Reviewers


K&L Email Alerts

Sign up to receive custom alerts, new arrivals and the latest happenings from K&L Wines

Staff Favorites

If you’re going to have Robert Parker or Stephen Tanzer over for dinner, selecting a wine they’ve rated highly will be a nice choice. However, when you’re buying wines for yourself, we’d love to see you find wines that match up your unique palate and pocketbook. We have a large staff of friendly and knowledgeable wine professionals that taste hundreds of wines each week. They can put you in touch with bottles that you are likely to love, often at a much lower cost than the highly-rated gems that often see a run-up in price and frequent availability issues. Like any great group of opinionated professionals, our staff has varied tastes themselves. Often our customers will find a particular staff member with a style that corresponds to their own. That concept works extremely well in our retail stores, and this section is our effort to bring you the same online. Don’t get us wrong, we love the highly rated wines from the press and will continue to offer them, but we think you’re missing out if you’re not augmenting those selections with picks from our excellent staff. Here are their favorites. (Click on a name to see their other selections - or to drop them a line.) Cheers!

Reviews

Page: 1 2 3 next >>
2014 Louis M. Martini Napa Valley Cabernet Sauvignon
Reviwer Picture By: Illya Haase | Review Date: 12/11/2017 | Send Email
Where's the love … I always overlook this Cabernet. Always looking for the new, best, Napa red! We opened this the other day and much to our surprise, we discovered it to be a classic –a truly balanced Napa Cabernet! It certainly was more than approachable with the big 2014 fruit up front, alluring blackberry jam, cocoa powder and integrated oak on the nose. It has that great depth which lingers with the richness of black fruit. Why not tempt yourself with that elegant, velvet juciness, melting into polished tannins, with a delightfully long finish. I was so glad to have the opportunity to try this wine! With so many choices out there, I will not overlook this one anymore.
Price: $29.99 Add To Cart
RP 93 - 95

2015 Picard, Lussac-St-Emilion
Reviwer Picture By: Clyde Beffa Jr. | Review Date: 12/10/2017 | Send Email
Glass Full image Glass Full image Glass Full image Glass Full image Glass Half image
Here is your Tuesday night hamburger wine, but it will also do well with Thursday night pork roast dinner. Sweet black fruit aromas and flavors — goes down easily. Great wine for California Cabernet lovers. Enjoy young and fruity.
Drink from 2018 to 2018
Price: $12.99 Add To Cart

2014 de Birot, Côtes de Bordeaux
Reviwer Picture By: Clyde Beffa Jr. | Review Date: 12/9/2017 | Send Email
Glass Full image Glass Full image Glass Full image Glass Full image Glass Empty image
From the fine 2014 vintage comes an absolute killer Bordeaux value. The blend contains about 25% Cabernet Sauvignon, lending dark fruit and structure to the base of juicy Merlot fruit, with some Cabernet Franc for aromatic lift. We last carried their 2009.
Drink from 2018 to 2018
Price: $21.99 Add To Cart

2015 Poesia, St-Emilion
Reviwer Picture By: Clyde Beffa Jr. | Review Date: 12/9/2017 | Send Email
Glass Full image Glass Full image Glass Full image Glass Full image Glass Half image
Do not confuse this beauty with the Argentinian Poesia. An April 2017 discovery at Barde Haut. Tons of fruit with some earthy, mineral aromas. Very ripe on the mid palate and soft,lush, lingering finish. Much better than their 2014. Decant one hour and enjoy.
Drink from 2018 to 2018
Price: $44.99 Add To Cart

2015 Godeau, St-Emilion
Reviwer Picture By: Clyde Beffa Jr. | Review Date: 12/9/2017 | Send Email
Glass Full image Glass Full image Glass Full image Glass Full image Glass Half image
This is the last to arrive of our April 2017 tasting trip finds for value. Vinous scores it 90-93 and we agree. Black raspberries abound on the nose and palate. A sort of new wave entry, but fine acid balance is a hallmark of this wine. First time for K&L to carry this beauty-it won't be the last I am sure. I am loving these 2015s.
Drink from 2018 to 2018

