Local Delivery Available Curbside 11am-6pm Daily Stores Temporarily Closed

Reviewers


K&L Email Alerts

Sign up to receive custom alerts, new arrivals and the latest happenings from K&L Wines


Staff Favorites - Keith Mabry

Keith Mabry

Reviews

Page: 1 2 next
2019 Château Saint Jacques d'Albas "Petit Saint Jacques" Coteaux de Peyriac Blanc
Review Date: 08-04-2020
Bright and refreshing, the new Petit St-Jacques has undergone a slight label change for fans of the Domaine bottling from last year. Still the same great mineral driven white from the south with layers of nectarine, yellow apple and white flowers. Great balance and a perfect warm weather sipper.
Price: $11.99 Add To Cart

2018 Domaine de la Chaboissière Muscadet Sèvre et Maine Sur Lie
Review Date: 08-04-2020
Christophe Hallereau makes beautiful mineral driven Muscadets. Traditionally made in underground glass-lined concrete vats, the wine spends about 8 months on the lees before bottling. When I tasted the new arrival, a note of salty air filled the glass making my mouth water. On the palate, the sinewy frame was loaded with crisp apple fruit, wet stones and lemon peel. I declared this the best young wine I have yet tasted from Mr. Hallereau! A perfect compliment to shellfish, oily fishes and creamy cheeses. Even makes a great aperitif!
Price: $12.99 Add To Cart

2019 Vignoble Dragon "La Belle Helene" Côtes de Provence Rosé
Review Date: 07-30-2020
Helene Dragon is a fourth generation winemaker making some of the best Provencal rose from one of its most desirable regions – Sainte Victoire. In the shadow of the Montagne Ste-Victoire, one of the most beautiful natural wonders in the south of France, this limestone monolith looms large in the background. Technically a mountain, it is more a series of fractured limestone plates pushed up over millions of years that look more like a cresting wave than a mountain. Famous for the way it captures and reflects light, Cezanne painted it continuously and in several of his masterpieces. I digress. Fanning away from this mountain lies some of the greatest terroir in all of Provence, the shed limestone and clay from the Montagne. This soil produces roses of tension and nerve such that the region has warranted its own Cru sub-appellation. Helene’s vines sit on these soils and she is crafting her best wines to date. The 2019 vintage is a strong one, providing much more clement and consistent weather than the more complicated 2018. Her wine is a beautiful pale pink, with notes of clementines, white flowers and blood oranges. This will drink so well in these warmer months and should be even more graceful as we approach 2021. Comparable producers are often priced twice this price, but our direct relationship with Helene has provided us some of the best Provencal rose pricing on the market.
Price: $13.99 Add To Cart

2018 Franck Millet "Insolite" Sancerre
Review Date: 07-29-2020
Another stunner from Franck and Betty Millet, the hardest working duo in Sancerre! The Insolite is all from the limestone parcels of their holdings and that minerality really shines through. Chalky notes are quickly embraced by grapefruit peel, white flowers and roasted pineapple. The 2018 has a more lift and even more generosity than the 2017. Now a year in bottle, it is exquisite drinking right now with several more years ahead of it. Our best Sancerre, right now!
Price: $29.99 Add To Cart

2018 Domaine du Petit Clocher Anjou Blanc
Review Date: 07-29-2020
One of my favorite additions to our portfolio from the Loire is Petit Clocher. Their Anjou blanc is a joyful expression of Chenin. Loads of sweet pear fruit, crunchy minerals and appley goodness, this is pure pleasure in a glass. Serve with anything from Thai food and Chinese food with lots of umami character or keep it simple and have with some a mixed grill of pork chops and apples. A true delight!
Price: $14.99 Add To Cart

2018 Domaine des Carlines Pinot Noir Côtes du Jura
Review Date: 07-27-2020
The wines of Domaine des Carlines were impressive when I first tasted them a couple of years ago. They have only become more so. The inaugural release of their Pinot Noir is something truly special. From the surrounding area of Chateau-Chalon, famous for its blue marl soils, this is a sexy silky Pinot that could sit side-by-side with some of the best Chambolle Musigny's out there. It has a saturated red cherry and plum profile with silky tannins. The sweet fruit lingers on the palate with a dusting of spices and flowers. Medium bodied on the palate, it has a lingering finish. Thankfully, it's from Jura so it's half the price you would pay for a comparable Pinot elsewhere. Exciting stuff!
Price: $29.99 Add To Cart

