Staff Favorites

If you’re going to have Robert Parker or Stephen Tanzer over for dinner, selecting a wine they’ve rated highly will be a nice choice. However, when you’re buying wines for yourself, we’d love to see you find wines that match up your unique palate and pocketbook. We have a large staff of friendly and knowledgeable wine professionals that taste hundreds of wines each week. They can put you in touch with bottles that you are likely to love, often at a much lower cost than the highly-rated gems that often see a run-up in price and frequent availability issues. Like any great group of opinionated professionals, our staff has varied tastes themselves. Often our customers will find a particular staff member with a style that corresponds to their own. That concept works extremely well in our retail stores, and this section is our effort to bring you the same online. Don’t get us wrong, we love the highly rated wines from the press and will continue to offer them, but we think you’re missing out if you’re not augmenting those selections with picks from our excellent staff. Here are their favorites. (Click on a name to see their other selections - or to drop them a line.) Cheers!

Reviews

  
Page: 1 2 3 next >>
2015 Domaine Bart "Hervelets" Fixin 1er Cru
By: Alex Pross | Review Date: 7/23/2017 | Send Email
*Barrel Notes* All the Domaine Bart wines were tasted on our annual buy trip from barrel in March 2017. One of my favorite vineyard sites in all of Fixin the "Hervelets" is always a source of top-notch wines. The 2015 vintage has given them the ideal raw material to make a stunning wine. Loaded with energetic red fruits, mineral notes and zesty tannins this beautiful wine is a bit restrained now but will open up marvelously to reveal a beautiful butterfly.
Price: $44.99 Add To Cart

2015 Domaine Bart Chambertin-Clos de Beze Grand Cru
By: Alex Pross | Review Date: 7/23/2017 | Send Email
*Barrel Notes* All the Domaine Bart wines were tasted on our annual buy trip from barrel in March 2017. So much freshly-picked red fruit notes and the openness of this wine catches you off guard. Tons of berry fruit both black and red with lots of spice and a hint of oak. The finish is long and mouth-coating.
Price: $149.99 Add To Cart

2015 Domaine Bart Bonnes Mares Grand Cru
By: Alex Pross | Review Date: 7/23/2017 | Send Email
*Barrel Notes* All the Domaine Bart wines were tasted on our annual buy trip from barrel in March 2017. Wow! Grand Cru red Burgundy for this price? At this quality? Lots of spice, tons of layered red fruits, tight and powerful this is a 20+ year wine.
Price: $129.99 Add To Cart

2015 Domaine Bart "Les Saint Jacques" Marsannay Rouge
By: Alex Pross | Review Date: 7/23/2017 | Send Email
*Barrel Notes* All the Domaine Bart wines were tasted on our annual buy trip from barrel in March 2017. Bright and zesty, this bright and refreshing offering is clearly open and ready for business.
Top Value!
Price: $24.99 Add To Cart

2015 Domaine Bart Fixin
By: Alex Pross | Review Date: 7/23/2017 | Send Email
*Barrel Notes* All the Domaine Bart wines were tasted on our annual buy trip from barrel in March 2017. Nice earthy feel from the first sniff and taste. Notes of menthol, spice and red fruits spring from the glass. This wine has all the size and structure one would expect from the 2015 vintage and is quite a steal at $32.99.
Top Value!
Price: $32.99 Add To Cart

2015 Domaine Bart "Champs Salomon" Marsannay Rouge
By: Alex Pross | Review Date: 7/23/2017 | Send Email
*Barrel Notes* All the Domaine Bart wines were tasted on our annual buy trip from barrel in March 2017. Super spicy, really long on the palate with layer-after-layer of red fruit. Great precision here with a beautiful red strawberry finish.
Top Value!
Price: $34.99 Add To Cart

