Staff Favorites - Heather Vander Wall

Heather Vander Wall
Heather Vander Wall  | Send Email  |   Subscribe to My Sommelier Service


Reviews

Page: 1 2 3 next
2016 Le Paradou Vin de Grenache Rouge
Review Date: 08-21-2018
A spectacular example of what the varietal can be all on its own. This wine is grown in the Minervois region and has to be classified as “Vin de France” since it is not the classic blend. This wine is based around the ideas of Plaisir and Convivialité, pleasure and conviviality. It’s designed to drink with the family meal, an afternoon picnic or an evening with a friend. In other words, like our white wine this month, it’s a serious wine made for everyday consumption. Both the Curator White blend and the Paradou Vin de Grenache manage to achieve this difficult proposition with effortless grace. Please enjoy!
Price: $12.99 Add To Cart

Wine Club

$10.99
RP 90

2017 A.A. Badenhorst "Curator" White Blend Swartland
Review Date: 08-21-2018
The antithesis of the cheap bulk wines made in the Swartland. With Adi’s intimate knowledge of old-vine sites across the region, he creates this blend from highly expressive fruit from several of his favorite parcels. In this vintage, the wine is made from dry-farmed parcels of Chenin Blanc, Chardonnay and Viognier. Stylistically, it’s fresh and light with crisp acidity and refreshing orchard fruit. But pay close attention. A great textural element and some exotic spice notes add to the complexity. This qualifies in my book as both highly quaffable, and quite intriguing—exactly the kind of wine I want to be drinking on any given weekday.
Price: $10.99 Add To Cart

Wine Club

$8.99

2016 Helen's Hill "Ingram Road" Pinot Noir Yarra Valley Victoria
Review Date: 08-21-2018
Blended from several of the different Pinot clones on the estate. Most notably, the Old Block MV6 clone, whose original cuttings were taken from Clos Vougeot, one of Burgundy’s most renowned Grand Cru vineyards. The fruit from these vines is small and concentrated with powerful dark berry flavor. It’s complemented nicely by the Pommard clone Pinot that’s planted across the eastward-facing slope of the Range View Block. That fruit adds a nicely earthy and savory element, with red berry fruit and subtle baking spice. All of the Pinots produced by Helen’s Hill see some French oak, a judicious mix of old and new barrels, to impart a subtle sweet toast character and a great textural element.
Price: $17.99 Add To Cart

Wine Club

$14.99

2013 Robert Goyette Sonoma County Cabernet Sauvignon
Review Date: 08-21-2018
You may know that at K&L we have a bit of a bias towards Bordeaux when it comes to Cabernet, but when Clyde and I tasted this wine together, I saw the expression on his face. It was unmistakable. When someone like Clyde, who has tasted Bordeaux professionally for decades, is this excited about a Cabernet, you know you’ve struck gold.
Price: $26.99 Add To Cart

Wine Club

$24.99

2005 Tullibardine "The Murray" Single Malt Scotch Whisky (750ml)
Review Date: 08-18-2018
Delicate and subtle, this is exactly the type of Scotch that intrigues me. It's very layered and has incredible aromatics, without being imbalanced in any particular way. Be warned, this is not rich, dark or sweet, but rather light, aromatic, layered and fascinating. There is a pretty creaminess to it and some faint suggestions of pastry on the close. I'd highly recommend this for the Scotch drinker that is looking for something understated and not extreme.
Price: $74.99 Add To Cart

2015 Ann Albert Wines "Zotovich Vineyard" Sta. Rita Hills Chardonnay
Review Date: 08-06-2018
This wine is made by Eric, the winemaker at Talley Vineyards. It's his private label, and reflects both his vast experience making Chardonnay in the area as well as his own stylistic preferences. I love this wine because its a bit more mineral driven and crisp, while still retaining excellent balance and poise. It represents more of the coastal influence in the region. The Zotovich bottling in particular has stunning aromatics.
Price: $39.99 Add To Cart

2015 Domaine de la Côte "Memorious" Sta. Rita Hills Pinot Noir
Review Date: 08-06-2018
Domaine de la Cote makes wines from some of the most interesting vineyards in the Santa Rita Hills AVA. This Memorius wine comes from a small vineyard perched atop a steep wind beaten hillside. The vines are planted lower to the ground to help protect the fruit from winds, and the fruit receives much of the cooling influence off the nearby Pacific. The resultant Pinot Noir is more structured and restrained than many of its counterparts in the AVA. The winemaking style complements this by maintaining all the elegance and highlighting the fine aromatics and minerality in the fruit. One of my favorite wines from my recent trip to the area!
Price: $59.99 Add To Cart
RP 94 VN 94

