Best Sellers New Arrivals Local Events Locations Gift Cards My Account Advanced Search

Reviewers


K&L Email Alerts

Sign up to receive custom alerts, new arrivals and the latest happenings from K&L Wines

Staff Favorites - Stefanie Juelsgaard

Stefanie Juelsgaard
Stefanie Juelsgaard  | Send Email  |   Subscribe to My Sommelier Service


Reviews

Page: 1 2 3 4 next
2016 d'Arenberg "The Stump Jump" Shiraz McLaren Vale
Review Date: 12-07-2018
When you come across any wine priced at under $10, most of us wouldn't expect much in the way of complexity or intensity, just something cheap and easy drinking. This bottling, however, coming from one of the most respected producers in McLaren Vale, blew all expectations of a $10 wine out of the water. Surprisingly structured and crisp, this is not the fat and flabby style many people associate with Oz. Made mostly from very old bush vines, the Stump Jump does have concentrated fruit and a weighted body, but is accompanied by dusky tannin, and a significant amount of spice. McLaren Vale sits right on the coast to the south of Adelaide and the cooling ocean breezes and southerly latitude give this wine real breadth and freshness.While some would consider a $10 price tag to suggest an inferior wine, it would be a mistake to assume that of this wine. It is in fact truly delicious and shattered my expectations in the best way.
Top Value!
Price: $9.99 Add To Cart
WS 90

2016 Chateau de L'Ou "Infiniment" Côtes Catalanes Rouge
Review Date: 12-06-2018
I was really impressed by this wine because it manages to balance so many elements simultaneously in perfect harmony. It has a full, encompassing mouthfeel, but a medium (not heavy) weight, mouthwatering acidity, juicy fruit, and just a touch of grip for balance. This is most definitely be added to my list for customers looking for a crowd-pleasing, interesting red this holiday season.
Price: $24.99 Add To Cart
JD 94

2016 Domaine de Verquière Rasteau
Review Date: 12-06-2018
This bottling encompasses pretty much every element I would want and look for in a Rasteau. Fruity on the nose with bright natural acid, savory herbal notes, and nice length, this is a great contrast to the lighter wines of Gigondas and the rustic ones of Vaqueyras. If you have yet to explore the single village bottlings of Rhone, this is a great way in and I think offers a lot for the price.

2011 Miguel Merino Gran Reserva Rioja
Review Date: 12-06-2018
Coming from the Village of Briones, one of the best locations in Rioja Alta, this special bottling from Miguel Merino is sure to impress. The Gran Reserva is uniquely made from the best old vineyards, whose chalky soils and gnarly vines lead to great depth and complexity in the wines. Dark fruited with lots of structure and definitely some grip, this wine has a long life ahead of it. Impressive given the warmth of the vintage. This is another impressive bottling from one of my favorite Rioja producers.
Price: $39.99 Add To Cart

2015 Miguel Merino "La Loma" Rioja
Review Date: 12-06-2018
It's really fun to be able to see the Miguel Merino transition generations, while both father and son are still producing wines. In this first solo attempt by Junior, we get to see a leaner, lighter style, showcasing more natural acidity, cooler ferments, and larger format barrel use. Still from the same great old vines they use in their high end wines, the "La Loma" is still quintessential Merino and a great addition to their line of beautiful wines.
Price: $49.99 Add To Cart
JS 92 RP 92

2015 Black Slate "La Vilella Alta" Priorat
Review Date: 12-04-2018
I have been impressed by all of the Black Slate offerings so far, but this might be my favorite yet. This wine definitely exhibits the classic, dark fruit, but features a medium weight body and a ton of acidity that keeps it fresh and juicy instead of heavy and brooding. This is a really great tasting wine and with the complexity it features I expect the price point to be a lot higher. Fantastic find from Priorat.
Top Value!
Price: $16.99 Add To Cart
JD 94 RP 90

2016 Domaine Petroni Corse Rouge (Corsica)
Review Date: 11-28-2018
Domaine Petroni has quickly become a top staff recommendation for their white, red, and rosé. It seems like a bit of an underdog, as Corisca is not the most marketed region for wine, but the quality of their wines keeps staff and customers coming back for more. Fruity on the nose, this wine offers fresh flavors and nice minerality. The use of concrete and stainless steel is genius here, as it really allows the blend of the grapes and their purity of fruit to shine through. This is a perfect ushering into Fall wine and the medium weight body makes it easy to keep on sipping.
Price: $13.99 Add To Cart
JD 94

