Staff Favorites - Kaj Stromer

Kaj Stromer

Reviews

2016 Felton Road "Cornish Point" Pinot Noir Central Otago (Biodynamic)
Review Date: 09-05-2018
Of all the wonderful Felton Road Pinot Noir’s, the Cornish Point bottling might just be the most complete of this years offerings. I was intrigued by the enchanting aromas of flowers, red berries, and a touch of wood spice. The hallmark flavors of Central Otago Pinot Noir are abundantly present. There’s plenty of high toned red cherry fruit along with a touch of forest floor and minerality. The wine is sufficiently opulent for early consumption but the structure let’s you know that there are many fine years ahead for this world class Pinot Noir.

2016 Ridge Vineyards "Geyserville" Alexander Valley Zinfandel
Review Date: 09-05-2018
It was a bottle of 1990 Ridge Geyserville that first opened my eyes to the majesty of California wine. I was a burgeoning wine enthusiast living in NJ and hadn't been exposed to much high quality California wine. But my local merchant put one of these in my cart and opened up a new world for me. The very first sip just blew my mind. The copious fruit, the perfectly proportioned frame, the exceptionally long finish. I’ve been a fan of this wine ever since. The 2016 vintage brought back memories of that wine epiphany. I’ll surely be putting a few of these away for future drinking. So good!

2015 Tapiz "Alta Collection" Cabernet Sauvignon Mendoza
Review Date: 09-05-2018
The Tapiz Cabernet Sauvignon Alta Collection is a wine of pedigree and quality. The fruit is sourced from their own estate vineyards. The wine is made by Jean Claude Berrouet formerly of Petrus! You’d be hard pressed to ask for more out of a Cabernet for $15! This wine could cost $30 and I would still recommend it. There’s plenty of red berry fruit, medium weight, and a long finish framed by just enough tannins to give the wine structure.
Price: $14.99 Add To Cart
JS 93 RP 90

Michel Couvreur 16 Year Old "Mrs Couvreur" Single PX Sherry Butt Cask Strength Single Malt Whisky (750ml)
Review Date: 09-05-2018
It only takes one whiff of this spirit to know that you have something very special in your glass. While I have the fortunate opportunity to sample world class spirits on a weekly basis, few have caught my attention like this one did. It’s quite an unusual spirit as it’s a white whiskey from Scotland aged in Sherry casks in the cellars of Burgundy. The affect of the "magical" sherry butts imparts an almost Cognac like sweetness to the palate. This spirit possesses the hallmarks of a Scotch Whiskey but it’s informed by a French sensibility. It almost seems like a more complete, seamless beverage. I must say that this is the most intriguing and compelling Whisky I’ve tasted this year. I enthusiastically give it a strong “BUY” recommendation.
Price: $299.99 Add To Cart

2017 Tablas Creek "Patelin de Tablas" Paso Robles Rosé
Review Date: 09-04-2018
It only makes sense that one of the pioneers of French Rhone-style wines in America would also make one of our finest rosés. The Tablas Creek winery is steeped in the tradition of the wines from Southern France. This classic Grenache, Mourvedre, Counoise and Syrah blend embodies the best of Provencal rosé. The wine is fresh, delightfully fruity, with just a touch of minerality and enough acidity to keep it light on the palate. This continues to be, vintage after vintage, one of the best rosés from California.

2015 J.L. Chave Selection "Offerus" Saint-Joseph
Review Date: 08-30-2018
The Chave estate is one of the greatest wine producers with a long and revered history going back to the late 1400s. Their Hermitage Rouge and Blanc are some of greatest wines made every vintage. The Selection series is their way to offer Chave quality but at a much more accessible tariff. The Selection series wines have been getting better and better every year but the ’15 vintage heralds the best yet. This is stunning northern Rhone Syrah. Two important sources contribute to making this a wine of great structure, complexity, persistence, and ageability. You can drink this now but a few years in the cellar will only benefit the wine. Highly recommended.
Price: $27.99 Add To Cart
WS 93 VN 92

2017 Tablas Creek "Patelin de Tablas" Paso Robles Rhône Blanc
Review Date: 08-30-2018
I believe that white Rhone-style wines should and could dominate the white wine market; especially when they’re as good as these wines. The mélange of white grapes conspire to create such juicy, complex, and distinctive wines, it’s really hard not to love them. The incredible complexity of the wine comes from the unique and distinct parts that make up much more than the sum of the distinct parts. The result is a floral bouquet with wafts of light citrus and melon. This wine is hard not to fall in love with. I would recommend serving it with an avocado salad, a simple roast chicken, or a traditional bouillabaisse.

