Staff Favorites - Rachel Vogel

Rachel Vogel

Reviews

Page: 1 2 next
Baron-Fuenté "Grande Reserve" Brut Champagne (1.5L)
Review Date: 02-06-2018
There are many delicious Champagnes at $49, but there are very few in magnum at $49! Baron Fuente ages their magnum over a year longer than their 750s--which are aged twice as long as required--so you are getting a solid 4+ years of lees contact in the bottling. It has the same great richness and toasted brioche that we love from the 750, but being a larger format, that oxygen aging has been delayed. This brings a beautiful freshness and longevity to the wine and really makes the magnums ready for aging!
Price: $49.99 Add To Cart

Baron-Fuenté "7" Brut Champagne
Review Date: 02-06-2018
From one of our best-priced Champagne producers come a bit of a higher-end bottling. The "7" is aptly named for the 7th generation of family winemakers, 7g/l of sugar at the dosage (which is nice and dry!) and 7 years on the lees! (just a reminder, the minimum is only 18 months). The 7 is made with 1/3 each Chardonnay, Pinot Noir, and Meunier - all estate fruit. The portion of Chardonnay is barrel fermented for a richer mid-palate with a beautiful acidity giving characteristics of lemon preserves spread on warm brioche buns. Absolutely delicious!
Price: $49.99 Add To Cart

Baron-Fuenté "Grande Réserve" Brut Champagne
Review Date: 02-06-2018
With twice as much aging on the lees then required, the Grand Reserve has a rich toasted nose with scents of brioche and broad inviting earthiness. Mostly Meunier brings a soft elegance and deep fruit character by adding depth and complexity to the wine. A bit of red apple fruit and fresh sweet citrus carry the warm palate from start to finish.
Price: $23.99 Add To Cart

Franck Bonville Grand Cru Brut Blanc de Blancs Champagne
Review Date: 02-06-2018
The Franck Bonville Blanc de Blanc was the first Champagne I bought on the first night I worked at K&L, and it will always have a special spot in my heart. What makes it so special is the care and quality Olivier Bonville pours into his wines. Based on 2015, the Blanc de Blanc is half reserve wine from all estate fruit. Some time in barrel gives this Chardonnay a creamy, sweet citrus character, like that of a Meyer lemon or pink grapefruit. The chalky soil is not lost in this wine, either. A soft structure of dry white chalk elongates the palate and adds an extra level of complexity. It is a wine that never disappoints.
Price: $34.99 Add To Cart
WE 91

Baron-Fuente "Grande Réserve" Brut Champagne (375ml)
Review Date: 02-06-2018
Often with smaller Champagne bottles, they are aged one year less on the lees than the 750s since a smaller bottle will age with oxygen a little faster. But since Baron Fuente ages their 750s for twice as long as required, this half bottle is aged 6 months longer than some other Champagne houses. With that oxygen aging, you will get the characteristics you would find in an older bottle of champagne much quicker- a great way to see how your bottle may take form! The Grand Reserve has a rich toasted nose with scents of brioche and broad inviting earthiness. Mostly Meunier brings a soft elegance and deep fruit character by adding depth and complexity to the wine. A bit of crushed red apple fruit and skins with fresh sweet citrus carry the warm palate from start to finish.
Price: $14.99 Add To Cart

Gilbert Jacquesson "Cuvée Eugénie" Brut Rose Champagne
Review Date: 02-06-2018
As I mentioned in my review for the Jacquesson Blanc de Noir, one of my one of my favorite things about Meunier-dominant Champagnes is the depth, fullness and polish it adds to a wine (and there are a lot of things I LOVE about Meunier-dominant Champagnes!). This rosé is 100% estate-grown Meunier that is specifically pressed for rosé with skin contact for flavor and color. Abundant aromas of white and red cherries, fresh raspberries and flowers are repeated on the palate with elegant balance in this medium-bodied wine. The finish of the wine is unexpectedly flavorful and never-ending.
Price: $29.99 Add To Cart

