Reviewers


K&L Email Alerts

Sign up to receive custom alerts, new arrivals and the latest happenings from K&L Wines


Staff Favorites - Lilia McIntosh

Lilia McIntosh

Reviews

2016 La Chablisiènne Chablis 1er Cru "Montée de Tonnerre"
Review Date: 04-09-2019
Elegant and sophisticated example of the top 1er Cru vineyard in Chablis and an unbelievable value! With delicate acidity, gentle yet deep and rich in flavor texture, this Chablis is easy to drink and undeniably delicious! Orchard fruit and white flower aromas and flavors combined with fresh mineral notes create a beautiful wine experience!

2017 Joseph Drouhin Mâcon Villages
Review Date: 03-15-2019
This easy drinking and lip-smacking Chardonnay is aged in stainless steal vats which gives it fresh, vivid and vibrant texture, and the palate is bursting with Mirabelle plums and Bartlett pears. It's a gentle, well rounded and balanced wine perfect for enjoying as an aperitif or accompanying white fish dishes.
Price: $13.99 Add To Cart
JG 90

2016 John Duval "Entity" Shiraz Barossa Valley South Australia
Review Date: 01-04-2019
This is my favorite expression of Shiraz in Australia: bright, spicy, with juicy acidity balanced by deep black fruit (black plum, boysenberry and mulberry) with black pepper notes to go along with it. It's not big and heavy Shiraz despite being blackfruited. It's elegant and almost silky on the palate. It's perfectly drinkable now but I can see that with little bit of age it will blossom even more. Beautifully crafted wine worth of buying a case to see it evolving in the future.
Price: Hidden View Price
JH 97 JS 94

2015 Domaine de la Janasse Côtes-du-Rhône Reserve
Review Date: 12-07-2018
I think this is the best Cote-du-Rhone I have tasted in the past 3 months. It comes from one of the best Châteauneuf-du-Pape producers and you can see its pedigree even in the simple Cote-du-Rhone designation. Aromas and flavors of strawberry rhubarb pie, pink peppercorns and freshly made strawberry preserve emerge from the glass and linger on the palate for quite some time, the texture is silky and wine is smooth and approachable yet spicy and charming . I am always in awe when I see great value wines of such complexity.
Price: $15.99 Add To Cart
JD 92

2017 Julien Schaal Rangen de Thann Volcanique Grand Cru Riesling Alsace
Review Date: 11-29-2018
Rangen is by far my favorite vineyard in Alsace. From the first time I tried Riesling from that site I fell in love with it. Not only it's one of the steepest vineyards (60 degree slope) but it's also the only one in Alsace grown on volcanic soil. And something about that volcanic soil that makes Riesling from where so unique and complex. On the nose it has orchard fruit, dusty soil notes and hints on honeycomb. Palate is luxurious: broad, deep, texture is layered and well rounded. Dry, spicy, the acidity is present but tamed, yellow plums and touch of tangerine join in on the palate. I think this is extremely versatile and food friendly wine and its sheer beauty will please a wide range of wine drinkers.

2016 Allram Grüner Veltliner "Renner 1ÖTW" Kamptal
Review Date: 11-29-2018
I love the combination of well rounded texture of this Gruner and bold powerful mineral side of it! It creates wonderful, dens,e multi-layered flavor profile that is incredibly complex and intriguing. Dry, with lots of freshness, pomelo and grapefruit notes.
Price: $24.99 Add To Cart
DC 97 JS 92

2017 Gentilini Robola of Cephalonia Greece
Review Date: 11-09-2018
If you love highly mineral and super fresh, crisp whites like Chablis and Muscadet Sèvre et Maine Sur Lie, you must try this wine made from Robola - indigenous grape of Cephalonia. This wine opens up immediately with tonne of saline minerality that speaks of the sea and the limestone soil. On the palate it's all mouthwatering acidity and citrus fruit; it's juicy and refreshing and definitely great wine to pair with seafood, oysters especially.
Price: $17.99 Add To Cart
RP 91

2016 Jean-Michel Dupre "1935" Morgon
Review Date: 10-04-2018
This wine was somewhat a shocker to me! I always enjoyed wines of Dupre, but this 2016 definitely overdelivers! First of all the aromas are so captivating - berries, hint of allspice and touch of black pepper mingling with hyacinth flower notes. The palate is juicy, full of raspberries and wild berries in general with healthy fresh acidity, pleasant round texture and long mineral finish. The complexity of this Morgon is stunning considering such low price mark.
Price: $14.99 Add To Cart
WE 93 VN 92