2015 Motte Maucourt, Bordeaux Supérieur
Reviwer Picture By: Clyde Beffa Jr. | Review Date: 12/9/2017 | Send Email
Glass Full image Glass Full image Glass Full image Glass Full image Glass Half image
A fine 2015 Bordeaux for $11? Sweet oaky, cassis aromas with sweet blackberry flavors. So easy to drink, but it will age well for a few years. Buy cases. Here is you large party red-even California red wine drinkers will love it. Jammy style.
Drink from 2017 to 2017
Price: $10.99 Add To Cart

2016 Loyasson, Bordeaux
Reviwer Picture By: Clyde Beffa Jr. | Review Date: 12/9/2017 | Send Email
Glass Full image Glass Full image Glass Full image Glass Full image Glass Full image
$10.99 are you out of your mind? The 2014 and 2015 sold out quickly-this will also. Another of our finds on the 2017 Bordeaux trip. Spicy, jammy, vibrant red-just like most of the 2016s. Lively and sweet with red berry flavors. A must buy. Toasty oak for $11?
Drink from 2017 to 2017
Price: $10.99 Add To Cart

2009 Larrivet Haut-Brion, Pessac-Léognan
Reviwer Picture By: Clyde Beffa Jr. | Review Date: 12/9/2017 | Send Email
Glass Full image Glass Full image Glass Full image Glass Full image Glass Full image
This property always flies under the radar and is becoming one of my favs from the region. I much prefer their red to their white. We have sold over 1000 cases of this and we just got a bit more. 2009 is my favorite vintage since 1945.. I have a case of magnums in my cellar. That means you should buy some. Decant one hour. Sweet and sexy. Re-tasted on 12/10/17-so good it is sinful. Sweet and round-no edges-all fruit.
Drink from 2016 to 2016

2014 Medoc de Beychevelle, Haut-Médoc
Reviwer Picture By: Clyde Beffa Jr. | Review Date: 12/9/2017 | Send Email
Glass Full image Glass Full image Glass Full image Glass Full image Glass Full image
The great St Julien property Beychevelle has some land just south of St Julien in the haut medoc. This pretty wine has all the characteristics of St Julien-cola aromas, silky texture, etc. Cassis aromas and just all crushed berry sweetness on the palate. Very close to Beychevelle in style. A must try. First time we have bought this label. Tasted 12/9/17--very lively with a fine minerality on the palate.
Drink from 2017 to 2017
Price: $24.99 Add To Cart

2015 Moulin du Sud Bordeaux Superieur
Reviwer Picture By: Clyde Beffa Jr. | Review Date: 12/9/2017 | Send Email
Glass Full image Glass Full image Glass Full image Glass Full image Glass Full image
What a great value here. We tasted it during April 2017 Bordeaux trip-Organic wine made by Ch La Croix Taillefer, Pomerol. A blend of merlot and Cabernet, it is so lush on the palate-a bit new wave and quite California style. Sweet and sexy with some savoury notes. A steal at $13. These 15s are super delicious at this early stage. This one is spicy and vibrant.
Drink from 2017 to 2017
Price: $12.99 Add To Cart

2015 Capbern, St-Estèphe
Reviwer Picture By: Clyde Beffa Jr. | Review Date: 12/9/2017 | Send Email
Glass Full image Glass Full image Glass Full image Glass Full image Glass Full image
The first wine we tasted on the 2016 Bordeaux trip and we loved it. In fact we preferred it to the Marquis de Calon. It has just arrived and wow is it good. These 15s are easy to drink, but they are young so decant one hour on this one. It is sweet and silky. The finish screams St Estephe. Great balance and tremendous depth of flavor for just over $20. Buy a case and taste it in three years.
Drink from 2018 to 2018

2014 Viña Real Crianza Rioja
Reviwer Picture By: Joe Bruno | Review Date: 12/9/2017 | Send Email
This 2014 Crianza primarily consists of 90% Tempranillo, with the remaining 10% comprising of Garnacha, Graciano, and Mazuelo. The oak influence in this wine draws from multiple sources: the oak barrels used in fermentation are French Oak barrels and the barrels used in the 13-14 month aging process are American. Dominant fruit aromas of ripe blackberries and raspberries, macerated cherries, and plum. Bouquet of vanillas, balsamic, cedar, and dill. Warming spices as well, underlying. On the palate, dried berries and cherries play with a wonderful lively acidity. Tannins are there, but certainly not overwhelming. The mouthfeel and acidity lend it to being a great option with food pairings: think roast chicken and bell peppers or pork chops
Price: $14.99 Add To Cart
JS 92

