Best Sellers New Arrivals Local Events Locations Gift Cards My Account Advanced Search

Reviewers


K&L Email Alerts

Sign up to receive custom alerts, new arrivals and the latest happenings from K&L Wines

Staff Favorites - Lilia McIntosh

Lilia McIntosh

Reviews

2016 John Duval "Entity" Shiraz Barossa Valley South Australia
Review Date: 01-04-2019
This is my favorite expression of Shiraz in Australia: bright, spicy, with juicy acidity balanced by deep black fruit (black plum, boysenberry and mulberry) with black pepper notes to go along with it. It's not big and heavy Shiraz despite being blackfruited. It's elegant and almost silky on the palate. It's perfectly drinkable now but I can see that with little bit of age it will blossom even more. Beautifully crafted wine worth of buying a case to see it evolving in the future.
Price: Hidden View Price
JH 97 JS 94

2015 Domaine de la Janasse Côtes-du-Rhône Reserve
Review Date: 12-07-2018
I think this is the best Cote-du-Rhone I have tasted in the past 3 months. It comes from one of the best Châteauneuf-du-Pape producers and you can see its pedigree even in the simple Cote-du-Rhone designation. Aromas and flavors of strawberry rhubarb pie, pink peppercorns and freshly made strawberry preserve emerge from the glass and linger on the palate for quite some time, the texture is silky and wine is smooth and approachable yet spicy and charming . I am always in awe when I see great value wines of such complexity.
Price: $15.99 Add To Cart
JD 92

2017 Julien Schaal Rangen de Thann Volcanique Grand Cru Riesling Alsace
Review Date: 11-29-2018
Rangen is by far my favorite vineyard in Alsace. From the first time I tried Riesling from that site I fell in love with it. Not only it's one of the steepest vineyards (60 degree slope) but it's also the only one in Alsace grown on volcanic soil. And something about that volcanic soil that makes Riesling from where so unique and complex. On the nose it has orchard fruit, dusty soil notes and hints on honeycomb. Palate is luxurious: broad, deep, texture is layered and well rounded. Dry, spicy, the acidity is present but tamed, yellow plums and touch of tangerine join in on the palate. I think this is extremely versatile and food friendly wine and its sheer beauty will please a wide range of wine drinkers.

2017 Julien Schaal Kastelberg Grand Cru Riesling Alsace
Review Date: 11-29-2018
If you are looking for a stunning bone dry Riesling, you just found it. This offering from Julien Schaal defines the meaning of being bone dry. Coming from one of the oldest vineyard in Alsace this Riesling is all searing minerality from blue schist soil and high tone citrus on the palate with slight floral hint in the aroma. Intense yet charming thanks to its bright energy and vivid freshness.

2016 Allram Grüner Veltliner "Renner 1ÖTW" Kamptal
Review Date: 11-29-2018
I love the combination of well rounded texture of this Gruner and bold powerful mineral side of it! It creates wonderful, dens,e multi-layered flavor profile that is incredibly complex and intriguing. Dry, with lots of freshness, pomelo and grapefruit notes.
Price: $24.99 Add To Cart
DC 97 JS 92

2016 Domaine Nerantzi Assyrtiko Serres Greece
Review Date: 11-09-2018
This is definitely different yet delicious expression of Assyrtiko grape if you compare it to Santorini versions. This one has deeper and richer texture with more exotic flavor profile, it's full of orange and pomelo fruit on the nose and on the palate, with powerful backbone of minerality. As it breathes it opens up and blossoms with floral and spice notes. Being so complex, it certainly reminds me of white wines from Burgundy. This would work nicely with Dungeness crab or large scallops.
Price: $17.99 Add To Cart
W&S 94

2017 Gentilini Robola of Cephalonia Greece
Review Date: 11-09-2018
If you love highly mineral and super fresh, crisp whites like Chablis and Muscadet Sèvre et Maine Sur Lie, you must try this wine made from Robola - indigenous grape of Cephalonia. This wine opens up immediately with tonne of saline minerality that speaks of the sea and the limestone soil. On the palate it's all mouthwatering acidity and citrus fruit; it's juicy and refreshing and definitely great wine to pair with seafood, oysters especially.
Price: $17.99 Add To Cart
RP 91

