Staff Favorites - Sharon Kelly

Sharon Kelly

Reviews

Page: 1 2 next
2016 La Fortuna Rosso di Montalcino
Review Date: 09-22-2018
Sangiovese is my favorite go-to wine - it has yet to let me down when I am in a pinch or can't make up my mind. This one is dusty, showing a charmingly tart personality with cherry, orange rind, crushed stones, some juicy acid and a pleasantly tannic profile. A great wine with pizza, pasta, muchroom risotto or, when you’re pressed for time, a roasted chicken from the store (another favorite go-to).​
Price: $17.99 Add To Cart

2016 Clos de l'Anhel "Lolo de l'Anhel" Corbieres
Review Date: 09-22-2018
Lolo is back! Velvety smooth and driven by notes of raspberry and plum, some spicy cinnamon, and even a whiff of cured meat, this wine just tastes and feels so fresh and clean. I recently took this to a night of jazz at the Hollywood Bowl and it was perfect for our sandwich and cheese plate picnic. Organic and (bio)dynamic!
Price: $12.99 Add To Cart

2016 Nicolas Idiart Sancerre
Review Date: 09-22-2018
As soon as I put my nose in the glass it reminds me of fresh cut grass and summer. It’s a delicate, not overpowering smell and it makes me pause an extra minute to breathe it in before I take the first sip. In my mouth this wine expresses lime, quince and chamomile, a hint of grapefruit and a nice pop of acidity on the finish. An excellent Sancerre.
Price: $21.99 Add To Cart

2016 Domaine Jean-Michel Giboulot Bourgogne Pinot Noir
Review Date: 09-17-2018
Jean-Michel Giboulot has produced one of his best Bourgogne Rouge yet! I am impressed right out of the gate with the exceptionally aromatic nose and palate of strawberry, cherry, and wild raspberry. There is always something comfortably familiar to me about his wines; perhaps it's a tinge of baking spices that evokes a memory of sorts. The tannins are present but discreet and the finish long and dry. This is a ridiculously low price for a Bourgogne Rouge this good. THE steal of the century!
Price: $17.99 Add To Cart

2016 Château de la Charriere Bourgogne Pinot Noir
Review Date: 09-15-2018
Our best under $20 value in Burgundy is back! It’s not easy to find well-balanced, palate-pleasing Bourgogne Rouge at this price point but Château de la Charriere makes it possible and continues to deliver this value every vintage. This is a friendly, easy-going wine packed with plush fruit and graceful tannins. Stock up on this while we have it -- this wine always sells out quickly.
Price: $17.99 Add To Cart

2016 Chateau de la Charriere Santenay 1er Cru "Gravieres"
Review Date: 09-15-2018
Benoit Girardin continues to make his mark as an emerging young talent in Burgundy, with each vintage showing wines that are more refined and distinctive. The 1er Cru "Les Gravieres" experiences longer sun exposure during the day due to a more southerly positioning than most vineyards along the Cotes de Beaune. This results in wines with more structure and concentration of fruit but that still remain very elegant and delicate -- almost Volnay-like in style. This new vintage from Benoit has beautiful aromas that are prominent in red berry fruits and floral notes. I like letting my nose in the glass a little longer with this one. On the palate there is an abundance of strawberry, cherry and cranberry balanced by supple tannins and supporting acidity. Chicken, hard cheese, some grilled meats -- any of these will be a winning combo with this wine.
Price: $29.99 Add To Cart

2015 Joseph Faiveley Bourgogne Rouge
Review Date: 09-04-2018
This is a superbly balanced and accessible Bourgogne Rouge that brings quite a buoyant personality to the table: notes of ripe raspberry, cranberry, warm spices, some herbs, earth, gentle tannins, and a lengthy finish that doesn't leave me wondering where it went. I can't always spend fancy dollars on a bottle of wine but I still want something that will satisfy my penchant for the good stuff without emptying my wallet. This fits the bill perfectly.
Price: $19.99 Add To Cart
JS 91

