Staff Favorites - Andrew Whiteley

Andrew Whiteley
Andrew Whiteley  | Send Email  |   Subscribe to My Sommelier Service


Reviews

Page: 1 2 next
George Dickel "K&L Exclusive" 9 Year Old Single Barrel #L8040K1007 Tennessee Whiskey (750ml)
Review Date: 05-20-2018
If you've loved the previous Dickel selections we've bottled, this is a worthy follow up. It's big, bold, and spicy but with the classically smooth finish you want from Dickel. That spice is like you've mixed cinnamon and clove together with fresh saw dust. It's beautiful and full and the perfect playmate for many different cocktails, especially those with a sweet vermouth.
Price: $44.99 Add To Cart

George Dickel "K&L Exclusive" 9 Year Old Single Barrel #08D09F70415 Tennessee Whiskey (750ml)
Review Date: 05-20-2018
This is the most compelling of the Dickel Barrels to date. It's noticeably different from anything else we've bottled before. While many single barrels are a riff on a theme, the nose here just jumps out as being wildly different. It's fruity, intense, a bit floral, and is the kind of whiskey you'd be happy to nose all night long. The only problem with that plan is that it is so big, full, and rich on the palate that you'd be missing out on the sweet profile and long clean finish.
Price: $44.99 Add To Cart

Barrell 9 Year Old "Batch #15" Single Barrel Cask Strength Bourbon Whiskey (750ml)
Review Date: 04-05-2018
I was blown away by batch #15. Barrell is an independent bottler of American whiskies. They take the best barrels available from the best whiskey producers and put together sophisticated blends. Think of them like the Compass Box of American whiskey. This is a blend of 9.5, 10, and 11 year old barrels from Tennessee and Kentucky. The result is a complex, heady whisky full of honey, candy, golden apple, and loads of wood spice and toasted sugar. The wood tannins are supremely fine and elegant. Balance is absolutely the hallmark of this blend. The full 107.6 proof is simply put; perfection.
Price: $89.99 Add To Cart

Knob Creek K&L Exclusive Single Barrel #5851 Kentucky Straight Rye Whiskey (750ml)
Review Date: 04-04-2018
This is one of the best rye whiskies to enter my glass in a long time. It's a double take kind of rye. You want to revisit this bottle over and over again. It has all of the sweetness you could ask for, but the real star is the herbal weight and texture. The baking spices are amazing and pretty and sweet, but the star is the pepper, dill, earth, and fennel which blend seamlessly into the whole. If you've ever asked yourself "what are the hallmarks of great rye?" This is the answer.
Price: $47.99 Add To Cart

Old Forester K&L Exclusive Single Barrel #3650 (7th Floor, Warehouse B) Straight Kentucky Bourbon Whisky (750ml)
Review Date: 04-04-2018
This selection is rich and energetic. The mid-palate is sweet and luscious. The spice lingers on your palate at great length. The finish is long and dry full of complex cedar box and tobacco aromas. I don't smoke anymore, but this bourbon is just begging for a cigar.
Price: $39.99 Add To Cart

Wathen’s Private Barrel #59 "K&L Exclusive" Single Barrel Straight Kentucky Bourbon (750ml)
Review Date: 04-04-2018
I try to live my life with a healthy appreciation for balance. Work, family, fun, etc. But in the whisky (and wine) world, you often find people looking for things to be over the top. Superfluous. Dripping in whatever cask finish they've cooked up. Massively extracted. This Wathen's selection challenges all of that. It offers you a little bit of everything in a harmonious package. It's a whisky for how I like to live my daily life. It's got a beautiful sweet corn profile, a little spicy herbal note, wood tannin to bring it all together, and is proofed at a friendly 47%. It is smooth. It is elegant. It is well priced. All around, it's a terrific selection for a drink tonight.
Price: $39.99 Add To Cart

Azteca Azul Blanco Tequila (1L)
Review Date: 03-08-2018
This is definitely the tequila you should grab for mixing up cocktails at your next summer soiree. Or for sipping at poker night. Or shots at the club. Or for your Sunday brunch Bloody Maria. Basically, if you need tequila, this should be on your radar. The quality and pedigree is exceptional. The taste is wonderful. The texture is luscious. And best of all: the price is obscenely low!
Price: $16.99 Add To Cart

