Staff Favorites

If you’re going to have Robert Parker or Stephen Tanzer over for dinner, selecting a wine they’ve rated highly will be a nice choice. However, when you’re buying wines for yourself, we’d love to see you find wines that match up your unique palate and pocketbook. We have a large staff of friendly and knowledgeable wine professionals that taste hundreds of wines each week. They can put you in touch with bottles that you are likely to love, often at a much lower cost than the highly-rated gems that often see a run-up in price and frequent availability issues. Like any great group of opinionated professionals, our staff has varied tastes themselves. Often our customers will find a particular staff member with a style that corresponds to their own. That concept works extremely well in our retail stores, and this section is our effort to bring you the same online. Don’t get us wrong, we love the highly rated wines from the press and will continue to offer them, but we think you’re missing out if you’re not augmenting those selections with picks from our excellent staff. Here are their favorites. (Click on a name to see their other selections - or to drop them a line.) Cheers!

Reviews

  
Page: 1 2 3 next >>
2013 Cantina Valle Isarco Sylvaner "Sabiona"
By: Greg St. Clair | Review Date: 8/29/2016 | Send Email
This wine was a revelation to me, I’d never heard of this wine and I’ve been a big fan of Valle Isarco’s wines for years. Sabiona is a separate wine Estate it is actually a Benedictine Monastery and has been since 1687 and while the vineyards are truly dramatic they only make 2 wines and only 3,000 bottles of each. A bit of skin contact, 10 months on the lees in tank and then 1 year in the bottle before release. I came across this bottle almost by accident, it was in a box of samples a vendor dropped off for me and I really didn’t think much about it until I opened the bottle and a truly OMG moment happened. The wine has a vibrant floral aromatic but it is so tightly coiled it seems like just a wisp of flowers. On the palate the wine explodes, decidedly more open than the Sabiona Kerner not that it is lush it still shows searing acidity and minerality but couched in a richer denser mouth feel. The flavors are slightly riper pear, with just the slightest hint of tropical fruit. The finish is sensational, powerful and dynamic a really serious wine, try it with Halibut or even better Sea Bass or Grouper, but the wine is powerful enough to hold up to creamy pasta dishes.
Drink from 2016 to 2016
Price: $39.99 Add To Cart

2014 Jacques Bavard Auxey-Duresses "Les Clous" Blanc
By: Kelsey McNellis | Review Date: 8/29/2016 | Send Email
I love the Bourgogne Blanc by the same producer so I had high hopes for this wine and I was not disappointed! Very elegant and well-rounded with light butter and creaminess. Flavors of melon and pear on the palate give this a refreshing aspect too. Delicious wine for under $30 from a great producer.... a must buy!
Price: $29.99 Add To Cart

2015 Pedro Martinez Alesanco Rosado Rioja
By: Kelsey McNellis | Review Date: 8/29/2016 | Send Email
Perfect summer Rose that I will stock up on to take me into the fall for our warmer SF days in September and October. I love the slight creaminess of this rose with hits of mixed berries and strawberries. Not sweet but just enough fruitiness to give it some character and zing. It also is an amazing value for $9.99! Stock up before its gone.
Price: $9.99 Add To Cart

2015 Mt. Hector Sauvignon Blanc Wairarapa
By: Kelsey McNellis | Review Date: 8/29/2016 | Send Email
I honestly can't believe this Sauvignon Blanc is only $8.99. It might be my new favorite one from New Zealand! I love the kiwi and guava fruits on the palate that are not overwhelming. So light, fresh and perfect for Sunday brunch or a seafood and pasta dinner. Great acidity and fruit aromatics. Don't miss this steal!
Price: $8.99 Add To Cart

