Best Sellers New Arrivals Local Events Locations Gift Cards My Account

Staff Favorites - Jacques Moreira

Jacques Moreira
Jacques Moreira  | Send Email  |   Subscribe to My Sommelier Service
Having been born in Rio de Janeiro into a very proud French/Portuguese family, and living in France and the USA for almost 25 years, gave me the best of all worlds, one very old, and another very new. I’ve always had three different perspectives on everything growing up, three different opportunities to understand the world around me and to try to make sense of it all. From Ipanema Beach, to the bluest of seas in the Côte d'Azur and Nice, to the wonderful Big Sur. Caipirinha and Feijoada, codfish and Vinho Verde, Daube and Bandol, and the always present Rosé, and…beer for those 110 degree summertime days in Rio! I always worked in the food business, in Paris, Nice and San Francisco. While working at Jules Verne in Paris, I decided to devote my career solely to wines and eventually got my Sommelier certification through the International Sommelier Guild.


Reviews

Page: prev 1 2 3
2015 Haut Charmes, Sauternes (375ml)
Review Date: 02-20-2018
The lifting acidity balancing the beautiful amalgamation of fruits and honey, makes this Sauternes a perfect choice to accompany a Pâté/foie appetizer - at the beginning of the meal instead of at the end! Although, of course it will work wonders with dessert or as "the dessert" with nuts and cheese. A great choice of wine for those with an adventurous sense of the culinary.
Price: $11.99 Add To Cart

2016 Domaine de Pallus "Messanges" Chinon
Review Date: 01-30-2018
Picture perfect Cabernet Franc from the Loire Valley! Very pretty lifted aromatics that exudes violets, cassis, thyme along with crushed stones and a touch of pencil shavings. The palate follows with medium-body and very silky tannins. All that translates to perfect wine to pair with a great assortment of cuisines, spicy dishes, light meat, grilled tuna or salmon. Enjoy!
Price: $15.99 Add To Cart
WS 90

2015 Patz & Hall Sonoma Coast Pinot Noir
Review Date: 01-29-2018
Nice and balanced, with beautiful aromatics of cherries, strawberries and cola. On the palate it is never heavy, and its velvety tannins make the whole experience quite phenomenal. A deliciously elegant Pinot showing off California greatest.
Price: $39.95 Add To Cart
WE 93

2015 Les Tourelles de Longueville, Pauillac
Review Date: 01-29-2018
Another 2nd wine that showcases the marvelous 2015 vintage. And what we often say about buying second wines in great vintages really holds true. Les Tourelles needs some decanting of course, but it is all there, the floral notes, cocoa, cassis and yet earthy. Outstanding.

2015 Ormes de Pez, St-Estèphe
Review Date: 01-29-2018
A classic St-Estèphe, with lots of exotic spices, a touch of leather, earth and lots of dark purple fruit, cedar,dark fruit and I could go on, and on... Incredibly complex for such affordable wine. Viva 2015!

2015 Seigneurs d'Aiguilhe, Côtes de Castillon
Review Date: 01-29-2018
Lush aromatics of cassis, cocoa, wild berries and vanilla let you know this second wine really is second to none! It has a "sweet" palate showing the perfect ripeness of the grapes alongside smoke, blueberry, cinnamon and french vanilla. Rich and complex, this delicious wine is a classic example of what to expect from the excellent 2015 vintage - and I hear the 2016 is even better... Impressive. Really.
Price: $16.99 Add To Cart

2015 Haut-Musset, Lalande-de-Pomerol
Review Date: 01-29-2018
very attractive nose of fresh berries, followed by an medium-body palate with soft tannins, along cassis, and even a touch of chocolate milk. Quite approachable and a delight to drink now.
Price: $16.99 Add To Cart

2015 Croix Mouton, Bordeaux Supérieur
Review Date: 01-29-2018
Approachable, easy drinking and yet complex. Lots of fruits-du-bois (wild berries). a delicious note of blood orange, and a touch of spices, deliver a wine that would be perfect with lighter fare red meats, roast chicken, and even pizza!
Price: $15.99 Add To Cart
JS 90

