Staff Favorites - Stefanie Juelsgaard

Stefanie Juelsgaard
Stefanie Juelsgaard  | Send Email  |   Subscribe to My Sommelier Service


Reviews

Page: 1 2 3 next
2014 d'Arenberg "The Dead Arm" Shiraz McLaren Vale South Australia
Review Date: 10-17-2018
Any winery that takes the time and man power to foot tread every one of their wines, definitely takes winemaking seriously. Named after the Eutypa fungus that affects some vineyards, the 'Dead Arm' refers to one half of the vine that rots and falls off, while the fruit that lives on the remaining arm grows more concentrated and complex. That effect is very evident in this wine, as it showcases unbelievable power and structure. This is not one of the Shiraz fruit-bombs you may associate with Australia. This fruit comes from cooler-site McLaren Vale and the lift and tannin in the wine certainly showcase it's terroir. D'Arenberg is a highly sought after winery in Australia and after tasting this wine, it's not hard to see why.

2015 Querciabella Chianti Classico
Review Date: 10-17-2018
2015 was a warm vintage in Chianti and you will definitely find a broader than normal palate in this wine from the riper fruit, but it certainly does not lack acid or structure. Juicy dark fruit complements the drying tannin and makes this wine one you can drink now or hold onto. This would go perfectly with a steak or cream-based dish.

2016 Fèlsina Chianti Classico
Review Date: 10-17-2018
One of the things I love about Italy is the vintage variations can be pretty stark, and they don't try to alter this by sticking to a pre-fab recipe. While the 2015 Felsina Chianti Classico was rich and supple, the 2016 is markedly different. Dry, spicy, more complex and structured, this is one you can definitely hold onto for a decade or more if you want. There is a nice red and black fruit balance to offset some of that power, and if you are drinking it soon, a little decanting wouldn't hurt.
Price: $19.99 Add To Cart
JS 93

2017 Abbazia di Novacella Schiava Alto Adige
Review Date: 10-17-2018
What a fantastic wine to drink to usher in Fall. Light bodies and fruit, spicy and aromatic, and little herbal and crunchy on the finish. It seems a little Spätburgunder-like to me. A great interesting and tasty red at a killer price point.
Top Value!
Price: $14.99 Add To Cart

2009 Alexandre Le Brun "Cuvée Dilection" Brut Rosé Champagne
Review Date: 10-16-2018
Most people would not take the risk of doing a vintage Champagne in the warm year that 2009 was. That's what makes Alexandre Le Brun's wines so fun and interesting, he makes such a small production that he can experiment and create something incredible like this rosé. He gets great concentration in this wine, thank to the addition of 15% still red wine as well as old vines. The 116 year old vines produce fruit with great concentration and length and add incredible complexity. The Chardonnay keeps this wine fresh and lifted and an elegant, medium body Champagne.
Price: $79.99 Add To Cart

2007 Alexandre Le Brun "Cuvée Fascination" Brut Blanc de Blancs Champagne
Review Date: 10-16-2018
This is a unique take on Blanc de Blanc and one of the more complex and intriguing ones on our shelves. Grown in very pure chalk, this wine retains a natural freshness and high acidity. The winemakers does a great job of balancing that by aging his Chardonnay in barrel, to round it out and lend some lovely toasty quality. When Bollinger buys he majority of your fruit, it must mean you are going something right as a growers. He is doing something very right as a winemaker as well.
Price: $69.99 Add To Cart

Solemme "Nature de Solemme" Blanc de Blancs 1er Cru Brut Nature Champagne
Review Date: 10-16-2018
The most crisp and high acid of the three Solemme bottlings, this wine exhibits every characteristic to make it fresh and invigorating. When you combine 100% Chardonnay with no malolactic fermentation and no dosage, the result could be dangerously harsh and to tart for consumption. That is not the case here. The wine is zippy, but in a refreshing, stimulating way and the winemaker manages to hit just the right balance for the Brut Nature style. A great food Champagne, this is one I'd be ecstatic to bring to any dinner party.
Price: $59.99 Add To Cart

Solemme "Ambre de Solemme" 1er Cru Brut Nature Champagne
Review Date: 10-16-2018
When our Champagne buyer thinks a wine is good enough to bring in hundreds of cases after one sip, I sit up and take notice. It can be scary taking a chance on a new producer, but when you know the wines are that good, it's worth the risk. The Solemme wines fit this description. The care the winemaker puts in is evident through his use of biodynamics, which clearly indicated he cares about his vine quality and health. This particular bottling may have been my favorite of the three, not least of which because it possesses a beautiful rose gold color. With floral notes and bright acidity to bring a fresh, crisp palate, it's made all the more special by being a rare 100% Pinot Meunier bottling.
Price: $69.99 Add To Cart

