Staff Favorites - Sharon Kelly

Sharon Kelly

Reviews

2014 Benmarco Malbec Uco Valley
Review Date: 02-25-2018
I drank this with a friend recently and it made me wonder why I don't drink Malbec more often. Plummy and dark-fruited with notes of chocolate and earth this is not overly fruity and lacks any aggressive tannic edge. This is very smooth and (too) easy to drink. Great value Malbec that shows more finesse than many in this price range.

2015 Baron de Montfaucon Châteauneuf-du-Pape
Review Date: 02-25-2018
Rudi des Pins has done it once again. Despite being from the hot 2015 vintage the fruit is delicately restrained, beautifully elegant and with a bit of air opens up to reveal gorgeous, bright red cherry fruits and exotic spices. This wine is drinking wonderfully now but do not hesitate to put one away for a few years.
Price: $34.99 Add To Cart
WS 91

2010 Bois-Malot, Bordeaux Supérieur
Review Date: 02-25-2018
This is an award-winning blend of Cabernet Sauvignon, Merlot and Cabernet Franc from the exceptional 2010 vintage. With substantial ripe, dark fruits, lively acidity, pleasantly smooth tannins and a fresh, easy finish, this is the best Bordeaux value in the store.
Price: $10.99 Add To Cart

2016 Fratelli Barale Langhe Nebbiolo
Review Date: 02-24-2018
Barale is back! This is soft and accessible and chock full of red cherry fruit and wild herbs. Nicely structured with tannins and acidity which makes it especially fantastic with any dish that includes mushrooms and red meat. Give this about 45 minutes of air.
Price: $17.99 Add To Cart

2016 Château Vitallis Pouilly-Fuissé "Les Vignes du Chateau"
Review Date: 02-20-2018
This is classic Pouilly Fuisse - textured and ripe with yellow apples, some citrus and a toasty characteristic on the mid palate. The acid is bright and supporting and the finish keeps on going.
Price: $21.99 Add To Cart
WE 91

2015 Domaine Huguenot Marsannay Blanc
Review Date: 02-20-2018
A blend of three sites with vines approximately 25 years old in soils consisting of limestone and marl. This Chardonnay spends 10 to 12 months in oak barrels which gently makes its presence known in the texture and on the palate. The fruit is soft and light so this an easy quaffer meant for immediate drinking
Price: $32.99 Add To Cart

2015 Domaine des Remizières "Cuvée Christophe" Crozes-Hermitage
Review Date: 02-12-2018
I am so excited for our customers to taste this wine. 2015 was certainly the vintage where a strong fruit profile was in the spotlight but Emile and Christophe Desmeures have once again demonstrated their deft hands in winemaking when it comes to balanced, elegantly restrained and delightful wines. Concentrated floral and fresh berry aromas are prominent in the nose yet on the palate the fruit dances with the savory notes of Syrah, some present but fine tannins and a delicate finish. Beautiful.

2015 Jean-Louis Denois "Les Garrigues" Rouge
Review Date: 02-07-2018
Well, I can tell you this truly is the Bordeaux-Meets-Rhone blend I never knew I wanted. There is so much flavor and personality in this wine. Lots of soft red fruit and a pleasant kick of spice that bumped this wine up to #1 on my daily drinker list. It's hard to believe this is below 13% alcohol too. An added bonus is that it is organic. I love this wine!
Price: $9.99 Add To Cart

2015 Danjean-Berthoux Givry "Meix Au Roi"
Review Date: 01-31-2018
Freshly harvested cranberries, first-of-the-season strawberries and forest floor characteristics make this value Pinot Noir from the Côte Chalonnaise a good fit for those who enjoy the lighter, earthier side of Burgundy and not necessarily the fruit-driven style of 2015s from other villages.
Price: $19.99 Add To Cart

2016 The Fableist Paso Robles Cabernet Sauvignon
Review Date: 01-29-2018
It's back and better than ever! Silky smooooooth on the palate and packed with the seductive dark fruit tones of blackberry, blueberry and baked plums. Hints of tobacco and cedar brings it all together to display the beautiful structure of this vintage. It's full-bodied and rich but not cloying or sappy. It definitely over delivers for the price. This is soul-warming Cab and it's delicious!
Price: $19.99 Add To Cart

