Staff Favorites - Alex Pross

Alex Pross

Reviews

Page: 1 2 next
2015 Domaine Lafage "Tessellae - Old Vines GSM" Côtes du Roussillon
Review Date: 01-29-2018
This is my favorite Lafage release to date! The 2015 Tessellae Old Vines GSM has a hauntingly beautiful nose of red cherries, licorice, white pepper and garrigue. On the palate the wine is fresh and lively with great energy and drive. There is copious fruit notes as well as spice with a layered and complex palate. The wine shows excellent integration of its tannins, fruit and alcohol which gives this full-bodied wine a deceptively light on its feet feel.
Top Value!
Price: $11.99 Add To Cart
RP 93

2016 Domaine Frédéric Esmonin Gevrey-Chambertin 1er Cru "Estournelles St-Jacques"
Review Date: 01-22-2018
I love this wine, especially for the price! This has everything you could ever want in a top-flight 1er cru Burgundy. The nose is alive with notes of bright red berry, spice and that tell-tale cola note all fine Gevrey-Chambertins have. Layer after layer of complex fruit notes mingle with spice and earth notes to create a breathtaking Gevrey-Chambertin. There's a powerful core of fruit, tannin and acidity here and even though this is showing well now, I have to believe we are still just scratching the surface of what this wine will eventually reveal. A great showing for one of the first 2016s to reach our shelves.
Drink from 2018 to 2018
Price: $64.99 Add To Cart
BH 92 VN 92

2016 Domaine Frédéric Esmonin Ruchottes-Chambertin Grand Cru
Review Date: 01-22-2018
While the 2016 Mazy is a bit more feminine the 2016 Esmonin Ruchottes Chambertin is definitely masculine in style. Notes of black fruits, spice and even a slight graphite note pepper the nose of this wine while on the palate there is ample weight and delineation. Baking spice and dark fruits meld with a coiled palate and firm tannins. A big wine that definitely needs time to completely unfurl.
Drink from 2018 to 2018
Price: $129.99 Add To Cart
BH 93 VN 92

2016 Domaine Frédéric Esmonin Mazy-Chambertin Grand Cru
Review Date: 01-22-2018
What a beautiful wine! The 2016 Esmonin Mazy Chambertin displays all the beauty and elegance the 2016 vintage is supposed to have. A gorgeous nose of red berries, red flowers and subtle spice notes gives way to a palate that is full of red berry fruit(cranberry, strawberry, pomegranate and raspberry). Fantastic balance, superb complexity and great persistence make this a great introduction to the wonderful 2016 Burgundy vintage.
Drink from 2018 to 2018
Price: $129.99 Add To Cart
BH 93 VN 92

2015 Domaine de Marcoux Lirac "Lorentine"
Review Date: 01-22-2018
Gorgeous blackberry notes mingle seamlessly with spice and scorched earth nuances. The palate is dark berry, minced meat pie, black pepper and dried herbs. A serious wine that slowly unfurls to reveal the depths of complexity and layers of dark fruit this is a big red that showcases the power and richness that are the hallmarks of the 2015 Rhone vintage.
Top Value!
Price: $19.99 Add To Cart

2016 Domaine de Marcoux Cotes-du-Rhone
Review Date: 01-22-2018
If you're a fan of Marcoux then you are definitely in for a treat with the 2016 Marcoux Cotes du Rhone. This wine starts off with an intoxicating nose of red licorice and candied red raspberries and then deftly pivots to fresh flower and earth notes. There's a distinctly Burgundian feel here with high-toned red fruits, remarkable balance and harmony and an elegance rarely found in a Cotes du Rhone. The wine finish with impressive purity and freshness and it lingers ever so slightly on the delightful finish. This is a must buy for any wine lover who is a fan of Grenache done the right way.
Top Value!
Price: $16.99 Add To Cart

