Local Delivery Available KLWines.com Open 24x7 Stores and Will Call Temporarily Closed –  

Reviewers


K&L Email Alerts

Sign up to receive custom alerts, new arrivals and the latest happenings from K&L Wines


Staff Favorites - Jennifer Lee

Jennifer Lee

Reviews

2017 Mount Langi Ghiran "Cliff Edge" Shiraz Grampains
Review Date: 03-23-2020
First off, let me be frank in that I usually don't enjoy Shiraz flavors, BUT, I highly enjoyed this one -- and would be excited to share this with friends at a dinner party. I love the floral and dark stone fruit + blue fruit aromas, and also the peppery, light tobacco and light smoky notes. Herbaceous and dank flavors come to mind as the wine lingers on your palate. Truly a great deal for this amazing price -- definitely punches above the $19.99 offering. So my advice, pick up a few bottles and stock that cellar while you can! I'll be sipping this bottle all night long. Cheers!
Price: $19.99 Add To Cart

Spirits of the Apocalypse "The Walking Dead" Kentucky Straight Bourbon Whiskey (750ml)
Review Date: 03-22-2020
mangos, banana, pineapple, payaya and vanilla aromas swirl around in this spicy glass of 'Walking Dead' Kentucky straight bourbon. Would be excellent as a mixer too. Definitely caribbean style -- great for rum lovers who want to be adventurous too!
Price: $12.99 Add To Cart

2003 Glen Scotia "Malts Festival 2019 Limited Edition" Rum Cask Finish Peated Campbeltown Single Malt Scotch Whisky (750ml)
Review Date: 03-21-2020
My goodness... this has become my #1 FAVORITE whiskey!!!! I've always been a fan of Glen Scotia but this one takes home the gold! Not only is it super fun to nose all night long with your whiskey aficionados, but it has so much to offer to every kind of whiskey lover. Peaty nose, smoky structure but not too overpowering... the color is light for the amount of complexity the master distiller has induced into this magnificent bottle. As I was enjoying the smoky fragrances in my glass -- it brought me back to when I was on Isle of Islay in Scotland. Truly magical. However, the flavors of this whiskey are NOT what you would expect. The PALATE flavors hit you with smooth silky butterscotch aromas, sweet golden honey and sunkissed steamed mandarins with a hint of vanilla and toasted oak. Finish: Super smooth and viscous--Just delicious. I am considering stocking up my wet bar just in case these run out! I highly recommend any whiskey lover to do the same. Cheers everyone!
Price: $69.99 Add To Cart

2003 Benrinnes 15 Year Old "Old Particular" K&L Exclusive Single Refill Hogshead Cask Strength Single Malt Scotch Whisky (750ml)
Review Date: 03-21-2020
on the NOSE: toasted caramel, almonds and cashews, bananas and a hint of peat. on the PALATE: Wow bursting vanilla and smooth oak flavors explode with herbs. Super fun! FINISH: spicy characters exude from this 15 year old cask strength. You can tell it's a strong one but somehow still has soft notes like vanilla, brown sugar and cardamom for a spectacular and soothing drink. Whether on the rocks or neat, I would enjoy sipping this beauty all night long. Cheers!
Price: $74.99 Add To Cart

Ragnaud-Sabourin "K&L Exclusive Fontevieille #35" Cognac (750ml)
Review Date: 03-06-2020
Stronger vanilla and oak characters than the #20, this Ragnaud Sabourin also features beautiful honey and toffee flavors that are supple and smooth like the #20. I also get more spice flavors from this #35 that reminds me of home-baked apple pie that's drizzled with caramelized brown sugar. The nose is just beautiful with oak, nutmeg and vanilla and baked apple aromas. Truly worth the money as every single drop is quality in your glass. Best cognac I've ever had!
Price: $169.99 Add To Cart

Ragnaud Sabourin K&L Exclusive Reserve Speciale #20 Cognac (750ml)
Review Date: 03-06-2020
Caramel, dark honey and supple toffee flavors mix amazingly well in this deliciously smooth bottle of 20 year old cognac. Ragnaud Sabourin is a very reputable brand and this cognac is bursting with flavor and quality. It's creamy, luscious and exudes vanilla and honey fragrances. Definitely deserves a spot on the shelf. Would make an excellent gift for whiskey lovers too~
Price: $89.99 Add To Cart

