Staff Favorites

If you’re going to have Robert Parker or Stephen Tanzer over for dinner, selecting a wine they’ve rated highly will be a nice choice. However, when you’re buying wines for yourself, we’d love to see you find wines that match up your unique palate and pocketbook. We have a large staff of friendly and knowledgeable wine professionals that taste hundreds of wines each week. They can put you in touch with bottles that you are likely to love, often at a much lower cost than the highly-rated gems that often see a run-up in price and frequent availability issues. Like any great group of opinionated professionals, our staff has varied tastes themselves. Often our customers will find a particular staff member with a style that corresponds to their own. That concept works extremely well in our retail stores, and this section is our effort to bring you the same online. Don’t get us wrong, we love the highly rated wines from the press and will continue to offer them, but we think you’re missing out if you’re not augmenting those selections with picks from our excellent staff. Here are their favorites. (Click on a name to see their other selections - or to drop them a line.) Cheers!


Reviews

Page: 1  2  3   next  >>
2010 Tenuta di Sesta Brunello di Montalcino Pre-Arrival
 By: Greg St. Clair | Review Date: 12/24/2014 | Send Email
Reviewer image Reviewer image Reviewer image Reviewer image Reviewer image
  I find that Tenuta di Sesta’s wines are always overlooked upon release, they are never the loudest, tallest or heaviest the just seem to be pleasant. Yet after years of tasting their wines I find they are just slower to develop and end up morphing into silky, elegant masterpieces. In this the 2010 vintage their Brunello shows far more upfront earth and mineral than usual at this stage, yet the pure Sangiovese aromatics of wild cherry and plum cut in behind the earthy elements along with hints of dried roses and freshly cut leather. On the palate the wine is graceful, seemingly plump yet the acidity is present in the finish and the longer the wine is in your glass the deeper and more profound the flavors become and the longer the aftertaste. This wine always puts a smile on my face it just feels so good, never pushy or demanding just there growing with each minute in the glass. I can’t wait to see this wine in another 5 years, stunningly good.
Drink from 2015 to 2030
Price: $34.99 Add To Cart JS 95 BC 0

2010 Ferrero Brunello di Montalcino Pre-Arrival
 By: Greg St. Clair | Review Date: 12/24/2014 | Send Email
Reviewer image Reviewer image Reviewer image Reviewer image Reviewer image
  One of the curious attributes of the stellar 2010 vintage is that most wines are darker in color than normal, Ferrero is no different and the lustrous sheen should prep you for what is coming up. The nose is full of tight black cherry aromatics, focused, vibrant and penetrating. On the palate the first thing I noticed was the length and balance, normally in Ferrero I usually find it’s the weight and richness in the first sensation but this wines’ incredible balance just jumps out at you. The flavors are saturated, dense, layered and all held in perfect balance, the black cherry is accented with hints of earth and spice and the finish goes on and on. The best wine Ferrero has produced.
Drink from 2015 to 2030
Price: $34.99 Add To Cart JS 95 BC 0

1998 Mortlach 16 Year Old K&L Exclusive Signatory Sherry Butt Finish Cask Strength Single Malt Whisky 750ml
 By: James Knight | Review Date: 12/23/2014 | Send Email
  It is a peculiarity that there's still plenty of this old Mortlach available, while the pricier 25 year Blair Athol that came in about the same time is completely sold out. Exactly the opposite has occurred in my liquor cabinet, after I purchased both: The Mortlach is going much faster than the near-full Blair Athol. The latter may be more concentrated, with rancio and spicy wood notes, but the Mortlach is silkier, with butterscotch warmth and a piney top note. I even prefer it to the current Glenfarclas 105.
Price: $99.99 Add To Cart BC 0

2012 Cicada by Chante Cigale IGP Méditerranée
 By: Daniel Maas | Review Date: 12/23/2014 | Send Email
  A wonderful introduction into the world of Southern French country wine, this blend of Grenache and Carignan is chock full of bright red fruit, spice, earth, and super soft tannin. Awesome with a spicy pizza!
Price: $9.99 Add To Cart BC 0

Bruno Michel "Les Roses" Brut Rosé Champagne
 By: Daniel Maas | Review Date: 12/23/2014 | Send Email
  A wonderful example of a brut rose, this bottling is slightly fuller than some others, with a subtle hint of spice on the back palate. Lovely!
Price: $49.99 Add To Cart BC 0

