Best Sellers New Arrivals Local Events Locations Gift Cards My Account

Staff Favorites - Gary Norton

Gary Norton

Reviews

2015 Chalk Hill "Estate" Chalk Hill Red Blend
Review Date: 11-06-2018
The aromatics are spectacular and the palate is seamless. It's a rich, opulent red blend that perfectly encapsulates the 2015 vintage in Sonoma. Blue and black fruits, creme de cassis, dried tobacco, and a hint of wood on the finale. Its full-bodied and multi-layered, and is the perfect companion to your next prime-rib roast.
Price: $49.95 Add To Cart
RP 94

2016 Chappellet "Signature" Napa Valley Cabernet Sauvignon
Review Date: 11-01-2018
Early reports suggest that 2016 will trail only 2013 for the strongest Napa vintage of the decade and this year's release of Chappellet's Signature appears to confirm those rumblings. It's open-knit and drinkable now, but also has the scaffolding to age gracefully for another 10+ years. Highly pointed, top vintage Napa Cabs for less than $100 are virtually extinct these days. Savvy buyers will grab a case of this one.
Price: $64.99 Add To Cart
RP 96

2015 Wind Gap Sonoma Coast Pinot Noir
Review Date: 10-16-2018
A distinctly elegant iteration of Pinot Noir that is reminiscent of old-world expressions of the varietal. Its well defined, medium bodied, and completes with a subtle grip. Sporting an incredible core of red-fruits and minerals, I'd bet this was from Beaune and priced 5x higher if I didn't know better.
Price: Hidden View Price
VN 93

Wathen’s Private Barrel #3597 "K&L Exclusive" Single Barrel Straight Kentucky Bourbon (750ml)
Review Date: 10-12-2018
Aromas of peanut brittle, cloves and caramel lead into rich, malty flavors of toasted pine and citrus peels. For under forty bucks it's a versatile libation that you can enjoy neat, with a rock, or blend into a cocktail. I'm not sure what this one proofed out at, but it has the chops to take on a rock or two without falling apart.
Price: $39.99 Add To Cart

2016 Martin Ray Sonoma County Pinot Noir
Review Date: 06-01-2018
Notes of dried black cherries, elderberry compote, crushed blackberries, cola and a hint of Porcini hold together wonderfully within this gorgeously rich and seductive Pinot Noir. The fact it carries a sub-$20 price-tag only compounds the upside to this stunning bottle. Go big on this one, trust me, it won't be here for long.
Price: $19.99 Add To Cart
JS 94

2014 Colgin "IX Estate" Napa Valley Bordeaux Blend
Review Date: 06-01-2018
The IX Estate Vineyard is a site that can be described as a viticultural masterpiece and, unsurprisingly, it produces some of the most viscerally thrilling wines I have ever had the pleasure to taste. The range of flavors runs the spectrum - the nose and palate are anchored by dark red fruits, blackberries, iron and dried herbs and the experience tapers down with wildly polished tannins to round everything out. The impeccable quality of this wine is clearly the by product of a first-growth caliber vineyard and an insanely talented winemaking team. Kudos!

2015 Smith Story "Pickberry Vineyard" Sonoma Mountain Cabernet Sauvignon
Review Date: 05-26-2018
Galloni's glowing review of Smith Story's 2015 releases only affirmed what we already knew - that these are incredible wines that will soon be virtually impossible to find. The collective experience that Eric and Ali (Story and Smith, respectively) bring to the table is nothing short of impressive in its own right, now compound that with the rock star adviser they have in Katy Wilson, and you have one of the most impressive trios in the business. Their entire range of wines is astonishing and frankly, I'd put them up against California's best any day of the week.
Price: $59.95 Add To Cart
VN 95

2016 The Burn "Borne of Fire" Columbia Valley Cabernet Sauvignon
Review Date: 05-24-2018
This is the perfect wine to introduce yourself to high-quality Cabernet from Washington state - an under-appreciated region that undoubtedly represents the strongest QPR in domestic Bordeaux varietals. This one offers a stemmy mix of red and dark fruits, dried herbs and mocha to round it out. A great little weeknight sipper for less than twenty bucks.
Price: $19.99 Add To Cart
JS 96

2016 Halcón "Alturas" Yorkville Highlands Syrah
Review Date: 05-15-2018
Halcon has been on a qualitative roar for some time now and this bottling is no different. With qualities akin to top-vintage Cote Rotie or Hermitage, it boasts massive concentration, great purity of fruit and full-bodied richness - all for less than thirty bucks. Dried violets, game, black olives, blackberries and hints of leather, this one truly has it all. Pull the cork tonight or let it develop for a decade plus - totally up to you.

