiskey boom. They sent us many samples to try and while all were interesting NONE had the incredible depth and maturity of this special cask. A massive nose of freshly shucked corn, candied apricots, lacquer box and Tahitian vanilla. This one loves air and with some time you get some real flavor development. Fresh cacao nibs, freshly cut pine, barrel spice, walnuts and honey. On the palate, tons of sweet corny grain at the front. More candied stone fruit and. The texture is rich but lifted. A twinge of spice runs down the mid palate to keep it from being cloying. The finish is dry and brings big barrel spice, soft old drift wood and a slight earth leafy forest floor on the finish. While I'm extremely tempted to compare this directly to some of our Weller picks, we're really treading into new ground here. A triumph of a first showing from our friends in Kirby.
Price: $54.99 Add To Cart

2014 De Braude, Haut-Médoc
By: Clyde Beffa Jr. | Review Date: 7/22/2017 | Send Email
Owned by Château Mongravey of Margaux, this estate is in Macau in the southern Médoc. The wine is richly fruity, firmly tannic with both wood and fruit tannin. It is dark, dense and complex, a ripe wine that has a great future. Try it now after one hour decanting.
Drink from 2017 to 2017
Price: $18.99 Add To Cart
WE 92 RP 90

2014 Cantemerle, Haut-Médoc
By: Clyde Beffa Jr. | Review Date: 7/22/2017 | Send Email
Bright and racy, with red currant and plum fruit. Cantemerle since the year 2000 has been known for one of the best Bordeaux values. Their 2006 and 2010 are legendary. This 2014 is such a great value. With decanting you can enjoy now with that barbecued steak.
Drink from 2017 to 2017

2015 Te Mata "Coleraine" Bordeaux Blend Hawke's Bay
By: Kirk Walker | Review Date: 7/21/2017 | Send Email
Coleraine is the answer to the request, "I want a New World wine" (that is implied because this request occurs while standing in the Domestic Cabernet section) with richness and fruit but with restraint and complexity (they are looking at the Bordeaux section). This wine has it all. It is a great wine. Never mind that it is priced at the entry level for high-end wine from both of those regions. Hawkes Bay is the great Cabernet family terroir that most people do not know. They should, especially if they Cabernet based wines from K&L. This will not disappoint, in fact, it will encourage more excursions to this often-overlooked region.

2011 L'Arrosée, St-Emilion
By: Clyde Beffa Jr. | Review Date: 7/21/2017 | Send Email
I actually liked this wine better than their 2010 or 2012 (last vintage at Arrosee). It has fine structure and plenty of blackberry and spice on the nose and palate.
Drink from 2017 to 2017

2015 Kalinda Rutherford Cabernet Sauvignon
By: Christina Stanley | Review Date: 7/21/2017 | Send Email
The newest Kalinda Rutherford Cabernet is reflective of the 2015 vintage in Napa, which was defined by a warmer growing season and an early harvest. This led to low yields of very high quality fruit with great power and concentration. This elegant Cabernet is rich and condensed, with silky, dusty tannins and classic Rutherford aromas and flavors of bright Bing and black cherry, tobacco leaf and allspice. The quality and drinkability of this wine is undeniable, and finding a Rutherford Cabernet at this price point is next to impossible.
Price: $27.99 Add To Cart

2016 Tohu Sauvignon Blanc Awatere Valley Marlborough
By: Stefanie Juelsgaard | Review Date: 7/21/2017 | Send Email
I picked up a bottle of this and had it over the weekend and it was the perfect choice for the warm California summer we have been having. It was incredibly bright and fresh and had super juicy tropical fruits. The minerality and acidity really brought it to life and the bursting fruit quality smoothed it out and made it incredibly easy drinking. It's a smashable wine, but also a very interesting one at the same time. A great NZ Savvy, perfect for warm summer nights. Loved it!
Top Value!

