Best Sellers New Arrivals Local Events Locations Gift Cards My Account Advanced Search

Reviewers


K&L Email Alerts

Sign up to receive custom alerts, new arrivals and the latest happenings from K&L Wines

Staff Favorites - Anthony Russo

Anthony Russo

Reviews

Page: 1 2 next
2017 Domaine du Petit Clocher Anjou Blanc
Review Date: 01-21-2019
One of those wines that will leave you wondering how you paid so little for such an extraordinary experience. I found it to be more mineral-driven on the nose than on the palate, which was pleasant for me because I enjoy a touch more texture for mouthfeel. Also smelled what felt like a touch of mint. Lightly fruited, as well; I tasted some pear nectar. Awesome stuff.
Price: $13.99 Add To Cart
WE 91

2015 d'Arenberg "The Dead Arm" Shiraz McLaren Vale South Australia
Review Date: 01-11-2019
This was my first time drinking the Australian icon and I instantly took to it. To me, its got the full body of a typical domestic red, but the terroir of Old World; you can really taste the hot, dry, climate these special grapes were raised in. The Syrah did no feel over-extracted or "gamey" at all.

2017 Foxglove Paso Robles Cabernet Sauvignon
Review Date: 12-27-2018
Surprisingly well structured! Good balance of acidity, fruit, and tannin impart a sense of complexity to this reasonably priced Cabernet. Paso Robles fruit shows itself with a touch of spice on the lingering finish. Good stuff!
Price: $14.95 Add To Cart

2016 Rickshaw California Cabernet Sauvignon
Review Date: 12-26-2018
A solid bottle at a great price. Good nose full of fruit, easy structure, soft tannins, dry, and very approachable... This is a no-brainer nightly drinker.
Price: $14.95 Add To Cart

Còdigo 1530 K&L Exclusive Single Barrel Anejo Tequila (750ml)
Review Date: 11-27-2018
What I love about this single barrel (besides my thought that Codigo makes an incredibly balanced and elegant tequila) is how energetic it is. Many Anejos on store shelves these days are heavy on the palate, textured, and cloyingly sweet. This anejo remains light on its feet and displays a bouquet of melon fruit with a touch of vanilla on the nose that slides right down with ease and grace.
Price: $99.99 Add To Cart

Còdigo 1530 K&L Exclusive Single Barrel Rosa Tequila (750ml)
Review Date: 11-27-2018
My favorite "elegant" tequila hitting the shelves as a single barrel, I love it! No sugar/sweetening component, just aged in ex-Cabernet barrels from Napa. You get a touch of a red berry note on the nose if you really dig for it, but a passing glance will make you think of pink lemonade. The brightness of the high quality agave fruit interacts with the barrels to really create something fun and unique. Enjoy it on its own or give that Margarita a fun boost.
Price: $59.99 Add To Cart

2014 Ancien "Red Dog Vineyard" Sonoma Mountain Pinot Noir
Review Date: 11-26-2018
Sourced from a beautiful Sonoma Mountain vineyard site, Ancien's Red Dog Pinot shows gorgeous terroir at a very competitive price. The site itself sits at fog level, benefiting from nightly cooling influence and plentiful sunshine, creating a wine that displays great complexity and grace on both the palate and nose. More mid-bodied for a Pinot, the tannins are silky, with a touch of dry Earth. Sweet black cherry and a touch of herbal spice on the nose.
Price: $49.99 Add To Cart
WE 91 CG 90

1995 Blair Athol 23 Year Old "Old Malt Cask" K&L Exclusive Single Sherry Butt Cask Strength Single Malt Scotch Whisky (750ml)
Review Date: 11-15-2018
This is a highlight of what Scotland's Highland region can achieve. This whisky typically goes into a bottling that does not reach the United States, so just the opportunity to taste it is incredibly special. The nose is wildly interesting, loaded with all types of fruits and spices. The palate definitely follows up nicely with a flavor I did not expect: a touch of malty sweetness that keeps the finish long. I am very excited about this release, especially at the price/cask strength ABV.
Price: $109.99 Add To Cart

