Best Sellers New Arrivals Local Events Locations Gift Cards My Account Advanced Search

Reviewers


K&L Email Alerts

Sign up to receive custom alerts, new arrivals and the latest happenings from K&L Wines

Staff Favorites - Heather Vander Wall

Heather Vander Wall
Heather Vander Wall  | Send Email  |   Subscribe to My Sommelier Service


Reviews

Page: 1 2 next
2017 Joseph Drouhin Mâcon Villages
Review Date: 03-15-2019
We've only had a sampling from the 2017 vintage, as these wines are finally hitting the shelves, and overall I'm happy. This little Macon Villages from Drouhin is a great success, and definitely worth more than its modest price point. Bright, fresh and zippy on the palate, with a nice creamy finish, this wine is both lively and classic. I'd certainly recommend it for anyone looking for that great everyday bottle of white Burgundy.
Price: $13.99 Add To Cart
JG 90

2015 Aaron Paso Robles Petite Sirah
Review Date: 03-15-2019
One of my favorite experiences in tasting wine, is when I find a wine that is close to the opposite of my personal palate preference, but is so well made that I just can't argue. Here is that wine. I like my reds light and delicate, and Petite Sirah is anything but that. This masterful blend of Petite Sirah from Westside Paso doesn't pretend to be delicate, but still strikes a beautiful symmetry with a great integration of tannin, new oak and bountiful cassis, plum and huckleberry fruit. The trick with this grape is to manage the tannin and keep it in check--Aaron does an excellent job of that and everything else here.
Price: $39.95 Add To Cart
VN 93 JD 92

2015 La Ca' Nova "Montefico Vigna Bric Mentina" Barbaresco
Review Date: 03-04-2019
This lovely Barbaresco is already showing signs of maturity and development. savory mushroom and forest floor aromas combine with wild sweet cherry and pretty red berry fruit. On the palate the tannins are somewhat softened, though the wine is still quite structured. This would be a great choice to open now if you are serving it with food that can handle a bit of tannin.
Price: $34.99 Add To Cart
VN 93

2017 Caggiano "Devon" Greco di Tufo
Review Date: 03-04-2019
This beautiful little wine is one of my new favorite Italian whites in stock. Fresh and almost spritzy, the wine has aromas of lemon verbena, mango and white pear, with great texture on the palate, bright citrus-y acidity, and a clean finish. This is a great appetizer or cocktail wine, since it shows so well all on its own.

2017 Chateau de L'Ou "I Have a Dream" Côtes du Roussillon-Villages Rouge
Review Date: 03-01-2019
This is a phenomenal wine. Full bodied, and more modern in style, this wine is rich and luscious on the palate, yet keeps everything in balance. Without being overly fruity, the wine manages to coat your palate with black cherry, red plum and cocoa nibs. The tannin structure is fairly soft, which makes this wine approachable and easy to drink right now.

2016 Domaine Sylvain Langoureau St. Aubin
Review Date: 03-01-2019
For those looking for a great white Burgundy value at the village level, look no further! Many a Burgundy lover will tell you that St. Aubin is a great value, since it is right next to Chassagne Montrachet, but does not command those prices. Unfortunately in the last few years the prices of St. Aubin have crept up as well. But this is a stellar deal--the wine has everything you want in a great white Burgundy from the area: stony, flinty minerality, pretty, creamy texture and clean orchard fruit. Very well done!
Price: $29.99 Add To Cart

2016 Château de la Negly "La Falaise" Languedoc Blanc
Review Date: 03-01-2019
This is a phenomenal Roussanne/Marsanne blend from the Languedoc! While it tends toward a fuller body, with lots of texture and richness on the palate, it is balanced nicely with crisp acidity that keeps the wine in balance. Beautiful clotted cream and papaya notes mingle with the classic aromas of marzipan and ripe apple. On the palate the wine is all about the texture, which is seemingly endless. Great layers of flavor here!
Price: $19.99 Add To Cart
JD 93 RP 92

2016 Domaine Pernot-Belicard Meursault Ier Cru "Perrieres"
Review Date: 02-16-2019
This is always one of my favorite Meursault crus, and I was happy to finally taste Pernot Belicard's version. Like their other wines, this is made in a lean, refreshing style without too much oak influence. I believe that this stylistic choice allows the inherent richness of Meursault fruit to shine through. On the nose it is quite stony, with flinty mineral notes and hazelnut skins, but this gives way to a nice rounded palate showing creamy pear, honey crisp apple and quite subtle nutty notes. The oak is quite light, and adds to the textural element more so than the flavor.
Price: $89.99 Add To Cart

