Staff Favorites

If you’re going to have Robert Parker or Stephen Tanzer over for dinner, selecting a wine they’ve rated highly will be a nice choice. However, when you’re buying wines for yourself, we’d love to see you find wines that match up your unique palate and pocketbook. We have a large staff of friendly and knowledgeable wine professionals that taste hundreds of wines each week. They can put you in touch with bottles that you are likely to love, often at a much lower cost than the highly-rated gems that often see a run-up in price and frequent availability issues. Like any great group of opinionated professionals, our staff has varied tastes themselves. Often our customers will find a particular staff member with a style that corresponds to their own. That concept works extremely well in our retail stores, and this section is our effort to bring you the same online. Don’t get us wrong, we love the highly rated wines from the press and will continue to offer them, but we think you’re missing out if you’re not augmenting those selections with picks from our excellent staff. Here are their favorites. (Click on a name to see their other selections - or to drop them a line.) Cheers!

Reviews

  
Page: 1 2 3 next >>
2014 Obsidian Ridge "Obsidian Ridge Vineyard" Red Hills Lake County Cabernet Sauvignon
By: Mari Keilman | Review Date: 2/18/2017 | Send Email
There are some wines you recommend because they fit a certain style and/or price point that a customer is looking for and there are some wines you recommend because you really like them. The Obsidian Ridge checks all of those boxes. This is my go to California Cab. I love the spice from the Hungarian oak. I love the full body richness that comes from the Lake County AVA. I look the concentration of fruit yet fresh acidity that comes from the 2600ft above sea level vines. I just love this wine.
Price: $27.99 Add To Cart
RP 92

2015 Domaine Gerard Tremblay Chablis Vieilles Vignes
By: Sharon Kelly | Review Date: 2/18/2017 | Send Email
“Sense of place” and “typicity” are words you’ll hear thrown around by wine professionals and enthusiasts alike to describe a varietal that possesses characteristics that are reflective of its origins, like this pure, steely, quintessential Chardonnay from Chablis, for example. Made from top quality, old vine fruit grown in highly regarded Kimmeridgian clay soils, this is chock-full of the distinctively classic notes of lime, lemon, crisp apple, pear and a hint of honey. The acid is bright and spirited, mineral notes and acidity are high on the palate and the finish is refreshingly mouth tingling. Fermented and aged in stainless steel, this is ready to drink. Try with oysters, Dover sole or seafood risotto.
Price: $19.99 Add To Cart

2015 Frédéric Esmonin Hautes Côte de Nuits Rouge
By: Sharon Kelly | Review Date: 2/18/2017 | Send Email
It is a struggle to find Pinot Noir below $30 that delivers this much pleasure. This release from Frédéric Esmonin shows rich raspberry and cherry notes, and the acidity is soft but present, with a clean finish that will have you reaching for a second glass. This balanced, easy-drinking wine is wonderful over conversation with friends and a simple meal of roasted chicken and seasonal vegetables. At a recent dinner with friends, the bottle was empty before our meal was finished cooking so we had no choice but to open a second. Darn.
Price: $23.99 Add To Cart

2015 Domaine Louis Moreau Chablis
By: Sharon Kelly | Review Date: 2/18/2017 | Send Email
Yet another fantastic wine from this benchmark producer who possesses some of the best vineyards in the region. Aged in stainless steel, this is a fresh, taut, classic Chablis with excellent acid structure and flinty stone and mineral characteristics and abundant green apple, lime and pear—a balanced and energetic expression of the Chardonnay grape from this region.
Price: $18.99 Add To Cart
WS 90

2015 Domaine de Biéville (Louis Moreau) Chablis
By: Sharon Kelly | Review Date: 2/18/2017 | Send Email
The grapes for this wine were picked approximately 10 days after neighboring Chablis producers had begun their harvest—expect a rounder style with extra levels of ripeness and intensity. This is brimmingwith cheerful citrus, crisp green apple, peach pit and melon, and mouthwatering acidity lingers in the finish.
Price: $16.99 Add To Cart

