Reviewers


K&L Email Alerts

Sign up to receive custom alerts, new arrivals and the latest happenings from K&L Wines


Staff Favorites - Elsa Baez

Elsa Baez

Reviews

2017 Lambuena Roble Ribera del Duero
Review Date: 04-16-2019
The flavor profile of this wine is full and rich, yet there is a restraint, in that it’s not so plush on the palate. The color is a very intense cherry red, and the wine shows floral, licorice, and ripe black fruit aromatics. With aging for only four months in new and semi-new American (70%) and French (30%) oak, the wine is sufficiently structured, complex, and fleshy. The toasty notes from the barrels come through beautifully integrated, too! I would easily pair this with a lamb or beef dish.
Price: $12.99 Add To Cart

2015 Pinna Fidelis Crianza Ribera del Duero
Review Date: 04-12-2019
Glass Full image Glass Full image Glass Full image Glass Full image Glass Half image
I had the opportunity to taste our fresh arrival of the Pinna Fidelis wines with our beloved Spanish buyer Joe. The fruit is ripe but not too heavy on the palate paired with great minerality undertones. The tannins provide an interesting layer with notes of black fruit intermingling. It's full-bodied, well-balanced and bound to please any palate.
Price: $19.99 Add To Cart
JS 91

2010 Los Autores "El Brujo" Gran Reserva Rioja
Review Date: 04-12-2019
Senor Ezequiel Garcia, known for his talents at Cvne, aka “El Brujo”, did his magic again with this blend of 82% Tempranillo, 8% Mazuelo, 8% Garnacha, 2% Viura. With aging in seasoned barrels (8-10 years old) along with top quality grapes, you get a well-structured and a truly traditional style of Rioja. As with the 1st bottling, the late El Brujo had a hand in this 2nd bottling and it truly speaks to the winemakers well-known wine. Aromatic, dark fruited with hints of leather , cedar, cranberries - the wine itself is a magical potion. I could easily pair this with a nice grilled steak.
Price: $29.99 Add To Cart

A.D. Coutelas "Cuvée Louis Victor" Brut Champagne
Review Date: 04-12-2019
There is so much going on with this bottle of champagne it's hard to know where to start. The blend is from fruit aged between 2007-2014 and considered to be from some of the best grapes from the vineyards. The nose is powered with hazelnut and sourdough toast with floral notes intermingling in between. And it keeps going.. rich with a good amount of acid, green apples and an airy mousse-like texture. It's definitely on my top 10 of champagne I cannot live without!
Price: $34.99 Add To Cart
WE 90

Modern Times "Ice" Pilsner, California (16oz Cans)
Review Date: 04-12-2019
This pilsner embodies a balance of hops with some texture on the palate with a not-so-overwhelming floral aromatics on the nose. A summer favorite of mine!
Price: $2.59 Add To Cart

Dérot-Delugny "Cuvée Fondateurs" Brut
Review Date: 04-08-2019
100% Pinot Gris champagne? Yes it's a thing and yes it's really tasty! About 300 years ago, 50% of Champagne was planted with Pinot Gris (aka Fromenteau). It's not as popular in the modern times, however, we are lucky to gain one of the few producers who continue the tradition of using the grape in their champagne. Aromas of white flowers, tropical fruit along with citrus zest. Long, dry finish with some great minerality notes makes this champagne great with your next sushi meal or alone with a cheese plate.
Price: $49.99 Add To Cart

Franck Bonville Grand Cru Brut Blanc de Blancs Champagne
Review Date: 04-05-2019
I cannot express how amazing this bottle of Grand Cru champagne for this price. The fruit is harvested from the Oger, Cramant and Aviz regions and you can smell and taste the quality of this bottling. There are aromas of white flowers, golden apples and a hint of toasty and finishes fresh, refined, with a touch of acid, just enough to compliment the richness. It's really a top notch "gateway" Grand Cru champagne!
Price: $34.99 Add To Cart
WS 90

2017 Florent Cosme "La Motte" Vouvray Sec
Review Date: 03-24-2019
Glass Full image Glass Full image Glass Full image Glass Full image Glass Half image
If you're looking for an alternative to Domaine Huet's demi-sec vouvray this wine is a great one to try. As a demi-sec, it does show notes of sweetness, but it is cut with acid which is pleasurable as it provides a nice backbone to the wine. It also has notes of apple, pear and some subtle earthy notes, which provides complexity and something different than any other vouvray I've tried thus far. I would buy a few just to cellar as it definitely has aging capability. A great price for a fantastic wine!
Price: $19.99 Add To Cart