2006 Fourcas Dupré, Listrac
 By: Daniel Maas | Review Date: 12/22/2014 | Send Email
  A gorgeous under-the-table Bordeaux from a great vintage that doesn't get a lot of attention, the 2006 Fourcas Dupre from the Listrac area of Medoc is medium to full-bodied, and chock full of dark fruit, cocoa, and herbaciousness.
Price: $19.99 Add To Cart BC 0

Aberlour 12 Year Old Non Chillfiltered Single Malt Whisky 750ml
 By: James Knight | Review Date: 12/22/2014 | Send Email
  It's been many months since I had the normal Aberlour 12, so I can't remember if it's something that I want to forget exists--if that makes sense! But what I can sense is this: the Aberlour non-chill-filtered 12 is redolent of chocolate chip cookie dough, a chocolate cordial with gooey orange liqueur filling, and a medium measure of rancio-fancy sherry wood. A little spicy on the finish, but not too much, it's well blended, nicely oily--if you like that--and is a nice stand-in for, or contrast to, the lovely but only slightly higher-priced 16-year. All in all, this has the Aberlour power.
Price: $49.99 Add To Cart BC 0

2010 Baricci Brunello di Montalcino Pre-Arrival
 By: Greg St. Clair | Review Date: 12/22/2014 | Send Email
Reviewer image Reviewer image Reviewer image Reviewer image Reviewer image
  I love the complex earthiness, which has a sort of cherry tobacco, plum mixture that graces the elegant and lithe body. This wine favors grace over power, and needs a curious mind to delve into the layers of spice, earth and fruit. It is a wine without a need to speak loudly and leaves itself to be discovered rather than shouting out its own name. Those who like Baricci, love this complexity and find reward in the effort to understand it. This is a Great Baricci--you should definitely buy a case to put away. I will.
Drink from 2015 to 2030
Price: $39.99 Add To Cart JS 93 BC 0

2010 Castello di Bossi "Berardo" Chianti Classico Riserva
 By: Greg St. Clair | Review Date: 12/22/2014 | Send Email
Reviewer image Reviewer image Reviewer image Reviewer image Reviewer image
  If you like the 2009 version of this Chianti Classico Riserva you’re going to LOVE this one! The 2010 vintage is producing many outstanding wines and Castello di Bossi is no exception. The nose just flows from the glass and envelopes you in a cloud of plumy fruit with hints of blackberry and barrel spice that flows onto the palate, where there is an extra layer of supple richness; a depth where the flavors become more saturated and expansive. The finish is long, penetrating and finishes with a vibrant crescendo of flavor. Drink now with an hour or so of decanting or you can age another 10+ years, this is a well-built wine. I’d have it with grilled New York steaks.
Drink from 2015 to 2025

2010 La Fortuna Brunello di Montalcino Pre-Arrival
 By: Greg St. Clair | Review Date: 12/22/2014 | Send Email
Reviewer image Reviewer image Reviewer image Reviewer image Reviewer image
  The nose is dark cherry, yet intertwined with earth, Tuscan herbs, and hints of fresh leather in a relaxed flow from the glass. On the palate it is the texture that grabs your attention, it isn’t dense but energetic, fruit …the fruit in this vintage is hard to explain, it tastes less fruity and by that I mean it is more complex, less simple, not just sweet and squishy, it is more developed, nuanced--I hesitate to use the word layered, because it seems too simple, but it is enchanting. The wine has tannic structure that is evident but is in the background as the acidic balance lengthens and lengthens the finish. Such balance and power yet so effortless, the wine is a pleasure to drink now, yet the greatness will be down the road another 5-10 years. The Best La Fortuna Brunello ever.
Drink from 2015 to 2030
Price: $39.99 Add To Cart JS 96 BC 0

2013 Au Contraire Russian River Valley Chardonnay
 By: Michael Jordan | Review Date: 12/22/2014 | Send Email
  New Kids on the block Au Contraire have come out of the blocks swinging. A solid Russian River Valley Chardonnay with all that you want for a Chardonnay from that region. Citrus focus flavors wrapped with a nice combination of creme brulee, cedar and vanilla. A nicely balanced wine with a great price point.
Price: $16.99 Add To Cart WE 93 BC 0

