Staff Favorites - Andrew Whiteley

Andrew Whiteley
Andrew Whiteley  | Send Email  |   Subscribe to My Sommelier Service


Reviews

Page: 1 2 3 next
Helios Distillery "Kura The Whisky" Japanese Rum Cask Finished Pure Malt Whisky (750ml)
Review Date: 08-14-2018
The perfect new addition to our Japanese whiskey collection. It's pretty, it's peaty, it's incredibly easy to drink and elegant. The rum finish is completely unique and adds a different type of sweetness than you find in sherry aged whiskies. This little number distilled by the Helios Distillery in Okinawa is sure to delight fans of Hakushu and Yamazaki. Factor in the price and just about anyone will be elated!
Price: $59.99 Add To Cart

2013 Negretti Barolo
Review Date: 08-08-2018
Bargain and Barolo don't get to go in the same sentence very often. If they do, they don't get to also go with the hallmarks of great Barolo - tar, roses, and well defined yet elegant tannins. Fortunately for us, Negretti delivers on all fronts in 2013. It drinks like a real old school Barolo you've left in your cellar for decades. I don't have the patience, but if you do, don't be afraid to leave this one down for a long time as I'm sure it will get better and better still. Pair it with braised meats or savory truffle dishes.
Price: $34.99 Add To Cart
JS 94

2016 Altovinum Evodia Garnacha Calatayud
Review Date: 08-08-2018
Evodia is exactly the kind of wine I like to have a case of laying around. It's absurdly cheap for a high quality wine that just about anyone will enjoy. It's the bottle I break out for an unplanned evening of revelry, a quick last minute host gift (no one will know what you paid for it, but they'll love it!) or just a quiet evening at home when I want a glass of something good without having to stop and think about it. It's juicy, fruity and dangerously delicious.
Price: $9.99 Add To Cart
JD 91

2015 Celler de Capçanes "Mas Donis" Old Vines Montsant
Review Date: 08-08-2018
Juicy and rich without being too sweet or hot. This old vine Montsant is just the ticket. At the ridiculous price of $11.99 and with much of the character of the Priorat appelation that it surrounds, it deserves a top value mark. The thread of herbaceousness that runs through the wine makes it a great food pairing as well as pleasantly refined as a cocktail wine.
Top Value!
Price: $11.99 Add To Cart
JD 92 RP 90

2015 Casarena "Owen's Vineyard" Cabernet Sauvignon Mendoza
Review Date: 08-08-2018
Elegant Cabernet and Argentina don't tend to go together in my mind. I've loved many a cab from South America, but generally I have an expectation that they will be robustly fruity, full of oak, and perhaps a touch sweet. Nay. This is a bottle to reach for when looking to find full fruit mixed with the elegance and nuance that you used to find across much of California, but now requires some hunting. It is savory and herbaceous, but still alive and sweetly fruited. There aren't many places in the world where you can find cab from nearly 100 year old vines in the sub $100 price range, let alone in the sub $30 zone. This is an amazing deal for an extraordinary wine.
Price: $24.99 Add To Cart
RP 94 W&S 93

2016 TED by Mount Edward Central Otago Pinot Noir
Review Date: 08-08-2018
The Ted is a classic second label of Mount Edward. The winemaking is still all done by hand from the same parcels as their high test Pinots, but the value is off the charts. My notes were very simple: "Amazingly crushable." This is the perfect casual drinking pinot noir. It's elegant, flavorful, inexpensive, and comes from a heralded producer. There is not much more to ask for.
Price: $19.99 Add To Cart
JS 93 RC 90

2016 Fromm "Cuvée H" Marlborough Pinot Noir
Review Date: 08-08-2018
A new selection from Fromm, the Cuvee H honors their longtime winemaker and showcases a remarkable pedigree. H is built from the heavier clay soils that make up Marlborough's pinot territory. A barrel selection from vineyards like Clayvin, Fromm, and Quarters Vineyards goes into the blend for H. The results are a fantastic value pinot noir from some of the best parcels in the world. The winemaking is done with 50% stem inclusion to give a beautiful savory balance to all of the high toned fruit that builds the nose and palate.