2016 Domaine Roger Sabon "Rhone by Roger Sabon"
Review Date: 01-22-2018
I was not prepared for how good this wine was for only $11.99. Wow! If you want a little insight into how fantastic the upcoming 2016 Rhone vintage is going to be just pick up a bottle of the 2016 Rhone by Roger Sabon. Loaded with a bevy of dark berry fruit and spice notes this complex, layered beauty boasts a silky-smooth palate that displays remarkable persistence and length. This is easily one of the better wine values I have tasted this year.
Top Value!
Price: $11.99 Add To Cart

2016 Pala "I Fiori" Cannonau di Sardegna
Review Date: 01-02-2018
Wow! This is a sexy beast of a wine. Lots of wild berry fruit, seductive aromas and silky tannins make this an irresistible offering. I had to do a double-take when I saw the price, I easily expected this to be in the mid-to-high 20s but was pleasantly surprised to see it at the jaw-dropping price of only $14.99. A flat-out delicious offering for under $15 this is a wine to buy b y the case.
Top Value!
Price: $14.99 Add To Cart
JS 93

2015 Gagliole "Rubiolo" Chianti Classico
Review Date: 01-02-2018
This is a great little everyday Chianti Classico. Loaded with dark berry fruit, spice and hints of volcanic earth this little gem of a wine brought a big smile to my face. This is a classic, easy-drinking Chianti that I will reach for without hesitation any time I want a nice bottle of Chianti.
Top Value!
Price: $14.99 Add To Cart
JS 92 RP 90

2015 Chateau Los Boldos "Grande Reserve" Cachapoal Valley Cabernet Sauvignon
Review Date: 01-02-2018
I love this wine! It has everything I look for: depth, precision, balance, complexity and most importantly it tastes really good. Chile is one of the many regions around the world where you get great bang for your buck and the 2015 Chateau Los Boldos Cabernet Sauvignon is a perfect example. A suave nose of mint, earth and dried herbs deftly gives way to a palate that just oozes gorgeous dark berry fruit, spice, subtle mocha notes and a touch of earth and herbs. This is a wonderful, food friendly Cabernet Sauvignon that totally over delivers given its modest price.
Top Value!

2013 Farella Estate Coombsville Napa Valley Cabernet Sauvignon
Review Date: 12-02-2017
This is exactly what I want from a top-flight Napa Valley Cabernet Sauvignon. The Coombsville AVA has stepped up its quality immensely over the last few vintages and now many of their releases are dollar-for-dollar the best values in all of Napa Valley. The Farella Estate Coombsville Cabernet Sauvignon is loaded with dark chocolate and blackberry kirsch notes along with mocha and espresso flavors this creamy, richly-textured beauty is a hedonist's delight.
Drink from 2017 to 2017
Price: $59.99 Add To Cart
VN 95 JS 94

2015 Château Saint Roch "Kerbuccio" Maury Sec
Review Date: 12-01-2017
In the Languedoc-Roussillon there is a sub-region called Maury Sec-Remember this name. This is the "hot" region where the best wines are currently hailing from. The quality of wines coming out of the Maury Sec for the cost is mind-blowing and a great example is the 2015 Chateau Saint Roch "Kerbuccio" Maury Sec. A blend of 80% Grenache and 20% Carignan this tastes like a fine Chateauneuf-du-Pape. Loaded with spice, mineral and gorgeous berry fruit notes this is a wine that punches way above its weight. I think I have just found my new house red wine!
Top Value!

