Reviewers


K&L Email Alerts

Sign up to receive custom alerts, new arrivals and the latest happenings from K&L Wines


Staff Favorites - Jackson Lee

Jackson Lee

Reviews

Page: 1 2 next
Old Potrero "K&L Exclusive Barrel #13" 63.21% Single Malt Straight Rye Whiskey (750ml)
Review Date: 08-17-2019
Barrel 13 had a little more fruit notes going on and a roasted/toasted/malty/toffee/coffee thing going on that I couldn’t quite put my finger on but loved it. The nose had strong influences of oak, dried dark plums and sweet cherry’s; it really reminded me of Panettone, the Italian Holiday Cake. Turbinado sugar and hints of that roasted coffee undertones seemed to be the last ones on the trail. The palate carried over from the nose with Panettone again being the big player. Other notes of spiced cherries, prunes and just a touch of toasted caramel were also prevalent and quite delightful. The finish on this one was long and where I picked up on a lot of the roasted/toasted etc etc flavor that was hinted at in the nose and palate and also got a bit of cinnamon cookie at the very end.
Price: $99.99 Add To Cart

Old Potrero "K&L Exclusive Barrel #12" 63.33% Single Malt Straight Rye Whiskey (750ml)
Review Date: 08-17-2019
Barrel 12 expressed more of what I would consider to be classic Potrero rye notes, almost hitting some from their 18th Century spirit as well. On the nose the combination of oak and cola nut reminded me of their original bottlings but deeper aromas of black raisins and brown sugar melted in butter were also in the forefront. The palate was a bit tight and fairly spicy compared to barrel #13. Again, brown sugar made it’s appearance but it intermingled with the spice and a faint note of cinnamon. With the addition of water, the spice was toned down and more fruit notes surfaced, including something that reminded me of purple gobstoppers. The finish was interesting and definitely reminded me of the Old Potrero 18th Century Spirit, which always had an RC Cola note to me.
Price: $99.99 Add To Cart

Rezpiral Tepeztate "Series 4 - K&L Exclusive" (Berta Vasquez) San Baltazar Chichicapam Uncertified Oaxacan Mezcal (750ml)
Review Date: 07-30-2019
:::Cue Homer Simpson drooling:::
Nosing this for the first time, I may have unintentionally let a noise resembling the famous Simpson's character's moment of bliss when there's something delicious at hand. Tepeztate’s are indeed a treat to taste given the decades the plant spends in the ground, and the patience of the magueyero to harvest them. Rain water, river stones, unmistakable cooked agave, quince and pineapple, smoked honeysuckle blossoms and crushed ice plants emanate from the glass. The palate is unbelievably smooth at 93.2 proof, and resonates the crushed iced plant note I got on the nose. Sweeter candied notes also complement the soft vegetal quality while still retaining its clean, freshness. The finish is a bit tingly with light spearmint and raw artichoke leaves. You should definitely pick up this time capsule of agave spirit.
Price: $129.99 Add To Cart

The 86 Co. Ford's Gin (750ml)
Review Date: 07-27-2019
Juniper and citrus aromas jump out of the glass with an underlying malty sweetness. The palate mirrors the aromas almost to a T; juniper with lemon peel with a sweet background as a little bit of heat hits you on the way out. Perfect in G&T's or a Negroni!
Price: $24.99 Add To Cart

The 86 Co. Cana Brava 3 Year Old Panama White Rum (750ml)
Review Date: 07-27-2019
A great mixing rum at $14.99; sweet with a dry finish.
Price: $14.99 Add To Cart
WE 90

Barrell Bourbon "K&L Exclusive" 14 Year Old Cask Strength Single Barrel #E522 Straight Bourbon Whiskey (750ml)
Review Date: 07-25-2019
This was truly a unique bourbon for me. Admittedly, I haven't tried too many of the Barrell offerings but am quite familiar with the level of demand, so when I saw the sample come in for this I was quite excited. This bottling has also passed inspection by not one, but two discerning buyers (first those lovely people at Barrell and subsequently our own K&L buyers). On the nose I got stale cherries mixed with subtle pear, oak spice, clove, light orange peel and fig newtons. The palate was surprising smooth for the proof, blending spiced cherry crisp with a sweet, purple hard candy note that reminded me of Willy Wonka's Gobstoppers. The finish was a bit nondescript but had a subtle sweetness and smooth, almost cooling ride out.
Price: $109.99 Add To Cart