2016 Tenuta Roveglia "Limne" Lugana
Review Date: 01-28-2018
The white wines of Italy never disappoint. Fresh, flavorsome, and mouth watering with notes of stone fruit, white flowers, and a hint of salinity, this bottle of Trebbiano has beautiful succulence while retaining bright, zippy acidity that will have you reaching for that third glass. Enjoy with cioppino, chicken, pork and good friends. Bevi, amici!
Price: $12.99 Add To Cart
WE 90

2016 Moulin de la Gardette "Petite Gardette" Gigondas
Review Date: 01-24-2018
If you love the other Moulin de la Gardette wines from Gigondas producer JB Meunier as much I do, then please get acquainted with his newest offering, "Petite Gardette". Made with fruit from younger vines, this is packed with red and black fruits, spice, and has beautiful length and structure. The wine experiences zero oak - it is vinified and aged in stainless steel. Again, JB has crafted a wine with powerful personality yet plenty of freshness, showcasing that signature restraint and finesse that makes everything he produces so pleasing. Pro tip: decant and let breathe before indulging!
Price: $19.99 Add To Cart

2014 Bonny Doon "A Proper Claret" Red Blend
Review Date: 01-23-2018
I won't lie -- before my first sip of this wine I expected what I call a "Flapjack Friday" wine. You know the kind -- rich, extracted and thick enough to pour over your breakfast hotcakes. Well, I stand corrected. You should buy this excellent value because it is bright, cheery yet still packed with flavor and is much easier on the palate (and pocketbook) than you're expecting for a value priced California red blend. Nice red fruit, balancing acid and the best part of all -- a low 13.2% ABV.
Price: $9.99 Add To Cart
JS 90

2016 OENO Dry Creek Valley Cabernet Sauvignon
Review Date: 01-15-2018
Ah... fresh, classic Cabernet Sauvignon! The fruit is from a single vineyard of 40 year old vines and aging is in neutral French oak barrels. The aromas of flowers, herbs and spice will pull you in and the purity of fruit, structure, balance and refined personality will hook you. This is a genuine wine.
Price: $19.99 Add To Cart

2016 Field Recordings "Wonderwall" Edna Valley Pinot Noir
Review Date: 01-14-2018
This new vintage of Wonderwall has beautiful style and complexity, with scrumptious cherry, earth, baking spices and balanced acidity on the finish. This shows lovely restraint while still offering plenty of flavor. Another stellar wine from Andrew Jones!
Price: $19.99 Add To Cart

2016 Domaine Louis Moreau Petit Chablis
Review Date: 01-14-2018
This is a great daily sipper that will not disappoint. Despite the name there is nothing little about it - plenty of tart, citrus flavors and very vibrant acidity pop upfront and the finish is long. Petit Chablis is not inferior to Chablis -the difference is simply in the soil type and exposure to sunshine (terroir!). If you're looking for one with more texture and richer fruit this won't be your wine. BUT if you're looking for fresh, crisp, clean and easy drinking, this Petit Chablis should be your choice.
Price: $16.99 Add To Cart

2016 Rombauer Napa Valley Sauvignon Blanc
Review Date: 01-10-2018
Fresh, crisp and bright, the style of this wine is different from Rombauer's opulent reds and trademark buttery California Chardonnay but this is only their third vintage of Sauvignon Blanc and admittedly my first time tasting it. I was hooked at the first sip. Tropical fruit, lively acidity and a nice, long finish had me reaching for that second glass. Delicious.
Price: $23.99 Add To Cart
JS 90

2015 Antinori "Cervaro della Sala" Chardonnay Umbria
Review Date: 01-10-2018
This is a great wine for fans of that "typical" California Chardonnay profile: rich, textured, plenty of fruit and oak that makes its presence known but is well integrated. The majority of white wine shoppers that I encounter don't think about Italy when it comes to Chardonnay but I am happy to introduce them to similar styles from a region they wouldn't normally consider.

2014 Substance (K Vintners) "Powerline Estate" Walla Walla Valley Cabernet Sauvignon
Review Date: 12-28-2017
​This is a full-bodied wine that exhibits beautiful plum fruit, spice, acidity that kicks, and an oak profile that is lightly present but very well integrated. What I really enjoy about the wines of this region is their ability to have so much to offer with appealing balance and restraint.

