Staff Favorites - Jason Marwedel

Jason Marwedel

Reviews

2016 Malescot-St-Exupéry, Margaux 12-pack in OWC
Review Date: 08-05-2017
There is nothing better than a wine that houses two seemingly opposite characteristics under the same cork. In the case of Malescot, it’s all about poise and power (the hallmark of GREAT Bordeaux). Malescot has fast become one of my favorite properties in Margaux, with the 2016 offering even furthering the case. Whether a Bordeaux neophyte or devotee, you are going to love this wine! Wonderful layers of ripe blue and red fruits are offset by savory complexity and long refreshing mineral tones. You will be hard pressed to find a more palate-pleasing wine at this price anywhere in the world.

2015 TWR (Te Whare Ra) Pinot Noir Marlborough
Review Date: 06-08-2017
Poise, precision and purity - these are the words that immediately come to mind upon tasting this wonderful Pinot Noir. TWR's Pinots are a bit shy upon immediate release, but always pickup steam to reveal their lovely character. Notes of exotic spice and dark red fruit lead to palate of great complexity. This wine is tasting brilliant now, but will continue to evolve.

2016 Margaux, Margaux
Review Date: 06-06-2017
Chateaux Margaux is the absolute definition of poise and grace. The 2016 offering is ethereal and complex, even a bit introverted at this early stage. As with all world-class wines, greatness lies below the surface. A bouquet of black fruit, rose, lavender and violet grace the nose, which is accompanied by a palate of uncompromising precision and purity. Faint hints of leather, cedar box, and minerals lend to the intrigue. The 2016 is lower in alcohol than previous vintages, which adds tremendous vibrancy. The 2016 Chateaux Margaux is a collectors dream - nothing but a long and happy life lies ahead.

2016 Puy-Blanquet, St-Emilion
Review Date: 05-24-2017
My top Right Bank value in 2016 has to be Château Puy-Blanquet. I have always enjoyed this château's wines, but the 2016 is operating on a whole new level. Deep dark color with notes of cherry, vanilla, bay leaf and black olive fill the glass. The palate is decadent, sweet and round with supple tannins and mouth-watering acidity. This is by far the best Puy Blanquet I have ever tasted!

2016 Poujeaux, Moulis (1.5L)
Review Date: 05-17-2017
The main reason I love Poujeaux is that I can collect this wine in EVERY vintage. The price to quality ratio undeniably lies in the consumer’s favor, as this wine is always fairly priced. Poujeaux has character and a unique terror that always shines, from the great vintages to those inevitably more challenging years. The 2016 is a textbook example of this Chateau. Understated poise and polish with a wonderful balance of fruit and savory flavors on the palate. Poujeaux never lets me down!

2016 Poujeaux, Moulis
Review Date: 05-17-2017
The main reason I love Poujeaux is that I can collect this wine in EVERY vintage. The price to quality ratio undeniably lies in the consumer’s favor, as this wine is always fairly priced. Poujeaux has character and a unique terror that always shines, from the great vintages to those inevitably more challenging years. The 2016 is a textbook example of this Chateau. Understated poise and polish with a wonderful balance of fruit and savory flavors on the palate. Poujeaux never lets me down!

2016 Cantemerle, Haut-Médoc (6L)
Review Date: 05-12-2017
If you buy Bordeaux from K&L, you undoubtedly know Chateau Cantemerle. As a sales staff, we all secretly hope to find a bottle amongst the lineup for our quarterly Bordeaux staff tastings. Some of us will even drop hints to Clyde, hoping he will blind taste us on an older vintage from his cellar. Needless to say, tasting the fabulous 2016 offering at the chateau was close to a religious experience. This is by far one of the best wines I have tasted from this beloved chateau. Aromatically there is so much intrigue - loads of cinnamon, raspberry fruit, cedar and spice. The palate delivers rich sweet fruit, silky edges and wonderful freshness. By far, a standout from the 2016 vintage.

2016 Cantemerle, Haut-Médoc (1.5L)
Review Date: 05-12-2017
If you buy Bordeaux from K&L, you undoubtedly know Chateau Cantemerle. As a sales staff, we all secretly hope to find a bottle amongst the lineup for our quarterly Bordeaux staff tastings. Some of us will even drop hints to Clyde, hoping he will blind taste us on an older vintage from his cellar. Needless to say, tasting the fabulous 2016 offering at the chateau was close to a religious experience. This is by far one of the best wines I have tasted from this beloved chateau. Aromatically there is so much intrigue - loads of cinnamon, raspberry fruit, cedar and spice. The palate delivers rich sweet fruit, silky edges and wonderful freshness. By far, a standout from the 2016 vintage.

2016 Cantemerle, Haut-Médoc (3L)
Review Date: 05-12-2017
If you buy Bordeaux from K&L, you undoubtedly know Chateau Cantemerle. As a sales staff, we all secretly hope to find a bottle amongst the lineup for our quarterly Bordeaux staff tastings. Some of us will even drop hints to Clyde, hoping he will blind taste us on an older vintage from his cellar. Needless to say, tasting the fabulous 2016 offering at the chateau was close to a religious experience. This is by far one of the best wines I have tasted from this beloved chateau. Aromatically there is so much intrigue - loads of cinnamon, raspberry fruit, cedar and spice. The palate delivers rich sweet fruit, silky edges and wonderful freshness. By far, a standout from the 2016 vintage.

