Staff Favorites

If you’re going to have Robert Parker or Stephen Tanzer over for dinner, selecting a wine they’ve rated highly will be a nice choice. However, when you’re buying wines for yourself, we’d love to see you find wines that match up your unique palate and pocketbook. We have a large staff of friendly and knowledgeable wine professionals that taste hundreds of wines each week. They can put you in touch with bottles that you are likely to love, often at a much lower cost than the highly-rated gems that often see a run-up in price and frequent availability issues. Like any great group of opinionated professionals, our staff has varied tastes themselves. Often our customers will find a particular staff member with a style that corresponds to their own. That concept works extremely well in our retail stores, and this section is our effort to bring you the same online. Don’t get us wrong, we love the highly rated wines from the press and will continue to offer them, but we think you’re missing out if you’re not augmenting those selections with picks from our excellent staff. Here are their favorites. (Click on a name to see their other selections - or to drop them a line.) Cheers!

Reviews

Page: 1 2 3 next >>
2012 La Fortuna Brunello di Montalcino
Reviwer Picture By: Keith Mabry | Review Date: 6/20/2018 | Send Email
It's not often that I say this is my favortie "Drink Now Brunello" but the generosity of the Fortuna is such that, it is nigh irresistible. Full of perfumed and sexy red fruit, the openness of the vintage shines through but the acid and structure says, "I will drink great for a decade or more." Perfect pairing for some braised lamb shanks or a porcini risotto.

2016 Kaiken "Ultra" Malbec Mendoza Las Rocas
Reviwer Picture By: Keith Mabry | Review Date: 6/20/2018 | Send Email
"Ultra" is right. This is pure juicy Malbec with gorgeous black currant, plum and raspberry fruit. Almost bordering on hedonistic, the polished sweet tannins frame this wine making accentuating the chocolate-y tones. This is the perfect compliment to any Asado (Argentine BBQ) or just classic American fare. My new go-to steak wine.
Price: $17.99 Add To Cart
JS 94

2015 Bodegas Abanico Hazaña Viñas Viejas Rioja
Reviwer Picture By: Keith Mabry | Review Date: 6/20/2018 | Send Email
The Abanico fires on all cylinders with its generous red and black fruit flavors. This fleshy and modern styled Rioja, makes the perfect crossover wine for people a little intimidated by the more traditional dustier styles of classic Rioja. Perfect pairing for some cumin spiced lamb chops and a salad of bitter greens and herbs.
Price: $10.99 Add To Cart
JD 91

2017 Olema Cotes de Provence Rose
Reviwer Picture By: Alex Schroeder | Review Date: 6/20/2018 | Send Email
This is an exciting project from our friends and veritable wine-making experts at Amici Cellars in Napa, who traveled to the land of the best rosés in the world to make this stellar cuvée. It opens with fresh, wild cherries and minerals on the nose, offers rich vibrant fruit on the palate with a focused, bright, acid-driven finish that screams for another sip. Once again, the Olema brand lives up to its moniker, offering incredible value at a low price.
Price: $15.99 Add To Cart
JS 92

2017 Pra Soave Classico "Otto"
Reviwer Picture By: Mike Parres | Review Date: 6/20/2018 | Send Email
WOW! That's what several of us were saying at a staff tasting where this Soave was the first wine we tasted. Pure and fresh, this is a delicious dry white wine. Soave is one of Italy's most popular white wines, probably because the good ones like this are so smooth, light, and easy to drink. This wine comes from an area just east of Valpolicella and the grape is garganega. A great sipper for your summer brunches.
Price: $16.99 Add To Cart

2016 Domaine Renaud Mâcon-Charnay
Reviwer Picture By: Mike Parres | Review Date: 6/20/2018 | Send Email
This Chardonnay is crisp and stylish with lovely flowery fruit and plenty of depth, energy and concentration underneath and a very long finish. Love this Macon Charnay and white Burgundies at affordable prices!
Price: $16.99 Add To Cart

2017 Brane-Cantenac, Margaux
Reviwer Picture By: Shaun Green | Review Date: 6/20/2018 | Send Email
Consistent with Brane Cantenac's recent successes, the 2017 is showing absolutely lovely in barrel samples. Elegant and silken classic Margaux with lovely pure and vibrant fruit. Nicely structured for ageing a decade or two, I'm definitely putting some of this into my cellar!
Top Value!

