Reviewers


K&L Email Alerts

Sign up to receive custom alerts, new arrivals and the latest happenings from K&L Wines


Staff Favorites - Neal Fischer

Neal Fischer
Neal Fischer  | Send Email  |   Subscribe to My Sommelier Service
Neal Fischer bio...


Reviews

Page: 1 2 next
2003 Glentauchers 15 Year Old "Chieftain's" Single Sherry Butt Speyside Single Malt Whisky (750ml)
Review Date: 06-25-2019
Those afraid of Sherry bombs need not apply. Glentauchers is a fun dram to have in part because of how seldom it's seen on it's own. Most of the whisky distilled here goes into big name blends. K&L (by way of Chieftain's) offers up this Speyside rarity in all its Oloroso glory. Immediately after pouring the dram and setting the glass in front of me, I'd be darn near convinced someone just put Sherry under my nose if I came at this without knowing what it was. Dark heavy dried fruits boarder on sweet and oxidized, and you can even get a sense of the Sherry's flor. Further nosing reveals butterscotch and rum-like aromas. All questions about whether or not this is a Scotch fades with the first sip. Dark roasted malt and leather dominate initially, followed by dark chocolate, toasted coffee beans, and almonds. A splash of water brings back some of the fruitier components with dark honey and oily wood.
Price: $74.99 Add To Cart

2007 Don Q "Limited Edition" Single Barrel Rum 750ml
Review Date: 06-24-2019
This single barrel from Don Q is big on scents of brown sugar melted in butter, dark caramel, cinnamon, and clove. Slight tropical fruit tones emerge with overripe banana and grilled pineapple. There's a nip of spice on the nose, but this rum is really just a big softy and wants to be your friend. The palate has rich butterscotch and burnt caramel flavors like a roasted marshmallow. Again the spice asserts itself only briefly before toning back down and getting replaced by charred oak into a caramelized woody finish.
Price: $19.99 Add To Cart

2018 Astrolabe Sauvignon Blanc Marlborough
Review Date: 06-24-2019
This wine is fresh! The nose bursts with juicy fruits across the board. Orchard fruits jump up first with peach, nectarine, and apricot. Then it turns gorgeously floral and somewhat tropical with soft pineapple aromas and underripe melon. Giving these scents structure and support is just the right amount of herbaceousness: a touch of fresh hay, bay laurel, and basil. On the palate, the tropical notes take the foreground. It's refreshing, and I really love the way the wine balances just the slightest sweetness with some sea salt and zippy citrus acid. Hello, Summer!
Price: $19.99 Add To Cart
BC 95

Woodinville K&L Exclusive Single Cask #1307 Cask Strength Straight Bourbon Whiskey (750ml)
Review Date: 06-18-2019
Here's a great summer sipping Bourbon. The nose is redolent with scents of fresh orange and lemon zest. Then aromas emerge of herbal cough drops, polished oak, and old leather. The palate presents luscious caramel apple and more herbaceousness. The bright citrus notes remain present through the ride, keeping the whiskey fresh, bright, and lip-puckering.
Price: $69.99 Add To Cart

Basil Hayden's 10 Year Old Kentucky Bourbon (750ml)
Review Date: 06-18-2019
This is a high rye Bourbon that doesn't necessarily drink like one. It's got big smooth caramel running throughout just accented by baking spice. Notes of stewed apples mix with buttermilk creaminess and a bright cherry accent. This is a very smooth Bourbon with a long, earthy finish.
Price: $54.99 Add To Cart

Four Roses Small Batch Select Bourbon (750ml)
Review Date: 06-18-2019
Woody and spicy and fruity! Oh my! This newest project from Four Roses is a special blend of six of their mashbill/yeast recipes. It is more robust and richer than the previous standards from Four Roses, lending a heavy-handed approach to a classic. Cinnamon and clove burst out of the glass with heavy oak toast scents and orchard fruits. On the palate, everything is just... more. Hotter spice is also joined by mint, while those orchard fruit notes are intensified and taste like they've been baked into a pie. The wood flavors get heavier too with well charred oak and cedar notes just barely calmed down by vanilla sweetness.
Price: $54.99 Add To Cart