1991 Cameronbridge 25 Year Old "Old Particular" K&L Exclusive Single Barrel Cask Strength Single Grain Scotch Whisky (750ml)
Review Date: 03-05-2018
At first blush I thought this to be another straightforward grain cask. Delicious, cheap, rich, smooth, and very crushable. Upon returning to it the next day I've found a surprisingly complex dram. Still all vanilla and richness upfront, but underneath there is an herbaceousness that I didn't really see before. It reminds me just a touch of funky rum with a little hint of banana and floral esters coming through. Need a big age statement to add to the collection and serve to guests but don't want to break the bank? This is the ticket.
Price: $79.99 Add To Cart

El Tesoro "K&L Exclusive" Single Barrel #117 Reposado Tequila (750ml)
Review Date: 03-01-2018
The #117 barrel is darker and more savory than the #110. It does not lack for the intense fruitiness that you can achieve in highland tequila, but it really shows the earthy component more than the fruit. If you want a very clean and pretty sipper but gravitate towards more robust and full tequilas with a touch of savor, this is the barrel for you.
Price: $49.99 Add To Cart

El Tesoro "K&L Exclusive" Single Barrel #110 Reposado Tequila (750ml)
Review Date: 03-01-2018
There is a huge pop of citrus on the nose of the #110 barrel. It smells almost like you've already mixed a margarita. The super clean and bright lime and orange of nose translates just as you'd expect on the palate. The finish comes across with just a hint of salinity. It's amazing how well balanced this single barrel is on its own. Typically to achieve this kind of finesse in a spirit it takes a master blender and hundreds of barrels to work with. When you get it all in one singular cask, that's when you know you need to bottle it on its own.
Price: $49.99 Add To Cart

Capurro Estate Grown Single Vintage Moscatel Premium Pisco (750ml)
Review Date: 02-21-2018
The Moscatel is the driest of the 4 Capurro expressions. It shows off fresh and dried fruits on the nose and upfront on the palate. There are tons of pears and stone fruits. I also find it to have the slight earthy sweetness and vegetal tang of an agave plant. Moscatel is considered by many in Peru to be the best sipping Pisco variety. One sip of this neat and you'll know why. The proof is in the long and lasting finish.
Price: $34.99 Add To Cart

Capurro Estate Grown Single Vintage Torontel Premium Pisco (750ml)
Review Date: 02-21-2018
The Torontel Pisco grape comes from the Torontez grape you may already be familiar with. It is highly aromatic and this Pisco has a lush nose full of tropical fruits, jasmine flowers, and fresh cut grass. The finish here is my favorite of the Capurro lineup. It super bright and lifted like a really crisp Gruner Veltliner and it carries on for days. This makes an ideal punch or summertime sipper by the pool.
Price: $34.99 Add To Cart

Capurro Estate Grown Single Vintage Quebranta Premium Pisco (750ml)
Review Date: 02-21-2018
Capurro is known for their single vintage, single variety Piscos and their extreme commitment to quality. While the minimum resting period for Peruvian Pisco is 3 months, Capurro rests theirs until they feel it has achieved its maximum expressive potential - in this case 39 long months! The Quebranta is a Pisco varietal that has parentage in the California Mission Grape. The aromatics are more savory than fruity. They have an earthy, almost dusty tone to them. The flair really comes in the weight and texture of the Quebranta. It's heavier than the other varieties and emulsifies the best for egg based cocktails. If you're making tons of Pisco Sours this will make your life a little easier. The added weight of the Pisco also lets you cut back the sugar in the cocktail just a little.
Price: $34.99 Add To Cart

Capurro Estate Grown Single Vintage Acholado Premium Pisco (750ml)
Review Date: 02-21-2018
While Capurro Pisco is always single vintage and typically single varietal, the Acholado is a blend of the other 3 grape varieties. The balance here is tremendous and if you're looking for your first great Pisco experience, this is it. There is a great balance between stone fruits and an earthy flavor that offers a faint hint of grass. The texture and finish here are excellent and it will emulsify easily in your Pisco Sour - the key to any good egg based cocktail. Not just for mixing, this also offers a great drinking experience when served neat or with a dose of citrus.
Price: $34.99 Add To Cart