2018 Domaine Baud Poulsard "En Rougemont" Côtes du Jura Rouge
Review Date: 07-27-2020
Bright bing cherry red fruit with savory herbs and light baking spice notes. This lighter bodied red just hums with vigor and asks for some fun foods to pair with. How about a little carpaccio with some arugula, shaved pecorino and your favorite olive oil. Yes, please!
Price: $17.99 Add To Cart

2018 Domaine Dugois "La Sombarde" Ploussard Arbois Rouge
Review Date: 07-27-2020
The wines of the Jura were relegated to geeky wine lists for years but we here at K&L have been enjoying them at home with gusto for years. The reds were the big hit for most of our daily drinking because they have such lovely light- to medium-bodied qualities. Put a light chill on these bright reds and you are good-to-go for Tuesday, Wednesday wines that won't leave you hurting. Dugois was our first direct import from the region. With Philippe Dugois at the helm, the wines have an accessible quality while remaining nerdy enough to scratch that "what am I drinking?" itch. This is the best Ploussard (aka Poulsard) I have tasted from him to date. It is polished with raspberry and cherry fruit, dried flowers and nervy acidity while having a generous mouthfeel... for Ploussard! This is a light-bodied red! So good with so many things but a classic pairing would be with some smoky cold cuts and Morbier cheese. Just delightful!
Price: $18.99 Add To Cart

2016 Chateau de Vaudieu "Val de Dieu" Châteauneuf-du-Pape
Review Date: 07-27-2020
Laurent Brechet is so terroir driven, he is one of the rare producers in Chateauneuf to bottle individual parcels based on terroir. The Val de Dieu, which derives its name from the winery (Vaudieu), is all on sandy soils on the eastern side of the property. Though we think of the rolled pebbles as the icon of Chateaneuf's terroir, it is this decomposed sandstone that is actually some of the most desirable. Rayas is famously planted on sandy soils. The Val de Dieu is no shy creature though as this is an explosive out-of-the-glass wine. Darker berried fruit with sweet baking spices and lavender notes, this is a gorgeous wine. Easily capable of a decade plus of further cellaring, it is so attractive now, it will cut through the fat of ribeye like nobody's business. Try one now and put a few away to discover down the road.

2015 Thunevin-Calvet "l'Amourette" Côtes du Roussillon-Villages
Review Date: 07-14-2020
We are really proud to add Thunevin-Calvet to our roster of great Direct Imports from the south. This project is a joint effort between Jean-Luc Thunevin and Jean-Marc Calvet. Starting as a garagiste project is emerged as one of the great properties in Roussillon producing amazing everyday wines as well as some of the benchmark wines of the region. L'Amourette is an exceptional place to begin for those looking to explore. The Mourvedre leans forward in the blend (Grenache being the other grape) with its savory-spicy fruit and rustic charm. This wine has all black and blue fruit tones and a beautiful leathery texture that is reminiscent of Bandol, that other famous Mourvedre growing region. There is an underlying supple and sweet fruit here that keeps everything on point and free from rolling too deeply into sauvage territory. This is a cowboy wine and would be perfect with a cowboy cut of meat. Some smoky beans laced with chunks of bacon and a few slices off a tomahawk rib chop and you're pretty close to heaven.
Price: $14.99 Add To Cart

2016 Thunevin-Calvet "Cuvée Constance" Côtes du Roussillon-Villages
Review Date: 07-14-2020
The Cuvee Constance is a beautifully saturated and rich style in the vein of other classic Rousillon wines like Bastide Miraflors and Chapotier's Bila Haut. With Jean-Luc Thunevin, the father of the garagiste movement in Bordeaux, behind this wine, it is not hard to see why even their entry level wine has such depth and polish to it. This is a sumptuous red with deep blackberry fruit rounded by subtle spice notes and sweet tannins. An astounding value from one of our favorite new Direct Import producers.

