Reviewers


K&L Email Alerts

Sign up to receive custom alerts, new arrivals and the latest happenings from K&L Wines


Staff Favorites - Stefanie Juelsgaard

Stefanie Juelsgaard
Stefanie Juelsgaard  | Send Email  |   Subscribe to My Sommelier Service


Reviews

Page: 1 2 3 next
2016 Aequorea "Seafarer" San Luis Obispo County Pinot Noir
Review Date: 09-06-2019
A blend of four unique vineyard sites, the Aequorea "Seafarer" Pinot is the breakout wine of the summer. Beautifully balanced and expressive Pinot Noir, this is the result of dedicated searching to find the most terroir-driven sites in San Luis Obispo. Medium-bodied, with bright, juicy red fruits, soft tannin, and a hint of saline and dried herbs. If you're looking to bust out of a Pinot rut and try something unique and delicious, this is the one to go for.
Price: $32.95 Add To Cart
VN 92 JD 90

2013 Kaesler "Stonehorse" Shiraz Barossa Valley
Review Date: 09-05-2019
Kaesler has long stood as one of the top producers of Australian Shiraz amongst such names as Penfolds and Henschke.The quality of the wines for the price is unprecedented and this bottling of Stonehorse is no exception. Classic dark fruits of plum and blackberry shine and are lifted to an engagingly refreshing level by the ideal amount of acidity. Soft notes of leather and dried herbs give depth and all elements together form one beautiful wine. My new favorite Shiraz from the section.
Top Value!
Price: $12.99 Add To Cart
WS 91

Fallet-Dart "Cuvée de Réserve" Brut Champagne
Review Date: 09-05-2019
The Fallet-Dart house has a mind blowing history with 17 generations behind the line to perfect their Champagne and perfect it they have. With majority Pinot Meunier and four years of aging sur lees this bottle shows a richer, toastier style while still showcasing brightness and freshness hard to achieve with this blend. I love that Fallet-Dart is not afraid to experiment with a Pinot Meunier heavy blend, though it is not by chance it turned out phenomenally with the clear dedication and hard work in the craft they put in year after year.
Top Value!
Price: $29.99 Add To Cart

2017 BOLD Wine Co. Monterey County Pinot Noir
Review Date: 08-27-2019
I loved the rusticity of this wine. It's not polished to within and inch of its life and nothing is added to mask the flavors of the fruit. This is a pure expression of fruit and site. Bright and expressive, this is a great everyday offering, with just a touch of savory, dusky tannin to take it from porch wine to the dinner table.
Price: $18.95 Add To Cart
WE 93

2014 Rhys "Bearwallow Vineyard" Anderson Valley Pinot Noir
Review Date: 08-23-2019
The winemakers at Rhys have spent years in Burgundy trying to learn the farming techniques and winemaking methodologies that result in a truly great bottle of wine, and I believe they have harnessed that knowledge in this bottling. Long a wait-list only winery, this exclusive brand is now available to the general public, and K&L is the first and largest single retailer of this producer. They are experts in both Anderson Valley and Santa Cruz Mountains varietals. This particular bottling definitely carries the classic Burgundy flavor profile. Medium-bodied with dusty tannin, well-incorporated minerality, and soft red fruits, this wine feels shy and so expressive at the same time. It's not punchy and in your face, but subtle and incredibly complex. One of the best Pinots I've had this year.

2015 Chateau Ste. Michelle "50th Anniversary Edition" Columbia Valley Cabernet Sauvignon (1.5L)
Review Date: 08-21-2019
This is a beautiful bottle in honor of the 50th anniversary of Chateau Ste. Michelle. While this is not the most complex bottling of Cabernet we have on the shelves, it is delicious and easy drinking and a phenomenal deal for this large format (especially when the winery sells it for $50). This is a great choice for a party or a weekend away. Columbia Valley is consistently producing some great Cabernets and is the place to watch for affordable, quality wines.
Top Value!
Price: $19.95 Add To Cart
DC 93

