Staff Favorites - David Othenin-Girard

David Othenin-Girard
David Othenin-Girard  | Send Email  |   Subscribe to My Sommelier Service


Reviews

Page: prev 1 2 3 4 next
2005 Caol Ila Cask Strength Gordon & MacPhail Single Malt Whisky (750ml)
Review Date: 04-04-2017
The fabulous Gordon & Macphail Caol Ila Cask Strength is always one of their best offerings. Contract purchased and filled into their own barrels (in this case 1st fill bourbon), the Caol Ila doesn't lose any of its character being aged in the G&M Warehouses in Elgin. Not far from the ocean by any means, but not quite as rugged as the coast of Islay, this fabulous little whisky only needs about a decade to reach a stupendous level of depth and complexity. This is briny oysters, intense lemon, iodine, salted nuts and old leather. I enjoy this one straight out of the bottle, but its intensity does lend itself to a hefty dollop of water. An absolute gem as always.
Price: $99.99 Add To Cart

Glenlivet 12 Year Old Speyside Single Malt Scotch Whisky (750ml)
Review Date: 03-29-2017
Glenlivet 12 is the ubiquitous favorite of so many, there's just nothing wrong with it. It's a benchmark whisky and responsible for defining an entire style and introducing an entire generation of drinkers to single malt. It remains a wonderful value and one of best-selling whiskies in the store.
Price: $29.99 Add To Cart
WE 90

Aberlour 12 Year Old Speyside Single Malt Scotch Whisky (750ml)
Review Date: 03-29-2017
Aberlour 12 year is a fine little whisky from the tiny distillery in the town of the same name. At this price it's hard to argue with their Double Cask Matured entry level. It's a great alternative to Balvenie Doublewood or even the 'Farclas 12 year each at $10 more than the Aberlour. Expect a good malty base note, subtle fruit framed around easy sherry influences, dried fruit, dark chocolate, and baking spice spice. Solid stuff.
Price: $39.99 Add To Cart
WE 97

Balvenie 17 Year Old Doublewood Single Malt Whisky (750ml)
Review Date: 03-29-2017
Balvenie released the 17 year follow-up to the ultra-popular 12 year Doublewood to attack a price and age range that they'd historically been avoiding. We used to get the oddball cask finishes in the 17 year range (peated, Madeira, Islay, etc), but for standard offerings Balvenie went straight from 12 to 21. Assuming the 12 year Doublewood spends 10 years in ex-bourbon/hogshead and 2 years in ex-sherry, we can assume this simply spends another 5 years or so in sherry before bottling. Deep and darker than the 12 year, there's still tons of fresh vanilla and oak poking through the rich toffee and nutty sherry. A wonderful balance between the fragrant freshness of the Aberlour spirit, the rich oak flavors, and the dense sherry influence.
Price: $125.99 Add To Cart
WE 95

Kilchoman 100% Islay Barley Single Malt Scotch Whisky (750ml)
Review Date: 03-29-2017
Kilchoman's lofty goal of producing Islay Whisky from 100% Islay ingredients might take another 100 years to achieve (I haven't seen them planting any oak trees), but they've gone 99% of the way and produce one of the most unique and delicious Islay malts nonetheless. Always with the 100% Islay we get more of a spirit-driven style than the other Kilchoman and I know why they won't obfuscate this wonderful whisky. Ultra sweet malt, super citrus, sweet salty nuts and more citrus. Zippy, briny, mineral, yet somehow still sweet fruity malt on the palate. This is malt whisky for mezcal lovers. Serve with a slice of orange and some toasted chapulines.
Price: $99.99 Add To Cart

Dalwhinnie 15 Year Old Highland Single Malt Whisky (750ml)
Review Date: 03-29-2017
Dalwhinnie 15 year is one of those wonderful malts that tends to turn non-Scotch people into whisky fanatics. The lightly peated malt of Dalwhinnie is aged to perfect maturity in their excellent 15 year offering and certainly deserves its place in the Classic Malt portfolio. The beautiful distillery produces a fruity style that shows no signs of peat on the nose by the time its 15 years old. Instead, expect toasty oak, amber honey, floral oils and baked apple. The palate is rather sweet with the tiniest hints of smoke popping out at the end. Malty and fresh, this is easy-drinking stuff with plenty of character behind that sense of overt pleasure.
Price: $49.99 Add To Cart

Glenfarclas 21 Year Old Distillery Bottling Highland Single Malt Scotch Whisky (750ml)
Review Date: 03-29-2017
The very special Glenfarclas 21 year, like the entire line from the special distillery outside of Aberlour, is an exquisite value. Having recently retasted the 21, I felt compelled to reiterate just how delicious it actually is. 'Farclas has tons of richness in all its offerings, but the 21 seems to be the most vibrant and alive of the standard offerings. Tons of rich tropical fruit and sherry spice without a ton of raisin or prune. The richness on the palate should be noted as well as the complex blend of fruit, spice and fudge. I'm absolutely in love with this one and recent bottlings are tasting better and better.
Price: $129.99 Add To Cart

