Staff Favorites

If you’re going to have Robert Parker or Stephen Tanzer over for dinner, selecting a wine they’ve rated highly will be a nice choice. However, when you’re buying wines for yourself, we’d love to see you find wines that match up your unique palate and pocketbook. We have a large staff of friendly and knowledgeable wine professionals that taste hundreds of wines each week. They can put you in touch with bottles that you are likely to love, often at a much lower cost than the highly-rated gems that often see a run-up in price and frequent availability issues. Like any great group of opinionated professionals, our staff has varied tastes themselves. Often our customers will find a particular staff member with a style that corresponds to their own. That concept works extremely well in our retail stores, and this section is our effort to bring you the same online. Don’t get us wrong, we love the highly rated wines from the press and will continue to offer them, but we think you’re missing out if you’re not augmenting those selections with picks from our excellent staff. Here are their favorites. (Click on a name to see their other selections - or to drop them a line.) Cheers!

Reviews

  
Page: 1 2 3 next >>
2013 Trellis (Amelia Park) Cabernet Sauvignon-Merlot Margaret River
By: Jeff Garneau | Review Date: 7/23/2016 | Send Email
If I had tasted the 2013 Trellis (Amelia Park) Cabernet Sauvignon-Merlot Margaret River blind, I would have assumed it was a much more expensive wine. However, since I was aware of the true retail price, my actual response at first sip was a calm, restrained, very professional “Holy &%$@!” I don’t know what to say about this wine that won’t be dismissed as mere hyperbole, but I can tell you honestly that it may very well be one of the top $10 reds we currently have available. This is classic Margaret River Cab (actually a blend of 85% Cabernet Sauvignon and 15% Merlot) for a mere song. The nose is lightly floral with a hint of mint. On the palate, notes of cherry and raspberry, generous red fruits, sweet and ripe. The wine is rich in texture but with near perfect balance. Bright and lively with ultra-fine tannins. An absolute delight to drink and an unbeatable value. I repeat, there is simply NO way for me to convey how good a deal this wine is and make you believe me. You will have to try it for yourself. Once you do, your friends won’t believe you either, so do them a favor and pour them a glass. You'll make believers of them, too.
Top Value!
Price: $10.99 Add To Cart

Michel Couvreur K&L Exclusive "Blossoming Auld Sherried" Malt Whisky (750ml)
By: David Othenin-Girard | Review Date: 7/22/2016 | Send Email
The first time I tasted the Blossoming Auld Sherry was at a wonderful little bistro in Levernois outside of Beaune called Du Bord De L'Eau. After a wonderful meal at this exceptional casual restaurant, the director of Couvreur Jean Arnauld suggested we finish the night with a taste of something special from his exceptional collection. We could have taken the exceptionally expensive vintage offerings, but he recommended this special little treat. From the moment I put my nose to the glass I was transfixed. Of course, I know Couvreur's style and what to expect, but this was unlike anything I'd yet come across. It was truly like diving head first into the finest Sherry, but at 90 proof!!! The nose exhibits an intoxicating bouquet of plum preserves, old exotic wood, fresh leather, tobacco and the intricately carved wooden pipe to pack it. The palate is SO smooth. When someone says they like something "smooth," it's such a vague notion, and difficult quality to guarantee in a product, but THIS is what they're talking about. The density of the fruit remains on the palate, but it's pointed with wonderful dried citrus and sweet herbal notes. This is the real deal, and while not inexpensive, it out-performs its price point by a mile and then some. Imagine having a bottle of sherry that never goes bad, which you can sip by the ounce and clocks in at 45%! You'd never stop, so you know, you shouldn't. We're the exclusive source for this product in California and will likely buy the entire US allocation of 20 cases.
Price: $219.99 Add To Cart