2002 Bruno Michel "Cuvee Millésime" Brut Champagne
Review Date: 02-06-2018
I ended up buying two bottles of this wine before tasting it. The excitement from Gary when the bottles arrived was enough for me! Today we were able to taste and I am now equally as excited! 70% Chardonnay that comes from 45+ year old vines and 30% Meunier (my favorite!) that comes from 75+ year old wines. The wine has depth with notes of crushed red apple, puff pastry and savory, earthy character while focused acidity makes your mouth water from start to finish. While the wine is expressing a beautiful age character, I am planning to keep mine for a few more years to see how they develop.
Price: $89.99 Add To Cart

2007 Laurent-Perrier Brut Champagne Magnum (1.5L)
Review Date: 02-06-2018
All of LP's vintage Champagnes are 50% Chardonnay, 50% Pinot Noir and always all Grand Cru fruit. 2007 had a lot of Champagne houses pacing with an extremely warm spring and early bud break, but luckily enough, the season was frost free! Early harvest kept the grapes nice and acidic while having a creamy suppleness on the nose. A chalky base to the wine adds contrast to the softness on palate and touch of savory earth for dynamics brings this wine up another notch.
Price: $124.99 Add To Cart
JS 92

Billecart-Salmon Blanc de Blancs Grand Cru Brut Champagne Magnum 1.5L
Review Date: 02-06-2018
Literally 10 minutes after trying the Billecart Salmon BdB from 750, I purchased one of the magnums we have in store. I was blown away with this wine, as I've often skipped over the any of the Billecart Salmon Champagnes that weren't their Brut Rose, thinking they were a one trick pony. However, this Blanc de Blanc really stood out to me. ​A richer style for the house, this 100% Chardonnay goes through partial malolactic fermentation to bring a creamy citrus character, almost like lemon meringue pie (just without the nutty, pastry aspect you may find in oaked Blanc de Blanc as this doesn't see any oak). A balanced acidity keeps the wine elegant and active from start to finish. I decided to purchase the magnum since the vintage blend is often a few years older than that of the 750 and currently the base vintage is 2008! Grab them before the staff buys them up!
Price: $164.99 Add To Cart

Billecart-Salmon Blanc de Blancs Grand Cru Brut Champagne
Review Date: 02-06-2018
I've often skipped over the any of the Billecart Salmon Champagnes that weren't their Brut Rose, thinking they were a one trick pony. Today I was proven wrong. We tried five of their bottlings that we carry in store and each one was elegant and complex in its own right. However, this Blanc de Blanc really stood out to me. ​A richer style for the house, this 100% Chardonnay goes through partial malolactic fermentation to bring a creamy citrus character, almost like lemon meringue pie (just without the nutty, pastry aspect you may find in oaked Blanc de Blanc as this doesn't see any oak). That richness is elegantly balanced with long lived acidity that keeps each sip active on the palate. An undertone of chalky minerality from the Grand Cru soils adds just the right amount of depth needed to complete the wine. 10 minutes after tasting, I bought myself the magnum!

2013 Bersano "Mantico" Barbaresco
Review Date: 01-16-2018
Our best value Barbaresco is back! At $20 this ruby color wine starts with a perfect blend of fresh fruit and earth aromatics while hints of anise intensify the savory aspect of the wine. A bright acidity meets the medium body and medium tannin structure on the palate. A touch of toasted oak spice keep the wine fragrant with coriander and fennel seeds while the dense red fruit keep the mid-palate gently weighted.
Price: $19.99 Add To Cart
WE 91 JS 90

2015 Birichino Jurassic Park Vineyard Santa Ynez Chenin Blanc
Review Date: 01-09-2018
I believe Chenin Blanc is an underrated wine to be reckoned with. A versatile grape that has quite the "je ne sais quoi" quality to it. I often find expressive notes of exotic fruit and an undescribed savory character. The Jurassic Park Vineyard where Birichino sources the fruit has the oldest Chenin vines in the world (yup, not just in CA) and two pickings- one early and one later. The early picking gives a substantial amount of acidity while the later picking I found gives a more earthy/nutty character with that expressive white tropical fruit- like star fruit and dragonfruit- and tropical flowers like Frangipani.
Price: $19.99 Add To Cart
WE 90