Compass Box "Juveniles" Limited Edition Blended Malt Scotch Whisky (750ml)
Review Date: 07-17-2019
Pours out a pale gold color and you are immediately hit with peat smoke, dill, and green apple with the slightest hint of toffee and oak spice. A cinnamon spice hits the palate first, then fading into vanilla, nougat, and wet grass. The finish has a nice minerality to it and slowly fades out. The aesthetics of the label does a fine job of matching the juice inside.
Price: $139.99 Add To Cart
WA 90

Kilkerran (Glengyle) "Heavily Peated" Batch No. 1 Campbeltown Single Malt Scotch Whisky (750ml)
Review Date: 07-11-2019
Sweet, oaky, and peaty, this expression has it all. Salted caramel apple, chocolate truffle, pencil shavings, and preserved kumquats waft from the glass and enthrall your olfactory senses. A literal, “mmm” escaped my vocal chords when I first put this to my lips; it was like drinking a sexy bbq. Light, exotic wisp of smoke entangles with soft layers of caramel chews and bbq potato chips without the cloying sweetness some can have. A mild sweet mint comes in towards the finish and just leaves you with a warm, pleasant tingling that keeps me coming back.
Price: $69.99 Add To Cart

Hillrock Estate Solera Aged Single Barrel "#143-A" K&L Exclusive Cask Strength Straight Bourbon Whiskey (750ml)
Review Date: 07-11-2019
The uniqueness of this bottling should not go overlooked. First, solera method bourbon…what? Secondly, private barrel of solera method bourbon…huh? Hillrock uses older sourced stock and combines with distillate they are making themselves in their solera style system, over time, the average age gets older and older in the bottle. From what I hear about this K&L selection is the juice is around an average age of 13 years. The nose is sweet and fun, albeit a little hot- giving off notes of French Toast and brown sugar, oak, baker’s chocolate, and dried plum. The heat does not translate to the palate and is texturally very pleasant. There’s a good depth of flavor with notes of cherry pit, brown sugar, anise seed, and raw almonds. The finish tapers off quickly but you are left with a single, long, spiced cherry flavor. This would make a great gift to any bourbon lover and definitely worth trying since the expressions will only get older with time.
Price: $139.99 Add To Cart

Fukano 10 Year Old K&L Exclusive Single Cask Japanese Whisky (750ml)
Review Date: 07-09-2019
Never have I had a whiskey that reminded me so much of a candy I used to eat as a kid. Growing up, my grandmother always had pieces of Chan Pui Mui (preserved plum candy) in her purse to bribe me with. Something about the sweet, salty, sour "candy" really did it for me and this dram reflects a lot of those flavors. On the nose, peach pit, sherry, and brown sugar all combine to create that preserved plum candy aroma and even more so on the palate. With a light body but plenty of depth and not too hot, again, this tasted like liquid childhood candy dreams. This is definitely one of the best rice whiskies I've encountered, tasting more like whiskey and less like sake. I wanted a little more out of the finish but it did leave with a nice baking spice note that seemed to stick to my tongue like a magnet and a soft nougat-y sweetness.
Price: $99.99 Add To Cart

Old Forester K&L Exclusive Single Barrel #4093 (Warehouse H, Floor 5) Straight Kentucky Bourbon Whisky (750ml)
Review Date: 07-05-2019
Sweet tobacco leaf on the nose with oak aged Luxardo cherries and oatmeal with brown sugar. The palate is smooth and approachable, definitely something I could sip on and then continue sipping on long into the night. Caramel apple and baking spices hit up front while sweet prunes round out the finish. A fun and easy sipper or even something to use if you're wanting a fancy Old Fashioned or Manhattan.
Price: $39.99 Add To Cart

Destileria Los Danzantes Los Nahuales "Metodo Antiguo" Mezcal (750ml) [Cannot ship]
Review Date: 06-26-2019
With almost no heat on the nose (so weird at 52.4% abv), I was getting the stemmy, white part of a strawberry mixed with lemonade, a pool surrounded by pine trees, and sweet black licorice and honey baked ham. There's also an unmistakable roasted agave note that's resting under the other aromas. The palate is almost as smooth as the nose kicking off with sweet, briny spearmint and pine mixed with a whisper of vanilla, and under-ripe tropical fruits. The spirit has a cooling texture and extremely long finish of cinnamon bun (no glaze) and under-ripe pineapple. This was a surprising pour and a fun one!
Price: $69.99 Add To Cart