2014 Ramey "Platt Vineyard" Sonoma Coast Chardonnay
Review Date: 10-16-2018
If you are looking for an elegant, expressive single vineyard Domestic Chardonnay, look no further than this vibrant example from Ramey. A little nutty and briochy from the lees contact are a great counter-balance to the fresh fruit and bright acidity present. I was very pleasantly surprised by the long finish and encompassing mouthfeel. I've always turned to Ramey as a great go-to reliable California Chardonnay, and I'm very pleased to add this one to my recommended list.
Price: Hidden View Price
RP 95 WE 93

2015 Black Slate "Porrera" Priorat
Review Date: 10-16-2018
This is a serious wine with plenty to ponder over for only $16. Very dark fruit dominates and the mouthfeel is soft, but lifted and medium bodied. Priorat is well-known for producing richer, more fruit-forward wines, but this example from one of the cooler towns also brings structure and life. It's pretty rare to be able to do a multi-village comparison from an area like this, but we are fortunate enough to be able to carry a couple examples of this from Priorat. Try this and the 2016 Black Slate "Escala Dei" Vi de la Vila Priorat side by side for a fun tasting.
Price: $15.99 Add To Cart
JD 93 RP 91

2015 Greywacke Pinot Noir Marlborough
Review Date: 10-16-2018
Delicious, dark, opulent fruit dominates this take on Marlborough Pinot Noir from former Cloudy Bay winemaker Kevin Judd. Kevin has spent many years in the area and knows how to make a crowd-pleasing Pinot. Silky tannin, notes of Christmas spices, and dark cherry meld together seamlessly in a lush, unctuous manner. The clay soils of the Southern Valleys produce Pinot's of greater heft and weight than other regions in Marlborough and that holds true in this bottling. Although Sauvignon Blanc is the flagship of Greywacke, their Pinot Noir is so special it should not be missed.

Solemme "Terre Solemme" 1er Cru Brut Champagne
Review Date: 10-10-2018
Comprised of 55% Pinot Meunier, 25% Pinot Noir, and 20% Chardonnay, the Solemme "Terre Solemme" is one of my favorite new additions to the K&L shelf. It's wonderful to see the move toward biodynamics hit Champagne and I really do believe it makes a difference in the quality of the wine, when the fruit is treated with care and natural products. At 6 g/L dosage it hits the perfect balance between fresh crispness and rounded softness. The premier cru vineyard origins of the fruit don't hurt either.
Price: $39.99 Add To Cart

2011 Michel Arnould "Memoire de Vignes" Brut Champagne
Review Date: 10-10-2018
When you come across any wine from 50+ year-old vines from a Grand Cru region, it's pretty much a given that this is going to be a good one. When you throw in a world-class producer like Michel Arnould to make this wine, there should be nothing holding you back from picking up this special bottle. Great concentrated fruit, with nice mineral lift and a little toast on the finish, this bottle shown beautiful balance and poise.
Price: $59.99 Add To Cart

2012 Alexandre Le Brun "Cuvée Revelation" Brut Champagne
Review Date: 10-10-2018
Not only is it rare in Champagne to find a bottling of 100% Pinot Meunier, but to also find it in a declared vintage year when every grape counts makes a unicorn wine. Alexander Le Brun only runs on passion. While he sells 75% of his seven acres to Bollinger (a testament to the quality of his grapes), the rest he keeps to make a few wines of his own. This is one of the most fascinating Champagnes on the shelf right now, showcasing beautiful richness and balance. All old vine and small barrel fermentation, there is nothing typical about this wine, which makes it all the more special.
Price: $79.99 Add To Cart

2008 Fallet-Dart Vintage Extra Brut Champagne
Review Date: 10-10-2018
It is pretty incredible how 3 g/L of residual sugar dosage can make such a huge difference in the taste of the wine. While the 2008 Fallet-Dart with 7 g/L dosage shows a little richer and more generous, this bottling in lean, fresh, bright, and crisp. Some Extra Brut's are so lean they are too rough on their own, but I don't think that's the case with this bottling. While it does exhibit powerful acid, there is enough fat here to keep it in sippable territory. With food or not, this was a fantastic bottling in a highly lauded vintage from one of my favorite producers.
Price: $39.99 Add To Cart