2015 Hanzell "Sebella" Sonoma Valley Chardonnay
Review Date: 01-09-2018
It was only a few months ago that I had my first sip of Hanzell Chardonnay and it was outstanding! Not too long after I decided to visit their winery and was able to taste their Sabella wines which are sourced from younger vines on the estate. I was blown away again. It is an excellent and expressive crisp-style chardonnay. Partial use of neutral oak and stainless gives a wonderful medium bodied texture while leaving the wine vibrant and fresh with note of pink and yellow citrus. A friendly price point at under $25, you won't be disappointed in the quality from one the oldest estate wineries in Sonoma County.
Price: $24.99 Add To Cart

Piùcinque Gin 750ml
Review Date: 01-09-2018
What intrigued me most about this Italian gin is the elegance and soft sense of presence it has from nose to palate. This not due to lack of flavor by any means! The gin is boosting with Italian botanicals- 10 in total, that create a unique and unmatched flavorful gin, but it is not overwhelming in its presence. It is clean, clear and comforting in it's perfect approachability. The use of bergamot gives you the freshness of lemon but the sweetness of orange while the addition of sage gives a slight savory herbal note. A wonderful gin to sip on it's own, mix with tonic, or create a wonderfully aromatic cocktail!
Price: $39.99 Add To Cart

2015 Antinori "Cervaro della Sala" Chardonnay Umbria
Review Date: 01-06-2018
As I lifted the glass to my nose, the smell of dry white minerality, sweet Meyer lemon and hints of toasted oak send my mind to high-end white Burgundy. It is an elegant, balanced, and nuanced Chardonnay that blows any competition out of the water. A gentle acidity keeps the wine long on the palate while the rich texture allows it linger on your tongue. While I am certainly enjoying the wine on its own, a food pairing of salmon, halibut or even a garlic roasted chicken sounds unbelievably delightful!

2016 Pala "I Fiori" Cannonau di Sardegna
Review Date: 01-02-2018
Aromatics of purple and red plums jump from the glass as you raise it to your nose. It is fresh with lively acidity, integrated structure and lots of sweet fruits- plums, raspberries and red cherries. The use of cement and stainless steel keeps the wine's integrity and character- soft spice and a savory earth component that adds to the freshness of ripe fruit throughout.
Price: $14.99 Add To Cart
JS 93

2015 Gagliole "Rubiolo" Chianti Classico
Review Date: 01-02-2018
The embracing nose of toasted baking spice, oak and cherry skins leads you into a balanced Chianti with loads of bright, ripe red fruits, chewy, integrated tannins and complex earth and spice. The chewy tannins blends with the savory cherry skin character and is long on the complex finish. A lot of wine for the price!
Price: $14.99 Add To Cart
JS 92 RP 90

2016 Luciano Sandrone Dolcetto d'Alba
Review Date: 01-02-2018
A Bold, ripe, and aromatic Dolcetto with an outstanding amount of acidity and structure. From the highest vineyards on the hills of Barolo, Sandrone picks grapes for his unique and fragrant wine. Many Dolcettos have moderate acidity but the high elevation brightens this wine and integrates the firm tannins while allowing the fresh violet and purple fruit character to jump from the glass.
Price: $19.99 Add To Cart

Taste of Italy 2-Pack - 2014 La Massa Toscana & 2014 Tormaresca Neprica
Review Date: 01-02-2018
When we got the La Massa in earlier this year you could pick up a bottle for just under $20, and it was a steal then! Now you can get that great, Cabernet dominant Toscana paired with a great Puglia wine for under $15! The La Massa, which is full bodied with bold acidity rivaling the bold wood structure from time in new french oak, has notes of fresh raspberries and cherry skins are chased by freshly grated baking spice and purple flowers- a great Toscana to try if you love those bold California cabernets. The Neprica, a Southern Italy Red blend, is a medium bodied wine with lush fruit and bold character. It is easy, open and inviting. It is a blend of Negroamaro for classic, rustic flavors, Primitivo (Zinfandel) for rich, ripe fruits and Cabernet Sauvignon for a touch of structure and acidity. Both are flavorful and ready to enjoy any day of the week!
Price: $14.99 Add To Cart

