Best Sellers New Arrivals Local Events Locations Gift Cards My Account Advanced Search

Reviewers


K&L Email Alerts

Sign up to receive custom alerts, new arrivals and the latest happenings from K&L Wines

Staff Favorites - Kyle Kurani

Kyle Kurani

Reviews

Four Pillars Navy Strength Gin 750ml
Review Date: 06-10-2016
I love when a navy strength gin is elegant and beautiful despite its high proof. The Four Pillars Gin is at the same time powerful and graceful, bursting with lime zest and exotic spices, the main flavors shine through beautifully. They are supported by hints of anise and coriander, and delivered with a supply textured and warm mouthfeel that comes from the higher proof. Incredibly well balanced, and supremely delicious!
Price: $44.99 Add To Cart

Four Pillars Rare Dry Gin (750ml)
Review Date: 06-10-2016
Gin of the year. It's only June, and I feel very safe saying that because this is the best gin I have tried since Monkey 47 hit American shores. Incredible flavor profile, ultimate mouth feel, put it on the short lists of gins that will always be on my home bar. The palate and nose are just chock-full of floral and spice notes, fresh nutmeg, anise, violets, with the power of juniper held in the perfect balance.
Price: $34.99 Add To Cart
WE 92

Launois "Cuvée Reserve" Brut Blanc de Blancs Champagne
Review Date: 05-17-2016
Simply put, Grand Cru Chardonnay for this price is ridiculous. Coming from some of the highest quality vineyards in all of Champagne, there is so much wine in this bottle. Fresh green apple and tangerine peel great you on the nose, followed by a crisp and refreshing palate. Fine bubbles deliver a vibrant mouth feel, more Granny Smith, a hint of hazel nut. Hard to get better for Blanc De Blancs lovers!
Price: $34.99 Add To Cart

Launois "Veuve Clemence" Brut Blanc de Blancs Champagne
Review Date: 05-17-2016
The Veuve Clemence is the older, richer brother to the Cuvee Reserve from Launois. With four years on the lees, it is my go to bottle when in the mood for a fuller bodied Champagne. Full of toasty brioche and biscuit dough right out of the glass, hinting at the opulent nature to come. On the palate it evolves into a supple and appealing wine, chalk full of Grand Cru Chardonnay minerality and stone fruit.
Price: $44.99 Add To Cart

2008 Veuve Clicquot Brut Rosé Champagne
Review Date: 05-16-2016
I was blown away by the 2008 Rose, it is one of the best vintage bottling I have ever had form Veuve Clicquot, period. They did an amazing job of capturing this amazing vintage, the wine is densely textured and full of red fruit and richness, but also shows a fine vein of mineral and finesse. Up front there are notes of strawberries and cream, raspberry sorbet and fresh baked biscuits, Rose in full bloom. From there, the wine moves into layers of candied rose petals, and fresh picked cherries. The length and persistence of the wine is amazing. Really well done.

2008 Veuve Clicquot "Gold Label Reserve" Brut Champagne
Review Date: 05-16-2016
I couldn’t be more excited about the 2008 vintage in Champagne, especially when Dominique Demarville, the Chef du Cave at Veuve Clicquot agrees with me! The vintage offers the perfect balance of ripeness and acidity, and is no more evident than in the newest Gold Label offerings. This bottle is full of pie crust and golden pears, hits of clotted cream add a luxurious texture. The mouth feel is soft and warmly textured, but what sets it above any other vintage bottling is the vibrant acidity that lifts the entire wine from stem to stern. Vibrancy and richness in tandem make this wine eminently enjoyable now, but it will also be one of the longest lived bottles of Gold Label in a long time.

2007 Marqués de Murrieta "Castillo Ygay" Gran Reserva Especial Rioja
Review Date: 02-24-2016
Such beautifully composed wine, every facet fits perfectly in place to create a beautiful wine. Up front notes of cassis and wild cherry, coupled with damp earth and a kiss of oak richness. Giving way to a palate that strikes in impeccable balance between fruit and structure. A Supple but firm tannic structure gives the perfect frame work for fruit that is weighty without being sappy. The wood is seamlessly integrated into the wine, practically effortless. For those of you who are familiar with our direct imports, this wine fits right between the more rustic Lesmos and the more modern Merino wines.

