Best Sellers New Arrivals Local Events Locations Gift Cards My Account

Staff Favorites - Andrew Whiteley

Andrew Whiteley
Andrew Whiteley  | Send Email  |   Subscribe to My Sommelier Service


Reviews

Page: 1 2 3 next
1997 Macduff 21 Year Old "Hepburn's Choice" K&L Exclusive Single Barrel Cask Strength Single Malt Scotch Whisky (750ml)
Review Date: 11-15-2018
Rich, malty, and possessing just a touch of chewiness. This is an incredibly clean and pure malt. Cereal and honey are the high tones. A bit of caramel and chocolate make up the bass. A real workhorse for the blending industry, it's a bit of a rarity in the US to see the single malt on its own. That's a real shame, since it's a clarion call for pristine malt flavor. A gentle fruitiness rounds out the inherent flavor of the barley. If you like old school Highland Scotch, this casks is a for you. It's a thing of beauty.
Price: $79.99 Add To Cart

1997 Hector Macbeth (Glenfiddich) 21 Year Old "Hepburn's Choice" K&L Exclusive Single Barrel Cask Strength Blended Malt Scotch Whisky (750ml)
Review Date: 11-15-2018
Teaspooned casks offer some of the best deals in Scotland. Invariably it is the biggest and most prestigious names in Scotch that don't want to see their whisky on the independent market trading on their hard earned reputation. This famous Glen full of deer is elegance defined. It's gentle and fruity, supple from 21 long years in a refilled hogshead barrel. Vanilla and creme brulee layer on top of cooked grains and fresh malty wort. A little bit of saline keeps it from feeling sweet. It's balanced and endlessly approachable. A stunning value in it's own right, a downright steal considering it's heritage.
Price: $109.99 Add To Cart

1996 Bowmore 22 Year Old "Old Malt Cask" K&L Exclusive Single Barrel Cask Strength Single Malt Scotch Whisky (750ml)
Review Date: 11-15-2018
One of the best experiences I've had at any distillery was at Bowmore this last May. I had a glass of cask strength Bowmore in my glass, screaming of peat smoke, when we walked into the kiln while it was drying malt. Surrounded by peat smoke inside and out I nosed my glass and magic struck. Suddenly the entire world stopped and flavors that were previously undetected skyrocketed to the surface. That wide world of Bowmore I first experienced in their kiln exists in full in this bottling. The fruitiness is amazing. There are peaches, pears, dried apples, a touch of fig. An herbaceous quality that was entirely new to me in Bowmore until that day is readily apparent here. Green peppercorn, jalapenos, and mint all bounce around the palate. The smoke is sweet, well integrated, decidedly present, but not overwhelming. Salt and bacon fat mix into tobacco, wood tannin, sweet baking spices and supple leather. All of that flavor carries the cask strength alcohol with ease. It's soft, complex, and endlessly engaging. While I certainly can't spend $100,000 to taste the legendary 1966, I can drop the $150 bucks to capture some of the magic that is undoubtedly there.
Price: $149.99 Add To Cart

1965 Carsebridge 52 Year Old "Sovereign" K&L Exclusive Single Barrel Cask Strength Single Grain Scotch Whisky (750ml)
Review Date: 11-15-2018
"If I could save time in a bottle The first thing that I'd like to do Is to save every day 'Til eternity passes away Just to spend them with you" Sovereign has done the hard work of capturing time in a bottle. At first blush, this whisky is quite dry, but after a sip or two a shocking amount of fruit presents itself. It's lush with stone fruits and pears. For those who prize "smooth" above all else in their whisky, it is impossible to surpass the rich velvety quality of this dram. Darker notes of milk chocolate and dusty cocoa weave in and out of the glass. The angel's share of this cask is enormous. It's one of 157 bottles and proofed naturally to 43.4% alcohol. For comparison, most hogshead barrels yield about 250 bottles. Those are some thirsty angels, and with one taste, it's obvious why.
Price: $349.99 Add To Cart

2006 Foursquare 11 Year Old "Golden Devil" Single Barrel Barbados Rum (750ml)
Review Date: 11-15-2018
Every bottling I've ever had of Foursquare has incredible intensity and this is no exception. It is the kind of bottle that you can smell when someone opens it across the room. A combination of pot and column distillate, it's got just enough of the sweet funk to satisfy the biggest rum geeks, but is so balanced and easy drinking anyone can enjoy it on it's own. It's jammed with cocoa nibs, vanilla, banana, roasted hazelnuts and a garden of tropical flowers. There is just a touch of the earthy rubber tree and a whiff of campfire to balance out the big sweetness of the bourbon barrel. With some dilution the flavors stretch out and the intensity mellows into a perfect casual sipper.
Price: $89.99 Add To Cart

