Reviewers


K&L Email Alerts

Sign up to receive custom alerts, new arrivals and the latest happenings from K&L Wines


Staff Favorites - Diana Turk

Diana Turk

Reviews

Page: 1 2 next
Le Gallais La Grande Vinge Blanc de Blancs Brut Champagne
Review Date: 09-20-2019
Wow. New Direct Import grower-producer Le Gallais is an exciting addition to our Champagne repertoire. The vines for the Blanc de blancs are grown within a clos on east-facing slopes, perfect for providing the bright morning sun that Chardonnay needs. This release – all sourced from 2013 but not labeled as vintage – is both elegant and racy, with lemon fruit and a welcome kick to the clean finish. And aged five years on the lees! Winemaker Charlotte Le Gallais has a deft hand at creating Champagnes that highlight simplicity while maintaining incredible complexity.
Price: $49.99 Add To Cart

Le Gallais Brut Rosé des Poètes Champagne
Review Date: 09-20-2019
The care that goes into this rosé is incredible! Sourced entirely from the 2014 vintage (but not labeled as such), Le Gallais Brut Rosé des Poètes uses the only free run juice of Pinot Noir and Meunier in a 50-50 blend, all from vineyards within a 4-hectare clos. A clos! The resulting Champagne is light on its feet but filled with deep berry fruit character, and the subtle notes that develop with air and time make this a lively, evolving rosé that warrants revisiting.
Price: $59.99 Add To Cart

2009 Le Gallais Vintage Brut Champagne
Review Date: 09-20-2019
Super tasty right off the bat, the 2009 Le Gallais Brut perfectly showcases the accessibility of a warmer vintage. Golden pear fruit shines up front, with a rich underlying component – I literally wrote “caramel apple” in my notes – following through to the long finish. While there is undeniably great acidity present, this is a delicious, high quality Champagne for those who like it nice and easy.
Price: $64.99 Add To Cart

Le Gallais Cuvée du Manoir Brut Champagne
Review Date: 09-20-2019
What a special offering! Entirely inside a clos with just 4 hectares of vines, Le Gallais is a house with both history and a modern sense of style. While I generally (think that I) prefer Blanc de blancs Champagnes, Le Gallais’ Cuvée du Manoir was my favorite release in their lineup, a surprise considering the 45% Meunier! This is elegant, gorgeous fruit, with the dark berry character of Meunier sans earthy funkiness that can sometimes overwhelm. The rest of the blend is balanced perfectly by 45% Pinot Noir and 10% Chardonnay. This spends a minimum of 4 years on the lees, and at just 6 g/L, could swing as either brut or extra brut. Creamy, toasty, with a delicate bead and chalky backbone, this checks all the boxes for an incredible Champagne, and at this price, does not disappoint. Le Gallais is a must-try for aficionados who have worked their way through our Direct Imports, and a no brainer for your next party.
Price: $34.99 Add To Cart

Damien Hugot Brut Blanc de Blancs Grand Cru
Review Date: 09-20-2019
By bringing this new grower-producer into the fold of our Direct Import Champagnes, buyer Gary has completed a vision of K&L carrying Chardonnay from nearly every Grand Cru village in the Côte des Blancs – an incredible feat! Damien Hugot grows this prized varietal on 50 year-old vines from just 8 hectares in the northern villages of Chouilly and Cramant, with vineyards that include renowned Mont-Aigu. This racy Blanc de blancs will age beautifully and reward patience. Drinking now, there is the expected chalky minerality but also a richness through the palate that belies its 7g/L, with brioche notes and a hint of nuttiness. An impressive debut.
Price: $34.99 Add To Cart

Damien Hugot Brut Rosé
Review Date: 09-20-2019
I’m excited to welcome another stellar Côte des Blancs winemaker into our Direct Import family! Damien Hugot is a producer who grows Chardonnay on 50 year-old vines in the villages of Chouilly and Cramant, with vineyards that include the coveted Mont-Aigu area. This rosé is almost completely Chardonnay (93%) with a tiny amount of red wine from Monthelon blended in. (That 7% Pinot Meunier, by the way, comes from the same village as another favorite DI producer whose name you miught recognize – Alexandre Le Brun.) The wine features super concentrated fruit and a tight focus – you know this is Chardonnay from the laser-like acidity, but it’s wrapped in a thoroughly gulpable package of red berry notes. This release was one of my favorites from our recent staff Champagne Summit, and is sure to please anyone looking for a bright yet easygoing option that packs a punch.
Price: $39.99 Add To Cart