2015 Domaine de la Ganse Vacqueyras
Review Date: 12-06-2017
What a scrumptious bottle of wine! Roasted plums, ripe blackberries and raspberries, a hint of black licorice, and spice and herbal notes, this is expressive and bursting with so much flavor and depth — a surefire hit at any dinner table or friendly gathering.
Price: $17.99 Add To Cart
VN 89 - 91

2015 Domaine Petroni Corse Rouge (Corsica)
Review Date: 11-19-2017
If you've been in the store you've probably heard me waxing poetic about the wines of Corsica. They have a lot of personality, delicious depth, and are very versatile food wines. The new vintage of Petroni is here and it has everything I look for in an easy drinking wine. The nose bursts with dusty red raspberries and violets and on the palate is bright with a hint of spice and white pepper and tannins that gently grip. This has great structure. If you loved the Petroni rose last summer, you'll love the Petroni red this fall .
Price: $12.99 Add To Cart
WS 90

2014 Domaine Tourbillon "Vieilles Vignes" Châteauneuf-du-Pape
Review Date: 10-24-2017
Bright in color and flavor, this sophisticated CDP displays a more delicate expression of Grenache with brilliant red cherry, herbs and seductive smoke and spice. The balance of fruit, acid and structure is all here. This is enjoyable today but will hold for several years. I appreciate when finesse and restraint are this present in a wine.
Price: $24.99 Add To Cart
VN 91 - 93

2016 Domaine la Croix Belle "Caringole" Côtes de Thongue Rouge
Review Date: 09-24-2017
Stunning! This is such an impressive wine for this price point. Packed with plenty of black and red fruits, nicely integrated tannins and acidity that balances, there is incredible structure and complexity in this bottle for only $9! Give this a little air and see how beautifully it opens up. Wow!
Price: $8.99 Add To Cart

2015 Domaine de Marcoux Châteauneuf-du-Pape
Review Date: 09-19-2017
Absolutely lovely. I enjoyed its brooding berry fruit, herbs and smoke, displayed with elegant restraint and finesse. This should appeal to enthusiasts of both old school and modern style CDP.

2015 Domaine Francois Parent Gevrey-Chambertin
Review Date: 09-11-2017
More showy than the Vosne-Romanée and more weighty than the Chambolle-Musigny, this wine has generous black fruit, subtle spice and enough tannin and acid to make this a solid choice for short-term cellaring.
Price: Hidden View Price

2015 Domaine Francois Parent Vosne-Romanée
Review Date: 09-11-2017
My favorite of the lot for now, this one has a good concentration of red fruits, violets and a hint of fresh earth on the nose. This Vosne-Romanée is very satisfying on the palate, with silky smooth tannins and pleasantly vibrant acidity. There is a restrained presence of new oak towards the finish giving it a soft texture and a subtle lick of fruitiness.
Price: $59.99 Add To Cart

2015 Domaine Francois Parent Chambolle-Musigny
Review Date: 09-11-2017
Of the wines from this producer that we currently have in stock., this immediately shows the most high-toned fruit and savory qualities on the palate. With the potential of 2-3 years on the cellar it offers plenty of enjoyment now. Try with a mustard and tarragon crusted pork roast and haricots verts.
Price: Hidden View Price

2015 Domaine Francois Parent Hautes-Côtes de Nuits
Review Date: 09-11-2017
This has plenty of freshness right out of the bottle along with bright red cherry aromas and flavors that soften toward the mid palate. Easy to drink and even easier to enjoy, this is a great fit for Carneros Pinot Noir fans. A winning addition to any dinner party, this will pair well with simple gougères or a succulent rotisserie chicken.
Price: $26.99 Add To Cart

2016 Kalinda Russian River Valley Chardonnay
Review Date: 08-28-2017
There's much to love about the wines under the Kalinda label - variety, quality, flavor and value. If you enjoy a leaner style of Chardonnay, this should hit the spot. Plenty of lemon and green apple notes, electric acidity and a smooth, easy finish makes this an easy choice when you're shopping for a refreshing wine to end (or start) your work week.
Price: $14.99 Add To Cart

Wine Club

$11.99

2016 Stoller "Estate" Dundee Hills Chardonnay
Review Date: 08-21-2017
This wine is a game changer for anyone who thinks Chardonnay is not for them. Made with early-picked fruit from volcanic soils, it does not see any oak. It is bright, youthful and crisp with plenty of lemon and green apple notes on both the nose and the palate, vigorous acidity, and a long, mouth-watering finish. If you think all wines made with this varietal are buttery and rich, this super fresh and lean Chardonnay will prove you wrong.
Price: $19.99 Add To Cart
VN 90