Old Potrero "K&L Exclusive Barrel #12" 63.33% Single Malt Straight Rye Whiskey (750ml)
Review Date: 08-02-2019
This is a straight rye whiskey to the max. Definitely not lacking in spice and power, this reminds me a lot of the "Red Hots" candies we dared to stuff in our mouths as kids. The charred American oak barrel influence is more present in this whiskey than Barrel #13, with dark chocolate, coffee grounds, and leather notes dominating. The versatility of 100% rye is astounding. We ended up with two very different barrels, each fascinating and delicious in their own right. If you like the heat and a bigger style whiskey, this guy is for you. If your a little trepidatious or like you booze a little softer, go for the Barrel #13 offering. Or try both side by side to compare. Both high impact and bold on flavor, but in very different ways.
Price: $99.99 Add To Cart

Old Potrero "K&L Exclusive Barrel #13" 63.21% Single Malt Straight Rye Whiskey (750ml)
Review Date: 08-02-2019
I'm always super happy to support our local distilleries, and even more so when they put out a product like this! Old Potrero is consistently high quality and I love to taste 100% rye whiskeys, as you don't come across them all that often. It shows a lot of skill on the producers part to ferment 100% rye into a whiskey of this caliber. This is on the sweeter side for a straight rye and the classic rye spices are slightly more subdued in this cask, though I'm certainly not hating on that. It shows the versatility of the grain and the skill of Old Potrero to coax something this smooth out of a brasher initial product. At 63.21%, this isn't shy on the heat, but the sweeter fruit and spice profile help tame the burn.
Price: $99.99 Add To Cart

2018 Hanzell "Sebella" Sonoma Valley Chardonnay
Review Date: 08-02-2019
Consistently one of the staff favorite Domestic Chardonnays, the 2018 Hanzell "Sebella" wowed us again with its right down the middle flavor profile. This is one of the few Chardonnays on the shelf I would feel confident giving to any customer because it hits all elements so perfectly without skewing too far in any direction. With fermentation being completed in stainless steel tanks and aging done in neutral barrel, there is no oak profile for this wine to hide behind like many other wineries rely on. Hanzell also blocks malolactic fermentation, giving the super bright, fresh profile that the K&L staff really gets excited about. I almost hate to admit it, but I like this offering better than their more expensive "Estate" bottling because it so approachable and delicious simultaneously.
Top Value!
Price: $29.95 Add To Cart

2016 Xanadu Estate Cabernet Sauvignon Margaret River Western Australia
Review Date: 08-02-2019
Xanadu has been in the winemaking game in Margaret River for decades now and really has got a great hold on what it means to make a Cabernet that is distinctly that region. The eucalyptus plays a huge role in the taste of these wines and gives it a unique flavor very specific to this site. Very few places can claim the influence of terroir like Margaret River can. Fine tannin and fresh acidity give this wine nice structure and length, and while there is some dark fruit notes you expect of Cabernet, this is not a soft, jammy, ripe-style wine. It is bold and savory and a fantastic example of this phenomenal region.
Price: $24.99 Add To Cart

2018 Sesta di Sopra Sangiovese Toscana
Review Date: 08-02-2019
The amount of labor and devotion the owners of Sesta di Sopra put into their wines is unbelievable. These are always some of the most exciting wines coming out of Brunello and I'm psyched we have an unclassified one from them for 2018. Raspberry and strawberry dominate the nose, but the palate carries hints of moist earth and leather typical of Montalcino. Lighter in body and style than the Rosso or Brunello, this is a perfect weeknight dinner wine ready to drink now. It shows itself best with food, but can be drunk on its own if open for a day.
Top Value!
Price: $16.99 Add To Cart

2018 TWR (Te Whare Ra) "Toru" White Field Blend Marlborough
Review Date: 08-02-2019
Not only has TWR long been my favorite producer out of New Zealand, but this Toru is the ultimate summer sipper to carry you through the warm days. The Gewurz, Riesling, Pinot Gris blend makes a light -bodied, but super flavorful wine, with fresh flavors and low alcohol for those warm weather evenings. Made in an off-dry style, this wine pairs particularly well with Indian and Thai cuisines, but makes a fantastic apertif as well.