2012 Hess Collection "19 Block Mountain Cuvée" Mount Veeder Red Blend
By: Bryan Brick | Review Date: 7/22/2016 | Send Email
The family of Hess Wines has long been synonymous with great value. Whether it be for their fairly ubiquitous “Select” series, which is more big box store oriented, or the interesting mountain fruit-driven series that this 19 Block Mountain Cuvee is part of, they have a long history of making great wines for great prices. This wine is a bit of an outlier in the world of Bordeaux-styled blends in that it is dominantly Malbec, at 60%, with 30% Cabernet Sauvignon and 10% Syrah. With all that Mount Veeder Malbec in the blend you’d think that this was some sort of inky beast, but in reality it is actually quite refined and approachable, with a pretty porcini mushroom, dried raspberry, cherry cola and sweet oak-driven nose. Graceful and layered on the palate, this is one delicious blend, with well-formed flavors of dried meats, savory chaparral, roasted beets and pitchy wild berry fruit that resonates well into the broad and refined finish. If you are looking to break out of the box a bit, this blend is a great option and would be a great option for BBQs, burgers, brats and any other meaty treats.
Price: $26.99 Add To Cart
RP 93 JS 90

Michel Couvreur 12 Year Overaged Malt Whisky (750ml)
By: David Othenin-Girard | Review Date: 7/22/2016 | Send Email
The most classic of all of Couvreur's offerings actually provides some of the best bang for you buck drinking in the store. This is indeed a very similar blend to the K&L Exclusive, less the peated element. There is a tiny hint of peat here, and I have to say, I think this blend has improved seriously over the last 10 years since I first tried it. Less raw and pointed now, we have more influence on the sherry and more of those wonderful damp cellars notes that we love about Couvreur. Big bold vanillas and fruit notes jump from the glass around the funky malt and remain through the palate. Thanks to going direct on this one we've been able to get the price down. A stupendous deal for when you're not feeling like the peaty attack of the K&L Overage.
Price: $69.99 Add To Cart

2015 Kalinda Riesling Rheingau
By: Illya Haase | Review Date: 7/22/2016 | Send Email
Wow, the 2015 Kalinda Rheingau Riesling is outstanding! Classic racy mineral, well balanced acidity, and the aromatic fruit character that I look for in my Rheingau Riesling. From a quick read, sounds like the 2015 vintage is going to be a good one. This bottle will be my go-to for any sushi night!
Price: $11.99 Add To Cart

2013 Farnetella Chianti Colli Senesi
By: Greg St. Clair | Review Date: 7/22/2016 | Send Email
I love the nose on this wine it is so full of a complex blend of wild fruits and earthy intrigue. The waves of aromas flowing from the glass will capture your attention immediately. On the palate the wine flows, is supple and easy yet backed up with excellent structure. The fruit is the first thing you see, complex plums and wild cherries then bits of leather, spice and earth. The finish is solid, persistent and it gives you a feel like you really are drinking wine that you paid much more for! Perfect for backyard BBQs or a little spaghetti Bolognese!
Drink from 2016 to 2016
Price: $12.99 Add To Cart
JS 92 WS 91

2014 Domaine Bart Bourgogne Rouge
By: Gary Westby | Review Date: 7/22/2016 | Send Email
What a great Burgundy value! I have been waiting (rather impatiently) for the Bart to arrive since visiting Martin and Pierre last October in Marsannay. When it arrived last week I bought one of everything we received. Cinnamon and I enjoyed this with a simple steak sandwich with leftover ratatouille on Wednesday night, and it was spectacular. It has great crunchy fruit, bracing acidity and a purity and minerality that only Burgundy can deliver. If you love serious, dry Pinot Noir, this is a must try!
Price: $18.99 Add To Cart

2015 Tormaresca "Calafuria" Salento Rosato
By: Mike Parres | Review Date: 7/22/2016 | Send Email
Most of our customers know Tormaresca label for their GREAT inexpensive red and now we introduce you to their Rose’. Yea!!! It’s 100% Negroamaro, a light salmon pink color, fascinating aromas of wild mountain strawberries, some herbal notes and lots of great acidity and with a touch of mineral on the long-lasting aftertaste. Buy a few—the bottle empties quickly. This is a great wine for the brunch crowd or just sipping some while sitting on the porch with a favorite book.
Price: $14.99 Add To Cart