Westland K&L Exclusive "#2479" Single PX Sherry Hogshead Single Cask Cask Strength Single Malt Whisky (750ml)
Review Date: 11-13-2018
This is A LOT of whisky packed in a 750 ml bottle... I love the effect of the PX hogshead as it hits the senses twice: once on the nose, where the hazelnut rounds out the richness of soft, silky, caramel, and again on the lingering finish, where walnut and pecans sit around your tongue for a long time. The whisky is deliciously full bodied, but not cloying, round, and super flavorful. Put one in your cart or stop in for a Holiday sipper!
Price: $109.99 Add To Cart

2000 Velier Caroni 17 Year Old "High Proof" Trinidad Rum (750ml)
Review Date: 11-13-2018
Distilled from molasses, I was expecting something a bit bigger on the palate, but I was way wrong. This rum drinks like a fine whiskey, but is distinctly its own beast; beautiful, full bodied nose, yet lighter and super elegant on the palate. The nose has a unique cigar tobacco scent to it, which I had never smelled before. Must have something to do with the 17 years of ageing in a tropical climate. This rum is insane.
Price: $199.99 Add To Cart

2017 Stolpman "Para Maria" Santa Barbara County Red Blend
Review Date: 11-05-2018
Genuinely impressed by this one-two punch of a wine. This is a Syrah-driven blend, a good portion of which gets fermented semi-carbonically. This results in an incredibly balanced wine: bright red fruit aromatics that jump out of the glass, soft and silky tannins (from the traditionally fermented Syrah), blueberries and strawberries on the palate, finishing with a hint of plums from the Petit Verdot. My favorite part is how you can get all of this; a beautiful, local, and mindfully crafted wine, for less than twenty bucks.
Price: $19.99 Add To Cart
VN 92 - 95

2008 Tullibardine 10 Year Old "Sovereign" K&L Exclusive Single Barrel Cask Strength Single Malt Scotch Whisky (750ml)
Review Date: 11-03-2018
Great softness combined with a sweet malty flavor profile makes for a phenomenal everyday whiskey. With hints of almonds and dried peaches, there is no shortage of complexities in this approachable (price and flavor) whiskey. Great for lovers of Speyside who want to try something a bit more intense.
Price: $49.99 Add To Cart

2014 Ramey "Platt Vineyard" Sonoma Coast Chardonnay
Review Date: 10-31-2018
If I understood correctly, this is the final vintage of this product. Sadly. It is Ramey's leanest, most mineral driven, most stainless steel, least-oaked Chardonnay in their line up and it's pretty mind blowing. The minerality they achieved is gorgeous. Something like a high-end Chablis: lean, mineral, full of bright structure, yet texturous. Love this stuff. My first thought upon drinking this was "I wish I could buy cases of this stuff and see how it changes over time."
Price: Hidden View Price
RP 95 WE 93

Domaine du Manoir de Montreuil Calvados Pay d'Auge (750ml)
Review Date: 10-31-2018
I first discovered Calvados here at K&L; being from Vermont and a big fan of its apple products, I had to try this distillate for myself. I was instantly drawn to this spirit. Domaine du Montreuil only furthers its positive impression: smooth, "fresh" apple flavor, and just enough seriousness to let you know you're drinking a masterfully crafted eau de vie from a region with a long history in its production. Perfect as an afternoon aperitif or after a large meal, yea worth a try in your cooking recipes as well!
Price: $44.99 Add To Cart

2013 Andrew Will "Sorella" Horse Heaven Hills Red Blend
Review Date: 10-09-2018
Worth every bit of the price, especially when scrolling through the "Domestic Cabs" section, this predominantly cabernet blend from the Horse Heaven Hills AVA of Washington shines with its high-toned purity and aromas. Without lacking depth on the palate, the smells fill your nostrils with plums, red licorice, roses, and a blast of elegantly candied red fruits that would make you steal them from a baby.