2015 Domaine Bart "Les Longeroies" Marsannay Rouge
By: Alex Pross | Review Date: 7/23/2017 | Send Email
*Barrel Notes* All the Domaine Bart wines were tasted on our annual buy trip from barrel in March 2017. Classically-styled, a bit leaner than the other offerings this wine has great structure and feel. Deep red cherry fruit and subtle spice mark this age-worthy offering.
Top Value!
Price: $26.99 Add To Cart

2015 Domaine Bart Bourgogne Blanc
By: Alex Pross | Review Date: 7/23/2017 | Send Email
*Barrel Notes* All the Domaine Bart wines were tasted on our annual buy trip from barrel in March 2017. Loaded with bright orchard fruits and hints of lemon creme. Fantastic energy with zippy tannins and good acidity, the finish is amazingly flush with gorgeous fruit accents.
Top Value!
Price: $24.99 Add To Cart

2015 Domaine Bart "Les Echezots" Marsannay Rouge
By: Alex Pross | Review Date: 7/23/2017 | Send Email
*Barrel Notes* All the Domaine Bart wines were tasted on our annual buy trip from barrel in March 2017. A tad tight, lots and lots of red cherry and subtle spice notes dominate this offering.
Price: $26.99 Add To Cart

2015 Domaine Bart "Les Ouzeloy" Marsannay Rouge
By: Alex Pross | Review Date: 7/23/2017 | Send Email
*Barrel Notes* All the Domaine Bart wines were tasted on our annual buy trip from barrel in March 2017. One of the more expansive wines on the palate, great feel on the front with lots of red cherry, cinnamon and crushed rock. This wine slowly unfolds to display nicely layered fruits and energetic tannins.
Top Value!
Price: $23.99 Add To Cart

2015 Domaine Bart "Montagne" Marsannay Rouge
By: Alex Pross | Review Date: 7/23/2017 | Send Email
*Barrel Notes* All the Domaine Bart wines were tasted on our annual buy trip from barrel in March 2017. Lots of red cherry and cinnamon here with crunchy acidity and zesty tannins.
Top Value!
Price: $27.99 Add To Cart

2015 Domaine Bart "Grandes Vignes" Marsannay Rouge
By: Alex Pross | Review Date: 7/23/2017 | Send Email
*Barrel Notes* All the Domaine Bart wines were tasted on our annual buy trip from barrel in March 2017. Strong entry-level offering, if you're looking for a great introduction to Domaine Bart and to Marsannay Rouge then this is the wine for you. Lots of red fruits and cinnamon notes sprinkled throughout this energetic red.
Top Value!
Price: $24.99 Add To Cart

2015 Domaine Bart "Clos du Roy" Marsannay Rouge
By: Alex Pross | Review Date: 7/23/2017 | Send Email
*Barrel Notes* All the Domaine Bart wines were tasted on our annual buy trip from barrel in March 2017. Probably the best wine of the Domaine Bart line-up, the "Clos du Roy" displays amazing precision, with gorgeous high-toned red fruits and the perfect synthesis of fruit, acidity and tannins. This wine cuts straight to your taste-buds and creates a mouthwatering feel.
Top Value!
Price: $32.99 Add To Cart

2015 Domaine Bart Bourgogne Rouge
By: Alex Pross | Review Date: 7/23/2017 | Send Email
*Barrel Notes* All the Domaine Bart wines were tasted on our annual buy trip from barrel in March 2017. Lots of easy-drinking red cherry fruit. Bright, zippy and fresh with great energy and lift. A great blend of multiple Marsannay fruit sources.
Top Value!
Price: $19.99 Add To Cart

2015 Domaine Bart "Les Finottes" Marsannay Rouge
By: Alex Pross | Review Date: 7/23/2017 | Send Email
*Barrel Notes* All the Domaine Bart wines were tasted on our annual buy trip from barrel in March 2017. Extraordinarily smooth, displays bright red fruit with excellent clarity and lift. Should flesh out nicely well for the next 6-10 years.
Top Value!
Price: $23.99 Add To Cart

