Best Sellers New Arrivals Local Events Locations Gift Cards My Account Advanced Search

Staff Favorites - Trey Beffa

Trey Beffa

Reviews

2012 Qupé "Sonnie's - Sawyer Lindquist Vineyard" Edna Valley Syrah
Review Date: 11-30-2018
The 2012 “Sonnie’s” is a spicy, high toned, medium bodied wine that glides across the palate with a savory, lingering finish. It is not overdone or heavily oaked. Hints of blueberries, white pepper and grilled meats highlight this delicious Syrah. The Sawyer Lindquist Vineyard in Edna Valley was planted in 2005 and received biodynamic certification from the Demeter Association in 2009.
Price: Hidden View Price
W&S 93 WE 93

2016 Fess Parker "The Big Easy" Santa Barbara County Red Blend
Review Date: 11-06-2018
The Big Easy is just that! - A big, juicy, fruit filled wine that coats the mouth and finishes smooth and easy. For me the Syrah here really shines in this wine. The flavors of blueberry pie, cream and spice just jump into the mouth. This is an pretty intense wine for the money but shows zero harsh edges. Just delicious!
Price: $24.99 Add To Cart
VN 95 JD 92

2015 Dierberg "Dierberg Vineyard" Santa Maria Valley Chardonnay
Review Date: 11-02-2018
The Dierberg Vineyard sits 13 miles from the Pacific Ocean. The cool influence of the ocean helps this wine maintain its acidity on the finish. Upfront, it is toasty aromas are followed by a mouth coating texture that follows with a spicy, lingering finish. The fruit is very ripe and bright.

2013 Scott Paul "La Paulée" Willamette Valley Pinot Noir
Review Date: 11-01-2018
The Scott Paul is quite a value at $15! This is classic Oregon Pinot Noir. Made in a light, fresh style, the wine has plenty of red fruits mixed with earthy undertones and spice. The wine seems to glide across the palate with a smooth, silky finish. This will pair excellent with lighter fare.

2016 Chappellet "Signature" Napa Valley Cabernet Sauvignon
Review Date: 11-01-2018
The 2016 Signature Cab is a knock out! The inky dark purple color is followed by aromas of graphite and blackberries. In the mouth, this deep, rich Cab is loaded with flavors of blueberry, black cherry, coco powder, vanilla bean and mocha. Tannins are firm but integrated, while the finish lingers on for a good 30 seconds. This wine should really come together in a cellar and drink well over the next 10-15 years!
Price: $64.99 Add To Cart
RP 96

2016 Lucky Rock Wine Co. "County Cuvee" Pinot Noir
Review Date: 10-17-2018
Good quality Pinot Noir used to be impossible to find for under $15. This goes back to the Sideways days. Then all the vineyard owners began to rip out Merlot and plant Pinot Noir. Now days we can be selective with our value pinot noir picks and wait for a wine like this to come along. The Lucky Rock is fruit driven wine that shows a lovely vibrancy, great pedigree and a long lingering finish. This is great wine to have around the house for solid drinking red that is sure to please.
Price: $14.99 Add To Cart

2015 Black Slate "Porrera" Priorat
Review Date: 10-17-2018
Talk about bang for your buck! The Black Slate offers tremendous value for its $16 price point. There is quite a lot to like with this wine - Loaded with ripe cassis and blackberry fruit, hints of spicy cola, mocha and a rich mouthwatering texture that lingers on to the finish. Great BBQ pick!
Price: $15.99 Add To Cart
JD 93 RP 91

2014 d'Arenberg "The Dead Arm" Shiraz McLaren Vale South Australia
Review Date: 10-17-2018
It has been awhile since I tasted a bottle of Shiraz. The “Dead Arm” was structured much like a Cabernet and did not remind me of the many Shiraz wines I tasted 15 years ago. This wine has quite a bit of grip. It is a sturdy and firm wine that is packed with a core of blackberry fruit, anise, mocha and earth. It should be a wine to drink with a good beef dish and develop well in a cellar over the next 10 years!