Somerset Cider Brandy Co. Morello Cherry Liqueur (375ml)
Review Date: 02-14-2018
Love your Luxardo Cherries? Get a bottle of this and find a whole new way to bring intense cherry flavor to your cocktails. While this is both sticky and sweet, it never feels cloying due to an amazingly vibrant acidity. I am taking a bottle home tonight to sub into a Singapore Sling for the Cherry Heering and see what happens. I quite confident the results will be extraordinary. My only problem will be how to avoid putting it on or in everything. At first blush I see candidates in ice cream, chocolate cake, spritz cocktails, Manhattans, Old Fashioneds, and pancakes. I'm sure more ideas will flow as I have a drink or two...
Price: $21.99 Add To Cart

Somerset Cider Brandy Co. Blackcurrant Liqueur (375ml)
Review Date: 02-14-2018
Sweet Victory! Being fortunate enough to taste hundreds of spirits and liqueurs a year is definitely a big perk of this job that I relish, but the real magic is when you get to taste something that pushes the boundaries of an entire category. When a drink makes you stop and dream of the endless possibilities of how you can enjoy it, you have something special in your glass. I thought we had the world's best Cassis liqueur on lock last year with the Jean Arthaud Creme de Cassis (and Framboise for that matter), but Somerset can truly give it a run for its money. This blackcurrant liqueur is rich, bombastic, sweet, and yet balanced by extraordinary acidity. The added complexity of the underlying apple eau-de-vie pushes it over the top. It's made by macerating black currants from the neighboring farm for a year in the apple eau-de-vie and then pressing the whole thing off. The price is also a joke. This is as premium as cassis can get and yet it's available for an extremely affordable price.
Price: $21.99 Add To Cart

Glenmorangie "Spios" Private Edition Highland Single Malt Scotch Whisky (750ml)
Review Date: 02-06-2018
In a world that is begging for more intensity, more peat, more sherry, it is nice to remember that there is also Spios. Dr. Bill Lumsden has taken the ever-elegant Glenmorangie and done something out of passion, with foresight, that began many years ago. Spios preempts the current craze for off-the-wall and envelope-pushing finishes and instead of a kitschy marketing piece, he has made a whisky that is ethereal, elegant, and commanding of your strained attention. Take a moment to realize that what is before your nose isn't rye. At a first lazy blush you might be forgiven for thinking so as the nose shows the peppery spice you'd hope for and the tiniest hint of herbaceousness that reminds you rye is a grass. There is an incredible amount of nuance behind that. Cinnamon, nutmeg, clove all work their way to the fore. American oak makes its presence known. There is a slight creaminess to the palate. Underneath it all, there is the balanced spirit that we know and love as Glenmorangie. Wonderfully floral, fruity, and malty all in one. This is a whisky with a unique finish that deserves your time and contemplation. Step back from the obvious and heavy hitters, and delve into something deeper, with more substance and artistry. Your taste buds will thank you.
Price: $99.99 Add To Cart

Crown Royal Bourbon Mash Blended Canadian Whisky (750ml)
Review Date: 02-06-2018
Smooth, supple, and very drinkable. Almost too drinkable. Sip it, shoot it, mix it, the flavor is rich and will come through in any preparation. The inherent Crown character really shines through and takes me straight back to my college days at UCSB where we were known to go through a bottle or two of CR in my house. I wish I had access to that flavor at this price!
Price: $21.99 Add To Cart

2016 Talley/K&L Wine Merchants Edna Valley Chardonnay
Review Date: 02-05-2018
As Burgundian as California gets. If you've ever wondered about the tasting note "flinty" check this bottle out. It has a great crispness and flinty minerality, but does not lack for richness and weight. Two hallmarks of great Burgundian Chardonnay. The fruit quality here is excellent. If you're in the ABC crowd (Anything But Chardonnay) It is definitely time to step back into the fold with this gem. It will surprise you!
Price: $21.99 Add To Cart

Compass Box "No Name" Blended Malt Scotch Whisky (750ml)
Review Date: 02-01-2018
John Glaser, The Alchemist, has done it again. He takes one thing, adds a little of this and a little of that, and he makes that one thing better and more valuable than anyone thought possible. Drams from Pier Road and Port Askaig come together in the perfect marriage with a drop or two of highland goodness to make one seriously peaty, but eminently drinkable scotch. Campfire, both fresh cut and smoldering dry peat are all bound together by maritime air and the magic that is Islay. There is a medicinal quality that will make you contract a serious case of Munchausen Syndrome. For a limited bottling we've managed to lock down a pretty serious allocation (thank you, David!) but it will be gone before you know it.
Price: $139.99 Add To Cart