2013 Bagueri Ribolla Gialla Slovenia
Review Date: 10-10-2018
There is a fantastically intriguing nose to this wine that manages to combine honey and saline notes seamlessly. Fresh apricot and other stone fruits shine through, while a line of minerality helps bring zippiness and energy to the wine. With medium acidity and a light body, this makes a fantastic food wine and I can certainly see why they pair it with some cream-based dishes. This will be a lovely white for Fall.
Price: $24.99 Add To Cart
DC 97

2016 Jeff Carrel "Les Darons" Languedoc Rouge
Review Date: 10-10-2018
Not overly complex or complicated, this wine is a fresh, fruit-forward offering from Languedoc that is sure to appease your dinner guests. Medium bodied with dark fruit and an easy finish make this an appealing wine. Dusky tannin help the balance the black cherry and raspberry character of the Grenache and a fine line of acidity adds freshness and life.
Price: $11.99 Add To Cart
JD 91

2017 Sigalas Assyrtiko Santorini Greece
Review Date: 10-10-2018
This vintage shows a little richer side of Assyrtiko with notes of orchard fruit and white flowers. A fun contrast to the Gaia Estate version, this rape shows a wide range of styles and flavors, all of which would make fantastic food pairing whites. I can't wait to explore this region and varietal more and have only been impressed by the offerings and flavor profiles so far.
Price: $31.99 Add To Cart
RP 93

2017 Gaia Estate "Thalassitis" Assyrtiko Santorini Greece
Review Date: 10-10-2018
The rich, nutty nose is the first thing to hit you in this wine, but the underlying palate is quite different with super fresh, bright acidity and citrus character. The high minerality and salinity of this wine undoubtedly are due to the island climate and a slight umami character peeks through in the end. This wine is different from most I've ever had, in a great way. If you are looking for a food-friendly white that diverges from the regular Sancerre or Chardonnay, please try this one.
Price: $31.99 Add To Cart
RP 95 WE 90

2013 Andrew Will "Sorella" Horse Heaven Hills Red Blend
Review Date: 10-09-2018
This is a lovely, juicy, approachable take on a Washington Bordeaux blend. Not falling into either the rich, high-alcohol Napa camp, nor the brambly, lean Bordeaux camp, this wine showcases great balance of fruit with herbal and savory character. Lasting just long enough while not being heavy or bitter on the palate, this wine would go perfectly with steak dinner.

2016 Casa Castillo Monastrell Jumilla
Review Date: 10-09-2018
There are a lot of interesting elements to this wine and hard to believe there can be so much complexity for $13! There is a fantastic balance of acid and fruit here and it wouldn't be Monastrell without a kick of structure in the back. The combination of concrete and barrel fermentation help round the sharp edges of this wine without adding any oak taste that would drown out the dark fruit. Fantastic wine!
Top Value!
Price: $12.99 Add To Cart
RP 91

2012 La Fortuna Brunello di Montalcino Riserva
Review Date: 10-09-2018
It was love for me at the first scent of this wine. There is such an incredibly life and energy to this wine with rich fruit on the nose, bright acidity on the palate, and vibrant tannins in the back. This is one of the best Brunello's I've had in a while, unsurprising coming from such a consistent and stellar producer.
Price: $79.99 Add To Cart
WS 97

2016 Baricci Rosso di Montalcino
Review Date: 10-09-2018
Perhaps more a classic take on Rosso di Montalcino, there is not as much rich fruit in this bottling as there was in the last vintage of Baricci. This year shows itself as more herbal and savory and is still quite tight with a good amount of backbone behind it. Baricci has always been one of my favorite Montalcino producers and I will be picking up a few of these to cellar, though with a little decanting I wouldn't hesitate to open one soon either.
Price: $24.99 Add To Cart

2014 Tenuta Roveglia "Vigne di Catullo" Lugana Riserva
Review Date: 10-09-2018
There is a lot of wine on offer in this bottling from one of my favorite Italian white producers. Light citrus fruit, saline, and mineral aspects are well-balances by a richer textured, creamier mouthfeel. Super fresh with a long finish and mild honey phenolics make this one I will be recommending to customers again and again.
Top Value!