2017 Gour de Chaulé "Cuvée Tradition" Gigondas
Review Date: 07-14-2020
A tremendous follow-up the the 2016, this new vintage of the Gour de Chaule is striking in its classic perfume of potpourri and spice. The 2017 vintage was a low yielding one, which contributes to the concentration but also a more classic one, giving this wine a more harmonious approach than its predecessor. Exotic garrigue notes, a palate full of black fruit and a finish with supple tannins, all lead to one of the best Gigondas' you will drink this year!

2018 Domaine de Verquière Côtes-du-Rhône
Review Date: 07-13-2020
The epitome of charm, Verquiere's Cotes du Rhone is redolent with strawberries, dried herbs and savory spices. This just opens and screams, "I am a zesty Rhone and I will go with everything!" You would be hard pressed to find a better value of this drinking caliber anywhere else in the world.
Price: $11.99 Add To Cart

2018 Santo Assyrtiko Santorini Greece
Review Date: 07-08-2020
Often we describe wines as having mineral or rock flavors but it is a nebulous term for most tasters out there. How much does something really taste like slate, granite or chalk? It's hard to quantify those flavors, but when used as descriptors they often evoke a quality that makes you think of the land surrounding the vineyards by whispering those minerals into your glass. Then you taste a wine like the Santo Assyrtiko! There is no better example of a wine that has the flavors of crushed rocks than here, and it is a most pleasing experience to be sure. Because on top of that profile are all the underpinned notes of preserved lemons, dried pears and salty sea air that the grape Assyrtiko brings to the table. The Santo is a wine that invokes the land and its not just the flavors of stones, it is the texture. It has a crackle and nerve that almost makes your teeth clatter. But do not think that this is a painful wine to drink or that you might chip a tooth on it. This is a wine that gives you the strength to chew those rocks and mine them for all the flavors they possess. A wine that possesses this kind of minerality is a powerful wine indeed and worthy of pouring in your glass.
Price: $21.99 Add To Cart

2018 Domaine de l'Aigle À Deux Têtes "Les Clous" Savagnin-Naturé Côtes du Jura Blanc
Review Date: 06-16-2020
The Les Clous vineyard is the pride and joy of winemaker Henri Le Roy's properties. It is home to two of the most traditional varietals from the Jura region - Savagnin and Poulsard. The Savagnin is a pure ouille-style (topped off/non-oxidative). It is filled with flavors of lemon curd with a creamy texture and fine mineral finish. It is long on the palate with a vibrant core of acidity. Absolutely gorgeous stuff and a perfect crossover for those wanting to see how this grape can behave when handled by such adept hands.
Price: $34.99 Add To Cart

2018 Domaine de l'Aigle À Deux Têtes "Les Clous" Poulsard Côtes du Jura Rouge
Review Date: 06-16-2020
The Les Clous vineyard is the pride and joy of winemaker Henri Le Roy's properties. It is home to two of the most traditional varietals from the Jura region - Savagnin and Poulsard. The Poulsard is a knock-out style every year though. It is a light-to-medium red with a sinewy frame filled with strawberries, fresh thyme and and crushed rocks. This has great structure to age (and they do age well!) but is the perfect foil for smokier meats. A classic pairing in the region would be smoke-cured beef but if that's not available, some smoked pulled pork or Texas-style brisket would be a perfect substitute.
Price: $34.99 Add To Cart

2018 Domaine de l'Aigle À Deux Têtes "Derriere la Roche" Chardonnay Côtes du Jura Blanc
Review Date: 06-16-2020
Winemaker Henri Le Roy is one of the under the radar stars of the Jura. His ouille styled whites (topped-off barrels as opposed to allowing a more traditional oxidative tone) flit into Burgundian territory with their richness, detail and minerality. This is still very Jura though with gorgeous tones of roasted apples, cardamom, tamarind and Indian spice notes. I opened the 2018 vs the 2016 recently and the quality is so consistent that it was nice to see it with just a couple of years of bottle age as the latter vintage opened more quickly. This 2018 is gorgeous stuff though, and you would pay twice the price for this quality from those more famous appellations just a 100 miles to the west.
Price: $44.99 Add To Cart

