Reviewers


K&L Email Alerts

Sign up to receive custom alerts, new arrivals and the latest happenings from K&L Wines


Staff Favorites - Sharon Kelly

Sharon Kelly

Reviews

Page: 1 2 next
2016 Domaine de l'Amandine Côtes du Rhône-Villages Seguret
Review Date: 04-16-2019
If you're searching for a tremendous Rhone value you will certainly be thrilled with this full-bodied blend of Syrah and Grenache. With a nose that brims with classic red fruits and wild garrigue, and oozing with flavors of ripe berries and baking spice, this is a powerful wine but it remains very bright and fresh thanks to balancing acidity. What makes this wine even more enticing? Its availability in 3L box format. Fabulous deal!
Price: $13.99 Add To Cart
WE 92 DC 91

2017 La Posta del Viñatero "Pizzella Vineyard" Malbec Mendoza
Review Date: 04-16-2019
By the time midweek rolls around, I want a wine that is dependable and uncomplicated, that will deliver in flavor and price. Simply put, I want this Malbec - tasty and juicy, full of ripe plum and dark fruits, some cocoa, hints of coffee and with gently gripping tannins. Very easy drinking but bearing wonderful balance and structure, this is very well-crafted and has a lot more to offer than your basic Malbec. Buy it and enjoy it. You'll be back for a case.

2016 La Chablisiènne Chablis 1er Cru "Montée de Tonnerre"
Review Date: 04-10-2019
This here is a perfect example of a truly fine wine with an astonishingly low price point. This Premier Cru does see barrel time, which imparts sensuous texture but not the oak flavor, giving this more richness than a village level Chablis yet the wine remains bright and fresh. There are lovely layers of ripe apple, stone fruit and lemon, all wrapped up in a fantastic, flinty finish. Gorgeous.

2016 Les Frères Perroud "Amethyste" Brouilly
Review Date: 04-08-2019
The Amethyst is named for the amethyst crystal that grows deep in the ground where these vines grow. This charmingly rustic Gamay is so fresh and friendly, bursting with raspberries, ripe plums and a deliciously juicy finish. An excellent pairing with pizza and anything with basil. A great warm weather red too.
Price: $15.99 Add To Cart

2017 Idle Chatter Mendocino Red
Review Date: 04-08-2019
Casey O’Brien is no stranger to anyone working in the wine industry. His new project is a true reflection of his enthusiastic and frank personality, right down to the phrasing on the label. No hidden gimmicks here, just bright, unadulterated juice meant to bring drinking pleasure amongst friends. And it seems people have caught on because customers are returning to buy this by the case. Bravo!
Price: $17.99 Add To Cart

2016 Château de Javernand "Indigene" Chiroubles
Review Date: 04-08-2019
Higher altitude and cooler temps in Chiroubles result in wines that are delicate and fruity and not as intense as other Crus in Beaujolais. Combine this with the minimal intervention style of winemakers Arthur Fourneau and Pierre Prost and you have a Gamay that boasts fresh red fruits and a gentle tone. Made with natural yeasts and no sulfur added at bottling, this benefits from a good hour in the decanter. Try with soft, creamy polenta and wild mushrooms.
Price: $17.99 Add To Cart
VN 91 WE 90

2017 McKinlay Willamette Valley Pinot Noir
Review Date: 04-08-2019
There is a distinct personality to Oregon Pinot Noir that draws me in every time. The nose of this wine is pure raspberry, but on the palate there is a smokiness coupled with sour cherries. This has great balance between fruit and earth and an ever greater price point. This is a terrific Pinot.
Price: $17.99 Add To Cart

2014 Domaine Laroche Chablis
Review Date: 03-31-2019
This Chablis is smooth and rounder in texture, with expressive aromas of ripe apple, citrus and a good core of classic Chablis flint and minerality. Fabulous with roasted vegetables or a simple cheese plate. Drink now.
Price: $19.99 Add To Cart