2016 Domaine Sylvain Langoureau Bourgogne Aligote
Review Date: 02-16-2019
This is one of the best Aligote expressions I've had. It is classically lean and fresh with bright citrus acidity, but at the same time smooth and clean with a nice, subtle texture on the palate and well balanced fruit. The aromas are herbal and reminiscent of verbena and honeydew melon. The melon fruit continues onto the palate and balances out the crisp grapefruit-y edge of the wine.
Price: $15.99 Add To Cart

2016 Domaine Sylvain Langoureau St. Aubin 1er Cru "En Remilly"
Review Date: 02-15-2019
This is a lovely En Remilly expression from Sylvain Langoureau! Arguably one of the better vineyards in St. Aubin, En Remilly gives creamy, flinty, Puligny-esque wines that if made well rival their prestigious neighbors in quality. At this price, it is a steal. The aromatics are very pretty and almost floral with yellow pear, honeysuckle and melon. On the palate the wine is creamy, while maintaining a strong, focused acidity and minerality. A beautiful wine at a great price!
Price: $34.99 Add To Cart
BH 90

2016 Domaine Jean-Michel Giboulot Savigny-lès-Beaune
Review Date: 02-04-2019
Another great vintage from this little producer in Savigny-les-Beaune! The 2016 is likely the best-yet vintage we've received from Jean Michel Giboulot. With a fuller body and soft black fruit, this is a great Pinot to open for those just beginning to drink Burgundy. And yet, it is utterly classic. The fuller body is balanced well with fresh acidity, fine grained tannin, and unparalleled aromatics. Excellent poise and balance here!
Price: $27.99 Add To Cart

2016 Château de la Charrière Santenay Blanc 1er Cru "Beauregard"
Review Date: 02-04-2019
Lovely white Burgundy! This little wine has the characteristic flinty aromas associated with Puligny-Montrachet, though in fact it hails from Santenay. On the palate the texture is perfect: fresh, citrus-laden acidity combines with a lees-driven weight and complements the rich orchard fruits of yellow pear and Honeycrisp apple.
Price: $34.99 Add To Cart

2017 Zudugarai "Amats" Getariako Txakolina
Review Date: 02-04-2019
If you haven't yet had a Txakoli wine, you are in for a treat! This lightly effervescent, tangy, mineral-driven white is the perfect accompaniment to salty cheeses, roasted almonds and savory tapas. A bit unexpected at first, this wine is a treat once you get to know it. We were lucky enough to find Zudugarai Amats to import directly from Spain, and have this as an exclusive to K&L.
Price: $14.99 Add To Cart

2016 Chateau de la Charriere Bourgogne Hautes Cotes de Beaune
Review Date: 02-04-2019
Another great value from Chateau de la Charriere! The 2016 vintage of the Bourgogne is leaner than the 2015, but more classic for the region. The fruit is bright and tart with wild cherry as the dominate note. Subtle oak spice and just a touch of smoke add depth to the wine. Good value for 2016 Burgundy!
Price: $18.99 Add To Cart

2017 Averaen Willamette Valley Pinot Noir
Review Date: 12-28-2018
If you are looking for one of the best values in Oregon Pinot, this is your wine. We have been big fans of the Banshee project in Sonoma over the last decade, and were more than thrilled to bring in the Oregon side of the business when the Averaen label was introduced a few years back. Vintage after vintage, the wines have continued to charm K&L staffers and customers alike. If you haven't yet tasted Averaen, now is the time.
Price: $19.95 Add To Cart
VN 91

2017 Averaen Willamette Valley Chardonnay
Review Date: 12-28-2018
Averaen is one of the best value labels coming out of Oregon. While their Pinot Noir is perhaps more popular, this little Chardonnay is one of the best deals for domestic Chardonnay currently in stock. Style wise, it adopts a middle road, with good fresh acidity and bright orchard fruits, rounded out by a touch of creamy texture and oak spice.
Price: $19.99 Add To Cart

2017 Domaine de Bila Haut "Les Vignes de Bila Haut" Côtes du Rousillon Blanc
Review Date: 12-28-2018
This delightful Cotes du Rousillon Blanc is a great combination of texture, fruit and herbal notes. With a bright, citrus-dominated nose, and a mixture of honeydew, quince and lemongrass on the palate, the wine combines a crisp, fresh acidity with an excellent creamy texture that makes for a fascinating whole.
Price: $11.99 Add To Cart
JD 90 RP 90

