Reviewers


K&L Email Alerts

Sign up to receive custom alerts, new arrivals and the latest happenings from K&L Wines

Staff Favorites - Morgan Laurie

Morgan Laurie

Reviews

Page: 1 2 next
Egrot (formerly Elisabeth Goutorbe) Brut Champagne
Review Date: 02-16-2018
This bottling from Elisabeth Goutorbe showcases why our direct imports are such a steal. Balanced, elegant and charming, all under $35. The palate is rich and complex while also having tons of fresh minerality and bright acidity. Tons of black cherry with a little toast and hazelnut. One to grab for any occasion or gathering and sure to please even the most finicky of palates.
Price: $34.99 Add To Cart

2015 Pike Road Willamette Valley Pinot Noir
Review Date: 02-12-2018
Pike Road produces their Pinot Noir with grapes sourced from 6 different estate vineyard sites, all 100% Willamette Valley fruit. The grapes are hand picked, hand sorted and fermented in stainless steel before barrel aging in french oak for 10 months. That's an insane level of care and quality in wine making for a sub $20 price point! What you get is a beautiful, elegant and complex Pinot Noir that's priced to be an everyday drinker with notes of bright red fruit and a little spice. Perfect for simple weeknight meals like a roast chicken or seared salmon.
Price: $17.99 Add To Cart

2014 Tormaresca "Neprica" Super Puglia
Review Date: 02-12-2018
This is an amazing little everyday Italian red to keep a few bottles of around the house. Dark fruits, a little spice and balanced structure to make this a great food wine, but it works just as well on its own. Superb value!
Price: $9.99 Add To Cart

2015 Fürst "Tradition" Pinot Noir Franken
Review Date: 02-10-2018
The 2015 Fürst Tradition Spätburgunder is just plain lovely! I tasted this recently and was in Pinot Noir heaven. The term "Burgundian" gets thrown around a lot as a descriptor of quality and elegance, but this truly is "Burgundian" on both accounts. It's complex yet subtle. I would definitely decant this for an hour or so to really allow the aromas to open up. There's a slight flinty, smoke quality, sour red cherry, rose petals and a woody, fresh soil, leafy earthiness. The tannins are supple with a little spice on the palate. There is really bright acidity and tons of freshness. If you're looking to expand your options for Pinot Noir, I highly recommend looking towards Germany!
Price: $29.99 Add To Cart

2016 Bernhard Ott "Am Berg" Grüner Veltliner Niederösterreich (Biodynamic)
Review Date: 02-06-2018
This is one of my favorite Gruners in the store, and I'm thrilled to see its return. Bernhard Ott is certified biodynamic, employing a "whole vineyard" philosophy by planting cover crops and adding compost to the soil versus fertilizing individual vines, and homeopathic tinctures and remedies to treat vineyard problems. This is one of my favorite wines to drink alone, but it especially shines with food. It's fresh, clean and has some texture without being a full-bodied wine. Notes of snap peas and cucumber lend a sweet green note with classic aromas of white pepper, melon and yellow plum. Just spectacular!
Price: $18.99 Add To Cart
WE 92 JS 91

2014 Vigneti Massa "Montecitorio" Timorasso Cru
Review Date: 01-30-2018
Vigneti Massa is one of my absolute favorite Italian vintners and I was more than excited to see not only his entry level wines in the store but his cru's as well. He's responsible for single handedly saving this wonderful grape from extinction in Piemonte. I hadn't had the pleasure of tasting the single vineyard site Timorasso's until today and they are phenomenal! The Montecitorio is fresh, clean, textured and aromatic all at once. There's a flinty mineral note, honey, honeysuckle and saline jumping out of the glass. The wine has oomph! It's got a weighty texture but the acidity is almost electric. If you can manage to keep your hands off of it, it could cellar for quite some time and would only get better with age. Fans of Chenin Blanc, unoaked Chardonnay or Alsatian Riesling should definitely give this grape a try!
Price: $59.99 Add To Cart