2014 Haut-Médoc de Beychevelle, Haut-Médoc
Review Date: 11-06-2017
Coming from one of my favorite estates in all of Bordeax - Beychevelle - This Médoc delivers delicious Merlot fruit, with its dark flavors and elegant juiciness. Indeed it is quite complex and would easily dress up any dinner party.
Price: $22.99 Add To Cart

2014 Haut de Poujeaux, Haut-Médoc
Review Date: 11-06-2017
Fabulously well made wine, with elegant aromatics of black cherries, roasted coffee. The palate is absolutely seamless, revealing its high pedigree.
Price: $18.99 Add To Cart

2015 D'Archambeau, Graves
Review Date: 11-06-2017
Perfect example of a wine that tastes more expensive than it actually is. I certainly would not guess its less-than-$14 price tag on a blind taste. Appealing notes of coffee, pencil lead and cassis - clasic!

2015 Haut-Vigneau, Pessac-Léognan
Review Date: 10-09-2017
2015 one of the best vintages on record, makes it easy to buy wines at this price range. They are for the most part very approachable, and yet can certainly age if you wish. Haut-Vigneau is a perfect example. Nice primary fruit core right now, but with a nice structure framing it. Drink it now or cellar for some more years.
Price: $18.99 Add To Cart
JS 92

2007 Haut-Bailly, Pessac-Léognan
Review Date: 08-28-2017
This classic wine, from a cooler vintage still has a long way to go in the cellars, however after decanting it for say... 1 hour or 2, it delivers a nicely perfumed aromatics and a robust palate that really shows off its terroir.

2013 Raymond "Reserve Selection" Napa Valley Cabernet Sauvignon
Review Date: 08-01-2017
Raymond has always been known for its well balanced wines, and the 2013 is no exception. The fruit while ripe and plump, is beautifully framed by the wood spices, and the notes of mocha, earth, and dark chocolate and olives. A beautiful wine at a great price indeed.

2016 Reichsrat von Buhl "Bone Dry" Spätburgunder Rosé Pfalz
Review Date: 06-12-2017
Very nice floral aromatics and sure... It is completely dry on the delicate palate. Reminiscent of a Sancerre rosé. The cool label sure makes it stand out in a crowded rosé line up these days.
Price: $16.99 Add To Cart

2016 Weingut Fürst Elbling Mosel (1L)
Review Date: 06-12-2017
A great surprise for me as I don't recall ever drinking "Elbling" - Reminiscent of a Gruner on the nose, but on the palate, it has this most attractive saline note. Quite dry but with a welcoming vinous texture. Acidity is high, but balanced. This is an easy, nice wine that is very useful in many settings, from summer get-togethers, to a seafood dinner extravaganza!
Price: $14.99 Add To Cart

2015 Petit Figeac, St-Emilion
Review Date: 05-22-2017
Petit Figeac is definitely a wine for those who appreciate a balanced wine that although soft it does deliver a complex and well integrated experience. I appreciated that very much.

2014 La Jasse Castel "Bleu Velours" Languedoc-Montpeyroux
Review Date: 02-27-2017
Another outstanding wine from this certified organic producer. The Bleu Velours (blue velvet) delivers an elegant floral aromatics, with blackberries, and black pepper. The tannins are indeed very velvety-like which makes this wine a pleasure to drink on its own but I'm thinking about pairing it with a vegetarian/vegan dinner party coming up...
Price: Hidden View Price

2014 Carbonnieux Blanc, Pessac-Léognan
Review Date: 01-30-2017
This wine showed really well at the UGC tasting last January. Tantalizing notes of Marzipan, citrus, and some exotic herbs. The palate is round with glycerol, medium acidity and lots of minerality. A tremendous white Bordeaux, that's classic, very elegant, and quite delicious as of today.

2000 Léoville-Poyferré, St-Julien
Review Date: 10-31-2016
One of the stars of our annual Grand Bordeaux Tasting in Hollywood. Not an easy feat considering it was in the company of the likes of 2012 Mouton Rothschild, and Chateau Margaux! Captivating note of graphite, pencil lead and lacquer/cigar box, along with cocoa, cherries, cassis, and forest floor, and leather. A stunning wine.

