Local Delivery Available Curbside 11am-6pm Daily Stores Temporarily Closed

Reviewers


K&L Email Alerts

Sign up to receive custom alerts, new arrivals and the latest happenings from K&L Wines


Staff Favorites - Christie Brunick

Christie Brunick
Christie Brunick  | Send Email  |   Subscribe to My Sommelier Service
I was first introduced to the fabulous world of California wine in Napa where I spent weekends bike riding and wine tasting with my parents up and down the Silverado Trail. Growing up in the East Bay Area it was only a hop...skip...jump away from wine country where my family would venture to relax and play every possible moment. It wasn't until my senior year at Cal Poly San Luis Obispo that I realized I had a passion for the wine industry. My first encounter with the working world of wine was my volunteer internship at Edna Valley Winery where I traveled to a number of tasting events with the marketing manager for the winery and realized I needed to get in the business. I added a minor in wine and viticulture to my communications studies major and ended up writing my thesis on the differences in wine marketing throughout a choice number of Paso Robles wineries. My first "real job" in the wine industry was at the smallest tasting room with the biggest personality in Paso Robles named Four Vines Winery. I worked there for almost three years while going to school and fell in love with not only central coast wines, but also with the business of sales and all those who loved, appreciated, and enjoyed our fruitful product. After graduation in 2007 I loved the central coast so much I decided to make a go for it and stay in this blissful paradise of beach and vines. I became fond very fond of making trips to Los Olivos and Santa Ynez valley quite often and in the mean time also became employed at Tolosa Winery in San Luis Obispo and 15 degrees wine bar in Templeton. In the summer of 2009 I decided to take a chance and move to Hollywood for more opportunity. Being from northern California I wanted to expand my horizons and see what the LA lifestyle was all about. I knew this was where I belonged the moment I stepped into this oasis of wine and cuisine. Never had I been to a place where I could find so many restaurants, bistros, wine bars, and the like within a 4 mile radius, and I don't have to get on the freeway! I'm in heaven. When I walked into the infamous K&L Hollywood Store it was love at first sight! I'm thrilled to be working here doing what I love, and love the incredible people here who share this passion and commitment with me.


Reviews

2010 Heitz Cellar "Martha's Vineyard" Napa Valley Cabernet Sauvignon
Review Date: 12-03-2015
If I could have a "last meal" wine this would be it. It doesn't lack anything. And it's not pretentious or shy. It's exactly what you want for a special occasion to blow your palate away!

2012 Caymus "Special Selection" Napa Valley Cabernet Sauvignon
Review Date: 06-04-2015
This vintage of Caymus Special Select is just as special as ever. The 2012 is massive and mouth-coating. If you love the over-the-top style Caymus has become famous for, then this year's is going to make your eyes roll back and drool at first sip!
Price: $229.99 Add To Cart

Del Professore "Classico" Bianco Vermouth (750ml)
Review Date: 04-01-2015
Looking for a great springtime aperitif? This semi-off-dry Italian White Vermouth is soo delicious and refreshing! It's a great option for someone who wants something a little different than there typical Lillet Blanc or similar. I love it over the rocks with a twist of lemon or other citrus! I will be enjoying this all summer!
Price: $22.99 Add To Cart

Jean-Jacques Lamoureux "Réserve" Brut Champagne
Review Date: 03-19-2015
Unbelievably drinkable and sophisticated on the palate. 100% Pinot Noir makes this dry cuvee especially luscious and creamy, with ripe stone fruit and subtle creamy brioche on the finish. This is a Champagne I'm really excited about because anyone can enjoy this style of Champagne. From the connoisseur to the bubbly drinking starter, this will seduce and amaze your palates!
Price: $29.99 Add To Cart

