Staff Favorites - Illya Haase

Illya Haase

Reviews

2017 Santo Assyrtiko Santorini Greece
Review Date: 08-16-2018
I am always on the look out for a under twenty dollar wine that over deliveries. The Santo Assyrtiko fits the bill! With aromas of stone fruit, lemon zest and a hint sea salt. Light and bright with just the right amount of acid, that leaves the palate fresh and clean. Pop of melon, mineral and smoke from that volcanic soil. Leaves you reaching for the bottle. Vivid, with full, well balanced body and distinctive long finish! Grilled octopus, please!
Price: $17.99 Add To Cart
W&S 93

2014 Dominio del Aguila "Picaro" Clarete Ribera del Duero
Review Date: 06-29-2018
I am a big fan of weird and funky wines. This is one of those wines that fits the bill! For me to spend $29.99 for a Rose’, it had better be worth it, After all, I can get some fantastic K&L Rose’s for under $15.00! What does it mean when I say “worth it to me”? The wine should be one that slows me down, allows me to contemplate what is happening in the glass. From the beginning, it is a mixed bag of red and white grapes: Tempranillo, Albillo, Garnacha and Bobal to be exact. 20 months of oak gives it a bit more weight, and there’s a slightly oxidative tone which leads me to smile. red fruit, orange peel, walnuts, hazelnuts, curry, wood spice and I haven’t taken a sip yet. Razor-sharp focus of citrus, tangy cranberry and wild strawberries add up to a refreshing, super-dry, elegant, but fruitful pink summer wine. This is a serious food wine, my friends, ideal with Spanish cheeses, Mediterranean vegetables, Spanish tapas or the ultimate pairing Morcilla !!!
Price: $29.99 Add To Cart

2016 Domaine Glinavos "Paleokerisio" Semi-Sparkling Orange Wine Epirus Greece (500ml)
Review Date: 06-28-2018
Orange wine from Greece??? Yes, my friends, this wine is pure pleasure in a glass. Orange color, hence the name. Technically, the color comes from de-stemmed grapes resting in an oak case for 12 days during the fermentation process. Put the glass to your nose and you think you are in for one funky ride. On the contrary, a slight effervescence sparks a balanced sweet cherry fruit tangled with clove spice. The finish is dry with a nice tannic edge, refreshing acidity and bitterness. Great with grilled octopus!
Price: $12.99 Add To Cart

2016 Domaine Paul Pernot Bourgogne Aligoté
Review Date: 06-26-2018
On the very first day of Summer, treat yourself to a delicate, fantastic wine grown on the chalky soils of Burgundy! Paul Pernot Bourgogne Aligoté lies super crisp and lean on the palate … generally dry in style with floral and herbal notes. This Aligoté just bursts from the glass with citrus, mineral and white floral aromas. Apples dominate, with pear and spice. With a balanced wood spice on the back end, you could put Cassis in this amazing wine, but I would rather have it with a big seafood tower!
Price: $18.99 Add To Cart

2014 Freemark Abbey Napa Valley Cabernet Sauvignon
Review Date: 04-13-2018
I seem to be reviewing my share of Cally Cabs as of late. I just really love the Napa Cabernet 2013 and 2014 vintages! The Freemark Abbey is no exception. With a deep, dark hue coating the glass, I know I am in for a treat. Nose pops with spiced plum, currants and a touch of oak. But, those black and blue fruits, I find so inviting on the palate! Dark coco, dried herbs and licorice round out the back end. Seamless tannins and acidity make for a long finish, that I just don't want it to end. Lucky we have quite a few bottles but at this price I know it won't last. Don't take my word for it. Do yourself a favor and pick up a bottle. You won't be disappointed.