Mas Codina Cava Brut Reserva Penedès
Review Date: 01-29-2018
This truly is one of the best values in sparkling wine we have. It's fresh, crisp and drinks well above it's price. Dry with small bubbles and an elegant mouth feel, it goes down (almost) too easily. Notes of green apple, stone fruits and a slight nutty richness make this an easy choice for any occasion!
Price: $12.99 Add To Cart

2016 Domaine Ostertag "Les Jardins" Riesling
Review Date: 01-28-2018
The wines of Andre Ostertag are some of my favorite in the store and I'm always very happy when we are able to bring them in. Ostertag has rejected the official classifications of the A.O.C. and instead created his own categories. The Les Jardins is part of his "vins de fruit" wines and are made to express varietal character and the taste of the grapes themselves rather than expressing a single vineyard site and the terroir from which the grapes came. The Les Jardins is fermented dry lending it versatility at the dining table. They're meant to be drunk young and fresh. I drank this over the course of two nights, each with different seafood based meals and it was fantastic. Crisp and intensely mineral, with notes of lime/lime leaf, white flowers and under ripe nectarine, this wine is beautifully aromatic and a natural match for lighter fare.
Price: $29.99 Add To Cart

Domaine Moulin Gaillac Brut
Review Date: 01-20-2018
Looking for a wine to go with a cheese plate? I got your cheese wine right here! Made from an obscure varietal called Mauzac from an obscure little AOC called Gaillac in South West France, this fun bottle of bubbles is the perfect compliment to a brunch date, a cheese party or a great movie at home. It's light and delicate with notes of freshly pressed apple juice, white flowers and crisp green pears. It's something that would be easy to pass up on the shelf given the region and the varietal, but you absolutely should not pass this up! It's fun and delicious with a price that makes it a no brainer when you want to give something new a whirl!
Price: $14.99 Add To Cart

2015 Chappellet "Signature" Napa Valley Cabernet Sauvignon
Review Date: 01-20-2018
A sustainably produced Napa Cab from a top producer that's under $55? Believe it! The "Signature" from Chappellet is just what you'd expect with inky, juicy, rich black fruit. You get a crushed rock mineral note and a little toasted vanilla from the barrel, which comes across as subtle instead of the dominant note. It's lush but balanced. The structure is there, but no one part feels out of whack. The tannin is big and ripe but feels velvety on the palate. The acidity is vibrant and gives the wine a freshness. The quality in fruit and wine making is apparent. This is a superb bottle of wine and one any lover of California Cabernet should try.

2016 Domaine des Remizières "Cuvée Christophe" Crozes-Hermitage Blanc
Review Date: 01-20-2018
Family run for three generations, Domaine des Remizières follows a bio approach and strives to respect the terrior of the vineyards and surrounding environment throughout the year. The Cuvée Christophe is a blend of 85% Marsanne and 15% Roussanne, 30% of which sees new oak with the remaining 70% fermented in one year old barrel. There's a sumptuous, round texture with a lift of acidity and a long finish. Notes of pear blossoms and dried pears, orange oil and white peach giving way to a slight toasted brioche from the new barrel. One of my favorites from our last tasting and sure to please lovers of white Rhône wines.

2014 Ferraton Père et Fils "Les Calendes" Crozes-Hermitage
Review Date: 01-19-2018
This (along with the other wines from Ferraton Père et Fils) really blew me away at our last staff tasting. Michel Ferraton produces the wines with all native yeast strains and minimal new oak. They adhere to a bio-dynamic philosophy, although they are not certified bio-dynamic. The nose on this is just SO good! It's a melange of white pepper, bacon fat, beautiful floral aromatics and lovely dark fruits. The palate is balanced and clean. It's got great length but doesn't come across as super intense. A really great wine for under $20!
Price: $17.99 Add To Cart