2015 Tablas Creek "Patelin de Tablas" Paso Robles Rhône Blend
Review Date: 08-30-2018
I’m a long-time and die-hard fan of Southern Rhone wines. For my money they are some of the most compelling and food-friendly wines made. The Perrin family of Beaucastel fame have paved the way in Paso Robles with their Tablas Creek winery, specializing in southern Rhone-style wines. The Patelin rouge for me embodies the hallmark of these wines. They’re savory, fruit-driven, spicy, complex, and built for early drinking. Dark berries, roasted herbs, a touch of saddle leather all combine to make this one delicious wine. I’m loading up for the coming cooler seasons to serve alongside beef and lamb stews made from my slow cooker. You should be doing the same.

2017 Château de la Negly "La Côte" Languedoc
Review Date: 08-29-2018
I'd argue that the Chateau de la Negly is the seminal wine producer in the Languedoc. I was first introduced to their wines back in the early 2000s when I had the opportunity to taste their flagship wines, La Porte du Ciel and Le Clos des Truffiers. These two wines heralded the arrival of world class wine from the Languedoc. Both have a history of scoring 95-100 points! The La Cote bottling carries the rigor and the pedigree of its more expensive bigger siblings but for a wallet-friendly $15. The wine is dense purple in hue with a mélange of blueberry and baking spice on the nose. I love what this wine offers in terms of complexity and flat-out deliciousness!

2017 Don Rodolfo "Art of the Andes" Pinot Noir Mendoza
Review Date: 08-29-2018
Finding quality Pinot Noir around $10 a bottle is one of the great challenges of a wine buyer. Challenge met! This little overachiever from Mendoza has all the telltale signs of varietally correct Pinot Noir. Red cherries and wood spice frame this medium-weight wine. It's silky on the palate, offering up just a touch of herbal aromatics adding in a touch of complexity. Do not accept cheap imitations. This is real wine made by real people. Enjoy!
Price: $10.99 Add To Cart
JS 90

2014 Bodegas Palacios Remondo "La Montesa" Crianza Rioja
Review Date: 08-22-2018
I was somewhat surprised by the aromatics of this wine only to be informed that it was comprised primarily of Garnacha versus the more traditional Tempranillo. That would explain my tasting notes which indicated that it reminded me somewhat of a better quality Cotes-du-Rhone. This is a really nice spin on a less traditionally styled Rioja. I enjoy it’s homage to fresh strawberries, herbs, and wood spice. The wine is silky smooth on the palate with well integrated acidity and mild tannins. I could definitely spend an evening with this bottle and some grilled lamb chops.
Price: $14.99 Add To Cart
RP 92 JS 91

2016 Bodegas Peique "Valle del Cúa" Mencía Bierzo
Review Date: 08-22-2018
The region of Bierzo has been on the wine-insiders radar from some time now. Located in northwestern Spain, just east of Galicia, Bierzo specializes in the Mencia varietal. This has fast become a hot-item varietal. Mencia reminds of a more elegant style of Syrah missing some of the meatiness often associated with it. It has a more subtle aromatic profile than Syrah while being reminiscent of its dark berry and pepper aspect. This is quite a bit of wine for the money. For a mere $15 you get a wine of pedigree, distinction, and place.
Price: $14.99 Add To Cart
WS 91

2015 Roserock (Drouhin Oregon) Eola-Amity Hills Pinot Noir
Review Date: 08-22-2018
French soul, Oregon soil. The Drouhin family of Burgundy have done it again. Their Rose Rock estate in the Eola-Amity Hills region produces wines of exception finesse and style. I’ve long been a fan of their more famous Dundee Hills Pinot Noirs but this wine really caught my attention. You can sense the classic Oregon terroir driven by ancient volcanic soils. But the elegance and silkiness of the wine is a direct result of the Burgundian influence. Dark berry preserves, dried flowers, and a touch of wood spice combine to make this one of the more compelling Pinot Noirs in the attractive price range.