2015 Framingham Marlborough Pinot Noir
Review Date: 10-03-2018
It's almost impossible to find a wine of this complexity and breadth at this price point from such an incredibly respected producer. This is not a simple, fruity-style Marlborough Pinot. It is deep, with herbal and wood notes, with dark berries dominating the palate. These complex notes do not add extra weight however and the palate elegantly dances and inexplicably remains silky. This is always one I look forward to seeing come off the boat and would make the perfect Fall and Thanksgiving wine.
Top Value!
Price: Hidden View Price
WE 91 RP 90

2017 Bodega Chacra "Cincuenta y Cinco" Pinot Noir Rio Negro
Review Date: 09-18-2018
This is truly a complex wine, undoubtedly sue to the older vine age, not often found in Argentina. There is a heafty amount of fine tannin and structure here, though it comes across as power, not bitterness. Darker red fruits are predominant and no hint of oak or vanilla is present, indicating they selected the right type and quality of barrel to round the whole cluster edges, while imparting none of its own flavor. This is a sophisticated Pinot Noir that I believe would be great with grilled meats and veggies.
Price: $49.99 Add To Cart
JS 97 RP 97

Jean de La Fontaine "La Flatteuse" Brut Rosé Champagne
Review Date: 09-18-2018
This is a gorgeous Rosé Champagne, with a medium weight body and a lovely, fresh balance of fruit. Great length and bright acidity give it a "pow" and creates a wine you can't stop thinking about for several minutes after you're done. This may be my new go-to Rosé, prefect by itself or with a multitude of dishes heading into Fall.
Price: $34.99 Add To Cart
WE 90

Jean de La Fontaine "L'Éloquente" Brut Champagne
Review Date: 09-18-2018
While my tastes are edging more toward toasty, rich Champagne than they ever have in the past, I'm always pleased to go back to a wine such as this one that has beautiful freshness and a lighter body. The is a creaminess and fantastic length to the mouthfeel, but there are no oak or caramel notes associated with a longer age time. Not only does it sit a long time on the palate after you've swallowed, there is a great breadth to it as well, not something I expected from the light, zippy nose. Overall, great balance and substance and one I will be reaching for again.
Price: $29.99 Add To Cart
WE 91

2015 Domaine Belle "Cuvée Louis Belle" Crozes-Hermitage
Review Date: 09-12-2018
I was really impressed by this wine and the layers of flavor it showcased across the palate. It shows very juicy up front with bright red fruits and you get more of the fine tannin in the back end, creating great length. They have managed to create beautiful balance between the fruit and structure, while keeping the body medium, not weighed down. Domaine Belle will become one of my go-to's for Crozes-Hermitage going forward.

2016 Emmanuel Darnaud "Les Trois Chenes" Crozes-Hermitage
Review Date: 09-12-2018
This wine hearkens back to an old world style, with more savory and tertiary characters on the nose. These notes are balanced on the palate by flavors of Christmas spice and toasty oak. This a great take on the classic style of Crozes Hermitage.
Price: $24.99 Add To Cart
VN 92

2015 Domaine de l'Amandine Côtes du Rhône-Villages Seguret
Review Date: 09-12-2018
This wine is a light-bodied, fresh take on Côtes du Rhône. With bright, lifted fruit, strong minerality, and a nice acid line, this is a great red choice to take you through the warm weather into the cooling Fall nights. I like this as a more delicate take on Côtes du Rhône.
Price: $13.99 Add To Cart
RP 90

2015 Bodegas Mas Alta "Artigas" Priorat
Review Date: 09-11-2018
A great price point for Priorat this wine showcases the best of what the region has to offer. Ripe, dark fruit dominate, yet don't overwhelm. Fans of this region will definitely find something to like here, as it is a good, emblematic example of the region.

2015 Hacienda Monasterio Ribera del Duero
Review Date: 09-11-2018
Lovely, deep fruit dominates here, but it's not accompanied by the ripe mouthfeel you'd expect with so much fruit quality. It's lifted and fresh, with more weight on the front palate. This wine is something different and unique and a fun blend of the unexpected. What a perfect wine to taste your friends on when you're bored of the usual Cab or Merlot.

2016 Hentley Farm Shiraz Barossa Valley
Review Date: 09-11-2018
Those who assume Barossa Shiraz is always fat, ripe, and high alcohol have yet to taste this gorgeous example from Hentley Farm. This wine is medium-bodied and extremely fresh and vibrant. Very juicy, bright red and blue fruits dominate and there is a great acid line running through the middle. Hentley Farm pulls only from their own estate, to ensure the fruit coming into the winery is of the highest quality from the start, and gently handled. The fine tannin structure is a result of this delicate touch and impeccable, lively flavors are present thank to no fining or filtering of this wine. This is definitely one I'm excited about as I drink more reds heading into Fall.