2015 Bodegas Palacios Remondo "La Montesa" Crianza Rioja
Review Date: 11-13-2018
I hadn't realized this wine had come into the stock when I opened the 2014 for dinner last Sunday. I'm so glad I did. Getting to taste these back to back was the perfect reminder of just how good these wines are. The 2014 which was so vibrant and fresh is overshadowed by the quality of the 2015. While the acidity is still very present, the ripe fruit of the '15 just takes this wine over the top. The is a touch more oak on this bottling, but it's still perfectly balanced because there is more stuffing to work with here. A testament to the winemaker for adjusting his approach based on vintage. I love this wine just as much as the previous vintage, the only thing that has changed is what I will pair it with. While I tended to lean towards lighter fish and chicken dishes with the leaner 14, I intend to pair this with more robust meals like pork or lamb chops and heavier chicken stews.

2005 Bodegas Casa Juan Señor de Lesmos Gran Reserva Rioja
Review Date: 11-13-2018
I've been waiting years for this release! I have consumed cases of the 1998 Gran Reserva (one of my all time favorite wines) and I had extremely high hopes for the 2005. Fortunately my patience has been rewarded. This beauty is every bit as good as the 1998. Being 7 years younger it is only just now stepping into the complexity that will undoubtedly develop. It's velvety smooth and in its infancy it has wonderful liveliness. The oak has just perfectly integrated and provides a backbone of spice, tannin, and contributes to the wonderful mouth feel. Given how many bottles I've enjoyed over such a wide drinking window of the 1998, I've already socked away a bunch of these 2005s to drink now and over the next 15 years.
Price: $29.99 Add To Cart

2010 Domaine de la Jaufrette Châteauneuf-du-Pape
Review Date: 11-13-2018
The Southern Rhone's most famous appellation certainly deserves it's reputation. What's amazing about this bottle is how much wine it delivers for the price point. Typically the greats of Chateauneuf Du Pape, especially from a top vintage, will run you over a hundred bucks. This superb wine deserves to be considered with the best of the appellation and is half that price. It's dense wine with a great acid cut and will stand up in the cellar for many years to come.
Price: $49.99 Add To Cart

2010 Domaine de la Jaufrette Vacqueyras
Review Date: 11-13-2018
The 2010 vintage in the Rhone was spectacular. The wines are well structured, ripe, and vibrant. This Vacqueyras is a perfect example of why the vintage was so heralded. Just coming into its prime drinking window, this wine is darker and richer than Jaufrette's Cotes du Rhone and shows considerably more grip and texture. The sweet berry fruit plays perfectly with the garrigue and woodsy herbaceous notes. Don't hesitate to drink this now, but if you "forget" a few in your cellar, your future self won't be upset.
Price: $34.99 Add To Cart

2012 Domaine de la Jaufrette Côtes-du-Rhone
Review Date: 11-13-2018
One of my favorite things about our Rhone program is that we get the chance to introduce people to (and drink for ourselves) affordable Rhone blends with some age on them. Domaine De La Jaufrette has a very compelling lineup of wines at the moment from two excellent vintages. The 2012 Cotes Du Rhone is beautifully plummy in fruit and high in acidity. The combination is a perfect complement for the Thanksgiving table. The added complexity of 6 years of aging has lent the savory and earthy tones the Rhone is famous for.
Price: $24.99 Add To Cart

2017 Gentilini Robola of Cephalonia Greece
Review Date: 11-13-2018
Mouthwatering acidity and a cool minerality come together in a wonderful drinking experience. Light in body and very fresh, this zippy white is powerful and structured. I'm temped to age a few bottles, but they're so satisfying right now that I don't think I'll be able to keep my hands off of them!
Price: $17.99 Add To Cart
RP 91

2016 Domaine Nerantzi Assyrtiko Serres Greece
Review Date: 11-13-2018
I generally think of Assyrtiko as a lively and fresh light bodied varietal. While this wine is indeed zippy, it has a wonderful weight and texture to it. It's denser than many Assyrtiko bottlings. The bright citrus flavors are supported by minerality and a cast of deeper bass tones. This added texture makes this a perfect pairing wine for lots of food. Chicken, seafood, and roasted veggies all come to mind.
Price: $17.99 Add To Cart
W&S 94

1996 Ardmore 21 Year Old "Old Malt Cask" K&L Exclusive Single Barrel Cask Strength Single Malt Scotch Whisky (750ml)
Review Date: 11-13-2018
A slamming selection of 20+ year old malts this year offer incredible value. The Ardmore fits right in. The gentle woodsmoke like peat of Ardmore has melted into the background with the age of this cask. Golden fruit, golden grain, and golden color is the name of the game here. The beautiful fruity malt of Ardmore's long and clean fermentations rides high above the peat that has softened incredibly with age. At the time this cask was distilled Ardmore still coal fired their stills. This process, while extremely dangerous, does seem to yield a more rich and complex flavor due to hotspots on the still. It's so important in fact, that Ardmore build special kinked steam coils to replicate these hot spots when they moved to the safer method of heating the stills. This is a rare chance to grab a glass of whiskey history as only a tiny handful of distilleries still direct fire.
Price: $89.99 Add To Cart