Glen Garioch 12 Year Old Highland Single Malt Whisky (750ml)
Review Date: 03-29-2017
The Glen Garioch distillery is one of Scotland's oldest and most legendary. Their flagship 12 year old remains an absolute classic. This distillery has been through a few owners and several stylistic changes in the last 40 years, but as stalwart steward for the Eastern Highlands style it has no equal. One thing that always amazes me about modern Glen Garioch is the opulent cereal qualities it's malt exhibits. Malted oats, sweet grain, floral honey and an attractive leafiness. On the palate some citrus, more grains, soft round texture added by the higher proof and some flinty pepper notes. Some water and the orchard fruits come out. A wonderful distinctive Highlander that should be considered a benchmark for any Scotch lover.
Price: $54.99 Add To Cart
WE 91

Lagavulin 8 Year Old Limited Edition Islay Single Malt Scotch Whisky (750ml)
Review Date: 03-28-2017
Absolute magic! I've always been a bigger fan of the out of control cask strength 12 year old over the (still wonderful) standard 16 year. To be able to get an affordable, if slightly tame version of that is an exceptional score! There's just SO much going on here. This is real deal stinky briny, sooty oily Lagavulin. I'm not even going to bother attempting to describe this further, but this is without a doubt one of the best peaty whiskies on the shelf at any price. Forget the age and focus on the flavor. $60? Laphroaig Cask Strength and Ardbeg Uiggy have another for contender here for best bang for your buck peater in the store and I'm leaning toward the man in the middle. Good old laggy, lag, we don't deserve you.
Price: $49.99 Add To Cart

Clear Creek McCarthy's Oregon Single Malt Whiskey (750ml)
Review Date: 03-28-2017
The lovely McCarthy Whiskey is our friend Steve's real legacy and it was bitter sweet to try this new batch now that he's passed the reins on to new owners. Steve is just a fabulous distiller and since the distillery acquired the Clear Creek Brand at the beginning of 2014 and McCarthy's is always aged 3 years in Oregon Oak, this is likely the last of his personal distillate. The small scale has always meant subtle difference in each bottling, so batch variations is to be expected here. While the aging and blended would have been completed by the new owners at Hood River, the heart of this spirit is still Steve's. It remains a wonderful and unique offering, that's equal parts clean peat and woodsy oak. One the palate the campfire and pine notes really turn up. Many years ago, Steve had a great idea to buy peaty Scottish barley from Islay, distill it on a pot and age it in Oregon Oak and hopefully his legacy will continue for many years to come, but right now this whiskey remains a classic as it always has been, delicious!
Price: $49.99 Add To Cart

Balvenie 12 Year Old Single Barrel Single Malt Whisky (750ml)
Review Date: 03-28-2017
The very special Balvenie 12 Year Single Barrel is really where real connoisseur of this Speyside gem should start their journey. This is true NAKED obfuscated Balvenie. Indeed, it is equally unchilltered and has much more body and richness than the standard 12 year. You don't get the tinge of Sherry that the Doublewood provides, but this is easily twice the whisky only a slight premium over the standard offering. The nose is chalked full of the most subtle aromatics and picking them out is difficult due to the complexity. Tons of fresh malt, ripe green and yellow fruits, wild herbal undertones. On palate, plenty of those stones fruits taking front and center. Great texture, great freshness and a wonderful minty malty finish. These are of course single barrels so subtle differences exist, but I haven't had a stinker yet. Grab them while you can.
Price: $74.99 Add To Cart

Highland Park 12 Year Old Isle of Orkney Single Malt Scotch Whisky (750ml)
Review Date: 03-28-2017
Highland Park remains a sleeper despite the some international attention, it hasn't achieved the heights the it's sister distillery in Speyside has. Perhaps that's because it comes from the far flung Isle of Orkney or maybe it's just that HP isn't as flashy as her Sherried southern sister. Highland Park has been consistently producing some of the best malts anywhere in the world since 1798. Traditionally, Highland Park (many years ago) was a big smoky sooty oily funky monsters. In modern times the distillery has adopted a more subtle style. I guess the move away from floor maltings has increase it's availability and consistency. What's great about modern HP 12 is one of those slightly peated malts that almost anyone can appreciate. When someone asks for something with just a little bit of smoke, we really don't have a lot of options. With HP 12 you can expect a nose fresh malt, sweet honey, slight green woodsy quality and the slightest smoldering peat left over night in the hearth. The Island vibe is not lost in HP and a soft briny note is present throughout. The palate remains on the malty side with the peat taking a back seat and the real highland character turning up. All in all a lovely little offering the remains quite affordable from this historic distillery.
Price: $44.99 Add To Cart
WE 93 WA 90

