Staff Favorites - Heather Vander Wall

Heather Vander Wall
Heather Vander Wall  | Send Email  |   Subscribe to My Sommelier Service


Reviews

Page: 1 2 3 next
2015 Tongue in Groove "Cabal Vineyard" Waipara Valley Pinot Noir
Review Date: 06-02-2018
Another great vintage from Tongue In Groove's Cabal Vineyard bottling of Pinot Noir. This is a brooding and savory Pinot with luscious dark fruit and earthy clay notes. Already developing beautifully, this wine has fine boned but firm tannin, good acidity cut, and an excellent medium weight on the palate. It shows an intriguing savory olive quality that marries seamlessly with the black plum and cherry notes. Well-integrated and showing perfectly at the moment!
Price: $29.99 Add To Cart
BC 93 RP 91

2017 Domaine la Chapelle Saint-Victor Coteaux d'Aix en Provence Rosé
Review Date: 06-01-2018
Every year this is one of the first French rose wines I purchase. The 2017 is elegant as always and leans perhaps more than usual toward a white wine in the expression of its aromatics and flavor profile. Floral, very lightly peachy aromas give way to a crisp refreshing and light palate with hints of strawberry and nectarine. The finish is dry with a lingering sense of stone fruit, cherry, and strawberry.
Price: $14.99 Add To Cart

2015 Poujeaux, Moulis
Review Date: 06-01-2018
My expectations were very high on this wine--they were bound to be given the vintage and that this is one of my favorite Chateaus. I was not disappointed. The wine is big and dense, even for Poujeaux, but it is perfectly balanced. Immediate cassis, violet, cedar aromas great you, then give way to saturated black plum, cigar box, blackberry and blueberry notes on the palate, all underscored with bold tannin and acidity. This will be one for the long haul. I will be excited to check in on this in 10, 15 and 20 years.

2014 Lateral Napa Valley Bordeaux Blend
Review Date: 06-01-2018
If you love right bank Bordeaux, you will love Kathryn Kennedy's "Lateral". Some of you may have tasted the outstanding "Serious" Merlot we had from Kathryn Kennedy earlier this year, and you'll know that Merlot from this producer is anything but boring. The Lateral blends Merlot with Cabernet Franc in a traditional right bank style wine with a California twist. Looking for an elegant Napa wine that is at the same time layered, complex and affordable? This is it.
Price: $34.99 Add To Cart

2015 La Monacesca "Mirum" Verdicchio di Matelica Riserva
Review Date: 06-01-2018
La Monacesca's "Mirum" bottling has long been one of my favorite white wines of our Italian portfolio. I like a wine that challenges me, and brings something new to the table. This is verdicchio, meaning that its lean and stony with crisp acidity, yet the riserva "Mirum" bottling is also harvested a little later than their other wine, and hence has a full bodied, unctuous weight on the palate. It's an intriguing combination, and one that keeps me coming back for another bottle.
Price: $26.99 Add To Cart
VN 91

2017 Ameztoi Getariako Txakolina
Review Date: 06-01-2018
Folks, it's summer time, and hence it's Txakoli time. One of the very best hot weather wines in my opinion, Txakolina is very lightly sparkling, briny, salty and low in acidity. It's grown right on the Basque coastline, and is built for seafood. Ameztoi is one of the top producers, and they never disappoint. Don't hesitate to try their fabulous rose as well!
Price: $21.99 Add To Cart

2016 Olema Sonoma County Chardonnay
Review Date: 06-01-2018
Olema is one of the projects of our friends at Amici winery, and is always one of my favorite California Chardonnay values. This wine is on point, vintage after vintage. It's light and crisp enough to delight a fan of non-traditional Chardonnay, and yet it still has all the delightful and expressive tropical fruit and creamy characteristics that make California Chardonnay so popular. If you haven't yet tried Olema, make this your first vintage!
Price: $15.99 Add To Cart
JS 91

