Staff Favorites - Elsa Baez

Elsa Baez

Reviews

2016 Domaine des Niales Rhedon-Marin Mâcon-Villages Vieilles Vignes
Review Date: 05-15-2018
This is one of 5 bargain white Burgundy favorites under $20 and do not expect it to last long in our stores. On the nose, it's very aromatic with pretty floral notes and undertones of ripe fruit. The palate brings a balanced acid and fruit finish. When I think of a nice white wine with balanced notes for warmer weather, this is the wine I would drink and share with a crowd as it would please just about any palate.
Price: $12.99 Add To Cart

Le Brun de Neuville "Authentique" Brut Rosé Champagne
Review Date: 05-14-2018
The first note I have on my tasting sheet is "delightful." This rose champagne has notes of strawberries and toast on the nose with lots of fruit - think raspberries, strawberries and a tinge of cherries - with a balanced acidity that gives this champagne layers of deliciousness. I opened a bottle for my birthday recently and what a way to celebrate!
Price: $39.99 Add To Cart

Wine Club

$34.99

Alfred Gratien "Cuvée Paradis" Rosé Champagne
Review Date: 05-14-2018
This champagne is beautifully crafted with 2007 vintage by blending in reserves using a solera, which provides a certain complexity and elegance. It spends 11 years on the lees, which certainly comes out in this bottle. In addition to notes of cranberries, acidity, some spice and hint of raspberries and brioche on the nose, this bottle is truly a remarkable champagne.

Le Brun de Neuville "Authentique Assemblage" Brut Champagne
Review Date: 05-14-2018
When the staff is quite giddy first thing Tuesday morning we all know it must be because of the champagne staff tasting scheduled for that day. Not only do we get to taste champagne all day, we also have the opportunity to listen in on Gary’s extensive knowledge of each producer, the details of the bottling and witness his passion for the champagnes we carry at K&L. Le Brun is no exception to the great list of grower-producers K&L carries and not surprised it is a staff and customer favorite. On the nose, there’s this intermingling of both bright and sweet fruit and light on the aromatics. On the palate, bright acidity and green apples dance on your tongue. I cannot express enough the fantastic value you get with this bottle. So good!
Price: $34.99 Add To Cart
WE 92 WS 90

2006 Alfred Gratien "Cuvée Paradis" Brut Champagne
Review Date: 05-14-2018
I’m so glad Gary had the opportunity to cross paths with Alfred Gratien champagnes! A fascinating fact about this bottle is that it they use the best barrels from the harvest to create this fantastic bottle of bubbles. To me this means that this bottle is carefully crafted to have a certain taste profile, one that keeps me guessing each sip. On the nose there’s toast and hint of red berries while the palate has bright acidity and hint of cranberries that blends really well. A semi-serious champagne, you’ll definitely have to talk or think about it in between long sips.

2010 Fallet-Dart Vintage Brut Champagne
Review Date: 05-14-2018
Another staff and customer favorite, Fallet-Dart delivers all the quintessential characteristics in tasty champagne and the 2010 vintage is no different. The nose has a hint of toast, ripe fruit and an essence of richness you’ll definitely get giddy about! On the palate, there’s ripe strawberries, balanced acidity and a nice, clean finish. What’s more fun is that you can do a side-by-side tasting with the 2008 (if they last long!) and compare what each vintage offers.
Price: $39.99 Add To Cart

2008 Fallet-Dart Vintage Brut Champagne
Review Date: 05-14-2018
When customers come in looking for a great gift under $40 I always turn to the '08 Fallet Dart champagne if we have them in stock. The '08 Fallet-Dart vintage was my first vintaged champagne I ever tried and was completely blown away, as it should given it's a 2008 vintage! It posses notes of toasty and creaminess to it in a not so overwhelming way. Sometimes I feel the "toast" factor can become overwhelming in a champagne, sometimes hiding the other fantastic notes it embodies, but Fallet-Dart knows exactly how to balance it out. With a light hint of toast, laser-focus acidity and fantastic finish, giving this bottle as a gift will definitely impress anyone receiving it! Don't forget to get a bottle of one or three for yourself - one to open tonight and 2 others to age.
Price: $39.99 Add To Cart

Fallet-Dart "Clos du Mont" Brut Champagne (2004)
Review Date: 05-14-2018
What a treat to try this champagne! There are only 5,000 Clos Du Mont bottles produced and not released every year. This bottling is from 2004 and feel it highlights the climate very nicely - ripe fruit with deep concentration. My first impression of this champagne was the brioche and light fruit (think cranberries) on the nose while the finish was bright with a hint of savory, mineral undertones and nice clean finish. This bottle is for the serious champagne drinker wanting to explore a fantastic bottle.
Price: $79.99 Add To Cart

Alfred Gratien Brut Classique Champagne
Review Date: 05-14-2018
A new-to-us producer, the Alfred Gratien Brut Classique was a great surprise during our staff tasting. What I enjoyed about this champagne was the blend of ripe fruit and acidity at a perfect balance. The nose has notes of toast with mineral undertones, which really makes this bottle stand out for me. If you’re interested in trying a new producer, this one is definitely to try!

