Local Delivery Available Curbside 11am-6pm Daily Stores Temporarily Closed

Staff Favorites - Jennifer Lee

Jennifer Lee

Reviews

2015 Arnauton, Fronsac
Review Date: 01-04-2021
What a treat this bordeaux is to taste. Firstly, these lovely chocolate and fruit forward berry notes hits your nose. As I kept swirling the wine in my glass to nose, the flavors kept building and building upon complexity and the boldness that is characteristic of bordeaux comes out. These deep, darker complex flavors of spices, herbs, a hint of smokiness and robust strength emerge from the glass and evolve into the undertones of dark berries, some fruit leather and hints of tobacco. Lastly, the structure of this Arnauton Fronsac is so unique and exquisite that it just left me longing for more...because of it's smooth and exotic finish. Well done and enjoy. Cheers!
Price: $17.99 Add To Cart

2018 Te Mata "Awatea" Bordeaux Blend Hawke's Bay
Review Date: 12-26-2020
Savory, lush, perfectly balanced oak with hint a hint of greenery and some blue fruit tones. This Cab/Merlot blend from NZ delivers what you expect of it...strong earthy and fruit forward notes, that's supported by the medium body from Merlot grapes and holds its structure well to finish. Super easy to drink now.
Price: $29.99 Add To Cart

Ariston Aspasie "Réserve" Brut Champagne
Review Date: 12-23-2020
This champagne is perfect for a New Year's Eve celebration bubbly as it's liveliness shines through and tantalizes your palate with crisp, juicy and refreshing notes. Aged 60 months on the lees, the Ariston Aspasie Reserve will not disappoint and at only $29.99 per bottle it's a steal. Chill, sip and enjoy.
Price: $29.99 Add To Cart

2019 Smith & Sheth "Cru" Sauvignon Blanc Wairau Valley Marlborough
Review Date: 12-13-2020
I get pleasant flavors of passion fruit, dragon fruit, lychee and guava from this delicious SB from Marlborough. If you enjoy tropical fruits, this one is definitely one to stock up and share with your loved ones. This was super fun to sip and analyze all night long, and the flavors just kept getting better and better. At this amazing price, easily a case purchase. What are you waiting for? Cheers.

2015 Timo Mayer Cabernet Sauvignon Yarra Valley Victoria
Review Date: 11-13-2020
This is what wine should taste like. Wow. Beautiful, seriously cab here. It's got all the flavors you expect from a cab: earthy, spicy, herbs, bell pepper aromas. However, on the palate is where this Cab surprised me. Aromatically sweet and light, velvety, solid structure. Not what you expect and leaves you pleasantly surprised. I highly enjoyed this and you will too. Enjoy!
Price: Hidden View Price

2019 Villa Maria "Taylor's Pass" Sauvignon Blanc Marlborough
Review Date: 11-09-2020
Clean, long easy finish that has supple, refreshing flavors. I get honey, green apple, melon, honeycomb and nectarine flavors from this light and easy to drink Sauvignon Blanc. Really it's everything you expect and want from a SB. Buy, drink and enjoy!

2012 Louis Roederer "Cristal" Brut Champagne
Review Date: 11-08-2020
I love the back story Gary gives of the packaging of this bottle...how an old Russian Tzar demanded that the bottle be clear (to easily see if it was poisoned) and there be no punt on the bottom (to prevent possible bombs hiding there). 100% biodynamically farmed and estate grown, this 60% pinot noir and 40% chardonnay 2012 Cristal is phenomenal. On the nose sweet crisp green apple notes and honey fill my senses. On the palate super savory flavors, chalk and lots of tiny and powerful bubbles emerge with an intense minerality undertone throughout. I also get umami flavors of mushroom and even oyster on the half shell (a great pairing too!) Needless to say, the bottle price does not disappoint, and I'm sure you will find this champagne does not disappoint either. Great for holiday gifting and definitely a crowd pleaser.

Bollinger Brut Rosé Champagne
Review Date: 10-26-2020
Gary kindly opened this tasty Bollinger Rose the other night and it's simply delectable! I got fresh strawberries, sweetness, minerality and a hint of a chalky finish. The acidity pinches the corners of my jaw that makes me go ... "Ahhhhh".

