Reviewers


K&L Email Alerts

Sign up to receive custom alerts, new arrivals and the latest happenings from K&L Wines


Staff Favorites - Robert Cash

Robert Cash

Reviews

2013 La Prevostura "Muntacc" Coste della Sesia Rosso
Review Date: 09-19-2019
I was recently introduced to this delicious Nebbiolo-based beauty by my colleague Guido. The nose is mature, soft and pleasant with aromas of red fruits, roses and a hint of tar. Medium-bodied, the palate is consistent with the nose and has medium acidity with additional notes of gentle spices and cinnamon. This wine is at its peak now and drinking beautifully. It's great introduction to Piedmonte wines for the uninitiated or a delicious everyday Nebbiolo for the connoisseur. to enjoy while their Barbarescos mature.
Drink to 0
Price: $24.99 Add To Cart

2016 Bishop's Peak San Luis Obispo Pinot Noir
Review Date: 08-21-2019
A high-quality Pinot Noir under $20 is not easy to find, Pinot Noir not being the easiest varietal to grow. But the folks at Talley are known for their renowned Pinots, and their many years of craftsmanship and expertise are evidenced here in their Bishop's Peak offering. The nose is beautiful, with a dynamic interplay of bramble, cherries, strawberries, and a touch of white pepper. Very balanced on the palate with notes of cherry, orange rind. Smooth, balanced with medium acidity and soft tannins and good length, this is a knockout value Pinot!
Top Value!
Price: $17.99 Add To Cart
JS 93 VN 91

2015 du Vallier, Bordeaux
Review Date: 08-16-2019
Comprised of 60% Merlot, 30% Cabernet Sauvignon, 10% Cabernet Franc, this delicious little Bordeaux is drinking beautifully right now. On the nose, it reveals dark fruits, some cedar and a touch of earth. Tannins are well integrated and soft. I was pleasantly struck with how well balanced the wine is on the palate. Seamless. A delicious red with a very wallet-friendly price!
Top Value!
Price: $13.99 Add To Cart
JS 92

2017 Chateau de la Maltroye Bourgogne Blanc
Review Date: 08-14-2019
This is a gorgeous white Burgundy that delivers far more depth and quality than its Bourgogne Blanc appellation would suggest. Beautiful aromas of white flowers, lemon zest, and subtle wood greet you on the nose. On the palate, the wine is round and firm with a great balance of fruit and acidity. and a long dry finish. Absolutely delicious!
Top Value!
Price: $29.99 Add To Cart

2017 Ermacora Pinot Grigio Colli Orientali del Friuli
Review Date: 06-26-2019
The nose is quite pretty, with melon, dried flowers, baked apple, tropical fruit as well as stone fruit. On the fuller side in body and nicely balanced on the palate. Round with refreshing acidity, this is the perfect accompaniment for seafood, light pasta dishes, salads and white meats.
Price: $15.99 Add To Cart
JS 92

2017 Four Graces Willamette Valley Pinot Noir
Review Date: 06-18-2019
The nose has a wonderfully inviting mix of dark cherry, bramble, and earth. The palate follows up with subtle spices, raspberry notes, dark fruit, medium tannins and a good backbone of acidity. Very inviting and quite delicious. This keeps getting better the longer I have it open. Very well made!
Top Value!
Price: $19.95 Add To Cart
WS 93

2017 Pine Ridge Napa Valley Chenin Blanc-Viognier
Review Date: 05-31-2019
I have enjoyed this delicious wine many times over the last several years and I still can't get over how good it is for the price. A wonderfully aromatic nose of citrus and tropical fruit greet you and the palate is medium with a perfect balance of acidity, minerality with a clean refreshing finish. Outstanding value for the price.
Top Value!
Price: $11.95 Add To Cart
WE 90

2015 Château Pesquié "Terrasses" Ventoux
Review Date: 05-15-2019
I opened the Château Pesquié Terrasses a few nights ago to accompany my famous Fusilli Bolognese dish. The nose greeted me with gorgeous ripe red fruit, hints of baking spice, garrigue, lavender, and black cherries. On the palate, the fruit and softer tannins are in perfect balance with a hint of minerality and leather. Long, lingering finish. Fantastic value. After pumping the air out, this was even better the next day.
Top Value!
Price: $9.99 Add To Cart
RP 92

2018 Olema Côtes de Provence Rosé
Review Date: 05-09-2019
Crafted in Provence by a winemaking team overseen by Bob Shepard of Amici Cellars renown, this delightful sipper offers aromas of melon, strawberries and fresh flowers. Round and creamy on the palate with bright acidity and a long clean finish. Perfect for pairing with summer fare!
Price: $14.99 Add To Cart
JS 91

