Best Sellers New Arrivals Local Events Locations Gift Cards My Account Advanced Search

Reviewers


K&L Email Alerts

Sign up to receive custom alerts, new arrivals and the latest happenings from K&L Wines

Staff Favorites - Trey Beffa

Trey Beffa

Reviews

2016 Château de la Negly "L'Ancely" La Clape
Review Date: 02-13-2019
This wine was quite a surprise for me. Reading the reviews I knew this wine was going to be a blockbuster. However I was surprised with how much finesse and balance this wine showed in the mouth. Despite its intense concentration and power, it is focused and seamless in its mid-palate with a firm, fruit-driven tannic backbone. This is a wine I would love to have in my cellar and enjoy in about 10 years!

2017 Olema Sonoma County Chardonnay
Review Date: 02-13-2019
The 2016 Olema Sonoma Chardonnay is a crowd-pleaser! It shows lovely fruit upfront which is balanced with a fair amount of acidity. The finish is not at all heavy, but still shows classic California Chardonnay hints of vanilla, ripe pear and tropical notes.
Price: $12.99 Add To Cart
JS 91

2016 Olema Sonoma County Cabernet Sauvignon
Review Date: 02-13-2019
What a great buy in Cabernet! The 2016 Olema Cabernet is loaded with flavors of coffee, mocha, and black cherry cola fruit. This medium bodied wine shows a supple, round, silky texture that coats the palate. The finish is long and spicy. Tasting this wine blind one would think the price point would be closer to $40!

2016 Fess Parker "The Big Easy" Santa Barbara County Red Blend
Review Date: 11-06-2018
The Big Easy is just that! - A big, juicy, fruit filled wine that coats the mouth and finishes smooth and easy. For me the Syrah here really shines in this wine. The flavors of blueberry pie, cream and spice just jump into the mouth. This is an pretty intense wine for the money but shows zero harsh edges. Just delicious!
Price: $24.99 Add To Cart
VN 95 JD 92

2015 Dierberg "Dierberg Vineyard" Santa Maria Valley Chardonnay
Review Date: 11-02-2018
The Dierberg Vineyard sits 13 miles from the Pacific Ocean. The cool influence of the ocean helps this wine maintain its acidity on the finish. Upfront, it is toasty aromas are followed by a mouth coating texture that follows with a spicy, lingering finish. The fruit is very ripe and bright.

2016 Chappellet "Signature" Napa Valley Cabernet Sauvignon
Review Date: 11-01-2018
The 2016 Signature Cab is a knock out! The inky dark purple color is followed by aromas of graphite and blackberries. In the mouth, this deep, rich Cab is loaded with flavors of blueberry, black cherry, coco powder, vanilla bean and mocha. Tannins are firm but integrated, while the finish lingers on for a good 30 seconds. This wine should really come together in a cellar and drink well over the next 10-15 years!

2016 Lucky Rock Wine Co. "County Cuvee" Pinot Noir
Review Date: 10-17-2018
Good quality Pinot Noir used to be impossible to find for under $15. This goes back to the Sideways days. Then all the vineyard owners began to rip out Merlot and plant Pinot Noir. Now days we can be selective with our value pinot noir picks and wait for a wine like this to come along. The Lucky Rock is fruit driven wine that shows a lovely vibrancy, great pedigree and a long lingering finish. This is great wine to have around the house for solid drinking red that is sure to please.
Price: Hidden View Price

2015 Black Slate "Porrera" Priorat
Review Date: 10-17-2018
Talk about bang for your buck! The Black Slate offers tremendous value for its $16 price point. There is quite a lot to like with this wine - Loaded with ripe cassis and blackberry fruit, hints of spicy cola, mocha and a rich mouthwatering texture that lingers on to the finish. Great BBQ pick!
Price: $15.99 Add To Cart
JD 93 RP 91

2014 d'Arenberg "The Dead Arm" Shiraz McLaren Vale South Australia
Review Date: 10-17-2018
It has been awhile since I tasted a bottle of Shiraz. The “Dead Arm” was structured much like a Cabernet and did not remind me of the many Shiraz wines I tasted 15 years ago. This wine has quite a bit of grip. It is a sturdy and firm wine that is packed with a core of blackberry fruit, anise, mocha and earth. It should be a wine to drink with a good beef dish and develop well in a cellar over the next 10 years!