2014 Leeuwin Estate "Art Series" Chardonnay Margaret River Western Australia
Review Date: 03-28-2018
This lovely wine features an expressive nose of white flowers, ripe citrus, mango and baking spices. The palate is clean and sharp, yet subtly rich at the same time, adding more notes of citrus and pit fruits towards the back-end. Finishes long - a great wine for the money. Drinks more like Chassagne Montrachet than Aussie Chardonnay.

2013 Leeuwin "Art Series" Cabernet Sauvignon Margaret River Western Australia
Review Date: 01-11-2018
I reviewed the 2012 vintage of this wine nearly a year ago and my adoration of the property has only magnified since then. A perennial over-achiever, this gem has the chops to withstand a few decades of cellaring and at the price-point, there isn't much to compare it to. This beauty shows classic Margaret River structure and notes of dried herbs, menthol and dark fruits. There's a very good reason Robert Mondavi was mulling over the notion of purchasing the estate back in the '70s - as it produces world-class wines with each passing vintage. This one is a no-brainer. Drink now and over the next twenty years.

2015 Ata Rangi Pinot Noir Martinborough
Review Date: 12-01-2017
A perennial favorite of mine, Ata Rangi is the perfect bridge between old-world Burgundy and serious Pinot Noir from the US. This wine has the chops to stand up to a decade-plus in your cellar and the delicacy to rip open this evening. Red fruits, bramble, herbes de Provence, moderate tannin and a medium body - in the grand spectrum of things, this is a wine with everything. Considering the price point and the wine's versatility, there is nothing but upside here.
Drink from 2017 to 2017

2016 Domaine Lafage "Novellum" Chardonnay Pays d'Oc
Review Date: 11-20-2017
Hands down, this is one of the best pound-for-pound Chardonnays in the store right now. Boasting notes of grapefruit, white nectarine, chamomile and a touch of oily richness - there is no reason that this value white should not be featured on your Thanksgiving dinner table. It's the perfect dinner companion for any occasion really, but especially those coming up in the next few months!
Price: $10.99 Add To Cart
RP 92

2015 Domaine Lafage "Bastide Miraflors" Côtes du Roussillon
Review Date: 10-04-2017
This is on my short list of price-performers in the store right now. Very delicate, dark-fruited and floral on the nose with hints of smoked meats to wrap it up. The palate doubles down on the aforementioned, with the addition of sweet berry fruit and baking spices. Personally, I'll take a shot on any sub-$13 dollar wine that a major critic compares to SQN, but rest assured, this one is worth every cent and then some.
Price: $12.99 Add To Cart
RP 94

2014 Red Stitch "Sierra Mar Vineyard" Pinot Noir
Review Date: 08-31-2017
Easily the best SLH Pinot Noir I've tasted this year - it's rich, expressive and dark-fruited. Great entry weight on the palate and flavors of black fruits, dark berries and rose-hips come together gracefully to form one of the most complete wines I can remember tasting from the AVA, ever. It's a mid to near-term drinker so pull the cork on this micro-production Pinot before the season ends and enjoy it until the last pitch.
Price: $54.99 Add To Cart
WE 94

2007 Château de Montfaucon "Baron Louis" Côtes du Rhône
Review Date: 07-11-2017
I'll start here: This wine is criminally under-priced and outright delicious. It's full of black and blue fruits, white pepper, leather and dehydrated herbs. The estate is situated just to the west of Chateauneuf du Pape and year after year I become increasingly impressed by the quality and length of the wines. I had a chance to revisit this particular bottling a few months ago and it reaffirmed my assertion that this is one of the best values in all of the Rhone.
Price: $29.99 Add To Cart
JD 91

2014 Maison L'Envoyé "The Attaché" Willamette Valley Pinot Noir
Review Date: 03-11-2017
A tremendously serious wine for thirty bucks, that's for sure. The wine shows notes of fresh purple fruits, baking spices and a smokey, almost syrah-like characteristic that comes in on the mid-palate. It's a wildly intriguing Pinot Noir that should age gracefully for another 5 to 8 years.

