Staff Favorites - Heather Vander Wall

Heather Vander Wall
Heather Vander Wall  | Send Email  |   Subscribe to My Sommelier Service


Reviews

Page: 1 2 3 next
2016 Jean Reverdy "La Reine Blanche" Sancerre
Review Date: 02-19-2018
Tasted in a lineup of other white wines, this little Sancerre immediately stood out to me. Not only is this one of my favorite regions, but this wine has achieved near perfect balance of fruit and minerality. It remains light and crisp, as is classic in Sancerre, with striking aromas of white flowers, honeydew and lemon curd. On the palate it is taught and focussed, but with a nice rounded fruit presence that works seamlessly with the bright acidity and chalky mineral components.
Price: $19.99 Add To Cart
WS 91

2015 Catena Appellation Malbec Lunlunta
Review Date: 02-19-2018
For those of you who prefer a lighter style of Malbec with more elegance than force, this is the wine for you. The aromas are more pronounced and have plenty of red fruit character, with some intriguing baking spice. On the palate the wine is a medium-light weight and has excellent, fine-boned tannin and fresh acidity. It reminds me more of a Cahors, though with softer tannin than is typical there.
Price: $18.99 Add To Cart

2015 Bodega Garzon Marselan Reserve Uruguay
Review Date: 02-19-2018
As a wine professional, I'm always thrilled to taste wines from lesser-known regions and lesser-known varietals. This lovely Marselan is a great example of a phenomenal and unusual wine from an unexpected quarter. Marselan is a cross between Cabernet Sauvignon and Grenache. The combination is quite dynamic. The color is a deep, intense purple with gorgeous aromas of cassis and plum. On the palate it is full bodied with softer tannin than a Cabernet, and round fruit, licorice, cassis and mocha spice.
Price: $16.99 Add To Cart

2017 Viña Maquis "Calcu" Rosé Colchagua Valley
Review Date: 02-19-2018
When you look at the back of this bottle and read 90% Malbec, 10% Petit Verdot, you are expecting quite the pop of flavor out of this little bottle. But I have to say, it surprised me how elegant and understated this wine is! The color is quite light, and the style is very much in keeping with the dry, French rose traditions from Provence. The delicate aromas are of peach, cherry and cranberry. On the palate the wine is dry, with the fruit following through and balancing out the tangy acidity. A lovely little wine, and well worth the modest price!
Price: $12.99 Add To Cart

2015 Mad Furmint Dry Tokaj Hungary
Review Date: 02-17-2018
I absolutely love this wine! Yes, its dry and crisp, but also bursting with flavor. The fruits are rather exotic, and there is a fair amount of spice to the wine, adding to the complexity. I would easily drink this wine in a variety of settings, and although it could compliment a number of dishes, I think works very well in a stand alone situation.
Price: $16.99 Add To Cart

2016 Domaine Louis Moreau Petit Chablis
Review Date: 02-05-2018
With the frosts in the early part of 2016, the crop was reduced drastically, but what wine were made from this vintage are phenomenal. This little Chablis is still young, but has all the classic character that you are looking for in such a wine. Crisp, focused, and mineral-laden, the wine is more structured than 2015, and more representative of the area. This is the perfect shellfish wine, and for those of you in search of your crab pairing, you need look no further.
Price: $16.99 Add To Cart

2016 Tenuta Roveglia "Limne" Lugana
Review Date: 02-05-2018
I am always thrilled and surprised by the white wines of Italy. At first this wine struck me as a simple, grassy, crisp wine. Perhaps I was judging it too quickly by the aromas, though, because on the palate it was surprisingly weighty, with soft stone fruits, and a lovely round quality. Overall, I love how this wine is very multi-dimensional, with great freshness and cut, but also a a depth of character that is surprising at this price.
Price: $12.99 Add To Cart
WE 90

