Reviewers


K&L Email Alerts

Sign up to receive custom alerts, new arrivals and the latest happenings from K&L Wines


Staff Favorites - Cameron Price

Cameron Price

Reviews

2015 Rippon "Mature Vine" Pinot Noir Lake Wanaka Central Otago (Biodynamic)
Review Date: 04-18-2019
If I'd not ever had a glass of Pinot Noir and someone put this in front of me I might think it was one of my top five wines of all time. Just looking at the robe in the glass you see a silky texture that is surely translated on the palate with silky smooth tannins, delicately aromatic blue fruit flavors of ripe blueberry and blackberry and a touch of spicy cherries. Sure, it's fruity but the balance of wicked good acidity and overall brightness will make this wine relevant for a very long time. The concentration of fruit structure is do to the mature vines used in making the wine. There also lies tones of damp soil and blackberry leaves on the finish as the layers wipe away which makes this wine all the more fun. If given the opportunity, try this wine. You'll not regret it.

Whistle Pig 10 Year Old "K&L Exclusive" 113.9 Proof Barrel #2346 Single Barrel Cask Strength Straight Rye Whiskey (750ml)
Review Date: 04-09-2019
What a treat this Rye is! Right off the bat, the nose is inviting, with aromas of banana flambée with caramelized sugar. Sitting next to your banana treat is a caramel latté garnished with a dash of nutmeg. The palate is anything but sweet, with spicy nutmeg and cardamom wrapped in a crispy dough pastry toasted to perfection. This Whistle Pig will have you whistling with delight after every sip! Go easy, eh, did I mention it's barrel proof at 57% abv!
Price: $89.99 Add To Cart

2017 Delas Freres Cotes-du-Ventoux
Review Date: 04-08-2019
WOW! For $10 this may be my favorite red in the store. A concentrated, and powerful Ventoux wine that really shows that freshness can be big! 80/40 Grenache/Syrah, Delas gives us a red full of juicy spiciness that anyone could be proud to put on their dinner table. After I ride my bike to the top of Mont Ventoux, that is what I will be drinking, after my beer of course!
Price: $9.99 Add To Cart
JS 90 RP 90

2018 Clos Beylesse Côtes de Provence Rosé
Review Date: 04-08-2019
A new wine at K&L, Clos Beylesse really surprised me in the realm of rosés. It was extremely delicate and soft on both the nose and palate. But to be honest, I really love the blue bottle it comes in, so classy. This Côtes de Provence rosé is delicate showing a nice floral side of rose petal and violet. I love the voluptuous mouth-feel and although it may turn some people off, there is a wonderful soft flavor of strawberry marshmallows and the soft pink color of the wine is pretty gorgeous as well!
Price: $27.99 Add To Cart

2018 Commanderie de la Bargemone Coteaux d'Aix en Provence Rosé
Review Date: 04-08-2019
Great rosé with intensely aromatic nose of grapefruit hard candy and a touch of rose petal. Dry, crisp and refreshing are the perfect easy descriptors for this pink wine but what I really liked were the red apples with a twist of blood orange! So yum!
Price: $15.99 Add To Cart

2017 Château Saint Jacques d'Albas "La Chapelle en Rose" Minervois Rosé
Review Date: 04-08-2019
Definitely a 'bigger' rosé. This pink wine packs a distinct sweet raspberry nose with a strawberry jam palate. Surprisingly refreshing with just a touch of sweetness makes this a great wine to kick-off your evening apéritif!
Price: Hidden View Price

2017 Les Vignerons de Fontès "Prieuré Saint-Hippolyte" Languedoc Rosé
Review Date: 04-08-2019
Great inexpensive little rosé! Spicy strawberries and dark chocolate with raspberry bits on the nose with a clean and spicy palate of raspberry hard candy and a nice round mouth-feel. Don't have to think twice about this little guy!
Price: $9.99 Add To Cart

2016 Domaine La Barroche "Signature" Châteauneuf-du-Pape
Review Date: 03-12-2019
La Barroche is a new one for K&L but I can imagine it will stay. This little guy isn't so little really with tannins that are grainy and mouth-coating, big spicy Grenache driven fruit and beautiful freshness that really make this wine a classic and great example of Châteauneuf du Pape. Not to be missed!

