Staff Favorites

If you’re going to have Robert Parker or Stephen Tanzer over for dinner, selecting a wine they’ve rated highly will be a nice choice. However, when you’re buying wines for yourself, we’d love to see you find wines that match up your unique palate and pocketbook. We have a large staff of friendly and knowledgeable wine professionals that taste hundreds of wines each week. They can put you in touch with bottles that you are likely to love, often at a much lower cost than the highly-rated gems that often see a run-up in price and frequent availability issues. Like any great group of opinionated professionals, our staff has varied tastes themselves. Often our customers will find a particular staff member with a style that corresponds to their own. That concept works extremely well in our retail stores, and this section is our effort to bring you the same online. Don’t get us wrong, we love the highly rated wines from the press and will continue to offer them, but we think you’re missing out if you’re not augmenting those selections with picks from our excellent staff. Here are their favorites. (Click on a name to see their other selections - or to drop them a line.) Cheers!

Reviews

Page: 1 2 3 next >>
2014 La Massa "La Massa" Toscana
Reviwer Picture By: Greg St. Clair | Review Date: 10/16/2017 | Send Email
You can really tell the breeding in this wine, the aromatics and flavors are so well defined and focused. The wine is a base of Sangiovese about 60% then Cabernet Sauvignon, Merlot and Alicante make of the rest. The nose says Tuscany, wisps of leather, hints of violet the a bit of wild cherry show off the Sangiovese then the plumy richness of the Cab and Merlot squeeze in. On the palate the wine shows its richly textured body, supple mouth-feel and great drinkability while still showing that central focus one expects in Tuscan wine. On the palate the complex blend of fruit and earth come together with porcini, leather and wild cherry dominating accented with lilac, rosemary and a bit of that Tuscan dust. Agile and focused this wine is ready to drink but will easily age another 5 years, try it with your favorite pasta… or like me it will be a Pork Tenderloin and roasted potatoes!
Drink from 2017 to 2017
Price: $19.99 Add To Cart
JS 91 WS 90

2016 Au Bon Climat/K&L Wine Merchants "Bien Nacido Vineyard" Santa Maria Valley Pinot Noir
Reviwer Picture By: Lilia McIntosh | Review Date: 10/13/2017 | Send Email
This Pinot Noir could be easily mistaken for Burgundy when blind tasted. First thing that came to my mind when I tasted it was Pomerol. Those violet notes, broad texture and linear bright acidity that forms very firm structure enveloped with dark red cherry and touch of red plum are so charming and appealing! Very impressive wine! To be honest it's been awhile since I've tasted Pinot Noir from California that would resemble Burgundy so much. I definitely need some of it for my cellar.
Price: $19.99 Add To Cart

2009 Bel Orme Tronquoy de Lalande, Haut Medoc
Reviwer Picture By: Clyde Beffa Jr. | Review Date: 10/13/2017 | Send Email
Glass Full image Glass Full image Glass Full image Glass Full image Glass Half image
A great value 2009 Bordeaux. Lots of spice and some chocolate on the nose. Red berry fruit flavors. Fat and lush-easy to enjoy now. Great texture and lingering finish.
Drink from 2017 to 2017
Price: $19.99 Add To Cart

2015 Ridge Vineyards "Lytton Springs" Dry Creek Valley Zinfandel
Reviwer Picture By: Stephanie Vidales | Review Date: 10/13/2017 | Send Email
The 2017 fall releases from Ridge have dropped and they are just as we'd expect from the famous Zinfandel producer - fabulous! Lytton Springs, situated in the Dry Creek Valley, is always an incredibly approachable, elegant Zinfandel that is a great introduction to Ridge. It is not overwhelmed by new oak (only 15% is new) and is layered with dried herbs, oak spice and black fruits. This iconic wine will only get better as time goes on, but don't be afraid to enjoy now!