Legent Straight Kentucky Bourbon Whiskey (750ml)
Review Date: 06-18-2019
Bourbon by way of Japan. It may sound gimmicky or something unnecessarily dreamed up by an advertising team, but the results prove that there's real quality and substance to this bottle. The juice is from Kentucky, but then it gets finished in the Land of the Rising Sun by a Japanese master blender. The whiskey turned out like you might expect: full Bourbon flavors you're familiar with, but with a restraint and elegance that Japanese whiskey has a reputation for. Caramel and clove bats at the nose, yet it's lighter than many typical Bourbons with beautiful floral notes that grow spicier with each sniff. The palate maintains the caramel, but is quite fruity. Overall the whiskey is rich yet restrained, ending with woody toasty notes.
Price: $44.99 Add To Cart

2012 Troll Bridge "Password" Napa Valley Bordeaux Blend
Review Date: 06-07-2019
Trollbridge lives up to the second half of its name: it's got a style that bridges Cali red blends and more Bordeaux characteristics. It boasts of big bold fruit and acidity initially. Then scents of old leather, tobacco, blackberry, and cassis roll in. The palate comes on with tart cherry, green herbaceousness, and dusty earth. The tannins here are soft and friendly. This vintage is ready to drink now, but could also hang out age for a good while longer. Trolls can be tasty too.
Price: Hidden View Price

2016 Purlieu "Le Pich" Napa Valley Cabernet Sauvignon
Review Date: 06-07-2019
This is freshhhhhhhhhh. This Cab from Purlieu is juicy, bright, and full of red fruit with just a little leather. On the palate, the ripe fruits turn darker, with notes of scorched earth, and a touch of barrel spice. With those toastier and heavier flavors, the wine never looses its bright characteristics and ripeness. The freshness dominates. This is a great red for summer.
Price: $49.99 Add To Cart
RP 94

2015 Wines of Substance "Klein Vineyard - Bx" Walla Walla Valley Bordeaux Blend
Review Date: 06-07-2019
This is my favorite release from the Wines of Substance lineup. As Bordeaux blends go, this is impressive. It begins with a great spicy nose, gets more earthy, then displays pretty and subtle notes of cranberry and blackberry. The elegant fruit characteristics continue onto the palate, joined by leather and then toasted baking spices. The mouthfeel is satiny, and the wine gently fades into a drying, long finish.
Price: $59.95 Add To Cart
JD 98

2015 Rodney Strong "Reserve" Alexander Valley Cabernet Sauvignon
Review Date: 06-07-2019
This Reserve Cab from Rodney Strong aims to be a bridge between new world and old world Cabs. It succeeds quite nicely at that goal and got 97 points from Decanter to show for it. It starts off as a fairly big wine, full of luscious dark fruit, tart acidity, and a little earthiness. As it progresses, the fruit comes out even more boldly, but it never gets to the point of being juicy. There's a good amount of toasted oak and big tannins to provide great structure and spice. This wine is ready to drink now if you like a more fruit-forward Cali style Cab, but it's certainly set up to age elegantly and will develop more Bordeaux-type qualities as it matures in your cellar.
Price: $39.95 Add To Cart
DC 97

McKenzie Bottled-in-Bond Wheated Bourbon Whiskey (750ml)
Review Date: 06-04-2019
A wheated Bourbon for all seasons! I normally gravitate toward high-rye American whiskeys, but I like this wheater because it's no pushover. The nose begins with some of the more gentle scents one might expect from wheated Bourbon: breadiness, breakfast brioche, butter toffees, and baked fruits. However, this is not any old wheated Bourbon because it happens to be Bottled in Bond which ensures a decent level of maturity and 100 proof. Sandalwood pops out of the oak char notes and then the booze turns spicy (not into Rye territory, but enough to liven the glass). Clove begets allspice begets savory anise that reminds me of European black licorice candies. As the Bourbon ebbs to its long finish, the fruit flavors bob in and out between those spicy notes and polished wood tannins.
Price: $44.99 Add To Cart

