Staff Favorites

If you’re going to have Robert Parker or Stephen Tanzer over for dinner, selecting a wine they’ve rated highly will be a nice choice. However, when you’re buying wines for yourself, we’d love to see you find wines that match up your unique palate and pocketbook. We have a large staff of friendly and knowledgeable wine professionals that taste hundreds of wines each week. They can put you in touch with bottles that you are likely to love, often at a much lower cost than the highly-rated gems that often see a run-up in price and frequent availability issues. Like any great group of opinionated professionals, our staff has varied tastes themselves. Often our customers will find a particular staff member with a style that corresponds to their own. That concept works extremely well in our retail stores, and this section is our effort to bring you the same online. Don’t get us wrong, we love the highly rated wines from the press and will continue to offer them, but we think you’re missing out if you’re not augmenting those selections with picks from our excellent staff. Here are their favorites. (Click on a name to see their other selections - or to drop them a line.) Cheers!

Reviews

  
Page: 1 2 3 next >>
2015 Te Mata "Coleraine" Bordeaux Blend Hawke's Bay
By: Kirk Walker | Review Date: 7/21/2017 | Send Email
Coleraine is the answer to the request, "I want a New World wine" (that is implied because this request occurs while standing in the Domestic Cabernet section) with richness and fruit but with restraint and complexity (they are looking at the Bordeaux section). This wine has it all. It is a great wine. Never mind that it is priced at the entry level for high-end wine from both of those regions. Hawkes Bay is the great Cabernet family terroir that most people do not know. They should, especially if they Cabernet based wines from K&L. This will not disappoint, in fact, it will encourage more excursions to this often-overlooked region.

2011 L'Arrosée, St-Emilion
By: Clyde Beffa Jr. | Review Date: 7/21/2017 | Send Email
I actually liked this wine better than their 2010 or 2012 (last vintage at Arrosee). It has fine structure and plenty of blackberry and spice on the nose and palate.
Drink from 2017 to 2017

2015 Kalinda Rutherford Cabernet Sauvignon
By: Christina Stanley | Review Date: 7/21/2017 | Send Email
The newest Kalinda Rutherford Cabernet is reflective of the 2015 vintage in Napa, which was defined by a warmer growing season and an early harvest. This led to low yields of very high quality fruit with great power and concentration. This elegant Cabernet is rich and condensed, with silky, dusty tannins and classic Rutherford aromas and flavors of bright Bing and black cherry, tobacco leaf and allspice. The quality and drinkability of this wine is undeniable, and finding a Rutherford Cabernet at this price point is next to impossible.
Price: $27.99 Add To Cart

2016 Tohu Sauvignon Blanc Awatere Valley Marlborough
By: Stefanie Juelsgaard | Review Date: 7/21/2017 | Send Email
I picked up a bottle of this and had it over the weekend and it was the perfect choice for the warm California summer we have been having. It was incredibly bright and fresh and had super juicy tropical fruits. The minerality and acidity really brought it to life and the bursting fruit quality smoothed it out and made it incredibly easy drinking. It's a smashable wine, but also a very interesting one at the same time. A great NZ Savvy, perfect for warm summer nights. Loved it!
Top Value!

2016 Les Vignerons de Fontès "Prieuré Saint-Hippolyte" Languedoc Rosé
By: Thomas Smith | Review Date: 7/21/2017 | Send Email
When you taste a lot of rosés, you start to discover that many end up being forgettable. It's clean, it's dry, it's fresh--end of story. Not this one. It goes out of its way to be bigger and fruitier than every other rosé on the block. With the roaring aromatics coming out of this glass I totally would have expected a dull, flabby wine. But instead there's this beautiful acid profile that is refreshing and invigorates the fruit profile. At $10 this is a total standout on the rosé shelf.
Price: $9.99 Add To Cart

2012 Altvs Napa Valley Cabernet Sauvignon
By: Mari Keilman | Review Date: 7/21/2017 | Send Email
​​​I can still remember the first time I tasted Merus. It was over 12 years ago but the flavor profile and texture were so unique and distinguished that I can still easily recall it to this day. In fact it was the rich, unctuous, full-bodied texture that distinctly stuck out in my mind. And when I tasted the second label of Merus, Altvs, I was immediately taken aback at how they were able to achieve the same dense, plush, over-the-top silky texture that you get in Merus, at a quarter of the cost! The Altvs Napa Valley Cab is indulgent, decadent and incredibly hedonistic. The great thing about this wine is that you can revel in feeling obscenely over-self-indulgent without feeling it in the pocketbook!
Price: Hidden View Price
WE 91