2015 Cavallotto Langhe Nebbiolo
Review Date: 02-05-2018
Beautifully made Nebbiolo from the excellent vintage of 2015! This wine is young, yes, but it has all the right components. Elegant and restrained in style, the wine shows pretty floral/tobacco notes on the nose, followed by a slightly savory red cherry on the palate. The tannins are firm, but fine-boned, and the acidity is, of course, striking. While the wine probably needs a couple of years in the cellar, it is truly a stunning bottle, and will undoubtedly reward your patience.
Price: $31.99 Add To Cart

2013 Bersano "Mantico" Barbaresco
Review Date: 02-05-2018
Well-made Barbaresco at an affordable price-point? Yes please! This lovely bottling has all the elements that I look for in a good Barbaresco, and certainly has the bones to age, even though the fruit has a youthful charm right now. If you do open it now, I'd recommend at least an hour decant to open up the wine, and make sure to enjoy with food. Barbaresco is such an excellent food wine, and this is no exception. Medium bodied, with savory olive, red plum and sandalwood, this wine is absolutely stunning, and a crazy bargain at the price.
Price: $19.99 Add To Cart
WE 91 JS 90

2012 Tenuta di Sesta Brunello di Montalcino
Review Date: 02-05-2018
I love this winery in most vintages, but for me the 2012 vintage is drinking particularly well. There is a great marriage of savory notes, black cherry fruit, and olive in this wine, that is irresistible. I'd highly recommend a good decant (1-2 hours) before enjoying, so that you can access all the layers of flavor present here. Don't think that the goodness ended with the 2010 vintage in Montalcino, this beautiful 2012 is so elegant and well-balanced, that it would be hard to point to a better wine for the price.

2016 La Graside Blanc, Bordeaux
Review Date: 02-03-2018
A classic white Bordeaux, this wine exhibits more pronounced Sauvignon Blanc characteristics, and is built to age. While snappy acidity supplies a lively freshness to the wine, it also has structure from oak aging, and some clean, grassy notes. I was quite impressed with the wine, but I do believe it will drink better in a year or two.
Price: $12.99 Add To Cart

2007 Tronquoy-Lalande, St-Estèphe
Review Date: 02-03-2018
The 2007 vintage is just hitting its stride, and we are loving it! Although it was a cooler year, the wines have aged beautifully and are showing great just now. An old favorite at K&L, Tronquoy Lalande gives us a slightly more Merlot dominate wine, which is more aromatically driven, and is now displaying a beautiful savory component. The wine certainly benefits from a couple of hours in a decanter, to encourage it to open fully and display all its layered complexity.
Price: $27.99 Add To Cart

2016 Domaine Petroni Corse Blanc (Corsica)
Review Date: 02-02-2018
I'm always on the lookout for a new and interesting white wine that breaks my preconceived categories, and this is it! Yes, this is made with Vermentino, which is not a new varietal, but it takes on a beautiful new expression here. Poised with delicate floral aromatics and taught acidity, the wine also exhibits soft ripe pear and apricot notes. It is excellent with shellfish, but I wouldn't hesitate to try it with a variety of other foods.
Price: $12.99 Add To Cart
WE 90

2014 Amici Napa Valley Cabernet Sauvignon
Review Date: 02-02-2018
Our friends at Amici have produced another beautiful vintage of their flagship Cabernet. If you loved the 2012, the 2014 is quite similar, but perhaps even more outstanding. Whereas the 2013 was a bit more structured and destined for the cellar, the 2014 is open and soft right off the bat, with elegant berry fruit, cassis, eucalyptus, and sweet spice showing on the palate. I would recommend drinking this with a good steak, or another heartier meal to stand up to this big beauty.
Price: $43.99 Add To Cart
JS 92 WE 91

2015 Domaine de l'Ermitage "Victor" Costières de Nîmes Rouge
Review Date: 02-02-2018
One of my favorite parts of the wine business is finding little-known gems that completely out perform their price-point in every way possible. This is one such wine. It's full-bodied and open, with soft black fruit and an elegance of structure that rounds it out perfectly.
Price: $9.99 Add To Cart

