Reviewers


K&L Email Alerts

Sign up to receive custom alerts, new arrivals and the latest happenings from K&L Wines


Staff Favorites - Jacques Moreira

Jacques Moreira
Jacques Moreira  | Send Email  |   Subscribe to My Sommelier Service
Having been born in Rio de Janeiro into a very proud French/Portuguese family, and living in France and the USA for almost 25 years, gave me the best of all worlds, one very old, and another very new. I’ve always had three different perspectives on everything growing up, three different opportunities to understand the world around me and to try to make sense of it all. From Ipanema Beach, to the bluest of seas in the Côte d'Azur and Nice, to the wonderful Big Sur. Caipirinha and Feijoada, codfish and Vinho Verde, Daube and Bandol, and the always present Rosé, and…beer for those 110 degree summertime days in Rio! I always worked in the food business, in Paris, Nice and San Francisco. While working at Jules Verne in Paris, I decided to devote my career solely to wines and eventually got my Sommelier certification through the International Sommelier Guild.


Reviews

Page: 1 2 3 next
2018 Chateau Les Valentines "Le Caprice de Clementine" Cotes de Provence Rosé
Review Date: 11-11-2019
Very classic Provençal Rosé. with beautiful aromatics, Framboise, citrus and a bit of peach even, but completely dry of course. Just delightful!
Price: $17.99 Add To Cart

2018 Veronique Anne Perret Vin de Savoie Apremont
Review Date: 11-11-2019
Such a refreshing wine, with qualities that I fondly call "Alpiney" - It is crisp and dry, with notes of sweet peaches, and citrus. Absolutely perfection with light seafood indeed!
Price: $13.99 Add To Cart

2015 Tormaresca "Neprica" Puglia
Review Date: 11-11-2019
I find most intriguing when french grapes grown in Italy acquire that "Non so che cosa"that makes it uniquely Italian. The Neprica has just that with its Cabernet Sauvignon. Very nice and approachable wine that is ready to go on any party, dinner, picnic and anywhere else you might want to take it along.
Price: $9.99 Add To Cart

2018 Quinta da Aveleda Loureiro-Alvarinho Vinho Verde
Review Date: 11-11-2019
Quite simply the perfect wine for a springtime afternoon cocktail! Also just about perfect with light aperitifs.
Price: $9.99 Add To Cart

2016 Two Shepherds "Fanucchi Vineyard" Russian River Valley Trousseau Gris
Review Date: 11-11-2019
This wine took my breath away not only for being one of the most European-style wines I have ever tasted from California, but also for its delicate complexity. It looks, smells and tastes like a Jura wine, with what I call wild berries (petit fruit du bois), flint, exotic spices, and wild herbs. Quite crispy and tangy and with a depth of flavor that defies its lightness.
Price: $19.95 Add To Cart

2012 Domaine Serene "Yamhill Cuvee" Willamette Valley Pinot Noir
Review Date: 11-11-2019
Delicate aromatics of cherries, cola and earth, with a very light touch of herbaciousness giving this wine a very elegant finish. It will dress up any dinner with a lighter fare of meats and a fantastic gift.

2017 Domaine de la Noblaie "Les Chiens-Chiens" Chinon
Review Date: 11-11-2019
Picture perfect Cabernet Franc from the Loire Valley! Very pretty lifted aromatics that exudes violets, cassis, thyme along with crushed stones and a touch of pencil shavings. The palate follows with medium-body and very silky tannins. All that translates to perfect wine to pair with a great assortment of cuisines, spicy dishes, light meat, grilled tuna or salmon. Enjoy!
Price: $18.99 Add To Cart

2016 Trébiac, Graves
Review Date: 11-11-2019
It might surprise some for its blend of 70% Merlot and 30% Cabernet Sauvignon, and it is delicious. A nose with fruit notes of cherry, plums and a touch of cola, along with an earthiness that is so typical of the best Graves wines. The palate shows its fruit in all its juiciness, but it doesn’t end there: spices and even a surprising note of salty minerality make sure this wine will be perfectly at ease at the table.
Price: $14.99 Add To Cart

2017 Domaine des Rémizières "Cuvée Christophe" Crozes-Hermitage
Review Date: 11-11-2019
A very classic Northern Rhône Syrah with its characteristic violets, vanila and meat aromatics, along with blood orange and white pepper. Very good wine to pair with all kinds of stews and Indian food as well.

