Local Delivery Available Curbside 11am-6pm Daily Stores Temporarily Closed

Reviewers


K&L Email Alerts

Sign up to receive custom alerts, new arrivals and the latest happenings from K&L Wines


Staff Favorites - Blake Conklin

Blake Conklin

Reviews

Page: 1 2 next
2016 Carmel Road Santa Lucia Highlands Pinot Noir
Review Date: 07-15-2020
Had enough of the stunning value that is our Carmel Road pinot noir? I know I haven't, and now they are back again with this awesome SLH pinot. Elegantly crafted with flavors of baking spice, dark berry, and bing cherry flavors, this is an outstanding Pinot Noir at the 20 dollar price point. Perfect for bbq-ing, or just evening drinking. The 2016 SLH is a true crowd pleaser that may deserve a case space in your cellar for every day drinking.
Price: $19.99 Add To Cart

2016 Bohème "English Hill Vineyard" Sonoma Coast Pinot Noir
Review Date: 07-15-2020
Now here's one hell of a value! The English Hill Vineyard pinot from Boheme is nothing short of fantastic. With 25% whole cluster fermentation the wine has some nice green notes to it, followed by flavors of rhubarb, and bing cherry, and a hint of a dr. pepper flavor inspired soda. This pinot generally has what I want from a pinot in Sonoma Coast, and the price is just too good to pass up. Have ribs with this one, or just enjoy it by itself, either way, you owe it to yourself to try this awesome single vineyard pinot.
Price: Hidden View Price

2019 Massican Napa Valley Sauvignon Blanc
Review Date: 07-15-2020
Tart, and extremely refreshing. Massican always know how to execute their white wines perfectly. Inspired by the white wines of Northern Italy, this wine definitely reminds me of a lot of the crisp acidic whites I've enjoyed there. I'm not necessarily the biggest sauvignon blanc fan, but this wine is truly something special. Have with oysters, or by itself, you will enjoy this regardless. Flavors of lemon, stone fruit, and green apple, packed with zippy acidity, you would be doing yourself a huge disservice if you don't buy a bottle or two...
Price: $28.99 Add To Cart

2019 Dragonette Happy Canyon of Santa Barbara Rosé
Review Date: 07-15-2020
Dragonette strikes gold again with another fantastic vintage of their Rose. Sourced from two different vineyards, including a mystery one which they wont tell us where it is, the rose is mostly a blend of grenache (which I think makes some of the best roses ever usually), the 2019 vintage, is bright, crisp, nicely balanced with acidity, and honestly a little round, which makes this blend an easy summer sipper.
Price: $26.99 Add To Cart

2017 Whitcraft "My Friend Matt's Vineyard" Santa Barbara County Syrah
Review Date: 06-28-2020
Low-ripe in style, My Friend Matt's Vineyard Syrah from Whitcraft shows just how versatile syrah can be. Is it pinot? No, but in many ways this bottle drinks like one and it drinks like a dream. Notes of lavender, red currant, and a kick of various herbaceous characters show just how elegant and refined Drake Whitcraft's style is.
Price: $37.99 Add To Cart

2017 Whitcraft "Pence Vineyard" Sta. Rita Hills Chardonnay
Review Date: 06-28-2020
While there are a good amount of completely stunning producers making fantastic wine all over Santa Barbara, I can't think of any other producer that executes pure elegance and finesse like Drake Whitcraft. The 2017 bottling of Whitcraft's Pence Ranch chardonnay is a fantastic example of the potential California chardonnay has. from the Sta. Rita Hills AVA. Packed with brilliant acidity, and nice touches of minerality, this is a chardonnay while you could compare to burgundy, is honestly in a league of it's own.
Price: $49.99 Add To Cart

2018 Prisoner Wine Co. "The Prisoner" Napa Valley Red Blend
Review Date: 06-28-2020
The new vintage of The Prisoner may not have Dave Phinney's special touch to it anymore (and it hasn't for over 8 vintages) but one thing I still particularly like about The Prisoner each vintage is the consistency. Luscious and still packed with many dark fruited characters, black cherry, boysenberry, and blackberry with hints of vanilla. The Prisoner is still a fun and enjoyable big wine. While I personally don't drink The Prisoner on a regular basis, whenever someone brings it over, I still find many things to enjoy about the wine while it is in my glass. And the 2018 vintage is worth a whirl.
Price: $49.99 Add To Cart