2014 Bodegas Casa Juan Señor de Lesmos Crianza Rioja
Review Date: 02-02-2018
Vintage after vintage, this is consistently one of the best buys in the store. This is a fuller bodied style of Crianza, with rich dark fruit and plenty of oak spice, but all incredibly balanced and well-made, with a structure to stand up to the strength of the flavors. If you are looking for a classic Rioja, or perhaps just in the market for a new weekday red, I couldn't recommend this highly enough
Price: $12.99 Add To Cart

2016 Lioco Sonoma County Chardonnay
Review Date: 02-02-2018
Lioco has done an excellent job making an affordable Chardonnay that maintains high quality and character. This elegant wine is both full-bodied and robust, while still keeping a clean, polished palate. Although some oak is incorporated into it, that is hardly the dominate flavor. Rather, the small usage of oak highlights and fills out the very pretty orchard fruit which is the main component of the wine.
Price: $19.99 Add To Cart

2015 J. J. Vincent Bourgogne Blanc
Review Date: 02-02-2018
This is an excellent quality Bourgogne Blanc, and more closely resembles a village Puligny or Meursault. The wine is open and creamy, with lots of ripe pear and white peach flavors on the palate. Yet it also retains an excellent structure, with striking citrus-laden acidity and a lovely mineral backbone.
Price: $15.99 Add To Cart

2015 Bryan MacRobert "Abbotsdale" Shiraz Swartland
Review Date: 02-02-2018
Let me start by saying I'm not always a huge fan of Shiraz/Syrah, but this wine I just can't argue with. Perhaps you haven't heard of Bryan Macrobert or Eben Sadie, or know of the new wave of winemakers that they represent, but you don't have to know any of that to love this wine. Suffice to say, it's top quality fruit, top quality winemaking, and this is one of the best expressions of shiraz that I've come across. The aromatics are clean, lifted, and gorgeous. The palate is focused, with a great balance of tannin, fruit, and savory aspects. Its a clean and easy drinking wine, with lots of depth. I'd have to say this is one of the best new values in the store.
Price: $12.99 Add To Cart
RP 92

Baron-Fuenté "Grande Réserve" Brut Champagne
Review Date: 02-02-2018
You may know that this is one of K&L's best-priced Champagnes, but more than that, it is one of the best wines at this price from any section in the store. Although I love the other wines from Baron-Fuente, I find myself coming back again and again to their Grande Reserve. It's classic Champagne: using all three varietals to achieve a perfect balance of crisp, clean minerality, toasted brioche notes, and creamy orchard fruit. This is precisely what I'm looking for when I want Champagne, and at this price, it's easy to drink Champagne regularly!
Price: $23.99 Add To Cart

2015 Clos de l'Anhel "Lolo de l'Anhel" Corbieres
Review Date: 01-27-2018
This wine is a great example of the incredible value that can be found in Southern France, if you know where to look. Thanks to Keith for finding this great little winery! Lovely red plum and berry fruit open on the palate, with just the right touch of black pepper to complement the silky tannins. The wine is very clean and polished, but still full of a sense of terroir. I would easily recommend this as a new house red for anyone in the market.
Price: Hidden View Price

2015 Danjean-Berthoux Bourgogne Rouge "Chaume Ronde"
Review Date: 01-27-2018
Well, folks, we've found it! A phenomenal value for 2015 Bourgogne Rouge, well under 20! This wine has all the lovely round fruit and palate weight that we are finding in many wines from this vintage, but it doesn't sacrifice structure. Don't be deceived by the price point here. This little wine could easily age gracefully for 5 to 10 years. That's the beauty of Burgundy in a great vintage like this. You can find phenomenal wine with structure and depth from a lesser known area that is built to age.
Price: $16.99 Add To Cart

2014 Château Haut-Monplaisir "Prestige" Cahors
Review Date: 01-22-2018
Don't think of this Malbec in quite the same way that you're accustomed to thinking of the grape. This is French Malbec at its best--with restraint and structure, capable of aging, and an excellent complement to steak. While it still has the enchanting black fruit and spice characteristics that we love in this varietal, it is neither jammy nor sweet-fruited, but well-balanced, with an excellent structure. If you're a Bordeaux fan, or love Bordeaux-style wines, this is absolutely one you should try.
Price: $19.99 Add To Cart
WE 93

