Reviewers


K&L Email Alerts

Sign up to receive custom alerts, new arrivals and the latest happenings from K&L Wines


Staff Favorites - Jacques Moreira

Jacques Moreira
Jacques Moreira  | Send Email  |   Subscribe to My Sommelier Service
Having been born in Rio de Janeiro into a very proud French/Portuguese family, and living in France and the USA for almost 25 years, gave me the best of all worlds, one very old, and another very new. I’ve always had three different perspectives on everything growing up, three different opportunities to understand the world around me and to try to make sense of it all. From Ipanema Beach, to the bluest of seas in the Côte d'Azur and Nice, to the wonderful Big Sur. Caipirinha and Feijoada, codfish and Vinho Verde, Daube and Bandol, and the always present Rosé, and…beer for those 110 degree summertime days in Rio! I always worked in the food business, in Paris, Nice and San Francisco. While working at Jules Verne in Paris, I decided to devote my career solely to wines and eventually got my Sommelier certification through the International Sommelier Guild.


Reviews

Page: 1 2 3 next
2015 Lamouroux Rouge, Graves
Review Date: 04-08-2019
Very classic Graves with its dusty dried leaves, olives, coffee along with dark berries and currants. The tannins are soft and sweet. Showing well the gorgeous 2015 vintage. A very friendly wine and ready to be enjoyed now.
Price: $14.99 Add To Cart

2016 Patient Cottat "Le Grand Caillou" Sauvignon Blanc
Review Date: 04-08-2019
I like to call it a "Sancerre in disguise". It processes all the great qualities of a Sancerre for a 1/3 of the price. The 2016 is even better than the 2015. Great deal!
Price: $9.99 Add To Cart

2017 Mas Karolina Côtes Catalanes Rouge
Review Date: 04-08-2019
A dark crimson color greets you, followed by an attractive floral notes of violets along with cassis and plums, mingled with earthy and leather spices. The dance between the lushness of the ripe fruit and the juicy acidity makes it quite a pleasure to drink this wine now. Very versatile in terms of pairing with food. From steaks to chilies, sausages to roast chicken. It will also complement nicely a more bold cuisine, such as Basque, Portuguese, Spanish and of course southern French.
Price: $13.99 Add To Cart

2018 TWR (Te Whare Ra) "M" SV5182 Marlborough Riesling
Review Date: 04-08-2019
The "M" stands for "medium sweet" but the wine comes across much drier than it is due to its acidity. Peaches, citrous, white flower. Very enticing, and a perfection with spicy food.

Paolucci Amaro CioCiaro Liqueur (750ml)
Review Date: 04-08-2019
Very interesting amaro, with delicious notes of cola, and loads of bitter orange followed by a soft sweetness that will make a perfect digestive for those new to the amaro world. Highly recommended.
Price: $19.99 Add To Cart
WE 90 - 95

2013 Habitation Velier "Foursquare" Very Rare Pot Still Ex-Cognac Aged Rum (750ml)
Review Date: 04-08-2019
Caramel, molasses, butterscotch, and cotton candy. Sounds delicious and sweet right? But did I mention the complexity? Fantastic!
Price: $74.99 Add To Cart

Hendrick's Orbium Scottish Gin (750ml)
Review Date: 04-08-2019
I am very surprised with this gin - the addition of quinine (not to mention the wormwood!) makes it a perfect gin for those, like me, that loves gin and tonic. You don't even have to add the tonic! Just some ice cubes and it will take you straight to paradise...
Price: $44.99 Add To Cart

2017 Sean Minor "Four Bears" Central Coast Pinot Noir
Review Date: 04-08-2019
Gotta say, for a Pinot Noir that costs less than $12, the Sean Minor more than just delivers, it is actually good! Lots of cherry and blackberry along with some delicious smoke undertones. I'm thinking roasted chicken, grilled salmon, pork chops...
Price: $11.99 Add To Cart

2017 Can Mayol Loxarel "Apel" Ancestral Classic Penedes
Review Date: 04-08-2019
Rich, apple-y and voluptuous! The rich palate is followed by a surprisingly dry finish. It is a "Brut Nature" after all. A cava like no other I have tasted in a long time. Bravo!
Price: $19.99 Add To Cart