2015 Moulin de la Gardette "Tradition" Gigondas
By: Thomas Smith | Review Date: 7/21/2017 | Send Email
Moulin De La Gardette has been one of my most reliable "you have to try this bottle" wines. It's always shockingly good , beautifully expressive, and totally delicious. The vintage really takes this wine to a whole new level. The nearly perfect conditions in 2015 have pushed one of our most reliable producers to new heights. Gorgeous fruit, excellent concentration, and intensely structure make this a totally serious wine for both the dinner table and the cellar.
Price: $24.99 Add To Cart
RP 90 - 92

2012 Tour Léognan , Pessac-Léognan
By: Clyde Beffa Jr. | Review Date: 7/21/2017 | Send Email
From the Perrin family of Carbonnieux and Haut Vigneau fame.Very nice minerally wine with soft, round tannins and plenty of Cabernet fruit on the palate.
Drink from 2017 to 2017
Price: $19.99 Add To Cart

2009 Puygueraud, Côtes de Francs
By: Clyde Beffa Jr. | Review Date: 7/21/2017 | Send Email
“Violets and blackberries with hints of spices on the nose. Full body, with soft and velvety tannins and a juicy finish. Drink now or hold. Always an excellent value.” JS I love this wine-sweet and lovely-a bit modern and 100% delicious. Nicolas Thienpont is the great winemaker here. I agree with james.
Drink from 2017 to 2017
Price: $19.99 Add To Cart
JS 92 RP 90

2012 Plaisance "Cuvee Alix" Premieres Cotes de Bordeaux
By: Clyde Beffa Jr. | Review Date: 7/21/2017 | Send Email
Fabulous value red. Aromas of tobacco leaves, roasted herbs, red and black currants, and assorted berry fruit emerge from this elegant, mid-weight blend of 75% Merlot, 20% Cabernet Sauvignon and 5% Cabernet Franc.
Drink from 2017 to 2017
Price: $14.99 Add To Cart

2009 Moulin du Cadet, St-Emilion
By: Clyde Beffa Jr. | Review Date: 7/21/2017 | Send Email
I can’t get enough of these 2009s-another one has just arrived. We loved this wine in the early ‘70s and it has reappeared. We love it again. Elegant, ripe, plumy and totally satisfying wine to enjoy now.
Drink from 2017 to 2017
Price: $29.99 Add To Cart

2010 Josephine de Boyd, Margaux
By: Clyde Beffa Jr. | Review Date: 7/21/2017 | Send Email
The Josephine de Boyd is one of the second labels of Chateau Boyd Cantenac along with Jacques Boyd. An elegant 2010-feminine style with some violets on the nose and red fruit flavors. We carried the jacques and sold out quickly a year ago.
Drink from 2017 to 2017
Price: $29.99 Add To Cart

2014 Domaine Baud Chardonnay l'Etoile Blanc
By: Christina Stanley | Review Date: 7/21/2017 | Send Email
This special Chardonnay from Domaine Baud is named for the star shaped Vineyards in the Jura which supply It's fruit, but also for the star shaped, fossilized marine organisms that can be found in the soil, which provide dimension and depth in the wine. If you are new to the white wines of Jura, this is a wonderful place to start. The palate is full bodied, yet fresh and with vibrant acidity, and without oxidation. There is a wonderful concentration of flavor in this wine, with aromas and flavors of lightly spiced poached pear, lemon peel, and briny, sensual minerality.
Price: $16.99 Add To Cart

2010 Poggio dell'Otto Brunello di Montalcino Riserva
By: Alex Schroeder | Review Date: 7/21/2017 | Send Email
Honoring the legend of the 2010 vintage in Montalcino, this dynamic Brunello vastly outperforms its modest price point. I am three days into this bottle and this Sangiovese is belting out the high notes! The intro showcases ripe flavors of Maraschino cherries, plums and cola berries, which bridge beautifully into tertiary characteristics like dried cranberries, aged leather and savory herbs. It is truly lyrical! The tannins and acid are firm, but are beginning to relax. Another decade of age will enhance this wine. You will be well-off opening this bottle a few hours before drinking time; there is a boisterous wine inside that deserves a warm up before the show begins.
Price: $27.99 Add To Cart