2016 Domaine Paul Pernot Bourgogne Chardonnay
Review Date: 06-01-2018
Paul Pernot has yet again accomplished a stunning vintage of his Bourgogne blanc. With Burgundy, it pays to know which producers make the best Bourgogne level wines. In the case of Paul Pernot, he owns and farms more vineyards in and around Puligny Montrachet than almost any other producer. His Bourgogne is almost all Puligny fruit, and it tastes like village level wine. If you are craving Puligny but at an everyday price point, this is the wine for you.
Price: $22.99 Add To Cart

2016 Clos de la Bonnette Syrah Vieilles Vignes Collines Rhodannienes
Review Date: 06-01-2018
I tasted this lovely Syrah next to a few other wines from the Rhone valley. What a stand out! This wine is elegant and clean and intensely aromatic. It's grown in a cooler vineyard area, so this is not your full-bodied lusciously ripe version of the grape. Rather, its more aromatic and poised with cool berry fruit and a taught underlying structure. Those of you looking for a more restrained and elegant style of Syrah will love this.
Price: $29.99 Add To Cart

2015 Telmo Rodriguez "Dehesa Gago" Toro
Review Date: 06-01-2018
Telmo Rodriguez is one of Spain's greatest current winemakers. Although better known for his Rioja and Ribera del Duero projects, he makes wines from around Spain, including this Toro. Toro wines have a bit of a reputation for being dense and difficult, but Telmo's Toro is both elegant and poised without losing its weight and concentration. The wine is packed with luscious black fruit, savory sweet spice and a well-integrated structure. I'd definitely say this is among the best Toro's I've had.
Price: $13.99 Add To Cart
JD 92

2016 Domaine des Niales Rhedon-Marin Mâcon-Villages Vieilles Vignes
Review Date: 05-28-2018
This little wine is a top favorite of mine each year. It's one of the best values in crisp unoaked Chardonnay you'll find in the store. The 2016 vintage has a bit more verve and poise than the 2015, with crisp snap pea and tangy citrus notes. The 2015 was quite ripe with lots of tropical fruit, but the 2016 is more classic Burgundian, and drinks beautifully with seafood. Think of this as a delicious Chablis or Sancerre alternative.
Price: $12.99 Add To Cart

2016 Baron de Montfaucon Côtes du Rhône Blanc
Review Date: 05-07-2018
As soon as the 2016 vintage landed, I pulled a bottle of this and was delighted as in every past vintage. White Rhone wines have always intrigued me with their combination of texture, weight and freshness. Montfaucon is one of our best producers, and this little wine is one of my personal favorites from their production. You've got great orchard fruit here, mixed with subtle papaya and mango notes. There's almond and a very creamy texture to the wine, as well as citrus-driven acidity to keep things fresh and lively. The new vintage of this wine does not disappoint!
Price: $15.99 Add To Cart
WS 92

2016 Brezo Mencía Bierzo
Review Date: 05-05-2018
The small region of Bierzo is one of my favorite treasures of Spain. Mencia is at its best here, and produces lovely medium bodied, dark-fruited wines with plenty of savory herbal character. This expression from Brezo is a bit fuller bodied than most, with very bright youthful fruit and complementary sweet oak spice. It still retains its dark berry character, and hints of thyme and sage. Over all and fun and complex little wine!
Price: $14.99 Add To Cart
RP 91

2015 Laventura "Lanave" Rioja
Review Date: 05-05-2018
I love the way that Bryan MacRobert does Rioja. It's a new take on this area, that certainly rocks the boat for some of us. I'd advise putting the concept of "Rioja" entirely out of your mind when you try this wine, and taste it for what it is: a clean and honest expression of Grenache and Tempranillo grown in a long-proven region. One of the more surprising elements that jumps out in this wine is the raw spice and earthy umami notes that I find particularly food friendly.
Price: $14.99 Add To Cart
RP 90

2015 Halcón "Cerise Vineyard" Anderson Valley Pinot Noir
Review Date: 05-05-2018
Halcon is a great winery making restrained, elegant styles of Pinot Noir from cooler areas such as Anderson Valley. This is as delicate and expressive as I could ask for in a Pinot. The aromas are clean, with notes of cherry, wet stone, clove and raspberry. On the palate the wine is lighter in body with very fine tannin, and a consistent sweet spice. It lingers beautifully on the palate and continues developing for a full minute or more.
Price: $29.99 Add To Cart
RP 93