2013 Cantina Valle Isarco "Sabiona" Kerner
By: Greg St. Clair | Review Date: 8/29/2016 | Send Email
This wine was a revelation to me, I’d never heard of this wine and I’ve been a big fan of Valle Isarco’s wines especially their Kerner. Sabiona is a separate wine Estate it is actually a Benedictine Monastery and has been since 1687 and while the vineyards are truly dramatic they only make 2 wines and only 3,000 bottles of each. A bit of skin contact, 10 months on the lees in tank and then 1 year in the bottle before release. As I started to write this the word etch kept coming to me over and over, it is the ϋber intense minerality and acidity that is scintillating, dramatic and one sensation you’re not going to forget. The delicate nose is full of the pear, white flower, crushed quartz and is awaiting years of aging to release all that it has. On the palate it screams down the center of your tongue, layering stone and salinity in a seemingly endless finish. This wine, scratch that, this place reminds me of wine grown in Austria’s Wachau, where the soil is more often the dominant factor rather than the grape and that’s what I feel here. The finish is surprising it leaves a layer of viscosity on the inside of your mouth, just an insane wine, after writing a couple of hundred words I still feel speechless. I'd decant this wine for an hour or two if you're going to drink it now.
Drink from 2016 to 2016
Price: $44.99 Add To Cart

2014 Clos de la Bonnette "Roches d'Arbuel" Condrieu
By: Jacques Moreira | Review Date: 8/29/2016 | Send Email
Condrieu for me it's one of the most fascinating wines of France, if not always a bargain. That's why I was not only surprised, but actually impressed by our Buyer, Mr. Mabry, to have found in this minuscule appellation a producer for our direct import program. The exotic Viognier grape display its array of flavors in this wine. Jasmine flower, apples, quince, honey, and orange flower, but fear not, it is dry, and definitely never heavy or cloying. If you like Indian curry, do yourself a favor and pair it with this wine, for an elegant dinner party.
Price: $54.99 Add To Cart

2009 Domaine de la Jaufrette Gigondas
By: Jacques Moreira | Review Date: 8/29/2016 | Send Email
One of my favorites producers from the Rhône, always making balanced wines. The Gigondas it's for me the top choice due to its complexity. Dark berries, cocoa, some roasted notes and exotic spices. Very elegant too. Quite a pairing with something like a Sunday Roast or a Coq-au-Vin.
Price: $39.99 Add To Cart

2013 Al-Cantara "Occhi di Ciumi" Sicilia
By: Greg St. Clair | Review Date: 8/29/2016 | Send Email
The nose of this wine is vibrant, saline, and full of lime leaf with crushed oyster shells and hints of peach. That may sound like a rather diverse mélange of aromas but it really works together; on the palate the wine is vibrant, zippy and refreshing replaying the nose but the minerality takes over in a driving, long finish. As the wine finishes it etches a path down your tongue and seemingly exposes more layers of flavor of peach and wispy hints of lime. This is a sensational accompaniment to scampi, vegetable pasta dishes or shellfish.
Drink from 2016 to 2016
Price: $19.99 Add To Cart

2000 Faultline 15 Year Old "K&L Exclusive" Single Barrel Nicaraguan Rum (750ml)
By: Jeffrey Jones | Review Date: 8/29/2016 | Send Email
This a wonderful clean and high quality rum. It is full bodied and rich but not too sweet, with a nice creaminess and a touch of savory. There is no caramel color and added sugar to get in the way of the delicious flavors that this Faultline 15 has to offer.
Price: $59.99 Add To Cart

2010 Domaine de la Jaufrette Côtes-du-Rhone
By: Jacques Moreira | Review Date: 8/29/2016 | Send Email
The Domaine de la Jaufrette always makes those very classic wines that reminds me of how a good Côtes du Rhône used to taste some 15 years ago, i.e. not over the top sweet and ripe. It is balanced with fruit and earthy notes. Nice spices add to the mix. Try pairing this beautiful wine with some spicy meat tacos, or a chile con carne.
Price: $19.99 Add To Cart