2018 Cave de Tavel "Lauzeraies" Tavel Rose
Review Date: 11-11-2019
One of my favorite rosés of this season for sure. I find it full of flavor, with some richness, dry but not austere and just a pleasure to drink really. Grapefruit, Raspberries and lots of minerality.
Price: $13.99 Add To Cart

2010 d'Armailhac, Pauillac
Review Date: 11-04-2019
I will confess this... d'Armailhac has been one of my favorites wines of Bordeaux. It is always so elegant, so complex and even in a fantastic vintage like 2010, it is still affordable.On the nose and the palate I got ripe blackberries, graphite, roasted coffee, mocha and smokey spices. I could go on... But let's just say, this is a marvelous wine and one not to be missed.

2016 Gruaud-Larose, St-Julien
Review Date: 11-04-2019
A classic old world Bordeaux, with a nice earthiness surrounded by sweet fruit. Not only that, but thrown in the magic: fresh tobacco, violets, graphite, exotic spices. This is a serious wine and one for the ages as well. Bravo Gruaud!

2016 La Dame de Montrose, St-Estèphe
Review Date: 11-04-2019
There are some "second wines" that I find it to be in a class of their own. Their quality is undeniable - I like to call them "first-rate second wines" - La Dame the Montrose is one of them. Cassis, pencil lead, cocoa, and even truffles on the palate. Absolutely stunning.

2016 Duo de Conseillante, Pomerol
Review Date: 11-04-2019
Beautiful floral nose that carries through the gentle palate. It's an accessible wine that is sure to please from the get go, meaning you can drink it now, but you can put it away too for future pleasure.
Price: $59.99 Add To Cart

2016 Le Pape, Pessac-Léognan
Review Date: 11-04-2019
What a beautiful wine! Floral with coffee notes, along with a touch of toffee. It is so well balanced on its round, velvety palate, that is easy to completely finish the bottle - I did! I suggest pairing it with anything "lamb" and you will be in food/wine paradise.

2016 Bellevue, St-Emilion
Review Date: 11-04-2019
A 100% Merlot goodness! The Bellevue is rich with aromas of plums, cassis, cocoa, earth minerality and perfectly ripe tannins. I said "rich" but also never heavy. One for the cellars and to have around handy for that special dinner.

2015 Cheval Noir, St-Emilion
Review Date: 11-04-2019
A fantastic Saint-Émilion, with plenty of ripe plums, cocoa, roasted coffee. Approachable right now. I found in spite of the lushness of the fruit there was a certain lightness about this wine that absolutely charmed me.
Price: $29.99 Add To Cart

2016 Tessendey, Fronsac
Review Date: 11-04-2019
Here we have a deliciously juicy wine with lots of plums and notes of coffee. Very bright acidity, and structured tannins balance its fruit. A quick decanting and it is good to go. Charming!
Price: $16.99 Add To Cart

2010 Bodegas Casa Juan Señor de Lesmos Reserva Rioja (1.5L)
Review Date: 10-21-2019
Stunning value for a fantastic Rioja. Very classic, soft spices, incense, raisins. Medium tannins, delicious and ready now, but it will age beautifully still.
Price: $39.99 Add To Cart

2017 Baron de Montfaucon Côtes du Rhône Blanc
Review Date: 10-21-2019
Oh what a pretty wine! And I say that in the most serious way... The Viognier shines through with a cornucopia of tropical fruits tinged with a somewhat more delicate aromas i.e. Peaches, white flowers, apricots. Great pairing with spicy goods, salads, creamy sauced fish.
Price: $15.99 Add To Cart

2016 Antech "Cuvée Eugenie" Cremant de Limoux (1.5L)
Review Date: 10-21-2019
Most definitely one of the best deals in bubbles outside of Champagne. With an intriguing balance between richness and delicacy, this is lemony and honeyed but perfectly Brut. Pair it with any creamy fish dishes, blinis, fondue, banana-based desserts, carrot cake, or just as an aperitif watching the sun setting over the Pacific!
Price: $29.99 Add To Cart

