Staff Favorites

If you’re going to have Robert Parker or Stephen Tanzer over for dinner, selecting a wine they’ve rated highly will be a nice choice. However, when you’re buying wines for yourself, we’d love to see you find wines that match up your unique palate and pocketbook. We have a large staff of friendly and knowledgeable wine professionals that taste hundreds of wines each week. They can put you in touch with bottles that you are likely to love, often at a much lower cost than the highly-rated gems that often see a run-up in price and frequent availability issues. Like any great group of opinionated professionals, our staff has varied tastes themselves. Often our customers will find a particular staff member with a style that corresponds to their own. That concept works extremely well in our retail stores, and this section is our effort to bring you the same online. Don’t get us wrong, we love the highly rated wines from the press and will continue to offer them, but we think you’re missing out if you’re not augmenting those selections with picks from our excellent staff. Here are their favorites. (Click on a name to see their other selections - or to drop them a line.) Cheers!

Reviews

Page: 1 2 3 next >>
Baron-Fuenté "7" Brut Champagne
Reviwer Picture By: Diana Turk | Review Date: 2/23/2018 | Send Email
Leesy with coveted brioche notes, pear fruit, and bright acid – and much more vivid than the other offerings by one of our favorite Direct Import producers – the “7” is the most sophisticated Baron Fuente I’ve tasted. It’s aged for seven years on the lees and it shows: this is astonishing quality for the price, with lovely texture and focus.
Price: $49.99 Add To Cart

2016 Tenuta Carretta Gavi
Reviwer Picture By: Rachel Vogel | Review Date: 2/23/2018 | Send Email
The second vintage of Carretta Gavi that we are carrying. Last years was bright, fresh and lovely. This years just as lively and inviting with a bit more complextity. A small bit of oak introduces a touch of texture to the wine while the bright notes of citrus dance from beginning to end. A little minerality goes a long way in this wine and carries it to a long, fresh finish. Excellent for summing sipping or enjoying it at your bbq!
Price: $17.99 Add To Cart

2015 L'Avocat Rouge, Graves
Reviwer Picture By: Alex Schroeder | Review Date: 2/23/2018 | Send Email
Year in and out, the Allisons provide the world this small-production, completely estate-fruited blend for a ludicrously low price. It shows rich brambly fruit with a touch of spice, gravelly minerals. True to the vintage, it has very soft, supple tannins with great acidity on the finish.
Price: $17.99 Add To Cart

2015 Les Charmes Godard Blanc, Côtes de Francs
Reviwer Picture By: Alex Schroeder | Review Date: 2/23/2018 | Send Email
I love the world-class white values that can be found in Bordeaux. Goddard Blanc is a beautiful blend of 50% Semillon, 25% Sauvignon Blanc and 25% Sauvignon Gris aged for 6 months on the lees in large barrels. It shows flavors of gooseberry, lemongrass, cream and vibrant minerals, with an acid core that keeps the flavors lingering for over a minute. Great for any fish or chicken meal.
Price: $17.99 Add To Cart
JS 93 VN 91

2014 Cap St. George, St.-Georges-St.-Emilion
Reviwer Picture By: Alex Schroeder | Review Date: 2/23/2018 | Send Email
While still a tad young, Cap St. George definitely has the substance to age into something special. It has bright flavors of red currants and cranberries with a little earth and toast underscoring the bright fruit. The acidity and tannins will keep this aging well for at least a decade, making it a great Merlot-blend to keep in the cellar.
Price: $24.99 Add To Cart
JS 91

2015 Croix Mouton, Bordeaux Supérieur
Reviwer Picture By: Alex Schroeder | Review Date: 2/23/2018 | Send Email
Whoa! This is an unmistakable knockout deal from the Janoueix portfolio near Lugon on the right. It showcases the ripeness and roundness of the vintage, with rich cherry kirsch and raspberry fruit with a soft tannic texture and great acidity. Definitely a deal to keep on your radar for steak night.
Price: Hidden View Price
JS 90

2013 Antica Napa Valley Cabernet Sauvignon
Reviwer Picture By: Stephanie Vidales | Review Date: 2/23/2018 | Send Email
Months ago when we first got this wine in the shop, I remember really enjoying it. I tasted it again this past week and holy smokes, this is a rock solid Napa Cab! The Antica vineyard is located at 1,800 feet with volcanic rock and produces low-yields and concentrated flavors. Riper fruit is present but well balanced with a firm tannic structure. The price is right and can be enjoyed at any occasion.