2015 Cantina di Gallura "Genesi" Vermentino di Gallura
Reviwer Picture By: Mike Parres | Review Date: 12/9/2017 | Send Email
The delicate straw color of the 2015 "Genesi" Vermentino di Gallura is followed by beautiful aromas of almonds, oranges, lemon, honey, apple skins, and a hint of tropical fruits. This crisp, elegant, Full-bodied white has layers of herbs, citrus and a touch of apricot,, with excellent acidity, fresh and long. I love this as an aperitif, or as a broadly useful table wine (roast chicken, fish...).
Price: $34.99 Add To Cart

2014 La Massa "La Massa" Toscana
Reviwer Picture By: Mike Parres | Review Date: 12/9/2017 | Send Email
Concentrated Sangiovese fruit with layers of subtle earth and mineral scents in a soft and forward body. Wonderful to drink now! Two Thumbs up !
Price: $14.99 Add To Cart
JS 91 WS 90

2014 Tormaresca "Neprica" Puglia
Reviwer Picture By: Mike Parres | Review Date: 12/9/2017 | Send Email
I just opened this for our staff tasting recently and this little "Puglia blend" stopped the show, with lots of oohs and ahhs from my coworkers. This wine has lots of bang for the buck. This wine is a blend of 40% Negroamaro, 30% Primitivo & 30% Cabernet Sauvignon, medium-bodied with dark fruit, good acidity and a really long finish. Two THUMBS up !!! Guido
Price: $9.99 Add To Cart

2013 Famille Perrin "Les Cornuds" Vinsobres
Reviwer Picture By: Illya Haase | Review Date: 12/9/2017 | Send Email
If you have ever been in the LA Store and spoken with me, you would know I like anything under $15.00 that can claim to be amazing. This Rhone Red fits the bill. I am speaking of an ideal party-pleasing wine that anyone, no matter the palate, will enjoy. The nose is great with floral and spice. The taste combines round mouthfeel and a surprising minerality, which leads to a plush, subtle finish. Reach for this as a perfect pick for any holiday party or late night taco truck.
Price: $12.99 Add To Cart
VN 90 W&S 90

2015 La Honda "Sequence" Santa Cruz Mountains Pinot Noir
Reviwer Picture By: Ryan Woodhouse | Review Date: 12/8/2017 | Send Email
Highly perfumed crushed red berries. Brambly fruit, orange peel, Christmas cake spice. Lifted aromas of Redwood grove and fresh rain. Pure, long, elegant on the palate, weighing in at 13.7% alc. A lovely combination of fresh fruit and savory forest floor notes. It finishes clean, supple and bright with moreish acidity.
Top Value!
Price: $19.99 Add To Cart
WE 92

2015 Domaine Faiveley Mercurey 1er Cru "Clos des Myglands" (Monopole)
Reviwer Picture By: Brian Fogarty | Review Date: 12/8/2017 | Send Email
The weather in southern Burgundy was exceptional in 2015, and the village of Mercurey in the Cote Chalonnaise produced rich, expressive fruit evocative of the most famous villages north in the Cote du Nuits. Faiveley is always a high quality producer and their Clos de Myglands is typically a good window into their more lofty offerings, but the 2015 is a stunner that will be open many times at my table this year (hopefully)! In recent years its been rare to taste the essence of true Burgundy at such an affordable entry point. Rich and earthy the nose greats you from the glass showing dark cherry, hints of cranberry and raspberry, forest floor and spice box. The confirming first sip is quite balanced and offers a mouth filling rush of muddled cherries, aged leather and tea. Drink it while it lasts...

