Best Sellers New Arrivals Local Events Locations Gift Cards My Account Advanced Search

Reviewers


K&L Email Alerts

Sign up to receive custom alerts, new arrivals and the latest happenings from K&L Wines

Staff Favorites - Jacques Moreira

Jacques Moreira
Jacques Moreira  | Send Email  |   Subscribe to My Sommelier Service
Having been born in Rio de Janeiro into a very proud French/Portuguese family, and living in France and the USA for almost 25 years, gave me the best of all worlds, one very old, and another very new. I’ve always had three different perspectives on everything growing up, three different opportunities to understand the world around me and to try to make sense of it all. From Ipanema Beach, to the bluest of seas in the Côte d'Azur and Nice, to the wonderful Big Sur. Caipirinha and Feijoada, codfish and Vinho Verde, Daube and Bandol, and the always present Rosé, and…beer for those 110 degree summertime days in Rio! I always worked in the food business, in Paris, Nice and San Francisco. While working at Jules Verne in Paris, I decided to devote my career solely to wines and eventually got my Sommelier certification through the International Sommelier Guild.


Reviews

Page: 1 2 3 next
2016 Cap St-George, St-Georges-St-Emilion
Review Date: 02-14-2019
An elegant Saint-Emilion, with plenty of juicy fruit along with striking minerality. It's medium body, with attractive aromatics of cherries and cassis. I would advise to decant for an hour in order to fully enjoy it.

2016 La Tour Léognan, Pessac-Léognan
Review Date: 02-14-2019
The Tour Leognan caused quite an impression on our staff upon tasting. Very accessible, very elegant, with soft, perfectly ripe tannins - keep in mind, this is from a spectacular vintage, but still it is a very young wine. The fruit is very apparent at this point, but also showing freshly roasted coffee beans, and cocoa, and those notes round it up and take it to a level rarely seen on a wine of this young age and price range. Kudos!
Price: $19.99 Add To Cart

2017 Angeline California Pinot Noir
Review Date: 02-04-2019
Very classic Pinot. California for sure, with strawberry, cherry and vanilla, but also, coffee, and nice spices.
Price: $9.99 Add To Cart

2016 Silvano Follador "Cartizze" Prosecco Superiore Brut Nature
Review Date: 02-04-2019
Perhaps the very best Prosecco producer we have right now in the house. And I hear they now have a "cult" status in Italy.
Price: $26.99 Add To Cart
JS 92

2016 Antech "Emotion" Cremant de Limoux Brut Rosé
Review Date: 02-04-2019
I love its delicate color and its aromas of wild strawberries and raspberries. Completely Brut, and it pairs beautifully with the spicy foods or sashimi. It is also very nice as an aperitif or even after dinner as a light accompaniment to a raspberry/strawberry dessert.
Price: $14.99 Add To Cart

2016 Antech "Cuvée Eugenie" Cremant de Limoux
Review Date: 02-04-2019
Most definitely one of the best deals in bubbles outside of Champagne. With an intriguing balance between richness and delicacy, this lemony and honeyed but perfectly Brut. Pair it with any creamy fish dishes, blinis, fondue, or just as an aperitif watching the sun setting over the Pacific!
Price: $13.99 Add To Cart

2017 Yves Cuilleron "Les Vignes d'à Côté" Syrah Vin de France
Review Date: 02-04-2019
Classic textbook Northern Rhone Syrah. White pepper, violets and some blood orange as well. And at 12.5% ABV it is pretty indeed.
Price: $17.99 Add To Cart

2016 Zind Humbrecht Muscat Turckheim Alsace (Biodynamic)
Review Date: 02-04-2019
A very unique wine for those who want to experiment what a dry Muscat from Alsace is all about. Intense aromatics of orange flowers, fresh grapes, honey and exotic spices. One would swear by the nose alone that this would be a sweet wine. But no, sweet it is not, and that's the beauty of it. This contrast between the sweet nose and the dry palate is a perfect combination for the very difficult to pair items like white asparagus or artichokes, but also a divine combination with Thai food. Please give it a try.