2014 Tormaresca "Neprica" Super Puglia
Review Date: 01-02-2018
Neprica has consistently been a go to bargain red for staff and customers alike. The 2014 is no exception. A medium bodied red with lush fruit and bold character is easy, open and inviting; a great wine to drink on its own or great to pair with a flavorful meal. The Negroamaro keeps it rustic, traditional and earthy while the Primitivo (Zinfandel) brings rich, fresh red cherries and ripe berries to the table. A bit of Cabernet Sauvignon brings a touch of structure and lots of acidity. The three blended together create a full fruit, balanced and juicy red to enjoy any day of the week.
Price: $9.99 Add To Cart

2011 Viña Real Gran Reserva Rioja
Review Date: 12-05-2017
The time in new French and American oak brings a beautiful richness and baking spice to this superb Rioja. A touch of Graciano in the wine adds graceful aromatics and the bit of Mazuelo brings a beautiful deep color and texture to the wine. A great vintage with mellow, integrated tannins and long lasting acidity makes this a wine easily enjoyed now with the expectation of a great tomorrow.
Price: $34.99 Add To Cart
JS 95 W&S 92

2014 Viña Real Crianza Rioja
Review Date: 12-05-2017
A slightly richer style Rioja that starts off with a tart and direct nose but leads into a full bodied, structured wine with nice oak character integrated with blackberry and raspberries. A steal at under $15!
Price: $14.99 Add To Cart
JS 92

2014 Cune Crianza Rioja
Review Date: 12-05-2017
Spice, structure, lively acidity and fruit are jammed packed into this awesome, unbeatabley priced Crianza. It begins with a lively nose and characters of fresh blackberries and cherries then leads you into the soft spice and well integrated structure. Complex, approachable and delicious.
Price: $11.99 Add To Cart
JS 90

Gilbert Jacquesson "Cuvée Tradition" Blanc de Noirs Brut Champagne
Review Date: 12-05-2017
One of my favorite things about Meunier dominant Champanges is the depth, fullness and polish it adds to a wine. This brut from a new, all estate grown producer is 100% Meunier and brings that alluring full body character to the glass while inviting us into a complex, expansive and elegant experience with lots of fruit, spice and a touch of fresh earth. Another great Champagne to add to your collection!
Price: $24.99 Add To Cart

2014 Amici Sonoma Coast Chardonnay
Review Date: 11-25-2017
The best word to describe the Amici Chardonnay is balanced. The pure and generous aromatics of stone and tropical fruit lead us into notes of toasted oak and a hint of vanilla. The grapefruit flavors keeps the palate lively while the medium-bodied wine is refreshing and luxurious at the same time. To me, this is one of the best dinner party Chardonnays. It can please those who enjoy richer wines without overwhelming those who enjoy lighter, more sprightly wines. Either way, this Sonoma Coast Chard is tasty.
Price: $24.99 Add To Cart
JS 92 WE 90

2014 Amici Napa Valley Cabernet Sauvignon
Review Date: 11-14-2017
A consistently outstanding, well scored Cabernet from Napa Valley that is a staff and customer favorite vintage to vintage. 2014 is the third of a trio of killer vintages from the Valley that brings quality, consistency, and early harvest for acidity and structure. You will see all three in the new vintage of Amici alongside it's sense of black berry, currents and sweet baking spices. Purity and finesse from start to finish.
Price: $43.99 Add To Cart
JS 92 WE 91

2014 La Massa "La Massa" Toscana
Review Date: 10-25-2017
Another fireball vintage from La Massa, while the 2013 was deeper and more lush, the 2014 is full bodied with bold acidity rivaling the bold wood structure from time in new french oak. Notes of fresh raspberries and cherry skins are chased by freshly grated baking spice and purple flowers. A great Toscana to try if you love those bold California cabs!
Price: $14.99 Add To Cart
JS 91 WS 90

2010 Louise Brison Brut Champagne
Review Date: 10-25-2017
Year to year the Louise Brison vintage Brut is one of the best deals in the store! The family takes no short cuts in production- all estate grapes, barrel fermented and aged, and giving the wine a few months to rest after disgorgement. It is the perfect recipe for a textured, complex champagne filled to the brim with notes of ripe apples, gentle spice and fresh acidity that keeps it long on the finish.
Price: $29.99 Add To Cart
WE 91