2015 Avennia "Gravura" Columbia Valley Bordeaux Blend
Review Date: 12-28-2018
While Washington state undeniably has a great name for Cabernet and Bordeaux blends, this is perhaps one of the very best examples I've tasted in the last couple of years. With rich aromas of blackberry, currant, red cherry and plum, the wine transitions to a medium bodied palate with a touch of graphite and menthol to round out the silky black fruit. The tannin and acidity are seamlessly integrated already and the wine is ready to enjoy now. I'd highly recommend this Cabernet as a great alternative to Sonoma or Napa.

2015 Domaine de la Janasse Côtes-du-Rhône Reserve
Review Date: 12-07-2018
Medium bodied, with open and full blueberry and cassis aromas, this wine transitions seamlessly into a palate that combines elegance, texture, and just the right amount of bright, exuberant fruit. On the close the finish lingers with soft blackberry, licorice, and baking spices. Very well made, and drinking far above it's humble Cotes du Rhone designation, this wine is a must for bargain hunters and those looking to stock up for dinners and parties.
Price: $15.99 Add To Cart
JD 92

2016 Allram Grüner Veltliner "Renner 1ÖTW" Kamptal
Review Date: 11-30-2018
Gruner Veltliner can often be ostracized for being too astringent, green and peppery. What I look for, however, are the examples that defy this stereotype with great balance and layered texture. This is just such a wine: on the entry it is crisp and driven by tropical fruits of papaya, mango, but with a linear mineral undertone. As the wine takes shape on the palate, you notice a pleasant round character that fills out the middle nicely and a great textural element to give it depth. It finishes smooth and crisp with lingering citrus. Very well done and quite worth your while!
Price: $24.99 Add To Cart
DC 97 JS 92

2016 Domaine la Garrigue "Cuvée Romaine" Côtes du Rhône
Review Date: 11-12-2018
One of the best Cotes-du-Rhones I've tried this fall! What a lovely surprise. This wine is far more weighty than its modest price point suggests. Supple and rich on the palate, it has intensely layered aromatics of cedar, blueberry, bramble, clove and light black pepper spice. The palate is silky, but with enough structure to bolster the exuberant fruit, and make it a great match for grilled meats. I'd highly recommend trying a bottle of this, as it could easily become a new house red!
Price: $13.99 Add To Cart
JD 93 RP 90

2017 Clos Henri "Petit Clos" Marlborough Pinot Noir
Review Date: 11-02-2018
I've always thought the Clos Henri wines were well-made and quite polished, but upon tasting their more recent releases I was really stunned with how elegant the wines have become. The aromatics in this "petit clos" Pinot are stunning, and the fruit/acidity/tannin balance on the palate is flawless. I'd definitely recommend this Pinot to anyone looking for a seamlessly elegant wine under $20.
Price: $17.99 Add To Cart
JS 93

2016 Casa Castillo Monastrell Jumilla
Review Date: 11-02-2018
This is truly one of my favorite little wines from out Spanish portfolio. Full bodied, dark and rich, as is only right in a Monastrell from Jumilla, the wine still is very well balanced, with rounded tannin, fresh acidity and good poise. A great crossover wine for the California palate, but also just a very good example of the best of Jumilla.
Price: $12.99 Add To Cart
RP 91

Marcel Vezien "Secret d'Eclaires" Brut Blanc de Blancs Champagne
Review Date: 10-26-2018
Because I drink more Champagne than almost any other type of wine, I'm always very excited to see a new producer in the portfolio. This lovely Blanc de Blancs from Marcel Vezien is perfect. Clean, crisp and bright, the lovely chalky minerality of this wine is immediately apparent. It continues to be the dominate theme on the palate as well as the finish, and works beautifully with the citrus fruit and green apple notes that fill out the body. If you are looking for a new favorite Blanc de Blancs, don't hesitate to try this one!
Price: $39.99 Add To Cart