2018 BloodRoot Sonoma County Pinot Noir
Review Date: 06-28-2020
Are you looking for an incredible every day pinot noir at the 20 dollar price point? Luckily, we have many coming from all different regions. However, me being the North Coast pinot lover that I am, I currently have a particular fondness for Bloodroot. Which is only 20 dollars, but easily drinks like a fantastic 50 dollar pinot from Anderson Valley or the Sonoma Coast. Elegant and packed with bright red fruited characters. You're gonna want a bottle of this at your next dinner party.
Price: $19.95 Add To Cart

2019 Groundwork (Sans Liege) Central Coast Counoise
Review Date: 06-28-2020
Looking to change up your summer wine game with an outstanding valued wine that isn't white or rose? Then you gotta check out the counoise from Groundwork. This wine is a lighter bodied red, and ultimately the perfect chillable red to enjoy by the pool on a hot summer day. Packed with delicate notes of rhubarb and pomegranate, you'll want more sip after sip. This is a true summer treat.
Price: $16.99 Add To Cart

2014 Seavey "Caravina" Napa Valley Cabernet Sauvignon
Review Date: 05-14-2020
I've been cooking a lot of steak these past couple of weeks, and when you have streak, you gotta have either a damn good syrah or a damn good cab. This is one of the finest expressions of Napa Cabernet for 50 bucks. Elegantly structured and balanced, you can easily mix this up in a blind tasting with some left bank Bordeaux. Cedar, tobacco, and dried herbs run smoothly along the palate, and is balanced by well tuned tannins. This is a damn good value, and truly Napa Cabernet at it's finest. You will not be disappointed.
Price: $49.99 Add To Cart

2017 Holus Bolus "Franc de Pied" Sta. Rita Hills Syrah
Review Date: 05-14-2020
I may have mentioned this in past reviews, but I will mention it again, I never appreciated syrah until I tried one from Santa Barbara. This isn't me dissing any syrah from Napa or Sonoma, I just wasn't exposed to a syrah of my liking until I tasted in SB for the first time back in 2015. The Franc De Pied from Holus Bolus is a Syrah that hits every note of perfection for me. Inky dark, brilliant notes of black olives, dark stone fruit, cherry, there is so much going on here, and while I won't compare it to Northern Rhone syrah (because nothing is Northern Rhone syrah) this can easily join the ranks of world class syrah, yet in a league of it's own.
Price: Hidden View Price

2018 Sante Arcangeli "Integrato" Santa Cruz Mountains Pinot Noir
Review Date: 04-11-2020
After having more than two dozen different types of Pinot Noir from the Santa Cruz mountains, I must say that the AVA as a whole is a region to reckon with. The Integrato from Sante Arcangeli is no exception. Small production Pinot at a fine price point. This is Willams Selyem quality or even Merry Edwards quality Pinot but without the bravado that usually comes with Sonoma County Pinots. Bright, elegant, fantastic notes of pomegranate... This is easily one of my favorite Pinots around the 30 dollar price range and it's not a Pinot you should miss out on.
Price: Hidden View Price

Montechiara Prosecco
Review Date: 04-04-2020
We all need our go to every day bubbles. But instead of putting your hard earned dollars towards bubbles of lesser quality, dare I say Barefoot, why not focus your dough towards this absolutely stunning Prosecco from Montechiara. Having a graduation party and need some bubbles for a toast? We got you covered! Great for aperol spritz, and extra dry enough to be enjoyed on it's own, you will not be disappointed!
Price: $10.99 Add To Cart

2016 Bootleg Napa Valley Red Blend
Review Date: 04-03-2020
I was pleasantly surprised by this wine. Not only is it fun, and approachable, it's a serious bottle of wine. It surprisingly has a lot of great quality and structure to it. Fine tannins, well balanced acidity. This is 100% Napa wine and at a fairly good price point. Most wines of this quality would easily sell for $44 and up. If the Prisoner wine had any siblings, Bootleg would be it's elegant and pretty older sister who was visiting their family over the summer. Here's a bottle to have at your next bar-b-q!
Price: Hidden View Price