2015 Chateau de la Charriere Pommard "Les Vignots"
Review Date: 08-27-2018
This is round and seductive, exuding gorgeous dark fruits, sensual damp underbrush, and spice. Pommard has more clay soils than Volnay or Beaune so the wines have more power and complexity.
Price: $39.99 Add To Cart

2015 Jacques Bavard Auxey-Duresses Rouge
Review Date: 08-27-2018
Auxey-Duresses borders Volnay, and perhaps is not as well-known as its neighbor, but there are fresh, delicate wines from this appellation that represent excellent quality and value, and are ideal for short-term consumption. This is precisely balanced with a stunning combination of red and black fruits, fresh earth, a touch of spice and harmonizing acidity. This is terrific with Epoisses - the seductively stinky cheese of Burgundy- and fresh bread.
Price: $26.99 Add To Cart

2017 Domaine Louis Moreau Petit Chablis
Review Date: 08-22-2018
Plenty of tart, citrus flavors and very vibrant acidity pop upfront and the finish is long. Petit Chablis is not inferior to Chablis -the difference is simply in the soil type, in this case Portlandian marl instead of the Kimmeridgian soils found in Premier Cru and Chablis sites (terroir!) If you're looking for fresh, crisp, clean and easy drinking, this Petit Chablis should be your choice.
Price: $17.99 Add To Cart

2017 Domaine Louis Moreau Chablis
Review Date: 08-22-2018
This Chablis from Louis Moreau continues to impress me. It is well crafted, showing structure and depth coupled with freshness and finesse. The 2017 is an invigorating Chardonnay that is bright, brimming with notes of lemon, pear, green apple and a hint of jasmine. On the palate there is a blast of fresh lime, Meyer lemon, the mineral, saline influence of the limestone soils and acidity that zings. This paired beautifully with a salad of roasted summer vegetables marinated in a shallot vinaigrette.
Price: $19.99 Add To Cart
DC 90

2016 Domaine A&P de Villaine Bourgogne Rouge "Les Clous"
Review Date: 08-19-2018
The Côte Chalonnaise is further south than the Côte de Beaune but because of the higher altitude and lack of shelter that leaves the vines exposed to winds blowing in from the West, the wines are similar to the lighter styles from the Côte de Beaune. The aromas of the “Les Clous” are so expressive, ranging from red cherry, flowers and wet leaves. It is equally striking on the palate and has delicate tannins and a spicy characteristic towards the finish. I absolutely love this wine from Domaine A&P Villaine - it has plenty of personality while remaining polished and elegant. A wonderful example of the 2016 vintage.
Price: $44.99 Add To Cart

2017 Tenuta Roveglia Chiaretto Rosé
Review Date: 08-14-2018
Tenuta Roveglia makes one of my absolute favorite Italian white wines (Limne Lugana). After our Italian buyer was at the property earlier this year, he reached out to let me know we would be carrying their rosé too, that it was just as fabulous as their other wines and assured me I'd love it. He was right. The color is a fun shade of pink but don't let that fool you - this is DRY. Wild strawberry, herbs, sensual texture and such vivacious acidity - I can't get enough of this wine. Séverine Bourrier of Château de L'Ou and I quaffed this bottle at our recent staff party - a star winemaker from France endorsing an Italian rosé? Enough said.
Price: $12.99 Add To Cart
VN 90

2017 Domaine de Biéville (Louis Moreau) Chablis
Review Date: 08-14-2018
Every year I look forward to the release of this Chablis from Louis and his wife, Ann as it's always so lively and fresh but has a touch more roundness on the texture yet not a speck of oak. This vintage is fabulous, exhibiting cheerful fresh lemon and grapefruit aromas and flavors and the flinty, steely, mineral profile of the limestone terroir. The acidity is bright and energetic; a refreshing accompaniment to this hot SoCal weather. Enjoy with grilled fish, or pasta with clams.
Price: $17.99 Add To Cart