2016 Les Vignerons de Fontès "Prieuré Saint-Hippolyte" Languedoc Rosé
By: Thomas Smith | Review Date: 7/21/2017 | Send Email
When you taste a lot of rosés, you start to discover that many end up being forgettable. It's clean, it's dry, it's fresh--end of story. Not this one. It goes out of its way to be bigger and fruitier than every other rosé on the block. With the roaring aromatics coming out of this glass I totally would have expected a dull, flabby wine. But instead there's this beautiful acid profile that is refreshing and invigorates the fruit profile. At $10 this is a total standout on the rosé shelf.
Price: $9.99 Add To Cart

2012 Altvs Napa Valley Cabernet Sauvignon
By: Mari Keilman | Review Date: 7/21/2017 | Send Email
​​​I can still remember the first time I tasted Merus. It was over 12 years ago but the flavor profile and texture were so unique and distinguished that I can still easily recall it to this day. In fact it was the rich, unctuous, full-bodied texture that distinctly stuck out in my mind. And when I tasted the second label of Merus, Altvs, I was immediately taken aback at how they were able to achieve the same dense, plush, over-the-top silky texture that you get in Merus, at a quarter of the cost! The Altvs Napa Valley Cab is indulgent, decadent and incredibly hedonistic. The great thing about this wine is that you can revel in feeling obscenely over-self-indulgent without feeling it in the pocketbook!
Price: Hidden View Price
WE 91

2015 Moulin de la Gardette "Tradition" Gigondas
By: Thomas Smith | Review Date: 7/21/2017 | Send Email
Moulin De La Gardette has been one of my most reliable "you have to try this bottle" wines. It's always shockingly good , beautifully expressive, and totally delicious. The vintage really takes this wine to a whole new level. The nearly perfect conditions in 2015 have pushed one of our most reliable producers to new heights. Gorgeous fruit, excellent concentration, and intensely structure make this a totally serious wine for both the dinner table and the cellar.
Price: $24.99 Add To Cart
RP 90 - 92

2012 Tour Léognan , Pessac-Léognan
By: Clyde Beffa Jr. | Review Date: 7/21/2017 | Send Email
From the Perrin family of Carbonnieux and Haut Vigneau fame.Very nice minerally wine with soft, round tannins and plenty of Cabernet fruit on the palate.
Drink from 2017 to 2017
Price: $19.99 Add To Cart

2012 Plaisance "Cuvee Alix" Premieres Cotes de Bordeaux
By: Clyde Beffa Jr. | Review Date: 7/21/2017 | Send Email
Fabulous value red. Aromas of tobacco leaves, roasted herbs, red and black currants, and assorted berry fruit emerge from this elegant, mid-weight blend of 75% Merlot, 20% Cabernet Sauvignon and 5% Cabernet Franc.
Drink from 2017 to 2017
Price: $14.99 Add To Cart

2009 Moulin du Cadet, St-Emilion
By: Clyde Beffa Jr. | Review Date: 7/21/2017 | Send Email
I can’t get enough of these 2009s-another one has just arrived. We loved this wine in the early ‘70s and it has reappeared. We love it again. Elegant, ripe, plumy and totally satisfying wine to enjoy now.
Drink from 2017 to 2017
Price: $29.99 Add To Cart

2014 Domaine Baud Chardonnay l'Etoile Blanc
By: Christina Stanley | Review Date: 7/21/2017 | Send Email
This special Chardonnay from Domaine Baud is named for the star shaped Vineyards in the Jura which supply It's fruit, but also for the star shaped, fossilized marine organisms that can be found in the soil, which provide dimension and depth in the wine. If you are new to the white wines of Jura, this is a wonderful place to start. The palate is full bodied, yet fresh and with vibrant acidity, and without oxidation. There is a wonderful concentration of flavor in this wine, with aromas and flavors of lightly spiced poached pear, lemon peel, and briny, sensual minerality.
Price: $16.99 Add To Cart

2010 Poggio dell'Otto Brunello di Montalcino Riserva
By: Alex Schroeder | Review Date: 7/21/2017 | Send Email
Honoring the legend of the 2010 vintage in Montalcino, this dynamic Brunello vastly outperforms its modest price point. I am three days into this bottle and this Sangiovese is belting out the high notes! The intro showcases ripe flavors of Maraschino cherries, plums and cola berries, which bridge beautifully into tertiary characteristics like dried cranberries, aged leather and savory herbs. It is truly lyrical! The tannins and acid are firm, but are beginning to relax. Another decade of age will enhance this wine. You will be well-off opening this bottle a few hours before drinking time; there is a boisterous wine inside that deserves a warm up before the show begins.
Price: $27.99 Add To Cart