Ruinart Brut Rosé Champagne (ships as 1.5L due to shape of bottle)
Review Date: 02-18-2016
This bottle takes a walk on the richer side of Rose. Dense and decadent, a core of Bing Cherry, cassis and blood orange, Rose to the fullest. The 18% of Pinot added as red wine adds a firm spine that runs from tip to tail, frambois and baking spice lend a dark richness. Texturally incredibly please, supple and weighty with a finish that end with a hint of baking spice.

Ruinart Brut Blanc de Blancs Champagne (Ships as a 1.5L Due to Bottle Size/Shape)
Review Date: 02-18-2016
Broad and decadent the Blanc des Blancs from Ruinart is chock full of summer ripe peaches and poached pears. Floral and opulent nose, white flowers and gala apple float out of the glass. Continuing with gingersnaps and Crème brûlée, on the palate that is weighty and lush. This wine finishes with a vein of chalk and honey crisp apple to complete the picture on a lovely bottle of bubbles.

Cut Spike Nebraska Single Malt Whiskey (750ml)
Review Date: 07-15-2015
With this being only their third release, the anticipation of what is in the bottle was very high: a chance to try and flesh out exactly what is the house style that the good distillers at Cut Spike bring to the table. This bottling does a great job of solidifying them in my mind as one of the highest quality single malt producers in the States. This whisky is incredibly vibrant and fresh without tasting young or harsh. The nose is lifted with bright notes of candied ginger and Douglas fir, a sense of promised vanilla sweetness wafts in at the end. In the mouth there is sweetness, orange marmalade, a hint of clove for spice, and then the same vanilla cream from last batch that really adds roundness to the palate.
Price: $49.99 Add To Cart

Baron-Fuenté "Esprit" Brut Champagne
Review Date: 07-15-2015
For those Champagne fans who are forever chasing the toasty rich style of Champagne, but lamenting the prices that those styles command, this wine is for you. The Esprit from Baron Fuente spends a very impressive 8 years on the lees, developing all of the brioche-y goodness you can ask for, for a ridiculously inexpensive price tag. Toasty with sourdough toast and almond right out of the glass, the palate evolves into baked phyllo and toasted walnuts. Long and full at the back, with Almond Roca and a freshness of white peppermint that lifts the finish just perfectly.
Price: $34.99 Add To Cart
WS 92 WE 91

Michel Arnould Verzenay Brut Rosé Champagne
Review Date: 07-15-2015
An amazing expression of what high quality Pinot Noir from Champagne can accomplish. This rosé delivers a wine with power and finesse, full rich red fruit and bright fresh acidity. Upfront the nose is full of strawberries in fresh cream, leading into a savory cassis character. Broad and weighty on the palate, hard candy and blackberry abound. Cleaned up around the edges with precise acidity that lifts the wine and makes it one of the most well-rounded rosés we carry.
Price: $34.99 Add To Cart

Baron-Fuenté "Grande Réserve" Brut Champagne
Review Date: 07-10-2015
This bottle of Champagne does so many things for me. It offers the ability to use Champagne in many more settings--from parties to toasts--and it brings quality bubbles into the budget of many more customers. At $23 dollars a bottle, there is so much in this bottle. fresh and vibrant citrus notes, hints of navel orange and white peach greet you, with a light and effortless bead. It finishes with a touch of bread dough and Gala apple, rounding out the palate and leaving you wanting just one more glass. In the end this offers us the chance to drink Real Champagne at a price that so many more people can afford--including us here at the K&L!
Price: $24.99 Add To Cart
W&S 92 JG 90

Alipus San Luis Del Rio Mezcal (750ml)
Review Date: 06-09-2015
This is the most fruit driven and round of the bunch. Big and rich, dark fruited with black cherry and an almost voluptuous mouth feel. The spirit is super weighty and oily, with just a kiss of funk in the back ground. Such a departure from the others which are much spicier, fruity and delicious.
Price: $39.99 Add To Cart