2017 Lucia Rosé "Lucy" Santa Lucia Highlands
Review Date: 08-13-2018
We recently held a wine dinner with noted Lucia winemaker Jeff Pisoni, and this "Lucy" Pinot Noir rosé​ was the perfect choice for the reception wine, as it really aroused everyone's palates in preparation for an evening of delicious food and wine. This is deliciously crisp and vivid, brimming with fresh flowers and melon in the nose, bright strawberry and orange citrus on the palate. The texture is smooth and round thanks to the neutral oak yet is magnificently dry and without any oak flavor. This is pure, elegant Pinot Noir rosé.
Price: $19.99 Add To Cart
VN 91

2016 Silvano Follador "Cartizze" Prosecco Superiore Brut Nature
Review Date: 08-12-2018
A very clean and elegant Prosecco that exhibits such youthful exhuberance, full of fresh lemon, pear and green apple aromas. Its light, frothy bubbles are soft and almost silky on the palate. Bone dry and ultra refreshing, this Prosecco is the best of the best.
Price: $26.99 Add To Cart

2015 Domaine Thibault Liger-Belair Hautes Cotes de Nuits "La Roche"
Review Date: 07-30-2018
There is plenty of ripe red strawberry and raspberry fruit here balanced by spice and the mineral characteristics of the limestone soils in which the grapes grow. Coming from a hot vintage, this is beautifully precise and clean, showing good structure and complexity all with a touch of finesse and restraint.
Price: $31.99 Add To Cart
RP 88 - 90

2016 Domaine Charles Audoin Bourgogne Rouge
Review Date: 07-30-2018
Generous strawberry and cranberry aromas and flavors enhanced by notes of wet earth, savory herbs and refreshing acidity. This is a substantial yet very graceful Pinot Noir that drinks wonderfully right now. Made with 100% declassified single vineyard fruit (young vines) from Marsannay, this is what well-crafted Bourgogne Rouge is all about. The perfect introduction for anyone looking to learn about Burgundy from the ground up. ​
Price: $27.99 Add To Cart

2016 Kalinda Bourgogne Blanc
Review Date: 07-30-2018
Thanks to the hot Socal summer in full swing, I am tasting my way through our white Burgundy selection, in particular those in our Direct Import program. Many of our customers are familiar with the domestic offerings on our Kalinda label but for the first time we have a Kalinda Bourgogne Blanc! Ripe golden apple, fresh pear and and lively acidity are packed in nicely for only $19.99. If you drink domestic Chardonnay are looking to change things up, try this gem from one of our beloved DI producers, Jacques Bavard.
Price: $19.99 Add To Cart

2017 Wagner-Stempel Rosé Trocken Rheinhessen
Review Date: 07-23-2018
An equal blend of Pinot Noir, Pinot Madelein and St. Laurent, this is a superbly dry and crisp rose that explodes with notes of fresh strawberries, carries good tension, stony minerality and energetic, lemony acidity that tingles the tip of your tongue. Need something to help you cool down on hot southern California day? This is your wine. ​
Price: $16.99 Add To Cart

2017 Domaine Petroni Corse Rosé (Corsica)
Review Date: 07-23-2018
ABSOLUTELY STUNNING! If you enjoyed this dry, island rosé from Corsica last summer, you’re going to go crazy for it this year. It is packed with freshly picked strawberry, raspberry and white flower aromas, a touch of salinity on the palate and that crisp, vibrant minerality that refreshes. Pour yourself a glass and get ready to be transported to the white sandy beaches of this Mediterranean oasis.
Price: $13.99 Add To Cart

2017 Pra Soave Classico "Otto"
Review Date: 07-23-2018
My first sip of this wine transported me to the last time I was in Rome, dragging my luggage across the stony streets through a sea of people. I couldn't find my hotel and the wheels on my luggage snapped off. Frustrated, I marched into a random bar and ordered the first wine I saw on the list: Soave Classico. This crisp, refreshing white wine was just the drink I needed. I took a sip, sighed and smiled at the bartender. Suddenly, the broken wheels on my luggage didn't matter anymore. I have tried four different Soave Classico from Pra, and the light-bodied freshness of the "Otto" is simply my favorite thirst-quencher. It is so clean and elegant, with bright citrus acidity, notes of pear, a hit of minerals and a finish that lingers on the palate. Soave, take me away!
Price: $16.99 Add To Cart
WS 90