2017 Tenuta Roveglia Chiaretto Rosé
Review Date: 08-08-2018
The Lugana from Roveglia changed my life last summer. It absolutely took over as my house white. It came to every party I went to. At 12.99 and loaded with flavor I didn't think I could do any better. Until today. I just tasted the Chiaretto Rose from Roveglia. It's every bit as great as the Lugana, but with all of the fun of Rose. It rocks just enough plump fruit to really stand out of a pink lineup but still sits on the dry end of the spectrum. A blend of Italian varietals only a master somm would remember, it's the perfect wine to say, "Who cares? Drink it cause it is fabulous!"
Price: $12.99 Add To Cart
VN 90

2017 Margerum "Riviera" Central Coast Rosé
Review Date: 08-08-2018
Summertime slammer. Low alcohol (11.3) but not lacking for anything. This is what everyone says they want in rose. Dry, but fruity. Refreshing and zippy. Just enough flavor to pair with almost anything summery, especially a day by the pool or on the sand. It has a great mineral quality that really brings the strawberries, cherries, and raspberries to life.
Top Value!
Price: $15.95 Add To Cart
WE 92 W&S 90

2017 Santo Assyrtiko Santorini Greece
Review Date: 08-08-2018
I must admit I don't have a huge background with Assyritko. I've had a couple of benchmarks and a few odd balls here and there, but this bottling is most impressive. It strikes a cord between zip and richness that I have not found in many bottles. There is an herbal complexity to go with the pure fruit tones and a weight that contrasts perfectly with the snap of fresh acidity.
Price: $17.99 Add To Cart
W&S 93

2016 Joseph Phelps "Freestone Vineyards" Sonoma Coast Chardonnay
Review Date: 08-08-2018
Every vintage of this wine amazes me. I have loved just about every wine I've had from the tiny appellation of Freestone on the Sonoma Coast, Phelps chief among them. Made in their dedicated winery by their dedicated Freestone winemaker, it strikes the perfect balance between bright, fresh, and clean stainless steel chard and the richer, creamier, and oakier flavors of many California chardonnays. This marriage is achieved through the deft use of both SS and oak as well as malo and non-malo fermentation. Tangy and rich, this should have a place on the dinner table.

2010 Louis Roederer Blanc de Blancs Brut Champagne
Review Date: 08-08-2018
This spectacular blanc de blanc comes from a mix of cool and warm parcels. The combination is outstanding. There is a luscious richness and incredible focus at the same time. The flavors range from an incredible mix of crisp green apples and ripe stone fruits and freshly baked brioche. All vintage products from Roederer are estate grown and given the greatest amount of care and attention. If you can't quite afford to shell out for the 2008 Cristal, or maybe you just need a wine for a slightly more casual celebration (or Tuesday night sushi, perhaps?), this is a no brainer. A value play for Roederer if there ever was one!
Top Value!

Russell's Reserve K&L Single Barrel #384 Kentucky Bourbon (750ml)
Review Date: 08-08-2018
The David's procured an incredible selection of Russell's barrels late last year and this one has just hit the stores. It's got a huge round spice and vanilla nose with a little cracked pepper and caramel. The palate is sweet and smooth with that signature bite of Russell's and boasts a long lasting finish that showcases the power of the 55% proofing.
Price: $64.99 Add To Cart

Dudognon "K&L Exclusive Cuvee" Napoleon Cognac (750ml)
Review Date: 07-31-2018
The glorious return of our most popular exclusive Cognac! Dudognon is a small producer in the heart of Grand Champagne. They are living the romantic vision of Cognac that doesn't exist in the big multinational drinks companies you already know. This is serious Cognac. There are no additives, no caramel, no sugar, no adulteration. Just the pure expression of incredibly high quality fruit. The results are phenomenal. It is both intensely flavorful and lifted. Delicate and powerful. Dense and full of finesse. The fruit and inherent high acidity of the grapes carries through to the final product in a way that is so often masked in Cognac. The Napoleon designation, while not a legally defined term, is commensurate with many XOs in terms of age. It's regularly used for an extra special bottling. This blend of Ugni Blanc and Montils certainly fits the bill.
Price: $49.99 Add To Cart

