Best Sellers New Arrivals Local Events Locations Gift Cards My Account Advanced Search

Reviewers


K&L Email Alerts

Sign up to receive custom alerts, new arrivals and the latest happenings from K&L Wines

Staff Favorites - Morgan Laurie

Morgan Laurie

Reviews

2015 Domaine Les Pins Bourgueil Vieilles Vignes
Review Date: 12-07-2018
Domaine Les Pins is an estate that always churns out fantastic wine with a great price tag. Family run and focused on quality, this old vines Bourgueil is brimming with concentrated fruit. The nose is perfumed and seductive, and while this can be cellared for some time, it's also drinking beautifully now. There's a structure to this that is at once slightly firm but also completely approachable. The tannins have a bit of chew, but the wine itself is soft with ripe fruit easing the firmness of the structure. This a great bottle at an "everyday drinking" price point that feels way more elevated than a $16.99 price point.
Price: $16.99 Add To Cart
WE 91

2017 Domaine la Croix Belle "Caringole" Côtes de Thongue Rouge
Review Date: 11-30-2018
What an amazing little everyday red for under $10! Mostly Syrah and vinified in stainless steel, this is bright, fresh and ready to drink now. It's got a bounty of red, ripe fruit and a well integrated structure. A must for anyone looking for a great value for weeknight wines.
Price: $9.99 Add To Cart

2016 Allram Grüner Veltliner "Renner 1ÖTW" Kamptal
Review Date: 11-27-2018
It's no wonder Gruner Veltliner is so en vogue right now with wines like this! Fresh and elegant with a nice, rounded palate balanced by a zippy little line of acidity. This has lovely notes of yellow stone fruits, spice and saline along with ripe green pears and winter citrus. If you're unfamiliar with the varietal, pick up a bottle of this Allram to really see the potential this wonderful grape has, and if you're already a fan, you're going to love this!
Price: $24.99 Add To Cart
DC 97 JS 92

2015 Château de Montfaucon Lirac
Review Date: 11-21-2018
A richer, heartier Lirac for those cold winter nights! Lovely aromatics with notes of lavender, cinnamon dusted black cherries and plums. Some bright acidity and slightly dusty tannin provide some nice structure making this a fantastic pairing for winter dishes like stews and roasts. You get a lot of wine for under $20 with this one!
Price: $15.99 Add To Cart

2017 Bedouet "Clos des Grands Primos" Muscadet Sèvre et Maine Sur Lie
Review Date: 10-19-2018
This is a great little crisp white to have around for the upcoming Dungeness crab season! The estate, which began converting to organic in 2010, is now fully organic from the farming to the production. This is refreshing and bright, brimming with notes of freshly sliced citrus, stone fruit and saline. It spends a good deal of time on it's lees, so you get a little note of richness on the nose, but the palate is zippy and clean. This is a great bottle to have around for any type of seafood, but it also hits the spot for any time you need a crisp, light white wine.
Price: $12.99 Add To Cart
WE 90

2015 Domaine Les Pins "Le Clos les Pins" Bourgueil
Review Date: 10-19-2018
Domaine Les Pins is a family owned estate, making wine for over five generations. As an independent grower/producer, they are hands on with every aspect of their production and work traditionally at every stage. The "Le Clos les Pins" is a single parcel of Cabernet Franc, the only varietal they work with. This is a little more savory and rustic in it's profile. The nose has an almost umami aspect to it with rich black olive notes, a touch of menthol and a bit of saddle leather that marries nicely with the bright, punchy red fruit. The palate has a bit of tannin, but it's all very soft and velvety with a nice punch of acid, making this a fantastic wine for the dinner table. This would be great with everything from roast chicken to roast beef. Another delicious Cab Franc to add into my weeknight rotation!
Price: $14.99 Add To Cart
WE 90

