Staff Favorites - Jacques Moreira

Jacques Moreira
Jacques Moreira  | Send Email  |   Subscribe to My Sommelier Service
Having been born in Rio de Janeiro into a very proud French/Portuguese family, and living in France and the USA for almost 25 years, gave me the best of all worlds, one very old, and another very new. I’ve always had three different perspectives on everything growing up, three different opportunities to understand the world around me and to try to make sense of it all. From Ipanema Beach, to the bluest of seas in the Côte d'Azur and Nice, to the wonderful Big Sur. Caipirinha and Feijoada, codfish and Vinho Verde, Daube and Bandol, and the always present Rosé, and…beer for those 110 degree summertime days in Rio! I always worked in the food business, in Paris, Nice and San Francisco. While working at Jules Verne in Paris, I decided to devote my career solely to wines and eventually got my Sommelier certification through the International Sommelier Guild.


Reviews

Page: prev 1 2 3 next
2016 Bodegas Colomé Torrontes Valle Calchaquí Salta
Review Date: 04-02-2018
Beautiful wine indeed. Night jasmine aromatics, together with some other exotic flowers, honey and herb spices. All of that surrounded by a crispy acidity which rounds it up, and make it a perfect pairing with Asian food, seafood, or any spicy food.
Price: $11.99 Add To Cart
DC 91 RP 90

2014 Pasetti Montepulciano d'Abruzzo
Review Date: 04-02-2018
Rich & spicy, this Italian wine is just what I would suggest for a cozy Wednesday night, with a calabrezza pizza for company! Or with some delicious stuffed peppers, pasta arabiatta or putanesca.
Price: $16.99 Add To Cart

2016 Underwood by Union Wine Co. Oregon Pinot Noir
Review Date: 04-02-2018
I like this wine for what it is. Light, full of bright cherries, easy drinking. Usually I give it a little chill and drink it as I would a rosé. It goes very well with all kind of light fare cuisine.
Price: $11.99 Add To Cart

2015 Ancient Peaks Paso Robles Cabernet Sauvignon
Review Date: 04-02-2018
I tend to shy away from those over-the-top, high alcohol, heavily oaked Cabernet wines, regardless of how many points they are awarded. And that's why I enjoyed this wine. Its complexity along with its approachability, makes a perfect pairing with a wide variety of foods. From red meat to roasted vegetables...Perfection!
Price: $16.99 Add To Cart

2016 Chateau Vitallis Macon-Fuissé
Review Date: 04-02-2018
Very classic Fuissé showing delicious hazelnut, white flowers, citrus, flint and plenty of minerality. Try with smoked salmon, grilled bass with herbs and sure, Japanese food! Great chance to stock up on some good quality/value Burgundy.
Price: $16.99 Add To Cart

2016 Sean Minor "Four Bears" Central Coast Pinot Noir
Review Date: 04-02-2018
Gotta say, for a Pinot Noir that costs less than $10, the Sean Minor more than just delivers, it is actually good! Lots of cherry and blackberry along with some delicious smoke undertones. I'm thinking roasted chicken, grilled salmon, pork chops...
Price: $11.99 Add To Cart

Allimant Laugner Cremant d'Alsace Rosé (1.5L)
Review Date: 04-02-2018
I would say this is the very best Rosé sparkling we carry at this moment. Very elegant and delicate and yet it has raspberry and strawberry galore on the nose and on the palate. Very focused and quite dry. Beautiful!
Price: $44.99 Add To Cart

Allimant Laugner Cremant d'Alsace Rosé
Review Date: 04-02-2018
I would say this is the very best Rosé sparkling we carry at this moment. Very elegant and delicate and yet it has raspberry and strawberry galore on the nose and on the palate. Very focused and quite dry. Beautiful!
Price: $18.99 Add To Cart

Avuá Prata Cachaça Brasil (750ml)
Review Date: 04-02-2018
Very nice Cachaça. Very floral, soft and with a touch of honey. Great for tropical cocktails.
Price: $29.99 Add To Cart

