Reviewers


K&L Email Alerts

Sign up to receive custom alerts, new arrivals and the latest happenings from K&L Wines


Staff Favorites - Daniel Maas

Daniel Maas

Reviews

Franck Bonville "Belles Voyes" Brut Blanc de Blancs Champagne
Review Date: 05-24-2016
So here's the deal. Champagne is awesome! We all know that! What is even more amazing is when you taste something and you are sure that it costs at least $200. That was exactly my thought when opening this, an insanely good example of what one-hundred-year-old vines can do for a wine. For absolutely no reason, other than the fact that I'm Dan, and logic always comes in second after drama, this, the "belle VOYES" makes me think of a VOYAGE. One that transcends reality and takes you into a new world. One of pleasure. And one that comes with an entry fee of $69.99, which is quite simply unbelievable.
Price: $69.99 Add To Cart
WS 91 WE 90

Franck Bonville Grand Cru Brut Blanc de Blancs Champagne
Review Date: 05-24-2016
One of the following three statements is true, and the others are false! Let's see if you can pick the fact. 1: THE EARTH IS BIGGER THAN THE SUN 2: STANLEY KUBRICK WAS HIRED BY NASA TO FAKE THE MOON LANDING. 3. IT IS IMPOSSIBLE TO GET HIGH-END CHAMPAGNE FOR LESS THAN $35. Well? What do you think? I was on the fence between the moon landing and champagne, UNTIL I opened a bottle of this unbelievable Grand Cru offering from what has become a huge staff favorite here in Hollywood. Immensely refreshing with clean peach and citrus fruit, subtle vanilla, and a long finish, this amount of deliciousness is even more ridiculous than those two false facts! Think about it!
Price: $34.99 Add To Cart
WS 90

Ariston Aspasie Brut Rosé Champagne
Review Date: 05-21-2016
Rose. It is possibly one of the most singularly used words in the lexicon of wine, and yet, it is so often mischaracterized. People think it's sweet. People think it is light. Well, listen up, folks, because PEOPLE ARE WRONG! This is clearly evidenced here with Ariston Aspasie's beautifully crafted Brut Rose. Neither sweet, nor particularly, light, what it absolutely is is REFRESHING! Given a supremely unique personality from the method of taking its color from completely vinified red wine as opposed to the more common method of including a degree of skin contact, this is one of the drier rose champagnes I've tasted lately. Cranberry, dried-cherry, and a hint of spice-box all work together to create a medley of wonderment that you won't soon forget!
Price: $34.99 Add To Cart

2013 DuMol "Ryan" Green Valley of Russian River Valley Pinot Noir
Review Date: 03-22-2016
Back in the day, I remember tasting my first DUMOL Pinot, and what an experience that was. Here, with their 2013 "RYAN" release, I've gotten reacquainted with what this winery has always made me think of: bright red fruit, a healthy dose of forest and herbs, and that classic California-rich texture. This is a wine that will age for years (and drinks beautifully now).

2013 Clos du Val Napa Valley Cabernet Sauvignon
Review Date: 11-01-2015
Aristotle. Nietzsche. Kant. Renowned philosophers, who all, in their own times and ideologies, fought to unravel life's enduring mystery. Chief among their questions... What is an amazing Napa Cabernet for under $30? That many of these great men ended their lives without their answer is tragic, considering all they had to do was open a bottle of the 2013 CLOS DU VAL Napa Cabernet! And, of course, drink it! If they had, they'd have encountered an elegant expression of black fruit, toasty oak, and currants that, while solving many of their obsessive mysteries, would simply lead to the even more enduring quandary... HOW CAN WINE BE THIS GOOD?
Price: $49.99 Add To Cart
VN 95 JS 92

Cut Spike Nebraska Single Malt Whiskey (750ml)
Review Date: 07-26-2015
I'm a whiskey guy! I love drinking it...smelling it... and collecting it! Easily, of course, my favorite of those three activities is the drinking, which makes this wonderful Nebraska whiskey so dangerous! It's so smooth that, if you're like me, you'll end up drinking way too much. Rich and savory in texture, this 2 year bottling is highlighted by an immense floral and herbaceous qualities. Along with a pronounced element of creamy vanilla, this is such a delight!
Price: $49.99 Add To Cart

Singani "63" Bolivian Muscat Brandy (750ml)
Review Date: 06-24-2015
What a great night we had last evening at Delphine, celebrating this wonderful spirit, and exploring its amazing versatility. Thanks to esteemed filmmaker Steven Soderburgh, this super-clean and floral muscat brandy is finally available here in the states, and is a perfect addition to any bar, especially for when someone wants an amazing cocktail, yet is sick of their usual tequila-gin-vodka selections. Be sure to try this soon!
Price: $29.99 Add To Cart

Bruno Michel "Assemblée" Brut Champagne
Review Date: 12-23-2014
This Champagne is one of the most perfectly balanced bottles I've tried in quite awhile, especially notable with it being such a complex blend of both Chardonnay and Pinot Meunier, as well as various vintages. Vibrant apple and pear notes, crisp bubbles, and a long finish make this a winner at twice the price.
Price: $49.99 Add To Cart

Wine Club

$34.99

2012 Faust Napa Valley Cabernet Sauvignon
Review Date: 12-21-2014
Looking for an incredibly rich and complex Napa Cab? Look no further than the 2012 bottling from this famed producer, more well known for their QUINTESSA brand. A dense and full bodied wine, get ready for black currant, cassis, tobacco, and perfectly balanced oak treatment. A long finish on a wine that will age beautifully over the years.
Price: $49.99 Add To Cart
JS 93 RP 90

2010 Inglenook "Cask" Napa Valley Cabernet Sauvignon
Review Date: 12-06-2014
A full bodied, moderately extracted bottling from the famed Rutherford area producer, this wine has something for everyone. Dark, dried fruit, prevalent tannins, and just enough hints of tobacco, spice box, and a long earthy finish. Drinking it one major thought came to my mind-- "Steak anyone?"
Price: $59.99 Add To Cart
VN 91