2013 Au Contraire Russian River Valley Chardonnay
 By: Trey Beffa | Review Date: 12/22/2014 | Send Email
  Au Contraire is a brand new project that has turned out a fabulous debut Chardonnay from the Russian River Valley. I love the balance and freshness of this wine. In the mouth the wine is creamy with hints of tropical fruit, lime and toast. It is balanced and the finish is long and lingering. Excellent buy!
Price: $16.99 Add To Cart WE 93 BC 0

2012 Faust Napa Valley Cabernet Sauvignon
 By: Daniel Maas | Review Date: 12/21/2014 | Send Email
  Looking for an incredibly rich and complex Napa Cab? Look no further than the 2012 bottling from this famed producer, more well known for their QUINTESSA brand. A dense and full bodied wine, get ready for black currant, cassis, tobacco, and perfectly balanced oak treatment. A long finish on a wine that will age beautifully over the years.
Price: $44.99 Add To Cart RP 90 BC 0

1990 Glenfarclas K&L Exclusive Single Malt Whisky 750ml
 By: Mike Barber | Review Date: 12/20/2014 | Send Email
  Another outstanding release from this fantastic Highland distillery! Even at 100 proof--I felt that this malt didn't need any water addition. The flavors are so mellow and integrated from age, the whisky is smooth as silk--more exquisite and elegant than most Scotch on the shelf. Light fig, caramel, coffee, and oak flavors dance behind a rich and malty core of deliciousness. Any fan of Highland whisky will love this very special release!
Price: $169.99 Add To Cart BC 0

2010 Poggiarellino Brunello di Montalcino Pre-Arrival
 By: Greg St. Clair | Review Date: 12/20/2014 | Send Email
Reviewer image Reviewer image Reviewer image Reviewer image Reviewer image
  I first tasted Poggiarellino’s 1999 Brunello in 2003, they were a tiny producer making a couple of hundred cases and I was looking to write about the northern portion of Montalcino, they just happened to fit geographically. We started to import their wines with the 2000 vintage and the quality of their wine grows every year. Since I first tasted the 2010 from their 25-hectoliter barrels I’ve been waiting for this day to offer it to you, it is simply the best wine they have ever made. When you first smell this wine the gamut of aromas is classic Poggiarellino, wild Marasca cherry, plum with a certain wild sauvage that the Italians call sotto bosco (the aroma of the forest floor). On the palate the wine shows a broad richness with a decisive tannic structure, not obtrusive or harsh just powerful, fine grain and shows the how big frame of this wine really is. The flavors reflect the aromatics, more Marasca cherry, with plum and red berry then hints of saddle leather followed by that sotto bosco intrigue. The wine’s rich powerful presence glides easily to the back of your palate with a long and elegant finish, impressive for such a powerful wine.
Drink from 2015 to 2030
Price: $34.99 Add To Cart JS 95 BC 0

1998 Bodegas Casa Juan Señor de Lesmos Gran Reserva Rioja
 By: Keith Mabry | Review Date: 12/17/2014 | Send Email
  Sultry only begins to describe this exquisite wine from Lesmos. Showing mulled raspberry and strawberry fruit on the nose, it quickly evolves into notes of leather (like really good expensive leather) and grilled chorizo. Beautiful spice and chalky notes round out the flavors. I've tasted the '98 several times and it has always impressed. This should continue to evolve for years to come but what an impressive wine it is right now.
Price: $29.99 Add To Cart BC 0

1990 Glenfarclas K&L Exclusive Single Malt Whisky 750ml
 By: Ryan Woodhouse | Review Date: 12/17/2014 | Send Email
  Stunning. Has some similarities to the "Faultline Casks" bottling but with more refined flavors and more developed, savory rancio characters. The texture is supple and elegant. Whilst this doesn't seem to have the chewy texture and raw "youthful" exuberance of the 9-10 year old bottling, it oozes subtle flavor intensity, focus, and purity. The sherry quality shows a little drier and more nutty rather than sweet and fruity. A beautiful bottle and crazy good for the age / money in today's climate!
Price: $169.99 Add To Cart BC 0

