Reviewers


K&L Email Alerts

Sign up to receive custom alerts, new arrivals and the latest happenings from K&L Wines


Staff Favorites - Dave Genevro

Dave Genevro

Reviews

Ariston Aspasie Blanc de Blancs Brut Champagne (375ml)
Review Date: 10-30-2016
A great wine from Champagne under $40?! I was shocked not only at the price, but the wine inside the bottle is really great stuff. It is a perfect sparkling wine for entertaining or at your dinner table. The apples/pear fruits on the nose and palate and the expressive nature of this wine makes it appeal to palates almost all the way across the board.
Price: $18.99 Add To Cart

Bodegas Yuste "Aurora" Amontillado Sanlucar de Barrameda 500ml
Review Date: 09-02-2016
Amazing, layered, and just plain ol' delicious! This sherry is a show-stopper. It is almost entirely dry, except for a hint of sweetness at the finish. In my opinion, the bit of sugar helps to give the wine life, balance and a smooth seductiveness...this is almost too easy to drink, so be careful. The racy acids and soft delicate flesh of the grapes used to make the wine show at the starting gate across the palate. This gives it a more than gracious length and lingering finish of beautiful almond skin and roasted pecans (this flavor will go on for minutes and minutes after taking a sip!). It is always a great time when I get to enjoy this amazing sherry with family and friends...the way it should be drunk. Happy drinkin'!
Top Value!
Price: $19.99 Add To Cart

Isle of Jura 10 Year Old Single Malt Whisky (750ml)
Review Date: 07-02-2016
Elegant and delicate smoke is at the backdrop of the curtain of gorgeous sherry. The smoothness and ease with which I enjoy this malt says it all to me. I drink a lot of Laphroaig, but this is my go to when I want my smoke and sherry fix simultaneously. Enjoy this scotch neat, next to a fire and loved ones is ideal...you just feel more baller.
Price: $39.99 Add To Cart

2007 Alexandre Le Brun "Cuvée Fascination" Brut Blanc de Blancs Champagne
Review Date: 04-15-2016
This vintage bottling is 100% Chardonnay, full of an expressive nose of raisins and apple blossoms. The chalky texture and mineral-driven body are what I really enjoy about this great wine from a small producer. Enjoy — I am sure you will!
Price: $69.99 Add To Cart

2013 Ridge Vineyards "Lytton Springs" Dry Creek Valley Zinfandel
Review Date: 01-17-2016
A lush, big, and bold Ridge blend to represent a great 2013 harvest and vintage coming out of CA so far. Plenty of fruit, with some spice and bright character to help follow through to a great finish on my palate. Great stuff.
Price: $44.99 Add To Cart

Egrot (formerly Elisabeth Goutorbe) Brut Champagne
Review Date: 12-12-2015
This is a unique and lively wine from a village in Champagne with a very rich history, Ay. This cuvee is composed of 80% Pinot Noir and 20% Chardonnay. The Pinot Noir gives this wine a vivacious and expressive nose, with great semi-constant bubbles that makes for a quite elegant texture. With a hint of slate, our buyer, Gary Westby, puts it best in his review by saying, "It has a good finish with a line of chalky minerality that is uncommon in Pinot Noir-based Champagnes, but the signature of Ay grand cru." This is a gem that over performs for it's quality to price ratio. Enjoy this wine while it is here. The more that is left at the store, the more there is for me!
Price: $34.99 Add To Cart

Ariston Aspasie Blanc de Blancs Brut Champagne
Review Date: 11-21-2015
A great wine from Champagne under $40?! I was shocked not only at the price, but the wine inside the bottle is really great stuff. It is a perfect sparkling wine for entertaining or at your dinner table. The apples/pear fruits on the nose and palate and the expressive nature of this wine makes it appeal to palates almost all the way across the board.
Price: $34.99 Add To Cart

2013 Clos du Val Napa Valley Cabernet Sauvignon
Review Date: 11-02-2015
This vintage of Clos Du Val is solid and consistent...as always with these guys. Great ripe fruit...cassis and red berries, an approachable tannin structure, a bit of pine, greenness and plenty of length and persistence on the finish. A great Napa Cabernet for under $30!
Price: $49.99 Add To Cart

Schramsberg "Mirabelle" California Brut Rosé Sparkling Wine
Review Date: 06-28-2015
A beautifully lively, expressive brut rose. This is a combination of cool climate Pinot Noir and Chardonnay, with 18 months of bottle aging to give it more depth and richness. This would pair well with a huge variety of foods. Fresh strawberries and raspberries on the nose and palate, a great long and elegant finish makes this wine the perfect celebratory bottle...for whatever you're celebrating!

Alexandre Le Brun "Tradition" Brut Champagne
Review Date: 05-03-2015
Great texture, very expressive fruit and a touch of acids. Well-rounded and full of life, this wine is based on a very lovely vintage of grapes from Champagne, the 2011 vintage. I love this wine too because of it's lower sugars at the dosage stage of production. It's a plus that this wine also spent more time on the lees, up to five months more or so. I love the toasty structure and character this brings to the wine. For a special occasion, friends and family, this is a great bottle of Champagne to enjoy for years to come!
Price: $34.99 Add To Cart