Ayate Reposado Tequila (750ml)
Review Date: 01-30-2018
True highland agave purity and complexity is bolstered by the added richness and weight from 4 months in Chardonnay barrels. This tequila is one of the absolute smoothest and most approachable tequilas we have on the shelf, second only to the Ayate Anejo. If you loved the Casamigos tequilas, take a huge step up and sink yourself into the Ayate. With less sweetness than Casamigos, but just as much richness, this is the best tequila to serve at your next party and really impress your guests.
Price: $64.99 Add To Cart

Savage & Cooke "Second Glance" American Whiskey (750ml)
Review Date: 01-30-2018
Maybe you've had a whisky finished in wine barrels before. Regardless of what that experience was, this requires another look. Made from a 95% corn mash and proofed with fresh Alexander Valley spring water this is a perfect example of what great corn whisky can be. It has the chewy fullness and easy drinking nature of corn whisky, but the complexity of a fine Cabernet. Truly more than the sum of it's parts.
Price: $35.99 Add To Cart

Savage & Cooke "The Burning Chair" Bourbon (750ml)
Review Date: 01-30-2018
Dave Phinney is at it again. After essentially creating the entire Red Blend category with his Prisoner label and subsequent Orin Swift wines, he is moving into the spirits category and perhaps redefining what is means to make American Whisky. The bourbon is a beautiful mix of spicy, sweet, lush, and rounded out by a super intriguing dark fruit note from the Cabernet barrels the whisky is finished in after blending. Think Angel's Envy with it's port barrel finish, but much brighter and not as sweet. A must have for the true bourbon collector.
Price: $52.99 Add To Cart

Wild Sardinia Vermouth Vero 750ml
Review Date: 01-30-2018
The most complex vermouth that we carry. This is made with a white wine based that has been aged for 10 years. This gives an extremely savory and nutty quality to the vermouth - think Sherry or Madeira, but with the added complexity of a full botanical regimen. If you're a creative cocktail creator, check this out. If you're looking for a fascinating vermouth to drink on its own merit, this one is for you.
Price: $34.99 Add To Cart

broVo Pink Rose Vermouth 750ml
Review Date: 01-23-2018
Maybe the most unusual of the broVo vermouths, this is a base wine of Pinot Noir Rose. It gets cooked up with a proprietary blend of 26 herbs and spices and shows a great balance between spice, citrus, herbaceous, and floral characteristics. There is a great creaminess to this one that is just begging to be served as an aperitif. Pour it over ice and add a splash of club soda and your afternoon just got a lot better.
Price: $17.99 Add To Cart

Calwise Spiced Rum (750ml)
Review Date: 01-16-2018
Historically we don't really carry spiced rums here. You won't find Cap'n Mo' or any tattooed sailors on our shelves. Not that those aren't tasty, but they don't exactly capture the imagination. The spiced rum from Calwise has so much brightness to it. Made from molasses, not any caramel additives, it's dosed with a strong orange peel kick, nutmeg and ginger. The ginger in particular lights up your palate and leaves you feeling fresh and snappy. This is a slam dunk for casual cocktails or elevate your bartending game and find the perfect set of ingredients to really bring out the complexity in the rum.
Price: $29.99 Add To Cart

Calwise Blonde Rum (750ml)
Review Date: 01-16-2018
It is so refreshing to taste something that is actually made by the people selling it, not just a label slapped on someone else's work. Better yet, it's great to drink something in the craft spirits world that I actually want to drink cause it tastes good. I was pumped when Calwise spirits found its way into my glass. The blonde rum is pot distilled rum from Louisiana sugar cane. This is a perfect starter rum if you're interested in the funky fruity esters that make rums like Hampden prized all over the world, but you're not ready to drive in deep into the world of funk. The blonde rum has just a hint of that funkiness. It's a little floral, it's loaded with pineapple, boasts an agave fruit sweetness and gets mellowed in California Chardonnay barrels to round it out with a creamy palate. Super fun for cocktails and sipping alike.
Price: $29.99 Add To Cart