2015 Eric Cottat Sancerre
By: Olivia Ragni | Review Date: 7/22/2016 | Send Email
I always love the Cottat Sancerre, this vintage it has a wonderful balance of fruit and minerality. Aromas of flint, white flowers and yellow Mirabelle plums burst from the glass to lead you into an elegant palate of crushed stone, orange blossom and lemon peel with juicy acidity.
Price: $18.99 Add To Cart

2014 Corofin "Cowley Vineyard - Main Slopes" Pinot Noir Marlborough
By: Ivan Diaz | Review Date: 7/22/2016 | Send Email
One of the tinier producers working in the Marlborough region of NZ, Corofin carves out its distinctive personality by going old school. The estate is run by a native Kiwi couple who have been working this land for most their lives, and who adhere to strict sustainable practices. The fruit in this bottling comes from a single vineyard farmed both organically and biodynamically from north-facing slopes perfect for Pinot Noir. This is a light, pretty style that represents the earthiness of the terroir beautifully while delivering a linear, elegant fruit profile. Tasted blind you'd think this was Burgundy worth twice the price.

2012 Hess Collection "19 Block Mountain Cuvée" Mount Veeder Red Blend
By: James Bradshaw | Review Date: 7/22/2016 | Send Email
The color is amazing on this wine — it's dense, inky, with a lovely violet hue on the rim. The nose is a tad shy at first, but when given a chance, opens to reveal aromas of stewed fruit, fresh berries, and a wild flowers. On the palate there is more zip and verve than one might expect. It perfectly finds that balance between lush and lively, so there is far more going on here than a simple fruit bomb. Additional elements of mushrooms, earth, cola, and mocha all come into play and all in perfect pitch. Top-notch effort from some great Mt. Veeder sites.
Price: $26.99 Add To Cart
RP 93 JS 90

Michel Couvreur Pale Single-Single Whisky (750ml)
By: David Othenin-Girard | Review Date: 7/22/2016 | Send Email
A single malt from a single cask from this renowned blender is always a treat. Here we're off the big sherry notes that Couvreur is known for and onto something more malt-driven. Still with that beautiful Burgundian cellar experience, but now pointed with Highland flowers, wild honey, white and yellow fruit. I'm wanting to say this is Clynelish, but cannot confirm. Now that we're able to list this below $100 it's a no-brainer and certainly a unique experience that's not easily replicated anywhere else on the shelf.
Price: $99.99 Add To Cart

2012 Hess Collection "19 Block Mountain Cuvée" Mount Veeder Red Blend
By: Gary Norton | Review Date: 7/22/2016 | Send Email
Rich and round, the 2012 Hess Collection 19 Block Red Blend is a fun little wine. Frankly, I'm not the biggest fan of Malbec heavy blends (I find them a little flabby more often than not) but was pleasantly surprised by the depth and complexity of this one. Dark fruit, blackberry pie and a kick of menthol, mocha and baking spices to finish it off. Don't miss out on this.
Price: $26.99 Add To Cart
RP 93 JS 90

Uberach "Assemblage" Alsace Single Malt Whisky (750ml)
By: Illya Haase | Review Date: 7/22/2016 | Send Email
Being a Kentucky boy, it is difficult giving any other whiskey a chance, other than bourbon. I am always willing to try any whiskey David puts in front of me. But, France and whiskey? Bottle #147 of 160 of the Uberach single malt from Alsace was a lovely surprise. The nose is fresh baked apple pie with a scoop of vanilla on top. The mouth is a balance of fruit, spice and good weight on the palate. Nice little kick of heat at the end too! You can add a cube or a drop of water for all you non George T Stagg drinkers. SOLUTE!!
Price: $59.99 Add To Cart

