Best Sellers New Arrivals Local Events Locations Gift Cards My Account Advanced Search

Staff Favorites - Andrew Whiteley

Andrew Whiteley
Andrew Whiteley  | Send Email  |   Subscribe to My Sommelier Service


Reviews

Page: 1 2 3 next
Octomore "9.1 - Dialogos" Heavily Peated Islay Single Malt Whisky (750ml)
Review Date: 01-17-2019
Another great achievement by Adam Hannett. Stunningly elegant for such a peated beast. The Ocotmore bottlings get better with every single release. Even at 156ppm, this 5 year old, 100% Scottish Barley masterpiece is a wonder to behold. The nose, while you'd expect it to just bowl you over with smoke, is infact "restrained." It smells a bit like KC Masterpiece BBQ chips at first. It then climbs into grassy and iodine tones, showing moss and sea. All that restraint in the nose utterly explodes into the palate. One sip and you're awash in smoke, sea salt, and stewed fruits. Even at 59.1% it's quite drinkable. A little water and the fruit amps up, the smoke becomes broader on the nose and the palate is a symphony of classic bourbon notes melded with candied malt, salted caramel and heavy fog. For fans of peat and fans of the extraordinary, it is not to be missed.
Price: $159.99 Add To Cart

Bapt & Clem 12 Year Old "Savanna Distillery" Réunion Rum (750ml)
Review Date: 01-16-2019
A stunning amber/topaz in color you might be forgiven for thinking this was Cognac at first blush. The dark color, candied fruit, and ethereal nose of cigar box and dried petals scream Cognac. The palate is all spicy and rich molasses based rum. Aged in 3-5year old ex-Cognac barrels, this makes perfect sense. The young and flashy fruit of the Cognac had just enough time to permeate the barrel and has really left its mark on the Savanna distillate. The hot and humid aging has brought everything together in one seamless package. Pure elegance and finesse. The best of Cognac and rum, all in one.
Price: $99.99 Add To Cart

Bapt & Clem 5 Year Old "Foursquare Distillery" Barbados Rum Finished at Darroze in Late Harvest Jurancon Barrels (750ml)
Review Date: 01-16-2019
One of the most unique rums we have ever carried. Finished in sweet Jurancon wine casks, this comes across sweeter than most Foursquare, but is still wonderfully dry. There are no hard edges here, everything fits neatly into a smooth and beautiful whole. Each sip reveals a new dimension layered on top of the last. The base is complex brown sugar and corn bread. The first story herbal, bits of fresh tea, sage, alfalfa. Second story - fruit. Whole peaches, apricots, figs. The penthouse is more like a rooftop garden, verbena, blossoms, decorative grasses and cooking herbs. Through it all is a coating of dessert wine in the finest glaze. It's glorious.
Price: $49.99 Add To Cart

Bapt & Clem 18 Year Old "Oliver and Oliver" Dominican Republic Rum (750ml)
Review Date: 01-16-2019
A stunning combination of 3 different rums, this is a light and bright rum of incredible complexity. It's light golden color belies it's depth and intrigue. It's subtle nose is a dance of honeyed floral notes and fruit compote. The taste is spicy and laden with dried fruits, figs and stone fruit in particular. The feel is astounding in its level of richness given that no sugar was added to this rum prior to bottling. At 43% ABV it's a dream.
Price: $79.99 Add To Cart

2016 John Duval "Entity" Shiraz Barossa Valley South Australia
Review Date: 01-04-2019
Dark, glossy, intense, and remarkably fresh and fruity at the same time. I love this wine every vintage, but this one feels particular glorious. The velvety texture is splendid and the dark plummy fruit is concentrated, pure, and clean. Another great achievement from John Duval.

George Dickel "K&L Exclusive" 9 Year Old Single Barrel #L8263K1002 Tennessee Whiskey (750ml)
Review Date: 01-03-2019
High toned in comparison to its sister cask K1006. K1002 is brimming with buttered popcorn, caramel, hard candy, and lighter fruitier tones. The fruit really comes through once your glass is empty. With the alcohol evaporated and just the aromatics left in the glass there is a world of banana cream and apple pies and cooked stone fruits that opens. It's a characteristic that makes this one of the sexiest G.D. casks we've ever bottled.
Price: $44.99 Add To Cart

George Dickel "K&L Exclusive" 9 Year Old Single Barrel #L8269K1006 Tennessee Whiskey (750ml)
Review Date: 01-03-2019
Sweet milk chocolate marries beautifully with spicy dark cocoa nibs and freshly churned butter. The sweet and salty nature of roasted corn shines through. There is a charming pepper spice that livens up the finish and leaves this cask feeling brighter and fresher than the first nosing would indicate. Caramel and vanilla dance throughout the glass, weaving in and out from start to finish. It's a gem of a Dickel cask. As always, proofed at 51.5, just right.
Price: $44.99 Add To Cart