Douglas Laing's "The Gauldrons" Batch #1 Limited Edition Campbeltown Blended Malt Scotch Whisky (750ml)
Review Date: 07-30-2019
This particular bottling really inspired me as an ode to what an amazing region Campbeltown is. A "Blended Malt", the whisky components in this bottle come from the three Campbeltown distilleries. Once nearly declassified for having so few distilleries, Campbeltown represents a very unique area of Scotland and its whiskys taste like none other. The sweet, smooth body, light iodine and saline notes, accompanied by just a touch of peat smoke is something special, and I'm proud of Douglas Laing for showcasing this beautiful spot.
Price: $59.99 Add To Cart

The 86 Co. Cana Brava 3 Year Old Panama White Rum (750ml)
Review Date: 07-30-2019
This is the perfect rum for cocktails. It does have a touch of natural sweetness on its own, but thankfully can mix well with many cocktail ingredients without becoming sickly or overwhelmed. A classic-style white rum, there is nothing over-complicated or funky here. This would be fantastic for Daiquiris and fruit-forward beverages.
Top Value!
Price: $14.99 Add To Cart
WE 90

The 86 Co. Cabeza Tequila (750ml)
Review Date: 07-30-2019
The inexpensive tequilas are normally that way for a reason, as they need a lot of cocktail ingredients to cover up their mediocre taste. This is not the case with the 86 Co Cabeza Tequila. This is the ultimate cocktail tequila, though I wouldn't be opposed to serving it on its own. Super bright and fresh with tons of citrus notes on the nose, this has margarita written all over it. The mouthfeel is quite creamy and a little rich, with nice weight and a slightly spicy end. I wish this one was hanging around longer, but I will definitely enjoy it while it lasts.
Top Value!
Price: $19.99 Add To Cart

Bardstown Bourbon Company - Discovery Series #1 Kentucky Straight Bourbon Whiskey (750ml)
Review Date: 07-19-2019
This is one of the most phenomenal bourbons I have ever tasted. With a brand-new, state-of-the art-facility and the reputation as the premier "custom crush" distillery in the area, the Bardstown Bourbon Company has spared no expense in bringing us an epic whiskey. The BBC even prints its mash bill on the bottle, which is very uncommon in bourbon, where many try to keep their recipes secret. The nose is a blend of mint and perfume and the palate is incredibly smooth and slightly candied. The new frontier of bourbon is here and Bardstown Bourbon Company is leading the way.
Price: $129.99 Add To Cart

Barrell Bourbon "K&L Exclusive" 14 Year Old Cask Strength Single Barrel #E522 Straight Bourbon Whiskey (750ml)
Review Date: 07-19-2019
Bottled exclusively for K&L and made at George Dickel, this Bourbon is a great addition to our Tennessee whiskeys. Bottled at cask strength, this guy shows lots of chocolate, muscovado and apple crumble notes on the nose. Though it is rich and sweet in the mouthfeel, the cask strength nature keeps it from being cloying and offers a toasted sourdough element. The 14 year aging process has help it to blend seamlessly and given spice and length. A touch of citrus at the end gives it an unexpected lift and leaves you wanting just a little bit more.
Price: $109.99 Add To Cart

2016 Marietta "Game Trail" Estate Yorkville Highlands Cabernet Sauvignon
Review Date: 07-11-2019
There is a lot more power and structure to this wine than I expected. I can see why my colleague Ryan Woodhouse thought it would pass for a Howell Mountain Cab. I have always been a fan of the Marietta wines, but am used to drinking the more fruit-forward Zin's and Rhone blends. This is great new side of the winery for me to explore and I will definitely make sure this is put in front of as many customers as possible, especially at this price point. In a world where CA Cab has become crazy expensive, this a refreshing and fantastic find!
Top Value!
Price: $29.95 Add To Cart
VN 94