1998 Haut-Bailly, Pessac-Léognan
Review Date: 09-19-2016
A fantastic wine experience. From the vintage when the "Merlots were blessed by the gods" (can't recall who said that... But it is true!). Beautiful notes of coffee, leather, some capsicum and even honey on this developed wine. The tannins are soft and very much resolved. Incredibly alluring and very elegant.

2010 Bel-Orme Tronquoy de Lalande, Haut-Médoc
Review Date: 09-19-2016
Very intriguing nose of an intermingling of fruit and woodsy character. The sweet spices of vanilla along the notes of cassis and cocoa. Decant or cellar for a few more years. A very good value.
Price: $21.99 Add To Cart
JS 90

2004 Moulin-Haut-Laroque, Fronsac
Review Date: 07-16-2016
Very attractive notes of dark cherries along with cherry noyaux, milk chocolate and plums. Although soft and easy on the palate it has its tannins still very much present holding the soft fruit. Very pleasant and very food friendly.
Price: $24.99 Add To Cart
RP 90

2005 Calon-Ségur, St-Estèphe
Review Date: 06-21-2016
Beautiful wine with intense aromatics, color, depth and concentration. Dark berries, cassis, coffee, leather, smoked meat, along with exotic spices, and I could go on… This wine needs time and will last for a long time in the cellar.

2005 Rauzan-Ségla, Margaux
Review Date: 08-24-2015
Recently tasted on a staff training, and was immensely pleased! This is a classic Margaux wine in every sense. Cassis, plums, exotic spices, coffee and cocoa, and a most beautiful note of violets. What else but a Margaux could it be? Present but soft as silk tannins and a very prolonged finish tells me it is here for the long haul in a very lucky cellar indeed!

1989 Haut-Bailly, Pessac-Léognan
Review Date: 08-15-2015
Beautifully aged, and ready now. Leather, olives, plums and a touch of pepper. It is so soft on the palate, that I must use the word silk to describe the experience. An outstanding wine.
Price: $149.99 Add To Cart
WS 92 RP 91

2015 Nenin, Pomerol
Review Date: 05-11-2015
Very pretty and lifted nose of violets (perhaps from the Cabernet Franc?), with a touch of dusty minerality and coffee. On the palate the the fleshy Merlot appears,and offer delicate berries, plums and cocoa. It is a beautiful wine!

1999 Haut-Bailly, Pessac-Léognan
Review Date: 06-24-2014
Medium garnet color, Beautiful aromatics, showing development. Floral, honey, red berries, along with some tertiary notes of leather saddle and a touch of mushroom. Still fresh though, with the fruit clearly still showing. Medium body and I'd say medium tannins too. I did not decant it before pouring, but the wine kept opening up with time, which tells me it could use decanting. Very good indeed.
Price: $139.99 Add To Cart
RP 91

2009 Malescot-St-Exupéry, Margaux
Review Date: 06-24-2014
Deep-inky purple color. Very aromatic with an almost candied plum note, crème de cassis, espresso coffee beans, concentrated palate and yet not heavy. Super velvety tannins and all very integrated, very balanced. It is ripe, but not hot. Awe-inspiring.

Jean-Louis Denois Pinot Noir Brut Rosé
Review Date: 10-15-2013
Delightful bubbly, brimming with strawberry and raspberries, still quite dry, but with a full flavor.
Price: $15.99 Add To Cart

Egrot (formerly Elisabeth Goutorbe) Brut Champagne
Review Date: 07-03-2012
This is a new Champagne for me that thanks to our buyer Gary Westby, I had the chance to taste and love it. With a fascinating nose of caramel toffee, some cocoa powder and a surprising wiff of pain-au-chocolat and cherries that brought back memories of a breakfast on a back street cafe around the Champs-Elisees. A great wine for a very elegant apperitif.
Price: $34.99 Add To Cart

Deligeroy "La Petite Marquise" Crémant de Loire Brut Rosé
Review Date: 11-05-2011
Without a doubt one of my favorites sparkling rosé wines. Full of citron, wild strawberries, cherries and FUN! I recommend it for an aperitif on Valentine's day, or with the heart shaped box of chocolate! What?! It is not Valentines just yet? Just pretend, your significant other will love it!
Price: $12.99 Add To Cart