2014 Giscours, Margaux
Review Date: 05-05-2018
I was very impressed with this wine in a recent tasting of '14 and '15 Bordeaux. It not only has elegance, depth and power, but is already starting to integrate its tannin and acidity structure, and with a good decant it is showing very well now. The aromas are clean and lifted, with signature Margaux violet and black plum, and the palate is surprisingly soft. There are hints of wild herb and olive just beginning to show through the powerful black fruit and sweeter oak spices. I'd highly recommend this reasonably priced Margaux, which drinks like one of its pricier neighbors.

2016 Trellis (Amelia Park) Bordeaux Blend Margaret River Western Australia
Review Date: 05-04-2018
Amelia Park's "Trellis" Bordeaux blend has been a perennial favorite at K&L since we first brought it in a few years back. The Trellis is the ultimate in high quality to price point ratio. It is particularly hard to find value in the Cab and Cab blend category. This little wine is seriously made, with elegant, honest structure, boisterous black cassis and blueberry fruit, and a healthy dose of eucalyptus and mint notes.
Price: $12.99 Add To Cart

2007 Malescasse, Haut-Medoc
Review Date: 05-04-2018
This is a classic K&L find for Bordeaux--an under rated vintage from a larger appellation which is drinking far above its modest price point. If you're looking for a great weeknight claret that is ready to drink now, you should absolutely try the 2007 Malescasse.
Price: $16.99 Add To Cart

2015 Vasse Felix Chardonnay Margaret River Western Australia
Review Date: 05-03-2018
Vasse Felix is deservedly a well known name in Margaret River. Sometimes its tempting to pass by the big names in search of something new and exciting, but when it comes to Margaret River Chardonnay, I come back every time to Vasse Felix. It's really not to fair to this incredible region to draw comparisons to Burgundy, but still the word "Meursault" keeps popping into my head. I think its because there is such a strong sense of mineral drive combined with elegant fruit and a slight nuttiness that is perfectly married.

2017 Aerena San Francisco Bay AVA Rosé
Review Date: 05-03-2018
Bay area folks, if you like to shop local Aerena is a great find! This little rose was one of the first I tasted this season and it really left nothing to be desired. It's light, crisp and dry, and even has a sublte savory note that is begging for food. I'd love to try this with sashimi or poke. It would also play well with bacon roasted brussel sprout flatbread.
Price: $19.99 Add To Cart

2016 Bründlmayer "Kamptaler Terrassen" Gruner Veltliner Kamptal
Review Date: 05-03-2018
Sometimes I have a mental block with Gruner, boxing it in as peppery, lean and astringent. However, this wine was a good wake up call for me. This is a lovely, complex, versatile Gruner with texture, weight and multi-dimensional fruit. All this without losing its snappy acidity and lean precision. Its a great buy for a white wine in any category, and one of the best Gruners I've ever had.
Price: $17.99 Add To Cart
WE 92 JS 91

2016 Fratelli Barale Dolcetto d'Alba "Le Rose"
Review Date: 04-09-2018
A slightly lighter, fresher style of Dolcetto such as Fratelli Barale makes is one of my favorite go-to Italian wines. This 2016 vintage is no exception--what with the excellent winemaking and the great pricing thanks to our direct import, this is a no-brainer for your weeknight enjoyment. Did I mention how food-friendly this little wine is?
Price: $13.99 Add To Cart

2014 Keenan "Reserve" Spring Mountain District Cabernet Sauvignon
Review Date: 04-09-2018
When it comes to Napa, and especially when it comes to such prestigious areas as Spring Mountain, the expectation is high. Even so, Keenan's Reserve Cabernet exceeds all expectations. This wines is powerful, layered, and complex, yes, but it also is crafted to age for the long haul. I was immediately reminded of a young Bordeaux from one of the more pricey Chateaux on the left bank. But it goes without saying that the Keenan wine packs a heartier punch than its French counterparts. I truly can't wait to see where this wine goes in 10 or 15 years.
Price: $89.99 Add To Cart
RP 95 VN 93

