Best Sellers New Arrivals Local Events Locations Gift Cards My Account Advanced Search

Reviewers


K&L Email Alerts

Sign up to receive custom alerts, new arrivals and the latest happenings from K&L Wines

Staff Favorites - David Othenin-Girard

David Othenin-Girard
David Othenin-Girard  | Send Email  |   Subscribe to My Sommelier Service


Reviews

Page: 1 2 3 4 5 next
5 Sentidos Sierra Negra/Tobala "K&L Exclusive" Mezcal (uncertified) (750ml)
Review Date: 12-12-2018
Well this is basically unfair. One of the rarest blends of ultra high quality "uncertified mescal" and it's all ours?! 5 Sentidos is doing everything right when it comes to bottling exquisite tiny batches of mescal. The idea was simple, work to find the best agave spirits and share them with a broader audience. This exceptional batch gave me the same feeling I had the very first time I tried authentic mezcal. Its wild rusticity and opulent complexity unmatched in ANY white spirit. The nose is tight and linear at first. Powerful charred mesquite and pepper. With some air the fruit and nuance comes through building into a heady bouquet of tropical green fruit, tall fresh grasses, smoked meats and charcoal. The palate is spicy, like they might have dropped a few Habaneros in this batch, but the sweet fruit and deep enriching smoke stops it from feeling painful. It leaves you gasping for air and another sip. Absolutely purity of experience unlike any other spirit can deliver.
Price: $119.99 Add To Cart

2006 Glenturret 12 Year Old "Old Particular" K&L Exclusive Single Sherry Hogshead Cask Strength Single Malt Scotch Whisky (750ml)
Review Date: 12-12-2018
So for everyone that LOVED last years Aultmore, here is this years response. Three years older, higher proof, just as dark, but so much smoother. The massive sherry notes mask the high proof dangerously. Most people are wondering, "Glenturret? What the hell?" This boring old whisky, famously the home of the Grouse, has some tricks up its sleeve after all. The reason we're even seeing this outrageous cask is because Douglas Laing is actually Turret's distributor in Europe. They truly have pick of the liter. And yes this is $25 more than last year Aultmore, but once you'll taste it you'll realize that it might even be the better value of the two. For sherry heads, this is easily the best buy of the season.
Price: $74.99 Add To Cart

1995 Craigellachie 22 Year Old "Old Particular" K&L Exclusive Single Sherry Butt Cask Strength Single Malt Scotch Whisky (750ml)
Review Date: 12-12-2018
This one is just too obvious. It's too dark, rich and packed full of powerful sherry to warrant me hyping it up here. You know the drill. Insane price, amazing whisky, nothing like it. Craigellachie and sherry are a match made in heaven. Expect the total package here. Zero chance of disappointment. Big sweet nutty rich sherry balanced by the intense minty spirit of Craigellachie. Any of our competitors would have no trouble pawing this off for twice the price, but that's just not how we roll. I pray every year for more casks just like this one. They're not easy to find.
Price: $119.99 Add To Cart

1996 Tobermory 22 Year Old "Old Malt Cask" K&L Exclusive Single Refill Sherry Butt Cask Strength Single Malt Scotch Whisky (750ml)
Review Date: 12-12-2018
This awesome cask of Tobermory seems to have gotten lost in the sea of exceptional single casks we've just acquired. The new owners of this odd little distillery on the gorgeous Isle of Mull have recently closed the distillery for renovations and won't likely open until 2020 sometime. That means the already expensive whisky will become even more rare. The thing about Tobermory is that it can be a bit inconcsistent. When it's good it's an absolute dream. At it's worst it's overly feinty with tons of funky beer mashy flavors. We were unsure when we saw the pricing if this casks, aged in refill sherry, would fit the bill, but we needed to risk it considering the potential opportunity. Turns out this is one of the best Tobermory I've ever tasted. Much cleaner than we usually see, perhaps thanks to the old sherry butt, with a distinct "Islands" quality that I see in all the best Tobermory. When the mashy porridge flavor isn't there this stuff can be really exceptional. The nose starts a bit closed with hints of roasted nuts and sweet malt. On the palate, there's the tiniest malt mash note, but it's sweet enough and has none of the lactic quality that makes some of these feel "off", But when you add water the whole thing explodes into a symphony of salted nuts, roasted stone fruit, vibrant fresh forest and freshly cut grass. On the palate the malt takes a back seat now with a basket of nuts and dried apricots delivered right to your olfactory doors. This might be the best Tobermory I've ever had and considering the Single Cask 21 Year is $240, it's worth the risk for even the most jaded hater of Mulls historic distiller.
Price: $89.99 Add To Cart

1965 Carsebridge 52 Year Old "Sovereign" K&L Exclusive Single Barrel Cask Strength Single Grain Scotch Whisky (750ml)
Review Date: 12-12-2018
It's still incredible to me that we're able to sell whisky distilled before the moon landing. This whisky, likely forgotten somewhere deep in some dank Scottish warehouse survived almost a half century only to end up here in our store. What's even more incredible is how absolutely overtly delicious this one is. The concentration after 50+ years creates an aromatic character almost like cognac, but with out the sweetness. You'd expect the thing to be bitter with extracted oak by this age, but you'd be wrong. Is sweet, nutty and packed full of rancio fruit. This is a singular experience that just can't be had anywhere else in the whisky drinking world. A legend and a steal considering the only other 50+ year old grain whisky being sold in the states costs $900 and a sister cask of this same whisky costs $550 in London.
Price: $349.99 Add To Cart

