Staff Favorites

If you’re going to have Robert Parker or Stephen Tanzer over for dinner, selecting a wine they’ve rated highly will be a nice choice. However, when you’re buying wines for yourself, we’d love to see you find wines that match up your unique palate and pocketbook. We have a large staff of friendly and knowledgeable wine professionals that taste hundreds of wines each week. They can put you in touch with bottles that you are likely to love, often at a much lower cost than the highly-rated gems that often see a run-up in price and frequent availability issues. Like any great group of opinionated professionals, our staff has varied tastes themselves. Often our customers will find a particular staff member with a style that corresponds to their own. That concept works extremely well in our retail stores, and this section is our effort to bring you the same online. Don’t get us wrong, we love the highly rated wines from the press and will continue to offer them, but we think you’re missing out if you’re not augmenting those selections with picks from our excellent staff. Here are their favorites. (Click on a name to see their other selections - or to drop them a line.) Cheers!


Reviews

Page: 1  2  3   next  >>
1992 Bruichladdich 21 Year Old K&L Exclusive Signatory Single Barrel Cask Strength Single Malt Whisky 750ml
 By: Jeffrey Jones | Review Date: 7/21/2014 | Send Email
  This single malt tastes like it comes from a specific location. It has complex aromas that hint of the sea and of being on an island. The island experience continues with saline and enticing musty flavors. This is one of the most interesting and pleasing single malts that I have tasted recently.
Price: $149.99 Add To Cart BC 0

1997 Benrinnes 17 Year Old K&L Exclusive Signatory Single Barrel Cask Strength Single Malt Whisky 750ml
 By: Jeffrey Jones | Review Date: 7/21/2014 | Send Email
  This single malt is an absolute joy to drink. It has pretty, sweet and expressive aromas. In the mouth there are fresh, round pure flavors to please. The Benrinnes 17 is all about enjoyment and is for those who are looking for no smoke in their single malt.
Price: $79.99 Add To Cart BC 0

2012 Penfolds "Bin 8" Cabernet Sauvignon-Shiraz South Australia
 By: Ricky Ruvalcaba | Review Date: 7/21/2014 | Send Email
Reviewer image Reviewer image Reviewer image Reviewer image Reviewer image
  A classic Australian blend with an explosion of rich dark fruit. Aged in the same barrels as Bin 389, 128, and 28, this wine carries its oak nicely both on the nose and palate. Smooth tannins and a long finish allow for lovely drinking now but you can also lay it down for years to come. At this price why not do both.
Drink from 2014 to 2020

2011 Mauvesin-Barton, Moulis
 By: Jacques Moreira | Review Date: 7/21/2014 | Send Email
  Medium Garnet color. Nice soft entry. Juicy plum and roasted coffee, cocoa and a touch of cassis. Soft medium tannins at first but quite sneaky on the finish. The cépage is 46% Merlot, 36% Cabernet Sauvignon, 16% Cabernet Franc and 2% Petit Verdot. The soil of this beautiful property owned by the Barton family is mostly clay and limestone, which explain the higher amount of Merlot in the blend. Very well done wine and extremely drinkable right now.

2010 Gressier Grand-Poujeaux, Moulis
 By: Jacques Moreira | Review Date: 7/21/2014 | Send Email
  Dark garnet color. Nice aromatic nose full of blackberries, cocoa and cassis. The palate follows the nose with sweet dark fruit, coffee, and a touch of pepper. Medium tannins and a very soft finish. Accessible now, but it will age beautifully. I did not decant it, and it was delicious from the get go.
Price: $24.99 Add To Cart RP 92 BC 0