2010 Josephine de Boyd, Margaux
By: Clyde Beffa Jr. | Review Date: 7/22/2017 | Send Email
The Josephine de Boyd is one of the second labels of Chateau Boyd Cantenac along with Jacques Boyd. An elegant 2010: feminine style with some violets on the nose and red fruit flavors. We carried the Jacques and sold out quickly a year ago.
Drink from 2017 to 2017
Price: $29.99 Add To Cart

2009 Puygueraud, Côtes de Francs
By: Clyde Beffa Jr. | Review Date: 7/22/2017 | Send Email
“Violets and blackberries with hints of spices on the nose. Full body, with soft and velvety tannins and a juicy finish. Drink now or hold. Always an excellent value.” JS I love this wine—sweet and lovely, a bit modern and 100% delicious. Nicolas Thienpont is the great winemaker here. I agree with James.
Drink from 2017 to 2017
Price: $19.99 Add To Cart
JS 92 RP 90

2014 Poujeaux, Moulis
By: Clyde Beffa Jr. | Review Date: 7/22/2017 | Send Email
I love Poujeaux in almost any vintage. One of the better values in all of Bordeaux. This 2014 has plenty of cassis aromas and flavors. Quite sweet on the palate and a lingering finish. At under $30 it is a steal.
Drink from 2017 to 2017

2014 Haut de Poujeaux, Haut-Médoc
By: Clyde Beffa Jr. | Review Date: 7/22/2017 | Send Email
Poujeaux has at least two second wines—Salle de Poujeaux and this one. We have carried both and have found no difference in the quality. Clyde's notes: Toasty, oaky aromas. After decanting the wine opens up to a red fruit forward beauty. This wine is SO good to enjoy now.
Drink from 2017 to 2017
Price: $18.99 Add To Cart

2014 Beaumont, Haut-Médoc
By: Clyde Beffa Jr. | Review Date: 7/22/2017 | Send Email
I always love this elegant wine made by the Beychevelle team. Pretty red fruit aromas--quite soft on the palate. The folks at the Wine Enthusiast love it also at 92 points.
Drink from 2017 to 2017

2014 Segonzac 'Vielles Vignes', Premieres Cotes de Blaye
By: Clyde Beffa Jr. | Review Date: 7/22/2017 | Send Email
The folks at Chateau Segonzac are sticklers for quality. They hand harvest the fruit from the “old vines” and all the grapes are hand sorted once they get to the winery. The careful selection process at Segonzac helps to create concentrated, full flavored wines. The bright, lush fruit is balanced with plenty of ripe tannins. Old school label and very good tasting wine for under $10.
Drink from 2017 to 2017
Price: $9.99 Add To Cart

2014 Les Tourelles de Longueville, Pauillac
By: Clyde Beffa Jr. | Review Date: 7/22/2017 | Send Email
This wine is really NOT the second wine of Pichon-Baron, but rather a separate plot of mainly Merlot grapes. The wine tends to be more feminine than the Baron and this one is sweet and lovely. Blackberry fruit flavors in a region known for red fruit flavors. Plummy and lush. Decant and enjoy.
Drink from 2018 to 2018
Price: $36.99 Add To Cart

2014 Sansonnet, St-Emilion
By: Clyde Beffa Jr. | Review Date: 7/22/2017 | Send Email
We have carried a few vintages of this property over the years--notably the 2000 and the 2005. A blend of 85% Merlot and 15% Cabernet Franc from the limestone plateau of St-Emilion. This wine offers raspberry and black cherry fruit intermixed with licorice and chalky notes. Very nice wine for the low price.
Drink from 2017 to 2017
Price: $34.99 Add To Cart

2015 Lafont-Fourcat, Bordeaux Rouge
By: Clyde Beffa Jr. | Review Date: 7/22/2017 | Send Email
A lot of wine for under $10 and from the great 2015 vintage. Here is a party wine with that tell-tale sweet, ripe 2015 Bordeaux fruit. Great with hamburger.
Drink from 2017 to 2017
Price: $9.99 Add To Cart

