Staff Favorites

If you’re going to have Robert Parker or Stephen Tanzer over for dinner, selecting a wine they’ve rated highly will be a nice choice. However, when you’re buying wines for yourself, we’d love to see you find wines that match up your unique palate and pocketbook. We have a large staff of friendly and knowledgeable wine professionals that taste hundreds of wines each week. They can put you in touch with bottles that you are likely to love, often at a much lower cost than the highly-rated gems that often see a run-up in price and frequent availability issues. Like any great group of opinionated professionals, our staff has varied tastes themselves. Often our customers will find a particular staff member with a style that corresponds to their own. That concept works extremely well in our retail stores, and this section is our effort to bring you the same online. Don’t get us wrong, we love the highly rated wines from the press and will continue to offer them, but we think you’re missing out if you’re not augmenting those selections with picks from our excellent staff. Here are their favorites. (Click on a name to see their other selections - or to drop them a line.) Cheers!

Reviews

Page: 1 2 3 next >>
2016 Erste e Neue Vigneto delle Dolomiti Rose'
Reviwer Picture By: Morgan Laurie | Review Date: 10/22/2017 | Send Email
Alto Adige is Italy's only wine producing region with several high quality wine producing co-ops. Other regions may have a few good co-ops, but not the concentration you find here. Erste + Neue is the product of a merger bringing together the first ("erste") wine co-op (1900) and the new ("neue") wine co-op (1925). This rose is a blend of the regions indigenous Lagrein (20%) with Pinot Noir (20%), Merlot (30%) and Cabernet (30%). What you get is a fantastically juicy, yet dry and fresh rose with lots of ripe strawberry and cherry notes along with stony minerality and a slight blood orange peel bitterness on the palate. This has great zippy acidity and is entirely drinkable on its own, although this would be great with a roast chicken or charcuterie.
Price: $14.99 Add To Cart

2013 Raventos i Blanc "de la Finca" Gran Reserva Conca del Riu Anoia
Reviwer Picture By: Joe Bruno | Review Date: 10/22/2017 | Send Email
With 500 years of winemaking experience, it’s not hard to see why Raventos keeps producing stellar wines year after year. This 2013 bottling sources grapes from the vineyard ‘Vinya dels Fòssils’, noted for its marine soil and high density of fossil deposits. This unique terroir is expressed in the wine with a noted saline quality and crisp minerality that dances on the tongue. This coupled with extended aging time on the lees (30 months) lends it to possessing marzipan and brioche toastiness on the palate. Acidity for this wine is also elevated, making it perfect as an aperitif or food pairing option. This Cava shines bright and can be easily compared to a variety of Champagnes at similar price points. Delicious!
Price: $34.99 Add To Cart
RP 93

2013 Raventos i Blanc "de la Finca" Gran Reserva Conca del Riu Anoia
Reviwer Picture By: Christina Stanley | Review Date: 10/21/2017 | Send Email
This is a sparkling wine that has it all: richness on the palate, zero dosage, balance of acidity, and a leesy creamy texture having spent three years in bottle before disgorgement. Raventos creates sparkling wines with character and depth all the way across the board, but the 2013 Gran Reserva has a delightful slight toasty quality which balances with the bone dry character and delivers what many Grand Cru Champagnes do not, at a much lower price point. This is definitely a wine to try in the holiday season!
Price: $34.99 Add To Cart
RP 93

2012 Château Bouscassé Madiran
Reviwer Picture By: Thomas Smith | Review Date: 10/21/2017 | Send Email
An absolute stunner of a wine that reveals an incredibly concentrated, dark-fruited character with a polished tannic structure. Plum preserves, blackberries and bitter chocolate notes jump out of the glass along with more refined touches of allspice and vanilla. The tannins on this wine are so dialed-in for a wine at this price--you can see exactly where this wine is going with a little age. After I tasted the wine, I went back a few hours later, and the tannins had softened considerably. This is a inky, concentrated wine that shows impressive winemaking skill, and showcases the regional character of Madiran.
Price: $19.99 Add To Cart
WE 94

2008 La Rioja Alta "Viña Ardanza" Reserva Rioja
Reviwer Picture By: Joe Bruno | Review Date: 10/21/2017 | Send Email
This bottling of Viña Ardanza marks the first vintage where Garnacha (20%) was used in the blend, with the majority still being Tempranillo (80%). An expressive nose of dark and red cherries, plum, and boysenberry; supplemented with notes of vanilla, clove, leather, and tangerine. The palate possesses well-integrated oak, elevated acidity, and silky tannins. Also has a marked freshness for being almost 10 years old. Dried cherries and mixed berries move into tertiary notes of earth, leather, and a noted vanilla and spice characteristic. An age-worthy Rioja that is showing quite nicely at the moment, but will only get better as time goes on. Can easily go for another 10-20 years in the cellar. All this for under $30? Done!
Price: $29.99 Add To Cart
DC 95 RP 93

