Staff Favorites

If you’re going to have Robert Parker or Stephen Tanzer over for dinner, selecting a wine they’ve rated highly will be a nice choice. However, when you’re buying wines for yourself, we’d love to see you find wines that match up your unique palate and pocketbook. We have a large staff of friendly and knowledgeable wine professionals that taste hundreds of wines each week. They can put you in touch with bottles that you are likely to love, often at a much lower cost than the highly-rated gems that often see a run-up in price and frequent availability issues. Like any great group of opinionated professionals, our staff has varied tastes themselves. Often our customers will find a particular staff member with a style that corresponds to their own. That concept works extremely well in our retail stores, and this section is our effort to bring you the same online. Don’t get us wrong, we love the highly rated wines from the press and will continue to offer them, but we think you’re missing out if you’re not augmenting those selections with picks from our excellent staff. Here are their favorites. (Click on a name to see their other selections - or to drop them a line.) Cheers!

Reviews

  
Page: 1 2 3 next >>
2015 Felton Road "Bannockburn" Pinot Noir Central Otago (Biodynamic)
By: Kirk Walker | Review Date: 2/25/2017 | Send Email
While this is a blend of most of their "single" vineyard site it shouldn't be over looked. This does what all great blends should do; express the sum of the individual components. It has an expressive forward element like the Cornish and with more of the drive that the Calvert offers. It also expresses a spice element not found in either. The nose is cherry, raspberry and Central Otago spice. It is medium bodied with soft but moderate tannins. Great fruit with a hint of cola spice and a savory edge to the finish. Not a wine to be overlooked.

2015 Felton Road "Cornish Point" Pinot Noir Central Otago (Biodynamic)
By: Kirk Walker | Review Date: 2/25/2017 | Send Email
A dynamic wine that is also sensuous. Almost everything you could ask for in Great Pinot Noir. The nose is high-toned and luxurious with red fruits, blueberries and just a wisp of Central Otago spice. The palate is where this wine shines. The tannins are fine and very polished. It has a long lingering finish. There are layers and layers of fruit with a subtle savory element.
Price: Hidden View Price
BC 97 WS 96

Le Brun de Neuville "Authentique Assemblage" Brut Champagne
By: Muriel Sarik | Review Date: 2/24/2017 | Send Email
We have so many wonderful Champagnes to choose from, that when one stands out I just have to tell everyone about it. The first word that comes to mind when I think of this Champagne is "balance," where all the components are in the right places. This is evolution in a flute. On the nose, the freshness is bright and lovely. It gains some weight after the second sip and becomes creamy on the mid-palate, due to 5 years aging on the lees. Then it has an extra long, intense finish, with a slightly tart aftertaste—as one gets from eating tropical fruit.
Top Value!
Price: $34.99 Add To Cart
WE 90 WS 90

2013 Super Substance "Stoneridge Vineyard" Columbia Valley Cabernet Sauvignon
By: Anthony Gittings | Review Date: 2/24/2017 | Send Email
This is rich and powerful Cabernet Sauvignon. Blackberries, licorice, and cherry notes give way to a full bodied structured wine. Soft tannin and juicy acid are well balanced and integrated. A flinty dry finish helps polish off this outstanding wine.

2014 Mignanelli Central Coast Pinot Noir
By: Andrew Stevens | Review Date: 2/24/2017 | Send Email
Finding good Central Coast Pinot for $20 should be a daunting task, yet our buyer keeps managing to make this happen time and time again. The Mignanelli Central Coast Pinot opens with a touch of savory notes on the nose in addition to the ripe berry notes. There is a lovely core of acid here that balances the wine and helps to keep the ripe red berry notes from being cloying. The finish is rather soft with just a hint of coating tannins, this wine is well worth getting in to.
Price: $19.99 Add To Cart

