Staff Favorites - Andrew Stevens

Andrew Stevens

Reviews

Page: 1 2 3 next
2016 Château Vitallis Pouilly-Fuissé "Les Vignes du Chateau"
Review Date: 02-22-2018
I was introduced to the Chateau Vitallis last year and was enchanted by their wines which showed rich weight and depth without losing acid or balance. The 2016 Les Vignes Du Chateau continues this tradition and style I came to know last year. Ripe warm fruit and weight greet you immediately with notes of golden apple and vanilla. The midpalate is driven by citrus like acid and there is still a layer of minerality that shows up. A lovely affordable wine that will please any who desires the weight of Chardonnay while still desiring lift and length.
Price: $21.99 Add To Cart
WE 91

2015 Hermanuspietersfontein (HPF) "No.3 - Bergblokke" Sauvignon Blanc Western Cape
Review Date: 02-21-2018
Absolutely lovely SB from a producer who knows a thing or two about such wines. This delightful bottle shows off beautiful rich fruit on the nose, ripe melon and stone fruit competing for dominance. Still, on the palate, the richness of the fruit is tempered and driven by bright zesty acid and plenty of stony minerality. This is plenty of wine and the price is perfect for stocking up on.
Price: $9.99 Add To Cart

2016 Eric Cottat Sancerre Rouge
Review Date: 02-21-2018
I love Pinot Noir in general and I have especially come to love the PN coming from the Loir valley. The high acid and strong minerality of Sancerre lends itself to beautiful clean and elegant red wines for those, like myself, who love the leaner style. Eric Cottat has long been my favorite white Sancerre and I believe that his red may now be my favorite PN from this area. Showing lovely clean red and blue fruit with hints of spice this is a perfect everyday food red that is ready to drink.
Price: $19.99 Add To Cart

2016 Eric Cottat Sancerre
Review Date: 02-21-2018
Eric Cottat is always my favorite DI Sancerre we carry year in and year out, and unfortunately, it always seems to be the one that sells out the fastest so I may not be alone in my opinion. The balance of fruit, minerality, and acid are always in spectacular balance with his wines and they tend to go with everything. The 2016 vintage shows more a little leaner fruit than the previous vintage which makes me super happy. This is a serious and seriously good wine especially given the price.
Price: $18.99 Add To Cart

Bellevue 19 Year Old "Golden Devil" K&L Exclusive Single Barrel Cask Strength Guadeloupe Rum (750ml)
Review Date: 02-15-2018
Getting to taste this 19 year old single cask from Bellevue was exciting. With the age and distillation process the powerful vegetal components are softened by dark figgy pudding notes and Christmas spice. The rum is a fascinating blend of warm spice and vanilla pudding all framing a long floral core with a long finish. Any true fan of rum will happily work their way through this bottle, although it may disappear faster than planned.
Price: $99.99 Add To Cart

2016 Domaine Renaud Pouilly-Fuissé Vieilles Vignes
Review Date: 02-15-2018
A lovely more lifted expression from one of our best DI white burgundy producers. The 2016 Renaud Pouilly-Fuisse shows wonderful aromas of white blossom, Asian pear, and golden apple. There is a richness of fruit and texture that Renaud is known for while maintaining bright beautiful acid that lifts and drives the wine.
Price: $21.99 Add To Cart
WE 92 RP 90

2013 Acumen "Mountainside" Napa Valley Cabernet Sauvignon
Review Date: 02-14-2018
I love almost everything that Mattiasson touches, the wines always exude elegance, structure, and purity of fruit. That being the case I was excited to find out that the Acumen project was headed up by him and I was not disappointed in the slightest. The 2013 Mountainside is everything a fan of old-school Napa style could hope for from one of the best vintages on record. Floral and herbal mountain fruit with layers of chocolate, cassis, and vanilla are carried by a beautiful layer of acid and tannin. For those looking for a more opulent modern style, this may not be the one, but true lovers of Napa Cabernet will not be disappointed by this wine.

2014 CrossBarn (Paul Hobbs) Sonoma Coast Pinot Noir
Review Date: 02-08-2018
The second label of legendary Paul Hobbs has increasingly become known in their own right for winemaking. The 2014 vintage Pinot Noir is an excellent example of that, pulling in high praise without the price tag of regular Paul Hobbs. Rich lush berry notes with hints of smoky earth and spice are all integrated seamlessly throughout this wine. Smooth and supple on the palate, this is a beautiful example of what many are looking for in a California Pinot.