Suntory "Hibiki Japanese Harmony" Japanese Whisky (750ml)
Review Date: 07-11-2019
I was particularly excited to try the 'Hibiki Harmony' since it seems all of the Japanese whisky's are becoming so popular they sell out before most people get a crack at them. There is a definite sherry note present on the nose, and the palate is light, yet rich simultaneously. The Japanese whisky's generally seem to show as more elegant and prettier than those from other countries and this one fits that description perfectly. Though we did receive good stock this time, it won't last with the following the 'Harmony' has. Don't miss this opportunity because it probably won't come again and it's only going to become harder to acquire.
Price: $74.99 Add To Cart
WE 91 WA 90

2017 Hartford Court Russian River Valley Pinot Noir
Review Date: 07-11-2019
I was really impressed by this bottle. Even though Russian River is traditionally one of the cooler climate growing sights in Northern California, producers have been making riper and fatter wines lately. Not so with Hartford Court. This wine is very fresh and pretty with a medium weight palate and great expression of fruit. I think the understated nature of the label often sees this wine overlooked when compared to some of the garish cartoon labels that might capture attention these days, but luckily the nature of this wine speaks for itself. I will definitely be adding this one to the top of my list for my recommended Russian River Valley Pinot Noirs.
Price: $29.95 Add To Cart
JD 95

The 86 Co. Ford's Gin (750ml)
Review Date: 07-11-2019
With most Gin's sitting in the $30+ price range these days, it's really nice to see one of this quality at an affordable everyday price, because I will be drinking it everyday this Summer. Super smooth and full of citrus, jasmine, with a slight sweetness from the wheat, this may be the best London Dry Gin on our shelves.
Price: $24.99 Add To Cart

2015 Bois-Malot, Bordeaux Supérieur
Review Date: 07-05-2019
Bois Malot has become one of our top-selling Bordeaux's at K&L and for good reason. The quality of the wine you receive for this price point is mind-blowing. Still family run with a small and humble winemaking team, this label showcases the best of Bordeaux fruit. While the 2015 is still a little tight and not yet as approachable as the 2009 and 2010 were, this is sure to be stunner before too long. And at this price point, you can feel good about buying it by the case to hold onto some and drink some now.
Price: $11.99 Add To Cart

2017 Flowers Sonoma Coast Pinot Noir
Review Date: 07-05-2019
The remote location of Flowers on the very edge of the Sonoma Coast appellation always results in unique, terroir-driven Pinot Noir. Light, elegant, and ethereal Pinots are the benchmark of this producer and they continue to stun time and time again. Head winemaker Chantal Forthun has years of experience working in this site-specific region and knows how to coax a beautiful wine out of this sometimes difficult environment. This is a K&L staple for good reason as it continues to impress staff and customers year after year.
Price: $44.95 Add To Cart
JS 94 VN 90

2016 Craggy Range "Te Kahu" Bordeaux Blend Gimblett Gravels Hawke's Bay
Review Date: 07-02-2019
Craggy Range has always been one of the top producers in the Gimblett Gravels, the premier spot for Bordeaux varietals in New Zealand. The fact that you can get a wine as complex and intricate as this for $20 is still mind-blowing to me. The rocky soils push the vines to their limit and help produce great concentration and nuance. Definitely more Bordeaux than American Cab in style, this wine is earthy, spicy, and a true magnifying glass into this unique region.
Top Value!
Price: $19.99 Add To Cart
DC 97 JS 93

McKenzie Bottled-in-Bond Wheated Bourbon Whiskey (750ml)
Review Date: 06-05-2019
Could this be the best wheated Bourbon in the store? You need to try it to find out, but everyone at K&L is on board with that statement. With some of the big names in wheated Bourbon, like Pappy and Weller, now impossible to come by, it's really reassuring to know we can still find something of this incredible quality and taste available. It's great to be able to support the craft distillers in this era of giant conglomerates and McKenzie's attention to detail and dedication to this spirit is evident in this bottling. Not too shabby at all.
Price: $44.99 Add To Cart