2016 Cantemerle, Haut-Médoc
Review Date: 05-12-2017
If you buy Bordeaux from K&L, you undoubtedly know Chateau Cantemerle. As a sales staff, we all secretly hope to find a bottle amongst the lineup for our quarterly Bordeaux staff tastings. Some of us will even drop hints to Clyde, hoping he will blind taste us on an older vintage from his cellar. Needless to say, tasting the fabulous 2016 offering at the chateau was close to a religious experience. This is by far one of the best wines I have tasted from this beloved chateau. Aromatically there is so much intrigue - loads of cinnamon, raspberry fruit, cedar and spice. The palate delivers rich sweet fruit, silky edges and wonderful freshness. By far, a standout from the 2016 vintage.

2016 Lilian Ladouys, St-Estèphe (1.5L)
Review Date: 05-10-2017
St-Estèphe really shines in 2016, with the Lilian Ladouys standing out as a top value. Lifted aromatics lead to a lively palate of black fruit, cinnamon and sweet herbs. Great intensity and a silky mouthfeel persist throughout. A really impressive offering!

2016 Capbern, St-Estèphe (1.5L)
Review Date: 05-10-2017
The 2009 Capbern-Gasqueton was my first introduction to this wine, which I loved and happily bought for my cellar. I was elated to taste the 2016 Capbern, and was not disappointed! This is a very serious wine. Beneath a hearty frame lies a core of sweet dark fruit. There is a great deal of intensity here, leading me to believe it will fair well for years to come. By far, a top offering in 2016 value category.

2016 Capbern, St-Estèphe
Review Date: 05-10-2017
The 2009 Capbern-Gasqueton was my first introduction to this wine, which I loved and happily bought for my cellar. I was elated to taste the 2016 Capbern, and was not disappointed! This is a very serious wine. Beneath a hearty frame lies a core of sweet dark fruit. There is a great deal of intensity here, leading me to believe it will fair well for years to come. By far, a top offering in 2016 value category.

2016 Lilian Ladouys, St-Estèphe
Review Date: 05-10-2017
St-Estèphe really shines in 2016, with the Lilian Ladouys standing out as a top value. Lifted aromatics lead to a lively palate of black fruit, cinnamon, and sweet herbs. Great intensity and a silky mouth-feel persist throughout. A really impressive offering!

2016 Beaumont, Haut-Médoc
Review Date: 04-20-2017
Beaumont seems to shine in every vintage, but I found the 2016 to be particularly exciting! Notes of dark fruit and fig cake lead to an enticing palate of soft pure fruit. This wine is medium bodied with fine supple tannins and a crisp finish. A standout in the value category - not to be missed.

2016 Malescot-St-Exupéry, Margaux (1.5L)
Review Date: 04-17-2017
There is nothing better than a wine that houses two seemingly opposite characteristics under the same cork. In the case of Malescot, it’s all about poise and power (the hallmark of GREAT Bordeaux). Malescot has fast become one of my favorite properties in Margaux, with the 2016 offering even furthering the case. Whether a Bordeaux neophyte or devotee, you are going to love this wine! Wonderful layers of ripe blue and red fruits are offset by savory complexity and long refreshing mineral tones. You will be hard pressed to find a more palate-pleasing wine at this price anywhere in the world.

2016 Beychevelle, St-Julien
Review Date: 04-17-2017
This was the first wine I tasted from the 2016 vintage! Not knowing what to expect, I was smitten on first sniff. Lovely aromatics of ripe raspberry and perfumed violets, it reveals hints of graphite and subtle savor on the palate. Great poise and purity of fruit leads to mouth-pleasing uniformity throughout. By far, one of the more impressive Beychevelle offerings in recent memory

2010 Cune Gran Reserva Rioja
Review Date: 03-10-2017
Hailing from the excellent 2010 vintage, this Gran Reserva will scratch your deepest Rioja itch! Poised and balanced, it offers loads of red fruit on the nose – plum and fig with notes of herbs, cedar and exotic spice. Medium weight and full of life, this wine will be incredibly versatile at the table year round. Another classic offering from one of my favorite Rioja producers!!!

Fleury Brut Rosé de Saignée Champagne
Review Date: 12-30-2010
This is an OUTSTANDING bottle of champagne! By far my favorite rose in our Direct Import lineup, it will definitely be making a guest appearance on December 31st!
Price: $49.99 Add To Cart
WS 92 VN 90

Franck Bonville Grand Cru Brut Blanc de Blancs Champagne
Review Date: 10-26-2010
Made from all estate fruit from Bonville’s Grand Cru vineyards in Avize, this champagne displays ripe citrus and apple fruit on the nose, followed by a rich mid palate and a snappy mineral finish. The Bonville Prestige has everything I am looking for in a Blanc De Blancs at an extremely reasonable price!
Price: $34.99 Add To Cart
WE 91 WS 90

Sorelle Bronca Prosecco di Valdobbiadene Extra Dry
Review Date: 06-13-2010
Organically grown and estate bottled, the Sorella Branca prosecco is the perfect start to any meal! This delicate and refreshing bubbly displays notes of fresh bartlett pear and aromatic flowers. Enjoy this classic prosecco all year long!
Price: $19.99 Add To Cart
VN 90 W&S 90