Caledonia Spirits Barr Hill "Tom Cat" Barrel Aged Gin (375ml)
Review Date: 12-28-2018
Caledonia Spirits has done a wonderful job on this gin through intense focus. There is only one botanical - Juniper. The complexity comes from one added ingredient. The gin is finished with raw honey from the local Vermont bees. This special spirit is then aged in new virgin oak casks for a short period of time. The end result is spectacular. The nose is bursting with juniper, floral blossoms, and graceful oak spice. The mouth feel is rich and bright with the endless complexities of high quality honey highlighted through the sweet oak spices. Many gins see oak because it's the trendy thing to do. This gin see oak because it elevates the quality to a whole new level. This is far and away the best barrel aged gin I've had.
Price: $30.99 Add To Cart
WE 90

1980 The Rare Armagnac Collection "Mars" (Domaine de Pouchegu) 38 Year Old K&L Exclusive Vintage Armagnac (750ml)
Review Date: 12-12-2018
Look out L'Encantada! Glorious after its 38 years in new oak this Armagnac is thriving and alive. Candied apples and almonds jive together in an array of spice and baked sugar. Vanilla and caramel blend with toffee and pepper. If intense old Armagnac is your thing, do not miss these bottles from Pouchegu - a lost legend of Ténarèze.
Price: $149.99 Add To Cart

1995 The Rare Armagnac Collection "Venus" (Domaine de Pouchegu) 23 Year Old K&L Exclusive Vintage Armagnac (750ml)
Review Date: 12-12-2018
I've heard the story of Pierre Laport from the Davids for the last 5 years. A lament for the loss of a great man and a great stock of brandy. My only exposure to the juice itself was the 1986 bottling we had back in 2014. Getting to explore these two bottlings from The Rare Armagnac Collection today is a real treat. The intensity of the new Limousine oak is spectacularly balanced by the added intensity of the high proof (56.2%). The robust Baco from which the brandy is distilled provides enough backbone to stand up to the massive wood spice and long aging. At 23 years old, this Armagnac is a glorious example of the function of time on complexity, but it never sacrifices the sweet and candied fruit that makes Armagnac so appealing.
Price: $119.99 Add To Cart

1990 Bruichladdich "Black Art - Edition 6.1" 26 Year Old Islay Single Malt Whisky (750ml)
Review Date: 12-11-2018
Glorious. An amazing array of flavors and decidedly the kind of whisky you can spend all night dissecting. The complexity of cask selection indeed speaks to the blender's Black Arts. The whole comes together in such a seamless way that it is very difficult to describe and pick out individual components. It is clear that there is a fair influence of wine casks of various types. Sherry of all persuasions seem to meld together with sweet red notes of the finest French reds of Burgundy and Bordeaux. The liquid is honeyed, nutty, and laden with fruits both fresh and dry. While I tend to enjoy whisky on its own, I would love to tuck into a bottle with a smorgasbord of cheese and charcuterie. It's fantastic by itself, but it calls out for food in a way that I rarely experience in whisky. Want to build a cozy holiday dinner around a dram with your closest friends? This is the bottle to do it with.
Price: $399.99 Add To Cart

1996 Tobermory 22 Year Old "Old Malt Cask" K&L Exclusive Single Refill Sherry Butt Cask Strength Single Malt Scotch Whisky (750ml)
Review Date: 12-11-2018
Salty like ramen noodles. Malty like a vanilla shake. Spicy like a ginger snap. This is a very special whisky from a refill butt that combines freshness and maturity. It is beautiful golden straw in color like a fine Manzanilla sherry and has the zip to match. But on the palate it's a super rich compilation of citrus, ginger, vanilla, caramelized sugar, and just a touch of fresh cut hay. Long and lingering the finish reminds me of standing on a foggy beach wrapped in a warm jacket watching a storm roll in. You can smell the salt, the seaweed, the cold wind carrying the notes of some far off island. It's beautiful.
Price: $89.99 Add To Cart

Somerset Cider Brandy Co. 10 Year Old Apple Brandy (750ml)
Review Date: 12-11-2018
Incredibly intense in comparison to the 5 year old. This 10 year old brandy retains a huge amount of mouth watering acidity. The final result is a satisfying and dangerously easy to drink rich and mature apple brandy. The same beguiling complex mineral drive of the 5 year is still present and enveloped by a velvety robe of fresh and wild apple varieties. It has a flinty component that is unique to these brandies. I daresay a spectacular terroir is responsible for it without having seen it myself. It offers both the freshness of biting into an apple plucked from the tree and enjoying the complex and earthy tones of cooked fruits baked in a pie.
Price: $49.99 Add To Cart

Somerset Cider Brandy Co. 5 Year Old Apple Brandy (750ml)
Review Date: 12-11-2018
Robust and very apply. This is a slam dunk for any cocktail calling for Apple brandy of any type. It's smooth and refined enough to play as Calvados and has enough apple kick to be Applejack. It just so happens to be inexpensive due to our direct relationship with the producer, so you can basically do whatever you please with it and not feel guilty! It's also fantastic on it's own. I prefer it over ice as an aperitif. There is a strong mineral component that provides a shocking amount of complexity for only being 5 years old.
Price: $36.99 Add To Cart