Le Brun de Neuville "Authentique Assemblage" Brut Champagne
By: Stephanie Vidales | Review Date: 2/24/2017 | Send Email
The Authentique Assemblage from Le Brun De Neuville definitely drinks well above its price. Aged 5 years on the lees, this wine expresses baked apple spice and nutty flavors with fresh acidity resulting in a very well-balanced, delicious bottle of bubbles. For champagne that is made with all estate fruit and lees aging, you can't go wrong for 35 bucks.
Price: $34.99 Add To Cart
WE 90 WS 90

2013 Garlider Grüner Veltliner Alto Adige-Südtirol
By: Greg St. Clair | Review Date: 2/24/2017 | Send Email
Christian Kerschbaumer’s Garlider Estate is in Feldthurns,in the Isarco river valley. He is a “Biologic” producer. It is a natural process and he wants the vines and the soil to do the talking. In his wines you really can feel the sun shining on the vines, and the stones giving a distinct character. This Grüner Veltliner is amazing. The aromas burst from the glass, full of white pepper and hints of alpine flowers. On the palate the wine has a density and weight, and supple richness that warms your mouth. The finish is stunning, powerful and long. This wine can easily age another six to eight years but it is so tasty now it’s hard to imagine waiting. Grüner Veltliner is one of the most versatile wines. It can accompany fish, poultry, pasta, pork or veal. This wine has a vino-lock, a glass plug in the end, my favorite closure. Don’t use a corkscrew!
Price: $24.99 Add To Cart

Wine Club

$17.99

2014 Les Vignerons de Fontès "Prieuré Saint-Hippolyte" Languedoc Rouge
By: Clyde Beffa Jr. | Review Date: 2/24/2017 | Send Email
This small, relatively unknown area of the Languedoc is mostly known for Rosé. Ninety-five percent of the wine made in Fontès is Rosé. If some of the best Rosé comes from this area’s Grenache, Syrah, Mourvèdre or Cinsault (all Rhône varietals) then it stands to reason that those grapes must also provide the raw material to make pretty damn good red wine. That is exactly what the people at Prieuré Saint Hippolyte knew. We have absolutely loved their rosé—it has been our biggest selling rosé for the last few years—and this red is equally good. The 2014 Prieuré Saint Hippolyte Languedoc Rouge is a blend of 75% Syrah and 25% Grenache with aromas of freshly picked blackberries, wild black plums and spicy black pepper notes. The palate is a nice medley of blackberry, plum, and Asian spice notes all framed against supple tannins and racy acidity. There is a touch of minerality on the palate. The finish is smooth and lingering with a nice snap on the end. I think this 2014 is a step ahead of the 2013. Pair this with lamb, pork or a nice flank steak fresh from the grill.
Price: Hidden View Price

Le Brun de Neuville "Authentique Assemblage" Brut Champagne
By: Scott Beckerley | Review Date: 2/24/2017 | Send Email
Lovely lemon meringue nose with baked apples and caramel. Initially, a note of bright acidity in the mouth that segues into toasted nuts, ripe apples, yellow pears and butterscotch. The initial acidity brightens things up a bit and it finishes fleshy and rich and creamy. A great bargain at 35 dollars! Stand well alone or will work well with many main course dishes.
Price: $34.99 Add To Cart
WE 90 WS 90

2014 Domaine Dauliac Cahors
By: Steve Bearden | Review Date: 2/24/2017 | Send Email
This is an earthy, lilac scented wine with crunchy black current fruit, dark cocoa and talc-like tannins on the crisp finish. The dark middle is sleekly textured and graceful in this food friendly and palate refreshing bottle.
Price: $13.99 Add To Cart

2014 Tour St-Christophe, St-Émilion
By: Steve Bearden | Review Date: 2/24/2017 | Send Email
This modern and delicious Bordeaux has a plush and velvety texture with fine, ripe tannins holding everything together on the finish. The entry is toasty and earthy with a vanilla tinged blueberry and blackberry middle of sweet and layered fruit. So easy to drink that you wont have to wait. This property is doing great things.

