Staff Favorites

If you’re going to have Robert Parker or Stephen Tanzer over for dinner, selecting a wine they’ve rated highly will be a nice choice. However, when you’re buying wines for yourself, we’d love to see you find wines that match up your unique palate and pocketbook. We have a large staff of friendly and knowledgeable wine professionals that taste hundreds of wines each week. They can put you in touch with bottles that you are likely to love, often at a much lower cost than the highly-rated gems that often see a run-up in price and frequent availability issues. Like any great group of opinionated professionals, our staff has varied tastes themselves. Often our customers will find a particular staff member with a style that corresponds to their own. That concept works extremely well in our retail stores, and this section is our effort to bring you the same online. Don’t get us wrong, we love the highly rated wines from the press and will continue to offer them, but we think you’re missing out if you’re not augmenting those selections with picks from our excellent staff. Here are their favorites. (Click on a name to see their other selections - or to drop them a line.) Cheers!


Reviews

Page: 1  2  3   next  >>
2008 Pewsey Vale "Contours" Museum Reserve Riesling Eden Valley South Australia
 By: Jim Chanteloup | Review Date: 9/2/2014 | Send Email
  Dry Riesling is one of the jewels of the Australian wine industry, and probably the least known. I have been lucky enough to have sat in this unique vineyard (drinking the wine of course) which is shown on the label as well as tasting the 1973 last year at a very special event where Robert Hill Smith generously went deep into the Yalumba cellars for a snapshot of the Aussie wine history. The Contours is a "Museum Reserve" version of the regular Pewsey Vale Riesling that always has 5 years of bottle age for the current release. So, if you don't have the patience, they do the waiting for you for a bit of an up charge so you can experience the secondary character that time will develop. The nose shows notes of biscuit, lime blossom, nectarine, apricot and lanolin. On the palate, the wine is still very youthful with great texture, balance and a long finish. And oh yeah...NOT all Riesling is sweet!

2010 Domaine de Marcoux Châteauneuf-du-Pape
 By: Keith Mabry | Review Date: 9/2/2014 | Send Email
  Marcoux is one of those great properties that is very traditional in their winemaking practices but produces wines fashioned for the modern era. There is a depth of fruit here that speaks of blackberry confiture, chambord liqueur and candied figs. A little pinch of Asian five spice powder, some roasted earth and a touch of creosote round out this deep expression of Chateauneuf. Give it a few more years and you will be well rewarded for your patience.

2012 Copain "Tous Ensemble" Anderson Valley Chardonnay
 By: Jeffrey Jones | Review Date: 9/2/2014 | Send Email
  A great Chardonnay that is lively, fresh and delicious. It has bright round fruit flavors with no oak and butter to get in the way. There is wonderful California fruit but there is balance to round it out.
Price: $21.99 Add To Cart BC 0

2013 Château Viranel "Tradition" Saint Chinian Rosé
 By: Jeffrey Jones | Review Date: 9/2/2014 | Send Email
  A beautiful rose hue to the wine is inviting and a pleasure to observe. There are nice red fruit flavors that are complemented with subtle spice. The Viranel Rose is medium-bodied and dry.
Price: $13.99 Add To Cart BC 0

1978 Chateau de Pellehaut 36 Year Old K&L Exclusive Ugni Blanc Vintage Tenareze Armagnac 750ml
 By: Jeffrey Jones | Review Date: 9/2/2014 | Send Email
  I just love this product. It has all that one could wish for in an Armagnac. There are interesting and complex fruit flavors, a dry concentrated finish, and subtle notes of earth. This is a chance to try a well-aged Armagnac at a reasonable price.
Price: $99.99 Add To Cart BC 0

Ariston Aspasie "Carte Blanche" Brut Champagne
 By: Jeff Garneau | Review Date: 9/2/2014 | Send Email
  I think the Ariston Aspasie Carte Blanche Brut was one of the first grower-producer Champagnes I ever purchased from K&L. It remains to this day our best value in Champagne, and a superb introduction to the grower producer (RM) Champagnes. If your usual Champagne experience is Veuve Clicquot or Moet & Chandon, you owe it to yourself to try the Carte Blanche from Paul-Vincent Ariston. With roughly equal parts of the three classic Champagne grapes, and a retail price comfortably south of $30, this is a no-brainer. Open a bottle for no reason in the middle of the week. You'll feel like royalty.
Price: $27.99 Add To Cart BC 0

2010 Amici Napa Valley Cabernet Sauvignon
 By: Angie An | Review Date: 9/2/2014 | Send Email
  Amici is a family-owned winery which produces premium quality wines at really good prices. This Cabernet is sourced mostly from Rutherford and you can taste the dark cherry and the famous "Rutherford dust" in this bottle. One of the long-time staff favorites, and I'm confident to say that this wine will out-perform most of the $50+ Cabernets out in the market!