2014 Schramsberg North Coast Blanc de Blancs Brut Sparkling Wine
Review Date: 04-02-2018
To best describe this wine to you I have to tell you a little secret... I mistook this bottle for Champagne on my sommelier test (not the final exam thank God!). Now, knowing better, I should have noticed by the ripeness of the fruit that this was no Champagne, but oh it was so delicious! Toasty and briochy, with lemon notes and also some tropical fruit and exotic spices. I definitely recommend the Schramsberg.
Price: $29.99 Add To Cart
WE 92 RP 90

2015 Domaine de Durban Muscat de Beaumes de Venise (375ml)
Review Date: 04-02-2018
I sometimes find some of the sweet Muscats have along with the sweetness, a bitterness, almost orange rind finish to them. That does not apply here. All pineapple and grapes, flowery and delicacy on this Beaumes de Venise. Delicious on its own as an aperitif or with any apricot, cassis, ginger, orange and pineapple desserts. Also, dried fruits, Roqueford cheese, fruit salads, sweet Crepes and merengues - A classic with ice cream!
Price: $14.99 Add To Cart

2015 L'Avocat Rouge, Graves
Review Date: 03-05-2018
This wine showcases not only its appellation but the vintage as well. It is approachable, but a passage through the decanter will round it up. Cassis, brown sugar, and loads of minerality framed by firm but not at all harsh tannins. A wine to dress up any dinner.
Price: $17.99 Add To Cart

2014 Tormaresca "Neprica" Super Puglia
Review Date: 03-05-2018
I find most intriguing when french grapes grown in Italy acquire that "Non so che cosa"that makes it uniquely Italian. The Neprica has just that with its Cabernet Sauvignon. Very nice and approachable wine that is ready to go on any party, dinner, picnic and anywhere else you might want to take it along.
Price: $9.99 Add To Cart

2016 Joel Gott California Sauvignon Blanc
Review Date: 03-05-2018
Very appealing wine, full of tropical notes. Guava, and even a note of a more exotic soursop fruit! The acidity frames all the fruit, delivering a wine that is interesting, very pleasing and refreshing.
Price: $10.99 Add To Cart

2016 Olema Sonoma County Chardonnay
Review Date: 03-05-2018
I gotta say I was impressed with this very flavorful Chardonnay. It has all the pretty notes I expect on a new-world wine, but none of the cloying, hyper-ripe fruit notes. Tropical? Yes. And it's all the better for it. Pineapple, peaches, and honeysuckle, and citrus, along with the cloves/cinnamon notes that make it just irresistible.
Price: $15.99 Add To Cart
JS 91

2014 Hyot, Côtes de Castillon
Review Date: 03-05-2018
A delightful wine that is ready to be drunk now. It possess a sweet core of fruit, along with coffee and pencil shavings notes. Nice pairing with all the classic meat dishes, meatloaf and charcuterie.

2016 Château Vitallis Pouilly-Fuissé "Les Vignes du Chateau"
Review Date: 03-05-2018
A classic Burgundy in every way. It is broad, with its richness of fruit perfectly balanced by its minerality and oak spice notes. Very nice with broiled lobster tails.
Price: $21.99 Add To Cart
WE 91

2014 Vignerons des Terres Secretes St-Véran "Les Cras"
Review Date: 03-05-2018
Here we have a serious Burgundy with some age to it, for a price far below of what one would expect of a wine of this pedigree. Very well integrated notes of oak, give it a touch of nuttiness reminiscent of a Meursault. I can see this pairing fantastically with say... grilled oysters.
Price: $18.99 Add To Cart

Wine Club

$14.99

2016 Domaine Renaud Mâcon-Charnay
Review Date: 03-05-2018
Quite approachable wine, with delectable notes of apple an citrous, with tangy acidity rounding it off. Nice Chardonnay for those not wanting a heavily oaked wine.
Price: $16.99 Add To Cart

2016 Eric Cottat Sancerre Rouge
Review Date: 03-05-2018
Here's a Pinot that regardless of where it is from, it is delicious - I mean, it will please all lovers of good Pinot Noir. It happens to be from France, from the beautiful Loire Valley to be more exact, and it is a classic! Gorgeous aromatics of fresh cherries, violets, cola and even a touch of vanilla. On the very soft palate, all of the above is framed by the juicy acidity and medium tannins. This wine would be absolutely perfect with vegetarian dishes, Indian cuisine, Mexican, Pizza, Peking duck, and I could go on. Very versatile. Bravo Eric Cottat!
Price: $19.99 Add To Cart