2016 Domaine de la Fruitière "Gneiss de Bel Abord" Muscadet Sèvre et Maine Sur Lie
Review Date: 11-28-2018
Muscadet always seems to be one of those varietals that flies under the radar and when I get the chance to taste one, I always remember just how delicious they actually are. Though there is definitely fresh, bright acidity and a zippiness to this wine, I was blown away by the texture and richness this bottling had to offer. There was weight and interest to this wine that hits multiple notes. The sur lee again aids in giving it the length and density it needs, while the natural flavors of the grape bring liveliness and minerality. A tasty, easy to like alternative that's great at cocktail hour or dinner.
Price: $13.99 Add To Cart
WE 90

2012 Miguel Merino Reserva Rioja
Review Date: 11-28-2018
Holding out to release a wine until 6 years after its made can be tough (both financially and labor-wise) for any winery, let alone a man doing this as his retirement project. That patience has definitely paid off here for Miguel, whose Reserva bottling shows great concentration and depth of flavor. Deep, dark fruits marry seamlessly into the oak, and the power behind the Tempranillo has rounded out to become supple and velvety. Miguel Merino's wines are always an easy choice for me to recommend due to their consistent commitment to excellence and naturally fantastic flavors.
Price: $29.99 Add To Cart

2012 Miguel Merino "Vitola" Reserva Rioja
Review Date: 11-28-2018
Miguel Merino is always a label I can turn to from Rioja and know I will find a clasically-styled, clean, delicious wine in the bottle. They are always consistent in their quality, but absolutely don't follow a set recipe, so discovering the variations of what's in the glass vintage to vintage is something I look forward to. This vintage showed a great balance of acidity and dark fruit, with a medium structure, enough to support the wines, while keeping it smooth and intriguing. Though these wines are not shy on oak, it brings a smile to your face because it is so quintessentially Rioja, that it would lack something with it. Whether you are new to Rioja or an old-hand, Miguel Merino is a trusted one to turn to for something delightful.
Price: $19.99 Add To Cart

2015 Te Mata "Cape Crest" Sauvignon Blanc Hawke's Bay
Review Date: 11-28-2018
When most people think of Sauvignon Blanc out of New Zealand, their thoughts likely run to the popular region of Marlborough. While Hawke's Bay is more known for its red Bordeaux varietals, its whites are certainly not be overlooked and this wine is a prime example of why. Intense juicy tropical fruits of guava and lime blend seamlessly with floral, almond, and honey notes, all made extremely expressive by the bright, underlying acid. Fermentation and aging are both done in a mixture of new and used French oak barrels, which, combined with sur lee aging, gives incredible texture and depth to the wine. Te Mata is one of New Zealand's oldest and longest operating wineries and their extensive experience is on full display here. A unique mixture of soils and maritime climate makes this one of the most exciting wine growing sites in New Zealand.

2014 Tongue In Groove Riesling Waipara Valley
Review Date: 11-23-2018
Super fresh and fun, this dry-style Riesling pairs so well with holiday dinners and with a few years on it now, offers a more textural, deep style. Riesling exhibits such a wide range of styles and characters to explore, and this exquisite offering from New Zealand definitely won’t break the bank if you want to pass it around to more than a few people.
Price: Hidden View Price
SK 95 RP 91

Còdigo 1530 K&L Exclusive Single Barrel Rosa Tequila (750ml)
Review Date: 11-15-2018
What a fun and different take on a high-end tequila that many tequila enthusiasts will never have had before. Blanco tequila aged in high end Napa Cabernet barrels, this bottling has a gorgeous pink hue that sets it apart on the shelf and in the bar cart. This bottling still carries all the fresh, light citrus elements of a Blanco, but has some lovely berry and red fruit notes that make it truly unique. Còdigo has always been one of my top recommended tequilas to customers because of the delicate hand they use in production. They don't put any additives in, they willingly disclose the location of their agave fields (many won't as they are pulling unripe agave plants), and they use lightly toasted French oak barrels. I love this tequila as a different take on the classic spirit and mostly because it is delicious!
Price: $59.99 Add To Cart