2016 Hanzell "Sebella" Sonoma Valley Chardonnay
Reviwer Picture By: Stephanie Vidales | Review Date: 2/23/2018 | Send Email
A year ago I went on the K&L Sonoma buy trip and Hanzell was my favorite property we visited. Sebella was the wine we were first poured and I absolutely loved it. The 2016 Sebella is just as vibrant and zesty as I remember previous vintages with key lime, mineral and bright acid. They used fruit from the younger vines on the Hanzell estate and some from other Sonoma growers. Only neutral oak is used and it does not go through malolactic fermentation. This is one of the best crisp style Chardonnays we have from California!
Price: $24.99 Add To Cart

2015 Foxen "Bien Nacido Vineyard - Block UU" Santa Maria Valley Chardonnay
Reviwer Picture By: Stephanie Vidales | Review Date: 2/23/2018 | Send Email
This is an intriguing Foxen offering from a single block of the well known Bien Nacido Vineyard in Santa Maria. Spontaneous fermentation took place giving this Chardonnay interesting matchbox and tropical notes along with citrus pith, minerality and bright refreshing acidity. There is also a lovely creamy texture coming from 8 months aging on the less. A beautiful take on Chardonnay from a great site that shouldn't be missed!
Price: $24.99 Add To Cart
RP 93 VN 93

2013 Famille Perrin "Les Cornuds" Vinsobres
Reviwer Picture By: Blake Conklin | Review Date: 2/23/2018 | Send Email
If you're looking for a steal of the century Rhone blend, look no further and check out the Vinsobres from Famille Perrin. This blend is absolutely fantastic. Heavier in flavor profile with notes of blackberry, licorice and pepper, this beast is subtle and easy drinking. Definitely my brand new every day red. Get it while you can.
Price: $12.99 Add To Cart
VN 90 W&S 90

2015 L'Avocat Rouge, Graves
Reviwer Picture By: Heather Vander Wall | Review Date: 2/23/2018 | Send Email
This may be one of our greatest under $20 finds from the vintage! Don't underrate the wines of the Graves. Although the vintage was warm and many of the wines are quite big, Chateau l'Avocat has kept their wines very restrained and elegant in style. Yes, there is rich red fruit here, but it is well balanced by acidity and fine-boned tannin. The palate is loaded with red plum, cassis, baking spices, licorice, and menthol. This is a pretty little wine that will age like something of a much higher price point.
Price: $17.99 Add To Cart

2015 Les Charmes Godard Blanc, Côtes de Francs
Reviwer Picture By: Heather Vander Wall | Review Date: 2/23/2018 | Send Email
White Bordeaux can be made in a variety of styles, but often the best, and most long-lived styles are made with a blend of Semillion, and see some oak influence, as is the case here. The oak influence, however, is minimal, since the barrels used are large format. The wine retains plenty of fresh acidity and grassy/citrus notes from the Sauvignon Blanc, but has an added richness of texture and fruit presence due to the Semillon, and the sur lie aging. This is a serious and well-crafted little wine that, although pleasant now, will undoubtedly age phenomenally well.
Price: $17.99 Add To Cart
JS 93 VN 91

2013 Bodegas Aleanna "Gran Enemigo" Cabernet Franc Gualtallary Argentina
Reviwer Picture By: Ryan Moses | Review Date: 2/23/2018 | Send Email
The last vintage of this sold in a flash due to Luis Gutiérrez (Wine Advocate) comparing it to Lafleur in his lofty 98+ point review. Although I didn't get a chance to try that one, tasting the 2013 it became incredibly apparent why. It is an incredibly seamless, elegant, compact Cab Franc that will age beautifully for years. It is also one of those wines that will be fascinating to follow as it develops and I find myself hoping for that opportunity. One of the most refined Argentinian wines I've ever tried, it also shocked and impressed some of the most devoted Old World wine lovers here at K&L. This is one that should be on any collector's radar for sure.