2016 Domaine des Rémizières Crozes-Hermitage
Review Date: 03-18-2019
A textbook, classic French Syrah, this northern Rhone wine delivers intensity of fruit with loads of minerality as well. Beautiful violet color with lifted aromatic notes of black currants, blackberry and earth. There is a lightness to this wine that I find very attractive.
Price: $15.99 Add To Cart
WS 90

2016 Clos de la Bonnette "Legende Bonnetta" Condrieu
Review Date: 03-18-2019
Condrieu for me it's one of the most fascinating wines of France, if not always a bargain. That's why I was not only surprised, but actually impressed by our Buyer, Mr. Mabry, to have found in this minuscule appellation a producer for our direct import program. The exotic Viognier grape display its array of flavors in this wine. Jasmine flower, apples, quince, honey, and orange flower, but fear not, it is dry, and definitely never heavy or cloying. If you like Indian curry, do yourself a favor and pair it with this wine, for an elegant dinner party.
Price: $49.99 Add To Cart
RP 91 - 93

2015 Tormaresca "Neprica" Super Puglia
Review Date: 03-18-2019
I find most intriguing when french grapes grown in Italy acquire that "Non so che cosa"that makes it uniquely Italian. The Neprica has just that with its Cabernet Sauvignon. Very nice and approachable wine that is ready to go on any party, dinner, picnic and anywhere else you might want to take it along.
Price: $9.99 Add To Cart

2015 Felsina "Rancia" Chianti Classico Riserva (1.5L)
Review Date: 03-18-2019
Classic notes of cherries, raisins, flowers, vanilla and oak spices. It has an almost creamy/soft sensation on the palate. It swept me off my feet!

2017 Olema Sonoma County Chardonnay
Review Date: 03-18-2019
Very easygoing Chardonnay, lots of pineapple, citrus and even a touch a clove spices. An easy choice for a big event.
Price: $15.99 Add To Cart
JD 91 JS 91

2017 Joel Gott California Sauvignon Blanc
Review Date: 03-18-2019
Very appealing wine, full of tropical notes. Guava, and even a note of a more exotic soursop fruit! The acidity frames all the fruit, delivering a wine that is interesting, very pleasing and refreshing.
Price: $10.99 Add To Cart
WE 90 WS 90

2016 Ancient Peaks Paso Robles Zinfandel
Review Date: 03-18-2019
A beautiful Zinfandel, with all the exuberant notes one expect from this variety, but at the same time with an incredible sense of balance on the palate. Plums, blackberry and black cherries go side by side with dark chocolate and violets. The fresh acidity plays an essential role here. This is an elegant, fresh and incredibly food friendly wine.
Price: $15.95 Add To Cart
JD 90 RP 90

2015 Paloumey, Haut-Medoc
Review Date: 03-18-2019
A rich, full bodied wine, very representative of the vintage: Ripe fruit alongside ripe tannins that creates a very balanced wine. I would advise to put it in the cellars for at least another 5 years or a good decanting now to fully appreciate its charms.

2016 La Dame de Montrose, St-Estèphe
Review Date: 03-18-2019
A classic "second" wine made for pure enjoyment right now. It is soft, approachable, with loads of exotic spices, and a very inviting aromatics. A Saint-Estèphe through and through.

2016 D'Archambeau, Graves
Review Date: 03-18-2019
A very approachable Bordeaux, that is soft and yet complex - On my notes I actually wrote "pure chocolate" with present but soft tannins - A delight!
Price: $14.99 Add To Cart

2017 Domaine la Croix Belle "Caringole" Côtes de Thongue Rouge
Review Date: 02-18-2019
Really nice everyday wine. And I say that in the best sense of the way. Soft, juicy but with a defined structure holding it all together. It would pair easily with all sorts of everyday fare, from burgers, to chili to grilled tuna salad!
Price: $9.99 Add To Cart

2017 Underwood by Union Wine Co. Oregon Pinot Noir
Review Date: 02-18-2019
I like this wine for what it is. Light, full of bright cherries, easy drinking. Usually I give it a little chill and drink it as I would a rosé. It goes very well with all kind of light fare cuisine.
Price: $11.99 Add To Cart

2018 Fromm Sauvignon Blanc Marlborough
Review Date: 02-18-2019
A very pleasing, classic Marlborough Sauvignon Blanc, that hits all the right notes one expects from New Zealand. But there's more to it, far from being over the top with the tropical and grassy notes, it actually shows a bit of welcoming (for me) elegant restrain. I had it with classic English fish and chips and it was absolutely delicious!
Price: $17.99 Add To Cart
JS 92 RP 90

2016 Cap St-George, St-Georges-St-Emilion
Review Date: 02-14-2019
An elegant Saint-Emilion, with plenty of juicy fruit along with striking minerality. It's medium body, with attractive aromatics of cherries and cassis. I would advise to decant for an hour in order to fully enjoy it.

