Reviewers


K&L Email Alerts

Sign up to receive custom alerts, new arrivals and the latest happenings from K&L Wines


Staff Favorites - Andrew Stevens

Andrew Stevens

Reviews

Page: 1 2 next
Jefferson's "Special Wheated Mashbill" Ocean Voyage #15 Aged at Sea Very Small Batch Straight Bourbon (750ml)
Review Date: 05-22-2018
Getting any kind of wheated bourbon is becoming increasingly difficult, so of course, the innovators at Jefferson set out to make one that was even more unique. The primary flavours here are everything one wants in a heavily wheated bourbon, soft rich vanilla, baking spice, notes of cream and caramel. What the voyage does is add a layer of salty goodness to all of the richness, mingling in all that richness is a salt water taffy note that is absolutely spectacular. This is one of those offerings that I do not expect to last long.
Price: $82.99 Add To Cart

Auchentoshan "Bartender's Malt - Edition 1" Single Malt Scotch Whisky (750ml)
Review Date: 05-15-2018
There was a time when certain things were simply not done. One would never mix a fine single malt into something so crass as a cocktail. I come from a bar background and will happily mix up great spirits into great cocktails. Fortunately for me, that rigid way of thinking is becoming more flexible and certain distilleries are embracing this trend. Auchentoshen is a perfect example, a blend of selected casks from different bartenders the whisky itself is beautiful. Soft, clean, supple, with beautiful vanilla, citrus, peaches, and white chocolate plus the texture that triple distilled Auchentoshan brings this is a delightful whisky all by itself. However, this is also a blend created by bartenders and for the bar. It is priced perfectly to allow someone to get creative, or go for a classic scotch and soda. If you are feeling daring maybe do what I am planning on doing this summer and mixing it with lemon juice, ginger syrup and floating a mellow IPA on top for a fantastic shandy.
Price: $44.95 Add To Cart

2017 Domaine des Côtes Blanches Sancerre Rosé
Review Date: 05-15-2018
Bright mineral driven rose from Sancerre, what is there not to love? This is a beautiful wine for Rose season because it has the clean tart fruit and dry crisp finish that everyone wants these days but with that limestone minerality, this region is known for. This is always one of our most popular Sancerre's and the rose has become equally as popular because it is just about one of the best picnic, pizza, salad and summer wines we carry.
Price: Hidden View Price

2001 Peyrabon, Haut-Medoc
Review Date: 05-15-2018
The Peyrabon was one of the first Bordeaux I remember tasting when I started working at K&L and I am stoked to see that we now have it in the 2001 vintage. I have really come to appreciate the 2001 vintage because many of the wines are in a fantastic drinking window and are just begging to be open and drunk. The Peyrabon showcases soft fruit and lovely integrated tannin with a beautiful acid core. Balanced between the sweet fruit and the earthy leather and tobacco, this is a perfect wine for today, not necessarily for cellaring.
Price: $24.99 Add To Cart

Caves Messias Santola "Crab Wine" Vinho Verde
Review Date: 05-15-2018
Summer sippin goodness in a bottle. That is what I thought the first time I tried this wine a few years ago and that thought has remained each time I taste it again. Perfect thirst quenching, low alcohol, slightly fizzy sipping goodness. This is the wine to grab by the case and find a reason to open on a beautiful afternoon.
Price: $8.99 Add To Cart

2015 Lucien Lardy "Les Chenes" Fleurie
Review Date: 04-29-2018
The brightest and freshest of the new Lardy wines, this Fleurie is bursting with wonderful red fruit and dark berry. Higher acid brings a wonderful freshness to the wine and the balance of tannin and spice mean this is a perfect food wine. Although it is drinking well now, this bottle will easily last a few years in the cellar.
Price: $17.99 Add To Cart
WE 93 JG 90

2016 Lucien Lardy "Les Thorins" Moulin-à-Vent
Review Date: 04-23-2018
The Lardy wines are a new label for of and another fantastic example of what our buyer is finding for us in Beaujolais. Finding a Moulin A Vent for this price is rare enough, but also finding one of this complexity for the same price is remarkable. A beautiful mix of blue and blackberry with floral notes and layers of spice. The palate is smooth and supple with acid and silky tannin adding structure. A powerful wine with lots going on at a beautiful price.
Price: $16.99 Add To Cart
VN 93 WE 92