2018 Zudugarai "Amats" Getariako Txakolina
Review Date: 05-31-2019
I couldn't design a more perfect Summer white wine than a Txakolina, and this one from Amats really delivers. Light, fresh, a little zippy and low alcohol. With a slight spritz from some carbonation, this a great pool-side sipper for those long, warm days. Spain's answer to Vinho Verde, this is a great pairing to veggies, seafood, and charcuterie, all the things we love in a California Summer.
Price: $14.99 Add To Cart

2017 Stags' Leap Winery Napa Valley Chardonnay
Review Date: 05-31-2019
This wine manages to strike that perfect balance that we all search for in California Chardonnay that has been made well. It has just a touch of oak, though doesn't taste toasted or vanillin. The oak highlights the white flower and citrus qualities in the wines and helps polish the body into something soft, yet lively and refreshing. I didn't expect this price point on a Chardonnay from a winery that has been in the Napa Valley for so long, let alone a wine of this caliber under $20. Stags' Leap has been working these vineyards for decades and they certainly know how coax with this precious crop into something delicious.
Top Value!
Price: $19.95 Add To Cart
JS 95

2016 Skyline (Thomas Fogarty) California Red Blend
Review Date: 05-31-2019
This is my new favorite easy-drinking red in the store! What a fantastic blend from Nathan Kandler, one of the top winemakers in California. The team at Thomas Fogarty knows how to find great fruit fromlegendary vineyards in the area and they blended it seemlessly into this under-$15 beauty. This is going to be your ultimate BBQ wine this Summer, but has enough body and interest to really work for any season. Fans of the Sobon Rocky Top and Marietta Lot wines should definitely give this one a go.
Top Value!
Price: $14.95 Add To Cart

Springbank 22 Year Old "Sovereign Wax Top - K&L Exclusive" Single Barrel Cask Strength Single Malt Whisky (750ml)
Review Date: 05-30-2019
Springbank is already regarded as one of our favorite distilleries at K&L for their dedication to the labor and time they devote to their whisky. Because we already hold them in such regard, we are always particularly psyched to see these tiny single barrel offerings hit our shelves. With a big, chewy middle (thanks to bourbon barrel aging) and the perfect intertwining of spice and light smoke, this is one of the more unique Scotch's we will offer this year. The smoke carries an earthy, not petroly character, which integrates seemlessly with the other characters. The cask strength brings drive to these flavors and makes for one pretty damn good drink.
Price: $399.99 Add To Cart

Clan Denny Craigellachie 10 Year Old Single Malt Scotch Whisky (750ml)
Review Date: 05-24-2019
A smashing deal for a single malt Scotch from such a well-respected producer. A little lighter and more elegant than the Fettercairn, this offers a great entry-point into Scotch without having to shell out big bucks. With tons of flavor and a long, smooth finish, this is a great one to share with friends.
Price: $44.99 Add To Cart

Clan Denny Fettercairn 10 Year Old Single Malt Scotch Whisky (750ml)
Review Date: 05-24-2019
This is a fantastic bottling for anyone looking to start exploring the world of Scotch Whisky. Super flavorful with rich butterscotch notes and a nice spice kick in the back. With a fantastic price point for a ten year old single malt scotch, this is the perfect Summer offering.
Price: $44.99 Add To Cart

Mortlach 12 Year Old "The Wee Witchie" Single Malt Scotch Whisky 750ml (ships like a 1.5 L bottle due to shape)
Review Date: 05-18-2019
Mortlach is known for producing some beefy, big whiskys, and though the 12 year is certainly not lacking in power, there is an elegance and lift to it I haven't seen from Mortlach in the past. A rich mouthfeel thanks to the use of French and American oak brings lingering notes of citrus, light spice, and subtle toast. There is no obvious peatiness, only perhaps a very subtle hint of smoke from the barrel char. The distillery style shows through on the finish, which packs some power, savory game notes, and hints of leather. Overall a great offering from Mortlach at a pretty unbeatable price.
Price: $49.99 Add To Cart