2017 Antech "Cuvée Eugenie" Cremant de Limoux
Review Date: 10-21-2019
Most definitely one of the best deals in bubbles outside of Champagne. With an intriguing balance between richness and delicacy, this is lemony and honeyed but perfectly Brut. Pair it with any creamy fish dishes, blinis, fondue, banana-based desserts, carrot cake, or just as an aperitif watching the sun setting over the Pacific!
Price: $13.99 Add To Cart

2016 Schramsberg North Coast Blanc de Blancs Brut Sparkling Wine
Review Date: 10-21-2019
To best describe this wine to you I have to tell you a little secret... I mistook this bottle for Champagne on my sommelier test (not the final exam thank God!). Now, knowing better, I should have noticed by the ripeness of the fruit that this was no Champagne, but oh it was so delicious! Toasty and briochy, with lemon notes and also some tropical fruit and exotic spices. I definitely recommend the Schramsberg.

2018 Rustenberg Chardonnay Stellenbosch South Africa
Review Date: 10-21-2019
I was very impressed with this wine. May I even dare to utter the world Meursault? Well it sure has an intriguing nuttiness, and beautiful notes of cloves and cinnamon. I will keep an eye on this winery, as everything I tried from them was outstanding. That's a great bottle for those who want escape the sameness that sometimes awash the world of Chardonnay out there.
Price: $18.99 Add To Cart

2018 Dog Point Sauvignon Blanc Marlborough
Review Date: 10-21-2019
This certified Bio/Organic producer was all the rage in our staff tasting, with all of us agreeing how exceptional all its portfolio is. Here we have his entry level Sauvignon Blanc, which is flinty, with elegant notes of citrus fruit, along with some lemon curd, peaches and a sense of balance and elegance that distinguish itself from most of its peers.

2017 Ancient Peaks Paso Robles Zinfandel
Review Date: 10-21-2019
Have you ever heard that Zinfandels pair very well with BBQ? Although this is true, what the adage fails to take in consideration is that usually when we are doing a BBQ it is also very hot! That's when the Ancient Peaks comes into play. With all the spiciness of a Zinfandel minus the heaviness and the heat. Now I am talking about a great BBQ wine! Viva Le Summer!
Price: $16.95 Add To Cart

2016 La Source du Ruault "La Coulee d'Aunis" Saumur Blanc
Review Date: 10-21-2019
Outstanding Chenin Blanc with very classic notes of quince, cooked pears, persimmons, dry straw and even a touch of petrol. It is a dry style Chenin and pairing this wine with a Sweet & Sour Pork, or a pork roast with apple sauce, one would quite easily achieve Nirvana!
Price: $24.99 Add To Cart

2016 Copain "Tous Ensemble" Sonoma Coast Pinot Noir
Review Date: 10-21-2019
Very nice aromatics, with plenty of cherries, cola, and a touch floral. The palate is incredibly soft and easy but with the structure (acid and tannins) very much in balance. This is a delicious wine to be enjoyed now.
Price: $24.99 Add To Cart

2015 Pasetti Montepulciano d'Abruzzo
Review Date: 10-21-2019
Rich & spicy, this Italian wine is just what I would suggest for a cozy Wednesday night, with a calabrezza pizza for company! Or with some delicious stuffed peppers, pasta arabiatta or putanesca.
Price: $17.99 Add To Cart

2018 Bodegas Colomé Torrontes Valle Calchaquí Salta
Review Date: 10-21-2019
Beautiful wine indeed. Night jasmine aromatics, together with some other exotic flowers, honey and herb spices. All of that surrounded by a crispy acidity which rounds it up, and make it a perfect pairing with Asian food, seafood, or any spicy food.
Price: $11.99 Add To Cart

2018 Eric Cottat Sancerre Rouge
Review Date: 10-21-2019
Here's a Pinot that regardless of where it is from, it is delicious - I mean, it will please all lovers of good Pinot Noir. It happens to be from France, from the beautiful Loire Valley to be more exact, and it is a classic! Gorgeous aromatics of fresh cherries, violets, cola and even a touch of vanilla. On the very soft palate, all of the above is framed by the juicy acidity and medium tannins. This wine would be absolutely perfect with vegetarian dishes, Indian cuisine, Mexican, Pizza, Peking duck, and I could go on. Very versatile. Bravo Eric Cottat!
Price: $21.99 Add To Cart