Còdigo 1530 K&L Exclusive Single Barrel Anejo Tequila (750ml)
Review Date: 11-15-2018
Còdigo is always one of my go-to recommendations for customer looking for a nice, high-end tequila because of the amount of delicate, hands-on care that goes into it. Many distilleries don't want you to know where there agave is sourced from since there is actually an agave shortage and they have to throw in a bunch of additives to make it taste matured. Còdigo tells you exactly where their agave comes from with their NOM number, so if you're curious, you can find the exact geographical location. On top of that, they don't have any additives of sugar or other elements to beef it up. All the flavor comes from the pureness of fruit and gentle touch of the makers. This version in particular is so pure and unique, and as it a single barrel instead of a blend, you won't find anything else exactly like it anywhere. Soft, rich and spicy, this is one I'm going to be giving to my tequila loving friends this holiday season.
Price: $99.99 Add To Cart

2017 Gentilini Robola of Cephalonia Greece
Review Date: 11-13-2018
Bright, zippy acidity is the backbone and dominating note of this wine. That being said, it's not too light or airy that the acidity overwhelms. This wine has some richness and weight on the palate, which complements the crisp citrus and white peach notes. Wile it is not overly complicated, it has a crazy long finish that would be a great accompaniment to food. Most people will not have every had this varietal, but after tasting it I wonder, why are we not already familiar it?
Price: $17.99 Add To Cart
RP 91

2016 Domaine Nerantzi Assyrtiko Serres Greece
Review Date: 11-13-2018
This wine encompasses everything you imagine in a Greek white and more. It is definitely bright, lean, and mineral-driven, but it also has an incredible amount of texture and weight that helps it to linger. It is fresh and crisp, but the unexpected richness gives substance and complexity. This is a fantastic find.
Price: $17.99 Add To Cart
W&S 94

2015 Bodegas Palacios Remondo "La Montesa" Crianza Rioja
Review Date: 11-13-2018
This is a fantastic take on a Crianza Rioja, with juicy red fruits and a good firm structure playing nicely against each other. This is a great introduction to Rioja, or for someone wanting a lighter style. It's very approachable, not overly big or broody. This is very high quality wine in this price point and would make an easy choice for a crowd-pleaser at dinner.

2005 Bodegas Casa Juan Señor de Lesmos Gran Reserva Rioja
Review Date: 11-13-2018
It's crazy to me how much life these wines can have after 13 years in bottle, but this Gran Reserva is just only starting to blossom and show its true characters. So supremely fresh from the bright acidity, this is a fantastic blend of old world savoriness and fresh clean fruits. Señor de Lesmos is always my go-to recommendation for any level of Rioja to customers, but in this case, they are going to have to beat me to it.
Price: $29.99 Add To Cart

2016 Passopisciaro "Passorosso" Etna Rosso Sicilia
Review Date: 11-07-2018
While I wouldn't give this wine to a novice just getting into drinking wine, it is a fantastic choice for someone more experienced looking for something different and absolutely delicious. Focused and dry, this wine reminded me of Grenache in fruit and brightness, but it is much more structured and stern than a Rhone. I liked the balance that this dichotomy produced. Wine adventurers, take note of this one.
Price: $31.99 Add To Cart
WE 91

2013 La Fortuna Brunello di Montalcino
Review Date: 11-07-2018
I've come to think of Brunellos as wines that are dark, bug, and brooding, which is why I was surprised and excited to encounter the La Fortuna, which comes across as lighter, fresher, and more red-fruited. Don't get me wrong, I definitely enjoy the darker style of wines, but I love to see the breadth of styles Brunello can offer. This is a fantastic wine for novices of the region as it feels a little more approachable and less tannic than some others on the shelf. Fresh and up-front, this is one I'd be happy to enjoy with grilled meats and heart pastas moving into Fall.
Price: $34.99 Add To Cart
JS 93 WS 92

2010 Bodegas Casa Juan Señor de Lesmos Reserva Rioja
Review Date: 11-07-2018
The blend of flavors of leather, dark fruit, wild herbs, and subtle spice is pure magic here. It's nearly impossible to find a wine outside of Rioja, where you can get this level of quality at this price point, with 8 years aging on it to boot! Lesmos has always been a staff favorite at K&L and this vintage is bound to be no exception. This is a classic, Old-World style of Rioja and a great way to introduce yourself to the area with this beautiful Reserva bottling.
Price: $19.99 Add To Cart

2016 MWC (McPherson Wine Co.) Shiraz/Mourvèdre Victoria
Review Date: 11-07-2018
With a light-bodied mouthfeel and fresh, vibrant red fruits, this may not be the Shiraz you expect from Victoria, Australia. This is a fantastic take on how Shiraz can be made into easy-drinking, lighter style wines if put into the right hands. There is a great drive to this wine, with a linear mineral note running down the middle. Crisp and fruity with notes of cranberry and pomegranate, this is a killer deal at $14. Pair this guy with grilled steak or hearty pasta and you've found the perfect Fall dinner wine you can feel comfortable buying by the case-full.
Top Value!