Le Brun de Neuville "Authentique Assemblage" Brut Champagne
Review Date: 03-23-2017
I just can't believe Gary keeps pulling these magical DI Champagnes out of god knows where! He's a magician after all. This is ultra complex for the price, savory with out being stinky or funky. A beautiful bouquet of orange marmalade, quince, slightest hint of fresh mushroom, and a touch of brioche. Wonderfully rich on the palate with a pointed structure and a beautiful long soft finish. The total PACKAGE.
Price: $34.99 Add To Cart
WE 92 WS 90

Old Forester "1920 Prohibition Style" Kentucky Bourbon Whisky (750ml)
Review Date: 02-03-2017
The Old Forester 1920 is as fabulous as it is frustrating. Yes, it's no age statement! Some of the marketing has alluded to it being an old expression, but nothing concrete can be found. The mashbill remains a mystery, though we can assume it's the modern Old Forester recipe (72%, 18% Rye, 10% Malt), Brown-Foreman isn't above experimenting. All we know about this stuff is that it's high proof, it's got something to do with Prohibition and it's absolutely delicious. Big powerful nose of pepper and rye spice unfolds into caramelized apples and dark exotic spice. The spice takes front and center on entry, but brings in some red fruits and burnt sugar as it lingers toward a long soft finish of nutmeg, cloves and green apples. The only other fact we know for sure is that we'll all be kicking ourselves when we finish our bottle and realize we should have bought more.
Price: $54.99 Add To Cart
WE 91

Writer's Tears Pure Pot Still Irish Whiskey (750ml)
Review Date: 01-09-2017
This elusive and quite wonderful little whiskey has been on constant request at the story for years. Actually, I've been telling people "No, sorry we can't get that" every other week of so for over 7 years now! It's one of those things that people fall in love with over there and don't realize they can't just pick it up when they get home. Well, the wait is finally over. This wonderful offering from the exceptional Walsh Distillery in County Carlow is easily one of the best values in Irish Whiskey. Hailing from Ireland's historic east, this area is famous for whiskey and beer thanks to the incredible waters that bubble below the surface, but no large distillery has had a presence here for more than 100 years. In the 1800s, the Irish Whiskey industry was on fire. Consumption, production and exports, continued to break records despite social and political upheaval in Ireland. Funny thing about Irish Whiskey, because of the unique process of blending malted and un-malted barley and distilling in pot-stills, it was actually considered the top quality whiskey in the world pre-prohibition. That's because then, and now, the majority of people didn't want stinky peaty malty single malt from Scotland, but instead were looking for a whiskey that's rich, smooth and easy to drink. Irish Whiskey was the best choice for most consumers before the controversial introduction of grian (column still) production in the 1830s. When this low cost and low flavored spirit was introduced there were legal battles across the world about whether the product could actually be called whiskey. The Scots realized early that they could cut their flavorful malts with this new type of whiskey. This new lower flavored Scotch started to beat the Irish in terms of cost and attain similar levels "smoothness". Across the Irish Sea, Ireland's stalwart large distillers considered the grain whiskies inferior and committed to producing only higher quality pot still whiskey. By never adopted this cheaper technology despite the nationality of it's inventory, Aeneas Coffey, they'd unwittingly caused the decline, which would almost destroy the industry completely. In the coming decades, the loss of Ireland's primary market due to alcoholic prohibition, was the final blow to the struggling Irish Whiskey industry. It wasn't until the '70s that the industry acquiesced and began to produce whiskey in the style most know it today, Jameson Blended Whiskey. Any even LESS flavorful version of the Scottish style blend. Now, we have this special whiskey, a recreation of what might have been served to Yeats or Joyce might have been served at the pub in Dublin during their youth. It takes us back to that era when the Irish dominated both the whiskey and literary world. Regardless of the historical importance of this style of whiskey, what really matters is that it's absolutely LOVELY to drink. It's the sort of thing that makes you realize why in the 19th century Irish Whiskey was widely considered to be the world's best dram. Like Redbreast or Green Spot, the Writer's Tears sets a new bench mark for people who want rich, complex yet ultra smooth whiskey. The whiskey is even more open than those other two, shedding the dense grainy fruitiness, for a lifted nose of citrus, rich malt, and rich wild honey. The palate shows more of the pot still intensity, with dark grains and rich spicy malt relenting to the dense floral and more honey notes on the finish. The finish is soft and round, bringing the whole package together with a pretty little knot. Maybe this isn't the whiskey to buy for Scotch nerd friend that loves Laphroaig, but it's probably a great choice for just about everyone else in the world.
Price: $39.99 Add To Cart