2016 Ridge Vineyards "Estate" Santa Cruz Mountains Cabernet Sauvignon
Review Date: 05-09-2019
Ridge has been one of my favorite California wineries for many years They produce wines of exceptional craftsmanship and elegance at all price points. I recently had the pleasure of tasting this 2016 Estate and was left thoroughly impressed. Very dark purple, almost opaque in the glass with a deep powerful nose of dark fruit, cigar box, cassis, and forest floor with a seamless wrapping of oak. Frankly, there are just a plethora of lovely aromas to be discovered. Truly wonderful. On the palate, it's rich, complex, layered and full without being overbearing or heavy handed. I tasted the flagship Ridge Monte Bello many years ago and the impression it left is still with me. The Estate ticks all the boxes that the Monte Bello did for me at a more affordable price point, and requiring less aging. Drink now and over the next few years with any grilled meats. To me, this is the epitome of great California Cabernet.
Price: $59.95 Add To Cart
JD 94 CG 90

2017 Diatom "Katherine's" Santa Maria Valley Chardonnay
Review Date: 05-01-2019
This is an extraordinarily elegant, focused Chardonnay of grace and structure. The marine influence on the vineyards is subtly present on the nose as well as the palate. The nose offers up a plethora of citrus and tropical fruit aromas that seem endless. With no oak and no malo in the way, the quality of fruit and winemaking skill shines forth with minerality and a great acid structure. Medium bodied on the palate with a generous mouthfeel and long finish. This is a wine of tremendous quality!

2015 Tenuta Roveglia "Vigne di Catullo" Lugana Riserva
Review Date: 04-24-2019
The nose of this wine is so attractive and inviting with aromas of stone fruit, quince, and tropical fruit. Rich and round on the palate with notes of citrus zest, baked apple, with a creamy mouthfeel and zesty acidity. Delicious by itself, this would also pair beautifully with an almond and vinaigrette salad.
Drink from 2019 to 2019
Price: $19.99 Add To Cart
WE 92

2016 Farnetella Chianti Colli Senesi
Review Date: 04-24-2019
This is a knockout Chianti for the price! Lovely nose of dried cherries, tobacco, red fruit, and subtle spice. It's quite fresh and juicy on the palate with a medium body and integrated tannins. Would go great with pizza or a burger.
Top Value!
Price: $11.99 Add To Cart
JS 91

2017 Rippon "Rippon" Mature Vine Riesling Lake Wanaka Central Otago (Biodynamic)
Review Date: 04-18-2019
Planted in schist laden soils, this hand-picked wine has a pleasingly expressive nose of lime/citrus and petrol. The palate follows with lime zest, flint, and lively acidity with a richly textured mouthfeel. it is dry and long on the finish. Quite age-worthy!
Price: $29.99 Add To Cart
JS 96

2016 Scattered Peaks Napa Valley Cabernet Sauvignon
Review Date: 04-12-2019
A delicious Napa Valley Cab with an impeccable pedigree for under $30!?? Yes, please! The nose is full and rich with notes of leather, cigar box, anise, and dark fruits. On the palate, this is classic Napa Cab with cassis, pencil lead, forest floor, well-integrated oak, complimented by silky tannins. This should continue to develop and evolve for several more years. Simply outstanding at this price!
Price: $29.95 Add To Cart

McKenzie Bottled-in-Bond Wheated Bourbon Whiskey (750ml)
Review Date: 04-11-2019
Hailing from my home state, the McKenzie Bottled-in-Bond Wheated Bourbon is a fantastic smooth sipper. Made from a mashbill consisting of local corn (70%), red winter wheat (20%), and malted barley (10%) this is a solid effort rivaling what the best names in Kentucky are producing. I thought the nose was beautiful, with notes of vanilla, honey, and subtle spices. On the palate, it's round, soft, creamy with hints of caramel with a great mouthfeel and a long finish. I really enjoyed this neat, but you could certainly add a few drops of spring water if you choose. This is a must have for any whiskey aficionado.
Top Value!
Price: $44.99 Add To Cart

Wódka Vodka (750ml)
Review Date: 03-29-2019
Dollar for dollar, this is hands-down the best vodka we sell. Tasted neat, on the palate it is very clean, soft and smooth, with no burn. No fancy packaging, just a very high-quality spirit here. This should be a staple in everyone's bar. Absolutely ridiculous price/quality ratio.
Top Value!
Price: $9.99 Add To Cart