2009 Baron-Fuenté "Grand Millesime" Brut Champagne
Review Date: 01-19-2018
Another fantastic bottle from Baron Fuente! The nose starts off with apple butter and poached pears, then gives way to a rich kouign amann pastry, roasted lemon and yeast. The palate has an intense nuttiness, almost like eating a handful of raw hazelnuts while still providing a clean mineral note and vibrant acidity. A great bottle to pick up for your next Champagne craving.
Price: $29.99 Add To Cart

2015 Yves Cheron "Les Dentelles" Côtes du Rhône
Review Date: 01-06-2018
This is a lot of wine for $12.99. The nose is composed of blackberry coulis and black cherry with a spicy, white pepper and violet note thanks to the Syrah. Dry and full of complexity, this wine has great length. The cement aging leaves it bright and clean with wonderful acidity and great fruit on the palate. A really beautiful wine for everyday drinking.
Price: $12.99 Add To Cart
RP 92

2014 Bodegas Volver "Tarima Hill - Old Vines" Monastrell Alicante
Review Date: 12-29-2017
Don't be fooled by the price, this is a serious wine that packs a punch. Fleshy and ripe without bordering on off-dry, this is powerful and rich while maintaining a sense of balance. Well integrated tannin and acidity provide lift to the generous fruit. Ripe, juicy blackberry, blueberry and figs, violets, cloves and dried herbs provide the backbone on this incredible offering from Bodegas Volver. If you like big, bold wines, this should definitely be on your list of wines to try.
Price: $12.99 Add To Cart
RP 92 JS 90

2015 Domaine Les Pins "Les Rochettes" Bourgueil
Review Date: 12-29-2017
Domaine les Pins is a family run estate spanning five generations of vignerons. Their vineyards are exclusively planted with Cab Franc, and their dedication to the grape shows in this amazing bottle. Fresh, easy drinking and super food friendly, this is an awesome everyday red to have on hand.
Price: $11.99 Add To Cart
WE 91

2013 Château de Montfaucon "Baron Louis" Lirac
Review Date: 12-29-2017
One my favorite Direct Imports knocks it out of the park once again. The wines of Chateau de Montfaucon always drink well above their price point, and this is no exception. Rich, plush and complex, notes of ripe red and black fruit mingle with warm baking spice and resinous dried herbs. There's enough structure to make this a wonderful wine to pair with heartier fare, but it's also delicious enough to have a glass on its own while relaxing at home.
Price: $19.99 Add To Cart

Wine Club

$14.99
WS 90

2016 Les Roches Sauvignon Touraine
Review Date: 12-29-2017
You can't ask for much more at this price point! Crisp, refreshing and lively, this Sauvignon Blanc from Touraine is full of bright citrus, notes of ripe pineapple and cut grass and an intense minerality. Perfect for any occasion and priced right, this is one to buy a few of and keep around the house!
Price: $9.99 Add To Cart

2014 Bedouet "Expression du Pallet Vieilles Vignes" Muscadet Sèvre et Maine Sur Lie
Review Date: 12-19-2017
Just in time for Dungeness crab season, this fresh, mineral driven offering from Bedouet is the perfect accompaniment to a heaping plate of crustaceans! Notes of chalk, lemon flesh and salted ripe pineapple provide a clean, bright palate with zippy acidity. This would also make a natural pairing for rich cheese, oysters and fish in beurre blanc.
Price: $16.99 Add To Cart

2015 Domaine du Petit Clocher Anjou Rouge
Review Date: 12-18-2017
What a standout Cabernet Franc from Anjou! The 2015 Domaine Du Petit Clocher is supple and smooth with soft acidity and low tannin. This is an extremely friendly wine filled with notes of wild blueberry, black plums and ripe strawberry. It has a stony minerality and a slight woody floral note. It's fresh and meant to be drunk young. This wine is super easygoing and perfect to have around the house to open with a wide variety of dishes from veggie-based to poultry to steak.
Price: $12.99 Add To Cart