2018 Dom Diogo (Quinta da Raza) Azal Vinho Verde
Review Date: 03-06-2020
Refreshing and crisp Vinho Verde from Portugal, this DomDiogo is made from Azal grapes that are native to the Basto Sub-Region. It is the perfect summer sipper on the porch, at brunch or just for fun! Easy to drink and full of effervescence, it is best served chilled and pairs well with seafood, shellfish, salads or light dishes. This is a fun one and for the price, buy it by the caseload before it’s all gone!
Price: $12.99 Add To Cart

2016 Miguel Merino "La Loma" Rioja
Review Date: 03-03-2020
Vines planted in 1946 from a single vineyard, this 90% tempranillo and 10% grenache reserva is aged 15 months in barrel. The vines are planted in calcareous soil which has good drainage and vines have to go deep into the soil for water. The NOSE on this wine is excellent and just smells like "yum" with sweet, fruit forward aromas. The taste is just as satisfying with smooth, velvety and sweet textures. A juicy and perfectly balanced wine, it's perfect to drink now (by itself or with a meal) or age for a few years to add complexity. Time to stock up!
Price: $54.99 Add To Cart

Broken Shed New Zealand Whey Vodka (750ml)
Review Date: 03-02-2020
Surprisingly easy to drink as I found myself sipping this light, refreshing and tasty vodka. Mind you, I'm not a vodka person at all, but I found myself enjoying this one and it's relative freshness that is very palatable on it's own or in a dirty martini. I'm buying this one for all my vodka loving friends!
Price: $24.99 Add To Cart

1988 Domaine de Jouanda - Cask #222 "K&L Exclusive" Bas-Armagnac (750ml)
Review Date: 03-02-2020
On the nose this 31 year old armagnac exhibits tropical notes of banana, pineapple and a hint of coconut even... you can smell a tiny bit of spicy notes and definitely complex flavors have developed this aged armagnac. Extremely complex and well-balanced, this toasted oak, dark chocolate, tobacco-y treat is a wonderful treat and/or a great gift!
Price: $99.99 Add To Cart

1998 Domaine de Jouanda - Cask #312 "K&L Exclusive" Bas-Armagnac (750ml)
Review Date: 03-02-2020
Dark toasted oak and brown sugar, smooth caramel and butterscotch flavors abound in this 1998 Armagnac. It's spicy and a bit sour too with hints of tropical notes such as pineapple and kiwi. You can definitely taste the age on this 21 year old aged in oak barrels.
Price: $74.99 Add To Cart

2004 Domaine de Jouanda - Cask #43 "K&L Exclusive" Bas-Armagnac (750ml)
Review Date: 03-02-2020
Delicious and smooth armagnac that has spicy, toasty, aromatic notes that swirl in your glass with complexity and sweetness. Easy to drink as notes of caramel, light oak, tobacco and leather hits your senses. This K&L exclusive is a great buy!
Price: $59.99 Add To Cart

Suau 15 Year Old Spanish Brandy (750ml)
Review Date: 03-02-2020
This 15 year old Spanish brandy smells sweet and tropical on the nose with hints of banana, papaya and a little mango. The taste is super spicy with characteristics of black pepper, molasses, toasted caramel and toffee. This would go perfectly with a hawaiian style or carribean meal. Or a sipper on its own!
Price: Hidden View Price

Fukano 10 Year Old K&L Exclusive Single Cask Japanese Whisky (750ml)
Review Date: 03-02-2020
I was very surprised to learn there was such a thing as a rice whiskey! Oh what a delightful treat this is... beautifully silky smooth and aromatic. This 10 year old Fukano left me wanting more because 1) you can tell it's made from rice and therefore very delicate and smooth 2) bouquets of floral notes fill your senses with an enigmatic draw that almost puts you in a trance 3) Drinks so smooth. The viscosity is a perfect balance between accents of light vanilla oak, flowers blooming, light toffee notes that all just works! Definitely stock up while supplies last.
Price: $99.99 Add To Cart