2018 Radley & Finch Chenin Blanc Western Cape
Review Date: 03-23-2019
The Radley & Finch Chenin Blanc is a delicious value sipper from South Africa. It has a clean, crisp, fresh nose of yellow citrus and stone fruit. The palate is lively with crisp acidity, melon notes, lemon curd and a pleasing touch of minerality. It is a stunner of a value at this price!
Top Value!
Price: $12.99 Add To Cart

Wine Club

$9.99

2016 Colombaio di Santa Chiara "Campo Pieve" Vernaccia di San Gimignano
Review Date: 03-16-2019
The 2016 Colombaio di Santa Chiara "Campo Pieve" Vernaccia di San Gimignano is a wonderfully aromatic Tuscan white wine. On the nose, it offers up fresh aromas of citrus, flowers, and almonds. The lees aging really gives this wine a rich, round, mouth-filling experience on the palate This is a serious (and delicious) white wine! Certified Organic.
Price: $27.99 Add To Cart

2016 Domaine Lafage "Bastide Miraflors" Côtes du Roussillon
Review Date: 03-09-2019
My first exposure to the Bastide Miraflors was last year with the 2015 vintage and I was floored at how so much wine could cost so little. I immediately stocked up and it became my house red. I tasted the 2016 vintage last night with Korean BBQ and I still say that this is one of the greatest wine values I have ever tasted. Ripe dark fruits, garrigue, spice, earth - they're all there, all in perfect balance With silky tannins as well. Absolutely delicious. Buy this by the case! It's that good!
Top Value!
Price: $12.99 Add To Cart
JD 94

2016 Sokol Blosser Dundee Hills Chardonnay
Review Date: 02-22-2019
I've just recently begun to explore Chardonnays from the Dundee Hills AVA, and the 2016 Sokol Blosser Dundee Hills Chardonnay was a delightful introduction. The nose reminds me quite a bit of Meursault. The wine has wonderful aromas of orchard fruit. Medium to full body and round on the palate with a very elegant texture with citrus notes. Great elegance and balance. This is a terrific value!
Top Value!

2016 Margerum "M5" Santa Barbara County Rhône Blend
Review Date: 01-15-2019
As a longtime lover of Rhône blends, the Margerum "M5" checked all the boxes for me. This is a knockout blend where the whole is greater than the sum of its parts. Dark in color with notes of red fruit, garrigue, pepper, and cocoa on the nose. Seamless and lithe on the palate, with delicious spice and earth elements and a long memorable finish. Very well done! You're going to want another glass of this beauty!
Top Value!

2015 Avennia "Gravura" Columbia Valley Bordeaux Blend
Review Date: 01-08-2019
What immediately struck me upon the first sip of this outstanding Columbia Valley Bordeaux blend was just how eminently drinkable it was. The nose offers aromas of pencil lead, cassis, and chocolate as well as red and black fruit. On the palate, it is supple, with silky tannins and a delicious acidity to round everything out. Balance is the name of the game here. Terrific value!

2016 Limerick Lane "Estate" Russian River Valley Zinfandel
Review Date: 11-21-2018
Wow, what a Zin! I'd characterize the 2016 Limerick Lane "Estate" Russian River Valley Zinfandel as a wine of power and opulence contained in an exceedingly elegant package. The nose offers notes of spice as well as red and black fruit and a hint of cigar box. The palate is opulent with a complex structure, chewy tannins with a long racy finish. The flagship wine of Limerick Lane. This is a phenomenal wine for the money!

2015 Seghesio "Old Vine" Sonoma County Zinfandel
Review Date: 11-20-2018
I have been a big fan of the Seghesio family Zins for many years now. Their wines are elegant and sophisticated and the 2015 Old Vine Sonoma County Zinfandel continues the tradition. While the nebulous term "Old Vines" gets bandied about a lot these days, Seghesio sets a minimum age of 50 years for this wine with some vines being 70-100 years old! This is a drier, more mature style of Zin with a beautiful nose consisting of cassis, spice, cigar box, and red fruit. Rich fine tannins with a wonderful balance of acidity combine to make this an ideal wine to pair with steak or BBQ. Terrific Zinfandel expression! Great wine!

2015 Laventura "Lanave" Rioja
Review Date: 03-06-2018
A simply delicious new expression of Rioja! Consisting of equal parts Grenache and Tempranillo, this wine offers beautiful aromas of cherry, blackberries along with hints of strawberry. It follows on the palate with soft, balanced tannins and a lively bright minerality. Medium body. The oak is there, but instead of being in the forefront it is well integrated into the structure. Very well made! A tasty value!
Price: $14.99 Add To Cart
RP 90