2016 Spellbound California Chardonnay
Review Date: 03-23-2018
This is one of the most popular domestic chardonnay and for good reason. Big rich creamy oak and fruit all blend together perfectly with acid to balance and a long finish. Despite the riot of flavor, texture, and complexity this is not an expensive offering at all. Despite the fact we all get plenty of this wine we still sell it out more quickly than expected because of how easy it is to serve this wine at every occasion.
Price: $11.99 Add To Cart

Azteca Azul Blanco Tequila (1L)
Review Date: 03-08-2018
Coming from a bartending background, in Texas no less, this is exactly the type of product I wish I could have gotten my hands on for margaritas. From undeniable pedigree, this is a perfect mixing Blanco. Big rich fruit hits the nose immediately reassuring you of all that agave goodness in the bottle. The palate is surprisingly clean and light with a touch of earth and spice. This taste, for this price, in this size bottle is basically a bartending dream come true.
Price: $16.99 Add To Cart

2014 Acumen "Mountainside" Napa Valley Red Wine
Review Date: 03-03-2018
A spectacular offering from the small but highly regarded production Acumen, the 2014 Mountainside offers a beautifully elegant Bordeaux style wine. Warm, dark fruit are perfectly complimented by the herbal notes from higher elevation fruit and choice of French oak gives beautiful spice notes. While there is plenty of fruit here, this is a balanced and focused style as opposed to a overly lush Napa cab and shows concentration and power that this area can achieve.
Price: $39.99 Add To Cart
WE 90

Gilbert Jacquesson "Cuvée Tradition" Blanc de Noirs Brut Champagne
Review Date: 02-07-2018
I make no secret of my love of Champagne with plenty of Meunier in it. Something about all that big beautiful fleshy fruit just makes super friendly bubbles for my enjoyment. This is a rich and round style with notes of dried cherry, plum, almond and even a little marzipan in there. There is also some spice and plenty of acid here that makes this a perfect dinner companion.
Price: $24.99 Add To Cart

Gilbert Jacquesson "Cuvée Eugénie" Brut Rosé Champagne
Review Date: 02-07-2018
New DI Champagne is always exciting to me, mostly because it means I get to taste Champagne and no matter what that is great. Still better when I find ones I really like. This new Rose is definitely our best priced Rose Champagne, but just because it is less expensive does not mean it is less drinkable. Bright fruit with some lovely structure from a little skin contact this all Pinot Meunier rose is a spectacular buy and a tasty bottle.
Price: $29.99 Add To Cart

Piùcinque Gin 750ml
Review Date: 01-18-2018
There may a problem with this gin in that it goes down a little too easily, dare I say that this is a super crushable gin. A beautiful nose that is resplendent with botanical notes still manages to come off as soft and clean. There is a lovely nutty and floral balance happening here with some sweet citrus and a line of clean acid driving the body. What really struck me about this gin was how the softly sweet floral, almond, bergamot, and juniper all managed to work so well together by giving lots of flavor that is clean and far to easy to drink.
Price: $39.99 Add To Cart

2014 Amici Napa Valley Cabernet Sauvignon
Review Date: 12-19-2017
This is another fantastic bottling from Amici, which has had a string of great Napa Cabs for the previous couple of vintages. Amici represents what people want and love about Napa Cab these days for a far better price than almost anyone else for the quality. Big, rich, lush berry flavors are met by herbal and floral notes to keep the wine from being flabby. There is plenty of structure here, giving this wine the ability to stand up to any good holiday dinner. The tannin is already integrated, balances the wine, and works in harmony with the red fruit. This is a wine where every part of it works together and easily over-delivers.
Price: $44.99 Add To Cart
JS 92 WE 91