Alipús San Andres Mezcal (750ml)
Review Date: 06-09-2015
A vibrant and spicy spirit that leaps out of the glass. Full of wood notes and baking spices, cedar and cloves on the first nosing. On the palate it is even richer, almost mahogany and dark rich cinnamon, some cardamom lingering in the back.
Price: $39.99 Add To Cart

Alipus San Juan Del Rio Mezcal (750ml)
Review Date: 06-09-2015
The most elegant and delicate of the line up. Super pretty, full of lifted floral notes, and just a kiss of sweetness. Very lacy on the palate, minty notes, very soft notes of smoke that don't stand out, but are perfectly integrated into the spirit as a whole. Aromatic and graceful.
Price: $39.99 Add To Cart

Alipus Santa Ana Del Rio Mezcal (750ml)
Review Date: 06-09-2015
Big and brooding in comparison to the others, a more full bodied style. Intensely savory, oily and a bit of earth. What struck me was the dry and almost woody finish. if this were a wine it would be described as having a big tannic structure, super interesting to taste something this bold.
Price: $39.99 Add To Cart

Pierre Paillard "Les Parcelles" Grand Cru Extra Brut Bouzy Champagne
Review Date: 05-31-2015
For Champagne loves who crave purity and true expression of the land, Pierre Paillard delivers some of the purest and cleanest bubbles that we carry. All from the Grand Cru of Bouzy, the sun warmed and ripened fruit sings out of the glass. Full of orchard and stone fruit bustring from the glass, summer peaches, golden apples, however these notes are balanced perfectly by a saline minerality that lends a light airiness to the wine. With a low dosage of 7 g/l the wine is dry and precise on the finish, with a lasting mineral note that leaves your mouth watering.

Westland Sherry Wood American Single Malt Whiskey (750ml)
Review Date: 04-01-2015
One of the best American Single Malts I have tasted, period. Westland is doing everything properly, no corners cut, the proper still, and high quality wood, each of these factors going in to creating a whisky that is every bit as good as its Scottish counterparts. Full of sherry richness, dates, sweet roasted pecans, and lush mahogany notes, like a fine library. The quality of the sherry really jumped out of the glass--I find that smaller producers often have overall a much better quality of wood due to the fact they are not buying lots of hundreds of barrels, so the essence of sherry barrels are more purely expressed. For Mac 12 fans, this is an exciting local alternative that really offers a ton of quality.
Price: $69.99 Add To Cart
WE 95

Santa Teresa 1796 Ron Antiguo de Solera Rum Venezuela (750ml)
Review Date: 03-24-2015
A demandingly decadent Rum, full of dark hued flavors of maple and brown sugar. The Santa Teresa is a wonderfully balanced rum with years of solera aging to create a spirit that is past the complexity of a single age statement. A nose of maple cake and burnt sugar. Vanilla cream runs throughout adding a beautifully sweet crescendo to a long and lush finish.
Price: $39.99 Add To Cart
WE 94

Laurent-Perrier "Cuvée Rosé" Brut Rosé Champagne
Review Date: 03-18-2015
Intriguing rose that begins in an understated elegant way, and builds towards a fuller finish showing off its’ Grand Cru providence. The nose is hauntingly seductive, crushed red fruit, a mineral vein, and the faintest scent of rose petal all intermingled in harmony. The palate is defined by a textural grip that adds weight and importance, but the lifted flavors of wild strawberry and cream, with hits of cherry tart keep the wine extremely elegant and pretty. The finish picks up speed with reinforced dark cherry and minerality that wraps the wine up beautifully.

Ariston Aspasie "Cepages d'Antan" Brut Champagne
Review Date: 03-10-2015
History in a bottle. I have never had a Champagne made with these grapes, it is truly a walk back in time, and a delicious one at that. I try to find every occasion possible to open this bottle. When the cork is popped this bottle of bubbles is tightly wound, full of chalk and notes of stone and orchard fruit. As is warms up and breaths, the Pinot Blanc starts to shine through, ripe orchard fruits lend weight and depth. A beautiful, almost waxy mouth feel, is balance by an almost saline line of pure minerality running from start to finish. Completely unique, and absolutely stunning.
Price: $99.00 Add To Cart