2015 Yves Duport Mondeuse "Terre Brune" Bugey
Review Date: 01-22-2018
If you are looking for a delicious and fun red from an unexpected quarter, here it is! With the fantastic 2015 vintage, Yves Duport's Mondeuse has taken on a fuller, lush-fruited character that is quite beguiling. Hints of huckleberry and black cherry give way to cedar spice and mild, savory herb notes. The structure is still robust, and it could likely improve with a little time in the cellar, but there is no doubt that this wine is truly out-performing itself this vintage.
Price: $17.99 Add To Cart

2016 Yves Duport Altesse de Montagnieu
Review Date: 01-22-2018
This is a truly lovely wine from a rather off-the-beaten-path region. This lovely little white wine is both crisp, refreshing, and complex. On the nose it shows elements of white pear, honeycomb, and apple blossom. This gives way to lovely round orchard fruits on the palate (think white peach and apple), with a completely dry finish.
Price: $16.99 Add To Cart

2012 Château Bouscassé Madiran
Review Date: 01-22-2018
Chateau Bouscasse is a master of Madiran. Yes, this is a big, full-bodied wine, but at the same time it is elegant and seamless, with perfect integration of the Tannat, Cabernet Sauvignon, and Cabernet Franc that make up the blend. While the wine is certainly structured, the tannin are sweet and ripe, not austere or abrasive. The fruit is a saturated, intense blackberry fruit that is quite clean and polished. Overall a beautiful wine, and very well made.
Price: $19.99 Add To Cart
WE 94

2014 Eric Kent "Sascha Marie" Sonoma Coast Pinot Noir
Review Date: 01-15-2018
If you are a fan of Russian River Pinot Noir, this little wine from Eric Kent is well worth your while. With fruit coming from both Russian River and Petaluma Gap, the wine is on the fuller-bodied side of Pinot, with rich, dark fruit and velvety tannins. Although I'm not typically a fan of bigger-style Pinot Noirs, this is a definite exception. The balance and finesse of the wine is truly outstanding. While it is drinking very well now, it does certainly have the bones to age for a few more years as well.

2016 Ledge "G2 Vineyard" Willow Creek District Grenache Blanc
Review Date: 01-15-2018
This Grenache Blanc is a great example of a white wine which not only has beautiful aromatics, but great complexity and depth on the palate. The heady, floral aromas of this lovely wine give way to soft orchard fruits such as pear and white peach on the palate. It's kept lively by a finish of crisp citrus-loaded acidity. The whole flows very seamlessly together, keeping a coherent line of elegance from start to finish.
Price: $22.99 Add To Cart

2014 Comartin Cellars "Tierra Alta Vineyard" Grenache Santa Ynez
Review Date: 01-15-2018
Grenache is not often featured in the US, and even in France it is typically found in a blend, yet this grape can be one of the most elegant and expressive wines I've ever encountered. Our friends at Comartin have come out with just such a bottling of Grenache! This is a lighter bodied wine, with lovely red plum and violet notes. It has a Pinot-like quality with smooth, fine tannin and aromatically-driven red fruit. I'd be hard-pressed to find a wine that I'd rather open and drink on almost any occasion.
Price: $29.99 Add To Cart
WE 91

2014 Eric Kent "1KM West" Sonoma Coast Chardonnay
Review Date: 01-15-2018
This Chardonnay is exactly what I would hope from the best of Sonoma Coast fruit. It's elegant and full-bodied, without being overly ripe or oak-influenced. The dominate notes here are citrus and floral aromas, followed by a luscious lemon curd on the palate, that retains its freshness and poise with an underlying clean, crisp acidity. Overall a phenomenal wine--Chardonnay displaying its most beguiling characteristics and all in keeping with the beautiful Sonoma Coast climate.
Price: $34.99 Add To Cart