2015 Domaine du Petit Coteau Vouvray Sec
Review Date: 04-09-2018
Clean honeydew melon aromas accented by apply blossom and nectarine compose the aromas of this wine. On the palate it is light, crisp and pleasantly round, with a dominating white peach and lemon curd note. Very much out performing its price! This little wine is easily one of my favorite Springtime finds.
Price: $13.99 Add To Cart

2016 Domaine du Petit Clocher Anjou Blanc
Review Date: 04-09-2018
Possibly my favorite new under $20 white from anywhere! This wine is light and clean, without any of the funk that can sometimes crop up in Chenin Blanc. It starts with a lovely honeysuckle and apricot nose, and then expounds on the theme with peach blossom and nectarine on the palate. Though well balanced with a fresh cut of acidity, the wine still has some of the weight and texture commonly seen in wines from the area. This is thoroughly delightful on its own, but will absolutely be food friendly as well.
Price: $13.99 Add To Cart

2014 Marietta "Game Trail" Yorkville Highlands Cabernet Sauvignon
Review Date: 04-09-2018
This is a fantastic new arrival from one of our favorite producers and from a stellar vintage! The Game Trail Cabernet is a lovely full bodied wine with silky tannin and succinct, currant and olive notes. This is neither too shy nor too fleshy, but as with all the Marietta wines, it's classic California in style, in all the best senses. Definitely one of the top Cali cabs in the store at any price point.

2012 Louis Jadot Beaune 1er Cru "153rd Anniversary Cuvee"
Review Date: 04-09-2018
Burgundy, of course, is often sited as the origin of the "single vineyard" concept. In many other regions, producers will blend fruit from various sites to achieve a certain style. It is rarely done in Burgundy, except for lesser "rouge" wines. But here we have an exception--Louis Jadot blends fruit from various 1er cru vineyards in Beaune to accomplish something greater than the sum of its parts. With six years aging, this wine is just starting to come into its own--elegant, beautifully balanced, and layered with complexity. One of the best deals for red Burgundy currently on the shelf!

2015 El Lugar "Rincon Vineyard" Arroyo Grande Valley
Review Date: 04-07-2018
A great example of the quality and power coming from this excellent site! El Lugar's "Rincon" Pinot shows luscious aromas of blackberry, cola, and currant leaf. On the palate it strikes a lovely balance of soft fruit, ripe tannin and subtle baking spices. The wines is of a medium body which is quite supple, and much too easy to drink.
Price: $39.99 Add To Cart
WE 94

2016 Clementine Carter "Larner Vineyard" Ballard Canyon Grenache
Review Date: 03-31-2018
Ballard Canyon is one of the warmer sites in the central coast, so I was surprised at how delicate this Grenache is. The wine has a lighter color, with clean red plum and baking spice on the nose. Medium bodied, with excellent structure and a perfect balance of red fruits, pepper, and savory herbal notes, this wine is quickly becoming a new favorite for me.
Price: $29.99 Add To Cart

2016 Domaine Cabirau Côtes du Roussillon
Review Date: 03-31-2018
If you're looking for a good weeknight red that's food friendly, you can't go far wrong with Domaine Cabirau's Cotes du Rousillon. A blend of old vine Grenache, Syrah and Carignan, this wine is medium bodied, full of fresh plum and berry fruits, and accented with smoky, game-y notes. Don't be afraid to stash some of this wine in your cellar either, despite the modest price, this wine is very seriously made, and will undoubtedly gain additional complexity and character with a few years under its belt.

