Reviewers


K&L Email Alerts

Sign up to receive custom alerts, new arrivals and the latest happenings from K&L Wines


Staff Favorites - Lilia McIntosh

Lilia McIntosh

Reviews

2013 Kaesler "Stonehorse" Shiraz Barossa Valley
Review Date: 09-05-2019
This is one of the loveliest wine from Barossa I have tasted recently. It's fun and juicy, and it has a classic black fruit profile: mulberry, black raspberry, and black cherry burst on the palate. It's a hearty wine but not heavy, and very easy to drink. Beautiful acidity lifts up the finish and makes all flavors linger on for a while. Great wine for burgers and BBQ.
Price: $12.99 Add To Cart
WS 91

2017 John Duval "Entity" Shiraz Barossa Valley South Australia
Review Date: 08-21-2019
Unbelievable wine! John Duval winery has outdone itself this time! I have been a huge fan of this wine for a few vintages now, but this 2017 is off the charts. Gorgeous black fruit: mulberries, wild blackberries, polished and silky tannins. wine glides absolutely seamlessly on your palate and has long-lasting, bright, mouth-watering finish. It's a beauty and a stunner of a wine.
Price: $34.99 Add To Cart
JH 99 WS 94

Jean-Jacques Lamoureux Pinot Blanc Champagne
Review Date: 06-21-2019
After many years in wine industry this was my first Pinot Blanc Champagne and - WOW! This was simply stunning. It combines purity of the fruit with elegance of vibrant acidity, broad texture and superb minerality that lingers on until the end which also seems endless. As a white burgundy lover I find this Champagne very similar to it and it's just a pure magic. This is a rare bottle, so treat yourself to it!
Price: $49.99 Add To Cart

2017 Julien Schaal "Schoenenbourg Gypse" Riesling Grand Cru Alsace
Review Date: 04-27-2019
This perhaps the loveliest Riesling from all that Julien Schaal has to offer. Rich and deep in flavor, dry, mineral, combining lovely freshness and crisp acidity with bright orchard fruit, hints of honey and meadow flowers. It's such a multidimensional and complex wine that it keeps changing and opening up in the glass continuously. I consider this a special treat to be able to enjoy such high quality Riesling from one of the most prized vineyards in Alsace at such low cost! Do not miss this opportunity.

2015 Domaine de la Janasse Côtes-du-Rhône Reserve
Review Date: 12-07-2018
I think this is the best Cote-du-Rhone I have tasted in the past 3 months. It comes from one of the best Châteauneuf-du-Pape producers and you can see its pedigree even in the simple Cote-du-Rhone designation. Aromas and flavors of strawberry rhubarb pie, pink peppercorns and freshly made strawberry preserve emerge from the glass and linger on the palate for quite some time, the texture is silky and wine is smooth and approachable yet spicy and charming . I am always in awe when I see great value wines of such complexity.
Price: $15.99 Add To Cart
JD 92

2017 Julien Schaal Rangen de Thann "Volcanique" Grand Cru Riesling Alsace
Review Date: 11-29-2018
Rangen is by far my favorite vineyard in Alsace. From the first time I tried Riesling from that site I fell in love with it. Not only it's one of the steepest vineyards (60 degree slope) but it's also the only one in Alsace grown on volcanic soil. And something about that volcanic soil that makes Riesling from where so unique and complex. On the nose it has orchard fruit, dusty soil notes and hints on honeycomb. Palate is luxurious: broad, deep, texture is layered and well rounded. Dry, spicy, the acidity is present but tamed, yellow plums and touch of tangerine join in on the palate. I think this is extremely versatile and food friendly wine and its sheer beauty will please a wide range of wine drinkers.

2017 Julien Schaal Riesling Grand Cru "Sommerberg Granite"
Review Date: 10-26-2018
A breathtaking wine and astonishing value for sure! This Riesling has so much going on that you just get smitten by complexity of various aromas and flavors. On the nose it opens up with meadow flowers, touch of honey, chamomile and white peach. On the palate it's incredibly powerful, rich and intense with lots of citrus and spice flavors, yet absolutely dry and super mineral; you can certainly feel the presence of that granitic soil that vines are grown on. Impeccable wine from a vineyard that dates back to 1214.

2013 Bagueri Ribolla Gialla Slovenia
Review Date: 10-10-2018
What a unique and intriguing wine! It magically combines rich exotic fruit with brisk mouthwatering acidity and finishes with crisp citrus note. At first site it appears like it might be heavy - it has such deep golden color, but then, palate surprises you with lovely bright and vivid flavors and rounded texture! I think this arrived just in time for cooler autumn days and nights that are ahead of us - when you wish for something fuller bodied but still refreshing. This wine just hits the spot.
Price: $24.99 Add To Cart
DC 97

2014 La Chablisienne Chablis 1er Cru "Beauroy"
Review Date: 10-18-2017
None of the 2014 Chablis wines from La Chablisienne have disappointed me so far. They are all fantastic! But considering price of this 1er Cru I would say it's by far the best value and my favorite Chablis. It's practically perfect. If you love juicy bright citrus, crunchy minerality and fresh acidity that wakes up your whole palate, this Chablis is for you.
Price: $26.99 Add To Cart
DC 93 RP 90

Canard-Duchêne "Authentic" Brut Champagne
Review Date: 10-04-2017
For a while Canard Duchene Champagne fell of my radar and it's been a long time since I've tasted it, until last night Gary opened it for us to revisit. I was pleased and surprised to find out how well the wine was showing! It has lovely notes of citrus and a touch of brioche. The texture is round and deep with fresh acidity, rich in flavor mid-palate but not heavy! It's actually a pretty clean and vibrant Champagne with a long and mineral finish. I'm so glad I tried it again — it's a great value Champagne for sure for upcoming holidays and festivities.
Price: $29.99 Add To Cart

Domaine du Petit Coteau Vouvray Brut
Review Date: 08-02-2017
Often sparkling wines from Loire are flying under the radar and not too many people aware of them. Yet these wines represent a great value in the world of sparkling wine. This wonderful sparkling Vouvray is made from 100% Chenin Blanc and done in traditional method Champenoise. It's completely dry with delicious brioche and slightly toasty notes. I love the classic Chenin Blanc aromas of fresh apples, white blossoms and honey. It's refreshing and juicy, great wine to enjoy alongside cheese plate.
Price: $14.99 Add To Cart

Pierre Mineral Brut Rosé Champagne
Review Date: 05-02-2017
This Champagne represents elegance in its purity! It's delicate but yet persistent and dry on the palate with distinctive light strawberry and white peach notes with pronounced minerality. Bright and ethereal beauty!
Price: $39.99 Add To Cart

2007 Alexandre Le Brun "Cuvée Fascination" Brut Blanc de Blancs Champagne
Review Date: 10-03-2016
One of the loveliest Champagnes I have tasted recently. Precise and exquisite. Blanc de Blancs is my favorite type of Champagne and "Fascination" has everything I love: fresh and bright aromas with hints of brioche and white flowers. Dry, very focused palate with deep, rich flavors of citrus fruit and little bit of toastiness, beautifully balanced with a long mineral finish.
Price: $69.99 Add To Cart