Local Delivery Available Curbside 11am-6pm Daily Stores Temporarily Closed

Staff Favorites - Kyle Kurani

Kyle Kurani

Reviews

Four Pillars Navy Strength Gin (750ml)
Review Date: 06-10-2016
I love when a navy strength gin is elegant and beautiful despite its high proof. The Four Pillars Gin is at the same time powerful and graceful, bursting with lime zest and exotic spices, the main flavors shine through beautifully. They are supported by hints of anise and coriander, and delivered with a supply textured and warm mouthfeel that comes from the higher proof. Incredibly well balanced, and supremely delicious!
Price: $44.99 Add To Cart

Four Pillars Rare Dry Gin (750ml)
Review Date: 06-10-2016
Gin of the year. It's only June, and I feel very safe saying that because this is the best gin I have tried since Monkey 47 hit American shores. Incredible flavor profile, ultimate mouth feel, put it on the short lists of gins that will always be on my home bar. The palate and nose are just chock-full of floral and spice notes, fresh nutmeg, anise, violets, with the power of juniper held in the perfect balance.
Price: $34.99 Add To Cart

Launois "Cuvée Réservée" Grand Cru Brut Blanc de Blancs Champagne
Review Date: 05-17-2016
Simply put, Grand Cru Chardonnay for this price is ridiculous. Coming from some of the highest quality vineyards in all of Champagne, there is so much wine in this bottle. Fresh green apple and tangerine peel great you on the nose, followed by a crisp and refreshing palate. Fine bubbles deliver a vibrant mouth feel, more Granny Smith, a hint of hazel nut. Hard to get better for Blanc De Blancs lovers!
Price: $34.99 Add To Cart

Ruinart Brut Rosé Champagne 750ml bottle (ships as a 1.5L due to shape of bottle)
Review Date: 02-18-2016
This bottle takes a walk on the richer side of Rose. Dense and decadent, a core of Bing Cherry, cassis and blood orange, Rose to the fullest. The 18% of Pinot added as red wine adds a firm spine that runs from tip to tail, frambois and baking spice lend a dark richness. Texturally incredibly please, supple and weighty with a finish that end with a hint of baking spice.
Price: $79.99 Add To Cart

Ruinart Blanc de Blancs Brut Champagne (ships as a 1.5L due to bottle size/shape)
Review Date: 02-18-2016
Broad and decadent the Blanc des Blancs from Ruinart is chock full of summer ripe peaches and poached pears. Floral and opulent nose, white flowers and gala apple float out of the glass. Continuing with gingersnaps and Crème brûlée, on the palate that is weighty and lush. This wine finishes with a vein of chalk and honey crisp apple to complete the picture on a lovely bottle of bubbles.

Cut Spike Nebraska Single Malt Whiskey (750ml)
Review Date: 07-15-2015
With this being only their third release, the anticipation of what is in the bottle was very high: a chance to try and flesh out exactly what is the house style that the good distillers at Cut Spike bring to the table. This bottling does a great job of solidifying them in my mind as one of the highest quality single malt producers in the States. This whisky is incredibly vibrant and fresh without tasting young or harsh. The nose is lifted with bright notes of candied ginger and Douglas fir, a sense of promised vanilla sweetness wafts in at the end. In the mouth there is sweetness, orange marmalade, a hint of clove for spice, and then the same vanilla cream from last batch that really adds roundness to the palate.
Price: $39.99 Add To Cart

Baron-Fuenté "Esprit" Brut Champagne
Review Date: 07-15-2015
For those Champagne fans who are forever chasing the toasty rich style of Champagne, but lamenting the prices that those styles command, this wine is for you. The Esprit from Baron Fuente spends a very impressive 8 years on the lees, developing all of the brioche-y goodness you can ask for, for a ridiculously inexpensive price tag. Toasty with sourdough toast and almond right out of the glass, the palate evolves into baked phyllo and toasted walnuts. Long and full at the back, with Almond Roca and a freshness of white peppermint that lifts the finish just perfectly.