2015 Mauvais Garçon "Bad Boy" Bordeaux
By: Clyde Beffa Jr. | Review Date: 7/22/2017 | Send Email
Here come the great Right Bank 2015s. This bad boy is bright and lively--a great buy for $15. This 50,000-bottle cuvee of 100% Merlot, coming largely from Fronsac, is fashioned by Jean-Luc Thunevin, the bad boy of St-Emilion. It is a new wave style wine--fresh and spicy with some oak evident. The bad boy refers to Robert Parker they say, not Mr Thunevin.
Drink from 2017 to 2017
Price: $15.99 Add To Cart

2014 Fleur de Pedesclaux, Pauillac
By: Clyde Beffa Jr. | Review Date: 7/22/2017 | Send Email
Tasted on our April 2017 Bordeaux trip. Spicy, peppery nose and flavors. A bit modern, but solid and extremely well-balanced. The second wine of Pedesclaux, and this property is really making outstanding wines. The north Medoc wines in 2014 are outstanding.
Drink from 2017 to 2017
Price: $27.99 Add To Cart

2010 Bois-Malot, Bordeaux Supérieur
By: Morgan Laurie | Review Date: 7/22/2017 | Send Email
Who says a good Bordeaux has to cost an arm and a leg! 2010 was a good all around vintage for Bordeaux lending structure and power to the wines. This wine is a fantastic value and shows especially well with a little air. There is a nice balance of dark, rich fruit, freshness and earth. At the price point this wine is at, buy one for your next steak and keep one to open in the future and see how it evolves over the next few years.
Price: $10.99 Add To Cart

2016 Montmassot Picpoul de Pinet
By: Morgan Laurie | Review Date: 7/22/2017 | Send Email
If you're like me and look forward to $1 oyster day at your local haunt, this is the wine you want to bring for your next visit. This incredibly crisp white is from the Languedoc in Southern France, bordering the Mediterranean. Along with the influence of cooling sea breezes, the varietal itself retains a mouthwatering acidity despite growing in a warmer climate. It's racy, fresh, citrusy and loaded with minerality. They are meant to be drunk young, so pick this up for your next seafood feast and drink quickly!
Price: $9.99 Add To Cart

2016 Franck Millet Sancerre Blanc
By: Morgan Laurie | Review Date: 7/22/2017 | Send Email
The wines of Domaine Franck Millet are always elegant and this is no exception. Millet is a third generation grower/producer working in the highly acclaimed village of Bue in Sancerre. On the nose, there are notes of under-ripe stone fruit, lemon and grapefruit zest and tons of minerality. Millet forgoes malolactic fermentation, preserving the zippy quality of this Sancerre. It has great acidity but also has a rounder palate due to a regular stirring of the lees for a period of three weeks to give this wine some nice roundness and body. This would be a well-suited partner for a salad with chicken and goat cheese.
Price: $16.99 Add To Cart

2007 Tronquoy-Lalande, St-Estèphe
By: Clyde Beffa Jr. | Review Date: 7/22/2017 | Send Email
A great value property run by the Montrose people. We love 2007 like 1997, but 2007s are better. Red berries, licorice, flowers and spices on the nose. Supple and sweet.
Drink from 2017 to 2017
Price: $27.99 Add To Cart

2012 Tour Léognan , Pessac-Léognan
By: Stefanie Juelsgaard | Review Date: 7/22/2017 | Send Email
I was very happy when I found myself lucky enough to be handed a bottle of this wine to try. It shows a good amount of soft fruit and the tannins are present, but not overwhelming or harsh. I found it to be very approachable now, which is not always the case with Bordeaux only 5 years old. It has many of the Cabernet characters I look for and I would definitely turn to it for a steak dinner any night of the week, especially at this price point.
Top Value!
Price: $19.99 Add To Cart