2015 Andre Ostertag "Fronholz" Riesling Alsace (Biodynamic)
By: Ryan Woodhouse | Review Date: 7/21/2017 | Send Email
A stunning wine that transcends boundaries of varietal and place. This wine has such ethereal power and shimmering energy on the palate. Stunning aromatics of spiced pear, alpine flowers, bursts of citrus, jasmine and white peach. The palate is tactile and concentrated but so elegant and pure; the pristine fruit inflected with fascinating minerality and infinite length. One of the finest Rieslings I have tasted from anywhere on the planet at any price.
Price: $39.99 Add To Cart
WE 96 RP 93

2011 Mount Edward Estate "Muirkirk Vineyard" Pinot Noir Bannockburn Central Otago
By: Alex Schroeder | Review Date: 7/21/2017 | Send Email
This Pinot is loaded with flavors, depth, personality and place. The vineyard of origin is at a very high mountainous elevation in Central Otago, which is quite cold, but still receives unimpeded sunshine through the thin atmosphere. What results is phenolic magic. It has beautiful, rich fruit flavors of blueberries, cola berries, blackberries and cherries with hints of fresh thyme, dried coriander and wild game — and cool-climate acidity that provides the wine a fresh vigor. This is an absolute steal for a single-vineyard Pinot of this caliber and age.​

2001 Bel Orme Tronquoy de Lalande, Haut Medoc (1.5L)
By: Steve Bearden | Review Date: 7/20/2017 | Send Email
Here is a deep and husky bargain with earthy blackberry aromas. The deep middle is filled with black cherry and berry fruit that glides into the firm, crisp finish. This is a great bottle of 13 year old Bordeaux for dinner parties that won't break the bank.
Price: $34.99 Add To Cart

2014 Haut-Bailly, Pessac-Léognan
By: Steve Bearden | Review Date: 7/20/2017 | Send Email
This is elegant and complex with touches of earth and tobacco, plenty of sleek dark fruit and very classy lines. Intense, bubbling with potential and in need of a few years in bottle or a few hours in decanter; this is a fantastic wine.

2010 Poggio dell'Otto Brunello di Montalcino Riserva
By: Steve Bearden | Review Date: 7/20/2017 | Send Email
A Brunello Riserva from a fantastic vintage selling for under thirty dollars is a rare find. One this approachable is a steal. This is filled with sun baked soil, dusty cherries and earthy darker fruit all in an elegant and gentle package. The power of the vintage seems completely in check until the fine tannic grip shows up on the finish.
Price: $27.99 Add To Cart

2014 Siran, Margaux
By: Steve Bearden | Review Date: 7/20/2017 | Send Email
An outrageous bargain for the Margaux appellation and showing surprising class and precision. This sophisticated wine has flowery aromas, wisps of oak, a middle of sweet blackberry fruit and a finish showing very fine grip. Great value here.

2015 Domaine Bart "Les Longeroies" Marsannay Rouge
By: Joe Manekin | Review Date: 7/20/2017 | Send Email
Our favorite Marsannay specialists, Domaine Bart, are back in the house, with an impressive nine different Marsannay bottlings for you to play around with. In fact, in the name of thoroughness, I am in the process of doing just that! Les Longeroies is a clay and marl vineyard, and the plump, generous mixed berry fruit with round, elegant tannins reflects this soil type. It is always one of my favorite Marsannays, succulent and purely fruited, but with the structure to age a bit. Delicious, and as I previously mentioned a favorite bottling amongst one of my favorite producers in Domaine Bart.
Price: $26.99 Add To Cart

2010 Langoa-Barton, St-Julien
By: Steve Bearden | Review Date: 7/20/2017 | Send Email
This is big, bold and balanced with a middle of sweet cherries, cola, spice and a long, ripe finish. With decanting this is delicious today but will only get better.

2014 Léoville-Barton, St-Julien
By: Steve Bearden | Review Date: 7/20/2017 | Send Email
This is expressive and bright with violet aromas and spicy and crunchy berry fruit that is already gaining complexity. There is great balance and freshness to this big, dry wine that is already hard to resist.