2015 Jax "Y3 Taureau" Napa Valley Red Blend
Review Date: 11-11-2017
Holy cow!(See what I did there) just in time for Holiday season the Jax Y3 blend is back and it is even better than I was expecting. I really enjoyed the 2014 and 2013 bottlings from our friends at Jax but this is the best one I have tasted. Beautiful cherry and spice on the nose lead to a silky, seamless palate. The wine has a lushness that never falls into jam and coats the mouth with very soft fully integrated tannins. What is so spectacular about this bottling though is the balance and freshness it delivers even as the warm red fruits are at the front of this wine. This wine is not overly rich and definitely not flabby, there is a sophistication and balance not often found in red blends at this price point here in California. A perfect bottle to have around for this time of year.
Price: $19.99 Add To Cart
RP 90

2014 La Chablisienne Chablis 1er Cru "Beauroy"
Review Date: 10-17-2017
The lightest and cleanest of the three Premier Cru Chablisienne we are carrying the 204 Beauroy is a lovely bottle of wine. Bright citrus fruits are met with some flashy minerality and cutting acid. Minerality drives this wine and helps it to finish strong, however all of the have a beautiful balance and poise.
Price: $26.99 Add To Cart
DC 93 RP 90

Baron-Fuenté "Esprit" Brut Champagne
Review Date: 09-29-2017
I recently took a bottle of this home, not having tasted it in a couple of years, and I was struck by just how good this offering from our only Direct Import negociant truly is. The long aging on the lees give this wine a natural toastiness while maintaining plenty of bright acid. Notes of baked apple, creme brulee, and lemon zest make this a wine that pairs with food especially well in the fall. An absolutely lovely bottle from our friends at Baron-Fuente.
Price: $34.99 Add To Cart
WS 92 WE 91

Highland Park "Magnus" Isle of Orkney Single Malt Scotch Whisky (750ml)
Review Date: 09-07-2017
This is a killer bottle of whiskey especially for the price, it is not often you find a Scotch under $30 period much less one with such complexity in it. I should not doubt the people at Highland Park, but I was still a bit surprised by this one. Sweet peat, oak spice, and a little fruity nose invite you into a rich warm palate of toffee, vanilla, salted caramel and a smooth gentle smoke. The finish is probably my favorite part here, toffee and bitter coffee notes with a little spice linger far longer than I would have thought.
Price: $34.99 Add To Cart

Four Pillars "Bloody Shiraz" Gin (750ml)
Review Date: 08-30-2017
I was willing to buy this bottle based on the aromatics alone, well that and the fact that Four Pillars seems incapable of making a bad gin. Watching this come in and getting to finally taste it makes me do a happy dance. The aroma juniper, sweet orange, bitter herb, red berry are all present here and hint at the tastiness hiding within this bottle. The flavor here is reminiscent of a SloGin but brighter and drier than most I have tasted. The beauty of the Four Pillars botanicals are still here just surrounded and submerged in sweet red fruit, more spice and a perfect amount of sweetness. I can't wait to try it in a Negroni and I feel I won't even need the sweet vermouth.
Price: $39.99 Add To Cart

2014 No Curfew California Pinot Noir
Review Date: 07-05-2017
What a delightful surprise to taste a ripe, but balanced Pinot coming out of California that is a spectacular price. Although the wine is bursting with rich California fruit containing notes of ripe cherry and cola there is a lovely acid that keeps this wine in balance. The acid helps to bring this wine to a finish where softly coating tannins bring the whole thing to a close. Plenty of fruit make this bottle immediately approachable and friendly and the price makes this perfect for any occasion.
Price: Hidden View Price

Highland Park "Valkyrie" Isle of Orkney Single Malt Scotch Whisky (750ml)
Review Date: 06-14-2017
Having recently tasted through the lineup of Highland Park I was pleased by how consistently good they remained, having not tasted them in years. Then a week later we received in the new Valkyrie and I was excited to try a brand new expression from them after having so much fun revisiting the others in their line-up. The new Valkyrie in no way disappoints. A rich creamy nose resplendent with almond, vanilla and the smoke of a just started campfire that is just beginning to waft into the air mingle together. A lovely rich and creamy palate has a cooler smoke element with ripe fruits and soft creamy caramels and a dash of baking spice. The heat builds but does not overwhelm as the spice leads the way on the finish.
Price: $69.99 Add To Cart