2015 Antech "Cuvée Eugenie" Cremant de Limoux
Review Date: 02-20-2018
Most definitely one of the best deals in bubbles outside of Champagne. With an intriguing balance between richness and delicacy, this is lemony and honeyed but perfectly Brut. Pair it with any creamy fish dishes, blinis, fondue, banana-based desserts, carrot cake, or just as an aperitif watching the sun setting over the Pacific!
Price: $13.99 Add To Cart
DC 91

2014 Antech "Cuvée Eugenie" Cremant de Limoux (1.5L)
Review Date: 02-20-2018
Most definitely one of the best deals in bubbles outside of Champagne. With an intriguing balance between richness and delicacy, this is lemony and honeyed but perfectly Brut. Pair it with any creamy fish dishes, blinis, fondue, banana-based desserts, carrot cake, or just as an aperitif watching the sun setting over the Pacific!
Price: $29.99 Add To Cart

2014 Pichon-Baron, Pauillac
Review Date: 02-20-2018
A beautiful nose of dark fruits, like cassis, blackberry, plums and an elegant note of pencil lead. The palate not only follows the nose but also offers plums, tobacco and cedar. My exact notes about the palate was: "beautiful fruit behind a fine veil of tannins and earthy minerality". I think that describes the elegance of this sumptuous wine.

2015 La Source du Ruault Saumur-Champigny Rouge (375ml)
Review Date: 02-20-2018
Really delightful Cabernet Franc, from Saumur, medium bodied, and very floral, with an intense nose of crushed rocks, violets and little red fruits. I would suggest serving it a bit chilled. Perfect with Indian food.
Price: $8.99 Add To Cart

2016 Domaine de Pallus "Messanges" Chinon
Review Date: 01-30-2018
Picture perfect Cabernet Franc from the Loire Valley! Very pretty lifted aromatics that exudes violets, cassis, thyme along with crushed stones and a touch of pencil shavings. The palate follows with medium-body and very silky tannins. All that translates to perfect wine to pair with a great assortment of cuisines, spicy dishes, light meat, grilled tuna or salmon. Enjoy!
Price: $15.99 Add To Cart
WS 90

2015 Patz & Hall Sonoma Coast Pinot Noir
Review Date: 01-29-2018
Nice and balanced, with beautiful aromatics of cherries, strawberries and cola. On the palate it is never heavy, and its velvety tannins make the whole experience quite phenomenal. A deliciously elegant Pinot showing off California greatest.
Price: $39.95 Add To Cart
WE 93

2015 Le Cleméntin du Pape Clément, Pessac-Léognan
Review Date: 01-29-2018
And yet another example of fantastic second wines from a fantastic a vintage. No doubt Le Clementin delivers an impressive wine, and also maintain its classic Pessac-Leognan style. Cocoa powder, plums and cassis jam and wet stone and a great tannin/acid structure framing it, and balancing this elegant wine.
Price: Hidden View Price
RP 90

2015 Les Tourelles de Longueville, Pauillac
Review Date: 01-29-2018
Another 2nd wine that showcases the marvelous 2015 vintage. And what we often say about buying second wines in great vintages really holds true. Les Tourelles needs some decanting of course, but it is all there, the floral notes, cocoa, cassis and yet earthy. Outstanding.

2015 Ormes de Pez, St-Estèphe
Review Date: 01-29-2018
A classic St-Estèphe, with lots of exotic spices, a touch of leather, earth and lots of dark purple fruit, cedar,dark fruit and I could go on, and on... Incredibly complex for such affordable wine. Viva 2015!