Casa Dragones Blanco Tequila (750ml) (ships as a 1.5l)
Review Date: 01-03-2017
Ultra smooth blanco component from the wildly successful Casa Dragones Sipping Tequila Joven. The spicy black pepper and dark mineral notes are softened by a third distillation. Usually, I would avoid triple distilled Tequila because they tend to lack character, but this Blanco is definitely the exception to that rule of thumb. The result is a fruity, whimsical blanco, that provides good depth and structure thanks to the ultra high quality lowland fruit that's being used. Drinking Blanco is becoming cool again and this is one of the best options to get you away from the oaky extra anejos or the ultra intensely flavored old school blancos.
Price: $59.99 Add To Cart

Casa Dragones Sipping Tequila (750ml - ships as a 1.5L due to bottle shape)
Review Date: 01-03-2017
This improbable product has been one of our most popular ultra premium offerings. Building on what others in the industry have done (with varying levels of success, e.g. Don Julio 70th Anniversary Anejo, Patron Platinum & Maestro Dobel) Casa Dragones has reinvented the Joven category as an ultra premium style. We're used to having aged rums filtered to remove color, but it's a much more striking process in a spirit like Tequila. The key to Casa Dragones' success in this unusual category or aged colorless agave spirit is the blending process. By blending Blanco and Extra Anejo, the spirit retains a freshness and intensity that is lost other similar products. Because Dragones uses lowland agave, we retain tons of spice and mineral despite the rich oakiness of the Extra Anejo. The two flavors work wonders and result in an utterly balanced product that retains character and provides similar complexity to the great sipping spirits from around the world. In addition, the elegant presentation makes it one of the best gifts for any lover of spirits regardless of taste or proficiency.
Price: $274.99 Add To Cart
WE 96

Ariston Aspasie Brut Rosé Champagne
Review Date: 05-27-2016
Just astonishing how delicious this is for the price. It hits every note you want from a rose champagne, both power and elegance, round and rich with great long structure, aromatic pinot fruit with a hint of savory spice. You could decant it and serve it with a filet mignon as easily as you'd serve it with your aper'eau. A triumph of wine making fit for the most frugal lover of bubbles and the most opulent spender alike.
Price: $34.99 Add To Cart

Franck Bonville Grand Cru Brut Blanc de Blancs Champagne
Review Date: 05-27-2016
This is basically the non-vintage champagne that everybody wants, everybody needs, and everybody can have! It checks every box. It suits any occasion. It fits nearly any budget. It delivers in every single way. Perfect blanc de blancs nose, vibrant soft white fruit, fresh crisp apples and citrus, slight saline, and that grand cru chalkiness that you can't miss. Lively, pointed and open - it slips from the glass like a slithering snake, just disappears. Where did it go? I don't know. Buy another.
Price: $34.99 Add To Cart
WE 91 WS 90

Ariston Aspasie "Carte Blanche" Brut Champagne
Review Date: 05-27-2016
A great mousse, clean apple, subtle cherry. Lovely freshness with a distinct bready top note. Rare to find a better value than this in Champagne, the Ariston's commitment to quality is second to none and thanks to our DI relationship, we're selling this at Cremant prices!
Price: $27.99 Add To Cart

Franck Bonville "Belles Voyes" Brut Blanc de Blancs Champagne
Review Date: 05-25-2016
This spectacular wine is word class in every way. IN our recent tasting, although it was much younger, this was closest in style to the $350 Dom Perignon P2 that we tried, but it's just SO much better! The massive richness and complexity of the grapes works perfectly in this style, small barrel ageing. If you're going to oak your wine, you better make sure that you're putting the very best grapes in there or you're gonna have a bad time. The ultra complex style is as seamless as it is sexy. Truly the perfect Tete-de-Cuvee and would be a steal at twice the price. But then again we sell out of this one every time, so not sure if I'm doing anyone any favors with this one...
Price: $69.99 Add To Cart
WS 91 WE 90

High West "American Prairie" Bourbon Whiskey (750ml)
Review Date: 01-11-2016
High West have made great strides in the craft whiskey world by blending young and old straight whiskies to achieve great depth and complexity for a fraction of the cost of other bottlers. They intelligently acquired good stocks of Indiana and Kentucky bourbon and rye before the explosion of craft bottlers bought up the remaining stocks of aging whiskey. Not only do they have some of the best stocks, they're completely transparent about why and how these products were produced. No mythology here, just really good whiskey, from named sources (where legally possible), bottled at a totally reasonable price.
Price: $33.99 Add To Cart

Carpano Antica Formula Sweet Vermouth (1L)
Review Date: 01-06-2016
NO finer tool is available to prevent the home bartender from ruining his or her Manhattan. As long as you manage to get some of this stuff in there, you're probably going to make a solid drink! Only added 1/4 of an oz? Don't worry, the rich dense vanilla will still poke through behind your whiskey of choice. Accidentally flipped the recipe? Who cares, more Carpano more delicious! Needless to say, Carpano Antique is single-handedly improving our cocktails. Some call it a crutch, but who doesn't like having something to lean on. Even with the plethora of fine vermouth on the market, Carpano Antique remains our number one BEST SELLER.
Price: $28.99 Add To Cart
WE 95