1998 Tamdhu 20 Year Old "Old Malt Cask" K&L Exclusive Single First Fill Hogshead Cask Strength Single Malt Scotch Whisky (750ml)
Review Date: 11-13-2018
Salty like a fino sherry on the nose. Rich like an olorosso on the palate. The sherry staves of this first fill hogshead come through crystal clear. The rich and oily Tamdhu malt coats the palate and plays perfectly with all the added richness from the cask. Dark dried fruits fill your mouth and dance with golden malt. It's a powerful whiskey, a rich and complex cask, and a ludicrously good deal. The Tamdhu name doesn't have the flash or cache of some other big name distilleries, but it does provide exceptionally good malt at affordable prices. This cask absolutely crushes it.
Price: $89.99 Add To Cart

1995 Springbank 22 Year Old "Hunter Laing Old & Rare" K&L Exclusive Single Barrel Cask Strength Single Malt Whisky (750ml)
Review Date: 11-13-2018
It's more or less impossible to not love Springbank. It is truly a distillery that you can wax poetic about and not be lying to yourself. It is as old school as it gets, always has been, and I hope always will be. If you already know this, I don't have to tell you. If you don't already know this, you must venture into some of the best whiskey the world has to offer. If you just want to take a peek without breaking the bank, grab a bottle of the Springbank 10. If you already know or you want to dive into the deep end, get a bottle of this cask. It's pure Springbank magic. It's chewy and full bodied, but light on it's feet. I'd go so far as to say it's fresh as a daisy. There is that classic Springbank peat, never overwhelming, just enough to give it a bottomless depth and an added connection to the earth. The malt is in its full regalia. The proof is perfect. In short, this is the deal of the year. If you know what you like, and you like Campbeltown's best distillery, this is perfection.
Price: $399.99 Add To Cart

2006 Croftengea 12 Year Old "Hepburn's Choice" K&L Exclusive Single Barrel Cask Strength Single Malt Scotch Whisky (750ml)
Review Date: 11-11-2018
In the world of whisky "rare" is generally synonymous with "expensive." This doesn't have to always been the case, sometimes you just need someone like K&L to dig up a rarity so obscure that the market hasn't quite figured out what it should cost yet. Loch Lomond is an enormous distillery at the foot of its namesake lake which has the capacity to produce an entire range of spirits, 11 different makes in total. While nearly everything they make has been on the market at one time or another as an official bottling, they really mostly exist in the "behind the curtain" independent bottling and blending world. Croftengea is the most heavily peated malt they produce at Loch Lomond, and one of the most compelling. It's peat is that of pure smoke, not the sea brine associated with Islay, the spiritual home of peated malt. The fruitiness of the malt comes through in a big way, it showcases citrus, sweet pear, and ripe stonefruits that all play beautifully with the smoke of a roaring fireplace. It's so bright that I'm tempted to call it a refreshing malt, but the idea of a refreshing smoky malt does seem odd. In tasting it I'm inclined to think it would make the perfect smoky highball. However you decide to drink it, if you like peaty whisky, you're sure to enjoy this rarely seen brand. At the absurdly low price, you'll be able to enjoy it now and often.
Top Value!
Price: $59.99 Add To Cart

1995 Blair Athol 23 Year Old "Old Malt Cask" K&L Exclusive Single Sherry Butt Cask Strength Single Malt Scotch Whisky (750ml)
Review Date: 11-11-2018
Once again we have Blair Athol on the shelves! It has been far too long and I've fielded too many customer requests hoping for a bottle of our previous casks to pop up. While a touch younger and no where near as dark in sherry color, this wonderful cask shows off all of the splendor of sherry aged Blair Athol with more sophistication than our previous bottlings. The chocolate fudge and spice cake of the sherry butt is more deeply integrated and the nutty texture and earthy flavors of the malt shine through. Don't let that gentle sounding description fool you. The nose is just as robust as the first fill sherry monsters of yesteryear, but the palate doesn't attack you, it lulls you into a false sense of security instead. At nearly 60%, for all its grace, this malt still packs a wallop. With a water addition it softens (a little) and exposes more of a dried orange peel and caramelized candied almond profile. A big malt for those who want power in their glass. And all for a pittance in comparison to our past the pair of 1988's we've offered in the last couple of years.
Price: $109.99 Add To Cart