George Dickel "K&L Exclusive" 9 Year Old Single Barrel #L7233K1007 Tennessee Whiskey (750ml)
Review Date: 01-11-2018
George Dickel is like your favorite musician. Any album they put out you just have to listen to because they're all so damn good. This new barrel is no exception. It might be because I've been drinking so much of it that the twists and turns a new barrel brings stand out in interesting ways, but I think this is the best barrel of the season (and I'm afraid our last for a while). There is a darker caramel note here - almost fudge like. The wood spice takes a back seat to the sweetness of the corn itself. Endlessly smooth and still peppy at 103 proof this is another home run.
Price: $44.99 Add To Cart

Caledonia Spirits Barr Hill "Tom Cat" Barrel Aged Gin (750ml)
Review Date: 01-11-2018
Caledonia Spirits has done a wonderful job on this gin through intense focus. There is only one botanical - Juniper. The complexity comes from one added ingredient. The gin is finished with raw honey from the local Vermont bees. This special spirit is then aged in new virgin oak casks for a short period of time. The end result is spectacular. The nose is bursting with juniper, floral blossoms, and graceful oak spice. The mouth feel is rich and bright with the endless complexities of high quality honey highlighted through the sweet oak spices. Many gins see oak because it's the trendy thing to do. This gin see oak because it elevates the quality to a whole new level. This is far and away the best barrel aged gin I've had.
Price: $49.99 Add To Cart

Baron-Fuenté "7" Brut Champagne
Review Date: 01-11-2018
Finally! I've been hearing about this project from Gary for some time now and it's finally arrived and is in my glass. 7 years on the lees and a little portion of barrel fermented Chardonnay imparts a spectacular brioche character to this wine and great richness. The 7 grams/liter dosage is the perfect balance for the focused acidity. The all estate fruit is full of apples, pears, and bits of dark cherry shine through from the Pinot. All this at the amazing prices we expect from Baron Fuente and our direct import relationship. There is no better wine on the shelf for 50 bucks.
Price: $49.99 Add To Cart

Piùcinque Gin 750ml
Review Date: 01-09-2018
I was so impressed by how fresh and elegant this gin is. It feels brand new yet it hasn't moved too far from a classic London Dry style. The bergamot gives the gin a very delicate citrus note and the ginger a zippy cut, like a beautiful acid line in a great wine. This balances perfectly with the floral tones and rounder woody notes of wormwood and almond. All this comes together with the clean fragrance of juniper and a long dry finish. The balance is spectacular.
Price: $39.99 Add To Cart

2007 Hampden 9 Year Old "Golden Devil" K&L Exclusive Single Barrel Cask Strength Jamaican Rum (750ml)
Review Date: 01-08-2018
I wanted to finish my other tasting duties for the day before hitting this cask strength bad boy. I had poured a glass earlier in the day when the bottle was open and left the glass on my desk. I actually had to move it to another room while tasting other items. It's perfume will absolutely take over the room. There is a reason Hampden is being called the world's most complex spirit. The list of tasting notes is long and seemingly unconstrained. I taste banana's and cream, parfait, flowers, apples, fruit salad, a bready/yeasty quality, a nutty oxidative note, petrol, wet sidewalk, gumballs, raw sugar cane...and that's just the start of the list. If you love pot still rums and want to geek out on the world's finest or just want to make the best damn tiki drink you can come up with, this is the rum to take you there.
Price: $69.99 Add To Cart

1977 Quarles Harris Vintage Port
Review Date: 11-14-2017
Today was my first time tasting Quarles Harris vintage port and I must say, I am extremely impressed. The 1977 is defined by elegance and grace. The first shock was in the color. It's delicate, a clean and bright garnet. It's almost like a Pinot Noir. The aromatics are equally graceful with bright florals and sweet spices. The brandy is perfectly integrated into the wine lending just enough power to carry through the black berries but never overwhelming the fruit notes. From the all-time great 1977 vintageat 40 years old the Quarles Harris does not disappoint.
Price: $96.99 Add To Cart