2015 Josmeyer "Le Dragon" Riesling Alsace (Organic; Biodynamic)
Review Date: 08-22-2018
Alsace is one of the most scenic and historic regions in France. They have a long tradition of wine making but don’t quite receive the attention they deserve. Josmeyer has been producing wine here for six generations and as of 2004 practice fully organic and bio-dynamic viti-culture. The resulting wine captures the essence of Riesling. The wine is dry displaying tell tale notes of zesty citrus and a touch of minerality. Medium weight on the palate with good long persistence and energy. I’m quite fond of this wine and would strongly urge you try a bottle. I think it’s a brilliant example of what Josmeyer and the region of Alsace are capable of.

2017 Domaine Louis Moreau Chablis
Review Date: 08-22-2018
The wines of Chablis continue to be a hot commodity. They provide some of the best value for high-quality white Burgundy. I’ve been particularly impressed with 2017 releases from Louis Moreau. Their Petite Chablis is a complete overachiever and this village-level Chablis even more so. I love the clean, crisp notes of fresh cut apple and pear. The wine is lively on the palate with bright acidity which makes it a perfect match for simple fish or chicken dishes. You should be drinking this for the rest of your summer dinners.
Price: $19.99 Add To Cart
DC 90

2015 Antech "Cuvée Héritage 1860" Cremant de Limoux
Review Date: 08-22-2018
The sparkling wines of Limoux continue to be giant beaters. I’ve long been a fan of these wines as the best alternative to Champagne. As an alternative to their more spectacular and more expensive cousins from Champagne, the wines of Limoux offer a Champagne taste profile that’s both celebratory and food friendly. The 1860 Heritage cuvée combines fresh fruit aromas, a fine mouse, exquisite balance and a long, long finishes that leaves behind hints of fresh apples and pears.
Price: $17.99 Add To Cart
DC 90

2016 Carlisle "Palisades Vineyard" Napa Valley Petite Sirah
Review Date: 08-15-2018
One of the secrets to making great Petite Sirah is the winemakers ability to tame the tannins. Once known as producing fiercely tannic wines, the new wave of better Petite Sirah’s feature both the intense dark fruit the wine is renowned for but framed by firm but ripe and elegant tannins. It’s this structure that makes Petite Sirah so engaging and such a barbeque favorite. The very talented Mike Officer has once again crafted a stunning Petite that is anything but petite but is such a pleasure to drink. This wine won over our entire tasting staff and generated quite a bit of enthusiasm and buzz.

2011 Roda I Reserva Rioja
Review Date: 08-15-2018
While this wine is ultimately firmly rooted in Rioja style, I initially thought the wine’s aromatics and flavor profile were more in line with the more muscular wines of Ribera del Duero. However, with a little aeration in the glass, the wine eventually revealed its true Rioja charm. I like how this wine deftly combines the classic old school elegance of traditional Rioja with just a little more punch and power. The wine has muscle but is balanced quite nicely. You can drink it now (decant!) or hold for another 5+ years. You will be rewarded either way.
Price: $79.99 Add To Cart
JS 98 DC 95

2015 La Source du Ruault "La Coulee d'Aunis" Saumur Blanc
Review Date: 08-15-2018
This is one of the most engaging and delicious whites wines I’ve tasted in a while. The aromatics immediately reminded me of my admiration for the Chenin Blancs from Jacky Blot, another star producer from the central Loire. Though firmly rooted in Saumur this wine has a decidedly Burgundian aspect to it. There’s a nervous tension and intensity that reminds me of fine 1er cru level Meursault. The wine is juicy and penetrating on the palate offering up notes of orange zest and stone fruit. The finish is long and lingers sweetly in the mouth. Still, it’s the aromatics of this compelling wine I found so intriguing. This gets a strong “buy” recommendation from me.
Price: $24.99 Add To Cart
DC 93