2017 Château de L'Ou "Compartir" Cotes du Roussillon Villages Rouge
Review Date: 03-12-2019
This wine is so cool!!! On the nose this wine showcases smoky, schisty, mocha and coffee bean aromas that are so sexy and savory and make my mouth water with delight. The palate is equally enticing with big juicy fruit and luscious tannins all underlined but great acidity bringing the wine into balance. This wine is just plain 'ol fun and should be drank just because for whatever occasion. Do it. You'll not be sorry.
Price: $39.99 Add To Cart
JD 96

2017 Chateau de L'Ou "I Have a Dream" Côtes du Roussillon-Villages Rouge
Review Date: 03-12-2019
Séverine Bourrier at Château de l'Ou has created a great mid-range Côte de Rousillon that is big and juicy with fleshy fruit of blackberries and black cherries. For those who don't enjoy tannin this probably isn't for you as this wine packs a punch of mouth-coating luscious tannins that are sure to carry this wine to glory in later years. With summer up and coming this wine will definitely deserve a place on your BBQ table.
Drink from 2019 to 2019

2016 Domaine Mongeard-Mugneret Grand Cru Clos Vougeot
Review Date: 01-30-2019
This may be the best wine I've ever tasted. The nose exuberates with layers of ripe cherry, prickly raspberry and earthy notes of sauteed mushrooms and wet soil. The layers that unfold on the nose are extremely interesting as it just keeps opening and giving more and more. The palate is another world of complexity and wonder. Juicy but tight, clean but savory and the tannins, my goodness the tannins! Layers upon layers of beautiful berry fruit and jam coupled with moist earth undertones and a finish that just wouldn't...finish. The overall balance and structure of this wine is one to be remembered for many years and after having tasted it already I would say just about when I am about to forget how it tasted is when it will be time to open the bottle in the cellar!
Drink from 2019 to 2019

1980 The Rare Armagnac Collection "Mars" (Domaine de Pouchegu) 38 Year Old K&L Exclusive Vintage Armagnac (750ml)
Review Date: 01-14-2019
The Mars presents a richer nose than the Venus. Ripe orange peel and fuzzy Georgia peaches are presented with a bouquet of red roses and perfume of Gardenia. The balance on the palate is excruciatingly precise with cured leather-like palate, soft in texture but firm in flavor. Bitter orange and rose water. Beautiful.
Price: $149.99 Add To Cart

1995 The Rare Armagnac Collection "Venus" (Domaine de Pouchegu) 23 Year Old K&L Exclusive Vintage Armagnac (750ml)
Review Date: 01-14-2019
The Venus should be served out of an elegant, designer perfume bottle. Spiced peaches and cinnamon dance in the nose with promises of clean tasting experience. That experience is a smooth and spicy palate that warmly coats the tongue in sizzling joy.
Price: $119.99 Add To Cart

2014 Helen's Hill "Range View Reserve" Pinot Noir Yarra Valley Victoria
Review Date: 12-11-2018
If someone asked for a Burgundy style Pinot Noir from anywhere but Burgundy, this is what I'd recommend. Coming from the single 'Pommard' clone, the vines are planted atop Helen's Hill overlooking the Yarra Valley taking in all the necessary sunlight for ripeness. For Pinot Noir that means not too much sunlight, as these vines are on a the east side of the hill shaded from the harshness of the afternoon sun but do see a fare amount of weather making these the ultimate hardy vines comparable to those in Burgundy. At $25 this wine is outstanding. Big, earthy fruit and solid herbaceousness and soothing freshness composes a stand out in the 'New World' Pinot game.
Price: Hidden View Price
JH 96