2016 Les Terres Blanches "Anjou Demon" Anjou Rouge (Natural)
Reviwer Picture By: Diana Turk | Review Date: 2/22/2018 | Send Email
Anjou Demon is a terrific wine, especially for the price, and a perfect first foray into the non-interventionist winemaking world. While that sounds pretentious, this lively red is actually pretty accessible. Less fruity than the 2015, with more pure cab franc earthiness, the 2016 is herbal, with red berry notes and great lift. This was the hit of our New Year’s natural wine tasting event, and while it certainly shows some funky character, there is enough easy drinkability to win fans of all palates.
Price: $17.99 Add To Cart

2012 Baccinetti "La Saporoia" Brunello di Montalcino
Reviwer Picture By: Steve Bearden | Review Date: 2/22/2018 | Send Email
Here is an easy to drink Brunello at a great price and perfect for tonight. This is plush and rounded with gentle depth to the flavors and aromas of ripe cherry fruit, wild flowers, damp soil and tar. The mineral laced finish is long, fruity and flavorful.
Price: $29.99 Add To Cart
JS 92

2015 Mas Karolina Côtes du Roussillon Villages
Reviwer Picture By: Steve Bearden | Review Date: 2/22/2018 | Send Email
This spicy and almost jammy wine will remind you of a well made Zinfandel with its bold flavors of spiced berries and ripe cherries. There is a touch of earth to go with all that juicy fruit and this never borders on heavy or over extracted. Here is a well priced and bold Old World wine with New World crossover appeal.
Price: $16.99 Add To Cart

2015 La Jasse Castel "Bleu Velours" Languedoc-Montpeyroux
Reviwer Picture By: Steve Bearden | Review Date: 2/22/2018 | Send Email
The aromatics of this hearty wine are a complex swirl of cured meat, fresh game, violets and copious amounts of blue and black fruits. The middle is deep, brambly, very earthy and shows the dazzling richness and warmth of the 2015 vintage. The ripeness of the fruit and richness of the body are held in check by wonderfully firm tannins that allow for a dry finish.
Price: $24.99 Add To Cart

2014 Domaine Tabordet "L'Autre Rive" Pouilly Fumé
Reviwer Picture By: Diana Turk | Review Date: 2/22/2018 | Send Email
Is it Sancerre? Mais non! C'est Pouilly Fumé! Sophisticated, crisp, and perfect for everything from the holidays to spring picnics, the delicious and bright 2014 Tabordet is finally here! This Sauvignon Blanc has the familiar minerally taste profile of neighboring Sancerre, but with the unique flintiness that defines Pouilly Fumé. Domaine Tabordet is an especially focused, high quality producer, and L'Autre Rive really showcases how lean yet complex Loire whites can be.
Price: $23.99 Add To Cart

2014 Galerie "Pleinair" Napa Valley Cabernet Sauvignon
Reviwer Picture By: Stephanie Vidales | Review Date: 2/22/2018 | Send Email
Napa Cabernet at this price does not get any better. I absolutely love the balance of rich fruit, tobacco and baking spices that are shown in this wine. The dusty, earthiness this wine has is compelling and the structure is firm with lovely acidity. This delicious wine can be drunk now, or held for several years.
Price: $49.99 Add To Cart
JD 94 RP 93

2016 Château Vitallis Pouilly-Fuissé "Les Vignes du Chateau"
Reviwer Picture By: Andrew Stevens | Review Date: 2/22/2018 | Send Email
I was introduced to the Chateau Vitallis last year and was enchanted by their wines which showed rich weight and depth without losing acid or balance. The 2016 Les Vignes Du Chateau continues this tradition and style I came to know last year. Ripe warm fruit and weight greet you immediately with notes of golden apple and vanilla. The midpalate is driven by citrus like acid and there is still a layer of minerality that shows up. A lovely affordable wine that will please any who desires the weight of Chardonnay while still desiring lift and length.
Price: $21.99 Add To Cart
WE 91

2014 Galerie "Latro" Knight's Valley Cabernet Sauvignon
Reviwer Picture By: Stephanie Vidales | Review Date: 2/22/2018 | Send Email
Winemaker Laura Díaz Muñoz creates Galerie's Latro from Knights Valley which is slightly cooler than Napa and lends elegance and minerality to the wine. This 100% Cabernet Sauvignon has intense, dark fruit character coming from the small berries in the vineyard and mountainous soils gives mineral and earthy notes. Cocoa powder, dried herbs, blackberries, currants and a fine tannic backbone tie this Cab together. This is a serious Cabernet for this price, and it will age beautifully.
Price: $49.99 Add To Cart
RP 94