2016 Kalinda Bourgogne Blanc
Review Date: 08-06-2018
This wine is made by one of my personal favorite producers in Burgundy. I can't tell you who makes it, but suffice to say it has a lot of Puligny-Montrachet quality to it. I think this is absolutely one of the best deals we have in white Burgundy currently. Its lean and mineral with classic flint notes, but with a nice lees-y texture and plenty of creamy lemon curd on the finish. It's pretty phenomenal that we were able to work with this producer to bottle a Kalinda Bourgogne, and I hope you enjoy the results as much as I am.
Price: $19.99 Add To Cart

2015 Luli Santa Lucia Highlands Syrah
Review Date: 08-06-2018
The Luli Syrah is one of the best values in Santa Lucia Highlands wine in the store. With the weighty Pisoni legacy behind this wine, its pedigree is all you could ask for. The Luli project started as a join venture between Jeff Pisoni and sommelier Sara Floyd. The idea was to make phenomenal wine that represents the best of Santa Lucia Highlands AVA at an everyday price point. The result is just that. This Syrah is loaded with soft black fruit, silky texture and subtle spice.
Price: $19.99 Add To Cart

Wine Club

$14.99
JD 91 VN 90

2016 Belle Glos "Dairyman" Russian River Valley Pinot Noir
Review Date: 08-06-2018
This is Belle Glos' take on Russian River, with fruit coming from the Dairyman vineyard, so called because of the old Dairy farm that used to be in this spot. The fruit from this distinctive vineyard is concentrated and powerful, making a full bodied yet very smooth Pinot loaded with luxurious black fruit that showcases the strength of Russian River. No need to wait for this wine to age! It's designed to drink now.
Price: $49.99 Add To Cart

Wine Club

$34.99

2015 Hirsch Zöbing Riesling Kamptal
Review Date: 07-07-2018
Austrian wine usually conjures up pictures of peppery Gruner in the mind, but this is a very different style wine than you might expect. Grown on volcanic soils, this vibrant riesling is chalk full of minerality and not overly floral or fruity. There still is an excellent lime zest, and clean cut apricot fruit profile, but the predominate tone of the wine is stony. I'd highly recommend trying this bottle, whether you are interested in Austrian wine, or are just looking for a good bottle in this price range.
Price: $19.99 Add To Cart
VN 90 WE 90

2017 Bodegas Puelles Blanco Rioja
Review Date: 07-07-2018
The Puelles Blanco is back with another great vintage! This is a lovely white Rioja, made in a crisp, clean and modern style. The aromatics are full of honeydew, white peach, and floral notes, while the palate has enough weight to add some textural interest. While not overpowering, the acidity is crisp and keeps the wine light on its feet. Easily one of my top choice wines for everyday drinking and versatility in food pairing!
Price: $11.99 Add To Cart

2013 Giovanni Manzone "Castelletto" Barolo
Review Date: 07-07-2018
Although this wine is young yet, it embodies much of what I love in Barolo. On the nose you get the classic red cherry, cedar, clove, tobacco and rose notes, with an added hint of savory olive on the palate. The wine is medium bodied with plenty of structure for aging, and one of the longest finishes I've seen on a wine this year. There's plenty to love here already, and its only going to get better with some bottle age. I'd highly advise laying a case down in your cellar.
Price: $47.99 Add To Cart
VN 95 RP 92

2015 Famille Perrin "Domaine du Clos des Tourelles" Gigondas
Review Date: 07-07-2018
When I tasted this wine in a lineup of other Rhones, I was immediately impressed by how this stood out in the group. Famille Perrin is one of the top producers for a reason! The wine is fairly firm and structured right now, but it has all the elements you should look for to age into an absolutely phenomenal bottle. Grenache is the dominate grape in the blend, and the wine has plenty of that lovely red plum and black cherry character, but it also has a savory quality underlying it from the Cinsault and Mourvedre, as well as the classic pepper spice of Syrah. If you do drink this now, make sure to decant it for a few hours, but I'd advise you to hide it in your cellar for a decade. I can't wait to taste it down the line.