2012 Hess Collection "19 Block Mountain Cuvée" Mount Veeder Red Blend
By: Andrew Stevens | Review Date: 7/22/2016 | Send Email
This is a fun, super easy drinking red wine that delivers good fruit and spice without falling flat or getting flabby. Dark rich fruit in the nose leads to creamy, ripe dark berry from the Malbec. A little mocha and coffee notes help round this wine out and notes of baking spice to finish it off. This is a nicely rounded rich red wine that definitely delivers without falling apart at the end, and at 14.6 ABV it doesn't go overboard on the alcohol. Definitely worth checking out.
Price: $26.99 Add To Cart
RP 93 JS 90

2015 Eric Cottat Sancerre
By: Mahon McGrath | Review Date: 7/22/2016 | Send Email
There is a real sense of ease to the 2015 vintage. It has a juicier, sunnier disposition than some of the lean, stony and green Sancerres. That said, it is still recognizably of Sancerre, yielding cantaloupe, lemon and wet stone aromas, and flavors that run to powdery florality, melon, orange, tomato leaf and red jalapeno. A dusting of minerality brings up the rear, playing a subsidiary role here, as does the acidity, which, while ample enough, isn't the first and last thing you notice, instead underpinning the gently radiant, gossamer tranquillity of the summer-ready flavors. Grab some while you can!
Price: $18.99 Add To Cart

2015 Riposte "The Dagger" Pinot Noir Adelaide Hills South Australia
By: Ryan Woodhouse | Review Date: 7/22/2016 | Send Email
The nose on this wine lets you know exactly what's in store on the palate. It's literally bursting with vibrant, ripe berries, Christmas cake spice and raspberry compote. You can smell the bouquet inches from the glass. On the palate the wine has beautiful "pinosity" combining the sweet red fruits from the nose with some darker tinges and lovely soft, mellifluous texture. My favorite attribute of this wine (and it seems like a perennial achievement of Tim Knappstein) is how it combines ripeness of fruit profile without excessive extract or alcohol. The wine is pure and fruit forward but without being heavy; and the alcohol checks in at a balanced 13.5%. This is such an easy drinking wine that will surely be a serious crowd-pleaser once again.
Top Value!
Price: $14.99 Add To Cart
JH 94

2012 Hess Collection "19 Block Mountain Cuvée" Mount Veeder Red Blend
By: Steve Bearden | Review Date: 7/22/2016 | Send Email
This interesting blend starts out with notes of effusive mixed berries, cherry liqueur and unsweetened dark chocolate. The opulent middle of spiced blackberry fruit has enough tension to hold the ripeness in check and allow some pleasingly tangy mountain elements to peak through. Overall, a rich, plush and satisfying bottle.
Price: $26.99 Add To Cart
RP 93 JS 90

2013 Hall Napa Valley Cabernet Sauvignon
By: Steve Bearden | Review Date: 7/22/2016 | Send Email
This rich, smooth and creamy wine is classic Napa Valley floor through and through. Oodles of plush and sweet fruit smother the ripe tannins as this glides across your palate. Go ahead and decant but don't feel you need to wait on this in-your-face and approachable bottling. Lovers of Caymus take note.
Price: $46.99 Add To Cart
RP 92

Brasserie Lebbe "L'Amalthee" Saison, France (750ml)
By: Gary Westby | Review Date: 7/20/2016 | Send Email
France is not famous for its beer, but this Basque beauty is worthy of your attention! This has depth and intrigue, but not at at the expense of moreish refreshment. A 750ml of this goes down quite quickly. I have a question: why does the best beer in France have to come from the opposite side of the country to Champagne? I would love to see just one tap handle of this in Epernay... I would become a fixture in that bar!
Price: $11.99 Add To Cart

2014 Hugel "Gentil" Alsace
By: Mahon McGrath | Review Date: 7/20/2016 | Send Email
Focused, trim and nervy on the palate, this exhibits vibrantly floral, passion fruit, citrus and wet pavement notes. While this has plenty of tooth-sucking acidity, there is enough sweetness to the floral dimension that it keeps things from being too uncompromising. For my money, this significantly out-classes the majority of white wines available at the everyday price it comes in at. Well worth a look.
Price: $11.99 Add To Cart
JS 90