2016 Whitehall Lane Napa Valley Merlot
Review Date: 04-03-2020
Before the Sideways Effect tanked Merlot sales in 2004 and beyond, Whitehall Lane had a great focus on Merlot alongside Cabernet. When I started working in wine in 2013, not only did I not know much about wine, I also had no interest in learning about merlot as Sideways taught me that it wasn't cool. It honestly wasn't until I was actually working at Whitehall Lane in the summer where my mind changed completely on the varietal. They had just released the 2006 Leonardini Vineyard Merlot for their wine club members. I was lucky to be able to get my hands on a bottle, and I was pleasantly surprised. While the 2016 Merlot isn't a single vineyard bottling, it reminds me of what made me like Whitehall Lane Merlot in the first place. Dean Sylvester was the winemaker before retiring and having Jason Moulton resume winemaking dutings. With 2016 being Moulton's inaugural vintage, he definitely did not disappoint with this bottling of Merlot. You get a nice red berry and cream danish scent on the nose, followed by an old world flair in flavor. This bottle is in the same ballpark with some of the finest right bank Bordeaux's I've had. And this is high quality Napa Wine for under 25 bucks. Worth a whirl, great for dinner, and worthy of having a couple bottles stocked in your cellar.

2017 Ridge Vineyards "Pagani Ranch" Sonoma Valley Zinfandel
Review Date: 04-03-2020
I don't think it's possible for Ridge to make a bad wine. They're one of California's most iconic and reputable wine producers, and Pagani Ranch is a fine example of their continuous consistent craft. The first moment you stick your nose in the glass, it's already very inviting, with hints of plum, blueberry, and baking spice. Just wait till you actually taste it. This is a very well structured wine, with a nice cherry, and strawberry rhubarb flavor profile, balanced by brilliant acidity, this is a wine made for a Zin lover. I can see it holding up very nicely for the next 5-10 years.

2019 Kalinda Napa Valley Sauvignon Blanc
Review Date: 04-02-2020
Kalinda is back with a stunning new vintage of Sauvignon Blanc from the Napa Valley. Bright, crisp, and a little racy in style, this is not only an early nomination for my wine of the summer but it should be yours too. Get ready to shuck some oysters, this is a true treat and it's only 18 bucks!
Price: $17.99 Add To Cart

2018 Les Equilibristes "Le Joufflu" Vin de France Rouge (Natural)
Review Date: 04-02-2020
Grolleau (a grape variety in the Loire Valley) doesn't get enough love. It's usually made into rose, and even then when it is made into a red wine, wine critics like Parker rip it apart. In many ways it feels like the red headed step child in the Loire. However, I've managed to find some pretty spectacular Grolleau these past couple of years and the Le Joufflu is one of those bottles, and if you're looking for a lesser known red that's lighter to medium bodied in the 20 dollars price range, this bottle is perfect. With only 10% of Pineau d'Aunis in this bottle, you're gonna find brilliant acidity followed by notes of raspberry, and strawberry, and some gamay like characteristics with the Grolleau. This may be my new favorite 20 dollar bottle.
Price: $19.99 Add To Cart

2017 Andrew Will Columbia Valley Merlot
Review Date: 04-02-2020
Being from Napa, I was born with a biased attitude towards other state regions producing Bordeaux varietals. I'd think to myself "Sure, it's alright, but can you compare it to some the finest stuff coming out of Napa?" At 33 years of age, I've learned, you shouldn't compare it all, and just know, Columbia Valley, and Andrew Will Winery in particular is killing it in the wine game. The 2017 Merlot is a fantastic bottle to get you started on the true potential the Columbia Valley has to offer in red wine. A perfect assortment of ripe red fruit characters balanced by subtle tannins and acid, this is a blend of two vineyards, and it has so much personality. Great with a meal, but also fantastic by itself, you won't be disappointed with this at all.
Price: $34.99 Add To Cart