2012 Chateau St. Jean Sonoma Coast Chardonnay
 By: Bryan Brick | Review Date: 12/16/2014 | Send Email
  Can you really teach an old dog new tricks? I don’t really know but I think that some old dogs are smart enough to pick some new things up as they go along. That is exactly what Chateau St. Jean did with this brand, spanking new Sonoma Coast bottling. (By the way please don’t confuse this with the Sonoma County bottling that is everywhere and is completely different.) To say that I was taken by surprise by this new wine would be an understatement. I was blown away by the amount of power and richness it had, all the while keeping true, cool weather Sonoma Coast acidity throughout. With a nose laced with apricots, crème brulee and persimmons, while having an underlying citrus backbone, this was completely appealing and felt really natural. On the palate comes waves of vanilla, baked apples, some crushed stone and a lovely white floral highlight. For the under $20 arena of Chardonnay it certainly does not get much better than this. I’d scoop this up before the powers that be at CSJ realize just how good this wine really is!
Price: $16.99 Add To Cart RP 90 BC 0

Michel Arnould Verzenay Brut Rosé Champagne
 By: Ed Donovan | Review Date: 12/16/2014 | Send Email
Reviewer image Reviewer image Reviewer image Reviewer image Reviewer image
  Tasted this at the San Francisco store and promptly took one home for dinner. This is a great, and versatile, food wine. About 15% of the blend is vinified red, which gives it the stuffing to stand up to a variety of foods, but it is still elegant with persistent bubbles carrying the berry fruits along. Duck confit salad with cherries would be a perfect match. 100% Grand Cru Pinot Noir for $35? Yes, please!
Price: $34.99 Add To Cart BC 0

2012 Chante Cigale Châteauneuf-du-Pape
 By: Dave Genevro | Review Date: 12/15/2014 | Send Email
Reviewer image Reviewer image Reviewer image Reviewer image Reviewer image
  This is a very enjoyable wine. It has a savory game flavored richness, which I love. For those who like to drink Châteauneuf-du-Pape wines young, this should be right up your alley.

2013 Chante Cigale Châteauneuf-du-Pape Blanc
 By: Dave Genevro | Review Date: 12/15/2014 | Send Email
Reviewer image Reviewer image Reviewer image Reviewer image Reviewer image
  This is a very delicious Châteauneuf-du-Pape Blanc! Rich, crisp and well layered. The combination of grapes work perfectly together. Enjoy this wine with a variety of fish or chicken dishes. This is also very easy to enjoy on its own.
Price: $29.99 Add To Cart BC 0

2007 York Creek "Lake Block" Spring Mountain District Cabernet Sauvignon
 By: Bryan Brick | Review Date: 12/15/2014 | Send Email
  After the rousing success of past vintages and the first couple of Single Block offerings, the 2005 “Sunny Hill” and 2004 “Track,” both of which sold out in a matter of weeks if not days, we have another great wine in the pipeline. The 2007 “Lake Block” is the youngest wine we’ve worked with to date from York Creek. But don’t let that youth fool you, this is one amazing wine. Powerful and completely reminiscent of some of the great wines from Spring Mountain, this is a superstar Cabernet. Full of the minty, sage, chaparral, black currant and licorice aromas so often found on the upper echelon Cabernets from the region. This is unmistakably “mountain” Cab. With its adolescent, grainy tannins and a tight core of black fruit, spice box and pipe tobacco flavors on the mid-palate, this is certainly a wine that can age for another 10-15 years without issue. Just look at some of the other wines we’ve already sold from YC if you need a track record. However with a perfect rare steak or other hearty/braised meat dishes this is about as close to a wide open Steph Curry 3 pointer as you can get in the wine world. Automatic!
Price: $29.99 Add To Cart BC 0

1995 York Creek Spring Mountain District Meritage
 By: Bryan Brick | Review Date: 12/15/2014 | Send Email
  After the last few years I think just about everyone has heard us pontificating about just how good, and how insanely inexpensive, the York Creek wines are. Luckily for us and our thirsty customers, Fritz Maytag kept deep cellars over the years and still has plenty of wine for us to sell. After the rousing success of past vintages we just keep reloading because the wines are that good and you keep asking us for more. We’ve found an extra special treat to roll out this time: The 1995 Meritage. That’s right... we are wildly excited to sell this wine, which was made when Clinton was president, people went to see Waterworld just because of Costner, and somehow Hootie and the Blowfish sold like seven million copies of a record. Luckily this wine has aged much better than at least those last couple things. Still vibrant and with a lovely bouquet of dried rose petals, new leather and red currants, this is a wine that is a testament to just how well California wines can age over long periods of time. With a solid entry of sweet black tea, fresh tobacco, cocoa powder, spearmint and dried blackberries, this is one complex and likeable wine that is just about perfect for folks that are fans of more mature wines. Fully meshed and with little to no desiccation of fruit, this is just great old wine for a silly price. Think Toy Story rather than Jumanji and Radiohead’s The Bends over anything from Silverchair.
Price: $24.99 Add To Cart BC 0