2015 Chehalem "INOX" Willamette Valley Chardonnay
Review Date: 08-21-2017
I had the pleasure of tasting the lineup of new releases from Chehalem on a recent trip to their vineyards in Oregon. Among several that stood out was this Chardonnay. Seeing no malo or oak, it has so much beautiful white peach, green apple and citrus fruits, dazzling acidity and fresh juiciness on the palate that my taste buds were craving a full glass. Don't snub this varietal! Oregon Chardonnay is on the rise and this bottling from Chehalem is a wonderful representation of what the region has to offer.
Price: $16.99 Add To Cart
VN 91

2016 Domaine de Biéville (Louis Moreau) Chablis
Review Date: 08-06-2017
Bieville is back! The 2016 vintage may not possess the same weighty palate that the hot 2015 vintage did but all the classic flintiness, citrus profile and racy acidity that Chablis is known for is all there.
Top Value!
Price: $16.99 Add To Cart

2013 Groth Oakville Cabernet Sauvignon
Review Date: 08-06-2017
A very alluring California Cabernet with lovely restraint and finesse. Its dark fruits, the warmth of baking spices, pleasantly grippy tannins and solid structure will sway anyone who shuns all California Cabs.
Price: Hidden View Price
JS 93 WE 91

2014 Château Saint Jacques d'Albas "Le Chateau d'Albas" Minervois
Review Date: 07-26-2017
I fell in love with the last vintage of this wine, which was a 50-50 split of Syrah and Grenache. This time the Syrah is a bit higher at 70% and contributes a touch more of those savory, peppery characteristics that seduced me last year. On top of this, beautiful red fruit, bright acidity and overall smoothness has lured me in once again.
Price: $13.99 Add To Cart
DC 90

2015 Mas de Sainte Croix "Passion d'Une Terre" Côtes-du-Rhône Villages Valreas
Review Date: 07-26-2017
This wine's beautiful dark fruit, licorice, spice and earthiness opened up absolutely beautifully after 30 minutes of air. It still possesses an intensity that has plenty to offer but with just the right amount of restraint to prevent this intensity from being overwhelming. Tannins are present but very smooth and the mineral notes and soft acidity provide the perfect balance. This is an incredible price point for this wine.
Price: $12.99 Add To Cart
RP 90 - 92

2015 Kalinda Rutherford Cabernet Sauvignon
Review Date: 07-19-2017
Here is a Cabernet Sauvignon to keep handy this summer and through the rest of the year, frankly. There is plenty of juicy red fruits but the kicker for me is the freshness, the energetic acidity, sweet spices, supple tannins and overall structure that keep me reaching for the bottle. I usually lean in the opposite direction for my wines at this time of the year but it seems I've been swayed to the other side. And I love it.
Price: $27.99 Add To Cart

2013 Yalumba "Triangle Block" Shiraz-Viognier Eden Valley South Australia
Review Date: 07-12-2017
A bright and spicy Shiraz with the perfect amount of juicy fruit without the opulent texture that many have associated with Australian Shiraz. This is alive with red berry character and that high elevation, cool climate acidity that balances everything out. A great value.
Price: Hidden View Price
W&S 93 VN 90

2016 Sergio Arcuri "Marinetto" Ciro Rosato Calabria
Review Date: 07-12-2017
Absolutely delicious. Gaglioppo is a tannic varietal so the tannins are present here but they are very smooth. The nose is full of fun, fruity aromas like watermelon and cherry candy but on the palate you'll detect more spice and it maintains a pleasantly dry finish. This drinks more like a lighter red wine than a rose and it packs a lot of punch.
Price: $19.99 Add To Cart

2016 Viñátigo Listán Negro Rosado Tenerife
Review Date: 06-27-2017
If you drink rose often but have grown restless and want to spice things up a bit, this should fit the bill. Don't let the dark color fool you - this is still fresh and dry but instead of the typical citrus and floral tones found in most roses, this one is full of red cherries, white pepper and spice. It reminds me of wines made with the Pineau d'Aunis grape from the Loire Valley. Complex in the nose and on the palate and just scrumptious. I love this wine.
Price: $16.99 Add To Cart
VN 90

2015 Domaine Les Pins "Les Rochettes" Bourgueil
Review Date: 06-20-2017
The bouquet of this wine instantly brought me back to my childhood in Ontario, Canada, where, every summer, I'd pick wild strawberries and make preserves with my mom. Wonderful berry fruit from the warm 2015 vintage is present, along with purple flowers and a savory element not unlike black olives. On the palate the fruit has plenty of juicy depth and character with mineral notes and tannins that balance, not overwhelm. I enjoyed this with shredded, leftover roasted chicken leg tossed in a simple spinach salad with fennel and shallots. It would be equally enjoyable with pork tenderloin or warm farro salad with roasted vegetables. This is a fantastic wine.
Price: $11.99 Add To Cart
WE 91

