Reviewers


K&L Email Alerts

Sign up to receive custom alerts, new arrivals and the latest happenings from K&L Wines


Staff Favorites - Jim Boyce

Jim Boyce

Reviews

San Venanzio Prosecco Valdobbiadene Superiore Brut
Review Date: 08-07-2018
Always one of our favorite Direct Import deals, the San Venanzio is full of fresh pear and peaches and cream, with a refreshing, mineral driven finish that will make you wonder how that first glass disappeared so quickly!
Top Value!
Price: $13.99 Add To Cart
DC 91

Four Pillars "Faultline" K&L Exclusive Gin (750ml)
Review Date: 10-02-2017
I was sampling this highly anticipated gin with Andrew and joking about how many different bottles of gin are currently open in both of our homes. Turns out our "problems" are very similar: the Four Pillars empties quickly and, instead of moving on to the many other open gin bottles in our liquor cabinets, we find ourselves going back to the well and buying more Four Pillars every time! The staff members have been keen on trying this new Faultline offering from them since we heard a rumor that DD was heading out to blend a special release. It does not disappoint, with a special blend of local herbs and botanicals combining with that trademark citrus zip, I had a hard time putting the glass down. Just like the Rare Dry gin, this will work wonders in damn near every cocktail you throw it at. I can't wait to get my hands on a bottle (who am I kidding, bottles) and start experimenting!
Price: $34.99 Add To Cart

2013 Fuenteseca Huerta Singular "El Maguey" Blanco Tequila (750ml)
Review Date: 02-05-2017
Hot damn, Enrique Fonseca has done it again! The brains behind the majority of our favorite tequilas over the past few years is pushing the boundaries of the agave spirit once more. The intrigue behind his products started with the ArteNom selections in 2011, and grew substantially with the first Fuenteseca release; a blend of up to 21 year old tequila's that I never thought would be topped. Well, today I had a sip of the new Fuenteseca Blanco Singular release, and now I have at least a tie between my two favorite tequila's ever, and from a Blanco no less (I will be revisiting the last few drops of that 21 YO blend tonight, for science)! Do yourself a favor and read the full write up David did for the blog and email, then don't hesitate to buy a bottle and enjoy this piece of history in the making. It is a pure expression of the best Agave Jalisco has to offer, and it is an expressive, structured, magical liquid.
Top Value!
Price: $79.99 Add To Cart

Cut Spike Nebraska Single Malt Whiskey (750ml)
Review Date: 07-21-2015
We, along with enough customers (and critics) to quickly sell out the last couple batches, fell in love with the Cut Spike whiskey. The first time we tasted this American Single Malt we were floored. This current bottling is a bit brighter, with great clove, ginger and banana bread spice notes. Grab a bottle while you can! 'Merica!
Price: $49.99 Add To Cart

Mas Codina Cava Brut Reserva Penedès
Review Date: 05-31-2015
The Mas Codina Cava is easily a top sparkler in the store at $14. It is the house sparkling wine for most of our staff and has even been the wedding sparkler of choice, which speaks to the quality! Well balanced with a touch of red fruit from the pinot, green apple skin, beautiful mineral qualities, and a dry finish.
Price: $12.99 Add To Cart

Wine Club

$9.99

2009 Peyrabon, Haut-Médoc
Review Date: 03-02-2015
With a property bordering (sometimes crossing into) the Pauillac region, the 2009 Peyrabon offeres a lot of wine for a small price tag! Straight forward blackberry and casis with a hint of blueberry, great minerality and soft tanin to boot. This wine is the definition of value!
Top Value!
Price: $21.99 Add To Cart

Michel Arnould "Reserve" Brut Verzenay Champagne
Review Date: 01-02-2014
Rich and toasty, yet fresh and focused, this Champagne is chock full of stone fruit and hazelnut. As mentioned, this is a lot of wine for the price!
Price: $32.99 Add To Cart
DC 90

Fluteau Blanc de Noirs Brut Champagne
Review Date: 01-02-2014
This mouth watering Champagne is all Pinot Noir blended from three vintages. Light weight on the palate and full of vibrant red cherry and nutty accents, this is the perfect aperitif to start any evening!
Price: $29.99 Add To Cart

Bruno Michel "Assemblée" Brut Champagne
Review Date: 05-30-2013
Each time the Bruno Michel Blanche retuns to stock the staff becomes a bit giddy to both sell and consume quite a few bottles. Bruno Michel is one of our DI estates that is very, very proud of their meunier and are not afraid to show it. So very complex, this wine shows notes apple, citrus, mineral,toast and balanced all in harmony.
Price: $49.99 Add To Cart

2010 Brewer-Clifton "Mt. Carmel Vineyard" Sta. Rita Hills Pinot Noir
Review Date: 03-21-2013
This wine is stunning! Bright cherry, ripe raspberry, green tea, and fresh strawberry notes join the saline and mineral streak persistent throughout the wine. Fine, palate coating tanins round out the lingering finish. Approachable now with air but will reward a few years in the cellar.

Franck Bonville "Belles Voyes" Brut Blanc de Blancs Champagne
Review Date: 05-30-2012
Exceptional. This bottle can match or outperform champagnes at twice the price. Amazing nose of citrus, green apple, and vanilla. Intriguingly full palate of pear, apple pie, and mineral notes with hints of baking spice. Absolutely delicious, pick a bottle up soon!
Price: $69.99 Add To Cart
WS 91 WE 90

Ariston Aspasie "Carte Blanche" Brut Champagne
Review Date: 02-26-2012
A great toasty, rich, dry brut to serve at any occasion, be it with food or without. Clean and pure, this is well balanced champagne with great apple and nut notes at an unbelievable price.
Price: $29.99 Add To Cart

La Petite Marquise Crémant de Loire Brut
Review Date: 10-31-2011
This is a fresh, mineral and citus noted, delightfully refreshing french sparkling wine without the big price tag. Stock up for your holiday parties!
Price: $12.99 Add To Cart

Franck Bonville Grand Cru Brut Blanc de Blancs Champagne
Review Date: 06-30-2011
This is another outstanding, easy to like champagne from Bonville. 100% estate chardonnay from three vintages, this bottle intertwines clean citrus and crisp apple with solid, chalky minerality to create some seriously great bubbles. Refreshing alone on a warm summer day or paired with some of your favorite seafood appetizers, this champagne is sure to please.
Price: $34.99 Add To Cart
WS 90

Ariston Aspasie Blanc de Blancs Brut Champagne
Review Date: 02-27-2011
Crisp and clean with light fruit on the palate, this Ariston Blanc de Blanc is a real crowd pleaser! Apple nose and a creamy body balanced with a solid mineral mid palate makes for a slightly more complex blanc de blanc thats affordable. Grab a couple bottles for your next occcasion!
Price: $34.99 Add To Cart