2012 La Fortuna Brunello di Montalcino
Reviwer Picture By: Andrew Whiteley | Review Date: 6/19/2018 | Send Email
This is an textbook example of the classic 2012 vintage. It's supremely drinkable now, but has the stuffing to last for a decade or three in the cellar. It's elegant yet rich and full of dark wild cherries and a savory herb garden of delight. The acidity is spot on and provides tremendous length and focus to the wine. There is a good reason this property is a perennial staff favorite.

2017 Château Léoube Côtes de Provence Rosé
Reviwer Picture By: Andrew Whiteley | Review Date: 6/19/2018 | Send Email
So many Provence roses are fresh and lively, but not all of them actually pack in much flavor or texture. The Leoube does both! It's super zippy, yet loaded with juicy fruits a plush palate (for rose). It's of course not a full bodied cab, but it has weight and texture that makes it a perfect pairing for grilled fare or a hot summer afternoon and light poolside snacks.
Price: $21.99 Add To Cart
DC 95

2015 Mount Langi Ghiran "Cliff Edge" Shiraz Victoria
Reviwer Picture By: Andrew Whiteley | Review Date: 6/19/2018 | Send Email
The Cliff Edge is supple, rich, and lively. A fantastic combination for both easy drinking and food pairing. This Shiraz comes from cooler climate sites and is picked early for freshness, but doesn't lack for beautiful ripe fruits and a little touch of peppery soul. It's a great bottle to pair with a summer BBQ or to just bring to your next casual office party happy hour.
Price: $22.99 Add To Cart
JH 96 VN 92

2016 Biondi "Outis" Etna Bianco
Reviwer Picture By: Rachel Vogel | Review Date: 6/19/2018 | Send Email
From the South East corner of Mt. Etna comes a concentrated and textured white from Biondi. It is ripe and full of flavor with a bit of skin contact for color, texture and character. The nose is filled with honeycomb and green apple skins. It is matched on the palate with great acidity from only seeing stainless steel. It is complex but graceful.
Price: $29.99 Add To Cart

2016 Kaiken "Ultra" Malbec Mendoza Las Rocas
Reviwer Picture By: Greg St. Clair | Review Date: 6/19/2018 | Send Email
The nose of this wine is full of a dusky plum character with some cassis while showing bits of barrel spice. On the palate the wine is aptly named, it is an ultra lush, full bodied wine however it never shows an over ripeness it’s just a really rich wine. Highly polished displaying hints of vanilla and toffee show the quality cooperage is not an accident. Powerful and a whole lot of wine for your money.
Drink from 2018 to 2018
Price: $17.99 Add To Cart
JS 94

2015 Mount Langi Ghiran "Cliff Edge" Shiraz Victoria
Reviwer Picture By: Greg St. Clair | Review Date: 6/19/2018 | Send Email
The nose of this wine is bold and gives you a sense of ripeness but at the same time it’s not over the top. I was a little surprised by its balance, I’m not a fan of thick, heavy lifeless Syrah but this wine has some verve and snap to it. Don’t misunderstand this is still a highly polished, supple, warm and round wine it’s just that it does have some lift and energy to it. I was surprised that the alcohol was only 13.8%, not that it seemed higher but it would be hard to get a California wine to that level these days. Excellent wine-making and good fruit, bold grilled meat would be a nice accompaniment.
Drink from 2018 to 2018
Price: $22.99 Add To Cart
JH 96 VN 92

2012 La Fortuna Brunello di Montalcino
Reviwer Picture By: Kaj Stromer | Review Date: 6/19/2018 | Send Email
If you're craving a Brunello di Montalcino on a Thursday night but don't have access to your vast private wine locker, stop by your local, friendly K&L wine shop for a few bottles of this majestic red. Long barrel aging and warm vintage conspire to produce a wine of generous proportion that has all the telltale notes of Brunello without requiring long term aging. Pour the wine into a decanter, wait 30 minutes, serve your dinner, drink up. Red and black cherry along with a brambly note inspired by the rugged Montalcino hillsides make this an easy-to-like style ready to drink now.