2016 Domaine Lafage "Novellum" Chardonnay Pays d'Oc
Review Date: 11-17-2017
Easily one of the best white wine values I have tasted this year, the 2016 Domaine Lafage Novellum is the epitome of what the Languedoc/Roussillon is capable of producing. This rich, textured and complex white is layered in tropical fruit notes and baked apple flavors. The wine unfolds with a seamless feel as fruit note after fruit note blends with soft oak nuances. This is an outstanding value that pretty much blows away anything from California that is even remotely close to its price.
Top Value!
Price: $10.99 Add To Cart
RP 92

2015 Chateau Puech-Haut "La Closerie du Pic" Coteaux du Languedoc Pic Saint Loup
Review Date: 11-02-2017
The 2015 Chateau Puech-Haut "La Closerie du Pic" Coteaux du Languedoc Pic Saint Loup is a limpid red in the glass with enticing aromas of red cherry, raspberry, minerals and spice. The palate is a complex offering of red fruits, spice notes, crushed rocks and the slightest hint of oak. There’s great energy and grace to this wine as it slowly unwinds on the palate. A great value, this is one of the best offerings from the Languedoc I have tasted this year.
Top Value!
Price: $26.99 Add To Cart
RP 96

2015 Domaine Lafage "Bastide Miraflors" Côtes du Roussillon
Review Date: 10-04-2017
The Lafage Bastide Miraflors is a perennial favorite of mine and the 2015 is easily the best Bastide Miraflors to date! The starts out with a gorgeous nose of fresh-picked red berries and spice notes while the palate is an energetic blend of red berry, sweet herbs, clove and spice notes. Soft tannins and bright acidity give this wine great balance and lift. An ideal every day red that should be purchased by the case!
Top Value!
Price: $12.99 Add To Cart
RP 94

2015 Stéphane Aviron Chénas Vieilles Vignes
Review Date: 10-01-2017
A stunning example of what Beaujolais can and should be. Beautifully fruited with racy notes of wet earth, herbs and spices, this delightful red wine can be slightly chilled and enjoyed with a multitude of cuisines. It is light enough to pair with fish courses such as salmon and sea bass, and it can also pair with pork, veal and some lighter beef dishes. Fresh and fruity but in no way insipid, this complex red is incredibly versatile.
Price: $17.99 Add To Cart

Wine Club

$14.99
VN 91

2015 Domaine Giraud "Tradition" Châteauneuf-du-Pape
Review Date: 09-25-2017
This wine comes from the small family team of Girauds: Pierre (the patriarch), Marie (daughter and winemaker) and Francois (brother and viticulturist), along with the help of famed wine consultant Philippe Cambie. This wine is elegant, with gorgeous dark berry fruit flavors, exotic spice and floral notes, and fine tannins. With a long, lush finish, this is a great introduction to Domaine Giraud.

2016 Domaine Louis Moreau Petit Chablis
Review Date: 09-25-2017
A stellar value, the Petite Chablis is loaded with bright citrus fruit notes, wet stone and hints of seashells.
Price: $16.99 Add To Cart

2015 Taylor Fladgate "Quinta de Vargellas" Vintage Port
Review Date: 09-14-2017
Classic Taylor's structure. Pure blackberry fruit; so beautiful on the palate. Wave-after-wave of fruit with fabulous complexity and harmony of fruit and tannins. Lots of berry fruit along with subtle spice notes and grippy tannins give this wine excellent length and body. A very impressive Quinta.
Top Value!

2015 Fonseca "Guimaraens" Vintage Port
Review Date: 09-14-2017
Tons of dark berry fruit, a bit brooding on the nose. Loaded on the palate with blackberry, cassis, dried herbs and a touch of mint. Cool and precise.
Drink from 2017 to 2017

2015 Croft "Quinta Roêda" Vintage Port
Review Date: 09-14-2017
Great freshness!! Tons of spice and marzipan notes seamlessly mingle with fresh macerated blackberries. Smooth and silky on the palate this wine just oozes gorgeous, fresh fruit. A truly beautiful Port.
Top Value!

