Reviewers


K&L Email Alerts

Sign up to receive custom alerts, new arrivals and the latest happenings from K&L Wines

Staff Favorites - Alex Schroeder

Alex Schroeder

Reviews

Page: prev 1 2 3
Jacopo Poli Sarpa di Poli Con Tubo Grappa (750ml) (Cannot ship- in store pick up only)
Review Date: 02-23-2017
When I started working in the wine industry, I managed a store owned by a Greek family in Texas. Every year they would visit the mother country and bring back a true cornucopia of artisanal Greek paraphernalia: Kalamata olives, feta cheese, dried figs and wild oregano, olive oil and candied fruits. What I most looked forward to, though, was the grappa that an uncle made that came to me in a big plastic soda bottle. This stuff was the elixir of the gods. When I quickly and inevitably ran out I could never find a commercially available substitute…until I tried Jacopo Poli’s Sarpa di Poli. See, this grappa is made with as much care and in equally small batches in Schiavon, Italy as the Greek grappa that came in the soda bottle. It’s made from the pomace of Merlot and Cabernet Sauvignon and has deep penetrating aromas of jasmine, sweet pear, green fruits, coriander and anise. It’s bone dry and super clean on the palate but maintains that rich flavor profile for over a minute on the finish. I love all the spirits of the world, from rich Highland Single Malts to funky agricole Rhums, but when all is said and done, nothing is as exciting and satisfying for me as an artisanal grappa like this.
Price: $52.99 Add To Cart
WE 98

Boulard-Bauquaire "Carte Noire" Brut Blanc de Noirs Champagne
Review Date: 02-22-2017
Power and depth are the hallmarks of Boulaird Bouquaire’s Carte Noir, a Blanc de Noir made from 50% Pinot Noir and 50% Pinot Meunier. The texture on the palate is round and lush, with deep rich flavors of honey, baked wheat, clove, hibiscus, lemon zest, apricots and ripe red fruit. The finish is long and supple and lends itself to making the bottle disappear a lot quicker than expected. Another phenomenal value from the K&L Direct Import Champagne program!
Price: $34.99 Add To Cart

A.D. Coutelas "Cuvée Louis Victor" Brut Champagne
Review Date: 02-05-2017
This Champagne, made using a sort of solera-style fractional blending, deserves a good amount of contemplation. It is incredibly precise and delicate with light citrus, apple, exotic fruits, and a hint of herbs with chalky minerality. But its method of production adds notes that are new to me in the realm of Champagne. It has almost a fine indigenous-yeast sherry note to it that I love! I now understand why this Champagne sells out so quickly every time we get it in stock.​
Price: $34.99 Add To Cart
WE 90

A.D. Coutelas "Cuvée Eloge" Blanc de Blancs Brut Champagne
Review Date: 02-05-2017
When I tried this the other night, I knew I was in for a good bottle of bubbly with Coutelas on the label, but my company and I were genuinely stunned by just how good it was. This Premier Cru blanc de blanc pours a deep golden color, has rich fruit with honey, acacia blossom, candied apricots, and a beautiful leesy toastiness. The texture is velvety and creamy, with fine bubbles and a nearly eternal finish. The only problem was that we ran out too soon—should have gotten another bottle!
Price: $39.99 Add To Cart

2015 Stony Bank Sauvignon Blanc Marlborough
Review Date: 02-05-2017
This is a stellar Sauvignon Blanc! Rich, exotic fruits, lime citrus and orange, with stoney minerality and a long finish. It’s a good thing it costs so little, because I can’t get enough.
Price: $10.99 Add To Cart

2015 Michel Delhommeau "Harmonie" Muscadet Sèvre et Maine Sur Lie
Review Date: 01-09-2017
The “Harmonie” Muscadet Sevre et Maine is quite appropriately named, it has a lot going on but it all comes together for a well-synchronised wine experience. It’s bone dry with remarkable minerality for its price point, and is rounded out nicely by fruit flavors of melon and citrus. It’s light bodied with good acid, making it a great food-pairing wine as well.
Price: $9.99 Add To Cart
RP 90

Laurent-Perrier "Cuvée Rosé" Brut Rosé Champagne
Review Date: 01-05-2017
Everything about the Cuvée Rosé is rich and seductive: the deep pink hue, the lush Pinot Noir fruit flavor, the silky texture. The fruit, entirely Grand Cru Pinot Noir, is destemmed, crushed and left in contact with the skins for an unusually long 72 hours, before being vinified and aged on the lees for four years. The result is a wine rich in the pure flavors of ripe strawberries, raspberries and black cherries and hazelnuts with a creamy texture, crisp bubbles, and incredible length. This is a very delicious — and unique—rosé Champagne.