2016 Domaine Faiveley Mercurey 1er Cru "Clos des Myglands" (Monopole)
Review Date: 07-07-2018
Faiveley's Mercurey bottlings have always done well at K&L because of the value for price quality. This vintage of "Clos des Myglands" is no exception! I am beginning to appreciate the high quality of the 2016 vintage. Despite the lower yeilds this year, the fruit quality is of the highest, and Domaine Faiveley know how to showcase the fruit beautifully. This wine has elegant wild strawberry, cherry and clove aromas up front and follows through on the palate with soft, fine grained tannin and fresh acidity to keep things lively. I've no doubt this wine is set to age for the long haul, but it's pretty tempting to drink it right now, it is showing so well!

2017 Tercero Santa Barbara County Mourvèdre Rosé
Review Date: 07-06-2018
In a vintage that was less than stellar for France, we've had a number of domestic rose's stealing the show. This lovely Mourvedre rose from Tercero is one of my favorites of the season. Although somewhat darker in color than its French counterparts, it is still crisp and dry with a fresh finish.

2016 TED by Mount Edward Central Otago Pinot Noir
Review Date: 07-06-2018
Some of my favorite Pinots in the world come from Central Otago. This unique area produces very vibrant and ripe Pinot Noir, that always retains an elegant, structured backbone and typically has a unique savory character. That is exactly what you find here, in this new label from Mount Edward. It's classic Central Otago, though perhaps a hair lighter in body and softer in tannin than some of the other wines from Mount Edward. Definitely one of my favorite new Pinots this year!
Price: $19.99 Add To Cart
JS 93 RC 90

2016 Maison Henri Boillot Bourgogne Blanc
Review Date: 07-06-2018
Henri Boillot is consistently head and shoulders above many other Bourgogne level wines on the market. Both the Blanc and the Rouge taste like 1er cru expressions. In 2016 the Boillot Bourgogne Blanc is almost entirely fruit from Meursault and Puligny. You can taste the hazelnut skin quality usually found in Meursault, beautifully balanced against taught acidity, creamy texture, and savory lees quality. Don't be deterred by the "Bourgogne" classification, this is one of the best buys in white burgundy currently.
Price: $29.99 Add To Cart

2016 Idlewild "The Bee-Flora & Fauna" California White Blend
Review Date: 07-06-2018
I'm a big fan of the Idlewild label, and Sam's work in general. This wine is no exception. It's a fun blend of Northern Italian varietals that is at the same time delightful, complex and unexpected. It's dry, but with a very expressive, aromatic nose. The palate is quite textural, with some leesy quality in addition to the peach, apricot and pear fruit. It would be an excellent food wine, but certainly drinks well all on its own.
Price: $21.99 Add To Cart

Wine Club

$16.99
VN 89 - 90

2016 Helen's Hill "Ingram Road" Chardonnay Yarra Valley Victoria
Review Date: 07-06-2018
You may know by my reviews that I love white Burgundy, and tend to look only there for my favorite Chardonnay. However, when I tasted this lovely little wine from the Yarra Valley, I was thoroughly impressed. This is well-balanced, Burgundian style Chardonnay, with lovely nutty notes that remind me of Meursault. It also has a unique flinty quality that is often only found in the Puligny area. Needless to say, this is one of my new favorite finds in the white wine world.
Price: $17.99 Add To Cart

Wine Club

$14.99
JH 94

2016 Domaine de la Ganse Vacqueyras
Review Date: 07-06-2018
At K&L we are always looking for new wines to import, particularly from smaller wineries with no presence in the US. This is one such wine from Coralie Onde, which I had the pleasure to taste recently. Its a very elegant expression from Vacqueyras, with elegant red berry aromatics, medium body, fresh acidity and fine grained tannin and a long, elegant finish. I was impressed how well this stood up in a lineup of other Rhones twice the price. This would have to be one of my top five picks in the store currently.
Price: $18.99 Add To Cart

2015 Tongue in Groove "Cabal Vineyard" Pinot Noir Waipara Valley
Review Date: 06-02-2018
Another great vintage from Tongue In Groove's Cabal Vineyard bottling of Pinot Noir. This is a brooding and savory Pinot with luscious dark fruit and earthy clay notes. Already developing beautifully, this wine has fine boned but firm tannin, good acidity cut, and an excellent medium weight on the palate. It shows an intriguing savory olive quality that marries seamlessly with the black plum and cherry notes. Well-integrated and showing perfectly at the moment!

