Reviewers


K&L Email Alerts

Sign up to receive custom alerts, new arrivals and the latest happenings from K&L Wines


Staff Favorites - Andrew Tobin

Andrew Tobin

Reviews

2017 Domaine du Vissoux (Pierre-Marie Chermette) Moulin-à-Vent "Les Trois Roches"
Review Date: 09-10-2019
I first experienced this wine by walking in on our buyer Alex Pross blind tasting a few staff members on it, having them make a guess as to what they thought it was. This wine really does throw you for a bit of a loop when you first experience it. The Beaujolais fruit is there, but with an underpinning of spice savory nose that if not expecting it could lead you down a path towards the Rhone. The palate is deep and complex with notes of red berries, raw meat, cracked pepper, and an almost floral finish. This is a wine that will change minds about this region and give it the respect it truly deserves!

Foursquare Rum Distillery 14 Year Old "Empery" Exceptional Cask Selection Mark IX Single Blended Barbados Rum (750ml)
Review Date: 09-03-2019
I had the pleasure of opening this beautiful bottle of Foursquare rum and spending some time with it, rather than just tasting, to know what it's about. Foursquare is well known for their high-quality and often unique blends, and this is truly no exception. On the nose, I noticed an interesting gunpowder note floating atop beautiful notes of redwood, stone fruit, and sweet vanilla. The palate is round and robust, with the wood notes really showing through beautifuly. The finish is laced with caramel, stone fruit, and woody tannin. This is truly a rum drinkers rum, which had me sitting back and thinking about it all evening. And I will consider that an evening well spent! Get one while they last because these Foursquare are not to be missed!
Price: $99.99 Add To Cart

2017 La Chablisiènne Chablis 1er Cru "Montée de Tonnerre"
Review Date: 09-03-2019
Enough good can not be said about the wines La Chablisienne is producing! the 2016 Montee De Tonnerre was one of my favorite Chablis' that we carried and the 2017 is even more special. Not as tropical of a vintage, the year was plagued by cold weather and hail, but out of those low yields comes something truly special. The nose is flinty with clear notes of apple, a little bit of beeswax, and white blossoms. What I love so much about the wine though is the palate. It maintains a perfect acidity with bright fruit but a rich and round mouth feel. This is a must have! I know I'll be taking it home with me.

2008 Laurent-Perrier Brut Champagne
Review Date: 08-12-2019
As a staff we had a chance to taste with our Laurent-Perrier rep not long ago, but at the time they didn't have an '08 for us to try. Given how spectacular the year was an how the other wines were showing I couldn't wait to get my hands on a sample and was not disappointed! A 50/50 split of Chardonnay and Pinot Noir and made of entirely Grand Cru fruit the wine shows beautifully with notes of lemon meringue, grapefruit and vanilla. The palate is just the right balance of acid with hints of graham cracker, bright citrus, and a wonderfully long finish. Wine like this will only get better with age so make sure you get some before it's gone!
Price: $69.99 Add To Cart

Laurent-Perrier "Grand Siècle" Iteration #24 Brut Champagne
Review Date: 08-06-2019
The first of the new line of numbered Grand Siecle to be introduced by Laurent-Perrier. It's a lovely multi-vintage blend that displays notes of clotted cream, stone fruit, and honeysuckle. Not enough good can be said about the Grand Siecle, and given the wines they are competing with they are truly holding their own!

Laurent-Perrier "Grand Siècle" Brut Champagne
Review Date: 08-06-2019
A true Multi-Vintage wine, Grand Siecle is always such a treat! This is the last bottling that will go unnumbered as they move towards a new bottling recognition. The wine is stunning with notes of stone fruit, iodine, apple blossom and a touch of cream. Get these while they last. wine this good doesn't stay around long!