1987 Glenturret 28 Year Old "Old Particular" K&L Exclusive Single Barrel Cask Strength Single Malt Whisky (750ml)
By: Andrew Stevens | Review Date: 2/18/2017 | Send Email
The pricing we are getting from Old Particular is almost bordering on the ridiculous at this point. I almost feel like I am in a time machine seeing 285 year old single malt for under $100. More importantly though is that it is very tasty. Soft and subtle on the nose with the fruit overlaying a touch of wood. The palate is light and delicate with notes of green apple, lemon bar, vanilla and spice. Surprisingly gentle finish, the heats starts slow and builds up but does not truly ever overpower. Delicious!
Price: $99.99 Add To Cart

2013 Fuenteseca Huerta Singular "El Maguey" Blanco Tequila (750ml)
By: Andrew Stevens | Review Date: 2/18/2017 | Send Email
This is truly a spectacular tequila, one that helps me to realize how good tequila can be and lure me away from my sweet brown booze. I do not take home bottles of expensive tequila because I am really only interested in turning them into a paloma. However, I must admit I am looking forward to taking home a bottle of this blanco. The balance and purity of the agave are singularly impressive, Although I have not actually gotten to bite into blue agave as David has, I can well believe him when he says that this tequila is what that tastes like. As good as the nose and taste of this tequila is perhaps the finish is what truly sells me, long, beautiful, and elegant. A finish that seems to linger on the palate and in your mind.
Price: $79.99 Add To Cart

1988 Strathclyde 28 Year Old "Old Particular" K&L Exclusive Single Barrel Cask Strength Grain Scotch Whisky (750ml)
By: Andrew Stevens | Review Date: 2/18/2017 | Send Email
I loved the the Port Dundas 26 single grain when we had it and at the time it was my favorite single grain I had tasted. Now I believe I will have to follow the example of my coworker Jeffrey and pronounce this my favorite single grain. The nose shows a fantastic complexity with the vanilla and spice notes being underpinned with a touch of lemon zest. Very soft and evolving palate that brings notes of fruit and creamy butterscotch lead to a long complex if subtle finish. The heat is definitely present here at the finish but a little water helps to calm it down and keeps helps highlight the length of the finish.
Price: $79.99 Add To Cart

2008 Launois "Spécial Club" Brut Blanc de Blancs Champagne (ships as 1.5L)
By: Gary Westby | Review Date: 2/18/2017 | Send Email
This is one of the most profoundly great young vintage Champagnes that I have ever had, and I just bought a case for my own cellar. The 2008 vintage is a historic one, and either the greatest or tied for the honor in this young century. The Champagne that Bernard Launois was able to make from his two oldest Mesnil plots in this great year promises to be equally historic. The only problem is that it tastes far to good now... And I know that it will do nothing but improve. I will put this case at the bottom of a tall corner stack in my cellar! This Champagne has not only the richness of a 2002, but also the laser minerality of the best 2004's. It has it all!
Drink from 2017 to 2017
Price: $59.99 Add To Cart

2014 de France Rouge, Pessac-Léognan
By: Steve Bearden | Review Date: 2/18/2017 | Send Email
Here is a great introduction to the very good wines of the 2014 vintage from the folks at Malartic-Lagraviere. This is rich and flashy with black cherry and ripe plum fruit and dark cocoa accents throughout. The finish is quite complex with earth, gravel and fine grip. Decant now or lay away for several years.
Price: $24.99 Add To Cart
JS 91

2014 Obsidian Ridge "Obsidian Ridge Vineyard" Red Hills Lake County Cabernet Sauvignon
By: Gary Norton | Review Date: 2/18/2017 | Send Email
I invite you to find a high elevation, single vineyard Cabernet from Napa that won't set you back less than one-hundred dollars. It simply doesn't exist. This wine is dense and structured, with notes of black fruit, blackcurrant, fennel seed and minerals. Many forget to consider the fact that Lake County is bordered by Mendocino, Napa and Sonoma Counties, three high profile designations that command a higher price point. To me, Lake County is synonymous for Value Town, and I plan to exploit the price to quality ratio for the benefit of my cellar until the masses finally catch up.
Drink from 2018 to 2018
Price: $27.99 Add To Cart
RP 92

