Reviewers


K&L Email Alerts

Sign up to receive custom alerts, new arrivals and the latest happenings from K&L Wines


Staff Favorites - Cameron Hoppas

Cameron Hoppas

Reviews

2016 Alain Jaume "Terrasses de Montmirail" Gigondas
Review Date: 09-16-2019
I've long been a fan of Alain Juame's wines. To me, they appeal to a classic sense of the southern Rhone. This Montmirail Gigondas is no exception. Rich dark fruit are at the core of this wine, but without being raisiny or sappy. It has beautiful texture with just enough grip to give the wine some structure. The tertiary aromas are lovely and elegant--dried meat, dried herbs, and a savory finish. This is a classically well made wine period.

2016 Sidewood Shiraz Adelaide Hills South Australia
Review Date: 09-10-2019
Deep aromas of burnt cocoa, smoked meat, menthol and dark chewy fruit lead into plush, chocolatey tannins on the palate. There is a welcomed lift of mouthwatering acidity. This wine offers big flavors straight off the bat, but as it opened it became apparent just how much more this wine has to offer. This is what Aussie Shiraz is all about.

2017 John Duval "Entity" Shiraz Barossa Valley South Australia
Review Date: 08-21-2019
Absolutely delicious. Unctuous and dense core with seamless texture and freshness. Perfumed fruit aromas with warmth and classic Barossa-style spice. This wine is incredibly powerful and elegant. This wine reflects the excellence you'd expect from John Duval's storied winemaking career as chief winemaker for Penfolds for 29 years before setting out on his own in 2003.
Price: $34.99 Add To Cart
JH 99

2015 Massolino Barolo
Review Date: 08-06-2019
Drinking Barolo is always a tough game of delayed gratification, waiting for its tannins to soften. It's a bit like staring at the pot waiting for the proverbial water to boil. But perhaps one effect of more frequent warm growing seasons in Piemonte is giving producers like Massolino an opportunity to capture the sun and deliver wines with classic Barolo punch, but in a riper and sexier package. Best of all, this wine is drinking well NOW. It has powerful fruit, candied rose petals and round tannins with the lingering finish of black licorice and tar that is so typical of the Serralunga Commune. Pop and pour with rich meat dishes, mushrooms and umami forward flavors. Delay gratification no more!

2016 La Massa "La Massa" Toscana
Review Date: 07-29-2019
This wine is stunning. The perfumed nose of ripe, dark fruit, sweet herbs, and warm leather tones shows beautifully right out of the bottle. The texture is incredibly elegant. Silky fine tannins delicately coat the palate as quickly as the fresh acidity washes them away--giving the impression of a dense wine that's light on its feet. The Merlot (25%) and Cabernet (10%) play their supporting roles expertly, giving density and structure to Sangiovese's bright and aromatic personality. This is a wonderful wine that's sure to please wine drinkers already acquainted with Italian wines as well as those just dipping their toes into Italian waters.

Bardstown Bourbon Company - Discovery Series #1 Kentucky Straight Bourbon Whiskey (750ml)
Review Date: 07-24-2019
I love Four Roses for its minty and spicy aromas, but this brand-new release from Bardstown may just become one of my new favorite whiskeys. It is wildly delicious. With juice between 5-13 years old (90% is 10+ years old), the whiskey is dense and aromatically complex. Cool mint leads on the nose, with orange zest, coriander, and spiced nuts. On the palate it has an interesting spicy caramel with dried cherry and candied orange peel, but all built on a delicate and subtle, yet dark and earthy foundation. This is certainly my favorite style of whiskey, expertly crafted and blended. If this is the future of Kentucky straight bourbon whiskey, I'm glad I'm here to taste it.
Price: $129.99 Add To Cart

2016 Cantina Terlano "Vorberg" Pinot Bianco Riserva Alto Adige
Review Date: 07-23-2019
What incredible aromatics! Sweet floral aromas with ripe pear and a hint of warm spice. On the palate, the wine is full and round with mouthwatering acidity that brings lightness and lift to such a powerful wine. This is my first time tasting this wine and it won't be the last.
Price: $39.99 Add To Cart
JS 95 RP 95

2016 Rocca di Montegrossi Chianti Classico
Review Date: 07-23-2019
When I'm at home and just drinking wines that I love, I'm probably drinking Chianti. Now, don't get me wrong. I don't love all Chianti, but when it's good it's one of the best values in all of Italy. This is that wine! 2016 is a knockout vintage and this is a perfect example why. Soft, supple tannins and bright, zippy acidity give this wine a rich, round structure on which the bright dark cherry fruit, slightly minty aromas can sing.The only downside to this wine is that it is so good now, we likely will drink it all before we get a chance to see what it's like in its potentially long life.