2014 Helen's Hill "First Light" Pinot Noir Yarra Valley Victoria
Review Date: 12-11-2018
This wine is a steal at only $24.99 offering $60 value. This wine shines gorgeous medicinal cherry notes with savory herbs of Thyme and Rosemary and would be perfect with any gamey holiday meals you plan to serve this season. This wine stems off of Helen Hill MV (Master Vine) cuttings of the original Clos Veugeot vines in Burgundy and the current release was planted in 1980. These old vines give a beautiful concentrated Pinto Noir that will definitely impress and definitely won't last on the shelf for long.
Price: Hidden View Price
JH 95

2009 Alexandre Le Brun "Cuvée Dilection" Brut Rosé Champagne
Review Date: 10-11-2018
Alexandre Le Brun is a very interesting Champagne profile. He harvests on 6 acres and 75% of his fruit is sold to Bollinger and what is leftover is made for his own personal label out of his mother’s basement! Don’t be quick to skip over this one though because this may be one of the most intensely aromatic champagnes I’ve ever come across and definitely one of the most interesting. ‘Cuvee Dilection’ is Le Brun’s Rose champagne and is comprised of 85% Chardonnay and 15% Meunier. 2009 was a warm vintage for Champagne and in turn gave this wine great ripeness, candied red fruit and a delicious perfumed nose of red berried fruit and spices.
Price: $79.99 Add To Cart

2007 Alexandre Le Brun "Cuvée Fascination" Brut Blanc de Blancs Champagne
Review Date: 10-11-2018
Alexandre Le Brun is a very interesting Champagne profile. He harvests on 6 acres and 75% of his fruit is sold to Bollinger and what is leftover is made for his own personal label out of his mother’s basement! Don’t be quick to skip over this one though because this may be one of the most intensely aromatic champagnes I’ve ever come across and definitely one of the most interesting. ‘Cuvee Fascination’ gives beautifully savory ‘Cheeseboard’ –like aromas, assorted chesses, nuts and honey. Even bready notes come through and all backed by powerful concentration of acidity and bubbles. In short, this juice made me very hungry.
Price: $69.99 Add To Cart

Solemme "Nature de Solemme" Blanc de Blancs 1er Cru Brut Nature Champagne
Review Date: 10-11-2018
Attention all biodynamic wine lovers! Domaine Solemme takes Biodynamics seriously right down to making sure that bottling isn’t happening on a ‘root day’ or vice-versa. The name derives from the first three letters of the French word for sun ‘Soleil’ and the last four letters for woman ‘femme’. “Nature Solemme” is the Brut Nature of the collection where no dosage or sugar is added to the wine before bottling. What you get with this champagne is fruit that had a longer hang-time but didn’t see any malolactic fermentation allowing premium ripeness but palate searing acidity. This is a must try.
Price: $59.99 Add To Cart

Solemme "Terre Solemme" 1er Cru Brut Champagne
Review Date: 10-11-2018
Attention all biodynamic wine lovers! Domaine Solemme takes Biodynamics seriously right down to making sure that bottling isn’t happening on a ‘root day’ or vice-versa. The name derives from the first three letters of the French word for sun ‘Soleil’ and the last four letters for woman ‘femme’. The ‘Terre Solemme is made up of 55% Meunier, 25% Pinot Noir and 20% Chardonnay yielding a champagne of zesty, soft fruit texture sure to refresh anyone’s palate.
Price: $39.99 Add To Cart

Wine Club

$34.99

2008 Fallet-Dart Vintage Extra Brut Champagne
Review Date: 10-11-2018
Fallet-Dart is found in the far-west reaches of the Marne Valley and has family wine-making records dating back to the 1600’s! The Extra-Brut is outstanding with nice rich concentration, golden apple tastiness, white peach and peach fuzz. Made from 70% Chardonnay and 30% Pinot Noir this champagne is sure to please at a ridiculously attractive price-point.
Price: $39.99 Add To Cart