2013 Brassfield "Eruption - Volcano Ridge Vineyard" High Valley Red Blend
Review Date: 10-14-2016
A blend consisting of 38% Malbec, 36% Syrah, 16% Mourvèdre and 10% Petite Sirah, this is a very serious wine for sixteen dollars. Dark fruit, dark berries, solid fruit depth without any indication of jamminess. It's full-bodied and has a well-integrated, dusty tannin structure on the finish. Need I say more?
Price: $15.99 Add To Cart
WE 92

Michel Arnould Verzenay "Reserve" Brut Champagne (1.5L)
Review Date: 10-03-2016
This is a fantastic non-vintage bottling from Michel Arnould. The blend consists of a heavy dose of Pinot Noir (75%) and the rest Chardonnay, which creates a wonderfully delicate and floral nose that leads into heaps of red fruit and red berries. The finish is clean and citric. A truly special bottle of bubbles.
Price: $69.99 Add To Cart
DC 90

2010 Bois-Malot, Bordeaux Supérieur
Review Date: 09-08-2016
There's good reason as to why this wine is a perennial staff and customer favorite. It's a dark fruited, earthy, intense Bordeaux blend (50% Cab, 30% Merlot & 20% Cab Franc) at a very approachable price point. Pair this wine with a juicy hamburger or red meat of your choice. This is an absurdly serious wine for less than fifteen bucks.
Price: $10.99 Add To Cart

Westland Sherry Wood American Single Malt Whiskey (750ml)
Review Date: 08-06-2016
My personal favorite of our current Westland lineup. Aromas of Fig Newtons, toasted pecan, mocha and dried yellow fruits to cap it off. It isn't too oily or sweet, it's an honest, lively whiskey that begs to be had neat, or with a single rock.
Price: $69.99 Add To Cart
WE 95

Westland American Single Malt Whiskey (750ml)
Review Date: 08-05-2016
Westland's American Single Malt is truly a show stopper. It houses very pure single malt Scotch-like characteristics (reminiscent of a classic Speyside) while adding some additional notes of vanilla extract, espresso bean and dried Medjool dates. This could be a game changer for you, come scoop a bottle and you'll understand what I'm talking about.
Top Value!
Price: $59.99 Add To Cart
WE 93

2009 Trimbach "Cuvée Frédéric Émile" Riesling Alsace
Review Date: 04-06-2016
The Trimbach family tradition of viticulture dates back to 1626. Yes, you read that right, they have been in the industry for 390 years! Read the above ratings from the critics (and below from our in-house critics!) to see exactly what this wine is all about. On the nose, the wine is youthful and bright with faint aromas of petrol and apple skin. On the palate, the wine bursts with citrus, pear, apple and finishes clean with lingering acidity. This is a truly special one. Drink now or hold. Your choice.

Deligeroy "La Petite Marquise" Cremant de Loire Brut
Review Date: 04-05-2016
It's toasty and light, floral and fruity, drinkable and inexpensive. Enough said, right? While lovely all by itself, it's also a bottle that you don't feel guilty adding a dash of crème de cassis to for a brunch-time sparkling cocktail.
Price: $12.99 Add To Cart

2007 Marqués de Murrieta "Castillo Ygay" Gran Reserva Especial Rioja
Review Date: 02-24-2016
A composition of 86/14 Tempranillo/Mazuelo, this young Rioja has a long life ahead of it. Don't get me wrong, the wine is showing exquisitely well already, but your patience will pay off if you can keep your hands off of it for another 5-8 years. It's woody, spicy and deliciously dark fruited. This wine has a delightfully youthful nose of coconut meat, vanilla, dark berries and black currant. A great wine that will only get better.

Antech Blanquette de Limoux Brut Nature
Review Date: 11-12-2015
With no dosage added, this is the driest of the Antech line. Always crisp and refreshing, it's my opinion that Antech produces the highest quality value-driven sparkling wine on the market right now. The perfect bottle for a wedding, party, or just another Tuesday night.
Price: $12.99 Add To Cart

2012 Ridge Vineyards "Lytton Springs" Dry Creek Valley Zinfandel
Review Date: 09-02-2015
This Zin-heavy, old vine blend shows notes of black cherry, sage and vanilla. The wine finishes long with a soft, velvety tannin and spicy punch. Add this bottling to the long list of home runs by Ridge.
Price: $39.99 Add To Cart
VN 93 CG 91

Louise Brison "L'Impertinente" Brut Rosé Champagne
Review Date: 08-13-2015
These bubbles are derived from 100% Pinot Noir and emit wonderful fragrances of cassis, wild strawberries and a tinge of minerals. Upon entry, this sparkler is crisp and light, while continuing to show a tenacious amount of strawberries, red fruit and toast. Enjoy these bubbles with a grilled pork loin, a sunset and good company!
Price: $39.99 Add To Cart