Ariston Aspasie Brut Rosé Champagne
Review Date: 03-05-2015
There is not another bottle of pink Champagne that offers this value in the store, end of story. This perfectly crafted bottle of bubbles is sensational wine, and at a price that I can afford to drink more than just on special occasions. A pretty coral pink greets you in the glass, alongside a nose of vibrant cherry, sweetened dried cranberry, and anise spice. Elegant red fruits burst on the scene out of the glass, kissing your palate with lifted notes of rose petal and wild cherry. So good!
Price: $34.99 Add To Cart

Ariston Aspasie Blanc de Blancs Brut Champagne
Review Date: 03-04-2015
The Aspasie Blanc de Blancs is a bottle I reach for time and time again. Perfect for almost any occasion that I can think of, from parties to picnics there is something here for everyone. From the immediate aesthetics of the clear glass holding in the beautiful straw gold elixir, to the beautiful breadth and depth that comes from single vineyard Chardonnay. Sun ripe stone fruits greet you, followed by lemon curd and a hit of toasty baguette. The textures is opulent, a kiss of minerality, and a long beautiful finish.
Price: $34.99 Add To Cart

Alexandre Le Brun "Tradition" Brut Champagne
Review Date: 03-04-2015
Alex Le Brun is one of our newest and most exciting producers we are lucky enough to import here at K&L. Getting to know the style of a new producer means some painstaking, grueling work, having to taste Champagne is pretty tough after all. It was a joy to discover his wines, made in a style that is serious, but not fussy, and absolutely delicious. The Tradition is a joy, toasty on the nose, baked core fruit, with intriguing spice. Bubbly and fresh on the palate with a pleasantly round mouth feel and texture, ending up lengthy and clean.
Price: $34.99 Add To Cart

Franck Bonville "Belles Voyes" Brut Blanc de Blancs Champagne
Review Date: 02-19-2015
The Belles Voyes is tied for my absolute favorite Champagne that we import. Without question this bottle is one of the classiest, most complex, and simply amazing wines we carry. Coming from a single vineyard planted in the 1920’s and 30’s the old vine soul of this wine comes through, expressing a deep mineral core that runs from start to long lingering finish. This is one of my favorite bottles to bring to restaurants to enjoy with their tasting menus tasting menus because of the beautiful evolution it goes through from the first glass to the last. It starts being a beautifully focused and crisp Blanc de Blanc, pear and apples, fresh vibrant citrus notes, perfect for the first few lighter dishes. As the wine warms up and gets air it puts on weight, starting to show the character from barrel fermentation. Golden apricots, pastry dough, baked apples and spice lend a richness and greater texture to the wine, matching perfectly with the progression of dishes. Weather out at a fancy dinner, or just wanting to enjoy some truly amazing Champagne, this is the perfect bottle.
Price: $69.99 Add To Cart
WS 91 WE 90

Franck Bonville "Prestige" Brut Blanc de Blancs Champagne
Review Date: 02-19-2015
When I am feeling like a fancy bottle of Champagne, this is what I reach for. The Prestige lives fully up to the name, rich and opulent, completely gorgeous. A sultry nose of toasted hazelnut and brioche waft up from the nose, followed by a palate filled with richness. Macaroon, butter-cream frosting, layers of baked goods, and a brilliant acidity flesh out a great bottle.
Price: $44.99 Add To Cart
WS 92

Franck Bonville Grand Cru Brut Blanc de Blancs Champagne
Review Date: 02-19-2015
Update 2014: The 2011 Vintage in Champagne was pretty terrible, turns out to be a blessing in disguise for one of my favorite bottles of Champagne in the store. Wanting to make sure he kept the quality up, Olivier Bonville declassified all of his high end and old vine vineyards into this little gem. The depth of fruit and minerality is what catches me off guard when I drink this wine, light and elegant, the chalk in the soils sing through the nose and offer a back bone that frames the entire wine. White flowers, golden apple, and a hint of spice cake. Vintage Champagne in disguise. 2011: The picture of elegance and class. Such pure and clean lines, a touch of citrus, a hit of minerality all delivered effortlessly on a find bead and sensuous mouth feel. One of my annual holliday favorites and sure to please any Champagne snob that might haunt your gatherings.
Price: $34.99 Add To Cart
WE 91 WS 90