Wine Club

$34.99

2017 Julien Schaal Riesling Grand Cru "Sommerberg Granite"
Review Date: 10-26-2018
What a beautiful wine! Before you dismiss the 2017 vintage, you must try some of the excellent wines made from Grand Cru sites such as Julien Schaal's Sommerberg "Granite". The aromatics are youthful and exuberant, with white peach, nectarine, and passionfruit, on the palate the wine is clean and crisp, but with a beautiful added weight on the mid palate that speaks of its Grand Cru origin. The finish is persistent with lingering fruit. This has all the bones to develop well if you have the ability to lay it down, but it drinks beautifully now as well.
Price: $19.99 Add To Cart
WE 96 VN 90

2015 Mt. Brave Mt. Veeder Cabernet Sauvignon
Review Date: 10-26-2018
I knew this wine was selling well, but I finally got a chance to taste it for myself, and now I'm just surprised that we aren't sold out. What a beautiful Cabernet! This strikes a great balance between power and delicacy. It's full and rich with plenty of depth, but without being overly sweet or syrupy. Rather, the fruit is cool and balanced, with excellent structure, subtle eucalyptus and savory olive notes. The finish is quite long, and the wine is built to age. I'd love to try this again in about 10 years, as I'm sure the development will be stunning.

2016 Château Saint Roch "Kerbuccio" Maury Sec
Review Date: 10-22-2018
Full luscious black fruited plum and cassis, accented by cedar notes on the nose give way to a silky and lusciously textured palate. The deep black fruit notes continue on into the palate, combining with elegant licorice and subtle mint elements. The finish is generous and long, lingering a full minute or more. I would highly recommend trying this lovely little wine, particularly if you are int he market for a wine that's open and ready to drink now.

2016 d'Arce, Côtes de Castillon
Review Date: 10-11-2018
Much as I loved the 2015 vintage of this wine, the 2016 is even better! A little more classically structured, with more restrained red fruit on the palate, this wine is a gorgeous example of the quality that Chateau d'Arce maintains, despite the inexpensive pricing. I would highly recommend this for anyone looking for a great Bordeaux in the $20 range.

2014 Buglioni Valpolicella Classico Superiore
Review Date: 10-08-2018
It’s traditional in this area to use some Slavonian oak casks for aging, and that’s what they did here. That oak adds a pungent sweet spice but doesn’t overwhelm the wine, which is so vibrant and charming on its own that the end result is stunning. The nose is loaded with black cherry, plum and baking spice. On the palate a sweet berry fruit emerges, contrasted beautifully with light tannin and soft velvety texture. The finish is dry and laden with perfumed clove and nutmeg notes. I would highly recommend pairing this with roasted beef or lamb. It could also be paired with red sauce dishes, which are somewhat difficult due to the natural acidity of tomato.
Price: $19.99 Add To Cart

Wine Club

$14.99

2016 Château de la Charrière Chassagne-Montrachet "Les Champs Morjot"
Review Date: 10-08-2018
This is one of the best deals in Chassagne Montrachet in the store. We have worked with Chateau de la Charriere for some time now, and this wine has always been one of my favorites. In the excellent 2016 vintage, it shows beautifully, with classic flinty aromas and pretty yellow pear and honeycrisp apple on the palate. The texture is full and rich, with hazelnut and creamy notes complementing the fruit perfectly.
Price: $39.99 Add To Cart

2016 Conreria d'Scala Dei "Les Brugueres" Blanco Priorat
Review Date: 10-08-2018
An absolutely beautiful wine. For those of you who have never had a white priorat, now is the time. This lovely wine is perfumed with white flower, peach and nectarine. On the palate it is bone dry, but has a fuller, softer body and layers of stone fruit and mineral components. I'd highly recommend this wine to anyone looking for an exciting new white to add to their repertoire.
Price: $29.99 Add To Cart
RP 91

2016 Vigneti Massa Timorasso (Piccolo Derthona) Colli Tortonesi
Review Date: 10-08-2018
Timorasso is another one of those delightful and utterly unknown gems of Italian whites. It reminds me slightly of Chenin Blanc, in that you don't have overwhelming fruit or crazy aromatics, but it is more subtle, savory and textural. This wine has delicate aromatics of apple and pear and clean, sweet hay, with a soft, full body (it sees no oak though) and a lingering, almost nutty finish. Fascinating as this wine is on its own, I think it would work well with picnic fare: hard cheeses, dried fruits and cured meats.
Price: $24.99 Add To Cart

2009 Pontet-Canet, Pauillac
Review Date: 10-08-2018
It's difficult to be original in a review on such an excellent wine from such an excellent vintage, but I did want to say that this wine is all that you'd expect and more. Tasted recently, the wine is just beginning to evolve some lovely savory components. The fruit is still luscious and the tannin silky. Although it certainly has more in store for its life, it was drinking beautifully after being open for several hours. The finish is endless.