2005 Tullibardine "The Murray" Single Malt Scotch Whisky (750ml)
Review Date: 07-31-2018
A screaming deal for beautiful cask strength whisky. The Tulli Murray is bottled from a select few first fill bourbon barrels after 12 long years. It's really Tullibardine taking a stand in the modern whisky market and the care they took in crafting it shows. The richness of the first fill barrels stands up perfectly against the full 56.3% proof. It's loaded with peaches, apricots, vanilla, cinnamon, and shortbread. The finish lasts for minutes and the high alcohol almost hides in the background. For a serious whisky drinker, this bottle becomes a perfect go to. It hits all of the hallmarks of your special collection: rare, exception flavor, cask strength! The only difference is it comes in at 75 bucks! Only 14,000 bottles produced.
Price: $74.99 Add To Cart

Cutty Sark "Prohibition Edition" Blended Scotch Whisky (750ml)
Review Date: 07-31-2018
Truly my favorite kind of whisky. Cheap and delicious. The Cutty Sark is the perfect choice for drinking pretty much anytime. It's exceptionally smooth for enjoying a couple fingers worth after dinner. It's inexpensive so you don't mind mixing it up in a Rob Roy or Scotch and Soda. And it's so good you'll gladly share it with your closest friends, cause who doesn't love a great deal?
Price: $14.99 Add To Cart
WA 90 WE 90

2015 Felsina "Fontalloro" Toscana
Review Date: 07-31-2018
A towering achievement from Fontalloro. This wine pulls off being big, yet balanced in an impressive way. It's dense and intense. I have to second Gary's notes regarding it shining with a tri-tip. It continued to unfurl over the course of the evening and was a bottle we kept going back to (impressive considering there were easily 40 open wines to choose from). It's a bottle that you'll find yourself gravitating towards over and over again.

2016 Villa Poggio Salvi Rosso di Montalcino
Review Date: 07-31-2018
I always like to have a few bottles of Rosso on hand. It's so appealing when young, and if I happen to forget about it in my cellar I'm never disappointed with the results. Villa Poggio Salvi's Rosso is just such a wine. The young fruit is beautiful, bright and full of wild cherries. There is a slightly herbal, tobacco tone and a fair amount of savor. Just enough to make it feel balanced on its own and have it sing as a tremendous pairing with food. I'd recommend grabbing a bottle for the next time you make a pork tenderloin in particular.
Price: $14.99 Add To Cart

2017 Villa Poggio Salvi "Caspagnolo" Chianti Colli Senesi
Review Date: 07-31-2018
You'd never guess the incredible low price of this wine based on the structure. It drinks like a Chianti 3x the price. The backbone of this wine is commanding, but provides a spectacular scaffold for the fruit and savory forest notes. Decant for an hour and enjoy with food. Or feel free to leave it in your cellar for a while. It'll just keep getting better and better.
Price: $11.99 Add To Cart

2017 Torti Pinot Noir Pavia
Review Date: 07-31-2018
No Torti, No Party. That's what we always say here in Redwood City. The '17 is loaded up with dark fruit that just about any CA wino will love and the body has that classic light pinot feel. At this amazing price it is sure to please your guests and your wallet at your next soiree.
Price: $14.99 Add To Cart

2008 Nicolas Feuillatte Vintage Brut Champagne
Review Date: 07-31-2018
The all time great vintage of 2008 delivers again. I'm always thrilled to get to taste another '08. The Nicolas Feuillatte is rich and complex, loaded with fresh baked bread and a generosity that many Champagnes don't possess upon release. The lightning streak of acidity that is a hallmark of the vintage is there, but more than others is sits in the background letting the beautiful fruit and brioche shine. This is the best release from Feuillatte I've had the pleasure of tasting.

