Staff Favorites

If you’re going to have Robert Parker or Stephen Tanzer over for dinner, selecting a wine they’ve rated highly will be a nice choice. However, when you’re buying wines for yourself, we’d love to see you find wines that match up your unique palate and pocketbook. We have a large staff of friendly and knowledgeable wine professionals that taste hundreds of wines each week. They can put you in touch with bottles that you are likely to love, often at a much lower cost than the highly-rated gems that often see a run-up in price and frequent availability issues. Like any great group of opinionated professionals, our staff has varied tastes themselves. Often our customers will find a particular staff member with a style that corresponds to their own. That concept works extremely well in our retail stores, and this section is our effort to bring you the same online. Don’t get us wrong, we love the highly rated wines from the press and will continue to offer them, but we think you’re missing out if you’re not augmenting those selections with picks from our excellent staff. Here are their favorites. (Click on a name to see their other selections - or to drop them a line.) Cheers!


Reviews

Page: 1  2  3   next  >>
2005 Château de Montfaucon "Baron Louis" Côtes du Rhône
 By: Gary Westby | Review Date: 7/22/2014 | Send Email
  I love it when a producer does the ageing for me! This 2005 Baron Louis from Chateau De Montfaucon has a lovely, developed bouquet of cool black fruit and seamless texture that only comes with the passage of time. The wine still has plenty of size and life, and would be great with your next tri-tip grill up!
Price: $29.99 Add To Cart WS 90 BC 0

2013 Domaine Pas de l'Escalette "Les Petits Pas" Languedoc
 By: Gary Westby | Review Date: 7/22/2014 | Send Email
  It seems like forever since the last time I tasted a southern French red like this! The Pas De L'Escalette Les Petits Pas has the funky, old school, spicy, earthy fruit that I remember in Chateuneuf of days gone by. Usually I expect heat and jam from Languedoc wines, but this dry table wine is free from those distractions. It will make a great partner for a leg of lamb!
Price: $18.99 Add To Cart BC 0

2012 Clos Cibonne Tibouren "Tradition" Côtes de Provence Rosé
 By: Gary Westby | Review Date: 7/22/2014 | Send Email
  If you are ready to try something different in rose, the Clos Cibonne Tibouren Tradition is a great bottle to check out. The ageing under flor brings complexity and texture to this very balanced intriguing pink wine. I can't wait to try it with Gratin de Pommes de Terre Provencal- I think it will be perfect with the salty anchovie and zing tomatoes in this classic recipe. Try it out!
Price: $23.99 Add To Cart BC 0

2009 Caves Jean Bourdy Côtes du Jura Rouge
 By: David Driscoll | Review Date: 7/22/2014 | Send Email
  Oh my God! I love this! A marriage of trousseau, poulsard, and pinot noir that reminds me of ready-to-drink Premier Cru Burgundy, yet only costs me $25? Sign me up for a case. The subtle, light-bodied fruit is haunting and mysterious, coaxing out all the elements that get me excited about red wine.
Price: $24.99 Add To Cart BC 0

2011 Domaine de la Bastide Blanche Bandol
 By: David Driscoll | Review Date: 7/22/2014 | Send Email
  Why drink high-end Rhone wine when you can get this awesome Mouvedre-based selection from Bandol. Instead of over-extracted fruit, you get dark berries, a concentrated core of ripe plum, and lovely accents of black pepper and savory spices. It's a wine that's expressive and easy to like, yet true to its roots.

2012 Clos Cibonne Tibouren "Tradition" Côtes de Provence Rosé
 By: David Driscoll | Review Date: 7/22/2014 | Send Email
  An ever so slight oxidative note permeates the soft, clean fruit of this lovely little rose from Provence. Vinified under a layer of flor, this is almost like rose sherry! Super cool wine.
Price: $23.99 Add To Cart BC 0

Hubert Clavelin "Brut-Comté" Cremant du Jura
 By: David Driscoll | Review Date: 7/22/2014 | Send Email
  For those in search of bargain "Champagne" this is as close as I've found outside of the actual realm. This 100% chardonnay wine has all the mineraltiy, yeasty, and bready aromas of true Champagne, yet the price tag of a higher-end French regional selection. The Jura is a fine source of sparklers, but this one outdoes the competition.
Price: $18.99 Add To Cart BC 0