2015 Rusack "El Rancho Escondido" Santa Catalina Island Zinfandel
Review Date: 10-06-2018
On our recent staff education outing to Santa Barbara County, we stopped at Rusack on our last day for a tasting of their portfolio. The Catalina Island Zinfandel stood out for me in a lineup of outstanding wines. Santa Catalina was home to a thriving vineyard and winery that was established in the late 1800s until the entire operation was shut down and the vines ripped out with the onset of Prohibition. Armed with only a rumor about a few surviving wild vines, the winemaker at Rusack went to the island's Central Valley to investigate. Luckily the Nature Conservancy allowed them to gather a few cuttings and the clones now reside at El Rancho Escondido on the island. This Zinfandel is exceptionally unique. Incredibly fresh and lively, this is full of peppery spice and bright, tangy red fruit. Notes of wet cedar and damp soil give this an earthy edge. If you're a fan of lighter bodied, complex and interesting reds, this is a really intriguing wine to try. Far and away one of the most memorable wines of our three-day trip.
Price: $69.95 Add To Cart
RP 94 VN 91

2015 Tyler "Bien Nacido Vineyard - W Block" Santa Maria Chardonnay
Review Date: 10-06-2018
What an incredibly lovely Chardonnay. Richly textured and lush on the palate, it’s balanced beautifully with a firm streak of acidity that cuts through. Aromas of honeysuckle, saline, citrus and orchard fruit with a hint of hazelnut give the nose serious depth. Another outstanding selection from Tyler Winery.
Price: Hidden View Price
VN 95 RP 90

2016 Tyler "Dierberg Vineyard - Block 5" Santa Maria Pinot Noir
Review Date: 10-06-2018
Wonderfully structured and complex, the nose has a darker fruited and exotic profile with notes of blood orange zest, pomegranate and iron. The palate is expressive and complex, full of crushed berries and dried floral notes with a precise, laser-like finish. A beautifully made wine!
Price: $49.95 Add To Cart
RP 93

2017 Domaine du Vieil Orme Sauvignon Touraine Blanc
Review Date: 10-06-2018
A refreshing and vibrant Sauvignon Blanc from the Touraine appellation in Loire. This is youthful and fun with notes of freshly sliced lemons and limes, limestone minerality and pineapple. Perfect for lighter fare and seafood with the citrus inflected, clean palate!
Price: $11.99 Add To Cart

A.D. Coutelas "Cuvée 1809" Brut Champagne
Review Date: 08-21-2018
This Champagne is made entirely of the 2012 harvest, although not designated a vintage Champagne. A 70/30 blend of Chardonnay/Pinot Noir, this is done in exclusively barrique providing a rich, spiced nose. Notes of spice cake, honey baked apples, roasted lemons and almond brittle on the nose lead into a rich, slightly toasted palate with a crisp vein of acidity to keep things balanced. Incredibly delicious and fantastic for a gift or special occasion!
Price: $59.99 Add To Cart
BH 92

Gilbert Jacquesson "Cuvée Eugénie" Brut Rosé Champagne
Review Date: 08-21-2018
A light, delicate Brut Rose for those that prefer an understated style. Ripe strawberry and smashed raspberry give way to a slight spice note with a touch of limestone minerality. A bit of structure makes this a fantastic wine for the dinner table. A killer Brut rose for under $30!
Price: $29.99 Add To Cart

2012 Gilbert Jacquesson Vintage Brut Champagne
Review Date: 08-21-2018
Produced with 2 Pinot Meunier plots, each over 40 years old, this low dosage Brut has a lovely aromatic profile and a richer palate from the lees aging while still providing zippy acidity and a clean finish. Brioche and baked apples dominate the nose with a touch of chalky minerality. A fantastic vintage Champagne for everyday drinking.
Price: $34.99 Add To Cart

2017 Eric Cottat Sancerre Rosé
Review Date: 08-17-2018
A staff favorite year after year, this 100% Pinot Noir Rose from Sancerre displays zesty minerality and crunchy red fruits. The palate is vibrant and zesty with refreshing acidity. The perfect rose for grilled salmon or steamed mussels!
Price: $18.99 Add To Cart