Old Forester K&L Exclusive Single Barrel #0755 (Warehouse H, Floor 7) Straight Kentucky Bourbon Whisky (750ml)
Review Date: 12-11-2018
This is one of the richest barrels of Old Forester we have had the pleasure of selling. It's sweet and full bodied and deeply spicy all at the same time. The brown sugar notes are off the charts. The nose and palate are both full of sweet wood spices, tobacco leaf, creme brulee, and toffee. The tannins are super fine and bring in an earthy and savory component that keeps everything lined up. Vanilla and cream abound on the finish. All in all, this is a perfect classic bourbon. Rich and smooth, a delight to sip.
Price: $39.99 Add To Cart

1984 Caol Ila 34 Year Old "Old Particular" K&L Exclusive Single Barrel Cask Strength Single Malt Scotch Whisky (750ml)
Review Date: 12-11-2018
"Buried how long?" Almost 35 years. "You had abandoned all hope of being dug out?" "Long ago." My personal tastes for whisky have changed dramatically over the years. I've at times found myself going gaga over loaded sherry bombs, exalting the finesse of delicate drams, and seeking out the peatiest of peatys. One thing that has been a constant over the last decade of my Scotch drinking life is my affection for well-aged smoke. As heavily peated spirits age the intensity of the smoke falls away into richness and body. It's a particular and special characteristic that cannot be counterfeit or short cut. This specimen is a perfect example of why it is so compelling. I'm not saying this isn't a smoky whisky, it certainly is. It's just also so much more than that. The smoke has become a rich and oily slip'n'slide of flavor. There is a slight brine characteristic to it, not iodine, but a lighter kind of salinity. Sweet malt marries perfectly with a bit of tangy BBQ sauce. The freshness of fruit, once readily apparent in this whisky's younger days has developed into a rich tapestry of salted and cured fruits. A refilled hogshead was undoubtedly the perfect vessel for this whisky, tame enough to stand up to many long seasons in the warehouse, and rich enough to make sure that this whiskey, after many long years in darkness would be "recalled to life."
Price: $375.00 Add To Cart

1994 Miltonduff 24 Year Old "Old Particular" K&L Exclusive Single Barrel Cask Strength Single Malt Whisky (750ml)
Review Date: 12-01-2018
An especially clean and pure spirit, even at such an age. Miltonduff is most well known for being the top dressing malt for Ballantine's wonderful and elegant blends. It's quite a rare thing to see it bottled on its own as a single malt, and we're supremely happy to have had the chance to do it. There is lots of butterscotch and Werther's Original cream and caramel notes to this malt. A bit of buttered popcorn and a fine drizzle of melted milk chocolate round it all out. For those who normally drink the classic malts of Glenfiddich and Glenlivet, this is a luxurious rise to the top of that style ladder without paying the premium associated with the very old bottles from those illustrious distilleries. Not a hint of smoke here, just a little dried nuttiness and faint herbal note round out everything with a slight savor. At the natural cask strength of 50.8% ABV, this is utter perfection.
Price: $129.99 Add To Cart

1982 Cambus 35 Year Old "Old Particular" K&L Exclusive Single Barrel Cask Strength Single Grain Scotch Whisky (750ml)
Review Date: 12-01-2018
It's fair to say in the whisky world, that 35 years is old. Not a lot of juice hangs around that long, and what does make it through the long night, almost always finds itself at break of day to be worth a pretty penny. While not inexpensive, this incredible grain whisky from the long closed Cambus distillery is decidedly an affordable luxury. It's full bodied, soft and sleek, redolent of the sweet and syrupy canned fruits of childhood. It has a bit of an ancient aged bourbon quality to it, but without all the wood tannin, it's so much softer than that. Instead, it's the vanilla, caramel, and sweet wood spice of Kentucky's finest. More tropical notes find their way to the surface the longer you hold the whisky in your attention. Banana bread, a bit of coconut milk, and sometimes a little kiwi spring forth. A singular single grain if we've ever bottled one.
Price: $179.99 Add To Cart

1991 Cameronbridge 26 Year Old "Old Particular" K&L Exclusive Single Barrel Cask Strength Single Grain Scotch Whisky (750ml)
Review Date: 12-01-2018
Creamy vanilla, soft brioche, caramelized sugar. This is a little sugar and spice and everything nice for your winter holiday cheer. A lively citrus note keeps things particularly festive. A bit of maple syrup and caramel round out the brighter sweet tones with a heavier bass note. Just a faint herbal thread in the background keeps things from getting cloyingly sweet and provides enough backbone to still call this sweeter than usual grain whisky balanced. It's an easy choice on this one, I'm fairly confident no one would be disappointed to have this in their glass.
Price: $79.99 Add To Cart

2006 Glenturret 12 Year Old "Old Particular" K&L Exclusive Single Sherry Hogshead Cask Strength Single Malt Scotch Whisky (750ml)
Review Date: 12-01-2018
Deep amber in color, this sherried hogshead is DARK for 12 years old! And it tastes every bit as rich and scrumptious as it looks. If you're a fan of Glendronach (and who among us isn't?) don't miss this one. It's chockablock full of candied oranges, crushed dates, dried figs, mocha, baklava, and a little aged leather and dried tobacco. You'd never know it was bottled at 62.3%ABV if you didn't look. It drinks like it's 80 proof, soft and easy, but with the intensity of flavor you want from CS whisky. The finish is rich and sweet with just a dash of pepper on top of maple syrup, all spice, caramel, and taffy chews. While I wouldn't want that combination on my pancake, it's a mighty fine blend in the glass. Once the secret of this cask is out, it will be in every Santa's gift sack this season.
Price: $74.99 Add To Cart

