Reviewers


K&L Email Alerts

Sign up to receive custom alerts, new arrivals and the latest happenings from K&L Wines


Staff Favorites - Anthony Russo

Anthony Russo

Reviews

2017 Domaine du Petit Clocher Anjou Blanc
Review Date: 01-21-2019
One of those wines that will leave you wondering how you paid so little for such an extraordinary experience. I found it to be more mineral-driven on the nose than on the palate, which was pleasant for me because I enjoy a touch more texture for mouthfeel. Also smelled what felt like a touch of mint. Lightly fruited, as well; I tasted some pear nectar. Awesome stuff.
Price: $13.99 Add To Cart
WE 91

2017 Foxglove Paso Robles Cabernet Sauvignon
Review Date: 12-27-2018
Surprisingly well structured! Good balance of acidity, fruit, and tannin impart a sense of complexity to this reasonably priced Cabernet. Paso Robles fruit shows itself with a touch of spice on the lingering finish. Good stuff!
Price: $14.95 Add To Cart

2016 Rickshaw California Cabernet Sauvignon
Review Date: 12-26-2018
A solid bottle at a great price. Good nose full of fruit, easy structure, soft tannins, dry, and very approachable... This is a no-brainer nightly drinker.
Price: Hidden View Price

2017 Stolpman "Para Maria" Santa Barbara County Red Blend
Review Date: 11-05-2018
Genuinely impressed by this one-two punch of a wine. This is a Syrah-driven blend, a good portion of which gets fermented semi-carbonically. This results in an incredibly balanced wine: bright red fruit aromatics that jump out of the glass, soft and silky tannins (from the traditionally fermented Syrah), blueberries and strawberries on the palate, finishing with a hint of plums from the Petit Verdot. My favorite part is how you can get all of this; a beautiful, local, and mindfully crafted wine, for less than twenty bucks.

2008 Tullibardine 10 Year Old "Sovereign" K&L Exclusive Single Barrel Cask Strength Single Malt Scotch Whisky (750ml)
Review Date: 11-03-2018
Great softness combined with a sweet malty flavor profile makes for a phenomenal everyday whiskey. With hints of almonds and dried peaches, there is no shortage of complexities in this approachable (price and flavor) whiskey. Great for lovers of Speyside who want to try something a bit more intense.
Price: Hidden View Price

Domaine du Manoir de Montreuil Calvados Pay d'Auge (750ml)
Review Date: 10-31-2018
I first discovered Calvados here at K&L; being from Vermont and a big fan of its apple products, I had to try this distillate for myself. I was instantly drawn to this spirit. Domaine du Montreuil only furthers its positive impression: smooth, "fresh" apple flavor, and just enough seriousness to let you know you're drinking a masterfully crafted eau de vie from a region with a long history in its production. Perfect as an afternoon aperitif or after a large meal, yea worth a try in your cooking recipes as well!
Price: $44.99 Add To Cart

2017 Tablas Creek "Patelin de Tablas Blanc" Paso Robles White Rhône Blend
Review Date: 09-04-2018
Such an incredibly well balanced white blend for the price; when talking about big names, quality fruit, and revered winemaking, not much can come close. Led by Grenache Blanc, this wine contrasts a supple mouthfeel with a perfect drop of acidity. Floral and fruity, this is your new weeknight sipper, either as a cocktail or with a plate of hummus and pita.
Price: $19.99 Add To Cart
VN 91 RP 90

2016 Eden Rift "Estate" Cienega Valley Pinot Noir
Review Date: 08-21-2018
I really like the nose on this Pinot; SUPER delicate with soft red cherries and hints of wax. It is soft and silky, but has a touch of tannin, lending the wine some "sriousness." Really opens up and unfolds with loads of delicious complexities on the palate. This is your summer time, relaxing evening wine.
Price: $44.99 Add To Cart
RP 93 VN 90

2016 The Crusher California Pinot Noir
Review Date: 08-21-2018
If I grabbed this bottle of pinot for $10 and did not what to expect, I would be more than pleasantly surprised by the quality level. It is juicy, fresh, and contains a mixture of red and dark fruit flavors, all without overwhelming the palate. Glad to have an affordable Pinot that I can confidently recommend to anyone.
Price: $9.99 Add To Cart
WE 91