2010 Tronquoy de St-Anne, St-Estèphe
By: Steve Bearden | Review Date: 2/18/2017 | Send Email
Chateau Montrose is on a roll with this property and the 2010 version is even better than the outstanding 2009. This starts out dark and rich with blackberry, cassis and cocoa flavors that are rich but stay focused due to the fine tannic grip on the finish. The tight core of ripe Merlot is deeper and the aromatics somewhat less earthy than last vintage , but overall this is a more serious and complete bottling.
Price: $16.99 Add To Cart

2001 Labegorce, Margaux
By: Steve Bearden | Review Date: 2/18/2017 | Send Email
This very traditional wine is silky, elegant, dry and oh so subtle. Dried cherries, soft smoky plums and cedar are burnished by notes of leather, sandalwood, tobacco and a long, satin textured finish. Old school Bordeaux but without the rusticity.
Price: $29.99 Add To Cart

2014 Haut-Vigneau, Pessac-Léognan
By: Steve Bearden | Review Date: 2/18/2017 | Send Email
An overachieving property of Carbonnieux fame that scores big in the price/quality ratio year after year. This gravely wine has hints of spice, mineral and milk chocolate to go along with the crunchy dark currant fruit and sweet, rocky finish. Fairly deep and rich for the appellation but satisfying and super food-friendly.
Price: $17.99 Add To Cart

2014 Obsidian Ridge "Obsidian Ridge Vineyard" Red Hills Lake County Cabernet Sauvignon
By: Keith Palace | Review Date: 2/18/2017 | Send Email
This is an extremely intriguing wine for a Lake County Cabernet. A fruit forward, dense, masculine wine with a bit more intensity due to three years of extremely thirsty vines. Lots of black fruit up front, with a different spice component on the mid palate from to the use of 100% Hungarian Oak barrels. The black obsidian that composes the hillside provides a underlining minerality to the dense layered texture of this wine. The big tannins will soften over time, if you can wait that long...Grab some before it is too late!
Price: $27.99 Add To Cart
RP 92

2014 Obsidian Ridge "Obsidian Ridge Vineyard" Red Hills Lake County Cabernet Sauvignon
By: Anthony Gittings | Review Date: 2/18/2017 | Send Email
This Cabernet is exactly what I expect from California. On the nose, there is loads of blackberries that is accompanied by subtle hits of coffee, and licorice. On the palate, rich velvety tannin is balanced with elegant dark berries, a touch of cinnamon, and juicy acid. This is one of my favorite Cabernet's for the price. Pick one up for now and second one for a couple years from now.
Price: $27.99 Add To Cart
RP 92

2014 Obsidian Ridge "Obsidian Ridge Vineyard" Red Hills Lake County Cabernet Sauvignon
By: Ryan Moses | Review Date: 2/17/2017 | Send Email
Easily one of the best values in refined, detailed, and delicious domestic cabs in the store. It has a profile that would sell for twice as much if it were labeled Napa and is one of the reference-point Lake County bottlings. Aromatically it is pure Cabernet all the way as black and blue fruits line the palate. It is the textural refinement that steals the show as it adds a signature and dimension to Obsidian Ridge that other wines in this range just don't have. Always a best-seller, the 2014 is another home run.
Price: $27.99 Add To Cart
RP 92

2014 Obsidian Ridge "Obsidian Ridge Vineyard" Red Hills Lake County Cabernet Sauvignon
By: Olivia Ragni | Review Date: 2/17/2017 | Send Email
I love how this Cabernet is so balanced and elegant yet still provides the weight that you want from Cali Cab!! The nose has aromas of cassis, spice box and coconut. On the palate flavors of blackberries with a core of graphite, bitter chocolate and coffee grounds. One of the best Cabs under $30.
Price: $27.99 Add To Cart
RP 92