2015 Andre Ostertag "Fronholz" Riesling Alsace (Biodynamic)
By: Ryan Woodhouse | Review Date: 7/21/2017 | Send Email
A stunning wine that transcends boundaries of varietal and place. This wine has such ethereal power and shimmering energy on the palate. Stunning aromatics of spiced pear, alpine flowers, bursts of citrus, jasmine and white peach. The palate is tactile and concentrated but so elegant and pure; the pristine fruit inflected with fascinating minerality and infinite length. One of the finest Rieslings I have tasted from anywhere on the planet at any price.
Price: $39.99 Add To Cart
WE 96 RP 93

2011 Mount Edward Estate "Muirkirk Vineyard" Pinot Noir Bannockburn Central Otago
By: Alex Schroeder | Review Date: 7/21/2017 | Send Email
This Pinot is loaded with flavors, depth, personality and place. The vineyard of origin is at a very high mountainous elevation in Central Otago, which is quite cold, but still receives unimpeded sunshine through the thin atmosphere. What results is phenolic magic. It has beautiful, rich fruit flavors of blueberries, cola berries, blackberries and cherries with hints of fresh thyme, dried coriander and wild game — and cool-climate acidity that provides the wine a fresh vigor. This is an absolute steal for a single-vineyard Pinot of this caliber and age.​

2001 Bel Orme Tronquoy de Lalande, Haut Medoc (1.5L)
By: Steve Bearden | Review Date: 7/20/2017 | Send Email
Here is a deep and husky bargain with earthy blackberry aromas. The deep middle is filled with black cherry and berry fruit that glides into the firm, crisp finish. This is a great bottle of 13 year old Bordeaux for dinner parties that won't break the bank.
Price: $34.99 Add To Cart

2014 Haut-Bailly, Pessac-Léognan
By: Steve Bearden | Review Date: 7/20/2017 | Send Email
This is elegant and complex with touches of earth and tobacco, plenty of sleek dark fruit and very classy lines. Intense, bubbling with potential and in need of a few years in bottle or a few hours in decanter; this is a fantastic wine.

2010 Poggio dell'Otto Brunello di Montalcino Riserva
By: Steve Bearden | Review Date: 7/20/2017 | Send Email
A Brunello Riserva from a fantastic vintage selling for under thirty dollars is a rare find. One this approachable is a steal. This is filled with sun baked soil, dusty cherries and earthy darker fruit all in an elegant and gentle package. The power of the vintage seems completely in check until the fine tannic grip shows up on the finish.
Price: $27.99 Add To Cart

2014 Siran, Margaux
By: Steve Bearden | Review Date: 7/20/2017 | Send Email
An outrageous bargain for the Margaux appellation and showing surprising class and precision. This sophisticated wine has flowery aromas, wisps of oak, a middle of sweet blackberry fruit and a finish showing very fine grip. Great value here.

2015 Domaine Bart "Les Longeroies" Marsannay Rouge
By: Joe Manekin | Review Date: 7/20/2017 | Send Email
Our favorite Marsannay specialists, Domaine Bart, are back in the house, with an impressive nine different Marsannay bottlings for you to play around with. In fact, in the name of thoroughness, I am in the process of doing just that! Les Longeroies is a clay and marl vineyard, and the plump, generous mixed berry fruit with round, elegant tannins reflects this soil type. It is always one of my favorite Marsannays, succulent and purely fruited, but with the structure to age a bit. Delicious, and as I previously mentioned a favorite bottling amongst one of my favorite producers in Domaine Bart.
Price: $26.99 Add To Cart

2010 Langoa-Barton, St-Julien
By: Steve Bearden | Review Date: 7/20/2017 | Send Email
This is big, bold and balanced with a middle of sweet cherries, cola, spice and a long, ripe finish. With decanting this is delicious today but will only get better.

2014 Léoville-Barton, St-Julien
By: Steve Bearden | Review Date: 7/20/2017 | Send Email
This is expressive and bright with violet aromas and spicy and crunchy berry fruit that is already gaining complexity. There is great balance and freshness to this big, dry wine that is already hard to resist.