2015 d'Yquem, Sauternes (375ml)
Review Date: 09-11-2017
Glass Full image Glass Full image Glass Full image Glass Full image Glass Full image
One of the greatest wines I have ever tasted is the 2001 d'Yquem. Upon tasting the 2015 d'Yquem my immediate thoughts were that it could rival the 2001!! Liquid gold doesn't do this wine justice, absolutely loaded with dried pineapple, apricot and butterscotch notes this powerful, almost painfully seductive wine is as smooth as it is rich. If I were on my deathbed my last wish would be for a glass of this elixir.
Drink from 2020 to 2020

2015 d'Yquem, Sauternes (375ml) 6-pack in OWC
Review Date: 09-11-2017
Glass Full image Glass Full image Glass Full image Glass Full image Glass Full image
One of the greatest wines I have ever tasted is the 2001 d'Yquem. Upon tasting the 2015 d'Yquem my immediate thoughts were that it could rival the 2001!! Liquid gold doesn't do this wine justice, absolutely loaded with dried pineapple, apricot and butterscotch notes this powerful, almost painfully seductive wine is as smooth as it is rich. If I were on my deathbed my last wish would be for a glass of this elixir.
Drink from 2020 to 2020

2013 Inglenook Rutherford Cabernet Sauvignon
Review Date: 09-08-2017
Glass Full image Glass Full image Glass Full image Glass Full image Glass Half image
The evidence is in the glass...Inglenook is officially back to its glory days of the 40s, 50s & 60s with the 2013 Inglenook Ruther Cabernet Sauvignon. This used to be called the "Cask" Cabernet Sauvignon but now enjoys the Rutherford moniker. The barrels for this wine were culled out of the production of the Iglenook Rubicon the winery's flagship offering. This is an impeccable red, with perfect harmony of tannins, fruit and structure. A gorgeous red, this has the "old-school" Napa Valley cabernet Sauvignon feel that we're always looking for.

2016 J. Bouchon "Canto Sur" Maule Valley
Review Date: 09-08-2017
This is my official back porch red! I love a versatile red wine and the 2016 J Bouchon Canto Sur Maule Valley Red is perfect for so many occasions. Great as a picnic red thanks to its easy going red fruit feel, great when it is a bit hot because you can give it a slight chill and enjoy it the same way you would a Beaujolais. A pretty, high-toned red with nice fruit notes and an excellent savory, earthy streak this is a fine value!!
Top Value!

2015 Kalinda Rutherford Cabernet Sauvignon
Review Date: 07-19-2017
This is an outstanding rendition of Kalinda Cabernet Sauvignon! I am really glad Clyde & I waited and tasted and waited and tasted because our patience has truly been rewarded upon tasting this wine once again from bottle. Beautiful aromas of spice, baker's chocolate and crème de cassis spring from the glass while on the palate the wine feels electric with intense red and black cherry flavors as well as milk chocolate and mocha notes. Velvety tannins and a long, supple finish only add to the enjoyment this plush Cabernet Sauvignon provides. If there's a better Napa Valley Cabernet Sauvignon for under $30 I haven't tasted it yet.
Top Value!
Price: $27.99 Add To Cart

2015 Domaine Jean-Michel Giboulot Savigny-lès-Beaune
Review Date: 06-15-2017
Glass Full image Glass Full image Glass Full image Glass Full image Glass Empty image
Looking for the perfect reed Burgundy for under $30? You can stop the search because the 2015 Giboulot Savigny-les-Beaune is the new you've been looking for. Fantastic cherry fruit mingles with subtle spice and oak notes with dusty tannins and bright acidity. Giboulot is a name to look for when drinking your way thru Savigny-les-Beaune.
Top Value!
Price: $29.99 Add To Cart

2015 Domaine Pernot-Belicard Meursault Ier Cru "Perrieres"
Review Date: 06-15-2017
Glass Full image Glass Full image Glass Full image Glass Full image Glass Half image
Wow! I am a huge fan of Meursault and this is one of the best ones I have tasted. Loaded with flinty aromas as well as orchard fruits and Asian pear notes this beautiful Meursault is irresistible. The complexity and layers of this wine are confounding, it just stays on the palate lingering with a myriad of fruit and mineral notes. If you're searching for the next great producer of Meursault look no further: it is Pernot-Belicard.
Top Value!
Price: $74.99 Add To Cart

