Reviewers


K&L Email Alerts

Sign up to receive custom alerts, new arrivals and the latest happenings from K&L Wines


Staff Favorites - Cameron Hoppas

Cameron Hoppas

Reviews

McKenzie Bottled-in-Bond Wheated Bourbon Whiskey (750ml)
Review Date: 06-04-2019
A delicious bourbon. I love the rich texture and sweet cereal aromas that the wheat offer. Dried apricot and citrus come through the butterscotch and vanilla notes. Mild soft baking spices, and caramelized wood round out the finish. This whiskey tells a story with beginning middle and end. Either sipping straight or in classic Old Fashioned, this whiskey is a pleasure unto itself.
Price: $44.99 Add To Cart

2017 Torbreck "Woodcutter's" Shiraz Barossa Valley South Australia
Review Date: 06-03-2019
I'm floored by the expressive aromatics on this wine. It screams classic Barossa, but aromas are so bright and fresh. Delicate purple florals, dark fruit, black/white pepper aromas waft above dense structure of rich umami flavors. An easy pairing with grilled red meats, but it may be even better with Korean BBQ!
Price: $19.99 Add To Cart
WS 93

2012 Albatreti Brunello di Montalcino
Review Date: 05-13-2019
What an outstanding find at such a great price. Classic Brunello with phenomenal structure. Dense with elegant tannins, this wine is mouth fillingly rich with juicy refreshing acidity. Dried cherries, chewy tannins, with tertiary aromas of leather and spice. With decanting, this wine drinks beautifully on it's own, but you may find yourself craving wild mushroom ragu, or wild boar sugo.
Price: $39.99 Add To Cart
JS 93

Fallet-Dart "Grande Sélection" Brut Champagne
Review Date: 05-13-2019
Fallet Dart produces extremely high quality wines. The "Grande Selection" stands out from their line up for the super fine bubbles and fresh aromas balancing out it's rich texture. Despite the long lees aging, and toasty aromas, the wine still carries lovely red fruit notes. This is truly top quality wine at a phenomenal value.
Price: $34.99 Add To Cart

1995 Le Brun de Neuville "Grand Vintage" Brut Champagne
Review Date: 05-07-2019
What a treat this wine is! 22 years on lees has truly done something wonderful here. The wine shows a deep honied color and complex earthy aromas of mushrooms, beeswax. On the palate it has a salty nuttiness that fills the mouth. The taste is intense and complex. Indeed, this is not a wine that I would pour for a cocktail hour, but perhaps served with a savory course centered around wild mushrooms or foie gras.
Price: $99.99 Add To Cart

2012 Alexandre Le Brun "Cuvée Revelation" Brut Champagne
Review Date: 05-07-2019
I love drinking Pinot Munier champagnes, but rarely do you see 100% Munier. Le Brun grows these grapes on two small lots in his backyard--one planted in 1950 and the other in 1902! Barrel aged in old burgundy barrels, this wine is rich and structured. The finish is long revealing a deep and complex wine. As Champagne continues to evolve I have to imagine that more high quality producers turning to Munier in hopes of making wines like this.
Price: $79.99 Add To Cart

2018 A.A. Badenhorst "Secateurs" Chenin Blanc Swartland
Review Date: 05-06-2019
This wine is killer. Rich chalky texture and juicy acidity support the wafting aromas of tangy stonefruit and wild herbs--apricot, kaffir, fennel. While this fresh but structured wine has no overt oak, but has plenty of body and texture on its own. While a wine like this is quite versatile for food pairing, it may be perfect for meaty fish like halibut or cod, roasted or grilled, with garlic and lemon for the tame or mango mint salsa for the adventurous!
Price: $14.99 Add To Cart
W&S 94 VN 90

2017 Cave du Vendomois Lieu-Dit Cocagne Coteaux du Vendomois Rosé
Review Date: 05-06-2019
Super fun and funky Rose! With a waxy, pithy texture, and aromas of blood orange and black pepper spice, this wine would go great with spanish food and hot mediterranean nights. Yet, I decided to see how it went with Korean. It was great with spicey kimchi, beef bulgogi and tangy korean pork. This is a super fun, out of the box wine.
Price: Hidden View Price

