Best Sellers New Arrivals Local Events Locations Gift Cards My Account Advanced Search

Reviewers


K&L Email Alerts

Sign up to receive custom alerts, new arrivals and the latest happenings from K&L Wines

Staff Favorites - Elsa Baez

Elsa Baez

Reviews

2010 Los Autores "El Brujo" Gran Reserva Rioja
Review Date: 02-12-2019
Senor Ezequiel Garcia, known for his talents at Cvne, aka “El Brujo”, did his magic again with this blend of 82% Tempranillo, 8% Mazuelo, 8% Garnacha, 2% Viura. With aging in seasoned barrels (8-10 years old) along with top quality grapes, you get a well-structured and a truly traditional style of Rioja. As with the 1st bottling, the late El Brujo had a hand in this 2nd bottling and it truly speaks to the winemakers well-known wine. Aromatic, dark fruited with hints of leather , cedar, cranberries - the wine itself is a magical potion. I could easily pair this with a nice grilled steak.
Price: $29.99 Add To Cart

2015 Pinna Fidelis Crianza Ribera del Duero
Review Date: 02-05-2019
Glass Full image Glass Full image Glass Full image Glass Full image Glass Half image
I had the opportunity to taste our fresh arrival of the Pinna Fidelis wines with our beloved Spainish buyer Joe. The fruit is ripe but not too heavy on the palate paired with great minerality undertones. The tannins provide an interesting layer with notes of black fruit intermingling. It's full-bodied, well-balanced and bound to please any palate!
Price: $19.99 Add To Cart
JS 91

Dérot-Delugny "Cuvée Fondateurs" Brut
Review Date: 01-09-2019
When I first heard about this 100% Pinot Gris champagne, my first question to our trusty champagne buyer Gary was if he's ever encountered other 100% Pinot Gris champagne in his career. This is his first, which got me really excited about trying something new to all of us! Aromas of white flowers, tropical fruit along with citrus zest. They are pretty subtle and all intermingle very, very well. Long, dry finish with some great minerality makes this champagne great with your next sushi meal or alone with a cheese plate.
Price: $49.99 Add To Cart

2017 Château Saint Jacques d'Albas "Domaine d'Albas" Coteaux de Peyriac Blanc
Review Date: 11-26-2018
A white blend mostly Vermentino (45%) in a French white wine (45% Viognier and 10% Roussanne making up the rest of the blend) would have anyone curious. The fruit is ripe and with cold-pressing and stainless steel aging, it balances so well with a backbone of balanced acid. It's medium-bodied, which to me can easily pair with food (poultry or hearty fish) or drink well on its own. If you're looking for a new everyday white wine!
Price: $10.99 Add To Cart

2015 Black Slate "Porrera" Priorat
Review Date: 10-23-2018
Glass Full image Glass Full image Glass Full image Glass Full image Glass Half image
There is so much going on with this Priorat! It’s dark fruit upfront on the palate, subtle hints of chocolate and coffee on the nose, with cassis and spice from the oak on the finish. Perfect choice for BBQ meats!
Price: $15.99 Add To Cart
JD 93 RP 91

2017 Bedouet "Clos des Grands Primos" Muscadet Sèvre et Maine Sur Lie
Review Date: 10-16-2018
Glass Full image Glass Full image Glass Full image Glass Full image Glass Full image
This muscadet has a lot going on. The nose is aromatic with grapefruit, green apple with undertones of stone fruits. The acidity, minerality and touch of salinity balances the fruit notes on the palate making it a fantastic wine to pair with food or on its own. The aromatics are rich but don’t let that fool you as it is light in body. In the end you get an elegant and crisp white wine perfect for oysters, mussels or even pan roasted chicken.
Top Value!
Price: $12.99 Add To Cart
WE 90

Jean de La Fontaine "L'Éloquente" Brut Champagne
Review Date: 10-09-2018
This tasty bottle consists of 70% Pinot Meunier, 25% Chardonnay and 5% Pinot Noir and provides a fresh and light style of Champagne. The brightness is paired with hints of smoke and red fruit, which is most likely from the Pinot Meunier. With 3 years on the lees, you don't have richness but the notes and texture are structured so nicely. A great deal for a Champagne under $30!
Top Value!
Price: $29.99 Add To Cart
WE 91

2017 Domaine la Clef du Récit Sancerre
Review Date: 10-01-2018
Glass Full image Glass Full image Glass Full image Glass Full image Glass Full image
My first taste of the Clef du Recit Sancerre was the 2016 vintage. It was my first exposure to sancerre blanc wines ever and it certainly set the bar high. The story goes, Anthony Girard grew up in his family’s Sancerre winery but decided to travel throughout the world to learn about wine production. When he returned home he decided to create his own project, purchasing a plot near the town of Recy where the limestone is rich in the soil. This type of soil is ideal because it gives the sauvignon blanc grapes an opportunity to retain its acidity particular to sancerre wines. What you get is a super balanced –in minerality, acidity and freshness- and refined sancerre that you’ll enjoy alone or with food. Personally I’ve had it with roasted chicken and goat or camembert cheeses. My go-to white sancerre!
Price: $23.99 Add To Cart

2002 Piper-Heidsieck "Cuvée Rare" Brut Champagne
Review Date: 07-10-2018
When thinking about what to write about for this review I could not think of full sentences that would captivate on what exactly makes this champagne so special. Rather, when I think about the 2002 Piper Heidsieck Cuvee Rare champagne I think: beautiful, luxurious, unique, structured and by far one of the best vintage champagnes I've tried this year. With notes of toasted brioche, ripe fruit, a hint of almond and balanced with subtle minerality, a good balance of weight at the mid-palate and undertones of a very light effervescence, this is a must try for any champagne lover. Even better, you can hold onto this bottle for another 15 years or so. I can guarantee you won't be able to and will be inclined to buy another just to age. This is also a fantastic pick for that special occasion you've been wanting to splurge on and celebrate. When you taste the champagne you'll get the sense that every part of this champagne is meant to be together. Age + fantastic champagne vintage, let alone the fruit of 17 crus used to make this bottle, is going to blow you away.