2014 Seghesio "Cortina" Dry Creek Valley Zinfandel
By: Christina Stanley | Review Date: 7/22/2017 | Send Email
This highly rated Zinfandel is mouthwatering, luscious and clean, with a thread of gorgeous acidity. The fruit is grown in Chen Vineyard in Dry Creek Valley, which is known for gravelly soil and breezes that contribute to the high-toned red fruit on the palate. Notes of juicy raspberry, grilled Asian plum, nectarine and blackberry waft in and out, and with its medium-bodied, yet condensed and vibrant mouthfeel, you'll want more than just one glass.
Price: $34.99 Add To Cart
WS 94 RP 90

2015 Chateau Vitallis Macon-Fuissé
By: Morgan Laurie | Review Date: 7/22/2017 | Send Email
Chateau Vitallis is an estate known for old vines, some of which are over 65 years old. The Chardonnay vines for this Macon Fuisse are 35 years old and grow on limestone rich soil, a preferable growing partner for Chardonnay. Vitallis utilizes natural fermentation in stainless steel and matures the wine on its fine lees for 6 months to preserve the fruit character and freshness. The use of oak is nuanced and provides a delicate toasty aroma and soft, round palate. It smells rich and complex like roasted apples, Meyer lemon curd, and crushed seashells. This wine is really lovely and far exceeds its extremely reasonable price point.
Price: $16.99 Add To Cart

Wyoming Whiskey "Private Stock" K&L Exclusive Barrel Strength Single Barrel Straight Bourbon Whiskey (750ml)
By: David Othenin-Girard | Review Date: 7/22/2017 | Send Email
I've enjoyed the Wyoming Whiskey and now count them as one of the best of the recent craft whiskey boom. They sent us many samples to try and while all were interesting NONE had the incredible depth and maturity of this special cask. A massive nose of freshly shucked corn, candied apricots, lacquer box and Tahitian vanilla. This one loves air and with some time you get some real flavor development. Fresh cacao nibs, freshly cut pine, barrel spice, walnuts and honey. On the palate, tons of sweet corny grain at the front. More candied stone fruit and. The texture is rich but lifted. A twinge of spice runs down the mid palate to keep it from being cloying. The finish is dry and brings big barrel spice, soft old drift wood and a slight earth leafy forest floor on the finish. While I'm extremely tempted to compare this directly to some of our Weller picks, we're really treading into new ground here. A triumph of a first showing from our friends in Kirby.
Price: $54.99 Add To Cart

2014 De Braude, Haut-Médoc
By: Clyde Beffa Jr. | Review Date: 7/22/2017 | Send Email
Owned by Château Mongravey of Margaux, this estate is in Macau in the southern Médoc. The wine is richly fruity, firmly tannic with both wood and fruit tannin. It is dark, dense and complex, a ripe wine that has a great future. Try it now after one hour decanting.
Drink from 2017 to 2017
Price: $18.99 Add To Cart
WE 92 RP 90

2014 Cantemerle, Haut-Médoc
By: Clyde Beffa Jr. | Review Date: 7/22/2017 | Send Email
Bright and racy, with red currant and plum fruit. Cantemerle since the year 2000 has been known for one of the best Bordeaux values. Their 2006 and 2010 are legendary. This 2014 is such a great value. With decanting you can enjoy now with that barbecued steak.
Drink from 2017 to 2017

2015 Te Mata "Coleraine" Bordeaux Blend Hawke's Bay
By: Kirk Walker | Review Date: 7/21/2017 | Send Email
Coleraine is the answer to the request, "I want a New World wine" (that is implied because this request occurs while standing in the Domestic Cabernet section) with richness and fruit but with restraint and complexity (they are looking at the Bordeaux section). This wine has it all. It is a great wine. Never mind that it is priced at the entry level for high-end wine from both of those regions. Hawkes Bay is the great Cabernet family terroir that most people do not know. They should, especially if they Cabernet based wines from K&L. This will not disappoint, in fact, it will encourage more excursions to this often-overlooked region.