2018 Samuel Louis Smith "Sandstone Terrace" Santa Cruz Mountains Syrah
Review Date: 04-02-2020
Wow, what a fantastic bottle of Syrah. With less than 13% alcohol, I can't help but think the spirit of Northern Rhone was made in this bottle. Is it Sant Joseph or Croze-Hermitage? Absolutely not, but it definitely captures that essence and style. Spicy with a nice focus on some red fruit characters, this syrah also is very aromatic and overall a pretty wine. If you love syrah, then you definitely owe it to yourself to check out Samuel Louis Smith's offering from the Santa Cruz Mountains. You will not be disappointed.
Price: $29.99 Add To Cart

2018 Stoller Estate Willamette Valley Pinot Noir
Review Date: 03-25-2020
The 2018 vintage of Stoller's Estate Pinot Noir has a lot to offer for the fans of Oregon Pinot. Strawberry-rhubarb, cherry tart, and nutmeg on the palate, and a little bit of green on the note... There's a lot going on in this bottle, and for the money, this makes a great dinner party wine. This wine is very food friendly and it will go great with pork chops.
Price: $24.95 Add To Cart

2017 Leviathan California Red Blend
Review Date: 03-25-2020
Andy Erickson delivers a wonderful Californian full bodfied red blend, and for a fantastic price. The 2017 Vintage of Leviathan is very inviting. With flavors of blueberries, cream, and a little bit of plum, the wine is done in a fuller style yet the tannins are pretty soft, which makes the wine very approachable for even some of the most novice drinkers out there. This is a 40 dollar wine, yet it tastes like it should be priced at 60 or more. Perfect for any dinner occasion.
Price: $34.95 Add To Cart

2016 K Vintners "Milbrandt" Wahluke Slope Syrah
Review Date: 03-25-2020
Syrah from the Northern Rhone will always be regarded as my favorite Syrah, however, I love trying just about any syrah from anywhere, and Milbrandt from K Vintners is quite the exceptional syrah, and for the money, you can't go wrong. Plum, crushed peppercorn, and bacon followed by well balanced acidity, this is a good BBQ wine, yet also very enjoyable on it's own. I haven't drank enough wines from the state of Washington, but I can add this onto the list, of the ones that I have had, that we're pretty outstanding. Good on ya, Washington. This is one of the best 20 dollar bottles we got.

2017 Sans Liege "The Offering" Santa Barbara County Rhône Blend
Review Date: 03-22-2020
Time after time, vintage after vintage, I can't help but think The Offering is one of the best GSM's to come out of Paso Robles, and for the money, it's a great wine to have open for dinner, or even solo consumption sans food. Bold, with notes of plum, redcurrant, and damn near perfect tannins, this is one hell of a wine for any fan of Rhone Style blends to try.

2014 Georges Vernay "Les Chaillées de l'Enfer" Condrieu
Review Date: 03-22-2020
With at six years of age, this vigonier from Condrieu is showing beautifully! Apricot, peach, lychee, mellow acidity and a perfect well rounded character on the finish, the L'Enfer is a total delight, and it showcases exactly how Viognier is the most noble white varietal in all of Northern Rhone. This is one hell of a wine, and easily in my top 5 of whites I've tried so far this year.

2017 Turtle Rock "Willow White" Paso Robles Grenache White Blend
Review Date: 03-10-2020
The Willow White from Turtle Rock may easily be one of my favorite white wines this year. Aromatic, and generously round, this rhone style blend from two of Paso's finest vineyards (G2 and Adelaida) has a nice touch of oak, subtle minerality, and brilliant notes of stone fruit. The Willow White is a gorgeous wine to bring to your next dinner party.