Michel Arnould "Réserve" Grand Cru Brut Verzenay Champagne
Review Date: 07-15-2015
Full of vibrancy and richness playing off of each other in perfect harmony, the Michel Arnould Reserve is a stunning example of Grand Cru Champagne. Out of the gate with beautiful aromas of perfectly ripened melon, green apple and spice cake, the nose is effusive and rich. The palate plays fresh notes of watermelon and racy acidity against richer tones of hazelnut and bread dough. The marriage of the racy and rich are what really make this a very complete and extraordinarily pleasing bottle to drink. Powerful and elegant at the same time--that only can be achieved with the highest quality terroir available in the region.
Price: $34.99 Add To Cart

Baron-Fuenté "Grande Réserve" Brut Champagne
Review Date: 07-10-2015
This bottle of Champagne does so many things for me. It offers the ability to use Champagne in many more settings--from parties to toasts--and it brings quality bubbles into the budget of many more customers. At $23 dollars a bottle, there is so much in this bottle. fresh and vibrant citrus notes, hints of navel orange and white peach greet you, with a light and effortless bead. It finishes with a touch of bread dough and Gala apple, rounding out the palate and leaving you wanting just one more glass. In the end this offers us the chance to drink Real Champagne at a price that so many more people can afford--including us here at the K&L!

Alipus Santa Ana Del Rio Mezcal (750ml)
Review Date: 06-09-2015
Big and brooding in comparison to the others, a more full bodied style. Intensely savory, oily and a bit of earth. What struck me was the dry and almost woody finish. if this were a wine it would be described as having a big tannic structure, super interesting to taste something this bold.
Price: $39.99 Add To Cart

Pierre Paillard "Les Parcelles" Grand Cru Extra Brut Bouzy Champagne
Review Date: 05-31-2015
For Champagne loves who crave purity and true expression of the land, Pierre Paillard delivers some of the purest and cleanest bubbles that we carry. All from the Grand Cru of Bouzy, the sun warmed and ripened fruit sings out of the glass. Full of orchard and stone fruit bustring from the glass, summer peaches, golden apples, however these notes are balanced perfectly by a saline minerality that lends a light airiness to the wine. With a low dosage of 7 g/l the wine is dry and precise on the finish, with a lasting mineral note that leaves your mouth watering.

Glenfiddich "Signature" 12 Year Old Speyside Single Malt Scotch Whisky (750ml)
Review Date: 03-24-2015
A Classic Malt in every aspect of the term. Clean and bright, a touch of honeysuckle, a kiss of vanilla sweetness, this malt has a little bit of something for everyone. A soft entry gives an easy going feel, on the palate dried fruits, honey and heather give added complexity, the finish is composed and not harsh in any way. A staple.
Price: $32.99 Add To Cart
Limit of 12 per customer

Santa Teresa 1796 Ron Antiguo de Solera Rum Venezuela (750ml)
Review Date: 03-24-2015
A demandingly decadent Rum, full of dark hued flavors of maple and brown sugar. The Santa Teresa is a wonderfully balanced rum with years of solera aging to create a spirit that is past the complexity of a single age statement. A nose of maple cake and burnt sugar. Vanilla cream runs throughout adding a beautifully sweet crescendo to a long and lush finish.
Price: $39.99 Add To Cart

Laurent-Perrier "Cuvée Rosé" Brut Rosé Champagne
Review Date: 03-18-2015
Intriguing rose that begins in an understated elegant way, and builds towards a fuller finish showing off its’ Grand Cru providence. The nose is hauntingly seductive, crushed red fruit, a mineral vein, and the faintest scent of rose petal all intermingled in harmony. The palate is defined by a textural grip that adds weight and importance, but the lifted flavors of wild strawberry and cream, with hits of cherry tart keep the wine extremely elegant and pretty. The finish picks up speed with reinforced dark cherry and minerality that wraps the wine up beautifully.