2017 Mt Beautiful Sauvignon Blanc North Canterbury
Review Date: 11-07-2018
This is a truly delicious Sauvignon Blanc from the under the radar region of North Canterbury. In this region just South of Marlborough, the cool, dry climate produces Savvy's expressing zippy acid, mineral drive from the stony Southern Alps, and juicy citrus fruits. All of Mt. Beautiful's wines are estate grown and certified sustainable, and the complex, elegant flavors are evidence of the care they put in the vineyards. Just a hint of green grass on the nose is the only vegetal note you get with this wine, with the core flavors coming in the form of citrus blossom, wet stone, and passionfruit. This is one of the better Sauvignon Blancs I've had this year and is a screaming deal at under $15.
Top Value!
Price: $14.99 Add To Cart
W&S 93 WS 90

2017 Clos Henri "Petit Clos" Marlborough Pinot Noir
Review Date: 11-07-2018
It's nearly impossible to find a wine made from all organic estate-fruit, from a premier Sancerre-based family at this under $20 price point. Established and run by the famed family that produces Henri Bourgeois wines in Sancerre, Clos Henri showcases the same varietals of Sauvignon Blanc and Pinot Noir with an unmistakable New Zealand style. After having honed their winemaking skills for 10 generations, the Bourgeois family takes techniques from both France and New Zealand to make this elegant, refined Pinot Noir. Pulling from all three soil types on the estate, the "Petit Clos" offers a unique look of the Marlborough terroir. With delicate, savory notes, this Pinot is very understated and sophisticated. There is no big showing of ripe fruit here. Instead herbal notes, with lively acidity and tannin taking the forefront. There is a beautiful integration of all these components to make a wine this long-respected family should be proud of.
Price: $17.99 Add To Cart
JS 93

2016 Clos Saint-Jean Châteauneuf-du-Pape Vieilles Vignes
Review Date: 10-31-2018
I was fortunate enough to be able to taste this vintage side-by-side with the 2015, just a year younger, and after having both I can attest that this wine is still a baby. The 2016 is showing a little tightly wound right now, but displays fantastic balance and dark fruit underneath. Since I got to taste the previous years wines, I can tell that the 2016 is going to be delicious and incredibly expressive when it loosens up. The old vines do lend great concentration to the wine and a ton of character. Patience will be rewarded with this one.

2016 Domaine Clos de Sixte Lirac
Review Date: 10-31-2018
This would make a fantastic Thanksgiving wine. It exhibits sweet red fruit, a medium weight body, and a savory note on the finish. I was very pleased with the freshness and vibrancy it displayed and the fine spices give it a lot of character.
Price: $21.99 Add To Cart
RP 93 JD 92

2017 Stolpman "Para Maria" Santa Barbara County Red Blend
Review Date: 10-31-2018
I was really excited when I tasted this wine to ind it so expressive, fresh and light-bodied. Then I heard that it was done with 40% carbonic maceration, which obviously helps bring it to another level of freshness. What a genius idea! This bottle has great bright fruit notes and little tannin. I was expecting a heavier, denser red blend from Santa Barbara and was very pleasantly surprised by this one.
Price: $19.99 Add To Cart
VN 92 - 95

2016 Penfolds "Bin 407" Cabernet Sauvignon South Australia
Review Date: 10-31-2018
As the 'Bin 389' is a baby version of the 'Grange', the 'Bin 407' is a baby version of Penfolds iconic Cabernet, 'Bin 707'. Power and depth define this wine, while an incredible amount of refinement and a long finish act as complementing factors. This is a full-bodied wine with plenty of dark fruit, savory herb, and coffee notes. The tannins are for sure present, but smooth, and the French oak adds an elegance American oak cannot. This bottling is undoubtedly Cabernet, though a lusher, more powerful version than you might encounter in Margaret River. The 'Bin 407' is a great way to experience Penfold's highest end Cabernet at 1/6 of the price.