1974 Garnheath 42 Year Old "Old Particular" K&L Exclusive Single Barrel Cask Strength Grain Scotch Whisky (750ml)
By: Jeffrey Jones | Review Date: 8/29/2016 | Send Email
The best grain whiskey that I have tasted. It offers nice aromas of vanilla and grain . In the mouth it is soft with subtle vanilla and grain notes. What sets if apart is how complex it is. It is layered with with delicious and joyful flavors that lead to a long finish.
Price: $249.99 Add To Cart

2012 Malartic-Lagravière, Pessac-Léognan
By: Jacques Moreira | Review Date: 8/29/2016 | Send Email
For some reason this wine reminded more of a Margaux than a Pessac. Perhaps because of its beautiful floral aromatics of violets. The palate follows with coffee, blackberry, graphite and spices. It needed decanting to open up all its potential on our tasting, but it did, and it showed beautifully.

2012 Le Thil, Pessac-Léognan
By: Jacques Moreira | Review Date: 8/29/2016 | Send Email
A very friendly wine, with enticing aromatics of cassis, cherries, cocoa, graphite. It is medium body with present but agreeable tannins. Ready to go!

2012 Smith Haut Lafitte Rouge, Pessac-Léognan
By: Jacques Moreira | Review Date: 8/29/2016 | Send Email
A perfect example of the 2012 vintage. Approachable yet complex. Sweet ripe fruit, and yet with stunning minerality. Blueberries, graphite, leather and cocoa, soft tannins and just about one of the most elegant wines of 2012.

2010 Podere Marini "Korone" IGT Calabria Rosso
By: Greg St. Clair | Review Date: 8/29/2016 | Send Email
The nose of this wine really threw me, wild, gamy and full of dense fruit that was alluring and made me put my nose back in several times for more and again more. On the palate the wine shows a richly textured structure, plump yet focused, fleshy yet wiry, and more chocolaty, cassis like flavors come forward but always with a hint of wild brush, dried violets, herb and spice. The finish starts to focus the center of the wine and its lushness fades as more of a vibrant and lifting feeling finish the wine. A superb blend of predominantly Sangiovese, with a hint Merlot and of Cabernet Sauvignon, mostly stainless steel with a very small percentage of barrel aging….Super Tuscan in Calabria? We call it the Silver Snake!
Drink from 2016 to 2016
Price: $19.99 Add To Cart

1981 d'Issan, Margaux (1.5L)
By: Jacques Moreira | Review Date: 8/29/2016 | Send Email
I was very surprised about this wine. I shouldn't be. The pristine condition of the bottles and the often forgotten quality of the best wines of 1981, (which was mostly upstaged by the famous 1982 vintage) should have given me a clue on how not just alive but indeed offering an incredible experience of a perfectly aged Bordeaux. This is an opportunity like no other for the Bordeaux lover. I had it from a regular 750ml bottle, a magnum should offer a even better experience.
Price: $219.99 Add To Cart

1981 d'Issan, Margaux
By: Jacques Moreira | Review Date: 8/29/2016 | Send Email
I was very surprised about this wine. I shouldn't be. The pristine condition of the bottles and the often forgotten quality of the best wines of 1981, (which was mostly upstaged by the famous 1982 vintage) should have given me a clue on how not just alive but indeed offering an incredible experience of a perfectly aged Bordeaux. This is an opportunity like no other for the Bordeaux lover.
Price: $109.99 Add To Cart

2014 Villa Sparina Gavi
By: Greg St. Clair | Review Date: 8/29/2016 | Send Email
The nose is elegant, delicate, with hints of white peach and a classic Gavi minerality. On the palate the wine is medium-bodied, balanced, while supple and round no edginess here. The finish is subtle, yielding and all the while entertaining with hints of white flower and nutmeg. The perfect accompaniment to more delicate fish like Red Snapper or Striped Bass or just by itself on a scorching hot day!
Drink from 2016 to 2016
Price: $13.99 Add To Cart

