Staff Favorites - Chantel Carroll

Chantel Carroll
Chantel Carroll  | Send Email  |   Subscribe to My Sommelier Service


Reviews

Inverroche Classic Gin (750ml)
Review Date: 08-20-2018
I'm so happy to have tried this gin! I had never heard of Fynbos untill I tried Inverroche. What is Fynbos you ask? Fynbos is unique to South Africa, of a very small botanical region known as the Cape Floral Kingdom, and I have to say it adds some amazing aromas to this gin. Brimming with exotic spices, coriander, bright citrus, and soft juniper. If you are looking for something new and exciting to try in the gin world, this is die antwoord!
Price: $39.99 Add To Cart

Smooth Ambler "Big Level" Wheated Straight Bourbon Whiskey (750ml)
Review Date: 08-20-2018
I'm delighted with this Bourbon!! The nose is so welcoming, and comforting. Caramel, cinnamon, Tahitian Vanilla, and baked apples and pears. As the nose opened up a bit, I smelled fresh baked biscuit, dripping with warm butter and topped with hot maple syrup. The palate was just as wonderful, smooth, rich and creamy. Coaco powder and a sandalwood and green apple lingered on the finish.
Price: $54.99 Add To Cart

Tequila Montejima Añejo (750ml)
Review Date: 07-16-2018
Are you looking for that great sipping Tequila, that won't cost you over $100? Montejima hits that criteria, then over delivers by being priced under $50. This is an unbelievably amazing deal. This Anejo is ridiculously silky smooth. The nose is bold and rich, with vanilla, cocoa powder, dried flowers, coffee beans, ground black pepper and sandalwood. The palate mirrors the nose, with the addition of ripe peaches and a hint of cinnamon on the finish.
Price: $39.99 Add To Cart

Tequila Montejima Blanco (750ml)
Review Date: 07-16-2018
I was super impressed with this Tequila. There is a lot going on in this Blanco, it has great texture and flavor. The nose is really friendly, with vanilla custard, ripe stone fruit and crushed pink peppercorns. The palate is super smooth and lush. So often Blanco Tequila has too much fire for sipping or shooting on its own. The finish was super mellow and pleasantly fruity. I found it very versatile. Weather you want to throw back some shots with some friends or impress them with some hip new cocktails, this is a great choice.
Price: $26.99 Add To Cart

Tequila Montejima Reposado (750ml)
Review Date: 07-16-2018
If you are looking for a easy drinking reasonably priced Tequila, Montejima Reposado delivers. The nose offers hints of citrus and vanilla, black peppercorn, and butterscotch. The palate is smooth and round, and delicious. Leaving lingering flavors of milk chocolate, fresh coriander and sweet almonds.
Price: $32.99 Add To Cart

2016 Julien Schaal Riesling Grand Cru "Sommerberg Granite"
Review Date: 06-12-2018
This wine has a lot going on! I would describe this wine as lovely. On the nose flint, Bergamot, and white blossom. The palate is fresh and delightful. Nice firm acidity, and concentrated flavors. Pear, lemon, and red apple on the finish. This beauty is drinking great right now, but certainly has the complexity to lay down for a few years.
Price: $19.99 Add To Cart
WE 93 JS 90

George Dickel "K&L Exclusive" 9 Year Old Single Barrel #08D09F70415 Tennessee Whiskey (750ml)
Review Date: 05-21-2018
This George Dickel single barrel is probably my favorite so far! This Whiskey is very intriguing, and delicious. It smells like chocolate cookie dough, with toasted coconut. When I sipped it, I got some sandalwood and a little stone fruit on the palate. It finished very nicely with a bit of dried orange rind and exotic spice.
Price: $44.99 Add To Cart

George Dickel "K&L Exclusive" 9 Year Old Single Barrel #L8040K1007 Tennessee Whiskey (750ml)
Review Date: 05-21-2018
I always enjoy these hand selected small batches we bring in! You are not going to find quality Whiskey like this everyday. George Dickel is very much a palate pleaser. Vanilla, baking spices and cocoa powder on the nose. Salted caramel, dried thyme, and cinnamon linger on the palate.
Price: $44.99 Add To Cart