2016 Grand Napa "Master Red" Napa Valley Red Blend
Review Date: 06-04-2019
The Master Red is the lightest and freshest of the Grand Napa lineup that we recently got in for this vintage. It's a lovely Bordeaux style blend that got 93 points from Robert Parker. The nose begins floral and gently perfumed, then raspberry notes emerge with just a little spicebox. The palate is dry and dusty with more fruit coming out such as black cherry, blueberry, and a redoubling of the raspberry characteristics from the nose. Yet, with all this dark fruit, the wine never gets heavy-handed. It stays light and elegant into its medium-long finish.
Price: Hidden View Price
RP 93

2017 Torbreck "Woodcutter's" Shiraz Barossa Valley South Australia
Review Date: 06-03-2019
There's a lot going on here. The Woodcutter is big and rich, but elegant as well. Juicy damson plum mixes with herbal notes and eucalyptus leaves. Just when your nose focuses in on the fruitiness, it switches up and gets more earthy and savory. On the palate this wine is dense, dark, and full-bodied. Cassis is in flavor command without overreaching, and then black pepper jumps in to liven the party. There's medium tannin levels adding just enough structure to tame the roundness. Get me some barbecue.
Price: $19.99 Add To Cart
WS 93

Knob Creek K&L Exclusive Single Barrel #7965B (Distilled 9/24/12, Warehouse W-P, Floor F-02, Rick R-025) Kentucky Straight Rye Whiskey (750ml)
Review Date: 06-03-2019
Dusty oak and earthy spice is the name of the game here. Cedar cut last week in grampa's basement workshop mingle with scents coming from upstairs where someone bakes a peach cobbler and a gooey cherry pie. The spice grows in strength though with a good amount of cinnamon and cardamom. The spice mingles with the alcohol heat, so there's no mistake that this is a cask strength rye. On first sip, menthol hits the tongue, but then the heat rises. Cinnamon ramps up again mixing with some herbal notes. The cherry comes back into play, and then toward the end this rye gets woody and tannic.
Price: $49.99 Add To Cart

2017 Drew "Mid-Elevation" Mendocino Ridge Pinot Noir
Review Date: 05-28-2019
The nose of this Pinot has loads of tart cherry, blackberry, a bit of a stemmy character, and great herbal notes. On the palate, I love the acidity of the dark fruit flavors which is accompanied by bay laurel, eucalyptus, and elegant minerality.
Price: $29.95 Add To Cart
VN 94

2016 The Paring (The Hilt) Sta. Rita Hills Pinot Noir
Review Date: 05-28-2019
The nose offers cherry, fresh plum, and wet stone. It's just a little floral and a little earthy. The palate tastes of dark mixed berries and is interestingly flinty and mineral. The tannins offer great structure leading into the finish that slowly unfolds gentle roasty smoke flavors.
Price: $24.95 Add To Cart
WE 93 JD 91

2015 Matias Santa Lucia Highlands Chardonnay
Review Date: 05-28-2019
This wine floored me. It is very Burgundian for a Californian Chardonnay. The nose has white flowers, soft citrus, and nice minerality. It smells so crisp and vibrant, and the palate delivers on those promises. It's chalky, has zippy acidity, is laser-focused, and has quite a long finish. Gorgeous.
Price: Hidden View Price
WE 93

2016 GRO "Ruhl Vineyard" Mt. Veeder Chardonnay
Review Date: 05-28-2019
The nose is an orchard full of peach, apricot, Meyer lemon, and orange blossom. There's a touch of spice coming from the barrel, but it never comes on strong; rather, the barrel just adds some dimension and accent to the aromas. The palate is also very fruity and bright with some great honeyed notes. There's a pleasant roundness and texture to the mouthfeel. This is a great Chardonnay for people looking for richness without going full into oak toast or butter territory. This will be a smash hit at your garden parties this summer.
Price: Hidden View Price

Michel Couvreur "Cap a Pie" Malt Whisky (750ml)
Review Date: 05-24-2019
How is this French family so great at handling Scotch? I don't know the answer to that question, but it doesn't matter because they've impressed me again. This new offering is buttery with just a touch of smoke on the nose. More sniffs and a few drops of water bring out rich red fruit scents and a pleasant pungent quality. The palate is a bit of a conundrum because the whisky is gentler and yet the peat comes out more as well. Even with more smoke, this whisky is never aggressive. Instead, floral flavors and vanilla bean unfold and lead up to dying campfire finish.
Price: $69.99 Add To Cart