2010 La Rioja Alta "Viña Alberdi" Reserva Rioja
Review Date: 12-15-2016
Pours a beautiful deep brick red color, and offers dense aromas of raspberries, ripe strawberries, and aged leather with a hint of salinity. On the palate, robust but fully integrated and silky tannins combine with a vibrant acidity for overall outstanding structure, underlined by the slight influence of vanilla and spice notes from the oak. A powerful and well-balanced Rioja from an outstanding vintage.
Price: $19.99 Add To Cart
JS 95 RP 91

Bruno Michel "Blanche" Brut Champagne
Review Date: 12-07-2016
I tried this at K&L Champagne buyer Gary Westby’s suggestion and I’m glad I did. It’s not every day a wine gives you a veritable “Wow” moment, but this one took me aback. Bruno Michel has been a pioneer in organic, biodynamic vine growing since the 1980s, and apparently putting prodigious amounts of tender love and care into them makes a stunningly good bottle of bubbly. Roughly half Meunier, half Chardonnay, the aroma profile is unique and complex: sweet flaky pastry, lemon zest and a hint of cocoa melded together by a rich lees quality. The acidity doesn’t necessarily stick out, but rather gives the wine the perfect sense of balance, tying together all the rich and complex flavors of quince, toasted pie crust, cloves and baked apples perfectly. They may not have the marketing power of the “Grand Marques” but Bruno Michel’s champagnes would stand up to the very best of them in any tasting panel.
Price: $49.99 Add To Cart

Nino Franco "Rustico" Valdobbiadene Prosecco
Review Date: 12-07-2016
A great, crisp, clean prosecco. Bone dry with very clean, light aroma of lemon rind rounded out by a touch of creaminess. Perfect for that everyday occasion that can always be enhanced by some bubbles.
Price: $12.99 Add To Cart
JS 90 WE 90

2012 Villa Antinori Chianti Classico Riserva
Review Date: 12-07-2016
This wine is for me the embodiment of Old World elegance. It captures the savory Sangiovese flavors of cherries, raspberries and plum with subtle notes of spices and herbs. It has a soft earthy texture underlying rich, concentrated fruit and just a touch of acidity. Very well balanced, structured and, in a word, elegant.

Ariston Aspasie Blanc de Blancs Brut Champagne (375ml)
Review Date: 10-30-2016
I recently enjoyed this while relaxing in a hot tub on a nice summer evening in California; it was perfect! Fresh and pronounced flavors of pear and apricot combine with a crisp acidity and lush creaminess for a wine fresh and approachable in style. The perfect accompaniment to any moment of leisure, at a price far below its value!
Price: $18.99 Add To Cart

2013 Château de Montfaucon "Baron Louis" Lirac
Review Date: 10-25-2016
One of the very best values K&L offers, the Baron Louis Lirac is perennially one of the most well-structured, ageable Southern Rhone wines on the market. It has deep, dark Grenache fruit flavors of black cherries and plum, with a hint of black pepper and eucalyptus. Its tannins are hearty but fully integrated and very smooth, and a great finish fueled by crisp acid and lingering fruit flavors. ​
Price: $19.99 Add To Cart

Wine Club

$14.99
WS 90

Boulard-Bauquaire "Trepail" Brut Blanc de Blancs Vieilles Vignes Champagne
Review Date: 10-07-2016
The Chardonnay used in this Blanc de Blancs comes from the illustrious Montagne de Reims, and the quality of the fruit is evident. Lovely aromas of roasted almonds, butterscotch and sweet baked pastry lift from the glass; on the palate a soft chalky minerality rides alongside nicely balanced acidity. Another fantastic addition to our Direct Import roster and outrageous value for the money. Don’t miss this one!​
Price: $39.99 Add To Cart