Gilbert Jacquesson "Cuvée Tradition" Blanc de Noirs Brut Champagne
Review Date: 02-07-2018
I make no secret of my love of Champagne with plenty of Meunier in it. Something about all that big beautiful fleshy fruit just makes super friendly bubbles for my enjoyment. This is a rich and round style with notes of dried cherry, plum, almond and even a little marzipan in there. There is also some spice and plenty of acid here that makes this a perfect dinner companion.
Price: $24.99 Add To Cart

Gilbert Jacquesson "Cuvée Eugénie" Brut Rose Champagne
Review Date: 02-07-2018
New DI Champagne is always exciting to me, mostly because it means I get to taste Champagne and no matter what that is great. Still better when I find ones I really like. This new Rose is definitely our best priced Rose Champagne, but just because it is less expensive does not mean it is less drinkable. Bright fruit with some lovely structure from a little skin contact this all Pinot Meunier rose is a spectacular buy and a tasty bottle.
Price: $29.99 Add To Cart

Baron-Fuenté "Grande Reserve" Brut Champagne (1.5L)
Review Date: 02-07-2018
There is only one thing that everyone in Champagne agrees on, that is their wine tastes best out of a magnum. There are several reasons for this, but rest assured that it is true. Getting to taste Champagne side by side out of different sizes always confirms this, also who doesn't want to show up at a party or event with a large format Champagne? So here we have the best-priced magnum Champagne you will see and it delicious! The extra aging on the lees shows up as big rich yeasty notes with tons of breadth and complexity. There is a lovely golden pear and vanilla note here as well as a dry and long finish. Spectacular bubbles.
Price: $49.99 Add To Cart

Compass Box "No Name" Blended Malt Scotch Whisky (750ml)
Review Date: 02-04-2018
At this point it seems like everyone I talk to who knows about Scotch knows who John Glaser is and why the Compass Box whiskies are worth getting into. However, as good as his core line is, I am always excited to get to taste his more limited expressions because here is where he allows himself to get truly creative with his expressions. Take the No Name: it is smoky, complex, tarry, fruity and all the things that make peaty whiskies worth drinking. Although the peat is really on the forefront thanks to malts like the Clynelish add a lovely creamy texture to the Scotch. Some heat here but never overwhelming; there is also a lovely bit of a spice bite for a long finish.
Price: $139.99 Add To Cart

1995 Tobermory 22 Year Old K&L Exclusive "Sovereign" Single Barrel Cask Strength Single Malt Whisky (750ml)
Review Date: 02-02-2018
This is a spectacular bottling of Tobermory which is a distillery I had long heard of but only tasted one other expression. The whisky here is what people have always told me happens from the place, all the beautiful richness that makes people fall in love with Scotish whisky. Warm white fudge with stone fruit and a creamy deliciousness all mix together perfectly here. Soft, supple, and way to easy to drink this is the best kind of dessert and single malt rolled into one.
Price: $89.99 Add To Cart

George Dickel "K&L Exclusive" 9 Year Old Single Barrel #L7233K1007 Tennessee Whiskey (750ml)
Review Date: 02-02-2018
I continue to enjoy and be impressed with the Dickel single barrels we get in, not only do they represent such a great value but each one is so unique. Take the #007, the latest in a series we have been offering. This particular bottling is all about the grains. Swirling on the nose are layers of hay, wheat, barley and rye with vanilla and a touch of almond. The palate is dry and a little spice with a beautiful mill grist element and some lovely oak characteristics. Another different, yet delicious, expression for a great price.
Price: $44.99 Add To Cart