El Silencio Espadin Black Bottle Mezcal (750ml)
Review Date: 06-08-2017
This is a perfect addition to my rotation of Mezcal that I can cocktail with and I am excited to see how it plays in my favorite drinks. The El Silencio has classic big notes from the Espadin, rich waxy rounded fruit with plenty of smoke. This is an unctuous fruity Mezcal that holds nothing back, but not in an overwhelming style. All of that big fruit typically play so well in cocktails and are necessary to stand up to other flavors when I make my Mezcal Negronis. Add to this the fact that the bottle is under $30 and we have ourselves a winner.
Price: $29.99 Add To Cart

Bollinger "Special Cuvée" Brut Champagne
Review Date: 06-08-2017
Bollinger is one of my immediate go to houses for people looking for a known name that delivers stunning wine for the price. The special cuvee from them is the perfect place to start with this all family owned estate. Lovely fruit notes of early plum, red fruit, and green apple with a little wood and spice are all firmly in balance here. The level of complexity is impressive and the finish is soft but does not fall flat in any way. There is also a beautiful tartness to the wine from the acid that serves to enhance the overall experience.

Laurent-Perrier "Grand Siècle" Brut Champagne
Review Date: 06-08-2017
The Laurent Perrier Grand Siecle is one of the most selective Tete Cuvee in production today. Given the scale of Laurent Perrier the fact that so little Grand Siecle Brut is available speaks to the selectiveness of the process. A blend of about 50% Pinot Noir and 50% Chardonnay done in stainless steel the wine presents a lovely earthy note on the nose with hints of early orchard fruit. Earthy pear, yeasty notes, lingering acid, and a long finish help to create a truly compelling wine.

1999 Fallet-Dart Vintage Brut Champagne
Review Date: 06-07-2017
Although older Champagne does not have quite the following here in the states as regular cuvees do there is something rather magical to me about old Champagne. That being said it is difficult to find in my price range, which is another reason why I love our DI program. We get to bring in an 18 year old Champagne and sell it for a song. The '99 was a warmer vintage, but this wine has not fallen off in the slightest. Rich warm notes of honey and almond on the nose with hints of sherry lead to a rich nutty, almost dried fruit palate. There is still plenty of acid to keep this alive and help it to finish and linger.
Price: $64.99 Add To Cart

Fallet-Dart "Cuvée de Réserve" Brut Champagne
Review Date: 06-06-2017
One of our newest DI from Champagne and again I feel that it is a little ridiculous to drink Champagne at this level for this price. The Fallet-Dart wines all share a beautiful toasty note to them that comes from long aging on the lees. Although there are other, more manipulative ways, to create this toasty note, the fact that Fallet-Dart can achieve it and have it age is only because they allow their wine to rest until it is ready. As toasty and rich as the nose is, there is no buttery note here; instead bright, clean acid and notes of lemon and spice zip along the palate and help give it a long finish.
Price: $29.99 Add To Cart

Laurent-Perrier "La Cuvée" Brut Champagne
Review Date: 06-06-2017
If you are a Champagne House that carries the name recognition and appeal of Laurent Perrier how do you change your signature offering? Easy, you introduce a wine like the new La Cuvee. Taking on new vineyards and changing the basic cepage Laurent Perrier also decided that a longer lees time was also just what this new cuvee needed. The result being a continuation of what they are capable of and I believe a treat for all of their customers. This new champagne features a slightly creamier nose than the Brut and is filled with delectable stone fruit, cream, and plenty of balancing acid. I am fairly confident that those who are already familiar with this house will be delighted with this change and the handful of people who haven't tried them yet here is exactly where you should start.

2015 Jax Vineyard "Y3" Napa Valley Chardonnay
Review Date: 05-04-2017
It is exciting to taste another winner from our friends at Jax, who have consistently managed to give us good wine at great pricing. This chardonnay has everything you want from a Napa Chard, big intense tropical fruit notes with oak and weight, but not out of balance. Although this is a big rich wine there is enough acid here to keep it from falling flat and move it forward and brings about a long, lovely finish.
Price: $19.99 Add To Cart
WE 93