2016 Fossil Point Edna Valley Pinot Noir
Review Date: 07-16-2018
This is a very flavorful Pinot that is brimming with vibrant cherry fruit, floral and earth notes, great balance of acidity and just the right touch of oak. Not over done,this is a fresh, clean and straight-forward wine that will appeal to everybody. This was excellent with my roasted vegetable salad but I also had a glass or two without food and it was just as enjoyable. Excellent value too.
Price: $15.99 Add To Cart

2015 Nozzole Chianti Classico Riserva
Review Date: 07-10-2018
​Chianti Classico is my go-to wine when I am having my weekly dinner with friends and can't decide what to bring. More often than not, our meals consist of grilled steak or a quick-and-easy pork tenderloin and really, nothing pairs better than Sangiovese. I usually prefer to consume it with a meal, but what I really love about this wine in particular is its easy- drinking style that doesn't require a bite of food with each sip. Tart cherry, tobacco, earth, luscious mouthfeel, everything I enjoy about Sangiovese is present. We like to drink a small glass while cooking and reserve the rest to have with dinner but, in the case of this wine, we finished it before we sat down to eat.
Price: $19.99 Add To Cart
JS 94

2015 Rosi Schuster Blaufränkisch Burgenland
Review Date: 07-09-2018
If you have yet to try an Austrian red wine, try this Blaufrankisch as an introduction. The nose is lush with wild Oregon blackberries (have you ever tried one? Incredible), blueberries and a delightful herbal kick. Beautifully sleek texture and moderate tannins.​ Mineral notes are present thanks to the terroir (clay, limestone and sandy soils) of the Burgenland region and there is good acid profile which rounds this out nicely. If you enjoy a good Cru Beaujolais, some characteristics of this varietal aren't that far off. This is a great wine to cellar for a few years but you can absolutely enjoy this now. Decant for about 30 minutes and give it a slight chill. Try with trout, pork, chicken or any dish with a tomato-based sauce.
Price: $19.99 Add To Cart

2016 Moulin de la Gardette "Tradition" Gigondas
Review Date: 07-04-2018
Another powerhouse wine from one of my favorite producers. Showing deep, black cherry and plum fruits, smoke, spice, herbs and luscious texture, this is well-balanced but there is incredible concentration in this vintage so give this a good hour of air before enjoying. Buy a few for your cellar too.

2016 Liquid Farm Santa Barbara County Pinot Noir
Review Date: 06-30-2018
​Recently, we held a sold-out wine dinner with Jeff Nelson, the man behind Liquid Farm. It was an evening filled with great conversation and food, enhanced by a range of Jeff's Chardonnay and Pinot Noir. ​While I thoroughly enjoyed the entire lineup, this was the treasure of the evening. This is Pinot Noir with personality! Pleasant and flavorful with vivid red cherry fruit, earth, a trace of spice, all elegantly balanced by acidity and a long, persistent finish. I let this one linger on my palate for awhile, looking around at my dinner companions, savoring the wine and the moment as long as I could.
Price: $49.99 Add To Cart

2017 Montmassot Picpoul de Pinet
Review Date: 06-28-2018
Summer is here and nothing says refreshing like a tart, fresh, "lip stinger." Chock full of lemon, a surplus of minerality and an energetic buzz of acidity, this is perfect for hot weather drinking.
Price: $9.99 Add To Cart

2017 Meyer-Näkel Spätburgunder Rosé Ahr
Review Date: 06-28-2018
An elegant rosé that is fresh and complex with supple texture and an abundance of fresh raspberry aromas and flavors balanced with bright acidity and a lengthy finish. Exquisite.
Price: $24.99 Add To Cart

2015 Pierre Gelin Fixin 1er Cru "Clos Napoléon"
Review Date: 06-25-2018
A substantial wine from a monopole formerly known as Aux Cheusots and was renamed by Claude Noisot, surgeon to Napoleon, this is the domaine's flagship Fixin. Medium-bodied with great tannic structure and powerful flavors of red cherry and warm spices, I drank this over a period of two days and was it still plenty lively by the time I reached the final half glass. This is a plush and muscular wine that will continue to be magnificent with some time in the cellar.
Price: $59.99 Add To Cart
WS 93 BH 90

