Best Sellers New Arrivals Local Events Locations Gift Cards My Account Advanced Search

Reviewers


K&L Email Alerts

Sign up to receive custom alerts, new arrivals and the latest happenings from K&L Wines

Staff Favorites - Jeffrey Markavage

Jeffrey Markavage
Jeffrey Markavage  | Send Email  |   Subscribe to My Sommelier Service


Reviews

2017 Brea Santa Lucia Highlands Chardonnay
Review Date: 03-25-2019
If you’re looking for a hippie-dippy wine for your vegan friend living in Santa Cruz, then look no further.. Organic, Biodynamic, Natural, less than 10 PPM Sulfur, you get the idea.. Having said that, the 2017 Brea Chardonnay is an awesome wine that everyone will appreciate. The 17 comes from La Estancia Vineyard within the Santa Lucia Highlands and uses vines planted in the early 1970’s. This wine presents unique aromatics of aloe, honeydew melon and cucumber. Lively acidity, fleshy mouthfeel, good times. I guarantee this is one of the best 15$ wines you’re going to find from the Santa Lucia Highlands. Snag a few!
Price: $15.95 Add To Cart
WE 91

2016 Turnbull Napa Valley Cabernet Sauvignon
Review Date: 03-24-2019
Turnbull is definitely up there as one of my favorite wineries in the Napa Valley. The winery can easily be looked past among its Disneyland neighbors along the 29 highway stretch. But if you like deeply structured, rich and well-balanced Cabs Turnbull is the place for you. It also doesn't hurt that they have the sexiest labels in the business. The 2016 Napa Valley Cab is full of blackberries, cassis, and smoky spices. While young, this wine is still approachable. Soo... Don't be afraid to open one tonight with a dark meat dish!
Price: $44.95 Add To Cart
JS 92

2017 Deovlet "La Encantada Vineyard" Sta. Rita Hills Pinot Blanc
Review Date: 03-19-2019
If had to pick one AVA to spend the rest of my time in, it would be Santa Rita Hills. Unfortunately, there isn’t a large production for varietals outside of Pinot noir and Chardonnay. I absolutely love Pinot and chard, especially from S.R.H., but sometimes it’s nice to mix things up a bit. And then I tried Deovlets Pinot Blanc and I was in heaven. Coming from La Encantada vineyard in the south side of the region, this wine delivers classic diatomaceous S.R.H minerality and freshness. Flint, pear, honeysuckle, jasmine, and melon all directed by racy and laser-focused acidity. I’m not sure what I meant by that.. but I sure love this wine!
Price: $34.95 Add To Cart

2016 Malmont Côtes du Rhône Villages Séguret
Review Date: 03-19-2019
This is a fantastic Cotes du Rhone from Seguret. The cool limestone soils and increased altitude of the Seguret AOC provide balance in the local wines, bringing an element of minerality and freshness. I get lovely aromatics of Blackberry, pepper, earth and maraschino cherries. Abv comes in at 13.5 which seems low for such a warm region in France. Side note: It is truly fascinating how difficult it was to make this wine. Read Johns comment below for more details.
Price: Hidden View Price
WS 90

2016 Copain "Tous Ensemble" Sonoma Coast Chardonnay
Review Date: 03-19-2019
Aww so fresh and so clean! The 2016 “Tous Ensemble” Sonoma Coast Chardonnay delivers a snappy, juicy and vibrant experience that will surely make any chardonnay lover happy. Tous Ensemble refers to a classic blend of fruit sourced from select vineyards throughout Mendocino County. The Tous Ensemble goes through full malolactic fermentation but isn’t buttery or creamy in the slightest. Pretty aromatics of jasmine, white blossom, hazelnuts and lemon zest mix with lively acidity. Overall this a great food friendly chardonnay that will get the party moving in the early hours..
Price: $24.99 Add To Cart

2014 Aldrich Browne "Perli Vineyard" Mendocino Ridge Syrah
Review Date: 03-16-2019
The 2014 Aldrich Browne “Peri Vineyard” Syrah is a cool climate Syrah lovers dream. I get loads of blackberry, blueberry, boysenberry and even huckleberry (just for the Montana folk). The winemaker gets dark chocolate and coffee notes, so I’ll include them in this review. The 14 has a light to medium tannins, medium to low abv, minimal r.s. and light oak. Just balance and easy drinking. If you’re looking for an extracted, sweet, or grippy Syrah than this might not be it. Overall, this is a very nice and reasonably priced Syrah coming out of Mendocino Ridge.
Price: $34.95 Add To Cart

Wine Club

$14.99

2015 Calluna "Cuvée CVC" Chalk Hill Bordeaux Blend
Review Date: 03-15-2019
David Jeffrey, winemaker for Calluna vineyards, is a master of his craft and his wines speak for themselves. I was fortunate enough to sit down with him at his amazing property perched on top of the chalk hill AVA and taste through his wines. Drawing from his experience working in Bordeaux, each varietal is methodically positioned in his vineyard, fermented separately and blended together later. The 2015 Cuvee CVC blend is comprised of 51% Merlot, 19% Cab Sav, 15% Cab Franc, 8% Malbec and 7% Petit Verdot. Having lower alcohol and soft tannins, this easy drinking cuvee can be a versatile companion at the dinner table. Lovely high tone chalk hill fruit shines from the glass with underlying notes of lavender, toasted coconut, and chalk. This truly is a “Bordeaux” style blend with balance and integrity.

