Reviewers


K&L Email Alerts

Sign up to receive custom alerts, new arrivals and the latest happenings from K&L Wines


Staff Favorites - Sharon Kelly

Sharon Kelly

Reviews

Page: 1 2 next
2014 Barde-Haut, St-Emilion
Review Date: 09-18-2019
At a recent winemaker dinner featuring this property we had the opportunity to taste a range of vintages. I find the 2014 shows more blackberry than plum and red fruits and the savory notes speak a little louder than the 2012 or 2015. It has considerable backbone -- give it time to open up then enjoy with grilled meats and good company.

2016 Antonelli Montefalco Rosso
Review Date: 09-17-2019
Delicious. This is a winning combination of fruit, tannin, acid and complexity. Medium-bodied and so flavorful with plenty of cherries, plums, earth, herbs and very pleasant persistence. I'm placing this one into my "case-worthy purchase" category.
Price: $16.99 Add To Cart

2015 Isole e Olena Chianti Classico
Review Date: 09-16-2019
Five years ago, on a whirlwind trip to Italy, I made a last minute tasting appointment with property owner Marta de Marchi, who informed me that I “would have to taste with a group of Canadians” (what a dilemma). When the Canadians left, she gave me a tour of the facility then handed me off to her always charming husband and winemaker, Paolo, who took me around the vineyards and sent me home with a bottle of their estate-produced olive oil. 2015 was a fab vintage for the area, so fruit is well represented here with lots of cherry, blackberry, ripe plum and scrubby, wild herbs. The tannins and acidity are well balanced and the lingering finish completed my tasting experience, taking me back to that memorable visit. I had a glass as soon as I popped it open then tried it after letting it breathe for an hour. Either way, even if you're in a hurry to consume this bottle, you're in for a treat.

2017 Domaine du Vissoux (Pierre-Marie Chermette) Moulin-à-Vent "Les Trois Roches"
Review Date: 09-13-2019
Gamay is so good, it can be a little too "gluggable." However, when it comes to Moulin a Vent, my tone is more serious and I take my time to ponder what’s in my glass. The array of aromas that make Beaujolais so enticing are abundant in this wine, showing violet, cherry and red berries, but it’s the structure on the palate that kicks things up a few notches. This has backbone! With hints of iron (there's that mineral component), medium tannins, a spicy edge, and a persistent finish, this is very focused and clean. This has everything it needs to make it worthy of cellaring.

2017 Lucien Lardy "Les Thorins" Moulin-à-Vent
Review Date: 09-01-2019
I met Lucien for the first time in May and really enjoyed his gregarious and boisterous nature. I love his wines - they truly do reflect his personality. This Moulin-a-Vent has a big personality too, booming with ample black fruits, spice and floral undertones. There is great power and complexity in this wine...I'd love to put a few away to try in 10, and then 15 years.
Price: $15.99 Add To Cart
WE 92

2015 Peake Ranch Santa Maria Valley Chardonnay
Review Date: 08-31-2019
Peake Ranch is a relatively new operation with just a few vintages under its belt. Winemaker Paul Lato was brought on board to kick off the project, setting the tone for what is quickly becoming a sought after brand. This Chardonnay is Lato through and through; well-balanced, richly textured, plenty of ripe stone fruit, yellow apple and white flower aromas and vibrant acid with a palate that is very clean and precise. All of the elements in this wine have unfolded beautifully so far and I recommend purchasing a few extra to store for a few years - this is only just beginning to hit its stride. Fabulous stuff. (Be sure to visit Peake Ranch's gorgeous new tasting room on Santa Rosa Road)
Price: Hidden View Price
JD 94