2010 Seghesio Barolo
 By: Greg St. Clair | Review Date: 7/21/2014 | Send Email
Reviewer image Reviewer image Reviewer image Reviewer image Reviewer image
  2010 is an outstanding vintage for Barolo and there are so many choices for your cellar because as you know Barolo from great vintages is destined for the bottom of your cellar...except for this one! The Fratelli Seghesio vineyards are in Monforte d’Alba, the center of the Barolo appellation, and they are famous for their Barolo crü La Villa, but they also make a wine from the younger vines and a portion of the vineyard facing to the south-east. This 2010 Seghesio Barolo DOCG is that product and is destined for drinking in the first 10+ years of its life and in great vintages like 2010 it is absolutely delicious and drinkable now. The nose is full of classic aromas: the ethereal rose petals, wild cherries and a hint of smoky underbrush; on your tongue the wine is supple, it still says Barolo with its palate presence as a veil of tannin brushes the inside of your mouth but the wine's luscious fruit is what centers its flavors. The warm, inviting flavors are balanced and smooth and make this wine so easy to drink you’ll be reaching for a second bottle. Then there’s the price... this wine normally sells $35-$40 but at this price it is a deal you just can’t pass up!
Drink from 2014 to 2018
Price: $26.95 Add To Cart BC 0

1998 Laphroaig 15 Year Old K&L Exclusive Signatory Single Refill Sherry Butt Cask Strength Single Malt Whisky 750ml
 By: David Driscoll | Review Date: 7/19/2014 | Send Email
  $169 seems steep when you're talking about 15 year old single malt, but trust me when I tell you that old casks of iconic distilleries like Laphroaig are not going to be available much longer -- at least for a retailer like K&L to purchase. This is a huge, in-your-face version of Laphroaig; no water added, not diluted in any way. Big peat, big smoke, big Islay in a bottle. The fact that this was aged in sherry is icing on the cake.
Price: $169.99 Add To Cart BC 0

2013 TWR (Te Whare Ra) Chardonnay Marlborough
 By: Krista Johnson | Review Date: 7/18/2014 | Send Email
  It takes a lot for a Chardonnay to make my toes curl, and this one does! This New Zealander begins with buttery musk, dried stone fruit, and has a creamy smooth mid-palate. It's followed by a mineral driven chalky finish...what's not to adore?
Price: $24.99 Add To Cart BC 0

2009 Hermanuspietersfontein (HPF) "Die Arnoldus" Bordeaux Blend Sondagskloof
 By: Krista Johnson | Review Date: 7/18/2014 | Send Email
  My oh my oh my.....how I love this wine. A Bordeaux blend from South Africa, this vino beholds all 5 grape varietals. It pours the color of oxblood and has legs that would rival Tina Turner's. The nose explodes with green and black olives brined with wild savory herbs. The mid-palate is richly textured yet grippy, and full of black currant and black cherry skin. The smokey, saline, spicy finish goes on and on. Absolutely marvelous!
Price: $29.99 Add To Cart BC 0

2011 Ferrero Toscana Rosso
 By: Jeffrey Jones | Review Date: 7/18/2014 | Send Email
  This wine is absolutely delicious. It has bright red fruit aromas and flavors but also offers balance and structure. It is ready to drink now, but like many Italian wines, it will taste better if it is opened at least one hour before serving. The Ferro Rosso will go well with pasta or red meats.
Price: $16.99 Add To Cart BC 0

2013 Bedrock Wine Company "Ode to Lulu" Rosé
 By: Jim Boyce | Review Date: 7/17/2014 | Send Email
  There is no question Morgan hit a home run with the 2013 Bedrock Rose! Aromatically enticing with notes of fresh picked strawberries and herbal spices with mint, wild raspberry, and watermelon following and the creamy, yet bright, mineral streaked palate. This wine is so focused and texture driven it really is incredible. Plus, it is extremely food friendly to boot! Open a bottle and you will be on your second glass before you know it!