2008 Le Brun de Neuville "Grand Vintage" Brut Champagne
Review Date: 05-14-2018
I’m no stranger to this fantastic champagne producer. I will, however, admit that having it at our staff tasting recently made me fall in love all over again. On the nose , there’s this wonderful fruit and toasty aromas (I wrote “yum!” on my tasting notes!) paired with bright acidity and great balance of depth and volume. As we all know, 2008 is a great vintage for champagne and at this price, this bottle will never disappoint!
Price: $39.99 Add To Cart

2014 Charles Joguet "Les Varennes du Grand Clos" Chinon
Review Date: 04-17-2018
I was impressed with the structure and elegance of this Chinon. The aromatics of floral, dark fruits, and slight earthiness meshed together with black pepper, bright fruit, balanced acidity and tannins make it approachable now. I can only imagine the complexity this bottle will gain with some aging.
Price: $32.99 Add To Cart
W&S 94 WS 92

2016 Zabala Natural Cider Pais Vasco
Review Date: 12-31-2017
Glass Full image Glass Full image Glass Full image Glass Full image Glass Empty image
I am pretty new to tasting imported ciders and must say that this one is a clear winner for me! It's clean, crisp and overall not as "funky" as some sour ciders can get. It's a great balance with a sourness and chalkiness on the nose, which you'll find compliments the flavor. If you're looking for a gateway cider this one is it!
Price: $9.99 Add To Cart

2012 Streicker "Bridgeland Block" Syrah Margaret River
Review Date: 12-31-2017
Glass Full image Glass Full image Glass Full image Glass Full image Glass Empty image
Syrah's are my all-time favorite red wines and the Streicker Bridgeland Block is a winner! The aromatics are mixed with some spicy notes while the balanced tannins and dark fruits please the palate on this medium-bodied Syrah. If you're looking to explore new wines of Australia, I highly recommend the Bridgeland Block. Whether you're looking for a weeknight dinner wine or a new Syrah to try, this one is not to miss!
Price: Hidden View Price
JH 96

2015 Yves Duport "Origin'L Reserve" Bugey Brut
Review Date: 12-31-2017
Glass Full image Glass Full image Glass Full image Glass Full image Glass Half image
The sparkling wines I've tasted continue to impress my palate and this brut sparkling from Yves Duport is no different. The fruit and floral aromatics are inviting with well-balanced acidity and fruit notes. A great bottle of bubbly for any night!
Price: Hidden View Price

2015 Shenandoah Vineyards "Special Reserve" Amador County Zinfandel
Review Date: 11-25-2017
Glass Full image Glass Full image Glass Full image Glass Full image Glass Full image
This wine is a great option for weekday dinners. This medium bodied wine offers soft tannins and balanced fruit. I've enjoyed a glass with pizza, bbq, pork dishes or all on its own after a long day at work. It's hard to believe you're getting a special reserve Zin for only 9.99. You'll be glad you did!
Price: $9.99 Add To Cart

2015 Bryan MacRobert "Steen" Hillside Vineyard Chenin Blanc Swartland
Review Date: 10-03-2017
This is my first-ever tasting of Chenin Blanc from South Africa and I am impressed! With this bottle you'll get a delicious balance of ripe fruit and aromatics on the nose with a great acidity to finish. It's simply delicious and certainly deserves to be on everyone's list to buy for white wine. Without a doubt, this wine will become a favorite with our customers and staff alike.
Price: $19.99 Add To Cart
RP 90

2016 Ribbonwood (Framingham) Pinot Noir Marlborough
Review Date: 10-03-2017
Another fantastic Pinot Noir I thoroughly enjoyed from the Marlborough region. The nose has hints of tobacco and ripe fruit notes while the palate is savory, bright and short, with a delicious finish. A must-try for Pinot Noir lovers out there!
Price: Hidden View Price

2016 Hentley Farm Riesling Eden Valley South Australia
Review Date: 09-06-2017
I am impressed with not only the delicious and approachable wines Hentley Farm produces, but also how diverse they are! The 2016 Riesling comes from the Eden Valley, a wine region within the Barossa Valley of Australia, and has amazing hints of minerality and a slight hint of herbal essence on the nose. With bright acidity and ripe fruit on the palate, you will not be disappointed with this stand out Riesling from Australia.

Bottle Logic Brewing "Recursion" IPA, California (22oz)
Review Date: 08-29-2017
This is a West coast-style IPA and it certainly lives up to the profile. The nose is fruit-driven with hops and hint of yeast. As it goes down you can certainly point out the yeast followed by citrus notes with a short finish. For someone who is not a huge fan of IPA's, this one will definitely make a presence in my beer collection. I would recommend this to anyone who wants an "approachable" IPA.
Price: $7.99 Add To Cart

2016 J. Bouchon "Canto Sur" Maule Valley
Review Date: 08-21-2017
Beautifully aromatic with spice, ripe fruit and hint of eucalyptus. Balanced palate with just the right amount mix of fruit and acidity. This wine is very approachable now and can be paired with nutty cheeses or alone. Great for an everyday wine!