2016 Penfolds "Bin 28 Kalimna" Shiraz South Australia
Review Date: 10-31-2018
Always one of our best-selling offerings from Penfolds, the Bin 28 is a classic Shiraz the winery has been producing since 1959. Notes of cherry and raspberry dominate the nose, while the mouthfeel lingers more on dark fruits of plum and blackberry. Spices, both peppery and sweet, are definitely present, which is surprising given the warm vintage. The fine, smooth tannin structure creates a velvety feel and there is a nice line of acid running through the whole thing to keep it fresh and bright. This wine is youthful, yet full-bodied, and a great, inexpensive bottling to enjoy from one of the most prestigious wineries in Australia.

2016 Penfolds "Bin 389" Cabernet-Shiraz South Australia
Review Date: 10-31-2018
The Penfolds "Bin 389" is an elegant red from one of the most sought-after producers in Australia. The Shiraz provides a juicy mouthfeel with beautiful lift, while the Cabernet lends length and structure to help balance the dark fruit. Penfolds has struck the perfect balance between the two varietals, creating a wine that is unbelievably smooth with fine tannin and vibrant fruit notes. The American oak complements without adding any unnecessary flavors and the underlying spice and herbs help bring balance and complexity. Though this wine comes off a touch tight initially, it opens up beautifully to reveal lush blackberry notes and soft cocoa. This is a great way to get a part of the 'Grange' for a fraction of the price.

2015 Xanadu "DJL" Cabernet Sauvignon Margaret River Western Australia
Review Date: 10-30-2018
As more wineries try to appeal to a large range of customer tastes and preferences, wines are becoming more generic and losing their sense of place. That's why I was so excited by this one when I opened it, as it is unmistakably and undoubtedly Margaret River Cabernet. The green/stemmy notes complement the soft dark fruit with notes of blackberry, plum and pepper. When most people think of Cabernet they immediately assume big, super structured, rich wines. Margaret River is taking a different approach and is leaning toward medium-bodied Cabernets that are more food-friendly and less overwhelming to the palate. Having been picked at just the right time, this wines is full of fresh acidity which gives it brightness and a lasting quality. There is a lot I love about this wine and is a screaming deal at under $15.
Top Value!

2015 Xanadu Chardonnay Margaret River Western Australia
Review Date: 10-30-2018
For anyone who has shied away from Australian Chardonnay in the past assuming it would be too rich or oaky, this is the wine to change your mind. More on par with a Burgundy, this wine is not lacking in bright, fresh acidity thanks to the halting of malolactic fermentation. Lees stirring and French oak aging give a creamier, more opulent mouthfeel and the crisp citrus notes bring vibrancy and punch. The oak is almost imperceptible and is mainly there to add roundness and structure. Mineral-drive and a long finish remind me of Fixin or Marsannay, but the unique qualities of the Gin Gin clone make it all Margaret River. Coming from Napa or Burgundy, this incredible wine would be twice the price.
Top Value!

2016 Ata Rangi "Crimson" Pinot Noir Martinborough
Review Date: 10-23-2018
Ata Rangi has gained worldwide recognition for their highly complex, unmatched Pinot Noir and their "Crimson" offering certainly has a lot to offer at a fraction of the price as their flagship. The structure and acidity in this wine hit you right away and let you know this wine can definitely be cellared for a decade. That's how much power it has. Soft, juicy red fruits roll past the initial tannin and create a silky, enveloping mouthfeel. Dark berries intermingle with spice and herbs to create a wine that is uniquely Martinborough. It's nearly impossible to find a wine of this caliber in California or Burgundy for this price point.
Top Value!

2015 Nelle Wines Central Coast Syrah
Review Date: 10-23-2018
There is a lot going on in this wine and frankly I was surprised it was only $30 when I tasted the complexity this wine possesses. There is a lot of spice to it and quite a good amount of acid considering how big it is. There are flavors imparted by the oak, but they add softness and richness to this savory and structured wine. This is not a delicate wine and the powerful characters make it all the more interesting.
Price: $29.95 Add To Cart
RP 94 WE 92

2016 Angels & Cowboys Sonoma County Proprietary Red Blend
Review Date: 10-23-2018
This wine is incredibly smooth with hints of cinnamon and sweet spice and a fresh, lifted mouthfeel. Low tannins give this wine a silky feel and dark fruits adds juiciness and lushness without a fat, overly ripe feel. This one is sure to be a crowd-pleaser and is a great choice for ushering in the richer foods of Fall.
Price: $19.95 Add To Cart
DC 96