2013 Rocca di Montegrossi Rosato
 By: Melissa Smith | Review Date: 7/17/2014 | Send Email
  I am so stoked on this wine! For almost five years I have been thoroughly enjoying their reds, and am so excited to see that they are producing more of their exceptional rose that I can't get enough of. With such limited production despite the increase, this is going to be gone in a blink.
Price: $15.99 Add To Cart BC 0

2012 Rocca di Montegrossi Chianti Classico
 By: Melissa Smith | Review Date: 7/17/2014 | Send Email
  Great minds think alike! The great complexity and liveliness of this wine, with homemade pizza topped with crumbled spicy Italian sausage and sweet roasted red peppers, yum.
Price: $19.99 Add To Cart BC 0

2013 Bedrock Wine Company "Ode to Lulu" Rosé
 By: Bryan Brick | Review Date: 7/17/2014 | Send Email
  Morgan Twain-Peterson may be the most talented young winemaker in United States. How could he not be growing up in vineyards besides his well-known father, winemaker Joel Peterson (Ravenswood). Morgan has done exceptionally well in the eyes of the press, and us here at K&L, with his label Bedrock. His wines are thoughtfully crafted small production bottlings from old vines located in “Heritage” vineyards throughout California. Hard to come by, these Bedrock wines already have a loyal and rabid following that just keeps growing year after year. This year we were lucky enough to secure a solid amount of one of Morgan’s least talked-about wines in the Bedrock series, his lovely Mouvedre-dominated Rosé. This year Morgan headed to Mendocino County to find fruit from “soils that had a bit more edge in them.” Still based in old vine fruit from his estate Bedrock and Pagani Ranch, this year’s rose is bolstered by Grenache planted in the 1880s in McDowell Valley and Carignane planted in the 1950s from Ukiah. With its lovely salmon color and intriguing aromatics of fresh mint, red currant, granite and lavender this is pure rosé that is certainly in the realm of great southern French rosés yet it has more depth and structure than most. Earthy to its core with a wealth of bay leaf, anise seed and caraway over a stony core this is bone dry and screaming for food. As the wine opens, and comes up to cellar temperature, the fruit hidden away at the beginning comes out showing tart plum, white cherry and red apple skin. This is about as structural as any Bandol I’ve seen in years and just as good for a lot less money. Don’t miss out!

2010 Rocca di Montegrossi "Geremia" Toscana
 By: Melissa Smith | Review Date: 7/17/2014 | Send Email
  Reminiscent of a wine from Howell Mountain or Spring Mountain above Napa Valley, very reflective of the mountain terroir with pristine mountain fruit.
Price: $44.99 Add To Cart BC 0

2009 Rocca di Montegrossi "San Marcellino" Chianti Classico
 By: Melissa Smith | Review Date: 7/17/2014 | Send Email
  Big, rich, masculine wine that will be excellent with red wine braised rabbit over Gorgonzola polenta and green beans sauteed with shallots. AKA fancy hunter's food.
Price: $44.99 Add To Cart AG 95 BC 0

2012 Léoville-Barton, St-Julien (1.5L) Pre-Arrival
 By: Clyde Beffa Jr. | Review Date: 7/17/2014 | Send Email
  * Big wine. Powerful and full-bodied. This wine will need some years in the cellar, but it should be great.

2012 Léoville-Barton, St-Julien (1.5L) Pre-Arrival
 By: Trey Beffa | Review Date: 7/17/2014 | Send Email
  The 2012 Barton shows classic Léoville-Barton color and flavor profile. Dark, with almost black fruits, the 2012 has a purity of fruit that I like, along with an almost velvety mid-palate. Tannins are definitely present and the wine shows a firm structure, which leads me to believe this will be a good wine to cellar for the mid- to longer-term for the vintage.

2012 Neely "Holly's Cuvée-Spring Ridge Vineyard" Santa Cruz Mountains Chardonnay
 By: Melissa Smith | Review Date: 7/17/2014 | Send Email
  I'm tempted to say, if you have to buy one California Chardonnay this year, this is the one. It is stunning. Well integrated oak that enriches every terroir used in this cuvee, great balance and an abundance of finesse.
Price: $47.99 Add To Cart AG 93 BC 0

2012 Varner "Bee Block" Santa Cruz Mountains Chardonnay
 By: Melissa Smith | Review Date: 7/17/2014 | Send Email
  My favorite of the Varner offerings every year, there is so much to this wine! Elegant, expressive, and with a distinctive waxy texture. This will continue to age and evolve into an incredible wine. Very cellar worthy.
Price: $47.99 Add To Cart AG 95 BC 0