2010 Louis Magnin Gamay Vin de Savoie
 By: David Driscoll | Review Date: 7/22/2014 | Send Email
  Yes, it's $37 gamay. But MAAAAAAN is it good. A perfect acidity to fruit ratio, lots of crunchy cranberries and black pepper notes, and just an awesome, awe-inspiring finish. This is better than any Cru Beaujolais we have in stock and many of our top Burgundy selections. One of the best red wines I've had all year -- period.
Price: $36.99 Add To Cart BC 0

2010 Domaine de Montbourgeau l'Etoile
 By: David Driscoll | Review Date: 7/22/2014 | Send Email
  AWESOME wine -- if you like fino sherry, that is. I love the oxidized, salty, briney flavors of fino sherry, hence I went crazy for this Jura substitute. Have it with olives, nutty cheeses, and anything else that pairs well with salt!
Price: $23.99 Add To Cart BC 0

2009 Ducluzeau, Listrac
 By: Jacques Moreira | Review Date: 7/22/2014 | Send Email
  Dark garnet with hints of purple. Ducluzeau is definitely a gentle style of Listrac, and that's what they aim for. It is a proud 98% Merlot without any hint of flabbiness at all. Dark berries and a pretty note of vanilla on the nose. Followed by enticing sweet fruit on the palate, such as juicy plum, and cassis, along with coffee notes. Medium tannins and a medium to high acidity, gives it a nice frame of structure to its softness and elegance. All of that makes the 2009 Ducluzeau a quite appealing wine, that shows off the perfect ripeness of the vintage.
Price: $19.99 Add To Cart BC 0

2010 Castello di Monsanto Chianti Classico Riserva
 By: Ryan Woodhouse | Review Date: 7/22/2014 | Send Email
  Remember your last trip to Tuscany...a great bottle of Chianti, bread, olive oil, cured meats and cheese...then you came home and tried to recreate it but never could get the wine to taste right...It's an experience that many have. Often the ambiance simply isn't right. Other times the wines just aren't available. However as soon as I tasted this Monsanto Riserva I was transported back to that place, sitting in the Boboli Gardens smelling the herbs and warm Tuscan earth. This wine has all that rustic charm that you often find in Chianti but with just a touch more purity and poise than the table wine served by the liter that you fell in love with back in Firenze! Aromatic red fruits, scorched earth, leather and spice. Medium bodied with nice fresh acidity and a good balance of fruit and savory. This might just be the one that you have been looking for!

1992 Bruichladdich 21 Year Old K&L Exclusive Signatory Single Barrel Cask Strength Single Malt Whisky 750ml
 By: Jeffrey Jones | Review Date: 7/21/2014 | Send Email
  This single malt tastes like it comes from a specific location. It has complex aromas that hint of the sea and of being on an island. The island experience continues with saline and enticing musty flavors. This is one of the most interesting and pleasing single malts that I have tasted recently.
Price: $149.99 Add To Cart BC 0

1997 Benrinnes 17 Year Old K&L Exclusive Signatory Single Barrel Cask Strength Single Malt Whisky 750ml
 By: Jeffrey Jones | Review Date: 7/21/2014 | Send Email
  This single malt is an absolute joy to drink. It has pretty, sweet and expressive aromas. In the mouth there are fresh, round pure flavors to please. The Benrinnes 17 is all about enjoyment and is for those who are looking for no smoke in their single malt.
Price: $79.99 Add To Cart BC 0

2012 Penfolds "Bin 8" Cabernet Sauvignon-Shiraz South Australia
 By: Ricky Ruvalcaba | Review Date: 7/21/2014 | Send Email
Reviewer image Reviewer image Reviewer image Reviewer image Reviewer image
  A classic Australian blend with an explosion of rich dark fruit. Aged in the same barrels as Bin 389, 128, and 28, this wine carries its oak nicely both on the nose and palate. Smooth tannins and a long finish allow for lovely drinking now but you can also lay it down for years to come. At this price why not do both.
Drink from 2014 to 2020

2011 Mauvesin-Barton, Moulis
 By: Jacques Moreira | Review Date: 7/21/2014 | Send Email
  Medium Garnet color. Nice soft entry. Juicy plum and roasted coffee, cocoa and a touch of cassis. Soft medium tannins at first but quite sneaky on the finish. The cépage is 46% Merlot, 36% Cabernet Sauvignon, 16% Cabernet Franc and 2% Petit Verdot. The soil of this beautiful property owned by the Barton family is mostly clay and limestone, which explain the higher amount of Merlot in the blend. Very well done wine and extremely drinkable right now.