2014 Tapiz "Alta Collection" Malbec Mendoza
Reviwer Picture By: Chantel Carroll | Review Date: 10/21/2017 | Send Email
It's back, with a 95-point rating! A generous and friendly Malbec with great structure and supple fruit. Rich, ripe black plums, mocha and balanced, toasty oak. It has a fair amount of tannin complemented by an equal amount of acid, and juicy red fruit on the finish. An amazing deal!!
Price: $13.99 Add To Cart
JS 95 W&S 91

Jean-Jacques Lamoureux "Réserve" Brut Champagne
Reviwer Picture By: Alex Schroeder | Review Date: 10/21/2017 | Send Email
Stone fruit and anjou pear flavors are broad and pure on the palate. Lively acidity on the crisp finish makes the flavors last for a minute. The fruit is pronounced and very clean, with just a hint of autolytic flavors mingling with the fruit on the back end. Delicious Blanc de Noirs!
Price: $29.99 Add To Cart

2010 Louise Brison Brut Champagne
Reviwer Picture By: Alex Schroeder | Review Date: 10/21/2017 | Send Email
One of the first grower-producers I ever tasted, Louise Brison’s vintage Champagnes hold a special place in my heart. The 2010 continues the legacy of vintage greatness with vibrant pear, lemon and toasted brioche flavors alongside a stellar acidity for length and structure. ​
Price: $29.99 Add To Cart

2014 La Chablisienne Chablis 1er Cru "Beauroy"
Reviwer Picture By: Thomas Smith | Review Date: 10/20/2017 | Send Email
This is my favorite of the Chablisienne offerings, bar none. I was really shocked by the powerful punch of acidity that really controls the wine and sizzles down the palate, yet still maintains some of those slightly rounded out edges that you see across the board from Chablisienne. Tons of aromatics, restrained fruit, and biting acid this is a classic Chablis that would pair beautifully with cheese, fish, or even sushi. Really impressed by this.
Price: $24.99 Add To Cart
DC 93 RP 90

2015 Rickshaw Chardonnay
Reviwer Picture By: Morgan Laurie | Review Date: 10/19/2017 | Send Email
Rickshaw sources their grapes for this Chardonnay from Santa Barbara all the way up to Mendocino. Blending fruit from warmer weather regions along with fruit from cooler climates gives the wine a lovely balance of richness along with structure and aromatics. It's got citrusy, tropical brightness along with a vanilla and toast undertone from the partial barrel fermentation (20%) and 6 months in French oak. A killer wine for an amazing price, this would please anyone looking for a fresh, fruit forward wine with some texture and structure.
Price: $14.99 Add To Cart

Fukano K&L Exclusive Single Cask #2827 Japanese Whisky (750ml)
Reviwer Picture By: Morgan Laurie | Review Date: 10/19/2017 | Send Email
I've been super into whisky lately. I tend to order a different producer, style, etc each time I go out so that I can try new things with out amassing a huge collection of spirits at home. That may change with this incredibly delicious single cask whisky from Fukano. I'm going to HAVE to buy a bottle of this. The nose is clean, with salted caramel, creamy fruit undertones and a sweet vanilla bean note. The palate is incredibly smooth, rounded and supple with out being too rich. You could easily drink this neat, but it would be nice on the rocks or with a splash of water. The most easy drinking whisky I've had in a while.
Price: $69.99 Add To Cart

Maker's Mark 46 "K&L Exclusive - #1" Private Select Kentucky Bourbon (750ml)
Reviwer Picture By: Jeffrey Jones | Review Date: 10/19/2017 | Send Email
A great addition to the wheated bourbon selections. It is expressive and has a lot of personality with nice nose of vanilla and caramel. In the mouth it is soft and complex with a pleasant mouth feel. There is a lot going on in this bourbon and it will be very easy to drink. A nice long finish with a hint of spice completes the package. I suggest that you drink this with a splash of water to soften it up.
Price: $69.99 Add To Cart

2008 Talisker 8 Year Old "Old Particular - K&L Exclusive" Single Barrel Cask Strength Single Malt Scotch Whisky (750ml)
Reviwer Picture By: Jeffrey Jones | Review Date: 10/19/2017 | Send Email
Single cask expression are interesting and fun because each cask has its own personality. What makes this cask so unique is how rich and juicy it is. It begins with nice subtle smoke aromas and continues onto a creamy, concentrated and round flavor bomb of complex malt flavors with delicate undertones of smoke and general island flavors. This cask is 8 years old, and some people might think that it is too young to drink, but it is delicious now and is ready to go
Price: $59.99 Add To Cart

Fukano K&L Exclusive Single Cask #2827 Japanese Whisky (750ml)
Reviwer Picture By: Jeffrey Jones | Review Date: 10/19/2017 | Send Email
This is a delicious and easy to drink whiskey. It begins with subtle bourbon-like aromas of caramel . In the mouth it is a wonderful and complex, both delicate and sweet with a long finish that has vanilla notes. Alone or on the rocks this is going to be very easy to drink and enjoy. Rice whiskeys are a wonderful addition to the world of whiskey because they and soft and flavorful and it is nice to be able offer a single cask expression.
Price: $69.99 Add To Cart

