Staff Favorites - Elsa Baez

Elsa Baez

Reviews

2016 Aurore Dezat "Domaine des Chasseignes" Sancerre
Review Date: 08-21-2018
I had the opportunity to taste this wine with my fellow K&Lers and at first open, most commented on the aromatics almost immediately. On the palate, the fruit and acidity are well-balanced with have a backbone of a citrus-like note. In addition to the minerality and nice crisp finish, this is the perfect match for anyone looking for a crisp and light white wine.
Price: $18.99 Add To Cart

2002 Piper-Heidsieck "Cuvée Rare" Brut Champagne
Review Date: 07-10-2018
When thinking about what to write about for this review I could not think of full sentences that would captivate on what exactly makes this champagne so special. Rather, when I think about the 2002 Piper Heidsieck Cuvee Rare champagne I think: beautiful, luxurious, unique, structured and by far one of the best vintage champagnes I've tried this year. With notes of toasted brioche, ripe fruit, a hint of almond and balanced with subtle minerality, a good balance of weight at the mid-palate and undertones of a very light effervescence, this is a must try for any champagne lover. Even better, you can hold onto this bottle for another 15 years or so. I can guarantee you won't be able to and will be inclined to buy another just to age. This is also a fantastic pick for that special occasion you've been wanting to splurge on and celebrate. When you taste the champagne you'll get the sense that every part of this champagne is meant to be together. Age + fantastic champagne vintage, let alone the fruit of 17 crus used to make this bottle, is going to blow you away.

2017 Le Coeur de la Reine Sauvignon Blanc Touraine
Review Date: 06-18-2018
The 2017 vintage of Le Coeur de la Reine provides everything I want in my warmer weather drinking. With hints of citrus scents and blackberry fruit undertones, supple and elegant with a spicy finish really brings a balance to this wine. Even the name itself is pretty nifty - le couer de la reine means the heart of the queen in French. If you're looking for a new everyday white wine with an interesting tasting profile this is it. At this price I would stock up!
Price: $12.99 Add To Cart

2016 Clos Floridène, Graves Blanc
Review Date: 06-18-2018
Glass Full image Glass Full image Glass Full image Glass Full image Glass Half image
This white Bordeaux wine is unique in that it is barrel-aged, which provides a more richer and complex wine. On the nose there are notes of soft tropical fruits and balanced with great acid and clean finish. If you’re looking for something interesting and great tasting, this bottle will deliver that and then some. You can't beat the price on this fantastic bottle!

2015 Château Pesquié "Terrasses" Ventoux
Review Date: 06-05-2018
If I were to choose a new weeknight bottle of red wine, I'd pick up a bottle of the 2015 Pesquie. It has aromas of what I like to describe as a bouquet of red fruit and hints of baking spice with lots of big dark fruit balanced out with medium tannins on the palate. I feel this would hold up to any pasta or red sauced dish or just perfect on its own while binge watching my favorite Hulu show.
Price: $11.99 Add To Cart
RP 92

Le Brun de Neuville "Authentique" Brut Rosé Champagne
Review Date: 05-14-2018
The first note I have on my tasting sheet is "delightful." This rose champagne has notes of strawberries and toast on the nose with lots of fruit - think raspberries, strawberries and a tinge of cherries - with a balanced acidity that gives this champagne layers of deliciousness. I opened a bottle for my birthday recently and what a way to celebrate!
Price: $39.99 Add To Cart

Wine Club

$34.99

Alfred Gratien "Cuvée Paradis" Rosé Champagne
Review Date: 05-14-2018
This champagne is beautifully crafted with 2007 vintage by blending in reserves using a solera, which provides a certain complexity and elegance. It spends 11 years on the lees, which certainly comes out in this bottle. In addition to notes of cranberries, acidity, some spice and hint of raspberries and brioche on the nose, this bottle is truly a remarkable champagne.