2001 Hampden 16 Year Old "Faultline" K&L Exclusive Single Barrel Cask Strength Jamaican Rum (750ml)
Review Date: 11-08-2018
Perhaps the most flavorful and complex spirit on our shelves at the moment. Nothing really compares to Jamaican heavy pot still rum. An fascinating array of flavors ranging from toasted sesame, jasmine flowers, baked bread, roasted meats with caramelized BBQ sauce, salted fruits, soy sauce, a fresh can of tennis balls, sweet vanilla, caramel, petrichor, there is more flavor here than can possibly be described. With all of that craziness going on it's easy to think it only has a place in the most complex tiki cocktails, but in truth, I enjoy it with several ice cubes for dilution as an easy to make but exceedingly complex cocktail.
Price: $109.99 Add To Cart

Four Roses K&L Exclusive OBSQ (9 Years Old, 4 Months) Single Barrel Cask Strength Bourbon Whiskey (750ml)
Review Date: 11-08-2018
For those who want to investigate how a single change in production can dramatically change a whiskey, this barrel compared with the OESQ is a perfect side by side. Same facility, same straight whiskey distillation, same floral yeast strain. The only difference here is the high rye mashbill, and boy what a difference. Instead of the light and fruity components taking center stage, the spicier, more full bodied rye dominates and the sweet banana and floral nectar flavors move back into the finish. It's like drinking the OESQ in reverse. Both exceptional whiskies, two totally different experiences.
Price: $69.99 Add To Cart

Four Roses K&L Exclusive OESQ (9 Years Old, 8 Months) Single Barrel Cask Strength Bourbon Whiskey (750ml)
Review Date: 11-08-2018
OESQ is always one of my favorite recipes from Four Roses. In particular it's the Q that I'm always so enthralled with. The careful cultivation of 5 different strains of yeast at Four Roses combined with a proper cask strength bottling makes for the most interesting barrel selections in all of Kentucky. The Q yeast strain provides exceptional floral and fruity notes. In many ways, it reminds me of the delicate flavors of fine Cognac, but then, like a freight train, it hits you with all the body, power, and spice of Kentucky's finest export.
Price: $69.99 Add To Cart

High West "American Prairie"" K&L Exclusive Single Barrel Port Finished Bourbon Whiskey (750ml)
Review Date: 11-08-2018
While not unheard of, red fruits aren't usually a huge tasting note in bourbon. Thanks to the tawny port finish on this casks of American Prairie, it's a prominent component to this whiskey. The sweet fruit plays perfectly with the more oxidative flavors of the port like chocolate and roasted nuts. Combine that with the soft and sweet vanilla, creme brulee, and gentle kick of the bourbon and you have a great specimen of High West and all of their wonderful creativity. It drinks like a softer and slightly sweeter version of The Dram, or a much beefier take on Angel's Envy. The only port finished single barrel to make it to California, I don't expect this one to be around long.
Price: $54.99 Add To Cart

Russell's Reserve Single Barrel "#17-314" (Rickhouse B, 6th Floor) K&L Exclusive Kentucky Straight Bourbon (750ml)
Review Date: 11-08-2018
This barrel tastes just like Christmas to me. A constant stream of cinnamon, nutmeg, baked bread, pie crusts, and some savory earthy herbs going on in the kitchen. It's raging hot and sweet spice and leaves no questions as to how WT got the nickname Kickin' Chicken. If you had to pin me down for a favorite Russell's barrel in our current stock, it's this one. It's the gift this year for every bourbon loving family member I have.
Price: $64.99 Add To Cart

Russell's Reserve Single Barrel "#17-092" (Rickhouse B, 5th Floor) K&L Exclusive Kentucky Straight Bourbon (750ml)
Review Date: 11-08-2018
Our current selection of Russell's barrels allows everyone who has ever thought "I'd sure love to travel to distilleries and pick and choose barrels of whiskey" to pull back the curtain and experience the job of K&L Spirits Buyer for themselves. Imagine being presented with dozens of barrels and trying to choose your favorite one. Occasionally the differences are subtle. Sometimes they are impossible to miss. We found so many great barrels at Wild Turkey that we couldn't say no to the opportunity to buy them since we knew there was something for every bourbon drinker. #092 opens with generous caramel and toffee sweetness and progresses into a more savory realm of woody garden herbs, tobacco, and leather. The finish carries on and expands into cracked pepper and grilled fruits.
Price: $64.99 Add To Cart

Russell's Reserve Single Barrel "#428" (Rickhouse M, 4th Floor) K&L Exclusive Kentucky Straight Bourbon (750ml)
Review Date: 11-08-2018
Noticeably sweet and fruity in comparison to the other Russell's barrels in stock. A neat glass of this feels like you've already mixed a Manhattan. That brandied cherry note is balanced by a complex dance of coffee and chocolate dance. It's a perfect dessert bourbon. If you can't decide between pulling a fresh shot of espresso, a piece of cake, or a drink, pour one of these and feel like you're enjoying all three. An excellent nightcap.
Price: $64.99 Add To Cart