Antech Blanquette de Limoux Brut Nature
Review Date: 06-14-2011
Quite possibly the perfect aperitif for a great soirée, so crispy and refreshing. It is not austere at all as some might think, being a Brut Nature, just delightfully vibrant. As with food, think all kinds of appetizers, Caesar's Salad, Goat cheese, Eggs Benedict, Caviar, Asian food, and why not... lobsters!
Price: $12.99 Add To Cart

St. Germain Elderflower Liqueur (750ml)
Review Date: 05-04-2011
I love it to bits! A little drop of its magic will transform a simple bubbly into the most amazing Champagne cocktail. Thumbs up!
Price: $32.99 Add To Cart
WE 96 - 100

Ariston Aspasie Brut Rosé Champagne
Review Date: 08-09-2010
Profound and fun at the same time. Deliciously rich but still delicate, with an explosion of berry fruit. My first choice for a Lobster Bisque, hors d'oeuvre, sushi or to accompany a romantic sunset...
Price: $34.99 Add To Cart

Ledaig 10 year old Isle of Mull Single Malt Whisky (750ml)
Review Date: 12-27-2009
I was a Scotch drinker in my 20s, but for some reason that I can't remember, I stopped drinking them. After being around David Girard for awhile, he became sort of a "mentor" to me, and I am having a lot of fun being reintroduced to the world of Scotch. The Ledaig has been, so far, one my my favorites, with a very balanced amount of peat (which I love), and a quite intriguing whiff of white flowers, leather and lots of spices. I will keep you posted about this exciting journey with other reviews.
Price: $49.99 Add To Cart
WE 90 - 95

Franck Bonville Grand Cru Brut Blanc de Blancs Champagne
Review Date: 10-20-2009
If there is such a thing as a Champagne for everyday use, well this has to be it. Not because of the price, but for its quality and poise. Very crispy, citrousy end elegant. Perfect for hors d'oeuvres, seafood, egg dishes, guacamole, goat cheeses, and "fantastic" with caviar!
Price: $34.99 Add To Waiting List
WE 91 WS 90

Patrick Bottex "La Cueille" Bugey Cerdon Rosé (Méthode Ancéstrale)
Review Date: 04-17-2008
Glass Full image Glass Full image Glass Full image Glass Full image Glass Full image
Fun, fun and more fun! Here’s a wine bursting with raspberries and bright red apples. Very light in alcohol (8%) and full of bubbles. Rosé from gamay and the very indigenous "poulsard" . For me this wine is picture perfect for Thanksgiving— the last thing I would want is a heavy and cumbersome wine for this late afternoon dinner. Instead this is a light, refreshing, food-friendly wine, with just enough residual sugar to pair just about perfectly with turkey, cranberry and everything that goes with it. And it doesn’t give me a headache! I could give this wine nothing less than 5 stars for what it is!
Price: $19.99 Add To Cart
RP 90

Page: prev 1 2 3

More Favorites

Jacques Moreira is also a fan of the following items. To become a fan of Jacques Moreira, click here to join Jacques Moreira's Personal Sommelier Service.
2015 Lilian Ladouys, St-Estèphe ($24.99)

2014 Lilian Ladouys, St-Estèphe ($22.99)

2016 Hugel "Gentil" Alsace ($11.99)

2015 Trimbach Riesling Alsace ($19.99)

Caps Corse Mattei Rouge Quinaquina (750ml) ($19.99)

Caps Corse Mattei Blanc Quinaquina (750ml) ($19.99)

Writer's Tears Pure Pot Still Irish Whiskey (750ml) ($39.99)

Yellowstone "Select" Kentucky Bourbon (750ml) ($34.99)

Redemption Wheated Bourbon Whiskey (750ml) ($39.99)

Alipus San Luis Del Rio Mezcal (750ml) ($39.99)

2015 Domaine de Courcel Pommard "Les Vaumuriens" ($66.99)

2016 Au Bon Climat/K&L Wine Merchants "Bien Nacido Vineyard" Santa Maria Valley Pinot Noir ($19.99)

2005 Langoa-Barton, St-Julien ($69.99)

St. George "Botanivore" Gin (750ml) ($27.99)