San Venanzio Prosecco Valdobbiadene Superiore Brut
Review Date: 08-13-2018
This is a delightful little Prosecco that delivers a lot for a small price tag! Fruity and floral, this wine has notes of ripe pears, peach blossoms and key lime pie. It's dry and crisp with a creamy mouth feel and a touch of sweetness to balance the bracing minerality. Truly a steal at $12.99!
Price: $13.99 Add To Cart
DC 91

A.D. Coutelas "Cuvée Louis Victor" Brut Champagne
Review Date: 07-24-2018
This is a really cool take on Champagne with a solera style barrel being the base wine. The added richness and complexity from the perpetual blend adds tons of character with aromas of toasted hazelnuts, spice cake, chalk and roasted apple. A really incredible bottling and completely unique, especially considering the price point. Stunning!
Price: $34.99 Add To Cart
WE 90

2017 Domaine Tabordet "Le Champs des Vignes" Pouilly Fumé
Review Date: 07-21-2018
A lovely, characterful Sauvignon Blanc with a little extra dimension from the slightly flinty aromas. A truly terrior driven wine, the subtle hints of flint come from the Silex soil the vines are grown in. This is a wonderfully aromatic and refreshing wine for light poultry and seafood based dishes.
Price: $17.99 Add To Cart

2017 Terra Santa Ile de Beaute Rosé Corsica
Review Date: 07-21-2018
I discovered this fun little Rose last year and I am so happy its back! Bright and fresh with great texture and notes of crisp red fruits, this is a must for picnics, parties or Sunday afternoon sipping!
Price: Hidden View Price

2017 Domaine des Côtes Blanches Sancerre Rosé
Review Date: 07-08-2018
I've always loved Rose of Pinot Noir and this is exactly why! Crisp, refreshing and delicate, this is the perfect bottle for all of your Summer festivities. This Rose is bursting with pretty red fruits, subtle floral aromas and fresh mineral notes. Pick this up for your next picnic, beach day or cook out!
Price: $19.99 Add To Cart

2017 Framingham F-Series Pinot Gris Marlborough
Review Date: 06-24-2018
It's rare that I like every single wine in a tasting line up, but when we were treated to a selection of Framingham wines led by the winemaker Andrew Hedley I liked EVERY SINGLE THING. Seriously. I'm always looking for a high payoff on the quality/price ratio and the wines from Framingham excel at delivering complex, incredible wines at around a twenty dollar price point. This Pinot Gris is in one word, killer. Full of spice, quartz mineral, lychee and all manner of floral notes, it has a soft sweetness balanced by a slight phenolic bitterness. Just buy a bottle and keep it around for the inevitable night when you're too tired to cook dinner and you order in some Indian takeout and you don't want to think about what to drink with it. Trust.
Price: $19.99 Add To Cart

2014 Domaine de la Begude Bandol Rouge
Review Date: 06-19-2018
This is a bottle to buy now and stash away for a bit. Or at least until the weather changes into grey, wind swept skies that call for rich, smothered pork chops, braised meats and warmly spiced lamb dishes. This Bandol Rouge is meaty, spicy and full of sweet, rich fruit all at once. Intense and brooding, the finish on this has impressive length. If you decide to drink this sooner rather than later, decant for as long as possible, but if you can put it somewhere and forget about it for awhile, this can cellar for the next ten years.
Price: $29.99 Add To Cart
WE 94

Jean-Louis Denois "Bulles d'Argile" Extra Brut (Sans Soufre)
Review Date: 06-19-2018
This sulfur free bubbly is the perfect sparkling wine for any occasion. Bright, fresh and youthful, this little value sparkler is a steal. Crisp Asian pears, Anjou pear pastilles and green banana give this easygoing wine quaffability, and before you know, the bottle will be empty! It can easily be sipped alone as an aperitif or paired with light picnic or party friendly fare.
Price: $19.99 Add To Cart