2015 La Honda Santa Cruz Mountains Chardonnay
Reviwer Picture By: Ryan Woodhouse | Review Date: 12/8/2017 | Send Email
A complex nose dancing between toasted hazelnut and saline oyster shell notes; spiced pear, autumn barley and crushed rock. A very mineral driven style, very Chablis like. It has a keen acid line and verve to it; great for Dungeness crab I imagine (I'll have to test it out)! Such a stunning value for Santa Cruz Mountain Chardonnay. Hand-selected from a patchwork of small, local vineyards around the appellation skillfully and seamlessly woven together by winemaker Colin McNanny.
Top Value!
Price: $19.99 Add To Cart
WE 92

2015 Capbern, St-Estèphe
Reviwer Picture By: Brian Fogarty | Review Date: 12/8/2017 | Send Email
A good, go-to Bordeaux keeps us all happy. Chateau Capbern of St Estephe delivers in a bright, energetic profile bursting with fresh cherries, violets, spicy notes and a skosh of mineral in the background echoes. On the palate the cherries remain dominate, filling your mouth with a juicy, savory charisma accented with blackberry, bramble and dark toast on a well structured frame.

2014 Louis M. Martini Napa Valley Cabernet Sauvignon
Reviwer Picture By: Trey Beffa | Review Date: 12/8/2017 | Send Email
I have always enjoyed the Louis Martini Sonoma Cabernet. Year after year it is possibly be the best value in California Cabernet. The step up in price for the Napa is about double but the quality is way more than that. This is a seriously delicious, rich, dense yet supple Cabernet that surprises the palate with a fleshy, toasty mouthfeel and long, lingering finish. I find the tannins silky and ripe, even with this vintage. I would have no problem enjoying this bottle now with a bit of air.
Price: $29.99 Add To Cart
RP 93 - 95

2009 Latour-Martillac, Pessac-Léognan
Reviwer Picture By: Steve Bearden | Review Date: 12/8/2017 | Send Email
This was released 5 years ago and what I once considered "modern" in style has evolved into a classic with aromas of hot asphalt, toast and intense mixed berries. There is great concentration here with a middle of ripe and roasted black fruits followed by rocky soil and mineral undertones. Delicious and almost decadent for the appellation.

2013 Louis M. Martini Napa Valley Cabernet Sauvignon
Reviwer Picture By: David Driscoll | Review Date: 12/8/2017 | Send Email
It's the bread and butter of our business here at K&L: Napa Cabernet that tastes like classic Napa Cabernet for a price that represents quality without breaking the bank. Sound familiar? We get asked for recommendations like this more than 50 times a day, so personally it's always exciting when we find a great answer to that never-ending request. 2013 was a magical vintage for Napa and the proof is in the pudding here with this Louis Martini release, one that offers all the hallmarks of textbook California Cab: dark plummy fruit, dusty tannins, a full-bodied mouthfeel, and just enough oak on the finish. It's nothing new or revolutionary, mind you, it's just a workhorse of a wine that brings the bang for the buck. This is the type of wine that restaurants kill for because it's dependable, well-priced, and crowd-pleasing. If you're looking for a new house bottle, this is easily worth a case or two. True-to-form Cabernet of this quality (from this good of a vintage) rarely goes for less than $40 anymore.

2014 K Vintners Substance "Powerline Vineyard" Walla Walla Valley Cabernet Sauvignon
Reviwer Picture By: Ryan Woodhouse | Review Date: 12/8/2017 | Send Email
Wow — serious Cabernet here. Brooding and deep on the nose, smoky, dark fruit; plum, blackcurrant, pencil lead, dusty rocks; a hint of tobacco and leather. On the palate the wine shows some redder fruit notes and toasted spice. It has lovely ripeness but is not sweet or overly extracted. Medium-full bodied with great line and length. The tannin levels are perfectly measured with the wines fruit and there is great vibrancy that suggests a long life ahead but without being hard or closed in its youth. I'm really impressed with this wine, it strikes a lovely balance delivering powerful fruit but in doing so does not obscure the varietal expression or mask Walla Walla's dusty, stony minerality.
Price: $39.99 Add To Cart
RP 94 - 96