2017 Cicada by Chante Cigale Vin de France
Review Date: 02-03-2019
This is as good as it gets for a Côte du Rhône. And for this price it is an absolute must for a Monday night! Try with all sort of charcuterie, Mexican food, pizza "du jour" and yes, macaroni 'n' cheese.
Price: $10.99 Add To Cart

2016 E. Guigal Côtes du Rhône Blanc
Review Date: 02-03-2019
Very pretty wine, with an aromatic nose of peaches, white flowers and quince. Lots of minerality on palate and a quite refreshing finish. I cannot think of any white wine drinker not liking this wine. It will be very nice with curry dishes, creamy pasta dishes, mushroom risotto, crabs, creamy cheeses, roast pork, scallops.
Price: $12.99 Add To Cart
JD 90 VN 90

Domaine de la Belière "La Déserte" Bugey Cerdon Rosé
Review Date: 02-03-2019
Fun, fun and more fun! Here’s a wine bursting with raspberries and bright red apples. Very light in alcohol and full of bubbles.
Price: Hidden View Price

2017 Pascal Janvier "Cuvée Silex" Jasnieres
Review Date: 02-03-2019
Chenin Blanc in its best form! A very delicate nose of orange flowers, honey with a touch of beeswax. The palate follows the nose, putting all together with great acidity and balance. This will be delicious with lemon chicken, Indian food, quiches, fish with Bearnaise or Hollandaise sauce, fruit salads and all lemon desserts. Enjoy!
Price: $22.99 Add To Cart

2004 Barde-Haut, St-Emilion
Review Date: 01-29-2019
A very classic and elegant St-Emilion that is in its ideal phase of development. The developed notes of leather counterbalance the delicate plum and cherry fruit, filling it with intrigue and class.
Price: $29.99 Add To Cart
WS 91

2017 Bois-Malot Blanc, Bordeaux
Review Date: 01-28-2019
A very approachable wine that display the classic Sauvignon Blanc notes of freshly cut grass, supported by the the roundness and peach notes of the Semillon.
Price: $9.99 Add To Cart

2015 Le Thil, Pessac-Léognan
Review Date: 01-07-2019
A very friendly wine, with enticing aromatics of cassis, cherries, cocoa, graphite. It is medium body with present but agreeable tannins. Ready to go!

2017 Domaine de la Réserve d'O "La Reserve d'O" Saint Guilhem le Desert Blanc
Review Date: 01-07-2019
A beautiful wine that is reminiscent of a spring field of flowers. The nose and the palate is full of red apple, pears, some stone fruit, and white flower. This wine would be a great pairing with a spicy Indian curry!
Price: $19.99 Add To Cart
DC 91

2010 Domaine de la Jaufrette Vacqueyras
Review Date: 01-07-2019
One of my favorites producers from the Rhône, always making balanced wines. The Vacqueyras it's for me the top choice due to its complexity. Dark berries, cocoa, some roasted notes and exotic spices. Very elegant too. Quite a pairing with something like a Sunday Roast or a Coq-au-Vin.
Price: $34.99 Add To Cart

2017 Rene Rostaing "La Bonnette" Condrieu
Review Date: 01-07-2019
Condrieu for me it's one of the most fascinating wines of France, if not always a bargain. That's why I was not only surprised, but actually impressed by our buyer, Mr. Mabry, to have found in this minuscule appellation a producer for our direct import program. The exotic Viognier grape display its array of flavors in this wine. Jasmine flower, apples, quince, honey, and orange flower, but fear not, it is dry, and definitely never heavy or cloying. If you like Indian curry, do yourself a favor and pair it with this wine, for an elegant dinner party.
Price: $69.99 Add To Cart
JD 92 RP 92

2015 Les Tourelles de Longueville, Pauillac
Review Date: 01-06-2019
Les Tourelles showcases the marvelous 2015 vintage.It needs some decanting of course, but it is all there, the floral notes, cocoa, cassis and yet earthy. Outstanding.