2014 Domaine Bart "Les Ouzeloy" Marsannay Rouge
By: Daniel Maas | Review Date: 7/20/2016 | Send Email
Is it me, or was the Marsannay vineyard known as "Les Ouzeloy" named by a Jewish fellow like me? I mean, come on.. "ouzel-OY?" Wines from this area are so amazing that, I'm sure, after finishing his bagel and setting about his task, our fearless namer opened a bottle of Domaine Bart's offering and shouted... "OY- this simply OOZES with beauty". Hence the name. And right he was. The complexity here is astonishing, with a high-tone texture of crushed and baked fruit, subtle hints of herbal tea, and a long finish. OY does not even begin to cover how good this is.
Price: $21.99 Add To Cart
BH 90

2015 Domaine Begude Grüner Veltliner "Exotique" Pays d'Oc
By: Diana Turk | Review Date: 7/20/2016 | Send Email
Bright with balanced acid and notes of nectarine, melon, and a hint of Meyer lemon, the slightly peppery yet easygoing Begude Exotique (secretly Grüner Veltliner) is a quenching porch pounder shining with sophistication and a minerally, dry finish. A stellar find from Limoux that will drink well throughout summer and beyond.
Price: $13.99 Add To Cart

Michel Couvreur K&L Exclusive "Blossoming Auld Sherried" Malt Whisky (750ml)
By: David Driscoll | Review Date: 7/20/2016 | Send Email
While the “Blossoming” label is not a custom one like the peated blend we make with Couvreur, this particular batch of the Blossoming Auld Sherried was bottled specifically for us and shipped as part of our exclusive order. It is utterly divine. It is the softest, smoothest, more concentrated sherry-aged whisky on the shelf by far. It’s like the sherry and the whisky have fused to become one perfect entity. As we know from our visit, Couvreur’s specialty is sherry. They select their own butts from Jerez personally and have connections going back to the 1960s. The result of that sherry is on display here.
Price: $219.99 Add To Cart

2012 Peyrabon, Haut-Médoc
By: Steve Bearden | Review Date: 7/20/2016 | Send Email
This easy to love wine from the folks at Domain Chevalier was a big hit at the July Bordeaux tasting in San Francisco due to its bang for buck ratio and overall quality. There is seamless balance to this dark and smooth blackberry filled wine which has earthy potting soil aromas and an ash-like quality in the rich middle. The finish is gentle with just a whisper of very fine tannin. This should be your next case purchase.
Price: $14.99 Add To Cart
WE 90 - 92

2014 Neyers "Left Bank Red" Napa Valley Red Blend
By: Andrew Whiteley | Review Date: 7/20/2016 | Send Email
This is a stunner from Napa. Truly a great Bordeaux blend and at a supremely attractive price point! There is dark concentrated cassis and blackberry on the nose along with cedar cigar box and a lovely earthy spice. It's rich, supple, and equally good with food or on its own. I suspect this wine would age beautifully if you can refrain from drinking it now.
Price: $29.99 Add To Cart

2014 Domaine Bart Bourgogne Rouge
By: Olivia Ragni | Review Date: 7/20/2016 | Send Email
It's rare to find a great, drinkable Burgundy for an affordable price, so take advantage of Domaine Bart's Bourgogne Rouge and grab a few bottles, or even cases, to keep around the house. The Bourgogne Rouge shows bright, crunchy red fruit like cranberry and red cherry and a hint of forest floor and graphite. While it has lots of great acidity, the palate also provides soft, round tannins, creating great balance.
Price: $18.99 Add To Cart

2014 Domaine Bart "Les Ouzeloy" Marsannay Rouge
By: Mari Keilman | Review Date: 7/20/2016 | Send Email
Wines from Marsannay are extremely underrated in comparison to its famous neighbor Gevrey-Chambertin, and that's perfectly fine with me. That just means that we're able to get great quality Marsannay wine at a quarter of the price of anything coming out of Gevrey. Perfect example is the Les Ouzeloy from Domaine Bart. Pretty, elegant nose of subtle purple flowers, tea and dark cherry and a palate filled with lifted red fruit of Bing cherries and tart cranberry.
Price: $21.99 Add To Cart
BH 90