2013 Bodegas Aleanna "Gran Enemigo" Cabernet Franc Gualtallary Argentina
Reviwer Picture By: Joe Manekin | Review Date: 2/22/2018 | Send Email
Several of us were tasting this wine yesterday, when suddenly Kirk exclaims, "I get it, it's the Cab Franc!" What he meant was the importance of the impact of Cabernet Franc in the famous 1st growth amongst St. Emilion estates, Cheval Blanc (we were lucky enough to taste through some of their wines last year).

2016 Amalaya Malbec Salta
Reviwer Picture By: Ivan Diaz | Review Date: 2/22/2018 | Send Email
This Malbec from Salta, the highest-elevation wine growing region in the world, is a noted departure from its cousins from Mendoza. From the rugged, parched foothills of the Andes comes a medium-bodied, vividly fruited bottling with a touch of Tannat lending a bit more backbone. Great black fruits, cocoa, minerality, and a hint of smokiness make for one of the best red wine values in the store.
Price: $10.99 Add To Cart
DC 90 WS 90

2014 Benmarco Malbec Uco Valley
Reviwer Picture By: Ivan Diaz | Review Date: 2/22/2018 | Send Email
From the gravelly, sandy loam soils of the high-elevation Valle de Uco comes the new vintage of Benmarco's entry-level Malbec. Unlike so many others at this price point, this Malbec shows balance and restraint following the minimal intervention philosophy of vineyard manager Edgardo del Popolo. There is a lifted quality here that keeps it surprisingly fleet-footed, while maintaining a deep, round expression of Malbec.

2015 Aquitania Cabernet Sauvignon Reserva Alto Maipo
Reviwer Picture By: Ivan Diaz | Review Date: 2/22/2018 | Send Email
This is a great value in Cabernet from any region. Indeed, some identifiably Chilean bell pepper and sweet tobacco are present on the nose and palate, but it's all wrapped up in big, beautiful Cab fruit including black cherry, black raspberry, cassis, and some subtle cocoa. Superb wine, especially for the price.
Price: $14.99 Add To Cart
JS 91 RP 90

Douglas Laing's Rock Oyster 18 Year Old Limited Edition Island Blended Malt Scotch Whisky (750ml)
Reviwer Picture By: Jeffrey Jones | Review Date: 2/22/2018 | Send Email
This blend of single malt whiskeys from island distilleries has a lot to offer. The nose is sweet with honey and wax notes that are complemented with a touch of smoke and vanilla. In the mouth it is smooth and round with soft homey and wax --like notes. But it doesn't stop with these flavors. There are also subtle salt and smoke nuances. All of this for this price makes the Rock Oyster 18 a very good value.
Price: $89.99 Add To Cart

2014 Benmarco Malbec Uco Valley
Reviwer Picture By: Illya Haase | Review Date: 2/22/2018 | Send Email
One of my favorite go-to Malbecs! Great black and blue fruits, fresh floral bouquet of violets and just a hint of minerality. Super smooth with just the right amount of acidity and tannins. Perfect whisper of oak from a year in neutral barrels. This is such a slam dunk with any grilled meat or BBQ!!

Capurro Estate Grown Single Vintage Moscatel Premium Pisco (750ml)
Reviwer Picture By: Andrew Whiteley | Review Date: 2/21/2018 | Send Email
The Moscatel is the driest of the 4 Capurro expressions. It shows off fresh and dried fruits on the nose and upfront on the palate. There are tons of pears and stone fruits. I also find it to have the slight earthy sweetness and vegetal tang of an agave plant. Moscatel is considered by many in Peru to be the best sipping Pisco variety. One sip of this neat and you'll know why. The proof is in the long and lasting finish.
Price: $34.99 Add To Cart

Capurro Estate Grown Single Vintage Torontel Premium Pisco (750ml)
Reviwer Picture By: Andrew Whiteley | Review Date: 2/21/2018 | Send Email
The Torontel Pisco grape comes from the Torontez grape you may already be familiar with. It is highly aromatic and this Pisco has a lush nose full of tropical fruits, jasmine flowers, and fresh cut grass. The finish here is my favorite of the Capurro lineup. It super bright and lifted like a really crisp Gruner Veltliner and it carries on for days. This makes an ideal punch or summertime sipper by the pool.
Price: $34.99 Add To Cart