2017 Rombauer Napa Valley Sauvignon Blanc
Review Date: 01-06-2019
Very refreshingly crisp, with an ever slight pétillance. The tropical notes of guava along with grapefruit, make this well balanced Sauvignon Blanc a delight at any occasion, any time!
Price: $21.95 Add To Cart
W&S 90

2017 Domaine de Millet Colombard-Ugni Blanc Côtes de Gascogne Blanc
Review Date: 01-06-2019
It amazes me that we are now drinking wines from Gasgogne, and beautiful wines at that! This Colombard/Ugni Blanc offers a lot of tropical fruit along a juicy acidity that not only frames the wine nicely but also entices the appetite for another sip. Try that with light appetizers, salads, light seafood, and I could go on...
Price: $8.99 Add To Cart

2015 de Pitray, Castillon
Review Date: 01-06-2019
Another easy going Bordeaux showing a fruity core and lifted aromatics. Good quality for everyday drinking.
Price: $12.99 Add To Cart
RP 89 - 91

2000 Clos du Marquis, St-Julien
Review Date: 01-06-2019
To this day some consumers still think of Clos du Marquis as the second wine of the prestigious Léoville Las Cases. It is not. It is made from grapes that come from this specific “Clos” within the estate of Léoville Las Cases, but with a different terroir. It is what we like to call, old-school, which means lots of spices, pronounced tannins, and a lovely touch of meaty leather. I would suggest decanting this old classic 2000 wine for a couple of hours – at least.

2001 Haut-Bailly, Pessac-Léognan
Review Date: 01-06-2019
One of the star wines I have tasted so far in our young new year. It is a classic Léognan, with its earthy, dried leaves, crushed stones and leather. The note of dark chocolate surrounds its nicely aged tannins. It not only held up very well, but is a stunner right now. Oh what a beauty!
Price: $139.99 Add To Cart
JS 92 RP 90

2003 Clarke, Listrac
Review Date: 01-06-2019
Showing the typical ripeness of the 2003 vintage, with plums, currants, dark chocolate and mocha. Very caressing velvety tannins, and most definitely within its perfect drinking phase This property owned by the Rothschilds, has seen a complete overhaul in the quality of its wines over the years.
Price: $36.99 Add To Cart
WE 90

1999 Clarke, Listrac
Review Date: 01-06-2019
Perfectly aged and ready to be enjoyed – tonight! Here you have an opportunity to buy that perfect aged bottle of Bordeaux for much less than $50. The developed notes of leather are supported by cherry and even truffles. It is of medium body, and a quick decanting would be sufficient to enjoy it.
Price: $37.99 Add To Cart

2014 Esprit de Chevalier Blanc, Pessac-Leognan
Review Date: 01-06-2019
This is the “second wine” of Domaine de Chevalier Blanc – and as with most second wines, it is crafted to be approachable. The freshness of the 2014 vintage is quite apparent here. Bright, refreshing and light-weighted, and just about perfect with all sorts of appetizers. I had it with guacamole, salsa, chips and the likes and it was delicious.
Price: $24.99 Add To Cart

2017 l'Avocat Blanc, Graves
Review Date: 01-06-2019
Our friends at l’Avocat have been making excellent wines since 2002, and the 2017 is no exception. The vines for the white l’Avocat are located in a terroir of large stones and it is considered one of the best in the grave appellation. The encépagement consists of 50% Sémillon, 40% Sauvignon Blanc and 10% Sauvignon Gris. The richness of the Sémillon, is counterbalanced by the freshness and aromatics of the Sauvignons, Blanc and Gris. It is round and balanced, and would be a perfect pairing with seafood, fresh water fish, and the likes – especially with a creamy sauce. You just have to try a bottle.
Price: $15.99 Add To Cart

2015 Baret Blanc, Pessac-Léognan
Review Date: 01-06-2019
With 90% Sauvignon Blanc and 10% Sémillon – The aromatics are of classic Sauvignon, with gooseberries, a touch of freshly cut grass, fresh herbs and a touch of tropical fruit that I find irresistible. Very well balanced, impeccably well made, and very elegant. To be drunk now, and to be bought by the case really.
Price: $19.99 Add To Cart
JS 93 WS 90

2013 Heitz Cellar "Ink Grade Vineyard" Napa Valley Zinfandel
Review Date: 11-05-2018
Have you ever heard that Zinfandels pair very well with BBQ? Although this is true, what the adage fails to take into consideration is that usually when we are doing a barbecue it is also very hot! That's when Heitz comes into play. With all the spiciness of a Zinfandel minus the heaviness and the heat. Now I am talking about a great BBQ wine! Vive le Summer...or for a touch of warmth in winter!