2016 La Tour Léognan, Pessac-Léognan
Review Date: 02-14-2019
The Tour Leognan caused quite an impression on our staff upon tasting. Very accessible, very elegant, with soft, perfectly ripe tannins - keep in mind, this is from a spectacular vintage, but still it is a very young wine. The fruit is very apparent at this point, but also showing freshly roasted coffee beans, and cocoa, and those notes round it up and take it to a level rarely seen on a wine of this young age and price range. Kudos!
Price: $19.99 Add To Cart

2017 Angeline California Pinot Noir
Review Date: 02-04-2019
Very classic Pinot. California for sure, with strawberry, cherry and vanilla, but also, coffee, and nice spices.
Price: $9.99 Add To Cart

2016 Silvano Follador "Cartizze" Prosecco Superiore Brut Nature
Review Date: 02-04-2019
Perhaps the very best Prosecco producer we have right now in the house. And I hear they now have a "cult" status in Italy.
Price: $26.99 Add To Cart
JS 92

2016 Antech "Emotion" Cremant de Limoux Brut Rosé
Review Date: 02-04-2019
I love its delicate color and its aromas of wild strawberries and raspberries. Completely Brut, and it pairs beautifully with the spicy foods or sashimi. It is also very nice as an aperitif or even after dinner as a light accompaniment to a raspberry/strawberry dessert.
Price: $14.99 Add To Cart

2016 Antech "Cuvée Eugenie" Cremant de Limoux
Review Date: 02-04-2019
Most definitely one of the best deals in bubbles outside of Champagne. With an intriguing balance between richness and delicacy, this lemony and honeyed but perfectly Brut. Pair it with any creamy fish dishes, blinis, fondue, or just as an aperitif watching the sun setting over the Pacific!
Price: $13.99 Add To Cart

2017 Yves Cuilleron "Les Vignes d'à Côté" Syrah Vin de France
Review Date: 02-04-2019
Classic textbook Northern Rhone Syrah. White pepper, violets and some blood orange as well. And at 12.5% ABV it is pretty indeed.
Price: $17.99 Add To Cart

2016 Zind Humbrecht Muscat Turckheim Alsace (Biodynamic)
Review Date: 02-04-2019
A very unique wine for those who want to experiment what a dry Muscat from Alsace is all about. Intense aromatics of orange flowers, fresh grapes, honey and exotic spices. One would swear by the nose alone that this would be a sweet wine. But no, sweet it is not, and that's the beauty of it. This contrast between the sweet nose and the dry palate is a perfect combination for the very difficult to pair items like white asparagus or artichokes, but also a divine combination with Thai food. Please give it a try.

2017 Cicada by Chante Cigale Vin de France
Review Date: 02-03-2019
This is as good as it gets for a Côte du Rhône. And for this price it is an absolute must for a Monday night! Try with all sort of charcuterie, Mexican food, pizza "du jour" and yes, macaroni 'n' cheese.
Price: Hidden View Price

2016 E. Guigal Côtes du Rhône Blanc
Review Date: 02-03-2019
Very pretty wine, with an aromatic nose of peaches, white flowers and quince. Lots of minerality on palate and a quite refreshing finish. I cannot think of any white wine drinker not liking this wine. It will be very nice with curry dishes, creamy pasta dishes, mushroom risotto, crabs, creamy cheeses, roast pork, scallops.
Price: $12.99 Add To Cart
JD 90 VN 90

2015 Le Thil, Pessac-Léognan
Review Date: 01-07-2019
A very friendly wine, with enticing aromatics of cassis, cherries, cocoa, graphite. It is medium body with present but agreeable tannins. Ready to go!