El Rey Zapoteco Añejo Mezcal (750ml)
Review Date: 07-25-2018
The most limited of the Rey Zapoteco's and the sweetest fruit profile of the bunch. The vanilla lent from the barrel also brings the agave's natural fruitiness to the forefront. The smoke takes a backseat here and a more hedonistic profile emerges.
Price: $39.99 Add To Cart

El Rey Zapoteco Reposado Mezcal (750ml)
Review Date: 07-25-2018
The same gentle smoke as the joven carries through the reposado. The piquant finish mellows out here and is replaced by more vanilla and nutmeg from the barrel aging. The nose also is a touch more subdued giving up more caramel notes instead of citrus. The finish is a fresh smoke, like a charcoal chimney just lit for the BBQ.
Price: $29.99 Add To Cart

El Rey Zapoteco Joven Mezcal (750ml)
Review Date: 07-25-2018
The perfect place to begin to explore mezcal. This mezcal has an easy going nature to it. There is tons of fruit on the nose, citrus, pineapple, apples. The smoke shows up on the palate, but is easy going. There is a piquant nip to the finish that shows off the spicier side of agave and the 90 proof. It's tremendous value in a category that is overrun with expensive bottlings.
Price: $27.99 Add To Cart

Tequila Montejima Añejo (750ml)
Review Date: 07-24-2018
Normally I wouldn't recommend using a $100 anejo to mix up your next margarita, but when you can get it for $40 the possibilities are endless. Oddly enough, the anejo shows more herbaceous character of the agave than the blanco or reposado. The wood spices bring it to the forefront. The extra oomph this provides makes it perfect for premium cocktails at home. Of course, it's supremely rich like it's younger siblings, but the barrel shines.
Price: $39.99 Add To Cart

Tequila Montejima Reposado (750ml)
Review Date: 07-24-2018
I didn't think it would be possible to mellow out the blanco any further, but the repo has done it. The pepper and citrus still come through, but it's complimented by sweet vanilla, a touch of cinnamon, and the super clean and lengthy finish of the blanco still powers through. This is perfect for sipping on its own or mixing into your cocktails if you want the extra weight and spice of a little wood to shine.
Price: $32.99 Add To Cart

Tequila Montejima Blanco (750ml)
Review Date: 07-24-2018
Only two mistakes were made in the production of this tequila. The first was a terrible bottle choice. Nothing to be done there. The second mistake: it was initially priced too high. We've fixed the second one. This is a screaming deal at half off for some excellent juice. It's the kind of mellow easy drinking tequila you can sip on all night. There is pepper and pineapple on the nose, richness on the palate, and no bite whatsoever to the very smooth finish.
Price: $26.99 Add To Cart

2015 Domaine de Bila Haut "Occultum Lapidem" Côtes de Roussillon-Villages Latour de France
Review Date: 07-24-2018
Juicy, dark, rich, supple, and intense. This easy drinker is sure to delight just about everyone. It's aged completely in concrete tanks, so you've got nothing interfering with the purest expression of fruit in all of its complexity, both sweet and savory. In the best vintages like 2015, taking advantage of wines like this is important. It's not necessary to spend a fortune to get a taste of the best a region has to offer!
Price: $23.99 Add To Cart
RP 94

2016 Mas Codina Xarel-lo Penedes
Review Date: 07-24-2018
I love Spain for so many reasons, but perhaps the first and foremost is the plethora of incredible wine at obscenely low prices. The Mas Codina Xarel Lo is just such a wine. It's old school Catalonia. 5 months in barrels, a mix of chestnut and French oak, this wine has a touch of everything. It's extremely difficult to describe since it's a grape I don't have extensive experience with in dry, still whites. It's new and yet familiar. There is weight and gentle fruit, like a chardonnay, but great acidity and freshness like a chenin blanc. It strikes me as being excellent on its own and with food. I will have to take home 3 or 4 bottles to be sure. I am determined to press on and investigate. Fortunately I can do so without worrying about the wine budget!
Price: $14.99 Add To Cart

2009 La Rioja Alta "904" Gran Reserva Rioja
Review Date: 07-24-2018
I was surprised to see the 2009 904 come into stock already. Then I tasted it and realized it's nearly perfect. At first blush it's upfront vanilla and spice from the 4 years in American oak. Give it a moment and things begin to shift. You progress from dark and ripe tones into a brighter fresher more elegant thing altogether. The acid really makes itself known on the finish, just begging you to pair it with food. A good steak or any braised meat, or especially Jamon Iberico if you can get it. It continues to evolve in the glass flashing mineral intensity, mouthwatering acidity, juicy fruits, and spicy wood in turns and combinations. Like all good Rioja, it will continue this metamorphosis in the cellar and depending on when you're lucky enough to pop the cork you will experience a different iteration of greatness every time.
Price: $59.99 Add To Cart
JS 97 RP 95

2015 Felsina "Rancia" Chianti Classico Riserva
Review Date: 07-24-2018
Decidedly one for the ages. The superlative 2015 vintage delivers yet again. This wine is both massive and balanced. It's laden with ripe cherries and plums and still has verve and focus due to the great acid and tannin. The drive and length is spectacular. This is the best Rancia I've tasted over the last 5 years without a doubt.