2017 Château de la Negly "La Falaise" La Clape Rouge
Review Date: 08-30-2019
Intense, round and glorious, this a wine with pow! factor. It is brimming with lusty dark fruit, a hint of cocoa, herbs and a spicy jolt on the mid-palate. It's large and in charge but it retains the ability to be elegant and it will get along with many dishes on the table, especially the heartier, wholesome kind. Here in So Cal we are nowhere near the season of warm, comforting stick- to- your- ribs meals, but there is no reason why we can't start planning ahead. This is begging for a date with braised short ribs, or even better, cassoulet.
Price: $24.99 Add To Cart
JD 95 RP 92

2017 Chateau de la Maltroye Bourgogne Blanc
Review Date: 08-26-2019
Although the outside of the bottle looks nouveau, what's happening on the inside is definitely not. This is classic Bourgogne Blanc. There is beautiful concentration and complexity here, with notes of white flowers, pears, citrus,a kiss of oak and wonderfully luxurious texture. The acid here is very vibrant and the finish is perpetual. This is a fine, fine wine
Price: $29.99 Add To Cart

2016 Alpha Estate "Hedgehog Vineyard" Xinomavro Amyndeon Greece
Review Date: 08-25-2019
Everyone should be drinking this wine. For a wine that is often described as needing time (5-10+ years) to be ready for drinking, this is highly charismatic and approachable right now. The aromas are rich with red fruit and an herbaceous whiff that reminds me of my farmers market herb vendor. The palate is layered with ripe plum, raspberry and peppery spice. The tannins wave hello and linger just long enough, the energetic acid is perfect for that rib eye waiting for me at the butcher. There is so much complexity and personality in this wine - bring this to your next grill ‘n chill gathering for a perfect match to a hearty piece of meat. This has all of the elements to make it a great tenant in your cellar for several years, too.

2017 Domaine Jean-Michel Dupre "Le Grottier" Morgon
Review Date: 08-19-2019
Yet another hit from Jean-Michel Dupre! Beautifully fragrant with wild strawberry and red cherry fruits, and a dash of pepper, this is aged in concrete for 12 months so there is a lot of spirit and freshness in this wine. M.Dupre intervenes as little as possible with the winemaking process, preferring to let the elements do their thing. The result here is pure,unadulterated Gamay. This is the ideal hot summer red to slightly chill and enjoy with a wide range of foods. Try it with anything from BBQ meats, to thai dishes to chicken gyro.
Price: $16.99 Add To Cart
JS 94

2017 Pascal Berthier "Esprit de Séduction" Saint-Amour
Review Date: 08-12-2019
Big fan of this wine! Saint-Amour is the most northern cru with the most romantic wine- apparently wine sales in the region spike every Valentines Day. Silky texture, expressive aromas and flavors of raspberry, violet and hints of cinnamon abound. This vivacious Gamay is aged in concrete tank for 6 months, imparting freshness and a mineral essence. Ten "Smiling Face with Heart Eyes emojis" for this fabulous Cru Beaujolais from Pascal Berthier.
Price: $14.99 Add To Cart
WE 92

2006 Haut-Bergey, Pessac-Léognan
Review Date: 08-12-2019
Recently, I was wandering aimlessly up and down our store aisles, needing inspiration for my grilled rib eye dinner. I asked Jacques, our resident Bordeaux expert, what I should drink. He put this wine in my hands. I'm so glad he did. The fruit is sumptuous, showing plum, dried cherry and black currants. The mouthfeel is luscious, the tannins gentle. Classic notes of coffee, tobacco, cedar, and cassis are present here too. I savored every aroma and flavor and was sad when the decanter was empty. This is a sublime wine that has a lot of life left to give. Drink now with a good decant, or cellar for years to come.
Price: $26.99 Add To Cart
RP 91 ST 90