2019 L'Aigle À Deux Têtes Trousseau Côtes du Jura Rouge
Review Date: 06-16-2020
This little Trousseau beauty from winemaker Henri Le Roy hits all the right marks for a classic wine of the region. It has such a light color, you might think it treads into rose territory (both Trousseau and Poulsard are light colored reds historically) but it is packed with flavor. Bright red cherry fruit, touch of dusty herbs, some savory spices, this is the perfect light bodied red to cut through foods twice its size. Put a light chill on this and you will find yourself just as entranced by how versatile this wine can be.
Price: $24.99 Add To Cart

2017 Domaine Pierre Usseglio "Cuvée Mon Aïeul" Châteauneuf-du-Pape
Review Date: 05-12-2020
The Cuvée Mon Aïeul is all Grenache in this vintage, and has suffered from some of the lowest yields this cuvée has ever seen. In 2017, they were down to six hectoliters per hectare—Châteauneuf allows up to 36 hectoliters per hectare. It is no surprise that this is as deep and concentrated as you could imagine. This is an evocative wine that will linger on your palate for days.

2017 Château de Beaucastel Châteauneuf-du-Pape
Review Date: 05-12-2020
Beaucastel is always the “yardstick” in any vintage for all CDP wines. The wines have incredible longevity and develop all the hallmark flavors of Provence: dried herbs, leather, and brambly, spiced fruit. You can never go wrong with a few of these in your cellar.

2017 Leviathan California Red Blend
Review Date: 03-25-2020
The Leviathan is just as rich and creamy as I remember. It is a supple and succulent wine that offers up a generous bouquet of blueberries, fresh picked herbs and chocolate. It is a sumptuous and sexy wine that will deliver a plush and inviting beverage suitable for any occasion.
Price: $34.95 Add To Cart

2018 Stoller Estate Willamette Valley Pinot Noir
Review Date: 03-25-2020
I've been a fan of Oregon Pinot Noir for quite some time and have had the chance to visit the Willamette Valley and its sub-regions multiple times over the years. Years ago, the wines were more defined by what they weren't, which was California, and what they might be, which is Burgundy. And after a recent tasting of many great contenders, I am happy to say they are now, purely Oregon (Willamette, really). The Stoller is the perfect rendition of this now codified style. A perfume of red fruit, freshly crushed flowers, and toasted spices are on the nose. The palate is awash in red cherry and raspberry fruit with a defining core of richness, but framed by structure. That is what I am looking for in Oregon, that framing structure with a streak of middle palate fruit that lifts the wine. If you want to see this region defined in a beautifully packaged style at a most handsome price, look no further than the Stoller Estate.
Price: $24.95 Add To Cart

2017 Georges Vernay "Les Chaillées de l'Enfer" Condrieu
Review Date: 03-24-2020
Youthful and vibrant, this is the most tight of our recent dip into the Vernay past. A quick decant for drinking now, or give it a couple more years and be blow away!

2014 Georges Vernay "Les Chaillées de l'Enfer" Condrieu
Review Date: 03-24-2020
A real treat to try some aged Condrieu. This is roasted minerals, green plums and dried jasmine through and through. Dried mango and white flowers are on the palate. Its silky texture rounds out the long finish.

2015 GKG Cellars Napa Valley Cabernet Sauvignon
Review Date: 03-11-2020
The team up between Greg Gorman and Dave Phinney is a crushing success! The wine bears some of the opulence that is associated with Phinney's style but has gorgeous lift and structure. This is a mouthfiller with sweet currant jam, Chambord, baking spices and lavender. The tannins are supple and the finish is long...so long. A real pleasure in a glass that touches cult wine flavor profiles but at a much more reasonable price.
Price: $89.99 Add To Cart

2017 Susana Balbo "Crios" Malbec Mendoza
Review Date: 02-19-2020
Always a favorite in my weeknight red wine line-up, the Crios has delivered consistency and quality for the decade plus that I have been buying and enjoying this wine. Pure Malbec joy with its black raspberry fruit, chocolatey tones and supple and smooth finish. A must for my Taco Tuesday!