Russell's Reserve Single Barrel "#320" (Rickhouse K, 5th Floor) K&L Exclusive Kentucky Straight Bourbon (750ml)
Review Date: 11-08-2018
Exotic and beguiling. Cask #320 is packed with brewers spices, varnish, fresh herbs, and caramel galore. With a huge presence on the palate this barrel will stand up in the most complex cocktails or any additions of water or ice. It's insanely enjoyable neat and doesn't possess a hard edge. Just big, rich, and round bourbon to delight. If you want a taste of the past, this is the bottle. It'll remind you that they just don't make 'em like they used to.
Price: $64.99 Add To Cart

1996 Linkwood 21 Year Old "Signatory" K&L Exclusive Single Barrel Cask Strength Single Malt Whisky (750ml)
Review Date: 11-07-2018
Immediately familiar and yet, completely new. This whisky explodes on the palate with a ferocity that I confess, I must tame with a cube or more than a drop of water. As a major Diageo component whisky, you will typically only experience Linkwood cut with soft grain whisky, never in it's full power. This beast at cask strength is a bomb of chocolate covered fruit mixed with granola in vanilla yogurt. It's got tang, sweetness, a bit of dank funk, and major muscle. With a generous drop of water, the game changes dramatically. The softer side of Linkwood that feels like home comes out. A complex blend of cooking spices make you feel like you're baking for the holidays. Jam and honey and fresh winter fruits fill the glass. It's immediately transformed in to one of the easiest drinking Scotches in the store. Factor in the price of this bottle compared to a OB from the distillery and you've got yourself a hell of a deal.
Price: $129.99 Add To Cart

Savage & Cooke "Second Glance" K&L Exclusive Cask Strength American Whiskey
Review Date: 11-07-2018
Dave Phinney's whiskies are currently made in Kentucky, but really come to life once they reach his new distillery on Mare Island and are married with the best California has to offer. The man behind the Prisoner and Orin Swift wines knows a thing or two about wine barrels. This whiskey rested in a blend of 80% Zinfandel and 20% Grenache barrels from Dave's Napa winery. Bottled at cask strength, it carries those flavors with remarkable clarity. The underlying heavily corn mash bill has tons of sweetness and rich buttery popcorn flavors and lifts the intense dark fruits and pepper spice of the Zinfandel to the top of the glass. This is balanced by the lighter floral tones and bright jammy flavors of the Grenache. The end result is nearly a Manhattan in itself. Just pour it on the rocks, toss in a cherry and have yourself a great cocktail without the extra sweetness of vermouth. On the palate, the bread spices really stand out and contribute to a long and intense finish. Add a little water and more chocolate and caramel flavors come to the front. Anyway you serve it, this is an extremely versatile whiskey.
Price: $49.99 Add To Cart

2006 Craigellachie 12 Year Old "Sovereign" K&L Exclusive Single Sherry Butt Cask Strength Single Malt Scotch Whisky (750ml)
Review Date: 11-06-2018
This has daily drinker all over it. It's a hefty, oily, waxy scotch with deep sherry notes and for a measly 55 bucks for full cask strength juice. The powdery tannins are present, but not overpowering. They showcase the sexy rancio flavors of the finest sherries and bring out the underlying fruity character of the malt. A little water added and this malt explodes into flavors of rolled oats, granola, stone fruit compote, dried figs and cold beer. A perfect pour for every night of the week.
Price: $54.99 Add To Cart

1982 L'Encantada 35 Year Old "Del Cassou #187" Bas-Armagnac (750ml)
Review Date: 11-06-2018
Glorious. This Armagnac has a little bit of everything to offer. It is sweet and savory, spicy and dry and highlighted by bursts of freshness. I believe it's nearly impossible to not like this brandy because it has something for everyone. There are no pointy edges or harsh tannins. It's perfectly mellow yet doesn't lack for a robust flavor and texture. If you collect fine spirits, this bottling is not to be missed. It's the kind of bottle you savor and hoard. Just make sure you have enough space because you'll probably never drink the last 2oz since once it's gone, it's gone.
Price: $139.99 Add To Cart
Limit of 12 per customer

1987 L'Encantada 30 Year Old "Del Cassou #14" Bas-Armagnac (750ml)
Review Date: 11-06-2018
This is a post-Thanksgiving dinner drink if I've ever tasted one. Hell, it could easily be enjoyed with your traditional TG table fare. There is a richness and sweetness here that surpasses the younger Encantada casks, although, it's not quite as full as the '82. Spices and cooked fruits abound. Cinnamon coated apples and flaky dough immediately conjure apple pie. Darker fruits like black cherry and plum soften the wood tannins a bit, but the finish is robust, spicy, and full throated. A definite classic.
Price: $119.99 Add To Cart
Limit of 12 per customer