2018 Kalinda Sta. Rita Hills Pinot Noir
Review Date: 08-11-2019
Sta Rita Hills is my absolute favorite region for domestic Pinot Noir. The fruit profile is unmistakable and the wines are a perfect trio of concentration, elegance and balance thanks to the area's proximity to the ocean, which blankets the vines in fog and cool ocean breezes. When I inquired about the producer responsible for this wine, the response I received from K&L top brass was just two simple words: Top Secret. This tells me whatever is in this bottle is going to be pretty damn good and whoever makes this under their own label is probably selling it at much higher price tag. This is lush fruit at its finest but the key is the acidity which keeps everything bright. I got a hit of orange on my first sip, the fruit is deep and red and there is a nice spicy quality to it, perhaps thanks to some oak, but not an overwhelming amount. This is dangerously delicious and as always, it sports that incredible Kalinda label value price point. My two-word opinion about this wine: Yeah baby.
Price: $15.99 Add To Cart

2017 Domaine Jean-Michel Dupre "Cote du Py" Morgon
Review Date: 08-05-2019
Côte du Py in the cru of Morgon is located on a hill of volcanic rock and decomposed schist that sits over 1100 feet above sea level. The intensity and structure of wines from this named site make them great candidates for aging but why wait? Jean-Michel Dupre has crafted this fabulous cru Beaujolais that is so enjoyable right now. It is gushing with ripe cherry, raspberry, violets and a slight kick of spice, joined by low tannins and higher acidity. You can have this with anything from chicken, pesto pasta, a cheese plate or grilled steak. With its gregarious personality and versatility with most foods, this Gamay really is the life of the party. The perfect +1 to your next social gathering!
Price: $17.99 Add To Cart
JS 95

2016 La Massa "La Massa" Toscana
Review Date: 08-04-2019
When it comes to smooth, delicious, drinkable red wine you can always count on La Massa to please a crowd. It's consistently approachable every vintage but I feel the 2016 is the best I've tasted yet. 2015 was deeper and more ripe but in 2016 great acidic balance has returned. There's plenty of plush fruit here but it's brighter and more lifted- it sings more like a second-soprano than the baritone of 2015. La Massa for the masses!

2017 Zilliken Estate Riesling Mosel
Review Date: 07-24-2019
On a recent day off I was lazing around and realized I don't drink enough Riesling so I decided to grab a bottle to reacquaint myself. This wine was a great reminder of why I should be drinking more Riesling. The alluring aromas ; the combination of stone fruit, ripe apples, honey, flowers and petrol are explosive. This is a dry wine but there is just a touch of succulent sweetness - and plenty of bracing acidity - that had me reaching for a second glass before dinner was cooked. Don't think too hard about what to eat with this wine - it's very versatile. I simply whipped up a pan of sautéed mixed farmers market vegetables that included a few roasted figs and a bit of heat from a chile de árbol. Fab!
Price: $15.99 Add To Cart
JS 90

2017 Château de la Charriere Bourgogne Pinot Noir
Review Date: 07-24-2019
If you enjoyed the previous vintage of this ridiculously inexpensive Bourgogne rouge, you're in for a real treat with the stunning 2017. The strawberry and cherry notes in the nose are explosive, there's a gentle kick of spice midway and the fruit is outrageously pure and plush on the palate. Too good! The "Under $20" hits continue in the Burgundy category.
Price: $17.99 Add To Cart

2017 Patrick Piuze Chablis Grand Cru "Blanchots"
Review Date: 07-08-2019
Patrick Piuze is a successful French Canadian making exquisite wines in Chablis. Before starting his own domaine in 2008 he worked for Olivier Leflaive and Jean-Marc Brocard and today has become one of the most revered winemakers in the region. His wines are so complex, I always discover something new each time I put my nose to the glass or take the next sip. Green apple, apricot, tropical fruits, hazelnuts, salinity, racy acidity and good weight - it's all here. This is a serious Chablis with incredible energy.