2013 Fuenteseca Huerta Singular "El Maguey" Blanco Tequila (750ml)
By: Jeffrey Jones | Review Date: 2/17/2017 | Send Email
This Tequila offers easy drinking along with layers of complexity to keep it interesting.In the nose it is pure Agave with citrus and savory notes. In the mouth it is soft and supple with beautiful citrus flavors with an addition of fascinating savory accents. This is all put together in a complex package with a nice long finish.
Price: $79.99 Add To Cart

2011 Tenuta di Sesta Brunello di Montalcino
By: Lilia McIntosh | Review Date: 2/17/2017 | Send Email
One of my absolute favorite Brunellos! With intense, broad bouquet, elegant, rich in scents of mellow red fruits, spicy in notes of cedar and tobacco. On the palate it's dry, soft with velvet tannins, balanced, very intense, very persistent and elegant. Great for roasts and game meat.

2015 Field Recordings "Wonderwall" Edna Valley Pinot Noir
By: Lilia McIntosh | Review Date: 2/17/2017 | Send Email
What a delightful Pinot Noir! Full of black cherries, figs, cola and almond bark. Touch of smoke and black tea. Hint of white pepper, clove and cinnamon.
Price: $19.99 Add To Cart

2014 Domaine Jean-Michel Giboulot Savigny-lès-Beaune 1er Cru "Serpentières"
By: Lilia McIntosh | Review Date: 2/17/2017 | Send Email
Classic, deep and elegant Savigny-Les- Beaune. It has firm structure, good acidity with savory earthiness and bright pomegranate, cranberry and red cherry notes. It's showing beautifully now and ready to drink, but it also has potential to age for many years.
Price: $34.99 Add To Cart

2015 Silvano Follador Prosecco Brut Nature
By: Lilia McIntosh | Review Date: 2/17/2017 | Send Email
This is the wine in which the delicate varietal aromas of the grape Glera and the mineral notes from the soil are fully expressed. Delicate and fragrant, absolutely dry (zero dosage!) and light, perfect for aperitif.
Price: $19.99 Add To Cart
VN 92

2015 Blason Ribolla Gialla delle Venezie
By: Lilia McIntosh | Review Date: 2/17/2017 | Send Email
Easy to drink pretty wine full of deep minerality and green apple flavor with citrusy notes. Great for sipping on its own or pairing with salads and sushi! Fresh and crisp!
Price: $10.99 Add To Cart

1987 Glenturret 28 Year Old "Old Particular" K&L Exclusive Single Barrel Cask Strength Single Malt Whisky (750ml)
By: Jeffrey Jones | Review Date: 2/17/2017 | Send Email
Another great older single malt from Old Particular. The Glenturret offers the delicate flavor profile of a mature single malt. I really liked the honey and wax aromas that were pretty and inviting. In the mouth the honey theme continues in a complex and subtle way that creates a delicious drink. Older single malts do not last long in inventory.
Price: $99.99 Add To Cart

1988 Strathclyde 28 Year Old "Old Particular" K&L Exclusive Single Barrel Cask Strength Grain Scotch Whisky (750ml)
By: Jeffrey Jones | Review Date: 2/17/2017 | Send Email
This is one of the best single grain whiskeys that I have tasted. The nose is very expressive with vanilla , savory and spice notes. In the mouth it is very complex with a lot flavor offerings. What I tasted was a mixture of vanilla , caramel and spice with an interesting and enhancing hint of savory flavors. This bottle will be a lot of fun for lovers of single grain whiskeys.
Price: $79.99 Add To Cart

2006 Belle Meade 10 Year Old "K&L Exclusive" Single Barrel #2573 Cask Strength Straight Bourbon Whiskey (750ml)
By: Jeffrey Jones | Review Date: 2/16/2017 | Send Email
In contrast to cask 2525 this is a more delicate and nuanced cask. It is soft and subtle with a hint of spice but is also round, sweet and complex.It is also an excellent selection that should give any bourbon lover pleasure. A great effort from Belle Meade.
Price: $69.99 Add To Cart

