Staff Favorites - Jim Boyce

Jim Boyce

Reviews

2013 Chateau Ste. Michelle "Cold Creek Vineyard" Columbia Valley Cabernet Sauvignon
Review Date: 08-09-2018
This particluar CSM Cabernet comes from the Cold Creek Vineyard, a 40+ year old vineyard containing own rooted Cabernet Sauvignon & Franc, Merlot Chardonnay and Riesling. It pours an deep, inky purple, showing droves of ripe plum and blackberry fruits, tobacoo and cedar. Gorgeous Cabernet at a price that is becoming harder to find.
Top Value!

San Venanzio Prosecco Valdobbiadene Superiore Brut
Review Date: 08-07-2018
Always one of our favorite Direct Import deals, the San Venanzio is full of fresh pear and peaches and cream, with a refreshing, mineral driven finish that will make you wonder how that first glass disappeared so quickly!
Top Value!
Price: $13.99 Add To Cart
WE 90

2016 Halcón "Alturas" Yorkville Highlands Syrah
Review Date: 05-17-2018
We couldn't be happier seeing these delicious Halcon wines net some solid press recognition recently! Their wines have continued to impress since the first 2009 vintage graced the K&L shelves. This 2016 shows gorgeous aromatics of violets, blue fruits, and fresh grilled meats. Brambly black and blue fruits, bacon fat, black pepper, an broad tanin finish stand out on an incredibly structured palate that, while rich, never goes overboard into too ripe or cloying territory. There is a ton of aging potential in this wine if you can hold off.

Four Pillars "Faultline" K&L Exclusive Gin (750ml)
Review Date: 10-02-2017
I was sampling this highly anticipated gin with Andrew and joking about how many different bottles of gin are currently open in both of our homes. Turns out our "problems" are very similar: the Four Pillars empties quickly and, instead of moving on to the many other open gin bottles in our liquor cabinets, we find ourselves going back to the well and buying more Four Pillars every time! The staff members have been keen on trying this new Faultline offering from them since we heard a rumor that DD was heading out to blend a special release. It does not disappoint, with a special blend of local herbs and botanicals combining with that trademark citrus zip, I had a hard time putting the glass down. Just like the Rare Dry gin, this will work wonders in damn near every cocktail you throw it at. I can't wait to get my hands on a bottle (who am I kidding, bottles) and start experimenting!
Price: $34.99 Add To Cart

2015 Tablas Creek "Côtes de Tablas" Paso Robles Rhône Blend
Review Date: 06-05-2017
39% Grenache / 35% Syrah / 16% Counoise / 10% Mourvedre Ripe raspberry and bing cherry fruits, with white pepper, smoked meat, and wild game notes with some serious grip on the finish. There is a freshness and lift to this wine that gives a focus and precision that kept our attention. Seriously tasty release of Tablas this vintage!

2014 Tablas Creek "Esprit de Tablas Blanc" Paso Robles Rhône Blend
Review Date: 06-05-2017
Rousanne dominant, spends 1.5 years in large barrels. White flowers, zesty acidity, citrus, and a touch of salinity on the medium weight palate. Bright and fresh white wine with incredible tension between weight and acid backbone.
Price: $39.99 Add To Cart
VN 93 RP 92

2014 Maison L'Envoyé "The Attaché" Willamette Valley Pinot Noir
Review Date: 02-23-2017
This mid tier offering from Maison L'Envoye shows aromas of fresh cherry and raspberry, baking spices, and a slightly savory, smoked meat quality that was particularly intriguing. Again, fresh red fruits shined with perfectly integrated oak and a hint of tanin on the back end. This is a seductive Pinot Noir; very pretty fruits and a bright palate, yet layered and quite powerful!

2013 Fuenteseca Huerta Singular "El Maguey" Blanco Tequila (750ml)
Review Date: 02-05-2017
Hot damn, Enrique Fonseca has done it again! The brains behind the majority of our favorite tequilas over the past few years is pushing the boundaries of the agave spirit once more. The intrigue behind his products started with the ArteNom selections in 2011, and grew substantially with the first Fuenteseca release; a blend of up to 21 year old tequila's that I never thought would be topped. Well, today I had a sip of the new Fuenteseca Blanco Singular release, and now I have at least a tie between my two favorite tequila's ever, and from a Blanco no less (I will be revisiting the last few drops of that 21 YO blend tonight, for science)! Do yourself a favor and read the full write up David did for the blog and email, then don't hesitate to buy a bottle and enjoy this piece of history in the making. It is a pure expression of the best Agave Jalisco has to offer, and it is an expressive, structured, magical liquid.
Top Value!
Price: $79.99 Add To Cart

2014 Maldonado "Farm Worker" Napa Valley Chardonnay
Review Date: 08-31-2016
This is the "quintessential California" profile that so many Chardonnay drinkers prefer, but at under $18 and in a truly well-made style! It has the "buttery" profile, but with nice acidity to keep it from crossing into the "too heavy" territory; oak integration that doesn't overwhelm, and the classic tropical fruit notes that shine, all working in a well-balanced harmony. A true crowd-pleaser for your next cocktail hour event!
Top Value!
Price: $17.99 Add To Cart

Cut Spike Nebraska Single Malt Whiskey (750ml)
Review Date: 07-21-2015
We, along with enough customers (and critics) to quickly sell out the last couple batches, fell in love with the Cut Spike whiskey. The first time we tasted this American Single Malt we were floored. This current bottling is a bit brighter, with great clove, ginger and banana bread spice notes. Grab a bottle while you can! 'Merica!
Price: $49.99 Add To Cart