2013 Conn Creek "Anthology" Napa Valley Cabernet Sauvignon
Review Date: 10-17-2018
Our crack team of buyers was able to secure a great price on the last of the 2013 vintage! The Anthology is Conn Creek’s flagship Bordeaux style blend. Normally nearly double the price, this wine is a value for under $30 Napa Valley Cabernet. Not overdone or overripe, the 2013 vintage shows a solid backbone, firm tannins and deep core of fruit. Hints of cedar, tobacco leaf and spices round out the edges. This wine can be enjoyed now with some air but also should improve in a cellar over the next 10 years.
Price: $34.99 Add To Cart
RP 90

2015 Wind Gap Sonoma Coast Pinot Noir
Review Date: 10-17-2018
Wind Gap wines have always impressed me. The pricing however has always been right on the border-line of just being a tad too expensive. Not anymore. At our current price point this is a steal! This is the wine to have a case of around the house over the holidays when you are bombarded with friends and family who maybe enjoy wine just a bit too much. This wine is very ripe and loaded with fruit yet shows plenty of freshness and lively acidity to hold it through to the finish. This is a definite crowd pleaser at a wallet pleasing price!
Price: Hidden View Price
VN 93

2014 Ramey "Platt Vineyard" Sonoma Coast Chardonnay
Review Date: 10-10-2018
I was pleasantly surprised, if not shocked with the vibrancy and freshness of this 2014 Chardonnay! After tasting I learned that the Platt Vineyard is the coolest vineyard site that Ramey sources fruit from. The wine shows a laser-like focus, bright green apple hints, minerals and wet stone. Blind this would be tough to pick out as a California Chardonnay. I would drink this wine all day long!
Price: Hidden View Price
RP 95 WE 93

2016 Belle Glos "Dairyman" Russian River Valley Pinot Noir
Review Date: 08-01-2018
If you have tried a Belle Glos wine in the past you know what to expect! A fruity and very fleshy, rich Pinot Noir that coats the mouth with hints of vanilla bean, coffee and jammy fruit flavors. It is a smooth and decadent Pinot Noir that can be opened and enjoyed. Very tasty stuff!
Price: $49.99 Add To Cart

Wine Club

$34.99

2013 Chateau Ste. Michelle "Cold Creek Vineyard" Columbia Valley Cabernet Sauvignon
Review Date: 08-01-2018
Glass Full image Glass Full image Glass Full image Glass Full image Glass Empty image
The term "Classic Napa Cab" refers to wines like Dunn Howell Mountain, Mayacamas Vineyards and even Groth Cabernet. If the term “Classic Washington Cab” existed then I would put the Chateau Ste. Michelle "Cold Creek Vineyard" Cabernet in that group. We tasted the 2013 the other day and it was a reminder that while in general Washington wines can be quite rich and somewhat toasty, the Cold Creek shows wonderful precision and complexity. Planted in 1972, these vines are really producing some excellent fruit that is creating one of the best cabernet values around!

2016 Kalinda Bourgogne Blanc
Review Date: 07-11-2018
Jacques Bavard has always made one of my favorite Bourgogne Blanc's. When we visited him last March, we were super excited to learn that there was the possibility of doing our private Kalinda Label with him. This is a typical example of the wonderful 2016 vintage in the region. It shows terrific freshness, bright acidity and finesse, whiles still having a fair amount of richness and body. Just in time, this is perfect to pair with lighter dishes or just enjoy as a summertime sipper!
Price: $19.99 Add To Cart

2015 Mount Veeder Winery Napa Valley Cabernet Sauvignon
Review Date: 03-21-2018
At elevations of 1,000 to 1,600 feet, the mesoclimate up on Mount Veeder is completely different than the valley floor. You can definitely taste this in the wine. 2015 was a warm year with tons of fruit, so this wine can be enjoyed now if you are looking for something to pair with your grilled meat dishes. This is a dense, full and sturdy Cabernet that should hold up well in a cellar as well.

2013 Silverado "Estate" Napa Valley Cabernet Sauvignon
Review Date: 01-24-2018
The 2013’s sure do impress! One of the later releases, the Silverado Estate Cabernet, is a great example of a California Cabernet that is not overdone. The fruit is full and ripe but is balanced with the rest of the wine. This is a big, sturdy Cab that shows lots of complexity but still manages to show some finesse. This should please most if not all California Cab drinkers.
Price: $39.95 Add To Cart
JS 93 W&S 93

2014 Taken Napa Valley Bordeaux Blend
Review Date: 09-27-2017
Lots of wine for the money here- The Taken is a fairly sturdy, muscular wine that is almost reminiscent of a Bordeaux red from a riper vintage. Tannins are present but are ripe and integrated; hints of oak and lots of black cherry and mocha flavors round out this winner!
Price: $24.99 Add To Cart
JS 93

2014 Domaine Bruno Colin Chassagne-Montrachet
Review Date: 08-31-2017
Chassange-Montrachet Blanc for under $30! I am sort of hesitating writing up this for our newsletter as I am not sure we will have stocks remaining. I have loved nearly every 2014 white that I have tasted from the region. The Bruno Colin has laser focus, crisp bright lemon flavors that refresh the palate and just a hint of toasty oak which helps round out the finish. This is a wine I am buying a case of and will enjoy over the next 3 or so years.
Price: $59.99 Add To Cart
WS 91 RP 90

2013 Antica Napa Valley Cabernet Sauvignon
Review Date: 08-17-2017
Antica Cabernet is the flagship wine from the Antinori project in the Napa Valley. The 2013 is just delicious! Savory herbs, ripe cassis flavors with a lush velvety texture, this wine is just touched with toasty oak. The finish is long and sweet. Being mountain fruit, there is a fair amount of structure and density to this wine, but it shows surprisingly open and fleshy. Enjoy now!