2013 Domaine Louis Moreau Chablis 1er Cru "Vaulignot"
By: Trey Beffa | Review Date: 7/20/2016 | Send Email
More depth and richness than the straight Chablis, the "Vaulignot" shows lots of wet stone fruit, citrus hints and a round, creamy finish.
Price: $24.99 Add To Cart

2011 Le Tertre du Bosquet Sauternes
By: Steve Bearden | Review Date: 7/20/2016 | Send Email
This is light to medium weight with a fresh, clean personality and a very mineral finish with a touch of bitter grapefruit pith. I taste tangerine, honey, soft peach, saffron, spice and hints of tarragon.. This is not particularly fat or tropical but is a very sweet and refreshing drink at a bargain price.
Price: $19.99 Add To Cart

2009 Lamothe Bergeron, Haut-Médoc
By: Steve Bearden | Review Date: 7/20/2016 | Send Email
The owner of Château Angelus is consulting here and it shows in this delicious, mildly earthy wine that is modern and super flavorful. Toasty and smooth with sweet red fruit flavors and ripe, round tannins.
Price: $19.99 Add To Cart
JS 90

2013 Reyneke Sauvignon Blanc Stellenbosch (Biodynamic)
By: Steve Bearden | Review Date: 7/20/2016 | Send Email
This barrel fermented Sauvignon Blanc is leesy and round, with the oak adding more texture than flavor. Freshly mowed hay, blanched nuts, pear skin and mouthwatering minerals form the body of this smooth and refreshing value. Here is one to buy by the case.
Price: Hidden View Price
RP 90 WS 90

2015 Ermitage "Victor" Costières de Nîmes Rosé
By: Steve Bearden | Review Date: 7/20/2016 | Send Email
Costieres de Nimes is directly across the river from Chateauneuf-du-Pape and the vineyards consist of large pebbles just like that famed appellation, yet the wines are far more affordable. This is crisp, very complex, super refreshing and amazingly food friendly. Here is a juicy, spicy easy to gulp summer bottle to buy by the case.
Price: $9.99 Add To Cart

1996 Bel Air Lagrave, Moulis-en-Medoc
By: Steve Bearden | Review Date: 7/20/2016 | Send Email
What a fantastic bargain in mature and delicious Bordeaux from a great vintage. This has warm dark plum and cherry fruit along with aromas of damp clay and earth in a sweet, crisp body. You can detect cedar, steeped tea and soft, ripe fruit along with a caressing leather tinged finish. No need to decant if you are in a hurry.
Price: $19.99 Add To Cart

2004 Moulin-Haut-Laroque, Fronsac
By: Steve Bearden | Review Date: 7/20/2016 | Send Email
This is dark and fresh with raspberry, currant and earthy aromas and good middle weight. There is a smooth, plush texture with no edges or noticeable tannin and good ripeness on this easy to drink bargain. A ready to drink wine with a lot of life ahead.
Price: $24.99 Add To Cart
RP 90

2012 Les Brulières de Beychevelle, Haut-Medoc
By: Steve Bearden | Review Date: 7/20/2016 | Send Email
The team at Chateau Beychevelle gives us this smooth, balanced and impeccably made wine. This has loads of rich, dark fruit, great texture and hints of cocoa and cola on the tasty finish. Another not to be missed exuberant and easy to drink bottle from the affordable 2012 vintage.
Price: $19.99 Add To Cart
WE 90

2012 L'Arrosée, St-Emilion
By: Steve Bearden | Review Date: 7/20/2016 | Send Email
This substantial wine is elegant, balanced and very easy to drink. Aromas of oak dark cherries and mixed berries mingle with muted, leafy and earthy tones in this complex bottling. There is a mouth watering and juicy quality to the finish which keeps you reaching for another sip.
Price: $34.99 Add To Cart
RP 92 JS 90

