Staff Favorites - Trey Beffa

Trey Beffa

Reviews

Page: 1 2 next
2016 Lucky Rock Wine Co. "County Cuvee" Pinot Noir
Review Date: 10-17-2018
Good quality Pinot Noir used to be impossible to find for under $15. This goes back to the Sideways days. Then all the vineyard owners began to rip out Merlot and plant Pinot Noir. Now days we can be selective with our value pinot noir picks and wait for a wine like this to come along. The Lucky Rock is fruit driven wine that shows a lovely vibrancy, great pedigree and a long lingering finish. This is great wine to have around the house for solid drinking red that is sure to please.
Price: $14.99 Add To Cart

2015 Black Slate "Porrera" Priorat
Review Date: 10-17-2018
Talk about bang for your buck! The Black Slate offers tremendous value for its $16 price point. There is quite a lot to like with this wine - Loaded with ripe cassis and blackberry fruit, hints of spicy cola, mocha and a rich mouthwatering texture that lingers on to the finish. Great BBQ pick!
Price: $15.99 Add To Cart
JD 93 RP 91

2014 d'Arenberg "The Dead Arm" Shiraz McLaren Vale South Australia
Review Date: 10-17-2018
It has been awhile since I tasted a bottle of Shiraz. The “Dead Arm” was structured much like a Cabernet and did not remind me of the many Shiraz wines I tasted 15 years ago. This wine has quite a bit of grip. It is a sturdy and firm wine that is packed with a core of blackberry fruit, anise, mocha and earth. It should be a wine to drink with a good beef dish and develop well in a cellar over the next 10 years!

2013 Conn Creek "Anthology" Napa Valley Cabernet Sauvignon
Review Date: 10-17-2018
Our crack team of buyers was able to secure a great price on the last of the 2013 vintage! The Anthology is Conn Creek’s flagship Bordeaux style blend. Normally nearly double the price, this wine is a value for under $30 Napa Valley Cabernet. Not overdone or overripe, the 2013 vintage shows a solid backbone, firm tannins and deep core of fruit. Hints of cedar, tobacco leaf and spices round out the edges. This wine can be enjoyed now with some air but also should improve in a cellar over the next 10 years.
Price: $29.99 Add To Cart
RP 90

2015 Wind Gap Sonoma Coast Pinot Noir
Review Date: 10-17-2018
Wind Gap wines have always impressed me. The pricing however has always been right on the border-line of just being a tad too expensive. Not anymore. At our current price point this is a steal! This is the wine to have a case of around the house over the holidays when you are bombarded with friends and family who maybe enjoy wine just a bit too much. This wine is very ripe and loaded with fruit yet shows plenty of freshness and lively acidity to hold it through to the finish. This is a definite crowd pleaser at a wallet pleasing price!
Price: Hidden View Price
VN 93

2014 Ramey "Platt Vineyard" Sonoma Coast Chardonnay
Review Date: 10-10-2018
I was pleasantly surprised, if not shocked with the vibrancy and freshness of this 2014 Chardonnay! After tasting I learned that the Platt Vineyard is the coolest vineyard site that Ramey sources fruit from. The wine shows a laser-like focus, bright green apple hints, minerals and wet stone. Blind this would be tough to pick out as a California Chardonnay. I would drink this wine all day long!
Price: Hidden View Price
RP 95 WE 93

2016 Belle Glos "Dairyman" Russian River Valley Pinot Noir
Review Date: 08-01-2018
If you have tried a Belle Glos wine in the past you know what to expect! A fruity and very fleshy, rich Pinot Noir that coats the mouth with hints of vanilla bean, coffee and jammy fruit flavors. It is a smooth and decadent Pinot Noir that can be opened and enjoyed. Very tasty stuff!
Price: $49.99 Add To Cart

Wine Club

$34.99

2013 Chateau Ste. Michelle "Cold Creek Vineyard" Columbia Valley Cabernet Sauvignon
Review Date: 08-01-2018
Glass Full image Glass Full image Glass Full image Glass Full image Glass Empty image
The term "Classic Napa Cab" refers to wines like Dunn Howell Mountain, Mayacamas Vineyards and even Groth Cabernet. If the term “Classic Washington Cab” existed then I would put the Chateau Ste. Michelle "Cold Creek Vineyard" Cabernet in that group. We tasted the 2013 the other day and it was a reminder that while in general Washington wines can be quite rich and somewhat toasty, the Cold Creek shows wonderful precision and complexity. Planted in 1972, these vines are really producing some excellent fruit that is creating one of the best cabernet values around!