2016 Léoville-Barton, St-Julien
Review Date: 07-19-2017
The 2016 Leoville Barton shows dark concentrated fruits, minerals, cedar, allspice and a firm structure. This is a sturdy wine with lots of power. A good cellar candidate!

2016 Siran, Margaux
Review Date: 06-27-2017
A real winner from the 2016 vintage for the money! This wine shows a wonderful silky texture with an exotic sweet core of red and black currant fruit that lingers on the finish. A sleeper!

2016 Siran, Margaux 12-pack in OWC
Review Date: 06-27-2017
A real winner from the 2016 vintage for the money! This wine shows a wonderful silky texture with an exotic sweet core of red and black currant fruit that lingers on the finish. A sleeper!

2016 d'Armailhac, Pauillac
Review Date: 06-27-2017
I heard good things about this wine from our group that tasted in March. Generally I try to block out these comments but I feel they are well deserved with this wine. The 2016 D’Armaillac shows lots of spicy fruit with hints of cola, black cherry and blackberries. This is a sexy wine that should be a great pick to enjoy early and even upon release.

2016 Phélan-Ségur, St-Estèphe 12-pack in OWC
Review Date: 06-27-2017
An excellent Phelan Segur that is packed with deep concentrated dark fruits, hints of graphite, minerals and spice. Fresh and ripe tannins, this wine is an excellent mid-term cellar pick!

2016 Phélan-Ségur, St-Estèphe
Review Date: 06-27-2017
An excellent Phelan Segur that is packed with deep concentrated dark fruits, hints of graphite, minerals and spice. Fresh and ripe tannins, this wine is an excellent mid-term cellar pick!

2016 Pichon-Lalande, Pauillac
Review Date: 06-26-2017
The 2016 shows classic Pichon Lalande aromas of earth, spice and clove. Upfront the wine is velvety, round and juicy. Elegance abounds in the mid-palate and the finish shows wonderful lift and verve. This is another example of a 2016 that far outshines 2015.

2015 Domaine Jean-Michel Giboulot Savigny-lès-Beaune
Review Date: 06-07-2017
This is one of the darker, juicier Savigny Les Beaunes I have had the pleasure of tasting. Lots of black currants, plums and blueberry flavors with a hint of mocha fill the mouth and linger on the finish. Quite delicious!
Price: $29.99 Add To Cart

2015 Les Frères Perroud "Amethyste" Brouilly
Review Date: 04-05-2017
The quality of 2015 Beaujolais is really something special. These are wines that we all should be buying and not only drinking but cellaring as well. The Amethyste is a dark and broad wine that has a bit more structure and depth than the Vieilles Vignes. This is the perfect Beaujolais to put a case in your cellar and enjoy over the next 5 years.
Price: $17.99 Add To Cart
WE 91 VN 90

2013 Joseph Phelps "Insignia" Napa Valley Bordeaux Blend
Review Date: 10-06-2016
First produced in the 1974 vintage, Insignia is the first proprietary Bordeaux-style blend produced in California. Beginning with the 2004 vintage, the Insignia is sourced from entirely estate-grown fruit. The 2013 vintage is a classic Insignia. It is dense, powerful and shows lots of structure but all of that is hidden underneath layers of fresh, ripe fruit. Hints of bittersweet chocolate, plums, vanilla bean and spice linger on the finish. A great effort on their 40th anniversary!

2015 Malartic-Lagravière, Pessac-Léognan
Review Date: 06-03-2016
Loaded with tons of red fruits and a velvety texture, the 2015 Malartic is a big time winner in my book! There are hints of minerals, chocolate and spice, the wine is full and rich in the mouth, with a super long fresh finish. Tannins are ripe and integrated.

2015 Canon, St-Emilion
Review Date: 05-04-2016
72% Merlot and 28% Cabernet Franc, this wine is toasty upfront with lots of red currants and red cherry fruit, a seamless mid-palate and a long spicy finish. This wine has a lot of finesse and elegance. Great purity and precision!