2015 Ridge Vineyards "Pagani Ranch" Sonoma Valley Zinfandel
Reviwer Picture By: Stephanie Vidales | Review Date: 10/13/2017 | Send Email
This is a Zinfandel based blend that's simply well-made with fruit from a famous, classic Sonoma vineyard. Pagani Ranch contains some of the oldest vines dating back to the 1880's and Ridge has been sourcing from them since 1991. The 2015 blend consists of mostly Zinfandel, with​ Alicante Bouschet and Petite Sirah adding color, fullness and dark elements to the wine. No doubt, this is a rich wine with brambly berry fruit, some spice and hints of floral notes as well. The intense flavors and aromas will certainly please all fellow Zin lovers.
Price: $39.99 Add To Cart
VN 94 RR 93

2016 Au Bon Climat/K&L Wine Merchants "Bien Nacido Vineyard" Santa Maria Valley Pinot Noir
Reviwer Picture By: David Driscoll | Review Date: 10/13/2017 | Send Email
Au Bon Climat has always been one of my favorite California wineries, so I was excited when we started working on our own private label expressions. While I've enjoyed the previous two Pinot Noirs we bottled under the K&L label, the 2016 edition of the single vineyard "Bien Nacido" is by far the best of the bunch. We just need to give it 20 -30 minutes in the decanter before trying. Bien Nacido is one of our state's coveted sites for cool climate fruit, meaning the Pinot Noirs have more structure and acidity as a result. I can tell you from two empty bottles of experience that the difference a bit of air makes with this wine is night and day. After 20 minutes or so, you get everything you expect from a Burgundian-inspired Pinot Noir: crunchy red fruits, raspberry and hints of earth with lots of spice. I could easily be fooled into thinking this was a bottle of Bourgogne Rouge if poured blind. The best part is that previous editions of this wine sold for $25 - $30, but this time around you're getting the single vineyard edition for the same price as the standard release. How can you pass that up?
Price: $19.99 Add To Cart

2015 Ridge Vineyards "Lytton Springs" Dry Creek Valley Zinfandel
Reviwer Picture By: David Driscoll | Review Date: 10/12/2017 | Send Email
The Ridge "Lytton Springs" has always been the Zinfandel to give to people who say they don't like Zinfandel. It's one of the most elegant, poised, and serious red blends made in the entire state and the 2015 takes that complex and layered formula to an entirely new level. More like a Bordeaux blend than a classic Zin, the addition of 16% Petite Syrah adds serious grit and structure, but it's brilliantly done and bolsters the richness of the fruit beautifully. When you start to think about what goes into crafting a great wine, not just the quality of the fruit or the location of the vineyard, but also the blending of different varietals to make something greater than the sum of its parts, the Lytton Springs is high on my list of iconic blends. As you decant the 2015 vintage, you'll notice more and more complexity as the air unlocks all that intrigue: berries, spice, brush, earth, excitement!

2015 Ridge Vineyards "Lytton Springs" Dry Creek Valley Zinfandel
Reviwer Picture By: Ryan Woodhouse | Review Date: 10/12/2017 | Send Email
This wine is pure class from the first sniff. The elegance, polish and purity that this wine possesses belies it's rugged old vine source. This wine has so much elegance, refinement and poise. Often when we think about "Old Vine Zin" it conjures up ideas of massive dark fruit, wildness...and sense of untamed raw material. This wine has all the concentration and intensity one might hope for but it presents itself so immaculately. The lifted, brambly fruits delineated from the Asian spice, leather, earth. The underlying tannin structure (from the Petite Sirah) is formidable but fine grained and beautifully wrapped with the wines flowing medium bodied fruit. The mid-palate has a generosity and softness but the wine also has a linear shape on the palate and beautiful length. This is just incredible wine and a serious bargain when you consider its pedigree and proven longevity.