Capurro Estate Grown Single Vintage Quebranta Premium Pisco (750ml)
Reviwer Picture By: Andrew Whiteley | Review Date: 2/21/2018 | Send Email
Capurro is known for their single vintage, single variety Piscos and their extreme commitment to quality. While the minimum resting period for Peruvian Pisco is 3 months, Capurro rests theirs until they feel it has achieved its maximum expressive potential - in this case 39 long months! The Quebranta is a Pisco varietal that has parentage in the California Mission Grape. The aromatics are more savory than fruity. They have an earthy, almost dusty tone to them. The flair really comes in the weight and texture of the Quebranta. It's heavier than the other varieties and emulsifies the best for egg based cocktails. If you're making tons of Pisco Sours this will make your life a little easier. The added weight of the Pisco also lets you cut back the sugar in the cocktail just a little.
Price: $34.99 Add To Cart

Capurro Estate Grown Single Vintage Acholado Premium Pisco (750ml)
Reviwer Picture By: Andrew Whiteley | Review Date: 2/21/2018 | Send Email
While Capurro Pisco is always single vintage and typically single varietal, the Acholado is a blend of the other 3 grape varieties. The balance here is tremendous and if you're looking for your first great Pisco experience, this is it. There is a great balance between stone fruits and an earthy flavor that offers a faint hint of grass. The texture and finish here are excellent and it will emulsify easily in your Pisco Sour - the key to any good egg based cocktail. Not just for mixing, this also offers a great drinking experience when served neat or with a dose of citrus.
Price: $34.99 Add To Cart

2016 Chateau Vitallis Macon-Fuissé
Reviwer Picture By: Dulcinea Gonzalez | Review Date: 2/21/2018 | Send Email
Scented with a touch of flora and honey, this super bargain Macon Fuisse is one of my go-to Chardonnays for its value, complexity, and versatility. On the palate, the wine has lovely viscosity with notes of oak spice and yellow grapefruit. Overall, it's a well-made, perky wine perfect for any day of the week dinner.
Price: $16.99 Add To Cart

2016 Château Vitallis Pouilly-Fuissé "Les Vignes du Chateau"
Reviwer Picture By: Dulcinea Gonzalez | Review Date: 2/21/2018 | Send Email
Here's a total bargain! If you are a fan of richer style chardonnay, this Pouilly Fuisse is a great example of that approach. The wine offers a warm toasted oak character that is paralleled in perfect harmony with lemon-like acidity. The palate shows nice volume and with flavors of minerals and citrus fruits. Recommended!
Price: $21.99 Add To Cart
WE 91

2013 Bodegas Aleanna "Gran Enemigo" Cabernet Franc Gualtallary Argentina
Reviwer Picture By: Gary Norton | Review Date: 2/21/2018 | Send Email
After pouring a glass, this is one of those wines that continues to develop and become more and more nuanced by the second. To say the least, the 2013 Bodegas Aleanna "El Enemigo" is an absolute knockout. It is dark-fruited with a floral edge that tapers into subtle notes of black peppercorns and licorice. All of this is framed within a perfectly structured body and wraps up with an incredibly fine tannin. This multidimensional wine is one that should line the walls of your cellar. A true drink or hold.

2015 Massolino Langhe Nebbiolo
Reviwer Picture By: Jeff Garneau | Review Date: 2/21/2018 | Send Email
100% Nebbiolo produced from younger vines in Massonlino's vineyards in Serralunga d'Alba. The Holy Grail for Italian wine lovers - a superb expression of the varietal at a remarkably affordable price. Think of it as "Barolo for beginners" or an everyday wine to enjoy while your more expensive single crus mature in the cellar. Not to be missed!
Price: $24.99 Add To Cart
WS 90