2015 Pape Clément, Pessac-Léognan
Review Date: 05-04-2016
A blend of 56% Cabernet Sauvignon, 40% Merlot and 4% Cabernet Franc, this is a seriously good wine. Dark chewy fruit, intensely concentrated, hints of black cherry and smoke but not overdone, spicy, ripe and fleshy in the mid-palate; the finish is long and fresh. Definite buy!

2015 Malescot-St-Exupéry, Margaux
Review Date: 05-04-2016
One of my possible candidates for wine of the vintage! Very dark color, lovely spicy nose, hints of bittersweet chocolate, polished juicy texture with a hint of mint and savory herbs. Tannins are ripe and integrated. Very fresh and balanced with a long lingering finish- a wine to buy for the cellar!

2015 Rauzan-Ségla, Margaux
Review Date: 05-04-2016
Another winner from the Margaux appellation - The Rauzan-Segla is polished and concentrated with hints of cola, cassis and red cherries that linger on the finish. Lots of layers here – excellent focus and polish here!

2015 Alter Ego de Palmer, Margaux (1.5L)
Review Date: 05-04-2016
As we heard from many properties in the Medoc “this is not a second wine” but another expression of the vineyards. Either way the Alter Ego is fabulous in 2015. The color is dark and inky, with black cherry, cassis and chocolate flavors that are intertwined within the lovely velvety texture of this wine. This wine is nearly exotic but still shows a wonderful freshness and finesse.

2015 Léoville-Poyferré, St-Julien
Review Date: 05-04-2016
Dark inky color, quite extracted and rich with layers of fruit that coat the mouth; Tannins are firm but ripe. Solid wine

2015 Doisy-Daëne, Sauternes
Review Date: 05-04-2016
Bright and fresh with hints of lemon and orange, the Doisy Daene is clean and elegant in the mouth. It is high toned and lively on the finish. Great acidity!

2013 Lewis Cellars Napa Valley Cabernet Sauvignon
Review Date: 10-05-2015
Lewis sources their fruit from a variety of vineyards throughout the Napa Valley. This allows them to capture different elements of the valley and combine them into a single expression of Cabernet from Napa. This new release is brimming with black and blueberry fruit with hints of cedar, coffee and vanilla bean flavors. The tannins are firm but integrated. The 2013 is still quite young and will be a good candidate to put away in the cellar for 5-10 years.
Price: $269.99 Add To Cart
WS 95

2013 Challen "Scarlett" Santa Maria Valley Pinot Noir
Review Date: 09-18-2015
Glass Full image Glass Full image Glass Full image Glass Full image Glass Empty image
Lately I have been super impressed with the wines from the Santa Maria appellation! The 2013 Challen “Scarlett” Santa Maria Pinot Noir is a great example of a Pinot at a reasonably price point from this appellation. It is a wonderfully fleshy, fruit-forward wine that still shows balance and elegance. Strawberry jam, red currants, cloves and hints of sweet tea are followed by a soft, silky finish. Very tasty!
Price: Hidden View Price
WE 91

2013 Margerum "K&L Blend" Happy Canyon Sauvignon Blanc
Review Date: 05-20-2014
Wow! This wine came out fantastic! We blended this wine back in early February with Doug at the winery. We had 6 lots to taste. We ended up choosing a blend of 3 of the lots. The wine is a great example of what kind of Sauvignon Blanc can be grown in California. While still having a tropical fruit element upfront, the acidity is what keeps this wine together and focused. It is rich, fruity and loaded with citrus on the backend. Although a great wine for summertime sipping, it shows so much complexity and richness, that this wine would even be better paired with food.
Price: $18.99 Add To Cart

2010 Lynch-Bages, Pauillac
Review Date: 12-12-2013
One of my favorite Lynch-Bages in years. Lots of minerals, slate and velvety currants on the palate, with a firm backbone. Should age well.

2009 Ducru-Beaucaillou, St-Julien
Review Date: 02-11-2013
Super-long, with great depth, a plush middle and a ripe, spicy finish. The tannins were fine and well-integrated.

2009 Léoville-Las Cases, St-Julien
Review Date: 03-05-2012
This was one of the most concentrated wines of the trip, though it shows fantastic balance, finesse, and freshness.

Arette Artesanal Blanco Suave Tequila (750ml)
Review Date: 05-20-2008
Arette was founded in 1900 by the Orendain family. Since 1976 it has been produced and bottled by Eduardo and Jaime Orendain in their distillery “El Llano” in Tequila, Mexico. The Blanco is one of the most unique tequilas I have tasted yet. It is very bright and citric, with a lively palate and hints of oak. The Reposado is your sipping tequila: complex, deep and rich. Both are excellent, hand-crafted tequilas that I would highly recommend.
Price: $42.99 Add To Cart
WE 90