2019 Allan Scott Family Sauvignon Blanc Marlborough
Review Date: 03-02-2020
This SB has got some zing to it! Super crisp, green apple,apricot and nectarine aromas come across so clearly in this New Zealand wine. What I love is that it tastes like a fancy summer “sitting on the porch” wine without the extravagant price one would expect to accompany such a tasty treat. Fruit forward, elegant and light – easily a regular “go to” chilled white wine to accompany your warm California days. Definitely a wine to stock before it’s all gone~ cheers and enjoy!
Price: $13.99 Add To Cart

2017 Broadley "Estate" Willamette Valley Pinot Noir
Review Date: 02-29-2020
This wine is delicious as hits of dark stone fruit explodes in your glass. Plum, apricots, dark cherry swirl on your palate. Exceptionally well-balanced and structured, the Broadley Estate Pinot Noir will leave you begging for more. Drink now!
Price: $24.99 Add To Cart

2016 Amici Napa Valley Cabernet Sauvignon
Review Date: 02-25-2020
This is a quintessential Napa Valley Cabernet Sauvignon - exactly what you expect it to be...BIG, BOLD, and VELVETY. The Amici Cab is smooth, luscious and slides right off your palate in a very easy to drink pairing with food or own its own. Ready to drink now, this bottle is a dinner table pleaser as juicy red fruits of berries, herbs and chocolate hits your palate. Perfect balance of oak and smoke makes this wine very well-balanced. I could see this vintage aging quite well too for at least another 5-10 years. Easily buy a case for your cellar or gifting for any occasion. Pairings include: red meats, seafood, heavy cheeses. Sip and enjoy!

2015 Carus Gaudio Chianti Classico Gran Selezione
Review Date: 02-25-2020
NOSE: Yes... dark, complex, layered, sweet and herbaceous. TASTE: elegant, oak-y, highly complex, smooth and well-structured. This Gaudio Gran Selezione is 90% Sangiovese and 10% Merlot that is well concentrated in the middle and would be perfect with food. I highly enjoyed the complex flavors and would age beautifully for a couple years. Excellent deal at $30, get it while supplies last!
Price: $29.99 Add To Cart

2012 Bollinger "Grande Année" Brut Champagne
Review Date: 02-21-2020
This wonderful treat is well worth the price! Traces of crisp apple, lemon and floral notes hits your senses and leaves them tingling for more! Super easy to drink and pairs well with mostly anything,.. this champagne is ready to drink now and would be absolutely lovely even 5-10 years from now. Savor and enjoy!
Price: $124.99 Add To Cart

Baron-Fuenté "Esprit" Brut Champagne
Review Date: 02-18-2020
Creamy, mouth watering and nice acidity are all great descriptors for this Baron Fuente Esprit. Easily one of the best buys K&L has to offer, this champagne does not disappoint and surprisingly offered at such a reasonable price of $34.99 when it drinks well above its price point. High quality toasted flavors and zippy citrus notes linger on your palate as the bubbles enhance the aromas all around. Easy to drink for any night of the week. Enjoy!

Krug "Grande Cuvée" 168ème Édition Brut Champagne
Review Date: 02-18-2020
Made from 190 discreet base reserve wines, this amazing Krug is set at 12.5% alcohol and tastes very similar to the 2012 Bolinger. In fact, when you first pop open this bottle, you can tell it's quality just from the fragrance that pours out of this beautiful champagne. Quality, integrity and perseverance paid off to produce this creamy, luscious and elegant champagne that is hard to come by. Definitely worth the wait and you won't be disappointed!
Price: $169.99 Add To Cart

2013 Franck Bonville "Millesime" Brut Blanc de Blancs Champagne
Review Date: 02-18-2020
This 5.83 g/L dosage champagne is shining brilliantly with notes of green apple crispness, spices and minerality to finish and balance this elegant bottle of bubbly. A blend of 96% chardonnay and 4% pinot noir, it has ripeness without losing acidity. You can tell it's made from estate fruit just from the flavors that are enhanced when it hits your palate. At $45 a bottle this will be a hard one to keep in stock!
Price: $44.99 Add To Cart

Krug "Grande Cuvée" 167 Ème Édition Brut Champagne
Review Date: 02-17-2020
This is easily the greatest value of Krug we have on our shelves. At 12% alcohol with a combination of 47% Pinot Noir, 36% Chardonnay and 17% Pinot Meunier this vibrant and rich champagne will not disappoint. It's based on the 2011 and 2012 vintages with 42% reserve dating back to 1995 and aged in Foyer barrel sizes. It would be fun to open a bottle every year to see how amazing bottle aging magic works! Plan to age this champagne for decades because it will only become more beautiful and delicious for years to come.