2008 Louise Brison "Cuvée Tendresse" Brut Blanc de Blancs Champagne
Review Date: 10-25-2017
I've said it before and I'll say it again, 2008 vintage champagnes are my favorite! Favorite to drink, favorite to age. The Cuvee Tendresse from Louise Brison is great for both. 100% Chardonnay is crisp with notes of tart meyer lemon from the cool vintage while the oak aging and fermentation give a graceful texture on the mid palate. Nuanced fruit dance on the palate with notes of ripe apples and apple skins. Delicate baking spice slide gently onto the finish that is tart and refreshing.
Price: $39.99 Add To Cart
RP 92

Canard-Duchêne "Authentic" Brut Rosé Champagne
Review Date: 10-06-2017
One of my favorite characteristics of great rosé Champagne is the complementing flavors of sweet red berries and minerality. The Canard-Duchene Rosé beautifully encompasses those classic qualities with a mixture of fresh strawberries and raspberries intertwined with limestone structure while keeping its personality with texture and floral character. Absolutely delicious.
Price: $34.99 Add To Cart

Canard-Duchêne "Authentic" Brut Champagne
Review Date: 10-06-2017
One of my favorite things about working at K&L is hanging out after close and drinking great champagne. The other night I had the pleasure of sharing a bottle of the Authentic Brut with my coworkers. It is fresh and textured with flavors of sweet meyer lemon and brioche. An undertone of dry stone and earth makes this a great (stinky) cheese or mushroom dish pairing (in my world, the stinkier the cheese the better!); and a long, refreshing finish keeps you going back for more!
Price: $29.99 Add To Cart

2014 Shafer Napa Valley Merlot
Review Date: 08-22-2017
After tasting a line up of Merlot dominant Bordeaux wines, I tasted the Shafer Napa Merlot. While both are merited in their own right, they are both extremely unique.. The Shafer Merlot was bold with ripe plums and fresh purple flowers. The palate is concentrated and deep with black berry and baking spice. A hint of soft tannin structure keep the wine focused and complex. It is not a wine to be trifle with, but a wine demanding respect and your full attention.

Trudon "Rosephile" Brut Rosé Champagne
Review Date: 08-14-2017
If you've read some of my other reviews, you may have noticed my slight obsession with Meunier dominant champagne. I think the grape adds a little depth and suppleness to such high acid wines, but by no means has the driven, mouthwatering acidity been lost in the fineness of the Rosephile. More than half of the wine is from the tough, yet highly valued 2012 vintage mixed with reserve wine. It is concentrated and complex with an undertone of floral elements that interact ceremoniously with a chalky minerality that sticks to the back palate.
Price: $34.99 Add To Cart

Krug "Grande Cuvée" 164 Ème Édition Brut Champagne
Review Date: 08-14-2017
While this wine is based on 2008, the oldest of the 11 vintage blend is 1990- my birth year, so I find this wine lucky from the start! 8+ years on the lees and almost half Pinot Noir, the Grand Cuvee 164 has undeniable earth undertones intermingling with a mix of tart lemon zest and sweet meyer lemon.Angular but complex, allowing this wine come into its own will be rewarding for all.

2006 Bollinger Rosé Champagne
Review Date: 08-14-2017
It was such a treat to try the '06 rose from Bollinger. Aged on cork, not crown cap, the aromatics fill the nose with gentle spice and saltine cracker. Tart raspberry and that nice toasted spice dance on the palate. And while the wine was barrel fermented for elegance, a soft note of sweet lemon keeps palate elongated and making you go back for more!
Price: $119.00 Add To Cart
DC 94 JG 92

2004 Laurent-Perrier Brut Champagne
Review Date: 08-14-2017
A high yield and high quality vintage with crisp and focused characteristics. The 2004 champagnes are just starting to find their stride and the '04 LP has found its. Filled with blossoming aromatics of lemon, lime and white floral notes, it is vintage like the old days- long, cool and wet. The acidity is leaner and longer on the palate while the mix of mature and fresh orchard fruit interact with a subtle toasted almond note keeping the wine polished and textured.
Price: $54.99 Add To Cart
VN 92 WS 91