2013 Domaine Lafage "Grande Cuvée" Côtes du Roussillon Rosé
 By: Krista Johnson | Review Date: 12/14/2014 | Send Email
  What a gorgeous rose. Bright strawberry, blood orange, & lemon dance across your palate. The texture is creamy yet finishes with a tangy, vibrant acidity. Brilliant!
Price: $27.99 Add To Cart RP 94 BC 0

2012 Antech "Emotion" Cremant de Limoux Brut Rosé
 By: Dave Genevro | Review Date: 12/13/2014 | Send Email
Reviewer image Reviewer image Reviewer image Reviewer image Reviewer image
  This is a very elegant, easy to drink rose. Crisp and refreshing...perfect for Christmas and New Year's Eve holiday parties!
Price: $14.99 Add To Cart BC 0

2012 Faust Napa Valley Cabernet Sauvignon
 By: Krista Johnson | Review Date: 12/12/2014 | Send Email
  The Faust is rich and decadent. Ripe cherries, raspberries, mocha and soft cedar envelop your palate and warm your heart.
Price: $44.99 Add To Cart RP 90 BC 0

2012 Faust Napa Valley Cabernet Sauvignon
 By: Christie Brunick | Review Date: 12/12/2014 | Send Email
  Sophisticated and supple. Yes, the second label from Quintessa has done it yet again. The Faust Cabernet is pure and straightforward. Black currant, cassis and blackberry fruit on the nose, with just a wisp of toast. Fresh minerals and finely integrated tannins make this Napa classic very drinkable now or easily cellarable for the next 5+ years or so.
Price: $44.99 Add To Cart RP 90 BC 0

2012 Mount Edward Pinot Noir Central Otago
 By: Mellyn Craig | Review Date: 12/12/2014 | Send Email
  This Estate Pinot Noir from Mount Edward is a very pretty and elegant style, and is a steal at this price. The red fruits in this wine are very soft, and have a pretty floral note. It is balanced out with baking spice and vanilla flavors with soft tannins. This is a great style of Pinot Noir for salmon.
Price: $29.99 Add To Cart JS 92 BC 0

2013 FRAM Shiraz Swartland
 By: Ed Donovan | Review Date: 12/12/2014 | Send Email
  If I'd have tasted this blind I'd have guessed Languedoc, but no matter. It's old-vine Shiraz grown in rocky soils and it is flat out delicious. Rich and powerful yet structured and even elegant, with plenty of dark fruit and a hint of smoke and game, this would make a great pairing with a wide range of roasted or braised meats. Writing this reminds me that I should get some before everyone figures out how good it is.
Price: $12.99 Add To Cart DC 90 BC 0

2012 Faust Napa Valley Cabernet Sauvignon
 By: Olivia Ragni | Review Date: 12/12/2014 | Send Email
  An enticing nose of blueberries, blackberries, cloves and nutmeg will get you in the holiday spirit! The palate is full of black cherry, cassis, vanilla and cracked black pepper with plush tannins, great high acidity and a dry grippy finish. Drink now or allow a few years for integration.
Price: $44.99 Add To Cart RP 90 BC 0

SMWS 36.82 Benrinnes 17 Year Old "Rare Release" Single Barrel Cask Strength Single Malt Whisky 750ml
 By: David Driscoll | Review Date: 12/12/2014 | Send Email
  Our second cask from the Scotch Malt Whisky Society is a BIG winner. I love Benrinnes distillery. When we visited the site during the Spring of 2014, the staff couldn't have been nicer and whisky couldn't have been tastier. We're always poaching casks of Benrinnes from Signatory when we see them available because of its rich, vanilla-laden, cookie dough character. This SMWS bottling is a 59% jolt-in-the-arm version of that flavor profile. Big, chewy richness, tons of power through the mid-palate, and a dessert-like finish that really drives home the flavor. Great whisky from an underrated distillery. That's what we're all about!
Price: $149.99 Add To Cart BC 0