2015 Pike Road Willamette Valley Pinot Noir
Review Date: 07-23-2018
Roasted berries on the nose, with soft, plush cherries on the palate. This wine sits somewhere between light and medium bodied, is not overly acidic, and can hold up beautifully as a cocktail glass or light dinner pour.
Price: $17.99 Add To Cart

2015 Stack House Napa Valley Cabernet Sauvignon
Review Date: 07-23-2018
This is a great example of a more "toned back" Napa cab; it flaunts the rich flavors that this warm region offers, but with a touch more restraint of fruit on the nose and palate. Lots of finesse and depth, reminiscent of Bordeaux, with edgy tannins and light berry fruit notes.
Price: $34.99 Add To Cart
JD 91 RP 90

2014 Freemark Abbey Napa Valley Merlot
Review Date: 07-23-2018
Summer BBQ wine! Super deep, smoky vanilla, with blackberries and coffee notes. The dark aromas seem to wrap around your nose and pull you down into the glass. Balanced by structure and solid acidity, this is ideal from grilled meats, turkey burgers, really anything with a char! Don't forget about it once cooler temps arrive, either...
Price: $24.99 Add To Cart
JS 93

A. Smith Bowman "Isaac Bowman" Port Barrel Finish Virginia Straight Bourbon (750ml)
Review Date: 06-18-2018
If you've never had a "Port barrel finished" bourbon, this is a great place to start. If you love whiskey and want to try something new, look no further. What begins as a fantastic bourbon on its own spends the last bit of it's ageing period in ex-Port barrels. Take a big whiff and you'll immediately see the influence: red apple skins, gentle, dried raisins, and fresh cut flowers. On the palate, it is full of complexities, like a layered onion. Just add an ice cube and you're rocking!
Price: $39.99 Add To Cart

2014 The Paring (Jonata) Red Bordeaux Blend
Review Date: 05-07-2018
You know the wine will be awesome just from the aromas... Big name flavor at a fraction of the price, this blend is super well balanced. Big on the palate and seamless as it his the taste buds, a little bit of white pepper stands out to give a nod to those looking for "food friendly" options. Rounded and smooth, this is truly a great bottle. Get one to try and a case to lay down!
Price: $24.99 Add To Cart

2017 Julien Braud "Forty Ounce" Rosé (1L)
Review Date: 04-23-2018
Frequently, when something has a very cool, "novel" packaging, it is usually to make up for the lack of quality in a product. Not in this case, however. This is a fun bottling of rose that is equally delicious as it is playful. The nose and flavors are very Provence-esque (delicate, pretty, elegant) and the texture itself is very dry and serious. Is it super yummy? Yes. Can you serve it to guests and have a laugh at the packaging, yet truly enjoy the contents? Yes. Am I going to play Edward 40 Hands with it this summer? You bet.
Price: $9.99 Add To Cart

Nikka Coffey Still Japanese Grain Whisky (750ml)
Review Date: 03-05-2018
Light and fruity, slight oily texture, like those fruit cocktail packs you used to get in your lunch in elementary school. A bit of red apple skin, incredibly smooth in the mouth, like a fluffy rum cake, but with a more whisky-like caramel sweetness. Delicious, an awesome intro to Japanese whisky.
Price: $54.99 Add To Cart
WA 92 WE 90

Lost Spirits Distillery "Abomination - The Sayers of the Law" Peated Malt Whiskey (750ml)
Review Date: 03-04-2018
Smells like someone just slapped some BBQ sauce on a charred piece of meat and shut the BBQ lid. So good. Pot pourri, freshly extinguished candle, toasted almonds, and good strength to keep the finish long and complex. For the fans of bigger, but not necessarily "juicier" spirits.
Price: $49.99 Add To Cart

Writer's Tears Pure Pot Still Irish Whiskey (750ml)
Review Date: 03-04-2018
An Irish whiskey that stands wayyy apart from the others. Surprisingly fruity and floral, like chewing on mango gum next to a bunch of sunflowers. Super smooth on the palate with hints of lemon rinds and apple cider. It even smells smooth with a touch of vanilla from the charred oak. Perfect for the bourbon drinker who wants to branch out or the casual drinker who wants to try something new.
Price: $39.99 Add To Cart