2015 Domaine du Vieil Orme "Inphini" Sauvignon Touraine Chenonceaux Blanc
Review Date: 12-18-2017
I recently re-tasted this wine and fell in love all over again. This bottling from Domaine Di Vieil Orme is richer and waxier than their entry-level selection. It's delicious, unique and a fun departure from your "typical" Sauvignon Blanc. There's a peachy, stone fruit note along with citrus blossoms and limestone. The fuller body carries a lovely texture onto the palate and stays fresh with well balanced acidity. This is well worth the couple of extra bucks! This would also be a great choice to bridge the gap with family and friends who all like differing styles of white wine.
Price: $14.99 Add To Cart

2015 Douloufakis "Dafnios" Vidiano Crete Greece
Review Date: 11-28-2017
My love for and exploration of Greek wine continues! This is an amazing wine from the island of Crete. The southern most point in Europe, Crete is a wholly unique terrior lending the wines an abundance of character. From a third generation winemaker, I found this wine to be intensely floral with honeysuckle leading the charge. It's waxy and has notes of stone fruit and pineapple, with wet stone minerality. It's round but bright on the palate, and sees 18 months on its lees. This is just an incredible wine from what I suspect will be the next "it" wine producing region.
Price: $14.99 Add To Cart

2010 Louise Brison Brut Champagne
Review Date: 11-28-2017
Part of what I love about about working in the wine industry is changing people's preconceived notions about wine; what it should be, what it should taste like, and most importantly, what a good bottle should cost. I can shout it from the rooftops! A good bottle of Champagne does not have to cost over $60! Sure, there are fantastic bottles at that price point (and higher), but if I can find Champagne that I can afford to drink on a regular basis, I'm all about it. This is one such bottle. It's got a rich apple-y nose with a yeasty baguette note and fresh lemon to boot. The palate mirrors the nose and feels vibrant yet rich at the same time with a great balance of texture and acidity. If you love Champagne, this is one to pick up on your next visit.
Price: $29.99 Add To Cart
WE 91

2016 Au Bon Climat/K&L Wine Merchants "Bien Nacido Vineyard" Santa Maria Valley Pinot Noir
Review Date: 11-28-2017
This is what I want from my Pinot Noirs! The first note I wrote down while tasting this was "yum" - not exactly a tasting note but I was impressed. This is so aromatic and enticing. It's complex and lovely. It's....just really good. Along with the fruit and warm baking spice, I get what can be described as a "clean earth" note. Like fresh potting soil. It's like if you were planting peonies and pink roses in your garden with fresh, wet earth. It's subtle, but I love me some clean earth and flowers in my wine. I already love Au Bon Climat and the fact that I can get a ridiculous Pinot from a highly celebrated estate for under $20, makes this even better. I might need one for decanting and drinking now, and one to lay down for a bit.
Price: $19.99 Add To Cart

2004 La Tempérance, Haut-Médoc
Review Date: 11-28-2017
Another one of our beautifully matured Bordeaux's that can be had for next to nothing. Well, for under $15 but you get the idea. Soft, complex and showing those secondary notes from the bottle age, this wine is one of my new favorites. Sweet dark fruit, savory, earthy and well balanced. What more could you ask for?
Price: $14.99 Add To Cart

2016 Franck Millet "Insolite" Sancerre
Review Date: 11-28-2017
Back just in time for the Holidays! The grapes for the Insolite cuvée are selected from the chalkiest soils on their property in Bué. Franck and Betty (the husband and wife team behind the estate) allow the wine to macerate with the skins at close to 32 degrees to coax as much aroma and flavor as possible. On the nose the wine is fresh and racy with pronounced mineral tones, freshly cut grass, sweet green herbs and lots of fresh citrus and stone fruit. The wine has some texture, almost a creamy feel on the palate with a zippy, lively undercurrent of acidity. Considering that Dungeness crab season is in full effect, I would happily pair this with a big old plate of the good stuff, but this would work with any seafood really.
Price: $24.99 Add To Cart