Fallet-Dart "Cuvée de Réserve" Brut Champagne
Review Date: 09-05-2019
Incredible quality in a crowd-pleasing style, this exceptional release from our friend Paul Fallet (come meet him at the Champagne Tent Event!) is fresh with vivid lift and plenty of structure, yet still easygoing and beautifully accessible. Grower-producer Champagne that is somehow less than $30?! Don't toast without it.
Price: $29.99 Add To Cart

2015 Leeuwin Estate "Prelude" Cabernet Sauvignon Margaret River Western Australia
Review Date: 08-14-2019
Classic Margaret River at its best. Notes of eucalyptus and mint mingle with heady red currant fruit and a bit of dustiness at the finish. This is sophisticated Cab Sauv from one of the most elegant Aussie producers. And what a price! Don't sleep on this down under dream.

Kilkerran (Glengyle) "Heavily Peated" Batch No. 1 Campbeltown Single Malt Scotch Whisky (750ml)
Review Date: 08-13-2019
This is a Scotch that will put hair on your chest yet still manages to feel balanced. Although I’m not a superfan of peated whisky, I do count Kilkerran among my favorite distilleries, so I was excited to try our new "Heavily Peated" Batch No. 1 Campbeltown Single Malt. I may have initially let out a cough that made me feel like a cartoon dragon – I could have sworn a ring of smoke came out. But with water, this beast is easily tamed. There is an evocative salinity up front, followed by notes of coffee and caramel, tempered by insistent peat. The palate stays earthy and focused, with an extra herbal hit on the finish. This release will satisfy peatheads without overwhelming the senses, although it does conjure up a sense of place more than any other Scotch I’ve tried in recent memory. Plus, Kilkerran is making Scotch the old school way, so you’re essentially drinking history. Well worth the price.
Price: $69.99 Add To Cart

Bollinger "Special Cuvée" Brut Champagne
Review Date: 08-13-2019
Bollinger’s classic release, the Special Cuvée, is one of my go-tos when looking for a Grande Marque, since it offers both the prestige name and relative value - the quality feels higher than many fancy brands at a similar price point. On any given day, the wine has a quicksilver character about it: nimble and bright enough to cut through fried foods, yet lush when complementing more classic pairings such as seafood. Founded in 1829, Bollinger clearly cares about luxury and detail at every level. Yet the house itself is set among its own vineyards in the unassuming village of Aÿ. For the Special Cuvée, 80,000 magnums are disgorged by hand! Wines are aged at least three but often five years (more than the appellation’s required fifteen months). Bollinger only seems expensive if you haven’t seen the care that goes in to making it.

Bollinger "Special Cuvée" Brut Champagne (375ml)
Review Date: 08-13-2019
Subtly richer than the standard 750 ml bottle thanks to advanced aging through a larger bottle-opening-to-surface area-ratio, the 375ml format of Bollinger’s classic release, the Special Cuvée, is one of my go-tos when looking for a Grande Marque. The half bottles are drinking perfectly now and the wine shows a quicksilver character: nimble and bright enough to cut through fried foods, yet lush when complementing classic seafood dishes. Bollinger somehow offers both the big name and relative value - the quality feels higher than other prestige brands at similar price point. Make your next picnic luxurious!

Kizakura "Bushido Way of the Warrior" Ginjo Genshu Sake 180ml
Review Date: 08-13-2019
Silky in texture with citrus notes and a clean finish, Kizakura "Bushido Way of the Warrior" is a genshu – undiluted – sake that hits hard but goes down easily. A beautifully classic, dry Ginjo sake, perhaps its most intriguing selling point is the packaging: awesome cans with reusable lids! Refreshing and portable, this 180ml release from Kizakura is perfect for an al fresco sushi stop.
Price: $5.99 Add To Cart