Jean de La Fontaine "La Flatteuse" Brut Rosé Champagne
Review Date: 10-11-2018
Some of my new favorite champagne is definitely the Jean de la Fontaine line from Baron Albert. K & L are the proud 1st importers of Baron Albert on the US market and I hope we see them for years to come! The house is now headed by the Heiresses of the family “The Baron Sisters”. Three sisters that continue to live and work by the family motto; “to join our forces to grow stronger”. Jean de la Fontaine was a 17th century fabulist who is re-known in France and most of the world for his fables and short stories. “La Flatteuse” refers to Jean de la Fontaine’s fable, The Fox and the Crow where the fox out-wits the crow by sheer flattery. This champagne is just that, sheer flattery. Nice crisp, concentrated bubbles and juicy red berry fruit complimented with great freshness. The moral here is to not give up your champagne to anyone no matter what they say, however we do encourage you to share.
Price: $34.99 Add To Cart
WE 90

Jean de La Fontaine "L'Éloquente" Brut Champagne
Review Date: 10-11-2018
Some of my new favorite champagne is definitely the Jean de la Fontaine line from Baron Albert. K & L are the proud 1st importers of Baron Albert on the US market and I hope we see them for years to come! The house is now headed by the Heiresses of the family “The Baron Sisters”. Three sisters that continue to live and work by the family motto; “to join our forces to grow stronger”. Jean de la Fontaine was a 17th century fabulist who is re-known in France and most of the world for his fables and short stories. The champagne “L’Eloquente” made by Baron Albert pays homage to the Fable, La Poule aux oeufs d'or but also to this bubbly’s own eloquence. “Kill not the hen that lays the golden egg” is a good reference here as this a champagne that will satisfy all of your needs, day in, day out and will always come through without hurting your pocket book. The actual champagne is comprised of 70% Meunier, 25% Chardonnay and 5% Pinot Noir. The nose has a crisp and subtle fresh hay-like aroma that is rather refreshing and the palate comes through very nicely with a floral bouquet of hibiscus, golden apple and white peach and tongue-tickling bubbles.
Price: $29.99 Add To Cart
WE 91

Bollinger "Special Cuvée" Brut Champagne
Review Date: 10-11-2018
Bollinger forever to me has been elegant champagne that shows true class. 30% of Bollinger’s wines are aged in wood and all of their reserve wines that make up their very ‘special cuvee’ are aged in magnums which is pretty well agreed upon between all the growers and champagne houses that this yields the most complex aromas. That is what you get with Bollinger, complexity. Wonderful balanced richness with piercingly fresh acidity with just the right amount of richness making this champagne one of my favorites.

Louis Roederer "Brut Premier" Champagne
Review Date: 10-11-2018
The Louis Roederer Brut Premier is as fine a champagne as the next. The nose has succulent golden fruit with hints of fresh toast and the palate exemplifies the perfect balance between richness and freshness. 55% of Roederer’s grapes are estate grown and organic! You’ll be happy to know that all of the Vintage champagne from Roederer are 100% estate grown fruit!

Laurent-Perrier "La Cuvée" Brut Champagne
Review Date: 10-11-2018
“La Cuvee” is the result of LP’s new Non-Vintage cuvee giving a little more Chardonnay and 6 extra months on the lees for a total of 42 months giving ‘La Cuvee’ a freshness with jus the right amount of toasty richness. This is definitely a crowd pleaser and that includes industry professionals as well.

Billecart-Salmon "Brut Réserve" Champagne
Review Date: 10-11-2018
Billecart-Salmon is a medium sized champagne house making some beautiful cuvees and their flagship Brut Reserve is no different. Comprised of 40% Meunier, 30% Pinot Noir and 30% Chardonnay this cuvee is a champagne classic in style and elegance. Billecart-Salmon’s Brut Reserve exemplifies a champagne of know-how and could (should) be any connoisseur’s go-to.