2015 Ridge Vineyards "Pagani Ranch" Sonoma Valley Zinfandel
Reviwer Picture By: Ryan Woodhouse | Review Date: 10/12/2017 | Send Email
The 2015 Pagani Zin has an explosive nose of sweet, ripe fruit, macerated liquored cherries, exotic spices and scorched earth. The palate is packed with similar flavors, full-bodied and very fruit forward but with beautifully judged extraction. Sure the flavors are ripe (it's from one of the warmest, earliest harvests in living memory) but there is delicious freshness and vibrancy to the wine. Nothing about it's fruit profile stewed or roasted. People are going to love this wine from the get go...it's the perfect essence of Zinfandel.
Price: $39.99 Add To Cart
VN 94 RR 93

2014 De Braude, Haut-Médoc
Reviwer Picture By: Joe Manekin | Review Date: 10/12/2017 | Send Email
This was a runaway hit at our last Bordeaux staff tasting. Dark fruit with a hint of mint on the nose leads to a palate that is just so elegant and balanced. While "seamless" has became an overly used adjective amongst us wine professionals, I think the word applies here as well. Pure class in a glass!
Price: $18.99 Add To Cart
WE 92 RP 90

2014 Gigault "Cuvée Viva," Premières Côtes de Blaye
Reviwer Picture By: Joe Manekin | Review Date: 10/12/2017 | Send Email
Always a house favorite here at K&L, the 2014 Gigault shows bright, pure red fruits. There is typically a poise and freshness to this wine when it is young, though allied with a classic vintage like 2014 it becomes all the more notable. Also worth mentioning is the fact that this wine - delicious as it is to drink now - ages quite nicely in the mid-term. Best value Bordeaux under $15? I think the answer is an emphatic 'Yes."
Price: $12.99 Add To Cart
JS 91

2012 du Glana, St-Julien
Reviwer Picture By: Joe Manekin | Review Date: 10/12/2017 | Send Email
This is currently a go to Bordeaux bottle for me. Unsurprisingly it is from my favorite commune, St. Julien, which continues to be home to some of the most elegant, wonderfully savory and textbook value examples of left bank Bordeaux. This 2012 shows the supple red fruited qualities of the vintage, with lovely floral undertones and admirable balance. Thinking of this wine has me craving a nice steak and reaching for the decanter - not a bad notion for your next Friday evening at home!
Price: $24.99 Add To Cart
JS 90 WS 90

2013 Raventos i Blanc "de la Finca" Gran Reserva Conca del Riu Anoia
Reviwer Picture By: Joe Manekin | Review Date: 10/12/2017 | Send Email
Though it is not their least expensive wine, this could well be the best value of the Raventos stable. It of course is all organically cultivated estate fruit, but in this case the vines are grown on an especially calcareous portion of their property, rich in marine fossils. The result is a Champagne with delicious yellow and citrus fruit, quite powerfully flavored, but with a chalkiness that combines with the bubbles to refresh the palate. There is such impressive length and purity here, that I think we can honestly pour this side by side with our favorite Champagnes and have the wine more than hold its own. Simply a great bottle of bubbles from one of the world's more serious sparkling wine producers.
Price: $34.99 Add To Cart
RP 93

2015 Ridge Vineyards "Pagani Ranch" Sonoma Valley Zinfandel
Reviwer Picture By: David Driscoll | Review Date: 10/12/2017 | Send Email
While the 2015 Lytton Springs is more a more structured and nuanced wine, the Pagani Ranch is the real crowd pleaser. It's so soft and loaded with sweet cassis fruit right off the bat with hints of violet on the finish and a texture that's like velvet on the tongue. I'm far from what you'd consider a big, rich California wine lover, but as a professional I like anything that's well made. I really enjoyed this wine, from its immediate charm and juicy character to its plush mouthfeel and seductive sweetness. There's a reason Ridge is one of the most iconic California winemakers in the business and it's wines like this that help to cement that reputation.
Price: $39.99 Add To Cart
VN 94 RR 93

2015 Domaine de la Chaboissière Muscadet Sèvre et Maine Sur Lie
Reviwer Picture By: Andrew Stevens | Review Date: 10/12/2017 | Send Email
I recently re-tasted this delightfully inexpensive little Muscadet and was reminded of how good this wine tastes. Even with the long aging on the lees this wine has everything people are looking for in a Muscadet. Bright, clean, a little floral and saline characteristics all come together with plenty of acid and lift. There is a surprising amount of fruit weight here but with an incredibly clean finish. This is definitely a bottling that one could keep around for tons of occasions.
Price: $11.99 Add To Cart