2017 Domaine Giraud "Tradition" Châteauneuf-du-Pape
Review Date: 02-19-2020
The Giraud always fires on all cylinders when it is released. It is a sexy forward style showing flavors of Chambord, bay leaf, cardamom and violets. Sumptuous as always, the concentration of the 2017 vintage lingers on the palate. Always one of my favorites for its youthful exuberance but this is a wine that will deliver untold pleasures for years to come.

2018 Cellier des Dauphins "Réserve" Côtes du Rhône
Review Date: 02-13-2020
The Cellier des Dauphins is one of our best new values. Classically made from sourcing fruit from some of the top Village and Cru appellations in the southern Rhone, this is a harmonious and delightful wine. It carries brambly red and black fruit flavors intermingled with pepper and spice. The nice confiture of red fruit on the palate makes it all the more pleasing. This is a beautiful textbook Rhone that will rapidly become your favorite weeknight wine.
Price: $12.99 Add To Cart

2016 Tenuta Roveglia "Vigne di Catullo" Lugana Riserva
Review Date: 02-06-2020
Consistently Roveglia puts out vintage after vintage of gorgeous Lugana wines. The Riserva is a full-ish bodied Italian white with a crunchy mineral laden palate that delivers beautiful pear and white flower notes. This has a light pithy citrus and mineral edge giving the wine more structure and complexity that when asked the question, "one more glass?" The answer can only be "YES! Please!!"
Price: $18.99 Add To Cart

2015 John Duval "Plexus" GSM Barossa Valley South Australia
Review Date: 02-06-2020
Consistently one of the greatest values coming out of Australia, the 2015 Plexus is another triumph for master winemaker John Duval. In the grand scheme of things, $25 is not a lot to pay for a wine of this caliber. A deep infusion of black fruits, Asian spices and a light menthol note firmly put this into Barossa, but there is a tremendous lift to this wine giving a balance that elevates it above so many other wines at two to three times the price. Do yourself a favor and grab a few of these, they age beautifully and will over deliver for years to come.

2016 Bien Nacido "Estate" Santa Maria Valley Pinot Noir
Review Date: 02-06-2020
Bien Nacido continues to be one of the benchmark vineyards in Santa Maria. Its fruit is so esteemed, that in any given vintage over 20 top producers source fruit from these vines. The Estate bottling is the pinnacle of that selection and one can immediately see the detail and power behind this release. Filled with a deep core of cherry and raspberry fruit, the wine evolves with notes of sandalwood, rhubarb, clove and allspice and crescendos with wafts of roses and minerals. It is shockingly complete in the mouth with a silky texture but has abundant structure that will benefit from just a few more years in the cellar. This is one of the brightest stars in the already star-filled sky that is Bien Nacido.

2017 Ferraton Père et Fils "Lieu Dit Bonneveau" Saint-Joseph
Review Date: 01-28-2020
As pure an expression as you could hope, the "Bonneveau" has all of that wonderful bacon fat and rich black fruit, and at such a young age! This has so much purity, you will be hard pressed not to enjoy it. And you should, but don't forget to tuck away a few extra bottles for posterity. This rivals the best from Chave, Gonon and Chapoutier himself!

2017 Ferraton Père et Fils "Lieu-Dit Patou" Cornas
Review Date: 01-28-2020
Along with all the other Lieu-Dit bottlings, the Patou is something really exceptional. This is a rich and full throttle Cornas that has so much going for it now, you will be hard pressed not to enjoy it. It's hard to insist that you wait when this wine delivers so much heft and joy now, but think of the potential. Hide a bottle or two away if you can. This is a stunner!