Le Brun de Neuville "Authentique Assemblage" Brut Champagne
Review Date: 05-14-2018
When the staff is quite giddy first thing Tuesday morning we all know it must be because of the champagne staff tasting scheduled for that day. Not only do we get to taste champagne all day, we also have the opportunity to listen in on Gary’s extensive knowledge of each producer, the details of the bottling and witness his passion for the champagnes we carry at K&L. Le Brun is no exception to the great list of grower-producers K&L carries and not surprised it is a staff and customer favorite. On the nose, there’s this intermingling of both bright and sweet fruit and light on the aromatics. On the palate, bright acidity and green apples dance on your tongue. I cannot express enough the fantastic value you get with this bottle. So good!
Price: $34.99 Add To Cart
WE 92 WS 90

2006 Alfred Gratien "Cuvée Paradis" Brut Champagne
Review Date: 05-14-2018
I’m so glad Gary had the opportunity to cross paths with Alfred Gratien champagnes! A fascinating fact about this bottle is that it they use the best barrels from the harvest to create this fantastic bottle of bubbles. To me this means that this bottle is carefully crafted to have a certain taste profile, one that keeps me guessing each sip. On the nose there’s toast and hint of red berries while the palate has bright acidity and hint of cranberries that blends really well. A semi-serious champagne, you’ll definitely have to talk or think about it in between long sips.

2010 Fallet-Dart Vintage Brut Champagne
Review Date: 05-14-2018
Another staff and customer favorite, Fallet-Dart delivers all the quintessential characteristics in tasty champagne and the 2010 vintage is no different. The nose has a hint of toast, ripe fruit and an essence of richness you’ll definitely get giddy about! On the palate, there’s ripe strawberries, balanced acidity and a nice, clean finish. What’s more fun is that you can do a side-by-side tasting with the 2008 (if they last long!) and compare what each vintage offers.
Price: $39.99 Add To Cart

Wine Club

$34.99

2008 Fallet-Dart Vintage Brut Champagne
Review Date: 05-14-2018
When customers come in looking for a great gift under $40 I always turn to the '08 Fallet Dart champagne if we have them in stock. The '08 Fallet-Dart vintage was my first vintaged champagne I ever tried and was completely blown away, as it should given it's a 2008 vintage! It posses notes of toasty and creaminess to it in a not so overwhelming way. Sometimes I feel the "toast" factor can become overwhelming in a champagne, sometimes hiding the other fantastic notes it embodies, but Fallet-Dart knows exactly how to balance it out. With a light hint of toast, laser-focus acidity and fantastic finish, giving this bottle as a gift will definitely impress anyone receiving it! Don't forget to get a bottle of one or three for yourself - one to open tonight and 2 others to age.
Price: $39.99 Add To Cart
JS 91

1999 Fallet-Dart Vintage Brut Champagne
Review Date: 05-14-2018
Age does champagne really nicely and this 1999 vintage brings it! It's one I would consider to be a more serious champagne where you have to stop and think about what exactly is it about it that just makes it so fantastic. For me, there's a soft, ripe raspberries and strawberries on the nose while green apples and balanced acidity rounds out on the palate. It's an elegant style of champagne and truly remarkable for this price. I can't say enough about one of our favorite direct import champagnes.
Price: $64.99 Add To Cart

Fallet-Dart "Clos du Mont" Brut Champagne (2004)
Review Date: 05-14-2018
What a treat to try this champagne! There are only 5,000 Clos Du Mont bottles produced and not released every year. This bottling is from 2004 and feel it highlights the climate very nicely - ripe fruit with deep concentration. My first impression of this champagne was the brioche and light fruit (think cranberries) on the nose while the finish was bright with a hint of savory, mineral undertones and nice clean finish. This bottle is for the serious champagne drinker wanting to explore a fantastic bottle.
Price: $79.99 Add To Cart

Alfred Gratien Brut Classique Champagne
Review Date: 05-14-2018
A new-to-us producer, the Alfred Gratien Brut Classique was a great surprise during our staff tasting. What I enjoyed about this champagne was the blend of ripe fruit and acidity at a perfect balance. The nose has notes of toast with mineral undertones, which really makes this bottle stand out for me. If you’re interested in trying a new producer, this one is definitely to try!