2017 Domaine la Chapelle Saint-Victor Coteaux d'Aix en Provence Rosé
Review Date: 06-01-2018
Every year this is one of the first French rose wines I purchase. The 2017 is elegant as always and leans perhaps more than usual toward a white wine in the expression of its aromatics and flavor profile. Floral, very lightly peachy aromas give way to a crisp refreshing and light palate with hints of strawberry and nectarine. The finish is dry with a lingering sense of stone fruit, cherry, and strawberry.
Price: $14.99 Add To Cart

2015 Poujeaux, Moulis
Review Date: 06-01-2018
My expectations were very high on this wine--they were bound to be given the vintage and that this is one of my favorite Chateaus. I was not disappointed. The wine is big and dense, even for Poujeaux, but it is perfectly balanced. Immediate cassis, violet, cedar aromas great you, then give way to saturated black plum, cigar box, blackberry and blueberry notes on the palate, all underscored with bold tannin and acidity. This will be one for the long haul. I will be excited to check in on this in 10, 15 and 20 years.

2014 Lateral Napa Valley Bordeaux Blend
Review Date: 06-01-2018
If you love right bank Bordeaux, you will love Kathryn Kennedy's "Lateral". Some of you may have tasted the outstanding "Serious" Merlot we had from Kathryn Kennedy earlier this year, and you'll know that Merlot from this producer is anything but boring. The Lateral blends Merlot with Cabernet Franc in a traditional right bank style wine with a California twist. Looking for an elegant Napa wine that is at the same time layered, complex and affordable? This is it.
Price: $34.99 Add To Cart

2015 La Monacesca "Mirum" Verdicchio di Matelica Riserva
Review Date: 06-01-2018
La Monacesca's "Mirum" bottling has long been one of my favorite white wines of our Italian portfolio. I like a wine that challenges me, and brings something new to the table. This is verdicchio, meaning that its lean and stony with crisp acidity, yet the riserva "Mirum" bottling is also harvested a little later than their other wine, and hence has a full bodied, unctuous weight on the palate. It's an intriguing combination, and one that keeps me coming back for another bottle.
Price: $26.99 Add To Cart
VN 91

2017 Ameztoi Getariako Txakolina
Review Date: 06-01-2018
Folks, it's summer time, and hence it's Txakoli time. One of the very best hot weather wines in my opinion, Txakolina is very lightly sparkling, briny, salty and low in acidity. It's grown right on the Basque coastline, and is built for seafood. Ameztoi is one of the top producers, and they never disappoint. Don't hesitate to try their fabulous rose as well!
Price: $21.99 Add To Cart
W&S 91

2016 Olema Sonoma County Chardonnay
Review Date: 06-01-2018
Olema is one of the projects of our friends at Amici winery, and is always one of my favorite California Chardonnay values. This wine is on point, vintage after vintage. It's light and crisp enough to delight a fan of non-traditional Chardonnay, and yet it still has all the delightful and expressive tropical fruit and creamy characteristics that make California Chardonnay so popular. If you haven't yet tried Olema, make this your first vintage!
Price: $15.99 Add To Cart
JS 91

2016 Domaine Paul Pernot Bourgogne Chardonnay
Review Date: 06-01-2018
Paul Pernot has yet again accomplished a stunning vintage of his Bourgogne blanc. With Burgundy, it pays to know which producers make the best Bourgogne level wines. In the case of Paul Pernot, he owns and farms more vineyards in and around Puligny Montrachet than almost any other producer. His Bourgogne is almost all Puligny fruit, and it tastes like village level wine. If you are craving Puligny but at an everyday price point, this is the wine for you.
Price: $22.99 Add To Cart

2016 Clos de la Bonnette Collines Rhodannienes Syrah Vieilles Vignes
Review Date: 06-01-2018
I tasted this lovely Syrah next to a few other wines from the Rhone valley. What a stand out! This wine is elegant and clean and intensely aromatic. It's grown in a cooler vineyard area, so this is not your full-bodied lusciously ripe version of the grape. Rather, its more aromatic and poised with cool berry fruit and a taught underlying structure. Those of you looking for a more restrained and elegant style of Syrah will love this.
Price: $29.99 Add To Cart