2011 L'Arrosée, St-Emilion
By: Clyde Beffa Jr. | Review Date: 7/21/2017 | Send Email
I actually liked this wine better than their 2010 or 2012 (last vintage at Arrosee). It has fine structure and plenty of blackberry and spice on the nose and palate.
Drink from 2017 to 2017

2015 Kalinda Rutherford Cabernet Sauvignon
By: Christina Stanley | Review Date: 7/21/2017 | Send Email
The newest Kalinda Rutherford Cabernet is reflective of the 2015 vintage in Napa, which was defined by a warmer growing season and an early harvest. This led to low yields of very high quality fruit with great power and concentration. This elegant Cabernet is rich and condensed, with silky, dusty tannins and classic Rutherford aromas and flavors of bright Bing and black cherry, tobacco leaf and allspice. The quality and drinkability of this wine is undeniable, and finding a Rutherford Cabernet at this price point is next to impossible.
Price: $27.99 Add To Cart

2016 Tohu Sauvignon Blanc Awatere Valley Marlborough
By: Stefanie Juelsgaard | Review Date: 7/21/2017 | Send Email
I picked up a bottle of this and had it over the weekend and it was the perfect choice for the warm California summer we have been having. It was incredibly bright and fresh and had super juicy tropical fruits. The minerality and acidity really brought it to life and the bursting fruit quality smoothed it out and made it incredibly easy drinking. It's a smashable wine, but also a very interesting one at the same time. A great NZ Savvy, perfect for warm summer nights. Loved it!
Top Value!

2016 Les Vignerons de Fontès "Prieuré Saint-Hippolyte" Languedoc Rosé
By: Thomas Smith | Review Date: 7/21/2017 | Send Email
When you taste a lot of rosés, you start to discover that many end up being forgettable. It's clean, it's dry, it's fresh--end of story. Not this one. It goes out of its way to be bigger and fruitier than every other rosé on the block. With the roaring aromatics coming out of this glass I totally would have expected a dull, flabby wine. But instead there's this beautiful acid profile that is refreshing and invigorates the fruit profile. At $10 this is a total standout on the rosé shelf.
Price: $9.99 Add To Cart

2012 Altvs Napa Valley Cabernet Sauvignon
By: Mari Keilman | Review Date: 7/21/2017 | Send Email
​​​I can still remember the first time I tasted Merus. It was over 12 years ago but the flavor profile and texture were so unique and distinguished that I can still easily recall it to this day. In fact it was the rich, unctuous, full-bodied texture that distinctly stuck out in my mind. And when I tasted the second label of Merus, Altvs, I was immediately taken aback at how they were able to achieve the same dense, plush, over-the-top silky texture that you get in Merus, at a quarter of the cost! The Altvs Napa Valley Cab is indulgent, decadent and incredibly hedonistic. The great thing about this wine is that you can revel in feeling obscenely over-self-indulgent without feeling it in the pocketbook!
Price: Hidden View Price
WE 91

2015 Moulin de la Gardette "Tradition" Gigondas
By: Thomas Smith | Review Date: 7/21/2017 | Send Email
Moulin De La Gardette has been one of my most reliable "you have to try this bottle" wines. It's always shockingly good , beautifully expressive, and totally delicious. The vintage really takes this wine to a whole new level. The nearly perfect conditions in 2015 have pushed one of our most reliable producers to new heights. Gorgeous fruit, excellent concentration, and intensely structure make this a totally serious wine for both the dinner table and the cellar.
Price: $24.99 Add To Cart
RP 90 - 92