2001 Lagavulin "Distiller's Edition 2017" Islay Single Malt Scotch Whisky (750ml)
Review Date: 01-06-2016
This stuff is so overtly awesome it's hard not recommend it even to people who adamantly hate peat smoke. Something about putting that sweet syrupy sherry note on top of Lagavulin's oily robust spirit is so satisfying. I see why every other distiller in the world is trying to emulate it. Of course, nothing is like Lagavulin so where others fail miserably, the Lagavulin Distillers Edition is a triumph. Massive, rich, all encompassing, yet balanced - this is whisky you'll need to savor slowly. The sweet nutty aromas of the sherry make it seem almost dessert like on the nose, but all that oil and smoke keeps it in range. As always, there is a limited supply of this whisky and once it's gone we'll have to wait for the new release.
Price: $109.99 Add To Cart

Copper & Kings American Small Batch Brandy (750ml)
Review Date: 11-18-2015
Stumbling across the modern masterpiece that is the Copper & Kings Distillery in the heart of bourbon country was surreal to say the least. We'd decided that walking was the best way to take in the neighborhood and Butchertown is ABSOLUTELY beautiful. But beyond the awesome architecture and the wonderful scenery, a crazy South African man is doing the most improbably thing making delicious brandy. Three gorgeous pot stills are cranking out some of the finest craft brandy we've ever come across. C&K were smart, realizing that it would take years to build stocks of aged brandy, they began searching high and low for stocks from other producers - high quality craft producers. Those aged stocks, while not distilled by them, represent a kind of house style, almost like the Charantais' use their old stocks to develop a house style across their various offerings. Now, I wouldn't call this traditional brandy by any means. It's not simply the use of these older stocks that sets them apart, but something is different here. Maybe it's those big old pot stills or just the Kentucky magic, but this is brandy that will change your mind about the whole category. The nose is tropical fruit, fresh herbs, subtle spice. So much depth, it definitely noses into the bourbon range. The palate is open and fresh, with a focused mouthfeel and medium body. It's try, but not astringent! So complex and willing to give, I just can't believe the price! All most experience the new King of Southern Brandy...Copper & Kings.
Price: Hidden View Price

Copper & Kings "Butchertown" Reserve Casks Brandy (750ml)
Review Date: 11-18-2015
After falling head over heels in love with the people and place, we are indeed smitten with the brandy as well. This Butchertown reserve is one of the few cask strength American brandies available on the market. Bottled at a reasonable 124 proof, I don't really know what they're doing here, but there's something magic in this bottle. The nose is much closer to bourbon than any brandy we stock in the store right now. Bold and unabashed, it has the feeling of some of those mid-century old bottles, with the lacquer box, exotic wood and heady spice. Tons of Seville orange peels and hints of deep dark cocoa round out the sweet woody nose. The palate is powerful with dark fruit and massive amounts of spice. The finish continues into a spiced plum, red apple, cinnamon and subtle hints of espresso bean. While we don't get quite the texture of some of the massive bourbons, we're very very close on the flavor. Truly one of our most special finds to date.
Price: $54.99 Add To Cart

Henry McKenna 10 Year Old Bottled in Bond Straight Kentucky Bourbon Whiskey (750ml)
Review Date: 10-28-2015
The Mckenna is one of those sleeper bourbons that we all hope nobody finds out about. Age stated 10 year old bottled in bond for less than $30?!? There's absolutely nothing out there that can claim those stats even at higher prices. And you know what, it's SINGLE BARREL as well. Just more proof that Heaven Hill has massive b...bourbon stocks of the highest quality.

ArteNOM "Seleccion 1146" Añejo Tequila (750ml)
Review Date: 10-28-2015
It's hard to appreciate just what a stupendous value this tequila is until 1) you know who made it 2) you realize who bottled it 3) you actually taste it! Both are two of the tequila industry's finest gentlemen. They know they've got some really special stuff here and many of this distillery's bottlings of equivalent quality sell for WELL above this price point. Whether it's the result of a long friendship or some serious business cajones, Artenom has managed to get this magnificently packaged Anejo on the shelf for less than $50. The perfect gift for a real aficionado who isn't swayed by pricey add campaigns or marketing, but simply wants the best agave, distilled by the best tequilero, for a reasonable price. It is indeed, all those things and much much more.
Price: $69.99 Add To Cart