Westward "Single Barrel #B-236-11" K&L Exclusive Cask Strength Single Barrel American Single Malt Whiskey (750ml)
Review Date: 07-30-2019
The oldest barrel Portland’s Westward has ever released (distilled in 2013), our exclusive cask is intense! Immediately aromatic in the glass, Single Barrel #B-236-11 features locally-sourced two row barley from Oregon, showing pleasing malt and cocoa up front. There’s a ton of oak influence through the heady palate, with a take-no-prisoners spicy finish. This 131 proof cask strength version begs for water, but once you’ve found the perfect ratio, it sings with complexity, enhancing everything from caramel pralines to woodsy, slightly herbaceous notes. This experiential whiskey is not for the timid, but can be finessed into something special.
Price: $99.99 Add To Cart

2017 Big Table Farm "The Wild Bee" Willamette Valley Chardonnay
Review Date: 07-16-2019
White floral on the nose with a subtle beeswax note that lingers on the palate, Big Table Farm’s “The Wild Bee” Chardonnay is a clean, aromatic addition to our domestic Chard lineup. The property in Gaston is an actual farm with an actual big table, and everything about this producer is done with heart and reverence for Oregon. The 2017 is a perfect blend of six Willamette terroirs, resulting in a fruity, bright Chardonnay that still shows depth through to the long finish. If you like your whites on the crisper side but don’t want to sacrifice body, this is a must try.
Price: $27.99 Add To Cart
WS 93 JS 92

2018 Clos de la Bonnette Syrah "Cuvée Cisselande" VDF
Review Date: 07-04-2019
I love Clos de la Bonnette so much that when their Vin de France appeared on our shelves without fanfare, I immediately scooped it up to drink that night. Classic Syrah, with a gorgeous floral nose, this feels both like a Northern Rhône (where the family winery sits), with its crunchy red fruit and bacon notes, and southern Rhône (where the grapes are grown organically) with its depth. The finish is minerally, the body dense but bright enough for "Cuvée Cisselande" to prove a perfect pairing for garlicky Mediterranean takeout. The 2018 needs air, but even the tightly wound first glass was magnificent, and the bottle held through a second day. Impressive on many levels.
Price: $29.99 Add To Cart

2018 Astrolabe Sauvignon Blanc Marlborough
Review Date: 06-28-2019
Classic Marlborough Sauv Blanc without any cloying stereotypes! The tropical fruit is there, plus lush stonefruit, but both are lifted by bright acidity and a crisp finish. This is a sophisticated white that still feels fresh enough for a summer day. The food pairings are endless, and it’s barely twenty bucks for one of the most serious producers in NZ. Wow.
Price: $19.99 Add To Cart
BC 95

2016 Joan d'Anguera "Finca L'Argata" Montsant
Review Date: 06-28-2019
If you’re a fan of Spanish reds but looking to branch out from Tempranillo, look no further than this substantial, biodynamic Garnacha. Rustic and interesting, but fruit-forward enough to be a serious crowd-pleaser, the 2016 is brimming with high-toned notes and minerality. The age-worthy Joan d'Anguera "Finca L'Argata" Montsant covers all the bases, and is natural to boot!
Price: $21.99 Add To Cart
RP 94

Asahi Shuzo Dassai "50" Junmai Daiginjo Sake (300ml)
Review Date: 06-25-2019
This is my go-to sake for elegance and value. With more “ricey” character than many Daiginjo options, Dassai 50 is so named for 50% of the Yamada Nishiki rice being ground away, making this extraordinary quality sake for the price. Tropical melon fruit shines through the textured palate, giving way to a long finish. Fans of dry style sake will love the weight and finesse here.
Price: $12.99 Add To Cart

2012 Ayala Blanc de Blancs Brut Champagne
Review Date: 06-25-2019
Wow, what a stunning offering from Champagne Ayala, another exceptional house based in the grand cru village of Aÿ! Chardonnay fruit is sourced from the “miracle vintage” 2012, and is the first harvest-specific release under winemaking prodigy Caroline Latrive. At a recent tasting, Ayala’s Blanc de Blancs Brut Champagne stole the show with its creamy, toasty brilliance. It’s vibrant with racy acidity but maintains a velvety texture and a long finish. If you liked the 2010, wait until you try this beauty.