2004 Billecart-Salmon Brut Blanc de Blancs Champagne
Review Date: 09-16-2016
A wine like this, a true work of art showing its full potential after so many years, is inspiring. It’s made from Chardonnay from all three Grand Crus of the Côte des Blancs, partially aged in barriques for depth and complexity, then aged on the lees for 9 years. It displays those rich Grand Cru fruit aromas (pear, stone fruit, figs) with a well integrated toasty-brioche character and honey. The flavors complement each other perfectly on the palate, craftily balanced by a youthful acidity. This is a beautiful wine that’s ready to be enjoyed and contemplated.

Laurent-Perrier Ultra Brut Champagne
Review Date: 09-16-2016
This bone dry offering from the prestigious Laurent Perrier house is elegant, fresh and satisfying. This no-dosage cuvée consists of 55% Chardonnay and 45% Pinot Noir from high quality vineyards that display a subtle toasty quality over clean green apple and fresh citrus flavors. Wonderful expression of the Champagne terroir and one of my favorite takes on the style.

Drappier Blanc de Noirs Brut Nature Zero Dosage Champagne
Review Date: 09-16-2016
Made from 100% Pinot Noir. The minerality in this low sulfite, no-dosage Brut Nature is vibrant alongside the dry, bright red fruit flavor of the Pinot Noir. The clean, crisp finish seals this as one of the best Brut Natures in stock.

Gosset "Excellence" Brut Champagne
Review Date: 09-16-2016
Gosset wines prove that Champagne need not exist on a richness to freshness spectrum, but that both sensations can be achieved in unison to magnificent ends. On the nose, the Brut Excellence displays lovely chalk and sweet pastry notes. The Pinot Noir takes over on the palate with rich red fruit elements which meld perfectly into a pronounced acid-driven freshness and a creamy, silky texture at the same time! A remarkable combination!

2008 Veuve Clicquot Brut Rosé Champagne
Review Date: 09-16-2016
The 2008 vintage for Champagne manifests itself incredibly well with Veuve Cliquot’s millesime rosé. It has an energetic acidity that converges with the ripe red berry notes at a beautifully crafted point of inflection on the back palate. 5% of the wine was aged in giant oak foudres to lend a rich texture undertone with subtle spice notes, and its yeast character is a delicate supplement to the lively fruit. I would love to revisit this Champagne in five, even 10 years!
Price: $84.99 Add To Cart
WS 93

Moet & Chandon "Imperial" Brut Rosé Champagne
Review Date: 09-16-2016
What really defines this Champagne is the combination of rich fruit flavors like white cherry, strawberry and blackberry, and its soft, friendly nature, with round and supple edges, subtle spice notes and a nice acid on the finish. Made with mostly Pinot Noir and Pinot Meunier, with a splash of Chardonnay for finesse. A very exciting and well-crafted wine from one of the oldest and most respected Champagne houses in France.

Ruinart Brut Blanc de Blancs Champagne (ships as 1.5L due to shape of bottle)
Review Date: 09-16-2016
Ruinart’s flagship wine is built in a style that emphasizes a very crisp, clean, and elegant Champagne experience. Made in a reductive style so that the high quality Premier Cru juice sees very little oxygen during vinification, the clean flavors of citrus and stone fruits dominate against a backdrop of pronounced minerality and crisp acid. If your looking to impress company, no matter how discerning the palates, pick this up.