2014 Provenance Rutherford Cabernet Sauvignon
Review Date: 04-04-2017
This was definitely one of our top sellers last year and it is good to see it back in the new vintage. For those looking for a little more elegance and honesty in their Cab this is the wine for you. Good acid, red berry and bramble, and a touch rustic this wine showcases the grape over manipulation. All of this and the wine is still only $35 which is almost unheard if these days. I believe that this wine may just fly out of here as fast as it did last year.
Price: $39.99 Add To Cart
JS 90

2013 Fuenteseca Huerta Singular "El Maguey" Blanco Tequila (750ml)
Review Date: 02-18-2017
This is truly a spectacular tequila, one that helps me to realize how good tequila can be and lure me away from my sweet brown booze. I do not take home bottles of expensive tequila because I am really only interested in turning them into a paloma. However, I must admit I am looking forward to taking home a bottle of this blanco. The balance and purity of the agave are singularly impressive, Although I have not actually gotten to bite into blue agave as David has, I can well believe him when he says that this tequila is what that tastes like. As good as the nose and taste of this tequila is perhaps the finish is what truly sells me, long, beautiful, and elegant. A finish that seems to linger on the palate and in your mind.
Price: $79.99 Add To Cart

Santa Teresa 1796 Ron Antiguo de Solera Rum Venezuela (750ml)
Review Date: 01-30-2017
This wonderfully rich, but balanced Solera style rum is one of my go to's for those just getting into rum or those who have been long time fans. Dark, warm fruits and notes of toffee are not cloying, but rather they compliment each other and the strong streak of vanilla that brings this rum to a close.
Price: $39.99 Add To Cart
WE 94

Capurro Estate Grown Single Vintage Moscatel Premium Pisco (750ml)
Review Date: 11-29-2016
Like some other distillates Pisco seems to have suffered from the fact that until recently only the bottom end stuff has been on the market here in the US and so beyond the occasional Pisco Sour no one has had much to do with it. Fortunately brands like Capurro are coming in now and changing the way some of us think about Pisco. The single vintage Moscatel from this family owned and operated company opens with a beautiful floral nose with hints of citrus blossom. Clean and dry on the palate with a pleasant spice note this spirit also contains notes of red apple and pear. Certainly one of the most interesting and best Pisco's I have tasted this will be fun to play around with especially at this time of the year.
Price: $34.99 Add To Cart

Kilkerran 12 Year Old Campbeltown Single Malt Scotch Whisky (750ml)
Review Date: 10-21-2016
One of only three active distilleries in Campbeltown, this new offering created in the revamped Glengyle is created using old techniques, and the dedication shows. Beautiful white fruit and spice layer the peat, showcasing the uniqueness of Campbeltown. Lovely layers of smoke move throughout this whisky and bring it to a finish with medium heat and spice. Full-flavored yet balanced, this is a cool new offering for those who love every different expression of peat, smoke, and of course, Campbeltown.
Price: $64.99 Add To Cart

Deligeroy "La Petite Marquise" Crémant de Loire Brut Rosé
Review Date: 08-08-2016
Reading over all of the reviews for this delightful bottle of bubbly I realize that I have nothing new to add except to ditto everything that has been said about it. Is it a fantastically fun summertime bottle resplendent with notes of strawberry and citrus and a tantalizing tart taste on the tongue? In a word, yes. Basically this is a perfect little bottle to toast success, friends, BBQ's, picnics, and Monday's with. Enjoy!
Price: $12.99 Add To Cart

Westland Sherry Wood American Single Malt Whiskey (750ml)
Review Date: 08-08-2016
The fact that this bottle comes from perhaps the coolest distillery in the United States right now, and the fact that it is priced at under $75 are only really relevant if it is good. Fortunately for everyone involved, from the makers to the drinkers, it is very good indeed. A rich nose of loads of dense fruit, hints of smoke, a little vanilla and nuttiness and this all in the initial sniff. The body holds all the the smell of this whiskey promises, the sherry casking adding it's compounding notes of pecan and mocha to the toasted vanilla and baked fruit of the whiskey. Spices on the finish with some heat keep this whiskey long in the memory. In short, it is beautiful.
Price: $69.99 Add To Cart
WE 95