2018 Rombauer Napa Valley Sauvignon Blanc
Review Date: 10-21-2019
Very refreshingly crisp, with an ever slight pétillance. The tropical notes of guava along with grapefruit, make this well balanced Sauvignon Blanc a delight at any occasion, any time!
Price: $22.95 Add To Cart

2016 La Source du Ruault Saumur-Champigny Rouge
Review Date: 10-21-2019
Really delightful Cabernet Franc, from Saumur, medium bodied, and very floral, with an intense nose of crushed rocks, violets and little red fruits. I would suggest serving it a bit chilled. Perfect with Indian food.
Price: $16.99 Add To Cart

2016 Patz & Hall Sonoma Coast Pinot Noir
Review Date: 10-21-2019
Nice and balanced, with beautiful aromatics of cherries, strawberries and cola. On the palate it is never heavy, and its velvety tannins make the whole experience quite phenomenal. A deliciously elegant Pinot showing off California greatest.

2015 Bois-Malot, Bordeaux Supérieur (1.5L)
Review Date: 10-21-2019
Easy and lovely. The 2015 Bois Malot has a very pretty lifted aromatics, reminiscent of fraise du bois. A style of Bordeaux that would go down very easily on those hot nights, simple dinners, burgers and etc
Price: $24.99 Add To Cart

2014 Siaurac, Lalande de Pomerol
Review Date: 10-21-2019
A very approachable wine that's a pleasure to drink.The Merlot fruit delivers its plums flavors and floral violet aromatics. Soft tannins and a delicious sweet core. Perfect for enjoying on any night.
Price: $19.99 Add To Cart

2016 Ancient Peaks "Santa Margarita Ranch" Paso Robles Cabernet Sauvignon
Review Date: 10-21-2019
I tend to shy away from those over-the-top, high alcohol, heavily oaked Cabernet wines, regardless of how many points they are awarded. And that's why I enjoyed this wine. Its complexity along with its approachability, makes a perfect pairing with a wide variety of foods. From red meat to roasted vegetables...Perfection!
Price: $16.99 Add To Cart

2015 De' Ricci Vino Nobile di Montepulciano
Review Date: 09-30-2019
There is a perfect word to describe this wine, but it is in French... dépaysant or exotic, different and even unfamiliar (to me). And I loved it! Intriguing aromatics of violets, coffee, fine truffles and oh... prosciutto! A perfect wine to pair with your authentic Italian dinner! Think home made bolognese, game meats, salami, pecorino cheese and truffles, Mamma mia!
Price: $19.99 Add To Cart

2018 Gianni Gagliardo "Fallegro" Roero
Review Date: 09-30-2019
This wine could not have been more aptly named: Fallegro - to make happy/merry - I does indeed make anybody who imbibes it very, very happy indeed! Slightly vivace, with a very easy, pleasing but rich palate. Think of a Vinho Verde, but riper. I kept thinking of fried calamari the whole time we were tasting it!
Price: $12.99 Add To Cart

2016 Erik Banti "Ciabatta" Morellino di Scansano Riserva
Review Date: 09-30-2019
A delicious wine that is all about pleasure! Vinous, with plums, cherry kirsch, and it is never heavy, quite the contrary. I found it very elegant indeed. A great wine and a great buy (my notes exactly when I tasted it)
Price: $19.99 Add To Cart

2016 La Fortuna Rosso di Montalcino
Review Date: 09-30-2019
Incredibly attractive aromatics of cocoa powder, plums and exotic woodsy spices. The palate delivers a very pleasing experience, that follows the nose. La Fortuna Rosso 2016 is stunningly good, and an absolutely no-brainer!
Price: $17.99 Add To Cart

2015 La Gaffelière, St-Emilion 6-pack in OWC
Review Date: 09-23-2019
Dark color, rich, alluring aromatics and a full, complex palate that exudes elegance. Exotic spices, sweet plums, cherries, chocolate and even a delicate note of earth. This wine will most certainly please those who want to drink it now. But as with many Bordeaux wines of this pedigree, it will effortlessly last decades to come.