2006 Isle of Jura 12 Year Old "Old Particular" K&L Exclusive Single Refill Sherry Butt Cask Strength Single Malt Scotch Whisky (750ml)
Review Date: 12-12-2018
Unfortunately, I've already had several customers tell me they "don't like" Jura, while I've been offering them this special cask. How did such an exceptional distillery get a reputation? There is the odd customer who comes by saying, "OH, I Love Jura," but the general consensus is that this cask will be an up hill battle. Luckily this is the type of casks that can change peoples entire outlook on life. The incredibly oily rich malt of Jura is perfectly suited for a nice refill sherry butt and without the chill-filtration and low proof of the distillery bottlings we're in a whole different territory. There's just so much going on here it's hard to even begin to describe it. First nose is all candied apple and sea spray. The malt is big and the sherry character is not obvious. Salted fruit, ozone, fennel, oyster shell and camphor. The palate is surprisingly sweet with some nutty sherry starting to take over. With water more oceany, but not quite briny. Big pepper and almond butter on the palate start to come out. Hazelnut spread on rye. A weird combo, but strangely intriguing. This is one of the most unusual and exciting casks we've ever bottled, but not difficult to love at all. At this price, I'd hope every serious drinker would consider giving the odd little distiller a chance.
Price: $64.99 Add To Cart

1994 Miltonduff 24 Year Old "Old Particular" K&L Exclusive Single Barrel Cask Strength Single Malt Whisky (750ml)
Review Date: 12-12-2018
Pour little Miltonduff. Nobody seems to want to admit that this stuff is world class. Critics ignore it, amateurs are unaware of it and aficionados pretend to understand it. It took us a while to sell the last exclusive Miltonduff because most people wouldn't get on board. When they finally tasted it, the stuff flew out the door. This casks will sadly suffer a similar fate. Waiting on our shelves to be discovered, but the lucky few who dip their toes in without bias or preconception, will be rewarded handsomely. Quite an old school nose, with hints of citrus, wisps of clean smoke, marzipan and savory herbs. The somewhat subdued nose is in total contrast to the massive intensity of the palate. It's all citrus, frosting and herbs again though, none of the smoke nose but a bit of camphor and warming minty green tea finish. It's a terrible shame that more people don't jump all over this beauty and if you don't look now you might just miss the malt of your dreams.
Price: $129.99 Add To Cart

1982 Cambus 35 Year Old "Old Particular" K&L Exclusive Single Barrel Cask Strength Single Grain Scotch Whisky (750ml)
Review Date: 12-12-2018
I'm a total sucker for old Cambus. There's a lot of good stuff going on in grain, but it's usually with the caveat that it's offering incredible value in exchange for some of the intensity of flavor that a malt offers. Some people prefer the soft smooth character of a grain and that group of interested people understand that there's just a different aesthetic and goal when drinking grain. But there's something about Cambus that puts it into another league all together. The nose is this unusual mixture of sweet vanilla frosting and diesel engines. The wild nose does not transfer to the palate and instead we're almost in bourbon territory. Super dense fruit, coffee, wild topicality, unctuous and full bodied. It's less concerned with softness and more about character than most grains of this age, but you could still calibrate Hubble with this guy it's so smooth. . This is why people fall in love with old grain. That said it needs a few drops of water to balance the alcohol and begin to open properly - this will add texture and depth on both the palate and nose.
Price: $179.99 Add To Cart

1984 Caol Ila 34 Year Old "Old Particular" K&L Exclusive Single Barrel Cask Strength Single Malt Scotch Whisky (750ml)
Review Date: 12-12-2018
I literally said the words, "holy sh*t" under my breath when I first tasted this special cask. Now we're no strangers to old Caol Ila —in fact we seek it out like blood hounds. Why? Because it's one of the only old Islay heavy hitters that has been available at semi-reasonable prices. Well, at least up until now. All but this one very special source have dried up or are becoming so prohibitively expensive that they effectively don't exist in our world. It's true that last year we bottled a sister cask to this one and for $25, but this whisky is in a whole other league. That's not to imply that last year’s special whisky was a slouch by any means and the appreciation this year is relatively minimal compared to other casks. Stocks similar to the '83 Signatory 30 year we bottled 5 years ago (retail $300) would now retail for at least $1000. Old bottles from that same period are still selling around the world for around $700. If you're lucky you might find the bottler’s current release in Europe for $500+ and if the distillery releases a 35 Year, it will command upwards of $1000 as well. But this whisky is more than just a good deal. It's an absolute star. The first moment the whisky hits your glass you're blasted with massive billowing smoke. As it aerates it begins to offer some more nuance—lemon skins scorched in a pile of burning spices, the embers of a fire on an Islay beach—the smells of the bay, dried seaweed, and fresh peat burning in homes over the hill. On the palate this thing just about cuts you in half. Sooty bold peat, oyster shell, brine, tangy lemon rind, ashen embers of expensive incense. The finish is long and lingering. Too long to calculate as it forces another sip. Normally I'd recommend avoiding water on something this old, but the beast can handle it. With just the tiniest drop of water, the whole package coalesces. Salted fruits, cured meats, smoked salty fish, high end nori, sweet Meyer lemon. On the palate the water actually brings the oily texture out, revealing an almost thick mouth feel that coats every taste bud and drowns it in sooty sea spray and sweet citrus. An absolute star that probably deserves to be much more expensive, but I hesitate to anoint it with the term “value.” Just too good to be ignored.
Price: $375.00 Add To Cart