2015 La Jasse Castel "La Pimpanela" Terrasses du Larzac
Reviwer Picture By: Thomas Smith | Review Date: 12/8/2017 | Send Email
My pick for best value in Languedoc-Roussillon. Hands down. The blend is 50% Grenache, 30% Syrah, 20% Cinsault, and 10% Carignan. It's built with a little more Grenache than the Bleu Velours, but absolutely outperforms its price point. The nose is full of smoky and gamy notes. The palate is all black cherry, with really sumptuous fruit and charming rustic tannins. Totally unique and one of the wines I recommend most for those looking to explore the Languedoc.
Price: $14.99 Add To Cart

2014 Louis M. Martini Napa Valley Cabernet Sauvignon
Reviwer Picture By: Mari Keilman | Review Date: 12/8/2017 | Send Email
For those who like ripeness without the jamminess, the 2014 Louis Martini Napa Valley is the perfect example of achieving phenolic ripeness without extracted, overwrought fruit. There is full ripeness without sacrificing acidity which allows the dark, purple fruit in this Napa Valley Cab to show through without overpowering and tiring out the palate.
Price: $29.99 Add To Cart
RP 93 - 95

2013 Louis M. Martini Napa Valley Cabernet Sauvignon
Reviwer Picture By: Anthony Russo | Review Date: 12/8/2017 | Send Email
Deep, violet aromas of plum, blackcurrant, blackberry and blueberry. Soft and velvety on the palate supported by fresh, juicy tannins. A delicious and easygoing Napa Cabernet that will please everyone around the table for a great price.

2009 Valentons Canteloup 'Cuvee Excentrique' Bordeaux Supérieur
Reviwer Picture By: Steve Bearden | Review Date: 12/8/2017 | Send Email
Here is an unusual blend of 70% Petit Verdot and 30% Merlot that is a delicious wine in its own right. The middle of baked cherry compote eases into a fine lingering finish of great restraint. This is smooth, plush and ready for tonight.
Price: $15.99 Add To Cart

2010 Malartic-Lagravière, Pessac-Léognan
Reviwer Picture By: Steve Bearden | Review Date: 12/8/2017 | Send Email
Sweet red and black currants and roasted earth fill the middle of this toasty and fresh wine. This is dark and substantial with a wonderful mineral expression. Maybe even better than their spectacular 2009.

2014 Bodegas Volver "Tarima Hill - Old Vines" Monastrell Alicante
Reviwer Picture By: Joe Bruno | Review Date: 12/8/2017 | Send Email
This red delivers a whole lot with respect to the under-$20 price point. Organic Monastrell grapes from vines 50-80 years old. Initial notes of sugar plum, red and dark cherries, and strawberry coulis. Hints of herbs and earth as well. On the palate, this wine pleasantly surprised me with a higher acidity than I had expected at first. The fruit quality is ripe, but definitively not overripe nor bordering on off-dry. Flavors of ripe red and dark fruit alike: dark cherry, strawberry, prune, and blackberry compote. Charming black and white pepper, tarragon, and sage notes as well. A touch of vanilla at the end, expected as the wine sees around 14 months in new oak barrels. A well-made, modern style of Monastrell that is sure to please those who are fans of California Cabernet Sauvignon. A great choice as a weekday dinner red to go with various meat dishes
Price: $12.99 Add To Cart
RP 92 JS 90

Golden Devil "K&L Exclusive" Dark Overproof Rum (750ml)
Reviwer Picture By: Jeffrey Jones | Review Date: 12/8/2017 | Send Email
This is a real bargain. I thought that it cost more when I tasted it. It has early spring time herb and floral aromas. In the mouth, it is dry but has dark sugar flavors and is easy and complex.
Price: $19.99 Add To Waiting List

Blank Brewing "Your Phone Number" IPA Brewed w/ Fruity Pepples, New York (12oz Cans)
Reviwer Picture By: Anthony Russo | Review Date: 12/8/2017 | Send Email
One of the few brewed-to-be-weird beers that is actually super tasty without being too funky. The brewers nailed the aromas - Fruity Pebbles through and through supported by a backbone of orange zest. On the palate, the fruit aroma translates into a nice rhubarb bitterness that gives the beer structure and seriousness.
Price: $3.99 Add To Cart

