Local Delivery Available Curbside 11am-6pm Daily Stores Temporarily Closed

Staff Favorites - Lauren Seward

Lauren Seward

Reviews

2015 Leeuwin "Art Series" Cabernet Sauvignon Margaret River Western Australia
Review Date: 08-10-2020
I thought the 2014 vintage was a steal, but the new vintage is a quick favorite of mine. This is high quality cab at a medium tier price point, especially considering our incredible deal at almost a half of prices found elsewhere. Smokey and bright red fruit aromas are prevalent, with more subtle vanilla, herbaceous, and cranberry notes appearing as the wine opens. The taste is full, warm, and lush with notes of red fruit, blackberries, and a noticeable but refined amount of French oak aging. While tannic and structured with an easy balance, the wine finishes long and earthy. At $40 this is a killer deal and shows great aging potential.

2019 L'Aigle À Deux Têtes Trousseau Côtes du Jura Rouge
Review Date: 06-21-2020
I haven't had any Trousseaus that make me stop in my tracks quite like this one did. Its stunning bouquet walks the line between rich & earthy and bright & fruity. Upon first sniff, an alluring blend of blood orange, clove & nutmeg, toasted orange rind, cola, and stewed cherries is so prepossessing that I am almost encouraged to keep sniffing and skip the tasting step altogether. However a flavor profile of cola spice, blackberry jam, plum, and Juicy Fruit brand gum makes me happy I continued. I hadn't considered chilling the wine until reading Keith's review, but I agree that this would be a lovely red to chill for the warmer months. It will hold up well to dinner tables, but can also be enjoyed on its own due to its light body and almost-effervescent acidity.
Price: $24.99 Add To Cart

2018 Domaine de l'Aigle À Deux Têtes "Les Clous" Poulsard Côtes du Jura Rouge
Review Date: 06-16-2020
Glass Full image Glass Full image Glass Full image Glass Full image Glass Half image
Red-fruited and herbacious aromas galore! This 2018 Poulsard from the ever-loved Les Clous vineyard in Jura is a generous light-bodied red. This is one of those wines that keeps on giving, glass after glass. While light in body and color, it is super full in flavor. Bright fruit notes like tart strawberry and ripe cherry jump out at first sip, while a sparkling minerality and the faintest hint of earthy mushrooms really elevate the wine. It is bursting with an agreeable acidity that I believe will strongly aid in the wine's aging potential.
Price: $34.99 Add To Cart

2019 Château de Montfaucon Lirac Rosé
Review Date: 06-08-2020
I have to agree with Sharon below: this isn’t a light, delicate sipper like many rosés from southern France. Montfaucon’s 2019 Lirac Rose is fuller-bodied, intensely perfumed, rich in structure, and has that “wow” factor that draws you in with each sip. Treat yourself to aromas of fresh strawberries, bubblegum, white peach, and that addicting scent of pavement after the first rain of the season. On the palate lies a brief (but powerful) burst of acidity, followed by notes of blood orange, stewed cranberries, and white tea. This will be a great pairing for lighter summer meals, however I would dare even encourage this as a Thanksgving pre-dinner aperitif if we have it in stock come holiday time.
Price: $14.99 Add To Cart

Canard-Duchêne Brut Champagne
Review Date: 05-19-2020
Glass Full image Glass Full image Glass Full image Glass Full image Glass Empty image
A toasty, fuller-bodied Champagne with a zingy acidity and well-rounded palate. The Canard-Duchene Brut is super concentrated in lemon zest and brioche flavors, and impresses with a salty minerality and generous stone fruit finish. This is a stunning bubbler that will impress those with a penchant for quality Champagne. This would be an incredible dinner pairing and would just sing if enjoyed alongside a spread of cheeses.
Price: $29.99 Add To Cart

2017 Mount Langi Ghiran "Cliff Edge" Shiraz Grampains
Review Date: 03-23-2020
A stunning, fleshy Shiraz with such an expressive bouquet! Aromas range from bright and awake (raspberries, blackberries, lilac, snappy black pepper) to dark and broody (cigar smoke, dust, wet earth, stewed dark fruit). There is some presence of oak that really rounds it out. The full mouthfeel is rich of similar flavors as its aromas, and is witness to a sparkling acidity that gives it a youthful kick. We opened this about 45 minutes prior to drinking, and thought it had opened up well in that time. Great to the last drop!
Price: $19.99 Add To Cart

Broken Shed New Zealand Whey Vodka (750ml)
Review Date: 03-02-2020
I sampled this at a recent tasting in our store and was really delighted! In general I am not a fan of sipping spirits, but I found this vodka to have enough body and smoothness that it was quite enjoyable on its own. There was very little burn, and it didn't even need to be chilled to go down smoothly. This would be a great base for a vodka martini.
Price: $24.99 Add To Cart

2017 Domaine Giraud "Tradition" Châteauneuf-du-Pape
Review Date: 02-25-2020
Another lovely addition to our CDP offerings. This Grenache-heavy GSM is full-bodied, super velvety, and has a seductive aroma of black cherries, washed stone, cool mint, anise, and candied plums. There is a noticable oak presence, without it taking over the flavor profile. Notes of licorice, dark fruit, and wet rock flavors swirl about as the wine opens up - I suggest a short decant of about half an hour for it to reach its peak.

Baron-Fuenté "Esprit" Brut Champagne
Review Date: 02-18-2020
Baron-Fuente does it again! This wine took an insanely long time to make, and deserves some genuine appreciation. A balanced blend of equal parts Pinot Meunier, Pinot Noir, and Chardonnay from three vintages, the Esprit Brut has a delicate dusty apple and brioche component to its bouquet that is wonderfully contrasted by zippy citrus, almond, and minerally flavors.

Baron-Fuenté "Grande Réserve" Brut Champagne
Review Date: 02-16-2020
Don't let the price fool you! This is one of the best deals in our entire Champagne collection and is THE go-to for K&L staffers looking for a last-minute bubbly. A Muenier-forward blend from far-western Champagne that spent 3 years on the lees, this bottle is toasty and nutty on the aromatics, with a fruity palate and very balanced acidity. Looking to spice it up at your next party? Consider purchasing this in magnum format - it is even better and was aged for an extra year on the lees.

2018 Cellier des Dauphins "Réserve" Côtes-du-Rhône
Review Date: 02-16-2020
"Oh my that smells incredible" was all I could utter among first sniff. One of the best value wines to land on our shelves in the past few months, this CDR from Cellier des Dauphins is sure to impress. This wine is hyper-fragrant with a combination of fresh red fruit, rich dark berries, pepper, violets, and enough earth to compete against all of that. The palate is sweetly-fruited, a little spicy, silky, and of a fairly delicate mouthfeel that will lend itself well to all sorts of drinking activities: a casual dinner, time with friends on the patio in warm weather, a post-work glass, the opportunities are endless! Do yourself a favor and come purchase a cart full of this 97-pointer before it's all gone.
Price: $12.99 Add To Cart

2017 Nor'Wester by Greystone Pinot Noir North Canterbury
Review Date: 12-31-2019
Another stunning Pinot hailing from the lesser-known North Canterbury. At $20 a pop, this earthy and savory red is a real steal. The richer tones are met with bright red fruit, some spiciness, and a fresh acidity, rounding this out as a truly food-friendly wine. This would be a option to buy by the case and not worry about popping open on a Tuesday night – while still genuinely enjoying what’s in the bottle.