Ariston Aspasie "Cépages d'Antan" Brut Champagne
Review Date: 03-10-2015
History in a bottle. I have never had a Champagne made with these grapes, it is truly a walk back in time, and a delicious one at that. I try to find every occasion possible to open this bottle. When the cork is popped this bottle of bubbles is tightly wound, full of chalk and notes of stone and orchard fruit. As is warms up and breaths, the Pinot Blanc starts to shine through, ripe orchard fruits lend weight and depth. A beautiful, almost waxy mouth feel, is balance by an almost saline line of pure minerality running from start to finish. Completely unique, and absolutely stunning.
Price: $99.00 Add To Cart

Ariston Aspasie Brut Rosé Champagne
Review Date: 03-05-2015
There is not another bottle of pink Champagne that offers this value in the store, end of story. This perfectly crafted bottle of bubbles is sensational wine, and at a price that I can afford to drink more than just on special occasions. A pretty coral pink greets you in the glass, alongside a nose of vibrant cherry, sweetened dried cranberry, and anise spice. Elegant red fruits burst on the scene out of the glass, kissing your palate with lifted notes of rose petal and wild cherry. So good!
Price: $34.99 Add To Cart

Ariston Aspasie Blanc de Blancs Brut Champagne
Review Date: 03-04-2015
The Aspasie Blanc de Blancs is a bottle I reach for time and time again. Perfect for almost any occasion that I can think of, from parties to picnics there is something here for everyone. From the immediate aesthetics of the clear glass holding in the beautiful straw gold elixir, to the beautiful breadth and depth that comes from single vineyard Chardonnay. Sun ripe stone fruits greet you, followed by lemon curd and a hit of toasty baguette. The textures is opulent, a kiss of minerality, and a long beautiful finish.
Price: $34.99 Add To Cart

Alexandre Le Brun "Tradition" Brut Champagne
Review Date: 03-04-2015
Alex Le Brun is one of our newest and most exciting producers we are lucky enough to import here at K&L. Getting to know the style of a new producer means some painstaking, grueling work, having to taste Champagne is pretty tough after all. It was a joy to discover his wines, made in a style that is serious, but not fussy, and absolutely delicious. The Tradition is a joy, toasty on the nose, baked core fruit, with intriguing spice. Bubbly and fresh on the palate with a pleasantly round mouth feel and texture, ending up lengthy and clean.
Price: $34.99 Add To Cart

Ariston Aspasie "Réserve" (formerly Carte Blanche) Brut Champagne
Review Date: 02-19-2015
Update: This wine continues to amaze me year after year. Each time I open a bottle I marvel at the quality of the wine for the price tag. Re-reading my review from 2011, I have tasted hundreds of different bottles of Champagne, and this bottle of wine still makes me incredibly happy. With 6 years on the lees, the integration is wonderful, soft mouth feel, ripe orchard fruit, toasty at the back. Still good after all these years. Wonderfully balanced bubbles for a wonderfully balanced price tag. The Carte Blanche is my most often used excuse to open bubbles just for the sake of having a glass of Champagne, there are always a couple of bottles stashed away around my house. Powerfully elegant, with toasted nutty notes and a length on the finish that reasserts why I love this wine.
Price: $29.99 Add To Cart

Beehive Distilling "Jack Rabbit" Utah Gin (750ml)
Review Date: 10-14-2014
Easily my gin of the year, and firmly in my "top five" gin rotation (yes, sadly we drink that much gin in my house). The botanical pairing of rose petal and sage makes for a complex, intriguing, and stunning gin. The nose is highlighted by the pretty rose notes, with just a hint of sage and juniper. The palate plays up the sage, soft and supple, with just the right balance of floral notes to keep it from becoming cloying. This bottle was empty exactly one week after I brought it home, I couldn't stop drinking it. Perfect with tonic, I also like it in French 75's or simply in a gimlet. Love it!
Price: $29.99 Add To Cart

Singani "63" Bolivian Muscat Brandy (750ml)
Review Date: 09-15-2014
Exactly what we love to drink. After a "serious day in the office" tasting as many as 40 different whiskies, the Singani is the type of spirit I want to come home to, delicious. Fresh, and lively, you get the essence of the Muscat grape, floral, with ripe peach and apricot, this is super clean and dangerously drinkable. So much to do with it: Pisco sour stand-in, add some tonic, or lemon soda with a twist; I would even venture to say it would be killer in a Mojito.
Price: $26.99 Add To Cart