2014 Cristom "Estate" Eola-Amity Hills Pinot Noir
Review Date: 07-24-2018
Cristom has knocked it out of the park on this estate offering. This combo of their single vineyards comes together with tremendous grace. The 2014 vintage in Oregon can be quite ripe and there is certainly no shortage of beautiful fruit here, but there is also savor and freshness. The alcohol is supremely well managed for such a ripe vintage coming in at a modest 13.5 and allowing the incredible terroir of Eola Amity Hills to shine. Considering I'm still drinking my 2008 Cristom pinots to great enjoyment, I expect these beauties to last a very long time.

2014 Varner "Upper Picnic Block - Spring Ridge Vineyard" Santa Cruz Mountains Pinot Noir
Review Date: 07-24-2018
The last of a legend. The Varner brothers have been making incredible wines from the Spring Ridge Vineyard for a long time, but 2014 will be the last vintage as they've moved on to new projects around Santa Barbara. This pinot is darkly fruited on both the nose and palate, but has great freshness and savor at the same time. The plums, cherries, and even black fruits come through amidst a denser core of woody herbs. Everything is lifted by a great acidity that keeps the wine fresh and makes it a perfect food pairing pinot. This is one to add to the cellar not only because it's a piece of history, but because you'll thoroughly enjoy drinking a case over time as it inevitably develops even more complexity.
Price: $44.95 Add To Cart
RP 95 VN 95

2012 Louis Brochet "Alain" Millesime Brut Champagne
Review Date: 07-24-2018
The nose on this Champagne is one of the most compelling I've ever encountered. It's loaded with brioche, floral tones, golden apples, red fruits, and seems to be ever changing. The palate does not disappoint after such a lead in. It's rich, refreshing and has incredible length. It leaves your palate feeling fresher than it was before and brings you back for more. Incredible balance from an interesting vintage. 2012 started slow and was saved by a miracle August resulting in a small crop of nearly perfect fruit. There isn't much of it, but 2012 will go down in history as a great vintage for Champagne.
Price: $34.99 Add To Cart

2016 Helen's Hill "Ingram Road" Pinot Noir Yarra Valley Victoria
Review Date: 07-02-2018
Fresh and juicy! This Pinot is an absolute steal and made in a style that you don't often find in this price point. It has great lift and bright acidity making it a wonderful food pairing wine. I'd recommend it with a simple roast chicken or fish.
Price: $17.99 Add To Cart

Wine Club

$14.99

Auchentoshan Three Wood Single Malt Whisky (750ml)
Review Date: 06-25-2018
Filled in 3 different barrel types, this dram showcases American Bourbon casks, Spanish Olorosso butts, and unctuous Pedro Ximenez casks. This cask regimen does several things. The bourbon highlights the inherent fruity, vanilla cake, and creme brulee character of the spirit. The Olorosso adds gobs of cocoa, nuttiness, and toffee. And of course, the PX dials up a beautiful sweetness, intensity, and raisined fruits. While this triple casks regime adds layers of complexity, body, and richness, it also belies the notion that Lowland whisky is light and simple. At just $56.99 this is a shameless sherry dram for every day enjoyment. While the lowlands does have some highly coveted bottles, it's this kind of easy enjoy-ability that makes it such a special place for whisky.
Price: $56.99 Add To Cart
WE 94