2013 Conn Creek "Anthology" Napa Valley Cabernet Sauvignon
Review Date: 10-17-2018
Our crack team of buyers was able to secure a great price on the last of the 2013 vintage! The Anthology is Conn Creek’s flagship Bordeaux style blend. Normally nearly double the price, this wine is a value for under $30 Napa Valley Cabernet. Not overdone or overripe, the 2013 vintage shows a solid backbone, firm tannins and deep core of fruit. Hints of cedar, tobacco leaf and spices round out the edges. This wine can be enjoyed now with some air but also should improve in a cellar over the next 10 years.
Price: $34.99 Add To Cart
RP 90

2014 Ramey "Platt Vineyard" Sonoma Coast Chardonnay
Review Date: 10-10-2018
I was pleasantly surprised, if not shocked with the vibrancy and freshness of this 2014 Chardonnay! After tasting I learned that the Platt Vineyard is the coolest vineyard site that Ramey sources fruit from. The wine shows a laser-like focus, bright green apple hints, minerals and wet stone. Blind this would be tough to pick out as a California Chardonnay. I would drink this wine all day long!
Price: Hidden View Price
RP 95 WE 93

2016 Kalinda Bourgogne Blanc
Review Date: 07-11-2018
Jacques Bavard has always made one of my favorite Bourgogne Blanc's. When we visited him last March, we were super excited to learn that there was the possibility of doing our private Kalinda Label with him. This is a typical example of the wonderful 2016 vintage in the region. It shows terrific freshness, bright acidity and finesse, whiles still having a fair amount of richness and body. Just in time, this is perfect to pair with lighter dishes or just enjoy as a summertime sipper!
Price: $19.99 Add To Cart

2014 Taken Napa Valley Bordeaux Blend
Review Date: 09-27-2017
Lots of wine for the money here- The Taken is a fairly sturdy, muscular wine that is almost reminiscent of a Bordeaux red from a riper vintage. Tannins are present but are ripe and integrated; hints of oak and lots of black cherry and mocha flavors round out this winner!
Price: $24.99 Add To Cart
JS 93

2016 Labégorce, Margaux
Review Date: 07-19-2017
Dare I say one of the best wines ever from this Chateau? Lovely freshness, juicy fruit, lots of complex mineral flavors mixed in with a ton of fresh bright fruit, this wine is still a value.

2016 Léoville-Barton, St-Julien
Review Date: 07-19-2017
The 2016 Leoville Barton shows dark concentrated fruits, minerals, cedar, allspice and a firm structure. This is a sturdy wine with lots of power. A good cellar candidate!

2016 Siran, Margaux
Review Date: 06-27-2017
A real winner from the 2016 vintage for the money! This wine shows a wonderful silky texture with an exotic sweet core of red and black currant fruit that lingers on the finish. A sleeper!

2016 Siran, Margaux 12-pack in OWC
Review Date: 06-27-2017
A real winner from the 2016 vintage for the money! This wine shows a wonderful silky texture with an exotic sweet core of red and black currant fruit that lingers on the finish. A sleeper!

2016 d'Armailhac, Pauillac
Review Date: 06-27-2017
I heard good things about this wine from our group that tasted in March. Generally I try to block out these comments but I feel they are well deserved with this wine. The 2016 D’Armaillac shows lots of spicy fruit with hints of cola, black cherry and blackberries. This is a sexy wine that should be a great pick to enjoy early and even upon release.

2016 Phélan-Ségur, St-Estèphe 12-pack in OWC
Review Date: 06-27-2017
An excellent Phelan Segur that is packed with deep concentrated dark fruits, hints of graphite, minerals and spice. Fresh and ripe tannins, this wine is an excellent mid-term cellar pick!

2016 Phélan-Ségur, St-Estèphe
Review Date: 06-27-2017
An excellent Phelan Segur that is packed with deep concentrated dark fruits, hints of graphite, minerals and spice. Fresh and ripe tannins, this wine is an excellent mid-term cellar pick!

2016 Pichon-Lalande, Pauillac
Review Date: 06-26-2017
The 2016 shows classic Pichon Lalande aromas of earth, spice and clove. Upfront the wine is velvety, round and juicy. Elegance abounds in the mid-palate and the finish shows wonderful lift and verve. This is another example of a 2016 that far outshines 2015.

2016 Pichon-Lalande, Pauillac 6-Pack in OWC
Review Date: 06-26-2017
The 2016 shows classic Pichon Lalande aromas of earth, spice and clove. Upfront the wine is velvety, round and juicy. Elegance abounds in the mid-palate and the finish shows wonderful lift and verve. This is another example of a 2016 that far outshines the 2015.