2016 Jacques Bavard St-Romain Blanc "Sous le Château"
Review Date: 07-08-2019
Saint Romain is located behind Auxey-Duresses, with vineyards high enough to overlook the landscape of the surrounding area. Grape ripening in this area used to be a struggle but not so much anymore thanks to climate change. The Bavard finesse reigns here with pear, stone fruits, floral aromas, focused acidity and refined structure. Jacques is a negociant so 2017 will be the last vintage he makes this wine as the fruit has become too expensive to purchase. Get some 2016 and 2017 when it arrives. Even if your time together is brief, it will be worth it.
Price: $29.99 Add To Cart

2017 Domaine Sylvain Langoureau St-Aubin 1er Cru "Sur Gamay"
Review Date: 07-08-2019
In the past several years, Saint-Aubin has been moving out of the shadows and into the spotlight, becoming known as a region that offers wines of great purity, precision and value. And why not? The slopes here are quite steep and the vines sit at high elevation so year-round temperatures in the vineyards are generally lower than other parts of the region. Named for the small village it sits above, not the grape of the same name, this 1er Cru Chardonnay is a luscious medley of stone fruit, white flower and candied Meyer lemon aromas followed by vibrant citrus, a tinge of oak and uplifting acidity. Sylvain and Nathalie Langoureau have represented the region beautifully with this well-crafted Chardonnay.
Price: $34.99 Add To Cart

2017 Château Vitallis St. Veran "A La Cote"
Review Date: 07-07-2019
These high elevation vines sit on the other side of the mountain in Pouilly. This is refreshing, with lots of candied lemon, pear and apple aromas and flavors. For this vintage, they decided to combine 30% oak into the vinification process so it has rather opulent texture and hints of spice. This is delicious. Try with a sharp cheese.
Price: $17.99 Add To Cart

2017 Château Vitallis Pouilly-Fuissé Vieilles Vignes
Review Date: 07-07-2019
This wine is made with fruit from 85 year old vines and fermentation is on the lees for up to 12 months in oak barrels. There is succulent, tropical fruit on the palate and the nose is very citrus-dominant. If you want the more sumptuous version of Pouilly-Fuisse, this is the wine you want. Gorgeous.
Price: $24.99 Add To Cart

2017 Domaine Renaud Pouilly-Fuissé Vieilles Vignes
Review Date: 07-07-2019
This is a stunning wine that rivals some of the finer wines I have tried from the Cote d'Or. This is all stainless steel so it is not overly plush on the palate but it certainly delivers in flavor with beautifully fresh and complex floral, apple and stone fruit notes. Exquisite.
Price: $24.99 Add To Cart
WE 91

2017 Domaine Renaud Mâcon-Charnay
Review Date: 07-07-2019
The soils here are rocky and the vineyards are situated higher with good sun exposure. The aromas in this wine are floral and flinty, with chamomile and hints of citrus. It is so clean on the palate, with lots of green apple, lemon and unripe peach flavors. This is superb.
Price: $16.99 Add To Cart

2015 Château Vitallis Pouilly-Fuissé "Les Perrieres"
Review Date: 07-07-2019
"Les Perrieres" is the newest addition to the Vitallis portfolio (first vintage was 2013), made in honor of one of the best terroirs in Pouilly-Fuisse. With a selection of grapes from some of the top vineyards, this has precise balance between rich fruit and vibrancy. But remember, 2015 was hot and dry so this is quite sultry with luscious texture and pronounced ripe stone fruit flavors. The wine spends 18 months in oak barrels. Enjoy now with a nice decant or cellar for 3+ years.
Price: $29.99 Add To Cart
WE 93

2016 Domaine du Petit Clocher Anjou Villages Rouge
Review Date: 06-27-2019
This fabulous little number is Cabernet Sauvignon dominate (60%) with the remainder Cab Franc. It has all the typical black fruit, pepper, floral and mineral tones -and price point- that make the wines from the Anjou so versatile and pleasurable to drink. The tannins announce their presence but don’t overstay their visit. It has more weight and richness thanks to the Cab Sauv but it still remains a bright Loire Valley red that is an excellent alternative to your typical Bordeaux blend. It’s difficult to taste wines like this on the job because I immediately want to pour myself a glass, sit down, and enjoy a nice, leisurely meal with friends. I know what I'm doing after work tonight.
Price: $14.99 Add To Cart
WE 90