2010 Gressier Grand-Poujeaux, Moulis
 By: Jacques Moreira | Review Date: 7/21/2014 | Send Email
  Dark garnet color. Nice aromatic nose full of blackberries, cocoa and cassis. The palate follows the nose with sweet dark fruit, coffee, and a touch of pepper. Medium tannins and a very soft finish. Accessible now, but it will age beautifully. I did not decant it, and it was delicious from the get go.
Price: $24.99 Add To Cart RP 92 BC 0

2010 Seghesio Barolo
 By: Greg St. Clair | Review Date: 7/21/2014 | Send Email
Reviewer image Reviewer image Reviewer image Reviewer image Reviewer image
  2010 is an outstanding vintage for Barolo and there are so many choices for your cellar because as you know Barolo from great vintages is destined for the bottom of your cellar...except for this one! The Fratelli Seghesio vineyards are in Monforte d’Alba, the center of the Barolo appellation, and they are famous for their Barolo crü La Villa, but they also make a wine from the younger vines and a portion of the vineyard facing to the south-east. This 2010 Seghesio Barolo DOCG is that product and is destined for drinking in the first 10+ years of its life and in great vintages like 2010 it is absolutely delicious and drinkable now. The nose is full of classic aromas: the ethereal rose petals, wild cherries and a hint of smoky underbrush; on your tongue the wine is supple, it still says Barolo with its palate presence as a veil of tannin brushes the inside of your mouth but the wine's luscious fruit is what centers its flavors. The warm, inviting flavors are balanced and smooth and make this wine so easy to drink you’ll be reaching for a second bottle. Then there’s the price... this wine normally sells $35-$40 but at this price it is a deal you just can’t pass up!
Drink from 2014 to 2018
Price: $26.95 Add To Cart BC 0

1998 Laphroaig 15 Year Old K&L Exclusive Signatory Single Refill Sherry Butt Cask Strength Single Malt Whisky 750ml
 By: David Driscoll | Review Date: 7/19/2014 | Send Email
  $169 seems steep when you're talking about 15 year old single malt, but trust me when I tell you that old casks of iconic distilleries like Laphroaig are not going to be available much longer -- at least for a retailer like K&L to purchase. This is a huge, in-your-face version of Laphroaig; no water added, not diluted in any way. Big peat, big smoke, big Islay in a bottle. The fact that this was aged in sherry is icing on the cake.
Price: $169.99 Add To Cart BC 0

2013 TWR (Te Whare Ra) Chardonnay Marlborough
 By: Krista Johnson | Review Date: 7/18/2014 | Send Email
  It takes a lot for a Chardonnay to make my toes curl, and this one does! This New Zealander begins with buttery musk, dried stone fruit, and has a creamy smooth mid-palate. It's followed by a mineral driven chalky finish...what's not to adore?
Price: $24.99 Add To Cart BC 0

2009 Hermanuspietersfontein (HPF) "Die Arnoldus" Bordeaux Blend Sondagskloof
 By: Krista Johnson | Review Date: 7/18/2014 | Send Email
  My oh my oh my.....how I love this wine. A Bordeaux blend from South Africa, this vino beholds all 5 grape varietals. It pours the color of oxblood and has legs that would rival Tina Turner's. The nose explodes with green and black olives brined with wild savory herbs. The mid-palate is richly textured yet grippy, and full of black currant and black cherry skin. The smokey, saline, spicy finish goes on and on. Absolutely marvelous!
Price: $29.99 Add To Cart BC 0

2011 Ferrero Toscana Rosso
 By: Jeffrey Jones | Review Date: 7/18/2014 | Send Email
  This wine is absolutely delicious. It has bright red fruit aromas and flavors but also offers balance and structure. It is ready to drink now, but like many Italian wines, it will taste better if it is opened at least one hour before serving. The Ferro Rosso will go well with pasta or red meats.
Price: $16.99 Add To Cart BC 0

2013 Bedrock Wine Company "Ode to Lulu" Rosé
 By: Jim Boyce | Review Date: 7/17/2014 | Send Email
  There is no question Morgan hit a home run with the 2013 Bedrock Rose! Aromatically enticing with notes of fresh picked strawberries and herbal spices with mint, wild raspberry, and watermelon following and the creamy, yet bright, mineral streaked palate. This wine is so focused and texture driven it really is incredible. Plus, it is extremely food friendly to boot! Open a bottle and you will be on your second glass before you know it!

