Staff Favorites - Jim Boyce

Jim Boyce

Reviews

Four Pillars "Faultline" K&L Exclusive Australian Gin (750ml)
Review Date: 10-02-2017
I was sampling this highly anticipated gin with Andrew and joking about how many different bottles of gin are currently open in both of our homes. Turns out our "problems" are very similar: the Four Pillars empties quickly and, instead of moving on to the many other open gin bottles in our liquor cabinets, we find ourselves going back to the well and buying more Four Pillars every time! The staff members have been keen on trying this new Faultline offering from them since we heard a rumor that DD was heading out to blend a special release. It does not disappoint, with a special blend of local herbs and botanicals combining with that trademark citrus zip, I had a hard time putting the glass down. Just like the Rare Dry gin, this will work wonders in damn near every cocktail you throw it at. I can't wait to get my hands on a bottle (who am I kidding, bottles) and start experimenting!
Price: $34.99 Add To Cart

Michel Arnould "La Grande Cuvée" Brut Champagne
Review Date: 04-05-2017
One of the true staff favorites, this Champagne comes off as rich and ripe, but the acidity cuts right through leaving an extremely well balanced, wonderfully complex and driving wine in your glass. Black cherry, brioche, and hazelnut complement. Think Krug at almost a quarter of the price!
Price: $39.99 Add To Cart

Mas Codina Cava Brut Reserva Penedès
Review Date: 05-31-2015
The Mas Codina Cava is easily a top sparkler in the store at $14. It is the house sparkling wine for most of our staff and has even been the wedding sparkler of choice, which speaks to the quality! Well balanced with a touch of red fruit from the pinot, green apple skin, beautiful mineral qualities, and a dry finish.
Price: $12.99 Add To Cart

Michel Arnould "Réserve" Grand Cru Verzenay Brut Champagne
Review Date: 01-02-2014
Rich and toasty, yet fresh and focused, this Champagne is chock full of stone fruit and hazelnut. As mentioned, this is a lot of wine for the price!
Price: $34.99 Add To Cart

2013 Franck Bonville "Les Belles Voyes" Brut Blanc de Blancs Champagne
Review Date: 05-30-2012
Exceptional. This bottle can match or outperform champagnes at twice the price. Amazing nose of citrus, green apple, and vanilla. Intriguingly full palate of pear, apple pie, and mineral notes with hints of baking spice. Absolutely delicious, pick a bottle up soon!
Price: $69.99 Add To Cart

Ariston Aspasie "Réserve" Brut Champagne
Review Date: 02-26-2012
A great toasty, rich, dry brut to serve at any occasion, be it with food or without. Clean and pure, this is well balanced champagne with great apple and nut notes at an unbelievable price.
Price: $34.99 Add To Cart

Franck Bonville Grand Cru Brut Blanc de Blancs Champagne
Review Date: 06-30-2011
This is another outstanding, easy to like champagne from Bonville. 100% estate chardonnay from three vintages, this bottle intertwines clean citrus and crisp apple with solid, chalky minerality to create some seriously great bubbles. Refreshing alone on a warm summer day or paired with some of your favorite seafood appetizers, this champagne is sure to please.
Price: $34.99 Add To Cart

Henney's Frome Valley Dry Cider, England (500ml)
Review Date: 04-30-2011
This easy drinking cider is back; time to load up! Always a staff favorite, this bright, crisp and refreshing cider is a crowd pleaser (even though it is on the drier side) and a fantastic warm weather sipper. Works great as an alternative to beer or white wine as well.
Price: $6.99 Add To Cart

Ariston Aspasie Blanc de Blancs Brut Champagne
Review Date: 02-27-2011
Crisp and clean with light fruit on the palate, this Ariston Blanc de Blanc is a real crowd pleaser! Apple nose and a creamy body balanced with a solid mineral mid palate makes for a slightly more complex blanc de blanc thats affordable. Grab a couple bottles for your next occcasion!
Price: $39.99 Add To Cart

;