2015 Raventos i Blanc "de Nit" Rosé Conca del Riu Anoia
Reviwer Picture By: Joe Manekin | Review Date: 10/12/2017 | Send Email
Raventos' De Nit rosé sparkler is back and better than ever. The winery has for several years now only used their biodynamically grown estate fruit, which is pretty impressive given the very reasonable price compared to other producers in Champagne who purchase grape from other producers. This is a delicately colored rosé, with just a hint of red fruit and structure provided by a small percentage of Monastrell. Precise, crisp, slightly tangy and salty, this is a beautiful bottle of bubbles to enjoy on its own or with grilled coho salmon steaks.
Price: $22.99 Add To Cart

2014 Raventós i Blanc "L'hereu" Brut Conca del Riu Anoia
Reviwer Picture By: Joe Manekin | Review Date: 10/12/2017 | Send Email
This entry level Raventos sparkling wine shows off all the pedigree, investment and improvements which the family has been busy with over the past decade. The fact that this is made from 100% estate, biodynamically grown fruit should tell you about their seriousness of intent (and also clue you in to what a great value it is at under $20!) Always bright, mineral, a touch salty even, this is the perfect aperitive, the kind of wine you can just drink and drink. One of my favorite Spanish producers, and certainly at the top of my list for bubbles, Raventos continues to bring their 'A' game to the table amongst their entire range of sparklers.
Price: $19.99 Add To Cart

2014 Carpe Diem Anderson Valley Pinot Noir
Reviwer Picture By: Mari Keilman | Review Date: 10/11/2017 | Send Email
The Carpe Diem Pinot Noir is classic Anderson Valley Pinot Noir. There is a beautiful wave of ripe, red strawberry and cherry that pops on the fuller-than-expected palate. And while there's a touch more weight than usual, the Carpe Diem has a bright, playful mouthfeel that is matched by lively baking spices and rose petals on the palate. This is a fun, inexpensive Pinot that will delight at every holiday occasion this season!
Price: $24.99 Add To Cart
DC 95 WE 91

2011 Poggio San Polo Brunello di Montalcino
Reviwer Picture By: Cliff Spinola | Review Date: 10/11/2017 | Send Email
This very developed wine has deep, earthy tones characteristic of the biggest, boldest brunellos. Very savory, rustic, and full-bodied.

2015 Cottanera "Barbazzale" Etna Rosso
Reviwer Picture By: Cliff Spinola | Review Date: 10/11/2017 | Send Email
This is a very fruit forward, soft and easily approachable wine. A touch of spice at the end gives it a lot of character and lasting zest. Very food friendly!
Price: $14.99 Add To Cart
JS 93

2014 Antinori "Tignanello" Toscana
Reviwer Picture By: Mike Parres | Review Date: 10/11/2017 | Send Email
Made of mostly Sangiovese with Cabernet Franc and Cabernet Sauvignon, the nose is classic ripe cherries and strawberries and a hint of coco powder. On the palate of this full-bodied wine, you will find the fruit describe above with a touch of minerals and soft tannins, which gives this wine a very lush feel to the palate and has an incredible long finish. This wine was a HUGE hit at my last consumer tasting in S/F .

2008 Louise Brison "Cuvée Tendresse" Brut Champagne
Reviwer Picture By: Lilia McIntosh | Review Date: 10/11/2017 | Send Email
This Champagne was the most intriguing and fascinating for me recently. Its flavors are so complex that it's nearly impossible to pin it all down. That's what usually gets me and makes me want to have it again: unique flavor profile that always keeps you on your toes because it constantly changes and opens up with new nuances at each swirl of the glass and each sip. What got me here is amazingly balanced combination of minerality, deep texture, purity of Chardonnay grapes and brisk acidity. It's fresh but also has some richness from barrel maturations. It never gets heavy or toasty, it's just playing on the edge of it but keeps it precise. Perfect balance.
Price: $39.99 Add To Cart

1998 Gruaud-Larose, St-Julien
Reviwer Picture By: Clyde Beffa Jr. | Review Date: 10/11/2017 | Send Email
Glass Full image Glass Full image Glass Full image Glass Full image Glass Half image
Almost 20 years old and going strong. It has shed its tannic cloak and the red fruit is emerging nicely. Actually a sweet core of fruit and some toasty oak. Decant and enjoy with a new York steak.
Drink from 2017 to 2017
Price: $109.99 Add To Cart