2004 Old Pulteney 13 Year Old "K&L Exclusive" Single Cask No. 231 Cask Strength Highland Single Malt Whisky 750ml (ships as 1.5L)
Review Date: 05-24-2019
Old Pulteney is always great and this cask is no exception. And with fewer than 300 bottles, this is not one to miss. This barrel is big on sea salt brine and sandy beach scents. Hefty caramel takes over for a bit, but then things get musty... in a very good way. There's old beaten leather, mothballs, and a general aromatic ambience that reminds me of my grandparents' basement. The palate comes out punching with a great level of spice, combining flavors of stone fruits like apricot, then it turns to balsa wood and melting candle wax. For fans of the old school.
Price: $109.99 Add To Cart

Clan Denny Craigellachie 10 Year Old Scotch Whisky (750ml)
Review Date: 05-24-2019
This is quite an elegant Scotch that shows a lot of maturity and finesse for being only 10 years old. Ripe cherry scents hit the nose with a bright floral character. The nose gets temporarily richer with notes of buttery pastry and more fruit, but then it checks itself to get a little lighter again and more earthy. The palate is also light, making this quite the easy drinker, very summery. The flowers continue to come out and combining that with the more earthy qualities gives this Scotch the vibe of walking through a garden after a Spring rain.
Price: $44.99 Add To Cart

Clan Denny Fettercairn 10 Year Old Scotch Whisky (750ml)
Review Date: 05-24-2019
I didn't really know much about Fettercairn until a couple years ago, but the more I try single casks from this distillery the more I'm impressed. This bottling is fun because it starts light, but gets heavier as you nose and sip. Initial impressions offer scents of fresh apple, new leather, nougat and a lot of beeswax. The palate begins with stone fruit and some herbal character, but then it gets darker and more robust. The more I taste this dram, the more cocoa and fruit I pick up on. Eventually, this tastes like a chocolate candy bar that's loaded with dried fruits and nuts. Quite fun if you're looking for a dram desert.
Price: $44.99 Add To Cart

1995 Charles Heidsieck "Blanc des Millénaires" Brut Champagne
Review Date: 05-14-2019
The Blanc des Millenaires is really something special because Heidsieck so rarely makes it, even in years considered great vintages for the Champagne region. I love the smoke right off the bat on this! There are scents of fresh-baked brioche bread, soft orchard fruits, along with some savory and salty notes. The palate is a delightful contradiction with chalk-in-your-teeth minerality, gentle oak spices, and buttery cooked apples.

Dérot-Delugny "Cuvée Fondateurs" Brut
Review Date: 05-14-2019
This little number is Champagne made from 100% Pinot Gris and it's not like other Champagnes I've had. Nosing the glass I get pear and crisp apple notes that transform into tropical floral scents. There's a touch of cream and chalk, but the flowers and fruit keep coming back in waves. The palate continues these characteristics, though the creaminess is slightly more pronounced (in flavor and texture). Then add flavors of lemon peel and soft oak spice, ending with more tropical fruit notes.
Price: $49.99 Add To Cart

Le Brun de Neuville "Authentique" Brut Rosé Champagne
Review Date: 05-14-2019
Everyone brings Rose to summer parties, and that's all well and good. But if you really want to make a statement then go for a Rose Champagne, and you can't find many better than Le Brun de Neuville Authentique Brut Rose. The nose expresses soft mixed berries, brighter red fruits, lemon zest, and spice. On the palate there's tart cherry, raspberry, peach, and nectarine. This Champagne also has great minerality and texture.
Price: $44.99 Add To Cart

Wine Club

$34.99

2008 Le Brun de Neuville "Grand Vintage" Brut Champagne
Review Date: 05-14-2019
My absolute favorite Le Brun to date! The 2008 Grand Vintage utilizes 96% Chardonnay and 4% Pinot Noir. Why are the proportions like this? I have no idea what the method is behind the madness, but whatever it is - it works like magic. I pick up layers of green apple and yellow apple along with Meyer lemon and decadent brioche bread. The palate offers up spice and excellent toastiness from the oak, chalky goodness, and then there's an elegant floral quality that carries throughout. This is an ideal celebration Champagne.
Price: $39.99 Add To Cart
WE 94 WS 91