Whistle Pig 10 Year Old "K&L Exclusive" 117.1 Proof Single Barrel Cask Strength Straight Rye Whiskey (750ml)
Review Date: 02-02-2018
For those who have listened to me drone on and on about whiskey know that I almost never mention Whistle Pig, or if I do I do not tend to wax eloquent on them. I think many of their product is tasty, they are just never my top option especially when looking for the price for performance. I have to admit though that this barrel is making me question that stance. Yes, the bottle is still pricey, but if you are looking to splurge a little and not be disappointed in the slightest then holy hell is this bottle good! Immediate sweet vanilla and a touch of almond greet you friendly and welcoming before taking the palate to a subtle and persistent pepper and spice note. The proof hides so well that I did not even proof it down, which may be a little dangerous. The balance here between sweet and savory is fantastic and I doubt anyone who loves a sweeter American will be able to put down this bottle.
Price: $89.99 Add To Cart

2015 Domaine de la Réserve d'O "Hissez O" Terrasses du Larzac
Review Date: 02-01-2018
The Hissez O represents the most complex and full-bodied of the wines from La Reserve O representing the peak of what these wines can achieve. Dark ripe fruit is perfectly matched by spice and structure. Although the Syrah adds plum and cassis notes the Grenach here helps to preserve lovely red berry and lifted aromatics. Earthy, rich, floral, concentrated, and beautifully made this is is the type of bottle meant for serious dinner and long dark nights.
Price: $29.99 Add To Cart

2014 Moss Wood "Wilyabrup" Cabernet Sauvignon Margaret River Western Australia
Review Date: 01-30-2018
I have written several reviews for Margaret River Cabernet because the quality from here for the price is so unbelievable. Moss Wood is one of the greats from this region and their Wilyabrup, the wine that put them on the map, shows why. Perfectly balanced aromatics of blackberry, cedar, vanilla, and cassis blend together on the nose. The wine shows a lush fruit mid-palate while maintaining grace and elegance through the finish. The tannin here is polished and integrated and blend together seamlessly.

2016 Trellis (Amelia Park) Bordeaux Blend Margaret River Western Australia
Review Date: 01-30-2018
This is one of the best selling Cabernet blends for us and it is easy to see why. Although we get plenty of this wine it always seems to sell out much more quickly than I expect and that is because of how much you get for this price. Beautiful generous fruit with notes of blackberry and cherry are met with structure and some bramble and a touch of herbaceous notes. This is a wine to stock up on because as I mentioned it always go way to quickly.
Price: $12.99 Add To Cart

2014 Clairault Cabernet Sauvignon Margaret River (White Label)
Review Date: 01-30-2018
Margaret River Cabernet has quickly become my go-to for incredibly well done and affordable Cabernet. Often this region can showcase the beauty of New World fruit with Old World sensibilities. That is to say, beautiful rich full-bodied fruit backed by longer, leaner, casking. The Clairault White Label shows just this style beautifully. Lovely ripe black and red berry are tinged with savory herb and tobacco on the nose. On the palate, there is definitely plenty of tannin and structure, yet the finish manages to stay elegant on the finish. A perfect wine for a big meal and good times.

2014 Ferraton Père et Fils "La Source" Saint-Joseph
Review Date: 01-24-2018
This was one of the major standouts to me when tasting through the Ferraton line. Although I thought the entire line-up had a lot to offer, this one punched well above its weight class. Bright fresh berry nose with a little savory herb and leather leads to a precise and clean, open but with great length and focus. Classic notes of berry, spice, pepper, and floral all intermingle while leading to a long finish.
Price: $19.99 Add To Cart

2014 Ferraton Père et Fils "Les Calendes" Crozes-Hermitage
Review Date: 01-24-2018
I thought this was a spectacular offering from northern Rhone especially for the price. There is a lovely nose of red and blackberry that are underlay with a savory, almost meaty, component and dried floral notes. The body was restrained and focused although there was still plenty of fruit and structure. An absolute delight of a sub $20 wine.
Price: $17.99 Add To Cart

2016 Moulin de la Gardette "Petite Gardette" Gigondas
Review Date: 01-18-2018
A spectacular every day offering from my favorite Gigondas producer the Petite Gardette showcases the beauty of this area and the producer. Although there is a little funk on the nose when first opening this bottle a half and hour decant time will give you a beautiful wine. Very pretty ripe berry mixed with a nice amount of earth lead to a lovely clean finish. Everything here is in harmony and the balance of the fruit, acid, and tannin mean this is a perfect food wine.
Price: $19.99 Add To Cart