2017 Domaine de la Réserve d'O "La Reserve d'O" Saint Guilhem le Desert Blanc
Review Date: 01-07-2019
A beautiful wine that is reminiscent of a spring field of flowers. The nose and the palate is full of red apple, pears, some stone fruit, and white flower. This wine would be a great pairing with a spicy Indian curry!
Price: Hidden View Price
DC 91 WS 90

2010 Domaine de la Jaufrette Vacqueyras
Review Date: 01-07-2019
One of my favorites producers from the Rhône, always making balanced wines. The Vacqueyras it's for me the top choice due to its complexity. Dark berries, cocoa, some roasted notes and exotic spices. Very elegant too. Quite a pairing with something like a Sunday Roast or a Coq-au-Vin.
Price: $34.99 Add To Cart

2015 Les Tourelles de Longueville, Pauillac
Review Date: 01-06-2019
Les Tourelles showcases the marvelous 2015 vintage.It needs some decanting of course, but it is all there, the floral notes, cocoa, cassis and yet earthy. Outstanding.

2017 Rombauer Napa Valley Sauvignon Blanc
Review Date: 01-06-2019
Very refreshingly crisp, with an ever slight pétillance. The tropical notes of guava along with grapefruit, make this well balanced Sauvignon Blanc a delight at any occasion, any time!
Price: $21.95 Add To Cart
W&S 90

2017 Domaine de Millet Colombard-Ugni Blanc Côtes de Gascogne Blanc
Review Date: 01-06-2019
It amazes me that we are now drinking wines from Gasgogne, and beautiful wines at that! This Colombard/Ugni Blanc offers a lot of tropical fruit along a juicy acidity that not only frames the wine nicely but also entices the appetite for another sip. Try that with light appetizers, salads, light seafood, and I could go on...
Price: $8.99 Add To Cart

2001 Haut-Bailly, Pessac-Léognan
Review Date: 01-06-2019
One of the star wines I have tasted so far in our young new year. It is a classic Léognan, with its earthy, dried leaves, crushed stones and leather. The note of dark chocolate surrounds its nicely aged tannins. It not only held up very well, but is a stunner right now. Oh what a beauty!
Price: $139.99 Add To Cart
JS 92 RP 90

2014 Esprit de Chevalier Blanc, Pessac-Leognan
Review Date: 01-06-2019
This is the “second wine” of Domaine de Chevalier Blanc – and as with most second wines, it is crafted to be approachable. The freshness of the 2014 vintage is quite apparent here. Bright, refreshing and light-weighted, and just about perfect with all sorts of appetizers. I had it with guacamole, salsa, chips and the likes and it was delicious.
Price: $24.99 Add To Cart

2017 l'Avocat Blanc, Graves
Review Date: 01-06-2019
Our friends at l’Avocat have been making excellent wines since 2002, and the 2017 is no exception. The vines for the white l’Avocat are located in a terroir of large stones and it is considered one of the best in the grave appellation. The encépagement consists of 50% Sémillon, 40% Sauvignon Blanc and 10% Sauvignon Gris. The richness of the Sémillon, is counterbalanced by the freshness and aromatics of the Sauvignons, Blanc and Gris. It is round and balanced, and would be a perfect pairing with seafood, fresh water fish, and the likes – especially with a creamy sauce. You just have to try a bottle.
Price: $15.99 Add To Cart

2015 Baret Blanc, Pessac-Léognan
Review Date: 01-06-2019
With 90% Sauvignon Blanc and 10% Sémillon – The aromatics are of classic Sauvignon, with gooseberries, a touch of freshly cut grass, fresh herbs and a touch of tropical fruit that I find irresistible. Very well balanced, impeccably well made, and very elegant. To be drunk now, and to be bought by the case really.
Price: $19.99 Add To Cart
JS 93 WS 90

2013 Heitz Cellar "Ink Grade Vineyard" Napa Valley Zinfandel
Review Date: 11-05-2018
Have you ever heard that Zinfandels pair very well with BBQ? Although this is true, what the adage fails to take into consideration is that usually when we are doing a barbecue it is also very hot! That's when Heitz comes into play. With all the spiciness of a Zinfandel minus the heaviness and the heat. Now I am talking about a great BBQ wine! Vive le Summer...or for a touch of warmth in winter!