2014 d'Arenberg "The Dead Arm" Shiraz McLaren Vale South Australia
Review Date: 10-17-2018
Any winery that takes the time and man power to foot tread every one of their wines, definitely takes winemaking seriously. Named after the Eutypa fungus that affects some vineyards, the 'Dead Arm' refers to one half of the vine that rots and falls off, while the fruit that lives on the remaining arm grows more concentrated and complex. That effect is very evident in this wine, as it showcases unbelievable power and structure. This is not one of the Shiraz fruit-bombs you may associate with Australia. This fruit comes from cooler-site McLaren Vale and the lift and tannin in the wine certainly showcase it's terroir. D'Arenberg is a highly sought after winery in Australia and after tasting this wine, it's not hard to see why.

2015 Querciabella Chianti Classico
Review Date: 10-17-2018
2015 was a warm vintage in Chianti and you will definitely find a broader than normal palate in this wine from the riper fruit, but it certainly does not lack acid or structure. Juicy dark fruit complements the drying tannin and makes this wine one you can drink now or hold onto. This would go perfectly with a steak or cream-based dish.

2016 Fèlsina Chianti Classico
Review Date: 10-17-2018
One of the things I love about Italy is the vintage variations can be pretty stark, and they don't try to alter this by sticking to a pre-fab recipe. While the 2015 Felsina Chianti Classico was rich and supple, the 2016 is markedly different. Dry, spicy, more complex and structured, this is one you can definitely hold onto for a decade or more if you want. There is a nice red and black fruit balance to offset some of that power, and if you are drinking it soon, a little decanting wouldn't hurt.
Price: $19.99 Add To Cart
JS 93 RP 92

2017 Abbazia di Novacella Schiava Alto Adige
Review Date: 10-17-2018
What a fantastic wine to drink to usher in Fall. Light bodies and fruit, spicy and aromatic, and little herbal and crunchy on the finish. It seems a little Spätburgunder-like to me. A great interesting and tasty red at a killer price point.
Top Value!
Price: $14.99 Add To Cart

2012 Louis Roederer Brut Champagne
Review Date: 10-16-2018
It's relatively rare for a champagne house of this size to own its own vineyards, but Roederer is adamant that if they declare a vintage wine, it all must come from its own vineyards. The toast nose belies the zippy, high acid palate and the Verzenay fruit truly shines. Great minerality and citrus notes, this is a fantastic party Champagne, as it is sure to please everyone there.

2009 Alexandre Le Brun "Cuvée Dilection" Brut Rosé Champagne
Review Date: 10-16-2018
Most people would not take the risk of doing a vintage Champagne in the warm year that 2009 was. That's what makes Alexandre Le Brun's wines so fun and interesting, he makes such a small production that he can experiment and create something incredible like this rosé. He gets great concentration in this wine, thank to the addition of 15% still red wine as well as old vines. The 116 year old vines produce fruit with great concentration and length and add incredible complexity. The Chardonnay keeps this wine fresh and lifted and an elegant, medium body Champagne.
Price: $79.99 Add To Cart

2007 Alexandre Le Brun "Cuvée Fascination" Brut Blanc de Blancs Champagne
Review Date: 10-16-2018
This is a unique take on Blanc de Blanc and one of the more complex and intriguing ones on our shelves. Grown in very pure chalk, this wine retains a natural freshness and high acidity. The winemakers does a great job of balancing that by aging his Chardonnay in barrel, to round it out and lend some lovely toasty quality. When Bollinger buys he majority of your fruit, it must mean you are going something right as a growers. He is doing something very right as a winemaker as well.
Price: $69.99 Add To Cart

Solemme "Nature de Solemme" Blanc de Blancs 1er Cru Brut Nature Champagne
Review Date: 10-16-2018
The most crisp and high acid of the three Solemme bottlings, this wine exhibits every characteristic to make it fresh and invigorating. When you combine 100% Chardonnay with no malolactic fermentation and no dosage, the result could be dangerously harsh and to tart for consumption. That is not the case here. The wine is zippy, but in a refreshing, stimulating way and the winemaker manages to hit just the right balance for the Brut Nature style. A great food Champagne, this is one I'd be ecstatic to bring to any dinner party.
Price: $59.99 Add To Cart