Le Brun de Neuville "Authentique Assemblage" Brut Champagne
Review Date: 05-14-2019
I love this Champagne because it's rich, yet never overstated. Coming from 60% Chardonnay and 40% Pinot Noir, the Authentique Assemblage exhibits power and amazing balance. It is robust with oak spice, gentle toastiness, yellow apple, and dried apricots. The palate smacks of clotted cream, nectarine, and bright fruit acidity. There's a suppleness to the texture that's kept quite lively with its very tiny bubbles. This is one big, fun sparkler.
Price: $34.99 Add To Cart
WE 92 WS 90

2012 Alexandre Le Brun "Cuvée Revelation" Brut Champagne
Review Date: 05-14-2019
There aren't a whole lot of 100% Meunier Champagnes out there so this bubbly might strike you as an oddity, but it's certainly a wine that's worth getting familiar with (especially since this juice is coming from some significantly old vines). It opens a little earthy, but then jumps into freshnes with scents of garden flowers, yeastiness, citrus fruits, and honeysuckle. I find the palate very mineral-forward, but this is expertly balanced by the wine's acidity and just a touch of savory spice coming in at the finish.
Price: $79.99 Add To Cart

Alexandre Le Brun "Tradition" Brut Champagne
Review Date: 05-14-2019
Everyone on staff here at K&L loves Le Brun Champagnes, but this is one of my all time favorites! This sparkler is incredibly aromatic with sour lemon, fresh cream, and solid minerality. What puts it over the top for me are the scents of brightly blooming wild flowers. The palate begins gently with lemon curd dessert before reaching a vibrant acidity, then ending with a grapefruit pith finish. Outstanding.
Price: $34.99 Add To Cart

Fallet-Dart "Grande Sélection" Brut Champagne
Review Date: 05-13-2019
How can a Champagne be so toasty and yet so bright and vibrant at the same time? It's picking up huge depth of flavor from spending seven years on the lees leading to a nose that's simultaneously doughy and toasty. I pick up aromas of a medley of soft orchard fruits here with pear, peach, and apricot at the helm. The palate shows off surprisingly bright acid and fresh green apples. Take this rich yet zippy Champagne to your next gathering because the range of flavors has something to please everyone in attendance.
Price: $34.99 Add To Cart

2018 A.A. Badenhorst "Secateurs" Chenin Blanc Swartland
Review Date: 05-06-2019
This wine screams "summer" like a little kid cannon-balling into a pool. I love the strong tropical fruit aromas from this Chenin Blanc that hit right up front. I catch notes of pineapple, guava, and mandarin orange with honeysuckle. The palate brings soft fruits and balances bright lemon acidity with grapefruit pith bitterness. This is a crisp, mouthwatering white wine.
Price: $14.99 Add To Cart
W&S 94 VN 90

2015 Rippon "Mature Vine" Pinot Noir Lake Wanaka Central Otago (Biodynamic)
Review Date: 04-19-2019
I love the dusty berry quality right up front on the nose. Then the power comes out. There's a lot of dark fruit coming at you from this glass of wine including mixed berries, plum, and dried concentrated strawberries. The bold fruits shows up strong on the palate too, but then you get to the complexity with black pepper spice, a great level of acidity, and big tannic structure. This would be an excellent Pinot Noir for aging.