2014 Eric Kent "Atoosa's Vineyard" Russian River Valley Syrah
Review Date: 01-15-2018
This is a beautifully made syrah. It exhibits all the polish and finesse that we've come to anticipate from Eric Kent, yet without diminishing the raw, gamey quality of the grape. The wine is full-bodied with plenty of black currant and huckleberry notes up front, but with a lovely smoked meat quality on the finish and very subtle savory herbal notes. The tannins are firm, but ripe, and will certainly allow for aging if desired.
Price: Hidden View Price

2015 Domaine Jean-Michel Giboulot Savigny-lès-Beaune
Review Date: 01-13-2018
If you like delicate, lighter-style red Burgundy that's aromatically oriented, this is a wine you must try. Despite the warmer vintage, this Burgundy has retained its elegance and light-bodied poise. This is a more classic expression of the region, combining crunchy cranberry and sweet baking spice with soft, fine tannin. This will easily be a favorite of mine once the warmer weather hits, and is perfect now with lighter dishes or all on its own.
Price: $29.99 Add To Cart

2016 Chateau Vitallis Macon-Fuissé
Review Date: 01-13-2018
Chateau Vitallis continues to shine with another great vintage in 2016! This bottling of their entry level white is light, fun, flexible and complex. With a lovely nose of honeysuckle and papaya, delicate orchard fruit on the palate, and crisp, refreshing acidity, the wine is built to complement food. It's easy to pair this with anything from seafood to poultry to cured meats.
Price: $16.99 Add To Cart

2015 Domaine Mongeard-Mugneret Fixin Vieilles Vignes
Review Date: 01-12-2018
Another beautiful vintage of Mongeard-Mugneret's Fixin! In the last few years, I've become enamored of this producer, particularly their wines from the lesser-known villages, such as Fixin. Not only does the wine display great depth of fruit, a polished character, and fine-boned tannin, but its elegance and balance is truly remarkable. There are layers of fruit, spice, earth, and savory elements here, all poised to deliver a truly remarkable wine.
Price: $39.99 Add To Cart
BH 88 - 90

2015 Jacques Bavard Bourgogne Blanc
Review Date: 01-12-2018
It's time to hurry in and buy your Bavard Blanc before we are out again! Unfortunately we were only able to buy smaller amounts from Bavard in this vintage, but what we do have is highly worth your while! While we have been a big fan of this producer for awhile now, the 2015 vintage is absolutely flawless. Bavard has struck the perfect chord with his Blanc, achieving a true Puligny character, with a great depth of fruit and minerality in the core, balanced by clean floral notes and a citrus-driven acidity. This wine is likely one of the best values in our White Burgundy offerings to date.
Price: $19.99 Add To Cart

2015 Domaine Laroche "St Martin" Chablis
Review Date: 01-12-2018
This little wine has a lot to offer! With the warmer vintage in 2015, village level Chablis has shown outstanding quality, and Domaine Laroche's "St. Martin" is one of my favorites of the vintage. This wine is fuller and more robust than your typical Chablis, and has all the structure to age for a few years. It has a character similar to one of the lesser Grand Crus, or a top-tier premier cru, such as Montee de Tonnerre, with poised acidity, full fruit and generous minerality. At this price, I'm tempted to "case up" as we say...
Price: $19.99 Add To Cart
RP 90

2016 Adegas Valtea Albariño Rias Baixas
Review Date: 01-05-2018
One of my favorite producers from Rias Baixas is a smaller winery called Adegas Valtea. Their Albarino comes from a vineyard slightly more inland than the bigger producers, but still very much influenced by the coastal climate. This wine is crisp, tangy and bright, with plenty of mineral notes and some pretty citrus aromatics. Of course, this is a natural partner to seafood, and works well also with appetizers and cured meats.
Price: $14.99 Add To Cart

2016 Bodegas Puelles Blanco Rioja
Review Date: 01-05-2018
White Rioja certainly deserves to be better known than it is. And here is an excellent way to delve into this delightful category! This wine is made by a pair of brothers working in a small winery in northern Rioja, and is composed entirely of Viura. The wine has some soft orchard fruit (apple and pear), but remains light and crisp in style. It is extremely food-friendly, and works well with anything from seafood to salad.
Price: $10.99 Add To Cart