Ariston Aspasie "Carte Blanche" Brut Champagne
Review Date: 02-19-2015
Update: This wine continues to amaze me year after year. Each time I open a bottle I marvel at the quality of the wine for the price tag. Re-reading my review from 2011, I have tasted hundreds of different bottles of Champagne, and this bottle of wine still makes me incredibly happy. With 6 years on the lees, the integration is wonderful, soft mouth feel, ripe orchard fruit, toasty at the back. Still good after all these years. Wonderfully balanced bubbles for a wonderfully balanced price tag. The Carte Blanche is my most often used excuse to open bubbles just for the sake of having a glass of Champagne, there are always a couple of bottles stashed away around my house. Powerfully elegant, with toasted nutty notes and a length on the finish that reasserts why I love this wine.
Price: $29.99 Add To Cart

Singani "63" Bolivian Muscat Brandy (750ml)
Review Date: 09-15-2014
Exactly what we love to drink. After a "serious day in the office" tasting as many as 40 different whiskies, the Singani is the type of spirit I want to come home to, delicious. Fresh, and lively, you get the essence of the Muscat grape, floral, with ripe peach and apricot, this is super clean and dangerously drinkable. So much to do with it: Pisco sour stand-in, add some tonic, or lemon soda with a twist; I would even venture to say it would be killer in a Mojito.
Price: $29.99 Add To Cart

Monkey 47 Schwarzwald Gin (375ml)
Review Date: 05-01-2014
This was the only bottle I brought back from our recent trip to Scotland. When you spend all day tastings as many as 60 Scotches, the idea of buying booze was pretty much the farthest thing from my mind...until I tried this gin. We were lucky enough to stumble into a very reputable bottle shop where the lovely lady was kind enough to let us try this. As soon as I did, I was hooked. This is by far the most complex and intriguing gin I have ever tasted. Layers of herbal notes that keep revealing themselves, juniper, bay leaf, and lemon zest, to name a few. It is so fresh and clean, not a rough edge to be found. I couldn’t believe that it was a gin I was drinking. If you are a fan of complex spirits, this is worth getting into a glass near you.
Price: $39.99 Add To Cart

2002 Piper-Heidsieck "Cuvée Rare" Brut Champagne
Review Date: 09-25-2013
A glamorous wine inside and out. Don’t let the fancy gold bottle fool you; this is some seriously great Champagne, rich and opulent, with drive and finesse. I have had this bottle three times over the past year and have been impressed on all occasions. Aromas a ripe peach and candied apricot greet you on the nose, the palate is full and yeasty, layers of brioche and hazelnut. For those of us who love the rich and decadent style of Champagne, this fits the bill perfectly. Suitable for any occasion that I can think of, a wonderful bottle.

Laurent-Perrier "Grand Siècle" Brut Champagne
Review Date: 09-17-2013
The Grand Siècle is a prestige bottling with the stuffing to back it up. I was well impressed with this bottle in our last tasting, it has all the complexity and richness that you would expect from the top bottling of a Champagne House. A true multi-vintage wine, this combines the strengths of three great vintages into a sum that is greater than the three parts. This wine is driven decadence, ripe off the tree peaches and cream envelope your palate at the first sip, followed by dense shortbread and white flowers. Layers or citrus and ginger follow, supported by a subtle nuttiness from the lengthy aging, this wine is complete, without a single edge to be found.

Nikka Coffey Still Japanese Grain Whisky (750ml)
Review Date: 09-11-2013
One of the most unique and exciting Whiskey's I have had this year! I always love off the beaten path Spirits that just wow you. This is the ultimate in soft, supple, and yummy unmalted grain Whiskey. Notes of caramel, candied nuts and sweet sweet grains all combine to make something that is absolutely delicious. The finish is velvety vanilla and hazel nut and lengthier than I would have expected. With the other expressions from Nikka being so highly allocated, jump on this while you can!
Price: $54.99 Add To Cart
WA 92 WE 90