2014 Becker-Landgraf Sankt Laurent Rheinhessen
Review Date: 05-08-2017
With ample flavors of ripe raspberries and blueberry coulis, this is a juicy, lip-smacking wine with a very respectable ABV of 13%. There is a touch of black pepper on the mid palate and energetic acidity to support the scrumptious fruit. Once it has time to breathe, it shows elements that are reminiscent of a domestic wine, perhaps a fine Santa Rita Hills Syrah. Dense and elegant, here is a wine for those saucy barbecue ribs.
Price: $19.99 Add To Cart

Huber "Hugo" Sparkling Rosé
Review Date: 05-08-2017
If there is one sparkling rose you need to try this summer, it is this one. A blend of Zweigelt and Pinot Noir, there is plenty of juicy strawberry and raspberry fruit with a hint of rose petals. The aromas indicate there could be some sweetness to this sparkler but it finishes dry and its creamy mousse is luscious. This is absolute fun to drink and should be a staple in your wine fridge for the summer season. Enjoy with fried chicken, grilled sausage or have a glass after a long day at work.
Price: $14.99 Add To Cart

2014 Jim Barry "Cover Drive" Cabernet Sauvignon Coonawarra South Australia
Review Date: 04-26-2017
A congenial wine that is chock-full of classic Coonawarra character: blackberry, cherry, mint and baking spices. This is a lip-smacking wine with bright acidity, fine tannin and spice on the finish. Invite friends over, fire up the grill and serve this with those burgers that you're famous for. Summer is here.
Price: Hidden View Price
W&S 91 WE 91

2014 Elephant Hill Hawke's Bay Syrah
Review Date: 04-18-2017
Notes of blackberry, violet, plum, white pepper and smoked meat are followed by silken texture and balancing acidity. An inviting Syrah that has depth, complexity and elegance all at a reasonable price point. Grill and chill with this full bodied gem from Elephant Hill.

2013 Vasse Felix Cabernet Sauvignon Margaret River Western Australia
Review Date: 03-19-2017
I've become quite fond of Margaret River Cabernet Sauvignon. It has plenty of fruit, body and structure that is just so fresh, precise and elegant. This bottle in particular offers such a variety of aromas and flavors: violets, black currants, cherries, pencil lead, eucalyptus in the nose. Cassis, tart cherry, dark cocoa, cedar and black pepper on the palate. The tannins are delicate and the finish lasting. A distinctive and delicious wine.

2014 Chateau Yaldara "Classic" Cabernet Sauvignon South Australia
Review Date: 01-25-2017
Looking for a delicious, thirst quenching red that will satisfy your palate and your pocketbook? Look no further! This generous Cabernet Sauvignon is full of rich dark fruits, soft but noticeable structure and juicy acidity. This is a great bottle to ease you into the work week or to get the party started on the weekend.
Price: $8.99 Add To Cart

2015 D'Arce, Côtes de Castillon
Review Date: 01-22-2017
The 2015 vintage produced plenty of charming, easy to like wines but here’s one that is easy to love. This is primarily Merlot, so it's soft and supple, full of deep red fruits, velvety tannins and energetic acidity. It's structured and balanced, the grapes are hand picked, organic, sustainable and no SO2 was added to preserve the wine. With all this for just $15.99, what's not to love?

2014 Seabold Monterey Pinot Noir
Review Date: 01-22-2017
I'm rather impressed with this debut from Seabold Cellars and judging by the repeat purchases by our customers, they are too. This is quintessential dynamic California Pinot that has an abundance of Monterey fruit and spectacular vigor, elegance and structure. This has all the elements that make it an age-worthy wine: fruit, tannins, acidity and alcohol. So is this drinking nicely now? You’d better believe it! But this is small production wine, with less than 400 cases made so get one for tonight and one for your cellar before it's all gone.
Price: $49.99 Add To Cart

2013 Holus Bolus Sta. Rita Hills Syrah
Review Date: 12-06-2016
Another outstanding effort from Black Sheep Finds. Showing substantial blackberry and blueberry fruits upfront with voluptuous body and a trace of sweet spiciness on the nose. Oak is present but elegantly restrained and there is a vivacious acidity that balances everything out into a long, satisfying finish. A fantastic expression of Sta. Rita Hills fruit from producers that never disappoint.
Top Value!
Price: $29.99 Add To Cart
WE 95