2014 John Duval "Plexus" GSM Barossa Valley South Australia
Review Date: 09-11-2018
Duval does it again with this rich, succulent Shiraz, Grenache, Mourvedre blend. John Duval has been working and living in the Barossa all his life, and his wines are a true reflection of the vast knowledge he's gained of the region. Almost richer in style than his Entity Shiraz, deep red fruit and Christmas spices are intertwined here and culminate in a long and broad mouthfeel. Any fans of this classic blend will not find fault with this one, very reminiscent of Chateauneuf-du-Pape, but with a memorable Australian flair.

2017 Ribbonwood (Framingham) Sauvignon Blanc Marlborough
Review Date: 09-06-2018
It's absolutely unreal to find a wine of this caliber that is made with such care for under $10. Often at these price points, wines rarely see human hands, being almost entirely machine produced. That is definitely not the case with this wine. Framingham winemaker Andrew Hedley is involved and hands-on in every aspect of this wines life, which is why it has turned out so darn phenomenal. Fresh, bright, crisp, and lively characters dominate this wine. There are so many nice elements to this wine, it can almost be mistaken for his higher-tier, single-block series. My absolute favorite under $10 New Zealand Sauvignon Blanc and one you can trust in quality and taste.
Top Value!
Price: $9.99 Add To Cart
WS 91

2016 Felton Road "Bannockburn" Pinot Noir Central Otago (Biodynamic)
Review Date: 09-04-2018
Felton Road is a pioneer in the organic and biodynamic movement taking over in Otago. It's rare to find a high-end winery that doesn't do yeast or lactic acid bacteria additions to ensure their wine finishes fermentation and reaches the correct flavor balance. Felton Road broke this mold to avoid putting non-indigenous elements into their wine and came out all the better for it. They are solely gravity-fed to avoid disturbing the wine unnecessarily, and the resulting mouthfeel is smooth as silk because of it. You may assume that because the Bannockburn is a vineyard blend that the best barrels were selected first and the rest was declassifed and blended to make this wine, but that is a complete falsehood. All of Felton Road's wines are made to the highest standards and the barrels selected for the single vineyard bottlings exhibit the most characteristically of their site. Each label has its own unique flavor profile and the Bannockburn is one that greatly encompasses Central Otago. This is a great balance between the Calvert and the Cornish Point, exhibiting elegant structure ans delicate, bright fruit.
Top Value!

2016 Felton Road "Calvert" Pinot Noir Central Otago (Biodynamic)
Review Date: 09-04-2018
The Felton Road "Calvert" displays beautiful, unique characteristics that set it apart from the others offered by the winery. Spice and strength dominate this one, with savory characters edging over fruity ones. The 25% whole cluster is definitely felt in the mouthfeel, but the wine is still light bodied and elegant. Not as deep and dark fruited as the Cornish Point, this one is more precise and punchy. It's exciting to see such a range of offerings from Felton Road, all quite different from the others, yet all incredibly delicious and sophisticated.
Top Value!

2016 Ridge Vineyards "Geyserville" Alexander Valley Zinfandel
Review Date: 09-04-2018
Ridge has always been one of my favorite California producers and the Geyserville and Lytton Springs compete year after year for my top spot. Ridge has the highest quality Zinfandel vines in the state and continue year after year to show why they deserve their stellar reputation. As one of their most popular and top-end wines, the Geyserville continues to impress me this year as a stand-out from the others. It seems to have more dark fruit than in years past and I like that Ridge is not afraid to showcase vintage variability rather than follow a recipe every year. This is one of Ridge's more complex, rich wines, and again tops my list as one of my favorites.

2015 Tapiz "Alta Collection" Cabernet Sauvignon Mendoza
Review Date: 09-04-2018
I was definitely impressed after tasting the last vintage of Tapiz Cab and this one only added to my awe of this label. It is incredibly complex, which is an impressively considerate feat given its under-$15 price tag. Great structure, dark fruit, and serious length make this one I will continue to recommend with abandon. Great find Joe!
Top Value!
Price: $14.99 Add To Cart
JS 93 RP 90

2015 Raymond "Reserve Selection" Napa Valley Cabernet Sauvignon
Review Date: 09-04-2018
It's becoming increasingly difficult to find a quality Cab from Napa under $30, especially one at the Reserve level, but Raymond has managed to make an incredible one. Napa Cab is never short of fruit, but Raymond manages to keep it restrained and elegant and brings some great freshness alongside. At one of the lowest prices in the country, this one is sure to get snatched up fast.