2017 Ferraton Père et Fils "Lieu Dit Les Picheres" Crozes-Hermitage Rouge
Review Date: 01-28-2020
Under the watchful eye of Northern Rhone icon Michel Chapoutier, Ferraton has become one of the best iterations for small vineyard/terroir bottling expressions in the region. Each one has such precise detail, they emulate a more Burgundian sensibility but still reflect their true expression of Syrah from each site. Les Picheres is a beauty, packed with red fruit, smoky nuances and a depth of flavor that embodies the chalkier sites in Crozes. It is layered and will unfold for hours in the glass now but this is a bottle that wants to spend a few more years in hiding. Give it a that time and you will not be disappointed.

2017 Guy Farge "Harmonie" Cornas
Review Date: 01-16-2020
This is now the third vintage of this wine we have imported and each subsequent vintage has in some way topped the previous. The 2015 was a powerhouse. Structured and powerful, it will benefit with years in the cellar to show it best self. The 2016 was perfumed and open. One of the best drinking Cornas' we had from that vintage and will continue to delight for years to come. The 2017 is the "most" Cornas though. This just feels so much like the region, the smell of the fruit, the smoky bacon, the crushed herbs. In your glass it transports. That is my favorite expression in any wine. I've been fortunate enough to visit Guy Farge and this region and every swirl, sniff and sip brings me back to Cornas. For a relatively humble price at this quality level, you don't need to get on a plane to be transported. Just open a bottle of this amazing wine.

2018 Fundamental Wines (Tensley) Central Coast White Blend
Review Date: 01-16-2020
Gorgeous aromas of papaya and pear dominate the nose with more layers of tropical fruits and jasmine hiding in the background. A terrific sipper on its own but would pair well with roast chicken and grilled pork tenderloin. This is sleek and inviting wine truly transcends its humble price point.
Price: $14.99 Add To Cart

2017 Guy Farge "Reynarde" Cornas
Review Date: 01-15-2020
A couple of years ago, I met with Guy Farge and tasted his exceptional St-Joseph wines. When I found out he also made a small production Cornas from two tiny plots in the appellation, I was thrilled. When I found out one of those plots was the coveted "Reynarde" lieu-dit, I was sold. The vines of this vineyard in Reynarde sit between two of the great icon producers of the Rhone, Thierry Allemand and Auguste Clape. Good company by far. The soils are decomposing granite and they are so friable that the winery's team has to diligently work the vineyards to help prevent too much erosion that could have long term effects on the vineyard. This translates well to such a character filled wine, though. The last two Cornas vintages we worked with from Guy were his "Harmonie" bottlings where this parcel of Reynard was always included in that cuvee. This is the first vintage available where he separated a couple of barrels to do this special bottling. When I first visited the winery I remember tasting out of these barrels with his son Thomas after which he asked me, "Do you think we should bottle this as its own cuvee?" It was a resounding, "YES!" on my side. Thus truly began my journey with this wine. That first tasting was almost two years ago, and I have eagerly anticipated its arrival since. The second time was at a wine fair in 2019, where I met again with Thomas. He pulled this special bottle out from under the table with excitement. "It's finally in the bottle," he exclaimed. I had just come from the Clape table (Cornas' greatest producer) and this had the measure of those wines (some of the best at the tasting). Now, in country, this is the third time I have tried the "Reynarde." I have to say, it is more exquisite now than when I first tasted it. Each time it has gotten more integrated and complete. The aromatics are expansive showing jasmine, oolong tea, roasted blackberries and crushed bay leaf. It unfolds almost immediately on the nose but the palate is where it truly sings with its fine and balanced structure. It has such a purity that is unmistakably Cornas. Surely a few more years of cellaring are a good suggestion as this extraordinary wine is really only beginning its journey. But oh what a journey! I've waited two years since that first taste, what's a few more?