2006 Belle Meade 10 Year Old "K&L Exclusive" Single Barrel #2525 Cask Strength Straight Bourbon Whiskey (750ml)
By: Jeffrey Jones | Review Date: 2/16/2017 | Send Email
This bottling offers a lot of bourbon. It is big and lusty with full bodied mouth filling flavors. It is not shy but is sweet and rich with a long finish. It starts off with with pretty caramel and honey aromas that are complemented with subtle floral notes. An exciting single cask that should not last long in inventory.
Price: $69.99 Add To Cart

2009 Peyrabon, Haut-Médoc
By: Andrew Stevens | Review Date: 2/16/2017 | Send Email
I have continued to be impressed with the Peyrabon and to see the 2009 vintage still at $20 is spectacular. Great balance of dark berry fruit and tobacco spice with a soft tannin structure. Additionally, this is the type of wine that if you like Napa but bemoan the lack of good value or you need great everyday easy drinking Bordeaux this wine works perfectly. I don't believe this round will last longer than the last round so it is worth stocking up on.
Price: $19.99 Add To Cart

2006 Belle Meade 10 Year Old "K&L Exclusive" Single Barrel #2525 Cask Strength Straight Bourbon Whiskey (750ml)
By: Andrew Stevens | Review Date: 2/16/2017 | Send Email
Lovely sweet nose that brings you caramel, toffee and ripe stone fruit. This barrel is softer than its sister and carries more butterscotch and canned fruit without getting into a pepper or salty profile. Less spicy and more creamy this bottle nevertheless still gives off plenty of character with some tea and tobacco notes to balance the richness.
Price: $69.99 Add To Cart

2006 Belle Meade 10 Year Old "K&L Exclusive" Single Barrel #2573 Cask Strength Straight Bourbon Whiskey (750ml)
By: Andrew Stevens | Review Date: 2/16/2017 | Send Email
Intense and aromatic nose with layers of wood, hints of spice, almost a savory note alongside the vanilla. The palate is both rich and somewhat creamy with wood baking spice and fruit starting on a low burn and building towards the finish. Long spicy ending that never seems to want to stop and leaves you ready for another taste. This is a bold whisky that is not out of balance and brings a lot to the table.
Price: $69.99 Add To Cart

2014 Farnetella Lucilla Toscano Rosso
By: Mike Parres | Review Date: 2/16/2017 | Send Email
This is one of my favorite producers from Tuscany. This is their "Super Tuscan" - a very user friendly wine, the blend is 70% Sangiovese, 15% Cabernet Sauvignon, 15% Merlot. Lots of dark skinned fruit with spice, minerals that complete each other on the nose and palate. The wine has pleasantly soft tannins, but good acidity to pull it all together. Buy two, the first one will disappear quickly.
Price: $10.99 Add To Cart
JS 93

2013 Trellis (Amelia Park) Cabernet Sauvignon-Merlot Margaret River
By: Jeff Garneau | Review Date: 2/15/2017 | Send Email
If I had tasted the 2013 Trellis (Amelia Park) Cabernet Sauvignon-Merlot Margaret River blind, I would have assumed it was a much more expensive wine. However, since I was aware of the true retail price, my actual response at first sip was a calm, restrained, very professional “Holy &%$@!” I don’t know what to say about this wine that won’t be dismissed as mere hyperbole, but I can tell you honestly that it may very well be one of the top $10 reds we currently have available. This is classic Margaret River Cab (actually a blend of 85% Cabernet Sauvignon and 15% Merlot) for a mere song. The nose is lightly floral with a hint of mint. On the palate, notes of cherry and raspberry, generous red fruits, sweet and ripe. The wine is rich in texture but with near perfect balance. Bright and lively with ultra-fine tannins. An absolute delight to drink and an unbeatable value.
Top Value!
Price: $10.99 Add To Cart