2017 Château de la Negly "La Côte" Languedoc
Review Date: 08-28-2018
Showcasing dark, rich purple fruit, this wine is an easy crowd-pleasing choice at a great price point. Fans of the softer, suppler style will love this one and the nice lift on the back palate keeps it from entering overly-ripe territory. This is going to be one that takes off fast with our customers and is a great red choice heading into cooler weather.

2013 Sesta di Sopra Brunello di Montalcino
Review Date: 08-21-2018
This producer has become one of my all-time favorites on the shelf for Rosso and Brunello and this vintage is no exception. showing a touch more oak than previous vintages, it still showcases deep, rich, absolutely lovely fruit, and a toastiness that warms your soul. It definitely still has the tight structure and higher acid line you should expect from Montalcino, but it is well integrated instead of blaring. I know how much physical labor and effort goes into this wine and it I'd be happy to put it into each and every customer's hand.

San Venanzio Prosecco Valdobbiadene Superiore Brut
Review Date: 08-21-2018
This is a great sophisticated take on Prosecco. It's leaner, complex, and has a more mineral-driven style than most of the others on the shelf. It tastes more expensive from its everything it has going on, but is still incredibly affordable. Clean, fresh, bright, bubbly - what more could you want?
Top Value!
Price: $13.99 Add To Cart
WE 90

2015 Josmeyer "Le Dragon" Riesling Alsace (Organic; Biodynamic)
Review Date: 08-21-2018
What a neat and different take on Alsatian Riesling. The warmth of the site definitely comes through, giving a slightly nuttier, riper, more complex mouthfeel. It almost hearkens of botrytis without any of the sweetness. This wine is dry with great length and minerally undertones. This is a fun one.

2017 Domaine Louis Moreau Chablis
Review Date: 08-21-2018
What's not to like about this fantastic Chardonnay from one of my favorite Chablis producers Louis Moreau? Lean, fresh, bright, everything you could want in Chablis, and oh wait, it's under $20. The perfect go-to if you're new to Chablis and a great stand-by as a veteran. Nothing wrong with this one.
Price: $19.99 Add To Cart
DC 90

2015 Roserock (Drouhin Oregon) Eola-Amity Hills Pinot Noir
Review Date: 08-21-2018
There is absolutely nothing to fault in this fine. It has a lovely elegance and perfect balance of fruit and fine tannin. I've always been a fan of the Drouhin wines from Burgundy and Oregon, but I may be even more inclined to pick up a Roserock on a daily basis, since it has all the phenomenal qualities of it's big brothers, but at a more attractive everyday price.

2016 Bodegas Peique "Valle del Cúa" Mencía Bierzo
Review Date: 08-21-2018
This is without a doubt a serious wine, with abundant texture and tannin and deep, dark fruit. Nothing shy about this one, but somehow it all manages to balance out. If you are after an unabashedly structured style of wine, without the high alcohol or jammy fruit, this is a great choice for you. It's almost Barolo-like in its texture, but luckily I won't have to hold onto it for 10 years before I can enjoy this one.
Price: $14.99 Add To Cart
WS 91

2014 Bodegas Palacios Remondo "La Montesa" Crianza Rioja
Review Date: 08-21-2018
This is an absolute stand-out of a wine that I was super impressed by. The Chateauneuf du Pape-like terroir of the region results in a lighter bodies wine with great fruit, a fine tannin structure and a bright, fresh take on Garnacha. I think the price point is killer on this one and will have no problem making this my go-to recommendation for customers after fun, clean, super tasty wines for Summer into Fall. Pretty much a prefect pairing for anything.
Top Value!
Price: $14.99 Add To Cart
RP 92 JS 91

2016 Fromm "Clayvin Vineyard" Marlborough Pinot Noir
Review Date: 08-16-2018
It's not difficult to understand why fruit from the Clayvin vineyard is the most highly sought after in Marlborough by nearly every winery after you taste this wine. This bottling is very classic Clayvin, with rich, deep, succulent fruit and a crazy long palate. Not showing quite as brambly or mineral-driven as the "Fromm vineyard", this bottling has the advantage of appealing to almost every style of Pinot drinker. The vines are hitting their stride and producing some very complex wines at this stage, and the breadth is only aided by the power the rich clay soils give. A winner in every sense and one I'll be purchasing a few of both to try now and to cellar.

Page: 1 2 3 next