2015 Corofin "Carter Ashmore Vineyard - North Corner" Chardonnay Marlborough
Review Date: 03-26-2018
The Corofin wines are a newer discovery for K&L, and what a great find! Ryan Woodhouse found this label a little while back, and we have finally gotten a good quantity of the wines in stock. Mike & Anna Patterson have selected some of the best and most interesting vineyard sites to source their wine from, and the wine making here is pristine. The Carter Ashmore Vineyard North Corner Chardonnay is one of my favorite wines tasted this year. It walks a line of precision and elegance that is full of terroir expression, exhibiting lovely floral and stone fruit aromas, with a mineral laden palate, and great textural balance from a little lees work.
Price: Hidden View Price

2013 Fable Mountain "Night Sky" GSM Coastal Region
Review Date: 03-26-2018
A GSM as elegant as they come! This wine shows lovely round red fruits, with a hint of peppery spice, but neither too tannic and harsh, nor too jammy and ripe. It strikes the perfect balance for a medium bodied, food-friendly wine. Tending more toward the French style than the California style of GSM, this wine is easily one of the best values and finest quality deals coming from South Africa at the moment.
Price: $19.99 Add To Cart
JS 90 VN 90

Wiston Estate NV Brut West Sussex England
Review Date: 03-26-2018
As a big fan of sparkling wine generally, I am always eager to see what different regions bring to the table. Lately, I have fallen in love with the truly fabulous wines coming from England. Wiston Estate is one of the top producers there, and this NV Brut is a great example of the unique quality of English sparkling wine. The wine feels quite dry on the palate with lively acidity and heavily laden with chalky minerality. On the palate the fruit is surprisingly round, with pleasant apricot and nectarine dominating. Well worth putting a bottle or two aside for your next sparkling adventure!
Price: $29.99 Add To Cart

2014 Clairault Cabernet Sauvignon Margaret River (White Label)
Review Date: 03-26-2018
I'm always on the hunt for Cabernet values, and this lovely wine from Clairault is a great new arrival, that completely blows me away at this price point. Don't hesitate to try this Cabernet--the wine shows serious attention to detail from the cool black fruit, subtle savory herbal notes, through to the well-integrated tannin and fine cut of acidity. Absolutely a food-friendly wine, this Cabernet is one of our very best new bottles!

2012 Streicker "Ironstone Block" Cabernet Sauvignon Margaret River
Review Date: 03-26-2018
I may have a new favorite source for classic Cabernets! The Margaret River in Australia is slowly winning my heart with its elegant, structured, and expressive wines. This Cabernet from Streicker is one of the best examples of what this area is capable. Elegant red and black cassis fruit with pleasant ripeness is balanced against herbal eucalyptus notes, and the whole is showcased by fine boned tannin and fresh acidity. Vibrant yet self-contained, this wine is everything I love about classic Cabernet from a truly great region.
Price: Hidden View Price
JH 96

2015 Domaine Faiveley Gevrey-Chambertin Vieilles Vignes
Review Date: 03-23-2018
What a beautiful example of the power and scope of this great vintage in Gevrey Chambertin! Faiveley's Old Vine bottling is vibrant and full, without losing its poise and structure. Full of dark cherry and plum aromas, accented with baking spice, the wine is medium bodied with soft tannin and round red berry fruits. The finish shows some oak, but not in excess. Rather, the soft notes of mocha and vanilla complement and highlight the beautiful fruit and spice elements. This is a wine built to age, and will drink beautifully after a good 5 years or more in the cellar.
Price: $49.99 Add To Cart

2015 Domaine Thomas Morey Bourgogne Blanc
Review Date: 03-23-2018
There has been much praise for the 2015 vintage in Burgundy, with the only caveat that some of the wines are almost too ripe. That is certainly not the case with this delightful Bourgogne Blanc from Thomas Morey. The wine is perfectly well balanced, with extraordinary texture and elegance. On the nose it displays white peach, honeysuckle, apple blossom and lemon curd. The body has great lees-y texture without being too heavy, and the finish is long. Probably best in a few years, this wine is truly excellent quality for a Bourgogne Blanc.
Price: $19.99 Add To Cart

2014 Banshee Napa Valley Cabernet Sauvignon
Review Date: 02-28-2018
Ask any K&L staffer, but around here Banshee is synonymous with straightforward, true quality wine at a price-point anything but exorbitant. The 2014 Banshee Cab is a Napa classic, though coming from a newer label. With the blend of valley floor fruit, and mountain fruit, the complexity builds nicely, and the wine shows both great structure, and soft, open texture. Probably one of our best Napa cabs price-to-quality wise.
Price: $34.99 Add To Cart
W&S 90