2017 Les Champs de l'Abbaye Mercurey "Les Marcoeurs" Rouge
Review Date: 03-27-2019
Wines from the commune of Mercurey, in the Cote Chalonnaise, can be more full bodied than other appellations - if you enjoy a touch more heft in your Pinot, this is your wine. Made with fruit from vines located just below 1er Cru Clos des Myglands, it is loaded with ripe strawberries and red cherries. Plush mouthfeel, soft tannins and a brilliant hit of acidity result in a fresh, juicy and wonderfully approachable Pinot Noir. A scrumptious fruit profile emerges after an hour in the decanter. Farmed organically and minimal sulfur added.
Price: $29.99 Add To Cart

2016 Chateau de la Charriere Bourgogne Hautes Cotes de Beaune
Review Date: 03-27-2019
Red cherries galore in the nose of this wine! It is so fresh and bright on the palate with lots of fresh strawberries, some cranberry and a delicate spicy nuance. Fantastic Bourgogne rouge for under $20? Believe it. Stock up while you can.
Price: $18.99 Add To Cart

2016 Caggiano "Tauri" Irpina Aglianico
Review Date: 03-27-2019
This wine has such great complexity. It's rustic and earthy, with peppery tones, lots of black fruit, dried herbs, roasted plums, smoke and meat.Pronounced tannins and solid acidity make this a perfect match with a fatty cut of meat. Vegetarian? Have with something mushroom-heavy.
Price: $19.99 Add To Cart
VN 91

2018 Kalinda Napa Valley Sauvignon Blanc
Review Date: 03-18-2019
I just love this thirst quenching Sauvignon Blanc. The nose exudes tropical fruits and springtime flowers and it's packed with flavors of freshly sliced peach, white nectarine and apricot. This is fruity - not sweet - and retains plenty of snappy acidity. The excellence in flavor and quality continues, with a very attractive price point to boot.
Price: $16.99 Add To Cart

2017 Joseph Drouhin Mâcon Villages
Review Date: 03-13-2019
The Mâconnais is a marvelous source for excellent value, bistro-style wines that are simply fresh and fun to drink. This is packed with personality and texture, showing lots of ripe apple, lemon and pear and that zing! of acidity that keeps everything vivacious and bright. With triple digit weather just around the corner, plan ahead and stock up for those hot summer nights!
Price: $13.99 Add To Cart
JG 90

2014 Buglioni Valpolicella Classico Superiore
Review Date: 03-13-2019
This is abundantly flavored with black cherry, ripe red berry fruits and baking spice while remaining pleasantly laid back and balanced. Try this as an alternative to lighter styles such as a cru Beaujolais - this wine has more structure and tannic grip but is as versatile with many foods.
Price: $19.99 Add To Cart

Wine Club

$14.99

2016 Bishop's Peak San Luis Obispo Pinot Noir
Review Date: 03-04-2019
Pinot Noir is a delicate and temperamental grape to grow and attempting to find a good, balanced bottle for under $20 can be disappointing. However, this wine from Bishop's Peak is one of the few really good ones in a handful that I have tasted that truly satisfies my drinking pleasure and budget. It checks all of the boxes: fruit, earth, vibrant acidity, overall structure. No overly oaked, extracted flavors or flabby, thin juice here; this is well-made, balanced Pinot Noir with winemaking pedigree.
Price: $17.99 Add To Cart
VN 91

2015 Poggerino Chianti Classico
Review Date: 03-04-2019
A fantastic wine from the stellar 2015 vintage, this is lush with dusty cherry fruit, leather and herbs that swaddle the palate. Pleasantly grippy tannins and vibrant acidity carry through the lengthy finish - this wine is gorgeous. A tremendous bottle to enjoy now and I highly suggest putting extra in your cellar for some fabulous future enjoyment.
Price: $22.99 Add To Cart
WS 92 RP 90

2010 Trabucchi Amarone della Valpolicella
Review Date: 03-04-2019
This is an exceptionally intriguing example of Amarone. The nose is profoundly savory and I was immediately hooked by a distinctive scent of salted capers. While some Amarone wines can been cloying and potent this is instead a drier representation, showing ripe fruit, even a bit of brine on the palate and superbly bright acidity. It's savory and fruity so try this as a pairing with duck or game instead of beef. Favoloso!
Price: $79.99 Add To Cart