Asahi Shuzo Dassai "50" Junmai Daiginjo Nigori Sake (300ml)
Review Date: 06-25-2019
One of the driest Nigori sakes I've ever tasted, Dassai's 50 Junmai Daiginjo is made only for the US market, and we’re lucky enough to carry it. Fresh with cantaloupe fruit and a super satisfying creamy texture, this is subtly sweeter than unfiltered sake, yet the finish is bright and crisp. Lovely.
Price: $12.99 Add To Cart

2016 TWR (Te Whare Ra) Pinot Noir Marlborough
Review Date: 06-25-2019
Red-fruited with pure cranberry notes, this 2016 Te Whare Ra Pinot Noir shows complexity, with a bright core of acidity and an earthy finish. One of my favorite Southern Hemisphere Direct Imports, TWR’s quality is unbelievable for the price – biodynamically farmed, handpicked, balanced, and most importantly: delicious.

Old Forester K&L Exclusive Single Barrel #4093 (Warehouse H, Floor 5) Straight Kentucky Bourbon Whisky (750ml)
Review Date: 06-25-2019
I don’t know if whisky is considered to showcase terroir, but when drinking this woodsy, caramel-laden single barrel release, you can’t help but feel its location in the warehouse. There’s a pleasant mustiness there, with notes of tobacco on the nose, which gives way to classic Bourbon brown sugar and velvety texture. Old Forester is one of my favorite selections for value and pure Kentucky character, and the price on this single barrel is unbelievable. Spice up your Old Fashioned!
Price: $39.99 Add To Cart

2015 Tongue in Groove "Cabal Vineyard" Pinot Noir Waipara Valley
Review Date: 05-07-2019
This is a gorgeous, underrated wine. The 2015 shows spice and texture, while staying focused. This is a clean, light-bodied style that still feels substantial. Great purity of fruit, savory and herbal notes, lower alcohol and racy minerality makes this a great food red. Plus the winemaker is a woman who excels at minimal interventionist (dare I say natural?) winemaking with a sophisticated edge. Although there is no shortage of interesting Pinot Noir here at the store, I find myself reaching for the Tongue in Groove offerings again and again.

2017 Cantina Andrian Pinot Grigio
Review Date: 05-07-2019
Wow! Pinot Grigio isn’t always the flashiest of varietals, but this lovely Alto Adige version really sings. The 2017 Cantina Andrian smells of river rock and white floral; the palate is brimming with crisp minerality and citrusy fruit, which carries through to a surprisingly lush – but of course dry – finish. If you’ve eschewed Pinot Grigio in the past, let this little stunner be your gateway back to the grape.
Price: $13.99 Add To Cart
JS 93

2017 Domaine de Fondrèche Ventoux Rouge
Review Date: 05-01-2019
Domaine de Fondrèche is a new producer for us, and currently exclusive to K&L. I’ve already fallen in love with their elegant rosé, and now this complex Rouge is gracing our shelves. Beautifully herbal on the nose with that signature Ventoux character, the 2017 shows great berry fruit and garrigue notes through to the pleasantly dry finish. Fondrèche is a delicious addition to our Rhône lineup, and value-priced to boot! I'm already planning my next meal around this soon-to-be staple red.

2017 Domaine Lafage "Novellum" Chardonnay
Review Date: 04-29-2019
Novellum is always a runaway hit for us, but the newly released 2017 stands out as even better than the last vintage! Less tropical than before, this year crunchy pear and golden apple fruit take center stage. While oak is definitely there, it feels better-integrated, and adds texture through to the finish. Like most Lafage wines, Novellum isn’t subtle, but it if balanced, and if you’re looking for a showy, creamy Chardonnay at a bargain price, this is it.
Price: $10.99 Add To Cart
JD 92

2016 Domaine de l'Amandine Côtes du Rhône-Villages Seguret
Review Date: 04-17-2019
What a value! This is a complex Rhône blend, with high-toned berry fruit and a great peppery finish, thanks to 60% spicy Syrah. This vintage of Domaine de l'Amandine is vibrant but earthy, fruit-forward yet herbaceous, full-bodied and versatile. And although it’s easygoing enough to drink tonight, the 2016 will also age beautifully.
Price: $13.99 Add To Cart
WE 92 DC 91

