Staff Favorites - Chantel Carroll

Chantel Carroll
Chantel Carroll  | Send Email  |   Subscribe to My Sommelier Service


Reviews

2014 Bodegas Casa Juan Señor de Lesmos Crianza Rioja
Review Date: 02-17-2018
I am always so excited to try a new vintage of Lesmos Crianza. The 2014 vintage absolutely exceeded my expectations. After I tried it I wanted to make sure that all of my colleagues at K&L had the chance to try and experience this wine. This Rioja is so incredibly impressive for such a low price. Everytime I drink wines from this producer, I think about how fortunate I am that I found Senor De Lesmos!
Price: $12.99 Add To Cart

2016 Susana Balbo "Signature" Malbec Rosé Mendoza
Review Date: 02-17-2018
This is every thing I love about a Provincial Rose, except it's from South America. I'm always so happy to find new expressions of my favorite classics. It smelled like fresh, ripe white peaches and juicy sunkissed strawberries. The acid was mouthwatering. This wine reminded me of a warm summer evening.
Price: $19.99 Add To Cart

2014 Benmarco Malbec Uco Valley
Review Date: 02-17-2018
This is a great full bodied wine at an amazing price! Sandalwood, Tobacco, sweet blueberry jam on toasted brioche, and a hint of herb on the nose. On the palate, I was struck with Juicy, ripe boysenberry and raspberry. This wine was so balanced and the finish was not in a hurry to quit.

2016 Amalaya Malbec Salta
Review Date: 02-17-2018
It's so great to find a value wine with so much complexity. This wine has such beautiful ripe fruit layered upon savory elements and a streak of minerality. I suppose that comes from growing at a high elevation. The tannins are silky and well integrated, with balanced acidity. The finish is long lasting, with fresh ripe blueberries and a hint of smokieness.
Price: $10.99 Add To Cart
DC 90 WS 90

2011 Viña Real Gran Reserva Rioja
Review Date: 12-05-2017
This wine has it all, supple fruit, savoriness, and approachability. This Rioja is in a great spot right now, showing supple fruit as well as soft secondary characteristics, and a balance of minerality. This wine is a great example of why I am so drawn to the wines of the region, such elegance and finesse.
Price: $34.99 Add To Cart
JS 95 W&S 92

2014 Viña Real Crianza Rioja
Review Date: 12-05-2017
I really love this wine, an easy drinking Rioja. Fresh red fruited and medium bodied, with nicely integrated oak, and a subtle hint of vanilla. The palate fished with dried strawberry and a scooch of anise. A fun party wine, great with some crudite and 80's pop music.
Price: $14.99 Add To Cart
JS 92

2014 Cune Crianza Rioja
Review Date: 12-05-2017
Cune is one of the oldest Bodegas in Rioja, so its safe to say they make great wine. This Crianza is awesome! The thing that stood out most to me about his wine was the balance. The nose had a nice ripe raspberry characteristic, and a nice aroma of earth and spice. This is a great food wine, with medium body and great acidity.
Price: $11.99 Add To Cart
JS 90

2014 Mas Doix "Salanques" Priorat
Review Date: 12-01-2017
Yes, it is true what Joe said in the earlier review of this wine. I was impressed - very impressed. There is something so special about the Priorat region, truly an area that expresses great terroir. You get generous fruit combined with unique minerality from the soils. On the nose I got ripe black cherry, plum, black pepper and licorice. On the palate concentrated lush black and red fruits, dried flowers and a balance of minerality that only Priorat offers.
Price: $39.99 Add To Cart
DC 98 W&S 92

2014 Bodegas Volver "Tarima Hill - Old Vines" Monastrell Alicante
Review Date: 12-01-2017
This is a great example of old vine Monastrell (Mourvedre) under $20. The nose had a lot of ripe black fruit, strawberry jam, sweet spice and a hint of olive. The palate delivered a nice amount of dried raspberry and fig, black peppercorn and a hint of thyme. The complexity of this wine blew me away, great acidity and a hearty but friendly tannin, with ample fruit. A great wine to share with friends. It's no wonder this wine received 92 points from Robert Parker!
Price: $12.99 Add To Cart
RP 92 JS 90