2011 Anima Libera Chianti
 By: Melissa Smith | Review Date: 7/17/2014 | Send Email
  So much to like about this wine. The story, the quality, the great dark fruit, and soft tannins, the inflections of black licorice and pencil shavings, and then there's the price! There is not much this wine won't go with. Perfect for a party with other free spirits!
Price: $11.99 Add To Cart BC 0

Tintero "Grangia" Bianco
 By: Melissa Smith | Review Date: 7/17/2014 | Send Email
  Dry, rich, and a touch frizante. Perfect for light and bright dishes, a slice of watermelon topped with crumbled feta and torn mint would be an awesome pairing on a hot day.
Price: $8.99 Add To Cart BC 0

2012 Domaine Anne & Arnaud Goisot Bourgogne Côtes d'Auxerre Pinot Noir
 By: Melissa Smith | Review Date: 7/17/2014 | Send Email
  It's time to stock up on Burgundy! Bright and lively with great balance of ripe fruit and fresh acidity, and incredible nuance for such an affordable wine.
Price: $13.99 Add To Cart BC 0

2012 Il Palagio "When We Dance" Toscana
 By: Melissa Smith | Review Date: 7/17/2014 | Send Email
  A gorgeous and fun weeknight wine that inspired a K&L blog post with a recipe for zucchini pasta with spicy Italian sausage and Parmesan.
Price: $15.99 Add To Cart BC 0

2013 TWR (Te Whare Ra) Chardonnay Marlborough
 By: Mike Barber | Review Date: 7/16/2014 | Send Email
Reviewer image Reviewer image Reviewer image Reviewer image Reviewer image
  Unmistakably Chardonnay, the wine has aromas of almond and wet gravel and a slight straw color. But Te Whare Ra's Chardonnay is more elegant than the nose would have you believe--a racy and bright wine filled with lemon flavors and a slight hint of oak that is sure to satisfy any fan of cool weather whites.
Top Value! Drink from 2014 to 2017
Price: $24.99 Add To Cart BC 0

2013 TWR (Te Whare Ra) Sauvignon Blanc Marlborough
 By: Mike Barber | Review Date: 7/16/2014 | Send Email
Reviewer image Reviewer image Reviewer image Reviewer image Reviewer image
  Another triumph from one of our favorite producers in New Zealand. This Blanc is edgy and very sharp, with quintessential New Zealand bright citrus and slight grassy flavors, complemented by fig and lychee aromas. This biodynamic beauty has so much to offer fans of Sauvignon Blanc; one of TWR's best yet, and still at a great price!
Top Value! Drink from 2014 to 2018
Price: $18.99 Add To Cart BC 0

2013 TWR (Te Whare Ra) Pinot Noir Marlborough
 By: Mike Barber | Review Date: 7/16/2014 | Send Email
Reviewer image Reviewer image Reviewer image Reviewer image Reviewer image
  This is a Pinot with structure--a nervy and delicious cool weather red with lean red fruit flavors but plenty of mouth-coating tannins. The fruit notes here are slightly bitter, lean raspberry and plum resting behind cassis and lavender, leaving a wonderfully long impression on the palate. The winemakers at Te Whare Ra took full advantage of the excellent 2013 growing season to craft this mouthwatering Pinot.
Top Value! Drink from 2014 to 2019
Price: $26.99 Add To Cart BC 0

2013 TWR (Te Whare Ra) Sauvignon Blanc Marlborough
 By: Steve Bearden | Review Date: 7/16/2014 | Send Email
  I am a big fan of the entire TWR portfolio but my favorite is always this vibrant Sauvignon Blanc because of its pure flavors and rich texture. Herb, melon, crushed citrus and just a hint of musk add complexity to this weighty but very refreshing value.
Price: $18.99 Add To Cart BC 0

2011 Ferrero Toscana Rosso
 By: Keith Wollenberg | Review Date: 7/16/2014 | Send Email
  This has lovely, sweet fruit, and is a delicious blend of Cab, Merlot, Montepulciano and Alicante. This is a Super Tuscan to put those over-priced California Cult Cabernets to shame. Simply delightful.
Top Value!
Price: $16.99 Add To Cart BC 0