2016 Kalinda Bourgogne Blanc
Review Date: 07-11-2018
Jacques Bavard has always made one of my favorite Bourgogne Blanc's. When we visited him last March, we were super excited to learn that there was the possibility of doing our private Kalinda Label with him. This is a typical example of the wonderful 2016 vintage in the region. It shows terrific freshness, bright acidity and finesse, whiles still having a fair amount of richness and body. Just in time, this is perfect to pair with lighter dishes or just enjoy as a summertime sipper!
Price: $19.99 Add To Cart

2015 Mount Veeder Winery Napa Valley Cabernet Sauvignon
Review Date: 03-21-2018
At elevations of 1,000 to 1,600 feet, the mesoclimate up on Mount Veeder is completely different than the valley floor. You can definitely taste this in the wine. 2015 was a warm year with tons of fruit, so this wine can be enjoyed now if you are looking for something to pair with your grilled meat dishes. This is a dense, full and sturdy Cabernet that should hold up well in a cellar as well.

2013 Silverado "Estate" Napa Valley Cabernet Sauvignon
Review Date: 01-24-2018
The 2013’s sure do impress! One of the later releases, the Silverado Estate Cabernet, is a great example of a California Cabernet that is not overdone. The fruit is full and ripe but is balanced with the rest of the wine. This is a big, sturdy Cab that shows lots of complexity but still manages to show some finesse. This should please most if not all California Cab drinkers.
Price: $39.95 Add To Cart
JS 93 W&S 93

2014 Louis M. Martini Napa Valley Cabernet Sauvignon
Review Date: 12-08-2017
I have always enjoyed the Louis Martini Sonoma Cabernet. Year after year it is possibly be the best value in California Cabernet. The step up in price for the Napa is about double but the quality is way more than that. This is a seriously delicious, rich, dense yet supple Cabernet that surprises the palate with a fleshy, toasty mouthfeel and long, lingering finish. I find the tannins silky and ripe, even with this vintage. I would have no problem enjoying this bottle now with a bit of air.

2014 Taken Napa Valley Bordeaux Blend
Review Date: 09-27-2017
Lots of wine for the money here- The Taken is a fairly sturdy, muscular wine that is almost reminiscent of a Bordeaux red from a riper vintage. Tannins are present but are ripe and integrated; hints of oak and lots of black cherry and mocha flavors round out this winner!
Price: $24.99 Add To Cart
JS 93

2014 Seghesio "Cortina" Dry Creek Valley Zinfandel
Review Date: 08-23-2017
The base for this wine comes from a Dry Creek Valley vineyard planted in 1972. Since this was a year before I was born, I think even by French standards this is considered “old vines.” Deliciously fresh and juicy, the Cortina Zinfandel glides across the palate with grace and ease. There is a wonderfully purity to the fruit in this wine. It is not heavy or overbearing but still a ripe, full-bodied wine. Alcohol is under 15%.
Price: $34.99 Add To Cart
WS 94 RP 90

2016 Léoville-Barton, St-Julien
Review Date: 07-19-2017
The 2016 Leoville Barton shows dark concentrated fruits, minerals, cedar, allspice and a firm structure. This is a sturdy wine with lots of power. A good cellar candidate!

2016 Siran, Margaux
Review Date: 06-27-2017
A real winner from the 2016 vintage for the money! This wine shows a wonderful silky texture with an exotic sweet core of red and black currant fruit that lingers on the finish. A sleeper!

2016 Siran, Margaux 12-pack in OWC
Review Date: 06-27-2017
A real winner from the 2016 vintage for the money! This wine shows a wonderful silky texture with an exotic sweet core of red and black currant fruit that lingers on the finish. A sleeper!

2016 d'Armailhac, Pauillac
Review Date: 06-27-2017
I heard good things about this wine from our group that tasted in March. Generally I try to block out these comments but I feel they are well deserved with this wine. The 2016 D’Armaillac shows lots of spicy fruit with hints of cola, black cherry and blackberries. This is a sexy wine that should be a great pick to enjoy early and even upon release.

2016 Phélan-Ségur, St-Estèphe 12-pack in OWC
Review Date: 06-27-2017
An excellent Phelan Segur that is packed with deep concentrated dark fruits, hints of graphite, minerals and spice. Fresh and ripe tannins, this wine is an excellent mid-term cellar pick!

2016 Phélan-Ségur, St-Estèphe
Review Date: 06-27-2017
An excellent Phelan Segur that is packed with deep concentrated dark fruits, hints of graphite, minerals and spice. Fresh and ripe tannins, this wine is an excellent mid-term cellar pick!

2016 Pichon-Lalande, Pauillac
Review Date: 06-26-2017
The 2016 shows classic Pichon Lalande aromas of earth, spice and clove. Upfront the wine is velvety, round and juicy. Elegance abounds in the mid-palate and the finish shows wonderful lift and verve. This is another example of a 2016 that far outshines 2015.