Basil Hayden's 2017 Release "Dark Rye" Whiskey (750ml)
Review Date: 11-08-2017
I had the unusual experience of tasting this out of 5 different prototype whiskey glasses from Denver and Liely (makers of my favorite whiskey glass). I was flabbergasted by the results. Since this was my first glass trial, I was stunned by how much effect glassware shape has on how you perceive the contents of the glass. The glasses I tried were variations on two themes: smaller and tighter bowls and a more expansive bowl with a narrow, but flared opening. The Basil Hayden Dark Rye showed like two different sides to the same coin. In the tighter glass the spicy nature of rye really dominated. There was a distinctly grainy quality to the nose, and subsequently, the taste. The richness of those spices really made it feel like I was just drinking a high-quality rye. However, in the larger bowl with the narrowed opening to concentrate the aromas, the Dark component of this dram really shines through! The port addition (not port barrel aging, but actual port wine added) lends spectacular dark fruit aromas of cassis and blackberry. The anise of the wine plays perfectly with the peppery notes of the rye. The glass trial really highlighted for me the complexity of this spirit and how much drinking pleasure it will give, whether I want to pick it apart or just slam it back and enjoy.
Price: $49.99 Add To Cart

1977 Graham's Vintage Port
Review Date: 10-10-2017
I've been lucky enough to be around when '77's get opened on several occasions. It really is a stunning vintage. Marked by rain the previous winter, cool and long growing conditions, hotter harvest months with just enough sprinkles to keep things fresh, these wines are beautiful and balanced. The richness of the Graham's is off the charts with tons of sweet red and black fruits, but it's marked by strong savory and herbal undertones. A lively thread of acidity runs through it so that every sip hits all your taste buds. This would be a very special way to celebrate your 40th.
Price: $149.99 Add To Cart
RP 93 WS 91

Four Pillars "Faultline" K&L Exclusive Gin (750ml)
Review Date: 10-01-2017
If you've shopped in the Redwood City store for gin in the last year you've definitely talked to me about the Four Pillars gins and heard about this bottling that is FINALLY here. A quick glance at my profile indicates my money is where my mouth is. I've purchased 7 bottles of Four Pillars gin since we started carrying them (among dozen of other gins purchased), all consumed in eager anticipation of our very own blend dropping from Four Pillars under the Faultline label. Now that I have an advance sample of the final product in my glass, I'm even more stoked. Since it's a limited run, I'm purchasing a 6 pack as soon as it lands later this week (I bought 6 of the limited St. George/Faultline #3 we did a few years back and I'm still savoring my last bottle, but never once regretted casing up). It's a spectacular blend of unique Australian botanicals—a real terroir-driven gin. And of course it smacks of the beautiful citrus that is the hallmark of Four Pillars. The most special thing about this gin is the combination of texture and liveliness. It has a sultry mouthfeel, but perks up feeling fresh and zippy at the same time. It's a fascinating combination that lends itself to savoring on its own, or in a martini (but the G&Ts and Negronis will go down real easy). Your wait, and mine, is finally over. Faultline Gin is back in a big way.
Price: $34.99 Add To Cart

Bardstown Bourbon Company "Collabor&tion - Mistelle Barrel Finish" Cask Strength Bourbon Whiskey (750ml)(in store pickup only, cannot ship)
Review Date: 09-29-2017
If you've ever walked into the store and asked the objectively silly question, "What rare bourbons do you have in stock at a good price?" This is your chance! These are extremely limited, ultra rare bourbons that taste absolutely delicious, unique, and are down right affordable when you consider the other criteria. Mistelle, if you're unfamiliar, is just fortified grape juice (and super tasty). Due to the mistelle cask finish, this bourbon screams out with sensational fruit, you can tell there is a sweetness and intensity to it from the nose, much like a PX-aged Scotch, but with more floral and stone fruit tones, less rancio. The texture is powerful, round and unctuous. And the bourbon itself...10 year old+ goodness bottled at 47%. That in itself is worth a fortune these days, add the most interesting and tasty cask finish I've seen this year and you've got a winner for those bold enough to actually ask, "what's rare and in stock?"
Price: $124.99 Add To Cart

Bardstown Bourbon Company "Collabor&tion - Brandy Barrel Finish" Cask Strength Bourbon Whiskey (750ml)
Review Date: 09-29-2017
Don't you hate it when you're cruising along and your Sidecar gets stuck in a rut? Break free with this phenomenal collaboration between Kentucky's next big distillery and it's best brandy producer. This 10-year-old bourbon was aged for 18 months in Copper & Kings brandy barrels and then bottled at cask strength. It tastes just like you'd want it to given that pedigree. The high proof ups the intensity of the long brandy finish, the bourbon is sweet and decadent, the flavors complex and well integrated. If you're bold enough to mix your $100 plus hooch (and you should be, but we can get into that another time) this will make the most outstanding twist to your side car or Manhattan that you could hope for. If you want to just sip and savor, I won't judge you, because it is unequivocally delicious and unique on its own.
Price: $124.99 Add To Cart