2013 Corte Gardoni Bardolino Rosato Chiaretto
 By: Keith Wollenberg | Review Date: 7/16/2014 | Send Email
  This delightful rosé has a lovely texture, nice spice and an interesting finish. Never heavy, but never wispy, this Chiaretto (from the Italian "clear") has a delightful transparency. Bravissimo!
Top Value!
Price: $11.99 Add To Cart BC 0

2012 Ferrero Rosso di Montalcino
 By: Keith Wollenberg | Review Date: 7/16/2014 | Send Email
  This 100% Sangiovese wine is elegant, with a nice focus. Clean, sophisticated and very drinkable. What's not to like?
Price: $17.99 Add To Cart BC 0

2008 Sesta di Sopra Brunello di Montalcino
 By: Keith Wollenberg | Review Date: 7/16/2014 | Send Email
  This is very, very good. It has lovely fruit, and is just opening and losing its angularity it showed a year ago. This is bottled unfined and unfiltered and is a terrific cellar candidate. Don't overlook the so-called lesser vintages from great wine-growers like this! It has found a place in my cellar.
Top Value!

2010 Seghesio Barolo
 By: Keith Wollenberg | Review Date: 7/16/2014 | Send Email
  OK, I thought we were not going to see any more Barolos under $30, with the weakness in the dollar. But Greg St. Clair has pulled another rabbit out of his hat. This is solid, spicy, and very drinkable, with fine-grained tannins for such a young Nebbiolo.
Top Value!
Price: $26.95 Add To Cart BC 0

2010 Our Wine Rkatsiteli Republic of Georgia
 By: Sarah Covey | Review Date: 7/16/2014 | Send Email
  Holy unusual, Batman! Dried orange peel, dried apricot, citrus and a cheesy, leesy toastiness--with a crazy amount of tannin! Medium plus acidity. If you've ever wondered about the wines of Georgia, this friendly wine is a great intro. Serve with a cheese plate or roasted chicken!
Price: $18.99 Add To Cart W&S 95 BC 0

2013 TWR (Te Whare Ra) Pinot Noir Marlborough
 By: Jim Chanteloup | Review Date: 7/16/2014 | Send Email
  The wines from Te Whare Ra have been turning heads since we've brought them into our New Zealand category, and the 2013s may be the best to date. The Pinot shows lovely dark plum, strawberry, cherry, light toasty oak, earth/clay notes, a hint of rose petal, tea bag and spice. On the palate, the wine has soft supple tannins that are balanced and harmonious with a long, persistent finish.
Price: $26.99 Add To Cart BC 0

2012 Te Whare Ra (TWR) Sauvignon Blanc Marlborough New Zealand
 By: Keith Wollenberg | Review Date: 7/16/2014 | Send Email
  Crisp and bright, thanks to the cool nights in the Awatere Valley. Lot of minerality and focus, and none of that over-the-top gooseberry thing some NZ Sauv Blancs tend towards. Probably because it is organically and biodynamically grown, with controlled yields. Then it sees a slow fermentation with native yeasts. Well done!
Price: $18.99 Add To Cart DC 91 BC 0

2002 Bowmore 11 Year Old K&L Exclusive Signatory Single Refill Sherry Hogshead Single Malt Whisky 750ml
 By: Jim Boyce | Review Date: 7/16/2014 | Send Email
  Since Mr. Garneaus' review cannot be topped, I will go ahead and agree with everything he said. I tasted through David's selections, all stellar, and promptly bought the Bowmore 11 Year Old K&L Exclusive Signatory Single Refill Sherry Hogshead Single Malt Whisky. Truly amazing stuff.
Price: $79.99 Add To Cart BC 0