2012 Franck Bonville "Pur Mesnil" Brut Blanc de Blancs Champagne
Review Date: 08-06-2019
All Grand Cru Chardonnay, all stainless steel and bursting out of the glass with fervor the Pur Oger is a beautifully clean wine that shows off how wonderfully versatile chardonnay actually is! I get notes of melon, and vanilla on the nose with a hint of orange. The palate is bright and lively with notes of bitter orange, a slight waxiness, and wonderful white flowers. Bonville is always a great choice!
Price: $64.99 Add To Cart
WE 94 RP 93

2012 Franck Bonville "Pur Oger" Brut Blanc de Blancs Champagne
Review Date: 08-06-2019
Round and inviting, this is another beautiful single vineyard expression from Bonville. He produces the Pur Oger, Pur Avize, and the Pur Mesnil all the same way. All Grand Cru Chardonnay, all stainless steel, and all 2 grams of dosage to let you truly see what the vineyard is offering. Rich and robust with notes of graham cracker and a slight mushroom note that is more common in Pinot Meunier but chardonnay works wonders when treated with this much care! Don't miss out on these while we have them!
Price: $64.99 Add To Cart
RP 94 WE 93

2012 Franck Bonville "Pur Avize" Brut Blanc de Blancs Champagne
Review Date: 08-06-2019
Somewhere in between Bonville's Pur Oger and Pur Mesnil this is really a "best of both worlds" wine. Not quite as bright and tart as the Mesnil, but not as round and robust as the Oger the Pur Avize is beautiful with distinct honeysuckle, beeswax, round orange and a light flinty quality Bonville has created something truly beautiful!
Price: $64.99 Add To Cart
WE 94 RP 92

2016 Xanadu Estate Cabernet Sauvignon Margaret River Western Australia
Review Date: 07-30-2019
I loved the previous vintage of the Margaret River Cabernet, so I was very excited when our buyer, Thomas, brought in the new vintage for us to try. Like the previous vintage, the first thing that strikes me is the mint on the nose. But unlike the previous vintage, this combines beautifully with notes of chocolate, blackberry, and boysenberry, reminding me of high-end Swiss chocolate. The palate is lively, jumping out with mixed berry, plum, chocolate, fresh herbs, and that beautiful mint chocolate. This is an entirely unique Cabernet that for the price, everyone needs to experience!
Price: $24.99 Add To Cart

2017 Domaine Jean-Michel Dupre "Le Grottier" Morgon
Review Date: 07-27-2019
Another new Dupre offering here at K&L, Jean-Michel makes some of our favorite Beaujolais and our love for his wines has translated to our customers as well. Deep, complex, and infinitely drinkable, these can't afford to be missed. Le Griottier is soft with notes of strawberry., watermelon, the trademark "bubblegum", and rich baking spice blend. The palate is to die for. The stewed strawberry and cherry blends nicely with notes of fresh earth, a bit of a dusty mid palate, and a long and savory finish. Once again Mr. Dupre will be getting my money!
Price: $16.99 Add To Cart
JS 94

2017 Domaine Jean-Michel Dupre "Cote du Py" Morgon
Review Date: 07-27-2019
Having had the good fortune of meeting Jean-Michel Dupre when he visited K&L earlier this year (and loving his wines) I was excited to see an offering from him I had not yet tried. compared to his other Morgon (the 1935) this has a softer and more rounded fruit profile, more like stewed plums than cherry, I find more cinnamon and a bit of fresh turned earth on the nose as well. The palate is lovely with soft fruit, darker baking spice notes and an almost olive tapenade like note. I must say this might be a little too drinkable for its own good, and if history says anything these lovely Dupre wines won't last long on our shelves!
Price: $17.99 Add To Cart
JS 95

2017 Jean-Michel Dupre "1935" Morgon
Review Date: 07-27-2019
Jean Michel Dupre is a masterful winemaker whose Beaujolais never ceases to intrigue. The aptly named 1935 (the year in which the vines were planted) is a wonderful example of how approachable yet complex his wines really can be. The nose is full of cherries, baking spice, rose pedals and plum that has evolved even as I sit writing this. The palate is bright and lively and the cherry has translated beautifully. With some mild tannin and rich spice this is always an easy choice in my book!
Price: $13.99 Add To Cart
WE 92