2010 Solar Viejo "Monólogo" Crianza Rioja
 By: Angie An | Review Date: 9/2/2014 | Send Email
  This juicy little 100% Tempranillo is almost completely sold out! At only $12.99 it's hard not to love it. Juicy, bright, and easy drinking -- a perfect wine for summer BBQ!
Top Value!
Price: $12.99 Add To Cart BC 0

2009 Domaine de Baron'Arques Limoux
 By: Angie An | Review Date: 9/2/2014 | Send Email
  I'm calling this the "mini Mouton of Limoux". This 31-hectare property was purchased by the Baroness Philippine de Rothschild and her two sons in December 1998, and has been extensively renovated, producing their first vintage in 2003. Just like at all the other properties they own, everything is held to a very high standard here, including hand-picking of the grapes into small, 12-kilogram boxes to keep them whole throughout the process, just as they do at Mouton-Rothschild, Opus One and Almaviva. The blend is 50% Merlot, 10% Cabernet Sauvignon, Cabernet Franc, 10% Grenache, 10% Malbec and 10% Syrah. The winery also won the Bronze medal at the 2013 Decanter World Wine Awards. This a one serious red packed into a modestly priced bottle; enjoy now (decant if you can) or hold onto it for another 5~10 years!
Top Value!
Price: $19.99 Add To Cart

WINE CLUB

Club Price: Hidden
BC 0

Domaine de Baraillon 20 Year Old K&L Exclusive Armagnac 750ml
 By: Jeffrey Jones | Review Date: 9/2/2014 | Send Email
  A classic beauty that has both elegance and rustic components. It is round and complex with an interesting earthiness that both intrigues and delights. Old style and honest Armagnac.
Price: $69.99 Add To Cart BC 0

2013 Riposte "The Dagger" Pinot Noir Adelaide Hills South Australia
 By: Ricky Ruvalcaba | Review Date: 9/2/2014 | Send Email
Reviewer image Reviewer image Reviewer image Reviewer image Reviewer image
  Great food friendly Pinot Noir! Beautiful blooming red flowers, bursting ripe summer berries, and sweet spices. Both easy drinking and easy on the wallet. I say enjoy what's left of summer barbecues with this awesome direct import. Cheers to our buyer for scoring this one for us all.
Top Value!
Price: $17.99 Add To Cart JH 95 BC 0

2010 La Monacesca "Mirum" Verdicchio di Matelica Riserva
 By: Greg St. Clair | Review Date: 9/2/2014 | Send Email
Reviewer image Reviewer image Reviewer image Reviewer image Reviewer image
  A minute after I had ordered this wine, I knew I’d screwed up. I should have taken all they had, so I wrote back and ordered the rest. The wine is incredible and so worth the price jump from the 2011.
Drink from 2014 to 2024
Price: $34.99 Add To Cart ST 90 BC 0

2010 Cantina Terlan "Gries" Lagrein
 By: Greg St. Clair | Review Date: 9/2/2014 | Send Email
  The 2010 Cantina Terlan “Gries” Lagrein is a bold red. Lagrein is the varietal, and to me it most resembles a smoky Syrah, full-bodied with a firmer tannic structure. The 2010 is gorgeous to drink right now. I had this wine with some wild boar ravioli, and the gamey flavors went perfectly with the Lagrein. I’m sure you’ll love it too!
Drink from 2014 to 2020
Price: $26.99 Add To Cart BC 0

2013 Riposte "The Dagger" Pinot Noir Adelaide Hills South Australia
 By: Jim Chanteloup | Review Date: 9/2/2014 | Send Email
  The "Dagger" is a good name for this wine as it has good cut and gets to the point! The bouquet is bright and lifted with raspberry, ripe cherry, earth and a white pepper spice note. On the palate there is fine definition and focus with a fleshy mid-palate and juicy acidity that leads to a long persistent finish. This is a delicious Pinot from the Adelaide Hills in South Australia and great value.
Price: $17.99 Add To Cart JH 95 BC 0