2008 Baron-Fuenté "Grand Millesime" Brut Champagne
Review Date: 09-10-2016
Baron Fuente’s latest vintage release is causing excitement among K&L staffers! It displays the opulent rich ripeness afforded by the warm, dry finish to the growing season, but with a vibrant freshness that animates the wine! Mineral driven with lively citrus and stone fruit flavors, it has classic Champagne balance and structure that I plan on revisiting as many times as possible given its remarkably low price-point! ​
Price: $29.99 Add To Cart

Ariston Aspasie Blanc de Blancs Brut Champagne
Review Date: 08-12-2016
I recently enjoyed this while relaxing in a hot tub on a nice summer evening in California; it was perfect! Fresh and pronounced flavors of pear and apricot combine with a crisp acidity and lush creaminess for a wine fresh and approachable in style. The perfect accompaniment to any moment of leisure, at a price far below its value!
Price: $34.99 Add To Cart

Fallet-Dart "Cuvée de Réserve" Brut Champagne
Review Date: 07-27-2016
70% Pinot Meunier, 30% Pinot Noir. I had this recently to celebrate a good friend’s birthday and we were all stunned by its goodness! It had wonderful fresh pear and apple fruit notes, a broad presence on the palate, and a crisp finish that left a nice yeastiness lingering for over a minute! If you’re on the grower-producer train, this is an essential!
Price: $29.99 Add To Cart

2011 Sella e Mosca Cannonau di Sardegna Riserva
Review Date: 07-11-2016
This was the perfect accompaniment to an eggplant Parmesan meal I enjoyed recently. An intoxicating bouquet of cranberry, cola and ripe strawberries greets the senses first. The texture is silky smooth and distributes the rich flavors generously across the palate, finishing with a delicate acidity and lingering berry flavors. A total pleasure to drink, and one of the best values in the store!
Price: $10.99 Add To Cart

2004 Haut-Bergey, Pessac-Léognan
Review Date: 05-28-2016
The ’04 Haut Bergey is showing quite nicely at this point in its life. It took some decanting to finally get the fruit to fully unfold; but once it did its vibrancy was astounding! Rounded ripe red berries, sweet peppers, anise and old treated leather are framed beautifully by 50% new oak influence and strong, polished tannins. The finish is long and interesting with a crisp acidic edge. A top choice amongst great value, ready-to-drink Bordeaux. ​
Price: $24.99 Add To Cart
RP 90

2014 Maldonado "Farm Worker" Napa Valley Chardonnay
Review Date: 05-24-2016
This is the wine Rombauer doesn't want you to know about!!! Rich, lush with elegant Napa fruit, a soft acidic edge, and the perfect dose of oak to make it EXTREMELY easy drinking. If Napa Chardonnay is your jam, you can't miss this level of quality for the price.
Price: $17.99 Add To Cart

2013 Mercedes Eguren Cabernet Sauvignon Vino de la Tierra de Castilla
Review Date: 05-07-2016
Meet my new house red. This is a stunningly good bottle of wine for under $10. It’s full bodied with rich currant and blueberry flavors, well-integrated tannins and subtle oak influence. How the producers created such an elegant and balanced Cabernet Sauvignon at this price point is beyond me, but I’ll take it!
Price: $9.99 Add To Cart

2009 Alexandre Le Brun "Cuvée Revelation" Brut Champagne
Review Date: 05-02-2016
I had the honor of enjoying this champagne with Alexandre LeBrun himself over sushi after a recent in-store tasting he provided for our customers. It was incredible! The unique profile created by the Pinot Meunier can’t really be overstated: Persimmons, quince and a slight toastiness are rounded out to perfection by a modest dosage. This is a special wine that would highlight a special occasion excellently!
Price: $79.99 Add To Cart

2005 Bodegas Casa Juan Señor de Lesmos Reserva Rioja
Review Date: 12-29-2015
What happens when you combine great flavors of rich, fleshy dark fruit, leather, and cocoa with great tannins and decent age? You charge an arm and a leg, right? Not so, with Señor de Lesmos Reserva Rioja! This gem is drinking great, and you won’t have to skimp on the perfect steak to accompany it!
Price: $19.99 Add To Waiting List
JS 92

Jean-Louis Denois Pinot Noir Brut Rosé Sparkling Wine
Review Date: 11-29-2015
High quality and a low price make this one of the funnest bottles of bubbles available! Made from 100% Pinot Noir, it has great structure and rich flavors of strawberries, raspberries and cherries. It has a rich, creamy mousse and a dry, crisp acidic finish. Credit to Denois for making good everyday bubbles a possibility!
Price: $14.99 Add To Cart

Page: prev 1 2 3