2016 Kalinda North Coast Reserve Sauvignon Blanc
By: Clyde Beffa Jr. | Review Date: 2/15/2017 | Send Email
I give this a perfect score and it is the best Sauvignon Blanc we have made so far. And that goes back to the first one 1984 from Boeger (still holding great color). This wine was made by a very famous winemaker from a very famous winery in the Napa Valley. Hint- Mr Parker scored this winemaker as "winemaker of the year" a few years ago. And that is winemaker of the year for the whole world as we know it. Perfumey, floral aromas mixed with citrus nuances. Rich and lively on the palate-great zest and verve. Some spice, some lime and a very toasty character. Summer is approaching but this will do well served with a chicken dish.
Drink from 2017 to 2017
Price: $17.99 Add To Cart

2013 Cantina Terlan "Gries" Lagrein Riserva
By: Gary Westby | Review Date: 2/15/2017 | Send Email
This spicy, rich, powerful red has a lot in common with Hermitage. If you like big wines with a lot of texture, and are not afraid of a little tannin, a Lagrein like this is perfect to try. I can't wait to roast a leg of lamb and serve this Cantina Terlan with it!
Drink from 2017 to 2017
Price: $35.99 Add To Cart
RP 91

2013 La Massa "La Massa" Toscana
By: Gary Westby | Review Date: 2/15/2017 | Send Email
If you love super Tuscans and expensive Napa Cabernet, this La Massa is a must try for you. This Toscana has all of the dark color, flashy richness and power of its more expensive neighbors, but not the price.
Drink from 2017 to 2017

2012 Poggerino Chianti Classico Riserva Bugialla
By: Gary Westby | Review Date: 2/15/2017 | Send Email
The folks at Poggerino have made one of the finest Classico's I have had in years with this 2012 Riserva Bugialla. If you love elegant wine of complexity, restraint and real depth, this is worth a splurge. Although it seems light up front, it has that rare peacock's tail finish that even the finest wines don't always achieve. A special bottle.
Drink from 2017 to 2017
Price: $39.99 Add To Cart
WS 91 WE 90

2014 Farnetella Lucilla Toscano Rosso
By: Gary Westby | Review Date: 2/15/2017 | Send Email
What a slam dunk value from Tuscany! This inexpensive bottle has so much going on for the price. Not only does it have friendly, ripe, brambly blackberry flavors it also has good balancing acid and tannin. This is real wine for your week night pizzas and pasta dishes!
Top Value!
Price: $10.99 Add To Cart
JS 93

2013 La Monacesca "Mirum" Verdicchio di Matelica Riserva
By: Gary Westby | Review Date: 2/15/2017 | Send Email
This rich Verdicchio Di Matelica from La Monacesca impressed me with Meursault like richness and excellent focus. If you haven't experimented with the better whites of Italy, there is no better time than now. This wine has the scale, complexity and the balance that I would only expect from a much more expensive wine.
Price: $26.99 Add To Cart
W&S 92 WE 91

2015 l'Avocat Blanc, Graves
By: Ralph Sands | Review Date: 2/14/2017 | Send Email
Fans of high end Bordeaux Blanc take notice! If you love the likes of Ch. Smith Haut Lafitte, Domaine de Chevalier and Ch. Carbonnieux you will love this at a fraction of the cost. Nicola Allison is a talented winemaker and uses about 30% new oak to round out this delicious blanc that features brisk flavors of lime and green apple and white flowers. This wine has been my house Bordeaux Blanc for years and gives some of the most famous Bordeaux Blancs a huge run for the money!
Price: $14.99 Add To Cart

2012 Château Haut-Monplaisir "Pur Plaisir" Cahors
By: Keith Mabry | Review Date: 2/14/2017 | Send Email
For those curious about high-end Cahors, the "Pur Plaisir" is the wine that truly plumbs the depths of richness and intensity that can be achieved in this region. The wine is full bodied, velvety textured and loaded with dense blackberry and currant fruit. Layers of smoky minerals and Asian spices round out the flavor profile. We don't often delve into this price point when looking at Cahors because there doesn't seem to be as big a market for collectible wines from this region. That doesn't mean the quality isn't there though. Stack the "Pur Plaisir" up against similarly priced Bordeaux or Malbecs from Argentina and this more than holds its own. In fact, you'd likely pay upwards of two to three times as much for comparable quality.
Price: $39.99 Add To Cart
WE 95