1990 L'Encantada 27 Year Old "Domaine le Parre #18" Tenarèze Armagnac (750ml)
Review Date: 11-06-2018
I've been hard pressed to pick a favorite among the new batch of L'Encantada Armagnac's, but the 27 year Le Parre #18 certainly makes it case. There is a tremendous minerality and freshness to this brandy that I frankly wasn't expecting. The complex dry nose misleads the rich and fruity palate. These kind of juxtapositions excite me and tend to be the most compelling drams for me. One sip is a long walk through a classic English estate: you smell the wet stone of the building, taste the florals and fruits of a diverse orchard and garden, and the fresh herbs on the finish cling to you as you walk on by. It's a magical drinking experience.
Price: $89.99 Add To Cart
Limit of 12 per customer

1997 L'Encantada 20 Year Old "Bellair #36" Bas-Armagnac (750ml)
Review Date: 11-06-2018
Absolutely one of the most unique Armagnac's we have ever offered. The tannic structure is completely different than most brandies of this age. It is remarkably well integrated into the spirit offering a full, but subtle mouth feel. and a tremendously enjoyable drinking experience. The extra large barrels also allows for more oxidation providing the rancio notes more associated with olorosso sherry. The immediate finish is long and dusty, but gives way to cracked pepper intermingled with dried fruits as you let it linger. The texture of the spirit makes it easy to forget about the 51.7% alcohol when drinking neat, but the addition of a drop of water changes everything and brings the fruit to the foreground on the nose and palate.
Price: $99.99 Add To Cart
Limit of 12 per customer

2010 Caol Ila 7 Year Old "Sovereign" K&L Exclusive Single Sherry Finished Butt Cask Strength Single Malt Scotch Whisky (750ml)
Review Date: 10-31-2018
The sherry on this whisky is out of control. To have this much flavor in 7 years seems impossible. Turns out - the cask was refreshed with sherry prior to being charged with new Caol Ila. Now everything makes sense. It's loaded. Fully loaded. Bacon fat and rancio blend perfectly. Dried nuts, figs, dates, and toasted almonds fold into fresh pastry dough. The whole thing bakes in a wood fired oven and finds itself transmuted from the kitchen to the glass. The good news is this only takes 7 years to make. The bad news is not enough people are doing it this way. This cask will be gone before you know it and I have no idea when we will see one like it again.
Price: $49.99 Add To Cart

2009 Caol Ila 8 Year Old "Signatory" Single Hogshead Cask Strength Single Malt Scotch Whisky (750ml)
Review Date: 10-31-2018
Fall is the most magical time of year in my book. It always brings with it a new container of Scotch! And that almost always includes a couple of beautiful young peaty whiskies at reasonable prices. This year, there is one of the best side by side comparisons I've seen in years. 2 different Caol Ila barrels, one 7 years old, the other 8. One in first fill bourbon casks, the other in sherry. Both well under a hundred bucks. This Signatory barrel is all about the smoke and earth. The vanillans of the bourbon barrel just raise the smoke on a pedestal. The aroma is crystal clear - beach bonfire fueled by soaking wet logs. The palate is richer than expected, giving much more spice than you find in the nose. For the finish, the logs dry out and you get the beautiful warmth of a glowing fire. This will take you from the start of the evening right on through until morning.
Price: $89.99 Add To Cart

2010 Ben Nevis 7 Year Old "Signatory" 1st Fill Bourbon Barrel Cask Strength Single Malt Scotch Whisky (750ml)
Review Date: 10-31-2018
The quality of young malt can vary tremendously, but it is casks like this that open your eyes to why whiskies can be so successful at younger ages. This cask is perfect. It's full flavored, balanced, charming even. The oily nature of Ben Nevis melds with the richness of the first fill bourbon cask perfectly. Each one highlights the other's best qualities. The cask brings out inherent malty tones of the spirit. Baked shortbread cookies and cornbread sit pretty with the vanilla and baking spice of the bourbon barrel. It's amazing how 7 short years can make such a crushable whisky. Like all whisky, it's inherent "goodness" is a function of price as well as flavor. When you factor in the ludicrously low price, this whisky falls firmly in the territory of greatness.
Price: $59.99 Add To Cart

2008 Tullibardine 10 Year Old "Sovereign" K&L Exclusive Single Barrel Cask Strength Single Malt Scotch Whisky (750ml)
Review Date: 10-31-2018
I get asked all the time what my favorite whiskey is. It's an impossible question to answer without a lot of context caveats, but what does hold true for any candidate in the "best whiskey" category is they offer value. This gem from Tullibardine offers extreme value. For 50 bucks, this hits so many high points. It's fresh and full of bright fruit. It offers a huge spectrum of flavors from a salty earthy tone straight through cut grass, caramel, cereal grain, and white florals. All the while it has the full and oily texture you'd expect from any Highland Scotch. While we still have a little warm weather, this is at the front of my liquor cabinet; a perfect afternoon whiskey!
Price: $49.99 Add To Cart