2015 Domaine Bart "Les Finottes" Marsannay Rouge
By: Joe Manekin | Review Date: 7/20/2017 | Send Email
Domaine Bart makes no less than nine, count them nine, Marsannays! And I'm excited that in this great vintage, we have them all to show off the differences in site - a true Burgundian lesson in terroir without the need to shell out three digits per bottle. Les Finottes is actually a monopole vineyard - exclusively owned by Domaine Bart - featuring sandy soils and some really old vines (up to 90 years old). A step up in complexity from the straight Marsannay, the wine is big, spicy, woodsy, dark fruited, and structured, with tannins that grip but are ultimately well balanced. The scale and richness of fruit on the nose nearly reminds me of Central Otago, though on the palate, even in this ripe vintage, we are clearly in Burgundy. At under $25, this is a lot of wine, and it should cellar well for another 7-8 years.
Price: $23.99 Add To Cart

2009 La Rioja Alta "Viña Arana" Reserva Rioja
By: Andrew Stevens | Review Date: 7/20/2017 | Send Email
I am definitely a fan of this winery and was excited to get to taste a new one (for me) from La Rioja Alta and I was not disappointed in the slightest. This is one of those bottles that helps to showcase why I like Rioja as a region so much. Bright red fruit notes with plenty of earthy notes. Alternating sweet and savory notes with a lovely mouth feel, I was fortunate to taste this a day after it had been opened and it was screaming good.
Price: $24.99 Add To Cart
JS 94

2012 Reserve de Léoville-Barton, St-Julien
By: Steve Bearden | Review Date: 7/20/2017 | Send Email
The second wine of Leoville Barton is floral and fresh with the same sweet red and dark fruit as the first wine but none of the tannic scale. This has lots of Leoville character in an approachable style and price.
Price: $31.99 Add To Cart
JS 90

2014 Le Murmure de Larcis-Ducasse, St-Emilion
By: Steve Bearden | Review Date: 7/20/2017 | Send Email
The second wine of Larcis Ducasse is fat, sweet and plump with lots of cherry and raspberry fruit, hints of oak and limestone shadings on the finish. This young wine is precocious and already easy to drink.
Price: $29.99 Add To Cart

2013 Aleph Semillon Mendoza
By: Joe Manekin | Review Date: 7/20/2017 | Send Email
Argentina has around 900 remainining hectares of Semillon vines, many of them brought over in the first half of the 20th century. In this case, these 70 year-old vines yield a lovely wine with waxy white fruit and a soft texture. Roberto, whose family hails from Galicia, Spain, suggests serving this delicious white with octopus.
Price: $19.99 Add To Cart

2003 Aleph "Old Vines" Malbec Mendoza
By: Joe Manekin | Review Date: 7/20/2017 | Send Email
This is terrific Malbec, with nearly 15 years bottle age, and therefore a real rarity. Great presence on the palate - dark fruits, graphite and some savory hickory smoke notes as well, but still fresh. The Malbec in this bottle comes from 90 year old vines in the La Consulta district of the Uco Valley. Maybe one of our best deals in serious Argentinian Malbecs.
Price: $39.99 Add To Cart

2010 Aleph Malbec Mendoza
By: Joe Manekin | Review Date: 7/20/2017 | Send Email
Aleph continues to make some of our favorite Malbecs - delicious and often with the added bonus of some extra bottle age. Fruit is sourced from Lujan de Cuyo, the traditional home base for Mendoza wine country's historic bodegas as well as the area containing the largest number of older vineyards. As usual, this bottling is bright and quite tasty, with excellent depth of flavor and texture.
Price: $24.99 Add To Cart

2015 Moulin de la Gardette "Tradition" Gigondas
By: Alex Schroeder | Review Date: 7/20/2017 | Send Email
Always a favorite Rhone blend of mine, this 2015 vintage is remarkably on point! It has those deep brambly, blackberry flavors from 80% Grenache, with the classic garrigue/herb profile often found in great Gigondas. The depth of fruit is well balanced by refreshing acidity from Gigondas’ high eleveation, and the tannins are pronounced but well integrated. This would definitely benefit from some time in the cellar.
Price: $24.99 Add To Cart
RP 90 - 92