2007 Don Q "Limited Edition" Single Barrel Rum 750ml
Review Date: 06-25-2019
Initially I scored this a little lower on the nose but after revisiting over the course of ten minutes, I had to change my score. What was initially a single note turned into a revolving door of different aromas. From banana and Asian pear to burnt rubber, fresh struck match, charred brown sugar, nougat and toasted marshmallow, at some point I just had to stop as new adjectives kept rolling in. The palate is smooth and almost cooling with echoes of burnt rubber, hazelnuts, and caramel milk, with baked apple and chocolate on the finish. This would be a great mixer or just on the rocks on its own and a steal at this price.
Price: $19.99 Add To Cart

Springbank 22 Year Old "Sovereign Wax Top - K&L Exclusive" Single Barrel Cask Strength Single Malt Whisky (750ml)
Review Date: 06-18-2019
One of Campbeltown's finest, it's hard to pass up anything this old from this distillery at this price. This is one beautiful dram, one I'm highly tempted to pick up to add to my Scotch cellar. The nose is beautiful with tropical fruits like mango and pineapple sitting in a sweet brine. I also got notes of wet hay, pencil shavings, and quince. The palate was sublime, evoking an audible expression of surprise and pleasure. The texture alone was fantastic, soft and silky yet not quite oily with more tropical fruit notes to back up the nose. The finish was long, with oak, baking spices and an almost overly ripe pear. Definitely one for the whiskey nerds.
Price: $399.99 Add To Cart

Bardstown Bourbon Company - Collaboration Series Phifer Pavitt Reserve Bourbon (750ml)
Review Date: 06-12-2019
A nine-year-old Tennessee whiskey finished in Napa Cab barrels? What more could you want? The nose is super expressive, giving off sweet, burnt caramel, seared pluots, and black cherries. The palate reflects some of the big tannins you get from Napa Cabs with the oak flavor coming along with them while also providing a corn sweetness, not dissimilar to the Kix cereal of my youth. The finish was a sweet plum sugar, almost jammy, undoubtedly another contribution from the Cab barrel. This dram offered the best from both worlds and played together nicely.
Price: $129.99 Add To Cart

Woodinville "K&L Exclusive" Single Cask #1307 Cask Strength Straight Bourbon Whiskey (750ml)
Review Date: 06-12-2019
This was a fantastic surprise coming from a craft distillery in Washington. With full sized barrels and grain to glass production, you can taste that no shortcuts were made. The nose elicits notes of roasted coffee with raspberry syrup and a hint of fennel while the palate is silky, smooth, and has a sweet corn note, which plays with a cinnamon flavor very well. The finish is long with anise and brown sugar leading you out. A fun and different bourbon whiskey from what's making it out of Kentucky.
Price: $69.99 Add To Cart

2004 Old Pulteney 13 Year Old "K&L Exclusive" Single Cask No. 231 Cask Strength Highland Single Malt Whisky 750ml (ships as 1.5L)
Review Date: 05-21-2019
Nosing this and I immediately recognized the danger. I immediately was reminded of Sierra Mist soda, pears and dried, candied ginger. Sipping it and the spirit was full bodied, and surprisingly silky given its age; notes of candied pears and spiced caramel apples dominated while there was just a slight hint of pencil shavings. The finish was a bit quick but pleasant as spiced pears and oak rounded this dram out. If not careful, this bottle could disappear in a hurry.
Price: $109.99 Add To Cart

1995 Charles Heidsieck "Blanc des Millénaires" Brut Champagne
Review Date: 05-07-2019
With a name like Blanc Des Millenaires, I already felt like I was sipping above my pay-grade and I wouldn't be wrong. The nose gave off notes of the most perfectly baked croissant and french bread toast with a very light hint of vanilla. The palate took it to the next level with pain au chocolate, baked pear crisp and a fantastic texture that made me wish that I wasn't at work sampling and spitting this amazing wine but instead on a luxury yacht in a white robe imbibing on this beautiful bubbly.