2016 Pedro Martinez Alesanco Garnacha Rioja
Review Date: 01-08-2020
Rioja in name but decidedly an outlier in style. This is rich and overt with fruit and much more subtle on the oak tones than a more classic style. What really shines through is the age of the vines through the concentration of the wine. This is rich and full while maintaining supple structure. Front loaded copious amounts of red fruit and finishing long with loads of spice complexity. A perfect foil for some Spanish chorizo or some grilled lamb.
Price: $34.99 Add To Cart

2017 Mas de Sainte Croix "Passion d'Une Terre" Côtes du Rhône-Villages Valreas
Review Date: 01-08-2020
The "Passion" is yet another charming release from one of my favorite producers in the southern Rhone, Mas de Sainte Croix. The village of Valreas is one of the furthest north in the southern Rhone and sits at higher altitudes, yielding fresher and brighter styles that are a great contrast to some of the heavier styles of Rasteau and Plan de Dieu further south. Father and son team, Jacques and Julien Coipel, are by no means afraid of fruit expression though. This has plenty of it but that underlying elegance and spice from the grenache, plus a hefty dose of Mourvedre goes a long way to keep this beautifully balanced. There is no shortage of great values in the Rhone but count this as one of my favorites for sure.

2016 Domaine de Verquière Côtes du Rhône-Villages Sablet
Review Date: 01-07-2020
Winemaker Thibaut Chamfort continues to bring some of the best appellation value wines in all of the southern Rhone, all while doing it organically and all for under $20 each. The Sablet is his home village and the vines are on primarily sandy soils (sablet is sand in French). This wine always has a little more structure and power behind it than other villages like the Rasteau and Plan de Dieu. He holds the wine back another year and when it releases, it always has more elegance to it. This is spicy and classic with red fruit, clove and herbs de Provence notes. One of the finest offerings from this producer and only $15? Yes, please!

2017 Chateau de L'Ou "Infiniment" Côtes Catalanes Rouge
Review Date: 12-10-2019
The 2016 Infiniment was a superb followup to the 2015, but I must say the 2017 is probably my favorite to date. Loaded with framboise, kirsch and spices, this is a saturated and supple red that explodes out of the glass while never overwhelming. It is lush and polished and will be one of the great drinks on your table for years to come.
Price: $19.99 Add To Cart

2017 Château de L'Ou "Secret de Schistes" Côtes Catalanes
Review Date: 12-10-2019
Firing on all cylinders, the wines of Chateau de L'Ou's Severine Bourrier are some of our most popular and well received. The depth of fruit is tremendous and they cross the appeal of modern and fleshy with French sensibility. They have been compared to the style of Manfred Krankl's Sine Qua Non's many times in the past and it is hard not see why. The Secret is the flagship wine that first really caught my attention. All farmed on a small plot of brown schist, these older vines yield some of the most concentrated Syrah produced anywhere in the Roussillon. The wine goes through barrel aging for about a year and then rest in bottle for another year before shipping. That concentration needs a little time to unwind but when it does, the layers come flooding through. Blueberries, cherry compote, creosote, smoked paprika. There is a lustiness to the wines but loads of complexity underlying there as well. The 2017 reaches the heights of the past two successes, both the 2015 and 2016, so its hard not to see why she's one of our favorites.
Price: $32.99 Add To Cart

Wine Club

$26.99

2017 Domaine des Rémizières "Cuvée Christophe" Crozes-Hermitage
Review Date: 12-10-2019
The wines from the Desmeures family have become some of my favorite in our Northern Rhone portfolio. They are rich and saturated with loads of Syrah flavor but they still reflect their region and land with balance and grace. The 2017 Cuvee Christophe is reminiscent of the 2015 which was so deep and so rich. That had the backbone of the 2015 vintage and really wanted to rest for a few more years before it really shows all it has to give. The 2017 offers more immediacy in its approachability. Deep red and black fruited notes riding high on black cherry followed by a panoply of African spices and smoked bacon. I recently tasted this wine over the course of a couple of days and it opened and developed even more. Even with this accessibility it still has loads of concentration for aging. Another triumph from this emerging estate!