Old Potrero "K&L Exclusive Barrel #9" Single Malt Straight Rye Whiskey (750ml)
Review Date: 10-26-2018
Dominated by chocolate, cinnamon, a touch of grass, the nose is very well balanced. Much softer than #3 on the palate, has a surprisingly malty quality to it. Elegant, but with great gusto and power. More chocolate and mocha than the #3 cask. The finish is warm, long, and pleasing. A complex blend of caramel and pepper mixed with cinnamon and allspice. A great full powered all around rye.
Price: $99.99 Add To Cart

Old Potrero "K&L Exclusive Barrel #3" Single Malt Straight Rye Whiskey (750ml)
Review Date: 10-26-2018
More in your face barrel spice and rye's dry and dusty natural character than barrel #9. This is no holds barred, take down whiskey. It will bang your teeth in with the intense baking spices, ripping proof, and robust barrel notes. The finish lasts forever due to the high proofs ability to carry the massive amount of flavor to every portion of your palate. There is no more intense and fully flavored rye on the shelf.
Price: $99.99 Add To Cart

1991 Invergordon 26 Year Old "Old Particular" K&L Exclusive Single Barrel Cask Strength Single Grain Scotch Whisky (750ml)
Review Date: 09-12-2018
K&L has championed single grain whisky for a long time. Every time we have a new cask land, this approach is reaffirmed. It's an incredibly affordable alternative to single malt and offers a unique look at impressive age statements without breaking the bank. My favorite thing about old grain is the slightly tropical, often coconut, notes that develop around the 20-25 year mark. It's a lovely flavor and this bottle of Invergordon has it in spades. Not to mention all of the other complexity and nuance that develops in that kind of time frame. It's an array of vanilla and wood spice intermixed with fruits, nuts, and glazed donuts. It holds it's 55.5% proof perfectly. Drink it neat or with a drop of two of water to really open things up. An ice cube doesn't go too far if you like to cool things down. Hell, at this price, you can afford to mix it into your favorite version of a Horse's Neck. It's a perfect match with the spice of the ginger.
Price: $89.99 Add To Cart

Whistle Pig "Farmstock" Rye Crop No. 002 Whiskey (750ml)
Review Date: 09-11-2018
The 2nd annual Farmstock release is the best way to get a shot at what the Whistle Pig of the future will taste like. This year it contains 32% of their Vermont distillate and it's a delicious, spicy, full bodied rye that comes with the big old punch of sweet vanilla that you already know and love. If you loved the first Farmstock, you'll definitely be floored by this release!
Price: $69.99 Add To Cart

Wine Club

$59.99

2013 Leeuwin "Art Series" Cabernet Sauvignon Margaret River Western Australia
Review Date: 08-28-2018
There is a serious argument that Leeuwin is the finest Cabernet producer in the Margaret River and certainly finds it's place in the top wines of Australia and the world. Dark and intense, but amazingly fresh. This is a wine not to be missed. The perfect balance makes it a candidate for drinking now, but it is guaranteed to age beautifully and continue to develop even more of the savory cedar box, tobacco, and mint notes. The toasty oak notes are seamlessly integrated into the wine already. With the huge list of big scores on this wine, it's obvious that the quality is there. But more importantly to me, this wine stands out even in a lineup of K&L favorites.

Kilchoman 9 Year Old 100% Islay Barley K&L Exclusive Cask #549 Single Malt Scotch Whisky (750ml)
Review Date: 08-22-2018
This cask is a real stoater. A thing of exceptional beauty and grace. The 100% Islay barley sings it sweet song loud and clear. While the Machir Bay typically hovers around 50ppm in phenols, the Islay barley malt is lighter in peat smoke, roughly 15-20ppm. The result is a nuanced whiskey that cries out with freshness. In addition to the fruitiness, there are really complex floral and vegetal tones. Like a field of clover blossoms. It's citrusy, with notes of cut grass, a touch of sea salt, tropical fruit, and a delicate smoke like a campfire wafting across the bay on a foggy night. The palate is superbly balanced. The Buffalo Trace Bourbon barrel leaves a signature cinnamon and butterscotch profile while the barley, grown just a few hundred yards from it's malting barn and stills, really dials up the sweet fresh fruit. The finish is clean and long, lingering with more citrus, creme brulee, and easy smoke.
Price: $149.99 Add To Cart

2008 Louis Roederer "Cristal" Brut Champagne
Review Date: 08-21-2018
Well there isn't a lot I can add to the description of this wine, but having just tasted it blind at our most recent Champagne tasting I felt compelled to add my two cents. Blind tasting is a funny thing. It's a great way to force someone to evaluate a wine on it's own merit, not the branding/marketing/preconceived notions that go with it. Every single staff member in our tasting loved this wine. No one had a clue what it was, but the spectacular richness, bright acidity and extraordinary complexity made it clear that we had something special. And truly, that is all you can ask of the world's greatest brands: be just as special as you hope they will be. 2008 Cristal absolutely delivers.