2015 Seigneurs d'Aiguilhe, Côtes de Castillon
Review Date: 01-29-2018
Lush aromatics of cassis, cocoa, wild berries and vanilla let you know this second wine really is second to none! It has a "sweet" palate showing the perfect ripeness of the grapes alongside smoke, blueberry, cinnamon and french vanilla. Rich and complex, this delicious wine is a classic example of what to expect from the excellent 2015 vintage - and I hear the 2016 is even better... Impressive. Really.
Price: $16.99 Add To Cart

2015 Haut-Musset, Lalande-de-Pomerol
Review Date: 01-29-2018
very attractive nose of fresh berries, followed by an medium-body palate with soft tannins, along cassis, and even a touch of chocolate milk. Quite approachable and a delight to drink now.
Price: $16.99 Add To Cart

Wine Club

$14.99

2015 Croix Mouton, Bordeaux Supérieur
Review Date: 01-29-2018
Approachable, easy drinking and yet complex. Lots of fruits-du-bois (wild berries). a delicious note of blood orange, and a touch of spices, deliver a wine that would be perfect with lighter fare red meats, roast chicken, and even pizza!
Price: $15.99 Add To Cart
JS 90

2014 Haut-Médoc de Beychevelle, Haut-Médoc
Review Date: 11-06-2017
Coming from one of my favorite estates in all of Bordeax - Beychevelle - This Médoc delivers delicious Merlot fruit, with its dark flavors and elegant juiciness. Indeed it is quite complex and would easily dress up any dinner party.
Price: $22.99 Add To Cart

2014 Haut de Poujeaux, Haut-Médoc
Review Date: 11-06-2017
Fabulously well made wine, with elegant aromatics of black cherries, roasted coffee. The palate is absolutely seamless, revealing its high pedigree.
Price: $18.99 Add To Cart

2016 l'Avocat Blanc, Graves
Review Date: 10-09-2017
The white Avocat for me is a classic white Bordeaux. It processes a nice balanced richness, with a lanolin, honeyed nose, along with a broad palate. The addition of Sauvignon Gris definitely makes its beautiful presence known. The full breakdown of the cepages is 50% Semillon, 40% Sauvignon Blanc and 10% Sauvignon Gris
Price: $14.99 Add To Cart

2015 Haut-Vigneau, Pessac-Léognan
Review Date: 10-09-2017
2015 one of the best vintages on record, makes it easy to buy wines at this price range. They are for the most part very approachable, and yet can certainly age if you wish. Haut-Vigneau is a perfect example. Nice primary fruit core right now, but with a nice structure framing it. Drink it now or cellar for some more years.
Price: $18.99 Add To Cart
JS 92

2015 Jouanin, Cotes de Castillon
Review Date: 10-09-2017
A very approachable wine that's a pleasure to drink.The Merlot fruit delivers its plums flavors and floral violet aromatics. Soft tannins and a delicious sweet core. Perfect for enjoying on any night.
Price: $11.99 Add To Cart

2007 Haut-Bailly, Pessac-Léognan
Review Date: 08-28-2017
This classic wine, from a cooler vintage still has a long way to go in the cellars, however after decanting it for say... 1 hour or 2, it delivers a nicely perfumed aromatics and a robust palate that really shows off its terroir.

2014 La Reserve de Malartic, Pessac-Léognan
Review Date: 07-03-2017
This second wine of Malartic Lagravière is showing extremely well right now. Very classic Pessac-Léognan with its woodsy, forest floor along with pretty notes of plums, cocoa and a touch of vanilla. Delicious.
Price: $19.99 Add To Cart

2016 Reichsrat von Buhl "Bone Dry" Spätburgunder Rosé Pfalz
Review Date: 06-12-2017
Very nice floral aromatics and sure... It is completely dry on the delicate palate. Reminiscent of a Sancerre rosé. The cool label sure makes it stand out in a crowded rosé line up these days.
Price: $16.99 Add To Cart

2016 Weingut Fürst Elbling Mosel (1L)
Review Date: 06-12-2017
A great surprise for me as I don't recall ever drinking "Elbling" - Reminiscent of a Gruner on the nose, but on the palate, it has this most attractive saline note. Quite dry but with a welcoming vinous texture. Acidity is high, but balanced. This is an easy, nice wine that is very useful in many settings, from summer get-togethers, to a seafood dinner extravaganza!
Price: $14.99 Add To Cart

2015 Heitz Cellars Napa Valley Chardonnay
Review Date: 06-12-2017
This Chardonnay has a well balanced oak influence that lends the wine just a hint of woodsy spices, creaminess, and a touch cinnamon and cloves. The oak is never intrusive, and is in perfect harmony with the elegant minerality and fruit. A style of Chardonnay that’s clearly aimed towards elegance and balance.