2016 Oakridge "Over the Shoulder" Chardonnay Yarra Valley Victoria
Review Date: 01-18-2018
I love the Oakridge label, and to be honest their entry level Over the Shoulder is usually my favorite thing that they do. The OTS line represents an absolutely stunning value for the beauty and complexity that are present in the wines. In the Chardonnay there is generous ripe orchard fruit that is driven by clean acid and a bright freshness that keeps the wine from being heavy. A spectacular wine in its own regards this style also happens to be extremely versatile, pairing well with a number of foods and style preferences.
Price: $14.99 Add To Cart
JH 93

Piùcinque Gin 750ml
Review Date: 01-18-2018
There may a problem with this gin in that it goes down a little too easily, dare I say that this is a super crushable gin. A beautiful nose that is resplendent with botanical notes still manages to come off as soft and clean. There is a lovely nutty and floral balance happening here with some sweet citrus and a line of clean acid driving the body. What really struck me about this gin was how the softly sweet floral, almond, bergamot, and juniper all managed to work so well together by giving lots of flavor that is clean and far to easy to drink.
Price: $39.99 Add To Cart

2008 Aultmore 9 Year Old K&L Exclusive "Sovereign" Single Sherry Barrel Cask Strength Single Malt Whisky (750ml)
Review Date: 01-10-2018
Let the people drink whisky!! This seems to be the theme of stuff I have been getting to taste recently, super tasty whisky for the sake of whisky that is actually affordable. Case in point, this delightful bottle of Aultmore from our friend Hunter Laing. On these chilly grey evenings this is going to be a spectacular bottle to become friends with. The aromatics practically leap out of the glass, big rich nutty and almost amaretto notes from the heavy sherry casking here are layered with some dark fruit. The age of this bottling really comes through in fantastic richness and power, itis bombastic but balanced. The casking allows the youth to shine without making you feel like it is too young. Rich barley sweetness, vanilla, clove and cinnamon all enhance each other and at cask strength there is a bite and spice that never overwhelms. Simply put, this is a drinking Scotch, perfect for here and now.
Price: $49.99 Add To Cart

2016 La Chablisienne Bourgogne Chardonnay
Review Date: 12-26-2017
La Chablisienne has become on my go to labels when looking for spectacular white Burgundy in all price points that consistently over delivers. The 2016 bottling of inexpensive Bourgogne Chardonnay is a great example of the quality one finds in even the entry level wines from Chablisienne. Having no oak influence gives this wine lovely brightness and acidity but it would be a mistake to think that it has no weight or texture. There is still plenty of beautiful rich fruit at play giving notes of golden apple to supplement the minerality and freshness of this bottling. While I feel this is a splendid food wine there is no reason this cannot simply be enjoyed on its own.
Price: $13.99 Add To Cart

2016 Averaen (Banshee) Willamette Valley Pinot Noir
Review Date: 12-24-2017
The second vintage now from the producers of Banshee, for those who love the Pinot being grown in the Willamette valley. The Averaen showcases ripe fruit with hints of candy and cherry cola; these rich notes are balanced by acid and tannin. The richness that Banshee is known for is integrated into the structure that Pinot from this area is famous for. This is an instantly friendly and easy to love wine from people of whom we have long been fans. Overall this is a balanced and lovely Pinot Noir just in time for the holidays.
Price: $19.99 Add To Cart
VN 90

2014 Amici Napa Valley Cabernet Sauvignon
Review Date: 12-19-2017
This is another fantastic bottling from Amici, which has had a string of great Napa Cabs for the previous couple of vintages. Amici represents what people want and love about Napa Cab these days for a far better price than almost anyone else for the quality. Big, rich, lush berry flavors are met by herbal and floral notes to keep the wine from being flabby. There is plenty of structure here, giving this wine the ability to stand up to any good holiday dinner. The tannin is already integrated, balances the wine, and works in harmony with the red fruit. This is a wine where every part of it works together and easily over-delivers.
Price: $43.99 Add To Cart
JS 92 WE 91

2016 Foxglove Paso Robles Cabernet Sauvignon
Review Date: 12-19-2017
The second label of Varner is, in my mind, one the best values in California wine. The Foxglove Cab is simply a super friendly, easy to drink, everyday Cabernet. Dark and red berry notes are balanced by a light, fresh acidity due to the stainless steel fermentation. Lovely fruit and spice open immediately and lead to a lovely finish.
Price: $12.99 Add To Cart