Westland Peated American Single Malt Whiskey (750ml)
Review Date: 08-06-2016
The Westland Peated Single Malt tastes like it is from somewhere else and commands a much higher price tag. Seriously, this whiskey is good. While the comparison to a distiller like Springbank is apt, this is also it's very own spirit that is not pretending to be anyone else. Peat and a touch of brine comingle with some chewy fruit and layered with smoke. The finish is a little spicy but the heat dissipates quickly while leaving the flavor and a sense of happiness for having tasted such a delightful whiskey.
Price: $69.99 Add To Cart

Westland American Single Malt Whiskey (750ml)
Review Date: 08-06-2016
The fact that Westland makes an amazing whiskey is no longer knew news, but hearing about it and tasting it are two different things. The Westland American Oak is reminiscent of many of my favorite single malts from Scotland and still it's own animal. Vanilla and a hints of fruit in the nose lead to a creamy vanilla, butterscotch, and coffee palate. This does not taste like a new distillery from the US, this tastes like someone has been crafting this whiskey for years in some country older than ours.
Price: $59.99 Add To Cart
WE 93

Michel Couvreur "Pale Single Single" Malt Whisky (750ml)
Review Date: 07-24-2016
Ready for the whisky of the summer? Where do you go when the heat means big smoky, peaty flavors do not work as well? Here, this bottle, this delightful and delicious offering from Michel Couvreur. Lovely dense white stone fruit in the nose lead to a seriously elegant Scotch. The play of light fruit and floral notes are just so well harmonized here and are backed up by a tingly baking spice finish. This whisky showcases the deftness that a master blender can have in creating something truly elegant.
Price: $109.99 Add To Cart

Michel Couvreur "Peaty Overaged" K&L Exclusive Malt Whisky (750ml)
Review Date: 07-24-2016
For those who missed out on the Compass Box "5th and Harrison" K&L Exclusive, for those who are starting to realize how good blended whiskey can be, or for those who simply love good Scotch here is a bottle for you. From Michel Couvreur comes a truly beautiful peated smoky whisky that is elegant, balanced, smooth, and just so good. A rich nose resplendent with notes of caramel, toffee and a hint of butterscotch lead to a full, rich Scotch. There is a lot of good baked fruit notes here with the peat accenting them and swaddled in smooth smokey notes. Despite the richness of this whiskey it is well balanced and never feels to full of itself and leads the palate to a lovely soft finish that fades slowly. Get a bottle of this now and buy another for a gift. This is completely worth it.
Price: $79.99 Add To Cart

Don Amado Largo Mezcal (750ml)
Review Date: 07-10-2016
This is a lovely, goes down almost too easily Mezcal that helps to showcase the fruitier side of Mezcal. Bright candied fruit from the Agave in the nose are underlaid with the barest hint of smoke. A creamy mouthfeel is layered with soft fruit and a little hint of spice and a subtle roasted quality. There is a rather dry finish with some heat that leaves the mouth tingling and ready for more.
Price: Hidden View Price

Park 15 Year Old "Lot 15" K&L Exclusive Single Barrel #289 Cask Strength Fins Bois Cognac (750ml)
Review Date: 06-20-2016
Another exclusive K&L Cognac that is big rich and rewarding. A fairly big warm nose is matched by caramel baked apple and notes of maple and vanilla. Surprisingly soft and buttery on the palate for a spirit at this proof, it still finishes with a good dose of spice.
Price: $69.99 Add To Cart

Park 18 Year Old "Lot 18 - K&L Exclusive" Single Barrel #332 Cask Strength Borderies Cognac (750ml)
Review Date: 06-19-2016
This exclusive Cognac opens with a soft fruity nose that has hints of citrus and spice in it. Smooth warm butterscotch notes and stone fruit are rounded by the oak and deepened by a rich layer of cocoa and caramel. The finish is dry with a touch of wood and lingering spice.
Price: $79.99 Add To Cart

Suntory Toki Japanese Whisky (750ml)
Review Date: 06-19-2016
I, like so many others, really like a lot of what Suntory has to offer. There are so many wonderful whiskeys they put out, unfortunately many of these have gotten super expensive and rare. Fortunately, they are trying to fill in the gap with a more everyday whiskey, and the Toki is just the product to do that. A lightly fruited nose reminiscent of caramel apple and vanilla leads to a smooth and somewhat fruity whiskey. Baked apple and stone fruit notes are rounded with touches of vanilla and a somewhat creamy mouthfeel. Low heat finish rounds out the delightful little whiskey.
Price: $34.99 Add To Cart