2015 Chateau de Javernand "Indigene" Chiroubles
Reviwer Picture By: Morgan Laurie | Review Date: 10/19/2017 | Send Email
Chateau De Javernand produces out of Chiroubles, the highest elevation of all Beaujolais Crus. The poor sandy, granitic soils, and higher elevation produce light, lifted, fresh wines that are entirely too easy to drink. Beaujolais is an incredibly food-friendly wine and a life saver for difficult pairings. Making spicy anything and want a red wine option? Beaujolas! This is like eating a basket of ripe berries while sitting on forest floor surrounded by fall foliage. There are notes of ripe juicy strawberries and raspberries along with a leafy, potpourri thing happening. This is a natural wine made without sulfur or filtration using organic grapes and indigenous yeasts. This is one of my favorite new discoveries in the store and one I'll buy again sooner rather than later!
Price: $16.99 Add To Cart

2014 La Chablisienne Chablis Grand Cru "Les Preuses"
Reviwer Picture By: Morgan Laurie | Review Date: 10/19/2017 | Send Email
This is weighty, full-bodied and the richest of the offerings from La Chablisienne. There's still an electric backbone of acidity to keep things lifted and balanced, providing the structure needed for long-term aging. Nice saline mineral note, barrel spice, and roasted green apples, this Grand Cru delivers providing complexity and texture.

2014 La Chablisienne Chablis 1er Cru "Beauroy"
Reviwer Picture By: Morgan Laurie | Review Date: 10/19/2017 | Send Email
A 1er Cru for under $30? That's right! I've really enjoyed all of the wines I've tried from La Chablisienne, and this is the freshest of the 1er Cru offerings. There's a lime/lime leaf citrus quality and a wet stone type of mineral note. Super crisp and refreshing, this would fit right in with freshly shucked oysters.
Price: $24.99 Add To Cart
DC 93 RP 90

Tom's Foolery Bottled In Bond Single Barrel #31 Ohio Straight Bourbon Whiskey (750ml)
Reviwer Picture By: Illya Haase | Review Date: 10/19/2017 | Send Email
If I ever review any whiskey that is outside of my beloved Bluegrass state it must mean it's great. The latest bottling from Tom's Foolery is just THAT! These Buckeyes are the first micro outside of Kentucky, and the first micro since the 50s, to release a Bonded Bourbon. Its nose is pure Ohio Courtland apple, charred toffee, vanilla and cinnamon. Spicy malt and toasted clove on the first sip. Nice warmth (spicy!) on the mid palate really awakens the sinuses!! Spicy cream corn and malted grains continues through the finish. With a cool winter green note perking up at the end. It begs for a fire, on a cool November night.
Price: $49.99 Add To Cart

2008 Talisker 8 Year Old "Old Particular - K&L Exclusive" Single Barrel Cask Strength Single Malt Scotch Whisky (750ml)
Reviwer Picture By: Andrew Whiteley | Review Date: 10/19/2017 | Send Email
It is supposed to rain this week in Northern California. Not only is this great news for firefighters and farmers alike, this is great news for whisky fans. It's time to bring on the cozy confines of a peated glass of Scotch. The Talisker 8 year old has everything you might want to kick off the season. No baby, this dram is booming with power and fresh cut peat. Sea spray and cool moss control the nose but don't diminish the underlying barley. There is a finesse there. Balanced and in control the palate is sweet, the texture rich, and the proof high enough to cut. Almost like bright fresh acid in a bottle of Chablis there is a lift provided by the proof. The finish is long and mouth coating. After you've swallowed there is a cool interplay between the cereal and ash notes of the peat that persists for a long time. This is the perfect transition from hot weather into cool autumn nights until winter truly sets in.
Price: $59.99 Add To Cart

High West "American Prairie" K&L Exclusive Single Barrel Bourbon Whiskey (750ml)
Reviwer Picture By: Andrew Whiteley | Review Date: 10/19/2017 | Send Email
I've been recently diving deep into my bourbon collection to see what classics I've lost on the shelf and need to bring back to the fore. Then I tasted this. It will have to sit right in front of everything else. It combines two of my favorite things: Bourbon and Rye. It's no secret that I love high rye recipes of Bourbon for just this reason. But this is something entirely different. It's full bodied, rich and mellow. Brimming with vanilla, citrus zest, and dark caramel. But then, BLAM! Spicy rye: pepper, cinnamon, baked bread, it's all there. Is it the mash bill? Is it a blend? Is it the finishing? It's so well integrated you might think this was Bourbon and Rye blended as white dog and aged together. In fact, it's just the extremely delicious American Prairie Bourbon rested in an old Rendezvous Rye cask for nigh on two years. It comes together seamlessly and offers the best of both worlds. Notch another one in the win column for the single barrel program at K&L.
Price: $49.99 Add To Cart