2017 Clos du Gaimont Vouvray Sec
Review Date: 05-06-2019
Wow! What a zinger. This tightly wound Chenin packs a punch. Limey citrus wrapped around a mineral core with lip smacking acidity, this wine really impressed me after several hours to open up. When I first tasted it at fridge temp it was tight and tangy, but with a little warmth and time it opened up beautifully. I can't wait to see how this wine ages.
Price: $15.99 Add To Cart
W&S 93

2015 Rippon "Mature Vine" Pinot Noir Lake Wanaka Central Otago (Biodynamic)
Review Date: 04-19-2019
Overlooking picturesque Lake Wanaka, Rippon's wines tell a unique story as one of the farthest north wineries in the region. The Mature Vine Pinot Noir reflects a greater picture of Rippon's property, each block bringing a unique sense of place from each corner of the vineyards. This wine is dense and complex, but also fresh an elegant. It's a little tight, but with time opens up with dark fruit aromas, and spicey earthy florals--sandlewood, black pepper, tobacco. The fruit profile changes on the palate to brighter red fruit as the tight structure shows soft tannins fresh, cleansing acidity, but also reveals very alluring umami of fresh wild fungi. Wheres the rack of lamb and sauteed wild mushrooms?

2017 Delas Freres Cotes-du-Ventoux
Review Date: 04-09-2019
I often look to the Rhone Valley for good value table wines with nice rustic charm. This wine delivers the goods. It has the bold aromatic profile classic to southern France--ripe fruit, countryside florals, and slightly dusty, chocolatey earthiness. Yet this wine is not as rustic as I anticipated. There's a certain elegance that I rarely expect in Rhone blends in this price range--or any wines at this price range for that matter. And yet, fans of big rich fruity wines may find something to like in this bottle as well. There's something to be said for great winemaking in a great vintage. Delas delivers again.
Price: $9.99 Add To Cart
JS 90 RP 90

2016 Raul Perez La Vizcaína "Las Gundiñas" Bierzo
Review Date: 04-09-2019
There's something incredibly compelling about Mencia. There's a dark, earthy spiciness to this wine. But what is most compelling comes out after the wine opens up in the glass, even after just a few minutes. The profile shows graham cracker, cinnamon pastry, with subtle dark fruit fruit, and a wet gravelly earthiness reminiscent of desert rain. This is all supported by a surprisingly dense structure, chalky tannins and fresh acidity. With somewhere between a light to medium body, this wine is perfect for salty, crispy tapas--jamon Iberico, olives, cured or crispy snacks and Spanish cheeses.
Price: $34.99 Add To Cart
RP 92 DC 91

Glenmorangie "Allta" Private Edition Highland Single Malt Scotch Whisky (750ml)
Review Date: 03-18-2019
At first whiff, I thought I was picking up something vinous, but I'm thinking now, its a combination of delicate fruit aromas I normally associate with wine. On the nose, fresh stone fruit and citrus floral's lead with a dusty earthiness not far behind. On the palate, I pick up a little more brown sugar, buttery creaminess and vanilla spice. On the finish, some darker baking spice and rich orange oils become more pronounced. I love this scotch for it's seamless marriage of delicate and elegant aromas, with rich deep texture and complexity.
Price: $99.99 Add To Cart

Baron-Fuenté "Esprit" Brut Champagne
Review Date: 02-05-2019
Seven years on lees does magical things to champagne. The bead is incredibly fine with a mousse that tickles the palate. Of course this wine also offers lovely brioche-y and red apples, with a lingering flavor of apple skin, reminding you to go back for another sip.
Price: $34.99 Add To Cart
WS 92 WE 91

2016 Guy Farge "Harmonie" Cornas
Review Date: 01-15-2019
I love syrah because of wines like this. This wine really showcases the variety's harmonious contradiction--dark color and firm structure on one hand, and overflowing with complex fruit, floral and savory aromas on the other. What really draws me to this wine in particular is the elegant refined tannin reminding me that the wines seriousness, yet it's juicy acidity that makes me want to quaff it down.