2016 Beaumont, Haut-Médoc
Review Date: 11-05-2018
I like to call it "easy like Sunday morning..." Seriously though, it's got very soft tannins, delicious dark berries and a touch of cocoa, all framed by a classic Bordeaux attitude. It will be great with all kinds of BBQ's, fried chicken, buffalo wings, burgers and the like.

2015 Corte Rugolin Valpolicella Ripasso Classico Superiore
Review Date: 11-05-2018
I tend to recommend this wine for people that have had Amarone in the past, loved it, but want something more affordable. Sure, this is no Amarone, however it does give you "some" of its richness and flavor profile. A quintessential Italian wine for me to have with a Lasagna a Bolognese, Risotto alla Parmigiana, Provolone, or just a juicy Spaghetti with meat sauce... Lots of Parmesan cheese!
Price: $21.99 Add To Cart

2015 Petit Soutard, St-Emilion
Review Date: 11-05-2018
Rich and almost decadent style of Saint-Emilion, but never heavy. In fact the luscious fruit is quite balanced by its acidity and ripe but present tannins. Quite delicious really
Price: $19.99 Add To Cart

2015 Le Temple, Haut-Médoc
Review Date: 11-05-2018
Absolutely classic Bordeaux, with the structure of the Cabernet Sauvignon framing its core of ripe fruit, with is very much a hallmark of the 2015 vintage. The touch of wood spices sure elevate it to a whole other level.
Price: $16.99 Add To Cart
RP 90 WE 90

2015 Clos Renon, Bordeaux Supérieur
Review Date: 11-05-2018
Another P'tit Bordeaux that impressed me for its quality, approachability, and price. Specially good to take to a dinner party and impress people with your serious good taste!
Price: $11.99 Add To Cart

2016 Bellegrave, Medoc
Review Date: 11-05-2018
Showing its youthful fruit profile at this time, which makes a perfect candidate for a Tuesday night dinner. Approachable and straight forward with lots of plums and caressing tannins.
Price: $13.99 Add To Cart

2016 Truquet, St-Émilion
Review Date: 11-05-2018
Very approachable - in the best sense of the word - Floral notes, along with plums and cassis and even a touch of oak spices. I had it with Indian chicken curry and it was divine!
Price: $14.99 Add To Cart

Page: 1 2 3 next

More Favorites

Jacques Moreira is also a fan of the following items. To become a fan of Jacques Moreira, click here to join Jacques Moreira's Personal Sommelier Service.
2015 Schramsberg North Coast Blanc de Blancs Brut Sparkling Wine ($34.99)

2014 Schramsberg North Coast Blanc de Noirs Sparkling Wine ($34.99)

Eric Bordelet "Granit" Poiré (Pear) CIDER ($19.99)

Eric Bordelet "Tendre" Sidre (apple) CIDER ($10.99)

Eric Bordelet "Poiré l’Authentique" Sidre (Pear) CIDER ($12.99)

2014 Cartuxa Evora Alentejo ($27.99)

2016 Lilian Ladouys, St-Estèphe (1.5L) ($49.99)

2016 Lilian Ladouys, St-Estèphe ($24.99)

2015 Marquis de Mons, Margaux ($21.99)

2015 Cap de Faugeres, Côtes de Castillon ($17.99)

2016 Haut-Musset, Lalande-de-Pomerol ($17.99)

Old Bardstown Kentucky Straight Bourbon Whiskey (750ml) ($22.99)

Velho Barreiro Cachaça (1L) ($15.99)

2017 Mount Edward Riesling Lowburn Central Otago ($17.99)

2018 TWR (Te Whare Ra) Sauvignon Blanc Marlborough ($19.99)

2018 TWR (Te Whare Ra) "SV5182" Gewurztraminer Marlborough ($19.99)

2015 Lilian Ladouys, St-Estèphe ($24.99)

2014 Lilian Ladouys, St-Estèphe ($24.99)

2016 Hugel "Gentil" Alsace ($11.99)

2015 Trimbach Riesling Alsace ($19.99)

L.N. Mattei Cap Corse Rouge Quinquina (750ml) ($19.99)

L.N. Mattei Cap Corse Blanc Quinquina (750ml) ($19.99)

Writer's Tears Pure Pot Still Irish Whiskey (750ml) ($39.99)

Yellowstone "Select" Kentucky Bourbon (750ml) ($29.99)