2010 Sittella Cabernet Sauvignon Margaret River Western Australia
 By: Jim Chanteloup | Review Date: 9/2/2014 | Send Email
  Margaret River Cabernet for $20? Wow, this wine surely punches above its weight! The nose is expressive with black currant, blueberry, cassis, violets, light sage and a chocolate note. There are just enough supple silky tannins on the palate to give a more serious edge to the wine which is beautifully balanced and delivers a long finish. Bravo!
Price: $19.99 Add To Cart BC 0

2013 Mount Trio Sauvignon Blanc Great Southern
 By: Jim Chanteloup | Review Date: 9/2/2014 | Send Email
  Usually you expect to find Semillon added to Sauvignon Blanc in Western Australia, but not so here. The nose offers notes of lemon-lime pith, crunchy pear and a hint of tarragon. On the palate there are more tropical accents of melon and mango with a fleshy texture. This is all supported by good acidity leading to a long finish. Drink this wine chilled, but not too cold or you'll lose complexity.
Price: $11.99 Add To Cart JH 92 BC 0

2013 Muddy Water Sauvignon Blanc Waipara Valley
 By: Jim Chanteloup | Review Date: 9/2/2014 | Send Email
  This is NOT your average Kiwi SB. First, it's not from Marlborough. Second, it's farmed organically and uses native yeast for fermentation. And third, it's 90% barrel fermented with more neutral than new oak. The bouquet opens with a flinty and leesy note along with more stone fruit character of white peach and nectarine. On the palate there is good weight, with a figgy richness and creamy texture. Good acidity keeps it juicy and long on the finish.
Price: $16.99 Add To Cart BC 91

2012 Mount Trio Cabernet Sauvignon-Merlot Great Southern
 By: Jim Chanteloup | Review Date: 9/2/2014 | Send Email
  Flat out...this is killer Cabernet Sauvignon for $12. Yes, it says Cabernet-Merlot, but it's 94% Cabernet and a 100% value. The nose shows cassis, black cherry, dark plum, minerals, a hint of sage cedar, violets and earth. There is a surprising supple fine tannin structure for a wine at this price point that is seamlessly integrated and leads to a long finish.
Price: $11.99 Add To Cart BC 0

2011 Domaine de Laidiere Bandol Blanc
 By: Keith Mabry | Review Date: 9/2/2014 | Send Email
  White Bandols are tricky animals. They are not inexpensive and doesn't usually fit into the crisp and citrusy category of a Sauvignon Blanc or buttery and creamy category of Chardonnay (not that either of those has to specifically be those things). So where does that leave Bandol blanc? Maybe more like a white Rhone? Possibly, but really it is its own thing. These are wines of texture and weight with subtle aromatics. Hints of peach skin, apricot pit but not full-blown fruit flavors. Subtle citrus with a rocky mineral finish. The Laidiere has those things and more. This is a terrific rendition with an almost full body mouthfeel and deft lively brightness on the tongue. It's like a happy medium. Not too heavy, not too light, just right. So where does it fit? I say in my glass.
Price: $27.99 Add To Cart BC 0

2011 Gessinger Zeltinger Schlossberg Riesling Kabinet
 By: Mahon McGrath | Review Date: 9/1/2014 | Send Email
  Spicy, and stony, with incipient petrol, the fruit is far more reluctant here than in many Mosel Rieslings. The palate is fairly dry, too, but texturally it is quite rich. Those looking for something other than orchard fruit extravagance have come to the right place!
Price: $16.99 Add To Cart BC 0

2012 Fritsch Mordthal Grüner Veltliner
 By: Mahon McGrath | Review Date: 9/1/2014 | Send Email
  This is a hefty Gruner Veltliner with a plush texture. Rich flavors of yellow fruit, with sweet spice, lead to a long, dry finish, with floral notes, lemon curd, and echoing spice. Looking for a white wine that punches in a big Chardonnay weight class, but without all the oak and malolactic foofaraw? You have a good bet here.
Price: $28.99 Add To Cart ST 91 BC 0