2006 Isle of Jura 12 Year Old "Old Particular" K&L Exclusive Single Refill Sherry Butt Cask Strength Single Malt Scotch Whisky (750ml)
Review Date: 12-01-2018
I absolutely fell in love with Jura on my last trip to Scotland in May. I didn't travel to the island, although there is a spectacular view of the famous Paps of Jura from the new Ardnahoe distillery on Islay which we did visit. I did however find myself ordering and drinking Jura in damn near every bar in Glasgow. At first it was just because it was on a happy hour special at a couple of places. Then it quickly grew into a love affair seeking out odd one off casks in champion whisky bars like The Pot Still. While I found the 10yo, 18yo, and a few NAS to be lovely drams, the lightning really stuck me upon my first cask strength taste. When later in the trip we were offered the chance at this cask, after a quick nose, we had to take it. It's sweet and salty at first blush, like a sliced apple sprinkled with a pinch of finely ground sea salt. Candied oranges and brandied pears find themselves paired perfectly with the dried fruit sweetness of the refilled sherry butt. The palate confirms what the nose knows. It also adds more baking spices, dates, and a dusting of powdered sugar. The final wave of sea salt laps against your palate, a gentle tide splashing your legs on a late summer day at the beach. Such is the beauty of unadulterated, full proof Jura.
Top Value!
Price: $64.99 Add To Cart

2004 Fettercairn 14 Year Old "Old Particular" K&L Exclusive Single Barrel Cask Strength Single Malt Scotch Whisky (750ml)
Review Date: 12-01-2018
There is only one disappointing thing about this independent cask of Fettercairn. It doesn't come adorned with the unicorn that is the official logo of the distillery and that's a shame. Everything else is pretty much perfect. It's sweet and malty, has a rich and full body and the sweet balance and grace off a refilled hogshead. There is some earthy intrigue, a lot of nutty goodness - like fresh cashews, lightly roasted almonds, and oily filberts and macadamias. Couple that with sweet vanilla and fluffy brioche buns and it's a glorious dram. A particularly honeyed finish comes out with more intensity with a little water to soften the otherwise quite accessible 56.9% proof.
Price: $59.99 Add To Cart

2010 Glen Garioch 8 Year Old "Old Particular" K&L Exclusive Single Barrel Cask Strength Single Malt Scotch Whisky (750ml)
Review Date: 12-01-2018
Some folks balk at a relatively low age statement like 8 years. In whisky, as in life, it's often best to not judge a book by its cover. This wonderful Suntory owned property puts out tremendously high quality juice, but receives relatively little attention in their portfolio behind crown jewels like Laphroaig, Yamazaki, and Hakushu. This whippersnapper of a whisky has some feisty spicy notes of pepper, ginger and a bit of cinnamon bark. These piquant flavors mellow gracefully into a more melted butter, rich cream, and decadent vanilla middle. A smidge of lemon zest and pudding brighten up the finish. It turns out that at 8 years, this whisky as matured enough to hang with its older friends, but still shows a little bit of the fire of youth. A precocious adolescent.
Price: $49.99 Add To Cart

2006 Balmenach 11 Year Old "Old Particular" K&L Exclusive Single Barrel Cask Strength Single Malt Scotch Whisky (750ml)
Review Date: 12-01-2018
Both upon first tasting this in Scotland, and again once the cask arrived, the very first thing to pop into my head when nosing the glass is sake. It's a bit unusual for a whisky to remind me of one of Japan's other great exports, but there is a magical umami savor in the nose of this whisky coupled with a delicate fruitiness that I can't shake as reminiscent of one of the finest Junmai sakes I've ever tasted. Moving into the more traditional realm of baked fruit pies and coarse brown sugar in the raw, this whisky also has a gentle and sweet side to it. Baking spices on the back end of the palate coupled with a surprisingly lengthy and dry finish make this 11 year old from an obscure distillery a secret winner in our extensive lineup of new casks. It is infinitely more complex than you'd expect such a young whisky to be.
Price: $54.99 Add To Cart

2007 Benrinnes 11 Year Old "Old Particular" K&L Exclusive Single Barrel Cask Strength Single Malt Scotch Whisky (750ml)
Review Date: 12-01-2018
I couldn't be happier with the first peek at a new distillation method at Benrinnes. This refilled hogshead immediately shows off some sweet spices with a zesty kick. It folds into brandied apples sprinkled with lemon zest and served on a bed of nutty granola. The palate delivers the richness that makes Benrinnes so enjoyable, even at the youthful age of 11, a clear sign they didn't make any sacrifices in the change over at the distillery. It's creamy and fresh, with a gentle herbal quality and an abundance of shortbread. This is a grand example of why whisky is so fun. While it's easy to get excited about ancient age statements or ultra collectible rarities, it's this kind of whisky that keeps me engaged every day. The workhorses that offer value, enjoyment, and a simple pleasure without costing a fortune are the whiskies I gravitate to in my casual drinking at home. This is the whisky I share with my close friends when I don't need to impress anyone with the technical specs. Of course, it never hurts to look like you have a hidden gem!
Price: $54.99 Add To Cart