2016 Bravium Russian River Valley Chardonnay
Review Date: 04-16-2019
This Russian River Valley Chardonnay has a soft nose with scents of yellow apple and other orchard fruits. The aromas are also supple and creamy with vanilla and butter. The fruit components come out more on the palate which also has more acidity with lemony citrus flavors and a little salinity. The result is a Cali Chard that's rich but also zippy, displaying a friendly balance.
Price: Hidden View Price
WE 91 JD 90

2015 Substance (K Vintners) "Jack's Vineyard" Walla Walla Valley Cabernet Sauvignon
Review Date: 04-16-2019
Wines of Substance is K Vintners other label and I'm frequently impressed with the wines each brand releases. The 2015 vintage of Jack's Vineyard Cab Sauv is very aromatic with notes of blackberry, juicy dark plums, and just a touch of earthiness. The palate is full of tart red fruit flavors that grow softer and rounder toward the finish. The finish is both fruity and leathery. This is a full-flavored yet elegant Cab that just slams at the below-$30 price point.
Price: Hidden View Price
JD 94 RP 94

5 Sentidos Jabali/Tobala "K&L Exclusive" Mezcal (uncertified) (750ml)
Review Date: 04-11-2019
Big on the funk and not on the smoke. I love this bottling for K&L because it shows off the interesting agave species so well. Here we have high desert earthiness, old hay grassiness, and white pepper spiciness. There's a fresh vegetal aroma that's matched by a heady medicinal quality. And you know what? There's just the right amount of that burning rubber smell to rub me the right way. The palate has great salinity and bright citrus flavors. It's like someone tried to zest a lemon on a rock that's been out in the sun and the dust for longer than I've been alive. Towards the finish, it gets more and more savory and drying, leaving a slightly tingling spice on the tongue and gums. Outstanding!
Price: $119.99 Add To Cart

Whistle Pig 10 Year Old "K&L Exclusive" 113.9 Proof Barrel #2346 Single Barrel Cask Strength Straight Rye Whiskey (750ml)
Review Date: 04-09-2019
This Whistle Pig K&L single barrel is an interestingly spicy little number because for me it has a fire and ice quality. The nose gets going with cinnamon Red Hots mixed with menthol medicinal balm. The menthol blends excellently with a fresh-cut cedar aroma that grows the more I sniff the glass. Adding complexity, there are subtle scents of hay, caramel, and light fresh flowers. The palate is more austere, saline, and very dry. The caramel is all but gone here, having been chased away by wood-intensity and more floral flavors. Zippy spice comes back at the end and warms my entire mouth.
Price: $89.99 Add To Cart

Whistle Pig 10 Year Old "K&L Exclusive" 111.3 Proof Barrel 2380 Single Barrel Cask Strength Straight Rye Whiskey (750ml)
Review Date: 04-07-2019
I enjoy the balance between the spice and the floral characteristics on the nose of this bottling of Whistle Pig for K&L. Sharp cinnamon and pepper snap at the nostrils up front, but then cooler aromas arise quickly for a soft little bouquet of flowers. Pleasing warm grain scents come out next for me with a slight tangerine element. Then there's a slight soft dusty caramel tone that shows through. The palate unfolds somewhat differently - starting with peppermint, then becoming herbaceous, getting quite woody (polished oak), then returning to more mint for a finish that's both spicy and cooling. Hey Ma! It tingles!
Price: $89.99 Add To Cart

Glenmorangie "Allta" Private Edition Highland Single Malt Scotch Whisky (750ml)
Review Date: 03-18-2019
This is a lovely little afternoon snack of a Scotch opening on aromas of butter cookies and Earl Grey tea with warmed honey stirred in. Soft aged leather notes come out along with gentle spices and subtle tobacco leaf scents. Rounding out the nose are hints of polished oak and shaved coconut. The spices and leather characteristics are more pronounced on the palate, and to that fruit flavors emerge with nectarine and fresh orange standing out the most. There's a nice line of fresh baked bread running through the whole experience, and then the dram drifts into a smooth finish ending with cooling mint.
Price: $99.99 Add To Cart
WA 92

Aberlour Casg Annamh "Batch #1" Speyside Single Malt Scotch Whisky (750ml)
Review Date: 02-25-2019
Fans of rich Highland and Speyside Scotches should flock here. This isn't a full-on Sherry-bomb sweetie, but the full effects of the Oloroso barrels are on display here. I pick up on brandy cherries, dehydrated strawberries, raisin, and warm nuttiness. Honey roasted oats, powdered malt, and caramel are also on display. The scents of this Scotch are warming and soothing - very much something I want to sip on a chilly evening to soothe my bones after a long day. More nuttiness comes out on the palate with roasted almonds, fresh-cracked walnut, and a little hazelnut. These flavors fade into the finish that's medium-long, malty, earthy, and, yes, warming. Cuddle up with this one.
Price: $59.99 Add To Cart