Dérot-Delugny "Cuvée Fondateurs" Brut
Review Date: 05-07-2019
This was such a fun wine to smell. Very pretty on the nose with notes of white flowers and pear jelly bellies (my favorite). The palate was clean and soft with lightly minerals from a crispy pear.
Price: $49.99 Add To Cart

Le Brun de Neuville "Authentique Assemblage" Brut Champagne
Review Date: 05-07-2019
This is a great wine to buy. Not only for the fact that its aged five year on the lees on cork (not bottle cap), smells of orange blossom honey and green apples, and tastes like a green apple jolly rancher (without the cloying sweetness)- but also because you're helping small producers survive among the bigger houses. If you're into good wine and fighting against, "the man," this is definitely a label you should pick up.

Alexandre Le Brun "Tradition" Brut Champagne
Review Date: 05-07-2019
Once upon a time this was one of my personal staff picks and I loved drinking it as much as I loved recommending it. There's so many great things to say about this producer and his wines aside from the fact that his average vine age is over 40 years old and he keeps his favorite fruit to produce under his own name. With equal parts Chardonnay, Munier, and Pinot Noir, I got notes of sweet meyer lemon peel and honeyed bisquits on the nose. The palate tasted of freshly harvested peach blossom honey, a very slight airy bisquit and more white flowers. Three years on the lees did this wine well and added to the flavors on the finish.
Price: $34.99 Add To Cart

Franck Bonville Grand Cru Brut Blanc de Blancs Champagne
Review Date: 05-07-2019
Franck Bonville constantly tops the staff picks charts and this blanc de blanc is no exception. The nose is clean, with a nice minerality and subtle floralness that opens up the palate with its balanced acidity with a peach blossom note. The finish is what takes the cake for me amongst other wines at this price point. Long and mouthwatering, this is a must for parties and celebrations.
Price: $34.99 Add To Cart
WS 90

Fallet-Dart "Grande Sélection" Brut Champagne
Review Date: 05-07-2019
You just can't get much better with over seven years on the lees with estate grown fruit and a 17th generation grower. With notes of toast with pear jam on the nose and a nicely balanced palate with orchard fruit and pineapple upside-down cake this is a great wine to share with friends. The finish is soft but lingers and keeps reminding you to tip that glass back. A truly great value for under $35.
Price: $34.99 Add To Cart

Four Roses Small Batch Select Bourbon (750ml)
Review Date: 05-02-2019
I typically adhere by the saying, "If it ain't broke, don't fix it." It seems Four Roses disagrees. With three solid core offerings, they decided to double down on the small batch, offering this great, mid-tiered whiskey at a higher proof (you won't hear me complaining). On the nose I get sweet notes of candy corn and golden raisins with a slight hint of ripe green plum. The palate is definitely kicked up a notch from the regular small batch (which incidentally was my gateway bourbon). Sweet apple notes, with a bit of saigon cinnamon spice make their way forward and leave my tongue tingling with a bit of oak and a small hint of vanilla and finishing with sweet white peaches. The regular small batch got me into bourbon and Four Roses whiskey, and this new Select offering brought me back.
Price: $54.99 Add To Cart

Singani "63" Bolivian Muscat Brandy (750ml)
Review Date: 05-02-2019
Super aromatic and just plain pretty. This muscat based Bolvian brandy gives off aromas of tropical fruits, sweet green apples, and night blooming jasmine. The palate is soft and sweet and reminds me of a tropical fruit punch jolly rancher but with a dry finish. A fun, summery spirit that would work great in a number of cocktails (think cucumbers, limes, basil, and punches) or would be great in a spritz or just on the rocks.
Price: $29.99 Add To Cart

2018 Radley & Finch Pinotage, South Africa
Review Date: 05-02-2019
This is a fun and lively Pinotage that’s just screaming, “Take me to the park! Take me to the beach! Enjoy me next to a body of water on a warm day! Take me to a bbq and share me with all your friends!” This is an easy drinker for sure but not overly juicy. Straight out of the bottle the nose comes off as charred cherry wood and cherry skins; as it airs off, a sweeter red berry note starts to shine through. The palate only emphasizes that note, with lower tannins and a nice acidic balance, dark red cherry flesh and mingles with raspberry and finishes with a dry zippiness that made me keep coming back to the glass. For the price a nice, summery wine can’t get much better than this.
Price: $9.99 Add To Cart