Monkey 47 Schwarzwald Gin (375ml)
Review Date: 05-01-2014
This was the only bottle I brought back from our recent trip to Scotland. When you spend all day tastings as many as 60 Scotches, the idea of buying booze was pretty much the farthest thing from my mind...until I tried this gin. We were lucky enough to stumble into a very reputable bottle shop where the lovely lady was kind enough to let us try this. As soon as I did, I was hooked. This is by far the most complex and intriguing gin I have ever tasted. Layers of herbal notes that keep revealing themselves, juniper, bay leaf, and lemon zest, to name a few. It is so fresh and clean, not a rough edge to be found. I couldn’t believe that it was a gin I was drinking. If you are a fan of complex spirits, this is worth getting into a glass near you.
Price: $39.99 Add To Cart

Bruno Michel "Assemblée" Brut Champagne
Review Date: 08-02-2013
I am just one in a long line of staff members at K&L to fall head over heels for this wine. It is the balance of mineral freshness with the pure and elegant fruit qualities that really set this wine apart. Great for the wine geek, and any sort of setting. Really delicious.
Price: $34.99 Add To Cart

Montechiara Prosecco
Review Date: 11-29-2012
Beautifully crisp and refreshing, this is the perfect wine for parties, cocktails and just plain enjoying a very affordable bottle of bubbles. The Montechiara Prosecco is full of pears and green apples, enough richness for weight, and the perfect balance of acidity for freshness. This is great for the price.
Price: $10.99 Add To Cart

Louis Roederer "Brut Premier" Champagne
Review Date: 11-07-2012
This is my favorite entry tier wine from a big house. The quality is a step above due to careful wine making and a touch of reserve wines in the blend to add depth and nuance to a very affordable bottle of bubbles. Taking a look at my notes going back three testing’s, the most consistent notes that came up again and again were delicate white flowers and spiced pears, these delicate flavors combine with good acidity and a finely textured mouth feel make for a bottle of wine that can be enjoyed by many.

La Petite Marquise Crémant de Loire Brut
Review Date: 10-31-2011
Beautifully elegent and refreshing, this bubbly brings a festive tone to any gathering without dragging a price tag along
Price: $14.99 Add To Cart

Deutz "Brut Classic" Champagne
Review Date: 10-30-2011
I recently tasted this at our Champagne event and was pleasantly suprised by the balance and concentration of this wine. A balanced blend with richness and stone fruit notes as well and a very full mouth feel.
Price: $34.99 Add To Cart

Sorelle Bronca Prosecco di Valdobbiadene Extra Dry
Review Date: 09-29-2011
Perfectly crisp and refreshing,this Prosecco delivers a festive drink that is a certain people pleaser
Price: $19.99 Add To Cart

San Venanzio Valdobbiadene Prosecco Superiore Brut
Review Date: 09-27-2011
Exactly what I look for in a Prosecco, crisp, refreshing and fruity without being sweet and cloying. Greg did a wonderful job finding this producer to bring in directly, stone and core fruits jump out of the glass, continuing on the palate with a lovely clean mouth feel. A bright lovely drink that is the perfect start of an evening.
Price: $13.99 Add To Cart

Wine Club

$11.99

Ariston Aspasie "Carte Blanche" Brut Champagne (375ml)
Review Date: 09-27-2011
Wonderfully balanced bubbles for a wonderfully balanced price tag. The Carte Blanche is my most often used excuse to open bubble just for the sake of having a glass of Champagne, there are always a couple of bottles stashed away around my house. Powerfully elegant, with toasted nutty notes and a length on the finish that reasserts why I love this wine.
Price: $16.99 Add To Cart

Antech Blanquette de Limoux Brut Nature
Review Date: 06-28-2011
The Antech is the kind of wine I love to drink during the Summer. Crisp, bright, core fruits, and bubbles! Life is too short to not make bubbly happen more often. Wonderfully refreshing by itself, and inexpensive enough for playing the part of bubbly in any cocktail.
Price: $12.99 Add To Cart

Tequila Fortaleza Reposado Tequila (750ml)
Review Date: 11-30-2010
With the tequila market being such a competitive place these days, it is rare that a Tequila can clearly put itself above the rest. The Fortaleza Reposado is a study in old world crafting traditions and the superior product that can come from them. This Tequila tastes like Tequila, spicy and rich with undertones of vanilla to round out the palate, the care that goes into every bottle really comes through. One of the best Tequila’s on our shelf.
Price: $54.99 Add To Cart