2016 Jacques Bavard Bourgogne Blanc
Review Date: 07-19-2019
What a beautiful show of what Bourgogne blanc can be! The nose blooms with notes of white flowers, lavender, and honeysuckle. The palate has lovely mouthfeel with some bees wax, tart apple, and a softer vanilla and rich meringue. If you are looking for a round and rich white Burgundy, this is hard to beat at the price!
Price: $19.99 Add To Cart

2017 Olivier Leflaive Bourgogne Blanc "Les Sétilles"
Review Date: 07-16-2019
Olivier Leflaive seems to always bring some amazing wines to the table at all price points. His Bourgogne Blanc is lively and full of lemon meringue, crunchy green apple, and clean chalk minterality that leaves your mouth water. Infinitely drinkable and ever so food friendly this should be in everyone's cellar!
Price: $21.99 Add To Cart
JS 91 DC 90

2007 Foursquare Rum Distillery 12 Year Old "Ex-Bourbon Cask" Exceptional Cask Selection Mark VI Single Blended Barbados Rum (750ml)
Review Date: 06-24-2019
Foursquare is one of the legends of the rum world, producing some of the richest and most interesting rums in modern production. The 2007 is absolutely no exception. I picked up a bottle for myself recently and was floored the moment I poured myself a glass. Lovely notes of stone fruit, toffee, anise, and apple jump out. The palate is warm and round, the toffee turns towards a salted caramel hint with notes of guava, cinnamon, treacle and to my palate a rich coffee finish. If you are a whiskey drinker looking to get into rum, this is a no-brainer, and to our rum drinkers out there, this is a must have!
Price: $74.99 Add To Cart

Bapt & Clem 12 Year Old "Savanna Distillery" Réunion Rum (750ml)
Review Date: 06-15-2019
It is a rare day when we get to try Rum from Savanna Distillery in the US. Bapt & Clem's have done a fantastic job sourcing and aging this little beauty. the nose is full of ginger and baking spices, green grass and herbs, and if you let it linger for a moment you get hints of caramel. the palate is bright and dry, beautifully spiced with just a hint of sweet vanilla and caramel before fading into an even and dry finish. This is the perfect gift for any rum drinker!
Price: Hidden View Price

2012 Le Brun de Neuville "Grand Vintage" Brut Rosé Champagne
Review Date: 05-07-2019
Now this wine is a bit of a math problem. It starts with 2/3 Chardonnay, and then they ferment 17% of the remainder as red Pinot Noir, and the remaining as white Pinot Noir giving it a pinkish orange hue. The nose is all strawberry and strawberry shortcake with hints of cherry. The palate has a biting minerality that is chalky and wonderful. The strawberry is there with light cherry blossom and white flowers.
Price: $49.99 Add To Cart

1995 Charles Heidsieck "Blanc des Millénaires" Brut Champagne
Review Date: 05-07-2019
Now this is a treat! 100% chardonnay from 1995? Yes Please! The nose jumps out with notes of kettle corn, cornbread, and toast. After you swirl it in the glass a little the heavy toast blows off giving way to cherry blossom, caramel, and brown sugar. The palate is soft and round with baked apples, baking spice, and brown sugar. If you want a beautiful bottle to celebrate with and you like chardonnay based champagne, look no further!

Dérot-Delugny "Cuvée Fondateurs" Brut
Review Date: 05-07-2019
In the world of champagne, painfully few varietals are permitted to be turned into the lovely sparkling wine that we all love. When we got to try this bottle though, I was shocked to find that it is made entirely of Pinot Gris. Unlike almost any other sparkling I have tried, this will hold a place in my memory for its maple nose mixed with cherry, and slight sherry note. The palate is beautiful with a combination of bright green apple, and round spiced golden apples.I would recommend anyone give this a try, you are not likely to see much like it again!
Price: $49.99 Add To Cart

Le Brun de Neuville "Authentique Assemblage" Brut Champagne
Review Date: 05-07-2019
Here at K&L we are fortunate to have several direct imports from some really fantastic producers. Le Brun is a rather large co-op that we bring in, and that means we get some amazing wine for unbelievable value! The Authentique is a make up for 60% Chardonnay and 40% Pinot Noir with a wonderfully nutty round nose, notes of ginger and baking spice that translates beautifully to the palate with a hint of stone fruit.