2006 Laurent-Perrier Brut Champagne
Review Date: 08-14-2017
While the 2007 growing season brought some stress, the 2006 season allowed the winemakers to put their feet up. An almost effortless growing season with plenty of sunshine and minimum rain. This vintage is more ripe and fruit forward than some of the other LP's in our line up. Filled with notes of yellow pears the wine relaxes on your palate before a slight lift of citrus pops open on the finish.
Price: $54.99 Add To Cart
WS 92

2007 Laurent-Perrier Brut Champagne
Review Date: 08-14-2017
All of LP's vintage champagnes are 50% Chardonnay. 50% Pinot Noir and always all Grand Cru fruit. 2007 had a lot of champagne houses pacing with an extremely warm spring and early bud break, but luckily enough, the season was frost free! Early harvest kept the grapes nice and acidic while having a creamy suppleness on the nose. A chalky base to the wine adds contrast to the softness on palate and touch of savory earth for dynamics brings this wine up another notch.
Price: $54.99 Add To Cart
JS 92

Trudon "Emblematis" Brut Champagne
Review Date: 08-13-2017
Emblematis, which can translate as "symbolic", to Trudon expresses the house's "historical style" while featuring 70% Meunier that thrives from the Festigny soils. 60% of the wine is from the difficult yet concentrated vintage of 2012 while the rest of the wine is a reserve blend. The wine is driven with mouthwatering acidity mixed with a finesse of floral undertones and is held on the back palate with chalky minerality. The wine surprisingly went through 90% malolactic fermentation, which adds to the elegance of the wine but doesn't distract from it's longevity. An award winning champagne at an award winning price!
Price: $29.99 Add To Cart

2008 Le Brun de Neuville "Grand Vintage" Brut Champagne
Review Date: 08-12-2017
The 2008 champagnes have been killing it with their pop, pizzazz and ageability. This Grand Vintage from Brun de Neuville, the first vintage we have carried from them here at k&l, encompasses the same clean, fresh acidity we love from the vintage with a pure salinity and touch of candied citrus peel. The wine is mostly Chardonnay and spent 8 years on its lees which added some nice texture and width to the focused vintage. A pinch of Pinot Noir seconds the character of lees aging and adds just a bit of fineness on the nose. This is a wine for the ages!
Price: $39.99 Add To Cart

2013 Felsina "Rancia" Chianti Classico Riserva
Review Date: 08-08-2017
A step up the their Chianti Classico Riserva is the Rancia Riserva. Name after a convent on the property, it seems as the winery and parcels grow, the quality of this wine also increases. The 2013 vintage is known for laser focused Chiantis that are lean and bright. I think this pairs well with the Rancia as it i often broad with pure fruit and savory flavors. It keeps the palate long and accentuated as you enjoy the balance and structure.

Le Brun de Neuville "Authentique" Brut Rosé Champagne
Review Date: 08-08-2017
To be under the "Authentique" label from the Le Brun de Neuville, the wine needs to be aged on the cork (instead of bottle cap) for at least 3 years (the rose is 3.5), and to be a majority of Chardonnay. This rose is about 2/3 Chard and 1/3 Pinot Noir. A portion of that Pinot Noir brings us the beautiful pink color and fresh raspberry flavors. The Chardonnay keeps is lifted with notes of citrus zest while a small barrel fermented portion adds a touch of spice and nuttiness. Layered with complexity, the rose screams quality and elegance.
Price: $39.99 Add To Cart

2015 Cantina Valle Isarco "Aristos" Kerner
Review Date: 08-06-2017
The Kerner grape is a love child between Riesling and the Italian-German grape Sciava Rosso. Kerner is a late-ripening grape whose genetic traits include gorgeous floral notes as well as width and weight on palate. This hails from the cool region of Isarco, giving the wine a zippy acidity and clean minerality. The Aristos is the reserve level white and sees no time in barrel, but spends some times on the lees to heighten that wonderful palate texture. A great white wine to pair in the summer with seafood, cheese and charcuterie!
Price: $26.99 Add To Cart