2012 Hirsch "San Andreas Fault" Sonoma Coast Pinot Noir
Review Date: 04-07-2015
From high atop the Sonoma Coast mountains comes this always incredible 2012 Hirsch S.A. Pinot Noir. It is full of fresh picked wild cherry, baking spices, bright acid, a hint of saline, with great oak integration. This wine will absolutely reward patience in the cellar.
Price: $64.99 Add To Cart
W&S 95

2011 Fromm "La Strada" Pinot Noir Marlborough
Review Date: 04-01-2015
Fromm has been crushing it with their Pinot Noir the last couple vintages! Fresh red fruit and rose petal aromatics, vibrant and spicy mid palate, pure fruit without being rich or cloying, and fine tannins on the finish. Every sip continued to impress with overall vibrancy and balance. Outstanding stuff!
Price: $19.99 Add To Cart
JS 93 RC 91

2010 Bois-Malot, Bordeaux Supérieur
Review Date: 01-26-2015
Grab this wine while it lasts!!! This 2010 Bordeaux benefits greatly from the magnificent 2010 vintage. Pure red fruit, mineral driven mid palate with medium tanin give this wine fantastic structure. Top Value!
Price: $10.99 Add To Cart

Michel Arnould "Reserve" Brut Verzenay Champagne
Review Date: 01-02-2014
Rich and toasty, yet fresh and focused, this Champagne is chock full of stone fruit and hazelnut. As mentioned, this is a lot of wine for the price!
Price: $32.99 Add To Cart
DC 90

Bruno Michel "Blanche" Brut Champagne
Review Date: 05-30-2013
Each time the Bruno Michel Blanche retuns to stock the staff becomes a bit giddy to both sell and consume quite a few bottles. Bruno Michel is one of our DI estates that is very, very proud of their meunier and are not afraid to show it. So very complex, this wine shows notes apple, citrus, mineral,toast and balanced all in harmony.
Price: $49.99 Add To Cart

Wine Club

$34.99

2010 Tablas Creek "Esprit de Beaucastel" Paso Robles Rhône Blend
Review Date: 04-01-2013
45% Mourvedre, 30% grenache, 21% syrah and 4% counoise. Spicy, floral perfumed nose. White pepper, mineral, blackberry, tar, and leather notes on the palate are finished with nice firm tanins on the back end. This is a big wine with plenty of depth and structure. Delicious!
Price: $59.99 Add To Cart
RP 94 ST 92

Egrot (formerly Elisabeth Goutorbe) Brut Champagne
Review Date: 03-28-2013
This Champagne is easily one of our top values. Made up of mostly 2007 fruit, the Pinot Noir really shines. Lots of black cherry with ripe raspberry notes, dry, chalky minerality (as mentioned numerous times), and well rounded acidty really make this an exceptional wine.
Price: $34.99 Add To Cart

Logsdon Farmhouse Ales "Seizoen Bretta" Saison, Oregon (750ml)
Review Date: 12-31-2012
David Logsdon, the old Full Sail brewer/partner, really hit his stride with these beers. Clean and delicious, the brett really adds a great dry, complex finish to the bright citrus and pear (bottle conditioned with pear juice for natural carbonation) notes. Outstanding beer!
Top Value!
Price: $11.99 Add To Cart

Franck Bonville "Belles Voyes" Brut Blanc de Blancs Champagne
Review Date: 05-30-2012
Exceptional. This bottle can match or outperform champagnes at twice the price. Amazing nose of citrus, green apple, and vanilla. Intriguingly full palate of pear, apple pie, and mineral notes with hints of baking spice. Absolutely delicious, pick a bottle up soon!
Price: $69.99 Add To Cart
WS 91 WE 90

Ariston Aspasie "Carte Blanche" Brut Champagne
Review Date: 02-26-2012
A great toasty, rich, dry brut to serve at any occasion, be it with food or without. Clean and pure, this is well balanced champagne with great apple and nut notes at an unbelievable price.
Price: $27.99 Add To Cart

Deligeroy "La Petite Marquise" Cremant de Loire Brut
Review Date: 10-31-2011
This is a fresh, mineral and citus noted, delightfully refreshing french sparkling wine without the big price tag. Stock up for your holiday parties!
Price: $12.99 Add To Cart

Franck Bonville Grand Cru Brut Blanc de Blancs Champagne
Review Date: 06-30-2011
This is another outstanding, easy to like champagne from Bonville. 100% estate chardonnay from three vintages, this bottle intertwines clean citrus and crisp apple with solid, chalky minerality to create some seriously great bubbles. Refreshing alone on a warm summer day or paired with some of your favorite seafood appetizers, this champagne is sure to please.
Price: $34.99 Add To Cart
WE 91 WS 90

Henney's Frome Valley Dry Cider, England (500ml)
Review Date: 04-30-2011
This easy drinking cider is back; time to load up! Always a staff favorite, this bright, crisp and refreshing cider is a crowd pleaser (even though it is on the drier side) and a fantastic warm weather sipper. Works great as an alternative to beer or white wine as well.
Price: $6.99 Add To Cart

Ariston Aspasie Blanc de Blancs Brut Champagne
Review Date: 02-27-2011
Crisp and clean with light fruit on the palate, this Ariston Blanc de Blanc is a real crowd pleaser! Apple nose and a creamy body balanced with a solid mineral mid palate makes for a slightly more complex blanc de blanc thats affordable. Grab a couple bottles for your next occcasion!
Price: $34.99 Add To Cart