2008 Taittinger "Comtes de Champagne" Brut Blanc de Blancs Champagne
Review Date: 10-18-2020
Elegant. That's my first reaction to this fine bubbled champagne. The delightful notes of buttery, crisp, lemon citrus tantalizes my senses as I am completely blown away by this 2008 vintage, which is one of the best vintages in champagne. I especially enjoyed the brioche composition that holds all the flavors together -- which to my surprise included some savory characters too. It really DOES have it all and would be the perfect bottle for any special occasion, holiday celebration or gifting.

Angel's Envy 100 Proof Rye Whiskey (750ml)
Review Date: 09-14-2020
Butterscotch. Toasted Caramel. Brown sugar. But mainly, butterscotch. I love butterscotch, so naturally I gravitated towards this Angel's envy like a child in a candy store. In fact, you could even make the comparison that this is liquid butterscotch "candy" for adults. On the palate this rye whiskey is smooth and supple and goes down super easy. I love to drink it as digestif after dinner, but you could easily make this an anytime sipper. If you love sweet flavors and rye, you'll love this one. You won't regret it.
Price: $79.99 Add To Cart

2006 Glen Scotia "Malts Festival 2020 Limited Edition" Tawny Port Finish Peated Campbeltown Single Malt Scotch Whisky (750ml)
Review Date: 09-14-2020
Ahhh one of my favorite producers, Glen Scotia has hit it out of the ballpark again with this tawny port cask aged malt that gives off hibiscus, light oak and toasted grains on the nose while providing a heavy viscous mouthfeel. On the palate I get notes of orange flower, spices and dark cherries with a dusting of peat characters. Exploding with fun flavors, you'll be nosing this malt all night long with your friends as you divulge into the nuanced flavors this Glen Scotia has to offer. A must buy!
Price: $84.99 Add To Cart

2017 Carbonnieux Blanc, Pessac-Léognan
Review Date: 09-01-2020
I was pleasantly surprised by this white bordeaux composed of 60% Sauvignon Blanc and 40% Semillon, with notes of caramel, cabbage and citrus on the nose, and the palate exhibiting savory mushroom, lemon and melon characteristics. At 13% alcohol this medium bodied wine is an easy sipper and pairs well with seafood or on its own. Enjoy!

2015 Leeuwin "Art Series" Cabernet Sauvignon Margaret River Western Australia
Review Date: 08-13-2020
On the nose this super aromatic wine expresses cherry, cranberry, and raspberry notes. On the palate it's a very smooth, velvety, and silky Cab that shows itself to be a medium bodied, well structured wine expressing purple plum, dark chocolate, strawberry, blueberry, and black currant flavors. A soft finish of green peppercorn, and low alcohol (13.5%), allows the fruity characteristics to shine, and easily leaves me longing for more!

Grand Mayan Ultra Aged Extra Añejo Tequila (750ml) (Cannot ship - Local Delivery/Curbside Pickup Only)
Review Date: 07-19-2020
This Grand Mayan tequila is delicious for sipping as it has smooth notes of brown sugar and clove spices. The anejo exhibits a nice golden brown hue in the glass and what I love is that it's not harsh at all. I'm not a big tequila drinker but I find myself going back for sip after sip on this one.
Price: $79.99 Add To Cart

Canard-Duchêne Brut Champagne
Review Date: 05-19-2020
This is a delicious Canard Duchene champagne that Gary has generously opened for us to taste. Immediately the nose hits me with minerality and pear aromas with some lingering hints of citrus. The taste is a perfect blend of crispness, savory notes and elegant breadth that's well balanced and able to hold its own. At times it does remind me of fresh bread or toasted crackers. For the price this is an excellent and tasty champagne and definitely a crowd pleaser. Cheers!
Price: $29.99 Add To Cart

2017 Mount Langi Ghiran "Cliff Edge" Shiraz Grampains
Review Date: 03-23-2020
First off, let me be frank in that I usually don't enjoy Shiraz flavors, BUT, I highly enjoyed this one -- and would be excited to share this with friends at a dinner party. I love the floral and dark stone fruit + blue fruit aromas, and also the peppery, light tobacco and light smoky notes. Herbaceous and dank flavors come to mind as the wine lingers on your palate. Truly a great deal for this amazing price -- definitely punches above the $19.99 offering. So my advice, pick up a few bottles and stock that cellar while you can! I'll be sipping this bottle all night long. Cheers!
Price: $19.99 Add To Cart