1988 Bunnahabhain 30 Year Old "Old Particular" K&L Exclusive Single Refill Butt Cask Strength Single Malt Scotch Whisky (750ml)
Review Date: 12-12-2018
Few whiskies will match the majestic complexity of old Bunnah in sherry. The fact that it's in second fill makes it that much more special. Imagine where this butt might have been 18 years before it was filled a second time in 1988—probably in some old bodega's oloroso solera dating back decades. So a refill cask from the ‘80s was likely originally coopered sometime around the First World War. The nearly century long journey of that barrel to our supplier’s warehouse and eventually to your glass makes this bottle particularly interesting. But ultimately, it's the destination that makes it truly special. The otherworldly flavors that emanate from the glass are completely bewitching. A complex stew of dark fruit, exotic woods (particularly sandalwood and mahogany), burnt orange peel and this wonderful strange exotic salt. The palate is rich but not stewed or thick. Tons of bold spice and no bitterness even after 30 years. The lowish proof feels somehow like a benefit for once, but DO NOT add water as it's in perfect balance right out of the bottle—a drop of water creates an interesting change in the nose but breaks the delicate palate. A truly distinguished old Islay unlike any other we've ever sold and not likely to be repeated ever again.
Price: $275.00 Add To Cart

Old Forester K&L Exclusive Single Barrel #0755 (Warehouse H, Floor 7) Straight Kentucky Bourbon Whisky (750ml)
Review Date: 12-12-2018
Even after all we've done to open people up to the Old Forester brand, it still remains a bit of a second tier offering. They're distillery bottlings offer excellent value and the new whisky row Series has been well received, but it's status as a stalwart value has not lit the bourbon world on fire. Where the distillery really shines are in these excellent single casks. This one is no exception. An impeccable nose of sweet candied corn, subtle spice, and tangy vanilla. The palate is so soft and smooth you don't expect the exceptional length that it brings. Lower on the spice than many of our previous OFs and one of the cleanest we've ever had, no varnish no funky, just sweet oak and caramel. Pure pleasure distilled and bottled at 90 proof.
Price: $39.99 Add To Cart

2005 Highland Park 12 Year Old "K&L Exclusive" Refill Sherry Hogshead Cask Strength Single Malt Whisky (750ml)
Review Date: 12-12-2018
It's pretty strange these days for distilleries to implement new single barrel programs, but when Highland Park popped up with this awesome casks we knew we're getting in on the start of something special. The other casks, sold at select locations across the country, have become extremely sought after by collectors. This product is one of the most impressive casks we've EVER stocked. And our barrel is being sold for way less than our competitors (not sure why). You may see the word "refill" and think it will be a light one, but it's exactly the opposite. Sometimes the second fill butts actually add intensity and sherry character. This one is dark and bold like no other HP available today. This reminds me of HP of many years ago. Dense, bold oloroso sherry notes, snappy Orkney peat, powerful spice. This one needs a hit of water and then it drinks like an absolute dream. We're extremely lucky to have secured this special cask and anyone who takes the plunge will immediately understand why.
Price: $159.99 Add To Cart

Elijah Craig K&L Exclusive Single Barrel #5181798 Bourbon 750ml (ships as a 1.5L)
Review Date: 12-12-2018
It was pretty sad a few years ago when Heaven Hill closed it's doors on the single barrel program. It's finally returned and we're over joyed. And while they're still not offering us cask strength (COME ON GUYS!), they are giving us incredible access to ultra high quality casks at and above the 10 year mark. This out of control little barrel reminds of Heaven Hill of yesteryear. The nose is absolutely perfect. Big powerful notes of cigar box, sweet tea, bold oak spice and cloves. The palate a lovely soft texture and seems to be going very sweet at first before drying up and kicking out a big spice and black tea note. It's dry but not tannic. The total package for $30. What a steal.
Price: $29.99 Add To Cart

2010 Glen Garioch 8 Year Old "Old Particular" K&L Exclusive Single Barrel Cask Strength Single Malt Scotch Whisky (750ml)
Review Date: 12-12-2018
I'm an absolute FREAK for Glen Garioch (Glen Gary). There isn't a ton out there on the open market and the stuff we used to see at around has become extremely expensive. The malt is highly prized by the blenders for it's exceptional highland character and although it's not well known to the generally public it commands a premium and rightfully so. I recommend you try to separate the seemingly young age statement from this whisky when evaluating it. Absolutely nothing tastes like Glen Garioch and this one deserves to be judged with out the preconception of age. The nose is gorgeously old school - with big inviting malt, deep earthy wood, complex mixture of sweet and savory aromas. On the palate that "almost" peaty feeling. Snappy, but not sulfured. Gorgeous texture and unsurpassed purity. With water it becomes the ULTIMATE eastern highlander. The malt is truly on display exhibiting tense aromatic battle the expensive teas, complex fruit and earthy wood spice. On the palate the feeling the fresh peat quality (not smoke at but earth) is on full display. There's absolutely nothing in the store that taste anything like this special whisky and for people who a truly enamored by quality distillates in their most pure form, you'll likely feel extremely good about buying this special bottle.
Price: $49.99 Add To Cart