2017 Santo Assyrtiko Santorini Greece
Review Date: 08-08-2018
After a very long respite the Greeks are back and leading the charge in the production of quality wine. This is a great example of what Greece is capable of real vigor and thought are deployed into their wine making. This smells and drinks like a wine of pedigree. The wine has a gorgeous perfumed nose displaying mild citrus, wax, and a touch of salinity. The wine is medium bodied and luxuriates across the palate with a long finish. I’d put this up against much more expensive whites from other more famous wine regions.
Price: $17.99 Add To Cart
W&S 93

2015 Felsina "Fontalloro" Toscana
Review Date: 08-01-2018
This is one of the great wines of Italy. I’ve been buying bottles of this wine since the 1999 vintage. The wine ages slowly and gracefully. There are few pleasures in life greater than drinking an aged bottle of world class Sangiovese accompanied by your favorite cut of grilled meat. The aromatics, the lustful savory character…it’s almost too much to handle. But do try. I implore you. By the way, this Fontalloro comes from one of the greatest vintages in recent Tuscan history.

2016 Villa Poggio Salvi Rosso di Montalcino
Review Date: 08-01-2018
Though only a few dollars more than their Caspagnolo (which I thoroughly enjoyed), the Rosso di Montalcino is a big step up in the realm of serious wine. The drinker gets added complexity with savory notes and a deeper, darker tone. I particularly enjoyed the black cherry component framed by a touch of cedar. This category of wine tends to be one of our most requested. I now know that I’ll be recommending this bottle on a regular basis. Plus I’ll be bringing home a few for myself. It’s hard to fathom how you get this much quality wine for a mere $15 dollars.
Price: $14.99 Add To Cart

2017 Villa Poggio Salvi "Caspagnolo" Chianti Colli Senesi
Review Date: 08-01-2018
This little wine transports you to the heart of Tuscany. While sipping this red beauty you can imagine you’re in a local trattoria enjoying a simple lunch while looking at the rolling hillsides. Time has stopped, or at least left your mind. All that matters is the moment; a plate of meat and cheese, rustic bread, a good friend, casual conversation, all washed down with a lovely local wine like this. Ciao!
Price: $11.99 Add To Cart

2017 Torti Pinot Noir Pavia
Review Date: 08-01-2018
I was immediately impressed with this wine based on the aromatics alone. You are greeted by a waft of fresh, bright bowl of red cherries and strawberries. The wine is reasonably translucent revealing an elegant, medium-weight body. Freshly picked, juicy cherries are expressed on the palate followed by a long slow finish that begs for the next sip. I can’t remember the last time I tasted a value driven Italian Pinot Noir that was this flat out delicious. I’m putting several bottles in the cupboard for casual Tuesday night dinners.
Price: $14.99 Add To Cart

2014 Varner "Upper Picnic Block - Spring Ridge Vineyard" Santa Cruz Mountains Pinot Noir
Review Date: 07-25-2018
Jim and Bob Varner continue to produce some of the most stylish Pinot Noir out of the Santa Cruz mountains. Their deft touch is unmistakable. I’m impressed by how they capture the true balance and elegance of Pinot Noir in the new world. Satisfying aromas of red and black cherries comes forth from the glass. On the palate you get subtle elements of fruit along with just a touch of wood spice and forest floor. The wine finishes long with a dusting of spice on your tongue. Sadly, this is their final wine from this cherished vineyard. As such, I strongly urge you to put a few bottles of this milestone wine in your cellar.
Price: $44.95 Add To Cart
RP 95 VN 95

2017 Domaine des Côtes Blanches Sancerre
Review Date: 07-18-2018
I consider myself an unabashed Sancerre enthusiast. Few wines provide me with more thirst quenching refreshment than a chilled glass of Sancerre. The wine has been the toast of Paris and a staple of the French bistro for as long as I can remember. This is for good reason as the wine is crisp, refreshing, savory, and finishes long and clean. I especially appreciate the mineral dimension on the finish of this particular bottle of wine. I think I’ll put a bottle in the fridge tonight.
Price: $18.99 Add To Cart
WE 90