Real McCoy 12 Year Old Single Blended Barbados Rum (750ml)
Review Date: 09-27-2017
You don't even have to nose the glass to be hit by the wave of intense spice, vanilla, and molasses oozing into the air. This is big and rich rum from Foursquare any way you slice it. Touches of candied orange and almonds round out the bourbon cask profile. This rum is clean, big, and amazingly unadulterated with syrups and sugars. Whether you need something to sip on after dinner to satisfy a sweet tooth but don't want the cloying stickiness of many rums or are looking for your next house rum for tiki drinks, this should be a big hit.
Price: $39.99 Add To Cart

Ardbeg "An Oa" Islay Single Malt Scotch Whisky (750ml)
Review Date: 09-20-2017
I'm so thrilled this has arrived! I was fortunate enough to taste a sample 3 weeks ago and I've been hounding David about the release date ever since! Better yet, this isn't a flash in the pan. This is part of the new core lineup at Ardbeg and boy does it live up to my high expectations for Ardbeg flagship products. Beautifully married, this blend sings with sea salt brine, extinguished bonfire, malty goodness, and toasted brush. It's even better on the palate. The sweetness of the PX casks really livens up the mix. Cocoa notes and a bourbon spice profile play beautifully with a candied granola that is blanketed in the smooth smoky profile of Ardbeg you already love. Did I mention this is here to stay? I only have to buy one today, because after I finish it I can buy another next week. And the week after. Glorious.
Price: $59.99 Add To Cart
WA 93

2015 Hentley Farm "Old Legend" Grenache Barossa Valley South Australia
Review Date: 09-11-2017
If you poured this blind the first thing you'd think is that it was a Pinot Noir. The color is astonishing, light and ethereal. The wine is equally beautiful and elegant,but not lacking for powerful structure, this wine feels fresh and very complex . There is spectacular sweet fruit, raspberries in particular and an elegant oak treatment. If you're looking to probe the upper echelon of quality Grenache, this wine must not be missed.
Price: Hidden View Price
JH 95 WE 91

2014 Cliff Lede Stags Leap District Cabernet Sauvignon
Review Date: 09-11-2017
"Beautiful, full + elegant. Great oak influence and balance." These were the first thoughts I had and the start of copious notes upon tasting this wine for the first time. This Stags Leap District cab has incredible freshness and vibrancy. Lots of pretty purple flowers and deep dark fruits combined. The oak fits in with the fruit perfectly, never awkward or overpowering, but always contributing in proportion to the intensity of the grapes. The name of the game here is balance. Eminently enjoyable and well suited to food.
Price: $74.99 Add To Cart
RP 93 VN 91

2016 Kalinda Anderson Valley Pinot Noir
Review Date: 09-11-2017
I'm so excited that we have another vintage of Kalinda Anderson Valley Pinot Noir back in stock! Even better than the last vintage, this wine comes to us from a North Coast legend. Loaded with fruit, the ripe cherries mesh with fresh cranberry and even a darker blackberry note. Cola shines through on the nose and palate. The tannins are very soft and polished and play beautifully with the pop and freshness of the wine. This screams Anderson Valley - the big diurnal shifts in temperature contribute to both ripeness and fresh acidity.
Price: $27.99 Add To Cart

Wine Club

$24.99

2014 Olivier Riviere "Ganko" Rioja
Review Date: 09-06-2017
Truly a remarkable and unique Rioja that deserves your attention. Especially if you're up for trying something unexpected and wonderful. Ultra bright and fresh, this Rioja is made up of Granacha and Mazuelo, but not a drop of Tempranillo. It has incredible aromatics and a lively floral quality that you are more likely to find in Burgundy or the Willamette Valley. The acid is tremendously refreshing, but balanced perfectly with the ripe red fruits. The tannins are fine and the finish long. This is a special wine that is extremely versatile in food pairings from light fish to hearty chorizo paella and some of your favorite vegetable dishes to boot.
Price: Hidden View Price
RP 94