Mortlach 16 Year-Old "Distiller's Dram" Single Malt Scotch Whisky (750ml) (ships like a 1.5 L bottle due to shape)
Review Date: 05-18-2019
It’s almost unheard of to find a 16 year old sherry-cask whisky of this caliber from such a well-respected producer at this price point. Spicy, dark, bold, and complex this is Mortlach at its finest. This bottling is a little meatier and with more chocolate notes than the 12 year because of the use of straight sherry cask. Dark, nearly dried fruits meld seamlessly with leather and tobacco notes. The smoke quotient is quite low here, but there is a roasted note coming through. This is complex, smooth, and a great middle ground between the lightness of the 12 year and gaminess of the 20 year.
Price: $99.99 Add To Cart
WA 91

Mortlach 20 Year Old "Cowie's Blue Seal" Single Malt Scotch Whisky (750ml) (ships like a 1.5L bottle due to shape)
Review Date: 05-18-2019
This is one of the truest expressions of a Mortlach whisky, with subtle power, perfectly melded characters, and a rich, lingering palate. Carrying the most umami notes of the three expressions, the meatiness is well balanced by dark plumy fruits and Christmas spice. Blackberry and cacao lead and these flavors are backed by earth, leather, and a very subtle barrel char. Though this is a bit more of a splurge, it’s not too hard to justify from such a classic, highly-respected producer.
Price: $199.99 Add To Cart

Cotswolds Single Malt Whisky (750ml)
Review Date: 05-18-2019
There is a high level of dedication to the purity of the product from Cotswolds Distillery and this Single Malt Whisky is no exception. Because this is the first ever whisky coming out of the Cotswolds, they wanted to make sure it showed its terroir by locally sourcing ingredients. Aged in first-fill ex-bourbon barrels and red wine casks, the resulting spirit is fruity, with a touch of malty richness. The more sweet preliminary flavors of butterscotch appear on the nose, while the palate shows more influence form the barrels, bringing dark red fruits and deep caramel. If you're looking for something different and a great in between for Bourbon and Scotch, you need to pick up a bottle of this.
Price: $54.99 Add To Cart

Krug "Grande Cuvée" 167 Ème Édition Brut Champagne
Review Date: 05-02-2019
Though 2011 (the base wines for this edition) may not have been the ideal year, that means no other high-end Krug bottlings, such as the Grand Cuvee, were made that year. Instead, all that gorgeous fruit went into this bottle. Krug enthusiasts may seek out the great vintages, but they may be missing out on something as spectacular as this. I expected the Krug 167 to be much tighter out of the gate as its latest release, but it was in fact the opposite. It was open and toasty with the perfect integration of fruit to richness. Krug is without a doubt on top of the list for almost every staff member at K&L for high-end Champagne. They have never missed the mark on quality and the 167 Edition is no exception.

2015 Rippon "Mature Vine" Pinot Noir Lake Wanaka Central Otago (Biodynamic)
Review Date: 04-18-2019
Coming from what is continuously lauded as some of the best Pinot Noir vineyards in the world, this vintage from Rippon oozes grace and complexity. Central Otago as a wine region has only been around for about 30 years, which makes the incredible perfection of this wine even more impressive. The nose hits you right away as Central Otago, but the palate shows less dark fruit than many others in the region. The fruit is juicy red and very pretty with a hint of dusky tannin to keep the length. Winemaker Nick Mills is truly one of the best in New Zealand and runs the winery with a lot of consideration and care. The sloping vineyard land helps create structured, yet ethereal Pinots. If you have yet to try the Rippon wines, do not miss this vintage.