2011 Poggio San Polo Brunello di Montalcino
Reviwer Picture By: Lilia McIntosh | Review Date: 10/11/2017 | Send Email
Yet another wonderful example of 2011 Brunello!!! It's so elegant and bright, with lovely mouth filling texture, freshness of red cherries and savory components with hints of mushroom. The aroma of wine is also mesmerizing and alluring: earthy tones mixed up with red fruit notes. It's just amazing to me how beautifully this wine drinking right now and will be for the next 5-10 years. I am outright loving 2011 vintage and this wine is a pure joy!

Louise Brison "L'Impertinente" Brut Rosé Champagne
Reviwer Picture By: Cliff Spinola | Review Date: 10/11/2017 | Send Email
I don't drink a lot of rose wine or champagnes but this was a delightful surprise. Just enough cherry and strawberry notes to give this wine a freshness without being overly sweet. One touch to the lips and your mind thinks of the fantastic pairing possibilities from savory a amuse-bouche to sweet desserts.
Price: $39.99 Add To Cart

2008 Louise Brison "Cuvée Tendresse" Brut Champagne
Reviwer Picture By: Cliff Spinola | Review Date: 10/11/2017 | Send Email
An extra 2 years of aging on the lees really shows in this fantastic vintage champagne! A little toasty with fantastic notes of green apple, this is a delightful celebratory Cuvee that won't break the bank. Enjoy this wine this holiday season and for years to come!
Price: $39.99 Add To Cart

2010 Louise Brison Brut Champagne
Reviwer Picture By: Cliff Spinola | Review Date: 10/11/2017 | Send Email
Right away my curiousity was peeked while sticking my nose into the glass. Distinctive floral and mineral characteristics develop into a long lasting, toasty finish with bright fruit and acidity. A steal of a deal at this price point!
Price: $29.99 Add To Cart

Ariston Aspasie "Prestige Vieilles Vignes" Champagne
Reviwer Picture By: Cliff Spinola | Review Date: 10/11/2017 | Send Email
The wines of Ariston Aspasie are a true delight for even the most seasoned Champagne aficionado. This seasoned and developed bottle from the 2008 harvest drinks beautifully now and will for some time to come. A win-win at this price point!
Price: $39.99 Add To Cart

Fukano K&L Exclusive Single Cask #2827 Japanese Whisky (750ml)
Reviwer Picture By: David Othenin-Girard | Review Date: 10/11/2017 | Send Email
There's something special about Fukano that sets it apart from the other whiskies in this category. Often times I'm worried with Rice based whisky that they're trying to sell us glorified Shochu. Some brands do indeed make products that are only a tick or two away from what you might expect a high proof sake to taste like, but Fukano is in another league. I'm not sure if its the quality or intensity of the malt that is used or the distillation or perhaps the new oak Puncheons, but the depth and aromatic power that is achieved on the Fukano is simply unparalleled. The nose is a heady mix of Cola nut, dried fruit, maple wood, and bold dark spices. A bright fresh front palate of coconut and citrus fruit devolves into an incredible spiced fruit bouquet. The finish is big bold toasted Tahitian vanilla. There's something perfectly balanced about it although it's got some wild flavors and it's hard to pinpoint which category it reminds me of most. At one point, I'm thinking, "this feels like Single Malt." The next I'm drinking brandy. The fresh oak alludes to bourbon, but some of the exotic notes are distinctly rummy. Whatever you want to compare it to Fukano is producing some of the best whisky in the world right now and we're extremely lucky to get a little bit when we can.
Price: $69.99 Add To Cart

1990 Bel Air Lagrave, Moulis-en-Medoc
Reviwer Picture By: Clyde Beffa Jr. | Review Date: 10/10/2017 | Send Email
Glass Full image Glass Full image Glass Full image Glass Full image Glass Full image
We tasted this wine on our April 2017 Bordeaux tour. We had sold the 1996 quickly and when we tasted this gem, we said-"Slam-dunk" Plenty of life for this neighbor of Poujeaux. The Cabernet shines through here with red berry aromas and flavors. Old school Bordeaux at its best. And only about a dollar per year. Quite limited availability.
Drink from 2017 to 2017
Price: $31.99 Add To Cart