2004 Fettercairn 14 Year Old "Old Particular" K&L Exclusive Single Barrel Cask Strength Single Malt Scotch Whisky (750ml)
Review Date: 12-12-2018
We don't see a lot of Fettercain around. . We've come across casks at Signatory and they prices have become untenable. But the potential to put solid under $60 medium aged malt drew us to this cask. We're glad we tasted it because it fits perfectly into the style we'd associate with the Highlands and offers a ton of value for people wanting a spirit driven well matured malt for not a whole lot of money. The whole package is pretty well polished, with subtle floral and fruit aromas stacked on top of pointed crystal malt flavors. This drinks perfectly for me with the second dollop of water, which allows a beautiful wild honey character out of it's bag of tricks. Odd fruits, kiwi, loquats, lychee and tried yellow plums. The finish wafts in with a big herbal dryness. With out having tasted too many independent Fettercairns I'm hoping this is a good representation of this unusual little distillery because it's absolutely delicious! Hopefully more like this in the future, but don't get your hopes up. Don't forget that second little splash of water to open her up.
Price: $59.99 Add To Cart

1996 Auchroisk 21 Year Old "Hepburn's Choice" K&L Exclusive Single Barrel Cask Strength Single Malt Scotch Whisky (750ml)
Review Date: 12-12-2018
Part of the problem with bringing in 40 casks at once is that several of our bottlings fall under the radar. We're in general ok with that because once people make it around to tasting the sleepers they begin to realize the incredible diversity of the whiskies we have to offer. Auchroisk is a good name that almost no one knows. We powered through the last of the limited release this year, which the distillery couldn't sell at the MSRP of $400, but our customers demolished at $250. Now we're offering a similary aged product from this excellent distillery for only $90 and no one seems to have noticed. Their loss and your gain! The magnificent of one of the quintessential Speyside flavor profiles is firing on all cylinders. The big nose of cake frosting and oak spice reminds me very much of the 25 year old, but with more purity. The palate is pointed and peppery until you add the requisite dash of water. Then the nose pops with an opulent mineral quality, something like a northern rhone white (not viognier). The palate is now absolute overflowing with flavor, citrus peel, candied apples, malted cocoa, tropical fruit salad. It's an absolute stunner. When people finally get around to this little whisky, they'll be kicking themselves they didn't notice it sooner. And that PRICE, I mean COME ON!
Price: $89.99 Add To Cart

Gift Box - Benrinnes 11 Year Old "Old Particular" K&L Exclusive Single Barrel Cask Strength Single Malt Scotch Whisky (750ml)
Review Date: 12-12-2018
It's not secret that I'm particularly fond of Benrinnes and it's beautiful fruity character. Part of what I've always loved about it is the idiosyncratic nature of their distillation process and the big gorgeous worm tubs sitting behind the stills, so I was a bit skeptical when we were offered a Benrinnes under the "new" regime. Instead of the old odd ball process, this one is distilled as most Scottish single malt, TWICE! But, despite my skepticism, the distillery has not lost any of it's charm or soul. Maybe not as heady and perfumed as some of the older version, but with ever pit of the vibrant orchard fruit you want from the great old distillery. As with all these young cask strength malts the bold malt and pepper that is exhibited right out of the bottle is just a mask to something much more complex beneath. One drop of water and this thing goes absolutely bonkers. The hard edge is replaced by pungent orange fruit aromas - apricots, tangerines, persimmons, every orange thing you can think of. The palate is VERY rich and sweet with more malt than the nose and subtle bits of bitter herbs (gentian root, angelica) balancing out the sweet grain. While I'll admit this is not quite the same character as some of the previous Benrinnes, it is still full of life and the purity that we crave from this special little place. And what an incredible value for such a drinkable and complex whisky.
Price: $0.00 Add To Cart

1991 Cameronbridge 26 Year Old "Old Particular" K&L Exclusive Single Barrel Cask Strength Single Grain Scotch Whisky (750ml)
Review Date: 12-12-2018
This tiny cask of Cameronbridge is one of the oddest and most interesting grains we've ever bottled. Full of green almost oceany flavors it's nothing like most of the middle aged grains we buy. Powerful aromas of salty moss, old oak and forest floor continue on the palate, but are bolstered by a sweet oak and funky spice. The twinge of mushroom character and wet forest notes have the oddest similarity to my favorite distillery, Springbank. Not that we're in the same territory, but more like an allusion - the literary devise of grain whisky. A fun one to be sure and considering the odd nature and low out put, certainly something that won't last much longer.
Price: $79.99 Add To Cart

2006 Balmenach 11 Year Old "Old Particular" K&L Exclusive Single Barrel Cask Strength Single Malt Scotch Whisky (750ml)
Review Date: 12-12-2018
This gnarly little Balmenach is the first from the distillery we've ever bottled. The odd little hidden distillery is the unsung hero the year - no one seems to be familiar with it, but everyone who tries it understands why we bought it. After the initial funky whiffs blow off, the whisky opens to an inviting array of malty flavors, grainy and fresh, it takes a drop of water to tease the exceptional nuance of this awesome cask. With water marmalade on warm biscuits, freshly picked pears and leaves, digestive cookies and tea. On the palate equally appealing and still on the gorgeous breakfast flavors. Babies bum really, smooth and soft. And an easy going one (with water), but sometimes its best to just drink not think.
Price: $54.99 Add To Cart