Laurent-Perrier "La Cuvée" Brut Champagne
Review Date: 08-06-2017
Sometimes change it difficult, sometimes it is good, very good. The change we see from Laurent Perrier as their Brut label moves into their La Cuvee comes from the addition of Cote de Blanc vineyard sites to their already impressive holdings. The Cote de Blanc, located in the Marne, is known for growing almost exclusively Chardonnay and doing it well (as seen by the 6 Grand Cru villages!) With many options at their fingertips, LP decided to create the La Cuvee as their new entry level label with more, higher quality Chardonnay than the Brut and an extra six months on the lees to keep the texture we know and love. Elegant aromas of yellow apple and baking spice mirror that of the Brut while notes of sweet meyer lemon and hints of anise show this new label's complex nature. The grace and softness of palate from both the lees aging and blend of Pinot Noir and Muenier is not lost from the additional Chardonnay but a soft acidity lifts it slightly while carrying the wine to a long, delicate finish. And as always, Laurent Perrier is bringing all this at an incredible price!
Price: $39.99 Add To Cart
JS 91 WS 91

2012 Fattoria dei Barbi Brunello di Montalcino
Review Date: 08-06-2017
The hot, dry 2012 vintage has been bringing us more full bodied, riper Brunellos that are very unique to the vintage. With the use of irrigation, Barbi was able to combat the dry heat and keep the great structure we love from Brunello- making this wine still quite ageable. If enjoying now, I would decant the wine for at least an hour. Right after opening the wine is reserved and retrained but it opens into gorgeous fresh fruit and spicy aromatics.

2015 Porta del Vento Catarratto Sicilia
Review Date: 08-06-2017
Adding a new grape to my repertoire, Catarratto is a white grape planted mostly in Sicily. It is often used as a blending grape in Etna Biancos, but here we see it in full force. While it has the snap, structure and salinity we all know and love from Sicilian whites, the grape brings in a broad texture of yellow pears and ripe peaches. A little scent of clove on the nose is a delightful mystery as the wine was aged in cement tanks.
Price: $21.99 Add To Cart

Laurent-Perrier Brut Champagne
Review Date: 06-24-2017
This value champagne leaves other value champagnes in the dust. A well known producer using almost one third reserve wine, half chardonnay and giving the wine three years to age on it's lees. It is textured, complex and elegant. Filled with fresh yellow apples and baking spices on the nose and palate and just enough acidity and minerality to keep it lively. While the wine's complexity make it easy to enjoy on it's own, it's bright character keep it very food friendly. Delicious, versatile, and price friendly- what more could you ask for?

2015 Argiano Rosso di Montalcino
Review Date: 06-18-2017
2015 Rosso di Montalcinos are not a vintage to miss, many even say it is the "next 2010." So while waiting for the 2015 Brunellos to come in, the Rossos are excellent to enjoy. The dry wood, spice and crushed cherry aromas of the Argiano jump out of the glass right after pouring. The palate is flavorful and structured with powerful dense fruit flavors. While you can enjoy this wine tonight, it can also spend some quality time in your cellar as you drink them over the next few years until the Brunellos are released!
Price: $19.99 Add To Cart
WS 90

2007 Bollinger "Grande Année" Brut Champagne
Review Date: 06-18-2017
Bollinger sources all their fruit from their 165 acres of Premier or Grand Cru vineyards that are Pinot Noir dominant to create the texture and finesse we have all grown to love from the producer. While 2007 was a more challenging vintage due to early bud bread and cool wet summer conditions, Bollinger's quality standard and impressive, yet time consuming, wine making techniques have created nothing less than an exceptional wine. I find the Pinot Noir fruit character is just starting to cross over to those more developed, earthy tones of reserved champagne. It is bold but bright with lemon zest and baking spice that stay on the palate during the long finish.

Bollinger "Special Cuvée" Brut Champagne
Review Date: 06-17-2017
One of the best priced Grand Marque Champagnes we have on the shelf, especially when taking account the quality of the wine. More than one third of the wine is barrel fermented and more than one third is reserve wine aged for a minimum of 10 years in magnums before blending creating possibly one of the most complex champagnes I have tasted yet. Some cracker or fresh brioche aromas mixed with fresh yellow apples draw you into a textured yet lively palate that doesn't stand still!

Page: 1 2 next