Local Delivery Available Curbside 11am-6pm Daily Stores Temporarily Closed

Staff Favorites - Cameron Price

Cameron Price

Reviews

Laurent-Perrier "Grand Siècle" Iteration #24 Brut Champagne
Review Date: 08-08-2019
Created in 1959, the LP Grand Siècle is easily one of my favorite 'Prestige Cuvées' as it is only made in good vintages and in very limited quantities where striving for excellence and elegance are the main goals. This year they have started to 'batch' their releases to better follow the makeup of the cuvées and maybe for you connoisseurs to start a collection! The Iteration 24 is the twenty fourth time the Laurent-Perrier has released the Grand Siècle and is made up of vintages 2004, 2006 and 2007. This Champagne has a beautiful key lime pie aroma topped with a certain salinity that makes the mouth start watering way before you've even tasted it. The 24th Iteration spends a whopping 11 years on its lees giving this wine an undisputed elegance. Echoing my review for the normal Grand Siècle, you will not get tired drinking this Champagne.

2008 Laurent-Perrier Brut Champagne
Review Date: 08-08-2019
A wonderful Grand Cru sourced from ALL of the Grand Cru vineyards, this 2008 vintage LP is a rock star of a champagne. Amazingly crisp palate, vibrant lemon peel, peach skin and big voluptuous bubbles give the perfect set up for a sexy long finish.
Price: $69.99 Add To Cart

2007 Thiénot "Black Ball" Blanc de Blancs Brut Champagne
Review Date: 08-06-2019
Alain Thienot has offered up some pretty lovely bubbles with Black Ball. Originally offered at double this price, this is an amazing Champagne at an amazing offer. Rich nose of biscuits buttered with fleur de sel and a lovely ripe tropical fruit palate. Awesome.
Price: $59.99 Add To Cart

2008 Lanson "Gold Label" Brut Champagne
Review Date: 08-06-2019
This mostly Grand Cru bottling is an outstanding example for powerful big house champagne. Buttered toast nose,with a bowl of ripe peaches near by. These wines do not see malolactic fermentation and thus are full of bone chilling acidity. This wine has a citrus focused with notes of ripe, tropical fruit and a long pretty finish.

2008 Billecart-Salmon Extra Brut Champagne
Review Date: 07-09-2019
Power and elegance are the two words I would use to describe this champagne. Absolutely spot on with the concentration of toastiness and intense minerality that will carry this wine for many years in the depths of your cellar/wine fridge.

Jean-Jacques Lamoureux Pinot Blanc Champagne
Review Date: 06-19-2019
This Champagne slices and dices! Racey, vibrant, crunchy, rich and creamy white fruit makes this my new favorite right quick! I am biased as Amoureux makes my anniversary Champagne but, man oh man, this is awesome! DO IT!
Price: $49.99 Add To Cart

Sonoma Distilling Co. Wheat Whiskey (750ml)
Review Date: 05-23-2019
This whisky stumped me as it was served to me blind in preparation for my spirits exam. I thought it to be a higher end Scotch however this spirit made from mostly wheat and a bit of rye, aged in ex-bourbon barrels and finished in cognac barrels is from Sonoma thus, not a Scotch. Here is my formal tasting notes. Clear, pale gold color with no signs of louching. On the nose the spirit is clean with a medium intensity of caramel, brown sugar, spearmint, dried grass, nutmeg, cinnamon and dark chocolate. This spirit smells matured. The palate is dry with warming alcohol and a medium body with a nice spicy and oily texture. The flavor intensity is pronounced of (everything found on the nose with the addition of toasted oats). The finish is long and very complex. This spirit is outstanding as both the nose and the palate exemplify great complexity and expressiveness of a great grain spirit. I then go on to guess incorrectly. However, I was on the right track as I was thinking it could be a single grain whisky. The take away is that great distilling can happen anywhere, not just Scotland. Of course, anybody that's had bourbon knows this!
Price: $45.99 Add To Cart

Nicolas Maillart "Platine" Brut Champagne
Review Date: 05-07-2019
The new and wonderful Nicolas Maillart Champagnes are now direct imports for K&L and deserve a big hoorah for our Champagne buyer Gary Westby for seeking them out. The Platine is the Brut of their line-up and I felt to be their best and most complex, although they were all pretty stellar. Platine offers up a big intense nose with structure and finesse. Honeysuckle and orange blossom are found, with companions of intensely elegant bubbles that merit the term "mousse fine." The palate has a vibrant acidity with notes of golden apple and white peach and apricot skin. Long and sexy finish that is elegant and saline and would make anyone feel "chic" just drinking it. This Champagne will be very popular in the up and coming years, and is perfect for any occasion or non-occasion!

2012 Louis Roederer Brut Champagne
Review Date: 10-11-2018
You’ll be happy to know that all of the Vintage champagne from Roederer are 100% estate grown fruit and organic! The grapes are 30% Chardonnay from Avize and 70% Pinot Noir from Verzenay. This champagne gives a gorgeous richness that is nutty and toasty with notes of fresh red apples and peach and a slight tinge of bitterness on the palate that will make any mouth water.

Bollinger "Special Cuvée" Brut Champagne
Review Date: 10-11-2018
Bollinger forever to me has been elegant champagne that shows true class. 30% of Bollinger’s wines are aged in wood and all of their reserve wines that make up their very ‘special cuvee’ are aged in magnums which is pretty well agreed upon between all the growers and champagne houses that this yields the most complex aromas. That is what you get with Bollinger, complexity. Wonderful balanced richness with piercingly fresh acidity with just the right amount of richness making this champagne one of my favorites.

Louis Roederer "Brut Premier" Champagne
Review Date: 10-11-2018
The Louis Roederer Brut Premier is as fine a champagne as the next. The nose has succulent golden fruit with hints of fresh toast and the palate exemplifies the perfect balance between richness and freshness. 55% of Roederer’s grapes are estate grown and organic! You’ll be happy to know that all of the Vintage champagne from Roederer are 100% estate grown fruit!

Laurent-Perrier "La Cuvée" Brut Champagne
Review Date: 10-11-2018
“La Cuvee” is the result of LP’s new Non-Vintage cuvee giving a little more Chardonnay and 6 extra months on the lees for a total of 42 months giving ‘La Cuvee’ a freshness with jus the right amount of toasty richness. This is definitely a crowd pleaser and that includes industry professionals as well.
Price: $36.99 Add To Cart

Billecart-Salmon "Brut Réserve" Champagne
Review Date: 10-11-2018
Billecart-Salmon is a medium sized champagne house making some beautiful cuvees and their flagship Brut Reserve is no different. Comprised of 40% Meunier, 30% Pinot Noir and 30% Chardonnay this cuvee is a champagne classic in style and elegance. Billecart-Salmon’s Brut Reserve exemplifies a champagne of know-how and could (should) be any connoisseur’s go-to.