2014 Château Vitallis Pouilly-Fuissé "Les Perrieres"
Review Date: 06-13-2018
This was a fairly smooth vintage. Harvest had an early start in September and the overall quality is exceptional. This wine shows such precise balance between rich fruit and vibrant, acidic tension. On the palate there is ripe peach and apricot, sensual texture and a lengthy finish.
Price: $34.99 Add To Cart
WE 91

2015 Domaine de la Réserve d'O "Hissez O" Terrasses du Larzac
Review Date: 06-12-2018
I met Marie and Fred Chauffray at an intimate dinner gathering late last year, the small group of us congregating around the kitchen, eventually moving to the dinner table to enjoy a fabulous feast prepared by my colleague (and our French Regional buyer), Keith Mabry. We quaffed several different wines that night but it was this very bottle that made me take an extra long moment to appreciate what was going on in my glass. The color was a deep, rich purple, the aromatics reminded me of violets, some black pepper, with a splash of red fruits. On the palate, this was so beautifully fresh and balanced, with soft tannins, such lovely structure and finesse. We took a few minutes to take it all in - the aromas, the flavors, the personality of the wine, and the special moment of sharing it with its makers amongst friends. Fred then busted out an old banjo, began picking away at a few Prince songs and I found myself singing as I can only after consuming a special bottle. A truly memorable wine.
Price: Hidden View Price

2017 Domaine Begude Sauvignon Blanc Pays d'Oc
Review Date: 06-11-2018
If you usually drink Sauvignon Blanc from the Loire Valley (Sancerre, Touraine), try this wine from the cool climate Limoux region of the Languedoc for a change. This is so clean and fresh with perky lime citrus, traces of minerals and a crisp, zippy finish. A naturally delicious, light-bodied wine that is full of flavor without being weighty. This is invigorating and breezy! All it takes is one sip and this will be your new go-to white.
Price: $12.99 Add To Cart

2016 Château Vitallis Pouilly-Fuissé Vieilles Vignes
Review Date: 06-04-2018
The fruit for this magnificent wine comes from the property’s oldest parcels which grow in clay and limestone soils on the best hillside. The wine is fermented and blended in 100% French oak cask, 15% of which is new. With its ripe Golden apple aromas and flavors and luscious texture on the palate, you can definitely enjoy this now but it will also develop nicely over another 5 years.
Price: $24.99 Add To Cart
DC 90

2015 Domaine Jean-Michel Giboulot Savigny-lès-Beaune
Review Date: 05-21-2018
I've tasted this Pinot Noir several times over the past 6 months and while the notes of tart cherry, allspice and earth remain consistent,​​ my nose seems to find something intriguing and wants to linger in the glass much longer every time. You can absolutely drink this now but I recommend you decant it. With a bit of patience and breathing room it reveals its gorgeous layers and complexity. Do yourself a favor and grab a few to put in your cellar for a few years too.
Price: $29.99 Add To Cart

2017 Chateau Vitallis Macon-Fuissé
Review Date: 05-21-2018
Another great vintage from Chateau Vitallis! The 2017 delivers clean, bright drinking pleasure with gorgeous stone fruits, supple texture, and finely integrated oak. This was poured at our recent Burgundy consumer tasting and was the top pick among the white wines presented. The ideal Chardonnay to make any naysayer of this varietal into an enthusiastic fan.
Price: $16.99 Add To Cart

2017 Domaine les Pins "Les Rochettes" Bourgueil Rosé
Review Date: 05-21-2018
As soon as rosé season begins, I seek the one that stands out from the crowd and this year it is this must-have Cabernet Franc from Bourgueil. The red berry fruit and hints of wild herbs combined with delectable complexity and texture make this a stunning rosé gastronomique that pairs with practically any dish. Don't let the slightly darker color fool you - longer maceration will result in some darker hues but rest assured this is still crisp and dry.
Price: $12.99 Add To Cart