2016 Cantina Terlan "Porphyr" Lagrein Riserva
Review Date: 07-23-2019
Absolutely delicious! I love Lagrein. Blackberry and dried blueberry fruit marry well with smoky, meaty aromas that always tease northern Rhone to me. However, Lagrein is wholly its own animal (pun intended). It can make really nice fresh styles of table wines, or it can be Porphyr: A powerful, elegant, complex wine. It has firm grippy tannins, soft ripe fruits, dark spice, a dense core to a round and full body. This is a complete wine that's only missing one thing: a rich meal centered around a slow cooked meat dish.
Price: $64.99 Add To Cart
JS 96 RP 93

2016 Azelia Langhe Nebbiolo
Review Date: 07-23-2019
A beautiful wine. I love Nebbiolo's rusticity, yet it's wines like these that show you how sublime a truly elegant Nebbiolo can be. Luigi Scavino consistently produces Langhe Nebbiolo that doesn't feel like the leftovers of Barolo, but instead a wholly new expression of Nebbiolo that celebrates its immense drinkability. Brightly floral, and sweet herbs on the nose accent the dried cherry nose. Its juicy acidity is mouthwatering and helps clean up the surprisingly soft and chalky tannins. This wine is ready to drink and I can't wait to take it home with me tonight.
Price: $17.99 Add To Cart
RP 91

The 86 Co. Ford's Gin (750ml)
Review Date: 07-22-2019
It's no secret amongst the staff here that I drink a lot of gin. Whether it's g+t's by the pool, classic martini's or my endless variations on the negroni, Gin is a staple in my bar at home. It's easy to be enamored by modern style gin's with bold unique botanicals, however, my go to is always a classic London Dry. Why, you may ask? Because it's the most versatile gin in my bar. It's great for ALL of my favorite gin cocktails. Leading with juniper and backed by subtle and balanced citrus and spice, it is fresh and balanced with bright aromatics. Ford's Gin delivers everything that I want in a gin at an unbeatable price.
Price: $24.99 Add To Cart

Barrell Bourbon "K&L Exclusive" 14 Year Old Cask Strength Single Barrel #E522 Straight Bourbon Whiskey (750ml)
Review Date: 07-19-2019
This is a sophisticated cask strength bourbon. While it carries classic big bourbon aromas, it's incredibly well integrated and smooth--dark, rich and woody. The foundation deep aromas of cereals, burnt sugar, and licorice, with pretty delicate aromas of dried brush, sweet spices and fresh mint. It has a dense weighty body and concentrated flavors that match up to the cask strength ABV. Powerful, smooth, and elegant.
Price: $109.99 Add To Cart

2018 Le Casematte "Peloro" Sicila Bianco
Review Date: 07-16-2019
Most all of my colleagues and friends know that I love Mediterranean whites. And most of them know it's because I love crisp white wines with salty minerality. That's precisely why I love this wine. Both Grillo and Carricante are characteristically mineral driven, Grillo perhaps to a lesser extent with a little more fruit. As a blend of the two, this wine tastes like a someone scooped a generous splash of the Mediterranean sea right into the bottle, followed by a little sprinkle of local herbs. Perfect for pairing with some of my favorite briny foods--small fish, capers, olives and cured meats--drink this wine with any of these and you'll know just why I love these wines.
Price: $21.99 Add To Cart

2018 Massican "Annia" Napa Valley White Blend
Review Date: 07-16-2019
It's hard to believe that I can now say that I've been drinking Massican's wines for years. Dan Petroski is perhaps better known for his talents producing some of Napa's highest regarded Cabernet's at Larkmead. However, Massican is his own little passion project for expressive Mediterranean whites. The Annia is both their flagship wine and my favorite. A unique blend (at least in Napa) of Tocai Friulano, Ribolla Gialla and Chardonnay, this wine has effusive and complex aromas and rich structure supported by it's mouth watering fresh acidity. This is the type of complete wine that doesn't have to sacrifice in structure in favor of fresh and complex aromas. It has it all--both equally refreshing on a a warm summer evening, as satisfying as part of an elegant dining experience.
Price: $29.95 Add To Cart
WE 97