Jack Daniels Single Barrel Select Barrel Proof Tennessee Whiskey (750ml)
Review Date: 10-28-2015
Ok, so we famously have to tell several people every week that we do not stock Jack Daniel's No 7. It's just never fit into our selection, although I will admit to personally going through a little phase in college back when I thought Rolling Rock was cool. I have Deer Hunter and an unhealthy obsession with Christopher Walkin to thank for that. 33 and a shot of Jack was the go to call at the bar for a while. To be honest that's what No. 7 is good for, shots. Sweet and easy with just enough of the sour bite at the end to remind you you're still alive. In my many years of buying spirits, I've been lucky enough to try some older bottlings of the world's most popular whiskey. Even the slightly different 86 proof offerings from the 1990s seemed extremely special compared to what's regularly available. Legends like the 90 proof from the 70s and earlier are hard to gauge as capacity has increased so much since then. Now most of the cynics will probably think I'm just jumping on the Jack train cause they paid us off or something. To be honest, we have absolutely no connection to Jack whatsoever. We have a great relationship with their parent company Brown Forman, but since we haven't sold Jack in a decade we just don't have a connection there. That all might change now that we've ordered everything that the distributor could get us, but for now we're going at it alone. Despite a lack of communication, they've finally listened to our (and many enthusiasts') grumblings and we're excited to announce the release Lynchburg's finest bottled at full cask strength. When you open the bottle you know instantly it's Jack. Big powerful fruit and sweet oak. Slightly hot on the nose, but ultra smooth on the palate even at 66.5% alcohol. Now here is the thing, add a tiny drop of cool spring water, give it some air maybe 10-15 minutes. You'll return to an utterly transcendent whiskey of extreme complexity and wild drinkability. Let's say this is now maybe 100 proofish and drinks like a dream. These are the flavors I remember from those old bottlings. We don't know how old it is, but goddang it's as delicious as anything coming out of Kentucky at this price point and easily bests bottles that are much much more expensive. If you like big bold flavors of cask strength whiskey, but don't want the bitter bite of some of the other stuff on the market than this stuff is for you. Of course, these are single casks and I've seen some reviews going absolutely wild for other barrels, but the one I tasted was No. 15-4973 at 66.5% and it works for me.
Price: $59.99 Add To Cart
WE 94

Singani "63" Bolivian Muscat Brandy (750ml)
Review Date: 09-25-2015
Few products are so near and dear to our heart. I fell in love the product not only because of its soft and easy-to-use character, but because of the wonderful story that goes along with it. When our friend and long time customer came to town to show us his new product we couldn't believe his absolute devotion and true love for this product. Luckily for us, it actually tastes magnificent and is easily one of the most versatile products on the shelf. Definitely a must have for the bar.
Price: $29.99 Add To Cart

Drappier "Carte d'Or" Brut Champagne
Review Date: 09-01-2015
Here's an incredibly well developed NV from Drappier. Slightly nutty signs of older champagne, with yeast brioche and heady dark fruit. Rich and full in the palate, with the dark cherry coming forward and a taught lifted finish. Superb.
Price: $39.99 Add To Cart
WS 91 WE 90

Chateau de Bligny "Grand Reserve" Brut Champagne
Review Date: 09-01-2015
Slightly reduced on first nosing, a calm thoughtful swirl helped that out 100%. Perfect yellow flowers and white meat peaches. Creamy citrus, delicate lively texture, and a perfectly balanced finish. Bligny is blangin'.
Price: $34.99 Add To Cart
W&S 90 WS 90

Baron-Fuenté "Esprit" Brut Champagne
Review Date: 09-01-2015
Absolutely gorgeous. Brioch, Tropical fruit, more yeast! Cherries and then cherries! Lemon cream. Mountains of acid and cherries and cream. What a steal.
Price: $34.99 Add To Cart
WS 92 WE 91

Springbank 10 Year Old Campbeltown Single Malt Scotch Whisky (750ml)
Review Date: 08-25-2015
If you want the real Scottish experience, there is no better bottle to cut your teeth on. The Springbank 10 year pulls no punches. Bottled in small batches, you're quickly transported to the fields of Kintyre, and the damp, inviting warehouse and the wonderful malt floors that make this one of the most special spirits in Scotland. This is real whisky made the real way, and once you taste it, you'll understand why it's different from every other 10 year out there.
Price: $59.99 Add To Cart
WE 92

Plantation "Stiggins' Fancy" Pineapple Dark Rum (750ml)
Review Date: 07-28-2015
BOOOOOOM GOES THE DYNAMITE! Without question the finest flavored rum in the world. Start with awesome funky rum, add a centuries-old recipe exactingly recreated by the good people of Plantation, and you've got a product that will rule your bar for the foreseeable future. Heady and intense, yet subtle and overtly pleasurable, not for your typical flavored rum fans, but a must own for all bar/cocktail people. YOU HAVE NO EXCUSE!
Price: $24.99 Add To Cart

Rittenhouse Bottled in Bond 100 Proof Rye Whiskey (750ml)
Review Date: 07-28-2015
Despite some grumblings regarding a distillery change (yes Rittenhouse was made under contract by Brown-Forman for years after Heaven Hill's Bardstown plant burned down in the late 90s) Rittenhouse remains the ultimate value for all bartending needs. It might not kick like a Willett Single Barrel Rye, but there's still very little in the price range that will make a better Manhattan, in fact I can't think of one thing.
Price: $23.99 Add To Cart
WE 95