1995 Loch Lomond ("All Malt") 22 Year Old "Old Particular" K&L Exclusive Single Barrel Cask Strength Single Grain Scotch Whisky (750ml)
Review Date: 12-12-2018
Here is a weird one! I've never had a grain anything like this little puppy. The distillery, which has since changed hands, used to get in lots of trouble trying to sell this stuff as "pure malt" before the SWA banned the terminology. Now we're the beneficiaries of those oddball experiments. The nose is filled with vibrant orchard fruit, much more expressive than most grain whiskies at this age. Subtle hints of green tea, toasted sour dough, vanilla wafers. The palate has tons of green apple, white pepper, sugar candies and fresh herbs. A playful example of the interesting things that happen when you distil 100% malt mash.
Price: $89.99 Add To Cart

Maker's Mark 46 "K&L Exclusive Barrel #905" Private Select Kentucky Bourbon (750ml)
Review Date: 12-11-2018
Maker's Mark Private Select is quickly becoming one of our most beloved single barrel programs. We've messed around with several different recipes but this particular mixture of wood types seems to be the sweet spot. Many of our customers have compared these exceptional whiskies to the very best available, if not better. This awesome barrel is just more of the same deliciousness. The incredible, rich, sweet wheat of the cask-strength Maker's is bolstered significantly by the heady vanilla and spice of the various staves. The powerful concoction is balanced on the palate, drinking way below its proof, with absolutely no burn. Instead, a dark roasty coffee bean and stewed tropical fruit keep the spice and caramel in check on the palate. Another slam dunk from the little distillery in Loretto.
Price: $69.99 Add To Cart

1991 John McCrae (Balvenie) 26 Year Old "Hepburn's Choice" K&L Exclusive Single Barrel Cask Strength Single Malt Scotch Whisky (750ml)
Review Date: 12-04-2018
Another stupendous "blended malt" from Hepburn. This is world class stuff that we just happened to get a hold of. Of course the only reason Balvenie wouldn't use this exceptional whisky in its extremely well regarded whisky program is if it didn't meet the brand's standards. That by no means implies that this whisky is any lower quality than the insane 25-year-old single barrels they sell for $700+, but that it just didn't fit in the program. And I bet William Grant was well pissed when they rolled this cask out of the warehouse to find it had gone under the 47.8% that the 25 year is bottled at. But, we're the lucky beneficiaries of that "fault" and can now sell you something that missed the mark for that special line by about 3.2% for an 80% discount. Oh and it tastes goddamned delicious, just as you'd expect from an old whisky of this pedigree. There's no question that we'll be looking out for more malts like this one, but I doubt we'll find many that taste quite this special.
Price: $139.99 Add To Cart

1997 Hector Macbeth (Glenfiddich) 21 Year Old "Hepburn's Choice" K&L Exclusive Single Barrel Cask Strength Blended Malt Scotch Whisky (750ml)
Review Date: 12-04-2018
For being the best-selling single malt in the world, Glenfiddich gets a bit of a bad rap. While the distillery is widely known for its ubiquitous 12 year offering, it is occasionally offering exciting cask finishes and special releases. These are sought-after, but a lot of the regular malt drinkers seem to poo poo them. While I consider the 12 year a benchmark that serves as a good middle ground to compare other malts — a centering malt — also, an easy way to seem like you know what you're talking about is to shit on easy targets. But one thing very few malt drinkers can say they've actually tasted is Fiddich in a single cask. I do believe that experience will change many staunch detractors' minds about Dufftown's most active distillery. The nose is a gorgeous mixture of clean minerals and pale malt. With the tiniest drop of water is begins to expand. Vibrant freshly cut Granny Smiths, the deep minerality of a grand cru Alsatian Riesling, chamomile tea, citrus peel. On the palate, the gorgeous orchard aromas are pointed with a subtle cracked pepper. With a bit more air, gorgeous yellow floral and stone fruit aromas start to creep out. There's no question that Fiddich is producing one of the finest malts in Scotland and if they let it go for 20+ years and bottle it at full strength it can be absolutely superlative. A polished gem that should be in every serious malt nut's cabinet.
Price: $109.99 Add To Cart

Golden Devil "K&L Exclusive" Dark Navy Strength Rum (750ml)
Review Date: 11-30-2018
Unquestionably the best value for heavy dark rum in the the store. Top quality pot stilled dark rum at high strength for $20. If rum like this was available to the entire world I'm not sure any of the new fangled blends would be viable. Of course the only way we can get this on the shelf for such a ridiculous price is through our fancy foot work. I imagine if someone were to secure similar stocks through normal channels it would be at least $40-50 a bottle. Treat this just like its closest equal, the Cadenhead blend. There's no better choice for Mai Tais or other rum drinks that call for heavy rum.
Price: $19.99 Add To Cart

Four Roses K&L Exclusive OESF (9 Years Old, 4 Months) Single Barrel Cask Strength Bourbon Whiskey (750ml)
Review Date: 11-29-2018
OESF is quickly becoming one of the most sought after yeast strains. What's particularly special about this one is that it follows exactly what you'd expect from the F yeast strain. Big minty herbal spicy and complex, I love that intensity on the nose. On the palate, herbal side takes a back seat to the fresh mint and red berry fruit. A little easier going and easily approachable enough for even the most amateur bourbon lover, yet not at all timid. If you like a minty bourbon than we've found the cask for you.
Price: $69.99 Add To Cart