2014 Lepiane "Black Oak Vineyard" Santa Barbara County Grenache
Review Date: 04-13-2019
Punchy, vibrant Grenache with solid earthiness through to the finish, this is a fun yet still incredibly elegant wine, from dynamo winemaker Alison Thomson. Berry fruit shows up in a big way, but still feels light, tempered by the herbaceous quality of including 50% whole cluster. Alison has taken on the task of growing Old World varietals in a classical style, here in Santa Barbara County. This wine is aromatic and textured, sourced from a single vineyard, and crafted with precision and heart. Only 63 cases produced! Look for great things from Lepiane.
Price: $37.99 Add To Cart

2017 Ridge Vineyards "Estate" Santa Cruz Mountains Chardonnay
Review Date: 04-10-2019
Another gorgeous release from Ridge! The 2017 Chardonnay is a bit creamier than previous vintages, but still feels fresh with a lively core of acidity, thanks to the cooler climate Santa Cruz Mountain appellation. The oak is present, but perfectly balanced by rounded Bartlett pear fruit and expressive minerality. Beloved California producer Ridge is always a great choice - elegant and welcome as a sophisticated gift but still easygoing enough for a crowd - and this Chardonnay is no exception.
Price: $49.95 Add To Cart
JD 94 WS 92

1995 Charles Heidsieck "Blanc des Millénaires" Brut Champagne
Review Date: 04-05-2019
Champagne Charlie does it again! Only a handful of vintages have been deemed worthy of being called Blanc des Millénaires: 1983, 1985, 1990, and 1995 (and now 2004), and this release lives up to the name. Made entirely with grand cru fruit from Côtes des Blancs, the 1995 is gorgeous, with honey and apricot notes and a core of lemon freshness. While this is a heady, textured Champagne with richness through the palate, there is an undercurrent of salinity and bright acid, which makes it feel surprisingly youthful. Plenty of brioche toastiness and an intoxicating smokiness round out the complex flavor profile. Plus it’s aged over 20 years on the lees in Heidsieck’s legendary Crayères! Incredible.

2007 Bollinger "La Grande Année" Rosé Champagne
Review Date: 04-02-2019
2007 is the vintage that keeps on giving, with its Champagnes changing beautifully as they age. Fresh with watermelon fruit, Bollinger’s "La Grande Année" Rosé nevertheless feels restrained, with a minerally backbone and subtle salinity, plus luxurious hints of honey throughout the palate. There is juicy fruit present, but the finish is dry. It has strength to stand up to food with finesse, and evolves in the glass. If I could afford to drink this with every meal, I would.

Pierre Mineral Brut Champagne
Review Date: 04-02-2019
Not-so-secretly made by legendary producer Philippe Gonet, this all-estate grown Champagne is composed of 30% Chardonnay, 60% Pinot Noir and 10% Meunier. It ticks so many boxes: elegant, crisp, balanced, subtly yeasty, and priced to party. Pierre Mineral shows delicate bubbles, impressive minerality, plus that coveted toastiness - all for under $30. Incredible.
Price: $29.99 Add To Cart

2017 Mount Edward Riesling Lowburn Central Otago
Review Date: 03-29-2019
Nimble and racy, with that classic petrol nose, grapefruit notes and big acid on the finish, this Mount Edward release almost feels like a German Riesling. But the unique terroir of Central Otago and wild yeast fermentation give this lively 2017 a fresh style all its own. At 8 g/L residual sugar, it walks the line between dry and off dry, which only makes it all the more versatile – it’s especially good with spicy food!
Price: Hidden View Price
JS 93 RP 92

2017 Domaine de Verquière Côtes-du-Rhône
Review Date: 01-29-2019
This incredible Côtes du Rhône is 80% Grenache and 20% Syrah, grown in chalky clay soils, which give this stunning red lift and minerality. Plus, there's copious spicy red fruit. This entry-level member of the Verquière lineup is overt and immediately accessible but still has all the classic structure that keeps the wine focused. It is one of our best values in the store and a longtime favorite. So excited the new vintage is here!
Price: $10.99 Add To Cart

Dérot-Delugny "Cuvée Fondateurs" Brut
Review Date: 01-19-2019
Expressive on the nose, with hits of white flowers and tropical fruit, this 100% Pinot Gris (!) Champagne displays its uniqueness right out of the gate. The palate shows lush but snappy citrus - think mandarin oranges - followed by a creamy texture through to the super long finish. There’s enough crunchy minerality here to remind you that this is classic Champagne, but it’s balanced with an easygoing drinkability. Dérot-Delugny "Cuvée Fondateurs" Brut would be great with food, and is delicious enough to be a crowd-pleaser that’s a bit out of the ordinary.
Price: $49.99 Add To Cart