Redemption Wheated Bourbon Whiskey (750ml) ($39.99)

Alipus San Luis Del Rio Mezcal (750ml) ($39.99)

Siembra Valles Blanco Tequila (750ml) ($49.99)

2016 Au Bon Climat/K&L Wine Merchants "Bien Nacido Vineyard" Santa Maria Valley Pinot Noir ($19.99)

St. George "Botanivore" Gin (750ml) ($27.99)

2016 Kalinda Reserve North Coast Sauvignon Blanc ($17.99)

Franck Bonville Brut Rosé Champagne (375ml) ($21.99)

2007 Bollinger "Grande Année" Brut Champagne ($99.00)

Bollinger "Special Cuvée" Brut Champagne (375ml) ($34.99)

Bollinger Brut Rosé Champagne ($74.99)

Laurent-Perrier Brut Champagne Salmanazar (9L) ($749.00)

Franck Bonville Grand Cru Brut Blanc de Blancs Champagne (375ml) ($18.99)

Carpano Antica Formula Sweet Vermouth (1L) ($28.99)

Billecart-Salmon "Brut Reserve" Champagne (1.5L) ($109.00)

Billecart-Salmon "Brut Reserve" Champagne (375ml) ($26.99)

Billecart-Salmon Brut Rosé Champagne (375ml) ($39.99)

Bollinger "Special Cuvée" Brut Champagne ($59.99)

Taittinger "La Française" Brut Champagne ($44.99)

Ruinart Brut Rosé Champagne (ships as 1.5L due to shape of bottle) ($74.99)

Guillaumette L'Authentique Génépi (375ml) ($25.99)

Foss Distillery "Birkir" Birch Snaps 375ml ($39.99)

Lazzaroni Amaretto (750ml) ($28.99)

Foss Distillery "Björk" Birch Liqueur (375ml) ($39.99)

Zirbenz Stone Pine Liqueur of the Alps (375ml) ($32.99)

Domaine Baud "Cuvée Sauvage" Brut Cremant du Jura ($19.99)

Cimarron Reposado Tequila (1L) ($21.99)

Cimarron Blanco Tequila (1L) ($21.99)

Casa Dragones Blanco Tequila (750ml) (ships as a 1.5L) ($59.99)

Casa Dragones Sipping Tequila (750ml - ships as a 1.5L due to bottle shape) ($274.99)

Tequila Fortaleza Añejo Tequila (750ml) ($74.99)

Tequila Fortaleza Reposado Tequila (750ml) ($54.99)

Tequila Fortaleza Blanco Tequila (750ml) ($44.99)

2001 Suduiraut, Sauternes ($99.99)

Allimant Laugner Cremant d'Alsace Brut ($18.99)

2004 Philippe Delesvaux Sélection de Grains Nobles Coteaux du Layon (500ml) ($49.99)

Billecart-Salmon Brut Rosé Champagne ($74.99)

2005 Lascombes, Margaux ($139.99)

2005 Guiraud, Sauternes ($49.99)

2006 Suduiraut, Sauternes (375ml) ($39.99)

Lustau "East India Solera" Sherry ($24.99)

Lustau Almacenista Oloroso "Pata de Gallina" (500ml) ($26.99)

Warre's "Otima" 20-year-old Tawny Port (500ml) ($39.99)

Warre's "Otima" 10 Year Old Tawny Port (500ml) ($23.99)

Ramos Pinto White Port ($15.99)

Luxardo Maraschino Liqueur (750ml) ($29.99)

Luxardo Maraschino Cherries (400g) ($15.99)

Chartreuse Green (750ml) ($49.99)

Franck Bonville "Prestige" Brut Blanc de Blancs Champagne ($44.99)

Franck Bonville "Belles Voyes" Brut Blanc de Blancs Champagne ($69.99)

Franck Bonville "Belles Voyes" Brut Blanc de Blancs Champagne (1.5L) ($149.00)

Pommery "Brut Royal" Champagne ($32.99)

2005 Château de Beaucastel Châteauneuf-du-Pape ($109.99)

Lillet Blanc (750ml) ($17.99)

Ruinart Brut Blanc de Blancs Champagne (Ships as a 1.5L Due to Bottle Size/Shape) ($69.99)

Domaine de Canton Ginger & Cognac Liqueur (750ml) ($29.99)