2017 Tablas Creek "Patelin de Tablas Blanc" Paso Robles White Rhône Blend
Review Date: 09-04-2018
Such an incredibly well balanced white blend for the price; when talking about big names, quality fruit, and revered winemaking, not much can come close. Led by Grenache Blanc, this wine contrasts a supple mouthfeel with a perfect drop of acidity. Floral and fruity, this is your new weeknight sipper, either as a cocktail or with a plate of hummus and pita.
Price: $19.99 Add To Cart
VN 91 RP 90

2015 Tablas Creek "Patelin de Tablas" Paso Robles Rhône Blend
Review Date: 09-04-2018
A Rhone-style blend that really highlights the capability of Paso Robles soils. Syrah, the leading grape, provides dark fruit flavors and a touch of depth. Grenache and Mourvedre contribute the meatiness and roundness. The secret weapon here is a touch of Counoise, which provides structure and complexity. At this price, enjoy this bottle with a wide range of foods, from chicken to steak, and your favorite TV show.

2016 Liquid Farm "La Hermana" Santa Maria Valley Chardonnay
Review Date: 08-21-2018
I find La Hermana to be a touch riper than the White Hill; that is, the fruit flavors are a touch more tropical. They border on peaches and bruised red apples with a light lime zest. This bottling is soft and silky, perfect for having as a cocktail or with a spicier dish.
Price: $39.99 Add To Cart
JD 95 VN 93

2016 Eden Rift "Estate" Cienega Valley Pinot Noir
Review Date: 08-21-2018
I really like the nose on this Pinot; SUPER delicate with soft red cherries and hints of wax. It is soft and silky, but has a touch of tannin, lending the wine some "sriousness." Really opens up and unfolds with loads of delicious complexities on the palate. This is your summer time, relaxing evening wine.
Price: Hidden View Price
RP 93 VN 90

2016 The Crusher California Pinot Noir
Review Date: 08-21-2018
If I grabbed this bottle of pinot for $10 and did not what to expect, I would be more than pleasantly surprised by the quality level. It is juicy, fresh, and contains a mixture of red and dark fruit flavors, all without overwhelming the palate. Glad to have an affordable Pinot that I can confidently recommend to anyone.
Price: $9.99 Add To Cart
WE 91

2016 Silvano Follador "Cartizze" Prosecco Superiore Brut Nature
Review Date: 08-06-2018
This is "next level" Prosecco! Extremely elegant and lean on the nose; it would throw off anyone tasting blind. Classic and delicate flavors of baked pears, cinnamon covered apples, and oranges on the palate make this Prosecco wildly versatile. Good as a cocktail, alongside a salad topped with blue cheese, or with vanilla ice cream for dessert. Bonus points for achieving all of this while being "Brut Nature" (no residual sugar).
Price: $26.99 Add To Cart
JS 92

2017 Villa Poggio Salvi "Caspagnolo" Chianti Colli Senesi
Review Date: 07-23-2018
Bright aromas of strawberries and black cherries with a touch of tobacco and smoke. This wine really opens up with a bit of air and definitely tastes far beyond what the price would suggest. Great structure, balance, and loads of complexities for a killer price.
Price: $11.99 Add To Cart
JS 90 WS 90

2015 Lutum "Gap's Crown" Sonoma Coast Chardonnay
Review Date: 07-23-2018
Sebastopol's finest. Bright and crisp with good acid, the touch of new oak on this chard gives it a uniquely satisfying texture that highlight its special terroir. The real draw of this wine is the mineral spice that gives it so much backbone. You have to try it to believe it!
Price: $46.99 Add To Cart
VN 94 WE 93

2015 Nicolas-Jay Willamette Valley Pinot Noir
Review Date: 07-23-2018
I was blown away by this Burgundian-style pinot; soft and silky fruit with just the right "pop" of brightness. Dark notes and a touch of sweet spice linger on the palate long after the wine is gone to remind you of the quality behind this label.