Maker's Mark 46 "K&L Exclusive - #1" Private Select Kentucky Bourbon (750ml)
Reviwer Picture By: Andrew Whiteley | Review Date: 10/19/2017 | Send Email
Sweet, smooth, rich, and a pop of spice. When I am craving a glass of bourbon, this is what I want. The Maker's Mark 46 barrel program is so cool. It is a remarkable way to get customized casks of the most consistently delicious and available wheated Bourbon out there. The creamy palate screams out wheat and fulfills all of your hedonistic Bourbon desires. The additional American oak staves crank up that traditional vanilla flavors and the French staves combined with the high proof dial up the spicy finish. I loved the first cask we chose earlier this year for pure indulgence, but this bottling has it beat because it tickles that itch while also bringing a previously unknown depth and complexity.
Price: $69.99 Add To Cart

Mezcal de Leyenda "Reserva de la Biósfera" Tehuacán Mezcal (750ml)
Reviwer Picture By: Ivan Diaz | Review Date: 10/18/2017 | Send Email
This is a super funky, utterly different mezcal with a flavor profile unlike anything else out there. Definitely smokier and spicier than the Montana, the Reserva de la Biosfera shows lots of spicy herbs, tree bark, foresty woods, black pepper, and an unexpectedly pretty floral note. This ridiculously small batch is a blend of Marmorata and Macrocantha agaves, ultra-rare varietals that present a flavor profile which, like the Montana, is difficult to summarize. I have a feeling I'll be spending lots of time with these exceedingly complex mezcales simply to acclimate my palate and gain deeper understanding of the magic happening in these bottles.
Price: $299.99 Add To Cart

Mezcal de Leyenda Unicos "Montana" Tamaulipas Mezcal (750ml)
Reviwer Picture By: Ivan Diaz | Review Date: 10/18/2017 | Send Email
Perhaps my favorite of the Leyendas, the Montana Tamaulipas is an extremely layered, complex mezcal unlike anything I've ever tasted before. There is a loamy earthiness that confronts the nose upon introduction. Further investigation uncovers chalky minerality, black pepper, roasted herbs, subtle banana, flowers, tree bark, a smooth, creamy mouthfeel, and a spicy kick of a finish. The smoke here is admittedly rather restrained, allowing the flavors of this particularly esoteric agave varietal to show through. There's something hard to place about this one, something very compellingly bizarre and utterly unique, and I spent a long time trying to articulate it before simply succumbing to the intense expressiveness and gorgeous rusticity. If you're a collector of mezcal and can stomach the price point, do not let this one slip by.
Price: $499.99 Add To Cart

Mezcal de Leyenda Grandes Leyendas "Don Anastacio" Tehuacán Mezcal (750ml)
Reviwer Picture By: Ivan Diaz | Review Date: 10/18/2017 | Send Email
This is probably the most balanced selection from Mezcal de Leyenda; a superbly built bottling that drinks with such superior harmony that the price point actually seems a little low. There is more orange zest, lemon, and sweet agave here than the others, but these flavors are lovingly wrapped in woodsy smoke, warm spices, herbaceous earth, and a ribbon of comfortable acidity seamlessly threaded through the creamy texture.
Price: $219.99 Add To Cart

2014 Terroir al Limit "Terra de Cuques" Priorat Blanc
Reviwer Picture By: Joe Manekin | Review Date: 10/18/2017 | Send Email
A blend of Pedro Ximenez (cool story: first brought up from the south by Andalusians who came up to work in the region's gypsum mines) and Muscat, this wonderful Mediterranean white shows aromas of tarragon and fennel pollen, leading to a chalky, mineral and nicely dry palate. Surprisingly, the exotic, floral qualities one may expect from the Muscat do not show in this wine. German born Dominik Huber did not to my knowledge grow up in a winemaking family, though he did grow to develop a love of good food, cooking and fine wine, and decided to venture into wine production in the beautifully rustic Priorat region of southern Catalonia accompanied by his then business partner, South African savant Eben Sadie. Having learned over the years how to spot a great vineyard, and more recently, how to harness the fruit to retain all of the Mediterranean character with maximzied mineral expression and freshness through thoughtful winemaking, Dominik now is right up there amongst the top few projects in Priorat.
Price: $39.99 Add To Cart

2012 Sesta di Sopra Brunello di Montalcino
Reviwer Picture By: Greg St. Clair | Review Date: 10/18/2017 | Send Email
The nose of this wine is perfect, the classic blend of red fruits, savory bouillon and porcini like components accented with bits of Tuscan dust. On the palate the wine is serious it’s big and powerful yet more agile and elegant than pondering, while the tannins are super fine giving it a fine, web-like structure. The wine has just enough plumpness to give you that sensual pleasure, the richness without being heavy and the wine all comes together in a long and lifted finish. Excellent quality with a long life ahead.
Drink from 2017 to 2017

