Best Sellers New Arrivals Local Events Locations Gift Cards My Account Advanced Search

Reviewers


K&L Email Alerts

Sign up to receive custom alerts, new arrivals and the latest happenings from K&L Wines

Staff Favorites - Jim Boyce

Jim Boyce

Reviews

San Venanzio Prosecco Valdobbiadene Superiore Brut
Review Date: 08-07-2018
Always one of our favorite Direct Import deals, the San Venanzio is full of fresh pear and peaches and cream, with a refreshing, mineral driven finish that will make you wonder how that first glass disappeared so quickly!
Top Value!
Price: $13.99 Add To Cart
DC 91

2016 Halcón "Alturas" Yorkville Highlands Syrah
Review Date: 05-17-2018
We couldn't be happier seeing these delicious Halcon wines net some solid press recognition recently! Their wines have continued to impress since the first 2009 vintage graced the K&L shelves. This 2016 shows gorgeous aromatics of violets, blue fruits, and fresh grilled meats. Brambly black and blue fruits, bacon fat, black pepper, an broad tanin finish stand out on an incredibly structured palate that, while rich, never goes overboard into too ripe or cloying territory. There is a ton of aging potential in this wine if you can hold off.

2014 Maison L'Envoyé "The Attaché" Willamette Valley Pinot Noir
Review Date: 02-23-2017
This mid tier offering from Maison L'Envoye shows aromas of fresh cherry and raspberry, baking spices, and a slightly savory, smoked meat quality that was particularly intriguing. Again, fresh red fruits shined with perfectly integrated oak and a hint of tanin on the back end. This is a seductive Pinot Noir; very pretty fruits and a bright palate, yet layered and quite powerful!

2013 Fuenteseca Huerta Singular "El Maguey" Blanco Tequila (750ml)
Review Date: 02-05-2017
Hot damn, Enrique Fonseca has done it again! The brains behind the majority of our favorite tequilas over the past few years is pushing the boundaries of the agave spirit once more. The intrigue behind his products started with the ArteNom selections in 2011, and grew substantially with the first Fuenteseca release; a blend of up to 21 year old tequila's that I never thought would be topped. Well, today I had a sip of the new Fuenteseca Blanco Singular release, and now I have at least a tie between my two favorite tequila's ever, and from a Blanco no less (I will be revisiting the last few drops of that 21 YO blend tonight, for science)! Do yourself a favor and read the full write up David did for the blog and email, then don't hesitate to buy a bottle and enjoy this piece of history in the making. It is a pure expression of the best Agave Jalisco has to offer, and it is an expressive, structured, magical liquid.
Top Value!
Price: $79.99 Add To Cart

Cut Spike Nebraska Single Malt Whiskey (750ml)
Review Date: 07-21-2015
We, along with enough customers (and critics) to quickly sell out the last couple batches, fell in love with the Cut Spike whiskey. The first time we tasted this American Single Malt we were floored. This current bottling is a bit brighter, with great clove, ginger and banana bread spice notes. Grab a bottle while you can! 'Merica!
Price: $49.99 Add To Cart

Mas Codina Cava Brut Reserva Penedès
Review Date: 05-31-2015
The Mas Codina Cava is easily a top sparkler in the store at $14. It is the house sparkling wine for most of our staff and has even been the wedding sparkler of choice, which speaks to the quality! Well balanced with a touch of red fruit from the pinot, green apple skin, beautiful mineral qualities, and a dry finish.
Price: $12.99 Add To Cart

2010 Bois-Malot, Bordeaux Supérieur
Review Date: 01-26-2015
Grab this wine while it lasts!!! This 2010 Bordeaux benefits greatly from the magnificent 2010 vintage. Pure red fruit, mineral driven mid palate with medium tanin give this wine fantastic structure. Top Value!
Price: $10.99 Add To Cart

Michel Arnould "Reserve" Brut Verzenay Champagne
Review Date: 01-02-2014
Rich and toasty, yet fresh and focused, this Champagne is chock full of stone fruit and hazelnut. As mentioned, this is a lot of wine for the price!
Price: $32.99 Add To Cart
DC 90

Bruno Michel "Assemblée" Brut Champagne
Review Date: 05-30-2013
Each time the Bruno Michel Blanche retuns to stock the staff becomes a bit giddy to both sell and consume quite a few bottles. Bruno Michel is one of our DI estates that is very, very proud of their meunier and are not afraid to show it. So very complex, this wine shows notes apple, citrus, mineral,toast and balanced all in harmony.
Price: $49.99 Add To Cart

Wine Club

$34.99

Egrot (formerly Elisabeth Goutorbe) Brut Champagne
Review Date: 03-28-2013
This Champagne is easily one of our top values. Made up of mostly 2007 fruit, the Pinot Noir really shines. Lots of black cherry with ripe raspberry notes, dry, chalky minerality (as mentioned numerous times), and well rounded acidty really make this an exceptional wine.
Price: $34.99 Add To Cart

Logsdon Farmhouse Ales "Seizoen Bretta" Saison, Oregon (750ml)
Review Date: 12-31-2012
David Logsdon, the old Full Sail brewer/partner, really hit his stride with these beers. Clean and delicious, the brett really adds a great dry, complex finish to the bright citrus and pear (bottle conditioned with pear juice for natural carbonation) notes. Outstanding beer!
Top Value!
Price: $11.99 Add To Cart

Franck Bonville Grand Cru Brut Blanc de Blancs Champagne
Review Date: 06-30-2011
This is another outstanding, easy to like champagne from Bonville. 100% estate chardonnay from three vintages, this bottle intertwines clean citrus and crisp apple with solid, chalky minerality to create some seriously great bubbles. Refreshing alone on a warm summer day or paired with some of your favorite seafood appetizers, this champagne is sure to please.
Price: $34.99 Add To Cart
WE 91 WS 90

Henney's Frome Valley Dry Cider, England (500ml)
Review Date: 04-30-2011
This easy drinking cider is back; time to load up! Always a staff favorite, this bright, crisp and refreshing cider is a crowd pleaser (even though it is on the drier side) and a fantastic warm weather sipper. Works great as an alternative to beer or white wine as well.
Price: $6.99 Add To Cart