2016 d'Arce, Côtes de Castillon
Review Date: 10-11-2018
From the smaller but important Côtes de Castillon, Hélène Garcin-Lévêque and family bring us an elegant, straight-forward and delicious wine. Made from 90% Merlot and 10% Cabernet Franc, this wine showcases wonderful ripe dark fruit notes with hints of mocha and coffee. This wine is incredibly approachable with it's soft tannins and fresh acidity and is sure to please at all times of the year.
Drink from 2018 to 2018

2013 La Massa "Giorgio Primo" Toscana
Review Date: 09-11-2018
La Massa Toscana claims that Toscany could make Bordeaux better than, Bordeaux! Every wine making country in the world has a 'Bordeaux Blend' for a reason, Bordeaux wines are delicious and if taking away the market aspect, unpretentious. Giorgio Primo, however, is delicious. A very robust and powerful wine making a statement. Big lush fruit of blackberries and black cherries with powerful balanced tannins and a definite sense of longevity. This is a serious wine and needs to be taken seriously. Put one in you cellar today!
Drink from 2018 to 2018

2016 Silvano Follador "Cartizze" Prosecco Superiore Brut Nature
Review Date: 09-11-2018
Ian d'Agata, author of Native Wine Grapes of Italy said “Silvano Follador is in my opinion the single best producer of Prosecco today.” A fresh and dry expression of prosecco that is crisp with notes of fresh pear, golden apples with a little bit of the skin thrown in for a pleasing bitterness. Definitely no slouch of Italian fizz! This one is a no-brainer!
Drink from 2018 to 2018
Price: $26.99 Add To Cart
JS 92

2016 Felton Road "Bannockburn" Pinot Noir Central Otago (Biodynamic)
Review Date: 09-05-2018
This is the most approachable of three distinctly different Pinot Noir offerings from Felton Road in Central Otago, New Zealand. Vineyard practises across the board are the same but the Bannockburn is the result of a blend of the four single vineyard sites, Calvert and Cornish Point. Whole cluster pressing is the name of the game here with 13 months of oak ageing in French barrels. This allows for a round, fruit-forward Pinot Noir with just a tinge of toast on the palate making this wine a great choice for a go-to Pinot for the upcoming fall season. Felton Road also works Biodynamically really trying to express the characteristics of their vineyards and with this blend you get the best of both worlds; awesome. quality conscious wine that isn't trying to show off. The Felton Road Pinot Noirs offer up good complexity and value and are surprisingly approachable. Don't hesitate to check out the reviews of the Cornish Point and Calvert wines who also deserve a bit of attention.
Drink from 2018 to 2018

2009 La Rioja Alta "Viña Ardanza" Reserva Rioja
Review Date: 09-05-2018
Great, NO-FUSS Rioja! 75% Tempranillo and 25% Garnacha. This wine gives you everything you want for a mid-priced Rioja Reserva, body, freshness, depth and tannins. In the glass a nice, soft ruby color and great aromatics of dark chocolate and subtle mintiness or eucalyptus. The palate expresses robust and fresh tannins and ripe red and black berried fruit with just the right amount of toastiness. Great value wine that doesn't budge year after year. Don't miss it!
Drink from 2018 to 2018

Kilchoman 9 Year Old 100% Islay Barley K&L Exclusive Cask #549 Single Malt Scotch Whisky (750ml)
Review Date: 08-22-2018
I know it's only August but now is the time to start thinking about your Christmas whisky! And I hope you stock-up on this one! Our exclusive 9 year Kilchoman is in my opinion going to be our Christmas smasher. This whisky is 100% Islay Barley which comes from the farm on-site at the distillery and is barreled exclusively for K&L in ex-Buffalo Trace bourbon barrels for 9 years! Islay is known for producing some dominating peated whiskies however with this one the balance is so incredible you almost have to search for it. First hit on the nose is almost like a cinnamon spiced cake with a bit of smoke coming in the room from the kitchen from which it was baked but the room is far away so it's not overpowering. There's even a light flintiness to the nose with a moist waft a fresh hay. The palate, my word, that palate! A spicy, rich attack of sweet spices and salinity that are sure to carry you through the holiday. There is a lovely mouth-coating viscosity that takes that attack and calms it down letting you macerate your taste buds for whatever length of time you desire. When I put this whisky to my lips, I pictured myself around the fire with a good book or off the coast Scotland in a Viking ship fighting off invaders. Elegance and power are represented here and this little guy is sure to please the entire spectrum of the Scotch drinking crowd. Remember, only at K&L!
Drink from 2018 to 2018
Price: $149.99 Add To Cart