2016 Miguel Merino "La Loma" Rioja
Review Date: 03-03-2020
Vines planted in 1946 from a single vineyard, this 90% tempranillo and 10% grenache reserva is aged 15 months in barrel. The vines are planted in calcareous soil which has good drainage and vines have to go deep into the soil for water. The NOSE on this wine is excellent and just smells like "yum" with sweet, fruit forward aromas. The taste is just as satisfying with smooth, velvety and sweet textures. A juicy and perfectly balanced wine, it's perfect to drink now (by itself or with a meal) or age for a few years to add complexity. Time to stock up!
Price: Hidden View Price

Broken Shed New Zealand Whey Vodka (750ml)
Review Date: 03-02-2020
Surprisingly easy to drink as I found myself sipping this light, refreshing and tasty vodka. Mind you, I'm not a vodka person at all, but I found myself enjoying this one and it's relative freshness that is very palatable on it's own or in a dirty martini. I'm buying this one for all my vodka loving friends!
Price: $24.99 Add To Cart

2015 Carus Gaudio Chianti Classico Gran Selezione
Review Date: 02-25-2020
NOSE: Yes... dark, complex, layered, sweet and herbaceous. TASTE: elegant, oak-y, highly complex, smooth and well-structured. This Gaudio Gran Selezione is 90% Sangiovese and 10% Merlot that is well concentrated in the middle and would be perfect with food. I highly enjoyed the complex flavors and would age beautifully for a couple years. Excellent deal at $30, get it while supplies last!
Price: $29.99 Add To Cart

Baron-Fuenté "Esprit" Brut Champagne
Review Date: 02-18-2020
Creamy, mouth watering and nice acidity are all great descriptors for this Baron Fuente Esprit. Easily one of the best buys K&L has to offer, this champagne does not disappoint and surprisingly offered at such a reasonable price of $34.99 when it drinks well above its price point. High quality toasted flavors and zippy citrus notes linger on your palate as the bubbles enhance the aromas all around. Easy to drink for any night of the week. Enjoy!

2013 Franck Bonville "Millesime" Brut Blanc de Blancs Champagne
Review Date: 02-18-2020
This 5.83 g/L dosage champagne is shining brilliantly with notes of green apple crispness, spices and minerality to finish and balance this elegant bottle of bubbly. A blend of 96% chardonnay and 4% pinot noir, it has ripeness without losing acidity. You can tell it's made from estate fruit just from the flavors that are enhanced when it hits your palate. At $45 a bottle this will be a hard one to keep in stock!
Price: $44.99 Add To Cart

Wine Club

$34.99

2008 Le Brun de Neuville "Grand Vintage" Brut Champagne
Review Date: 02-17-2020
I love this tasty, aromatic and complex champagne for it's ripeness, without losing acidity. It drinks above it's price point and is suitable for shellfish or hors d'oeuvre pairings. This beautiful "Grand Vintage" would be even more wonderful if allowed to age for a couple years in the cellar. The clean and round flavors would be enhanced dramatically given the high acid from this vintage.
Price: $49.99 Add To Cart

Baron-Fuenté "Esprit" Brut Nature Champagne
Review Date: 02-15-2020
This "Esprit" from Baron-Fuente is one that hits the ground running in terms of brightness. Amazing acid allows this to be aged in the cellar for a couple years, or drink right away if desired. Easily pairs well with a meal or weekend celebration for all occasions. Enjoy chilled!
Price: $34.99 Add To Cart

Baron-Fuenté "Grande Réserve" Brut Champagne
Review Date: 02-15-2020
This champagne is one for toasting! Having aged 3 years on the lees (4 years for magnum size) the toasty nut flavors shine through and hit my taste buds dancing. Mad with 40% reserve wines, the liveliness and acidity leave you feeling refreshed and ready to tackle your meal. Delicious for any occasion. Cheers!

Franck Bonville "Belles Voyes" Brut Blanc de Blancs Champagne
Review Date: 02-15-2020
Delicious sparkling champagne that's perfect for any special gathering or event. Notes of anise, clover and and honey shine through on this fine blanc de blanc. The mouth feel is exquisite when combined with any savory meal of fish, red meats or fresh grilled vegetables. Easy to drink now or save for a few years in the cellar. Cheers!
Price: $69.99 Add To Cart