2017 Vignoble Dragon Côtes de Provence Rosé
Review Date: 05-18-2018
Juicy, fresh and very easy going this delightful little rose from Provence is full of notes of ripe berries and white cherry. Perfect for a bowl of steamed mussels or a weekend picnic in the park.
Price: $13.99 Add To Cart

2016 Dancing Crow Vineyards Lake County Cabernet Sauvignon
Review Date: 05-18-2018
Looking for a great value in California wine? Look to Lake County! A viticultural area that's gaining esteem, this Cabernet Sauvignon from Dancing Crow is beautiful, soft and balanced with flavors of warm baking spice, black cherry and ripe black plums. Give a glass to your most staunch Napa Cab fan and see if they can spot the difference. A fantastic California Cabernet under $20!
Price: $19.99 Add To Cart

2016 Domaine Noiré "Soif de Tendress" Chinon
Review Date: 05-01-2018
The 2016 “Soif de Tendresse” Chinon is a certified organic wine from vines aged 25 to 30 years. Stylistically, it is produced for early enjoyment and the palate feels lively and youthful. I tasted this once when it was just opened, then again several hours later. The first pass was already showing well: aromatic and soft. By the time I tasted this again, it was singing! The nose was so perfumed with tons of violet, sage, wet leaves, red clay and dark, ripe berries. The palate was soft and inviting, true to its name: “Soif de Tendresse,” or “thirst for tenderness.”
Price: $15.99 Add To Cart

Egrot (formerly Elisabeth Goutorbe) Brut Champagne
Review Date: 02-16-2018
This bottling from Elisabeth Goutorbe showcases why our direct imports are such a steal. Balanced, elegant and charming, all under $35. The palate is rich and complex while also having tons of fresh minerality and bright acidity. Tons of black cherry with a little toast and hazelnut. One to grab for any occasion or gathering and sure to please even the most finicky of palates.
Price: $34.99 Add To Cart

2015 Pike Road Willamette Valley Pinot Noir
Review Date: 02-12-2018
Pike Road produces their Pinot Noir with grapes sourced from 6 different estate vineyard sites, all 100% Willamette Valley fruit. The grapes are hand picked, hand sorted and fermented in stainless steel before barrel aging in french oak for 10 months. That's an insane level of care and quality in wine making for a sub $20 price point! What you get is a beautiful, elegant and complex Pinot Noir that's priced to be an everyday drinker with notes of bright red fruit and a little spice. Perfect for simple weeknight meals like a roast chicken or seared salmon.
Price: $17.99 Add To Cart

Mas Codina Cava Brut Reserva Penedès
Review Date: 01-29-2018
This truly is one of the best values in sparkling wine we have. It's fresh, crisp and drinks well above it's price. Dry with small bubbles and an elegant mouth feel, it goes down (almost) too easily. Notes of green apple, stone fruits and a slight nutty richness make this an easy choice for any occasion!
Price: $12.99 Add To Cart

2016 Domaine Ostertag "Les Jardins" Riesling
Review Date: 01-28-2018
The wines of Andre Ostertag are some of my favorite in the store and I'm always very happy when we are able to bring them in. Ostertag has rejected the official classifications of the A.O.C. and instead created his own categories. The Les Jardins is part of his "vins de fruit" wines and are made to express varietal character and the taste of the grapes themselves rather than expressing a single vineyard site and the terroir from which the grapes came. The Les Jardins is fermented dry lending it versatility at the dining table. They're meant to be drunk young and fresh. I drank this over the course of two nights, each with different seafood based meals and it was fantastic. Crisp and intensely mineral, with notes of lime/lime leaf, white flowers and under ripe nectarine, this wine is beautifully aromatic and a natural match for lighter fare.
Price: $29.99 Add To Cart
WE 91 JS 90

2009 Baron-Fuenté "Grand Millesime" Brut Champagne
Review Date: 01-19-2018
Another fantastic bottle from Baron Fuente! The nose starts off with apple butter and poached pears, then gives way to a rich kouign amann pastry, roasted lemon and yeast. The palate has an intense nuttiness, almost like eating a handful of raw hazelnuts while still providing a clean mineral note and vibrant acidity. A great bottle to pick up for your next Champagne craving.
Price: $29.99 Add To Cart