2017 Maritma "The 4 Old Guys" Sangiovese Toscana
Review Date: 05-21-2018
This is pure, fresh Sangiovese that is bursting with dusty, red cherry fruit, youthful acidity and loads of charm. Whether you're looking for a party wine, a no-fail weeknight bottle or a couch companion after a long week, the 4 Old Guys have your back. Load up the car - this is definitely a case-worthy purchase.
Price: $9.99 Add To Cart

2015 Paitin di Pasquero "Serra" Barbera d'Alba
Review Date: 05-07-2018
​When working in the wine business, going to trade tasting events is part of the job and the number of wines presented can range from 20 to 100. Sometimes palate fatigue can set in and flavors start blending together. Every once in awhile, however, there's a producer that stands out and catches my attention (even after the 75th wine). At a recent large Italian tasting event, this was that producer. My eyes lit up and my palate came back to life. I got my second wind! The wines had beautiful flavor, structure, complexity and energy. So, when this Barbera d'Alba arrived at the store I was the first to grab a bottle to enjoy that evening. So bright and full of red berry fruits, cheery acidity, great depth and freshness, it is the perfect remedy for curing a case of the Mondays or celebrating a Friday. I had this with chicken paillard and sauteed escarole one night and wild mushroom risotto the next. A simply divine wine.
Price: $19.99 Add To Cart
JS 90

2014 Domaine de la Begude Bandol Rouge
Review Date: 05-02-2018
If you are attracted to a dark, brooding wine that teases your senses with its spicy aromas, dark fruit notes and structure, then this definitely is the wine you want. We opened this at the start of a Sunday shift at the store and it immediately made quite the impression on us. The nose captured my attention with its depth: violet, black pepper and herbs. My palate was pulled in by the savory notes, blackberry fruit and persistent finish. We could not stop talking about this wine throughout the day! I may have snuck back on more than one occasion for a quick revisit(shh), each sip revealing a little something more to surprise and entice me. This is an absolutely gorgeous, complex wine that will have you coming back for more too.
Price: $29.99 Add To Cart
WE 94

Caves Messias Santola "Crab Wine" Vinho Verde
Review Date: 04-25-2018
Fun, fun, fun! Crisp, refreshing, and spritzy this is THE quintessential, eazy-breezy, zippy summer sipper. You're going to want to keep this on hand for poolside sipping, or for enjoying with salads, cheese and yes, even crab.
Price: $8.99 Add To Cart

2016 Les Freres Perroud Brouilly Vieilles Vignes
Review Date: 04-17-2018
With spring in full swing and summer just around the corner, the time for warm weather reds is now. While fruit and power dominated the 2015 vintage in Beaujolais (and most of France), the focus for 2016 in Beaujolais is on elegance with a favorable harmony of fruit and acid. The Brouilly “Vielles Vignes” smells like freshly picked strawberries and tastes like gorgeous ripe blackberries, with a nice cinnamony bite on the mid palate and an energetic finish that reflects the sand, clay and granitic soils of the area. Like the majority of Gamay wines this a winner with any meal. I drank this last night with pasta and homemade pesto. Not a traditional pairing but it turned out to be a party in my mouth that I didn’t want to end.
Price: $14.99 Add To Cart
VN 90

2015 Isole e Olena Chianti Classico
Review Date: 04-17-2018
Four years ago on a whirlwind trip to Italy, I made a last minute tasting appointment with Paolo de Marchi’s wife Marta, who informed me that I “would have to taste with a group of Canadians” (what a dilemma). When the Canadians left, she gave me a tour of the facility then handed me off to the always charming Paolo, who took me around the vineyards and sent me home with a bottle of their estate-produced olive oil. This visit was a top highlight of my trip for many reasons so I always look forward to each release of this Chianti Classico. When I first tasted this vintage, it was notably very soft and easy, but still typically dry with a lot of cherry fruit. I chose not to decant it or let it breathe but decided to let it sit until the next day. What a contrast! The cherry fruit was still there but now there were herbs, some plum, the tannins and acidity were present and balanced. A bright, fresh, lingering finish completed my tasting experience. Absolutely lovely and elegant.. Open it up, try it then let it breathe for at least an hour to see how beautifully it blossoms.
Price: $23.99 Add To Cart
RP 92

2014 Freemark Abbey Napa Valley Cabernet Sauvignon
Review Date: 04-03-2018
Before I even put the glass to my nose, I assumed this would be a ripe, heavily-oaked wine. Well, I have no qualms about admitting I was certainly wrong to pass judgment so quickly. The flavor profile here is more black cherry, delicately sweet wild Oregon blackberry and herbs, and less crème de cassis, ripe plum and toasty vanilla. Everything is in check with the fruit, tannin and acidity all precisely balanced, with a persistent and elegant finish.