Hampden 9 Year Old "Golden Devil" K&L Exclusive Single Barrel Cask Strength Jamaican Rum (750ml)
Reviwer Picture By: Jeffrey Jones | Review Date: 12/8/2017 | Send Email
This is an interesting and different Rum. It offers aromas of earth and herbs with a touch of sweet. After water is added the sweet aromas are more pronounced. In the mouth it is dry with flavors of golden dried fruit , earth and herbs. It is complex and there is a nice long finish. I tasted this with a touch of water.
Price: $69.99 Add To Waiting List

2016 Ca' del Baio Langhe Nebbiolo
Reviwer Picture By: Anthony Russo | Review Date: 12/8/2017 | Send Email
Sure-shot for Nebbiolo lovers who want something for "now." I am still learning all of the intricacies of Italian wines, but even I could tell this was classic Nebbiolo; the structure is all there with a tiny extra layer of soft fruit that makes this otherwise tannic wine a bit more approachable early. Why spend $70 and wait 8 years when this is good to go now?
Price: $22.99 Add To Cart

2015 Domaine Faiveley Mercurey 1er Cru "Clos des Myglands" (Monopole)
Reviwer Picture By: Ryan Woodhouse | Review Date: 12/8/2017 | Send Email
A stunning value in Burgundy. This has the purity, polish and haunting aromatics of a much more expensive bottling. I have long admired Faiveley's Mercurey based wines (the Clos Rond is a perfect "crossover" wine for people getting into burgundy from domestic Pinot Noir) but this 2015 release of the Premier Cru, monopole, Clos Des Myglands is on a whole new level. Exotic, floral, fruits of the forest aromatics, soft, plush texture on the front palate but fine grippy tannin on the finish. Vibrant acidity but not in the least bit lean or austere. Beautifully proportioned, expressive burgundy for an absolute song.
Top Value!

2016 Domaine du Vieil Orme Sauvignon Touraine Blanc
Reviwer Picture By: Diana Turk | Review Date: 12/7/2017 | Send Email
Amazing new staple wine with the longevity to get you from summer to New Year’s! If you love the bright minerality of Sancerre but not the expense, try the Domaine du Vieil Orme Sauvignon Blanc. Exquisitely crafted, refreshing, and at a price that far belies the incredible quality, this is party perfection in a bottle. Crisp and crowd-pleasing, the Orme showcases Touraine's dazzling rocky terroir while maintaining easy drinkability and layered texture. One of our best Loire whites of the 2016 vintage - sophisticated, complex, and most importantly, delicious.
Price: $11.99 Add To Cart

Foursquare Distillery Real McCoy 12 Year Old Single Blended Barbados Rum (750ml)
Reviwer Picture By: David Driscoll | Review Date: 12/7/2017 | Send Email
Four years when I first went to Barbados on a rum expedition, no one was even talking about Foursquare in the U.S. (hence I didn't visit the distillery). When you thought of Barbados, you thought of Mount Gay. Today, however, Foursquare is all anyone wants to talk about in the rum world because it's one of the few distilleries that has taken a stand against added sugar and caramel color in its spirits. That purity has struck a chord with today's modern and more conscientious drinker because there's never been a point in history when people cared more about what they're drinking than right now. Because rum is one of the most adulterated spirits there is, often darkened and sweetened with a number of various devices, Foursquare has decided to separate itself from the pack, pumping out incredibly supple, rounded, almost Bourbon-like rums with real (natural) flavor and concentration. The Real McCoy 12 year is a stunning value considering everything that went into it. It's the Weller 12 of the rum world -- the rum that we'll all be missing five years from now when the rest of the industry catches on and buys every last drop. For the meantime, take advantage of the fact that there's plenty available and for a great price.
Price: $39.99 Add To Cart

2009 Larrivet Haut-Brion, Pessac-Léognan
Reviwer Picture By: Steve Bearden | Review Date: 12/7/2017 | Send Email
This lively, sweet and complex wine starts with smoky and crunchy dark currant fruit, spiced berries and raspberry liqueur. This is thick and deep with a touch of tar and ash complimenting the rolls of fruit on the long mineral finish. outstanding for the money.