Alexandre Le Brun "Tradition" Brut Champagne
Review Date: 05-07-2019
Alexandre Le Brun grows some spectacular fruit, and something around 70% goes to Bollinger, and keeps the best for himself. The vines are averaging 40 years of age now, maturing beautifully and producing amazing fruit. The Tradition is rich and toasty on the nose, with notes of pastry cream, almond, and sweet nut butter. the palate though comes through with wonderful acidity, tart apple, and under-ripe berries. This is a classic and elegant champagne that is as perfect for celebration as it is for winding down and relaxing at the end of an evening.
Price: $34.99 Add To Cart

Franck Bonville Grand Cru Brut Blanc de Blancs Champagne
Review Date: 05-07-2019
I am a sucker for a good Blanc de Blanc. Something about the rich, round, honeyed quality that chardonnay based champagne can bring always puts a smile on my face. Franck Bonville is an exceptional producer, and when you can get your hands on a bottle of 100% Grand Cru fruit at a price this low, it's a no brainer in my mind. The nose is fot, with notes of cherry, vanilla, and white flowers. The Palate is laden with cashew, marzipan, and a long toasty finish. This is a beautiful wine made from exceptional fruit that for the the price, is going to be hard to beat!
Price: $34.99 Add To Cart
WS 90

Fallet-Dart "Grande Sélection" Brut Champagne
Review Date: 05-07-2019
The Faillet family have been known wine growers since the early 17th century, but it wasn't until the marriage of Gaston Faillet and Genevieve Dart in 1970 that the house of Faillet-Dart was formed. the Grande Selection is a blend of 70% Pinot Noir, and the and even split of Chardonnay and Pinot Meunier to round it out. The nose is toasty with notes of white florals, browned butter, and apples. The palate is rich with notes of under ripe stone fruit, apples, and a round marzipan finish.
Price: $34.99 Add To Cart

2014 La Chablisienne Chablis 1er Cru "Beauroy"
Review Date: 05-07-2019
Bright and beautiful, this is a wonderful example of what Chablis has to offer at incredible prices! La Chablisienne is a rather large Co-Op that produces a number of fantastic wines from village level, all the way to Grand Cru. the nose is laden with citrus, limestone, and restrained tropical notes. The palate is clean, driven by notes of green apple, lemon, and a long mineral driven finish. You will be hard pressed to find another premier cru this delightful and approachable in this price range!
Price: $26.99 Add To Cart
DC 93 RP 90

1988 Cambus 29 Year Old "Sovereign" K&L Exclusive Single Barrel Cask Strength Single Grain Scotch Whisky (750ml)
Review Date: 05-06-2019
I can't tell you how surprised and excited I was at first opening this bottle. Cambus has a long history of amazing whisky, but unfortunately was closed in 1992, making examples of its work harder and harder to find these days. "Ghost" distilleries always make for interesting buys, and I'm always nervous to open the bottles, for fear of falling in love, and being unable to find more, but I couldn't resist this one. Just looking at the beautiful golden straw hue of this bottle makes you smile, and seeing how low proof it is for a cask strength is just as enticing. The nose is delicate, with notes of toffee, coconut, creme brulée, and vanilla. The palate is round and warm, with the toffee and vanilla opening up the front end. The finish is coconut, and a long, elegant custard, with notes of orange. What a truly beautiful bottle!
Price: Hidden View Price

2017 Lúuma (AKA Wine Co.) Sonoma Coast Chardonnay
Review Date: 05-06-2019
Chardonnay seems to be one of the most divisive grapes on the market today, and I regularly have customers tell me they don't like it because of how buttery and oaked it is. While there are those Chards out there, it can also fall on the exact opposite end of the spectrum. The Luuma is a wonderful example of how bright and complex the grape can be. Sourcing fruit from Scribe, the wine only sees 20% oak, 10% of which is new. The rest is aged in stainless steel, making for a Chardonnay with notes of bright green apple, lemon, tropical pineapple, and white flowers. This is a perfect summer wine that regular chardonnay drinkers will love, and might change some minds if you're willing to give it a try!
Price: $19.95 Add To Cart