2018 Astrolabe Sauvignon Blanc Marlborough
Review Date: 07-15-2019
Astrolabe is dedicated to making truly hand crafted wines that express a unique sense of terroir. Their attention to quality starts in sourcing grapes from the top vineyard sites in Marlborough. What ends up in the bottle is something that is noticeably more refined than the simple fruity white wines of Marlborough's past. The nose is characteristically tropical and fruity--but delicately and elegantly so--with the faintest hint of sweet herbs--mint or sweet basil maybe. On the palate, the wine is dry, crisp, salty and savory, with mouth watering acidity and silky round texture. This is a sophisticated wine that truly expresses something in Sauvignon blanc that cannot be found elsewhere in the world.
Price: $19.99 Add To Cart
BC 95

Kaiyo "The SHERI" Mizunara Oak Finished Japanese Whisky (750ml)
Review Date: 07-14-2019
Big, rich, and sherried. This Japanese whisky is incredibly smooth, likely with help from the little bit of sherried sweetness. It's dense and round with nice caramelized apricot and spice aromas. The sherried elements certainly are the star in this whisky, but the best part for me is the way the sherried butterscotch sweetness interplays with the sandalwood spice of the Mizunara oak. A clean, rich and smooth whisky that's all to easy to keep sipping on.
Price: $129.99 Add To Cart

2007 Don Q "Limited Edition" Single Barrel Rum 750ml
Review Date: 06-24-2019
This tasty rum single barrel rum has incredible texture. It's rich and round texture steals the show. Aromas of burnt bannana, brown butter and sweet american oak melt into butterscotch on the palate. This aged rum is pretty dang delicious, easy drinking and incredibly smooth. This rum is so smooth, you could easily enjoy it straight, but also is an ideal candidate or any traditional tiki drink calling for dark rum.
Price: $19.99 Add To Cart

2016 Domaine du Petit Clocher Anjou Villages Rouge
Review Date: 06-18-2019
Bordeaux move over! This Anjou-Village shows all the dark fruit with rich and supple tannin of Cabernet Sauvignon (60%) and earthy aromas of Cabernet France (40%). This wine has the all the structure that I'm betting it will open up over the next few years, but best of all, it's showing absolutely great now! Give me a pepper steak and mushrooms and put me to bed.
Price: $14.99 Add To Cart
WE 90

2017 Domaine du Petit Clocher Anjou Blanc
Review Date: 06-18-2019
This is one of my favorite producers in the store. Chenin makes such great white wine, and Anjou consistently provides some of the best valued wines in the loire. The Petit Clocher Anjou Blanc has ripe, fleshy fruit, with rich and supple texture and bright fresh acidity. Arriving just in time for summer, this is the perfect white to pair with tangy or creamy cheeses and cool melon.
Price: $13.99 Add To Cart
WE 91

McKenzie Bottled-in-Bond Wheated Bourbon Whiskey (750ml)
Review Date: 06-04-2019
A delicious bourbon. I love the rich texture and sweet cereal aromas that the wheat offer. Dried apricot and citrus come through the butterscotch and vanilla notes. Mild soft baking spices, and caramelized wood round out the finish. This whiskey tells a story with beginning middle and end. Either sipping straight or in classic Old Fashioned, this whiskey is a pleasure unto itself.
Price: $44.99 Add To Cart

2017 Torbreck "Woodcutter's" Shiraz Barossa Valley South Australia
Review Date: 06-03-2019
I'm floored by the expressive aromatics on this wine. It screams classic Barossa, but aromas are so bright and fresh. Delicate purple florals, dark fruit, black/white pepper aromas waft above dense structure of rich umami flavors. An easy pairing with grilled red meats, but it may be even better with Korean BBQ!
Price: $19.99 Add To Cart
JS 93 WS 93

Fallet-Dart "Grande Sélection" Brut Champagne
Review Date: 05-13-2019
Fallet Dart produces extremely high quality wines. The "Grande Selection" stands out from their line up for the super fine bubbles and fresh aromas balancing out it's rich texture. Despite the long lees aging, and toasty aromas, the wine still carries lovely red fruit notes. This is truly top quality wine at a phenomenal value.
Price: $34.99 Add To Cart