2015 Hermanuspietersfontein (HPF) "No.3 - Bergblokke" Sauvignon Blanc Western Cape
Review Date: 02-28-2018
Possibly one of the best deals in the store, "HPF" not only has everything you want in a crisp, refreshing little Sauvignon Blanc, but also is yards ahead of almost any other wine this price in sheer quality. Avoiding the stylistic pitfalls of being either over-ripe in fruit, or too vegetal, this is the perfectly balanced expression of the varietal. As is traditional for many top Sauvignon Blancs around the world, just a touch of Semillon has been added to fill out the texture a bit on the wine. In my opinion, it's the perfect highlight to this fresh, zesty and melon fruit-laden Sauvignon Blanc.
Price: $9.99 Add To Cart

2015 Argyle "Reserve" Willamette Valley Pinot Noir
Review Date: 02-28-2018
With a warmer, riper-fruited year in 2015, Argyle's Reserve Pinot Noir shows a fuller bodied character, with unabashed fruit. And yet it's ebullient character is well balanced with classic acidity and fine boned tannin. With plenty of clean, blackberry and plum notes, this wine reminds me of some of the best Pinots coming from Russian River, but with a lovely Oregon twist.
Price: $28.99 Add To Cart
JS 93 VN 93

2015 L'Avocat Rouge, Graves
Review Date: 02-23-2018
This may be one of our greatest under $20 finds from the vintage! Don't underrate the wines of the Graves. Although the vintage was warm and many of the wines are quite big, Chateau l'Avocat has kept their wines very restrained and elegant in style. Yes, there is rich red fruit here, but it is well balanced by acidity and fine-boned tannin. The palate is loaded with red plum, cassis, baking spices, licorice, and menthol. This is a pretty little wine that will age like something of a much higher price point.
Price: $17.99 Add To Cart

2015 Les Charmes Godard Blanc, Côtes de Francs
Review Date: 02-23-2018
White Bordeaux can be made in a variety of styles, but often the best, and most long-lived styles are made with a blend of Semillion, and see some oak influence, as is the case here. The oak influence, however, is minimal, since the barrels used are large format. The wine retains plenty of fresh acidity and grassy/citrus notes from the Sauvignon Blanc, but has an added richness of texture and fruit presence due to the Semillon, and the sur lie aging. This is a serious and well-crafted little wine that, although pleasant now, will undoubtedly age phenomenally well.
Price: $17.99 Add To Cart
JS 93 VN 91

2015 Catena Appellation Malbec Lunlunta
Review Date: 02-19-2018
For those of you who prefer a lighter style of Malbec with more elegance than force, this is the wine for you. The aromas are more pronounced and have plenty of red fruit character, with some intriguing baking spice. On the palate the wine is a medium-light weight and has excellent, fine-boned tannin and fresh acidity. It reminds me more of a Cahors, though with softer tannin than is typical there.
Price: $18.99 Add To Cart

2017 Viña Maquis "Calcu" Rosé Colchagua Valley
Review Date: 02-19-2018
When you look at the back of this bottle and read 90% Malbec, 10% Petit Verdot, you are expecting quite the pop of flavor out of this little bottle. But I have to say, it surprised me how elegant and understated this wine is! The color is quite light, and the style is very much in keeping with the dry, French rose traditions from Provence. The delicate aromas are of peach, cherry and cranberry. On the palate the wine is dry, with the fruit following through and balancing out the tangy acidity. A lovely little wine, and well worth the modest price!
Price: $12.99 Add To Cart

2015 Mad Furmint Dry Tokaj Hungary
Review Date: 02-17-2018
I absolutely love this wine! Yes, its dry and crisp, but also bursting with flavor. The fruits are rather exotic, and there is a fair amount of spice to the wine, adding to the complexity. I would easily drink this wine in a variety of settings, and although it could compliment a number of dishes, I think works very well in a stand alone situation.
Price: $16.99 Add To Cart