Four Roses K&L Exclusive OBSQ (9 Years Old, 4 Months) Single Barrel Cask Strength Bourbon Whiskey (750ml)
Review Date: 11-29-2018
Tasting the OESQ & OBSQ together with Al Young this spring was a total eye opening experience. You have to taste blind when Al is there and so you're more attuned to the links between the various whiskies in front of you. I don't think I'd have picked these out as having the same yeast strain blind, but we DID identify both as being absolutely delicious. The OBSQ feels much more classically Four Roses, evidence of the link to the standard single barrel, which is the OBSV. Much less floral than the OESQ and with a big dark spice on the nose. Complex and savory with subtle hints of mint and sweet tea. The palate builds on the powerful nose with a bold peppery spice and the herbal-side taking over through the middle. Instead of going astringent or bitter on the finish, a sweet salt water taffy flavor pops up to balance. This one might be my favorite of the last batch.
Price: $69.99 Add To Cart

Four Roses K&L Exclusive OESQ (9 Years Old, 8 Months) Single Barrel Cask Strength Bourbon Whiskey (750ml)
Review Date: 11-29-2018
Nothing is more fun than tasting at the Four Roses bottling facility and this barrel and the sister cask are easily the most interesting head to head bourbons to taste right now. Similar in age and yeast straing, the only factors that set them apart are the mashbill and the warehousing. Of course every barrel is unique, but few comparisons will exemplify the importance of mashbill and yeast strain like tasting these two casks. The OESQ is really the complete package. the "low" rye mashbill is still packed to the brim with spice, but tamed by a huge aromatic of roses and leather. I typically HATE floral whiskies, but this doesn't seem perfuming or astringent and adds subtle rarely present in Four Roses. The palate is a nice contrast to the aromatics of the nose, bringing in dark dusty tannin and herbal honey to balance. An old school feeling whiskey the evokes the wild west for some reason. Not a bad thing to find in the saloon.
Price: $69.99 Add To Cart

1996 Bowmore 22 Year Old "Old Malt Cask" K&L Exclusive Single Barrel Cask Strength Single Malt Scotch Whisky (750ml)
Review Date: 11-20-2018
Yup, another cask of Bowmore. I'm constantly astounded by the complexity and affordability of this exceptional distillery. I honestly can't believe they let go of these exceptional stocks. What's even crazier is that we're able to sell this whisky, a full two years older than last years excellent barrel, for the exact same price. Normally we expect a nominal increase each year as a function of age. For a blue chip distillery like Bowmore that can mean as much as $5-10 per year. But, some times things just work out. This gorgeous cask is going easily satisfy even the most picky lover of Islay whisky. Smoldering smoke, freshly tanned leather, pungent lemony sea spray. Shockingly tropical on the palate after the powerfully smoked nose. Building diesel and campfire smoke flavors round out the sweet citrusy finish. A real treat by any measure.
Price: $149.99 Add To Cart

1996 Ardmore 21 Year Old "Old Malt Cask" K&L Exclusive Single Barrel Cask Strength Single Malt Scotch Whisky (750ml)
Review Date: 11-20-2018
So my business acumen was challenged with this one. I really believed that we could have easily sold it for upwards of $130+ considering how few old peaters we get and the quality of this excellent cask, but when we saw the prices I just about lost my mind. Do I take advantage of the situation and make a bit of extra coin or just put our normal mark up on this one and let it fly. Ownership probably doesn't need to know that we could have easily made an extra $50 a bottle here and still had hundreds of happy customers, but I just couldn't bring myself to charge more. So now we've got one of the best values we'll ever see in peated malt and while it's not the big intense Islay that the Caol Ilas are, it offers depth and complexity way beyond the price point. The peat after two decades turns into a heady bouquet of smoked orange peel, granny smith apples, salted honey candy and exotic vanilla bean. On the palate, deep dry peat smoke (not acrid at all) warming and absolutely balanced. It reminds me of a cleaner Springbank. Shimmering and still with tons of freshness, the peat adds nuance, but is not the centerpiece. Instead, more sweet citrus, earthy malt, deep spice. Absolute balance is the key here. This might be the best value of the year.
Price: $89.99 Add To Cart

1995 Blair Athol 23 Year Old "Old Malt Cask" K&L Exclusive Single Sherry Butt Cask Strength Single Malt Scotch Whisky (750ml)
Review Date: 11-20-2018
The gorgeous Blair Athol distillery is the spiritual home of the Bell's Blend, which gets a bad wrap from some whisky geeks, but when we see the excellent distillery in the warehouse we take note. Very few things are more appealing to me than an extremely affordable Blair Athol charged from a sherry. One whiff and we knew we had to have this majestic barrel. The nose has a big note of Oloroso, but also some complex malty fruit behind. With a bit of water, dark fruit compote, exotic spices and subtle almost Amontillado savory quality to balance. On the palate it's wonderfully textured with big taffy notes and a woodsy herbal quality -although much cleaner than the Ben Nevis. This is a total no brainer - ultra balanced, but overtly sherried malt in what might be arguably it's perfect state of maturation. You barely notice the high proof, but it does love a little dollop of spring water. Those that love the balance between dark sherry tones and rich maltiness will want to load up on this while it's still around.
Price: $109.99 Add To Cart

1998 Tamdhu 20 Year Old "Old Malt Cask" K&L Exclusive Single First Fill Hogshead Cask Strength Single Malt Scotch Whisky (750ml)
Review Date: 11-20-2018
Tamdhu is definitely coming up in the world these days. What was once an unknown entity is quickly becoming well regarded across malt drinking circles. This awesome cask give another push to the unsung hero of Knockando. The nose explodes with deep baked Mirabelle, raw honey and gorgeous fresh vanilla. The palate continues the hyper appealing profile adding some darker flavors, chocolate covered orange slices and marzipan. Deep sweet malt completes the package for one of the most seamless and approachable casks we'll sell all year. This one doesn't need water, but it loves a bit of air. An absolutely stupendous value considering where the no age statement distillery bottlings are priced.
Price: $89.99 Add To Cart