2015 Domaine Pernot-Bélicard Puligny-Montrachet 1er Cru "Les Perrières"
Review Date: 06-15-2017
Glass Full image Glass Full image Glass Full image Glass Full image Glass Half image
Such purity and finesse! You can taste the minerals from the soil, like fresh glacial water with citrus and floral notes. Great acidity with verve and tension this fantastic Puligny Montrachet crackles with electricity and beautiful fruit notes.
Top Value!
Price: $59.99 Add To Cart

2015 Domaine Pernot-Belicard Bourgogne Blanc
Review Date: 06-15-2017
Glass Full image Glass Full image Glass Full image Glass Full image Glass Empty image
Gorgeous orchard fruits, hazelnut and spice notes deftly rise from the glass while on the palate this fruit-driven, mineral-laced offering is in perfect proportion and harmony. The fruit is pure, with just enough spice and oak to bring it all together. The perfect cross-over white that has enough purity to please the French wine lover and enough fruit to please the California wine lover.
Top Value!
Price: $19.99 Add To Cart

2010 Famille Perrin "Domaine du Clos des Tourelles" Gigondas
Review Date: 05-30-2017
Glass Full image Glass Full image Glass Full image Glass Full image Glass Half image
Most of the time when I sit down to write about a wine it is a bit young and could use at least a few more years in the bottle in order for it to truly shine, for once I actually get to review a wine that is in a perfect drinking window! The 2010 Famille Perrin “Domaine de Clos des Tourelles” Gigondas is a fantastic wine, seductive aromas of fig jam, black licorice and spice cake deftly rise from the glass. Richly-textured on the palate this full-bodied wine displays gorgeous black fruit, plum, cola and spice flavors with silky tannins and excellent grip. The finish is long and supple with lingering notes hanging on the finish for 30+ seconds. An absolute steal for under $50.
Top Value!

2014 Eisele Vineyards "Altagracia" Napa Valley Cabernet Sauvignon
Review Date: 05-10-2017
Glass Full image Glass Full image Glass Full image Glass Full image Glass Half image
The 2014 Eisele Vineyards "Altagracia" Napa Valley Cabernet Sauvignon is a seamless, seductive Napa Valley Cabernet Sauvignon. Fantastic aromas of chocolate covered cherries, cigar box and clove rise from the glass while the palate is a silky blend of baker’s chocolate, dark berry fruit, spice, mocha and subtle oak hints. Fine tannins and perfect balance help to round out this great Cabernet Sauvignon.
Drink from 2017 to 2017
Price: $124.99 Add To Cart
JS 96

2015 Maison Henri Boillot Bourgogne Blanc
Review Date: 05-08-2017
Glass Full image Glass Full image Glass Full image Glass Full image Glass Full image
Wow! This is a fantastic Bourgogne Blanc. I have always loved the wines by Henri Boillot but I was not expecting the 2015 Bourgogne Blanc to be as good as it is. At only $24.99 this may be the best value we currently have in the Burgundy section. Loaded with stone and citrus fruits, zesty minerality and good acidity this mouth-watering white is delicious. Boillot specializes in Puligny Montrachet and Meursault and you can see the pedigree in this Bourgogne Blanc that drinks more like a wine from Meursault than an entry-level white.
Top Value!
Price: $29.99 Add To Cart

2014 Jacques Bavard Auxey-Duresses Rouge
Review Date: 04-26-2017
Glass Full image Glass Full image Glass Full image Glass Full image Glass Empty image
While Jacques Bavard has made a name for himself fashioning some amazing white wine bargains the 2014 Jacques Bavard Auxey Duresses Rouge proves he can masterfully craft red wines as well as whites. A beautiful nose of fresh red fruits, spice and subtle earth aromas mix with a supple palate featuring red cherry, cranberry and pomegranate fruit. Bright and zesty this is an ideal red for drinking tonight with roast chicken or lighter faire.
Top Value!
Price: Hidden View Price

2011 Bodegas Muga "Selección Especial" Reserva Rioja
Review Date: 03-17-2017
Muga is one of the quintessential Rioja producers and this 2011 dishes up classic Tempranillo flavor in a style that should appeal to just about anyone. The balance of fruit, earth, fine tannins, and cocoa remind me of all the flavors I love in Cabernet as well, making the Muga a potential crossover Spanish option for California or Bordeaux lovers who want to try something new. You'll be impressed.