2014 Terroir al Limit "Dits del Terra" Priorat
Reviwer Picture By: Joe Manekin | Review Date: 10/18/2017 | Send Email
Dits del Terra is one of two single vineyard Carinena based wines, what proprietor Dominik Huber describes as his "1er Cru" bottlings. This shows incredibly intense aromas of blackberry and licorice that are brooding in a way. Wonderfully pure, dry and mineral laced flavors on this young Priorat. German born Dominik Huber did not to my knowledge grow up in a winemaking family, though he did grow to develop a love of good food, cooking and fine wine, and decided to venture into wine production in the beautifully rustic Priorat region of southern Catalonia accompanied by his then business partner, South African savant Eben Sadie. Having learned over the years how to spot a great vineyard, and more recently, how to harness the fruit to retain all of the Mediterranean character with maximized mineral expression and freshness through thoughtful winemaking, Dominik now is right up there amongst the top few projects in Priorat.
Price: $69.99 Add To Cart

2014 Terroir al Limit "Torroja" Priorat
Reviwer Picture By: Joe Manekin | Review Date: 10/18/2017 | Send Email
German born Dominik Huber did not to my knowledge grow up in a winemaking family, though he did grow to develop a love of good food, cooking and fine wine, and decided to venture into wine production in the beautifully rustic Priorat region of southern Catalonia accompanied by his then business partner, South African savant Eben Sadie. Having learned over the years how to spot a great vineyard, and more recently, how to harness the fruit to retain all of the Mediterranean character with maximzied mineral expression and freshness through thoughtful winemaking, Dominik now is right up there amongst the top few projects in Priorat. His Torroja "villages" bottling, from the very good 2014 vintage, took a bit of bottle age to open up over the past year or so, but is now showing fantastically, with beautiful dark berries and red fruited aromas, as well as floral qualities on the nose. Juicy and spicy, ripe yet wonderfully fresh, I truly believe that this is Priorat as it should be. Drink it up.
Price: $39.99 Add To Cart
RP 92

2012 Sesta di Sopra Brunello di Montalcino
Reviwer Picture By: Joe Manekin | Review Date: 10/18/2017 | Send Email
I have to give our Brunello customers credit: this is always amongst our most popular Brunelli, and as consistently tasty as it is, I can see why. While Sesta tends to show rich, succulent red fruits, they are even more delectable in a forward, juicy vintage such as 2012. While there is fruit here, and lots of it, there is also sufficient acid balance and structure to see it through some mid-term cellaring. Greg (St Clair, our Italian buyer if you don't know him by now) refers to 2012 as something of a goldilocks vintage, and this wine does indeed taste just right.

2012 Cortonesi "Poggiarelli" Brunello di Montalcino
Reviwer Picture By: Joe Manekin | Review Date: 10/18/2017 | Send Email
Cortonesi, née La Manella, produces this particular bottling of Brunello from a well regarded site in the Southeast corner of the denominazione. The wine is brawny, salty, savory, black fruited and built, though there is still a quality to the wine that makes you salivate and reach for another glass. I like the style, and with any meat finished with rosemary and sea salt, I imagine I would like it even more. Bravo! A fine Brunello.

2012 Armilla Brunello di Montalcino
Reviwer Picture By: Joe Manekin | Review Date: 10/18/2017 | Send Email
I was immediately smitten with this Brunello. Straight out the gate, it exudes old timey charm with restrained aromas of red fruits and dried mandarin peels. Flavors are also red fruited, with a light textural feel, layered, subtle flavors, and an overall airiness to the wine that makes it drink well young, though I feel like the impeccable balance at this young age may well allow for some solid mid-term cellar potential. A new name, but one that I will be sure to remember: Armilla!

2015 Domaine Faiveley Mercurey "Clos Rond"
Reviwer Picture By: Joe Manekin | Review Date: 10/18/2017 | Send Email
The wines at Faiveley have been improving dramatically over the past decade, though perhaps it takes a vintage as successful as 2015 to clearly illustrate how far these wines have come. Aromas and flavors of freshly pressed raspberries are friendly but not simple or one dimensional, just really tasty and satisfying. A fine Pinot Noir to drink now or cellar for several years.
Price: $29.99 Add To Cart

Wine Club

$26.99

2015 Domaine Jean-Claude Lapalu Brouilly Vieilles Vignes
Reviwer Picture By: Joe Manekin | Review Date: 10/18/2017 | Send Email
I have really enjoyed the Lapalu Beaujolais wines which we have brought in the past few seasons. This Brouilly VV shows fantastic aromas which are ripe, rich and savory all at the same time. There are also appealing aromas of fresh fermentation here. Mixed berry flavors on the palate bring to mind a visit to Swanton Berry Farm: flats of loganberries, tayberries, all the berries. I would be hard pressed to think of a more well suited wine for your Thanksgiving table than this one.
Price: $27.99 Add To Cart
VN 92 RP 90