Glenfarclas "The Faultline Casks" K&L Exclusive First Fill Oloroso Sherry Casks Single Malt Whisky 750ml
 By: Ryan Woodhouse | Review Date: 12/11/2014 | Send Email
  This should come with some kind of warning..."Dangerously drinkable"..."Caution: contents will disappear quicker than intended"..."Drinking this bottle will impair your ability to judge other releases fairly". It's seriously that good. Rich, soft, full of flavor and texturally enticing and just an out-and-out "crowd pleaser." You can search high and low and you won't find a better holiday gift than this bottle. It has brand recognition, it's limited edition, it's cask strength(ish) at 57% alc...and it tastes great!
Price: $109.99 Add To Cart BC 0

2007 Pipeau, St-Emilion
 By: Daniel Maas | Review Date: 12/11/2014 | Send Email
  A great gift for the holidays, this Saint-Emilion Grand Cru is a fantastic choice for those interested in Bordeaux, and yet desiring something a bit more approachable than bigger Cabernet-based wines. Medium to full-bodied and with very bright fruit, the wine is gorgeously balanced with a lot of spice towards the end. Lovely!
Price: $23.99 Add To Cart BC 0

SMWS 36.82 Benrinnes 17 Year Old "Rare Release" Single Barrel Cask Strength Single Malt Whisky 750ml
 By: Greg St. Clair | Review Date: 12/11/2014 | Send Email
Reviewer image Reviewer image Reviewer image Reviewer image Reviewer image
  It is rare that I wax poetically about single malt Scotch but this extraordinary spirit was so unique and exciting that I had to put pen to paper. The nose struck me so much that I spent literally 10 minutes just nosing the glass--I usually find single malt to fall into either a peaty or fruity category but this was different, it was just magic. The nose was a twisting, flowing breadth of freshness. Never have I seen a minty sweetness in a malt nose, and this example was enchanting, and while it was so inviting there were hints of peat spice, not the simple camphorish version but saturated smoke, depth and persistence. So impressive on the palate but this malt needs water, it is cask strength and at 59.5% a little bit of water will open the malt up as well as your experience. Truly worth the price, a tremendous spirit.
Drink from 2014 to 2020
Price: $149.99 Add To Cart BC 0

2012 Fujanera "Arrocco" Nero di Troia
 By: Jim Barr | Review Date: 12/11/2014 | Send Email
Reviewer image Reviewer image Reviewer image Reviewer image Reviewer image
  Medium-deep ruby in color, the exotic nose offers up truffles, forest floor, clove-like, leathery, mocha, and blueberry characteristics, which carry over to a distinctive, well-focused, round, rich, and viscous set of flavors and texture. The finish on this Gem is long and loaded. Rusty has informed me that we need to make this Gem one of our house reds for the next x-amount of months or for however long it is around. Don’t miss this puppy! ............... 13.0% ABV
Drink from 2014 to 2020
Price: $12.99 Add To Cart BC 0

2012 Spellbound California Petite Sirah
 By: Christie Brunick | Review Date: 12/10/2014 | Send Email
  Deep purple in the glass. Aromas of ripe and dried blueberries and mixed berry pie. Luscious and velvety on the palate with velvety smooth texture, a touch of vanilla bean toast, and a very supple finish.
Price: $10.99 Add To Cart RP 90 BC 0

The Original Grand Crus of Burgundy by Charles Curtis MW
 By: Gary Westby | Review Date: 12/10/2014 | Send Email
  Anyone who loves Burgundy needs a copy of this book. Mr. Curtis puts these great wines into historical context… And what a rich context there is! It is humbling to know that the greatest sites in the world were identified hundreds of years ago, and this book brings that story to light. While the price for this paperback book is low, be warned, it will end up being expensive after you buy all of the “secret sites” forgotten by the current system of crus!
Price: $19.99 Add To Cart BC 0

2010 Wittmann Estate Riesling Trocken
 By: Adam Winkel | Review Date: 12/10/2014 | Send Email
  This has filled out nicely and is drinking very well. Firm minerality with a lavender-like overtone stands on equal ground with the bright tropical and stone fruit. Displays excellent terroir for an entry-level wine from Wittman's plots in and around Westhofen. I tasted this wine at the estate in 2011, but they didn't have any wine left to sell. The 2010 vintage saw extremely low yields and this is an excellent find. For their value and versatility, QbA trockens from top estates are the foundation of modern fine wine culture in Germany. This is a prime specimen.
Price: $21.99 Add To Cart BC 0