2016 Aurore Dezat "Les Chasseignes" Sancerre
Review Date: 10-08-2018
This wine is an excellent new discovery in the Sancerre category. Anyone with an affinity for Sancerre or Loire valley wines generally should absolutely try a bottle. It's focused, taught and mineral, this is quintessential Sancerre, yet the edges are rounded out nicely on the palate and the texture of the body is a bit broader than expected, lingering on with a nice savory quality on the finish. It is everything Sancerre should be, and a little bit more.
Price: $26.99 Add To Cart

Wine Club

$22.99

2016 El Lugar "Hilliard Bruce Vineyard" Sta. Rita Hills Pinot Noir
Review Date: 09-07-2018
Another great bottling from El Lugar! This lovely Pinot has very pretty red berry fruit in the nose that continues on into the palate. It's medium bodied with well integrated tannin, and a good marriage of fruit and acidity levels. The sweeter baking spice notes are what set this Pinot apart, but it also has some lovely savory undertones.
Price: $39.99 Add To Cart
WE 92

2016 Aaron "Keola" Paso Robles Red Blend
Review Date: 09-07-2018
Many of our wine-savvy customers already know that Paso Robles is a great place for Rhone-style wines, but it's sometimes hard to find a new and exciting producer in the area. Here is one for you: Aaron's "Keola" is a Grenache dominated GSM with a deep, silky and plummy palate. It's very well balanced and almost too easy-drinking. However, its far from boring. There are really great layers of flavor and texture to the wine, it is just so seamless that its hard to argue with.
Price: Hidden View Price

2017 Aequorea "Spanish Springs Vineyard" San Luis Obispo County Viognier
Review Date: 09-07-2018
I'm not a big fan of this varietal, but here is a wine that is changing my mind. This Viognier is grown in a vineyard right on the coast, with a view of the ocean, and you can tell that it is very much influenced by the place. The wine has pretty floral and white peach aromas, while on the palate it is crisp and clean without being astringent. It is fermented and aged in stainless steel and neutral barrels, and the wine sees no malolactic fermentation. This keeps the profile leaner and more focused than is typical in the varietal.
Price: $29.95 Add To Cart
VN 93

2015 Cap St-George, St-Georges-St-Emilion
Review Date: 09-03-2018
The aromas of this wine are gorgeous, with deep blue fruit layered in subtle earth and spice notes. On the palate the wine is silky with a fuller body, classic structure and just enough of a savory character showing through the primary fruit to give a hint to it's full potential. I'd say that this wine is one to lay down for a couple years, but will definitely reward a patient collector.

2015 Zorzal "Eggo - Tinto de Tiza" Mendoza
Review Date: 09-03-2018
Always one of my favorite wines on the shelf in our South America section! Every year the wine is slightly different, but this vintage is a sheer delight! Not only does it exhibit many of the charming characteristics that draw so many people to Malbec, but it avoids the overly ripe fruit and finds pefect balance in the blend with Cabernet Sauvignon and Cabernet Franc. A lovely savory element combines with classic acidity and nicely integrated tannin. But the element that captures my attention every time is the texture.Aged in egg-shaped concrete, the wine develops a great mid palate with plenty of smooth texture that is ready for food pairing.

2015 Talley "Estate" Arroyo Grande Chardonnay
Review Date: 08-31-2018
Talley never disappoints. Over the last few vintages, I've always been impressed with winemaker Eric's balanced and precise style that represents this beautiful estate so well. This estate bottling is always my favorite, because it encompasses elements of each of the single vineyard sites and showcases them in a beautiful blend. The wine is brimming with orchard fruit and soft creamy texture with just the right hint of nutty notes. Yes, there is oak, but it is seamlessly integrated and highlights rather than masks the quality of the wine. If you are looking for a new favorite Chardonnay, I'd highly recommend trying Talley.