2015 Bodegas Abanico Hazaña Viñas Viejas Rioja
Reviwer Picture By: Greg St. Clair | Review Date: 6/19/2018 | Send Email
The nose is full of sweet, plumy fruit although never in a sticky or overripe vein, just lots of it. On the palate this wine is expansive; the flavors are bold, smooth and lush yet are balanced by just a hint of tannin on the edges. While it is richly textured the wine gives you a real sense of weight while still being balanced and fresh. I must admit I was surprised at the price, I thought this would have sold for much more.
Drink from 2018 to 2018
Price: $10.99 Add To Cart
JD 91

2015 Calera "40th Anniversary Vintage" Central Coast Pinot Noir
Reviwer Picture By: Greg St. Clair | Review Date: 6/19/2018 | Send Email
The nose or this wine is full of a wild, gamy character that then opens into bits of strawberry and hints of earth, very complex for this price point Pinot. On the palate the wine is medium-full bodied with a smooth, supple feel but this isn’t a highly polished wine it feels natural, fresh and real. The flavors show bits of earth and leather but those flavors are well integrated to the supple fruit. The finish shows good acidity, nice balance and the flavors hold true throughout. This is a really wonderful wine, try it with roasted chicken, and I’d make sure it was cellar temperature.
Drink from 2018 to 2018

2015 Bodegas Abanico Hazaña Viñas Viejas Rioja
Reviwer Picture By: Kaj Stromer | Review Date: 6/19/2018 | Send Email
I've been an ardent fan of Spanish wine for almost as long as I've been in the business. For my money, it's hard to beat the value that can be had from so many of Spain's wine growing regions. Most of all, I'm a hard core fan of Rioja. The historic growing area is renowned as Spain's finest and for good reason. The silky smoothness of Tempranillo is almost Burgundian. The texture and complexity in this wine is augmented by the addition of 15% Graciano, a local varietal that adds a touch of rustic earthiness that reminds of Rioja's rugged and gorgeous landscape.
Price: $10.99 Add To Cart
JD 91

2017 Château Léoube Côtes de Provence Rosé
Reviwer Picture By: Greg St. Clair | Review Date: 6/19/2018 | Send Email
The nose of this wine is full of fresh, wild fruits, not overly floral but concentrated and vibrant. On the palate this wine has weight, richness but is surprisingly light on its feet, the flavors are focused but not overwhelming, wonderful balance and excellent acidity. The finish is truly superb, long, lifted with good fruit and a touch of mineral, I like this wine a lot!
Drink from 2018 to 2018
Price: $21.99 Add To Cart
DC 95

2015 Calera "40th Anniversary Vintage" Central Coast Pinot Noir
Reviwer Picture By: Stephanie Vidales | Review Date: 6/19/2018 | Send Email
Calera's Central Coast Pinot Noir is always a fantastic bottle that won't break the bank. With a lot of concentration and depth from the 2015 vintage, this Pinot Noir has richness of fruit with a bit of savory and spice notes as well. The palate has lovely floral and blackberry notes and a nice structure that can hold up in the cellar for a few years, but this is drinking fantastically now. Get this awesome value while you can!

2016 Kaiken "Ultra" Malbec Mendoza Las Rocas
Reviwer Picture By: Kaj Stromer | Review Date: 6/19/2018 | Send Email
Malbec fever swept the nation several years ago. Its robust nature and smooth texture made it a natural fan favorite. Over time, the fever may have tempered slightly but in the right hands, like the legendary Montes family, the argument for Malbec is strong. Precise wine making along with premium Mendoza vineyards combine to make the stunning Ultra Malbec from Kaiken. I was most impressed by its suave and balanced nature. The wines pedigree is revealed by red and black fruits along with a dusting of distant oak and a hint of cocoa. Together they belie the exceptionally low price point. This has a tremendous quality-to-price ratio and is just a delicious, versatile wine.
Price: $17.99 Add To Cart
JS 94

2017 Domaine du Bagnol Cassis Rosé
Reviwer Picture By: Morgan Laurie | Review Date: 6/19/2018 | Send Email
I know what you're thinking....$30 Rose?! Let me tell you, it's worth it. Tasted recently during a line up of Rose's from various appellations in Southern France, this really stood out. Incredibly aromatic, this smells like a picnic in a glass. It's grassy and floral with pink grapefruit and what can only be described as a scent that reminded me exactly of fruit salad. This is delicious, organic and well worth the extra few bucks.
Price: $29.99 Add To Cart