2015 Outlier "Noiro" Santa Lucia Highlands Pinot Noir
Reviwer Picture By: John Majeski | Review Date: 2/21/2018 | Send Email
Derek Rohlffs was in a previous life an executive in the gaming industry, which gave him the opportunity to explore and taste a bounty of high-end wines with moneyed clients. Realizing soon that a row of grapes on the vine was far more alluring than three elusive cherries on a slot, he decided to seriously pursue fine winemaking and today makes both the Bravium and Outlier wines on Treasure Island, just outside of San Francisco.The Outlier Noiro delights with aromas and flavors of fresh plums, strawberries, cherry cola and kitchen spice, balanced by good acidity and a great finish. Nice to discover an attractively priced Pinot Noir with such personality and charm, so it's, um, hardly a gamble.
Price: $19.99 Add To Cart

2015 Hermanuspietersfontein (HPF) "No.3 - Bergblokke" Sauvignon Blanc Western Cape
Reviwer Picture By: Andrew Stevens | Review Date: 2/21/2018 | Send Email
Absolutely lovely SB from a producer who knows a thing or two about such wines. This delightful bottle shows off beautiful rich fruit on the nose, ripe melon and stone fruit competing for dominance. Still, on the palate, the richness of the fruit is tempered and driven by bright zesty acid and plenty of stony minerality. This is plenty of wine and the price is perfect for stocking up on.
Price: $9.99 Add To Cart

2016 Chateau Vitallis Macon-Fuissé
Reviwer Picture By: Anthony Russo | Review Date: 2/21/2018 | Send Email
Mouthwatering acidity, honeyed/spicy fruit, mineral driven, with just a tiny, subtle touch of light oak. This estate is known for its old vines, some well over 65 years old. The vineyards sit 750-900 ft above sea level, allowing the grapes to retain acidity, aroma, and freshness. Stainless steel fermented and aged in a mix of old and new oak barrels, but always as a light touch. Great Chardonnay!
Price: $16.99 Add To Cart

2015 Mas Karolina Côtes du Roussillon Villages
Reviwer Picture By: Gary Westby | Review Date: 2/21/2018 | Send Email
If you are a fan of the big wines like Amador Zinfandel and other Roussillon's like the Lafage, this is a must try. The Mas Karolina is super rich, powerful and sweet fruited dark red wine. This is a glass of "le soleil" from the south of France!
Price: $16.99 Add To Cart

2016 Domaine du Vieil Orme Sauvignon Touraine Blanc
Reviwer Picture By: Gary Westby | Review Date: 2/21/2018 | Send Email
The "vieil orme" or "old elm tree" is my new go to Sauvignon Blanc! This wine is perfect for popping after work on a Tuesday. It not only has the clean, no oak profile that fans of Loire Sauvignon Blanc love, but also good body and some exotic almost kiwi like fruit. Best of all, it comes together with a bright, dry, long finish. This is a lot of SB for the money!
Top Value!
Price: $11.99 Add To Cart

2014 Bedouet "Expression du Pallet Vieilles Vignes" Muscadet Sèvre et Maine Sur Lie
Reviwer Picture By: Gary Westby | Review Date: 2/21/2018 | Send Email
When we tasted the Expression Du Pallet from Bedouet, I imagined myself in front of a giant plateau de fruits de mer on the coast of Brittany. This wine has serious white fruit power, with a small hint of honey, but is backed by the kind of minerality and nutty lees quality that I usually only expect from expensive Champagne. The values in Muscadet have long been touted here at K&L, but this has an extra special element. What a bottle!
Top Value!
Price: $16.99 Add To Cart

2015 Bedouet "Clos des Grands Primos" Muscadet Sèvre et Maine Sur Lie
Reviwer Picture By: Gary Westby | Review Date: 2/21/2018 | Send Email
The Clos Des Grands Primos is a must for anyone who loves clean, unoaked, racy white wine at an everyday price. I love the vivacious zip and oyster shell complexity of this surprisingly long finishing wine. This makes a great glass to sip on after work, and is perfect for seafood!
Top Value!
Price: $12.99 Add To Cart

2016 Château de la Noblesse Bandol Rosé
Reviwer Picture By: Gary Westby | Review Date: 2/21/2018 | Send Email
The Noblesse is among the finest rosé wines that we carry, and by far the best value in high end pink in the store. Every time I drink it, I feel like I am living the cote d'azur dream, between cigarette boat rides and roulette tables. It has lovely red fruit that is cool as well as crisp- it reminded me a bit of watermelon. The finish is snappy, refreshing and moreish. Don't miss it!
Price: $19.99 Add To Cart