Highland Park "Magnus" Isle of Orkney Single Malt Scotch Whisky (750ml)
Review Date: 09-05-2017
I have long been recommending the Highland Park 12 year for its incredible quality and supreme value. Coming in at the sub-50 range is hard to do for really great Scotch these days. Well my favorite Orcadian distillery has delivered a new dram for under 30 bucks that will blow you away. It's a bold statement that extraordinary doesn't have to mean extremely expensive. This whisky is peaty and intense with the light and airy demeanor that makes Highland Park so seductive. I don't have enough superlatives to describe how amazing the value is here. If half the $60 whiskys on the shelf tasted half this good, I'd be thrilled.
Price: $34.99 Add To Cart

Richland Single Estate Georgia Rum (750ml)
Review Date: 08-03-2017
This is my first exposure to Richland Rum, although they've been around since 1999. The entire process happens on the estate! Everything from growing the sugar cane, to pressing, to concentrating the juice into syrup, fermenting the syrup, distilling the syrup wine, and aging the rum in virgin oak barrels is accomplished right there. The results are excellent. The nose is a heady mixture of fresh cane juice, vanilla, caramel. The palate is rich and full, but never overwhelming or overpowering. It's a well balanced and honest rum that can easily fit on any bar as your new go to for cocktails or a nice clean and bright after dinner sipper.
Price: $54.99 Add To Cart

2010 Contino Reserva Rioja
Review Date: 07-27-2017
A superb example of the 2010 vintage. The cool vintage leaves this wine feeling super bright and fresh. The higher acidity balances out the intense dark cherry and purple fruit profile and highlights the tremendous minerality in the wine. The French and American oak regimen delivers a powder keg of spices, vanilla, cedar box, and refined tannin. It is extremely elegant and graceful, but never shy. I hope to drink this bottling for years to come because it will no doubt be a prized collectors item. Unfortunately for me, that will be a massive challenge since it's hard to not drink all of it now. I must concur with Joe's assessment that at this price, it is one of the best Rioja's I've had all year (and I just got back from a week in Rioja!).
Top Value!

Highland Park "Valkyrie" Isle of Orkney Single Malt Scotch Whisky (750ml)
Review Date: 06-11-2017
The nose is reminiscent of the sea breeze blowing hard across the deck of a ship. A raging fire has burnt out on the distant shore. Tart, like the bite of a crisp apple; fresh, and yet sweetly rounded. Stone fruits and pears also blossom on the palate. It’s beautifully golden in color, mellow, and ever so easy to drink. Vanilla and spice abound and lingers for days stitched together seamlessly with a gentle peat. A remarkable feat in the NAS sub-$100 category. Top marks.
Price: $69.99 Add To Cart

Rancho Tepua Bacanora (750ml)
Review Date: 05-11-2017
It seems everyday I get more interested in agave spirits. Long gone is my loathing of that terrible tequila experience early in my drinking career that so many of us are familiar with; I've embraced the agave distillates wholeheartedly. Nearly every region of Mexico makes its own agave spirit, with its own classification, character, and protected name. Tequila and mezcal just happen to be the most well known (regionally specific to Jalisco and Oaxaca, respectively). Thanks to David's nuanced selections, I'm finding that there are an extraordinary number of agave spirits that demonstrate a finesse and subtlety entirely lacking in the most well known tequila brands. This bacanora (one of the agave spirits of Sonora, Mexico) has finesse in spades. The nose is an interplay of citrus, earth, yerba buena, and savory woody herbs. The palate is a mix of sweet tea, baking spices, pure agave, lemon peel, and most notably, is ultra-smooth and rich. The finish is equally impressive: it's long, clean, and subtle. Not so much smoky as earthy. Bravo!
Price: $49.99 Add To Cart

Le Brun de Neuville "Authentique Assemblage" Brut Champagne
Review Date: 02-23-2017
Another stunner in the Champagne Direct Import quiver here at K&L. This blend of 60% Chardonnay/40% Pinot Noir shows the best of both varietals. The zip and freshness of the Chard shows beautiful crisp apples and some lovely and delicate floral notes while the Pinot Noir adds red fruited notes of cranberry and wild cherries. The really remarkable this about this bottle though is that it has been aged for 5 years on the lees - under a cork. This adds richness, a slightly nutty oxidative note, and typically a substantial amount to the price (compare to the also fabulous cork aged bottle of 2005 Bollinger "Grande Année" Brut Champagne for $100). At way less than half of that price this is a magnificent bottle with a unique story to tell.
Price: $34.99 Add To Cart
WE 92 WS 90

Page: 1 2 next