2016 Ata Rangi Pinot Noir Martinborough
Review Date: 05-06-2019
New Zealand has me rethinking Pinot Noir. The old way of thinking about Old World vs New World has got to go. The Ata Rangi defies how we think about Pinot in both sides of that argument. Its fresh rose-like florals, dark savory cherry aromas, wet mulchy forest floor earthiness, and delicate silky tannins give us a whole new way to think about premium Pinot Noir from anywhere. This wine may well be ready to drink now--I can't think of a reason to wait. But, perhaps with such a well composed wine like this, it may well have a long and bright future ahead of it as well!

2018 A.A. Badenhorst "Secateurs" Chenin Blanc Swartland
Review Date: 05-06-2019
This wine is killer. Rich chalky texture and juicy acidity support the wafting aromas of tangy stonefruit and wild herbs--apricot, kaffir, fennel. While this fresh but structured wine has no overt oak, but has plenty of body and texture on its own. While a wine like this is quite versatile for food pairing, it may be perfect for meaty fish like halibut or cod, roasted or grilled, with garlic and lemon for the tame or mango mint salsa for the adventurous!
Price: $14.99 Add To Cart
W&S 94 VN 90

2017 Clos du Gaimont Vouvray Sec
Review Date: 05-06-2019
Wow! What a zinger. This tightly wound Chenin packs a punch. Limey citrus wrapped around a mineral core with lip smacking acidity, this wine really impressed me after several hours to open up. When I first tasted it at fridge temp it was tight and tangy, but with a little warmth and time it opened up beautifully. I can't wait to see how this wine ages.
Price: $15.99 Add To Cart
W&S 93

2015 Rippon "Mature Vine" Pinot Noir Lake Wanaka Central Otago (Biodynamic)
Review Date: 04-19-2019
Overlooking picturesque Lake Wanaka, Rippon's wines tell a unique story as one of the farthest north wineries in the region. The Mature Vine Pinot Noir reflects a greater picture of Rippon's property, each block bringing a unique sense of place from each corner of the vineyards. This wine is dense and complex, but also fresh an elegant. It's a little tight, but with time opens up with dark fruit aromas, and spicey earthy florals--sandlewood, black pepper, tobacco. The fruit profile changes on the palate to brighter red fruit as the tight structure shows soft tannins fresh, cleansing acidity, but also reveals very alluring umami of fresh wild fungi. Wheres the rack of lamb and sauteed wild mushrooms?

2016 Raul Perez La Vizcaína "Las Gundiñas" Bierzo
Review Date: 04-09-2019
There's something incredibly compelling about Mencia. There's a dark, earthy spiciness to this wine. But what is most compelling comes out after the wine opens up in the glass, even after just a few minutes. The profile shows graham cracker, cinnamon pastry, with subtle dark fruit fruit, and a wet gravelly earthiness reminiscent of desert rain. This is all supported by a surprisingly dense structure, chalky tannins and fresh acidity. With somewhere between a light to medium body, this wine is perfect for salty, crispy tapas--jamon Iberico, olives, cured or crispy snacks and Spanish cheeses.
Price: $34.99 Add To Cart
RP 92 DC 91

Glenmorangie "Allta" Private Edition Highland Single Malt Scotch Whisky (750ml)
Review Date: 03-18-2019
At first whiff, I thought I was picking up something vinous, but I'm thinking now, its a combination of delicate fruit aromas I normally associate with wine. On the nose, fresh stone fruit and citrus floral's lead with a dusty earthiness not far behind. On the palate, I pick up a little more brown sugar, buttery creaminess and vanilla spice. On the finish, some darker baking spice and rich orange oils become more pronounced. I love this scotch for it's seamless marriage of delicate and elegant aromas, with rich deep texture and complexity.
Price: Hidden View Price
WA 92

2016 Guy Farge "Harmonie" Cornas
Review Date: 01-15-2019
I love syrah because of wines like this. This wine really showcases the variety's harmonious contradiction--dark color and firm structure on one hand, and overflowing with complex fruit, floral and savory aromas on the other. What really draws me to this wine in particular is the elegant refined tannin reminding me that the wines seriousness, yet it's juicy acidity that makes me want to quaff it down.