2013 Rocca di Montegrossi Rosato
 By: Melissa Smith | Review Date: 7/17/2014 | Send Email
  I am so stoked on this wine! For almost five years I have been thoroughly enjoying their reds, and am so excited to see that they are producing more of their exceptional rose that I can't get enough of. With such limited production despite the increase, this is going to be gone in a blink.
Price: $15.99 Add To Cart BC 0

2012 Rocca di Montegrossi Chianti Classico
 By: Melissa Smith | Review Date: 7/17/2014 | Send Email
  Great minds think alike! The great complexity and liveliness of this wine, with homemade pizza topped with crumbled spicy Italian sausage and sweet roasted red peppers, yum.
Price: $19.99 Add To Cart BC 0

2013 Bedrock Wine Company "Ode to Lulu" Rosé
 By: Bryan Brick | Review Date: 7/17/2014 | Send Email
  Morgan Twain-Peterson may be the most talented young winemaker in United States. How could he not be growing up in vineyards besides his well-known father, winemaker Joel Peterson (Ravenswood). Morgan has done exceptionally well in the eyes of the press, and us here at K&L, with his label Bedrock. His wines are thoughtfully crafted small production bottlings from old vines located in “Heritage” vineyards throughout California. Hard to come by, these Bedrock wines already have a loyal and rabid following that just keeps growing year after year. This year we were lucky enough to secure a solid amount of one of Morgan’s least talked-about wines in the Bedrock series, his lovely Mouvedre-dominated Rosé. This year Morgan headed to Mendocino County to find fruit from “soils that had a bit more edge in them.” Still based in old vine fruit from his estate Bedrock and Pagani Ranch, this year’s rose is bolstered by Grenache planted in the 1880s in McDowell Valley and Carignane planted in the 1950s from Ukiah. With its lovely salmon color and intriguing aromatics of fresh mint, red currant, granite and lavender this is pure rosé that is certainly in the realm of great southern French rosés yet it has more depth and structure than most. Earthy to its core with a wealth of bay leaf, anise seed and caraway over a stony core this is bone dry and screaming for food. As the wine opens, and comes up to cellar temperature, the fruit hidden away at the beginning comes out showing tart plum, white cherry and red apple skin. This is about as structural as any Bandol I’ve seen in years and just as good for a lot less money. Don’t miss out!

2010 Rocca di Montegrossi "Geremia" Toscana
 By: Melissa Smith | Review Date: 7/17/2014 | Send Email
  Reminiscent of a wine from Howell Mountain or Spring Mountain above Napa Valley, very reflective of the mountain terroir with pristine mountain fruit.
Price: $44.99 Add To Cart BC 0

2009 Rocca di Montegrossi "San Marcellino" Chianti Classico
 By: Melissa Smith | Review Date: 7/17/2014 | Send Email
  Big, rich, masculine wine that will be excellent with red wine braised rabbit over Gorgonzola polenta and green beans sauteed with shallots. AKA fancy hunter's food.
Price: $44.99 Add To Cart AG 95 BC 0

2012 Léoville-Barton, St-Julien (1.5L) Pre-Arrival
 By: Clyde Beffa Jr. | Review Date: 7/17/2014 | Send Email
  * Big wine. Powerful and full-bodied. This wine will need some years in the cellar, but it should be great.

2012 Léoville-Barton, St-Julien (1.5L) Pre-Arrival
 By: Trey Beffa | Review Date: 7/17/2014 | Send Email
  The 2012 Barton shows classic Léoville-Barton color and flavor profile. Dark, with almost black fruits, the 2012 has a purity of fruit that I like, along with an almost velvety mid-palate. Tannins are definitely present and the wine shows a firm structure, which leads me to believe this will be a good wine to cellar for the mid- to longer-term for the vintage.

2012 Neely "Holly's Cuvée-Spring Ridge Vineyard" Santa Cruz Mountains Chardonnay
 By: Melissa Smith | Review Date: 7/17/2014 | Send Email
  I'm tempted to say, if you have to buy one California Chardonnay this year, this is the one. It is stunning. Well integrated oak that enriches every terroir used in this cuvee, great balance and an abundance of finesse.
Price: $47.99 Add To Cart AG 93 BC 0

2012 Varner "Bee Block" Santa Cruz Mountains Chardonnay
 By: Melissa Smith | Review Date: 7/17/2014 | Send Email
  My favorite of the Varner offerings every year, there is so much to this wine! Elegant, expressive, and with a distinctive waxy texture. This will continue to age and evolve into an incredible wine. Very cellar worthy.
Price: $47.99 Add To Cart AG 95 BC 0