Auchentoshan "Bartender's Malt - Edition 1" Single Malt Scotch Whisky (750ml)
Review Date: 06-25-2018
My first experience tasting this whiskey was when David Driscoll poured it for me blind. My immediate reaction was: "well that's delicious, what's it cost, about 100 bucks?" When he told me it was well under $50 I walked downstairs and bought a bottle without saying another word. It's been an absolute go to ever since. The whisky itself is a blend of 5 decades of malt in all different types of barrels hand selected from Auchentoshan's warehouses by 12 of the world's best bartenders. The results are incredible. The whisky is fruity, malty, spicy, and sweet all at once. The elegant nature of the spirit produced by Auchentoshan's triple distillation makes this the perfect whisky for summer. The richness from all the different types of wood and ages makes it perfect for sipping. And the crazy price makes it the best possible base for your next cocktail. I recommend a Rob Roy.
Price: $44.95 Add To Cart

2012 La Fortuna Brunello di Montalcino
Review Date: 06-19-2018
This is an textbook example of the classic 2012 vintage. It's supremely drinkable now, but has the stuffing to last for a decade or three in the cellar. It's elegant yet rich and full of dark wild cherries and a savory herb garden of delight. The acidity is spot on and provides tremendous length and focus to the wine. There is a good reason this property is a perennial staff favorite.

2015 Mount Langi Ghiran "Cliff Edge" Shiraz Victoria
Review Date: 06-19-2018
The Cliff Edge is supple, rich, and lively. A fantastic combination for both easy drinking and food pairing. This Shiraz comes from cooler climate sites and is picked early for freshness, but doesn't lack for beautiful ripe fruits and a little touch of peppery soul. It's a great bottle to pair with a summer BBQ or to just bring to your next casual office party happy hour.
Price: $22.99 Add To Cart
JH 96 VN 92

Kaiyo "The Peated" Mizunara Oak Japanese Whisky (750ml)
Review Date: 06-14-2018
This instantly skyrocketed to my favorite of the 3 Kaiyo bottlings. The peat is just big enough to amp up everything else about the whisky but not overpower it. The first thing you notice is the incredible fruitiness of the spirit. Green apples stand out in a big way. The peat comes in a little bit later and takes the edge off of the sweet fruit. Salted caramel, sea spray, and other salty notes also hit it big on the nose. Perhaps this comes from the long ocean voyage the whiskey makes before bottling. The rocking of the ship and the intense humidity, pressure, and temperature changes from this trip allows for maximum contact and interaction between the juice and the world famous Mizunara Oak. The palate comes through with more cereal notes and lets the malt shine. The fruit dives into a more complex tropical set of flavors. Tons of coconut, pineapple, and sweet florals come out to play. The finish is quite long and presents really clean with just a graceful wafting smoke. All around a spectacular dram.
Price: $109.99 Add To Cart

2013 Casa Lapostolle "Cuvee Alexandre" Cabernet Sauvignon Apalta Vineyard
Review Date: 06-13-2018
Getting great old vine Cabernet from Chile is difficult to find. Much like California, a lot of Cab gets ripped up after 30 or 40 years when yields begin to drop. Not for Lapostolle! They are making this wine from 60 year old vines which offer immense concentration and power. Even more incredible than their foresight to keep this vineyard intact, is the fact that they can offer this wine for such a low price!

Pacory "L'Ideal" Ferme des Grimaux Poiré Domfront Organic Pear Cidre
Review Date: 06-13-2018
I'm so excited this has arrived. It's a fresh and fun cidre just in time for summer. It has, as you'd expect, intense pear fruitiness. But more than that it offers a full spectrum of pear complexity. It's off-dry and delightful. Served chilled it's very refreshing. I don't have a pool, so I can't open it there but I live near the beach and you'd better believe I'm drinking more than one of these on the sand this summer!
Price: $12.99 Add To Cart

Domaine Pacory 15 Year Old "K&L Exclusive" Domfrontais Calvados (750ml)
Review Date: 06-12-2018
An incredible fruit brandy from 100% pears and aged 15 years in oak. It's amazing to think that after that much time the oak doesn't overpower the pears, but indeed rings in as the perfect complement. Everything here is in balance and the combination of preserved and fresh ripe pear is something special. Fruit brandy lovers rejoice!
Price: $79.99 Add To Cart