Michel Arnould "Reserve" Brut Verzenay Champagne
By: Mahon McGrath | Review Date: 2/24/2017 | Send Email
Exceedingly well composed, the tension between the palate’s richness and the countervailing tug of acidity is judged just right. Flavor-wise, there’s some nuttiness, white berry, and waxy fruit, with a wee hint of bolete in back of it all. Texturally, it is quite fine: this is the complete package. My only nit to pick here is the under-the -radar label, but don’t let that deter you from the superlative Champagne underneath it.
Price: $32.99 Add To Cart

2015 Felton Road "Calvert" Pinot Noir Central Otago (Biodynamic)
By: Ryan Woodhouse | Review Date: 2/24/2017 | Send Email
Another deep, dense, brooding Calvert bottling. This wine never really show it's true predigre on release but it's already looking pretty good. Like many great wines of the world as the minutes, hours, days, years tick on by the wine evolves, shape-shifts and continues to amaze. Whilst not having the immediate appeal the Cornish Point always seems to have...if you're in this for the long haul it's often a case of the Tortoise and the Hare.
Drink from 2020 to 2020
Price: $54.99 Add To Cart
BC 96 WS 94

2015 Château d'Epiré Savennières
By: Mahon McGrath | Review Date: 2/24/2017 | Send Email
Best inexpensive Chenin Blanc to cross my lips in awhile! The wine is very dry, with just a sliver of apple and citrus by way of fruit, up against spice, nut oil, saline-minerality, and wax. The acidity is taut like a bow string, and the body is ample, but without any fat.
Price: $17.99 Add To Cart

2004 Bodegas Puelles Gran Reserva Rioja
By: Mahon McGrath | Review Date: 2/24/2017 | Send Email
We’re at the happy point in this wine’s trajectory: it has hit its proper altitude, plateau-ed, and is just cruisin’. The maturity shows in the salty, meaty, saddle-leather and soy sauce flavors. There is bright fruit in there, too, but it doesn’t hold forth loudly, and the wine is dry, spicy, with the tannins and oak influence well integrated into the overall structure. The Puelles Gran Riserva has been a customer favorite for a while now, and if you haven’t assayed a bottle yet, it definitely merits a look!
Price: $19.99 Add To Cart

2015 Felton Road "Cornish Point" Pinot Noir Central Otago (Biodynamic)
By: Ryan Woodhouse | Review Date: 2/24/2017 | Send Email
Cornish Point is always the most seductive of Felton's Pinots. It has an exotic, exuberance in both it's aromatics and expression on the palate. The 2015 release is no exception. Pure fruit - raspberry, ripe plum; briary notes, wild thyme and warm baking spices. The texture is soft and supple yet the wine has plenty of structure and vibrant acidity to assure cellaring potential. We worked hard to secure the best pricing in the country on this very limited bottling, so good in fact we can't list it online!
Drink from 2017 to 2017
Price: Hidden View Price
BC 97 WS 96

2015 Spellbound California Chardonnay
By: Mahon McGrath | Review Date: 2/24/2017 | Send Email
Lemon, tangerine, toast with butter, meets warm spice and nutmeg, and a distinct savor of vanilla custard in this iteration of Spellbound. If you are hankering after a lavish style of Chardonnay at an inexpensive price point, this could be the answer to your desire!
Price: $11.99 Add To Cart

2015 Felton Road "Bannockburn" Pinot Noir Central Otago (Biodynamic)
By: Ryan Woodhouse | Review Date: 2/24/2017 | Send Email
As always this is the workhorse of Felton's stable. The team there are always keen to point out that this shouldn't be considered a "lesser" wine than the single vineyard bottlings despite it's lower price point. The fruit is grown in exactly the same way and the winemaking practices are identical. This wine is a benchmark for the region every year perfectly representing Bannockburn as a truly special place for Pinot Noir.
Top Value!