2014 Chateau de Javernand Chiroubles Vieilles Vignes
By: Steve Bearden | Review Date: 2/14/2017 | Send Email
This is classically styled Beaujolais from a classic vintage but with the old vines adding a little extra heft to the middle. The mid-palate is deeply fruited with mineral and spice showing up on the dark finish All dark fruit here but with wonderful lift.
Price: $14.99 Add To Cart
VN 92

2015 Domaine des Remizières "Cuvée Christophe" Crozes-Hermitage Blanc
By: Steve Bearden | Review Date: 2/14/2017 | Send Email
A great introduction to the whites of the Northern Rhone and a super value. This is fat, layered and waxy, but with vibrant acidity to showcase the abundance of ripe stone fruit. White peach, dried apricot and hints of nectarine lead to a mouthwatering, mineral-laced finish that shows just the faintest whiff of ginger.
Price: $23.99 Add To Cart

2014 Kaiken "Ultra" Cabernet Sauvignon Sauvignon Mendoza
By: Steve Bearden | Review Date: 2/14/2017 | Send Email
This lushly textured wine with its intense structure is a big step above what you would expect at this modest price point. A solid core of dark cocoa, cassis, sweet cherry and spice give way to a powerful finish of very fine and grippy tannins. Here the New World ripeness is tempered by the sheer scale of the wine.

2014 Seigneurs d'Aiguilhe, Côtes de Castillon
By: Steve Bearden | Review Date: 2/14/2017 | Send Email
This is the 2nd wine of the star of the appellation Chateau d'Aiguilhe. Proprietor Stephan Neipperg is also responsible for the great wines of Canon-la-Gaffeliere, Clor l'Oratoire and the super luxury "Garage wine" La Mondotte. Drinkable now, this elegant Merlot based blend is supple, rich, inviting and one of the best values in Bordeaux.
Price: $15.99 Add To Cart

2015 Pencarrow Sauvignon Blanc (Palliser) Martinborough
By: Steve Bearden | Review Date: 2/14/2017 | Send Email
Here is a killer value in a full-bodied and rich yet bone dry wine with plenty of complexity. This is floral with crushed melon and kiwi fruit and hints of nectarine on the sweet and snappy mineral tinged finish. An unbelievable price for this level of quality.

2014 Domaine des Terres Dorées (Jean-Paul Brun) Saint-Amour
By: Steve Bearden | Review Date: 2/14/2017 | Send Email
This is balanced, sweet, clean and very floral with faint touches of iron and earth to the lacy finish. The complexity and elegance at this price is truly amazing.
Price: $21.99 Add To Cart
VN 93 RP 91

2014 Domaine Damien Coquelet Chiroubles Vieilles Vignes
By: Steve Bearden | Review Date: 2/14/2017 | Send Email
Here is a deeply fruited, almost dense Beaujolais with an iron core and an animal dig into the earthier aspects of the region. This hearty and very mineral bottling would stand up to any fare including game or cassoulet.
Price: $25.99 Add To Cart
VN 93

2015 Domaine Jean-Claude Lapalu Cote de Brouilly
By: Steve Bearden | Review Date: 2/14/2017 | Send Email
This shows off the vintage with its deep and jammy middle of cassis and ripe cherry fruit. There is wonderful tension here with the tightly wound structure of ripe tannins and fine mineral holding all that dark and rich fruit together.
Price: $24.99 Add To Cart
RP 93

2012 L'Avocat Rouge, Graves
By: Diana Turk | Review Date: 2/14/2017 | Send Email
Dusty up front, with cherry fruit and a foresty quality reminiscent of fall leaves, L’Avocat Rouge really shows off both its Graves terroir and the easygoing 2012 vintage. Medium-bodied for Bordeaux with lovely tannins, minerally, subtly earthy and delicious, this manages to be both green and velvety, and great for the price.
Price: $14.99 Add To Cart

Page: 1 2 3 next >>