2014 Domaine Bart Bourgogne Rouge
By: Daniel Maas | Review Date: 7/20/2016 | Send Email
Oh... BART! Such a clever, unique, and memorable character. And such a wordsmith. "COWABUNGA!" "DON'T HAVE A COW, DUDE". Both of these phrases jumped to the forefront of my mind upon tasting this entry level wine from, guess who... Domaine BART! As the medium bodied wine entered my mouth, I literally did HAVE A COW. I enthusiastically shouted COWABUNGA! Was I reacting to the complex layers of blackberry, plum, and lilac? Or was it the incredibly soft tannins and cedar notes? YES!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
Price: $18.99 Add To Cart

2013 La Monacesca "Mirum" Verdicchio di Matelica Riserva
By: Mahon McGrath | Review Date: 7/20/2016 | Send Email
I could almost see this passing as a ringer amidst a blind tasting of Vouvrays. Lemon peel, peach pie, apricot, bergamot, spice and honey waft headily from this from this rich, full-bodied white wine. While this has concentration and depth to its honey, flower and spice flavors, matching its voluptuous texture, this wine shows its pedigree in the firm, lively, cleansing finish, bowing out with echoes of spice and citrus pith and completely effacing the luxuriant, seductive first act. Quite a show!
Price: $26.99 Add To Cart
W&S 92 WE 91

2014 Hugel "Gentil" Alsace
By: Andrew Whiteley | Review Date: 7/20/2016 | Send Email
You can't smell weight or texture, but sometimes a glass of Alsatian white challenges that assumption. Crisp and dry, but possessing a weight and richness that is unexpected for such a modest price, this medium bodied white is delightful. It's quite refreshing, but more substantial than most wines I would describe that way. It has great fruit and fresh flower notes complimented by a dab of honey. The finish is long and dry with a salinity lightly reminiscent of a great fino sherry.
Price: $11.99 Add To Cart
JS 90

2015 Kalinda Riesling Rheingau
By: Andrew Whiteley | Review Date: 7/20/2016 | Send Email
I look forward to this wine every year and this year, I am blown away by it. It is, as our Aussie buyer Ryan Woodhouse would say - "Smashable." The color is a beautiful pale golden straw. The nose is full of stone fruits, fresh citrus zest, green apples, and a touch of lanolin. Just a touch off dry, the palate sings of apple blossoms and their bounty. It's perfectly balanced with just the right amount of cut and lift from the acid to be lively, refreshing, and indeed endlessly smashable at just 11% alcohol. Another major victory for the Kalinda label and summertime living!
Price: $11.99 Add To Cart

Weihenstephaner "1516" Kellerbier (Unfiltered), Germany (330ml)
By: Gary Westby | Review Date: 7/20/2016 | Send Email
Thank you Weihenstephaner- in one magnificent beer you have celebrated one of the best beverage laws of all time and delivered a magical drink that I cannot get enough of. In 1516, Reinheitsgebot, the Bavarian beer purity law was put into effect, providing legal recourse against fraudsters who would adulterate their beer with anything other than water, malt and hops. When drinking the 1516 I can imagine stiff, medieval punishments for today's hipsters and their cold brew coffee and peanut butter stout! Weihenstephaner has not tried to "innovate" with this excellent lager- they just crafted something as close to perfection as you can get. This is graceful. refreshing beer, and the only thing wrong with it is the all to small 330ml size. By two- you will want the second one!
Price: $2.19 Add To Cart

Orval Trappist Ale, Belgium (11.2 oz)
By: Gary Westby | Review Date: 7/20/2016 | Send Email
As a young wine professional I often yearned for a complex drink when I didn't have the money to afford it. At times like that, I always turned to Orval, a beer that provides an experience akin to 1er Cru Burgundy, but at a price that I could easily afford even when rent was due. Somehow the monks manage to combine great lift, refreshment and ease of drinking with serious layers of savory complexity. The look of the stuff in the glass is worth the price of admission on its own... The Belgian lace this ale throws always takes longer than I want to wait to come down in the glass low enough for me to have a sip!
Price: $5.99 Add To Cart
WE 96