Petit & Bajan Nuit Blanche Grand Cru Blanc de Blancs Brut Champagne
Review Date: 04-12-2018
I think I just found my new favorite Champagne for this summer! I love Blanc de Blancs style in general and this particular one has everything I adore. It's perfectly balanced, fresh crunchy acidity complements deep, rich texture and creates ethereal mouthfeel with especially prolonged finish, which (I swear!) doesn't want to quit! There is a hint of brioche on palate and aromatic Asian pear and Golden Delicious apple notes as well as touch of bright citrus. It's seems absolutely perfect and effortlessly seamless. I'll definitely buy it for my own consumption as soon as it arrives here.
Price: $42.99 Add To Cart

2016 Au Bon Climat/K&L Wine Merchants "Bien Nacido Vineyard" Santa Maria Valley Pinot Noir
Review Date: 11-20-2017
This Pinot Noir could be easily mistaken for Burgundy when blind tasted. First thing that came to my mind when I tasted it was Pommard. Those violet notes, broad texture and linear bright acidity that forms very firm structure enveloped with dark red cherry and touch of red plum are so charming and appealing! Very impressive wine! To be honest it's been awhile since I've tasted Pinot Noir from California that would resemble Burgundy so much. I definitely need some of it for my cellar.
Price: $19.99 Add To Cart

2014 La Chablisienne Chablis 1er Cru "Beauroy"
Review Date: 10-18-2017
None of the 2014 Chablis wines from La Chablisienne have disappointed me so far. They are all fantastic! But considering price of this 1er Cru I would say it's by far the best value and my favorite Chablis. It's practically perfect. If you love juicy bright citrus, crunchy minerality and fresh acidity that wakes up your whole palate, this Chablis is for you.
Price: $26.99 Add To Cart
DC 93 RP 90

Canard-Duchêne "Authentic" Brut Champagne
Review Date: 10-04-2017
For a while Canard Duchene Champagne fell of my radar and it's been a long time since I've tasted it, until last night Gary opened it for us to revisit. I was pleased and surprised to find out how well the wine was showing! It has lovely notes of citrus and a touch of brioche. The texture is round and deep with fresh acidity, rich in flavor mid-palate but not heavy! It's actually a pretty clean and vibrant Champagne with a long and mineral finish. I'm so glad I tried it again — it's a great value Champagne for sure for upcoming holidays and festivities.
Price: $29.99 Add To Cart

Pierre Mineral Brut Rosé Champagne
Review Date: 05-02-2017
This Champagne represents elegance in its purity! It's delicate but yet persistent and dry on the palate with distinctive light strawberry and white peach notes with pronounced minerality. Bright and ethereal beauty!
Price: $39.99 Add To Cart

1989 Joel Taluau Saint-Nicolas-de-Bourgueil Vieilles Vignes
Review Date: 04-07-2017
This wine is showing classic aged Cab Franc characteristic. It’s all earthiness and subtle savory “sous bois”. Bright red fruit that is so typical for younger Bourgueil is gone, and palate is heavily dominated by mushrooms, slight herbaceous flavors and soft tannins with light cherry notes. It’s a great example of perfectly aged Cabernet Franc - elegant and serene.
Price: $39.99 Add To Cart

1996 Joël Taluau Saint-Nicolas-de-Bourgueil Vieilles Vignes
Review Date: 04-07-2017
This wine starts showing what Cabernet Franc turns into with an age. It still has quite high amount of juicy acidity but tannins are well developed and texture of the wine is earthy with subtle black cherry, tobacco, dry herbs and slightly mushroomy notes. Wine is structured, firm and has a lot of vibrancy for a 20 year old wine.
Price: $29.99 Add To Cart
ST 90

2016 Kalinda Reserve North Coast Sauvignon Blanc
Review Date: 03-01-2017
This refreshing Sauvignon Blanc opens up with delicate aromas of " Duchess of Angouleme" pear and citrusy undertones, which immediately reminds me of Sancerre. On the palate it's clean, fresh and has lovely mineral touch. Light but full of charm and has wonderful bright acidity.
Price: $17.99 Add To Cart

2007 Alexandre Le Brun "Cuvée Fascination" Brut Blanc de Blancs Champagne
Review Date: 10-03-2016
One of the loveliest Champagnes I have tasted recently. Precise and exquisite. Blanc de Blancs is my favorite type of Champagne and "Fascination" has everything I love: fresh and bright aromas with hints of brioche and white flowers. Dry, very focused palate with deep, rich flavors of citrus fruit and little bit of toastiness, beautifully balanced with a long mineral finish.
Price: $69.99 Add To Cart