Launois "Cuvée Reserve" Brut Blanc de Blancs Champagne
Review Date: 12-05-2018
Crisp and linear with an incredible, almost creamy, texture, the nuanced Launois Cuvée Réserve over delivers every time. This Champagne is magical: Grand Cru Chardonnay from chalky soils shows minerality, but that racy backbone is balanced by moussy elegance. There's a sparkly acidity that will impress Blanc des blancs connoisseurs while still pleasing a crowd. I've even paired it with weeknight takeout and it's been perfect. When we say buy as much as you can now, we mean it: this sells out incredibly quickly! I am so proud to support Séverine Launois and her family's tradition of exceptional wines - do not miss this value-driven stunner.
Price: $34.99 Add To Cart

Launois "Cuvée Reserve" Brut Blanc de Blancs Champagne (1.5L)
Review Date: 12-05-2018
Do not sleep on this: our best selling Direct Import Champagne in an age-worthy size! Crisp and linear with an incredible, almost creamy, texture, the nuanced Launois Cuvée Réserve overdelivers every time. This Champagne is magical: Grand Cru Chardonnay from chalky soils shows minerality, but that racy backbone is balanced by moussy elegance. There's a sparkly acidity that will impress Blanc des blancs connoisseurs while still pleasing a crowd. I've even paired it with weeknight takeout and it's been perfect. When we say buy as much as you can now, we mean it: this sells out quickly! I am so proud to support Séverine Launois and her family's tradition of exceptional wines - do not miss this value-driven stunner.
Price: $74.99 Add To Cart

2008 Dom Pérignon Brut Champagne
Review Date: 09-13-2018
What a beauty this Champagne is: exciting and elegant right out of the gate! Raw honey on the nose, with a hint of white floral alongside coveted yeasty notes, the 2008 vintage Dom Pérignon shines from the very first sip. Heady aromatics give way to sparkling minerality and bright lemon fruit on the palate, with surprisingly nimble richness. While the hallmarks of the racy 2008 vintage come through with laser precision, there is a roundness present as well, making this feel opulent yet vivid, all the way through the long, chalky finish. I can only imagine how incredible this will be with age. Plus, it’s 95% grand cru fruit, with the remaining 5% 1er cru from Hautvillers included as an homage to village of Dom Pérignon's abbey. Historic and celebrated, this 2008 is a stellar release and an experience not to be missed.

2016 Tenshen Central Coast White Blend
Review Date: 07-28-2018
Tenshen is not just a clever name for this California Rhone-style white blend: there's great lift and yes, tension in this 2016 Central Coast white. But while there's good acidity, it doesn't overpower the friendly fruitiness. This wine is a beautiful balance of heavier textured Roussane, floral Viognier, rounded Grenache Blanc, and the unusual but welcome addition of bright Chardonnay. And it's priced under twenty bucks! This is a great summertime white to impress both Francophiles and domestic wine lovers.
Price: $17.99 Add To Cart
JD 92

Brasserie Dupont "Saison Dupont" Farmhouse Ale, Belgium (750ml)
Review Date: 06-30-2018
The original! Six or seven breweries in Belgium make true Saisons, and the undisputed classic of the style is Saison Dupont. While there may be some hipper variations that seem more in demand lately, this holds its own against the hyped versions. Saison Dupont is refreshing, with a brightness that is balanced by underlying earthiness. Plus the price is a steal considering the quality, and the fact that this is a 750 ml bottle. At once both crisp and funky, Saison Dupont is a clean, yeasty, satisfying beer, perfect for summer nights.
Price: $10.99 Add To Cart

Gin Mare Mediterranean Gin (750ml)
Review Date: 06-30-2018
This tastes like what sitting by the Mediterranean, dining alfresco on olive tapenade must feel like. The botanicals are fresh up front, with a notable lavender floral component, but the finish is textured and mouth-coating. This is a unique take on gin that enhances cocktails or could easily be enjoyed with just a bit of ice and soda.
Price: $33.99 Add To Cart

Charles Heidsieck "Brut Reserve" Champagne
Review Date: 06-30-2018
Layered and heady, this Brut Champagne is composed mostly of reserve wines dating back to the 1990s, yet still shows a crisp core of minerality, with a satisfyingly long finish. There's even that coveted hint of brioche character. The value here is really incredible, especially considering Charles Heidsieck's smaller operation, storied history, legendary caves, and quality.