1997 Macduff 21 Year Old "Hepburn's Choice" K&L Exclusive Single Barrel Cask Strength Single Malt Scotch Whisky (750ml)
Review Date: 04-16-2019
It’s always fun to review a scotch old enough to order its own scotch and this was no exception. Classic notes on the nose of fresh cut grass, caramel, band aids and sawdust greeted my olfactory nerves like an old friend you haven’t seen in a while. Initially shocked (maybe they gained some weight) but after a while, it’s as if you two were back in the schoolyard days. Taking a sip was warming and slightly surprising. A nice, spicy tingling sensation paired well with the preserved lemon peel marmalade and prune brine flavors. As we began to say our goodbye’s, notes of briney Asian pear lingered with a bit of paraffin. Call it classic, call it old-school, I call it a friend.
Price: $79.99 Add To Cart

1996 Auchroisk 21 Year Old "Hepburn's Choice" K&L Exclusive Single Barrel Cask Strength Single Malt Scotch Whisky (750ml)
Review Date: 04-16-2019
Pale gold in color, pear and pencil shavings perfume
Tingling toffee tickled, oak overtones and opulent orange vanilla
Lingering finish of lush mint and lidocaine
(waxing poetic aside, this is a decadent dram)
Price: $89.99 Add To Cart

1998 Chateau de Vacquié 20 Year Old Unfiltered Haut-Armagnac (750ml)
Review Date: 04-04-2019
The younger sibling to the 27 year old from the same house shows a bright and fruity characteristic while still expressing nice wood interaction. On the nose I get dark caramel apple, sundried peaches with tangelo peel, and dried tobacco leaf at the very end. Smooth and sweet on the palate, bright notes of summer orchard fruits hit you while a semi-sweet chocolate note slowly creeps in. The finish starts sweet and silky and then develops a nice spiced pear note. This was such a fun and interesting Armagnac and one that I would recommend to friends and family.
Price: $79.99 Add To Cart

1991 Chateau de Vacquié 27 Year Old Unfiltered Haut-Armagnac (750ml)
Review Date: 04-04-2019
Oily in the glass and easy on the nose, whiffs of wet tobacco leaf intermingled with vanilla and clove oil. Brown sugar and roofing tar also seemed to tango together but as the dram opened up, the chemical note from the tar slowly dissipated. The initial texture on the palate was creamy and approachable, with a spiced poached pear note coming through followed quickly by red hots and oak. As the liquid receded, a waxy, tannic texture took over and the oak and brown sugar notes seemed to find each other on the dance floor. A fun and easy Armagnac.
Price: $99.99 Add To Cart

2005 Balblair 13 Year Old "K&L Exclusive" Cask No. 224 Cask Strength Single Cask Highland Single Malt Whisky 750ml (ships as 1.5L)
Review Date: 03-30-2019
Beautiful to smell, a joy to drink. The nose was perfumed with sweet clementines, strawberries, dried apricot, nougat, blanched almonds and cedar saw dust. I kept going back to the nose, between sips, and eventually when the glass was empty. If they did make this into a perfume, it could spell trouble for whiskey enthusiasts. The palate shared similar sweet citrus notes, combined with honeysuckle and the lightest bit of vanilla. It starts off smooth on the palate but like a hot pepper, you start to feel the burn kick in towards the end and the spice just adds another warming dimension to the dram. The finish left me wanting to start the whole process all over again. A fun and light scotch that’s perfect for parties and guests (if you like sharing).
Price: $89.99 Add To Cart

1988 Fitte et Laterrade 30 Year Old "Domaine Le Chaou" Bas-Armagnac (750ml)
Review Date: 03-30-2019
As I uttered, “oh wow,” under my breath, I was getting aromas of dark brown sugar, fermenting black plums, antiseptic, and dark chocolate covered raspberries. The palate was smooth and starts off with sweet dried berries but then showed heavy wood influence, which mixed with a lidocaine sensation and mint in the finish.
Price: $129.99 Add To Cart

Legent Straight Kentucky Bourbon Whiskey (750ml)
Review Date: 03-26-2019
The power of suggestion can be extremely influential, so when I heard about this new Beam/Suntory project, I of course had a predetermined thought on what it might taste like. A bourbon blended by a Japanese blender; like a beautiful Venn Diagram combining the flavors of bourbon with the preferences of a Japanese palate. It’s two worlds I thought would never cross but they did. And it works. On the nose, you get the big expressionistic aspects of bourbon with red cherries, candy corn, and dried plums but then there’s a sherry and marzipan note that kicks in and is reminiscent of an older scotch. The palate has a silky smooth texture with wood tannins drying out at the end. Notes of dried orchard fruits mingle with cocoa powder and orange blossom honey. There’s a soft elegance throughout the dram that captures (in my mind) what people want and look for in a good Japanese whiskey. As a huge fan of both Japanese and American whiskies, I can say this one absolutely did not disappoint.
Price: $44.99 Add To Cart