2016 Lynch-Bages, Pauillac
Review Date: 06-26-2017
Very dark in color with intense black currant fruit, this is a wonderful Lynch Bages that far surpasses the 2015. It shows lots of power while still showing a velvety texture and mouthwatering finish. Tannins are integrated, ripe and fresh. This is the wine for the cellar but should still show well early on.
Price: $169.99 Add To Cart
WE 96 - 98 JS 97 RP 97
VN 97 WS 97 DC 96
Limit of 12 per customer

2016 Lynch-Bages, Pauillac 6-pack in OWC
Review Date: 06-26-2017
Very dark in color with intense black currant fruit, this is a wonderful Lynch Bages that far surpasses the 2015. It shows lots of power while still showing a velvety texture and mouthwatering finish. Tannins are integrated, ripe and fresh. This is the wine for the cellar but should still show well early on.

2015 Domaine Jean-Michel Giboulot Savigny-lès-Beaune
Review Date: 06-07-2017
This is one of the darker, juicier Savigny Les Beaunes I have had the pleasure of tasting. Lots of black currants, plums and blueberry flavors with a hint of mocha fill the mouth and linger on the finish. Quite delicious!
Price: $29.99 Add To Cart

2013 Araujo "Eisele Vineyard" Napa Valley Cabernet Sauvignon
Review Date: 02-23-2017
This wine is obviously still a baby and has a long life ahead of it. While still being powerful and dense, it shows amazing purity and freshness. Flavors of blackberries, black cherry and plums are mixed in with hints of cedar and spice. This is serious wine that I would keep in my cellar and start to enjoy in 10-15 years and should last for many more.

2015 Vieux Château Certan, Pomerol
Review Date: 05-04-2016
This one wowed us! Amazingly pure and elegant, with a velvety texture and seamless lush sweet core of fruit that goes on and on in the mouth; it is not a monster but the definition of elegance, balance and finesse -A blend of 80% Merlot, 19% Cabernet Franc and 1% Cabernet Sauvignon.

2015 Canon, St-Emilion
Review Date: 05-04-2016
72% Merlot and 28% Cabernet Franc, this wine is toasty upfront with lots of red currants and red cherry fruit, a seamless mid-palate and a long spicy finish. This wine has a lot of finesse and elegance. Great purity and precision!

2015 Rauzan-Ségla, Margaux
Review Date: 05-04-2016
Another winner from the Margaux appellation - The Rauzan-Segla is polished and concentrated with hints of cola, cassis and red cherries that linger on the finish. Lots of layers here – excellent focus and polish here!

2013 Lewis Cellars Napa Valley Cabernet Sauvignon
Review Date: 10-05-2015
Lewis sources their fruit from a variety of vineyards throughout the Napa Valley. This allows them to capture different elements of the valley and combine them into a single expression of Cabernet from Napa. This new release is brimming with black and blueberry fruit with hints of cedar, coffee and vanilla bean flavors. The tannins are firm but integrated. The 2013 is still quite young and will be a good candidate to put away in the cellar for 5-10 years.
Price: $269.99 Add To Cart
WS 95

2012 Araujo "Eisele Vineyard" Napa Valley Cabernet Sauvignon
Review Date: 09-15-2015
Glass Full image Glass Full image Glass Full image Glass Full image Glass Half image
Tasted in the Fall of 2014, this wine is in quite a different style then the 2011(which we tasted together). The 2012 is pure California Cabernet, with a big, rich and ripe fruit backbone that carries on through the finish. The wine is dense and the tannins are chewy. Lots of power, this wine will age for many years and should prove to be a classic!

2011 Joseph Phelps "Insignia" Napa Valley Bordeaux Blend
Review Date: 11-04-2014
In warm vintages such as 2007, I feel Insignia is too much for me. The cooler 2011 vintage really allows this wine to still have that typical Phelps fruit but with much more restraint and a bit more elegance and finesse. This is a solid effort for the vintage!

2010 Malescot-St-Exupéry, Margaux
Review Date: 12-12-2013
Another seamless wine that shows lush black cherries, mocha and spice. The wine is velvety on the mid-palate with silky tannins.

2009 Ducru-Beaucaillou, St-Julien
Review Date: 02-11-2013
Super-long, with great depth, a plush middle and a ripe, spicy finish. The tannins were fine and well-integrated.

2010 Haut-Brion, Pessac-Léognan
Review Date: 05-16-2011
Big and powerful, a masculine wine with lots of stuffing and tannin. Very focused.