Jardesca California Aperitiva (750ml)
Review Date: 07-29-2014
Looking for your summer aperitif wine that's local, light, aromatic, complex, and wont give you a hangover?! This small production aperitif is made in Northern California's Sonoma County and is loaded with natural aromatic botanicals like basil, Kaffir lime, fresh herbs, mint, flowers, and citrus. This is a drier style aperitif wine whose cocktail combinations are endless! Splash of soda, lime, fruit, or lavender, and you've got yourself one complex concoction! I've been enjoying it on my deck during sunset for an immediate summer refreshment! You must try! You will be hooked.
Price: Hidden View Price

Caves Messias Santola "Crab Wine" Vinho Verde
Review Date: 05-27-2014
Its like a white wine spritzer but better! I love this Fizzy, zippy, frizzante, dry white wine! I can drink it all day long, and my palate stays refreshed and alive with this wonderful wine! Great with salads, fish, Mexican food, or just on its own!
Price: $8.99 Add To Cart

Henriot "Souverain" Brut Champagne
Review Date: 02-04-2014
Amazingly bright and moussey. Pure golden honey in color, and clean yet luxurious minerality on the palate. Boy would this pair well with sushi! This is an uber value and a superbly elegant classic style of Champagne!

Montechiara Prosecco
Review Date: 11-08-2013
This little Italian Prosecco has changed the way think about Prosecco here at K&L, and trust me, that's not an easy task. With a label that mimics a yellow/orange Veuve Cliquot label, and a price that will keep your wallet full, this lovely bubbly will be the hit of every party, day or night. Not too dry, not too fruity, it's just right. You and your friends will be very, very happy!
Price: $10.99 Add To Cart

Michel Dervin Brut Champagne
Review Date: 09-28-2012
My absolute favorite deal in Champagne! I will be sad when it sell out because when its gone its gone, until the next boat comes over! This is the most friendly and elegant style of bubbles you can get for an unbelievable price!
Price: $32.99 Add To Cart

Ariston Aspasie Brut Rosé Champagne
Review Date: 01-27-2012
My favorite Rose Champagne for the price! Amazing bright and vibrant red-pink fruit with a broad and creamy mouthfeel with racy acidity to keep it all in balance. As far as I'm concerned it's my Billecart Rose for a quarter of the price! Always elegant and delightful!
Price: $34.99 Add To Cart

Franck Bonville Grand Cru Brut Blanc de Blancs Champagne
Review Date: 12-14-2011
The best deal in direct import Blanc De Blanc Champagne Yet! Its an entire staff favorite here at K&L, and once you try it you'll understand why. Its elegant and pure but has a richness on the palate that is creamy and fulfilling. This is my personal house Champagne! My favorite Champagne under $50 by far! This has no hard edges at all; it's completely seamless from start to finish. Crisp, with elegance, round and creamy richness, the Bonville is full of bright fruit and mineral notes. As much fun as bubbly gets! Try it ASAP!
Price: $34.99 Add To Cart

San Venanzio Valdobbiadene Prosecco Superiore Brut
Review Date: 12-14-2011
A delightful Prosecco from Italy which is dry but still very soft and elegant on the palate. Perfect Party bubbles for the Holiday season!
Price: $13.99 Add To Cart

Wine Club

$11.99

Graham's "Six Grapes" Port
Review Date: 11-10-2011
The best value I've tasted for a full 750ml bottle of Ruby Port! Dark and deep in color with loads of black fruit, spice, and chocolate on the nose. Richly intense with a creamy mid-palate with plenty of good acidity to balance it out. I'll be definitely buying some for the holiday season!
Price: $21.99 Add To Cart

Pol Roger "White Foil - Extra Cuvée de Réserve" Brut Champagne
Review Date: 08-11-2011
One of my new favorite finds at K&L! This is a gorgeous Champagne. Lots of focus and elegance showing from start to finish. Just slightly toasty, this Brut is full of integrated acid and fresh minerality that will have your taste buds tingling and salivating for more! An amazing value for under $40 as well! Stock up for the holidays before its gone!