Glen Oak 17 Year (Bruichladdich) Single Malt Scotch (750ml)
Review Date: 02-25-2019
Briney, cereal, leather, and a pleasant mustiness (like rooting around in your grandparents' basement or perusing a used book store). The malt and salt are center stage here, but a nice caramel note sets a friendly tone as well. Then there's a little spice mix, including something not quite like anise or salty black licorice chews. On the palate the darkness comes out though. The flavors here combined with the viscous texture makes sipping this Scotch almost like biting into a candy bar. There's dark chocolate, nougat, and toasted nutty flavor. Combine that with the ever-present saltiness and you've got yourself quite a treat. Bruichladdich is always one of my favorite whiskies, and this 17 year old small batch under the Glen Oak moniker excels.
Price: $89.99 Add To Cart

Laird's "Single Cask Selection" Barrel 14E15#1 Cask Strength Single Barrel Apple Brandy (750ml)
Review Date: 02-24-2019
Well hello, my punch-drunk big candied apple! The nose is sharp, but it's also a beautiful bouquet of fresh red orchard apple, apple candy syrup, and dark caramel. Balancing the sweeter and fruitier scents are dark spicy notes of cardamom, clove, sumac, and Aleppo pepper. There are also robust wood aromas of sandalwood and resinous pine. The spice rushes out of the gate first on the palate with bold snaps of black pepper, chili powder, and cinnamon. The spice hits hard, but it gradually fades leaving behind gentle woody-floral flavors and a stellar red apple finish.
Price: $49.99 Add To Cart

Laird's "Single Cask Selection" Barrel 14E15#4 Cask Strength Single Barrel Apple Brandy (750ml)
Review Date: 02-24-2019
This cask has many similar flavor components to our other Laird's single cask, but the proportions are all different, creating a familiar yet unique experience. Whereas the K&L barrel #1 was quite the spice bomb, this barrel #4 is decidedly flower-forward (while still retaining notable spicy elements in its profile). The potpourri aroma smacks of jasmine, black orchid, and lavender. Following this floral flow comes those more perfume-oriented wood notes that were present in the other cask such as sandalwood and a slight pine element. Baking spices come out next, with the apple bringing up the rear, almost shyly so. The palate opens with spice, but it quickly softens to a mix of apple and perfume. These flavors role over into a very long and tasty finish.
Price: $49.99 Add To Cart

Arkansas 21 Year Old Apple Brandy (750ml)
Review Date: 02-24-2019
We've got somewhat of an orchard stroll here in which I pick up on a medley of red, yellow, and green apples. We've got fragrant scents of gentle oak spice, cedar, and old polished wood. We've got soft baking spice aromas, vanilla, slight smells of fresh lemon, and a touch of salinity. This is exceptionally elegant brandy. Flavors of green apple hard candies and salty caramel chews combine on the palate giving me the impression of the Caramel Apple Pop suckers that I used to get in my trick-or-treat bag on Halloween (Fine. Yes, I still go trick-or-treating. Don't judge), but there's nearly no sugar sweetness here. The French oak bobs in and out of the palate's foreground, playful yet restrained. As the palate moves to its close, the flavors focus in on a combination of juicy Golden Delicious and tart Granny Smith apple flavors. The finish manages to be quite fruity and dry at the same time, and it definitely has me craving another glass.
Price: $129.99 Add To Cart
WE 95

1988 Cambus 29 Year Old "Sovereign" K&L Exclusive Single Barrel Cask Strength Single Grain Scotch Whisky (750ml)
Review Date: 02-19-2019
Honey and grain notes dominate the nose at first which alternately reminds me of a light dessert but then also the over-sweet breakfast cereal I loved as a kid, such as Sugar Smacks. (Luckily, there's nothing so cloying going on here, but it's fascinating the ways that olfactory hues can trigger vivid memories of childhood.) Continuing to sniff down the trail, I get whiffs of creme brulee, light gooey caramels, and syrupy peaches... yet somehow the aromas display a certain lightness and restraint. Funny thing, that. On the palate there are flavors of vanilla cream, soft wood, and a bit of leather along with some gentle citrus notes. The flavors keep coming back to the grain and the honey though. And I keep getting sweet reminders of my childhood and Saturday morning breakfast cereal. Funny thing, that.
Price: Hidden View Price