2014 Spottswoode "Lyndenhurst" Napa Valley Cabernet Sauvignon
Review Date: 07-23-2018
Tobacco, cocoa, and bruised, peppered plums supported with just the right amount of structure. This is Spottswoode's younger vine bottling, and at this price point, makes for a fantastic option for a high-end selection without breaking the triple digits barrier.

2015 Pike Road Willamette Valley Pinot Noir
Review Date: 07-23-2018
Roasted berries on the nose, with soft, plush cherries on the palate. This wine sits somewhere between light and medium bodied, is not overly acidic, and can hold up beautifully as a cocktail glass or light dinner pour.
Price: $17.99 Add To Cart

2015 Stack House Napa Valley Cabernet Sauvignon
Review Date: 07-23-2018
This is a great example of a more "toned back" Napa cab; it flaunts the rich flavors that this warm region offers, but with a touch more restraint of fruit on the nose and palate. Lots of finesse and depth, reminiscent of Bordeaux, with edgy tannins and light berry fruit notes.
Price: $34.99 Add To Cart
JD 91 RP 90

2014 Freemark Abbey Napa Valley Merlot
Review Date: 07-23-2018
Summer BBQ wine! Super deep, smoky vanilla, with blackberries and coffee notes. The dark aromas seem to wrap around your nose and pull you down into the glass. Balanced by structure and solid acidity, this is ideal from grilled meats, turkey burgers, really anything with a char! Don't forget about it once cooler temps arrive, either...
Price: $24.99 Add To Cart
JS 93

A. Smith Bowman "Isaac Bowman" Port Barrel Finish Virginia Straight Bourbon (750ml)
Review Date: 06-18-2018
If you've never had a "Port barrel finished" bourbon, this is a great place to start. If you love whiskey and want to try something new, look no further. What begins as a fantastic bourbon on its own spends the last bit of it's ageing period in ex-Port barrels. Take a big whiff and you'll immediately see the influence: red apple skins, gentle, dried raisins, and fresh cut flowers. On the palate, it is full of complexities, like a layered onion. Just add an ice cube and you're rocking!
Price: $39.99 Add To Cart

2014 Lagier Meredith Mount Veeder Syrah
Review Date: 06-11-2018
This is the Syrah for your BBQ; peppery strawberries , depth of blueberries, all supported by the brightness of Mt Veeder. A touch of smoked meat on the finish to keep the party going.
Price: $49.99 Add To Cart
WS 94 RP 92

2008 Tobermory 8 Year Old "John Milroy - K&L Exclusive" Single Refill Butt Cask Strength Single Malt Scotch Whisky (750ml)
Review Date: 06-10-2018
Super fruit forward, almost coconutty, with a touch of oak flavor. I love this bottling because it is simple, yet so fruity. A great summer Scotch or the perfect bottle for the Speyside love who wants to try something new.
Price: $54.99 Add To Cart

2013 Castello di Bossi "Berardo" Chianti Classico Riserva
Review Date: 05-14-2018
Depth and intensity of a high end Chianti Classico at a better price point. Deep black cherries, rich earth, and polished leather on the nose let you know instantly. This is a must try for Chianti lovers who want something to stock up on in order to both drink and age.

2014 The Paring (Jonata) Red Bordeaux Blend
Review Date: 05-07-2018
You know the wine will be awesome just from the aromas... Big name flavor at a fraction of the price, this blend is super well balanced. Big on the palate and seamless as it his the taste buds, a little bit of white pepper stands out to give a nod to those looking for "food friendly" options. Rounded and smooth, this is truly a great bottle. Get one to try and a case to lay down!
Price: $24.99 Add To Cart

2014 Freemark Abbey Napa Valley Cabernet Sauvignon
Review Date: 04-12-2018
Although technically somewhat of a Bordeaux blend (touches of Merlot, Petit Verdot, Malbec, and Cab Franc), this vintage of Freemark Abbey is amazingly balanced and shows all the beauty of a well made Napa cab. Clove, cocoa, tobacco, blackcurrant; the complexities go on and on and on. Almost 4 years old now, this bottle makes for something great to open with dinner tonight or to hold for years down the road.