Franck Bonville "Belles Voyes" Brut Blanc de Blancs Champagne
Review Date: 06-01-2011
On of the most elegant yet powerful Blanc de Blancs Champagne I've had this year. I also think its one of the houses best cuvee's they've made that you can enjoy now or cellar for years! All 2004 vintage old vine fruit shows lovely integration on the palate. The nose is crisp and minerally with subtle sweet sugar cookie dough essences. Freshly smashed ripe apple crisps up on the palate with notes of allspice! A very amazing Champagne...treat yourself before its gone!
Price: $69.99 Add To Cart

Billecart-Salmon Brut Rosé Champagne
Review Date: 04-16-2011
If I could pick any Champagne to drink on a daily basis regardless of price, it would be the Beautiful Billecart Salmon Rose! Without a doubt your last sip will still taste as good as the first. And your obsession will start at your first sip. This is a clean and elegant style that will impress just about any level Champagne drinker

La Petite Marquise Crémant de Loire Brut
Review Date: 03-09-2011
Its a beautiful thing to have an exceptional sparkler for an amazing price! This is always one of my favorites to always keep on hand at home because it is so fresh, minerally, with crisp acidity, elegant zesty bubbles, what more could you ask for from the Loire Valley? Its perfect day and night!
Price: $14.99 Add To Cart

Baron-Fuenté "Esprit" Brut Champagne
Review Date: 02-09-2011
This is one of my favorite direct import Champagnes because it is seamless from start to finish. Very elegant but brilliantly intense as well. Using all stainless steel and spending 7 years on the lees gives the wine its smooth and creamy texture with that nutty brioche and layers of complexity. Triple cream on the nose with pommace fruit on the mid palate and a crisp finish.

Michel Arnould "Réserve" Grand Cru Brut Verzenay Champagne
Review Date: 02-03-2011
Quite possibly the best deal in Champagne ever! Michel Arnould delivers way above and beyond! This direct import Pinot Noir based cuvee has a brightness to it that most Champagnes in this price range lack. Lots of citrus and wild berry fruit on the mid palate with bursting minerality and acid with a toasty but clean finish! Don't let this one pass you by...
Price: $34.99 Add To Cart

Sorelle Bronca Prosecco di Valdobbiadene Extra Dry
Review Date: 02-02-2011
This is K&L's best selling Prosecco by far! No matter who your entertaining, even yourself, you will revel in the masterpiece of sweet seduction! Perfectly balanced Italian style...Not too sweet, not too dry, but just right! Day time Brunch, or evening pre-dinner cocktail, this Prosecco is so pretty and elegant you just can't get enough!
Price: $19.99 Add To Cart

Ariston Aspasie Blanc de Blancs Brut Champagne
Review Date: 01-05-2011
Ariston has done it again! They have created a Blanc de Blanc Champagne that is so unique and special compared to all the typical blanc de blancs on the shelf. Right off the bat after the Champagne Pop you get a whiff of the aromas of fresh baked brie, ripe apple, and Gruyere fondue...followed by a mysterious mid-palate chalk full of minerals and body. This isn't your typical super racy and tight blanc de blanc. It is fully developed into a mature ready to drink state of mind. Finishes with caramelized fruit and nuts...Enjoy!!
Price: $34.99 Add To Cart

Michel Arnould "La Grande Cuvée" Brut Champagne
Review Date: 12-01-2010
This is my quintessential Classic Champagne for the Holidays and all Year round for that matter. Mineral and fresh on the nose, Rich and luscious on the mid-palate, with an elegant, seamless finish. It keeps you wanting more...
Price: $39.99 Add To Cart

More Favorites

Christie Brunick is also a fan of the following items. To become a fan of Christie Brunick, click here to join Christie Brunick's Personal Sommelier Service.
Launois "Cuvée Réservée" Grand Cru Brut Blanc de Blancs Champagne ($34.99)