2015 Domaine Faiveley Mercurey "Clos Rond"
Review Date: 12-07-2017
I really enjoyed this bottling in the 2014 vintage and while I had good expectations about the wine, I was really pleasantly surprised when I tasted the new vintage. Beautiful fruit of red cherry and raspberry are indicative of the ripeness of the 2015 vintage. Although the fruit is showing nicely there is still plenty of acid and some lovely spice notes to balance everything out. Toward the finish there is a very fun somewhat hard minerality that helps to anchor the wine. All in all the balance was spectacular and everything in this wine worked together.
Price: $24.99 Add To Cart

Wine Club

$21.99

Golden Devil "K&L Exclusive" Dark Overproof Rum (750ml)
Review Date: 12-07-2017
Just in time for Holiday party's (and to be honest for a Sunday Funday) this beautiful little bottle of Dark Overproof is exactly what is needed for cocktails, punches, and parties. Seriously, this is excellent, especially given the price, for those who need a good dark and strong rum for winter cocktails. Dark chocolate on the nose with a little coffee on the nose leads to a lighter palate than I was expecting. Caramel and fudge pudding with a rising heat and spice from the proof all come together here. Fantastic!
Price: $19.99 Add To Cart

Wine Club

$16.99

Enmore 25 Year Old "Golden Devil" K&L Exclusive Single Barrel Cask Strength Guyana Rum (750ml)
Review Date: 12-07-2017
This 25 year old Golden Devil from Enmore made me come back a couple times to the sample bottle and I had to leave it reluctantly. Dark spice over fruitcake with a subtle wood notes on the nose hint to the richness and complexity. On the palate the rum had a wonderful dried fruit and pudding quality that morphs into savory chocolate and coffee notes. Earthy mocha and baking spice with dark berry notes make up the finish that seems to last forever.
Price: $199.99 Add To Cart

2007 Hampden 9 Year Old "Golden Devil" K&L Exclusive Single Barrel Cask Strength Jamaican Rum (750ml)
Review Date: 12-07-2017
The single barrel selections we have been getting from Golden Devil, and for me in particular the Jamaican ones, have gotten me to rethink buying rum. The 9 year old Hampden opens immediately with a wonderful fruity butterscotch nose, powerful and inviting. There is a lot of wood tanning here that will immediately cling to the palate, however within that lovely fruit and floral notes complement the warm vanilla components. The butterscotch on the nose comes back at the finish with pineapple and baking spice.
Price: $69.99 Add To Cart

2014 Can Mayol Loxarel "999" Brut Nature Rosat Penedes
Review Date: 11-16-2017
This is one of the tastiest, coolest, and most interesting rose bubbly we carry but unfortunately the label does not scream that. Still if you are willing to look past the label you can get into a wine by my favorite cava producers in our store. This is worlds away from a soft strawberry, watermelon and sweet finish. This wine is all tart earthy raspberry with plenty of acid and minerality. Dry finish with that seems to linger forever this is a ridiculously good bottle of bubbly in just a ridiculous package.
Price: $13.99 Add To Cart

2015 Jax "Y3 Taureau" Napa Valley Red Blend
Review Date: 11-11-2017
Holy cow!(See what I did there) just in time for Holiday season the Jax Y3 blend is back and it is even better than I was expecting. I really enjoyed the 2014 and 2013 bottlings from our friends at Jax but this is the best one I have tasted. Beautiful cherry and spice on the nose lead to a silky, seamless palate. The wine has a lushness that never falls into jam and coats the mouth with very soft fully integrated tannins. What is so spectacular about this bottling though is the balance and freshness it delivers even as the warm red fruits are at the front of this wine. This wine is not overly rich and definitely not flabby, there is a sophistication and balance not often found in red blends at this price point here in California. A perfect bottle to have around for this time of year.
Price: $19.99 Add To Cart
RP 90