2017 Julien Schaal Riesling Grand Cru "Sommerberg Granite"
Review Date: 10-26-2018
A breathtaking wine and astonishing value for sure! This Riesling has so much going on that you just get smitten by complexity of various aromas and flavors. On the nose it opens up with meadow flowers, touch of honey, chamomile and white peach. On the palate it's incredibly powerful, rich and intense with lots of citrus and spice flavors, yet absolutely dry and super mineral; you can certainly feel the presence of that granitic soil that vines are grown on. Impeccable wine from a vineyard that dates back to 1214.
Price: $19.99 Add To Cart
WE 96 VN 90

Petit & Bajan Nuit Blanche Grand Cru Blanc de Blancs Brut Champagne
Review Date: 04-12-2018
I think I just found my new favorite Champagne for this summer! I love Blanc de Blancs style in general and this particular one has everything I adore. It's perfectly balanced, fresh crunchy acidity complements deep, rich texture and creates ethereal mouthfeel with especially prolonged finish, which (I swear!) doesn't want to quit! There is a hint of brioche on palate and aromatic Asian pear and Golden Delicious apple notes as well as touch of bright citrus. It's seems absolutely perfect and effortlessly seamless. I'll definitely buy it for my own consumption as soon as it arrives here.
Price: $42.99 Add To Cart

2016 Frédéric Esmonin Hautes-Côte de Nuits Rouge
Review Date: 02-27-2018
This is delightful example of craftsmanship of Esmonin. Their attention to detail and desire to achieve perfect balance is showing even in their entry level Burgundy. This wine exhibits bright crunchy cranberry and freshly crushed red cherries flavors with subtle notes of light earthiness and spice. Very clean, elegant with acidity in balance with fruit, this wine is one of the best 2016 to drink right now and in the near future.
Price: $23.99 Add To Cart

2016 Au Bon Climat/K&L Wine Merchants "Bien Nacido Vineyard" Santa Maria Valley Pinot Noir
Review Date: 11-20-2017
This Pinot Noir could be easily mistaken for Burgundy when blind tasted. First thing that came to my mind when I tasted it was Pommard. Those violet notes, broad texture and linear bright acidity that forms very firm structure enveloped with dark red cherry and touch of red plum are so charming and appealing! Very impressive wine! To be honest it's been awhile since I've tasted Pinot Noir from California that would resemble Burgundy so much. I definitely need some of it for my cellar.
Price: $19.99 Add To Cart

Canard-Duchêne "Authentic" Brut Champagne
Review Date: 10-04-2017
For a while Canard Duchene Champagne fell of my radar and it's been a long time since I've tasted it, until last night Gary opened it for us to revisit. I was pleased and surprised to find out how well the wine was showing! It has lovely notes of citrus and a touch of brioche. The texture is round and deep with fresh acidity, rich in flavor mid-palate but not heavy! It's actually a pretty clean and vibrant Champagne with a long and mineral finish. I'm so glad I tried it again — it's a great value Champagne for sure for upcoming holidays and festivities.
Price: $29.99 Add To Cart

2015 Domaine Jean-Michel Giboulot Savigny-lès-Beaune
Review Date: 09-08-2017
2015 Domaine Jean-Michel Giboulot Savigny-lès-Beaune is full of ripe bing cherry aromas. The palate is richly textured and layered with spice, dark cherry and plum, firm tannins and bright acidity. It shows ripeness of the vintage, yet stays restrained and well structured
Price: $29.99 Add To Cart

Pierre Mineral Brut Rosé Champagne
Review Date: 05-02-2017
This Champagne represents elegance in its purity! It's delicate but yet persistent and dry on the palate with distinctive light strawberry and white peach notes with pronounced minerality. Bright and ethereal beauty!
Price: $39.99 Add To Cart

2007 Alexandre Le Brun "Cuvée Fascination" Brut Blanc de Blancs Champagne
Review Date: 10-03-2016
One of the loveliest Champagnes I have tasted recently. Precise and exquisite. Blanc de Blancs is my favorite type of Champagne and "Fascination" has everything I love: fresh and bright aromas with hints of brioche and white flowers. Dry, very focused palate with deep, rich flavors of citrus fruit and little bit of toastiness, beautifully balanced with a long mineral finish.
Price: $69.99 Add To Cart