2015 Montes Alpha Pinot Noir Aconcagua Coast
Review Date: 07-18-2018
Beautiful aromatics of fresh strawberries and red cherries fill the glass. Hints of rose petals follow adding a subtle floral note. The wine is medium weight on the palate with fresh ripe berry character. Additionally, the wine reveals hints of forest floor and wood spice adding additional levels of complexity. This wine seems a hypothetical cross between Russian River Valley and Willamette Valley Pinot Noir. I’m amazed at the level of quality of this wine. I’ve been a fan of the Montes Alpha wines for quite some time and their popularity is well deserved. Such high quality Pinot Noir at this price point is nearly impossible to match.
Price: $14.99 Add To Cart
JS 91

2016 Tenshen Central Coast White Blend
Review Date: 07-12-2018
I’ve been a fan of this wine for the last couple of years. It’s an excellent alternative to Chardonnay for when you want something a little different but still slightly familiar. Lovers of Rhone-style white wines appreciate how this mélange of grapes come together to create something much bigger than the sum of its parts. The Viognier brings the wild aromatics, the Roussanne a touch of nutty earthiness, the Grenache Blanc with its bright melon fruit flavors, and finally the Chardonnay ties it all together. The wine is complex, balanced, and lively. It is amazingly food friendly but will serve as an aperitif just as well.
Price: $17.99 Add To Cart
JD 92

2017 Bodegas Colomé Torrontes Valle Calchaquí Salta
Review Date: 07-12-2018
This might just be the single most complex white wine in the store for under $10. You’re immediately greeted by the charming aromatics Torrontes is so well known for. Peaches, apricots, and a touch of honey emit from the glass. The wine is clean and pure on the palate with stone fruits taking center stage. I really enjoyed the texture of the wine which offers a light grip reminiscent of peach skin. The wine tastes like a much more expensive white wine from Alsace.
Price: $11.99 Add To Cart
DC 93 JS 91

2015 Fontesteau, Haut-Medoc
Review Date: 07-12-2018
I agree with my esteemed colleague Greg St. Clair that this wines savory character is proudly on full display here. This is a particularly strong showing for Fontesteau. This is the perfect opportunity for the uninitiated to wade into the Bordeaux waters while not spending too much money or getting a wine that needs 10+ years in the cellar. The wine is well-balanced and can hold a light chill making it a summer-time sipping Bordeaux. Don’t over think this wine; it’s delicious, it’s accessible now, and would pair perfectly with a cheeseburger off the grill. This is my kind of Bordeaux.
Price: $19.99 Add To Cart
RP 91

2015 Domaine de l'Enchantoir "Le Pied à L'Étrier" Saumur Puy-Notre-Dame Rouge
Review Date: 07-12-2018
Don’t be fooled by the long name. This easy-to-like Cabernet Franc is the perfect example of why this grape is so revered in the central Loire Valley appellation. The aromatics of this wine immediately draw you in. I love the combination of red berry fruit, a touch of meatiness, and a whiff of smoky tobacco. The wine is medium weight, perfectly balanced, and has a savory character that keeps you coming back for more. It will hold a light chill making it super versatile as a summer red. This is easily one of the most enjoyable Cab Francs I’ve tried all week!
Price: $16.99 Add To Cart
WS 90

2017 Domaine Louis Moreau Petit Chablis
Review Date: 07-12-2018
I generally believe that Petit Chablis should consumed young and only when in France. However, this offering from Louis Moreau has me rethinking that position. I was very impressed by the classic Chablis character of this wine. This is a clean and fruit driven wine. It's 100% tank fermented and clocks in at a mere 12.5% alcohol making it a contender for my "wine of the summer". This is a thirst quenching and refreshing wine that will pair well with simple meals and backyard lounging. As they say, it drinks well above its weight class.
Price: $17.99 Add To Cart