2016 Beaumont, Haut-Médoc
Review Date: 11-05-2018
I like to call it "easy like Sunday morning..." Seriously though, it's got very soft tannins, delicious dark berries and a touch of cocoa, all framed by a classic Bordeaux attitude. It will be great with all kinds of BBQ's, fried chicken, buffalo wings, burgers and the like.

2015 Corte Rugolin Valpolicella Ripasso Classico Superiore
Review Date: 11-05-2018
I tend to recommend this wine for people that have had Amarone in the past, loved it, but want something more affordable. Sure, this is no Amarone, however it does give you "some" of its richness and flavor profile. A quintessential Italian wine for me to have with a Lasagna a Bolognese, Risotto alla Parmigiana, Provolone, or just a juicy Spaghetti with meat sauce... Lots of Parmesan cheese!
Price: $21.99 Add To Cart

2015 Petit Soutard, St-Emilion
Review Date: 11-05-2018
Rich and almost decadent style of Saint-Emilion, but never heavy. In fact the luscious fruit is quite balanced by its acidity and ripe but present tannins. Quite delicious really
Price: $19.99 Add To Cart

2015 Le Temple, Haut-Médoc
Review Date: 11-05-2018
Absolutely classic Bordeaux, with the structure of the Cabernet Sauvignon framing its core of ripe fruit, with is very much a hallmark of the 2015 vintage. The touch of wood spices sure elevate it to a whole other level.
Price: $16.99 Add To Cart
RP 90 WE 90

2015 Clos Renon, Bordeaux Supérieur
Review Date: 11-05-2018
Another P'tit Bordeaux that impressed me for its quality, approachability, and price. Specially good to take to a dinner party and impress people with your serious good taste!
Price: $11.99 Add To Cart

2015 de Landiras Rouge, Graves
Review Date: 11-05-2018
This wine is what I call a classic "petit Bordeaux" in the very best sense of the term. Lots of dark chocolate intermingling with coffee notes first greet you, followed by dark fruit, cassis, and wet rocks - a note that I love in Bordeaux. It has fruit for sure but it is not a fruity wine, in fact the perfectly balanced structure (acid and tannins) hold it all together beautifully.
Price: $14.99 Add To Cart

2016 Bellegrave, Medoc
Review Date: 11-05-2018
Showing its youthful fruit profile at this time, which makes a perfect candidate for a Tuesday night dinner. Approachable and straight forward with lots of plums and caressing tannins.
Price: $13.99 Add To Cart

2016 Truquet, St-Émilion
Review Date: 11-05-2018
Very approachable - in the best sense of the word - Floral notes, along with plums and cassis and even a touch of oak spices. I had it with Indian chicken curry and it was divine!
Price: $14.99 Add To Cart

2017 Reynon Blanc, Bordeaux
Review Date: 11-05-2018
Fresh and crispy, this is my favorite vintage for the Reynon. Citrus and gooseberries, floral, with lots of minerality, and believe it or not a delicious note of honey! Quite dry, of course, and absolutely delicious!

2016 La Roque de By, Médoc
Review Date: 10-31-2018
The second wine of La Tour de By, it is showing a level of complexity that is rarely found in second wines. There're floral notes, and sweet plums, complicated by leather notes and exotic spices. This is for sure a great buy, not only to drink soon, but for cellaring for 10 years or more.
Price: $14.99 Add To Cart
WE 89 - 91

Bründlmayer Sekt Brut
Review Date: 10-15-2018
Germany surprises me sometimes. I grew up turning my nose up at "anything" Sekt, until I tasted this bottle recently! Incredibly aromatic but dry as it can be. A bubbly to go with a veal, Quiche Lorraine, Sashimi and Sushi, Chinese food and all things raspberry.