2012 Bodegas Puelles Crianza Rioja
By: Mahon McGrath | Review Date: 2/24/2017 | Send Email
Quite a Swiss army knife of a wine, this is a great choice when you want a lighter bodied, generalist, everyday red. The dark fruit is natural, and accented with light spice shadings of cumin and black pepper, the tannins are gentle, and the acidity, while present, does not stand up and announce itself. Best of all, there is a “completeness” that is not always to be had at this price point.
Price: $12.99 Add To Cart

2015 Armas de Guerra Mencía Bierzo
By: Heather Vander Wall | Review Date: 2/24/2017 | Send Email
I was a big fan of the 2014 vintage of this wine, but the 2015 is perhaps even more powerful and well-crafted! Armas de Guerra does a great job exploiting the qualities of the Mencia grape. This varietal tends to display darker fruit, with meaty notes and an herbal, savory aspect. The magic that Armas de Guerra works is to present these qualities while maintaining a clean, bright fruit profile, unencumbered by sweet oak or funky notes. It is an easy wine to open and enjoy on its own or with food, and presents a much more complex palate than one would guess at this price point.
Price: $13.99 Add To Cart

2011 Sesta di Sopra Brunello di Montalcino
By: Heather Vander Wall | Review Date: 2/24/2017 | Send Email
Whether you've already laid away some of Sesta di Sopra's 2010 Brunello, or are new to the winery, I highly recommend considering some of the 2011 vintage from Sesta di Sopra. This Brunello is grown on a more elevated site than many in the region, and therefore has a slightly lighter body, with more elegance and less ponderous weight. Nevertheless, the wine has firm structure and a depth of flavors, with some savory development just beginning to show. This wine should develop beautifully over the next decade, so its a good candidate to stock in your cellar.

2015 St-Michael-Eppan "Schulthauser" Pinot Bianco Alto Adige
By: Heather Vander Wall | Review Date: 2/24/2017 | Send Email
I am a devotee of the Pinot Blanc grape in almost all its manifestations, but nowhere does it reach such a perfect balance as in the Alto Adige region of Italy. This is a great example of the lighter, more mineral-driven style of Pinot Blanc, that still retains a certain creamy texture inherent in the varietal. Austere and stony on the nose, the wine displays a round, melon fruit on the palate, with just the right amount of zippy acidity to keep it light and focused. Though lesser known than its cousin Pinot Grigio, the Pinot Bianco grape is well worth exploring, particularly from the region of Alto Adige, where it often performs beautifully.
Price: $21.99 Add To Cart
JS 91

2014 Domaine de Verquière Rasteau
By: Heather Vander Wall | Review Date: 2/24/2017 | Send Email
Domaine de Verquiere consistently over-delivers in all their wines, but this 2014 Rasteau bottling strikes me as exceptional for its excellent balance. Verquiere tends to have a more delicate touch to their wines, using mostly older barrels, and harvesting the fruit before its sugars reach too high a degree. The wine is therefore elegant and poised, with a medium to lighter body that highlights the more feminine side of the Grenache grape, though the use of some Syrah in the blend adds a more vibrant, spicy kick as well.
Price: $14.99 Add To Cart

2014 Powell & Son GSM Barossa Valley South Australia
By: Kirk Walker | Review Date: 2/24/2017 | Send Email
This wine forced me to reevaluate my take on this blend from Australia. I have always enjoyed the wines but more often than not they are good reds with some complexity and while I enjoyed them rarely have I found myself thinking about how all the varietal work together. This wine had me jumping from layers of fruit and left me asking, Syrah? Mataro? Is that spice Grenache? What starts the flavor party? I love that you can taste and perceive the transitions. Delicious and intriguing one of my favorite wines of the year so far.
Price: $39.99 Add To Cart
RP 93

2014 Powell & Son "Loechel Vineyard" Shiraz Eden Valley South Australia
By: Kirk Walker | Review Date: 2/24/2017 | Send Email
This is a show stopper. A head turner. "what was I just say....?" This wine will go toe to toe with the best Shiraz/Syrah in the store. Dark, rich, complex, fantastically textured and a long, long finish.
Price: $69.99 Add To Cart
RP 97