2015 Poggerino Bugialla Chianti Classico Riserva
Review Date: 06-25-2019
I'm not sure where my adoration for Sangiovese originated but I suspect it was during a trip to Italy a mere 5 years ago. I spent much of my time eating at some fantastic out-of-the-way restaurants. I never requested any specific wine other than "red wine", which was almost always Sangiovese and I was never disappointed. My first time tasting the wines of Poggerino was here at the store, only earlier this year, it was the 2015 Chianti Classico. I was instantly transported back to that trip. Now we have this stellar Riserva in the store and I am jonesing for another visit to the region. This is classic old school Chianti Classico: black cherry, herbs, tobacco. There is all the structure here with excellent balance of acid, tannins and well integrated oak that does not overpower. If you had the Chianti Classico when we had it in stock, the CC Riserva is definitely worth spending the extra dollars for. I love these wines.
Price: $44.99 Add To Cart
WS 96

2018 Ciu Ciu "Merlettaie" Pecorino
Review Date: 06-24-2019
Take a vacation from your usual white wine and try this bottle of refreshing goodness instead. Stone fruit and white flowers command the nose while the palate is all about zippy citrus flavors and mouthwatering salinity. This has good weight and texture but remains crisp and dry. This was a favorite at our recent Italian staff and consumer tastings. All aboard the Ciu Ciu train!
Price: $19.99 Add To Cart

2015 Jacques Bavard Monthelie Blanc
Review Date: 06-18-2019
Of all the Bavard whites we have in stock, this is the richest of the lot but it still displays plenty of elegance and balance. This is round on the palate, with white flower aromas, ripe, golden apple flavors and a gentle lick of oak. It finishes long and bright and is excellent with a nice creamy cheese - I had mine with Epoisses. Monthelie is neighbors with Meursault so it's no surprise they share similar characteristics - but with the more attractive price point aimed at Monthelie.
Price: $29.99 Add To Cart

2017 The Pinot Project California Pinot Noir
Review Date: 06-12-2019
What's better than finding a well crafted domestic Pinot Noir for under $15? Finding one for under $13 that tastes more like $20! This has incredible flavor, complexity, structure and balance for this price point. In fact, some $20 wines don't have the finesse this wine does. This is one of those case-worthy buys that will impress your friends at the table and yourself for making such a smart purchase.
Price: $11.95 Add To Cart
JS 91 WE 90

2016 Jacques Bavard Auxey-Duresses Rouge
Review Date: 06-11-2019
I loved the last vintage of this wine and I'm loving this one even more. The aromatics are tremendous, it's like breathing in the scent of a big bowl of fresh strawberries and cherries and the red fruit flavors on the palate are sublimely delicate and fresh. Jacques Bavard makes damn good wine.
Price: $27.99 Add To Cart

2014 Zenato Alanera Rosso Veronese
Review Date: 05-28-2019
Fans of Amarone will really love this wine not just because of the similar profile but the price point! There's a lot of wine being offered here for a mere $13.99: it's full-bodied and gushing with concentrated red fruit, soul-warming spice, and a luxuriously plush mouthfeel. The Bordeaux varietals give it a certain je ne sais quoi and bright acidity balances out the richness beautifully. Fantastic stuff!
Price: $13.99 Add To Cart
JS 93

2016 Château de la Charrière Beaune 1er Cru "Clos des Vignes Franches"
Review Date: 05-27-2019
Benoit Girardin's wines are such a pleasure to drink. This 1er cru is a delightfully vibrant blend of cranberry and raspberry notes with bright acidity and a persistent finish. It's just so clean and fresh, I have enjoyed this with everything from truffle & mushroom pizza, to herbed pork loin to a simple cheese plate.
Price: $34.99 Add To Cart