2017 Guy Farge "Bouquet de Syrah" Ardeche Rouge
Review Date: 11-15-2018
Wow this is my new favorite syrah in the store. Be sure to get it decanted as it loves air, but as soon as it starts to open up we're into some rarefied air. Juicy, pungent and packed full of wild black fruit. The structure is gorgeous! Perfect acidity to balance fruit and flinty earthiness. Soft round tannin adds length and texture. This is exactly what I want from an entry level syrah and the wine out drinks its price point by about a mile.
Price: $16.99 Add To Cart

2000 Velier Caroni 17 Year Old "High Proof" Trinidad Rum (750ml)
Review Date: 11-15-2018
Caroni has long been a sort of golden goose for us rum geeks. It's been super hard to get and limited almost exclusively to high end bottlings from Scotland. But it's perceived rarity and cost were only sometimes backed up by an amazing product in the bottle. That's cause a lot of different stuff was actually made at Caroni. But Velier, being the incredible rum ferrets that they are, got into the very very best stocks. Pot stilled and Island aged I was expecting the high proof and extreme concentration to mean something harsh or hard especially since there's no sugar added to balance the tannins. But actually this stuff drinks with easy. It's ultra heady and complex but the intensity is extremely well balanced on a base of concentrated sweetness. The nose in an unrelenting mixtured of burnt sugar, tropical spices, old leather and flinty dark earth. The palate is indeed potent but balanced and longer than most rums with a texture that could only come from extreme concentration in hot humid warehouses. If there's any rum in the world that should be coveted due to it's quality and rarity these old Caroni stocks should be them. Easily one of my favorite spirits of the year, the total package and a benchmark in terms of rum appreciation.
Price: $199.99 Add To Cart

1997 Benrinnes 20 Year Old "Signatory" K&L Exclusive Single Barrel Cask Strength Single Malt Scotch Whisky (750ml)
Review Date: 11-14-2018
We've had incredible luck with the wonderful Benrinnes distillery across the board. The hidden little distillery sits a few miles behind Glenfarclas and when we rolled up to check it out without an appointment we were certain we'd be turned away. The distillery entrance is surrounded by old little homes and you immediately notice the Tibetan prayer flags hanging across road. With no gates or guards we parked the car and ventured into the first building with an open door. There a large gentleman was sitting at a desk and I think he jumped about a foot. We explained we'd had a retail shop and how much we loved their distillery and we understood a tour would be difficult without an appointment. He told us to wait a minute and dialed the manager, "You've got a couple of boys here who want to see the distillery." After a little pause he asked us, "Are you boys German?" No no no we're are not Sir! "Alright, she'll be right down!" The old distillery is as endearing as the gorgeous malt they make. Until 2007, the partial triple distillation: feints (tails) from the wash still and low wine still, weaker feints from the spirits are distilled again in the low wine still. The spirit still is fed by the hearts and head of the first two, as well as the heads and stronger tails of the spirits. The whole thing is cooled on these massive gorgeous worm tubs. The resulting whisky is one of the most pungent and fruity in the Diageo portfolio, this cask is no exception. Tons of ripe apples, flint and creamy malt. On the palate, mirabelle, chalk, slightly watered down honey. Super refreshing and zippy. With a bit of water the minerality comes forward as does the honey. A fabulous expression of this quirky little distillery.
Price: $119.99 Add To Cart

2010 Ben Nevis 7 Year Old "Signatory" 1st Fill Bourbon Barrel Cask Strength Single Malt Scotch Whisky (750ml)
Review Date: 11-14-2018
Ben Nevis is quickly rising the ranks as one of the exciting distilleries on the market today. Partly that's because it was so unavailable for so long. Now tiny amounts of the distillery bottlings are trickling in and more and more of their exceptional stocks are showing up in the warehouses of our best suppliers. Nothing about this whisky made sense on paper, but it happened to be right next to the gorgeous Caol Ila that we'd just tasted and Des had been talking about these casks since I arrived. The fresh bourbon barrels had just been rolled in the their new warehouses and we simply opened the first in the line. What I expected was a funky feinty spirity young monster. What we get is this totally new expression of Ben Nevis. I don't know if it was a particularly perfect day at the distillery or this batch of casks just happened to sing, but few young highlanders in my ten years of tasting casks have tasted better. This ultra concentrated feeling of malt doesn't feel like it's old, but it certainly doesn't feel immature. Complex roasted vanilla tones soften the already supple malt and the active american oak meld into some sort of pear compote. A drop of water and the orchard fruit continues to expand with hints of mint, guava and coco. On the palate the darker roasted malt flavors come forward with tiny pithy plummy fruit balancing the whole thing perfectly. It's punchy and bold but one of the most fun young malts I've ever had. The future looks good for Ben Nevis if this is what they're going to be putting out.
Price: $59.99 Add To Cart