2014 Powell & Son Shiraz Barossa Valley South Australia
By: Kirk Walker | Review Date: 2/24/2017 | Send Email
Barossa Shiraz is something that has to be tip toed around sometimes. There can be too much baggage for some people, understandable. This is a wine that is boisterous and exuberant but it is not over the top. It is that last part which has been the problem. Most people really like rich dark fruits. Most people like spice. Some people even like a little tapenade in their wine. This wine has plenty of the former and a respectable amount of the later two. Medium tannins and the secret ingredient, enough acidity to tie everything back together. This is the wine to reacquaint you with Australian Shiraz.
Price: $24.99 Add To Cart
RP 91

2014 La Jasse Castel "El Abanico" Pays l'Herault Blanc
By: Heather Vander Wall | Review Date: 2/24/2017 | Send Email
This is a very serious white wine, built more like a red in some ways, and an excellent candidate for pairing with richer dishes. Winemaker Pascale Riviere takes small parcels of Grenache Blanc, Chardonnay, Roussanne, Carignan Blanc, Petit Manseng, and Chenin Blanc and co-ferments the juice, creating a very complex wine. The wine displays multiple layers of aromas, and a full-bodied, almost honeyed weight on the palate, which is supported by excellent tangy acidity and a textured, lees-y feel, giving way to a very long finish.
Price: $29.99 Add To Cart

2014 Powell & Son Shiraz Barossa Valley South Australia
By: Stefanie Juelsgaard | Review Date: 2/24/2017 | Send Email
Powell & Son has become a standout in Barossa for its classic Shiraz style with an elegant and refined twist. While there is the beautiful fruit quality the sunny climate of Barossa is known for in this wine, it is in no way overly rich or ripe due to the structure and restrained winemaking style of this family winery. The excellent farming techniques ensure this Shiraz is picked early enough to retain acidity to balance out the succulent fruit. One of my favorite examples of Shiraz from this area, it has become the new standard for Barossa.
Price: $24.99 Add To Cart
RP 91

2014 Powell & Son GSM Barossa Valley South Australia
By: David Driscoll | Review Date: 2/24/2017 | Send Email
This is another dynamo from our newly acquired Powell & Sons portfolio. The GSM is like a symphony of roasted meats, dark concentrated berry fruit, and peppery spice with rich and silky mouthfeel accented by dusty tannins and hints of earth on the finish. I can't say enough good things about all the Powell wines, but this one is the most seductive on the nose and palate. There's a lot going on and by the time I've satiated my thirst for more I'm finding the bottle is close to empty. A gangbuster of a GSM blend, pure and simple.
Price: $39.99 Add To Cart
RP 93

2014 Powell & Son "Loechel Vineyard" Shiraz Eden Valley South Australia
By: David Driscoll | Review Date: 2/24/2017 | Send Email
I'll admit that I'm a little late to the Aussie renaissance, but now that I'm here at the party I'm going to talk loudly. If you're not looking at the Southern Hemisphere for wine value right now, you're definitely missing the boat, especially with our direct import pricing on wines like Powell & Son. The "Loechel Vineyard" shiraz stands toe-to-toe with stalwarts like Yarra Yering and Rockford Basket Press as one of the best and most complex expressions of Aussie syrah I've ever tasted. It's a whirlwind of dark fruit, exotic spice, minerals, and cocoa, but it's never too much or over the top. Dave Powell became a legend during his stint at Torbreck. This wine will only elevate his status as a top winemaker in the world.
Price: $69.99 Add To Cart
RP 97