2016 Tenuta Roveglia "Limne" Lugana
Review Date: 02-05-2018
I am always thrilled and surprised by the white wines of Italy. At first this wine struck me as a simple, grassy, crisp wine. Perhaps I was judging it too quickly by the aromas, though, because on the palate it was surprisingly weighty, with soft stone fruits, and a lovely round quality. Overall, I love how this wine is very multi-dimensional, with great freshness and cut, but also a a depth of character that is surprising at this price.
Price: $15.99 Add To Cart
WE 90

2015 Cavallotto Langhe Nebbiolo
Review Date: 02-05-2018
Beautifully made Nebbiolo from the excellent vintage of 2015! This wine is young, yes, but it has all the right components. Elegant and restrained in style, the wine shows pretty floral/tobacco notes on the nose, followed by a slightly savory red cherry on the palate. The tannins are firm, but fine-boned, and the acidity is, of course, striking. While the wine probably needs a couple of years in the cellar, it is truly a stunning bottle, and will undoubtedly reward your patience.
Price: $31.99 Add To Cart

2013 Bersano "Mantico" Barbaresco
Review Date: 02-05-2018
Well-made Barbaresco at an affordable price-point? Yes please! This lovely bottling has all the elements that I look for in a good Barbaresco, and certainly has the bones to age, even though the fruit has a youthful charm right now. If you do open it now, I'd recommend at least an hour decant to open up the wine, and make sure to enjoy with food. Barbaresco is such an excellent food wine, and this is no exception. Medium bodied, with savory olive, red plum and sandalwood, this wine is absolutely stunning, and a crazy bargain at the price.
Price: $19.99 Add To Cart
WE 91 JS 90

2012 Tenuta di Sesta Brunello di Montalcino
Review Date: 02-05-2018
I love this winery in most vintages, but for me the 2012 vintage is drinking particularly well. There is a great marriage of savory notes, black cherry fruit, and olive in this wine, that is irresistible. I'd highly recommend a good decant (1-2 hours) before enjoying, so that you can access all the layers of flavor present here. Don't think that the goodness ended with the 2010 vintage in Montalcino, this beautiful 2012 is so elegant and well-balanced, that it would be hard to point to a better wine for the price.

2014 Amici Napa Valley Cabernet Sauvignon
Review Date: 02-02-2018
Our friends at Amici have produced another beautiful vintage of their flagship Cabernet. If you loved the 2012, the 2014 is quite similar, but perhaps even more outstanding. Whereas the 2013 was a bit more structured and destined for the cellar, the 2014 is open and soft right off the bat, with elegant berry fruit, cassis, eucalyptus, and sweet spice showing on the palate. I would recommend drinking this with a good steak, or another heartier meal to stand up to this big beauty.
Price: $43.99 Add To Cart
JS 92 WE 91

Page: 1 2 3 next

More Favorites

Heather Vander Wall is also a fan of the following items. To become a fan of Heather Vander Wall, click here to join Heather Vander Wall's Personal Sommelier Service.
2015 Capbern, St-Estèphe ($22.99)

2015 Valravn "Old Vine" Sonoma County Zinfandel ($19.99)

2016 Domaine Paul Pernot Puligny-Montrachet 1er Cru "Clos de la Folatières" ($79.99)

2011 Los Autores "El Brujo" Reserva Rioja ($19.99)

2016 Domaine Santamaria Patrimonio Blanc (Corsica) ($13.99)

2016 Domaine des Remizières Crozes-Hermitage ($15.99)

2014 Amici Sonoma Coast Chardonnay ($24.99)

2013 John Duval "Plexus" SGM Barossa Valley South Australia ($29.99)

2013 Vasse Felix Cabernet Sauvignon Margaret River Western Australia ($29.99)

2011 Miguel Merino "Vitola" Reserva Rioja ($19.99)

2015 Baron de Montfaucon Châteauneuf-du-Pape ($34.99)

2012 du Glana, St-Julien ($24.99)

2015 Jax "Y3 Taureau" Napa Valley Red Blend ($19.99)

2016 Château Vitallis Pouilly-Fuissé "Les Vignes du Chateau" ($21.99)

2012 Poggiarellino Brunello di Montalcino ($29.99)