Wathen’s Private Barrel #59 "K&L Exclusive" Single Barrel Straight Kentucky Bourbon (750ml)
Review Date: 03-30-2018
The Medley family from Owensboro, Kentucky (a high school team we beat on road to the Class A championship game) has eight generations of master distillers under its belt. These family's roots run back to the birth of Kentucky bourbon. Wathen's Barrel 59 starts out with a very subtle nose of honey-covered walnuts, with no alcohol sting to cloud the senses. There's a bit of banana and nutmeg, too. Mouthfeel is more toasted banana bread and toffee ice cream - it's a lovely warm sensation that over-delivers as it goes down. The finish is smooth with long-lingering spice. This would be my go-to summertime bourbon. Warm and easy!
Price: $39.99 Add To Cart

Knob Creek K&L Exclusive Single Barrel #5851 Kentucky Straight Rye Whiskey (750ml)
Review Date: 03-30-2018
Fred Noe, you done did it again! This Knob Creek Rye is something else! The nose is vanilla, cloves and oaky undertones. The flavor immediately coats the entire mouth, with nutmeg and cinnamon giving way to pepper and vanilla on the front with a hint of walnut and allspice across the middle before finishing with that gripping cinnamon spice and that wonderful Knob Creek burn. It's 115 proof, but you would not know it! Super balanced, this warms you up from all the way down!! Get it while you can.
Price: $47.99 Add To Cart

2013 Silverado "Estate" Napa Valley Cabernet Sauvignon
Review Date: 01-30-2018
On these cool winter nights there is nothing better than a big Napa Cabernet! Silverado reveals itself with plush notes of black fruit, dried herbs and espresso tasting notes. This is not about overblown fruit. It is big, but balanced with the fruit, oak and tannins, all well integrated. Silky smooth and velvety in texture, the classic Staggs Leap District Cab pervades. The balanced acidity makes for a long finish, with flavors that continue to warm the insides of the heart. Light a fire, open the bottle of Silverado and enjoy the magic that only a Napa Cabernet can bring.
Price: $39.95 Add To Cart
JS 93 W&S 93

2014 Bonny Doon "A Proper Claret" Red Blend
Review Date: 01-23-2018
I love big, rich wines. Even been accused of loving a fruit bomb or two. Bonny Doon always delivers. Let me say that this big wine is rather light on its feet. Alluring nose of of violets, black licorice and graphite but the palate is where it really dances. Spicy red fruit and vanilla spice with a slap of acidity and a smooth dry finish. Proper structure and clarity with a balance of fruit and earth. Slow cooked wild boar sliders should be on the menu with this little surprising showstopper.
Price: Hidden View Price
JS 90

2014 Louis M. Martini Napa Valley Cabernet Sauvignon
Review Date: 12-11-2017
Where's the love … I always overlook this Cabernet. Always looking for the new, best, Napa red! We opened this the other day and much to our surprise, we discovered it to be a classic –a truly balanced Napa Cabernet! It certainly was more than approachable with the big 2014 fruit up front, alluring blackberry jam, cocoa powder and integrated oak on the nose. It has that great depth which lingers with the richness of black fruit. Why not tempt yourself with that elegant, velvet juciness, melting into polished tannins, with a delightfully long finish. I was so glad to have the opportunity to try this wine! With so many choices out there, I will not overlook this one anymore.

2015 Au Bon Climat Santa Barbara County Chardonnay
Review Date: 11-07-2017
Whatever camp you are in California or France, when it comes to Chardonays, the Au Bon Climat delivers a sublime bottle of Chardonnay, delighting with that rare combination of vanilla, crisp apple and toffee. The combination of great weight on the palate with citrus and pineapple,provides a high degree of gratification joining with that really nice pop of acidity and mineral which keeps your mouth zinging as it asks for more. With that spike of tartness and dry finish it would be a quintessential pairing for oyster stuffing. Look forward to bringing that sublime satisfaction to the dinner table.
Price: $19.99 Add To Cart