2015 La Gaffelière, St-Emilion
Review Date: 09-23-2019
Dark color, rich, alluring aromatics and a full, complex palate that exudes elegance. Exotic spices, sweet plums, cherries, chocolate and even a delicate note of earth. This wine will most certainly please those who want to drink it now. But as with many Bordeaux wines of this pedigree, it will effortlessly last decades to come.

2015 Branaire-Ducru, St-Julien 6-pack in OWC
Review Date: 09-23-2019
The 2015 Branaire Ducru is a textbook perfect example of a magnificent Saint-Julien. The ripe fruit nose and palate profile is full of cassis, plums, pencil lead and cola. The fruit is framed by its perfectly ripe tannins. It is a very pleasant experience to drink this now, but make no mistake, this wine will easily last another 20 years or more. So, a couple of cases in the cellars, and some bottles on the wine fridge are in order...

2015 Branaire-Ducru, St-Julien
Review Date: 09-23-2019
The 2015 Branaire Ducru is a textbook perfect example of a magnificent Saint-Julien. The ripe fruit nose and palate profile is full of cassis, plums, pencil lead and cola. The fruit is framed by its perfectly ripe tannins. It is a very pleasant experience to drink this now, but make no mistake, this wine will easily last another 20 years or more. So, a couple of cases in the cellars, and some bottles on the wine fridge are in order...

1999 Tour du Haut-Moulin, Haut-Médoc (1.5L)
Review Date: 09-10-2019
A perfectly aged bottle (well, actually two bottles, since it's a magnum!) of Bordeaux, that is ready to drink tonight. Classic in style, this wine will surely please those in search for that old school Bordeaux. But also, I think it is a good mature bottle that would be a perfect introduction to those wanting to know what is all about. In any case, a must try!
Price: $39.99 Add To Cart

2017 Pierre Sparr White Blend "One" Alsace
Review Date: 09-10-2019
With beautiful floral aromatics, this blend of Muscat, Riesling, and Pinot Gris is a pleasure to drink. Very delicate on the palate, with all the floral, grapey, fresh peach notes one would expect, but none of the sweetness. It is crisp, dry, but not austere. Pair it with seafood, chicken or pork dishes. Delicious!
Price: $16.99 Add To Cart

2018 Les Roches Sauvignon Touraine
Review Date: 09-09-2019
Nice and zippy, with aromatics that remind me of a softer New Zealand Sauvignon Blanc, with lots of elegance. Perfect for appetizers, salads, outdoor events and parties.
Price: $10.99 Add To Cart

2016 Crabitey Rouge, Graves
Review Date: 09-09-2019
The Crabitey has the typical-for-the-vintage abundance of fruit, but also I do think it possess a firm structure of ripe tannins. After a quick passage through a decanter it softens and delivers a classic Graves, with its cassis fruits, spices followed by an earthy edge. It will age nicely in the cellars.
Price: $15.99 Add To Cart

2016 Clos Renon, Bordeaux Supérieur
Review Date: 09-09-2019
Another P'tit Bordeaux that impressed me for its quality, approachability, and price. Specially good to take to a dinner party and impress people with your serious good taste!
Price: $9.99 Add To Cart

Page: 1 2 3 next

More Favorites

Jacques Moreira is also a fan of the following items. To become a fan of Jacques Moreira, click here to join Jacques Moreira's Personal Sommelier Service.
Eric Bordelet "Granit" Poiré (Pear) Cider ($19.99)

Eric Bordelet "Tendre" Sidre (apple) CIDER ($10.99)

Eric Bordelet "Poiré l’Authentique" Sidre (Pear) CIDER ($12.99)

2015 Marquis de Mons, Margaux ($21.99)

Old Bardstown Kentucky Straight Bourbon Whiskey (750ml) ($22.99)

Velho Barreiro Cachaça (1L) ($15.99)

2018 TWR (Te Whare Ra) Sauvignon Blanc Marlborough ($19.99)

2018 TWR (Te Whare Ra) "SV5182" Gewurztraminer Marlborough ($19.99)

2015 Lilian Ladouys, St-Estèphe ($24.99)

2014 Lilian Ladouys, St-Estèphe ($24.99)

2016 Hugel "Gentil" Alsace ($11.99)

L.N. Mattei Cap Corse Rouge Quinquina Aperitif Wine (750ml) ($19.99)

L.N. Mattei Cap Corse Blanc Quinquina Aperitif Wine (750ml) ($19.99)