2014 Domaine de la Begude Bandol Rouge
Reviwer Picture By: Morgan Laurie | Review Date: 6/19/2018 | Send Email
This is a bottle to buy now and stash away for a bit. Or at least until the weather changes into grey, wind swept skies that call for rich, smothered pork chops, braised meats and warmly spiced lamb dishes. This Bandol Rouge is meaty, spicy and full of sweet, rich fruit all at once. Intense and brooding, the finish on this has impressive length. If you decide to drink this sooner rather than later, decant for as long as possible, but if you can put it somewhere and forget about it for awhile, this can cellar for the next ten years.
Price: $29.99 Add To Cart
WE 94

2017 Kings Carey Happy Canyon of Santa Barbara Semillon
Reviwer Picture By: Mari Keilman | Review Date: 6/19/2018 | Send Email
While Kings Carey isn't the first to do a single vineyard domestic Semillon, they're definitely the best I've ever tasted and one of the most interesting white wines I've had in quite some time! Semillon can be a chameleon of a white varietal and the style that James Carey chooses to approach the varietal is the most successful that I've seen to date. Starting from an oxidative path, the semillon instantly gravitates and embraces the nutty, glycerol and almost oily palate, but since Semillon is such a dichotomous grape there is a suprising zesty and citrus-laden lift on the palate. This is truly a wine that deserves some serious time and devotion given too.
Price: $19.99 Add To Cart

Jean-Louis Denois "Bulles d'Argile" Extra Brut (Sans Soufre)
Reviwer Picture By: Morgan Laurie | Review Date: 6/19/2018 | Send Email
This sulfur free bubbly is the perfect sparkling wine for any occasion. Bright, fresh and youthful, this little value sparkler is a steal. Crisp Asian pears, Anjou pear pastilles and green banana give this easygoing wine quaffability, and before you know, the bottle will be empty! It can easily be sipped alone as an aperitif or paired with light picnic or party friendly fare.
Price: $19.99 Add To Cart

2016 Château Vitallis Pouilly-Fuissé "Les Vignes du Chateau"
Reviwer Picture By: Morgan Laurie | Review Date: 6/19/2018 | Send Email
A fantastic Burgundy value, the Les Vignes du Chateau delivers exactly what you want out of a fine Pouilly Fuisse. There's a wonderful balance of ripe, soft stone fruit notes, subtle aromas of barrel toast and vanilla and lemon zest like citrus. A wonderfully elegant weeknight wine!
Price: $21.99 Add To Cart
WE 91

2015 Graci "Arcuria" Etna Bianco
Reviwer Picture By: John Downing | Review Date: 6/19/2018 | Send Email
This stunner is sure to turn a few heads and certainly gives white Burgundy a run for the money. It offers up an aromatic mix of orchard fruit, peach and mineral as well as a full and round palate with great acidity and length on the finish. This is one of the finer white wines of Mount Etna for sure.
Price: $49.99 Add To Cart

2016 Biondi "Pianta" Etna Bianco
Reviwer Picture By: John Downing | Review Date: 6/19/2018 | Send Email
We're big fans of Ciro Biondi both personally and professionally and his "Pianta" is a strong testament to the outstanding results he's getting from his vineyards. This old vines white is a blend of mostly Carricante with Cataratto and Minella that spends a total of nine months aging in older French barrels. It's deep, complex and refined and will appeal especially to those who love white Burgundy. Although stunning on its own, it shines at the table with seafood and white meat dishes.
Price: $44.99 Add To Cart

2016 Graci Etna Bianco
Reviwer Picture By: John Downing | Review Date: 6/19/2018 | Send Email
This outstanding Etna Bianco also happens to be produced by one of our favorite producers and it always flies off the shelves. There's great demand for Etna wines at the moment and we are glad Graci's 2016 Bianco has finally landed. It's a mix of minerals, almond and yellow fruit on the nose and is round and citrusy on the palate with fresh, grippy acidity on the finish. If you haven't yet tried white wine from the slopes of Mount Etna, this is a great place to start.
Price: $26.99 Add To Cart

2016 Kaiken "Ultra" Malbec Mendoza Las Rocas
Reviwer Picture By: Stefanie Juelsgaard | Review Date: 6/19/2018 | Send Email
The first thing that hits you is the deep-fruited nose on this Malbec, which is quickly followed up by a duskiness, an d hardy backbone of structure. Not ultra rich, there is a nice lift to this wine, with chocolaty, toasty notes flowing through.
Price: $17.99 Add To Cart
JS 94