Cotswolds Dry Gin (750ml)
Review Date: 04-17-2019
There is a lot of hand labor that goes into producing this gin and the taste certainly reflects those efforts. They peel hundreds of limes and grapefruits every week to get that fresh citrus note in there and all other botanicals are hand-selected for purity of expression. This gin is creamy and lively, showcasing floral and citrus notes, with just a touch of spice. Don't be alarmed if your gin turns cloudy after adding tonic or ice - that's just the incredible amount of botanical oils left in for phenomenal flavor.
Price: $34.99 Add To Cart

Whistle Pig 10 Year Old "K&L Exclusive" 113.9 Proof Barrel #2346 Single Barrel Cask Strength Straight Rye Whiskey (750ml)
Review Date: 04-09-2019
The classic rye spice unabashedly shines through in this single barrel selection from Whistle Pig. The streak of sweetness present shows graham cracker and cinnamon notes, but there is a nice kick of pepper in the back palate to make this very interesting. With a little more power than the other barrels, this one shows a ton of character and life.
Price: $89.99 Add To Cart

Whistle Pig 10 Year Old "K&L Exclusive" 111.3 Proof Barrel 2380 Single Barrel Cask Strength Straight Rye Whiskey (750ml)
Review Date: 04-06-2019
If you are after a creamy, smooth style of Rye Whiskey, this single barrel of Whistle Pig is the one for you. I expected something much rougher around the edges, but was very pleasantly surprised to find a refined, lighter-style whiskey. After tasting a few of our individual barrels from Whistle Pig, I am so excited how differently each one is presenting. It's fun to discover how warehouse location can make such a profound difference. Pick up a couple and try them out for yourself.
Price: $89.99 Add To Cart

2005 Bruichladdich Peated (Port Charlotte) 12 Year Old "Alexander Murray" Cask Strength Small Batch Single Malt Whisky (750ml)
Review Date: 03-28-2019
Even though Bruichladdich is not normally peated, they may want to consider doing a peated batch under their own label more often given how incredibly smooth and elegant this offering came out. Toasted malt, hazelnut, and sweet caramel show most prominently here, with just a touch of smoke that seems to intertwine itself seamlessly with the other characters, rather than overwhelm them. The very subtle peat note builds up the other flavors to give incredible depth and intricacy. This is truly a unique bottle.
Price: $99.99 Add To Cart

2005 Laphroaig 12 Year Old "Alexander Murray" Cask Strength Small Batch Single Malt Whisky (750ml)
Review Date: 03-28-2019
There is no shortage of flavor here -- this offering of Alexander Murray certainly packs a punch. The classic flavors of salt, iodine, and the slight medicinal quality shine through, accompanied by a hefty dose of peat. Fans of Laphroaig will not be disappointed with the rich, intense, refined notes of this whisky.
Price: $99.99 Add To Cart

2015 Leeuwin Estate "Art Series" Chardonnay Margaret River Western Australia
Review Date: 03-09-2019
One of the most acclaimed Australian Chardonnays is back with a new vintage and, dare I say, it may be even better than last year's. Full of mineral-drive, thanks to no malolactic fermentation, this wine stands up to great Burgundies in ageability and precision. The classic hallmark flavors of orchard fruit, mandarin, and white flowers are all present, accompanied by a lush undertone of oak. The palate is clean and sharp with a long finish, indicating this will definitely hold up with cellar aging. Robert Mondavi certainly knew what he was doing when he declared this site in Margaret River perfect for Chardonnay in the 1970s, as evident by this undeniably good wine.

2016 Scattered Peaks Napa Valley Cabernet Sauvignon
Review Date: 03-06-2019
With fruit from Napa only getting more and more expensive, it's becoming increasingly difficult if not impossible to find a good Cabernet under the $45 mark. That's why I found the Scattered Peaks, with such an illustrious pedigree behind it, an almost unreal deal. Coming from one of the most experienced winemakers in the Valley, this wine holds all the elements of a high-end, complete Cab; no wonder last vintage was one of our best sellers! This is a medium-bodied Cab with notes of blackberry, cedar, and soft cocoa melding seamlessly together. Drinkable now, this Cab is sure to impress as a gift if you can bear to give it away.
Price: $29.95 Add To Cart

2017 Tensley "Colson Canyon Vineyard" Santa Barbara County Syrah
Review Date: 03-06-2019
There have been few domestic Syrah's I've tried lately that have impressed me as much as this one. The classic dark fruit character is present and shining, but I was struck by how vibrant the mouthfeel was and how lifted the palate. The oak is in perfect balance and aids in rounding out the structure. I love that Tensley does so many renditions of Syrah as each has their own unique style and traits. "Colson Canyon" is a particularly intriguing one.