2016 Pence Ranch "Estate" Sta. Rita Hills Pinot Noir
Review Date: 07-12-2018
Blair Pence may have fallen in love with Burgundy, but it's in the Sta. Rita Hills where he creates Pinot Noirs that are inspired by the complexity of the Cote d’Or but balanced by the warmth of the California sun. Notes of wood spice, red and black cherries, are all crafted into one juicy but complex wine. I can’t think of another Pinot Noir from the Sta. Rita Hills that I've like more at this price point. Truth be told, I can’t think of another Sta. Rita Hills appellation Pinot Noir for less than $20. This is a best buy and one to buy by the case.
Price: $19.99 Add To Cart
RP 93 WE 92

2015 Martin Ray Napa Valley Cabernet Sauvignon
Review Date: 07-04-2018
The Martin Ray winery has been turning out some of the best-value, high-quality California wines every vintage. This particular Napa Valley Cabernet Sauvignon is a great example. By sourcing from select vineyard sites throughout Napa Valley, they’re able to craft amazingly delicious Cabernet that have all the hallmarks of much more expensive wines. The fruit for this bottling comes from various valley floor vineyard sites as well as some choice hillside selections on Diamond Mountain. I’ve long been a fan of the Martin Ray wines. My first introduction was the 1997 vintage Saratoga Cuvée which turned out to be one of the best selling Cabernets of the year. The quality, price, and value were without peer. The 2014 vintage was one of our top selling Cabernet’s of last year. The 2015 is its worthy successor. The wine possesses all that dark cassis, black berry, and floral notes you’d expect from wines costing well above $50. Layers of ripe Mulberry, wild violets and spice are framed by well-structured tannins and just a dusting of French oak.
Drink from 2018 to 2018
Price: $25.99 Add To Cart
JS 91

2015 Ritual Chardonnay Casablanca Valley
Review Date: 07-03-2018
Local hero and winemaker Rodrigo Soto is backed up by legendary winemaker Paul Hobbs. Together the two have access to some amazing vineyards. The grapes are organically grown and and harvested with minimal intervention allowing the fruit to come into the winery as naturally as possible. Fermentation is done using only native yeasts. The result is a sexy spiced apple aromatic that invites the taster into this best-buy Chardonnay. The wine has green apple and hazelnut notes with a hint of oak and vanilla. Really quite a pleasant glass of wine.
Price: $17.99 Add To Cart
JS 93

2015 Robert Oatley Chardonnay Margaret River Western Australia
Review Date: 07-03-2018
I was impressed how this wine marries its crisp and lively acidity with the medium to full bodied richness. It delivers on the classic apple, pear, and peach notes but also offers a deft touch of oak which introduces some creaminess. The Margaret River has a solid reputation for creating excellent white wines. This is really quite a bit of wine for this price point.
Price: $14.99 Add To Cart
JH 95 WE 91

2012 Louise Brison Brut Champagne
Review Date: 07-03-2018
This bottling is my first introduction to the wines of Louise Brison and I can now see how they fit into our Champagne program. Stylistically the wines go straight down the middle. They are neither that crisp, taught, nervy style nor are they over-the-top yeasty, bread dough, and brioche. Instead, this champagne is more classically vinous in style highlighting the fruit aspect of the wine. A refreshing change of pace. Equal split between Chardonnay and Pinot Noir give this wine great balance and complexity.
Price: $34.99 Add To Cart
RP 92

2016 Clos de la Bonnette "Roches d'Arbuel" Condrieu
Review Date: 06-28-2018
Condrieu is ground zero for the world’s greatest expression of Viognier. Several of the Rhone’s greatest wines come from this hallowed land. The Roches d’Arbuel bottling from Clos de la Bonnette is a wonderful demonstration of the grape's most beguiling characteristics. Hints of peach, honeysuckle, apricot and orange zest ooze from the glass. There is plenty of bracing acidity to keep the wine lively and fresh on the palate. I was particularly impressed with this bottling. The wine is quite savory today for present enjoyment but could offer a few years in the bottle for added pleasure.
Price: $49.99 Add To Cart
RP 92 JD 90