Smooth Ambler "Big Level" Wheated Straight Bourbon Whiskey (750ml)
Review Date: 08-20-2018
This is what we've been waiting for. Smooth Ambler has finally released a bottling that is 100% their own juice. The Contradiction bottling, which contained some of their own distillate and some Indiana whiskey was a sneak peak and the greatness that is The Big Level. It's hard to miss the nose here. When you pour yourself a glass you'll smell it long before you raise it to your lips. It's incredibly inviting - full of sugar, spice, and everything nice. Cinnamon, vanilla, and caramel dominate, while an easy fresh pepper hides in the background. The palate is full blown wheater: creamy, rich, and textural. The sweet corn that makes up the bulk of the mashbill really shines on the finish. Bottled at 100 proof, that finish lasts for a mighty long time. This release marks a new era in American Whiskey. As the original "craft distilleries" finally come online with their own product at respectable ages, the world of brown water is about to get a lot more interesting. Get on the Big Level and find out for yourself.
Price: $54.99 Add To Cart

Helios Distillery "Kura The Whisky" Rum Cask Finished Pure Malt Japanese Whisky (750ml)
Review Date: 08-14-2018
The perfect new addition to our Japanese whiskey collection. It's pretty, it's peaty, it's incredibly easy to drink and elegant. The rum finish is completely unique and adds a different type of sweetness than you find in sherry aged whiskies. This little number distilled by the Helios Distillery in Okinawa is sure to delight fans of Hakushu and Yamazaki. Factor in the price and just about anyone will be elated!
Price: $59.99 Add To Cart

2013 Negretti Barolo
Review Date: 08-08-2018
Bargain and Barolo don't get to go in the same sentence very often. If they do, they don't get to also go with the hallmarks of great Barolo - tar, roses, and well defined yet elegant tannins. Fortunately for us, Negretti delivers on all fronts in 2013. It drinks like a real old school Barolo you've left in your cellar for decades. I don't have the patience, but if you do, don't be afraid to leave this one down for a long time as I'm sure it will get better and better still. Pair it with braised meats or savory truffle dishes.
Price: $34.99 Add To Cart
JS 94

2016 Altovinum Evodia Garnacha Calatayud
Review Date: 08-08-2018
Evodia is exactly the kind of wine I like to have a case of laying around. It's absurdly cheap for a high quality wine that just about anyone will enjoy. It's the bottle I break out for an unplanned evening of revelry, a quick last minute host gift (no one will know what you paid for it, but they'll love it!) or just a quiet evening at home when I want a glass of something good without having to stop and think about it. It's juicy, fruity and dangerously delicious.
Price: $9.99 Add To Cart
JD 91

2015 Celler de Capçanes "Mas Donis" Old Vines Montsant
Review Date: 08-08-2018
Juicy and rich without being too sweet or hot. This old vine Montsant is just the ticket. At the ridiculous price of $11.99 and with much of the character of the Priorat appelation that it surrounds, it deserves a top value mark. The thread of herbaceousness that runs through the wine makes it a great food pairing as well as pleasantly refined as a cocktail wine.
Top Value!
Price: $11.99 Add To Cart
JD 92 RP 90

2015 Casarena "Owen's Vineyard" Cabernet Sauvignon Mendoza
Review Date: 08-08-2018
Elegant Cabernet and Argentina don't tend to go together in my mind. I've loved many a cab from South America, but generally I have an expectation that they will be robustly fruity, full of oak, and perhaps a touch sweet. Nay. This is a bottle to reach for when looking to find full fruit mixed with the elegance and nuance that you used to find across much of California, but now requires some hunting. It is savory and herbaceous, but still alive and sweetly fruited. There aren't many places in the world where you can find cab from nearly 100 year old vines in the sub $100 price range, let alone in the sub $30 zone. This is an amazing deal for an extraordinary wine.
Price: $24.99 Add To Cart
RP 94 W&S 93

2016 TED by Mount Edward Central Otago Pinot Noir
Review Date: 08-08-2018
The Ted is a classic second label of Mount Edward. The winemaking is still all done by hand from the same parcels as their high test Pinots, but the value is off the charts. My notes were very simple: "Amazingly crushable." This is the perfect casual drinking pinot noir. It's elegant, flavorful, inexpensive, and comes from a heralded producer. There is not much more to ask for.
Price: $19.99 Add To Cart
JS 93

Page: 1 2 3 next