2016 Domaine Frederic Esmonin Gevrey-Chambertin "Les Jouises" Vieilles Vignes
Review Date: 02-19-2019
I really love the nose of this wine which is wonderfully scented with cherries but it's really the intoxicating aromas of wild underbrush that draws me in. It's youthful and rustic on the palate with a firmness and intensity typical of Gevrey-Chambertin, but with some time in the cellar it will show its more complex aromas and flavors. For immediate enjoyment, let this loosen up in a decanter or pour a glass and let it sit while you cook dinner. I enjoyed this with mushroom and truffle flatbread and a simple green salad. Delicious.
Price: $39.99 Add To Cart

2016 La Tour Léognan, Pessac-Léognan
Review Date: 02-18-2019
A fantastic wine. This is a well-structured yet very accessible Bordeaux with wild dark fruits, cocoa notes, lush texture and vivid acidity. It's been a rather cold and damp winter in Los Angeles and these days after work I usually crank up the heat and crawl into bed with a book. However, after we opened this up to taste at the store, I instead went home, cranked up the heat, whipped up an old-school beef and mashed potato dinner and took my time to thoroughly enjoy this soul-warming and downright delicious wine.
Price: $19.99 Add To Cart

2017 Bründlmayer "Kamptaler Terrassen" Riesling Kamptal
Review Date: 02-10-2019
Pure and precise with petrol and orchard fruit aromas, lemon and green apple flavors and acidity for days. A fabulously dry and crisp wine.

2014 Château des Jacques (Louis Jadot) Morgon
Review Date: 02-09-2019
This is a more peppy than succulent Gamay that has plenty of tart cherry fruit, mineral character and a waft of wet soil. The fruit, tannins and acidity are balanced and delicate- this too easy to enjoy. ​A classic Morgon from a classic vintage, this is excellent drinking for an excellent price. Try with pizza!
Price: $12.99 Add To Cart
JG 92

2016 Chateau de la Charriere Santenay 1er Cru "Clos Rousseau"
Review Date: 02-06-2019
The Charriere wines keep on getting better and better each vintage. This is delicately perfumed with loads of bright red cherry fruit and a keen balance of earth and acid on the palate. Wines from this southernmost premier cru vineyard can sometimes be a bit fleshy but young winemaker Benoit Girardin has produced a wonderfully pure expression of Pinot Noir that is accessible upon popping the cork. Enjoy!
Price: $27.99 Add To Cart

2017 Les Champs de l'Abbaye Rully Blanc "Les Cailloux"
Review Date: 02-06-2019
Sparkling wine has been made in Rully since the 19th century. As a lesser known area, it may not have the prestige as other communes in the Beaune but there are exceptional still wines being produced here that are a tremendous value. The nose of this wine reminds me of Chassagne Montrachet with a more mineral-driven palate. The yellow fruits are ripe and vivid acidity balances well-integrated new oak. This is gorgeous and round but not overdone. A beautiful bottle of Chardonnay.
Price: $29.99 Add To Cart

2016 Domaine Louis Jadot Côte de Nuits-Villages "Le Vaucrain"
Review Date: 02-05-2019
A wine that makes me want to cook an elaborate dinner and spend an evening enjoying the meal with a bottle and good friends. It's exceptionally expressive with dark, wild fruits, fresh earth and a savory kick. A village level wine from a single named site, this has firm structure and considerable depth that makes it one you can drink now (decant first) or hold on to for 5-10 years.
Price: $37.99 Add To Cart
BH 87 - 90

2017 Aurore Dezat Sancerre Rouge
Review Date: 02-04-2019
She's just two vintages in as a newer addition to the K&L Direct Import program and Aurore Dezat continues to impress me. This Pinot Noir reminds me of a wine from the Marsannay region in Burgundy with prominent red fruits and a delicate mineral profile. It's bright and spicy, fresh and cheerful. Hop on board the Dezat train--she makes a beautiful Sancerre blanc too!
Price: $19.99 Add To Cart