1995 Loch Lomond ("All Malt") 22 Year Old "Old Particular" K&L Exclusive Single Barrel Cask Strength Single Grain Scotch Whisky (750ml)
Review Date: 12-01-2018
At 22 glorious years, this grain whisky weighs in at a friendly 54.1% ABV. It's mellowed considerably from its high proof fill over those 22 years. All the while it's picked up a great richness and complexity that makes grain whisky so appealing. Opening with a bit of fudge and toffee it moves into the lighter realm of stone fruit and sweet spic as it opens in the glass. Chocolate and mocha come back around on the palate as the malt makes itself clearly known. A little nougat and creme brulee work their way into the finish and the whole thing starts all over again. This is textbook old grain with a bit of a single malt twist. A very unusual and enjoyable whisky.
Price: $89.99 Add To Cart

1996 Auchroisk 21 Year Old "Hepburn's Choice" K&L Exclusive Single Barrel Cask Strength Single Malt Scotch Whisky (750ml)
Review Date: 12-01-2018
Of the many casks we brought in this year in the sub-100 dollar range, I think this is my favorite of the no peat variety. And not just because it's the one currently in my glass. The weight and texture of this malt is gorgeous. It's perfect without water, full and nutty. Dominated by golden cereal grain and toasted nuts. The color says bourbon barrel, but the inherent character of the malt makes it feel like it's seen a short finish in a sherry butt. There is a great spice cake and fresh Dutch crunch roll/brioche note that I almost always associate with sherried whisky. The finish is super clean and lengthy. For me, this is pure enjoyment in a bottle.
Price: $89.99 Add To Cart

2005 Highland Park 12 Year Old "K&L Exclusive" Refill Sherry Hogshead Cask Strength Single Malt Whisky (750ml)
Review Date: 11-30-2018
Oh happy surprise! In truth, I didn't know this cask was coming. This barrel was arranged for well over a year ago by my predecessor, David Driscoll. Obviously when our distributor informed me it was here, after a moment to collect myself, I was elated and immediately popped open a bottle when it arrived. The vast majority of our single casks of Scotch come to us by way of independent bottlers, but this Highland Park is direct from the distillery. 12 years old, aged in a refilled hogshead (from the intense dark color it was almost certainly only the second usage), and bottled at a blazing 64.5% ABV, this is one of the most powerful and heady Highland Park's I've encountered. It's difficult to say just how peaty this cask is. On the nose, it's mostly dry and dusty sherry notes that come through. On the palate, particularly the finish, the bright and clean heather peat that makes HP so famous is on fine display. It melds perfectly with the more savory aspects of the sherry and finishes just a touch sweet. In short, this is a rocking sherry bomb, full throttle, smoky and lucious Highland Park. What more could I have hoped for in a holiday surprise?
Price: $159.99 Add To Cart

Westland K&L Exclusive "#2479" Single PX Sherry Hogshead Single Cask Cask Strength Single Malt Whisky (750ml)
Review Date: 11-30-2018
It's no secret that Westland makes the finest American Single Malts. What I think flies under the radar is why. After training in Scotland, the founders considered how they could take the best of the Northwest and apply it to whisky making for the better. Obviously there is a rich beer culture in Washington and that history played a large roll in creating Westland. The long standing tradition of using different levels of roasted malt for beer production has been applied to Westland's whisky making with incredible success. Using 5 different malts, they achieve an incredibly rich and complex base spirit which is perfectly on display in the classic American Oak Single Malt in their core lineup. That same mash was used here, and elevated to an even richer level by the fresh PX cask. Under the sweet rancio blend of dried fruits, brown sugar, and creme brulee, the chocolate tones of roasted malt meld with the brighter golden hues of classic whisky malt. While the distillery is still young, it has an incredible track record of success and this cask is one more piece of the foundation supporting Westland's reign at the top of American Single Malt.
Price: $109.99 Add To Cart

Hellyer Road Single Malt Tasmanian Whisky (750ml)
Review Date: 11-28-2018
Hellyer Road is Australia's best selling locally crafted whisky, and with good reason. The single malt has a beautiful nose of tropical fruit, black tea, and sweet grain. The mouthfeel is light and playful, but never lacking in presence. And the finish carries on long and pretty and really highlights the malt.
Price: $59.99 Add To Cart

Còdigo 1530 K&L Exclusive Single Barrel Anejo Tequila (750ml)
Review Date: 11-23-2018
After our last barrel evaporated we had to go back to the well and see if we could secure a second Anejo barrel from our most popular tequila producer. Codigo is known for a couple of unique things. First off, they were the house tequila of one of Cabo's most exclusive resorts. Second, they use only "extra maduro" agaves; basically they're over ripe and provide an incredible texture, intensity of flavor, and body. Third, they only age their tequilas in Napa Cabernet barrels from a top cult winemaker. For most of their aged products they lightly char these barrels before loading them with their precious agave spirit. The end result for their anejo is a tequila unlike any other. It's very full bodied, while dark in color, it doesn't possess that huge vanilla spike that most bourbon aged tequilas get. It's much more nuanced. It showcases the cooked agave first and foremost, something that is so often lost in Anejo tequilas. That gentle pepper melds perfectly with the refined wood notes of French oak picking up sweet spices and just a hint of creme brulee. The finish is super long and clean, making this the perfect holiday gift for any tequila sipper on your list.
Price: $99.99 Add To Cart