2014 Domaine Trapet Bourgogne Blanc
Review Date: 11-10-2017
There is something magical about the 2014 vintage in white burgundy, I think that I have said something along these lines in every bottle of 2014 white Burgundy I have reviewed. The reason is though because it keeps being true. As good as 2015 is, especially in reds, the cooler 2014 vintage with higher acid just leads to a more complex and tasty white Burgundy for me. That being said I love when the high acid meets generous fruit like in the Trapet Bourgogne Blanc. Crisp citrus nose leads to warm generous orchard fruit on the palate. There is a little waxy characteristic along with a touch of minerality and some honey and spice that are all brightened and balanced by the acid.
Price: $12.99 Add To Cart

George Dickel "K&L Exclusive" 9 Year Old Single Barrel #L7234K1004 Tennessee Whiskey (750ml)
Review Date: 11-03-2017
While I do love a big rich bourbon I have to say my taste tends to run to ones with more rye in them giving me more herbaceous and spice notes. This is why I have always gravitated to the Four Roses Single Barrels over some of the wheated bourbons so I was excited to taste this Dickel for about 2/3 the price of my single barrel Four Roses. Elegant vanilla and spice are mixed with rich wood and an earthy toasted quality. A dry and surprisingly mild heat finish make this a wonderful addition to any bourbon lover's collection.
Price: $44.99 Add To Cart

2013 Amici Napa Valley Cabernet Sauvignon
Review Date: 11-01-2017
This is among the last Napa Cab blends we have from the great 2013 vintage and perhaps the best deal for a sub-$50 Napa we have in stock. This is exactly the type of wine that makes people want to drink Napa Cab. Rich and full bodied the wine opens with plum, cassis, and red berry notes. Interplaying with the ripe fruit are notes of sandalwood, coffee and chocolate, adding savory depth to the wine. Well balanced with a firm structure and integrated tannins, this is a beautiful bottle for cool evenings and serious nights.
Price: $43.99 Add To Cart
JS 93 WE 92

Fukano K&L Exclusive Single Cask #2827 Japanese Whisky (750ml)
Review Date: 10-29-2017
Calling this single cask from Fukano a whisky almost places too much of a limitation on the spirit because it seems to beg to be in a category of its own. The nose gives off almost floral jasmine rice notes with vanilla bean, coconut and oak. The palate almost is a cross between an American whiskey and a brandy. The oak gives off bold vanilla and butterscotch while the texture and mid-palate has distinct brandy note with hints of mocha and dried fruit as in an Armagnac. There is a surprising amount of spice with some heat as the finish stays long and lingering on the tongue. This is a wonderful bottle and will make a lovely addition to any whisky drinker's bar.
Price: $69.99 Add To Cart

2015 Domaine de la Chaboissière Muscadet Sèvre et Maine Sur Lie
Review Date: 10-12-2017
I recently re-tasted this delightfully inexpensive little Muscadet and was reminded of how good this wine tastes. Even with the long aging on the lees this wine has everything people are looking for in a Muscadet. Bright, clean, a little floral and saline characteristics all come together with plenty of acid and lift. There is a surprising amount of fruit weight here but with an incredibly clean finish. This is definitely a bottling that one could keep around for tons of occasions.
Price: $11.99 Add To Cart

Four Pillars "Faultline" K&L Exclusive Gin (750ml)
Review Date: 10-05-2017
I have been hearing about this gin since its inception and have been eagerly awaiting its arrival. Finally our new Faultline gin is here and it is downright delightfully delicious!! The aromatics leap out immediately, but like all of the Four Pillars Gin everything is in balance, lots of different aromas all acting in harmony with each other. There is some fantastic spice notes in here to bolster the juniper and the texture from the nuts adds a wonderful creamy layer. Finally the gin ends with a burst of lemon and spice that keeps the mouth fresh. I was planning on drinking wine tonight but I think I may do Negroni's instead.
Price: $34.99 Add To Cart

2016 Domaine de Verquière Côtes-du-Rhône
Review Date: 10-03-2017
I became an instant fan of this producer and especially the entry-level Rhone offering when I first tasted them, and they just seem to be getting better. The 2016 Cotes du Rhone showcases a greater elegance and brightness as opposed to the richer 2015 vintage. With the high level of Grenache, this wine is exactly the kind of Rhone that I love. Beautiful high tones of red fruit, notes of cherry, spice and cigar box with subtle tannin from the Syrah make this a wine easy to love with tons of different dishes.
Price: $9.99 Add To Cart