2012 Erste e Neue "Gröbnerhof" Santa Magdalener Alto Adige
 By: Greg St. Clair | Review Date: 8/31/2014 | Send Email
Reviewer image Reviewer image Reviewer image Reviewer image Reviewer image
  I love the 2012 Erste e Neue “Gröbnerhof” Santa Magdalener Alto Adige made with the Schiava grape. This light-bodied red is perfect for so much of modern cuisine, which begs for lower alcohol wines that don’t sacrifice flavor. The fresh-ground black pepper and a supple body are outstanding; it sort of looks like a dark rosé. Serve it about 55 degrees.
Drink from 2014 to 2016
Price: $15.99 Add To Cart BC 0

2006 Il Valentiano "Campo di Marzo" Brunello di Montalcino
 By: Greg St. Clair | Review Date: 8/31/2014 | Send Email
Reviewer image Reviewer image Reviewer image Reviewer image Reviewer image
  This was a delicious and incredible representation of this classic 2006 vintage, with definition, balance, length and wonderful palate richness, all at a stunningly good price!
Drink from 2012 to 2021

2009 Il Valentiano "Campo di Marzo" Brunello di Montalcino
 By: Greg St. Clair | Review Date: 8/31/2014 | Send Email
Reviewer image Reviewer image Reviewer image Reviewer image Reviewer image
  This was a wine that has character and an immediate palate presence. There is a certain weight and density that signals “serious” to me, and this wine had it. The 2009 vintage was a four-star year in Montalcino, but the wines have been pooh-poohed by the critics looking for more blockbuster wines that can age for two decades or more. Well, I don’t think all wines need to age that long; I’m more of a realist. Hell, I’d like to drink some before I turn 80! So knowing I was tasting a 2009, I was still impressed by the serious nature of the wine. Its flavors were real, faceted and intense. Unlike a wine that is like a pearl, smooth and lustrous, faceted wines remind me of why I love cut stones—diamonds, emeralds—because to me those wines have so many more expressions to show you. The Brunello had that verve I look for; it also had a classic Sangiovese earth, spice and just a bit of cocoa powder.
Drink from 2012 to 2019

2008 Il Valentiano Brunello di Montalcino Riserva
 By: Greg St. Clair | Review Date: 8/31/2014 | Send Email
Reviewer image Reviewer image Reviewer image Reviewer image Reviewer image
  The 2008 vintage was another four-star vintage in Montalcino, but with the complete opposite character than 2009. The 2008s, in general, are much higher in acid, tighter wines with more evident tannins. The 2008 Il Valentiano Brunello di Montalcino Riserva* was a revelation. It was a decidedly more linear wine, but so supple, texturally important and layered with vibrant, fresh Sangiovese fruit. The Riserva has more structure, too, but that wasn’t what jumped out at me. Again it was the flavor profile, a real, pure expression of the soil with a bit of chocolaty ripeness, and it was really drinkable!
Drink from 2014 to 2020
Price: $44.99 Add To Cart RP 90 BC 0

La Monacesca "Mirum" MV Verdicchio di Matelica Riserva 20th Anniversary
 By: Greg St. Clair | Review Date: 8/31/2014 | Send Email
Reviewer image Reviewer image Reviewer image Reviewer image Reviewer image
  Although labeled as a 2008 this is a multi-vintage blend. (To be fair, the “MV” designation is my creation.) This is 85% 2008 vintage Verdicchio and 15% 2000, 2001, 2002 and 2004. I’ve never had a blend like this before, other than Champagne. The concept is the same, however, to use reserve wines to add depth of flavor. It is an experience to behold.
Drink from 2014 to 2020
Price: $39.99 Add To Cart BC 0

2011 La Monacesca "Mirum" Verdicchio di Matelica Riserva
 By: Greg St. Clair | Review Date: 8/31/2014 | Send Email
  The Mirum is a big league wine. The level of flavor saturation, power, density and age-ability is remarkable. Mirum is harvested the third or fourth week in October, assuring the maximum amount of flavor, focus and richness on the palate, all coming together in a focused, textured, seamless experience. The wine is fermented in stainless steel for 20 days and then remains there for 18 months sur lie.
Drink from 2014 to 2020
Price: $26.99 Add To Cart BC 0

2012 La Monacesca Verdicchio di Matelica
 By: Greg St. Clair | Review Date: 8/31/2014 | Send Email
Reviewer image Reviewer image Reviewer image Reviewer image Reviewer image
  The 2012 La Monacesca Verdicchio di Matelica* is harvested the first 10 days of October, fermented and aged in stainless and released after a year. The wine is so powerful and intense that bottle aging, or decanting, is needed to get to this powerful wine’s mineral core. The nose is full pear-like fruit spiced with anise, citrus and a bit of brioche-like toastiness, although the wine sees no wood.
Drink from 2014 to 2018
Price: $17.99 Add To Cart BC 0