2012 Heitz "Martha's Vineyard" Napa Valley Cabernet Sauvignon
Review Date: 06-12-2017
Here we have a multi-layered wine, with its classic notes of cassis, along with berries and that Martha’s Vineyards’ famous Eucalyptus note. The sweet fruit is restrained and discreet; it intermingles perfectly with pleasant green notes and the perfectly ripened tannins. A truly multilayered, and complex wine that, although would be more than at ease with the Bordeaux greatest, it is a Napa Cabernet – In a class of its own.

2015 Petit Figeac, St-Emilion
Review Date: 05-22-2017
Petit Figeac is definitely a wine for those who appreciate a balanced wine that although soft it does deliver a complex and well integrated experience. I appreciated that very much.

2014 Branaire-Ducru, St-Julien
Review Date: 05-22-2017
A very classic 2014 Bordeaux with a relative lighter body, cassis, plums and a touch of coffee. It's old school as usual, and its structure tells me it will need time in the cellar.

2015 Alheit Vineyards "Cartology" Chenin Blanc Western Cape
Review Date: 02-13-2017
Another beautiful showing from South Africa. The Cartology shows a rich, creamy palate with the Semillon being very prominent. Quince, lanolin, and a nice herbal component. It is never heavy, with a perfect balance between the richness and the acidity. It can definitely fill the niche for those wanting something different, and yet quite delicious!

2014 Carbonnieux Blanc, Pessac-Léognan
Review Date: 01-30-2017
This wine showed really well at the UGC tasting last January. Tantalizing notes of Marzipan, citrus, and some exotic herbs. The palate is round with glycerol, medium acidity and lots of minerality. A tremendous white Bordeaux, that's classic, very elegant, and quite delicious as of today.

2015 D'Arce, Côtes de Castillon
Review Date: 01-22-2017
Another great chance to try the fantastic 2015 vintage. The d'Arce is a pleasing, juicy wine with elegant notes of coffee, cherries, plums, with very velvety tannins. Very versatile and completely drinkable from the get go.

2007 Malescasse, Haut-Medoc
Review Date: 01-15-2017
This wine is a beauty. The garnet color with some lighter tinges tells us this wine is developing nicely, and very much ready to drink. It has an appealing, sweet fruit note on the nose, but is enveloped by even more enticing woodsy, cocoa and violet notes. It has a medium body, with present but caressing tannins. Above all it is a fresh and classic Bordeaux for the table. I don’t usually talk about the prices, as I find it is up to the consumer to decide if it is a good value, but in this case I have to point out that this is a great opportunity to buy, and buy by the case.
Price: $16.99 Add To Cart

Page: prev 1 2 3 next

More Favorites

Jacques Moreira is also a fan of the following items. To become a fan of Jacques Moreira, click here to join Jacques Moreira's Personal Sommelier Service.
2015 Lilian Ladouys, St-Estèphe ($24.99)

2014 Lilian Ladouys, St-Estèphe ($22.99)

2016 Domaine Weinbach "Cuvée Théo" Riesling Alsace ($34.99)

2015 Weinbach Schlossberg Riesling Vendage Tardive Grand Cru Alsace 500ml ($119.99)

2016 Hugel "Gentil" Alsace ($11.99)

2015 Trimbach Riesling Alsace ($19.99)

Caps Corse Mattei Rouge Quinaquina (750ml) ($19.99)

Caps Corse Mattei Blanc Quinaquina (750ml) ($19.99)

Writer's Tears Pure Pot Still Irish Whiskey (750ml) ($39.99)

Yellowstone "Select" Kentucky Bourbon (750ml) ($34.99)

Redemption Wheated Bourbon Whiskey (750ml) ($39.99)

Alipus San Luis Del Rio Mezcal (750ml) ($39.99)

2015 Domaine de Courcel Pommard "Les Vaumuriens" ($89.99)

2014 Provenance Rutherford Cabernet Sauvignon ($34.99)

St. George "Botanivore" Gin (750ml) ($27.99)

2014 Les Tourelles de Longueville, Pauillac ($37.99)

2014 Domaine de Chevalier Rouge, Pessac-Léognan (1.5L) ($99.99)

2014 Tronquoy-Lalande, St-Estèphe ($29.99)

2001 Brane-Cantenac, Margaux ($109.99)

Franck Bonville Brut Rosé Champagne (375ml) ($21.99)