2014 Roserock (Drouhin Oregon) Eola-Amity Hills Pinot Noir
Review Date: 01-05-2018
One of the newest projects by Domaine Drouhin Oregon, is the Roserock wines. These wines come from a newer vineyard acquisition for Domaine Drouhin, but the vineyard itself is one of the oldest in the area. Planted back in the 1970's, this site now has fully mature vines and the quality of the fruit is fantastic. Combined with the passion and poise of the wine-making from Domaine Drouhin, the resultant wine is very dynamic. I'm a huge fan of this new label by Drouhin, and would highly recommend the wine to anyone looking for the best Oregon has to offer.

2015 Roserock (Drouhin Oregon) Eola-Amity Hills Chardonnay
Review Date: 01-05-2018
One of the newest projects by Domaine Drouhin Oregon, is the Roserock wines. These wines come from a newer vineyard acquisition for Domaine Drouhin, but the vineyard itself is one of the oldest in the area. Planted back in the 1970's, this site now has fully mature vines and the quality of the fruit is fantastic. Combined with the passion and poise of the wine-making from Domaine Drouhin, the resultant wine is very dynamic. I'm a huge fan of this new label by Drouhin, and would highly recommend the wine to anyone looking for the best Oregon has to offer.

2015 Bishop's Peak San Luis Obispo Pinot Noir
Review Date: 01-05-2018
Consistently one of my favorite Californian Pinot Noirs at this price! Bishop's Peak is made by Talley Winery, and the fruit comes from a vineyard neighboring the Talley estate. The quality of the wine-making is excellent, and like all the Talley wines, showcases a style whose middle name is balance. The Bishop's Peak Pinot is full of bright, red fruits such as cranberry and raspberry, with an elegant hint of clove spice, and a soft, fine tannin. On the palate the wine is medium to lighter bodied, but with ripe berry fruit following through to the finish.
Price: $17.99 Add To Cart
VN 91

2016 Franck Millet "Insolite" Sancerre
Review Date: 01-05-2018
We've just received another shipment of one of Sancerre's finest wines! Franck and Betty Millet might not be on the cover of Wine Spectator, but they are superstars at K&L. We discovered the Millets back in the 90's, and their wines have only become better with each forthcoming vintage. The "Insolite" bottling marks their highest tier wine, grown all in white chalk, limestone soils, and it is truly one of the best expressions of Sancerre character that I've come across.
Price: $24.99 Add To Cart

2014 Domaine de Verquière Côtes du Rhône-Villages Sablet
Review Date: 01-05-2018
Domaine de Verquiere came to my attention earlier this past year, and I was amazed at the elegance and quality of the wines coming from this small, family-owned winery. Their wines tend to favor Grenache, but the Sablet also features Syrah, Mourvedre, and Cinsault, which makes for a bolder expression. The wine is medium bodied, with fine tannin and silky red fruit, accented by clay and spice notes. While not, perhaps, carrying the prestige of a larger producer in a more famous region, Domaine de Verquiere has quietly achieved a reputation with our staff of true, hand-crafted excellence that outshines its modest price.
Price: $14.99 Add To Cart

2015 Obsidian Ridge "Obsidian Ridge Vineyard" Red Hills Lake County Cabernet Sauvignon
Review Date: 01-05-2018
Don't shy away from this excellent Cabernet due to the newer AVA! This wine came to our attention a couple of vintages ago, and has consistently been one of our top recommendations every since. Each year the quality of the fruit and the unique soil profile together with the insightful wine-making, result in a Cabernet almost too good to be true at this price. Looking for excellent quality California Cabernet that won't break the bank? Give this wine a try, and I'm betting you'll quickly be back for more.
Price: $25.99 Add To Cart