2014 Spottswoode "Estate" Napa Valley Cabernet Sauvignon
Reviwer Picture By: Mari Keilman | Review Date: 10/10/2017 | Send Email
The 2014 Spottswoode Estate Cab is a Napa Valley cab that will stand the test of time. This Cab is powerful and concentrated, full of blackcurrant and plum, baking spice and graphite. What lets me know how beautifully this wine will age is the ever-present silky tannins alongside a bright, youthful freshness. The firm acid structure is a true indicator of long-lived this wine will be!

Ca de Medici "Terra Calda" Lambrusco
Reviwer Picture By: John Downing | Review Date: 10/10/2017 | Send Email
We've had a thriving Lambrusco business for years but for some reason the wines of Ca De Medici have flown a bit under the radar. We're certainly paying greater attention to this one after just re-tasting it. The winery manages to offer some of the best from the zone and we're especially taken with this one. It's concentrated and flavored-packed from start to finish yet pleasantly dry throughout with loads of black cherry and a the mild effervescence. Perfect with pastas, burgers and daily meals. (Low alcohol too!)
Price: $14.99 Add To Cart

2008 Louise Brison "Cuvée Tendresse" Brut Champagne
Reviwer Picture By: Sal Rodriguez | Review Date: 10/10/2017 | Send Email
This is SPECTACULAR wine! Most of the time I am a fan of light, bright, zippy, and fresh, when it comes to sparkling. However, I also like some of the more intensely flavored, higher textured, richer profiled, champagnes too. This is more of the latter style and at this price, you don't want to miss it!
Price: $39.99 Add To Cart

2008 Louise Brison "Cuvée Tendresse" Brut Champagne
Reviwer Picture By: Shaun Green | Review Date: 10/10/2017 | Send Email
Glass Full image Glass Full image Glass Full image Glass Full image Glass Half image
The 2008 Vintage is providing us with absolutely fantastic Champagnes in terms of quality and value. The Tendresse from Louise Brison is a 100% Chardonnay offering and one of the best of the lot. Rich and forward showing great peach stone fruits, almond cream and citrus notes - but with a great reserve of refreshing acidity keeping the fruit flavors bright
Top Value!
Price: $39.99 Add To Cart

2010 Louise Brison Brut Champagne
Reviwer Picture By: Joe Manekin | Review Date: 10/10/2017 | Send Email
Vintage Champagne for under $30 is an anomaly to be sure. Thanks to our DI Champagne program, though, we have a Champagne here that is not only vintage dated and carefully aged (for a good bit longer than the AOC dictated minimums) but also stylish and much more expensive/serious tasting than the price would suggest. There are two very good reasons for this: very expensive Chardonnay from Kimmeridgian soils and barrel ageing. I love Louise Brison's vintage Champagnes not only for their fair pricing, but also the inherent quality, craft and style in each one that I've had. These are always incredibly popular Champagnes here - don't miss out on the 2010!
Price: $29.99 Add To Cart

2008 Louise Brison "Cuvée Tendresse" Brut Champagne
Reviwer Picture By: Joe Manekin | Review Date: 10/10/2017 | Send Email
Tasting this fantastic 08 vintage, 100% Chardonnay based, DI champagne, I was reminded of their regular vintage 2008 bottling, which for many of us served as our introduction to this house. Here we have all of the richness coupled with bright flavors of their vintage 2008, but on the palate the golden fruits seem even more intense, lively and impressive. And it does not come at the expense of drinkability! I would not hesitate to think of this wine as an affordable luxury for drinking now, though you could just as easily categorize it as a way to load up on the good stuff (on the cheap) for incredible drinking in the mid to long term.
Price: $39.99 Add To Cart