2015 Bodegas Abanico Hazaña Viñas Viejas Rioja
Reviwer Picture By: Stefanie Juelsgaard | Review Date: 6/19/2018 | Send Email
There is a freshness and crunchiness here that is unique for Rioja and this wine is showing super fresh for a warmer vintage. With a lighter body than I expected, I think this one will make a fantastic Summer BBQ wine, with a slight herbaceous note that will really complement food. I like that the structure and alcohol are restrained here and will be recommending this one as a fresh take on Rioja.
Price: $10.99 Add To Cart
JD 91

2015 Calera "40th Anniversary Vintage" Central Coast Pinot Noir
Reviwer Picture By: Stefanie Juelsgaard | Review Date: 6/19/2018 | Send Email
I was really impressed by the quality of this Pinot from long-established winery Calera. Lots of minerality here really sets this wine apart from others of the region. The elegance of the wine should come as no surprise given the great set of well-known vineyards this bottling comes from. A unique blend of fruit from Santa Barbara up to Monterey comes together to make a wine unlike any other on the Domestic shelf. There is a slightly riper flavor profile here, but there is a lift as well, which keeps the balance on point. A lighter style Pinot, but incredibly expressive at the same time.

2012 La Fortuna Brunello di Montalcino
Reviwer Picture By: Stefanie Juelsgaard | Review Date: 6/19/2018 | Send Email
While you may have to hold most current release Brunellos for a few more years, this one is drinking particularly well right now. Fresh, lively acidity provides a nice counterpoint to riper fruit, with a little savory note thrown in for balance. The classic Brunello structure is there, but is soft, not overpowering, and the juiciness of the fruit brights life and punch.

2017 Château Léoube Côtes de Provence Rosé
Reviwer Picture By: Stefanie Juelsgaard | Review Date: 6/19/2018 | Send Email
This is the classic, light, fresh rosé that we have come to expect from Provence. What I like about this particular one is the juicy berry fruits that shine though and though there is delicacy, the fruit is not lost. With such a great score, I won't be surprised if this one flies off the shelf before Summer even gets off the ground.
Price: $21.99 Add To Cart
DC 95

2015 Mount Langi Ghiran "Cliff Edge" Shiraz Victoria
Reviwer Picture By: Stefanie Juelsgaard | Review Date: 6/19/2018 | Send Email
This bottling features the same estate and same winemaking that is responsible for producing one of the best reviewed and highest-end Shiraz's in Australia, the Langi Shiraz. This is the little brother of that wine, though it features nearly all the same phenomenal, cool-climate characteristics. This Shiraz come from the mountainous regions of Victoria, which are Yosemite-like in their setting. The granite in the area lends fantastic minerality and depth to this wine, with lifted fruit and bright acidity punching through. There is a nice spice backdrop here, with deep flavors and a silky finish. Those familiar with the label will no be surprised at the quality here, and newcomers will be in awe of the elegant style.
Price: $22.99 Add To Cart
JH 96 VN 92

2017 Château Léoube Côtes de Provence Rosé
Reviwer Picture By: Illya Haase | Review Date: 6/19/2018 | Send Email
This is a classic example of a Provence Rose. As you pour into the glass, note the blend of the pale pink and salmon hue. Strawberries, the mild scent of herbs, and a bite of the tangy sea invites you to move beyond the ordinary glass of Rose. Bright and clean in the mouth, the wine shows light red fruit and a pleasant wet stone note finishing with real freshness. Welcome the quintessential summertime sipper.
Price: $21.99 Add To Cart
DC 95

2017 Château Léoube Côtes de Provence Rosé
Reviwer Picture By: Joe Manekin | Review Date: 6/19/2018 | Send Email
Juicy, refreshing Provençal rosé is plentiful around these parts this time of year. That said, you need to remember that popular styles of wine represent opportunities for new entrants, and there will always be a range of quality out there. Chateau Leoube is very well made, everything you would hope for in a crisp, light red fruited rosé from the south of France. Hints of fennel pollen and herbs add complexity to this easy to drink rosé.
Price: $21.99 Add To Cart
DC 95