2011 Bocale Sagrantino di Montefalco
Review Date: 03-25-2018
I became enamored with this wine a few vintages ago and I'm falling for it once again. This is full-bodied, structured, complex and earthy with seductive black cherry, coffee and smoke. It has a more upfront, voluptuous fruit profile than some other wines of this varietal but this balances what is typically a rather tannic wine. Still, the tannins are definitely present here but not aggressive. Am I drinking this now? With a steak perhaps? Absolutely. This also has all the qualities of a wine worth cellaring for future enjoyment. If it's this sexy now, I can only imagine how it will taste in another 5 to 10 years. ​
Price: $39.99 Add To Cart
VN 91 RP 90

2016 Blason Malvasia Friuli-Venezia-Giulia
Review Date: 03-19-2018
Malvasia is not a varietal I intentionally seek out because my nose and palate are often left to feel assaulted by its intense floral, perfumy aromatics and flavors. Leave it to the Italians to change my mind and point me in the right direction! The aromatics in this wine are delicate and it's plenty fresh on the palate with white peach, almond and candied lemon notes. Medium-bodied, with great acidity and a beautiful finish, this is a very pretty wine that should suit anyone who enjoys more white flowers and stone fruit than green apple and citrus characteristics in a white wine. I had this with a simple market salad of arugula, red mustard greens, fennel, Fuji apple and feta dressed with olive oil and a splash of lemon. Favoloso!
Price: $10.99 Add To Cart

2016 Trellis (Amelia Park) Bordeaux Blend Margaret River Western Australia
Review Date: 03-13-2018
Margaret River Cabernet Sauvignon, whether as a single varietal or as part of a blend, is always a pleasure for me to drink. It has a distinct floral, blue-fruited nose that I find immediately identifiable plus there's all of that tobacco, cedar, and plummy goodness that reminds me of Bordeaux. This vintage has an extra kick of spice to it that I am really digging. A fantastic wine.
Price: $12.99 Add To Cart

2009 Bois-Malot, Bordeaux Supérieur
Review Date: 03-06-2018
Fans of Bois Malot who are worried about the dwindling stock of 2010 - rejoice! We have plenty of the 2009. This wonderful vintage resulted in an earth-driven blend of Cabernet Sauvignon, Merlot and Cab Franc that continues to over deliver at an incredible price point. While the 2010 shows more rich fruit, this is an excellent choice for those who prefer reds that display more structure with mineral characteristics. I had this with a simple meal of roasted chicken thighs, mixed peppers, polenta and lacinto kale and it was a fantastic pairing.
Price: $10.99 Add To Cart

2015 Domaine des Remizières "Cuvée Christophe" Crozes-Hermitage
Review Date: 02-12-2018
I am so excited for our customers to taste this wine. 2015 was certainly the vintage where a strong fruit profile was in the spotlight but Emile and Christophe Desmeures have once again demonstrated their deft hands in winemaking when it comes to balanced, elegantly restrained and delightful wines. Concentrated floral and fresh berry aromas are prominent in the nose yet on the palate the fruit dances with the savory notes of Syrah, some present but fine tannins and a delicate finish. Beautiful.

2015 Danjean-Berthoux Givry "Meix Au Roi"
Review Date: 01-31-2018
Freshly harvested cranberries, first-of-the-season strawberries and forest floor characteristics make this value Pinot Noir from the Côte Chalonnaise a good fit for those who enjoy the lighter, earthier side of Burgundy and not necessarily the fruit-driven style of 2015s from other villages.
Price: $19.99 Add To Cart

Page: 1 2 next