2015 Palacio del Burgo Tinto Rioja
Review Date: 12-01-2017
This is a fun and flirty Rioja! Lively lush fruit, with balanced tannin and acid. Hints of violets, juicy red berries and little cola on the nose. This wine does not see any oak, so it is very fresh and ripe on the palate. A great party wine, and under $10!!
Price: $9.99 Add To Cart
VN 90

2014 Tapiz "Alta Collection" Malbec Mendoza
Review Date: 10-21-2017
It's back, with a 95-point rating! A generous and friendly Malbec with great structure and supple fruit. Rich, ripe black plums, mocha and balanced, toasty oak. It has a fair amount of tannin complemented by an equal amount of acid, and juicy red fruit on the finish. An amazing deal!!
Price: $13.99 Add To Cart
JS 95 W&S 91

Real McCoy 12 Year Old Single Blended Barbados Rum (750ml)
Review Date: 09-26-2017
I was swept away by this rum. It is truly delicious!! The nose was full of toffee, toasted almond, a little cola, cardamom, and ground nutmeg. The palate was so smooth, and rich. It's amazing to me that there is absolutely no sugar added to this rum, because at the end all I could taste was fresh brown sugar and tamarind.
Price: $39.99 Add To Cart

2014 Olivier Riviere "Ganko" Rioja
Review Date: 09-05-2017
The Ganko is made up of a an equal bend of Mazuelo and Garnacha. As much as I adore the Tempranillo based Rioja that I am used to drinking, I was super excited to taste such a different expression of Rioja. These old vine grapes grow in the high elevation, this allows for them to ripen slowly. This wine has a beautiful nose, black fruits, mocha, dried violets, and exotic spices. It has great acidity, and nice structure. I think it would drink nicely with chorizo or other charcuterie, it would also do well to rest in the bottle for a while and drink on a special occasion.
Price: $39.99 Add To Cart
RP 94

1996 Tamdhu 20 Year Old K&L Exclusive Old Particular Single Barrel Single Malt Whisky (750ml)
Review Date: 09-02-2017
I found this Scotch to absolutely delicious. The nose gave me a pleasant malt aroma with a little bit of honey. The took me a few moments to wrap my head around what I was tasting. At first I tasted an herbal note, but then this amazing burst of lush fruit came forward! It reminded me of Juicy Fruit Gum, with vanilla, a hint of lychee and caramel. It finished really pleasant and clean, and what a fantastic value for a 20 year Scotch!
Price: $79.99 Add To Waiting List

2016 Arboleda Sauvignon Blanc Aconcagua Costa
Review Date: 08-21-2017
This Sauvignon Blanc has a lot going on! Just about 15 miles inland from the Pacific coast in Chile's Aconcagua Valley is where this vineyard is nestled. The nose has bright citrus, dried herbs, green apples and Satsumas. The palate has refreshing acidity, with candied lemon and a hint of green peppercorn on the finish.

2016 Eric Cottat Sancerre
Review Date: 08-21-2017
This is a lovely wine from the Loire Valley in France. It is full of lively acidity, pretty aromatics of delicate white flowers, and fresh squeezed citrus. A great paring with fresh shellfish.
Price: $18.99 Add To Cart

2016 J. Bouchon "Canto Sur" Maule Valley
Review Date: 08-21-2017
This is a stellar blend of Carmenere, Carignan and Pais. The Maule Valley is the largest and one of the oldest growing regions in Chile. The valley offers many different soil types and micro climates, which leads to beautiful aromatics and complexity. The nose opens up into ripe raspberries, crushed black pepper, fresh roasted coffee beans, rich coaco and sun kissed wild flowers. It has nice acidity, balanced tannins, lush fruit and exotic spices on the palate.

2016 Bodegas Chacra "Sin Azufre" Pinot Noir Rio Negro
Review Date: 07-07-2017
I don't have a lot of experience drinking Pinot Noir from Argentina, but my goodness this wine really sets the bar high. I was delighted as I sorted through the endless layers of fruit and spice. It had ample acidity, fine balanced tannin, a beautiful bouquet of ripe alpine strawberries, slightly dried rose petals and hints of fresh violet. This wine is ready to drink now! I enjoyed it with a couple friends and a soft pungent cheese.
Price: $34.99 Add To Cart
JS 97 RP 92