2017 Château Saint Jacques d'Albas "Domaine d'Albas" Coteaux de Peyriac Blanc
Review Date: 11-26-2018
A white blend mostly Vermentino (45%) in a French white wine (45% Viognier and 10% Roussanne making up the rest of the blend) would have anyone curious. The fruit is ripe and with cold-pressing and stainless steel aging, it balances so well with a backbone of balanced acid. It's medium-bodied, which to me can easily pair with food (poultry or hearty fish) or drink well on its own. If you're looking for a new everyday white wine!
Price: $10.99 Add To Cart

2015 Black Slate "Porrera" Priorat
Review Date: 10-23-2018
Glass Full image Glass Full image Glass Full image Glass Full image Glass Half image
There is so much going on with this Priorat! It’s dark fruit upfront on the palate, subtle hints of chocolate and coffee on the nose, with cassis and spice from the oak on the finish. Perfect choice for BBQ meats!
Price: $15.99 Add To Cart
JD 93 RP 91

Jean de La Fontaine "L'Éloquente" Brut Champagne
Review Date: 10-09-2018
This tasty bottle consists of 70% Pinot Meunier, 25% Chardonnay and 5% Pinot Noir and provides a fresh and light style of Champagne. The brightness is paired with hints of smoke and red fruit, which is most likely from the Pinot Meunier. With 3 years on the lees, you don't have richness but the notes and texture are structured so nicely. A great deal for a Champagne under $30!
Top Value!
Price: $29.99 Add To Cart
WE 91

2017 Domaine la Clef du Récit Sancerre
Review Date: 10-01-2018
Glass Full image Glass Full image Glass Full image Glass Full image Glass Full image
My first taste of the Clef du Recit Sancerre was the 2016 vintage. It was my first exposure to sancerre blanc wines ever and it certainly set the bar high. The story goes, Anthony Girard grew up in his family’s Sancerre winery but decided to travel throughout the world to learn about wine production. When he returned home he decided to create his own project, purchasing a plot near the town of Recy where the limestone is rich in the soil. This type of soil is ideal because it gives the sauvignon blanc grapes an opportunity to retain its acidity particular to sancerre wines. What you get is a super balanced –in minerality, acidity and freshness- and refined sancerre that you’ll enjoy alone or with food. Personally I’ve had it with roasted chicken and goat or camembert cheeses. My go-to white sancerre!
Price: $23.99 Add To Cart

2002 Piper-Heidsieck "Cuvée Rare" Brut Champagne
Review Date: 07-10-2018
When thinking about what to write about for this review I could not think of full sentences that would captivate on what exactly makes this champagne so special. Rather, when I think about the 2002 Piper Heidsieck Cuvee Rare champagne I think: beautiful, luxurious, unique, structured and by far one of the best vintage champagnes I've tried this year. With notes of toasted brioche, ripe fruit, a hint of almond and balanced with subtle minerality, a good balance of weight at the mid-palate and undertones of a very light effervescence, this is a must try for any champagne lover. Even better, you can hold onto this bottle for another 15 years or so. I can guarantee you won't be able to and will be inclined to buy another just to age. This is also a fantastic pick for that special occasion you've been wanting to splurge on and celebrate. When you taste the champagne you'll get the sense that every part of this champagne is meant to be together. Age + fantastic champagne vintage, let alone the fruit of 17 crus used to make this bottle, is going to blow you away.

Alfred Gratien Brut Classique Champagne
Review Date: 05-14-2018
A new-to-us producer, the Alfred Gratien Brut Classique was a great surprise during our staff tasting. What I enjoyed about this champagne was the blend of ripe fruit and acidity at a perfect balance. The nose has notes of toast with mineral undertones, which really makes this bottle stand out for me. If you’re interested in trying a new producer, this one is definitely to try!

Mas Codina Cava Brut Reserva Penedès
Review Date: 11-25-2017
Glass Full image Glass Full image Glass Full image Glass Full image Glass Full image
By far the best Cava I have ever tasted! Mineral and green apple notes with a crisp and dry finish. A perfect bubbly option for any occasion, especially for upcoming holiday gatherings.So much greatness at a fantastic price. Stock up for the holidays!
Price: $12.99 Add To Cart

2015 Hentley Farm "The Stray Mongrel" Grenache Blend Barossa Valley
Review Date: 09-06-2017
Another fantastic wine from Hentley Farm the K&L staff was fortunate to taste. This Grenache blend from Barossa Valley is 57% Grenache, 39% Shiraz, and 4% Zinfandel. The nose provides subtle oak notes and slight hints acidity, while the taste brings a balance of bright fruit and tannins mixed with mineral notes on the palate. It's has a great savory taste and certainly a delicious wine for the price!

Jolly Pumpkin Artisan Ales "Bam Biere" Farmhouse Ale, Michigan (750ml)
Review Date: 08-29-2017
I have been a saison follower for sometime now and this one definitely through me for a loop. It's got ripe fruit, spice and light floral aromatics to start and a fresh, mild sour finish. A very balanced farmhouse ale I am adding to my saison list!
Price: $10.99 Add To Cart
WE 91