2015 Salcheto Vino Nobile di Montepulciano
Review Date: 01-29-2019
This Sangiovese has a sassy attitude and I'm loving it. It shows a mix of sweet and sour cherry fruit, some figs and a waft of mint and herbs. The longer it is open, the sweeter side of the cherry fruit comes forward and the wine remains dry and structured with some pleasantly grippy tannins. Pop this open and let it breathe while you cook that steak. You're in for a treat.
Price: $22.99 Add To Cart
WE 94 WS 94

2016 Joseph Drouhin Côte de Nuits-Villages
Review Date: 01-23-2019
A terroir-driven style with gentle dark fruits and uplifting spice, this was a bit firm out of the gate but the fruit flavors were coaxed out with an hour of air. It was a perfect match with my dinner of tarragon-and-Dijon-coated chicken thighs and roasted fingerling potatoes.
Price: $29.99 Add To Cart

2016 Chante Cigale Châteauneuf-du-Pape
Review Date: 01-22-2019
A gorgeous, dark-fruited wine that boasts aromas of ripe plums, some pepper and flavor that is rich with black cherry and baking spice, with tannins that gently grip and vivid acidity to balance it all out. After about 45 minutes of breathing time, its personality fully revealed its sublime self. You can drink this now or store some away for a few years.
Price: $34.99 Add To Cart

Wine Club

$29.99
RP 91 VN 91

2017 Guy Farge "Bouquet de Syrah" Ardeche Rouge
Review Date: 01-14-2019
This is prime "Saint-Joseph-adjacent" Syrah, made with fruit from vines that grow in the same granitic soils but are just a stone's throw outside the appellation. My nose keeps returning to the glass to take in the aromas of black currant, raspberry, and cracked pepper, with traces of crushed stone that unfold with some breathing time. There is great complexity here with just the perfect amount of acidity and tannic presence. Did I mention the low ABV of 12.5%? A FANTASTIC Syrah from the Northern Rhone that will knock your socks off in flavor and value. I can't get enough of this wine!
Price: $15.99 Add To Cart

2017 l'Avocat Blanc, Graves
Review Date: 01-07-2019
Always one to direct customers to the less obvious choice, this is something I recommend when I am approached for a Sauvignon Blanc from France. Everyone knows Sancerre in the Loire, but more people should be asking for this white Bordeaux on the regular. It is invigorating and fresh, with notes of pear, lemon and oro blanco. The texture is round but not dense, there is a good core of acidity and a persistent finish. The next time you're looking for a wine to go with sushi, take this with you.
Price: $15.99 Add To Cart

2016 Peake Ranch "Bellis Noir" Sta. Rita Hills
Review Date: 01-07-2019
At a recent visit to Peake Ranch, I tasted a range of Pinot Noir, Syrah and Chardonnay, all of which were very, very good, yet the one that stood out for me (and the one that was repeatedly poured into my glass) was this 50/50 blend of Grenache and Syrah. The spice of Syrah introduces itself first, but then the bright, raspberry personality of Grenache follows and they play back and forth on the palate. The texture is lush and the acidity bright, this is very well-balanced and flavorsome. Overall a very divine wine.
Price: $39.99 Add To Cart
JD 95

2016 Guy Farge "Terroir de Granit" Saint-Joseph Rouge
Review Date: 01-07-2019
In general, I find Syrah from Saint Joseph to be savory-dominant with notes of black pepper, spice, fresh herbs and stone. With age, they become more smoky and meaty, which is why I fancy them so much. While you can drink this now, let this breathe for about two hours. That's what I did and it opened up to reveal an abundance of dark fruit aromatics, black pepper and hints of flowers but I want to see how it evolves over a few more years so I grabbed two bottles - one for now and one for down the road.