2015 Silla Il Piaggione Chianti Classico Riserva
Review Date: 12-03-2019
The Silla Il Piaggione takes me back two decades to a little farm house in the Classico region where I ate pappardelle al cinghiale while drinking a bottle of Chianti. It was one of the most seminal of my traveling experiences at the time, as it was the first time I had ever had wild boar with pasta and it was my first visit to the Tuscan countryside. Smells are some of the most powerful indicators of memories and this wine opens up many of them for me. The Silla is an earthy and classically styled Chianti, the nose is brimming with dried cherries, thyme and burnished saddle leather. The palate has wonderful texture that eludes to something bigger like a Brunello but the tannins soften adding length. The finish harkens back to the nose with those leathery notes and some baked cherries for good measure. A complete and enticing red for certain, speaking of those Tuscan hillsides that will surely create many new memories to fondly reflect upon.
Price: $19.99 Add To Cart

2015 Château Bouscassé Madiran
Review Date: 12-03-2019
Wine maestro Alain Brumont revitalized the Madiran region with his home estate of Bouscasse and then Montus shortly thereafter, and when you taste the wine, it is easy to understand why. Traditionally, the wines of Madiran needed years in the bottle to shed their tannic cloak but Brumont's methodology and winemaking practices have brought out the more nuanced and expressive parts of the Tannat grape. The new vintage of Bouscasse is from a riper year which adds density and weight to an already mouthfilling and plush red. Madiran always feels like winter wine with its brooding and robust structure and the Bouscasse is perfectly primed for that thick cut of roasted meat or slow roasted brisket. It is a plush and polished full-bodied red that will warm you up on a cool winter's night.
Price: $19.99 Add To Cart

2017 Ferraton Père et Fils Côtes du Rhône-Villages Plan de Dieu
Review Date: 11-19-2019
Ferraton is best known for their Northern Rhone efforts but they make some pretty spectacular Southern Rhones as well. This Plan de Dieu is truly one of the great standouts. More old-school with its brambly red fruit, potpourri and dusty spices. Providing weight, richness and elegance, this is many a staff members' favorite classically styled Cotes du Rhone, especially my own!
Price: $14.99 Add To Cart

Balcones "K&L Exclusive" Cask Strength Single Barrel #16003 Texas Single Malt Whisky (750ml)
Review Date: 11-13-2019
The nose on the Balcones is an explosion of tropical fruits and spices. From papaya, coconut and dried mango, it even draws out some intense coffee and vanilla notes with a bit of candied fig on the finish. The color is supremely dark for something this youthful, but there is no shortage of flavor here on this very impressive whisky.
Price: Hidden View Price

5 Sentidos K&L Exclusive Espadin "Batch ESALB01-19" (Alberto Martinez) Santa Catarina Albarradas Uncertified Oaxacan Mezcal (750ml)
Review Date: 11-13-2019
When I think of Mezcal, I often drift into thoughts of American barbecue. In some regions of the US, the smokier the better. But I want to taste the meat, and that's exactly what brings me to one of the most impressive Mezcals I have tasted this year. The use of oak and acacia in the smoking process gives a subtle more refined character. This smoking and all the hand processing really allows the aromas and the flavors of the Espadin to shine through. Citrus, spice and that peppery vegetal tone accentuate the smoky palate. Don't think of this as a less smoky alternative though, think of it as a more appropriately smoked version. I am definitely putting this on the shelf of my home bar.
Price: $109.99 Add To Cart

2017 Liparita Rutherford Cabernet Sauvignon
Review Date: 11-13-2019
Maybe the most charming of the three wines we have offered to date, the Rutherford is the most elegant by far. It has wonderful red currant, cherry and spice tones. It has more of that old-school Napa charm that feels like a much more restrained wine. A few minutes in the glass and the wine opens with even more fruit on the palate. This is a bit more medium- to full-bodied than its predecessors but should fit beautifully on the table with a whole host of Holiday Meals, from richer fowl dishes to pork and even that standing rib roast.
Price: $19.99 Add To Cart

Hillrock Estate Solera Aged Single Barrel K&L Exclusive Cask Strength Straight Bourbon Whiskey (750ml)
Review Date: 07-11-2019
What a standout! This is one of the most polished cask strength Bourbons I have tasted in some time. The aromas of spice cake and dried fruits abound with an underlying subtle grain note. The average aggregated age of 13 years gives this a distinct creaminess on the palate and subdues all of the heat from the high proof. This is a superb single cask that could reach cult status down the road.
Price: $139.99 Add To Cart

Page: 1 2 next