2016 Le Paradou Vin de Grenache Rouge
Review Date: 08-21-2018
A spectacular example of what the varietal can be all on its own. This wine is grown in the Minervois region and has to be classified as “Vin de France” since it is not the classic blend. This wine is based around the ideas of Plaisir and Convivialité, pleasure and conviviality. It’s designed to drink with the family meal, an afternoon picnic or an evening with a friend. In other words, like our white wine this month, it’s a serious wine made for everyday consumption. Both the Curator White blend and the Paradou Vin de Grenache manage to achieve this difficult proposition with effortless grace. Please enjoy!
Price: $12.99 Add To Cart

Wine Club

$10.99
RP 90

2017 A.A. Badenhorst "Curator" White Blend Swartland
Review Date: 08-21-2018
The antithesis of the cheap bulk wines made in the Swartland. With Adi’s intimate knowledge of old-vine sites across the region, he creates this blend from highly expressive fruit from several of his favorite parcels. In this vintage, the wine is made from dry-farmed parcels of Chenin Blanc, Chardonnay and Viognier. Stylistically, it’s fresh and light with crisp acidity and refreshing orchard fruit. But pay close attention. A great textural element and some exotic spice notes add to the complexity. This qualifies in my book as both highly quaffable, and quite intriguing—exactly the kind of wine I want to be drinking on any given weekday.
Price: $10.99 Add To Cart

Wine Club

$8.99

2016 Helen's Hill "Ingram Road" Pinot Noir Yarra Valley Victoria
Review Date: 08-21-2018
Blended from several of the different Pinot clones on the estate. Most notably, the Old Block MV6 clone, whose original cuttings were taken from Clos Vougeot, one of Burgundy’s most renowned Grand Cru vineyards. The fruit from these vines is small and concentrated with powerful dark berry flavor. It’s complemented nicely by the Pommard clone Pinot that’s planted across the eastward-facing slope of the Range View Block. That fruit adds a nicely earthy and savory element, with red berry fruit and subtle baking spice. All of the Pinots produced by Helen’s Hill see some French oak, a judicious mix of old and new barrels, to impart a subtle sweet toast character and a great textural element.
Price: $14.99 Add To Cart
JH 91

2013 Robert Goyette Sonoma County Cabernet Sauvignon
Review Date: 08-21-2018
You may know that at K&L we have a bit of a bias towards Bordeaux when it comes to Cabernet, but when Clyde and I tasted this wine together, I saw the expression on his face. It was unmistakable. When someone like Clyde, who has tasted Bordeaux professionally for decades, is this excited about a Cabernet, you know you’ve struck gold.
Price: $26.99 Add To Cart

Wine Club

$24.99

2005 Tullibardine "The Murray" Single Malt Scotch Whisky (750ml)
Review Date: 08-18-2018
Delicate and subtle, this is exactly the type of Scotch that intrigues me. It's very layered and has incredible aromatics, without being imbalanced in any particular way. Be warned, this is not rich, dark or sweet, but rather light, aromatic, layered and fascinating. There is a pretty creaminess to it and some faint suggestions of pastry on the close. I'd highly recommend this for the Scotch drinker that is looking for something understated and not extreme.
Price: $74.99 Add To Cart

2015 Ann Albert Wines "Zotovich Vineyard" Sta. Rita Hills Chardonnay
Review Date: 08-06-2018
This wine is made by Eric, the winemaker at Talley Vineyards. It's his private label, and reflects both his vast experience making Chardonnay in the area as well as his own stylistic preferences. I love this wine because its a bit more mineral driven and crisp, while still retaining excellent balance and poise. It represents more of the coastal influence in the region. The Zotovich bottling in particular has stunning aromatics.
Price: Hidden View Price

2016 Kalinda Bourgogne Blanc
Review Date: 08-06-2018
This wine is made by one of my personal favorite producers in Burgundy. I can't tell you who makes it, but suffice to say it has a lot of Puligny-Montrachet quality to it. I think this is absolutely one of the best deals we have in white Burgundy currently. Its lean and mineral with classic flint notes, but with a nice lees-y texture and plenty of creamy lemon curd on the finish. It's pretty phenomenal that we were able to work with this producer to bottle a Kalinda Bourgogne, and I hope you enjoy the results as much as I am.
Price: $19.99 Add To Cart

2015 Luli Santa Lucia Highlands Syrah
Review Date: 08-06-2018
The Luli Syrah is one of the best values in Santa Lucia Highlands wine in the store. With the weighty Pisoni legacy behind this wine, its pedigree is all you could ask for. The Luli project started as a join venture between Jeff Pisoni and sommelier Sara Floyd. The idea was to make phenomenal wine that represents the best of Santa Lucia Highlands AVA at an everyday price point. The result is just that. This Syrah is loaded with soft black fruit, silky texture and subtle spice.
Price: $19.99 Add To Cart
JD 91 VN 90