2016 Kaiken "Ultra" Malbec Mendoza Las Rocas
Reviwer Picture By: Joe Manekin | Review Date: 6/19/2018 | Send Email
Kaiken's wines have long been on our radar, and over the past few years have been getting better and better. This 2016 vintage shows the ripe, juicy quality of Vista Flores fruit: huckleberries with sweet florals and gentle, rounded tannins. The 12 months of French oak barrels contributes hints of grilled bread and vanilla, but does not overwhelm the fruit here. A very approachable, fruit forward Malbec to drink now and over the next several years.
Price: $17.99 Add To Cart
JS 94

2012 La Fortuna Brunello di Montalcino
Reviwer Picture By: Joe Manekin | Review Date: 6/19/2018 | Send Email
The La Fortuna style is on full display here: nicely expressed red fruits, some savory/sweet earth, and well integrated tannins. In the 2012 vintage, these elements are all well balanced. Whether you are looking for a tasty, well priced Brunello, or you are looking to dip your feet into this DOCG for the first time, La Fortuna is a solid choice.

2015 Mount Langi Ghiran "Cliff Edge" Shiraz Victoria
Reviwer Picture By: Joe Manekin | Review Date: 6/19/2018 | Send Email
According to many, this is one of the top five Shiraz producers in all Australia. Judging by the quality of this sub $25 bottling, I can see why. Pure blue fruit shows intensity and freshness, with a subtle underlying littoral forest aspect - not full on eucalyptus but definitely a little bit. The tannins are incredibly supple, and as delicious as this wine is now, it has both the balance and the stuffing for improvement in bottle.
Price: $22.99 Add To Cart
JH 96 VN 92

2015 Calera "40th Anniversary Vintage" Central Coast Pinot Noir
Reviwer Picture By: Joe Manekin | Review Date: 6/19/2018 | Send Email
I really like the style of this Pinot Noir: bright fruit, generous but texturally light, refreshing, delicious. while it does not include fruit from the Calera estate, it does include some serious central coast vineyard site, including Bien Nacido, amongst others. For under $25, you won't do much better for Pinot Noir from anywhere. Great stuff!

A. Smith Bowman "Isaac Bowman" Port Barrel Finish Virginia Straight Bourbon (750ml)
Reviwer Picture By: Anthony Russo | Review Date: 6/18/2018 | Send Email
If you've never had a "Port barrel finished" bourbon, this is a great place to start. If you love whiskey and want to try something new, look no further. What begins as a fantastic bourbon on its own spends the last bit of it's ageing period in ex-Port barrels. Take a big whiff and you'll immediately see the influence: red apple skins, gentle, dried raisins, and fresh cut flowers. On the palate, it is full of complexities, like a layered onion. Just add an ice cube and you're rocking!
Price: $39.99 Add To Cart

2015 Bodegas Abanico Hazaña Viñas Viejas Rioja
Reviwer Picture By: Joe Bruno | Review Date: 6/18/2018 | Send Email
Fantastic Rioja wine for the sub-$15 price point. Aromas of ripe dark and red cherries and spiced plums. Subtle oak spice notes as well, like vanilla. On the palate, wine is juicy and fresh, with great elevated acidity. An earthy component is present as well, nicely countering the dark fruit flavors on the finish. This Rioja packs quite the respective punch, and all for only $11? Estoy vendido!
Price: $10.99 Add To Cart
JD 91

2016 Castro Candaz "Finca El Curvado" Ribeira Sacra
Reviwer Picture By: Joe Bruno | Review Date: 6/18/2018 | Send Email
A delicious and unique offering from Ribeira Sacra. Fresh and bright on the nose, with aromas of plums, cherries, and berries. A bouquet of wild herbs and flowers, with a noted black pepper note. On the palate, the wine's freshness comes through again, with crunchy dark and red fruit at the forefront. The wine's elevated acid comes through, as does the granitic minerality. A great food wine as well; pairing nicely with various white meats and tomato-based dishes
Price: $32.99 Add To Cart

2016 Julien Schaal Riesling Grand Cru "Sommerberg Granite"
Reviwer Picture By: Alex Pross | Review Date: 6/18/2018 | Send Email
Wow! My mind is blown....An Alsatian Grand Cru for under $20 is an almost unbelievable bargain. To be able to get a wine from one of the top vineyard sources in all of Alsace for under $20 is the kind of holy grail deal we're all inevitably searching for in the wine business. This wine is loaded with white flower, pear and flint aromas on the nose while the palate displays good energy and lift with orchard fruits, golden delicious apple and pithy flavors. There's impressive complexity as this wine elegantly unfolds across the palate that leads to a long, satisfying finish.
Top Value!
Price: $19.99 Add To Cart
WE 93 JS 90