2014 Domaine Baud Chardonnay l'Etoile Blanc
By: Keith Mabry | Review Date: 7/20/2017 | Send Email
For those hesitant to explore the wine of Jura, this is the perfect crossover. The Chardonnay is all from Baud's vineyards in l'Etoile. One of the signature points of this region are the tiny fossilized stars found scattered throughout the vineyards. This little stars or "etoile" are from ancient sea urchin or anemone that roamed this prehistoric seabed. The soils are primarily limestone which are perfect for Chardonnay. This is a non-oxidative style, a now very common departure from the traditional oxidative wines of the region. The wine has gorgeous aromas of butter poached pears spiced with nutmeg, clove and cardamom. It is supple on the palate and beautifully balanced in the mouth. It is also an exceptional wine to pair with food. I personally love it with smoked salmon, creamier or medium cheeses and with steamed shellfish. For fans of White Burgundy and California Chardonnay, you will be amazed how close to home this brings you but with its own special Jurassic character.
Price: $16.99 Add To Cart

Domaine Baud "Cuvée Sauvage" Brut Cremant du Jura
By: Keith Mabry | Review Date: 7/20/2017 | Send Email
I have poured this wine for several dinner parties now and it is always a hit! The soils of the Jura are mostly marl and limestone sharing a lot in common with Champagne. This cuvee of Chardonnay and Pinot really explodes on the nose with the essence of spiced pear fruit, candied ginger and biscuity dough. Tight mousse and crisp acidity keep this lively and refreshing on the palate. The "Sauvage" makes an exquisite aperitif but I find it just as enjoyable with food. One of my favorite cocktail party starters is a spiced miso dip with crudites. This goes perfectly!
Price: $19.99 Add To Cart

2015 Clos de l'Anhel "Les Terrassettes" Corbières
By: Keith Mabry | Review Date: 7/20/2017 | Send Email
At my visit to the Millesime Bio Organic Wine Fair this past February, I had a chance to catch up with Sophie and her remarkable wines. Sophie excels with her non-intervention style producing wines reflective of her beautiful terroir in Corbieres all while farming organically. Oh yeah, and she does it all by herself! The 2014 was a rousing success with its polished tannins and lithe structure. The 2015 sits more generously in bottle than the 2014 though. Deeper purple fruit and a more intense perfume on the nose still finds a wine with beautiful polish but more heft and generosity. I expect the 2015 to have a long life ahead of it but it is such a pleasure to drink now.
Price: $16.99 Add To Cart

2007 La Rioja Alta "904" Gran Reserva Rioja
By: Andrew Whiteley | Review Date: 7/20/2017 | Send Email
This wine holds a special place in my heart. I recently returned from a trip to Spain on which my wife and I celebrated our 2nd anniversary with a tremendous meal at Taberna Herrerias in Logrono (at the suggestion of one of our direct import producers, Miguel Merino. Thank you Miguel!). While we typically sought out new wines to try on our trip, this was a special night that called for sure fire wine choices. I was thrilled to see this 2007 vintage on the menu. A stunningly classic wine the 904 Gran Reserva is a perfect example of old school Rioja with a touch of modern sensibilities. The sweet black fruits are pure and bright - full of black cherries and wild plums. But the fruit perfectly complements, never overshadows, the savory bass tones of the wine. There are tons of wet stones and rich healthy compost notes here. The oak integrates perfectly offering vanilla and baking spices. High acidity gives excellent freshness and lift to wine which finishes on long and silky smooth tannins. Everything is in perfect balance now and while there will certainly be lots of development to come, it is likely to remain that way for at least a couple of decades in the cellar. I've added several magnums to my cellar for future celebrations already.

2015 Moulin de la Gardette "Tradition" Gigondas
By: David Driscoll | Review Date: 7/20/2017 | Send Email
Everything about the 2015 Moulin de la Gardette is fabulous, from the gorgeously embossed bottle, to the classy front label, to the enticing aromas of blueberries and violets, to the delicate and intricate flavors on the palate, to the lithe and elegant finish. In summary, this is the perfect bottle of French red wine and it speaks to the beauty of Gigondas and Rhone wines on the whole when they're made with restraint and balance. It's the kind of bottle you bring to a dinner party that impresses the hell out of everyone, but for a price that makes complete sense.
Price: $24.99 Add To Cart
RP 90 - 92

2015 Moulin de la Gardette "Tradition" Gigondas
By: Andrew Whiteley | Review Date: 7/20/2017 | Send Email
It's always special when before you've even stuck your nose in the glass, you're struck by the intense color of a wine. This Gigondas pours with a deep ruby core promising intensity and a pale garnet rim eluding to the delicacy within. The nose does not disappoint. Wild cherries and ripe late summer brambles fill the glass. There is an herbal component to the nose that begs for this to be paired with a roast. On the palate the wine is lively and energetic. Intense purity of fruit combines all that was promised by the color and aroma. Rich ripe berries and herbaceous thyme and sage abound. The tannins are fine and dive into a long graceful finish. A splendid wine that will no doubt continue to showcase it's elegance for years to come.
Top Value!
Price: $24.99 Add To Cart
RP 90 - 92