2018 Leah Jørgensen Cellars Southern Oregon Cabernet Franc
Review Date: 02-20-2020
I have quite a fondness for cabernet franc, particularly cabernet franc from the Loire Valley (Chinon, Samur Champigny etc.) and I have to say, after trying Leah Jorgensen's take on Cab Franc, this is the closest I've tasted to a Chinon, yet it's a wine from the new world, and holy hell is this wine fantastic! Well balanced acidity, a good level of herbaceous earthy characters, this is everything I look for in a Loire Valley cabernet franc, yet this is all from Oregon! If you are a Chinon fanboy like myself, this bottle is definitely worthy of a try!
Price: $24.99 Add To Cart

2017 Turtle Rock "Westberg Red" Paso Robles Zinfandel-Tempranillo
Review Date: 02-20-2020
The Westberg Red is a silky, delicious zinfandel heavy blend with 24% of tempranillo all hailing from 4hearts vineyard in Paso Robles. The moment I tried this, I kept thinking about how I would not only want to have a big ol' BBQ at my place, but also how I would love to have some ribs with wine. The Westberg Red is rather meaty, with nice notes of white pepper, and worthy enough of being invited to your next bbq!
Price: $59.99 Add To Cart

2017 Turtle Rock "Claude's Cuvee" Paso Robles Red Blend
Review Date: 02-20-2020
Do you love wines from Saxum but don't want to pay Saxum prices? Then you should check out Turtle Rock! Claude's Cuvee is a Rhone style blend with a little bit of Spanish wine influence added, comprised of three separate vineyards in Paso including the famed James Berry vineyard. Claude's Cuvee is big, rich ready to drink now, but could definitely benefit from cellaring a couple years down the road. I'm tempted to buy a few bottles myself to see how much this wine evolves over time. Definitely worthy of a try for those who love big rend blends and Paso Robles wines in general.
Price: $59.99 Add To Cart

2017 Arterberry Maresh Dundee Hills Chardonnay
Review Date: 02-19-2020
Me and Kaj have talked time and time again that Oregon chardonnay is where it's at. And with the 2017 vintage of Arterberry Maresh, this proves our theory further. I mean holy hell, this bottle is delicious. Bright, and with an outstanding lemon curd flavor profile... this is easily one of my favorite white wines I've had this year. Worthy of a try, for the fellow chardonnay lover looking for something new.
Price: $26.95 Add To Cart

Krug "Grande Cuvée" 168ème Édition Brut Champagne
Review Date: 02-12-2020
Krug slays once again with the 168 edition of the Grande Cuvee. But what really stands out about this blend in particular is it's a blend of vintages over a period of 11 years, and one of the dominant ones is the miracle vintage itself 2012. It's crazy to think just how much history comes along in a bottle of Krug's Grande Cuvee, and it's always a great expression of why champagne is always king of the sparkling! I'm definitely going to need a bottle of this for the next big special occasion in my life.

2018 Diatom "Bar-M" Los Alamos Valley Chardonnay
Review Date: 02-07-2020
The Bar M from Diatom is not only a brilliant chard, but also a steal considering it's the price that it is. If you don't like that typical "California style" then the Bar M may be a wine that will get you to like chardonnay from California. Packed with so many brilliant flavors like several stone fruit, lime, pear, and green apple, I think I just found my new sipper for the upcoming warmer months. Truly a delight!

2018 Sean Minor "Four Bears" Central Coast Pinot Noir
Review Date: 01-15-2020
For the money, the 2018 Four Bears Pinot Noir from Sean Minor is one of the best damn California Pinots you will find under 20 bucks. It's bright, has fantastic acidity, and is, surprisingly, not extremely fruity, which was what I was expecting—but I was pleasantly surprised. Definitely a solid night cap for any fun-filled wine night, and a delightful party wine.
Price: $11.99 Add To Cart

2018 Wander Must "Vierra Familia Vineyard" San Joaquin Souzao
Review Date: 01-09-2020
Looking for a big sexy red, that is mild on tannins and could even benefit from a slight chill? Then check out Souzao from Wandermust. I've had this bottle several times, and every time I do have a bottle, i find myself enjoying it more and more. Dark berries, vanilla, and maybe even a little raspberry, this bottle of souzao is pretty complex, and it should go well with a steak.
Price: $21.99 Add To Cart

2017 Mas de Sainte Croix "Passion d'Une Terre" Côtes du Rhône-Villages Valreas
Review Date: 01-09-2020
The Steal of the century is back! This is our third vintage of Mas De Saint Croix Passion D' Une Terre, and it never ceases to amaze me, especially when you consider the price. Grenache dominates about 75% of this blend, with a good 25% of Mouvedre that makes up the rest, which helps give the wine that perfect balance of medium body we all know and love. With notes of jam, spice and silky tannins, this wine is everything nice, and definitely worth having a case or two on hand for every day drinking.