2013 TWR (Te Whare Ra) Riesling "D" Marlborough
 By: David Driscoll | Review Date: 7/16/2014 | Send Email
  This is always one of the prettiest wines we receive in each year. The juxtaposition of lime pith and cocktail fruit balances the fruit-forward nature of the wine. There's no sweetness whatsoever, yet the wine is zesty and fun in a way that sweet Rieslings can usually be. Again, as is the case with all the TWR wines, the price is quite generous.
Price: $19.99 Add To Cart BC 0

Can Mayol Loxarel "999" Cava Brut Rosé Penedes
 By: Joe Manekin | Review Date: 7/16/2014 | Send Email
  This is our go to household pink bubbly. It is unapologetically dry, yet so flavorful, explosive and authoritative on the palate, that it is hard to believe we are dealing with under $15 bubbles here. Tangy red fruits, perhaps a suggestion of hibiscus, combine with a nice bead and pleasing texture to make this such a great sparkling wine for the money. As this is a DI, I have been to the property, seen the care with which these vines are grown and the wine is made, and can only say that all of the Loxarel wines, including this one, have my highest recommendation.
Price: $12.99 Add To Cart W&S 91 BC 0

2011 Fillaboa "Finca Monte Alto" Albariño Rias Baixas
 By: Joe Manekin | Review Date: 7/16/2014 | Send Email
  Albariño has transformed itself into Spain's most popular, serious white wine export because of wines like this. This single vineyard bottling from Fillaboa has delicious fruit, marked minerality, and more than a nod to the saltwater inlets (or "Rias") that shape coastal Galicia. Drink this wine with clams steamed in wine and garlic, whole grilled fish, or any fresh seafood you can get your hands on. I can assure you that it will be a food and wine pairing you'll come back to time and time again.
Price: $19.99 Add To Cart W&S 94 BC 0

1997 Glenlivet 16 Year Old K&L Exclusive Signatory Single Sherry Butt Single Malt Whisky 750ml
 By: David Driscoll | Review Date: 7/16/2014 | Send Email
  This is the type of whisky you buy two or three of because you're going to finish the bottle faster than you expect and the K&L supply will be gone when you come back for more. Sherry-aged whisky of this provenance and quality is becoming incredibly difficult to find, which is why we took as much of it as we could. The round, rich, raisined mouthfeel is what a majority of whisky drinkers are craving right now and none of the regular Glenlivet releases have this much weight. This is more like dessert Macallan. It's going to FLY outta here, so load up.
Price: $79.99 Add To Cart BC 0

2013 TWR (Te Whare Ra) Chardonnay Marlborough
 By: David Driscoll | Review Date: 7/16/2014 | Send Email
  The TWR Chardonnay is basically white Burgundy for a fair price. Rather than overpay for Meursault or Chassagne that won't drink well for another decade, why not indulge yourself now with the Te Whare Ra? The richness from oak aging is apparent, but it's not the focus of the palate. The piercing mineral notes are at the forefront and the fruit offers a counterbalance to the refreshing acidity. Great stuff.
Price: $24.99 Add To Cart BC 0

2013 TWR (Te Whare Ra) Sauvignon Blanc Marlborough
 By: David Driscoll | Review Date: 7/16/2014 | Send Email
  Once again, the TWR Sauvignon Blanc becomes the best Sauvignon Blanc we carry for the money with its return to inventory. You think you don't like NZ SB because it's too grapefruity or herbaceous? Let the TWR blow your mind and change it simultaneously. There's citrus, of course, but it's subtle and nuanced, balanced completely by a stony minerality and vivacious bouquet of fruit. The price for a wine this good is also ridiculous.
Price: $18.99 Add To Cart BC 0