2015 Domaine Bart "Les Finottes" Marsannay Rouge
By: Joe Manekin | Review Date: 7/20/2017 | Send Email
Domaine Bart makes no less than nine, count them nine, Marsannays! And I'm excited that in this great vintage, we have them all to show off the differences in site - a true Burgundian lesson in terroir without the need to shell out three digits per bottle. Les Finottes is actually a monopole vineyard - exclusively owned by Domaine Bart - featuring sandy soils and some really old vines (up to 90 years old). A step up in complexity from the straight Marsannay, the wine is big, spicy, woodsy, dark fruited, and structured, with tannins that grip but are ultimately well balanced. The scale and richness of fruit on the nose nearly reminds me of Central Otago, though on the palate, even in this ripe vintage, we are clearly in Burgundy. At under $25, this is a lot of wine, and it should cellar well for another 7-8 years.
Price: $23.99 Add To Cart

2009 La Rioja Alta "Viña Arana" Reserva Rioja
By: Andrew Stevens | Review Date: 7/20/2017 | Send Email
I am definitely a fan of this winery and was excited to get to taste a new one (for me) from La Rioja Alta and I was not disappointed in the slightest. This is one of those bottles that helps to showcase why I like Rioja as a region so much. Bright red fruit notes with plenty of earthy notes. Alternating sweet and savory notes with a lovely mouth feel, I was fortunate to taste this a day after it had been opened and it was screaming good.
Price: $24.99 Add To Cart
JS 94

2012 Reserve de Léoville-Barton, St-Julien
By: Steve Bearden | Review Date: 7/20/2017 | Send Email
The second wine of Leoville Barton is floral and fresh with the same sweet red and dark fruit as the first wine but none of the tannic scale. This has lots of Leoville character in an approachable style and price.
Price: $31.99 Add To Cart
JS 90

2014 Le Murmure de Larcis-Ducasse, St-Emilion
By: Steve Bearden | Review Date: 7/20/2017 | Send Email
The second wine of Larcis Ducasse is fat, sweet and plump with lots of cherry and raspberry fruit, hints of oak and limestone shadings on the finish. This young wine is precocious and already easy to drink.
Price: $29.99 Add To Cart

2013 Aleph Semillon Mendoza
By: Joe Manekin | Review Date: 7/20/2017 | Send Email
Argentina has around 900 remainining hectares of Semillon vines, many of them brought over in the first half of the 20th century. In this case, these 70 year-old vines yield a lovely wine with waxy white fruit and a soft texture. Roberto, whose family hails from Galicia, Spain, suggests serving this delicious white with octopus.
Price: $19.99 Add To Cart

2003 Aleph "Old Vines" Malbec Mendoza
By: Joe Manekin | Review Date: 7/20/2017 | Send Email
This is terrific Malbec, with nearly 15 years bottle age, and therefore a real rarity. Great presence on the palate - dark fruits, graphite and some savory hickory smoke notes as well, but still fresh. The Malbec in this bottle comes from 90 year old vines in the La Consulta district of the Uco Valley. Maybe one of our best deals in serious Argentinian Malbecs.
Price: $39.99 Add To Cart

2010 Aleph Malbec Mendoza
By: Joe Manekin | Review Date: 7/20/2017 | Send Email
Aleph continues to make some of our favorite Malbecs - delicious and often with the added bonus of some extra bottle age. Fruit is sourced from Lujan de Cuyo, the traditional home base for Mendoza wine country's historic bodegas as well as the area containing the largest number of older vineyards. As usual, this bottling is bright and quite tasty, with excellent depth of flavor and texture.
Price: $24.99 Add To Cart

2015 Moulin de la Gardette "Tradition" Gigondas
By: Alex Schroeder | Review Date: 7/20/2017 | Send Email
Always a favorite Rhone blend of mine, this 2015 vintage is remarkably on point! It has those deep brambly, blackberry flavors from 80% Grenache, with the classic garrigue/herb profile often found in great Gigondas. The depth of fruit is well balanced by refreshing acidity from Gigondas’ high eleveation, and the tannins are pronounced but well integrated. This would definitely benefit from some time in the cellar.
Price: $24.99 Add To Cart
RP 90 - 92

Page: 1 2 3 next >>