2015 Domaine Bart Marsannay Rouge
By: Joe Manekin | Review Date: 7/20/2017 | Send Email
Domaine Bart is not only one of my favorite K&L direct import Burgundy domaines, it is amongst my favorite reds of any type in our inventory. The 2015 Marsannay is a good example of the Bart house style in a great Burgundy vintage: succulent fruit, lively/juicy acidity, supple tannins, and an overall feel that is as reflective of place as it is easy to drink. Recently I opened a bottle at home, intending to enjoy it over a couple nights to track the development. After about 15 minutes and a few glasses in, it quickly became apparent that there would be no steady tracking of this wine's evolution. In another 30 minutes, the bottle was empty. I think my wife had a glass while I quickly took care of the rest. My highest recommendation on this wine.
Price: $19.99 Add To Cart

2015 Kalinda Rutherford Cabernet Sauvignon
By: Anthony Russo | Review Date: 7/20/2017 | Send Email
The value here is ridiculous; I will be getting a case for myself to enjoy and see how it comes of age. This is the most fulfilling cab in this price point I have ever encountered. Absolutely delicious to the very last drop. Big, full, and structured. The only downfall being that the bottle is only 750 ml.
Price: $27.99 Add To Cart

2014 Chateau Guiraud "G" Bordeaux White
By: Andrew Stevens | Review Date: 7/20/2017 | Send Email
What an absolutely delightful and refreshing white wine. From the Sauterne house of Guiraud comes a wonderful dry white using 69% Sav Blanc and 31% Semillon. The wine is light and crisp, very clean with a little touch of salinity and excellent driving acid. Bordeaux blanc wines are often overlooked but for those looking for an excellent summer food and party wine this should definitely make the list.

2010 Poggio dell'Otto Brunello di Montalcino Riserva
By: David Othenin-Girard | Review Date: 7/20/2017 | Send Email
Coming across a great Brunello is not hard to do. We've got tons of them. Finding a great riserva is equally simple, if you've got the extra coin to throw at it. But, finding a riserva from a great vintage like 2010 for less than $30 that is absolutely UNHEARD of! It's just not something that happens. A nose of big dark fruit and earthy fresh herbs. Deep and powerful, but not inky. This is serious wine appropriate for anyone looking for a rich red. Grab a decanter and get to it!
Price: $27.99 Add To Cart

2016 Tohu Sauvignon Blanc Awatere Valley Marlborough
By: Ryan Woodhouse | Review Date: 7/19/2017 | Send Email
Tohu is a beautiful example of Awatere Valley Sauvignon Blanc. Many people don't realize that Marlborough is actually quite a large area composed of several quite distinct sub-regions. The Awatere Valley sub-region is cooler and more exposed than most parts;combined its deep river gravel soils this makes for highly aromatic wines, with bright acidity, white floral characters and plenty of zesty fruit. At their worst they can be downright vegetal...think canned asparagus...at their best (as in this instance) they represent an fantastically vibrant, dynamic, distinctive expression of Sauvignon Blanc that can be found no where else on earth. This wine has beautiful ripeness of fruit, juicy mouthwatering acidity and a stony mineral persistence that goes on and on. I'm so happy that folks at Decanter weren't scared to reward such an inexpensive wine with such a huge score (often reserved for much more "prestigious" wines) as I think it's a beautifully made wine that is a dazzling reflection of its place. This will be a staple for many, many people this summer and beyond.
Top Value!