2017 Mas de Sainte Croix "Tendresse d'un Climat" Côtes-du-Rhône Villages
Review Date: 01-09-2020
My favorite every day Cotes Du Rhone Villages for one of the best prices is back, and dare I say better than ever? I've tried at least three vintages of the Tendresse from Mas De Saint Croix and it continues to impress. Packed with flavors of raspberry, dark cherry and a slight hint of earthiness, this blend of Grenache and Syrah is just delicious.
Price: $12.99 Add To Waiting List

2018 Eric Kent "Appellation Series" Sonoma Coast Pinot Noir
Review Date: 11-26-2019
Everyone's favorite little Sonoma Coast Pinot from Eric Kent is back in a stunning new vintage and better than ever. I can't help but want to call this baby Kosta Browne... High-quality Pinot and at a fantastic price point. Raspberry, herbs, nutmeg and a bright cherry note make the 2018 vintage a really fantastic and complex wine that finishes off with brilliant acidity... Kent Humphrey has done it again, and showcases his skill as an incredible winemaker.
Price: $22.95 Add To Cart

2017 Fossil Point Edna Valley Pinot Noir
Review Date: 11-26-2019
I've always had quite an affinity for the Fossil Point since my early days as a green horned employee at K&L as I always thought it was a fantastic Pinot for under 20 bucks. I wasn't really familiar with the Edna Valley until I had Fossil Point, but since then I've explored more wines from that area, and consistently, Fossil Point hits it where it needs to be. It's a fantastic crowd-pleasing Pinot Noir, seriously for any occasion. Bright cherry notes, almost medium bodied, and well balanced acidity, the Pinot under $20 continues to please time and time again.
Price: $18.99 Add To Cart

2015 Farmstrong Suisun Valley Field Red
Review Date: 11-25-2019
Such a fun little red, and at a fantastic price point. Looking for a bottle to bring to party under 20? Look no further, the Farmstrong Red has you covered. It's light, easy drinking and possess a nice little herbaceous character. I definitely want a bottle of this with some pork chops.
Price: $18.99 Add To Cart

2008 Louis Roederer "Cristal" Brut Champagne
Review Date: 11-01-2019
It's often hard to justify the price of a very high-end Champagne—at least in my book it is... usually. However, the 2008 Cristal is simply worth the hype. Like, whoa, seriously? There is so much going on in this bottle, and when I was drinking it, I only wished I had a magnum to share with everyone. Fresh yeasty character, followed by white peach, a nice brioche note, and so much more... I'm going broke this Christmas because I need to share a bottle of this with my dad.

Dos Hombres Espadin Mezcal Artesanal (750ml)
Review Date: 10-31-2019
I'll admit, because I love Breaking Bad as much as I do, I mainly bought this bottle because of Bryan Cranston and Aaron Paul... However, it is also a pretty awesome mezcal in it's own right. Only with a little bit of smooth smoke, this mezcal focuses more on wonderful notes of mango, citrus fruits of sorts, and even a little bit of wood action. This mezcal was meant for sipping, and it's truly a delight.
Price: $59.99 Add To Cart

2018 Lieu Dit Santa Maria Valley Melon
Review Date: 10-30-2019
Melon is not the most conventional varietal to grow in California, but what was planted in the Santa Maria Valley is executed brilliantly in this bottle by Lieu Dit. The minerality of this wine is rather stunning and fantastic to pair with oysters... the winemakers obviously know that too, as on the label there is nothing but... wait for it, oysters. This bottle is another fine example that Santa Barbara wine is awesome, and I look forward to trying newer and crazier things in the area.
Price: $19.99 Add To Cart

2017 Ferraton Père et Fils Côtes du Rhône-Villages Plan de Dieu
Review Date: 10-30-2019
I've always had a fondness to Plan de Dieu, and this special cotes du rhone villages from Ferraton is beyond exceptional. Rustic, full bodied yet an easy drinker. Perfect for any dinner party, this wine is a true crowd pleaser. Buy a case or two.
Price: $14.99 Add To Cart