2015 Domaine des Terres Dorées (Jean-Paul Brun) Moulin-a-Vent
Reviwer Picture By: Joe Manekin | Review Date: 10/18/2017 | Send Email
We recently tasted a fairly comprehensive line-up of Beaujolais, and I think for several of us this definitely took best in show, for its value, fruit intensity and sheer deliciousness. Jean Paul Brun is a good producer, whose wines always seem to showcase bright fruit and vintage character, which in this case means that the fruit is generous, but still sufficiently balanced to remind you that the grapes were grown in solid terroir in Moulin a Vent. As with other top wines from this Beaujolais cru, there is less earthiness and less of a floral quality, more of a direct fruity richness to this wine. Highly recommended.
Price: $19.99 Add To Cart
JG 92 JS 92

2014 La Chablisienne Chablis Grand Cru "Les Preuses"
Reviwer Picture By: Joe Manekin | Review Date: 10/18/2017 | Send Email
A significant step up in their range, La Chablisienne's Grand Cru Les Preuses shows ripe citrus, particularly lime and cara cara oranges. Oak on the palate adds some structure. Very good flavors on the mid palate, a combination of textural richness and the fine, elegant acidity driven structure that this Grand Cru is known to deliver.

2015 Ferrero "Pepita" Rosso di Toscana
Reviwer Picture By: Greg St. Clair | Review Date: 10/18/2017 | Send Email
This wine is incredibly bold; the nose just explodes out of the glass, layers of cassis, followed by waves of complex pomegranate, plum, and wild cherry while spiced with bits of leather, earth and Tuscan dust. The texture is voluptuous; full-bodied it fills your mouth yet is surprisingly fresh and balanced. On the palate the cassis and pomegranate meld into one, vibrant, focused, saturated flavors, that leads into more spice as the fine grain tannins weave a powerful yet elegant structure. This is a powerful wine, it has the balance, density and length of a wine 2-3 times in price, yet because there is no other Tuscan blend just like this it lacks a category for critics to bother reviewing…that’s all for your benefit, you pay much less! Try it you’ll find this is a truly exceptional wine.
Drink from 2017 to 2017
Price: $14.99 Add To Cart

2014 La Chablisienne Chablis 1er Cru "Vaillons"
Reviwer Picture By: Joe Manekin | Review Date: 10/18/2017 | Send Email
One thing you've got to love about Chablis is that it does not take too much money to be drinking premier cru wines. Here is a perfect example, the Vaillons 1er Cru from La Chablisienne, a winery whose history in the region, scale and large land ownership combine to make this one of the best French white wine values in the store. Refreshing flavors of lemon and tea show nice cut and an appealing linear quality. Dungeness crab, oysters, any of the terrific washed rind cheeses from around Burgundy...any of these delicacies would pair well with this Chablis now and heading into the holidays.

2015 Helen's Hill "Ingram's Road" Pinot Noir Yarra Valley Victoria
Reviwer Picture By: Ryan Woodhouse | Review Date: 10/18/2017 | Send Email
Back in stock and even more delicious than before! This is a rockin' deal in Yarra Pinot Noir. The second label of our Direct Import partner Helen's Hill - this estate grown wine delivers more at $15 than many Pinots at twice that price. Juicy, dark red fruits, warm earth, truffle, a lick of exotic spice. It has such a silky texture on the palate from the exceptional growing conditions of the 2015 vintage. This wine is super quaffable on its own but also has great natural acidity that makes it very versatile and food friendly. This wine sold out very fast on our previous Helen's Hill offering...luckily the winery held us back some cases so we can now offer it again.
Top Value!
Price: $14.99 Add To Cart
JH 94 BC 90

2013 Raventos i Blanc "de la Finca" Gran Reserva Conca del Riu Anoia
Reviwer Picture By: Joe Manekin | Review Date: 10/18/2017 | Send Email
Though it is not their least expensive wine, this could well be the best value of the Raventos stable. It of course is all organically cultivated estate fruit, but in this case the vines are grown on an especially calcareous portion of their property, rich in marine fossils. The result is a sparkling wine with delicious yellow and citrus fruit, quite powerfully flavored, but with a chalkiness that combines with the bubbles to refresh the palate. There is such impressive length and purity here, that I think we can honestly pour this side by side with our favorite Champagnes and have the wine more than hold its own. Simply a great bottle of bubbles from one of the world's more serious sparkling wine producers.
Price: $34.99 Add To Cart
RP 93