Baron-Fuenté "Esprit" Brut Champagne
Review Date: 09-29-2017
I recently took a bottle of this home, not having tasted it in a couple of years, and I was struck by just how good this offering from our only Direct Import negociant truly is. The long aging on the lees give this wine a natural toastiness while maintaining plenty of bright acid. Notes of baked apple, creme brulee, and lemon zest make this a wine that pairs with food especially well in the fall. An absolutely lovely bottle from our friends at Baron-Fuente.
Price: $34.99 Add To Cart
WS 92 WE 91

2015 Domaine Francois Parent Hautes-Côtes de Nuits
Review Date: 09-27-2017
With the richer and riper flavors on Burgundy from the 2015 vintage this bottle is a wonderful reminder that there is still plenty of brightness and acidity to be had in the wine. The Francois Parent Haut Cotes De Nuits immediately greets you with fresh red berry and cherry notes. The flavor here is softly easy to enjoy, with enough complexity to make it interesting and not overwhelming. A very seriously easy to enjoy offering for those just coming to Burgundy.
Price: $26.99 Add To Cart

Real McCoy 12 Year Old Single Blended Barbados Rum (750ml)
Review Date: 09-27-2017
For anyone looking to get into rum or for those who need something to drink so as to not drink their single barrel limited release rums the Real McCoy is here. This is just rum for rum's sake, done by one of the best distillers I have tasted out of Barbados. Foursquare is known for their dedication to transparency and lack of additives and this bottling delivers the real deal. Wonderfully balanced with a nose of tar, molasses, and burnt sugar. The body is exactly what I expected it to be with a smooth richness, some funk from the pot still and overall deliciousness. Captain Jack would cry to see this used as a fire starter.
Price: $39.99 Add To Cart

2015 Chateau de L'Ou "Velours Noir" Côtes Catalanes Rouge
Review Date: 09-14-2017
It is never to early to start thinking of cool wines to drink as nights get longer and more and more dinners get planned. This 100% Syrah on Black Schist soil should definitely be one to keep in your back pocket. Blackberry and spice on the nose give way to a rather rich and bold wine. Dark berry and jam notes are intertwined with spice and minerality while classic syrah tannin coats the mouth and leads to a long finish. This is not a shy wine in all the best ways.
Price: $24.99 Add To Cart
JD 94 RP 94

2015 Château de L'Ou Côtes Catalanes Rouge
Review Date: 09-14-2017
Superb little red food wine that is a great one to keep around the house for whenever. Tart red berry and fruit are layered here with bright acid and some great minerality. The acid really drives the wine, but there is some chewy tannin on the finish to help give the wine more structure.A very good choice to keep around for a delightfully inexpensive table wine.
Price: $11.99 Add To Cart
RP 88 - 90

2016 Chateau de L'Ou Côtes Catalanes Rosé
Review Date: 09-14-2017
It seems an odd time to bring in a new rose especially given that summer is almost gone, but here in the Bay Area we will most likely see many more days of sunshine and so this is a wine to stock up on. Bright, clean, wonderful notes of watermelon and strawberry with plenty of acid and a touch of minerality. This is a truly tasty rose, and who needs long days to drink it, this is one to enjoy anytime as summer gives way to autumn.
Price: $11.99 Add To Cart

2016 Château de L'Ou Côtes Catalanes Blanc
Review Date: 09-14-2017
This is a delightful bottle of white that goes well with practically any occasion. Fresh aromatics give way to notes of orchard fruit and mineral tones. Bright crisp acid drives the wine but there is still some texture from the grapes and it all culminates in a clean tart finish. Light and lovely this is a beautiful wine for the end of summer.
Price: $11.99 Add To Cart

Highland Park "Magnus" Isle of Orkney Single Malt Scotch Whisky (750ml)
Review Date: 09-07-2017
This is a killer bottle of whiskey especially for the price, it is not often you find a Scotch under $30 period much less one with such complexity in it. I should not doubt the people at Highland Park, but I was still a bit surprised by this one. Sweet peat, oak spice, and a little fruity nose invite you into a rich warm palate of toffee, vanilla, salted caramel and a smooth gentle smoke. The finish is probably my favorite part here, toffee and bitter coffee notes with a little spice linger far longer than I would have thought.
Price: $34.99 Add To Cart

Page: 1 2 3 next