2017 Barter & Trade Columbia Valley Merlot
Review Date: 09-15-2019
Hot damn! Andrew Jones (of Field Recordings fame) is doing a stunning job showing just how good Washington state wines can be. We all know merlot took a big hit after a little known movie called Sideways was released. If you haven't had a merlot in awhile, or if you just decided to ignore it altogether, you are doing yourself a huge disservice, even if you consider yourself more of a cab person. This merlot is under 20 bucks, and it's really fantastic. It has body, structure, great flavors of dark cherry, black currant, and it makes a great wine for bbq, burgers, or anything red meat related. But it's also fantastic by itself. Definitely worth a whirl.
Price: $17.99 Add To Cart

2018 Melville "Inox - Clone 76" Sta. Rita Hills Unoaked Chardonnay
Review Date: 09-15-2019
I've drank a good amount of California chardonnay this year, and this is definitely in my top 5 favorites of this year. If you aren't a fan of that oaky buttery "California style" chardonnay, then you should definitely check out the Inox Clone 76 from Melville, as it is the polar opposite of said California style. Bright, and packed with brilliant acidity and minerality. It reminds me more of a Chablis in style, and it only got better sip after sip.

2018 Broc Cellars Green Valley Solano County Trousseau
Review Date: 07-05-2019
Being the Jura fanboy I am, I was really excited to see what domestic Trousseau was all about, and I have to say, I was rather impressed. Lighter bodied, with nice notes of pomegranate, cherry, herbs, and fantastical acidity, the Broc Cellars Trousseau can easily be a porch pounder. I would definitely like to put a slight chill on this one.
Price: $26.99 Add To Cart

2016 Liparita Oakville Cabernet Sauvignon
Review Date: 05-29-2019
Everyone's favorite Napa Valley steal of the century is back, this time it's focused on the American Viticulture Area of Oakville (home of the infamous To Kalon among some other fantastic single vineyards.) This is no doubt the best AVA the Valley Floor has to offer, and the 2016 Liparita Oakville continues to be the best bang for your buck. Mild tannins, black currant and herbs makes this cabernet a true delight!
Price: $19.99 Add To Cart

2018 Dirty & Rowdy "Familiar" California Mourvèdre
Review Date: 05-23-2019
Hardy Wallace is at it again with another tasty Mourvedre. Lush and juicy, this is a wine for the natural wine lover that's looking for something a little more premium, and it's also a fantastic expression of California Mourvedre's true potential. Herbaceous and brightly well balanced acidity makes this bottle a true delight.
Price: $29.99 Add To Cart

2018 Union Sacré "Belle de Nuit" Central Coast Gewürztraminer
Review Date: 05-22-2019
I know that when I think of gewurztraminer, I often think about the ones I've had in the past, and I think about it's more effervescent and aromatic character, and while there's nothing wrong with that, it's usually a wine I'm not in the mood for unless I'm chilling by a swimming pool somewhere on a hot summer day. It's generally nothing I personally want on for every day summer drinking.... Then I had the Union Sacre Gewurztraminer, and now my mind has changed. What sets this particular Gewurztraminer apart from all the other ones I've had in the past, is the fact that it was skin fermented for 30 hours before being put into tank, and I was pleasantly surprised to find this packed with so much elegance and character. Looking for "orange wine"? This is a fantastic one to try, and it's only like 15 bucks. Definitely worth a whirl.
Price: $14.99 Add To Cart

2016 Roserock (Drouhin Oregon) Eola-Amity Hills Chardonnay
Review Date: 04-04-2019
As Domestic Buyer Kaj put it, when he was pouring a sample bottle of this for the Staff in LA, Oregon chardonnay is coming up, and Roserock from Drouhin is no exception. This is easily one of my favorite bottles in the store. 100% malolactic fermentation and no oak influence whatsoever, the 2016 likes to focus on mellow butterscotch like notes, only to be balanced with brilliant acidity and a fantastic mouthfeel on the finish... I can find myself drinking this one all summer long.

Page: 1 2 next