Montechiara Prosecco
Review Date: 11-29-2012
Beautifully crisp and refreshing, this is the perfect wine for parties, cocktails and just plain enjoying a very affordable bottle of bubbles. The Montechiara Prosecco is full of pears and green apples, enough richness for weight, and the perfect balance of acidity for freshness. This is great for the price.
Price: $10.99 Add To Cart

Louis Roederer "Brut Premier" Champagne
Review Date: 11-07-2012
This is my favorite entry tier wine from a big house. The quality is a step above due to careful wine making and a touch of reserve wines in the blend to add depth and nuance to a very affordable bottle of bubbles. Taking a look at my notes going back three testing’s, the most consistent notes that came up again and again were delicate white flowers and spiced pears, these delicate flavors combine with good acidity and a finely textured mouth feel make for a bottle of wine that can be enjoyed by many.

Fleury Brut Rosé de Saignée Champagne
Review Date: 11-30-2011
Not just a pretty face, the Fleury Rose is the complete package. From one of my favorite producers in our DI portfolio, this Rose is stunningly good. Elegantly powerful, nuanced and pretty.
Price: $49.99 Add To Cart
WS 92 VN 90

Deligeroy "La Petite Marquise" Cremant de Loire Brut
Review Date: 10-31-2011
Beautifully elegent and refreshing, this bubbly brings a festive tone to any gathering without dragging a price tag along
Price: $12.99 Add To Cart

Fluteau "Cuvée Réservée" Brut Champagne
Review Date: 10-30-2011
The complexity and depth of this wine made a great impression on myself and my family the night we opened this. Lots of fruit from the Pinot, a touch of toast and spice from the extended lees time, this bottle of bubbly is intruiging and delicious.
Price: $29.99 Add To Cart

Deutz "Brut Classic" Champagne
Review Date: 10-30-2011
I recently tasted this at our Champagne event and was pleasantly suprised by the balance and concentration of this wine. A balanced blend with richness and stone fruit notes as well and a very full mouth feel.

Sorelle Bronca Prosecco di Valdobbiadene Extra Dry
Review Date: 09-29-2011
Perfectly crisp and refreshing,this Prosecco delivers a festive drink that is a certain people pleaser
Price: $19.99 Add To Cart
VN 90 W&S 90

San Venanzio Prosecco Valdobbiadene Superiore Brut
Review Date: 09-27-2011
Exactly what I look for in a Prosecco, crisp, refreshing and fruity without being sweet and cloying. Greg did a wonderful job finding this producer to bring in directly, stone and core fruits jump out of the glass, continuing on the palate with a lovely clean mouth feel. A bright lovely drink that is the perfect start of an evening.
Price: $13.99 Add To Cart
DC 91

Ariston Aspasie "Carte Blanche" Brut Champagne (375ml)
Review Date: 09-27-2011
Wonderfully balanced bubbles for a wonderfully balanced price tag. The Carte Blanche is my most often used excuse to open bubble just for the sake of having a glass of Champagne, there are always a couple of bottles stashed away around my house. Powerfully elegant, with toasted nutty notes and a length on the finish that reasserts why I love this wine.
Price: $14.99 Add To Cart

Antech Blanquette de Limoux Brut Nature
Review Date: 06-28-2011
The Antech is the kind of wine I love to drink during the Summer. Crisp, bright, core fruits, and bubbles! Life is too short to not make bubbly happen more often. Wonderfully refreshing by itself, and inexpensive enough for playing the part of bubbly in any cocktail.
Price: $12.99 Add To Cart

Deligeroy "La Petite Marquise" Crémant de Loire Brut Rosé
Review Date: 02-28-2011
Rose with dark fruit and a very fine bubble structure for less than 15 dollars if just fine in my book. A glass of this on a sunny day while on a deck with a view would make this wine sing.
Price: $12.99 Add To Cart

Tequila Fortaleza Reposado Tequila (750ml)
Review Date: 11-30-2010
With the tequila market being such a competitive place these days, it is rare that a Tequila can clearly put itself above the rest. The Fortaleza Reposado is a study in old world crafting traditions and the superior product that can come from them. This Tequila tastes like Tequila, spicy and rich with undertones of vanilla to round out the palate, the care that goes into every bottle really comes through. One of the best Tequila’s on our shelf.
Price: $54.99 Add To Cart