2016 Auteur "Green Acres Vineyard" Carneros Napa Valley Chardonnay
Review Date: 03-05-2019
This is a seriously good Chardonnay from Auteur Wines! The 2016 comes from Green Acres Vineyard, located between salt plains and metamorphic foothills within the coolest maritime valley of Carneros. This site yields mineral rich vibrancy and California sunshine. The appellation benefits from rocky, well-drained soils and signature afternoon winds. Using an old Wente clone, this chard shows off a rich texture from the high skin to juice ratio and full Malolactic fermentation. I’m not afraid to draw comparisons to Grand Cru Burgundy based on the pallet weight, density, and depth of fruit. I get aromas honeysuckle, Jasmin, beeswax and stone fruit. Amazing stuff. Hop on it.
Price: $49.95 Add To Cart
JD 96 RP 95

2016 Silvano Follador "Cartizze" Prosecco Superiore Brut Nature
Review Date: 03-01-2019
The Silvano Follador Cartizze redefined what I thought was possible in prosecco. A beautiful aromatic display jumps out the glass with notes of white peach, honey blossom and candied apricot. I don’t like to overuse “minerality” but man does this guy have it. The Cartizze will be the ultimate crowd pleaser and the perfect companion to whatever seafood dish you have in mind.
Price: $26.99 Add To Cart
JS 92

2014 Mount Eden "Estate" Santa Cruz Mountains Cabernet Sauvignon
Review Date: 03-01-2019
Mount Eden’s Bordeaux 2014 blend consists of all estate fruit grown 2000 ft above the Santa Clara Valley. The vines can be traced back to the 1890s when the cuttings were brought over from Château Margaux in Bordeaux. The nose opens with cedar, cigar box, smoked meats, and Eucalyptus oil. A second pass reveals lavender, raspberries, and mocha all seamlessly wrapped together. The 14 is perfectly balanced with lively acidity, supple tannins and the perfect amount of oak. This is some serious wine, to say the least, worthy of being put away for decades.

2016 Seghesio Sonoma County Zinfandel
Review Date: 03-01-2019
Seghesio has been my go-to Zin for as long as I can remember. The 2016 Sonoma county delivers for the money and then more. The 16 is classic California Zin with everything from wild brambly fruit up front to lovely bbq spices on the back. Makes me want to drive somewhere warm and get the barbie going.
Price: $19.95 Add To Cart
WS 93

2017 Lúuma (Scribe) Sonoma Coast Chardonnay
Review Date: 03-01-2019
If you’re looking for a fun and interesting wine that doesn’t fall neatly into any category than this is the wine for you. The 2017 Luuma Sonoma Coast Chardonnay is a party in a glass. Coming in at 12.5% it has an aromatic profile and texture of a Grenache blanc or even a Gewurztraminer. I get loads of tropical fruit with mixed with honeysuckle and Jasmin flower. If you’re a Chardonnay lover I promise this will still be up your alley. The 17 is very fresh, clean and bright with no apparent oak. Oh and the best part… Scribe winery makes it and I can afford it!
Price: $19.95 Add To Cart

2016 Croix Mouton, Bordeaux Supérieur
Review Date: 02-04-2019
This is a perfect wine for those looking for red Bordeaux that is well rounded, balanced, and not a price gouger. The 2016 Croix-Mouton just welcomes food with uplifting acidity and silky tannins. Unfortunately, many wines these days in the sub-$15 category are only one dimensional in their aromatic/taste profile. The '16 Croix-Mouton absolutely is not, delivering a wide array of black and blue fruit and undertones of leathery spices. I still can’t believe sometimes how K&L gets such elegant wines for such a great value.

2017 Bois-Malot Blanc, Bordeaux
Review Date: 02-04-2019
The Bois-Malot Blanc is one of my go-to quaffers when the sun decides to peak out at the beach. The '17 has an inviting tropical nose with notes of kiwi, grapefruit and green tea. The palate is mineral-laced with lemongrass and lime peel. The uplifting acidity lets the Sauvignon Blanc/Semillon match up with most foods. Alcohol comes in at around 13%. Overall, this is a killer wine for under $10. Cheers!
Price: $9.99 Add To Cart

2016 D'Archambeau, Graves
Review Date: 02-04-2019
This is very interesting sub-$15 Bordeaux coming from the end of the Graves region between Barsac and Cerons. The soil is a mixture of gravel and clay on limestone which I think really shines through in the wine. The '16 D’Archambeau is composed of 45% Cab, 50% Merlot and 5% Cab Franc. Strong pyrazine characteristics jump right out the glass, making me think of fresh green bell pepper, tomato vine, and thyme. There are fresh primary fruit aspects but more on the brambly side of things. Light to medium tannins. Good acid. Good drinking.
Price: $14.99 Add To Cart