Highland Park 17 Year "The Dark" Single Malt Whisky (750ml)
Review Date: 03-04-2018
For starters, its not THAT dark; don't expect the intense coffee/flat cola color of some heavily sherried whiskeys. What struck me was how nicely balanced the peat and sweetness factors were. Lots lf dried apricots and peaches soaking in a touch of salty brine. Very smooth, touch of delicious spice on the tongue, and an awesome, long, and complex roasted coffee bean finish. Impressive bottling.
Price: $259.99 Add To Cart

Springbank 10 Year Old Campbeltown Single Malt Scotch Whisky (750ml)
Review Date: 02-26-2018
The younger aged statement of my absolute favorite whisky, the 10 year shows a mind-boggling amount of flavor that'll make your head spin in delight. Super complex, everything in harmony in balance, and you can truly taste everything down to the malty goodness. This age statement feels a bit briny-er than the 15, with a bit more of an orange zest and tropical hue to it. Super smooth, medium-rich texture, like a mouthful of sunshine. No wonder people cant decided between the 10 and the 15...
Price: $59.99 Add To Cart
WE 92

Montechiara Prosecco
Review Date: 02-20-2018
The perfect bubbles to pop for any occasion without breaking the budget. "Extra Dry" is the minimum level of dosage to create the secondary fermentation, so no excess sweetness on this Prosecco. Fresh fruit flavors, zippy acid, and a dry mouthfeel, what more could you want for the price?
Price: $10.99 Add To Cart

2013 Bersano "Mantico" Barbaresco
Review Date: 01-31-2018
If you're looking for something fantastic to have with your pasta/risotto tonight or diving into the world of Barbaresco/Barolo, make this your first stop. A great expression of Nebbiolo that gives you an idea of what the region is all about, but in a more "ready to drink" style. A touch juicier, but with all of the structure Barbaresco is known for.
Price: $19.99 Add To Cart
WE 91 JS 90

Stolen Rum "Overproof" 6 Year Old Pot Still Jamaican Rum (375ml)
Review Date: 07-24-2017
Very unique and the KEY ingredient to the best tropical drink! These folks manipulate the pH (completely naturally) in order to give the spirit its striking acidity, which, when combined with the high proof, give off tropical fruit phenols, just like a pineapple!
Price: $18.99 Add To Cart

Domaine Hubert "K&L Exclusive" Pays d'Auge Vieux Calvados (750ml)
Review Date: 07-19-2017
This was my first time drinking Calvados and instantly fell in love. Apple cider for adults. Distilled in old school, alembic copper stills, I couldn't believe how intense the flavors of cider, brown sugar, and warm apple pie can be found in a spirit at this price.
Price: $29.99 Add To Cart

The Spirit Guild Astral Pacific Gin 750ml
Review Date: 07-19-2017
The epitome of "farm fresh," although these guys are located in downtown LA, they get all of their citrus for the recipe from their own farm up in Bakersfield. The deliciousness of the grapefruit and pistachio make this gin shine. Bring it to your next pot luck or keep it all for yourself.
Price: $34.99 Add To Cart

VING "KLC" Kale, Lemon Peel, & Cucumber Infused Organic Farm Fresh Vodka (750ml)
Review Date: 07-19-2017
Didn't think I would find a Vodka I enjoyed (let alone when kale is on the label), but this one really caught me off guard. The kale is infused as opposed to "flavored" and another distillation follows, making the taste subtle and delicate. The cucumber notes really stand out on the palate. This Vodka drinks almost like a super light Gin and would make a great crossover.
Price: $39.99 Add To Cart

Truetap - Waiter's Corkscrew Burgundy K&L Logo
Review Date: 05-30-2017
This is a super-solid corkscrew. Built with metal parts, it'll take a lot of abuse before cracking and falling apart, unlike its plastic competitors. We use it all the time ourselves for tastings and these have yet to let us down! The best feature is the dual pivot point, making the actual cork-pulling process easy, and smooth.
Price: $6.99 Add To Cart