2012 Michael & David "6th Sense" Lodi Syrah
 By: Bryan Brick | Review Date: 12/9/2014 | Send Email
  Incredibly surprising or surprisingly incredible, either way I think those two statements describe the new releases from the Michael & David winery. Always known for their amusing labels and marketing I think the most recent batch of wines will make people take notice for just how much quality is in the bottle for such little cash. The style of wine is still full throttle, fruit driven and bold, as the wines always have been but there is much better balance in the wines overall and most importantly I found there to be no discernible residual sugar in the wines. These are a must try for fans of exuberant Domestic Wines for reasonable prices. The 2012 6th Sense Syrah was really eye opening for me. I’ve tried this wine for years and it’s always been a bit clumsy in regards to its ripeness levels, not so much this year! Now don’t get me wrong this is not Northern Rhone Syrah but it is a wildly pleasurable fruit driven Syrah for a measly $12.99 and there is certainly nothing wrong with that. Aromas of chocolate ganache, wet black top and white pepper are very alluring leading to a exuberant palate of raspberry coulis, sweet licorice, pipe tobacco and wild berry cobbler with fine tannins and a stealthy long finish of toasted coconut and black pepper. A complete steal for fans of “big” wines.
Price: $12.99 Add To Cart WE 91 BC 0

2012 Michael & David "Freakshow" Lodi Cabernet Sauvignon
 By: Bryan Brick | Review Date: 12/9/2014 | Send Email
  Incredibly surprising or surprisingly incredible, either way I think those two statements describe the new releases from the Michael & David winery. Always known for their amusing labels and marketing I think the most recent batch of wines will make people take notice for just how much quality is in the bottle for such little cash. The style of wine is still full throttle, fruit driven and bold, as the wines always have been but there is much better balance in the wines overall and most importantly I found there to be no discernible residual sugar in the wines. These are a must try for fans of exuberant Domestic Wines for reasonable prices. I’m a big fan of party rock. Think Rick Springfield’s Working Class Dog album or any of the great Power Pop Albums of the late 70’s early 80’s like The Beat’s Self Titled album. These are certainly not the most critically acclaimed albums but when you hear them, especially at a party they really make everyone feel good, loosen up and start moving around the room. I sort of felt this way about the Freakshow Cab. Not the most critically amazing wine but damn if it doesn’t taste great and won’t please everyone in the room. Under $20 this is like a record that has 3 hits on it that you’ll never get tired of and is in the dollar bin, pure magic. Deep, with silky black fruits and a nice waft of tobacco this is palate coating and intense wine that really brings some fun to the Cabernet game. Blackberry, spice cake, toffee and café con leche flavors are all apparent here and are meshed nicely. It’s going to be hard to beat this cab for this price.
Price: $18.99 Add To Cart RP 90 BC 0

2012 Antech "Cuvée Eugenie" Cremant de Limoux
 By: Daniel Maas | Review Date: 12/9/2014 | Send Email
  'Tis the holidays, and that means one thing: SPARKLING WINE! Straight from the Limoux (the ORIGINAL producers of sparkling wine in France - yes, they beat Champagne) comes this gorgeous blend of Chardonnay, Meunier, and Mauzak. Vibrant apple and pear notes sit perfectly amongst a tight concentration of bubbles with a long finish. An awesome choice to toast the season of giving. HAPPY HOLIDAYS!
Price: $13.99 Add To Cart BC 0

2012 Bodega Mendel "Estate" Malbec Mendoza
 By: Joe Manekin | Review Date: 12/9/2014 | Send Email
  This is great Malbec. Typically a very solidly built, well structured wine, the 2012 Mendel is no exception, with loads of black cherry and blackberry fruit, hints of dark chocolate and well balanced tannin structure. This is a wine made from great quality, older vine (85 year-old qualifies as old, right?) fruit in Lujan de Cuyo, and it is always one of the very best Malbecs we carry. Highly recommended.
Price: $24.99 Add To Cart JS 94 BC 0

2013 Bethel Heights/K&L Wine Merchants Eola-Amity Hills Pinot Noir
 By: Clyde Beffa Jr. | Review Date: 12/8/2014 | Send Email
Reviewer image Reviewer image Reviewer image Reviewer image Reviewer image
  A little more reserved and should age well in the cellar. If drinking now decant one hour and serve with lamb shanks or cassoulet.
Price: $24.99 Add To Cart BC 0