Four Pillars Rare Dry Gin (750ml)
Review Date: 05-28-2016
Some people want to reinvent Gin while others simply want to perfect it, at Four PIllars they go for the latter. This has all the elements that make gin so good, citrus, juniper, spices and balances them. Fresh and clean with a dry finish this is the kind of gin you can just keep as the standard, always on hand. Mix it, sip it, prepare it any way you like Gin, just enjoy it.
Price: $34.99 Add To Cart
WE 92

Four Pillars Navy Strength Gin 750ml
Review Date: 05-28-2016
Complexity and balance is always what I am most excited about in a Gin and this delivers these two attributes. The citrus notes from the limes off just the right amount of snappy citrus to overlay the backbone of juniper. This gin is surprisingly smooth for its proof offering up its power in complexity and flavor as opposed to burn on the finish.
Price: $44.99 Add To Cart

St. George Bruto Americano Aperitivo (750ml)
Review Date: 05-24-2016
I am a big fan of pretty much everything St. George Distillery does and one of my favorite things about them is all of their liqueurs and brandies. Seriously, the people over there are never satisfied with just sticking to gin, vodka, or whiskey (although they do all of those things well) and now they have added an Americano! I bought a bottle immediately and it is delicious, as is expected from them this is not an attempt to re-create Campari but rather it's own beast. Clove and cinnamon add a much spicier component to this spirit, with a lovely dry and herbaceous finish. This is delicious on its own or with soda water and a twist and I cannot wait to try making it into a Negroni.
Price: $27.99 Add To Cart

Fleury Sonate 9 Opus 10 Extra Brut Champagne
Review Date: 05-17-2016
One of my favorite things to do is point out bottles that I have gotten to taste recently to customers who as what I have had that truly grabbed my attention. I never know in a tasting what might jump out at me and for what reason, but I am always pleased when something does. This weird, geeky Champagne was just such a wine. An extra brut from oddball biodynamic producer Fleury this bottle showed a slightly Sherried nose with hints of honey and fruit. A rich nutty and mineral wine I was taken aback by how complex it was. This is definitely a Champagne to try with food and not necessarily an every day wine, but it makes a phenomenal gift for any lover of esoteric, but good, wines.
Price: $79.99 Add To Cart
W&S 94

Charles Heidsieck "Brut Reserve" Champagne (1.5L)
Review Date: 05-17-2016
When I started working for K&L and was introduced to real Champagne I was told that it tastes better from a 1.5 Litre than any other size. Today I was able to reinforce that by tasting the Heidsieck magnum next to the 750 ml and the 375 ml. While I enjoyed all three bottlings the magnum was the clear winner. Smoke and rich fruit in the nose was balanced by clean acid. Notes of golden baked apple and hints of tart green apple make this one of the large house Champagne producers definitely worth getting into.

Ragnaud-Sabourin "K&L Exclusive Fontevieille #35" Cognac (750ml)
Review Date: 05-09-2016
I never drank Cognac before coming to work at K&L and I fear that I will never be able to live now in a place where I cannot get the Cognac we carry. In other words, I have been ruined by the good stuff. Having just tried the Ragnaud Sabourin #35 I do not know where to go from here except for to buy a bottle. It is ridiculously good, complex, balanced, so incredibly smooth. There were a host of amazing flavors present, but honestly I stopped taking notes when I tried it and simply enjoyed it.
Price: $169.99 Add To Cart

Mas Codina Cava Brut Reserva Penedès
Review Date: 05-09-2016
This is one of the best bottle of bubbles in the store for its price. The fact that we directly import this sparkler and that it is from Spain means that it drinks far and above its price point. This Cava is very clean and enhanced by bright acid while still having some weight and richness on the mouthfeel. A lovely balance of ripe fruit and citrus make this one that can easily turn heads at a party and is priced to keep a case around the house.
Price: $12.99 Add To Cart

Page: 1 2 next