2015 Telmo Rodriguez "Dehesa Gago" Toro
Review Date: 06-01-2018
Telmo Rodriguez is one of Spain's greatest current winemakers. Although better known for his Rioja and Ribera del Duero projects, he makes wines from around Spain, including this Toro. Toro wines have a bit of a reputation for being dense and difficult, but Telmo's Toro is both elegant and poised without losing its weight and concentration. The wine is packed with luscious black fruit, savory sweet spice and a well-integrated structure. I'd definitely say this is among the best Toro's I've had.
Price: $13.99 Add To Cart
JD 92

2016 Domaine des Niales Rhedon-Marin Mâcon-Villages Vieilles Vignes
Review Date: 05-28-2018
This little wine is a top favorite of mine each year. It's one of the best values in crisp unoaked Chardonnay you'll find in the store. The 2016 vintage has a bit more verve and poise than the 2015, with crisp snap pea and tangy citrus notes. The 2015 was quite ripe with lots of tropical fruit, but the 2016 is more classic Burgundian, and drinks beautifully with seafood. Think of this as a delicious Chablis or Sancerre alternative.
Price: $12.99 Add To Cart

2016 Baron de Montfaucon Côtes du Rhône Blanc
Review Date: 05-07-2018
As soon as the 2016 vintage landed, I pulled a bottle of this and was delighted as in every past vintage. White Rhone wines have always intrigued me with their combination of texture, weight and freshness. Montfaucon is one of our best producers, and this little wine is one of my personal favorites from their production. You've got great orchard fruit here, mixed with subtle papaya and mango notes. There's almond and a very creamy texture to the wine, as well as citrus-driven acidity to keep things fresh and lively. The new vintage of this wine does not disappoint!
Price: $15.99 Add To Cart
WS 92

2016 Brezo Mencía Bierzo
Review Date: 05-05-2018
The small region of Bierzo is one of my favorite treasures of Spain. Mencia is at its best here, and produces lovely medium bodied, dark-fruited wines with plenty of savory herbal character. This expression from Brezo is a bit fuller bodied than most, with very bright youthful fruit and complementary sweet oak spice. It still retains its dark berry character, and hints of thyme and sage. Over all and fun and complex little wine!
Price: $14.99 Add To Cart
RP 91

2015 Laventura "Lanave" Rioja
Review Date: 05-05-2018
I love the way that Bryan MacRobert does Rioja. It's a new take on this area, that certainly rocks the boat for some of us. I'd advise putting the concept of "Rioja" entirely out of your mind when you try this wine, and taste it for what it is: a clean and honest expression of Grenache and Tempranillo grown in a long-proven region. One of the more surprising elements that jumps out in this wine is the raw spice and earthy umami notes that I find particularly food friendly.
Price: $14.99 Add To Cart
RP 90

2015 Halcón "Cerise Vineyard" Anderson Valley Pinot Noir
Review Date: 05-05-2018
Halcon is a great winery making restrained, elegant styles of Pinot Noir from cooler areas such as Anderson Valley. This is as delicate and expressive as I could ask for in a Pinot. The aromas are clean, with notes of cherry, wet stone, clove and raspberry. On the palate the wine is lighter in body with very fine tannin, and a consistent sweet spice. It lingers beautifully on the palate and continues developing for a full minute or more.
Price: $29.99 Add To Cart
RP 93

2014 Giscours, Margaux
Review Date: 05-05-2018
I was very impressed with this wine in a recent tasting of '14 and '15 Bordeaux. It not only has elegance, depth and power, but is already starting to integrate its tannin and acidity structure, and with a good decant it is showing very well now. The aromas are clean and lifted, with signature Margaux violet and black plum, and the palate is surprisingly soft. There are hints of wild herb and olive just beginning to show through the powerful black fruit and sweeter oak spices. I'd highly recommend this reasonably priced Margaux, which drinks like one of its pricier neighbors.