Deligeroy Crémant de Loire Brut Rosé
Review Date: 11-27-2017
This old favorite is back again just in time for the holidays! Perfect as an aperitif, a bottle to toast with or something to open for friends and family who drop by, this little bottle of bubbles is sure to please everyone! Fresh, zippy, lively and full of finesse, this is an inexpensive gem to pick up a few bottles of so you'll always be prepared.
Price: $12.99 Add To Cart

2008 Le Brun de Neuville "Grand Vintage" Brut Champagne
Review Date: 11-21-2017
In what's shaping up to be a classic Champagne vintage, this wine delivers a lot for a sub $40 price point. Clean & graceful with mid palate richness and bracing acidity. Intriguing chalky mineral notes and rich brioche add depth to the lovely array of orchard fruit. This wine is a superb value and and drinks well above its price point. Ready to drink now or a wonderful Champagne to age and enjoy down the road.
Price: $39.99 Add To Cart

2015 Domaine Glinavos "Paleokerisio" Semi-Sparkling Orange Wine Epirus Greece (500ml)
Review Date: 11-12-2017
An interesting, unique and totally fun semi-sparkling wine from Greece. Unlike any other orange wine I've had, the palate on this has a touch of sweetness to mitigate the tannin that can sometimes overwhelm orange wine aka skin contact whites. It's fruity and floral, while also possessing some savory notes and a whiff of Brettanomyces. Notes of dried mango, spice inflected candied orange peel and gardenia mingle with more savory elements like olives and earthen pots. This is a very friendly entry into orange wines for the uninitiated, but would also satisfy those who are already familiar with the style. This would be killer with a cheese and charcuterie board or a Neapolitan style pizza.
Price: $12.99 Add To Cart

Louis Roederer "Carte Blanche" Demi-Sec Champagne
Review Date: 11-11-2017
I took this home on a whim without realizing it was a demi-sec and opened it one night after bringing home a fried chicken sandwich topped with spicy wasabi coleslaw. Now, some people may scoff at a demi-sec Champagne but if anyone can do it right, it's the house of Roederer. After the first sip I immediately realized that I hadn't brought home a Brut, but was pleasantly surprised (and pretty happy) that of all nights, I decided to open this on a spicy fried chicken sandwich night! Fried chicken and Champagne is already one of those mystical high-low pairings that works like magic, but factor in a little residual sugar and spice...whoa Nelly. The wine is soft, still has some lift from a vein of acidity and elegant all at once. The fruit is ripe and creamy and it all manages to avoid being cloyingly sweet, despite the fact it's dosed at 38gm/L. If there ever was a balanced demi-sec, this would be it.
Price: $59.99 Add To Cart

2016 Domaine Renaud Pouilly-Fuissé Vieilles Vignes
Review Date: 11-11-2017
A perfect introduction to white Burgundy and one of my favorite Direct Imports, the Pouilly Fuisse from Domaine Renaud is kept fresh by utilizing stainless steel for the wines maturation and fermentation. Notes of yellow plum and citrus are complemented by crisp acidity and fresh mineral notes. Wonderful as a party wine or with white meats such as turkey and chicken.
Price: $21.99 Add To Cart
WE 92 RP 90

2015 Pike Road Willamette Valley Pinot Gris
Review Date: 11-10-2017
A delicious little everyday white. Food friendly and easy drinking this Pinot Gris would pair well with everything from Holiday dinners to spicy Thai food. It's balanced between rich, ripe stone and orchard fruit and crisp, refreshing citrus. A slam dunk for any night of the week.
Price: $13.99 Add To Cart