2015 Capbern, St-Estèphe
Reviwer Picture By: David Driscoll | Review Date: 12/7/2017 | Send Email
The K&L team (myself included) tasted this back at the chateau in 2016 when the wine was still being finished and about fell over ourselves, gushing about the superb quality of the 2015 Capbern (and the vintage as a whole). Now that the wine is in bottle and on our shelves, it's even better. It may seem like a shame to drink a Bordeaux this young in its youth (and the Capbern will definitely reward patience), but the wine tastes SOOOO GOOD right now. The pretty, fleshy, concentrated fruit is lush and supple on the palate and the tannins are fine, almost chewy. Not only should you buy a bottle of the 2015 Capbern because it's a great wine for a great price from a great producer, you should use it as a bellweather for the vintage. 2015 is the best Bordeaux vintage since 2009 in my opinion and the wines are fruit-forward, yet never over the top; they're approachable yet nuanced and complex. Example number one is the 2015 Capbern: the best bang for your buck Bordeaux thus far at K&L from this fantastic harvest.

2015 Domaine Faiveley Mercurey 1er Cru "Clos des Myglands" (Monopole)
Reviwer Picture By: David Driscoll | Review Date: 12/7/2017 | Send Email
Wow....wow, wow, wow!! Each time I nose my glass of 2015 Faiveley Clos des Myglands these are the words that pulsate through my brain. Simply put: this wine is everything I love about Burgundy and it reminds me of the excitement I once felt upon first trying the more serious premier cru level wine more than ten years ago. Part of the quality level here is the vineyard itself, a monopole for Faiveley, but the other part is the vintage. I was lucky enough to travel with the K&L team to Burgundy to taste through the 2015s and it is without a doubt the best vintage of reds I've ever sampled. In the case of the Clos des Myglands, the extra ripeness rounds off the acidity just a bit and turns what might normally be crunchy cranberries into tart cherries and bright strawberries. Beyond that, deep in the glass, are cloves, forest notes, brush, and earth, all sweetly scented and voluminous on the nose. This is a beautiful, top-notch 2015 red Burgundy that drinks well RIGHT NOW. I'm sure it will continue to improve, but if you're looking for a showstopper for tonight's dinner I'd be hard pressed to find anything in the category this good for under $60.

2015 Domaine Faiveley Mercurey "Clos Rond"
Reviwer Picture By: Andrew Stevens | Review Date: 12/7/2017 | Send Email
I really enjoyed this bottling in the 2014 vintage and while I had good expectations about the wine, I was really pleasantly surprised when I tasted the new vintage. Beautiful fruit of red cherry and raspberry are indicative of the ripeness of the 2015 vintage. Although the fruit is showing nicely there is still plenty of acid and some lovely spice notes to balance everything out. Toward the finish there is a very fun somewhat hard minerality that helps to anchor the wine. All in all the balance was spectacular and everything in this wine worked together.
Price: $29.99 Add To Cart

Wine Club

$26.99

2015 Domaine Faiveley Mercurey 1er Cru "Clos des Myglands" (Monopole)
Reviwer Picture By: Alex Pross | Review Date: 12/7/2017 | Send Email
This might just be the best red Burgundy we have in-stock for under $40. The Faiveley Mercurey 1er Cru "Clos des Myglands" has a beautiful nose of hibiscus, red berry and spice notes with a firm palate of red fruits, cinnamon, iodine and a cool rush of red fruit and wintergreen on the finish. A classically-styled red Burgundy that's priced for drinking tonight.
Top Value!

2011 Can Mayol Loxarel "Reserva Familiar" Brut Nature Penedes
Reviwer Picture By: Ivan Diaz | Review Date: 12/7/2017 | Send Email
The 2011 is creamier and a bit richer than the 2010, though maintaining the dry, linear features that give this wine its unique character. Flavors of apple, lemon, and stony/chalky minerals gain extra roundness from the extended time (six-plus years) on the lees. Instead of crunchy green apples, the profile here shows more ripened, baked golden apples, hints of baking spice, and moussey bubbles. This profound and versatile wine will pair perfectly with the same foods you might pair with Champagne, from creamy Mahon cheese to fresh yellowtail crudo, or even buttermilk fried chicken. Enjoy!
Price: $19.99 Add To Cart