2018 Fabien Collonge Beaujolais Rosé
Review Date: 05-25-2019
This is such a delicious wine. Gamay is such a pleasing varietal, with its tasty fruit profile and versatility with practically any food. From it's pretty pink hue to the bright red berry flavors and long, crisp finish this is a fantastic wine from the superb 2018 vintage. Stop buying the same ol' Provencal rosé and try something new! Rosé de Gamay toute la journée!
Price: $11.99 Add To Cart

2018 Domaine de Fondrèche Ventoux Rosé
Review Date: 05-22-2019
This rose is so damn good! Too good - I can easily consume the entire bottle myself. It's succulent and salty, oozing with fresh red berries and the ever-important super energetic acidity. This is dry and delicious and I just can't get enough. If there's one rose to stock up on this year it's this one.
Price: $14.99 Add To Cart

2017 Fabien Collonge Morgon "Corcellette"
Review Date: 05-20-2019
One of the newer additions to our Direct Import program, we were first introduced to Fabien Collonge last year at the start of rose season. This delicious red from Morgon is the second wine in his lineup to land in our stores. The fruit is from the northern part of this cru, growing in sandy, granitic soils. No oak is used, just a combination of concrete and stainless steel. I love this wine - the fruit is ample and supple, and it has great vigor. Try with tacos!
Price: $13.99 Add To Cart
RP 90

2016 Mas de Sainte Croix "Douceur de Fruit" Côtes-du-Rhône
Review Date: 04-30-2019
This is certainly the softer side of Mas de Sainte Croix! Fresh, bright Grenache and Carignan fruit dominate and the addition of Cinsault softens the fruit and adds beautiful aromatics. The mineral profile is prominent and the acidity lasting. This is a great warm weather red. Put a slight chill on it and enjoy while dining al fresco.
Price: $11.99 Add To Cart

Wine Club

$9.99

2016 Domaine de l'Amandine Côtes du Rhône-Villages Seguret
Review Date: 04-22-2019
If you're searching for a tremendous Rhone value you will certainly be thrilled with this full-bodied blend of Syrah and Grenache. With a nose that brims with classic red fruits and wild garrigue, and oozing with flavors of ripe berries and baking spice, this is a powerful wine but it remains very bright and fresh thanks to balancing acidity. Fabulous deal!
Price: $13.99 Add To Cart
WE 92 DC 91

2016 Les Frères Perroud "Amethyste" Brouilly
Review Date: 04-08-2019
The Amethyst is named for the amethyst crystal that grows deep in the ground where these vines grow. This charmingly rustic Gamay is so fresh and friendly, bursting with raspberries, ripe plums and a deliciously juicy finish. An excellent pairing with pizza and anything with basil. A great warm weather red too.
Price: $15.99 Add To Cart

2017 Idle Chatter Mendocino Red
Review Date: 04-08-2019
Casey O’Brien is no stranger to anyone working in the wine industry. His new project is a true reflection of his enthusiastic and frank personality, right down to the phrasing on the label. No hidden gimmicks here, just bright, unadulterated juice meant to bring drinking pleasure amongst friends. And it seems people have caught on because customers are returning to buy this by the case. Bravo!
Price: $17.99 Add To Cart

2016 Château de Javernand "Indigène" Chiroubles
Review Date: 04-08-2019
Higher altitude and cooler temps in Chiroubles result in wines that are delicate and fruity and not as intense as other Crus in Beaujolais. Combine this with the minimal intervention style of winemakers Arthur Fourneau and Pierre Prost and you have a Gamay that boasts fresh red fruits and a gentle tone. Made with natural yeasts and no sulfur added at bottling, this benefits from a good hour in the decanter. Try with soft, creamy polenta and wild mushrooms.
Price: $17.99 Add To Cart
VN 91 WE 90