Fukano K&L Exclusive Single Cask #2827 Japanese Whisky (750ml)
Reviwer Picture By: Andrew Stevens | Review Date: 10/18/2017 | Send Email
Calling this single cask from Fukano a whisky almost places too much of a limitation on the spirit because it seems to beg to be in a category of its own. The nose gives off almost floral jasmine rice notes with vanilla bean, coconut and oak. The palate almost is a cross between an American whisky, and a brandy. The oak gives off bold vanilla and butterscotch while the texture and mid palate has distinct brandy note with hints of mocha and dried fruit as in an armagnac. There is a surprising amount of spice with some heat as the finish stays long and lingering on the tongue. This is a wonderful bottle and will make a lovely addition to any whisky drinkers bar.
Price: $69.99 Add To Cart

2014 Star Lane Santa Ynez Cabernet Sauvignon
Reviwer Picture By: Anthony Russo | Review Date: 10/18/2017 | Send Email
Yummy stuff here; cherry cola, vanilla, crushed plum, and a touch of leather make up the nose. The alcohol is very well integrated, you can take a big sniff without burning your nose. On the palate, this Cabernet is very elegant, balancing it's elements of fruit and spice. I like it because although it would match a meal perfectly, you don't NEED food to enjoy it.
Price: Hidden View Price
VN 95

1999 Lanessan, Haut-Médoc
Reviwer Picture By: David Driscoll | Review Date: 10/18/2017 | Send Email
The documented history of Lanessan dates back to 1310 when records show that Dame Paironne la Montagne, the widow of Henry de Lanessan, sold the estate to Sieur de Blaignan. In 1793 it was purchased by Jean Delbos, a Bordeaux négociant, and it has remained in the family ever since. In 1855, Louis Delbos, who was the manager at the time, refused to submit samples for consideration in what is now the most famous classification in wine history – the decree from Emperor Napoleon himself that ranked the great wines of Bordeaux's Médoc into the five-tier growth system we still recognize today. While Delbos then regarded the procedure as "bureaucratic nonsense," Bordeaux author David Peppercorn called his disinterest "a piece of high-handedness that has cost Lanessan dearly." The 1855 Classification remains in place today. It has never been updated, despite a failed attempt to do so in 1960. Personal rankings from established Bordeaux critics are published from time to time, but they don't carry the weight of the original. Therefore, whenever enthusiasts peruse the one official ranking of top Bordeaux estates, Lanessan's name is nowhere to be found. So who is Lanessan, you ask? Why are they so important and why have we sold thousands upon thousands of bottles of their wine over the years? Lanessan is an old world Bordeaux producer that, due to a "high-handed" career decision, was kept out of the most important wine classification in history. A chateau that has always held true to its terroir-driven roots and made wine the old-fashioned way, regardless of who was handing out big points and fancy awards. I was talking to our own Clyde recently, who said to me: "Just think how much the owner’s refusal to submit samples in 1855 has cost the property over 150 plus years. It would have been rated at least a fourth growth - so many St Julien wines are rated 2nd growths. You figure the price would be double at least what it has been over the years!" Instead of fourth-growth status, however, Lanessan continues to fly under-the-radar, alluding the attention of most Bordeaux aficionados despite its quality. Take of sip of this 1999 and find out what the fuss is about. Clyde has had a soft spot for the Lanessan wines since 1996 when he first forged a relationship with the underrated chateau. That friendship has blossomed over time. Because of his support and enthusiasm for the wine, Lanessan has agreed to sell us back vintages like the 1999 directly, without distribution fees driving up the price. When we can buy wines directly from the chateau, not only can we keep the cost down, but we can also guarantee that they've been cellared in optimal conditions. When you're talking Bordeaux of that quality for $19.99, it's time to start talking case quantities.
Price: $19.99 Add To Cart

2015 Penley Estate "Phoenix" Cabernet Sauvignon Coonawarra
Reviwer Picture By: David Driscoll | Review Date: 10/18/2017 | Send Email
This is such a great value and a real chance for newcomers to Australia to jump into one of the country's most interesting Cabernet regions: Connewara along the Limestone Coast of South Australia. The red soil along with the maritime climate creates expressive and characterful Cabernets that have much more than just ripe fruit and an ample mouthfeel. The Penley "Phoenix" is exhibit A, brimming with herbaceous flavors, hints of tobacco, but also a savory black olive note and a dark, decadent finish. There's A LOT of wine here for the money, but also a great learning opportunity. I've found my exploration into the wines of Australia to be incredibly rewarding, especially since visiting earlier this year. It's wines like this that keep me coming back for more.