2011 Anima Libera Chianti
 By: Melissa Smith | Review Date: 7/17/2014 | Send Email
  So much to like about this wine. The story, the quality, the great dark fruit, and soft tannins, the inflections of black licorice and pencil shavings, and then there's the price! There is not much this wine won't go with. Perfect for a party with other free spirits!
Price: $11.99 Add To Cart BC 0

Tintero "Grangia" Bianco
 By: Melissa Smith | Review Date: 7/17/2014 | Send Email
  Dry, rich, and a touch frizante. Perfect for light and bright dishes, a slice of watermelon topped with crumbled feta and torn mint would be an awesome pairing on a hot day.
Price: $8.99 Add To Cart BC 0

2012 Domaine Anne & Arnaud Goisot Bourgogne Côtes d'Auxerre Pinot Noir
 By: Melissa Smith | Review Date: 7/17/2014 | Send Email
  It's time to stock up on Burgundy! Bright and lively with great balance of ripe fruit and fresh acidity, and incredible nuance for such an affordable wine.
Price: $13.99 Add To Cart BC 0

2012 Il Palagio "When We Dance" Toscana
 By: Melissa Smith | Review Date: 7/17/2014 | Send Email
  A gorgeous and fun weeknight wine that inspired a K&L blog post with a recipe for zucchini pasta with spicy Italian sausage and Parmesan.
Price: $15.99 Add To Cart BC 0

2013 TWR (Te Whare Ra) Chardonnay Marlborough
 By: Mike Barber | Review Date: 7/16/2014 | Send Email
Reviewer image Reviewer image Reviewer image Reviewer image Reviewer image
  Unmistakably Chardonnay, the wine has aromas of almond and wet gravel and a slight straw color. But Te Whare Ra's Chardonnay is more elegant than the nose would have you believe--a racy and bright wine filled with lemon flavors and a slight hint of oak that is sure to satisfy any fan of cool weather whites.
Top Value! Drink from 2014 to 2017
Price: $24.99 Add To Cart BC 0

2013 TWR (Te Whare Ra) Sauvignon Blanc Marlborough
 By: Mike Barber | Review Date: 7/16/2014 | Send Email
Reviewer image Reviewer image Reviewer image Reviewer image Reviewer image
  Another triumph from one of our favorite producers in New Zealand. This Blanc is edgy and very sharp, with quintessential New Zealand bright citrus and slight grassy flavors, complemented by fig and lychee aromas. This biodynamic beauty has so much to offer fans of Sauvignon Blanc; one of TWR's best yet, and still at a great price!
Top Value! Drink from 2014 to 2018
Price: $18.99 Add To Cart BC 0

2013 TWR (Te Whare Ra) Pinot Noir Marlborough
 By: Mike Barber | Review Date: 7/16/2014 | Send Email
Reviewer image Reviewer image Reviewer image Reviewer image Reviewer image
  This is a Pinot with structure--a nervy and delicious cool weather red with lean red fruit flavors but plenty of mouth-coating tannins. The fruit notes here are slightly bitter, lean raspberry and plum resting behind cassis and lavender, leaving a wonderfully long impression on the palate. The winemakers at Te Whare Ra took full advantage of the excellent 2013 growing season to craft this mouthwatering Pinot.
Top Value! Drink from 2014 to 2019
Price: $26.99 Add To Cart BC 0

2013 TWR (Te Whare Ra) Sauvignon Blanc Marlborough
 By: Steve Bearden | Review Date: 7/16/2014 | Send Email
  I am a big fan of the entire TWR portfolio but my favorite is always this vibrant Sauvignon Blanc because of its pure flavors and rich texture. Herb, melon, crushed citrus and just a hint of musk add complexity to this weighty but very refreshing value.
Price: $18.99 Add To Cart BC 0

2011 Ferrero Toscana Rosso
 By: Keith Wollenberg | Review Date: 7/16/2014 | Send Email
  This has lovely, sweet fruit, and is a delicious blend of Cab, Merlot, Montepulciano and Alicante. This is a Super Tuscan to put those over-priced California Cult Cabernets to shame. Simply delightful.
Top Value!
Price: $16.99 Add To Cart BC 0

2013 Corte Gardoni Bardolino Rosato Chiaretto
 By: Keith Wollenberg | Review Date: 7/16/2014 | Send Email
  This delightful rosé has a lovely texture, nice spice and an interesting finish. Never heavy, but never wispy, this Chiaretto (from the Italian "clear") has a delightful transparency. Bravissimo!
Top Value!
Price: $11.99 Add To Cart BC 0