2012 Tour Léognan , Pessac-Léognan
By: Clyde Beffa Jr. | Review Date: 7/21/2017 | Send Email
From the Perrin family of Carbonnieux and Haut Vigneau fame.Very nice minerally wine with soft, round tannins and plenty of Cabernet fruit on the palate.
Drink from 2017 to 2017
Price: $19.99 Add To Cart

2012 Plaisance "Cuvee Alix" Premieres Cotes de Bordeaux
By: Clyde Beffa Jr. | Review Date: 7/21/2017 | Send Email
Fabulous value red. Aromas of tobacco leaves, roasted herbs, red and black currants, and assorted berry fruit emerge from this elegant, mid-weight blend of 75% Merlot, 20% Cabernet Sauvignon and 5% Cabernet Franc.
Drink from 2017 to 2017
Price: $14.99 Add To Cart

2009 Moulin du Cadet, St-Emilion
By: Clyde Beffa Jr. | Review Date: 7/21/2017 | Send Email
I can’t get enough of these 2009s-another one has just arrived. We loved this wine in the early ‘70s and it has reappeared. We love it again. Elegant, ripe, plumy and totally satisfying wine to enjoy now.
Drink from 2017 to 2017
Price: $29.99 Add To Cart

2014 Domaine Baud Chardonnay l'Etoile Blanc
By: Christina Stanley | Review Date: 7/21/2017 | Send Email
This special Chardonnay from Domaine Baud is named for the star shaped Vineyards in the Jura which supply It's fruit, but also for the star shaped, fossilized marine organisms that can be found in the soil, which provide dimension and depth in the wine. If you are new to the white wines of Jura, this is a wonderful place to start. The palate is full bodied, yet fresh and with vibrant acidity, and without oxidation. There is a wonderful concentration of flavor in this wine, with aromas and flavors of lightly spiced poached pear, lemon peel, and briny, sensual minerality.
Price: $16.99 Add To Cart

2010 Poggio dell'Otto Brunello di Montalcino Riserva
By: Alex Schroeder | Review Date: 7/21/2017 | Send Email
Honoring the legend of the 2010 vintage in Montalcino, this dynamic Brunello vastly outperforms its modest price point. I am three days into this bottle and this Sangiovese is belting out the high notes! The intro showcases ripe flavors of Maraschino cherries, plums and cola berries, which bridge beautifully into tertiary characteristics like dried cranberries, aged leather and savory herbs. It is truly lyrical! The tannins and acid are firm, but are beginning to relax. Another decade of age will enhance this wine. You will be well-off opening this bottle a few hours before drinking time; there is a boisterous wine inside that deserves a warm up before the show begins.
Price: $27.99 Add To Cart

2015 Andre Ostertag "Fronholz" Riesling Alsace (Biodynamic)
By: Ryan Woodhouse | Review Date: 7/21/2017 | Send Email
A stunning wine that transcends boundaries of varietal and place. This wine has such ethereal power and shimmering energy on the palate. Stunning aromatics of spiced pear, alpine flowers, bursts of citrus, jasmine and white peach. The palate is tactile and concentrated but so elegant and pure; the pristine fruit inflected with fascinating minerality and infinite length. One of the finest Rieslings I have tasted from anywhere on the planet at any price.
Price: $39.99 Add To Cart
WE 96 RP 93

2011 Mount Edward Estate "Muirkirk Vineyard" Pinot Noir Bannockburn Central Otago
By: Alex Schroeder | Review Date: 7/21/2017 | Send Email
This Pinot is loaded with flavors, depth, personality and place. The vineyard of origin is at a very high mountainous elevation in Central Otago, which is quite cold, but still receives unimpeded sunshine through the thin atmosphere. What results is phenolic magic. It has beautiful, rich fruit flavors of blueberries, cola berries, blackberries and cherries with hints of fresh thyme, dried coriander and wild game — and cool-climate acidity that provides the wine a fresh vigor. This is an absolute steal for a single-vineyard Pinot of this caliber and age.​

Page: 1 2 3 next >>