2018 Mount Edward Pinot Noir Rosé Central Otago
Review Date: 02-20-2019
Made from Pinot Noir grapes from one of Mount Edward's most esteemed vineyards, Muirkirk, this is our first 2018 Rosé into the store! This block is picked specifically for Rosé (no saignée here) and is light, delicate, and refreshing in its acidity. Not meant to be sweet or fruity, this has a beautiful light color and sophisticated, smooth texture. Rosé makes a great food-pairing wine any time of year and this offering form Mount Edward is no exception. Mount Edward is one of our most exciting Direct Imports and winemaker Duncan Forsyth is one of the first winemakers in the Central Otago region. The unique continental climate of Otago combined with the higher than average sunshine penetration create grapes that are physiologically ripe without becoming overly sweet. The schist soils build an incredible line of acidity making this Rosé lip-smacking and undeniably delectable.
Top Value!
Price: $14.99 Add To Cart
JS 90 - 91

2015 Bodegas Norton "Privada - Family Blend" Red Blend Mendoza
Review Date: 02-20-2019
While Mendoza is known for their single varietal Malbec, this bottling shows they can do a pretty killer red blend with the varietal as well. Rich in style, but with a healthy backbone of structure and acid for balance, I was impressed with the layers in this wine. The Malbec gives spice and dark fruits, the Merlot adds some softness, and the Cabernet gives a little kick of tannin to give a longer finish. This will make a great crowd-pleasing Bordeaux blend.

2016 Bishop's Peak San Luis Obispo Pinot Noir
Review Date: 02-20-2019
There is a lot of fruit in this Pinot, but the medium weight body means the fruit is delicate and lifted, not overly ripe and flat. Bishop's Peak is one of my favorite values in Domestic wines and offers a lot of complexity for the price. This would be a fantastic choice for a house red or a party as it is easy-drinking and sure to please everyone.
Price: $17.99 Add To Cart
JS 93 VN 91

2017 Bishop's Peak San Luis Obispo County Chardonnay
Review Date: 02-20-2019
I've always found the Bishop's Peak wines to offer a surplus of flavor for the cost. This Chardonnay is bright and fresh, with an uplifting amount of acidity and truly a lot of intricacy. San Luis Obispo is offering a lot of value and is a great alternative from the ever-increasing prices of NorCal wines.
Price: $14.99 Add To Cart
VN 91 WE 90

2012 Glenelly "Estate Reserve" Bordeaux Blend Stellenbosch
Review Date: 02-19-2019
I'm always excited to find wines from producers who venture out beyond their own backyard to across the globe, because it means they are so passionate and believe that wine region to be so good, they will go to great lengths to make wine there. This exquisite bottling is one such example of that, with May de Lencquesaing of Pichon Longueville Comtesse de Lalande fame, leaving behind Bordeaux to explore the growing South African wine industry. She has taken her years of expertise in Bordeaux and has translated that to this powerful and intricate red blend in Stellenbosch. Anytime someone makes the move from one of the most renowned wine regions in the world to invest in a place she finds to be more exciting, I sit up to take notice of what drew this person to their new passion. This bottling is a delicious blend of classic Bordeaux flavors of cedar, black fruits, and leather, with some quintessentially South African flavors of dried herb, tobacco, and blackberry. The addition of Syrah adds nice softness and fruit and provides a needed contrast to the powerful structure and savory characters of the Cabernet Sauvignon and Petit Verdot. If one of the leading ladies of the wine industry thought this was a wine worth making, I am certainly excited to get it into as many hands as possible.
Top Value!
Price: $19.99 Add To Cart
JS 91 WS 90

Page: 1 2 3 next

More Favorites

Stefanie Juelsgaard is also a fan of the following items. To become a fan of Stefanie Juelsgaard, click here to join Stefanie Juelsgaard's Personal Sommelier Service.
2016 Emerson Brown Napa Valley Cabernet Sauvignon ($39.99)