2016 Lynch-Bages, Pauillac
Review Date: 06-26-2017
Very dark in color with intense black currant fruit, this is a wonderful Lynch Bages that far surpasses the 2015. It shows lots of power while still showing a velvety texture and mouthwatering finish. Tannins are integrated, ripe and fresh. This is the wine for the cellar but should still show well early on.

2015 Domaine Jean-Michel Giboulot Savigny-lès-Beaune
Review Date: 06-07-2017
This is one of the darker, juicier Savigny Les Beaunes I have had the pleasure of tasting. Lots of black currants, plums and blueberry flavors with a hint of mocha fill the mouth and linger on the finish. Quite delicious!
Price: $29.99 Add To Cart

2015 Les Frères Perroud "Amethyste" Brouilly
Review Date: 04-05-2017
The quality of 2015 Beaujolais is really something special. These are wines that we all should be buying and not only drinking but cellaring as well. The Amethyste is a dark and broad wine that has a bit more structure and depth than the Vieilles Vignes. This is the perfect Beaujolais to put a case in your cellar and enjoy over the next 5 years.
Price: $17.99 Add To Cart
WE 91 VN 90

2015 La Mission Haut-Brion Rouge, Pessac-Léognan
Review Date: 06-16-2016
Densely concentrated fruit with hints of graphite, minerals and spice, the 2015 La Mission is very rich and sweet in the mouth yet still shows amazing freshness and purity. Could be a pick for wine of the vintage!

2015 Lynch-Bages, Pauillac
Review Date: 06-08-2016
Love this nose! Hints of cedar, spice, black cherry and licorice, this wine is polished and pure. The mid-palate fruit is round and full with a long spicy finish. This should be an excellent wine for the cellar but will be quite approachable upon release.

2015 Malartic-Lagravière, Pessac-Léognan
Review Date: 06-03-2016
Loaded with tons of red fruits and a velvety texture, the 2015 Malartic is a big time winner in my book! There are hints of minerals, chocolate and spice, the wine is full and rich in the mouth, with a super long fresh finish. Tannins are ripe and integrated.

2015 Figeac, St-Émilion
Review Date: 05-30-2016
Always made in a “classic” style, the Figeac 2015 shows lots of bright high toned fruits, a focused and lean mouth feel with lots of spicy edges and hints of tobacco and sweet herbs. I would think this wine comes together nicely with some more barrel age. Should prove to be a excellent if not great Figeac!

2015 Vieux Château Certan, Pomerol
Review Date: 05-04-2016
This one wowed us! Amazingly pure and elegant, with a velvety texture and seamless lush sweet core of fruit that goes on and on in the mouth; it is not a monster but the definition of elegance, balance and finesse -A blend of 80% Merlot, 19% Cabernet Franc and 1% Cabernet Sauvignon.

2015 Ducru-Beaucaillou, St-Julien
Review Date: 05-04-2016
This was a candidate for wine of the vintage from most of our group. It is quite open in the nose for Ducru with layers of sweet fruit, mocha, graphite and minerals in the mouth. There are firm but ripe tannins. The wine is very balanced and long on the finish. It is dense and powerful but deceptively supple and fleshy. I must buy this wine for my cellar!

2015 Petit-Village, Pomerol
Review Date: 05-04-2016
Aromatic nose, round and lush fruit, juicy texture with hints of mocha and black cherries; Easy to taste- soft and fleshy! This was one of the first wines we tasted on our first full day so I was a bit unsure of my notes. Luckily we tasted it several more times and I enjoyed it every time. A winner in 2015!

2015 Pape Clément, Pessac-Léognan
Review Date: 05-04-2016
A blend of 56% Cabernet Sauvignon, 40% Merlot and 4% Cabernet Franc, this is a seriously good wine. Dark chewy fruit, intensely concentrated, hints of black cherry and smoke but not overdone, spicy, ripe and fleshy in the mid-palate; the finish is long and fresh. Definite buy!

2015 Domaine de Chevalier Rouge, Pessac-Léognan
Review Date: 05-04-2016
Very fresh and ripe nose, velvety, sweet fruit, hints of red licorice, elegant with a long, spicy finish. Complex and very fine, fresh; should drink well upon release

2015 Smith-Haut-Lafitte, Pessac-Léognan
Review Date: 05-04-2016
The all black label for the 2015 will represent the 25th year anniversary of the Cathiard’s buying the property. The 2015 is dark, black in color with a rich, nearly exotic fruit profile, hints of graphite, cassis, chocolate and Asian spice. The tannins are fleshy and juicy; this is a delicious wine!

2015 Haut-Bailly, Pessac-Léognan
Review Date: 05-04-2016
Another one of the top wines from the vintage, this is an elegant, sweet and fleshy Haut Bailly. It is loaded with a wonderful core of red fruits which is complemented with hints of minerals, cedar and graphite. It is well structure and balanced and should be a good candidate for cellaring.