Knob Creek K&L Exclusive Single Barrel #5851 Kentucky Straight Rye Whiskey (750ml)
Review Date: 04-02-2018
A rye to be reckoned with. This barrel found a great balance of dry spice, proof, and texture. Not too sweet with lots of almond flavor, this would make an absolutely outstanding old fashion.
Price: $47.99 Add To Cart

Nikka Coffey Still Japanese Grain Whisky (750ml)
Review Date: 03-05-2018
Light and fruity, slight oily texture, like those fruit cocktail packs you used to get in your lunch in elementary school. A bit of red apple skin, incredibly smooth in the mouth, like a fluffy rum cake, but with a more whisky-like caramel sweetness. Delicious, an awesome intro to Japanese whisky.
Price: $54.99 Add To Cart
WA 92 WE 90

Old Overholt Bottled In Bond Straight Rye Whiskey (750ml)
Review Date: 03-05-2018
Heck yeah! A delicious, versatile, and AFFORDABLE rye to be taken seriously. Freshly baked sugar cookies, celery salt, kitchen herbs, and wintergreen on the nose. Great palate spice, very dry finish, makes a killer Old Fashioned. Trust me.
Price: $21.99 Add To Cart

Redemption Wheated Bourbon Whiskey (750ml)
Review Date: 03-05-2018
Ideal for someone new to Bourbons or for the classic drinker who wants something a little more refreshing. Fresh cut flowers, under ripe bananas, a touch of vanilla, and orange zest on the nose. Soft sweetness on the palate, super smooth, like drinking a banana smoothie on a hot day. Love it.
Price: $39.99 Add To Cart
WE 94

Writer's Tears Pure Pot Still Irish Whiskey (750ml)
Review Date: 03-04-2018
An Irish whiskey that stands wayyy apart from the others. Surprisingly fruity and floral, like chewing on mango gum next to a bunch of sunflowers. Super smooth on the palate with hints of lemon rinds and apple cider. It even smells smooth with a touch of vanilla from the charred oak. Perfect for the bourbon drinker who wants to branch out or the casual drinker who wants to try something new.
Price: $39.99 Add To Cart

El Tesoro "K&L Exclusive" Single Barrel #158 Reposado Tequila (750ml)
Review Date: 02-28-2018
This is truly one of the most unique and delicious tequilas I've gotten to taste so far in my first year here at K and L. Since having access to a more curated selection, I've been obsessed with finding soulful, artisanal, aguave spirits and this bottle easily makes its way right into this category. What is remarkable here is the balance; a touch of spice, with the ageing process timed perfectly. The mellow barrel notes swoop right in to create a super smooth tequila. The grassy/citrus notes are just as delicate, making this sipper one to be best enjoyed on its own. Yet, at the price point, I wouldn't feel bad making a mean Margarita.
Price: $49.99 Add To Cart

2014 Galerie "Pleinair" Napa Valley Cabernet Sauvignon
Review Date: 02-26-2018
Of the two releases from Galerie, this is the bottle to put in the back of your cellar and revisit in 12 years' time. It is much more floral on the bouquet than the Knight's Valley with some dusty and bright aromas. The tannins are a touch grippier, making some bottle age beneficial to the juice. Grab 3 bottles: one to decant now, one to visit after a few years, and the last to open when you remember how much you liked the second bottle.