2014 Powell & Son Shiraz Barossa Valley South Australia
By: David Driscoll | Review Date: 2/24/2017 | Send Email
As an advocate for all alcoholic specialties, I'm a big believer in understanding the essence of any particular style before criticizing it. I have to admit that I thought I understood the nature of all Barossa Valley shiraz years ago after getting hit over the head with high alcohol, big jammy fruit, and loads of sweetness. "This wine just isn't for me," I remember thinking. My colleague Ryan Woodhouse, our buyer for Australia, has enlightened me over the last few years however and forced me to rethink some of my former prejudices. The Powell & Son Barossa shiraz is definitely big and powerful, but at no point is it out of balance of heavy-handed. In fact, it's deeply-concentrated, explosive, and lush on the palate with gorgeous aromatics and plenty of meaty undertones. "This is what REAL Barossa shiraz should taste like," Ryan would go on to say. Now I've changed my tune completely. The Powell & Son wines offer bold flavors and incredible complexity to any wine drinker. Fans of zinfandel or smoky syrahs will want to grab a few of these. They're at the apex of the category in my humble opinion.
Price: $24.99 Add To Cart
RP 91

2013 Super Substance "Northridge Vineyard" Wahluke Slope Merlot
By: Anthony Gittings | Review Date: 2/24/2017 | Send Email
. This is a great Merlot for California Merlot drinkers. Big plum, cherries and savory herbs jump out at first glance. A full bodied and powerful wine that packs it full of richness. Juicy acid play perfectly with earth tones, currants, and blackberries. A long finish makes this a perfect accompaniment to hearty meats, grilled mushrooms or just good company.

2014 Mignanelli Central Coast Pinot Noir
By: Anthony Gittings | Review Date: 2/24/2017 | Send Email
This is outstanding $20 Pinot Noir. When people talk about a wine over-delivering, this is what they are talking about. Dark cherries, cola, rhubarb, are all wrapped in a soft bed of rose petals. Soft cedar notes play perfectly with opulent and rich fruit, a touch of cocoa and coffee give this wine a long lingering finish.
Price: $19.99 Add To Cart

2014 Mignanelli "Nelson Family Vineyard" Santa Cruz Mountains Pinot Noir
By: Anthony Gittings | Review Date: 2/24/2017 | Send Email
This was the first time I've tasted this Pinot Noir and I was very impressed. Delicious cherries and fresh savory herbs are prominent on the nose. Tart acid, red beets, and sage fill the palate while supple clean wood is softly integrated. This is exceptional Pinot Noir coming out of Santa Cruz Mountains.
Price: $29.99 Add To Cart

2010 Antech "Grande Cuvée Oublié" Cremant de Limoux
By: Heather Vander Wall | Review Date: 2/24/2017 | Send Email
This is a new project for an old favorite producer! Antech's "Grande Cuvee Oublie" is literally a "forgotten" wine, as the title suggests. In other words, this wine has been left to age on the lees for almost 6 years, a very unusually long time for a Cremant de Limoux. The result is a lovely, full, creamy texture, with plenty of weight and more autolytic characteristics than is common in these wines. That said, the wine still retains very open, floral and fruit tinged aromas which carry through to the palate. Overall, an incredibly complex and beautiful wine for the price!
Price: $17.99 Add To Cart

Le Brun de Neuville "Authentique Assemblage" Brut Champagne
By: Jeff Garneau | Review Date: 2/24/2017 | Send Email
La Maison Le Brun de Neuville is one of the top producers in the Côte de Sézanne. This lesser known region of Champagne is sometimes dismissed as merely a southward extension of the Côte des Blancs, but to do so is to ignore the unique character and exceptional quality of these wines. The Le Brun de Neuville Authentique Assemblage is aged under cork for five years, a practice that requires manual disgorgement using a centuries old technique. The result is Champagne that is rich in style with an ultra-fine bead, opulent yet focused, creamy in texture yet very fresh and lively. Rarely available in the US, don’t miss the chance to sample the best of this remarkable region.
Price: $34.99 Add To Cart
WE 90 WS 90