Tom's Foolery Bottled In Bond Single Barrel #31 Ohio Straight Bourbon Whiskey (750ml)
Review Date: 10-23-2017
If I ever review any whiskey that is outside of my beloved Bluegrass state it must mean it's great. The latest bottling from Tom's Foolery is just THAT! These Buckeyes are the first micro outside of Kentucky, and the first micro since the '50s, to release a bonded bourbon. Its nose is pure Ohio Courtland apple, charred toffee, vanilla and cinnamon. Spicy malt and toasted clove on the first sip. Nice warmth (spicy!) on the mid palate really awakens the sinuses!! Spicy cream corn and malted grains continues through the finish. With a cool winter green note perking up at the end. It begs for a fire, on a cool November night.
Price: $49.99 Add To Cart

Antech Blanquette de Limoux Brut Nature
Review Date: 11-27-2015
This is as dry as it gets folks. Zero dosage. Which means outstanding acidity! Perfect for that signature cocktail at your holiday party. Did I mention bone dry and a amazing ability to pair with everything on the holiday menu. Keep a case on hand for all the events on busy holiday calendar.
Price: $12.99 Add To Cart

Fluteau "Cuvée Réservée" Brut Champagne
Review Date: 10-26-2012
One of the hits for me at our Champagne event was Fluteau! I love the cheesy and toasty notes that come from this champagne. Coming from the wine being left to age on the lees for three years. Notes of citrus and spice in a golden yellow hue. This will make a perfect Holiday wine! At this price you can give it out to all the family. This is a Champagne will are talking about here folks.
Price: $29.99 Add To Cart

Carpano Antica Formula Sweet Vermouth (1L)
Review Date: 07-29-2012
One thing I learned in my twenty years of bar tending is. The better the ingredients, the better the drink. So, if you are making a Manhattan or one of those crazy whiskey drinks from your local mixologist. Keep the Carpano on hand. It make's any cocktail, ten thousand times better! You will not find a better vermouth!
Price: $28.99 Add To Cart
WE 95

Scrappy's Grapefruit Bitters (5oz)
Review Date: 04-30-2012
It's citrus time at the Hollywood Farmers Market. There is nothing better on a lazy Sunday than a greyhound! This grapefruit and vodka cocktail is an ideal choice for a summertime brunch. The beauty of this mixed drink is in its simplicity. But, I like to spice mine up with a little Scrappy's Grapefruit bitters. It is that little extra that goes a long way!
Price: $19.99 Add To Cart

Ariston Aspasie "Carte Blanche" Brut Champagne
Review Date: 02-27-2012
This is my kind of Champagne! Toasty, yeasty, and dry. The price speaks for itself! We are so lucky to get great champagne at sparkling wine prices!
Price: $27.99 Add To Cart

Ariston Aspasie Brut Rosé Champagne
Review Date: 02-26-2012
This my friends is my go to Rose Champagne! Great acidity, intermingled with some bright cherry notes. Balanced minerality which is perfect for some salmon or Friday night sushi!
Price: $34.99 Add To Cart

Deligeroy "La Petite Marquise" Cremant de Loire Brut
Review Date: 11-25-2011
In our recent staff tasting for sparkling wines. This by far was top of the class! I brought it to start the Thanksgiving Day events. Deligeroy did not disappoint! It went perfect with the root salad!
Price: $12.99 Add To Cart

Deligeroy "La Petite Marquise" Crémant de Loire Brut Rosé
Review Date: 02-03-2011
This is well-balanced in the mouth and enhanced by a fresh but subtle finish. It also has tiny little bubbles, which always makes me happy! I love Cabernet Franc for sparkling wine, it has some great body and lovely fruit. For the price, buy a case!
Price: $12.99 Add To Cart

Franck Bonville Grand Cru Brut Blanc de Blancs Champagne
Review Date: 07-29-2010
For me, one of the best finds at our recent Champagne tasting! It's off-dry, with beautiful fruit and a nice toasty nose. All this from third generation winemaking family whose holdings consist of 15 hectares of Grand Cru vineyards. The winemaking here is all about elegance and finesse and allowing the terroir to speak for itself and it shows.
Price: $34.99 Add To Cart
WE 91 WS 90