2016 Nor'Wester (Omihi) by Greystone Pinot Noir North Canterbury
Review Date: 02-19-2019
Initial nosing displays a wine that is light and earthy, so there are welcome Burgundian tones to this Pinot Noir. In short time, though, more fruit note emerge to round out this New Zealand wine. Sour cherry, blackberry, and damson reveal themselves with a touch of pepper and a soft floral quality. Tart berries burst on the palate including not-yet-ripe blueberries and lingonberry sauce with just a little leafy green herbaceousness.

1988 North British 30 Year Old "Old Particular" K&L Exclusive Single Barrel Cask Strength Single Grain Scotch Whisky (750ml)
Review Date: 02-17-2019
Do you like citrus candies? Then this 30 year old Scottish grain whisky will be right up your alley. Nosing the glass quickly reveals clementine orange, Meyer lemon, citrus pith, and rock candy. This dram is just dang zippy! Soft vanilla and caramel chew scents show throw fleetingly, but they can't quite stand up to the zesty acidity. On the palate there are flavors of wildflower honey, some herbal elements, and more citrus. The palate is more wood-oriented than the nose suggests, but it's kept in equilibrium. The sweet and fruity flavors balance quite well with the oak spice characteristics. This whisky has a medium-long finish with the oak spice building slightly before becoming soft and creamy.
Price: Hidden View Price

1987 Strathclyde 30 Year Old "Old Particular" K&L Exclusive Single Barrel Cask Strength Single Grain Scotch Whisky (750ml)
Review Date: 02-15-2019
This has a strong spice presence right up front for a grain whisky. I get pepper, cinnamon, cardamom, and allspice. Then the sweeter aromas take charge and I'm suddenly in the mood for pastries. I smell buttery chocolate chip cookies and fresh apple streusel. The palate has more fruit characteristics, but the bready desserts remain. I get strawberries and cream and some jammy flavors as well. As it progresses to the finish, the baked goods take over again with some slightly overdone qualities so that the last flavors I taste are crunchy pie crust and dark buttered toast.
Price: Hidden View Price

1990 Port Dundas 28 Year Old "Sovereign" K&L Exclusive Single Barrel Cask Strength Single Grain Scotch Whisky (750ml)
Review Date: 02-15-2019
Sugar, spice, and everything... tropical! That's what this grain whisky is made of. I pick up on aromas of warm brown sugar, clove and cinnamon, along with banana bread, toasted coconut, and candied pineapple. The bready qualities stand out more on the palate with warming spice and some supple leather flavors that stick to the tongue. The light brown sugar and leather notes continue into a long finish with spice that warms up through the end tying together with a menthol flourish. Quite delectable.
Price: Hidden View Price

Bapt & Clem 12 Year Old "Savanna Distillery" Réunion Rum (750ml)
Review Date: 02-04-2019
Well this is a funky little number. Hailing from a tiny volcanic island off of Madagascar, Savanna Distillery makes several styles of rum and is one of the few producers in the world that uses both raw can sugar and molasses depending on the flavor profile they're looking for in their spirits. The distillery is primarily known for bold agricole style rums, and they make spirits that are anything but typical. So even if you are a rum aficionado, this is one to check out and alter perceptions. This rum is herbaceous and downright medicinal. I pick up aromas of grass, wildflowers, and forest floor rancio amidst more astringent notes of Bandaid-like phenols (heads up to all the folks that like iodine-smelling Islay Scotches!). Digging through these scents, I finally get some caramel tones along with electric red Maraschino cherries and subtle hints of more tropical fruits. The flavors here are uncompromising and it's one of the driest rums I've ever had the pleasure of running across. Not for the faint of heart, this rum is as tasty as it is perplexing. It'll keep you scratching your head and reaching for another glass.
Price: $99.99 Add To Cart

Page: 1 2 next