Staff Favorites - Lilia McIntosh

Lilia McIntosh

Reviews

2013 Bagueri Ribolla Gialla Slovenia
Review Date: 10-10-2018
What a unique and intriguing wine! It magically combines rich exotic fruit with brisk mouthwatering acidity and finishes with crisp citrus note. At first site it appears like it might be heavy - it has such deep golden color, but then, palate surprises you with lovely bright and vivid flavors and rounded texture! I think this arrived just in time for cooler autumn days and nights that are ahead of us - when you wish for something fuller bodied but still refreshing. This wine just hits the spot.
Price: $24.99 Add To Cart
DC 97

2009 Grans-Fassian Piesporter Riesling Kabinett Mosel
Review Date: 10-05-2018
I just can't describe to you how excited I get when I see older vintages of Riesling coming to our store! It's such a joy and a treat. It's not always that easy to find perfectly aged Mosel wines. So when it happens it's like finding a treasure. At 9 years of age this pretty Kabinett is drinking beautifully. Peach, honey, nectar-like flavor is balanced with lively acidity, making this wine shine and sparkle on the palate. It's easy to drink but also complex enough to make you think about it every time you take a sip and smell the aromas. It does have classic, slightly smoky and mineral aromas so typical for German, and especially Mosel Riesling. Such a delight for a very low price!
Price: $9.99 Add To Cart

Petit & Bajan Nuit Blanche Grand Cru Blanc de Blancs Brut Champagne
Review Date: 04-12-2018
I think I just found my new favorite Champagne for this summer! I love Blanc de Blancs style in general and this particular one has everything I adore. It's perfectly balanced, fresh crunchy acidity complements deep, rich texture and creates ethereal mouthfeel with especially prolonged finish, which (I swear!) doesn't want to quit! There is a hint of brioche on palate and aromatic Asian pear and Golden Delicious apple notes as well as touch of bright citrus. It's seems absolutely perfect and effortlessly seamless. I'll definitely buy it for my own consumption as soon as it arrives here.
Price: $42.99 Add To Cart

2016 Domaine Frédéric Esmonin Gevrey-Chambertin "Clos Prieur"
Review Date: 04-06-2018
Wines from Frederic Esmonin never cease to amaze me! This one in particular is a stellar and a steal at such low price. It's incredibly vivid and bright aromatically - dark berries and cherries with smokey and mineral notes bursting from the glass. Fresh and lively on the palate, with beautiful crunchy acidity, black plum and black cherry on the palate. Definitely firm and well structured but also very approachable now with some decanting.
Price: $35.99 Add To Cart
WS 93

2016 Frédéric Esmonin Hautes-Côte de Nuits Rouge
Review Date: 02-27-2018
This is delightful example of craftsmanship of Esmonin. Their attention to detail and desire to achieve perfect balance is showing even in their entry level Burgundy. This wine exhibits bright crunchy cranberry and freshly crushed red cherries flavors with subtle notes of light earthiness and spice. Very clean, elegant with acidity in balance with fruit, this wine is one of the best 2016 to drink right now and in the near future.
Price: $23.99 Add To Cart

2016 Domaine Frédéric Esmonin Ruchottes-Chambertin Grand Cru
Review Date: 01-19-2018
Ruchottes-Chambertin is less concentrated and rich than Mazy but significantly more taut, racy and mineral thanks to rocky, limestone based soil in the vineyard. It's a charming wine with raspberry, black cherry, floral and sous-bois. Very bright, vivid and juicy on the palate with lots of earthy and mineral notes layering that cherry fruit profile.

2016 Domaine Frédéric Esmonin Mazy-Chambertin Grand Cru
Review Date: 01-19-2018
Wine of astonishing beauty Mazy-Chambertin is incredibly aromatic. Notes of black cherry, blackcurrants and spice pour from the glass and captivate you immediately. On the palate it's powerful and opulent yet elegant and bright with uplifting acidity and voluptuous texture, full of black cherries and plum. Very dense and concentrated in flavor it will age for a long time though it's hard to keep your hands off it already!