2015 Powell & Son "Riverside" Grenache-Syrah-Mourvèdre Barossa Valley South Australia
Reviwer Picture By: David Driscoll | Review Date: 10/18/2017 | Send Email
This wine blew my mind and I was already a big fan of Dave Powell from his Torbreck days. Not only is it a crazy complex, thrilling, and complex bottle of wine, it's also one of the best deals I've come across in the 2017 calendar year—period. You don't have to be a Barossa fan to enjoy this one. Rhone fans and California fans should jump ship to at least try a bottle. There's big, ripe fruit, but it's bolstered by savory spice, meaty notes, smoke, and even a bit of scorched earth. The value available here for the "Riverside" is a direct result of our direct relationship with Dave and the winery. You won't find a Rhone-style blend this exciting for this price anywhere else. It's a mouth-coating experience that evolves into something truly special from the first sip to the finish. I've gone back numerous times to taste this one and on each occasion I've been just as excited by the wine. You can tell that Dave used some serious fruit for this expression.
Price: $14.99 Add To Cart
WS 93

2014 Comartin "R-Bar-R Ranch" Pinot Noir Santa Cruz Mountains
Reviwer Picture By: Ryan Woodhouse | Review Date: 10/18/2017 | Send Email
For many years winemaker Adam Comartin was part of the team at Testarossa Winery in Los Gatos that has produced so many fantastic and highly acclaimed wines from some of California's top Pinot Noir vineyard sites. Now Adam and his wife have set out to forge their own path with the namesake label "Comartin Cellars." A Pinot Noir and Grenache enthusiast, Adam seeks out unique vineyard sites and makes tiny batches of wine in a small urban winery in San Carlos, CA. His intricate knowledge of California's Central Coast and wealth of local connections means that he has access to some stunning little vineyard blocks such as this one (R-Bar-R Ranch) in the Santa Cruz Mountains. Whole-berry fermentation keeps the wine bright, aromatic and pure. The palate has abundant silky, ripe fruit but there is also an energetic, vibrant feel about the wine with wild bramble and bay laurel lift. A lick of quality French oak frames the wine with delicate but exotic spice.
Price: $29.99 Add To Cart
WE 95

2014 Trinity Hill "The Trinity" Red Blend Hawke's Bay
Reviwer Picture By: David Driscoll | Review Date: 10/18/2017 | Send Email
Our buyer Ryan Woodhouse long converted me over to Southern Hemisphere values years ago because the dollar for dollar value that he's finding from Australia and New Zealand is unparalleled in any of our other departments. Case in point? This Trinity Hill Red Blend from Hawkes Bay for $9.99. Cab/Merlot blends of this quality, complexity, and elegance don't exist in California anymore for this price. You not only get dark, expansive, palate-coating fruit from the Trinity Hill, but also secondary flavors of minerality and spice that are generally present in wines double and triple the price point. Compare this to the last domestic wine you bought for $9.99 and do a comparison. I promise you you'll be on the Ryan Woodhouse express after doing so.

2015 Penley Estate "Phoenix" Cabernet Sauvignon Coonawarra
Reviwer Picture By: Ryan Woodhouse | Review Date: 10/18/2017 | Send Email
A stellar bargain in Cabernet. This is has the richness, power and structure that has made this grape King! Packed full with blackcurrant, cassis, plum, sweet oak, a touch of cigar box and fresh picked mint. Mouth-filling and voluptuous but with fine sculpting tannins; beautiful length and freshness on the palate. A super complete wine the like of which normally comes with a $50+ price tag. Try it for yourself...see what we are raving about.
Top Value!

2015 Erik Banti "Carato" Toscana
Reviwer Picture By: Greg St. Clair | Review Date: 10/18/2017 | Send Email
Carato has been one of our best selling wines under $10 since we first brought in the 2009 vintage. This vintage is a dramatic departure from the Sangiovese dominant wines of the past this one has 40% Cabernet, 40% Merlot and only 20% Sangiovese but the results in this spectacular 2015 vintage are truly stunning. The nose is bursting with rich cassis like aromatics highlighted with bits of leather, earth and hints of violet. On the palate the wine has a luxurious richness that shows off the powerful cassis flavors, supple, mouth-filling and perfectly balanced. The finish is long, lifted and for a wine in this price point just an exceptional value, and although the wine is full-bodied it only has 13.5% abv,. Limited availability so don’t hold back buy a few cases now to hold you through the holidays!
Drink from 2017 to 2017
Price: $8.99 Add To Cart

2016 Domaine Renaud Pouilly-Fuissé Vieilles Vignes
Reviwer Picture By: Lilia McIntosh | Review Date: 10/18/2017 | Send Email
This was rather a pleasant surprise for me! In the past wines of Renaud from Pouilly-Fuisse were rich and on the heavier side. But this 2016 vintage is totally different. wine still has lovely weight of the fruit but there is no pronounced oak and texture is bright and fresh with crisp acidity that sparkles from start to finish. Such a delight!
Price: $21.99 Add To Cart
RP 90

2014 La Chablisienne Chablis 1er Cru "Beauroy"
Reviwer Picture By: Lilia McIntosh | Review Date: 10/18/2017 | Send Email
None of the 2014 Chablis wines from La Chablisienne have disappointed me so far. They are all fantastic! But considering price of this 1er Cru I would say it's by far the best value and my favorite Chablis. It's practically perfect. If you love juicy bright citrus, crunchy minerality and fresh acidity that wakes up your whole palate, this Chablis is for you.
Price: $24.99 Add To Cart
DC 93 RP 90

Page: 1 2 3 next >>