2008 Le Brun de Neuville "Grand Vintage" Brut Champagne
Review Date: 02-17-2020
I love this tasty, aromatic and complex champagne for it's ripeness, without losing acidity. It drinks above it's price point and is suitable for shellfish or hors d'oeuvre pairings. This beautiful "Grand Vintage" would be even more wonderful if allowed to age for a couple years in the cellar. The clean and round flavors would be enhanced dramatically given the high acid from this vintage.
Price: $44.99 Add To Cart

Franck Bonville Grand Cru Brut Blanc de Blancs Champagne
Review Date: 02-17-2020
This Franck Bonville blanc de blanc is a grand cru that is often sold by the case. It is a trendy champagne that delivers 8.33 g/L dosage and will leave notes of lemon, white apricots and hints of pear on the palate. If you love minerality and crisp acidity, then this Cote de Blanc is a champagne for you.
Price: $34.99 Add To Cart

Privateer Rum "Distiller's Drawer - K&L Exclusive" Bottled-In-Bond American Rum (750ml)
Review Date: 02-17-2020
This delicious and smooth rum drinks very similarly to a nice barrel aged whiskey. If you enjoy single malt scotches with a hint of toasted nutty aromas and caramel flavors, this is a fun rum to try that is not overly sweet. The privateer is a K&L exclusive american rum that stands up on its own. I enjoy drinking it neat and some of my colleagues enjoy it on the rocks. Either way it's a rum that won't disappoint. Enjoy~
Price: $69.99 Add To Cart

2014 Louise Brison Brut Champagne
Review Date: 02-17-2020
A collector bottle, the winemaker trained in dijon with a master's in winemaking. This organically grown and barrel fermented brut is an excellent purchase for any occasion. Ready to drink now, this staff favorite is hard to keep in stock. At $34.99 it's a steal and well worth above it's price tag. Let this be your "go to" bubbly as you stock the cellar. Cheers!
Price: $34.99 Add To Cart

Ariston Aspasie Reserve (formerly Carte Blanche) Brut Champagne
Review Date: 02-17-2020
This champagne is perfect for a New Year's Eve celebration bubbly as it's liveliness shines through and tantalizes your palate with crisp, juicy and refreshing notes. Aged 60 months on the lees, the Ariston Aspasie Reserve will not disappoint and at only $29.99 per bottle it's a steal. Chill, sip and enjoy!
Price: $29.99 Add To Cart

2017 Domaine de l'Amandine Côtes du Rhône-Villages Seguret
Review Date: 02-15-2020
Jammy, fruity, red berries and hints of dark cherry and plum on the nose. This silky red has much going for it in terms of tannins, mouth-feel and structure. Allow some time for this beautiful red to open up and breath.., then be amazed by the forward berry flavors that dance on your tongue and open up your airwaves as you inhale the fruity aromas arising from the glass. Sip and enjoy now~ Cheers!
Price: $14.99 Add To Cart

Baron-Fuenté "Esprit" Brut Nature Champagne
Review Date: 02-15-2020
This "Esprit" from Baron-Fuente is one that hits the ground running in terms of brightness. Amazing acid allows this to be aged in the cellar for a couple years, or drink right away if desired. Easily pairs well with a meal or weekend celebration for all occasions. Enjoy chilled!
Price: $34.99 Add To Cart

Baron-Fuenté "Grande Réserve" Brut Champagne
Review Date: 02-15-2020
This champagne is one for toasting! Having aged 3 years on the lees (4 years for magnum size) the toasty nut flavors shine through and hit my taste buds dancing. Mad with 40% reserve wines, the liveliness and acidity leave you feeling refreshed and ready to tackle your meal. Delicious for any occasion. Cheers!

Franck Bonville "Belles Voyes" Brut Blanc de Blancs Champagne
Review Date: 02-15-2020
Delicious sparkling champagne that's perfect for any special gathering or event. Notes of anise, clover and and honey shine through on this fine blanc de blanc. The mouth feel is exquisite when combined with any savory meal of fish, red meats or fresh grilled vegetables. Easy to drink now or save for a few years in the cellar. Cheers!
Price: $69.99 Add To Cart