2002 Bowmore 11 Year Old K&L Exclusive Signatory Single Refill Sherry Hogshead Single Malt Whisky 750ml
 By: Jeff Garneau | Review Date: 7/16/2014 | Send Email
  You stumble at the foot of the stairs, eyes struggling to adjust in the dim interior of the nightclub. Somewhere a piano plays an old jazz standard. You are certain you have heard it before but you can’t recall where or when. Soft voices murmur in the darkness, the words themselves indistinct. Suddenly a cigarette flares nearby, illuminating a face of porcelain etched in shadow. Smoke winds upward, disappearing into the gloom. Silk whispers against soft flesh as she raises a hand, gesturing to the chair opposite. You move to sit. The night is full of mystery and possibility. Who knows what might happen? Each year as I taste through the latest single malt offerings from Scotland painstakingly selected by our K&L Spirits team, one bottle in particular will inevitably speak to me. I never really know which one it will be. This year I was shocked to discover it was the 2002 Bowmore 11 Year Old K&L Exclusive Signatory Single Refill Sherry Hogshead Single Malt Whisky. Although I enjoy peated whiskies, I am usually more of a Speyside fan. Yet this Bowmore had that extra something – something indefinable, ineffable – something that makes you take a step back, set down your notebook, and just – stop – for a moment. Incredibly soft and silky with a weight you want to savor forever on the tongue. And smoke. Not the raw choking smoke of mistakenly sitting downwind of the campfire. Something deliciously subtle. A memory of old peat fires, permeating the roof beams of a favorite pub. A stolen kiss, the flavor of tobacco on soft lips. A suggestion, a hint, a grace note. Remarkable. Transcendent.
Price: $79.99 Add To Cart BC 0

2002 Bowmore 11 Year Old K&L Exclusive Signatory Single Refill Sherry Hogshead Single Malt Whisky 750ml
 By: David Driscoll | Review Date: 7/16/2014 | Send Email
  WOW! This is waaaaay better than I remember it tasting back in the Signatory warehouse. Reducing this cask down to 46% was the right move. With the water added the hypnotic flavors of classic Bowmore come to life - sweet creamy barley, a load of oily fruit, and a heavy dollop of smoke on the finish. It's magical stuff and it's going to be one of the best-received casks we offer this year.
Price: $79.99 Add To Cart BC 0

2013 Foucher-Lebrun "Petit le Mont" Sauvignon Blanc
 By: Amy Monroe | Review Date: 7/16/2014 | Send Email
  A super delicious combination of lemon zest, green apple, and a hint of minerality make this wine almost too easy to love. Looking for a Sancerre stunt-double? Look no further.
Top Value!
Price: $11.99 Add To Cart RP 90 BC 0

2013 TWR (Te Whare Ra) Sauvignon Blanc Marlborough
 By: Jim Chanteloup | Review Date: 7/16/2014 | Send Email
  The TWR savvy is bright with aromas of white grapefruit, passion fruit, gooseberry and a hint of tarragon. On the palate there is good texture and vibrant acidity that lead to a snappy, zesty finish with fine length. As good as it gets in a classic Marlborough Sauvignon Blanc.
Price: $18.99 Add To Cart BC 0

2013 Foucher-Lebrun "Petit le Mont" Sauvignon Blanc
 By: Sarah Covey | Review Date: 7/16/2014 | Send Email
  Green granny smith apple, green pears, citrus and zesty mineral with medium plus acidity. A screamin' deal for a proper Loire Sauvignon Blanc!
Top Value!
Price: $11.99 Add To Cart RP 90 BC 0

1982 Miltonduff 30 Year Old Faultline Single Cask Strength Single Malt Whisky 750ml
 By: James Knight | Review Date: 7/15/2014 | Send Email
  There's no accounting for this single malt, according to what I've read about the Miltonduff distillery. Its supposed light and bright notes do carry over in the spicy apple cidery, apple cinnamint notes on the nose, but it's chewy and meaty on the palate; something of dried beef almost! On the whole, compelling, a whisky for serious contemplation and fishing trips.
Price: $159.99 Add To Cart BC 0

Balvenie 12 year old Single Barrel Single Malt Whisky 750ml
 By: James Knight | Review Date: 7/15/2014 | Send Email
  Lovers of Glenlivet and Glenfiddich who are looking for something a little different and even a little prettier on the palate might look here. The Balvenie 12 single barrel has a light hue, with pretty aromas of wildflower honey, dates and dried figs, with buttery pear, and a really nice, silky finish. I enjoyed this Balvenie.
Price: $69.99 Add To Cart BC 0

Page: 1  2  3   next  >>