Còdigo 1530 K&L Exclusive Single Barrel Rosa Tequila (750ml)
Review Date: 11-23-2018
This tequila opens beautifully after a few minutes in your glass. What is at first wound tightly like a fine wine eventually expresses an incredible array of red fruits, cooked agave and a touch of minerality. There is almost a bubble gum sweetness on the nose that is perfectly cut by the pepperiness of the cactus. Codigo's use of an uncharred Napa cult cab barrel is one of the most creative tequila aging vessels we've seen and the results are extraordinary. The nose and color exhibit all of the flash you'd expect from this Napa treatment, but the mouthfeel and flavor is all Codigo blanco - our most popular tequila in the store. Rich, full, and zippy at the same time. All for the same price as the regular Rosa from Codigo!
Price: $59.99 Add To Cart

1997 Macduff 21 Year Old "Hepburn's Choice" K&L Exclusive Single Barrel Cask Strength Single Malt Scotch Whisky (750ml)
Review Date: 11-15-2018
Rich, malty, and possessing just a touch of chewiness. This is an incredibly clean and pure malt. Cereal and honey are the high tones. A bit of caramel and chocolate make up the bass. A real workhorse for the blending industry, it's a bit of a rarity in the US to see the single malt on its own. That's a real shame, since it's a clarion call for pristine malt flavor. A gentle fruitiness rounds out the inherent flavor of the barley. If you like old school Highland Scotch, this casks is a for you. It's a thing of beauty.
Price: $79.99 Add To Cart

1997 Hector Macbeth (Glenfiddich) 21 Year Old "Hepburn's Choice" K&L Exclusive Single Barrel Cask Strength Blended Malt Scotch Whisky (750ml)
Review Date: 11-15-2018
Teaspooned casks offer some of the best deals in Scotland. Invariably it is the biggest and most prestigious names in Scotch that don't want to see their whisky on the independent market trading on their hard earned reputation. This famous Glen full of deer is elegance defined. It's gentle and fruity, supple from 21 long years in a refilled hogshead barrel. Vanilla and creme brulee layer on top of cooked grains and fresh malty wort. A little bit of saline keeps it from feeling sweet. It's balanced and endlessly approachable. A stunning value in it's own right, a downright steal considering it's heritage.
Price: $109.99 Add To Cart

2006 Foursquare 11 Year Old "Golden Devil" Single Barrel Barbados Rum (750ml)
Review Date: 11-15-2018
Every bottling I've ever had of Foursquare has incredible intensity and this is no exception. It is the kind of bottle that you can smell when someone opens it across the room. A combination of pot and column distillate, it's got just enough of the sweet funk to satisfy the biggest rum geeks, but is so balanced and easy drinking anyone can enjoy it on it's own. It's jammed with cocoa nibs, vanilla, banana, roasted hazelnuts and a garden of tropical flowers. There is just a touch of the earthy rubber tree and a whiff of campfire to balance out the big sweetness of the bourbon barrel. With some dilution the flavors stretch out and the intensity mellows into a perfect casual sipper.
Price: $89.99 Add To Cart

2015 Bodegas Palacios Remondo "La Montesa" Crianza Rioja
Review Date: 11-13-2018
I hadn't realized this wine had come into the stock when I opened the 2014 for dinner last Sunday. I'm so glad I did. Getting to taste these back to back was the perfect reminder of just how good these wines are. The 2014 which was so vibrant and fresh is overshadowed by the quality of the 2015. While the acidity is still very present, the ripe fruit of the '15 just takes this wine over the top. The is a touch more oak on this bottling, but it's still perfectly balanced because there is more stuffing to work with here. A testament to the winemaker for adjusting his approach based on vintage. I love this wine just as much as the previous vintage, the only thing that has changed is what I will pair it with. While I tended to lean towards lighter fish and chicken dishes with the leaner 14, I intend to pair this with more robust meals like pork or lamb chops and heavier chicken stews.

2010 Domaine de la Jaufrette Châteauneuf-du-Pape
Review Date: 11-13-2018
The Southern Rhone's most famous appellation certainly deserves it's reputation. What's amazing about this bottle is how much wine it delivers for the price point. Typically the greats of Chateauneuf Du Pape, especially from a top vintage, will run you over a hundred bucks. This superb wine deserves to be considered with the best of the appellation and is half that price. It's dense wine with a great acid cut and will stand up in the cellar for many years to come.
Price: $49.99 Add To Cart

2010 Domaine de la Jaufrette Vacqueyras
Review Date: 11-13-2018
The 2010 vintage in the Rhone was spectacular. The wines are well structured, ripe, and vibrant. This Vacqueyras is a perfect example of why the vintage was so heralded. Just coming into its prime drinking window, this wine is darker and richer than Jaufrette's Cotes du Rhone and shows considerably more grip and texture. The sweet berry fruit plays perfectly with the garrigue and woodsy herbaceous notes. Don't hesitate to drink this now, but if you "forget" a few in your cellar, your future self won't be upset.
Price: $34.99 Add To Cart