2012 Comptche Ridge Estate Mendocino County Pinot Noir
Review Date: 01-19-2019
Essentially the same juice that goes into Anthill farms is going into Comptche Ridge. Which means that you might expect to spend something in that price range. Well, think again. I’m going out on a limb to say that the Comptche 2012, '13, '14 and '15 are the best domestic Pinots under $20 that you’re going to find anywhere. Out of the four different vintages that we tried, the 2012 might have been my favorite. Between the four I think it is the least fruit forward and the most earthy/funky. There definitely isn't a shortage fruit so don’t be alarmed. I get notes of strawberry compote, crushed rose petals and savory spices. These bottles are going to fly, so watch out.
Price: Hidden View Price
VN 94 ST 92

2017 Pax "Sonoma-Hillsides" Sonoma County Syrah
Review Date: 01-07-2019
Wow, what a mouthful of flavor this wine provides! If you weren't ready this wine would knock you over just from holding the glass. For their 2017 Sonoma County Syrah, Pax Mahle uses 100% whole cluster for the fermentation in concrete. As a result, there is no shortage of nice chewy brambly fruit that will leave your taste buds in heaven. Because of the whole cluster inclusion, the alcohol stays in check at about 12.9%. The 2016 received a perfect score and I expect something similar with the 2017 vintage. Read Mr. Whoodhouse's review for more detail
Price: $47.95 Add To Cart

2015 Belle Assise Coureau, St.Emilion
Review Date: 11-26-2018
Super solid wine from St. Emilion. Muscular, fleshy and rich. Could definitely benefit from being put down for a few but still has a lot to offer now. Heaps of mocha, black currant and cedar for this Merlot dominant blend. The Cab Franc emerges later with a beautiful spicy profile . Tri-tip perhaps?
Price: $24.99 Add To Cart
JS 93 JD 92

2014 The Paring (Jonata) Red Bordeaux Blend
Review Date: 11-25-2018
Matt Dees, also the winemaker for the Hilt and Jonata wines, runs the show for the Paring label. Fruit that doesn't make into his other two labels goes into the paring. Most of time it is the same so you end up with very similar wine that's a fraction of the cost. This Santa Ynez blend is without question one of the best value under 25$ wines that we have. The 2014 opens up with a beautiful bouquet of green pepper, earthy spices and leather. Long finish, good acid, good times. Buy two because the first will be consumed quickly.
Price: $24.99 Add To Cart

2014 Acumen "Mountainside" Napa Valley Red Wine
Review Date: 10-30-2018
With Napa wine prices soaring to unattainable levels for everyone except for the Koch brothers and maybe Elon, its nice to know you can still find a wine like this. Acumen's mountainside red blend uses 70% Cab from different parcels on Atlas Peak. Deeply structured and full of black fruit and spice. Drinks twice its price easily. Consult Alex and Christina below if you don't believe me.
Price: $39.99 Add To Cart
WE 90

Antech Blanquette de Limoux Brut Nature
Review Date: 10-30-2018
I can't possibly write a better review than my colleague below (christina) so I'll keep this short. Bright, lively, bone dry and full of citrus. Tell your friends its a 30$+ bottle and they'll believe it. Great party starter that gives you more money to spend on oysters and crab.
Price: $12.99 Add To Cart

2016 Villa Poggio Salvi Rosso di Montalcino
Review Date: 09-30-2018
A great value Montalcino for under the 20 dollar mark. I get a lot of tart cherry right off the bat and maybe some plum. After it's been open for a bit a dusty spice quality emerges along with sweet tobacco. First thought would be to pair this with a fatty and salty charcuterie/cheese plate.
Price: $14.99 Add To Cart

2016 Hanzell "Sebella" Sonoma Valley Chardonnay
Review Date: 09-28-2018
The 2016 "Sebella" might be a little different compared to previous vintages. If you're used to Sebella having an unoaked style you might be thrown off slightly. The winemakers notes say stainless steel fermented and aged in neutral oak barrels but I definitely detect some oak imparted flavors/aromas. By no means is this overwhelming. I get notes of pear, wet stone and wild flower.
Price: $29.99 Add To Cart
WE 94

2017 Domaine de l'Ermitage "Victor" Costières de Nîmes Blanc
Review Date: 09-28-2018
"Victor" Rhone white blend is an excellent value for those looking for a consistent everyday wine. I get notes of honeydew melon, stone fruit and cucumber. This wine is unoaked fresh and clean without weighty viscosity found in some Roussanne dominant wines. Its hard to find a wine at this price with so much going on. But that's what K&L is for! Ready to drink now.
Top Value!
Price: $10.99 Add To Cart

2015 Foxen Santa Maria Valley Pinot Noir
Review Date: 09-28-2018
Foxen remains one of my favorite producers from SB County. Every sip of this juicy Pino will keep you wanting more. I get notes of strawberry compote, cherry cola and cinnamon. By no means is this high abv fruit bomb that you might expect from California Pinos. It has some earthy undertones and retains good acidity. This is a great value for fruit coming from Bien Nacido and Solomon Hills vineyards. Ready to drink now.
Price: $32.99 Add To Cart
RP 92