2015 Jean-Michel Dupre "1935" Morgon
Review Date: 01-06-2017
Glass Full image Glass Full image Glass Full image Glass Half image Glass Empty image
From vines planted in 1935 this beautiful Beaujolais from Cru vineyards in Morgon is terrific. Aromas of white raspberry, earth and bitter chocolate flow to a palate of dark fruits and subtle spice notes. Good length and fine balance make this a wonderful drinking Morgon.
Top Value!

2000 Sarget de Gruaud-Larose, St-Julien
Review Date: 07-07-2016
Glass Full image Glass Full image Glass Full image Glass Full image Glass Empty image
Great structure and balance! A wine with great length and complexity with firm tannins and good acidity the 2000 Sarget de Gruaud Larose. This wine has dark berry fruit, underbrush and bitter chocolate notes unfold on the palate as this youthful 2nd wine begins to spread its wings.
Top Value!
Price: $49.99 Add To Cart
WS 91

2015 Pavie Macquin, St-Emilion
Review Date: 06-08-2016
Glass Full image Glass Full image Glass Full image Glass Full image Glass Half image
Along with Larcis Ducasse the 2015 Pavie Macquin is one of the more elegant St. Emilion's out there. With incredible purity of fruit nicely mingled against a hint of oak and zippy minerality this is a beautiful wine that has a Burgundian feel while still having a Bordelaise sensibility.
Top Value!

2015 Haut-Bailly, Pessac-Léognan
Review Date: 06-08-2016
Glass Full image Glass Full image Glass Full image Glass Full image Glass Half image
Possibly one of the wines of the vintage the 2015 Haut Bailly is a showstopper. For under $100 this wine is one of the 2015 Bordeaux's you need to snatch up. Rich, full-bodied and with great delineation this wine has pure red fruit, spice notes as well as hints of red cinnamon and stone. The finish is long and smooth with fruit and mineral notes slowly fading into the ether.
Top Value!

2015 Lynch-Bages, Pauillac
Review Date: 06-08-2016
Glass Full image Glass Full image Glass Full image Glass Full image Glass Half image
Dark berry fruit, hints of dried herbs and tobacco. Pretty berry fruit, pencil lead and volcanic stone lead into a balanced and layered wine. Best Lynch since 2010.
Drink from 2020 to 2020

2015 Alter Ego de Palmer, Margaux
Review Date: 05-11-2016
Glass Full image Glass Full image Glass Full image Glass Full image Glass Half image
If you do not want to pay the hefty tariff for Chateau Palmer then a pretty fantastic compromise is to buy the 2015 Alter Ego de Palmer at a fraction of the price of Chateau Palmer. Alter Ego has got to be one of the great values in all of Bordeaux! Normally I am not a huge fan of second wines but since the 2012 vintage I have been enamored with this wine. It is spectacular, loaded with pure red berry fruit, beautiful delineation, hints of spice, mineral and a touch of lively green herbs this racy, taut wine is a joy to taste. With impeccable balance and fluidity it is hard to resist it as a barrel sample so I am in a quandary to imagine how wonderful it will be from the bottle.
Top Value!

2015 Malescot-St-Exupéry, Margaux
Review Date: 05-10-2016
Glass Full image Glass Full image Glass Full image Glass Full image Glass Half image
Malescot St. Exupery is a top five producer in Margaux on an annual basis and the 2015 Malescot St. Exupery is no exception. At $49.99 this is the best value of the 2015 Bordeaux vintage in my opinion. To get a wine of this quality for under $50 is the exact reason to buy Bordeaux En Primeur. A beautiful wine packed with ripe red fruits, hints of chocolate and mint this is a silky smooth wine that is irresistible. Always a favorite they have once again knocked it out of the park!
Top Value!