2017 Yves Cuilleron "Les Vignes d'a Cote" Viognier
Review Date: 10-15-2018
Nectarines, peaches loads of minerality and depth of flavor. Absolutely perfect for Thai or Indian Curries and chutney.
Price: $24.99 Add To Cart

2015 Zorzal "Eggo - Filoso" Pinot Noir Tupungato
Review Date: 10-15-2018
A very classic Pinot, from the light, brilliant purple color, with beautiful floral aromatic. On the palate it has a touch of wild strawberries, and cassis jam. Quite interesting salinity on the finish. Perfect pair with turkey, cranberries, brussel sprouts and the like.
Price: $27.99 Add To Cart
RP 93 JS 92

2017 Quinta da Aveleda Loureiro-Alvarinho Vinho Verde
Review Date: 10-08-2018
I must confess I have a soft spot for Vinho Verde (pron. VEEN yo VAIR deh or in Bra-PT: VEEN yo Ver.dji, just for fun!) It has definitely been part of my growing up. Back then those wines were very thin and almost watery, but we loved them anyways. Today, with much better wine making techniques and knowledge, Vinho Verde, the good ones, are indeed light, refreshing, zingy and even a bit pétillant, lemony and perfect in hot weather. And that's the accurate description of the Aveleda. A must try with cod fritters by the beach!Quite simply the perfect wine for a springtime afternoon cocktail!
Price: $8.99 Add To Cart
W&S 91

2014 Amici Napa Valley Cabernet Sauvignon
Review Date: 10-08-2018
Full throttle with plenty of cocoa, coffee, creme de cassis and vanilla. A wine that keeps its balance and elegance and shows quite nicely right now.
Price: $44.99 Add To Cart
JS 92 WE 91

2016 Gundlach Bundschu "Mountain Cuvée" Sonoma County Bordeaux Blend
Review Date: 10-08-2018
With a very unusual blend of grapes, this wine delivers nonetheless in its simplicity and easiness of character. Not to mention it really matches with almost everything really.
Price: $16.99 Add To Cart
WE 90

2016 La Graside Blanc, Bordeaux
Review Date: 10-08-2018
Very nice and crisp Sauvignon Blanc from 60-year-old vines. Those grapes were harvested fully ripened. On the palate it possess a brightness along the intensity of the fruit, melon, a delicate touch of pineapple and citrus, framed by a perfect acid structure. Great summer wine.
Price: $11.99 Add To Cart

2015 Roc de Cambes, Côtes de Bourg
Review Date: 10-08-2018
A sweet nose of cherries, chocolate and vanilla followed by a palate rich in cocoa, cherries, and incense. Still has its minerality and earthiness in check. A beautiful wine, with lots of complexity

2017 Domaine Begude "Terroir 11300" Chardonnay Haute Vallée de l'Aude
Review Date: 10-08-2018
A very nice and crisp Chardonnay, showing enticing notes of yellow fruit, sweet cream, crisp apples and perfectly dry and refreshing. Quite delicious.
Price: $12.99 Add To Cart

2009 Baron-Fuenté "Grand Millesime" Brut Champagne
Review Date: 10-08-2018
The complexity of this vintage Champagne it is not reflected in its incredible price, which is only possible because of our direct import program. That is an incredible opportunity to show off with a bottle of a boutique (and very hard to get) Champagne in a dinner party.
Price: $29.99 Add To Cart

Wine Club

$24.99
WE 91

Page: 1 2 3 next

More Favorites

Jacques Moreira is also a fan of the following items. To become a fan of Jacques Moreira, click here to join Jacques Moreira's Personal Sommelier Service.
2015 Lilian Ladouys, St-Estèphe ($24.99)

2016 Hugel "Gentil" Alsace ($11.99)

2015 Trimbach Riesling Alsace ($19.99)

L.M. Mattei Cap Corse Rouge Quinquina (750ml) ($19.99)

L.N. Mattei Cap Corse Blanc Quinquina (750ml) ($19.99)

Writer's Tears Pure Pot Still Irish Whiskey (750ml) ($39.99)