2016 Au Bon Climat/K&L Wine Merchants "Bien Nacido Vineyard" Santa Maria Valley Pinot Noir
Review Date: 11-20-2017
This Pinot Noir could be easily mistaken for Burgundy when blind tasted. First thing that came to my mind when I tasted it was Pommard. Those violet notes, broad texture and linear bright acidity that forms very firm structure enveloped with dark red cherry and touch of red plum are so charming and appealing! Very impressive wine! To be honest it's been awhile since I've tasted Pinot Noir from California that would resemble Burgundy so much. I definitely need some of it for my cellar.
Price: $24.99 Add To Cart

Canard-Duchêne "Authentic" Brut Champagne
Review Date: 10-04-2017
For a while Canard Duchene Champagne fell of my radar and it's been a long time since I've tasted it, until last night Gary opened it for us to revisit. I was pleased and surprised to find out how well the wine was showing! It has lovely notes of citrus and a touch of brioche. The texture is round and deep with fresh acidity, rich in flavor mid-palate but not heavy! It's actually a pretty clean and vibrant Champagne with a long and mineral finish. I'm so glad I tried it again — it's a great value Champagne for sure for upcoming holidays and festivities.
Price: $29.99 Add To Cart

2015 Domaine Jean-Michel Giboulot Savigny-lès-Beaune
Review Date: 09-08-2017
2015 Domaine Jean-Michel Giboulot Savigny-lès-Beaune is full of ripe bing cherry aromas. The palate is richly textured and layered with spice, dark cherry and plum, firm tannins and bright acidity. It shows ripeness of the vintage, yet stays restrained and well structured
Price: $29.99 Add To Cart

2011 Domaine du Petit Coteau Vouvray Liquoureux (500ml)
Review Date: 08-02-2017
Liquoreaux is the sweetest and richest expression of Vouvray. It's made with botrytized and ripest grapes. Full-bodied, intense, nectar like, it's full of honey, peach and apple pie-like flavors. It also has interesting baking spice notes. Very unique and exotic dessert wine.
Price: $24.99 Add To Cart

Domaine du Petit Coteau Vouvray Brut
Review Date: 08-02-2017
Often sparkling wines from Loire are flying under the radar and not too many people aware of them. Yet these wines represent a great value in the world of sparkling wine. This wonderful sparkling Vouvray is made from 100% Chenin Blanc and done in traditional method Champenoise. It's completely dry with delicious brioche and slightly toasty notes. I love the classic Chenin Blanc aromas of fresh apples, white blossoms and honey. It's refreshing and juicy, great wine to enjoy alongside cheese plate.
Price: $14.99 Add To Cart

Pierre Mineral Brut Rosé Champagne
Review Date: 05-02-2017
This Champagne represents elegance in its purity! It's delicate but yet persistent and dry on the palate with distinctive light strawberry and white peach notes with pronounced minerality. Bright and ethereal beauty!
Price: $39.99 Add To Cart

1989 Joel Taluau Saint-Nicolas-de-Bourgueil Vieilles Vignes
Review Date: 04-07-2017
This wine is showing classic aged Cab Franc characteristic. It’s all earthiness and subtle savory “sous bois”. Bright red fruit that is so typical for younger Bourgueil is gone, and palate is heavily dominated by mushrooms, slight herbaceous flavors and soft tannins with light cherry notes. It’s a great example of perfectly aged Cabernet Franc - elegant and serene.
Price: $39.99 Add To Cart

2015 Les Frères Perroud "Amethyste" Brouilly
Review Date: 04-05-2017
There is a layer of amethyst crystal underground giving to the wine each year a unique typicity and distinctive minerality to this vineyard, hence the name. This wine has serious structure and incredible depth for Gamay. I would have certainly mistaken it for true Burgundy in a blind tasting. It's full of earthy dark red cherry fruit with notes of forest floor. This is a wine you can age for another 5 years easily, but in meantime enjoy this powerful and balanced Beaujolais with duck confit or leg of lamb.
Price: $17.99 Add To Cart
WE 91 VN 90

2007 Alexandre Le Brun "Cuvée Fascination" Brut Blanc de Blancs Champagne
Review Date: 10-03-2016
One of the loveliest Champagnes I have tasted recently. Precise and exquisite. Blanc de Blancs is my favorite type of Champagne and "Fascination" has everything I love: fresh and bright aromas with hints of brioche and white flowers. Dry, very focused palate with deep, rich flavors of citrus fruit and little bit of toastiness, beautifully balanced with a long mineral finish.
Price: $69.99 Add To Cart