Aperol Aperitivo Liqueur (750ml)
Review Date: 07-14-2015
The Italian classic has been making a comeback recently and deservedly so. Bottled at a laughable 11%, Aperol backs all the punch of its big brother Campari without the headache in the morning (i.e. less alcohol and less sugar). That said you can also drink it for 6 hours straight without realizing you've just had 25 drinks so please be careful. Traditionally served in a Spritz, add 2-3 oz of Aperol to a glass full of ice. Top with Prosecco and an orange slice. Enjoy over and over!
Price: $23.99 Add To Cart
WE 90

Fernet Branca (750ml)
Review Date: 07-11-2015
Beware the Branca. The single most habit forming substance in our store. Plan on either hating this or never looking back. After that, expect to need a bottle in the house at all times. In spite of those truths, it is wildly utilitarian should you choose to use it that way. Very few more powerful digestives are available. Maybe you should just buy a case and get it over with.
Price: $24.99 Add To Cart

Kilchoman "Machir Bay" Islay Single Malt Whisky (750ml)
Review Date: 07-11-2015
Many are aware of our affection for this wonderful new distillery on Islay. This, being their entry level product, deserves to be a benchmark. If nothing else it should provide a wonderful education for any Islay lover. What happens when you put Ardbeg spec barley into steel fermenters and Kilchoman's tall little still? Add an ultra fine heart cut and a thoughtful wood management program and you've got truly soulful whisky that's still Islay in every way. Proof positive that great whisky need not be old. Zesty and full of oceany brine, the peat at this age stands up and smacks you right across the face. Sweet malt and mild rancio notes whisper in, but one does not forget the rugged shoreline just below the farm where this whisky was distilled. A pleasure, to say the least.
Price: $54.99 Add To Cart

St. George Dry Rye Reposado Gin (750ml)
Review Date: 07-10-2015
Stupendous and affordable barrel aged gin. This what the Dry Rye was dreaming of being. The malted rye and juniper flavors marry perfectly with the sweet spice and tannic structure of the oak. The magnificent texture of the Dry Rye, its most striking attribute, is only heightened by the additional time in oak. A truly unique gin that will scratch that whiskey itch as well.
Price: $39.99 Add To Cart
WE 90
Limit of 1 per customer

2011 Fromm "La Strada" Pinot Noir Marlborough
Review Date: 06-28-2015
Another fabulous value for Kiwi Pinot. This is deep powerful Pinot that will scratch the itch for most Cali Pinot drinkers, but not scare away those in love with more expressive terroir-driven style. Earthy, savory dark cherry, great structure with red and black fruit continuing on the palate. Pure and structured, this will easily improve over the next 2-3 years, but shows beautifully right now. For only $20, cases, dude, cases.
Price: $19.99 Add To Cart
JS 93 RC 91

Balvenie 15 Year Old Single Sherry Barrel Speyside Single Malt Scotch Whisky (750ml)
Review Date: 06-23-2015
This is without a doubt the most exciting new product from Balvenie since the wildly collectable Tun 1401 series. Now, what makes this so interesting, despite the full term in Sherry, is that they're bottling these without filtration at slightly higher proof. That means we've got the ultra rich oily texture that's so important for appreciating this special distillery. Of course, each cask is different, but every one I've tasted so far has been exceptional.
Price: $119.99 Add To Cart
WA 91

Balvenie 21 Year Old "Port Wood" Speyside Single Malt Scotch Whisky (750ml)
Review Date: 06-23-2015
Slowly but surely usurping Macallan 18 Year as the go-to "Scotch Gift," especially now that Mac 18 is pushing toward $250 a bottle. People know the name, love the presentation, and generally think the spirit is one of the very best. This is just a no-brainer when buying a gift for ANYONE who likes Scotch, when you want to be different but don't want to scare anyone away. Clearly one of the top values for ultra-premium offerings from any of the great Speyside distilleries.
Price: $199.99 Add To Cart
WE 94 WA 91

Yellow Spot Single Pure Pot Still Irish Whiskey (750ml)
Review Date: 06-18-2015
The big mama of Irish Whiskey. This whisky used to be a ghost, and thank the whiskey gods that Pernod Ricard have found their way to releasing this more widely. Ultra-soft, with a strong influence of orange fruit from Malaga casks. The subtle sherry notes definitely remain behind the unusual tones of Spain's other coastal fortified wine. Persimmon, candied orange peel, cinnamon, clove - the ease and openness of this whiskey cannot be overstated. Some prefer the more familiar Green Spot, but this whiskey stands out among its peers as something very different and very, very special indeed.
Price: $99.99 Add To Cart
WA 91

Charbay Release "III" Hop Flavored Whiskey (750ml)
Review Date: 06-18-2015
The single most legendary American craft whiskey ever created. Yeah it's expensive as hell, but there ain't nothing like it...in HISTORY. Massive, over the top, intense, and awe inspiring. Don't even waste your time asking yourself why.
Price: $379.99 Add To Cart