2012 Domaine de la Jaufrette Côtes-du-Rhone
Review Date: 11-13-2018
One of my favorite things about our Rhone program is that we get the chance to introduce people to (and drink for ourselves) affordable Rhone blends with some age on them. Domaine De La Jaufrette has a very compelling lineup of wines at the moment from two excellent vintages. The 2012 Cotes Du Rhone is beautifully plummy in fruit and high in acidity. The combination is a perfect complement for the Thanksgiving table. The added complexity of 6 years of aging has lent the savory and earthy tones the Rhone is famous for.
Price: $24.99 Add To Cart

2017 Gentilini Robola of Cephalonia Greece
Review Date: 11-13-2018
Mouthwatering acidity and a cool minerality come together in a wonderful drinking experience. Light in body and very fresh, this zippy white is powerful and structured. I'm temped to age a few bottles, but they're so satisfying right now that I don't think I'll be able to keep my hands off of them!
Price: $17.99 Add To Cart
RP 91

2016 Domaine Nerantzi Assyrtiko Serres Greece
Review Date: 11-13-2018
I generally think of Assyrtiko as a lively and fresh light bodied varietal. While this wine is indeed zippy, it has a wonderful weight and texture to it. It's denser than many Assyrtiko bottlings. The bright citrus flavors are supported by minerality and a cast of deeper bass tones. This added texture makes this a perfect pairing wine for lots of food. Chicken, seafood, and roasted veggies all come to mind.
Price: $17.99 Add To Cart
W&S 94

1996 Ardmore 21 Year Old "Old Malt Cask" K&L Exclusive Single Barrel Cask Strength Single Malt Scotch Whisky (750ml)
Review Date: 11-13-2018
A slamming selection of 20+ year old malts this year offer incredible value. The Ardmore fits right in. The gentle woodsmoke like peat of Ardmore has melted into the background with the age of this cask. Golden fruit, golden grain, and golden color is the name of the game here. The beautiful fruity malt of Ardmore's long and clean fermentations rides high above the peat that has softened incredibly with age. At the time this cask was distilled Ardmore still coal fired their stills. This process, while extremely dangerous, does seem to yield a more rich and complex flavor due to hotspots on the still. It's so important in fact, that Ardmore build special kinked steam coils to replicate these hot spots when they moved to the safer method of heating the stills. This is a rare chance to grab a glass of whiskey history as only a tiny handful of distilleries still direct fire.
Price: $89.99 Add To Cart

1998 Tamdhu 20 Year Old "Old Malt Cask" K&L Exclusive Single First Fill Hogshead Cask Strength Single Malt Scotch Whisky (750ml)
Review Date: 11-13-2018
Salty like a fino sherry on the nose. Rich like an olorosso on the palate. The sherry staves of this first fill hogshead come through crystal clear. The rich and oily Tamdhu malt coats the palate and plays perfectly with all the added richness from the cask. Dark dried fruits fill your mouth and dance with golden malt. It's a powerful whiskey, a rich and complex cask, and a ludicrously good deal. The Tamdhu name doesn't have the flash or cache of some other big name distilleries, but it does provide exceptionally good malt at affordable prices. This cask absolutely crushes it.
Price: $89.99 Add To Cart

1995 Springbank 22 Year Old "Hunter Laing Old & Rare" K&L Exclusive Single Barrel Cask Strength Single Malt Whisky (750ml)
Review Date: 11-13-2018
It's more or less impossible to not love Springbank. It is truly a distillery that you can wax poetic about and not be lying to yourself. It is as old school as it gets, always has been, and I hope always will be. If you already know this, I don't have to tell you. If you don't already know this, you must venture into some of the best whiskey the world has to offer. If you just want to take a peek without breaking the bank, grab a bottle of the Springbank 10. If you already know or you want to dive into the deep end, get a bottle of this cask. It's pure Springbank magic. It's chewy and full bodied, but light on it's feet. I'd go so far as to say it's fresh as a daisy. There is that classic Springbank peat, never overwhelming, just enough to give it a bottomless depth and an added connection to the earth. The malt is in its full regalia. The proof is perfect. In short, this is the deal of the year. If you know what you like, and you like Campbeltown's best distillery, this is perfection.
Price: $399.99 Add To Cart

2006 Croftengea 12 Year Old "Hepburn's Choice" K&L Exclusive Single Barrel Cask Strength Single Malt Scotch Whisky (750ml)
Review Date: 11-11-2018
In the world of whisky "rare" is generally synonymous with "expensive." This doesn't have to always been the case, sometimes you just need someone like K&L to dig up a rarity so obscure that the market hasn't quite figured out what it should cost yet. Loch Lomond is an enormous distillery at the foot of its namesake lake which has the capacity to produce an entire range of spirits, 11 different makes in total. While nearly everything they make has been on the market at one time or another as an official bottling, they really mostly exist in the "behind the curtain" independent bottling and blending world. Croftengea is the most heavily peated malt they produce at Loch Lomond, and one of the most compelling. It's peat is that of pure smoke, not the sea brine associated with Islay, the spiritual home of peated malt. The fruitiness of the malt comes through in a big way, it showcases citrus, sweet pear, and ripe stonefruits that all play beautifully with the smoke of a roaring fireplace. It's so bright that I'm tempted to call it a refreshing malt, but the idea of a refreshing smoky malt does seem odd. In tasting it I'm inclined to think it would make the perfect smoky highball. However you decide to drink it, if you like peaty whisky, you're sure to enjoy this rarely seen brand. At the absurdly low price, you'll be able to enjoy it now and often.
Top Value!
Price: $59.99 Add To Cart