2016 Zabala Natural Cider Pais Vasco
Review Date: 12-31-2017
Glass Full image Glass Full image Glass Full image Glass Full image Glass Empty image
I am pretty new to tasting imported ciders and must say that this one is a clear winner for me! It's clean, crisp and overall not as "funky" as some sour ciders can get. It's a great balance with a sourness and chalkiness on the nose, which you'll find compliments the flavor. If you're looking for a gateway cider this one is it!
Price: Hidden View Price

2012 Streicker "Bridgeland Block" Syrah Margaret River
Review Date: 12-31-2017
Glass Full image Glass Full image Glass Full image Glass Full image Glass Empty image
Syrah's are my all-time favorite red wines and the Streicker Bridgeland Block is a winner! The aromatics are mixed with some spicy notes while the balanced tannins and dark fruits please the palate on this medium-bodied Syrah. If you're looking to explore new wines of Australia, I highly recommend the Bridgeland Block. Whether you're looking for a weeknight dinner wine or a new Syrah to try, this one is not to miss!
Price: Hidden View Price
JH 96

Mas Codina Cava Brut Reserva Penedès
Review Date: 11-25-2017
Glass Full image Glass Full image Glass Full image Glass Full image Glass Full image
By far the best Cava I have ever tasted! Mineral and green apple notes with a crisp and dry finish. A perfect bubbly option for any occasion, especially for upcoming holiday gatherings.So much greatness at a fantastic price. Stock up for the holidays!
Price: $12.99 Add To Cart

2015 Bryan MacRobert "Steen" Hillside Vineyard Chenin Blanc Swartland
Review Date: 10-03-2017
This is my first-ever tasting of Chenin Blanc from South Africa and I am impressed! With this bottle you'll get a delicious balance of ripe fruit and aromatics on the nose with a great acidity to finish. It's simply delicious and certainly deserves to be on everyone's list to buy for white wine. Without a doubt, this wine will become a favorite with our customers and staff alike.
Price: Hidden View Price
RP 90

2016 Ribbonwood (Framingham) Pinot Noir Marlborough
Review Date: 10-03-2017
Another fantastic Pinot Noir I thoroughly enjoyed from the Marlborough region. The nose has hints of tobacco and ripe fruit notes while the palate is savory, bright and short, with a delicious finish. A must-try for Pinot Noir lovers out there!
Price: Hidden View Price

2015 Hentley Farm "The Stray Mongrel" Grenache Blend Barossa Valley
Review Date: 09-06-2017
Another fantastic wine from Hentley Farm the K&L staff was fortunate to taste. This Grenache blend from Barossa Valley is 57% Grenache, 39% Shiraz, and 4% Zinfandel. The nose provides subtle oak notes and slight hints acidity, while the taste brings a balance of bright fruit and tannins mixed with mineral notes on the palate. It's has a great savory taste and certainly a delicious wine for the price!

2016 Hentley Farm Riesling Eden Valley South Australia
Review Date: 09-06-2017
I am impressed with not only the delicious and approachable wines Hentley Farm produces, but also how diverse they are! The 2016 Riesling comes from the Eden Valley, a wine region within the Barossa Valley of Australia, and has amazing hints of minerality and a slight hint of herbal essence on the nose. With bright acidity and ripe fruit on the palate, you will not be disappointed with this stand out Riesling from Australia.

Bottle Logic Brewing "Recursion" IPA, California (22oz)
Review Date: 08-29-2017
This is a West coast-style IPA and it certainly lives up to the profile. The nose is fruit-driven with hops and hint of yeast. As it goes down you can certainly point out the yeast followed by citrus notes with a short finish. For someone who is not a huge fan of IPA's, this one will definitely make a presence in my beer collection. I would recommend this to anyone who wants an "approachable" IPA.
Price: $7.99 Add To Cart

2016 J. Bouchon "Canto Sur" Maule Valley
Review Date: 08-21-2017
Beautifully aromatic with spice, ripe fruit and hint of eucalyptus. Balanced palate with just the right amount mix of fruit and acidity. This wine is very approachable now and can be paired with nutty cheeses or alone. Great for an everyday wine!