Springbank 10 Year Old Campbeltown Single Malt Scotch Whisky (750ml)
Review Date: 02-26-2018
The younger aged statement of my absolute favorite whisky, the 10 year shows a mind-boggling amount of flavor that'll make your head spin in delight. Super complex, everything in harmony in balance, and you can truly taste everything down to the malty goodness. This age statement feels a bit briny-er than the 15, with a bit more of an orange zest and tropical hue to it. Super smooth, medium-rich texture, like a mouthful of sunshine. No wonder people cant decided between the 10 and the 15...
Price: $59.99 Add To Cart
WE 92

Montechiara Prosecco
Review Date: 02-20-2018
The perfect bubbles to pop for any occasion without breaking the budget. "Extra Dry" is the minimum level of dosage to create the secondary fermentation, so no excess sweetness on this Prosecco. Fresh fruit flavors, zippy acid, and a dry mouthfeel, what more could you want for the price?
Price: $10.99 Add To Cart

2009 Valentons Canteloup "Cuvée Excentrique" Bordeaux Supérieur
Review Date: 02-20-2018
Easily (in my opinion) the best sub $20 Bordeaux I've tasted so far. The label itself could use a bit of work, but as soon as you taste the juice, you quickly forget about the cosmetics and focus on how the flavors speak so much louder than the price point. Its classic Bordeaux spice and woody notes stand out on the nose and the palate is simply covered in light fruit teamed up with earthy/savoury-ness. Awesome vintage, awesome wine.
Price: $14.99 Add To Cart

2014 Bonny Doon "A Proper Claret" Red Blend
Review Date: 01-16-2018
This is going to be a knockout with K&L fans; highly regarded by Wine Enthusiast with the quality to show for. The fruit make up on the nose along with the woodsy spice is very reminiscent of Bordeaux, but with a California touch. On the palate, the core shows beautifully and is very well balanced with a good support of acid and supple texture from the soft tannins. Full bodied, good fruit, lots of complexity, and, again, incredibly well balanced.
Price: $9.99 Add To Cart
JS 90

Modern Times "City of the Sun" IPA, California (16oz cans)
Review Date: 12-30-2017
Such a solid IPA when the craving strikes. Medium bitterness and the weight falls somewhere in between and East and West coast IPA. Very crowd friendly.
Price: $3.49 Add To Cart

2013 Solomon Hills "Solomon Hills Vineyard" Santa Maria Valley Chardonnay
Review Date: 11-14-2017
This Chardonnay is bright and lifted, showing green apple, pear, with touches of banana and vanilla. The oak is there, but very well integrated and doesn't interfere with the fruit notes, which are the highlights. Because of the oak, the texture coats the mouth beautifully and is well supported by zippy acidity and a touch of sweet spice. This wine would crush paired with oven baked salmon.
Price: Hidden View Price
VN 95

2014 Taken Napa Valley Bordeaux Blend
Review Date: 10-02-2017
Great nose of deep cassis; a bouquet blend of floral and fruit notes, mainly led by plum. On the palate, everything about this wine is so well integrated. The tannins are soft, but the liquid has a nice little grip to it. Flavors are just as beautiful as the nose. At this price, it's a no-brainer.
Price: $24.99 Add To Cart
JS 93

A.D. Coutelas "Cuvée Louis Victor" Brut Champagne
Review Date: 07-30-2017
Rich, flavorful, and extraordinarily unique! Tons of warming toast on the palate that combines perfectly with the lifted fruit aromas and tastes of bruised pear and baked apples. The finish is long and energetic, providing a smooth swell of slight nuttiness. A memorable go-to for the serious wine drinker looking for richness.
Price: $34.99 Add To Cart
WE 90

Domaine Hubert "K&L Exclusive" Pays d'Auge Vieux Calvados (750ml)
Review Date: 07-19-2017
This was my first time drinking Calvados and instantly fell in love. Apple cider for adults. Distilled in old school, alembic copper stills, I couldn't believe how intense the flavors of cider, brown sugar, and warm apple pie can be found in a spirit at this price.
Price: $29.99 Add To Cart

Page: 1 2 next