2013 Riposte "The Dagger" Pinot Noir Adelaide Hills South Australia
 By: Greg St. Clair | Review Date: 8/31/2014 | Send Email
Reviewer image Reviewer image Reviewer image Reviewer image Reviewer image
  This wine really surprised me, because of its really rich texture and weight but it has really good acidic balance. The fruit character is a little fuller and riper than what I normally look for in Pinot Noir but it still said Pinot Noir to me. Luscious texture, nice balance and a pleasure to drink. Try it with grilled meats.
Drink from 2014 to 2017
Price: $17.99 Add To Cart JH 95 BC 0

2012 Penfolds "Bin 8" Cabernet Sauvignon-Shiraz South Australia
 By: Ricky Ruvalcaba | Review Date: 8/31/2014 | Send Email
Reviewer image Reviewer image Reviewer image Reviewer image Reviewer image
  A classic Australian blend with an explosion of rich dark fruit. Aged in the same barrels as Bin 389, 128, and 28, this wine carries its oak nicely both on the nose and palate. Smooth tannins and a long finish allow for lovely drinking now but you can also enjoy it for years to come. At this price why not do both.
Drink from 2014 to 2020

2009 Valserrano Crianza Rioja
 By: Jim Barr | Review Date: 8/31/2014 | Send Email
Reviewer image Reviewer image Reviewer image Reviewer image Reviewer image
  I think some of the most amazing bargains coming on the market, the last few years, are the wines from Rioja. This is a perfect example and shows such a deeply flavored, broad wine. Well-defined rose petal to currant aromas, this intensely flavored wine is incredibility complex and layered, with well defined currant, floral, and cassis notes on entry, a great mid-palate richness, and a long, bright finish. 14.5% ABV
Drink from 2014 to 2024

2012 Bishop's Peak San Luis Obispo Pinot Noir
 By: Jeff Garneau | Review Date: 8/30/2014 | Send Email
  I am a big fan of the Talley Vineyard's wines. We have been stocking their second label Bishop's Peak wines for several years now, and the 2012 Bishop's Peak Pinot Noir may be the best vintage yet. It is frankly tough to find great California Pinot Noir for less than $20, and the Bishop's Peak 2012 bottling really over-delivers. Plenty of ripe red and black fruits and intriguing spice notes. Rich and round in the mouth with lovely weight. Complex and multidimensional. Great Pinot Noir character at a terrific price.
Top Value!
Price: $17.99 Add To Cart ST 90 BC 0

2012 Baricci Rosso di Montalcino
 By: Jeff Garneau | Review Date: 8/30/2014 | Send Email
  Year after year, vintage after vintage, the wines of Nello Baricci remain my favorite among the Brunellos and Rossos K&L imports directly from Montalcino. These wines are one of the finest expressions of the Sangiovese grape it has ever been my privilege to taste. While the Brunellos usually require some patience and time in the cellar to be at their best, the Rossos can generally be enjoyed immediately upon release. The 2012 Baricci Rosso di Montalcino is no exception. The wine is showing beautifully right now with aromas of earth and spice and ripe morello cherry notes on the palate. Medium to full-bodied with lovely weight in the mouth. Richly textured with admirable length and fine tannins. Our direct import pricing keeps this wine at a very affordable $21.99, making it one of the best red wine values in the shop!
Top Value!
Price: $21.99 Add To Cart BC 0

2013 Zudugarai "Amats" Getariako Txakolina
 By: Krista Johnson | Review Date: 8/30/2014 | Send Email
  I'm in love with this Txakolina! High toned acidity, lime zest, bracing minerality...like licking wet stones from a mountain stream. This is one of the most refreshing wines out there.
Price: $12.99 Add To Cart BC 0

2012 Eyrie Vineyards "Estate Grown" Willamette Valley Pinot Noir
 By: Sal Rodriguez | Review Date: 8/29/2014 | Send Email
  Eyrie Vineyards was a real highlight for me on a recent trip to Oregon. I got to meet the mild mannered, kind, sincere Jason Lett. He's got lots of class and makes very classy wine. It's completely impressive what he's doing in the vineyard and with the wines. The 2012 Estate Pinot was one of our favorite wines on the trip. It's approachable, delicious, full of life and dark fruit. On the palate, it has a supple, smooth texture and is truly delectable. I expect this to only become more delicious and balanced over time. So, while it's wonderfully drinkable now, I can't wait to try this in another couple of years!