2013 Talley/K&L Wine Merchants Edna Valley Chardonnay
 By: Clyde Beffa Jr. | Review Date: 12/8/2014 | Send Email
Reviewer image Reviewer image Reviewer image Reviewer image Reviewer image
  Solid and well-balanced--a bit of toasty vanilla oak aromas that follow to palate. Quite good Edna Valley Chard—has more acidity than the usual overdone Edna Valley plonk. This is a crowd pleaser.
Price: $24.99 Add To Cart BC 0

2012 Taken Napa Valley Red Blend
 By: John Majeski | Review Date: 12/8/2014 | Send Email
Reviewer image Reviewer image Reviewer image Reviewer image Reviewer image
  When I first read the label "Taken" on this rather substantial bottle of wine I swallowed air, hesitated and looked around to see if Liam Neeson was watching from the shadows, waiting to gauge my reaction before throttling me. Fortunately no lurking Liam, but the uncorked wine was quite capable of seizing and transporting me anywhere it desired with its dazzling aromatics of fresh-picked blueberries, blackberry compote, dense mineral earth and rich Belgian chocolate. And to say my palate was held hostage for more than a few tense, spellbinding moments is an understatement, as this bold and beautifully supple Cab/Merlot blend continued to interrogate me with theatrical outbursts of expressive black fruits, lovely vanilla, wreathed tannins and savory espresso.... do yourself a huge favor and procure a case or more of this seductive wine for the holidays and beyond, I promise you will be quite captured, I mean, captivated by it....Happiest of Holidays!
Top Value!
Price: $27.99 Add To Cart RP 93 BC 0

1990 Glenfarclas K&L Exclusive Single Malt Whisky 750ml
 By: Dave Genevro | Review Date: 12/8/2014 | Send Email
  I am usually all about the bourbons...but this Scotch might be the one that converts me! Amazing color, structure and flavor. I will be getting a bottle to add to my spirits collection for sure. I am so glad our buyer got this in for all of us to enjoy! Get a bottle while you can--if you love Highland whisky, you won't regret it at all.
Price: $169.99 Add To Cart BC 0

1990 Glenfarclas K&L Exclusive Single Malt Whisky 750ml
 By: Jeffrey Jones | Review Date: 12/8/2014 | Send Email
  Glenfarclas is such a quality producer of single malts that it is always a joy to taste one. The 1990 Glenfarclas is wonderful and luscious, with inviting aromas and big, expressive flavors. Balanced and not too sweet, is is easy to drink yet is complex enough to give one something to think about.
Price: $169.99 Add To Cart BC 0

Glenfarclas "The Faultline Casks" K&L Exclusive First Fill Oloroso Sherry Casks Single Malt Whisky 750ml
 By: Jeffrey Jones | Review Date: 12/8/2014 | Send Email
  Joyful deliciousness in a glass. There is a beautiful deep brown color with sweet, inviting aromas. It is fantastic and round but not too sweet. There is enough complexity to make this single malt very interesting.
Price: $109.99 Add To Cart BC 0

2010 Cantele Salice Salentino Riserva
 By: Greg St. Clair | Review Date: 12/8/2014 | Send Email
Reviewer image Reviewer image Reviewer image Reviewer image Reviewer image
  I absolutely love this wine’s aromatics, so intriguing, full of Middle Eastern spice, elegant plum, bramble, dried-cherry fruit and nuances of fresh Provencal herbs. On the palate the wine is supple, medium bodied while still being so full flavored, easy to drink, only 13.0% alcohol yet this multifaceted red always beckons you for another sip and then another it is just so tasty. Made from 100% Negroamaro fermented in stainless steel and aged in 1-2 year old barrique for 6 months. This complex yet elegant wine comes from Puglia, the heel of the Italian Peninsula and is the perfect accompaniment to your favorite tomato based pasta dish.
Drink from 2014 to 2016
Price: $9.99 Add To Cart ST 90 BC 0

2010 Cantele Salice Salentino Riserva
 By: Illya Haase | Review Date: 12/8/2014 | Send Email
  This is one of those wines, (under ten dollars), that once people try it, it will be flying off the shelves! It is so easy to drink with a wonderful fruit and spicy taste. It has a cool mineral note with great acidity, and a good lift on the back end. All of this for $9.99.This is perfect for those big cheeses or a beef stew on a cold winter night. Stock up for the holidays! It is a perfect party wine.
Price: $9.99 Add To Cart ST 90 BC 0

Page: 1  2  3   next  >>