2002 Thienot "Cuvée Alain Thiénot" Brut Champagne
Review Date: 05-31-2018
This is a monster of a Champagne, in the best possible way. We opened it at a recent customer tasting, and it displayed a quicksilver quality, starting lean and opening up to honeyed complexity. Structured, this could age easily for another decade, but was a treat to drink now, with air and preferably a meal. It showcases the strength of the stellar 2002 vintage while staying true to Thienot's powerful house style.
Price: $99.00 Add To Cart
WE 93 WS 92

Laurent-Perrier "Harmony" Demi-Sec Champagne
Review Date: 05-31-2018
Very bright considering the higher dosage, this elegant release from Laurent-Perrier is a natural for dessert, balancing sweetness with lift, and pairing with everything from appetizers to cake.
Price: $39.99 Add To Cart

Laurent-Perrier "La Cuvée" Brut Champagne (187ml)
Review Date: 05-31-2018
Small in size but not in taste, this adorably-sized version of L-P is everything I love abouttheir classic brut, just amplified. More chalky Chardonnay and an extra year on the lees give the La Cuvée boosted minerality and complexity. It still shows the easygoing apple fruit of the original, with a sophistication that belies its great price point. Perfect for party favors!

Laurent-Perrier "La Cuvée" Brut Champagne (375ml)
Review Date: 05-31-2018
Picnic perfect! This is everything I love about Laurent-Perrier's classic brut, just amplified. More chalky Chardonnay and an extra year on the lees give the La Cuvée boosted minerality and complexity. It still shows the easygoing apple fruit of the original, with a sophistication that belies its great price point, even in the half bottle. Drink now!

Laurent-Perrier "La Cuvée" Brut Champagne (1.5L)
Review Date: 05-31-2018
Wow! This is everything I love about Laurent-Perrier's classic brut, just amplified. More chalky Chardonnay and an extra year on the lees give the La Cuvée boosted minerality and complexity. It still shows the easygoing apple fruit of the original, with a sophistication that belies its great price point. Plus the Magnum ages beautifully, much appreciated with the larger Chardonnay component. A beautiful choice for your next party.

Fallet-Dart "Clos du Mont" Brut Champagne (2004)
Review Date: 05-31-2018
Ten years - TEN YEARS - on the lees for less than $100? Less than $80, even? Incredible. This is a sophisticated, yet hugely accessible Champagne, with depth, texture, and a honeyed quality saved from being too fruity by the 80% Chardonnay and a backbone of acidity and that coveted toastiness. I first met Paul Fallet at our annual Champagne Tent Event in 2017, where he charmed with his shy, sincere personality, and then dazzled us with his high quality wines. Fallet-Dart is a great family-run Direct Import house to support, and even without the backstory, I'd want to drink these delicious, complex Champagnes. Plus, this is fruit from a Clos, based on the 2004 vintage! We always have customers come too late to this party, and only realize how lovely this Champagne is when our limited quantity is gone. Don't let that be you.
Price: $79.99 Add To Cart

Laurent-Perrier "La Cuvée" Brut Champagne
Review Date: 05-04-2018
Wow! This is everything I love about Laurent-Perrier's classic brut, just amplified. More chalky Chardonnay and an extra year on the lees give the La Cuvee boosted minerality and complexity. It still shows the easygoing apple fruit of the original, with a sophistication that belies its great price point.

2012 Franck Bonville "Millesime" Brut Blanc de Blancs Champagne
Review Date: 04-25-2018
Miracle vintage! While I love all our Franck Bonville Champagnes, this 2012 release is really special. Ripe with apple and golden pear fruit, it nevertheless shows the vivid snap of acidity and chalkiness this incredible Direct Import Blanc de blancs producer is best known for. It's accessible now but bracing and structured, plus the backstory of the vintage is irresistible. A must try for fans of crisp Champagnes.
Price: $39.99 Add To Cart

Page: 1 2 next