Best Sellers New Arrivals Local Events Locations Gift Cards My Account Advanced Search

Reviewers


K&L Email Alerts

Sign up to receive custom alerts, new arrivals and the latest happenings from K&L Wines

Staff Favorites - Muriel Sarik

Muriel Sarik

Reviews

Dérot-Delugny "Cuvée Fondateurs" Brut
Review Date: 01-25-2019
WOW! This Champagne is so fun! 100% Pinot Gris and 100% Champagne. This is a legal grape in Champagne but not much is planted anymore. The nose has a lovely perfume of quince and the palate is a blast of fruit, more quince and pear, with the high acid dancing around on your tongue. The long finish gives up lots of limestone with finesse. A must try!
Price: $49.99 Add To Cart

2010 Launois "Spécial Club" Brut Blanc de Blancs Champagne (750ml - ships as 1.5L)
Review Date: 12-06-2018
There are not many champagnes that I wait in anticipation for, but the Special Clubs do it for me!. The Launois is a favorite and this one did not disappoint. The anticipation was worth it. The nose is enticing and almost heady. The fruit just exploded in your mouth then the acid and mineral stepped in and the finish lasted for extremely long time. I especially enjoyed the lingering aftertaste. This is a gotta have it!!!
Price: $59.99 Add To Cart

2016 d'Arce, Côtes de Castillon
Review Date: 10-12-2018
This is a wonderful, easy drinking Bordeaux wine. I found it juicy and savory. Juicy because it had ripe fruit held up by some good acid and the savory notes were like poaching that ripe fruit in warm spices and herbs. What a treat at this price.

2008 Fallet-Dart Vintage Extra Brut Champagne
Review Date: 10-11-2018
This champagne is part of a duo. 2008 Fallet Dart started as one champagne, but when the winemaker tasted the different dosages, he liked the 4gr/l and the 7gr/l, so much, he decided to sell us both. So this is the EXTRA Brut, fresh on the nose with subtle melon and citrus zests on the palate. An educational experience for sure, but an exciting experience for the drinker. A must buy duo!
Price: $39.99 Add To Cart

Jean de La Fontaine "La Flatteuse" Brut Rosé Champagne
Review Date: 10-11-2018
This producer is named after Jean de La Fontaine, writer of animal fables. It is also our newest direct import champagne. This is definitely for a lover of red wines that hasn't found a champagne to fall in love with. It has about 8% of barrel aged red wine in the cuvée. It also has red fruit, mostly red currant splashing around on the palete.
Price: $34.99 Add To Cart
WE 90

Jean de La Fontaine "L'Éloquente" Brut Champagne
Review Date: 10-11-2018
This producer is named after Jean de La Fontaine, writer of animal fables. It is also our newest direct import champagne. I was surprised how light and fresh this was, especially with 70% Pinot Meunier. I got the mineral and citrus characteristics but with earthier undertones on the palate and finish.
Price: $29.99 Add To Cart
WE 91

2015 Aquitania Cabernet Sauvignon Maipo Valley
Review Date: 08-29-2018
I really like this wine. I haven't been this impressed with a cab under $20 in a very long time. It's a perfect union of New and Old world Cabernet. It's got the fruit and spice of New world with the structure and mouthfeel of Old world. I still can't believe it is only $14.99

2012 Gilbert Jacquesson Vintage Brut Champagne
Review Date: 08-22-2018
I'm not a 100% Pinot Meunier champagne girl, but this one has caught my eye, or should I say my nose and palette? This is a red wine drinkers champagne with lots of red & black fruit on the nose and some savory notes in the mouth and a long finish.
Price: $34.99 Add To Cart

2002 Piper-Heidsieck "Cuvée Rare" Brut Champagne
Review Date: 07-03-2018
This champagne is not only "Rare" it is unique. It has a smokiness on the nose that I have never experienced before in a champagne, which turns into a lingering toasty flavor in the mouth. There is also a lovely texture on the mid palette that sits on your tongue, with just enough weight to make you stop and take notice. 2002 is such a great vintage which makes this exceptionally Rare!

2008 Le Brun de Neuville "Grand Vintage" Brut Champagne
Review Date: 05-10-2018
Glass Full image Glass Full image Glass Full image Glass Full image Glass Half image
Most 2008 champagnes are wonderful. Not very many are $39.99. If you are a Blanc de Blancs fan, you're love this one. The label doesn't say Blanc de Blancs, but it's 94% Chardonnay! It's rich and flavorful. This may sound bizarre but this is a champagne that's visual for me. I see/feel threads of minerals closely knit with the acid and green apples that gives it depth and a smooth texture. I love the slight salinity on the nose.
Price: $44.99 Add To Cart
WE 94 WS 91

Alfred Gratien Brut Classique Champagne
Review Date: 05-09-2018
It's so much fun tasting a new producer, thank you Gary! Made of the 2012 vintage and on the lees for 5 years, it is Luscious! On the nose, a nutty hint of melting butter and on the palette, lively and complex for an entry level bubbly. You'll get hooked and will want to explore the rest of his offerings.

Baron-Fuenté "Grande Réserve" Brut Champagne
Review Date: 02-10-2018
This is the best value champagne we have and it is absolutely delicious. I serve this a lot at home and it never seizes to amaze me how complex it is. Whether I'm cooking, eating or mingling this champagne keeps grabbing my attention to all its flavors and textures The added bonus is that we have 3 different sizes 375ml, 750ml and 1.5lt. It is so much fun to taste them, side by side, to taste the similarities and the differences.
Price: $24.99 Add To Cart
JG 90 W&S 90

2010 Louis Roederer Blanc de Blancs Brut Champagne
Review Date: 09-14-2017
I was very impressed with this young blanc de blancs from Roederer. The nose reminds me of yellow flowers because there is a richness to the floral aromas, yet very fresh. The same continues in the mouth, a rich, thin caramel-like texture with good acid and lots of crispness throughout.

2014 Ehlers Estate "1886" St. Helena Cabernet Sauvignon
Review Date: 06-20-2017
With 95% Cabernet Sauvignon, 2% Cabernet Franc, 2% Merlot and 1% Petit Verdot, this is the flagship red blend. The aromatics of black raspberries, cocoa powder and chai tea are so inviting. This is a powerful wine, but the firm structure is holding it in for now. It has substantial acidity and dry, leathery tannins. This should age well.
Price: $99.99 Add To Cart
WE 93