2016 Trellis (Amelia Park) Bordeaux Blend Margaret River Western Australia
Review Date: 05-04-2018
Amelia Park's "Trellis" Bordeaux blend has been a perennial favorite at K&L since we first brought it in a few years back. The Trellis is the ultimate in high quality to price point ratio. It is particularly hard to find value in the Cab and Cab blend category. This little wine is seriously made, with elegant, honest structure, boisterous black cassis and blueberry fruit, and a healthy dose of eucalyptus and mint notes.
Price: $12.99 Add To Cart

2015 Vasse Felix Chardonnay Margaret River Western Australia
Review Date: 05-03-2018
Vasse Felix is deservedly a well known name in Margaret River. Sometimes its tempting to pass by the big names in search of something new and exciting, but when it comes to Margaret River Chardonnay, I come back every time to Vasse Felix. It's really not to fair to this incredible region to draw comparisons to Burgundy, but still the word "Meursault" keeps popping into my head. I think its because there is such a strong sense of mineral drive combined with elegant fruit and a slight nuttiness that is perfectly married.

2017 Aerena San Francisco Bay AVA Rosé
Review Date: 05-03-2018
Bay area folks, if you like to shop local Aerena is a great find! This little rose was one of the first I tasted this season and it really left nothing to be desired. It's light, crisp and dry, and even has a sublte savory note that is begging for food. I'd love to try this with sashimi or poke. It would also play well with bacon roasted brussel sprout flatbread.
Price: $19.99 Add To Cart

2016 Bründlmayer "Kamptaler Terrassen" Gruner Veltliner Kamptal
Review Date: 05-03-2018
Sometimes I have a mental block with Gruner, boxing it in as peppery, lean and astringent. However, this wine was a good wake up call for me. This is a lovely, complex, versatile Gruner with texture, weight and multi-dimensional fruit. All this without losing its snappy acidity and lean precision. Its a great buy for a white wine in any category, and one of the best Gruners I've ever had.
Price: $17.99 Add To Cart
WE 92 JS 91

2014 Keenan "Reserve" Spring Mountain District Cabernet Sauvignon
Review Date: 04-09-2018
When it comes to Napa, and especially when it comes to such prestigious areas as Spring Mountain, the expectation is high. Even so, Keenan's Reserve Cabernet exceeds all expectations. This wines is powerful, layered, and complex, yes, but it also is crafted to age for the long haul. I was immediately reminded of a young Bordeaux from one of the more pricey Chateaux on the left bank. But it goes without saying that the Keenan wine packs a heartier punch than its French counterparts. I truly can't wait to see where this wine goes in 10 or 15 years.
Price: $89.99 Add To Cart
RP 95 VN 93

2015 Domaine du Petit Coteau Vouvray Sec
Review Date: 04-09-2018
Clean honeydew melon aromas accented by apply blossom and nectarine compose the aromas of this wine. On the palate it is light, crisp and pleasantly round, with a dominating white peach and lemon curd note. Very much out performing its price! This little wine is easily one of my favorite Springtime finds.
Price: $13.99 Add To Cart

2016 Domaine du Petit Clocher Anjou Blanc
Review Date: 04-09-2018
Possibly my favorite new under $20 white from anywhere! This wine is light and clean, without any of the funk that can sometimes crop up in Chenin Blanc. It starts with a lovely honeysuckle and apricot nose, and then expounds on the theme with peach blossom and nectarine on the palate. Though well balanced with a fresh cut of acidity, the wine still has some of the weight and texture commonly seen in wines from the area. This is thoroughly delightful on its own, but will absolutely be food friendly as well.
Price: $13.99 Add To Cart

2012 Louis Jadot Beaune 1er Cru "153rd Anniversary Cuvee"
Review Date: 04-09-2018
Burgundy, of course, is often sited as the origin of the "single vineyard" concept. In many other regions, producers will blend fruit from various sites to achieve a certain style. It is rarely done in Burgundy, except for lesser "rouge" wines. But here we have an exception--Louis Jadot blends fruit from various 1er cru vineyards in Beaune to accomplish something greater than the sum of its parts. With six years aging, this wine is just starting to come into its own--elegant, beautifully balanced, and layered with complexity. One of the best deals for red Burgundy currently on the shelf!