2017 McKinlay Willamette Valley Pinot Noir
Review Date: 04-08-2019
There is a distinct personality to Oregon Pinot Noir that draws me in every time. The nose of this wine is pure raspberry, but on the palate there is a smokiness coupled with sour cherries. This has great balance between fruit and earth and an ever greater price point. This is a terrific Pinot.
Price: $17.99 Add To Cart

2014 Domaine Laroche Chablis
Review Date: 03-31-2019
This Chablis is smooth and rounder in texture, with expressive aromas of ripe apple, citrus and a good core of classic Chablis flint and minerality. Fabulous with roasted vegetables or a simple cheese plate. Drink now.
Price: $19.99 Add To Cart

2017 Les Champs de l'Abbaye Mercurey "Les Marcoeurs" Rouge
Review Date: 03-27-2019
Wines from the commune of Mercurey, in the Cote Chalonnaise, can be more full bodied than other appellations - if you enjoy a touch more heft in your Pinot, this is your wine. Made with fruit from vines located just below 1er Cru Clos des Myglands, it is loaded with ripe strawberries and red cherries. Plush mouthfeel, soft tannins and a brilliant hit of acidity result in a fresh, juicy and wonderfully approachable Pinot Noir. A scrumptious fruit profile emerges after an hour in the decanter. Farmed organically and minimal sulfur added.
Price: Hidden View Price

2018 Kalinda Napa Valley Sauvignon Blanc
Review Date: 03-18-2019
I just love this thirst quenching Sauvignon Blanc. The nose exudes tropical fruits and springtime flowers and it's packed with flavors of freshly sliced peach, white nectarine and apricot. This is fruity - not sweet - and retains plenty of snappy acidity. The excellence in flavor and quality continues, with a very attractive price point to boot.
Price: $16.99 Add To Cart

Wine Club

$12.99

2014 Buglioni Valpolicella Classico Superiore
Review Date: 03-13-2019
This is abundantly flavored with black cherry, ripe red berry fruits and baking spice while remaining pleasantly laid back and balanced. Try this as an alternative to lighter styles such as a cru Beaujolais - this wine has more structure and tannic grip but is as versatile with many foods.
Price: $19.99 Add To Cart

Wine Club

$14.99

2016 Bishop's Peak San Luis Obispo Pinot Noir
Review Date: 03-04-2019
Pinot Noir is a delicate and temperamental grape to grow and attempting to find a good, balanced bottle for under $20 can be disappointing. However, this wine from Bishop's Peak is one of the few really good ones in a handful that I have tasted that truly satisfies my drinking pleasure and budget. It checks all of the boxes: fruit, earth, vibrant acidity, overall structure. No overly oaked, extracted flavors or flabby, thin juice here; this is well-made, balanced Pinot Noir with winemaking pedigree.
Price: $17.99 Add To Cart
JS 93 VN 91

2015 Poggerino Chianti Classico
Review Date: 03-04-2019
A fantastic wine from the stellar 2015 vintage, this is lush with dusty cherry fruit, leather and herbs that swaddle the palate. Pleasantly grippy tannins and vibrant acidity carry through the lengthy finish - this wine is gorgeous. A tremendous bottle to enjoy now and I highly suggest putting extra in your cellar for some fabulous future enjoyment.
Price: $22.99 Add To Cart
WS 92 RP 90

2010 Trabucchi Amarone della Valpolicella
Review Date: 03-04-2019
This is an exceptionally intriguing example of Amarone. The nose is profoundly savory and I was immediately hooked by a distinctive scent of salted capers. While some Amarone wines can been cloying and potent this is instead a drier representation, showing ripe fruit, even a bit of brine on the palate and superbly bright acidity. It's savory and fruity so try this as a pairing with duck or game instead of beef. Favoloso!
Price: $79.99 Add To Cart

2017 Bründlmayer "Kamptaler Terrassen" Riesling Kamptal
Review Date: 02-10-2019
Pure and precise with petrol and orchard fruit aromas, lemon and green apple flavors and acidity for days. A fabulously dry and crisp wine.

Page: 1 2 next