2013 Zudugarai "Amats" Getariako Txakolina
 By: Ryan Woodhouse | Review Date: 8/29/2014 | Send Email
  Racy and delicious! Love this zesty, fresh, mouthwatering little wine. Lime peel, coriander, white flowers and crunchy green apple. Great seafood wine, ultimately refreshing and palate cleansing. Ummmmm!
Top Value!
Price: $12.99 Add To Cart BC 0

2012 Högl "Steinterrassen" Riesling Federspiel Wachau
 By: David Driscoll | Review Date: 8/28/2014 | Send Email
  Stunning, delicious, varietally-correct Riesling. Textbook in every way. If you're looking to understand what Riesling tastes like then this is the bottle to start with. There's a beautiful balance of acidity and fruit, that hint of white pepper, a smidge of herbaceousness, and a clean, fresh finish. It literally makes your mouth water.
Price: $23.99 Add To Cart BC 0

2012 Eva Fricke Lorchhäuser Seligmacher Riesling
 By: Mahon McGrath | Review Date: 8/28/2014 | Send Email
  Honey tangerine, stone fruit, floral, and mineral notes combine with spicy-sweet vanilla and balsam in this taut, focused Riesling. While there is lots going on here, it isn't an obvious wine, and it takes awhile to tease everything out.
Price: $43.99 Add To Cart BC 0

1997 C.H. Berres Erdener Herrenberg Riesling Spätlese
 By: Mahon McGrath | Review Date: 8/28/2014 | Send Email
  Wet stone and resin meet dried flowers and dried fruit on the nose before segueing into a palate dominated by quince. Whether it began life on the drier side, or absorbed some of its sweetness with time in the bottle, you now know this is a Spatlese mostly by virtue of the plush mouthfeel and flavor intensity, as the flavors skew to the warm, dry side, set against a tart background. A real charmer, and a heck of a deal, too.
Price: $16.99 Add To Cart BC 0

2012 Thistle Ridge (Grey's Peak) Pinot Noir Waipara Valley
 By: Ryan Woodhouse | Review Date: 8/28/2014 | Send Email
Reviewer image Reviewer image Reviewer image Reviewer image Reviewer image
  2nd label to the highly popular Grey's Peak Pinot Noir, giving quite similar flavors at considerably less expense. The fruit here is all estate and made in the same way as its kin. Hand picking, wild yeast ferment in French oak barriques. Lots of rich, exotic dark fruit, Asian spice, dried herbs, dark earth and subtle barrel notes. Silky and soft on the palate, medium bodied, this really over delivers for the price. It also picked up a Pure Elite Gold Medal at the ANZWA and was a finalist for the Best NZ Pinot Trophy which was eventually won by its big brother the Grey's Peak bottling!
Top Value! Drink from 2014 to 2018
Price: $18.99 Add To Cart BC 0

2011 Rieflé "Bonheur Convivial" Pinot Noir
 By: David Driscoll | Review Date: 8/28/2014 | Send Email
  Beautiful Pinot Noir. Lush, juicy red fruit that explodes in your mouth. Like a simple Burgundy for a much better price.
Price: $17.99 Add To Cart BC 0

2012 Domaine Weinbach "Cuvée Théo" Riesling
 By: David Driscoll | Review Date: 8/28/2014 | Send Email
  Top notch Riesling from one of the finest producers in the world. The Cuvee Theo has more weight than your average racy Alsatian Riesling with lovely ginger notes and a spritz of spice on the finish. Worth every penny.
Price: $31.99 Add To Cart BC 0

2010 Pascal Laffourcade Savennières
 By: Leah Greenstein | Review Date: 8/28/2014 | Send Email
  I cannot believe a wine this complex can be had for just $20! I guess it serves us fans of Chenin well that the AOC of Savennieres still flies under the general public's radar. A touch nutty, with bruised apple, lanolin, quince, honeycomb and mushroom on the nose. Softly fruity, almondy and savory on the palate, this finishes dry. Serve this with something fatty. Or with a cheese plate.
Price: $19.99 Add To Cart RP 90 BC 0