Tequila Tapatio "Excelencia" Anejo Tequila (1L)
Review Date: 06-17-2015
There is not a better extra anejo tequila on the market today, I can unequivocally say that without hesitation. This is the top of the top. Distilled from a special batch of the best agave in 1996. 4 years in barrel 15 years in glass, only mere moments before you finish your glass. It's unfair how good this is. Stock up if you care at all about your future.
Price: $159.99 Add To Cart

Ron Zacapa 23 Year Old "Centenario" Guatemalan Solera Rum (750ml)
Review Date: 06-17-2015
Zacapa is the rum that changes peoples mind about rum. Distilled from partially processed Miel de Cana, the Zacapa Distillery is one of the highest altitude and highest quality rum distilleries in the world. Distinctly in the Spanish style, the special distillery near Tulula, creates rums of exceptional quality aged in the traditional solera style. Opulent and ultra rich, no question this should be in the running for world's greatest rum.
Price: $42.99 Add To Cart

Maker's Mark Cask Strength Kentucky Bourbon Whiskey (750ml)
Review Date: 06-17-2015
Let me be perfectly honest, I'm not that into the standard MM. It's an awesome whiskey, without a doubt, but over the years my palate has moved away from those sweet corny woodsy flavors and in search of deeper dryer products. The MMCS is without a doubt the most surprising new release of the year. Massive and significantly drier than the standard release, this is quickly becoming the go to wheater for lovers of PVW and other slightly drier style wheaters. I have no clue how or why JB decided to move forward with this product (way to out their for them with the small batch nature). I'm going to blame the Japanese for making the amazing decision to bottle this special product.
Price: Hidden View Price

Balvenie 14 Year Old Caribbean Rum Cask Single Malt Scotch Whisky (750ml)
Review Date: 06-17-2015
The wildly popular Caribbean cask was thought to be a thing of legend, but William Grant has heard the people and re-released this special offering at only a slight markup! When they say Caribbean, they mean a large Spanish-speaking island whose name I cannot mention. The result is perfect and utterly enticing. Sweet, rich and spicy notes from the rum envelop the oily Speyside character of the Balvenie spirit perfectly. A match made on a beach in the Caribbean, i.e. HEAVEN!
Price: $69.99 Add To Cart
WE 92

Leopold Bros. Aperitivo (750ml)
Review Date: 06-01-2015
Leopoldo Bros has always been ahead of the curve. They've pumped out some of the best craft whiskey around while creating innovative products like their wonderful liqueurs, gin, and literally the only legit flavored whiskey on the market. Now we're bringing you a new phase in the Leopold Bros' dominance of the craft market. Competing with established brands is hard enough, but when a craft distiller goes after a category creating legend like Campari, we begin to question their sanity. Lucky for us, Mr. Leopold's insanity is second only to magnificent skill and attention to detail. This is truly the first product to scratch that Campari lovers itch (and if you have it you know what I'm talking about - the stuff creates a serious dependence). It may be even more soothing than the original. At the very least you'll know that the ingredients are of the very highest quality, plus it's not even that expensive considering the work that it takes to make a product like this good on this scale. Must-buy for Campari lovers, must-try for those yet to get on the aperitivo train.
Price: $29.99 Add To Cart

Page: prev 1 2 3 4 next

More Favorites

David Othenin-Girard is also a fan of the following items. To become a fan of David Othenin-Girard, click here to join David Othenin-Girard's Personal Sommelier Service.
Laphroaig 10 Year Old Islay Single Malt Scotch Whisky (750ml) ($39.99)

Ardbeg "Uigeadail" Islay Single Malt Scotch Whisky (750ml) ($56.99)

Caol Ila 12 Year Old Islay Single Malt Scotch Whisky (750ml) ($69.99)

Ransom Old Tom Oregon Gin (750ml) ($39.99)

Cragganmore 12 Year Old Speyside Single Malt Scotch Whisky (750ml) ($49.99)

Bols Amsterdam Genever Dutch Gin (750ml) ($21.99)

Emile Pernot "Vieux Pontarlier 65" Absinthe (750ml) ($64.99)

St. George Spirits Absinthe Verte (750ml) ($59.99)

Ocho Plata Tequila (750ml) ($38.99)

Rhum JM Vieux Agricole VSOP Martinique (750ml) ($44.99)

Old Weller "Antique" 107 Proof Straight Bourbon Whiskey (750ml) (1 bottle limit) ($27.99)

Dolin Rouge Vermouth de Chambéry (750ml) ($15.99)

Dolin Blanc Vermouth de Chambery (750ml) ($15.99)

Dolin Dry Vermouth de Chambery (375ml) ($11.99)

1995 Pichon-Baron, Pauillac ($189.99)