2015 Savage "White" Western Cape
Review Date: 06-26-2018
This is one of the most compelling and delicious white wines I’ve ever tried from South Africa. The blend of four varietals creates such a unique wine where each gets its chance to shine yet they fall beautifully in line to create something new. Initially it reminded me of a quality white Bordeaux but with time it was obvious it stood as its own unique wine; perhaps like the famed Remelluri Rioja Blanco. It has intense aromatics of citrus, herbs, and white flowers followed by stone fruits (peaches!), almond notes, and baking spices. The wine closes with a long savory finish which leaves you craving the next sip. Bravo!

2017 Zudugarai "Amats" Rosé Getariako Txakolina
Review Date: 06-26-2018
The white wines of the Basque region are renowned for the their thirst quenching Muscadet / Picpoul-like character. These wines have long served as the local liquid to wash down the exceptional harvest from the sea. With laser-like focus and pin point precision this wine offers up zesty citrus and floral notes. A pinch of CO2 greets the taster followed by brisk lemon, apple, and a lovely floral component. A tray full of fresh shrimp or sardines would go splendidly with this wine.
Price: $14.99 Add To Cart

2012 La Fortuna Brunello di Montalcino
Review Date: 06-19-2018
If you're craving a Brunello di Montalcino on a Thursday night but don't have access to your vast private wine locker, stop by your local, friendly K&L wine shop for a few bottles of this majestic red. Long barrel aging and warm vintage conspire to produce a wine of generous proportion that has all the telltale notes of Brunello without requiring long term aging. Pour the wine into a decanter, wait 30 minutes, serve your dinner, drink up. Red and black cherry along with a brambly note inspired by the rugged Montalcino hillsides make this an easy-to-like style ready to drink now.

2015 Bodegas Abanico Hazaña Viñas Viejas Rioja
Review Date: 06-19-2018
I've been an ardent fan of Spanish wine for almost as long as I've been in the business. For my money, it's hard to beat the value that can be had from so many of Spain's wine growing regions. Most of all, I'm a hard core fan of Rioja. The historic growing area is renowned as Spain's finest and for good reason. The silky smoothness of Tempranillo is almost Burgundian. The texture and complexity in this wine is augmented by the addition of 15% Graciano, a local varietal that adds a touch of rustic earthiness that reminds of Rioja's rugged and gorgeous landscape.
Price: $10.99 Add To Cart
JD 91

2016 Kaiken "Ultra" Malbec Mendoza Las Rocas
Review Date: 06-19-2018
Malbec fever swept the nation several years ago. Its robust nature and smooth texture made it a natural fan favorite. Over time, the fever may have tempered slightly but in the right hands, like the legendary Montes family, the argument for Malbec is strong. Precise wine making along with premium Mendoza vineyards combine to make the stunning Ultra Malbec from Kaiken. I was most impressed by its suave and balanced nature. The wines pedigree is revealed by red and black fruits along with a dusting of distant oak and a hint of cocoa. Together they belie the exceptionally low price point. This has a tremendous quality-to-price ratio and is just a delicious, versatile wine.
Price: $17.99 Add To Cart
JS 94

2013 Rymill Estate Cabernet Sauvignon Coonawarra South Australia
Review Date: 06-14-2018
I was drawn into this wine from the very first moment I put my nose in the glass. The aromatics burst forth from the glass and scream out its unique deliciousness. I was especially intrigued by the tandem aromatics of black berry pie, eucalyptus, and a hint of wood spice. The dark berry aroma dominates followed by that classic Australian hint of menthol. The wine possesses bold power on the palate and coats the tongue with brambly fruit and a dusting of properly integrated tannins. The finish is long and cool. This wine is a must have for all lovers of bold reds. I’d suggest it could easily go head-to-head with any comparable wine in the $30 to $40 range. I’m impressed and I’m sold.