2013 Seven Hills Columbia Valley Cabernet Sauvignon
By: Andrew Stevens | Review Date: 2/24/2017 | Send Email
Last years vintage of this was one of my favorite go to wines for people looking for serious cab that was not going to cost them $50-$100. Having just tasted the new vintage I can continue to strongly recommend them to anyone seeking good Cabernet. The 2013 vintage is a big, structured vintage with good fruit and chewy tannins. Although this wine is drinking well now, this is one that will age exceptionally well, or needs some decanting time. Drinking a cab with this much length and structure it is almost a shock when I remember that it is $20.
Price: $19.99 Add To Cart
WE 91

2013 Super Substance "Northridge Vineyard" Wahluke Slope Merlot
By: Andrew Stevens | Review Date: 2/24/2017 | Send Email
I am primarily aware of Charles Smith for his high end Syrah under the auspices of K Vintner and his value driven Bordeaux blends (although his newer project Casa Smith is excellent as well). Seeing that we had brought in several cases of the Super Substance label intrigued me, and I was so glad we got to open this wine. Not surprisingly to me, this is a very well done Merlot that captures the dark rich blackberry and plum notes of Merlot without being too sweet. Rather this is a well balanced and soft wine, with plenty of juicy fruit but that does not go overboard in any way.

2013 Thomas Fogarty Santa Cruz Mountains Chardonnay
By: Andrew Stevens | Review Date: 2/24/2017 | Send Email
Santa Cruz has quickly become one of my go to areas for serious (and seriously good) wine here in California. Although I am most familiar with the spectacular offerings from Domain Eden I am always happy to taste some one else'. I have had my eye on Thomas Fogarty, but had not had a chance to taste the Chardonnay until now. I must say I am super impressed. The wine has been allowed to go through malo, but in a very natural way. This gives the wine some weight, smoke, and richness. Due to the elevation though there is plenty of acid here to balance that out. Complex with alternating layers of fruit, oak, minerality, and acid this is a serious offering.

2013 Lincourt "Steel" Sta. Rita Hills Chardonnay
By: Andrew Stevens | Review Date: 2/24/2017 | Send Email
While I love the amazing selection of value wines here at K&L I almost always go perusing through the offerings from France, New Zealand, or Spain hanks to our Direct Import program. So I was somewhat surprised and very pleased when I got to taste this $10 Chardonnay from Lincourt. The wine has a little fruit weight and showcases notes of white stone fruit and apples. There is no oak here so the acid come through really well, more balancing than bracing though and the finish is clean. All in all a perfect little white to throw into a party or drink on a Tuesday night.
Price: Hidden View Price

2004 La Tempérance Prestige, Haut-Médoc
By: Jeff Garneau | Review Date: 2/24/2017 | Send Email
From the portfolio of Bernard Magrez, owner of Chateau Pape Clement in Pessac-Leognan. While it might be too much to suggest that there is a "Magrez" style, it is true that many of his wines adopt a "take no prisoners" approach, combining toasty oak with a certain generosity of fruit. This 2004 Ch. La Temperance, Haut Medoc is no exception. There is a hint of age beginning to emerge on the nose here, with savory truffle notes combining with hints of roasted coffee. Plenty of sweet, ripe red and black fruits on the palate but with good underlying structure. The bright acidity and firm tannins are evident. A typical if slightly modern style Bordeaux to enjoy with tonight's dinner. Decant and enjoy!
Top Value!
Price: $14.99 Add To Cart

2013 Helen's Hill Estate "Old Block Reserve - MV6 Clone" Pinot Noir
By: Kirk Walker | Review Date: 2/24/2017 | Send Email
A dark, broad, deep and brooding nose on this one. Earth, spice and forest floor with subdued dark cherry notes. But Clean! It is something that I didn't realize that I was missing until you find it! Structured on the palate, with tannins and acid that grab and lead you down a delightful trail of earthy, spicy Pinot goodness. The tannins are super fine and polished, friendly but persistent. The acid has just the right amount of bite to it all of which is supported by cool dark fruits. The longer it is opened the more expressive they become. One of my new favorites.
Price: $24.99 Add To Cart
JH 96