Solemme "Ambre de Solemme" 1er Cru Brut Nature Champagne
Review Date: 10-16-2018
When our Champagne buyer thinks a wine is good enough to bring in hundreds of cases after one sip, I sit up and take notice. It can be scary taking a chance on a new producer, but when you know the wines are that good, it's worth the risk. The Solemme wines fit this description. The care the winemaker puts in is evident through his use of biodynamics, which clearly indicated he cares about his vine quality and health. This particular bottling may have been my favorite of the three, not least of which because it possesses a beautiful rose gold color. With floral notes and bright acidity to bring a fresh, crisp palate, it's made all the more special by being a rare 100% Pinot Meunier bottling.
Price: $69.99 Add To Cart

2014 Ramey "Platt Vineyard" Sonoma Coast Chardonnay
Review Date: 10-16-2018
If you are looking for an elegant, expressive single vineyard Domestic Chardonnay, look no further than this vibrant example from Ramey. A little nutty and briochy from the lees contact are a great counter-balance to the fresh fruit and bright acidity present. I was very pleasantly surprised by the long finish and encompassing mouthfeel. I've always turned to Ramey as a great go-to reliable California Chardonnay, and I'm very pleased to add this one to my recommended list.
Price: Hidden View Price
RP 95 WE 93

2015 Black Slate "Porrera" Priorat
Review Date: 10-16-2018
This is a serious wine with plenty to ponder over for only $16. Very dark fruit dominates and the mouthfeel is soft, but lifted and medium bodied. Priorat is well-known for producing richer, more fruit-forward wines, but this example from one of the cooler towns also brings structure and life. It's pretty rare to be able to do a multi-village comparison from an area like this, but we are fortunate enough to be able to carry a couple examples of this from Priorat. Try this and the 2016 Black Slate "Escala Dei" Vi de la Vila Priorat side by side for a fun tasting.
Price: $15.99 Add To Cart
JD 93 RP 91

2015 Greywacke Pinot Noir Marlborough
Review Date: 10-16-2018
Delicious, dark, opulent fruit dominates this take on Marlborough Pinot Noir from former Cloudy Bay winemaker Kevin Judd. Kevin has spent many years in the area and knows how to make a crowd-pleasing Pinot. Silky tannin, notes of Christmas spices, and dark cherry meld together seamlessly in a lush, unctuous manner. The clay soils of the Southern Valleys produce Pinot's of greater heft and weight than other regions in Marlborough and that holds true in this bottling. Although Sauvignon Blanc is the flagship of Greywacke, their Pinot Noir is so special it should not be missed.

Solemme "Terre Solemme" 1er Cru Brut Champagne
Review Date: 10-10-2018
Comprised of 55% Pinot Meunier, 25% Pinot Noir, and 20% Chardonnay, the Solemme "Terre Solemme" is one of my favorite new additions to the K&L shelf. It's wonderful to see the move toward biodynamics hit Champagne and I really do believe it makes a difference in the quality of the wine, when the fruit is treated with care and natural products. At 6 g/L dosage it hits the perfect balance between fresh crispness and rounded softness. The premier cru vineyard origins of the fruit don't hurt either.
Price: $39.99 Add To Cart

Wine Club

$34.99

2011 Michel Arnould "Memoire de Vignes" Brut Champagne
Review Date: 10-10-2018
When you come across any wine from 50+ year-old vines from a Grand Cru region, it's pretty much a given that this is going to be a good one. When you throw in a world-class producer like Michel Arnould to make this wine, there should be nothing holding you back from picking up this special bottle. Great concentrated fruit, with nice mineral lift and a little toast on the finish, this bottle shown beautiful balance and poise.
Price: $59.99 Add To Cart

2008 Fallet-Dart Vintage Extra Brut Champagne
Review Date: 10-10-2018
It is pretty incredible how 3 g/L of residual sugar dosage can make such a huge difference in the taste of the wine. While the 2008 Fallet-Dart with 7 g/L dosage shows a little richer and more generous, this bottling in lean, fresh, bright, and crisp. Some Extra Brut's are so lean they are too rough on their own, but I don't think that's the case with this bottling. While it does exhibit powerful acid, there is enough fat here to keep it in sippable territory. With food or not, this was a fantastic bottling in a highly lauded vintage from one of my favorite producers.
Price: $39.99 Add To Cart

Page: 1 2 3 4 next