1995 Blair Athol 23 Year Old "Old Malt Cask" K&L Exclusive Single Sherry Butt Cask Strength Single Malt Scotch Whisky (750ml)
Review Date: 11-11-2018
Once again we have Blair Athol on the shelves! It has been far too long and I've fielded too many customer requests hoping for a bottle of our previous casks to pop up. While a touch younger and no where near as dark in sherry color, this wonderful cask shows off all of the splendor of sherry aged Blair Athol with more sophistication than our previous bottlings. The chocolate fudge and spice cake of the sherry butt is more deeply integrated and the nutty texture and earthy flavors of the malt shine through. Don't let that gentle sounding description fool you. The nose is just as robust as the first fill sherry monsters of yesteryear, but the palate doesn't attack you, it lulls you into a false sense of security instead. At nearly 60%, for all its grace, this malt still packs a wallop. With a water addition it softens (a little) and exposes more of a dried orange peel and caramelized candied almond profile. A big malt for those who want power in their glass. And all for a pittance in comparison to our past the pair of 1988's we've offered in the last couple of years.
Price: $109.99 Add To Cart

Four Roses K&L Exclusive OBSQ (9 Years Old, 4 Months) Single Barrel Cask Strength Bourbon Whiskey (750ml)
Review Date: 11-08-2018
For those who want to investigate how a single change in production can dramatically change a whiskey, this barrel compared with the OESQ is a perfect side by side. Same facility, same straight whiskey distillation, same floral yeast strain. The only difference here is the high rye mashbill, and boy what a difference. Instead of the light and fruity components taking center stage, the spicier, more full bodied rye dominates and the sweet banana and floral nectar flavors move back into the finish. It's like drinking the OESQ in reverse. Both exceptional whiskies, two totally different experiences.
Price: $69.99 Add To Cart

Russell's Reserve Single Barrel "#17-314" (Rickhouse B, 6th Floor) K&L Exclusive Kentucky Straight Bourbon (750ml)
Review Date: 11-08-2018
This barrel tastes just like Christmas to me. A constant stream of cinnamon, nutmeg, baked bread, pie crusts, and some savory earthy herbs going on in the kitchen. It's raging hot and sweet spice and leaves no questions as to how WT got the nickname Kickin' Chicken. If you had to pin me down for a favorite Russell's barrel in our current stock, it's this one. It's the gift this year for every bourbon loving family member I have.
Price: $64.99 Add To Cart

1996 Linkwood 21 Year Old "Signatory" K&L Exclusive Single Barrel Cask Strength Single Malt Whisky (750ml)
Review Date: 11-07-2018
Immediately familiar and yet, completely new. This whisky explodes on the palate with a ferocity that I confess, I must tame with a cube or more than a drop of water. As a major Diageo component whisky, you will typically only experience Linkwood cut with soft grain whisky, never in it's full power. This beast at cask strength is a bomb of chocolate covered fruit mixed with granola in vanilla yogurt. It's got tang, sweetness, a bit of dank funk, and major muscle. With a generous drop of water, the game changes dramatically. The softer side of Linkwood that feels like home comes out. A complex blend of cooking spices make you feel like you're baking for the holidays. Jam and honey and fresh winter fruits fill the glass. It's immediately transformed in to one of the easiest drinking Scotches in the store. Factor in the price of this bottle compared to a OB from the distillery and you've got yourself a hell of a deal.
Price: $129.99 Add To Cart

Savage & Cooke "Second Glance" K&L Exclusive Cask Strength American Whiskey
Review Date: 11-07-2018
Dave Phinney's whiskies are currently made in Kentucky, but really come to life once they reach his new distillery on Mare Island and are married with the best California has to offer. The man behind the Prisoner and Orin Swift wines knows a thing or two about wine barrels. This whiskey rested in a blend of 80% Zinfandel and 20% Grenache barrels from Dave's Napa winery. Bottled at cask strength, it carries those flavors with remarkable clarity. The underlying heavily corn mash bill has tons of sweetness and rich buttery popcorn flavors and lifts the intense dark fruits and pepper spice of the Zinfandel to the top of the glass. This is balanced by the lighter floral tones and bright jammy flavors of the Grenache. The end result is nearly a Manhattan in itself. Just pour it on the rocks, toss in a cherry and have yourself a great cocktail without the extra sweetness of vermouth. On the palate, the bread spices really stand out and contribute to a long and intense finish. Add a little water and more chocolate and caramel flavors come to the front. Anyway you serve it, this is an extremely versatile whiskey.
Price: $49.99 Add To Cart

Page: 1 2 3 next