Mezonte "Raicilla Japo" Jalisco Spirit Distilled From Agave Uncertified Jalisco Raicilla/Mezcal (750ml)
Review Date: 03-23-2019
Produced by Hildegardo Joya, this Raicilla expresses the techniques and traditions accumulated over the lifetime of this master distiller. At 75 years old, Heldegardo still walks his agave fields, his trusted machete in hand, looking over the plants as if they were his children. That care is reflected in the distillate he produces from the Amarillo agave. On the nose I get Camembert cheese, or a lightly smoked Gouda, gravel, honey baked pineapple ham and sweet mint. The texture really got me on this one; like drinking a mouthful of fresh river water, this pour is smooth while giving off flavors of sweet cooked agave and blue cotton candy. On the finish, the cooked agave still shines while a little peppery spice leaves your mouth with a pleasant tingling sensation. Sadly, there’s no steward to take Hildegardo’s place when he decides to retire so be sure to get this offering while it’s still being made!
Price: $149.99 Add To Cart

Uncle Nearest 1856 Whiskey (750ml)
Review Date: 03-22-2019
Another whiskey with a neat little story behind it. Coming from a polytechnic schooling, I’d typically ask for sources but the juice seems to speak for itself. The nose is sweet and rich with notes of vanilla, orange peel, stewed figs and a bit of sweetgrass. The palate is soft with a light sweetness that hits the tip of your tongue. Then the sarsaparilla and oak notes start coming through and the finish is drawn out with a bit of sweet mint at the end. At 100 proof, it drinks beautifully and is something I wouldn’t mind having on my bar cart at this price point.
Price: $52.89 Add To Cart
WE 90

Glenmorangie "Allta" Private Edition Highland Single Malt Scotch Whisky (750ml)
Review Date: 03-14-2019
While I typically think of whisky “terroir” as being the barrel aging process (temperature, humidity, char level, wood type, atmosphere, and so on), Glenmorangie highlights the yeast strain. Naturally occurring on the barley used to produce the whisky, the yeast strain was cultivated in order to express the flavor of the environment where the grain was grown. On the nose, prominent oak spice comes through but as it fades, honey graham cracker, apricot crisp, toffee, and cut grass become more apparent. The texture is soft and creamy, with light brown sugar and vanilla being the star players, while there is also a hint of sweet orange citrus juice. The finish is just as sweet, with a medium length, giving you a dry, sweet cereal grain note and texture at the very end. A fun whisky to drink while contemplating the magical role yeast plays in our lives.
Price: Hidden View Price
WA 92

2010 Caol Ila 8 Year Old "Old Particular" K&L Exclusive Single Barrel Cask Strength Single Malt Scotch Whisky (750ml)
Review Date: 03-10-2019
What a crazy offering from Caol Ila! First off, the color is an off-clear; I guess some would describe it as “champagne,” and it looks very pretty in the glass. The nose immediately emanated smoke, but had a sweet, summer melon tone underneath and a caramel note right as you tilt the glass to your lips. Tasting it made me feel like there was a cartoon scuffle going on in my mouth, with limbs briefly appearing out of a cloud of dust and the competitors vying for the win. Sweet oaky notes and Fuji apple seemed to appear and recede just as quickly under the guise of smoke and what I can only imagine is a cask strength abv. The finish is looooooong, and encapsulating, starting with a silkiness that quickly fades into a dry, grippy texture with a flourish of smoke that sticks to your tongue like campfire smoke to your clothes. A very fun and exciting dram that would probably play well with a few drops of water or a nice, clean cube.
Price: $69.99 Add To Cart

Mezonte "Santo Juarez" Jalisco Spirit Distilled From Agave Uncertified Jalisco Raicilla/Mezcal (750ml)
Review Date: 03-05-2019
Nosing the glass and my mouth immediately begins to water. Maybe it’s the Pavlovian response or maybe it’s the Serrano pepper, Havarti cheese, baked apple shrouded in a light pinewood smoke and lemon verbena getting the salivary glands going. Once it hits the palate a voluptuous, warm sensation takes over and gets sweeter the longer it stays on the tongue. As it diminishes, a soft white pepper and sweet menthol leaves you feeling refreshed and ready for whatever the world throws at you.
Price: $149.99 Add To Cart