Aecht Schlenkerla Helles Lager, Germany (500ml)
By: Gary Westby | Review Date: 7/20/2016 | Send Email
I hate flavored beer. This is the exception that proves the rule- a subtle, smoky lager that reminds me of a smoked sausage combined with the right beer to wash it down. If you want something a little different, but don't need guava, lemon grass or sauterne barrels in your beer, check this out!
Price: $4.49 Add To Cart

Anchor Brewing "Anchor Steam" (12oz)
By: Gary Westby | Review Date: 7/20/2016 | Send Email
I can't think of a beverage that I have had a longer and better relationship with that San Francisco's great Anchor Steam. This is the golden states great contribution to the beer lovers of the world- made at ale temperatures in shallow, open concrete vats with lager yeast. This is a beer of impeccable balance, and even though I must have had more than a thousand of them by now, it never gets old. This is the kind of beer that real beer drinkers love- it is not a box to check, it is something to buy a case of. Whenever I have visitors from Champagne, I often offer them an Anchor Steam before diving into Mount Eden Chardonnay and Ridge Monte Bello. It is that good.
Top Value!
Price: $1.69 Add To Cart

2015 Domaine Begude Chardonnay "Le Bel Ange"
By: John Majeski | Review Date: 7/19/2016 | Send Email
One of the purest expressions of unoaked, organic Chardonnay (with a splash of Chenin Blanc) in our stores, the Bel Ange ("beautiful angel") shimmers in the glass, radiating prismatic fruit aromas and flavors of apple, mango, apricot and pear, with enough citrus zest and finesse to spare At this great price, it would be advisable to buy this by the case and save it for casual parties, picnics, gatherings of the tribe, family or friends. Drink it, love it, live it, just don't leave it!
Top Value!
Price: $11.99 Add To Cart

2012 Terre del Palio Vino Nobile di Montepulciano
By: John Downing | Review Date: 7/19/2016 | Send Email
Vino Nobile has been a shrinking category in the US for many years mainly due to the competition from Chianti, higher price points and change in style. That being said, we are pleased to offer this new arrival from Montepulciano that's sure to impress. Hats off to my colleague Greg St Clair for sourcing this beauty. The Palio is 90% Sangiovese with the remaining 10% consisting of Cabernet and Merlot. The Bordeaux varietals add just the right depth and texture yet Sangiovese remains front and center. Wonderful aromas of earthy dark fruit are complemented by a round and juicy palate with just the right touch of acidity. This is outstanding Vino Nobile, period.
Price: $24.99 Add To Cart

2013 La Massa "La Massa" Toscana
By: John Downing | Review Date: 7/19/2016 | Send Email
This vintage of La Massa strikes me as a benchmark as the wine has moved from a full-bodied international version to a more classic yet full-bodied and savory Tuscan style blend. It's exceptionally balanced with a smoothly textured palate of layered black and red fruits with bright acidity throughout. Giampaolo Motta continues his impressive streak of great "La Massa" wines and this may very well be his best yet.

1996 Bel Air Lagrave, Moulis-en-Medoc
By: Illya Haase | Review Date: 7/19/2016 | Send Email
The bread and butter for K&L is the amazing Bordeaux! And what a find by the Clyde. This is old school left bank Bordeaux at its best. 1996 Bel Air Lagrave, Moulis-en-Medoc is drinking beautifully. The nose is a fine balance of leather and crushed red fruit that pops in the glass. But, it is the taste that keeps you coming back for more. Mature, ripe red fruits, minerality, earthiness balanced by fine acidity and tannins evolved from begin to end. I raise a glass to you, Clyde, keep them coming!
Price: $19.99 Add To Cart

2015 Domaine Begude Pinot Noir
By: Keith Mabry | Review Date: 7/19/2016 | Send Email
The newest Pinot from Begude is probably their best to date. So many fresh notes of red currants, raspberries, Bing cherries and rhubarb, the wine has underlying spice notes and a generous lively acidity keeping it all focused and forward. In terms of quality you'd have to spend closer to $20 to get something similar from Oregon, California's Central Coast or Burgundy.
Price: $12.99 Add To Cart

Page: 1 2 3 next >>