2007 Bollinger "Grande Année" Brut Champagne ($99.00)

Bollinger "Special Cuvée" Brut Champagne (375ml) ($34.99)

Bollinger Brut Rosé Champagne ($74.99)

Laurent-Perrier Brut Champagne Salmanazar (9L) ($749.00)

Franck Bonville Brut Rosé Champagne ($39.99)

Franck Bonville Grand Cru Brut Blanc de Blancs Champagne (375ml) ($18.99)

Fallet-Dart "Cuvée de Réserve" Brut Champagne ($29.99)

Fallet-Dart "Grande Sélection" Brut Champagne ($34.99)

Carpano Antica Formula Sweet Vermouth (1L) ($28.99)

Billecart-Salmon "Brut Reserve" Champagne (1.5L) ($109.00)

Billecart-Salmon "Brut Reserve" Champagne (375ml) ($26.99)

Billecart-Salmon Brut Rosé Champagne (375ml) ($39.99)

Bollinger "Special Cuvée" Brut Champagne ($59.99)

Taittinger "La Française" Brut Champagne ($44.99)

Ruinart Brut Rosé Champagne (ships as 1.5L due to shape of bottle) ($74.99)

Guillaumette L'Authentique Génépi (375ml) ($25.99)

Foss Distillery "Birkir" Birch Snaps 375ml ($39.99)

Lazzaroni Amaretto (750ml) ($28.99)

Foss Distillery "Björk" Birch Liqueur (375ml) ($39.99)

Zirbenz Stone Pine Liqueur of the Alps (375ml) ($32.99)

Domaine Baud "Cuvée Sauvage" Brut Cremant du Jura ($19.99)

2014 Domaine des Remizières "Cuvée Emilie" Hermitage ($44.99)

Cimarron Reposado Tequila (1L) ($21.99)

Cimarron Blanco Tequila (1L) ($21.99)

Casa Dragones Blanco Tequila (750ml) (ships as a 1.5l) ($59.99)

Casa Dragones Sipping Tequila (750ml - ships as a 1.5L due to bottle shape) ($274.99)

Tequila Fortaleza Anejo Tequila (750ml) ($74.99)

Tequila Fortaleza Reposado Tequila (750ml) ($54.99)

Tequila Fortaleza Blanco Tequila (750ml) ($44.99)

2004 Philippe Delesvaux Sélection de Grains Nobles Coteaux du Layon (500ml) ($49.99)

2005 Philippe Delesvaux "Sélection de Grains Nobles" Coteaux du Layon (500ml) ($59.99)

Billecart-Salmon Brut Rosé Champagne ($74.99)

Lustau "East India Solera" Sherry ($24.99)

Lustau Almacenista Oloroso "Pata de Gallina" (500ml) ($24.99)

Warre's "Otima" 20-year-old Tawny Port (500ml) ($39.99)

Warre's "Otima" 10 Year Old Tawny Port (500ml) ($21.99)

Ramos Pinto White Port ($15.99)

Nocino della Cristina Napa Valley Walnut Liqueur (375ml) ($29.99)

Luxardo Maraschino Liqueur (750ml) ($29.99)

Luxardo Maraschino Cherries (400g) ($15.99)

Chartreuse Green (750ml) ($49.99)

Franck Bonville "Prestige" Brut Blanc de Blancs Champagne ($44.99)

Franck Bonville "Belles Voyes" Brut Blanc de Blancs Champagne ($69.99)

Ariston Aspasie "Carte Blanche" Brut Champagne ($27.99)

Pommery "Brut Royal" Champagne ($32.99)

Lillet Blanc (750ml) ($17.99)

Launois "Cuvée Reserve" Brut Blanc de Blancs Champagne ($34.99)

Ruinart Brut Blanc de Blancs Champagne (Ships as a 1.5L Due to Bottle Size/Shape) ($69.99)

Domaine de Canton Ginger & Cognac Liqueur (750ml) ($29.99)

Ariston Aspasie Blanc de Blancs Brut Champagne ($34.99)

Launois "Quartz" Blanc de Blancs Brut Champagne ($39.99)