2013 Helen's Hill Winery "Range View Reserve - Pommard Clone" Pinot Noir Yarra Valley Victoria
By: Kirk Walker | Review Date: 2/24/2017 | Send Email
High-toned red fruits and berries with lifted spice notes on the nose. The palate is all bright cherries with the faintest dusting of Cacao powder. The abundance of fruit is balanced with light but persisting tannins. The finish is long with lots of sappy fruits and spice. This is just charming, if you like Pinot you have to try this.
Price: $24.99 Add To Cart
JH 96

2015 Helen's Hill Winery "Ingram's Road" Pinot Noir Yarra Valley Victoria
By: Kirk Walker | Review Date: 2/24/2017 | Send Email
Cherries, wild strawberries, subtle spice with a lovely dusting of earth on the nose. Round ripe fruits greet you immediately on the palate, all ripe red berries. A dusting of oak and spice on a clean and easy finish. Way more expressive than any CA Pinot at the same price point.
Price: $14.99 Add To Cart
JH 94

2013 Seven Hills Columbia Valley Cabernet Sauvignon
By: Anthony Gittings | Review Date: 2/24/2017 | Send Email
This is a stellar deal! This Cabernet Sauvignon embodies the terrior and wine making style of Columbia Valley. The nose is loaded with dark berries, pomegranate, and fresh white flowers. Big opulent fruit and powerful earthy tannin makes this perfect for any Cabernet lover. Soft integrated cedar notes help lift the dark fruit and add to this complex wine. For a $20 wine, there is a lot going on in the glass, a real bargain.
Price: $19.99 Add To Cart
WE 91

2015 Calera Mt. Harlan Chardonnay
By: Anthony Gittings | Review Date: 2/24/2017 | Send Email
Another fantastic offering from the folks at Calera. On the nose, fresh pears, honey, stone fruit fill the glass. The palate is delicate, but rich, soft, but round and loaded with crisp apple, creamy lemon meringue and a long beautiful finish. A touch of sandalwood is balanced with perfect minerality to give this wine a fantastic mouth feel. Enjoy!
Price: $39.99 Add To Cart

2013 Thomas Fogarty Santa Cruz Mountains Chardonnay
By: Anthony Gittings | Review Date: 2/24/2017 | Send Email
This is classic Santa Cruz style Chardonnay. A bright and fresh wine that is harmoniously balanced with bright juicy acid, clean fresh fruit and a rich complex body. Not afraid to let the grapes speak for themselves, this embodies the purity of wine making.

2013 Lincourt "Steel" Sta. Rita Hills Chardonnay
By: Anthony Gittings | Review Date: 2/24/2017 | Send Email
What can I say, this is incredible for the money. Fresh lemon peel and hits of sweet orange, first welcome you to the glass. The palate is clean and fresh and full of richness. Fresh herbs and bright lemon acid elevate this wine while the long finish leaves you wanting more. This might be one of the best $10 California Chardonnay's on the shelf. Cheers!
Price: Hidden View Price

2011 Domaine Le Colombier "Cuvée G" Vacqueyras
By: Heather Vander Wall | Review Date: 2/24/2017 | Send Email
For those of you looking for a richer, meatier style of southern Rhone, with some excellent bottle development, this is your wine! Drinking beautifully now with almost six years from the vintage, this wine exhibits deep, smokey aromas with notes of sweet tobacco and dark plum. On the palate, it shows a fuller body, bold dark fruit and rich, game-y notes. The finish is long and full. I would recommend decanting for at least a half an hour to enjoy the full power of this beauty.
Price: $21.99 Add To Cart
RP 91 ST 91

2015 Santa Cristina Pinot Grigio delle Venezie
By: Mike Parres | Review Date: 2/24/2017 | Send Email
This is a mouthful of Pinot Grigio and a wine that has body and is perfectly balanced with zippy acidity and very aromatic, good complexity, length and that subtle elegance that shows muscle and long and flowing finish. It is a little spicy with red apple and melon, and LOTS of minerals on the aftertaste.
Price: $9.99 Add To Cart

Page: 1 2 3 next >>