2016 Graci Etna Bianco
Reviwer Picture By: Rachel Vogel | Review Date: 6/18/2018 | Send Email
On our tasting sheet, the price for this wine was miss-typed double the price. We all tried it and though it was amazing! The quality of the wine is obvious from smell to sip. Hailing from the Northern slopes of Mt. Etna on older vines, this blend of Carricante and Catarato only sees stainless steel. It is pure and concentrated. The focused minerality sends the palate out long and doesn't end. We were shocked when we found out it was actually only $25.99. The value of this wine is outstanding. It will also get you hooked on Etna Bianco and lead you to the producer's single vineyard that could be aged!
Price: $26.99 Add To Cart

2015 Bodegas Abanico Hazaña Viñas Viejas Rioja
Reviwer Picture By: Joe Manekin | Review Date: 6/18/2018 | Send Email
A crisp, brightly fruited, well delineated and surprisingly lively Rioja for this warm and dry vintage, the Hazana surprised me with its structure, tastiness and overall balance, particularly for a Rioja at this price. The nose brings together spicy notes with plummy fruit, leading to a palate with tasty dark fruits and plum skins, and an underlying, subtly earthy/savory quality, perhaps owing to the 15% portion of Graciano blended in. It seems as though the fruit was picked for acidity first and foremost, with good flavor development and no overripe qualities. This is easy to drink and priced to drink in quantity. Me gusta, me gusta mucho!
Price: $10.99 Add To Cart
JD 91

2017 Bayten Sauvignon Blanc Constantia
Reviwer Picture By: Stefanie Juelsgaard | Review Date: 6/18/2018 | Send Email
Constantia is well known for producing some of the most unique, delicious and interesting Sauvignon Blancs in the world and this Bayten definitely showcases why. It packs an incredible punch of flavor with vivid fruit, bright acidity, and a touch of herbality cool climates are known for. South Africa is certainly gaining a reputation for must-have wines, especially when they price a gem like this at $13. This is an incredible value and showcases what makes Constantia such an amazing area.
Price: $13.99 Add To Cart
WE 90

2016 Planeta Etna Bianco
Reviwer Picture By: Rachel Vogel | Review Date: 6/18/2018 | Send Email
Etna is one of the most dynamic wine growing regions with diverse microclimates. The DOC is a semi circle wrapped around the active volcano on the Island of Sicily. The Planeta vineyards are on the northern slope at a high elevation. Its aromatics are incredible with quince, citrus, and of course great volcanic minerality. The wine has a sense of saline with a floral and fruity quality. A partial fermentation in barrique gives texture to the otherwise light bodied wine. It is simple but nuanced. A great wine to dip your feet into the whites of Etna.
Price: $23.99 Add To Cart

2013 Fratelli Barale "Castellero" Barolo
Reviwer Picture By: Rachel Vogel | Review Date: 6/18/2018 | Send Email
Fratelli Barale was the first Barolo producer I fell in love with when I started at K&L. The Casterello is their single vineyard estate bottling that comes with depth and concentration. The captivating aromatics are filled with a mix of deep floral notes and savory cherry skins. It is structured and bold, but the nuances are not lost in the young age. I will definitely be adding a few bottles to my cellar in hopes that a few of them will make it long term!
Price: $39.99 Add To Cart
WE 93 JS 92

2014 Pranzegg "Laurenc" Lagrein
Reviwer Picture By: Rachel Vogel | Review Date: 6/18/2018 | Send Email
When I think of the climate of the Alto Adige, an area right near the Alps, I think of cold weather. But the valley where this Lagrein is grown, squeezed between the Alps and the Dolomites, is one of the 3 hottest cities during the Italian summer. This is great for the thick skinned Lagrein grape and great for us! The Pranzegg is filled with classic black and white pepper flavors with concentrated notes of black berries. It is biodynamic and sees lees contact giving ths wine a great texture. The acidity is not lost in the warm climate, but a balance of full bodied flavor really sets the tone for this wine.
Price: $38.99 Add To Cart

Page: 1 2 3 next >>