Writers' Tears Copper Pot Irish Whiskey (750ml) ($39.99)

Yellowstone Select Kentucky Straight Bourbon Whiskey (750ml) ($24.99)

Siembra Valles Blanco Tequila (750ml) ($49.99)

2014 Provenance Rutherford Cabernet Sauvignon ($39.99)

2005 Langoa-Barton, St-Julien ($74.99)

St. George "Botanivore" Gin (750ml) ($27.99)

Bollinger "Special Cuvée" Brut Champagne (375ml) ($34.99)

Bollinger Brut Rosé Champagne ($74.99)

Laurent-Perrier Brut "La Cuvée" Champagne Salmanazar (9L) ($749.00)

Franck Bonville Grand Cru Brut Blanc de Blancs Champagne (375ml) ($18.99)

Fallet-Dart "Grande Selection" Brut Champagne (375ml) ($18.99)

Carpano Antica Formula Sweet Vermouth (1L) ($29.99)

Billecart-Salmon "Brut Reserve" Champagne (1.5L) ($109.00)

Billecart-Salmon "Brut Reserve" Champagne (375ml) ($26.99)

Billecart-Salmon Brut Rosé Champagne (375ml) ($39.99)

Bollinger "Special Cuvée" Brut Champagne ($59.99)

Ruinart Brut Rosé Champagne (ships as 1.5L due to shape of bottle) ($74.99)

Guillaumette L'Authentique Génépi (375ml) ($25.99)

Lazzaroni Amaretto (750ml) ($28.99)

Zirbenz Stone Pine Liqueur of the Alps (375ml) ($32.99)

2012 Mouton-Rothschild, Pauillac ($499.99)

Cimarron Reposado Tequila (1L) ($21.99)

Cimarron Blanco Tequila (1L) ($21.99)

Casa Dragones Blanco Tequila (750ml) (ships as a 1.5L) ($59.99)

Casa Dragones Joven Sipping Tequila (750ml - ships as a 1.5L due to bottle shape) ($274.99)

Tequila Fortaleza Añejo Tequila (750ml) ($74.99)

Tequila Fortaleza Reposado Tequila (750ml) ($54.99)

Tequila Fortaleza Blanco Tequila (750ml) ($44.99)

2001 Guiraud, Sauternes ($64.99)

2009 Trimbach "Cuvée Frédéric Émile" Riesling Alsace ($79.99)

Allimant Laugner Cremant d'Alsace Brut ($18.99)

Billecart-Salmon Brut Rosé Champagne ($74.99)

2005 Guiraud, Sauternes ($49.99)

Lustau "East India Solera" Sherry ($24.99)

Lustau Almacenista Oloroso "Pata de Gallina" (500ml) ($26.99)

Warre's "Otima" 20-year-old Tawny Port (500ml) ($39.99)

Warre's "Otima" 10 Year Old Tawny Port (500ml) ($23.99)

Ramos Pinto White Port ($15.99)

Nocino della Cristina Napa Valley Walnut Liqueur (375ml) ($29.99)

Luxardo Maraschino Liqueur (750ml) ($29.99)

Luxardo Maraschino Cherries (400g) ($15.99)

Chartreuse Green (750ml) ($49.99)

Franck Bonville "Prestige" Brut Blanc de Blancs Champagne ($44.99)

Franck Bonville "Belles Voyes" Brut Blanc de Blancs Champagne ($69.99)

Franck Bonville "Belles Voyes" Brut Blanc de Blancs Champagne (1.5L) ($149.00)

Ariston Aspasie "Carte Blanche" Brut Champagne ($29.99)

2005 Château de Beaucastel Châteauneuf-du-Pape ($109.99)

Lillet Blanc Aperitif Wine (750ml) ($17.99)

Ruinart Brut Blanc de Blancs Champagne (Ships as a 1.5L Due to Bottle Size/Shape) ($69.99)

Domaine de Canton Ginger & Cognac Liqueur (750ml) ($29.99)

Ariston Aspasie Blanc de Blancs Brut Champagne ($34.99)

Ariston Aspasie "Brut Prestige" Champagne ($39.99)

2007 Domaine de Fondrèche "Nadal" Côtes du Ventoux ($24.99)