2015 Cottanera "Barbazzale" Etna Rosso
Reviwer Picture By: John Downing | Review Date: 10/10/2017 | Send Email
Cottanera's "Barbazzale" is a wonderful entry into the world of Mt Etna red wines and although it's challenging to find excellent ones under $20, they've been ahead of the curve for many years. The wine is aged mostly in cement tanks while a smaller amount is housed in small French barrels which gives it a bit more depth, polish and spicing. It's a very versatile red that will pair well with a variety of favorites including pizza, pasta, meats and hearty fare.
Price: $14.99 Add To Cart
JS 93

2015 Moulin de la Gardette "Tradition" Gigondas
Reviwer Picture By: Sharon Kelly | Review Date: 10/10/2017 | Send Email
Jean-Baptiste Meunier has done it again! This is absolutely gorgeous and luscious but does not overwhelm the palate. What I love so much about his wines is the finesse and restraint he demonstrates while still retaining beautiful power and balance. When he was here earlier this year for our consumer dinner, he confessed to being a bit late because he really wanted to put his feet into the Pacific ocean before doing anything else. It's this same genuine honesty that is so evident in his wines.
Price: $24.99 Add To Cart
RP 90 - 92

2008 Baron-Fuenté "Grand Millesime" Brut Champagne
Reviwer Picture By: Morgan Laurie | Review Date: 10/10/2017 | Send Email
A vintage Champagne for $29.99, from a highly lauded vintage no less?! Yes, you read that right. This wine is drinking excellently now but is also a bottle you could lay down for years to come. It's showing some delicious toasty, creamy qualities on the palate while maintaining mouth-watering acidity and freshness. It has an almost creme fraiche like note on the nose along with freshly pressed apple juice, caramel covered almonds, and butterscotch cheesecake. Just a spectacular showing and a bottle I'd like to see evolve over time. And while I'm waiting, I'll just have to grab a couple of bottles to drink in the meantime.
Price: $29.99 Add To Cart

Louis Brochet 1er Cru Brut Champagne
Reviwer Picture By: Morgan Laurie | Review Date: 10/10/2017 | Send Email
I always love when we do a Champagne tasting and today's was especially fun, tasting through some of our best values in the category. This bottle was a definite winner for me and one of my favorites in the lineup! The nose is so lovely and I just kept bringing the glass up to smell it again and again. It's floral and fresh. There's a note of cherry blossoms, saline, crisp green apples and crunchy red pears. The palate is so clean and has a really nice creaminess. What a beautiful Champagne for an amazing price! I'll definitely be taking this home to dive into this bottle a little further.
Price: $29.99 Add To Cart

2014 Clos du Val Carneros Chardonnay
Reviwer Picture By: Stephanie Vidales | Review Date: 10/10/2017 | Send Email
With our great pricing, you can't go wrong with this ultimate crowd-pleasing Chardonnay. This is 100% Chardonnay, barrel-fermented and all from the Clos Du Val estate vineyard in Carneros. Only going through 25% malolactic fermentation, the minerality and fresh acidity is able to shine through. Yellow apple, fresh peach, baking spice and butterscotch is expressed on the palate with a nice, clean finish. The balance of this Chardonnay really impressed me, and I think it will for you too.
Price: Hidden View Price

1977 Graham's Vintage Port
Reviwer Picture By: Andrew Whiteley | Review Date: 10/10/2017 | Send Email
I've been lucky enough to be around when '77's get opened on several occasions. It really is a stunning vintage. Marked by rain the previous winter, cool and long growing conditions, hotter harvest months with just enough sprinkles to keep things fresh, these wines are beautiful and balanced. The richness of the Graham's is off the charts with tons of sweet red and black fruits, but it's marked by strong savory and herbal undertones. A lively thread of acidity runs through it so that every sip hits all your taste buds. This would be a very special way to celebrate your 40th.
Price: $149.99 Add To Cart
RP 93 WS 91

2013 Felsina "Rancia" Chianti Classico Riserva
Reviwer Picture By: John Downing | Review Date: 10/9/2017 | Send Email
Felsina Rancia remains one of my top Chianti picks every vintage but the 2013 is truly special. It possesses all the best characteristics of what has been described as a challenging or tricky vintage for many. Happily the Rancia is deep, compelling and brimming with captivating fruit with acidity and tannins in perfect balance. This is one of the best of the 2013s and is certainly a Sangiovese not to be missed.
Price: $39.99 Add To Cart
VN 96 RP 95