2016 Domaine Jean-Michel Giboulot Savigny-lès-Beaune 1er Cru "Aux Fournaux"
Review Date: 05-06-2019
This vintage of Aux Fournaux is beautiful, the nose opens with lovely ripe red and purple fruit mixed with purple flowers, harkening back to memories of summer and sunshine! Warm baking spice and cinnimon follow, reminding me of blackberry pie. The palate is bright and vibrant, with notes of cherry, blackberry, and gripping minerality. The back palate fades towards a metallic iron quality, telling me that this is a wine that will love food, and if decanted, will soften up and be perfect for a cheese plate with friends! Drink it now, or let this be an inexpensive way to grow your collection, and let it lay down for a few years, it will only get better with age!
Price: $32.99 Add To Cart

2017 Kumeu River "Maté's Vineyard" Chardonnay New Zealand
Review Date: 04-16-2019
We had the pleasure of tasting three different Kumeu Chardonnay's in a row to really get a full grasp of what they are doing. The consensus among the staff was a resounding "wow", especially the "Mate's Vineyard". The nose is round, with notes of buttered popcorn, honeysuckle, green apple, and lemon meringue. The palate is bright, with a biting acid, lovely salinity, and finishes with rounder notes of honey, popcorn, and lemon rind. If you are a California Chardonnay fan who is looking to branch out, you need to try this! For any fans of new Zealand, this is a must have!

Mortlach 16 Year-Old "Distiller's Dram" Single Malt Scotch Whisky (750ml) (ships like a 1.5 L bottle due to shape)
Review Date: 04-09-2019
Mortlach Distillery, nicknamed "The Beast of Dufftown," is a very unique whisky for Speyside. Many of its neighbors produce elegant, softer Scotch; Mortlach comes to the table with familiar Speyside qualities, but it brings the weight of Highland Scotch. The nose opens with notes of raisin, roasted apples, nutmeg and cinnamon, dates, and light chocolate. The palate is rich and weighty, with notes of apples, baking spice, dried fruit, and OlorosO Sherry (likely due to its aging in ex-sherry casks). This is one of my favorite standard release (not that any Mortlach is standard) Scotches I have had in a long time. If you are a whisky lover at all, this is a Scotch that needs to be experienced.
Price: $99.99 Add To Cart
WA 91

2017 Joyce "Submarine Canyon" Monterey County Pinot Noir
Review Date: 04-06-2019
Joyce has been growing in and around Monterey County since 1986, now over 30 years later, Russell Joyce, son of founder Francis Joyce, is now their winemaker, and focused on sourcing the best fruit from unique vineyard sights all over the area to create wine that is both delicious, and entirely individual. The Submarine Canyon is full of cherry, spice, notes of cola, and Potpourri. The palate is soft and light with lovely floral notes and a long, cherry finish. If you're looking for an easy drinking and effortlessly happy Pinot, this will be sure to please!
Price: $19.95 Add To Cart
WE 93

2016 Auteur "Green Acres Vineyard" Carneros Napa Valley Chardonnay
Review Date: 04-02-2019
The grapes in this wine have been cloned from the original Wente plantings in 1969, so there is a fair bit of California history that goes into this bottle, and you can really taste it! A perfectly balanced Chardonnay, the nose is even, with notes of bright green apple, round oak, butter, lemon grass, and a curious herbaceous quality. the palate is the perfect example of a California Chardonnay with a bright acidic start, that mellows out into rounder notes of browned butter, lemon, green apple, fresh herbs, and a soft vanilla.
Price: $49.95 Add To Cart
JD 96 RP 95

2015 DeLille "D2" Columbia Valley Bordeaux Blend
Review Date: 04-02-2019
What a spectacular example of wine making, not only as a process, but as an art form. This vintage of the DeLille "D2" is a Merlot heavy Bordeaux blend, coming in at 58% Merlot, 35% Cab Sauv, 6% Cab Franc, and finished with a splash of Petit Verdot. The nose jumps out of the glass with notes of plum, bramble fruit, baking spice, and cedar. The palate is round and velvety, with a wonderful herbaceous quality. DeLille has gone to insane lengths to produce a wine of this caliber by blending 60 individually fermented wines to get the exact profile and style they were going for. This is a wine for both old world and new world fans and we here at K&L can't recommend it highly enough!