2016 Domaine la Clef du Récit Sancerre
Review Date: 11-07-2017
With ideal weather conditions toward the end of the growing season the 2016 vintage has produced flavorful and fruit driven wines, especially for the Sauvignon Blanc plantings in Sancerre. This years vintage of Domaine La Clef du Recit is juicy and refreshing with an almost passion fruit like tropical note on the nose along with lime zest and ruby red grapefruit flesh. The fruit meets an intense limestone mineral component and the palate has mouthwatering, lip smacking acidity. Perfect for lovers of a zesty Sancerre, but would also satisfy those who gravitate toward Marlborough Sauvignon Blancs.
Price: $19.99 Add To Cart

2016 Domaine du Vieil Orme Sauvignon Touraine Blanc
Review Date: 10-29-2017
If you're looking for a crowd-pleasing white for a get-together or party, this Sauvignon Blanc from Touraine should be at the top of your list! It's fresh and vibrant with lime, grapefruit and a sort of limestone minerality. There's an undertone of slightly under-ripe pineapple and lemon blossoms. While this is still crisp and zesty, there's a slight roundness on the palate, as this wine spends four months maturing on the lees, giving it a little bit of creaminess that makes this a great cocktail wine to drink on its own or an easy match for any number of food pairings.
Price: $11.99 Add To Cart

Fukano K&L Exclusive Single Cask #2827 Japanese Whisky (750ml)
Review Date: 10-23-2017
I've been super into whisky lately. I tend to order a different producer, style, etc each time I go out so that I can try new things with out amassing a huge collection of spirits at home. That may change with this incredibly delicious single cask whisky from Fukano. I'm going to HAVE to buy a bottle of this. The nose is clean, with salted caramel, creamy fruit undertones and a sweet vanilla bean note. The palate is incredibly smooth, rounded and supple with out being too rich. You could easily drink this neat, but it would be nice on the rocks or with a splash of water. The most easy drinking whisky I've had in a while.
Price: $69.99 Add To Cart

2015 Rickshaw Chardonnay
Review Date: 10-23-2017
Rickshaw sources their grapes for this Chardonnay from Santa Barbara all the way up to Mendocino. Blending fruit from warmer weather regions along with fruit from cooler climates gives the wine a lovely balance of richness along with structure and aromatics. It's got citrusy, tropical brightness along with a vanilla and toast undertone from the partial barrel fermentation (20%) and 6 months in French oak. A killer wine for an amazing price, this would please anyone looking for a fresh, fruit forward wine with some texture and structure.
Price: $14.99 Add To Cart

2016 Erste e Neue Vigneto delle Dolomiti Rose'
Review Date: 10-23-2017
Alto Adige is Italy's only wine producing region with several high quality wine producing co-ops. Other regions may have a few good co-ops, but not the concentration you find here. Erste + Neue is the product of a merger bringing together the first ("erste") wine co-op (1900) and the new ("neue") wine co-op (1925). This rosé is a blend of the regions indigenous Lagrein (20%) with Pinot Noir (20%), Merlot (30%) and Cabernet (30%). What you get is a fantastically juicy, yet dry and fresh rosé with lots of ripe strawberry and cherry notes along with stony minerality and a slight blood orange peel bitterness on the palate. This has great zippy acidity and is entirely drinkable on its own, although this would be great with a roast chicken or charcuterie.
Price: $14.99 Add To Cart

Michel Arnould "Grand Cuvée" Brut Champagne
Review Date: 10-23-2017
I tried this for the first time recently and was thoroughly impressed with the quality of this sub-$40 Champagne. Located in Verzenay, a historical Grand Cru rich in calcareous soil, this Champagne is full of ripe white cherries and hazelnuts with a touch of toasty croissant. It's balanced beautifully between richness and brightness with a bracing vein of acidity running through. Pick up a bottle for your next dinner date or party.
Price: $39.99 Add To Cart