2012 Les Griffons de Pichon-Baron, Pauillac
By: Jacques Moreira | Review Date: 8/29/2016 | Send Email
A second wine like no other and somehow involved in mystery. Much closer in style to the Grand vin than the other wine, Les Tourelles de Longueville, and coming from the same vineyards, made with the exactly same care as the Baron itself. It has the elegance of the finest Cabernet from Pauillac, which makes the majority of the assemblage, along with an also high quality Merlot. It is hard to say why this is a second wine and not just added to the grand vin... Excellent!
Price: $39.99 Add To Cart
VN 92 WE 91

2010 La Velona Brunello di Montalcino Riserva
By: Greg St. Clair | Review Date: 8/29/2016 | Send Email
I tasted this wine last September before it was officially released this January, it was brooding, angular, gritty and obviously needed time…..well time’s up! Wow, I tasted it yesterday and I was so impressed by the nose that was full of a gamey, mocha like aromatic that was backed up by a combination of umami driven plums and dark chocolate with hints of sandalwood and wild herbs. On the palate it was luxurious, rolling across your palate while at the same time it never gave one the sense of fat or heavy just a velvety texture while the flavors centered on the mocha and sandalwood backed up by the dark chocolate. The finish was long, powerful and beckoned me to drink another glass.. or two. An exceptional value for a Riserva from Montalcino’s best ever vintage!
Drink from 2016 to 2016
Price: $39.99 Add To Cart
JS 93 RP 91

2015 Cantina Terlano "Terlaner Classico" White Blend Alto Adige
By: Alex Schroeder | Review Date: 8/29/2016 | Send Email
This latest release from the cooperative in northeast Italy is a uniquely fun one! Made from 90% Pinot Bianco, supplemented by Chardonnay and Sauvignon Blanc, it has a great weighty texture holding up rich tropical fruit flavors like mandarin and banana with a subtle but satisfying acid finish that spreads evenly over the whole palate. I kept revisiting to make sure I wasn’t missing anything and can confirm - this wine is VERY drinkable! ​
Price: $21.95 Add To Cart
VN 91 RP 90

2015 Cantina Terlano "Terlaner Classico" White Blend Alto Adige
By: Greg St. Clair | Review Date: 8/29/2016 | Send Email
The nose on this wine is so enticing, so inviting I can hardly hold back from just swallowing, while waves of white flower, quince, kiwi, Bartlett pear pour from the glass. On the palate it is the weight and lushness that first grabs your attention but quickly the focus changes to the vibrant acidity and minerality that drive the wine across the full length of the palate. Then the flavors just explode, swirls of exotic fruits mixed with crushed quartz like minerality enveloping your palate. The finish is intense; full of vibrant fruit flavors a lingering minerality and an incredible sensation of viscosity that just doesn’t go away. This blend of grapes isn’t a “new” thing the folks in this village have been making this exact blend of Pinot Bianco, Chardonnay and Sauvignon Blanc for more than 100 years. A sensational wine from the truly sensational 2015 vintage.
Drink from 2016 to 2016
Price: $21.95 Add To Cart
VN 91 RP 90

2012 La Fleur de Boüard, Lalande-de-Pomerol (1.5L)
By: Jacques Moreira | Review Date: 8/29/2016 | Send Email
A very balanced wine. It has a lush fruit profile full of dark berries, plums, and attractive floral aromatics, along with a gentle herbal note that I found extremely enticing. Its velvety tannins adds even more appeal to this lush but definitely not over the top Lalande-de-Pomerol.

2012 Le Plus de La Fleur de Boüard, Lalande-de-Pomerol
By: Jacques Moreira | Review Date: 8/29/2016 | Send Email
Now here's a wine that is not holding back and yet maintains its classy pedigree. Ink purple color it's the first thing that greets you, followed by a nose that has intense blueberries, black berries and very dark cherries, and chocolate. On the palate in addition to all of that also shows an almost roasted meat and herb component. It is rich and definitely full body, but not heavy, and it is drinking beautifully now.