2015 Malescot-St-Exupéry, Margaux
Review Date: 05-04-2016
One of my possible candidates for wine of the vintage! Very dark color, lovely spicy nose, hints of bittersweet chocolate, polished juicy texture with a hint of mint and savory herbs. Tannins are ripe and integrated. Very fresh and balanced with a long lingering finish- a wine to buy for the cellar!

2015 Brane-Cantenac, Margaux
Review Date: 05-04-2016
Hints of coffee, spice and red currant fruit is followed by a rich, fleshy texture and velvety finish. This wine is juicy and spicy. Usually not one of my favorites out of barrel this is another winner from Margaux!

2015 Rauzan-Ségla, Margaux
Review Date: 05-04-2016
Another winner from the Margaux appellation - The Rauzan-Segla is polished and concentrated with hints of cola, cassis and red cherries that linger on the finish. Lots of layers here – excellent focus and polish here!

2015 Giscours, Margaux
Review Date: 05-04-2016
Dark and aromatic, this rich and fleshy wine shows tons of chocolate, black cherry and mocha flavors. Tannins are integrated and firm yet ripe. This is a sleeper from the vintage and one of the best Giscours I can remember tasting out of barrel!

2015 Alter Ego de Palmer, Margaux (1.5L)
Review Date: 05-04-2016
As we heard from many properties in the Medoc “this is not a second wine” but another expression of the vineyards. Either way the Alter Ego is fabulous in 2015. The color is dark and inky, with black cherry, cassis and chocolate flavors that are intertwined within the lovely velvety texture of this wine. This wine is nearly exotic but still shows a wonderful freshness and finesse.

2015 Léoville-Poyferré, St-Julien
Review Date: 05-04-2016
Dark inky color, quite extracted and rich with layers of fruit that coat the mouth; Tannins are firm but ripe. Solid wine

2015 Lalande-Borie, St-Julien
Review Date: 05-04-2016
Another sleeper from the Bruno Borie, the Lalande-Borie is velvety, supple and lush with a round, silky mouth-feel and lingering spicy finish. This is going to drink great upon release!

2015 Grand-Puy-Lacoste, Pauillac
Review Date: 05-04-2016
Aromatic and toasty in the nose, lots of ripe fruit, velvety middle, nice balance and length. Usually a bit tough for my taste but this wine is delicious and well made. Excellent effort in 2015!

2015 Doisy-Daëne, Sauternes
Review Date: 05-04-2016
Bright and fresh with hints of lemon and orange, the Doisy Daene is clean and elegant in the mouth. It is high toned and lively on the finish. Great acidity!

2015 Pibran, Pauillac
Review Date: 05-04-2016
Toasty and ripe in the nose, the Pibran shows dark extracted fruits, hints of mocha and spice that lingers on the finish. Good Value!
Top Value!

2015 La Tour Carnet, Haut-Médoc
Review Date: 05-04-2016
Always in a flashy “new wave” style this wine shows quite a bit of oak and vanilla bean in the nose, with plenty of sweet red fruits that linger on to the finish. Quite a bit of richness and power for the price – should be a good value!
Top Value!

2015 Cantemerle, Haut-Médoc
Review Date: 05-04-2016
I tasted this wine on 3 separate occasions during our week in Bordeaux and loved it every time. Aromatic and wonderfully fresh, crisp fruit that is nearly silky in the mouth; Tannins are ripe and sweet with a long lingering finish. This is a wine to buy for sure!
Top Value!

2015 Labégorce, Margaux
Review Date: 04-28-2016
2015 Labegorce, Margaux – Toasty ripe aromas are followed by a sweet and juicy mouthful of fruit. The middle fruit lingers on through to the finish. There is some structure and a fair amount of tannin but the wine is balanced and still fruit driven. Should be a nice pick for mid-term cellaring!

2014 Jean-Paul & Benoit Droin Chablis
Review Date: 01-23-2016
Tightly wound, with tons wet stone fruit and lemon, this wine is an absolute stunner and a great buy when it comes to A.O.C. Chablis. Still quite young, let this wine air out a bit before you drink it to allow its texture and flavors to truly shine! Seriously good!

2013 Challen "Scarlett" Santa Maria Valley Pinot Noir
Review Date: 09-18-2015
Glass Full image Glass Full image Glass Full image Glass Full image Glass Empty image
Lately I have been super impressed with the wines from the Santa Maria appellation! The 2013 Challen “Scarlett” Santa Maria Pinot Noir is a great example of a Pinot at a reasonably price point from this appellation. It is a wonderfully fleshy, fruit-forward wine that still shows balance and elegance. Strawberry jam, red currants, cloves and hints of sweet tea are followed by a soft, silky finish. Very tasty!
Price: Hidden View Price

Page: 1 2 next