2016 Domaine Petroni Corse Rouge (Corsica)
Review Date: 01-02-2019
A charming wine from the Mediterranean island of Corsica that has such personality, depth, and versatility! The nose is full of dusty red raspberries and violets; on the palate it is bright and has a hint of spice and white pepper. There is good acidity and tannins that gently grip. The red wines from this area remind me of Italian wines with more raspberry than cherry notes and I am just really fond of this one for the easy drinking style it presents. I love introducing customers to regions like this that are not typically on their radar.
Price: $13.99 Add To Cart

Wine Club

$9.99
JD 94

2016 Grandes Serres "Carius" Cairanne
Review Date: 01-02-2019
This is savory and lush with black cherry and blackberry fruits but what keeps me pouring more into my glass is the abundance of herbs and spice. It is full bodied and well-structured with tannins that add great complexity, and it finishes with plenty of lift and freshness. I'll take a case, please!
Price: $14.99 Add To Cart
DC 96

2016 Dragonette "Seven" Santa Ynez Syrah
Review Date: 12-31-2018
Year after year, Dragonette continues to impress me with their extremely well-crafted and elegant expressions of California wines. At a recent visit to the top of the John Sebastiano vineyard (where a portion of the fruit for this wine came from), this was poured into our glasses as we took in the view, the cold wind blowing around us, this gorgeous Syrah warming our souls. The sensational "Seven" is a dynamic blend of black and blue fruits with the peppery, meaty quality I love about this varietal, and it finishes with sensual texture and persistence.
Price: $41.99 Add To Cart
W&S 93 CG 92

2015 Petra Zingari Toscana
Review Date: 12-16-2018
This equal parts Merlot/Syrah/Sangiovese/Petit Verdot blend is a departure from what I usually reach for in the Italian section but I was intrigued and brought it to dinner with friends; it far exceeded our expectations! This is a super flavorful, medium-bodied wine packed with plush, ripe red fruit, a hint of cocoa powder on the nose and tannins that gently coat the palate. Plus, it finishes with a nice acidic pop on the finish that left us smacking our lips. This is fantastic stuff - a superb value, great for weeknight drinking, party going, or friendly gifting.
Price: $14.99 Add To Cart
JS 94 WS 92

2017 Domaine Dubois "Bonheur de Chardonnay" Bourgogne Blanc
Review Date: 12-04-2018
Arriving just in time for the holiday season is this fabulous Bourgogne Blanc that really does represent the "bonheur de Chardonnay". Made with fruit grown in the village of Premeaux Prissey, which sits in the shadow of both Côte de Nuits and Nuits- St-Georges, this has a cheery personality with ripe apple aromas, fresh lemon on the palate, oak that is mildly present and very finely integrated, all wrapped up in a lengthy finish. This is a pretty darn good Bourgogne Blanc under $20, from one of our newest direct imports.
Price: $17.99 Add To Cart

2017 Domaine de Millet Colombard-Ugni Blanc Côtes de Gascogne Blanc
Review Date: 11-27-2018
It's Millet Time! A crazy value for what has been a top party pick for customers year after year. A 50/50 blend of Colombard and Ugni Blanc fermented in stainless steel,it's got zippy acidity and clean, fresh citrus notes of grapefruit, tangerine and lemon. This is the ultimate no-fuss thirst quencher that is an ideal wine for Sauvignon Blanc fans looking for something different.
Price: $8.99 Add To Cart

2015 Bodegas Palacios Remondo "La Montesa" Crianza Rioja
Review Date: 11-26-2018
This lush, spicy gem is full of gorgeous, red berry aromatics, with good concentration on the palate, acidity that makes it all extremely well-balanced and definitely not over done. On a recent chilly Los Angeles evening it was a satisfying and soothing warm embrace after a long, long day. This is a wine that makes you say aahh..

2015 Walter Glatzer "Reserve" Blaufränkisch
Review Date: 11-26-2018
This is a round, fruity expression with an abundance of blueberry and violet notes. Acidity is pleasant and the typical spiciness of Blaufränkisch is more restrained here but still remains noticeably present among the fruit-forward aromas and flavors. There's a juicy nature to this particular bottling that is in line with a youthful Gamay or plummy California Pinot Noir.
Price: $22.99 Add To Cart

2016 Fossil Point Edna Valley Pinot Noir
Review Date: 10-31-2018
I revisted this wine recently and I can still confidently state this is the best under $20 California Pinot Noir in the store. Very flavorful and brimming with black cherry and earth, there's a great balance of acidity and an ever-so-slight touch of oak that is really well integrated. Not over done, this is a fresh, clean and straight-forward wine that will appeal to everybody. Impress your guests with this delicious value at your Thanksgiving dinner this year!
Price: $15.99 Add To Cart