Yellowstone "Select" Kentucky Bourbon (750ml) ($34.99)

Redemption Wheated Bourbon Whiskey (750ml) ($39.99)

Alipus San Luis Del Rio Mezcal (750ml) ($39.99)

Siembra Valles Blanco Tequila (750ml) ($49.99)

2015 Domaine de Courcel Pommard "Les Vaumuriens" ($66.99)

2016 Au Bon Climat/K&L Wine Merchants "Bien Nacido Vineyard" Santa Maria Valley Pinot Noir ($19.99)

St. George "Botanivore" Gin (750ml) ($27.99)

2007 Bollinger "Grande Année" Brut Champagne ($99.00)

Bollinger "Special Cuvée" Brut Champagne (375ml) ($34.99)

Bollinger Brut Rosé Champagne ($74.99)

Laurent-Perrier Brut Champagne Salmanazar (9L) ($749.00)

Franck Bonville Grand Cru Brut Blanc de Blancs Champagne (375ml) ($18.99)

Carpano Antica Formula Sweet Vermouth (1L) ($28.99)

Billecart-Salmon "Brut Reserve" Champagne (1.5L) ($109.00)

Billecart-Salmon "Brut Reserve" Champagne (375ml) ($26.99)

Billecart-Salmon Brut Rosé Champagne (375ml) ($39.99)

Bollinger "Special Cuvée" Brut Champagne ($59.99)

Taittinger "La Française" Brut Champagne ($44.99)

Ruinart Brut Rosé Champagne (ships as 1.5L due to shape of bottle) ($74.99)

Guillaumette L'Authentique Génépi (375ml) ($25.99)

Foss Distillery "Birkir" Birch Snaps 375ml ($39.99)

Lazzaroni Amaretto (750ml) ($28.99)

Foss Distillery "Björk" Birch Liqueur (375ml) ($39.99)

Zirbenz Stone Pine Liqueur of the Alps (375ml) ($32.99)

Domaine Baud "Cuvée Sauvage" Brut Cremant du Jura ($19.99)

Cimarron Reposado Tequila (1L) ($21.99)

Cimarron Blanco Tequila (1L) ($21.99)

Casa Dragones Blanco Tequila (750ml) (ships as a 1.5L) ($59.99)

Casa Dragones Sipping Tequila (750ml - ships as a 1.5L due to bottle shape) ($274.99)

Tequila Fortaleza Añejo Tequila (750ml) ($74.99)

Tequila Fortaleza Reposado Tequila (750ml) ($54.99)

Tequila Fortaleza Blanco Tequila (750ml) ($44.99)

Allimant Laugner Cremant d'Alsace Brut ($18.99)

2004 Philippe Delesvaux Sélection de Grains Nobles Coteaux du Layon (500ml) ($49.99)

Billecart-Salmon Brut Rosé Champagne ($74.99)

2005 Lascombes, Margaux ($139.99)

2005 Guiraud, Sauternes ($49.99)

2006 Suduiraut, Sauternes (375ml) ($39.99)

Lustau "East India Solera" Sherry ($24.99)

Lustau Almacenista Oloroso "Pata de Gallina" (500ml) ($26.99)

Warre's "Otima" 20-year-old Tawny Port (500ml) ($39.99)

Warre's "Otima" 10 Year Old Tawny Port (500ml) ($23.99)

Ramos Pinto White Port ($15.99)

Luxardo Maraschino Liqueur (750ml) ($29.99)

Luxardo Maraschino Cherries (400g) ($15.99)

Chartreuse Green (750ml) ($49.99)

Pommery "Brut Royal" Champagne ($32.99)

Lillet Blanc (750ml) ($17.99)

Launois "Cuvée Reserve" Brut Blanc de Blancs Champagne ($34.99)

Ruinart Brut Blanc de Blancs Champagne (Ships as a 1.5L Due to Bottle Size/Shape) ($69.99)

Domaine de Canton Ginger & Cognac Liqueur (750ml) ($29.99)

Launois "Quartz" Blanc de Blancs Brut Champagne ($39.99)