2005 Balblair 13 Year Old "K&L Exclusive" Cask No. 224 Cask Strength Single Cask Highland Single Malt Whisky 750ml (ships as 1.5L)
Review Date: 03-30-2019
Distilled in 2005, this 13 year Balblair is something to behold. The nose is fruity and welcoming, with notes or orange, apricot, kumquat, and almond that adds a lovely creaminess to the bouquet. On second sniff you get baking spice and a hint of cleaner. The palate is warm and spicy with a slight hint of peat, malt, and a lovely nutty finish. All I can say is that for $90 this is one Scotch that you can't go wrong with!
Price: $89.99 Add To Cart

2016 Domaine Jean-Michel Giboulot Savigny-lès-Beaune
Review Date: 03-30-2019
This new vintage of Savigny-Les-Beaune is an absolute winner for its price range. whether you are looking for a nice Burgundy to sit and sip on a spring day, or a wine to bring to a dinner party, you can't go wrong here. With a nose of tart cherry and cranberry, roasted red apple, and subtle baking spices that intermingle with light red and purple florals; a palate that is round, driven by cherry, with a bit of a leather and mushroom, you will be hard pressed to find a more pleasant red burgundy for under $30.
Price: $27.99 Add To Cart

2017 Brea Santa Lucia Highlands Chardonnay
Review Date: 03-25-2019
The 2017 Brea SLH Chardonnay is a whole lot of wine for $17. Not only is it biodynamic, so as natural of a production as you can find, it's from an AVA that has made a name for itself by growing incredibly balanced, and honest Chardonnay. The nose is bright, with notes of apple, honeydew, honeysuckle, lemon, and lime zest. the palate is equally complex, with the addition of some white apple blossom, and the perfect hint of butter on the tail end, solidifying this as truly Californian. This is a wine that should please any fan of California Chardonnay, without that butter bomb that can sometimes plague the style. Bright enough to handle food, and soft enough to be drunk on it's own, this is a bottle you can't afford to pass by!
Price: $15.95 Add To Cart
WE 91

Kilchoman 9 Year Old "100% Islay Barley" K&L Exclusive Cask #549 Single Malt Scotch Whisky (750ml)
Review Date: 03-19-2019
Hand selected by our very own buyer here at K&L, this is a special experience. The nose is bold, with a sweet, salty, and somewhat briny nature that invites you in for a second draw; upon which the fruit jumps out of the glass with notes of apricot, that play off the sea notes for a balanced bouquet. The palate is incredibly balanced, with a smokey, sweet, and perfectly peated finish that lingers in the most pleasant way. Not only is this a unique example of Islay Scotch, but it is one that you will remember. Any serious Scotch drinker will revel in its complexity and balance, while anyone looking to try a nice bottle for the first time will not be disappointed!
Price: $149.99 Add To Cart

2015 Calluna "Cuvée CVC" Chalk Hill Bordeaux Blend
Review Date: 03-16-2019
Dominated by Merlot, this California Bordeaux Blend has a lot to offer for its price range. The nose opens with lovely notes of plum, bramble fruit, violet, and carrot puree. The palate is soft and balanced with round tannin's, notes of baking spice, chocolate, and leather. If you're looking for a nice Bordeaux blend with a clear Californian voice this is an easy decision!

2016 Mas de Sainte Croix "Douceur de Fruit" Côtes-du-Rhône
Review Date: 02-27-2019
A beautiful and approachable Rhone blend, this vintage of Douceur de Fruit jumps out of the glass with a bouquet of of bright cranberry, and blackberry, reminiscent of a winter jam. The fruit fades into more savory notes of cracked pepper and purple florals that I most associate with Granache-dominant wines like this one. The palate is light and not as bright as the nose. The blackberry comes through with notes of ash, white pepper, and savory salted pork. This is an absolutely ideal wine to have with a plate of cheese and charcuterie or roasted pork.
Price: $11.99 Add To Cart

Wine Club

$9.99