2002 Ruinart "Dom Ruinart" Brut Rosé Champagne
 By: Gary Westby | Review Date: 8/28/2014 | Send Email
  This Champagne is beautiful to look at and has a pale pink color and the kind of streamers that you only get with very long aging on the lees. When we first opened the bottle it was very yeasty and leesy, so much so that it put me off. The bouquet developed really nicely over the course of the meal, offering up chalk and Rainier cherry fruit as well as toast. In the mouth, this wine is so elegant and subtle that it wouldn’t be hard to miss its depth in a quick tasting. Like Cristal and Salon, it is a treat for the jaded palate, with lots of depth to offer, but no obvious, showy flash. It is ethereal, weightless and haunting stuff--and I would guess that the Sillery rouge has a lot to do with its delicacy. The Dom Ruinart Rose is the most elegant Champagne that I have drunk this year, and will no doubt prove to be one of my top Champagne experiences this year. If you have an occasion to spoil yourself with a very special bottle, this would be a great choice.

2002 Thienot "La Vigne aux Gamins" Blanc de Blancs Brut Champagne
 By: Kyle Kurani | Review Date: 8/28/2014 | Send Email
  A study in elegant richness and composure. The La Vigne Aux Gamins is one of the best bottles of bubbles I have had the pleasure to have this year. Out of the glass come toasted almonds and a hint of pound cake, with elegant aromas of white flowers and fresh chalk, signs of the beautiful Chardonnay that is about to envelope your palate. The first sip rushes in with spiced apples, fresh baguette and a beautiful counterbalance of white flowers that follow through from the nose. The freshness of this wine is what sets it apart, there is a persistent minerality that lends lift to the mouth feel, and an elegance that dances all the way through to the beautifully long and full finish. These notes were written on a day that we tried a total of 63 other Champagnes, from Krug to Billecart; this wine was undoubtedly one of the best things we tasted.

2006 Louis Roederer "Cristal" Brut Champagne
 By: Mari Keilman | Review Date: 8/28/2014 | Send Email
  It's a shame that most Cristal is consumed so quickly after it's released because the 2006 is definitely one that will age and show its true beauty and potential with a few years in the cellar! The 2006 is the brightest, most structured vintage that I've had from Cristal in quite some time. Add the signature ripe, sweet fruit, full bodied richness and chalky minerality on the finish and you have a vintage Cristal that will match up to the best of them.

2002 C.H. Berres Ürziger Würzgarten Riesling Kabinett
 By: Mahon McGrath | Review Date: 8/28/2014 | Send Email
  The nose of the fully mature 2002 C.H. Berres Urziger Wurzgarten Riesling Kabinett offers up scents of petrol, and gravelly minerality, along with resin and dried apple. The spice in the “spicegarden” makes its presence felt on the palate. It is interesting to contrast where an aged wine from this vineyard goes compared to currently released expressions from the site; it also doesn’t hurt that the price of the Berres is less per bottle than some of those currently released versions!
Price: $14.99 Add To Cart BC 0

Bruno Michel "Blanche" Brut Champagne
 By: Mari Keilman | Review Date: 8/28/2014 | Send Email
  Such an amazing champagne for such an extraordinary price! This champagne is one of my favorites regardless of how low the price is, but when you factor in how beautiful this wine is for only $34.99, you wonder if its too good to be true!!! So incredibly delicate and elegant with such subtle layers, you wonder if its too sophisticated for everyone to understand.
Price: $34.99 Add To Cart BC 0

2013 Peter Lauer "Barrel X" Riesling
 By: Gary Westby | Review Date: 8/27/2014 | Send Email
  Peter Lauer is part of a new breed of German wine producers who are trying to escape the confusing labels of the past. I like to joke that old fashioned German wine labels are the original "over sharing" since they contain so much information they become illegible. This producer keeps it simple, offering a wonderful example of the Saar's delicate, mineral driven, high electricity style of Riesling with his Barrel X. It has a touch of residual sugar, but just enough to bring out the fruit in this very refreshing wine!
Price: $18.99 Add To Cart BC 0

2013 Hogl Schon Gruner Veltliner Federspiel Wachau
 By: Gary Westby | Review Date: 8/27/2014 | Send Email
  The Gruner Veltliner from Hogl has a wonderful nose of honey and peaches to go with the white pepper stamp of the varietal. I thought it was a real standout from our Austrian staff tasting because of these great aromas, as well as its excellent richness.
Price: $27.99 Add To Cart BC 0

Page: 1  2  3   next  >>