2010 La Velona Brunello di Montalcino Riserva
By: Stephanie Vidales | Review Date: 8/29/2016 | Send Email
Fabulous Brunello from La Velona in 2010! There is plenty of lush dark fruit on the nose and palette along with subtle earthiness, grey tea and vanilla. The best part is it's a direct import for us so you can get your hands on it for a great price. Buy some to drink now, and then some revist in 5-7 years.
Price: $39.99 Add To Cart
JS 93 RP 91

2012 La Fleur de Boüard, Lalande-de-Pomerol
By: Jacques Moreira | Review Date: 8/29/2016 | Send Email
A very balanced wine. It has a lush fruit profile full of dark berries, plums, and attractive floral aromatics, along with a gentle herbal note that I found extremely enticing. Its velvety tannins adds even more appeal to this lush but definitely not over the top Lalande-de-Pomerol.

2015 Domaine de la Réserve d'O "Bilbo" Languedoc
By: Kelsey McNellis | Review Date: 8/29/2016 | Send Email
For just shy of $18 per bottle this wine is a steal. Easy to drink with just about anything, this medium-bodied red has flavors of fresh dark fruit. I taste dark cherries and plum the most with a subtle hint of spice and pepper. Definitely not a fruit overload but just enough to give it some character. I would buy a case to last the whole year, lots of value here!
Price: $17.99 Add To Cart

2015 Claude Riffault "La Noue" Sancerre Rosé
By: John Majeski | Review Date: 8/29/2016 | Send Email
Welcome to the 'Pink Peacock', or at least that's the name I just penned to reflect the ravishing spectrum of rosés on our shelves at this warmest time of year, all colors and tints from delicate rose petal to rapturous sunset competing for your artful eye and palate. I learned long ago to expand my horizons beyond the hue and cry of Provence and Tavel, and discovered one of my favorites from a parcel of limestone in Sancerre farmed by a talented young winemaker named Stephane Riffault. His La Noue rosé is a poised, sophisticated expression of high-toned, prismatic fruit— strawberries, cherries, watermelon, peaches— crisply dry and balanced by perfect acidity and the influence of marl-rich soils. Definitely a must try for all who covet these stylish wines. Time to raise your tints!
Price: $19.99 Add To Cart

2014 Antech "Cuvée Eugenie" Cremant de Limoux
By: John Majeski | Review Date: 8/29/2016 | Send Email
Looking for stylish elegance without spending a small fortune to achieve it? Planning a special party, wedding or retirement and don't feel inclined to spend your golden years paying off the caterer? Here's a suggestion: The sparkling wines of Limoux actually predate those of Champagne by at least a century, when a Benedictine monk in 1531 accidentally created the first brut wine in his cellar. Almost 600 years later, and they're still at it, with the Cuvée Eugenie, a joyfully effervescent expression named for an illustrious lady in the family. Combining a delicate mousse texture with aromas of white flowers, green apple and citrus fruit, this lightly toasty wine is the perfect, well-priced sparkling candidate for virtually any occasion where bubbles are called for. Enjoy!
Top Value!
Price: $13.99 Add To Cart

2014 Fossil Point Edna Valley Pinot Noir
By: John Majeski | Review Date: 8/29/2016 | Send Email
Being a lifelong admirer of all things ancient, primeval or petrified, it was easy to dig a wine that had the word 'Fossil' on the label. But be warned, this wine is very much undead once it hits your glass, alive with vibrant cherry, raspberry and blackberry fruit aromas, followed by potpourri and fresh-pie-from-the-oven flavors that hint of soft spice and smoke. To end on a terrible pun, I'd recommend you get 'Jurassic' in here and try a bottle, as you'll never have to say you're saurian...
Price: $15.99 Add To Cart
WE 90