2015 Château de Javernand "Indigene" Chiroubles
Review Date: 10-19-2017
Chateau De Javernand produces out of Chiroubles, the highest elevation of all Beaujolais Crus. The poor sandy, granitic soils, and higher elevation produce light, lifted, fresh wines that are entirely too easy to drink. Beaujolais is an incredibly food-friendly wine and a life saver for difficult pairings. Making spicy anything and want a red wine option? Beaujolas! This is like eating a basket of ripe berries while sitting on forest floor surrounded by fall foliage. There are notes of ripe juicy strawberries and raspberries along with a leafy, potpourri thing happening. This is a natural wine made without sulfur or filtration using organic grapes and indigenous yeasts. This is one of my favorite new discoveries in the store and one I'll buy again sooner rather than later!
Price: $16.99 Add To Cart
VN 90

2008 Baron-Fuenté "Grand Millesime" Brut Champagne
Review Date: 10-10-2017
A vintage Champagne for $29.99, from a highly lauded vintage no less?! Yes, you read that right. This wine is drinking excellently now but is also a bottle you could lay down for years to come. It's showing some delicious toasty, creamy qualities on the palate while maintaining mouth-watering acidity and freshness. It has an almost creme fraiche like note on the nose along with freshly pressed apple juice, caramel covered almonds, and butterscotch cheesecake. Just a spectacular showing and a bottle I'd like to see evolve over time. And while I'm waiting, I'll just have to grab a couple of bottles to drink in the meantime.
Price: $29.99 Add To Cart

Louis Brochet 1er Cru Brut Champagne
Review Date: 10-10-2017
I always love when we do a Champagne tasting and today's was especially fun, tasting through some of our best values in the category. This bottle was a definite winner for me and one of my favorites in the lineup! The nose is so lovely and I just kept bringing the glass up to smell it again and again. It's floral and fresh. There's a note of cherry blossoms, saline, crisp green apples and crunchy red pears. The palate is so clean and has a really nice creaminess. What a beautiful Champagne for an amazing price! I'll definitely be taking this home to dive into this bottle a little further.
Price: $29.99 Add To Cart

2015 Laubarit Rouge, Bordeaux
Review Date: 09-29-2017
We have a lot of great deals in Bordeaux, and this is no exception. This is a lovely wine for drinking now or in a few years. The 2015 vintage in Bordeaux is considered a potential classic by winemakers and critics alike. With generous dark fruit, great minerality and well-balanced structure, this is a great weeknight wine to open when you want to feel like you're splurging.
Price: $10.99 Add To Cart

2016 Franck Millet Sancerre Rosé
Review Date: 09-19-2017
Made from 100% Pinot Noir, this is delicious and crisp with ripe peaches, watermelon, stony minerality and Rainier cherry at its core.
Price: $16.99 Add To Cart

2015 Domaine du Petit Clocher Coteaux du Layon
Review Date: 09-15-2017
The Coteaux Du Layon region of the Loire is dedicated to the exclusive production of sweet white wines from 100% Chenin Blanc. As a huge fan of off-dry and sweeter styles of Riesling, I found a new crush in Coteaux Du Layon. This is rich and has a nice mouth feel from the sweetness of the residual sugar, but still brings a zippy, tingly acidity to the party. There's notes of crushed pineapple, dried peaches and orange blossoms. You could go in several directions with pairings here; pair this with something like a roasted pear and blue cheese salad or drink this with anything you'd typically pair with an off-dry or Spätlese Riesling, like spicy Indian or Thai food. You could go classic and have it with a warm plum cake, or get weird with it and have this with something like Arancini di Riso stuffed with Gorgonzola. It's so tasty, I'd drink this with just about anything though.
Price: $14.99 Add To Cart