2014 Can Mayol Loxarel "999" Brut Nature Rosat Penedes
Reviwer Picture By: Ivan Diaz | Review Date: 12/7/2017 | Send Email
This wine gains its gorgeous ruby color by blending 60% Xarel-lo Vermell and 40% Pinot Noir. While it shows more fruity richness than the Refugi, this is still a Brut Nature and is utterly, refreshingly dry. Restrained strawberry, dried cranberry, tart citrus and orange peel all wash across the palate with a bracing acidity and tickling bubbles.
Price: $13.99 Add To Cart

Golden Devil "K&L Exclusive" Dark Overproof Rum (750ml)
Reviwer Picture By: Andrew Stevens | Review Date: 12/7/2017 | Send Email
Just in time for Holiday party's (and to be honest for a Sunday Funday) this beautiful little bottle of Dark Overproof is exactly what is needed for cocktails, punches, and parties. Seriously, this is excellent, especially given the price, for those who need a good dark and strong rum for winter cocktails. Dark chocolate on the nose with a little coffee on the nose leads to a lighter palate than I was expecting. Caramel and fudge pudding with a rising heat and spice from the proof all come together here. Fantastic!
Price: $19.99 Add To Waiting List

2015 Domaine Faiveley Mercurey 1er Cru "Clos des Myglands" (Monopole)
Reviwer Picture By: Dulcinea Gonzalez | Review Date: 12/7/2017 | Send Email
This is a premier cru super value! Expressive and juicy is Clos Myglands located in the Mercurey appellation of Cote Challonaise. With lovely concentration and ripe black cherry notes, this offers great texture and drinkability that will be the perfect addition to your holiday meal this year!

Hampden 9 Year Old "Golden Devil" K&L Exclusive Single Barrel Cask Strength Jamaican Rum (750ml)
Reviwer Picture By: Andrew Stevens | Review Date: 12/7/2017 | Send Email
The single barrel selections we have been getting from Golden Devil, and for me in particular the Jamaican ones, have gotten me to rethink buying rum. The 9 year old Hampden opens immediately with a wonderful fruity butterscotch nose, powerful and inviting. There is a lot of wood tanning here that will immediately cling to the palate, however within that lovely fruit and floral notes complement the warm vanilla components. The butterscotch on the nose comes back at the finish with pineapple and baking spice.
Price: $69.99 Add To Waiting List

2014 Tormaresca "Neprica" Puglia
Reviwer Picture By: Greg St. Clair | Review Date: 12/7/2017 | Send Email
It is hard to believe that a wine at this price point can carry the quality level it does, but the Antinori family has centuries of experience to back them. This wine is a blend of NE (Negroamaro) PRI (Primitivo) and CA (Cabernet), hence the Neprica name. Negroamaro is Puglia's most important grape and provides the size and frame and structure of the wine, the Primitivo gives it a rich dose of fruit and the Cabernet adds backbone and complexity, all told for the price this wine can't be beat! The 2014 vinatge has a little more freshness than previous vintages, tasty!
Drink from 2017 to 2017
Price: $9.99 Add To Cart

2009 Lagrange, St-Julien
Reviwer Picture By: Steve Bearden | Review Date: 12/7/2017 | Send Email
Do not attempt to drink this wine without first decanting for an hour! But if you do decant you will get soaring aromas of raspberries, blackberries and earthy potting soil in a muscular but caressing mid-palate with a huge mineral core. There is a deep and enveloping warmth to the ripe fruit and a full-bodied but gentle mouth feel to the substantial middle. Decant a bottle tonight and lay another away for 10 or more years.

2015 Vasse Felix Chardonnay Margaret River Western Australia
Reviwer Picture By: Brian Fogarty | Review Date: 12/7/2017 | Send Email
Vasse Felix’s Premier class of wines are known for their harmony and precision. The 2015 chardonnay is a reminder of how the cold influence of an ocean on the hilly coast of a western shore can provide consistently beautiful, balanced and refined wines. The vibrant lemon blossom and ripe white peach notes in the glass start a parade of an ever evolving nose that moves to jasmine and hints tight grained French oak. On the palate the summer peach holds on tight with a racy acidity refreshing the palate and revealing the citrus notes and savory finish.

Page: 1 2 3 next >>