2015 Terra Santa Ile de Beaute Rosé (Corsica)
By: John Majeski | Review Date: 8/29/2016 | Send Email
'Sciaccarellu’ is an obscure, vigorous red variety long-cultivated on Corsica that translates as ‘the grape that bursts under the teeth’, notable for its juiciness, thick skins and fairly low tannins. It actually originated in central Italy where it is today almost extinct and known as Mammolo, or ‘shrinking violet’, the bashful one, perhaps because the lush grapes try to hide furtively beneath a canopy of vines. For being such a delicately-hued wine (conjuring a school of pink pearl erasers swimming by), this charming rosé conveys an amazing array of flavors, from fresh-cut strawberries to juicy raspberries to white peaches, with a bit of spice, salinity and mouth-quenching acidity to keep every thirst satisfied. And at under ten dollars, it is a super buy!
Top Value!
Price: $8.99 Add To Cart

2013 Trellis (Amelia Park) Cabernet Sauvignon-Merlot Margaret River
By: John Majeski | Review Date: 8/29/2016 | Send Email
Amelia Park, lying within the famed Margaret River region, has consistently been one of Western Australia's most heralded wineries, and when the opportunity arises to share their renowned, ebullient wines with customers, we rarely hesitate. The Trellis Cabernet Sauvignon-Merlot represents such an amazing value that it is hard to believe it navigated over 8,700 miles to arrive on our shelves, but don't ask why, the answer lies in the ravishing black and blue fruit, suave spice, touch of oak and smoothly polished tannins that envelops all doubters in its spell. One cannot help but wonder....
Top Value!
Price: $10.99 Add To Cart

1998 Faultline 17 Year Old "K&L Exclusive" Caribbean Blend Single Barrel Rum (750ml)
By: Jeffrey Jones | Review Date: 8/29/2016 | Send Email
This is a fantastic rum that shows just how complex and interesting rum can be. In the nose there are floral and fruity accents. This is followed with a dry style rum that has a savory earthy spice, and subtle notes of smoke. This is one of the best rums that I have tasted in a long while.
Price: $79.99 Add To Cart

Caveau du Mont July Bugey Cerdon Rosé
By: John Majeski | Review Date: 8/29/2016 | Send Email
Sparkling wines, the drier the better, right? Not so fast friends, especially when someone near and dear presents you with a lovely Tiramisu or Mango Mousse cake on your birthday. You need something that blurts out 'Celebration!', and popping the cork on this lustrous pink bubbly always does the trick, guaranteed. The youthful balance of delicious, bright Poulsard and Gamay fruit and spontaneous fermentation will ignite any festivity, and the creamy bubbles and lightly sweet flavors of raspberry sorbet and sliced strawberries will spread mirth with abandon. Please, indulge.
Price: $15.99 Add To Cart

2010 Fleur de Pedesclaux, Pauillac
By: Clyde Beffa Jr. | Review Date: 8/28/2016 | Send Email
This is the second wine of Château Pedescalux, a Pauillac property that offers a lot of bang for your buck. The Fleur de Pedesclaux is softer and more approachable, but in the same modern style, with plenty of fruit but softer tannins. A blend of 50% Cab, 45% Merlot, and 5% Cab Franc. This property is on a roll.
Drink from 2015 to 2015
Price: $24.99 Add To Cart

2014 Emmolo Napa Valley Sauvignon Blanc
By: Andrew Stevens | Review Date: 8/28/2016 | Send Email
I was surprised, impressed, and quite pleased when I tasted this Sauvignon Blanc from Napa. Despite having been in Napa for almost 100 years you can taste the mineral drive that I associate with many Italian whites. This wine has a lovely nose with white stone fruit and some melon notes, this follows on the palate along with bright acid. The balance and cleanness of the wine actually astonished me, I highly recommend this as a different, but excellent Napa Sauv. Blanc.
Price: $19.99 Add To Cart