2012 Ferrero Rosso di Montalcino
 By: Keith Wollenberg | Review Date: 7/16/2014 | Send Email
  This 100% Sangiovese wine is elegant, with a nice focus. Clean, sophisticated and very drinkable. What's not to like?
Price: $17.99 Add To Cart BC 0

2008 Sesta di Sopra Brunello di Montalcino
 By: Keith Wollenberg | Review Date: 7/16/2014 | Send Email
  This is very, very good. It has lovely fruit, and is just opening and losing its angularity it showed a year ago. This is bottled unfined and unfiltered and is a terrific cellar candidate. Don't overlook the so-called lesser vintages from great wine-growers like this! It has found a place in my cellar.
Top Value!

2010 Seghesio Barolo
 By: Keith Wollenberg | Review Date: 7/16/2014 | Send Email
  OK, I thought we were not going to see any more Barolos under $30, with the weakness in the dollar. But Greg St. Clair has pulled another rabbit out of his hat. This is solid, spicy, and very drinkable, with fine-grained tannins for such a young Nebbiolo.
Top Value!
Price: $26.95 Add To Cart BC 0

2010 Our Wine Rkatsiteli Republic of Georgia
 By: Sarah Covey | Review Date: 7/16/2014 | Send Email
  Holy unusual, Batman! Dried orange peel, dried apricot, citrus and a cheesy, leesy toastiness--with a crazy amount of tannin! Medium plus acidity. If you've ever wondered about the wines of Georgia, this friendly wine is a great intro. Serve with a cheese plate or roasted chicken!
Price: $18.99 Add To Cart W&S 95 BC 0

2013 TWR (Te Whare Ra) Pinot Noir Marlborough
 By: Jim Chanteloup | Review Date: 7/16/2014 | Send Email
  The wines from Te Whare Ra have been turning heads since we've brought them into our New Zealand category, and the 2013s may be the best to date. The Pinot shows lovely dark plum, strawberry, cherry, light toasty oak, earth/clay notes, a hint of rose petal, tea bag and spice. On the palate, the wine has soft supple tannins that are balanced and harmonious with a long, persistent finish.
Price: $26.99 Add To Cart BC 0

2012 Te Whare Ra (TWR) Sauvignon Blanc Marlborough New Zealand
 By: Keith Wollenberg | Review Date: 7/16/2014 | Send Email
  Crisp and bright, thanks to the cool nights in the Awatere Valley. Lot of minerality and focus, and none of that over-the-top gooseberry thing some NZ Sauv Blancs tend towards. Probably because it is organically and biodynamically grown, with controlled yields. Then it sees a slow fermentation with native yeasts. Well done!
Price: $18.99 Add To Cart DC 91 BC 0

2002 Bowmore 11 Year Old K&L Exclusive Signatory Single Refill Sherry Hogshead Single Malt Whisky 750ml
 By: Jim Boyce | Review Date: 7/16/2014 | Send Email
  Since Mr. Garneaus' review cannot be topped, I will go ahead and agree with everything he said. I tasted through David's selections, all stellar, and promptly bought the Bowmore 11 Year Old K&L Exclusive Signatory Single Refill Sherry Hogshead Single Malt Whisky. Truly amazing stuff.
Price: $79.99 Add To Cart BC 0

2013 TWR (Te Whare Ra) Riesling "D" Marlborough
 By: David Driscoll | Review Date: 7/16/2014 | Send Email
  This is always one of the prettiest wines we receive in each year. The juxtaposition of lime pith and cocktail fruit balances the fruit-forward nature of the wine. There's no sweetness whatsoever, yet the wine is zesty and fun in a way that sweet Rieslings can usually be. Again, as is the case with all the TWR wines, the price is quite generous.
Price: $19.99 Add To Cart BC 0

Can Mayol Loxarel "999" Cava Brut Rosé Penedes
 By: Joe Manekin | Review Date: 7/16/2014 | Send Email
  This is our go to household pink bubbly. It is unapologetically dry, yet so flavorful, explosive and authoritative on the palate, that it is hard to believe we are dealing with under $15 bubbles here. Tangy red fruits, perhaps a suggestion of hibiscus, combine with a nice bead and pleasing texture to make this such a great sparkling wine for the money. As this is a DI, I have been to the property, seen the care with which these vines are grown and the wine is made, and can only say that all of the Loxarel wines, including this one, have my highest recommendation.
Price: $12.99 Add To Cart W&S 91 BC 0

Page: 1  2  3   next  >>