2017 Le Coeur de la Reine Sauvignon Blanc Touraine
Review Date: 06-18-2018
The 2017 vintage of Le Coeur de la Reine provides everything I want in my warmer weather drinking. With hints of citrus scents and blackberry fruit undertones, supple and elegant with a spicy finish really brings a balance to this wine. Even the name itself is pretty nifty - le couer de la reine means the heart of the queen in French. If you're looking for a new everyday white wine with an interesting tasting profile this is it. At this price I would stock up!
Price: $12.99 Add To Cart

Alfred Gratien "Cuvée Paradis" Rosé Champagne
Review Date: 05-14-2018
This champagne is beautifully crafted with 2007 vintage by blending in reserves using a solera, which provides a certain complexity and elegance. It spends 11 years on the lees, which certainly comes out in this bottle. In addition to notes of cranberries, acidity, some spice and hint of raspberries and brioche on the nose, this bottle is truly a remarkable champagne.

2010 Fallet-Dart Vintage Brut Champagne
Review Date: 05-14-2018
Another staff and customer favorite, Fallet-Dart delivers all the quintessential characteristics in tasty champagne and the 2010 vintage is no different. The nose has a hint of toast, ripe fruit and an essence of richness you’ll definitely get giddy about! On the palate, there’s ripe strawberries, balanced acidity and a nice, clean finish. What’s more fun is that you can do a side-by-side tasting with the 2008 (if they last long!) and compare what each vintage offers.
Price: $39.99 Add To Cart

Wine Club

$34.99

Fallet-Dart "Clos du Mont" Brut Champagne (2004)
Review Date: 05-14-2018
What a treat to try this champagne! There are only 5,000 Clos Du Mont bottles produced and not released every year. This bottling is from 2004 and feel it highlights the climate very nicely - ripe fruit with deep concentration. My first impression of this champagne was the brioche and light fruit (think cranberries) on the nose while the finish was bright with a hint of savory, mineral undertones and nice clean finish. This bottle is for the serious champagne drinker wanting to explore a fantastic bottle.
Price: $79.99 Add To Cart

Alfred Gratien Brut Classique Champagne
Review Date: 05-14-2018
A new-to-us producer, the Alfred Gratien Brut Classique was a great surprise during our staff tasting. What I enjoyed about this champagne was the blend of ripe fruit and acidity at a perfect balance. The nose has notes of toast with mineral undertones, which really makes this bottle stand out for me. If you’re interested in trying a new producer, this one is definitely to try!

2008 Le Brun de Neuville "Grand Vintage" Brut Champagne
Review Date: 05-14-2018
I’m no stranger to this fantastic champagne producer. I will, however, admit that having it at our staff tasting recently made me fall in love all over again. On the nose , there’s this wonderful fruit and toasty aromas (I wrote “yum!” on my tasting notes!) paired with bright acidity and great balance of depth and volume. As we all know, 2008 is a great vintage for champagne and at this price, this bottle will never disappoint!
Price: $44.99 Add To Cart
WE 94 WS 91

2016 Zabala Natural Cider Pais Vasco
Review Date: 12-31-2017
Glass Full image Glass Full image Glass Full image Glass Full image Glass Empty image
I am pretty new to tasting imported ciders and must say that this one is a clear winner for me! It's clean, crisp and overall not as "funky" as some sour ciders can get. It's a great balance with a sourness and chalkiness on the nose, which you'll find compliments the flavor. If you're looking for a gateway cider this one is it!
Price: Hidden View Price

Mas Codina Cava Brut Reserva Penedès
Review Date: 11-25-2017
Glass Full image Glass Full image Glass Full image Glass Full image Glass Full image
By far the best Cava I have ever tasted! Mineral and green apple notes with a crisp and dry finish. A perfect bubbly option for any occasion, especially for upcoming holiday gatherings.So much greatness at a fantastic price. Stock up for the holidays!
Price: $12.99 Add To Cart

2015 Bryan MacRobert "Steen" Hillside Vineyard Chenin Blanc Swartland
Review Date: 10-03-2017
This is my first-ever tasting of Chenin Blanc from South Africa and I am impressed! With this bottle you'll get a delicious balance of ripe fruit and aromatics on the nose with a great acidity to finish. It's simply delicious and certainly deserves to be on everyone's list to buy for white wine. Without a doubt, this wine will become a favorite with our customers and staff alike.
Price: Hidden View Price
RP 90

2015 Hentley Farm "The Stray Mongrel" Grenache Blend Barossa Valley
Review Date: 09-06-2017
Another fantastic wine from Hentley Farm the K&L staff was fortunate to taste. This Grenache blend from Barossa Valley is 57% Grenache, 39% Shiraz, and 4% Zinfandel. The nose provides subtle oak notes and slight hints acidity, while the taste brings a balance of bright fruit and tannins mixed with mineral notes on the palate. It's has a great savory taste and certainly a delicious wine for the price!

Jolly Pumpkin Artisan Ales "Bam Biere" Farmhouse Ale, Michigan (750ml)
Review Date: 08-29-2017
I have been a saison follower for sometime now and this one definitely through me for a loop. It's got ripe fruit, spice and light floral aromatics to start and a fresh, mild sour finish. A very balanced farmhouse ale I am adding to my saison list!
Price: $10.99 Add To Cart
WE 91