2015 Petit Soutard, St-Emilion
Review Date: 10-29-2018
​This is wonderfully lush, showing notes of dark baking chocolate and copious black cherry and plum fruits held in a warm embrace of oak that doesn't smother. The acid plays a great supporting role, making this a great choice for anyone looking for a full-bodied, modern-style wine with old world sensibility.
Price: $19.99 Add To Cart

2017 Les Champs de l'Abbaye Bourgogne Rouge
Review Date: 10-22-2018
Made with fruit from 10-15 year-old vines, this Pinot Noir has plenty of juicy red fruits on the palate which are balanced by great acidity and gentle tannins. Bottled unfined, unfiltered and with very little added sulfur - this is minimal intervention with maximum results! Pop the cork and let this breathe for about an hour before consuming - the extra air time really makes everything come alive.
Price: $19.99 Add To Cart

2015 La Massa "La Massa" Toscana
Review Date: 10-14-2018
This is one of my go-to suggestions for anyone looking for a wine that will impress everyone in the room without breaking the bank. Full-bodied with tons of plush, ripe fruit and super-smooth texture, this is a very versatile, no-brainer choice for successful holiday entertaining, whether it be an elaborate Thanksgiving dinner or those dreaded grocery store pinwheel sandwiches at the holiday office party. Super Tuscan and super delicious.

2013 Andrew Will "Sorella" Horse Heaven Hills Red Blend
Review Date: 10-09-2018
A bold yet classy red with robust, ripe fruits and some classic signs of a Bordeaux blend; cedar, tobacco, and spice. I really enjoy how the lush flavors and gentle tannic grip wraps around the palate, with a persistent and memorable finish. As my colleagues report, decanting recommended. Also a very cellar-worthy purchase.

2016 Domaine Jean-Michel Giboulot Savigny-lès-Beaune
Review Date: 10-08-2018
I really appreciate the balance of this wine - it is not as intense as Pommard or as delicate as a Volnay - but sits somewhere in between. This is very expressive in the nose with substantial red cherry and spice notes. As with most of Jean-Michel Giboulot's wines, my nose likes to loiter in the glass to take in the aromas as the wine opens up. The acidity is lively, and the overall structure is there to carry this through for another 5 years. Give this bottle a good 30+ minutes of air before consuming.
Price: $27.99 Add To Cart

2016 Jean-Michel Dupre "1935" Morgon
Review Date: 10-07-2018
One of the store's best go-to values for party planners and food-and-wine-loving revelers is back on the shelves and I expect this one to fly out of here as quickly as the previous vintage did. Made with fruit from 83 year-old vines, this has good concentration but is still plenty fresh with the classic, juicy red berry fruit, bright acid and cheery personality that one can always count on from a great bottle of Gamay.
Price: $14.99 Add To Cart
WE 93 VN 92

2014 Ramey Napa Valley Cabernet Sauvignon
Review Date: 09-30-2018
I attended a seminar hosted by ​David and Carla Ramey a few months ago. It was an eye-opening talk about wine and the process of making it and he really inspired me to revisit everything I thought I knew about winemaking in California. David's engaging demeanor and sincere approach to his craft is clearly reflected in this bottle. Complex and filled with personality, rich yet elegant, this is exquisitely balanced and will cellar well for many years. ​

2016 Domaine de la Ganse Vacqueyras
Review Date: 09-26-2018
This is rich and expressive with loads of ripe dark fruits, roasted plum and spice. This has solid tannic structure and more than enough flavor and depth to go around. A surefire hit with any dinner plate that is filled with lamb or grilled beef.
Price: $18.99 Add To Cart

2016 Clos de l'Anhel "Lolo de l'Anhel" Corbieres
Review Date: 09-22-2018
Lolo is back! Velvety smooth and driven by notes of raspberry and plum, some spicy cinnamon, and even a whiff of cured meat, this wine just tastes and feels so fresh and clean. I recently took this to a night of jazz at the Hollywood Bowl and it was perfect for our sandwich and cheese plate picnic. Organic and (bio)dynamic!
Price: $12.99 Add To Cart

Page: 1 2 next