2006 Bodegas Casa Juan Señor de Lesmos Reserva Rioja
Review Date: 06-12-2018
I've consumed more bottles of Lesmos than I can count. It is a key component and early catalyst in my long love affair with Rioja. The 2006 Reserva fits right in! It's a splendid follow up to the wildly popular 2005 and strikes the great balance between beautiful ripe fruit, delicate savory earth tones, and a bright acidity and freshness. Vinified in cement tank, aged wood, and absolutely no stainless steel, Lesmos fit's into the "classic" or "old school" category of Rioja. It's not to be missed!
Price: $19.99 Add To Cart

2013 Mount Eden "Estate" Santa Cruz Mountains Cabernet Sauvignon
Review Date: 06-12-2018
In the vintner's canon of California's 2013 vintage, this wine must be part of the gospel. It is undoubtedly a legendary classic in the making. It has everything. Heavy cassis fruit to lead an army of berries and black plums, an entire kitchen spice cabinet dominated by savor and spice and backed up with the sweeter spices from a perfect level of oak influence. Tobacco, cedar and cigar box are abundant. The acidity is incredible amidst all of the fruit. The tannin management is on point. This is a full bodied and rich cabernet that is defined by elegance and harmony. 2013 Mount Eden Cabernet undoubtedly has many years ahead of it and will feature heavily in some incredible evenings.

2014 Mount Eden "Estate" Santa Cruz Mountains Pinot Noir
Review Date: 06-12-2018
I don't have enough hyperbole to accurately describe how impressive Mount Eden is. It has always been a personal go to for a special bottle of Santa Cruz Mountain wine in any varietal they make. The 2014 pinot is no exception. It's very lively and fresh, but is really marked by a more savory tone than I remember from great vintages in the past. Given that I typically expect those flavors to develop with time in the cellar I'm thrilled to see what kind of added complexity this will have in due time.

2014 Mount Eden "Estate" Santa Cruz Mountains Chardonnay
Review Date: 06-12-2018
There are not many chardonnays that I recommend decanting, but this is one of them. It's built for the ages. It has drive and bright freshness and a flinty matchstick character that I almost exclusively associate with high end white Burgundy. The weight is super impressive and doesn't come exclusively from oak like so many CA chards but from intensity of fruit and a deft hand in the cellar. It's drinkable now with some time in the decanter, but it's also a wonderful cellar candidate from the legendary estate in the Santa Cruz Mountains.

2015 Lanessan, Haut-Médoc
Review Date: 06-12-2018
A perennial favorite at K&L, the Lanessan wines seem to get better every time I taste them. I've been a huge fan of previous vintages like 99, 01, and 07, but 2015 takes the cake. The strength of the vintage is part of the reason for this excessive praise, but infact the winemaking seems to be improved as well. Rather than have to wait for 10 or 15 years for Lanessan to strut, the 15 is a wonderful glass of wine right now and simply has the added bonus of assured improvement with age. It's sweetly fruited and savory at the same time, a beautiful combination for any Bordeaux. Be sure to decant it so the earthier tones can express themselves too!
Price: $19.99 Add To Cart
JS 93

2014 Castello di Volpaia Chianti Classico Riserva
Review Date: 06-12-2018
A wonderful achievement. Great wine makers skills truly come out in tough vintages. It's no secret that 2014 wasn't as strong as it could have been in Tuscany, but Volpaia has made one of the most accessible and easy drinking Chianti's I've had from any vintage and it sits atop the list for 2014 in particular. It is the perfect Chianti to drink now while waiting on the more classically reserved vintages to age and show their true potential. This wine is supple and soft, but not lacking for a backbone. It will pair with a wide range of hearty meals and is a no brainer if you're looking for that bottle to bring that everyone at the table will enjoy.

2015 John Duval "Entity" Shiraz Barossa Valley South Australia
Review Date: 06-12-2018
At first blush this seems like your typical Aussie Shiraz. In many ways it is. It's chockablock full of intense fruit, a peppery spice, and it is not a shy wine. Then it hits you: it is incredibly fresh at the same time. While this is a hallmark of great wines, it's not typically how I conceptualize Aussie Shiraz (although there are a bunch of great ones out there, so I have an incorrect generalization there...) It's amazing to be reminded that wines of power and substance do not have to sacrifice focus, freshness, and a beautiful linear drive. The finish here lasts forever and invites the next sip. Another hallmark that indicates greatness. Well done John Duval.

Page: 1 2 3 next