2014 Les Tourelles de Longueville, Pauillac ($37.99)

2001 Brane-Cantenac, Margaux ($109.99)

Franck Bonville Brut Rosé Champagne (375ml) ($21.99)

2007 Bollinger "Grande Année" Brut Champagne ($99.00)

Bollinger "Special Cuvée" Brut Champagne (375ml) ($34.99)

Bollinger Brut Rosé Champagne ($74.99)

Laurent-Perrier Brut Champagne Salmanazar (9L) ($749.00)

Franck Bonville Grand Cru Brut Blanc de Blancs Champagne (375ml) ($18.99)

Fallet-Dart "Cuvée de Réserve" Brut Champagne ($29.99)

Fallet-Dart "Grande Sélection" Brut Champagne ($34.99)

Carpano Antica Formula Sweet Vermouth (1L) ($28.99)

Billecart-Salmon "Brut Reserve" Champagne (1.5L) ($109.00)

Billecart-Salmon "Brut Reserve" Champagne (375ml) ($26.99)

Billecart-Salmon Brut Rosé Champagne (375ml) ($39.99)

Bollinger "Special Cuvée" Brut Champagne ($59.99)

Taittinger "La Française" Brut Champagne ($44.99)

Ruinart Brut Rosé Champagne (ships as 1.5L due to shape of bottle) ($74.99)

Guillaumette L'Authentique Génépi (375ml) ($25.99)

Foss Distillery "Birkir" Birch Snaps 375ml ($39.99)

Foss Distillery "Björk" Birch Liqueur (375ml) ($39.99)

Zirbenz Stone Pine Liqueur of the Alps (375ml) ($32.99)

Domaine Baud "Cuvée Sauvage" Brut Cremant du Jura ($19.99)

Cimarron Reposado Tequila (1L) ($21.99)

Cimarron Blanco Tequila (1L) ($21.99)

Casa Dragones Blanco Tequila (750ml) (ships as a 1.5l) ($59.99)

Casa Dragones Sipping Tequila (750ml - ships as a 1.5L due to bottle shape) ($274.99)

Tequila Fortaleza Anejo Tequila (750ml) ($74.99)

Tequila Fortaleza Reposado Tequila (750ml) ($54.99)

Tequila Fortaleza Blanco Tequila (750ml) ($44.99)

2009 Trimbach "Cuvée Frédéric Émile" Riesling Alsace ($64.99)

2004 Philippe Delesvaux Sélection de Grains Nobles Coteaux du Layon (500ml) ($49.99)

2005 Philippe Delesvaux "Sélection de Grains Nobles" Coteaux du Layon (500ml) ($59.99)

Billecart-Salmon Brut Rosé Champagne ($74.99)

2006 Calon-Ségur, St-Estèphe ($84.99)

2005 Lascombes, Margaux ($139.99)

Lustau "East India Solera" Sherry ($24.99)

Lustau Almacenista Oloroso "Pata de Gallina" (500ml) ($26.99)

Warre's "Otima" 20-year-old Tawny Port (500ml) ($39.99)

Warre's "Otima" 10 Year Old Tawny Port (500ml) ($23.99)

Ramos Pinto White Port ($15.99)

Nocino della Cristina Napa Valley Walnut Liqueur (375ml) ($29.99)

Luxardo Maraschino Liqueur (750ml) ($29.99)

Luxardo Maraschino Cherries (400g) ($15.99)

Chartreuse Green (750ml) ($49.99)

Franck Bonville "Prestige" Brut Blanc de Blancs Champagne ($44.99)

Ariston Aspasie "Carte Blanche" Brut Champagne ($29.99)

Pommery "Brut Royal" Champagne ($32.99)

Lillet Blanc (750ml) ($17.99)

Launois "Cuvée Reserve" Brut Blanc de Blancs Champagne ($34.99)

Ruinart Brut Blanc de Blancs Champagne (Ships as a 1.5L Due to Bottle Size/Shape) ($69.99)

Domaine de Canton Ginger & Cognac Liqueur (750ml) ($29.99)

Ariston Aspasie Blanc de Blancs Brut Champagne ($34.99)