Wine Club

$14.99

2009 Domaine de la Jaufrette Gigondas
By: John Majeski | Review Date: 8/28/2016 | Send Email
A sense of place, in this case, the galette-riddled ribbon of earth that comprises the vineyards of Gigondas, certain to deliver some of the finest, most memorable Grenache-based wines in the Southern Rhône, where the sturdy, tradition-born wines of Domaine Jaufrette are allowed to slowly mature for several years in vat, barrel and bottle before release. Few winemakers spend literally this much time nurturing their 'offspring', and it shows in the velvety texture and depth of this excellent vintage. Possessing deft aromas of mulberry, black plum and sous-bois, with a dark core of fleshy fruit and cocoa underpinned by supple tannins, this wine will complement rich beef dishes or savory autumnal stews. Reward yourself with a bottle, you won't regret it. ​
Price: $39.99 Add To Cart

2014 GRÜNER by Etz Grüner Veltliner Kamptal (1L)
By: Scott Beckerley | Review Date: 8/27/2016 | Send Email
This fantastic value Gruner is classic in character with limestone, nectarine and lemon/lime flavors. Peppery notes linger on the finish. Bracing acidity, but not over the top enough to take the enamel off of your teeth. Fantastic with a shrimp salad or a nice side dish of roasted Brussels sprouts with toasted, sliced almonds.
Price: $13.99 Add To Cart

2014 Spellbound California Chardonnay
By: Scott Beckerley | Review Date: 8/27/2016 | Send Email
This little bargain Chardonnay will leave you spellbound! It is one of our most popular domestic Chardonnays because of its tropical flavors, cream and bright acidity on the finish. Just a light hint of oak. Excellent in part because of its lineage from the Mondavi family, who as you know, have just a little experience in winemaking.
Price: $11.99 Add To Cart

2009 La Velona Brunello di Montalcino
By: Scott Beckerley | Review Date: 8/27/2016 | Send Email
Bargain Brunello! Whoever thought those two words would go together? This is indeed that elusive beast and it will be sold out soon. La Velona has always been lush with dark, black cherry fruit, cassis and boysenberry. Super silky tannins and ready to go now. Don't wait to buy it!

2015 Quinta da Aveleda Loureiro-Alvarinho Vinho Verde
By: Scott Beckerley | Review Date: 8/27/2016 | Send Email
This bright and semi-fizzy white is a great way to start a meal or to have at a picnic or to just plain enjoy by itself! Dry, with white stone fruits and peach notes, it pairs up very well with spicy foods. I like mine with ceviche.
Price: $8.99 Add To Cart
W&S 90

2015 Zudugarai "Amats" Getariako Txakolina
By: Sarah Covey | Review Date: 8/27/2016 | Send Email
Woohoo! It's finally Txak-o-clock! I love this affordable Txakoli. It's Red Delicious apple, lemon zest, saline, and Bartlett pear, with a refreshing acidity that makes me keep reaching for more! Lower alcohol, this is a wonderfully versatile aperitif wine. Perfect with fresh summer tomato crostini, the classic Spanish pairing of Marcona almonds and Manchego cheese, or even with a fish or chicken dish. Stock up!
Top Value!
Price: $13.99 Add To Cart

2008 Louis Brochet "Millésimé" Brut Champagne
By: Scott Beckerley | Review Date: 8/27/2016 | Send Email
This producer is brand-new to us, and finding a 2008 at this price is just phenomenal. There is a bright acidity and cleansing minerality to this release that will make it a good candidate for mid-term cellaring. All estate fruit, with partial barrel aging that lends a bit of toast to go along with the underlying caramel and golden apple flavors. If you like very rich, get the 2009. If you like more acidity and chalk, the 2008 is the one for you!
Price: $34.99 Add To Cart