2016 Domaine du Petit Clocher Anjou Blanc
Review Date: 09-15-2017
This is a well balanced, aromatic and complex wine for under $15. What more could you ask for!? It's round and full but carries a bracing acidity to keep things lifted. It's got a great, driving minerality surrounded by notes of delicious dried apples and apricots. There's also something that reminds me of having steeped black tea alongside a pear upside down cake that I find especially appealing. The 2016 vintage in Loire is regarded as high quality. Throw an Indian summer into the mix which helped the parcels of Chenin Blanc ripen to their full potential, and you've got a particularly noteworthy Loire wine to grab. This would be great with a savory tart or a ham, cheese and asparagus quiche.
Price: $13.99 Add To Cart

2016 Domaine de la Réserve d'O "La Reserve d'O" Saint Guilhem le Desert Blanc
Review Date: 09-12-2017
We try a lot of wine as a part of our work here at K&L (it's a tough job but somebody's gotta do it!). When I taste a wine that is so completely unique and full of personality, such as this little gem, I have to stop and sing its praises. Marie Chauffray and her husband Frederic are wine shop owners turned vintners. Marie is part of a consortium of female winemakers called the vinifilles, a group of women who own and operate their estates touching every part of the process from the growing to the label design. They are Ecocert Organic and Demeter Biodynamic certified and even print their wine labels on recycled paper. This is natural winemaking at it's finest. Smelling the wine reminded me of eating a melon salad with mint and some sort of floral honey. It's fresh, enticing and interesting. It's on the fuller side but carries enough acid to prevent it from feeling too heavy. As we like to say, "so much wine, so little time", but I'm glad I found this one sooner rather than later.
Price: Hidden View Price

2015 Rosi Schuster Rotberger (Zweigelt) Burgenland
Review Date: 09-11-2017
Zweigelt is one of three varietals that are the main focus for the line of Rosi Schuster wines. Founded in 1979, the estate is now helmed by Schuster's son, Hannes. Working out of Burgenland, Austria's key red wine region, Hannes pursues small yields of exceptional fruit and allows both alcoholic and malolactic fermentation to occur spontaneously. I tasted this wine after it had seen a good amount of air and it was full of lively, juicy fruit with smashed blackberries, cherries and red plums. It's a little spicy and slightly bigger than the varietal is typically known for. It would be a great pairing for anything remotely resembling the hearty dishes Austria is famous for, such as Spätzle and Schnitzel. Fried chicken or a nice pork chop would be perfect for this.
Price: $19.99 Add To Cart

San Venanzio Prosecco Valdobbiadene Superiore Brut
Review Date: 09-10-2017
This is a delightful little Prosecco that delivers a lot for a small price tag. Fruity and floral, this wine has notes of ripe pears, peach blossoms and key lime pie. It's dry and crisp with a creamy mouth feel and a touch of sweetness to balance the bracing minerality. Truly a steal at $12.99!
Price: $12.99 Add To Cart
WE 91

2014 Olivier Riviere "Ganko" Rioja
Review Date: 09-05-2017
"Pretty" is a descriptive term I use, and know I should refrain from, but when I come across a wine like Olivier Riviere's Ganko, it's one of the first things that comes to mind. Aromatic, bright, lifted red fruit, fresh, herbaceous...just pretty. It's elegant, light and delicate but still carries some structure. It's refined and drinks just like the 1er Cru village Rioja Olivier considers this to be.
Price: $39.99 Add To Cart
RP 94

2015 Clos de l'Anhel "Les Dimanches" Corbieres
Review Date: 09-04-2017
I brought this home on a whim recently and loved it. From one of the finest female wine makers in Corbières, Sophie Guiraudon, this Carignan, Syrah, Grenache blend is aromatic, plush and incredibly delicious. The three varietals intermingle to create wonderful complexity. Rich, ripe blackberry, wild blueberry and cassis blend with anisette and violets. Incredibly food friendly thanks to the Carignan heavy assemblage, this would fit right in with everything from beef to poultry to heartier vegetable dishes like lentil stew or eggplant parmigiana.
Price: $21.99 Add To Cart

Page: 1 2 next