2015 Telmo Rodriguez "Dehesa Gago" Toro
Review Date: 05-07-2018
You can almost taste the hot days of the Toro region in this wine. Sun ripened black cherries, boysenberries, juicy plums, and dried wild flowers fill the nose. The palate is rich and full with silky tannins, and finishes with dried fruits and a touch of black pepper. This wine would be amazing with grilled sausages!
Price: $13.99 Add To Cart
JD 92

2016 Brezo Mencía Bierzo
Review Date: 05-07-2018
You really can not go wrong with this little gem. The Bierzo region is a bit new to me, and I am growing more and more fond of it the more I try them. It has lush red fruit, a hint chocolate, dried thyme and fresh cut floral on the nose. The palate is balanced with nice acidity, soft tannins and a beautiful lingering finish of ripe raspberries dusted with cocoa.
Price: $14.99 Add To Cart
RP 91

2016 Pascual Toso Malbec Maipú
Review Date: 04-23-2018
There is not shortage of fruit or complexity in this wine! It's amazing to me that this Malbec is under $10.00. Ripe red and blue fruits, crushed wild flowers, and a hint of toast on the nose. The palate gives a little strawberry jam, minerality, nice acidity and well integrated tannins. Overall a very balanced wine!
Price: $9.99 Add To Cart
JS 92

2015 Catena DV "Tinto Histórico" Mendoza
Review Date: 04-17-2018
I spent most of my career in the restaurant industry and sold a ton of Catena. My impression was that the wines were easy drinking and middle of the road. However that is not longer my opinion. I'm super excited and really impressed that they are really honing in on these smaller appellations, and making wines with so much character, and concentrating on the terroir. This blend is a tribute to Don Domingo Vicente Catena, who made this style popular in the 1930's. This was the blend he would sell to the upscale French Bistros, in Buenos Aires. This is a blend of Malbec, Bonarda and Petit Verdot. Delicious and classic
Price: $14.99 Add To Cart
JS 93 DC 91

2016 Domaine Frédéric Esmonin Gevrey-Chambertin "Clos Prieur"
Review Date: 04-09-2018
This wine is fantastic! It has everything I look for in a Gevrey-Chambertin, and more. On the nose I got red cherry, fresh roasted coffee, warm spices and that earthy forest floor essance. On the palate I noticed wet stone, cola, and black fruit. Sandalwood, a hint of smoke and juicy plum lingered on the palate. I would definitely suggest a decant on this beauty.
Price: $35.99 Add To Cart
WS 93

2011 Viña Real Gran Reserva Rioja
Review Date: 12-05-2017
This wine has it all, supple fruit, savoriness, and approachability. This Rioja is in a great spot right now, showing supple fruit as well as soft secondary characteristics, and a balance of minerality. This wine is a great example of why I am so drawn to the wines of the region, such elegance and finesse.

2014 Viña Real Crianza Rioja
Review Date: 12-05-2017
I really love this wine, an easy drinking Rioja. Fresh red fruited and medium bodied, with nicely integrated oak, and a subtle hint of vanilla. The palate fished with dried strawberry and a scooch of anise. A fun party wine, great with some crudite and 80's pop music.
Price: $14.99 Add To Cart
JS 92

2015 Cune Crianza Rioja
Review Date: 12-05-2017
Cune is one of the oldest Bodegas in Rioja, so its safe to say they make great wine. This Crianza is awesome! The thing that stood out most to me about his wine was the balance. The nose had a nice ripe raspberry characteristic, and a nice aroma of earth and spice. This is a great food wine, with medium body and great acidity.
Price: $11.99 Add To Cart
JS 90

2014 Mas Doix "Salanques" Priorat
Review Date: 12-01-2017
Yes, it is true what Joe said in the earlier review of this wine. I was impressed - very impressed. There is something so special about the Priorat region, truly an area that expresses great terroir. You get generous fruit combined with unique minerality from the soils. On the nose I got ripe black cherry, plum, black pepper and licorice. On the palate concentrated lush black and red fruits, dried flowers and a balance of minerality that only Priorat offers.
Price: $39.99 Add To Cart
DC 98 W&S 92

Real McCoy 12 Year Old Single Blended Barbados Rum (750ml)
Review Date: 09-26-2017
I was swept away by this rum. It is truly delicious!! The nose was full of toffee, toasted almond, a little cola, cardamom, and ground nutmeg. The palate was so smooth, and rich. It's amazing to me that there is absolutely no sugar added to this rum, because at the end all I could taste was fresh brown sugar and tamarind.
Price: $39.99 Add To Cart