2015 Guy Farge "Harmonie" Cornas
Review Date: 05-28-2018
When I last toured the vineyards of Cornas, I was taken aback by the steep and rugged nature of the hill. The antiquity and the rusticity of the area attest to some of the most authentic wines-of-place one will come across in France. The Harmonie cuvee from Guy Farge channels all of the potential of the land into one of the finer, more elegant, and flat out delicious bottles of Cornas I’ve tasted in recent memory. This wine is another stunner sourced through our direct import program. Dark, brooding, and deeply aromatic with hints of cassis and blackberry fruit. This is a real crowd pleaser while remaining true to its origin.
Price: $39.99 Add To Cart
JD 94 RP 91

2015 Malescasse, Haut-Médoc
Review Date: 05-24-2018
This is the kind of wine that will have flocks of new wine lovers running to Bordeaux. If the regions reputation has suffered over the years from being considered too expensive, only built for aging, or just too stuffy…well think again. For a mere $20.00 this bottle delivers all the red wine deliciousness you could ever dream of. The wine critics all agree that this wine is one of the best values from the much ballyhooed 2015 vintage and I couldn’t agree more. There’s plenty of sexy upfront fruit supported by that classic Bordeaux structure. Best of all, you can drink this wine immediately as the style is extremely user friendly. If you’re Bordeaux curious but overwhelmed by choices and the fancy names, this is a great place to start.

2016 Les Freres Perroud Brouilly Vieilles Vignes
Review Date: 05-17-2018
While the 2015 vintage for Beaujolais produced wines of structure and depth, the 2016 vintage yielded wines that emphasize elegance and grace. The slightly cooler vintage favors villages like Brouilly and Fleurie. This tandem of towns has produced tremendous buzz in the wine world over the last few years. The old vine bottling from Les Freres Perroud displays all of the hallmarks of great Brouilly; crunchy red fruit, medium body, just a hint of tannic grip, and a long clean finish comprised of fresh strawberries and herbs. It is remarkably food friendly and its versatility is without peer.
Price: $14.99 Add To Cart
VN 90

2017 Chateau Vitallis Macon-Fuissé
Review Date: 05-16-2018
Once upon a time, wine shops were filled with these classic yet casual bistro wines. However, over the last decade, I’ve noticed a lack of value driven Macon wines. But thanks to the aggressive nature of our Burgundy buying team, K&L has an amazing assortment to offer. The Macon-Fuisse from Vitallis embodies the spirit and flavor of a wine you’d pour from a carafe while feasting on a perfectly baked whole chicken with a side salad. Green apple, pear, and a touch of peach round out this clean, pure Chardonnay. This is one solid, pleasing wine.
Price: $16.99 Add To Cart

2016 Kalinda "Lot 2" Napa Valley Cabernet Sauvignon
Review Date: 05-15-2018
During my many years as a wine merchant, one of my top priorities has been making sure my clients have access to a high quality, value-driven Cabernet Sauvignon; preferably from Napa Valley. The Lot #2 bottling from Kalinda is just that wine. It possesses the perfect combination of red and black fruit with the proper amount of structure and grip. I reviewed this wine against several more expensive alternatives. Time and again I came back to the Lot # 2 as my go-to wine. It embodies precisely what you seek when the situation calls for a casual mid-week red or if you’re entertaining a group. Leave your Dunn’s and Montalena’s in the cellar for another year. Open a bottle of Kalinda Lot # 2 instead. You’ll be glad you did.
Price: $22.99 Add To Cart

Wine Club

$19.99

2017 Domaine la Colombe Coteaux Varois en Provence Rosé
Review Date: 05-15-2018
Rosé season has begun and our latest container carrying the finest selections from Europe has landed just in time. While I am a booster of drinking rosé all year round, spring time does augur in the new releases. The Domaine la Colombe was the first of many rosés I’ve tasted over the last month and it immediately set the tone. The wine embodies the classic spirit of the season. It’s a wholly unpretentious, poolside sipping wine. It is a lip smacking, refreshing style rosé, that glides across the palate and with a lightly savory finish encouraging the next sip. Rose petal, spring berries, and a touch of watermelon grace the mineral driven finish. Put a case of this in the pantry and plan on serving it regularly.
Price: $12.99 Add To Cart