Wine Club

$24.99
WE 91

2016 Au Bon Climat/K&L Wine Merchants "Bien Nacido Vineyard" Santa Maria Valley Pinot Noir
Review Date: 11-28-2017
This is what I want from my Pinot Noirs! The first note I wrote down while tasting this was "yum" - not exactly a tasting note but I was impressed. This is so aromatic and enticing. It's complex and lovely. It's....just really good. Along with the fruit and warm baking spice, I get what can be described as a "clean earth" note. Like fresh potting soil. It's like if you were planting peonies and pink roses in your garden with fresh, wet earth. It's subtle, but I love me some clean earth and flowers in my wine. I already love Au Bon Climat and the fact that I can get a ridiculous Pinot from a highly celebrated estate for under $20, makes this even better. I might need one for decanting and drinking now, and one to lay down for a bit.
Price: $19.99 Add To Cart

Deligeroy "La Petite Marquise" Crémant de Loire Brut Rosé
Review Date: 11-27-2017
This old favorite is back again just in time for the holidays! Perfect as an aperitif, a bottle to toast with or something to open for friends and family who drop by, this little bottle of bubbles is sure to please everyone! Fresh, zippy, lively and full of finesse, this is an inexpensive gem to pick up a few bottles of so you'll always be prepared.
Price: $12.99 Add To Cart

2008 Le Brun de Neuville "Grand Vintage" Brut Champagne
Review Date: 11-21-2017
In what's shaping up to be a classic Champagne vintage, this wine delivers a lot for a sub $40 price point. Clean & graceful with mid palate richness and bracing acidity. Intriguing chalky mineral notes and rich brioche add depth to the lovely array of orchard fruit. This wine is a superb value and and drinks well above its price point. Ready to drink now or a wonderful Champagne to age and enjoy down the road.
Price: $44.99 Add To Cart
WE 94 WS 91

Louis Roederer "Carte Blanche" Demi-Sec Champagne
Review Date: 11-11-2017
I took this home on a whim without realizing it was a demi-sec and opened it one night after bringing home a fried chicken sandwich topped with spicy wasabi coleslaw. Now, some people may scoff at a demi-sec Champagne but if anyone can do it right, it's the house of Roederer. After the first sip I immediately realized that I hadn't brought home a Brut, but was pleasantly surprised (and pretty happy) that of all nights, I decided to open this on a spicy fried chicken sandwich night! Fried chicken and Champagne is already one of those mystical high-low pairings that works like magic, but factor in a little residual sugar and spice...whoa Nelly. The wine is soft, still has some lift from a vein of acidity and elegant all at once. The fruit is ripe and creamy and it all manages to avoid being cloyingly sweet, despite the fact it's dosed at 38gm/L. If there ever was a balanced demi-sec, this would be it.

2015 Rickshaw Chardonnay
Review Date: 10-23-2017
Rickshaw sources their grapes for this Chardonnay from Santa Barbara all the way up to Mendocino. Blending fruit from warmer weather regions along with fruit from cooler climates gives the wine a lovely balance of richness along with structure and aromatics. It's got citrusy, tropical brightness along with a vanilla and toast undertone from the partial barrel fermentation (20%) and 6 months in French oak. A killer wine for an amazing price, this would please anyone looking for a fresh, fruit forward wine with some texture and structure.
Price: Hidden View Price

2010 Bois-Malot, Bordeaux Supérieur
Review Date: 07-22-2017
Who says a good Bordeaux has to cost an arm and a leg! 2010 was a good all around vintage for Bordeaux lending structure and power to the wines. This wine is a fantastic value and shows especially well with a little air. There is a nice balance of dark, rich fruit, freshness and earth. At the price point this wine is at, buy one for your next steak and keep one to open in the future and see how it evolves over the next few years.
Price: $10.99 Add To Cart