Rezpiral Tobala-Tobasiche "Series 4" (Berta Vasquez) San Baltazar Chichicapam Mezcal (750ml)
Review Date: 02-28-2019
Definitely one of the best "Agave Spirits," I've had the pleasure of tasting this year. This blend of Tobala and Tabasiche was sublime. The smell, taste, texture, and finish all received perfect marks in my book. The nose was soft and reminded me of a blue fruit punch juice box spiked with cucumber flesh and a light, sweet shiso (Japanese mint). The palate exploded with a briney, sweet, river water freshness with plenty of agave presence and a subtle herbaceous quality that only got sweeter as the spirit faded in the finish. If you're a mezcal-head this is a must-try bottle in my humble opinion.
Price: $119.99 Add To Cart

1974 Garnheath 44 Year Old "Old Particular" K&L Exclusive Single Barrel Cask Strength Single Grain Scotch Whisky (750ml)
Review Date: 02-22-2019
It’s not every day that I get to try a 44-year-old Scotch and I definitely appreciated and took my time with this in the glass. After spending that much time in a barrel, the normal alcohol note took a backseat and allowed more of the esters to come through. The nose was warm and inviting, giving off notes of candied, dried plum, pencil shavings, baking chocolate and an underlying note of iodine. The taste was exceptional and dessert-esque; a soft texture yet with enough heat to liven up the palate. Notes of chocolate covered sweet cherries and strawberry angel food cake with whipped cream dominated my taste buds. The finish was ridiculously long and just as smooth. Soft notes of candy corn and ripe apricots ran to the finish line together while a sweet spearmint piqued towards the very end. If you haven’t had a Scotch with this kind of age on it, you’ll be hard-pressed to find a better deal.
Price: $299.99 Add To Cart

Tom's Foolery Bottled in Bond Single Barrel #150 Ohio Straight Rye Whiskey (750ml)
Review Date: 02-07-2019
A very interesting and expressive nose on this rye, and a testament to why most producers color their rye bottles green. Herbal notes of fennel fronds, dill, cola nut wafted out of the glass and just made me think of rolling hills of soft grass. The palate was not at all what I was expecting; very soft and smooth with a sweet brown sugar note- almost giving off a bourbon quality mixed with a soft rye. The finish was long with spiced notes of nutmeg and cinnamon.
Price: $49.99 Add To Cart

Tom's Foolery Cask Strength Single Barrel #121 Ohio Straight Bourbon Whiskey (750ml)
Review Date: 02-07-2019
This was quite the interesting bourbon to try. It seemed like it was in its teenage years, wanting to be older and more mature yet still showing signs of its youth. I kept coming back to the nose, initially getting strong notes of wet hay, more and more kept coming though. Blondies, nougat, chocolate, and the lightest cherry syrup kept sneaking up on me, like it was wanting more attention. It was a little more standoffish on the palate, yielding a similar yet deeper flavor of hay and honey mixed with cedar wood. The finish seemed to be a bit more mature, hanging around for a while trying to make intelligent conversation and offering notes of rock candy, cake frosting and baking spices. This was definitely a fun bourbon to try from a smaller producer.
Price: $54.99 Add To Cart

Cuish Cuishe Mezcal (750ml)
Review Date: 01-10-2019
This varietal from Cuish is produced by Francisco Garcia Leon and is the most vegetal of the three expressions currently available. I got cucumber skin and broken ice plants on the nose with very clean, vegetal, briney flavors on the palate. This bottling is so clean with a perfect sweetness coming from the cooked agave; highly recommended if you’re looking to branch out from espadins and delve into the Karwinski’s
Price: Hidden View Price

Cuish Ensamble Espadin-Cuishe Mezcal (750ml)
Review Date: 01-10-2019
Another offering from Jose Santiago, this ensamble blends cuishe with espadin. On the nose I get an aged cheddar quality mixed with a grassy/vegetal note with bbq smoke wafting in the background. The juice itself is very smooth with that bbq smoke translating to the palate as well. I also got a blue cotton candy flavor and a texture like drinking from a fresh mountain stream, making this expression almost too enticing.
Price: $79.99 Add To Cart