2015 Te Mata "Coleraine" Bordeaux Blend Hawke's Bay
By: Ryan Woodhouse | Review Date: 7/19/2017 | Send Email
They say things come in threes...well the 2013 and 2014 Coleraine both received perfect 100 point scores. The 2015 release now seeks to complete the trio and is definitely flirting with perfection once again. The wine has only been reviewed by a limited number of critics and has already racked up two 98 point scores and two 96s. Chatting with GM / Owner Nick Buck I couldn't resist asking him what was his preference among this trio of back-to-back-to-back magic vintages...he would only answer that many writers, Somms and wine industry folks had raved about the new 2015 release and commented that it probably has more immediate appeal than the two prior vintages. I thought the wine was a classic Coleraine delivering all of what I have come to expect from this iconic release. But in this vintage it seems to have an intensely inky color and a particularly concentrated mid-palate. There is deep, plummy, blackcurrant fruit here but there is also plenty of fine grained, powdery tannins that will assure a long life. The 2015 Coleraine can undoubtedly stand shoulder to shoulder with the best vintages of this prestigious wine and really only time will tell which vintage comes out on top.
Drink from 2020 to 2020

Domaine Pacory "K&L Exclusive - Reserve" Domfrontais Cask Strength Calvados (750ml)
By: Anthony Russo | Review Date: 7/19/2017 | Send Email
Another insane K&L exclusive pricing on a unique and mouthwatering spirit. The high pear percentage of this recipe make a gorgeous contrast to the more typical apple flavors and make this a must try. Growing pears apparently takes a lot of patience, enjoying this takes none.
Price: $39.99 Add To Cart

Domaine Hubert "K&L Exclusive" Pays d'Auge Vieux Calvados (750ml)
By: Anthony Russo | Review Date: 7/19/2017 | Send Email
This was my first time drinking Calvados and instantly fell in love. Apple cider for adults. Distilled in old school, alembic copper stills, I couldn't believe how intense the flavors of cider, brown sugar, and warm apple pie can be found in a spirit at this price.
Price: $29.99 Add To Cart

VING Kale, Lemon Peel, & Cucumber Infused Organic Farm Fresh Vodka (750ml)
By: Anthony Russo | Review Date: 7/19/2017 | Send Email
Didn't think I would find a Vodka I enjoyed (let alone when kale is on the label), but this one really caught me off guard. The kale is infused as opposed to "flavored" and another distillation follows, making the taste subtle and delicate. The cucumber notes really stand out on the palate. This Vodka drinks almost like a super light Gin and would make a great crossover.
Price: $39.99 Add To Cart

2012 Altvs Napa Valley Cabernet Sauvignon
By: Anthony Russo | Review Date: 7/19/2017 | Send Email
Plush and lush! Better hold on to your seat when taking a sip of this powerhouse. The color is deep and attractive with legs for days. Heavy elements cassis, plums, oak, and rough tannins make an extensive wine worthy of the heftiest meal.
Price: Hidden View Price
WE 91

2015 Rustenberg Chardonnay Stellenbosch South Africa
By: Anthony Russo | Review Date: 7/19/2017 | Send Email
A great South African Chardonnay that reminds me of Chablis, but with a touch of light and well integrated oak; no buttered popcorn here. Lemon zesty, lots of granny smith apples, acidic, and sharp aromas make this a great accompaniment to soft cheeses, fatty light meats, or just on its own.
Price: $17.99 Add To Cart
DC 95 VN 91

2014 Domaine Samuel Billaud Petit Chablis
By: Joe Manekin | Review Date: 7/19/2017 | Send Email
There is absolutely nothing "petit" about this impressive, chalky, mineral driven Petit Chablis! Having recently tasted this, alongside a nice line-up of Chablis which featured some 1er Cru as well as several Grand Clos Les Clos which included 2015 Dauvissat, I am happy to report that this not only held its own ,but was one my favorites! Just a wonderful, over achieving bottle from this fantastic producer. Highly recommended.
Price: $19.99 Add To Cart

2015 Porta del Vento Catarratto IGT Sicily
By: Greg St. Clair | Review Date: 7/19/2017 | Send Email
Just like in real estate wine is location, location, location… I wouldn’t have thought much of a Cattaratto coming from this part of Sicily but when I tasted Porta del Vento I was stunned, 2,000 feet of elevation can do a lot. The nose of this wine is superb, layers of ripe pear, spiced with just a bit of earth and garrigue that just pours from your glass. On the palate the wine has weight, density and a real supple richness that is brought to focus by a superb acidity and finishing minerality. The wine has structure, it’s got shoulders it’s powerful but no hint of any wood this wine has grown out of the ground structure, a real wine. The finish is wonderfully exuberant, full of super refreshing, ripe Bartlett pear that goes on and on, sensational wine. Pair this wine with a meatier fish like shark, swordfish or even Halibut.
Drink from 2017 to 2017
Price: $21.99 Add To Cart

Page: 1 2 3 next >>