2014 Hacienda Solano Ribera del Duero
Review Date: 01-05-2018
Here is an excellent addition to our Spanish offerings! The wines of Ribera del Duero are often more hefty and intense than their neighbors in Rioja, and this wine doesn't stray from the profile. However, big and bold as this wine is, it yet retains an excellent sense of balance. The dominate force here is a great sense of terroir--cool black fruit elevated by a mineral note from the soil, and accented by a kiss of French oak. You can feel the depth and character from the old vine fruit as well. The bolder side of Tempranillo is underscored and showcased very well here.
Price: $17.99 Add To Cart
RP 90

2014 Tronquoy-Lalande, St-Estèphe
Review Date: 01-05-2018
An altogether lovely wine! The blend is slightly more Merlot dominate in this vintage, which adds to the silky texture and the lovely black-fruit perfume. Although this wine is still on the young side for drinking, it has all the components in place, and will undoubtedly prove the quality of this Chateau with a little extra time in the cellar.

2014 La Reserve de Malartic, Pessac-Léognan
Review Date: 01-05-2018
This lovely wine exhibits fresh berry notes on entry, with boysenberry and red raspberry dominating. It achieves an excellent structural balance of tannin and acidity that holds the fruit in check and rounds out the wine nicely. You could certainly drink this now with a good decanting, but it will undoubtedly improve with some time in the cellar.
Price: $19.99 Add To Cart

2009 Coufran, Haut-Médoc
Review Date: 01-05-2018
This is an excellent Bordeaux from one of the top recent vintages, but coming from an under-the-radar winery in the Haut-Medoc. Chateau Coufran tends to use more Merlot in their blend, lending the wine some silky, black-fruited elegance which nicely counters the firmer structure and earthiness of the Cabernet from this region. Truly one of our best bargains for stellar 2009 vintage!

2015 Baccinetti "La Saporoia" Rosso di Montalcino
Review Date: 01-05-2018
We've gotten in another amazing vintage of Baccinetti Rosso! This small winery is one of K&L's favorites in Montalcino, and for good reason. Add to the high quality of the wine making an almost flawless growing season and vintage in 2015, and you have a recipe for excellence! The wine has generous fruit, but is well balanced by the classic structure and earthy/sandalwood notes of the region. You could certainly enjoy this wine now, but if you forget about it in your cellar for a couple of years, you won't be sorry!
Price: $14.99 Add To Cart

2014 Tormaresca "Neprica" Super Puglia
Review Date: 01-05-2018
Truly one of my favorite Italian red values! This wine is full-bodied, with ripe but not sweet fruit and excellent structure. It's composed of Primitivo, Negroamaro, and Cabernet--think Super-Tuscan, but with a southern Italian twist! Easy to pair with a variety of foods, and not too high in alcohol, this is a great wine for almost any occasion.
Price: $9.99 Add To Cart

Page: 1 2 3 next

More Favorites

Heather Vander Wall is also a fan of the following items. To become a fan of Heather Vander Wall, click here to join Heather Vander Wall's Personal Sommelier Service.
2013 Vasse Felix Cabernet Sauvignon Margaret River Western Australia ($29.99)

2012 Haras de Pirque "Hussonet" Cabernet Sauvignon Gran Reserva Maipo Valley ($9.99)

2011 Miguel Merino "Vitola" Reserva Rioja ($19.99)

2009 Miguel Merino Gran Reserva Rioja ($39.99)

2014 Tenuta Roveglia "Vigne di Catullo" Lugana Riserva ($17.99)

2015 Baron de Montfaucon Châteauneuf-du-Pape ($34.99)

2009 Bel Orme Tronquoy de Lalande, Haut-Médoc ($19.99)

2009 Sarget de Gruaud Larose, St-Julien ($39.99)

2012 du Glana, St-Julien ($24.99)

2015 Jax "Y3 Taureau" Napa Valley Red Blend ($19.99)

2016 Château Vitallis Pouilly-Fuissé "Les Vignes du Chateau" ($21.99)

2012 Poggiarellino Brunello di Montalcino ($29.99)

2011 Felsina "Fontalloro" Toscana ($39.99)