2016 Eric Cottat Sancerre Rouge
Reviwer Picture By: Andrew Stevens | Review Date: 2/21/2018 | Send Email
I love Pinot Noir in general and I have especially come to love the PN coming from the Loir valley. The high acid and strong minerality of Sancerre lends itself to beautiful clean and elegant red wines for those, like myself, who love the leaner style. Eric Cottat has long been my favorite white Sancerre and I believe that his red may now be my favorite PN from this area. Showing lovely clean red and blue fruit with hints of spice this is a perfect everyday food red that is ready to drink.
Price: $19.99 Add To Cart

2016 Eric Cottat Sancerre
Reviwer Picture By: Andrew Stevens | Review Date: 2/21/2018 | Send Email
Eric Cottat is always my favorite DI Sancerre we carry year in and year out, and unfortunately, it always seems to be the one that sells out the fastest so I may not be alone in my opinion. The balance of fruit, minerality, and acid are always in spectacular balance with his wines and they tend to go with everything. The 2016 vintage shows more a little leaner fruit than the previous vintage which makes me super happy. This is a serious and seriously good wine especially given the price.
Price: $18.99 Add To Cart

2014 Benmarco Malbec Uco Valley
Reviwer Picture By: Kirk Walker | Review Date: 2/21/2018 | Send Email
This is more than just a great value red. It is an affordable introduction to mountain fruit wine. Now, we can say that about most Mendoza wine, but this behaves like mountain wine from other regions in the world for a 5th of the price. From the heights of Los Chacayes in the Uco Valley at 3300 feet with alluvial soils are made up of rocks, sand, silt, and limestone. Its elevation and soils are definitely translated into this wine, I wish that could be said about wines from other mountainous regions, but I digress. This wine has lifted aromatics; focused berry, floral tones, and minerality. The palate is structured but not oppressive, this is a wine for tonight, not a decade from now. The flavors are more complex than the nose and enhanced with soft tannins and fresh acidity. A wine that was made to be drunk with gusto but also has a story to tell.

2015 La Honda Santa Cruz Mountains Chardonnay
Reviwer Picture By: Ryan Woodhouse | Review Date: 2/21/2018 | Send Email
A complex nose dancing between toasted hazelnut and saline oyster shell notes; spiced pear, autumn barley and crushed rock. A very mineral driven style, very Chablis like. It has a keen acid line and verve to it; great for Dungeness crab I imagine (I'll have to test it out)! Such a stunning value for Santa Cruz Mountain Chardonnay. Hand-selected from a patchwork of small, local vineyards around the appellation skillfully and seamlessly woven together by winemaker Colin McNany.
Top Value!
Price: $19.99 Add To Cart
WE 92

2015 Taken Wine Co. "Complicated" Sonoma Coast Pinot Noir
Reviwer Picture By: Mari Keilman | Review Date: 2/20/2018 | Send Email
When talking about Pinot Noir, it's often extremely difficult to find a varietally correct, wonderfully crafted, well balanced example for less than $20. This is where the Taken Pinot takes center stage. Exactly what you would expect from a Sonoma County Pinot Noir; soft cherry and strawberry, fresh vanilla and the classic bright and quenching finish.
Price: $15.99 Add To Cart

2016 Quinta da Aveleda Loureiro-Alvarinho Vinho Verde
Reviwer Picture By: Mari Keilman | Review Date: 2/20/2018 | Send Email
Hands down, the Aveleda is one of the best Vinho Verde we've ever carried in this store. Absolutely delicious and the perfect porch pounder! Fresh, sparkling and refreshing. Packed with great citrus flavors of lemon, tangerine and lime. An absolute must have for the upcoming outdoor festivities!
Price: $8.99 Add To Cart

2014 Banshee Napa Valley Cabernet Sauvignon
Reviwer Picture By: Anthony Russo | Review Date: 2/20/2018 | Send Email
A heavyweight Napa cab at an outstanding price. The fruit is sourced from Howell Mountain (brightness, minerality), Calistoga (distinct aromas), St. Helena (fleshy texture), and Rutherford (depth of flavor), which are some of the most sought-after regions in Napa. It is rich with blackberries and cassis, so make sure to decant it for a couple of hours and watch it unfold. Cellar it for up to 20 years, so brag a few!
Price: $34.99 Add To Cart

Page: 1 2 3 next >>