2015 Pape Clément, Pessac-Léognan
Review Date: 05-09-2016
Glass Full image Glass Full image Glass Full image Glass Full image Glass Full image
One of the wines of the vintage, the 2015 Pape Clement is a stunning wine. At a fraction of the cost of La Mission Haut Brion and Haut Brion this wine should be snatched up! Loaded with deep berry fruit(both blue and purple) as well as spice notes, liquified rock and earth notes the purity here is breathtaking. A classic in the making this is a flat-out fabulous wine.
Top Value!

2015 Cantemerle, Haut-Médoc
Review Date: 05-05-2016
Glass Full image Glass Full image Glass Full image Glass Full image Glass Empty image
Every year one of the wines I look most forward to tasting is Cantemerle. Always affordable and a perennial overachiever given its price this is a wine I always anxiously await to taste. The 2015 Cantemerle does not disappoint, this is a stunning value and loaded with pretty berry fruit and spice with hints of earth and mineral notes. Silky tannins and a long finish make this a worthy rival of both the 2009 & 2010 vintages.
Top Value!

2015 Clos Haut Peyraguey, Sauternes
Review Date: 05-04-2016
Glass Full image Glass Full image Glass Full image Glass Full image Glass Empty image
Tasted at Chateau Pape Clement, this property was purchased by Bernard Magrez and the purchase is already seen dividends. Easily the best young Clos Haut Peyraguey I have ever tasted. Floral, mineral, citrus notes, passion fruit all are present and nicely buffered by good acidity. the finish here is long and powerful. Very Impressive.
Top Value!

2015 Guiraud, Sauternes
Review Date: 05-04-2016
Glass Full image Glass Full image Glass Full image Glass Full image Glass Empty image
Always fantastic the 2015 Guiraud once again is a shinning star. An intoxicating nose leads directly to a palate filled with candied ginger and orange notes nicely nestled against rich caramel flavors.
Top Value!

2015 Lafleur-Gazin, Pomerol
Review Date: 04-28-2016
Glass Full image Glass Full image Glass Full image Glass Full image Glass Empty image
Loaded with dark blackberry notes this wine is rich and full-bodied with tobacco and earth notes. A classic old-world Pomerol in the making.
Top Value!

2015 Bourgneuf, Pomerol
Review Date: 04-28-2016
Glass Full image Glass Full image Glass Full image Glass Full image Glass Empty image
An impressive Bourgneuf, loaded with deep berry fruit, pepper and spice. Good length and energy, this is easily the best Bourgneuf I have ever tasted from barrel.
Top Value!

2015 Enclos Tourmaline, Pomerol
Review Date: 04-15-2016
Glass Full image Glass Full image Glass Full image Glass Full image Glass Half image
Fabulous sample, this comes from a small property that sits next to famed Le Pin and Trotanoy and adjacent to Lafleur-Petrus and La Violette. If you can't afford the tariff for these producers this is a great fall back. Immediately upon tasting I thought of Petrus stylistically before I knew the vineyard's proximity to greatness in Pomerol. The wine is super-sexy with exotic notes of black tea, Asian spice and black licorice. Loaded with velvety tannins this is a blockbuster in the making and a stunning wine. If you're a fan of Pomerol this is a wine to buy.
Top Value!

2015 Haut-Brisson, St-Emilion
Review Date: 04-15-2016
Glass Full image Glass Full image Glass Full image Glass Full image Glass Empty image
Beautiful red cherry fruit with cinnamon notes and hints of spice. The fruit here has a crunchy feel because of how fresh it is thanks to the good acidity. The finish is a tad exotic with notes of mocha and oatmeal on the finish.
Top Value!

Page: 1 2 next