2013 Mas Karolina Côtes Catalanes
By: Scott Beckerley | Review Date: 8/27/2016 | Send Email
This project of Caroline Bonville, cousin to the much admired Olivier Bonville (creator of one my favorite lines of small-estate champagne) is putting out many excellent reds from the Roussillon area. This particular example is bright and spicy, with a overlay of ripe fruit that makes it a little too easy to drink. There is a purity of red fruits and soft, smooth tannins that make this little affordable beauty a real gem. Perfect with barbecue and smoked meats.
Price: $13.99 Add To Cart

2014 Domaine Long-Depaquit (Albert Bichot) Chablis
By: Scott Beckerley | Review Date: 8/27/2016 | Send Email
Hello bargain Chablis! I love super clean whites like Gruner Veltliner and Albarino, so naturally, I love Chablis. It is even better when I can afford to buy it! This wonderful bottling of Long Depaquit has lime, white pepper and Anjou pear scents and flavors. Clean and full of grapefruit but, retains enough body to carry it off. Should age well for a couple of years, if you like to keep yours to soften the acidity. I love the acidity, so I enjoy it now.
Price: $19.99 Add To Cart

2015 Montsecano Pinot Noir Casablanca Valley
By: Jim Barr | Review Date: 8/26/2016 | Send Email
There have been some great Pinot Noirs coming out of Chile the last few years, to the point that I have maintained to many of you that the Chileans should have planted Pinot many years ago. Their environment, in many areas, is perfect. This small production (375 cases which is equal to only 15 barrels) is deeply colored with opulent, powerful aromas of blueberry, blackberry, to floral fruit characteristics with undertones of forest floor to slate-like minerality, which carries well into a broad, rich, viscous palate impression. Complex, deeply flavored, silky and round, this well-integrated, superbly focused Pinot finishes with a long, lingering, mouthwatering set of flavors. This gorgeous Gem should continue to improve over the next five to ten years. Rusty has demanded that I bring home at least a case of this great Gem and honestly believes that you shouldn’t miss this wine, too. Great Value! ***** 13.5% ABV *****
Drink from 2016 to 2016
Price: $39.99 Add To Cart
JS 96

2010 La Velona Brunello di Montalcino Riserva
By: Mike Parres | Review Date: 8/26/2016 | Send Email
I am giving this two thumbs up ! ROCKIN Brunello, beautifully layered, expressive wine bursting with sweet, ripe strawberries, vanilla, black cherries intermingled with subtle earth and toasted oak notes, minerals and a hint of bitter chocolate on the finish; round and ripe tannins and a long aftertaste. YUM !!!
Price: $39.99 Add To Cart
JS 93 RP 91

2015 Zudugarai "Amats" Rosé Getariako Txakolina
By: Shaun Green | Review Date: 8/25/2016 | Send Email
Fun and bright and clean and fresh, dry with just a hint of spirits, even a great price .... what is not to like here! Fantastic and crowd pleasing.
Top Value!
Price: $13.99 Add To Cart

2004 Lopez de Heredia "Viña Tondonia" Reserva Rioja
By: Sal Rodriguez | Review Date: 8/25/2016 | Send Email
I'm consistently awed by the fine wines the folks at Lopez de Heredia have been making. I guess, being in the business for about 140 years you learn a few things about your craft. This superbly complex wine is something really special. I've had their late 90's Tondonia and they all seem to age like Tom Cruise has aged - Slowly, comfortably, and hard to believe it's the age that it is. Some of the highest quality wines you'll find in the price category. Cheers!
Price: $39.99 Add To Cart
RP 94 WS 90

2015 Zudugarai "Amats" Getariako Txakolina
By: Shaun Green | Review Date: 8/25/2016 | Send Email
When you're looking for a wine to have with light summer meals, or a dish that is hard to pair give this Txakolina a try. This delicious clean white has a slight spritz helping to make it extremely versatile
Price: $13.99 Add To Cart

Page: 1 2 3 next >>