2000 Velier Caroni 17 Year Old "High Proof" Trinidad Rum (750ml)
Review Date: 01-05-2019
One of the more interesting and dynamic spirits I’ve tasted recently. This dram seemed to change and morph so much in the glass that I felt like I needed to revise my notes every few minutes. The nose started off with a strong scent of roofing tar, petrol, lemon balm and overripe pear but as it sat in the glass, I started to smell caramel and licorice slowly developing like a black and white photograph in a tray in the darkroom. Eventually the funkier aromas started to balance more with the sweet tones. The palate was equally weird and complex, causing me to pause and scratch my head. The petrol note was definitely still there but this time it was accented by a cross between anise seed and fennel bulb; I even got a little five-spice chicken. Towards the end a strong menthol note reared its head, coupled with unripened banana. This is definitely a bottle you can sit and get to know yourself over.
Price: $199.99 Add To Cart

Knob Creek Cask Strength Rye Whiskey (750ml)
Review Date: 01-05-2019
Smelling this rye brought me back to the days of working in a bakery and smelling the rye dough as the bakers were kneading it. The grain on the nose is unmistakable, but past that you get wonderful baking spices like nutmeg and mild clove mixing with stewed cherries and a green banana note at the end. The palate reminded me of the opening to the Power Puff Girls, “Sugar, spice, and everything nice. These were the ingredients chosen to create the perfect…” whiskey dram. Ok, maybe not perfect, and in this case, I would liken Chemical X (the extra ingredient Professor Ultonium added) to a cherry jolly rancher. The finish was mighty powerful too, long and daring me to take another sip, the rye grain made sure to say goodbye as it slowly sauntered away.
Price: $59.99 Add To Cart
WA 93

1996 Tobermory 22 Year Old "Old Malt Cask" K&L Exclusive Single Refill Sherry Butt Cask Strength Single Malt Scotch Whisky (750ml)
Review Date: 12-21-2018
A beautiful, light straw colored pour into the glass and the fumes were bouncing my nose but bringing some water to the party allowed me an all-access pass. Like being in a dark club surrounded by people dancing, the aromas seemed to be jumping up and down, always excited and dynamic. The first note to hit was green apple skin and pencil shavings. After adding a bit of water the crowd seemed to open up and back spices, rubber, and sweet malt joined the dance floor. The first moment of the first sip was astonishingly sweet. Not syrupy or cloying, but a pure, natural sweet note that paved the way for a floral, almost gardenia-like tone which was balanced by spiced pear and finishing with a light band aid flavor. The finish was just like leaving the club; I was left with remnants and fond memories of the dram yet not nearly as sweaty from the experience.
Price: $89.99 Add To Cart

2004 Fettercairn 14 Year Old "Old Particular" K&L Exclusive Single Barrel Cask Strength Single Malt Scotch Whisky (750ml)
Review Date: 12-09-2018
A single malt from a distillery that usually goes into blends, I haven’t had a lot of experience with Fettercairn but after this, I wish I had. Amontillado Sherry was the first and most distinguishable note for me but the briney aspect dissipated quickly and was then left with white sage and heavily buttered caramel. That brine stuck through the palate, but just barely as light cola, honey, and whipped cream overran it as it lingered. The finish was short and sweet, not one for long goodbyes.
Price: Hidden View Price

2010 Glen Garioch 8 Year Old "Old Particular" K&L Exclusive Single Barrel Cask Strength Single Malt Scotch Whisky (750ml)
Review Date: 12-08-2018
A scotch for the rum lovers! This 8 year old reeked with notes of agricole: funky banana, grassy, and then the floral jasmine, smoked honey, scotch notes come in to remind you what you’re actually sipping. The flavors were a bit more traditional, straying from the rebel nose notes that almost had me fooled. Sweet cream and a light floral component floated across the palate leaving a warm, tingly sensation on the tongue before fading into a dry finish.
Price: Hidden View Price

2007 Benrinnes 11 Year Old "Old Particular" K&L Exclusive Single Barrel Cask Strength Single Malt Scotch Whisky (750ml)
Review Date: 12-08-2018
What a lovely little Speyside from Benrinnes. I added a dash of water to my dram as I felt it was a bit tight out of the bottle, but once the water hit, it opened up into honeyed graham cracker, sesame brittle, and dried cedar wood on the nose. The palate mirrored those notes with a wonderful sweetness at the start. The finish was a bit hot but the sweet note prevailed through to the end.
Price: Hidden View Price

Page: 1 2 next