2012 Albatreti Brunello di Montalcino
Reviwer Picture By: John Downing | Review Date: 10/9/2017 | Send Email
My colleagues discovered the wines of this producer several years ago and they have remained customer favorites since. We met up with Gaetano Salvioni in 2016 during our Italian travels and were reminded why. His 2012 Brunello hits all the right notes with wonderful savory red fruit, exotic spices and an overall freshness, depth and length not normally found at this price.
Price: $34.99 Add To Cart

2014 Antinori "Tignanello" Toscana
Reviwer Picture By: Greg St. Clair | Review Date: 10/9/2017 | Send Email
The nose is full of a dense, savory cassis like blend of fruit and earth, coupled with hints of leather, earth and a bit of baking spice. On the palate the wine has a long, linear feel to it, it still shows good weight on the mid-palate but its linear axis is dominant. The flavors show persistence and are a complex blend of savory fruit, earth that are aligned with the super fine grain tannic structure. This wine is truly elegant but not in a flimsy, simple, light way it has depth but it shows more restraint than overt boldness. An excellent choice of Filet Mignon.
Drink from 2017 to 2017

2011 Poggio San Polo Brunello di Montalcino
Reviwer Picture By: John Downing | Review Date: 10/9/2017 | Send Email
Poggio San Polo is one of several wineries owned by the Allegrini Family, most known for their flagship property in Valpolicella where they continue to produce their famed Amarone and Veronese wines. Their 2011 Brunello is a modern interpretation of the classic wine of the zone and it's a showstopper. The fruit here is smooth, richly textured and concentrated and just goes on and on. Deep flavors of red berries and vanilla oak coat the palate and although there's plenty of acidity and backbone, the opulence of the fruit overshadows all else.

2014 Antinori "Tignanello" Toscana
Reviwer Picture By: Rachel Vogel | Review Date: 10/9/2017 | Send Email
The tough, rainy vintage of 2014 kept vineyard caretakers busy and all their hard work paid off with this aromatic Super Tuscan. The nose lifts with fresh red fruit and wild flowers. While I can't compare to previous vintages, the 2014 is full bodied with amiable tannin structure and a bold finish. The mouthwatering acidity wasn't washed away by the rain and keeps the wine fresh on the palate. I could definitely see putting this wine down for a few years or enjoying it tonight with a flavorful dinner!

2014 Raventós i Blanc "L'hereu" Brut Conca del Riu Anoia
Reviwer Picture By: Christina Stanley | Review Date: 10/9/2017 | Send Email
Lovers of dry sparkling rejoice! This Raventos Brut is crafted sans dosage. As a result, the wine emphasizes the natural characteristic of the delicate fruit and the unique ancient marine fossil deposits of the Raventos terroir. Fresh and light, chalky and bone dry, the wine features very fine bubbles and is aged 18 months on the lees.
Price: $19.99 Add To Cart

2011 Poggio San Polo Brunello di Montalcino
Reviwer Picture By: Stefanie Juelsgaard | Review Date: 10/9/2017 | Send Email
I loved how approachable this Brunello is for such a young age. Don't get me wrong, it still has plenty of acid and structure, but it's very well integrated at this stage. The high-toned red fruits are shining right now and create an approachableness to this wine. There are plenty of Brunellos showing earthy, savory qualities with untouchable tannin right now, but I appreciate that this one is softened and juicy. Great to cellar, but definitely not unreasonable to drink now.

2015 Cottanera "Barbazzale" Etna Rosso
Reviwer Picture By: Rachel Vogel | Review Date: 10/9/2017 | Send Email
One of my favorite things about Etna Rossos are their savory, dried herb character. The Conttanera is filled with aromatics and flavors of dried thyme, sage, and eucalyptus encompassed in a full bodied, high acid wine. The stony structure sings praises to the vines volcanic soils while ripe fruit from the warm climate gives the wine a silky texture. Holiday parties filled with herb & cheese crostini would be a magical pairing!
Price: $14.99 Add To Cart
JS 93

Page: 1 2 3 next >>