2017 Bodegas Puelles Blanco Rioja
Review Date: 07-07-2018
The Puelles Blanco is back with another great vintage! This is a lovely white Rioja, made in a crisp, clean and modern style. The aromatics are full of honeydew, white peach, and floral notes, while the palate has enough weight to add some textural interest. While not overpowering, the acidity is crisp and keeps the wine light on its feet. Easily one of my top choice wines for everyday drinking and versatility in food pairing!
Price: $11.99 Add To Cart

2015 Famille Perrin "Domaine du Clos des Tourelles" Gigondas
Review Date: 07-07-2018
When I tasted this wine in a lineup of other Rhones, I was immediately impressed by how this stood out in the group. Famille Perrin is one of the top producers for a reason! The wine is fairly firm and structured right now, but it has all the elements you should look for to age into an absolutely phenomenal bottle. Grenache is the dominate grape in the blend, and the wine has plenty of that lovely red plum and black cherry character, but it also has a savory quality underlying it from the Cinsault and Mourvedre, as well as the classic pepper spice of Syrah. If you do drink this now, make sure to decant it for a few hours, but I'd advise you to hide it in your cellar for a decade. I can't wait to taste it down the line.

Page: 1 2 next

More Favorites

Heather Vander Wall is also a fan of the following items. To become a fan of Heather Vander Wall, click here to join Heather Vander Wall's Personal Sommelier Service.
2017 Guy Farge "Bouquet de Blanc" Ardeche Blanc ($17.99)

2015 Tronquoy-Lalande, St-Estèphe ($39.99)

2010 Los Autores "El Brujo" Gran Reserva Rioja ($29.99)

2013 Rivetto Langhe Nebbiolo ($19.99)

2018 Mount Edward Gamay Central Otago ($17.99)

2017 Château de Montfaucon "Comtesse Madeleine" Lirac Blanc ($17.99)

2016 La Ca' Nova Langhe Nebbiolo ($21.99)

2015 Bodegas Puelles Segundo Año Rioja ($12.99)

2016 TWR (Te Whare Ra) Pinot Noir Marlborough ($29.99)

2017 Domaine des Senechaux Châteauneuf-du-Pape Blanc ($34.99)

2017 Domaine la Clef du Récit Sancerre ($23.99)

2015 Ca' del Baio "Autinbej" Barbaresco ($32.99)

2016 Fromm "Cuvée H" Pinot Noir Marlborough ($29.99)

2015 Black Slate "La Vilella Alta" Priorat ($16.99)

2015 Eric Kent "1 KM West" Sonoma Coast Chardonnay ($19.99)

2017 Adegas Valtea Albariño Rias Baixas ($14.99)

2016 Domaine Louis Moreau Chablis 1er Cru "Vaillons" ($29.99)

2016 Abbazia di Novacella "Praepositus" Kerner Alto Adige ($29.99)

2014 White Rock Napa Valley Chardonnay ($29.95)

2016 Banshee Sonoma County Pinot Noir ($24.99)

2015 Hacienda Monasterio Ribera del Duero ($34.99)

2015 Les Allées de Cantemerle, Haut-Médoc ($19.99)

2017 Vigneti Massa "Terra" (Piccolo Derthona) Timorasso Colli Tortonesi ($17.99)

2016 Deovlet Santa Barbara County Chardonnay ($21.99)

2017 Bishop's Peak San Luis Obispo County Chardonnay ($14.99)

2011 Vigneti Massa "Monleale" Barbera ($28.99)

2016 TWR (Te Whare Ra) "Toru" White Field Blend Marlborough ($16.99)

2016 Julien Schaal "Sommerberg Granite" Riesling Grand Cru Alsace ($19.99)

2015 Helen's Hill "Hill Top" Syrah Yarra Valley Victoria ($19.99)

2017 Fefiñanes Albariño Rias Baixas ($24.99)

2016 Eric Kent "Appellation Series" Sonoma Coast Pinot Noir ($22.99)

2016 Lambuena Roble Ribera del Duero ($12.99)

2016 Domaine des Rémizières Crozes-Hermitage ($15.99)

2014 Amici Sonoma Coast Chardonnay ($17.99)

2015 Jax "Y3 Taureau" Napa Valley Red Blend ($19.99)