2015 El Lugar "Rincon Vineyard" Arroyo Grande Valley Pinot Noir
Review Date: 04-07-2018
A great example of the quality and power coming from this excellent site! El Lugar's "Rincon" Pinot shows luscious aromas of blackberry, cola, and currant leaf. On the palate it strikes a lovely balance of soft fruit, ripe tannin and subtle baking spices. The wines is of a medium body which is quite supple, and much too easy to drink.
Price: $39.99 Add To Cart
WE 94

2016 Clementine Carter "Larner Vineyard" Ballard Canyon Grenache
Review Date: 03-31-2018
Ballard Canyon is one of the warmer sites in the central coast, so I was surprised at how delicate this Grenache is. The wine has a lighter color, with clean red plum and baking spice on the nose. Medium bodied, with excellent structure and a perfect balance of red fruits, pepper, and savory herbal notes, this wine is quickly becoming a new favorite for me.
Price: $29.99 Add To Cart

2016 Domaine Cabirau Côtes du Roussillon
Review Date: 03-31-2018
If you're looking for a good weeknight red that's food friendly, you can't go far wrong with Domaine Cabirau's Cotes du Rousillon. A blend of old vine Grenache, Syrah and Carignan, this wine is medium bodied, full of fresh plum and berry fruits, and accented with smoky, game-y notes. Don't be afraid to stash some of this wine in your cellar either, despite the modest price, this wine is very seriously made, and will undoubtedly gain additional complexity and character with a few years under its belt.

2015 Corofin "Carter Ashmore Vineyard - North Corner" Chardonnay Marlborough
Review Date: 03-26-2018
The Corofin wines are a newer discovery for K&L, and what a great find! Ryan Woodhouse found this label a little while back, and we have finally gotten a good quantity of the wines in stock. Mike & Anna Patterson have selected some of the best and most interesting vineyard sites to source their wine from, and the wine making here is pristine. The Carter Ashmore Vineyard North Corner Chardonnay is one of my favorite wines tasted this year. It walks a line of precision and elegance that is full of terroir expression, exhibiting lovely floral and stone fruit aromas, with a mineral laden palate, and great textural balance from a little lees work.
Price: Hidden View Price

2013 Fable Mountain "Night Sky" GSM Coastal Region
Review Date: 03-26-2018
A GSM as elegant as they come! This wine shows lovely round red fruits, with a hint of peppery spice, but neither too tannic and harsh, nor too jammy and ripe. It strikes the perfect balance for a medium bodied, food-friendly wine. Tending more toward the French style than the California style of GSM, this wine is easily one of the best values and finest quality deals coming from South Africa at the moment.
Price: $19.99 Add To Cart
JS 90 VN 90

Page: 1 2 3 next

More Favorites

Heather Vander Wall is also a fan of the following items. To become a fan of Heather Vander Wall, click here to join Heather Vander Wall's Personal Sommelier Service.
2016 Sesta di Sopra Sangiovese Toscana ($15.99)

2015 Framingham Pinot Noir Marlborough ($19.99)

2015 de Chantegrive Rouge, Graves ($17.99)

2011 Vigneti Massa "Monleale" Barbera ($28.99)

2016 TWR (Te Whare Ra) "Toru" White Field Blend Marlborough ($16.99)

2016 Julien Schaal Riesling Grand Cru "Sommerberg Granite" ($19.99)

2015 Guiraud "Le G" Blanc Bordeaux ($18.99)

2016 Conreria d'Scala Dei "Les Brugueres" Blanco Priorat ($29.99)

2015 Helen's Hill "Hill Top" Syrah Yarra Valley Victoria ($19.99)

2017 Fefiñanes Albariño Rias Baixas ($24.99)

2016 Eric Kent Sonoma Coast Pinot Noir ($22.99)

2016 Lambuena Roble Ribera del Duero ($12.99)

2013 Fratelli Barale "Castellero" Barolo ($39.99)

2015 Valravn "Old Vine" Sonoma County Zinfandel ($19.99)

2016 Domaine Paul Pernot Puligny-Montrachet 1er Cru "Clos de la Folatières" ($79.99)

2014 Amici Sonoma Coast Chardonnay ($24.99)

2013 Vasse Felix Cabernet Sauvignon Margaret River Western Australia ($29.99)

2011 Miguel Merino "Vitola" Reserva Rioja ($19.99)

2014 Tenuta Roveglia "Vigne di Catullo" Lugana Riserva ($17.99)

2015 Jax "Y3 Taureau" Napa Valley Red Blend ($19.99)

2016 Château Vitallis Pouilly-Fuissé "Les Vignes du Chateau" ($21.99)

2012 Poggiarellino Brunello di Montalcino ($29.99)