Staff Favorites - William Beare

William Beare
William Beare  | Send Email  |   Subscribe to My Sommelier Service
Coming soon...


Reviews

Laurent-Perrier "Cuvée Rosé" Brut Rosé Champagne
Review Date: 02-08-2019
I try to resist the big houses of champagne. I don't succeed very often. Products like this have me inevitably circling back. This is a phenomenal blend of sourced grapes from many different villages (though all grapes used are grand cru). 100% Pinot Noir, this champagne is like a fruit salad on a summers day. Refreshing and crisp, with heaps of strawberries, bing cherries and raspberries mid-palate and a drying finish.

Billecart-Salmon Brut Rosé Champagne
Review Date: 02-08-2019
A wine shop's best friend-- the Billecart Salmon Rose consistently defends its title as one of the best-selling products (not just within champagne) in any wine store. It is composed of all premier cru grapes-- 40% Pinot Noir, 40 Chardonnay and 20 Pinot Meunier, but the pretty light red hue comes not from controlled skin contact with the red grapes, but rather by blending Pinot Noir fully vinified red with the rest of the blend that sees zero skin contact. This Pinot Noir comes exclusively from one very old plot, meaning that the overall production of this wine is strictly capped. The result is a wonderfully complex nose with some earth as well as very elegant red fruit.

Bollinger "Special Cuvée" Brut Champagne
Review Date: 02-08-2019
Oh, how I love Bollinger. It's like an old friend that I don't see often enough, and every time we reconnect all these wonderful memories come rushing back. A champagne for the lovers of the toasty, rich bubbles-- packed with honeyed brioche, warm nuttiness (hazelnut and almond), and a long, refreshing finish. All of Bollinger's champagnes (regardless of format) are aged in magnum-- a pricey undertaking-- all in service of providing a truly luxurious drinking experience. As our champagne buyer is fond of saying-- this is "crazy craft!" 60% Pinot Noir, 25% Chardonnay & 15% Pinot Meunier.

Billecart-Salmon "Brut Réserve" Champagne
Review Date: 02-08-2019
A powerful champagne from a powerhouse producer! The Brut Reserve is incredibly consistent-- which makes a lot of sense given that they commit to using as much reserve wine as necessary (at times up to 50%) to create a steadily delicious product. It has incredible structure, a gorgeous nose of rich honey and fragrant white flowers, and a soft, elegant finish.

Baron-Fuenté "Grande Réserve" Brut Champagne
Review Date: 02-05-2019
Enough good things simply cannot be said about Baron Fuente. I first took home a bottle not long after starting with K&L to experiment with champagne cocktails. It seemed an easy choice-- being the most affordable champagne on a price/quality scale. I found a small panel of friends compassionate enough to sit down and accept free booze, and we began by tasting the champagne on its own before mixing. Not much was accomplished in the way of mixology that night-- because we all sat, gob-smacked, discussing the sheer elegance and drinkability of this top value bubbly. Candy apples, golden delicious cider, and a touch of wild sour-cane fill the nose and palate. And if this is a deal-- the magnum offering (priced with no large-format premium) is an absolute steal, and the clear choice for your next large gathering.
Price: $24.99 Add To Cart

Pierre Mineral Brut Champagne
Review Date: 12-16-2018
This wine should be a go to for crowd-pleasing, over-performing party bubbles. It far surpasses it's friendly price-point, and is incredibly well-balanced between refreshment and richness. The bottle I took home went down disappointingly quickly-- so maybe keep an extra bottle on hand! Acid is well controlled, there is bright lemon meringue and white peach on the palate, while the nose is filled with deliciously flowery aromatics.
Price: $34.99 Add To Cart

Laurent-Perrier "La Cuvée" Brut Champagne
Review Date: 11-06-2018
Founded in 1812, the Laurent Perrier house has been a pioneer of the use of stainless steel in champagne production. For those who remember an era before the "La Cuvee" brand-- the differences in their entry-level release are subtle, but important. Six months was added to the lees time (for a glorious total of 42 months), in addition to moving the cepage towards Chardonnay (50 Chard, 30 Pinot Noir, and 20 Pinot Meunier). The final product has 9 grams per liter of residual sugar, and is phenomenally well-balanced, delightfully racy champagne. Traces of white peach, citrus blossoms, and sweet grapefruit peel.
Price: $44.99 Add To Cart

Solemme "Ambre de Solemme" 1er Cru Brut Nature Champagne
Review Date: 10-12-2018
The "Ambre de Solemme" was a late harvest wine from a late harvest year, and the ripeness of the fruit creates some truly gorgeous aromas in the glass. Raw honey and golden-delicious apple waft in, followed by baked white peach, chalky minerality, some nuttiness on the edges. Great acid, and a much cleaner, drier finish than I had anticipated from the nose.
Price: $59.99 Add To Cart

Solemme "Nature de Solemme" Blanc de Blancs 1er Cru Brut Nature Champagne
Review Date: 10-12-2018
Fans of dryer than dry champagne, rejoice, for the "Nature de Solemme" is here. This wine undergoes no malolactic fermentation, and as a result is a totally fruit and terroir-driven wine-- tropical aromatics, high acid, zippy, and begging for oysters or seared scallops. Another beautifully elegant wine from this new addition to the K&L lineup.
Price: $49.99 Add To Cart

Solemme "Terre Solemme" 1er Cru Brut Champagne
Review Date: 10-12-2018
A champagne for eschewers of the main-stream, the "Terre Solemme" is a captivating, mineral-driven wine. Though light and fresh, there is a light whisper of smoke and savoriness on the nose continues all the way through the finish, connecting the drinker to the soft chalky soils of the Montagne de Reims. Commitments made to organic and biodynamic farming almost always lead to a purer expression of where a wine comes from, and this is a great example of that practice in action.
Price: $34.99 Add To Cart

;