Westland K&L Exclusive "#2479" Single PX Sherry Hogshead Cask Strength Single Malt Whisky (750ml)
Review Date: 11-13-2018
I think it's safe to say that the Westland Distillery deserves its spot atop the Craft Distilling pyramid. The Craft Spirits category is dominated by distillers who are trying to do it all. That worked for St George because they started 30 years ago and CAN actually do everything well, but very few people will ever replicate that model. So instead distillers search for a way to do it different, to stand out, to change a category. The problem with changing a category like say Single Malt, is that it's been changing for hundreds of years. It's hard to argue that the Scottish haven't figured it out pretty well. SO the question shouldn't be, "how can we change this?" It should be, "how can we make it better?" And that's exactly what Westland have done. They've stayed dedicated and focused completely on producing exceptional and eclectic single malt. They examined closely every possible aspect of the process and adjusted subtle quality components to create a product that is uniquely theirs, yet falls well within the boundaries of acceptable/traditional Single Malt. The results are no less than astonishing than their rise to prominence. I've always appreciated what they were able to achieve within their core range, but having been to the distillery and tasted countless single cask versions, there's little doubt the true heights are only achieved with these singular expressions. So when Matt phoned up to say he'd be in town with samples I cleared my schedule. It's been YEARS since we've even been considered as a potential partner for their single cask program and the huge majority of single casks seems to sell in and around the distillery. It wasn't an easy choice. There were some big bold peaters in the bunch and some elegant aromatic American Oak barrles, but there was just no way that I could let this sweet little number walk away. This ultra concentrated Pedro Ximinez Sherry Hogshead is the total package. Dense nose full of dried fruit, deep malt and spiced cakes. The absolutely jaw-aching texture belies the youth of the whisky, which can't be very old, but packs a punch like Mike. With water this stuff builds intensity and some salinity, while staying sweet enough to keep from being astringent. I'm sort of loving this with only the tiniest drop added. IF more whisky came out of Westland like this, we might have to call it the Kavalan of Cascadia, but I think this one is a bit of an outlier. And that's just were we like 'em - off the charts.
Price: $109.99 Add To Cart

2006 Foursquare 11 Year Old "Golden Devil" Single Barrel Barbados Rum (750ml)
Review Date: 11-13-2018
I was straight up giddy when our friends at Hunter Laing pulled out this wild little cask of Foursquare. Not because it's easily the hottest rum distillery in the world right now, but mostly because I've never ever tasted a single barrel of this stuff. We knew it wouldn't be cheap. Mr. Seale does sell to blenders, but it seems from what I can tell that most everything sold is tankered out of there. This special cask, while of course the classic pot/column blend that Foursquare is known for, was indeed blended at birth as is typical. But even after having every rum geek I know pestering him to release single barrels, Richard has yet to relent. So we are forced to search elsewhere for our fix and we're goddamned glad we did cause this rum is sublime. What's most shocking about it is just how open and approachable it is at full strength. We'd expect some hard edge pot to dominate but the years married in cask have made the two distillates intertwined in the most beguiling way. Pungent, yet restrained. Powerful, yet supple. Big bold and sweet enough to give even the most novice rum drinker a chance, but unquestionably an expert rum of the highest order. We know this cask is expensive and some might point to the distillery bottlings (also VERY hard to get) and find that those offer more "value." I argue that nothing is more valuable than experience and this is one experience that you won't want to miss.
Price: $89.99 Add To Cart

1996 Linkwood 21 Year Old "Signatory" K&L Exclusive Single Barrel Cask Strength Single Malt Whisky (750ml)
Review Date: 11-07-2018
Linkwood is one of those distilleries that has a pretty surprising following despite not being at all available in the US. The last official release from this exceptional distillery was a limited release 37 year old, which was sold for $600+ initially. In a lot of ways Linkwood is the quintessential "scotch" for my palate, a bench mark for Scotchiness that they set pretty high. Here we have it in its most classic form, although in desperate need of a tiny dollop of fresh water, there are few malts more enamoring. After a little squirt of spring water, the powerful dark malt suddenly falls away to reveal a complex web of orchard fruit and citrus peel. Canned pineapple and white nectarines, pointed by a subtle green plum and floral honey. Subtle briochey malt lingers in the back ground, hinting at the rich, textured, almost sweet entry. More of those tart plums, dark cocoa powder, sweet barley tea and a long white peppery finish. An absolute dream that's approachable enough for nearly any scotch drinker to fall in love. Indeed this could be the quintessential Speysider. ADD THAT WATER!
Price: $129.99 Add To Cart

1987 L'Encantada 30 Year Old "Del Cassou #14" Bas-Armagnac (750ml)
Review Date: 11-07-2018
Fans of traditional Armagnac will be extremely happy to get a hold of a bottle of this exceptional 30 year old Armagnac. Not as bold and tannic as some of it's sister casks, but with an elegance very familiar to lovers of the great Gascogne brandy. The nose is an inviting mixture of baked apple tart (tatin!), exotic old wood and baking spices. Not as sweet and rich as the 82 drier and more traditional here. Super vibrant and almost refreshing with tons of dark cherry and brambly wild berries, dark roasting cocoa and beautiful old varnished furniture. Maybe not for the bourbon guy looking for a massive explosion but a brandy filled with elegance and precision. In context easily one of the best values in the store.
Price: $119.99 Add To Cart
Limit of 12 per customer

L'Encantada "Parre, Lous Pibous, Le Sable, Del Cassou, Discovery Box Set (5x200ml)
Review Date: 11-06-2018
This is easily the BEST Brandy gift we'll have to offer all year. What you get is a full liter of exceptional Armagnacs including rare and sought after vintages from the esteemed Lous Pibous estate and the spectacular 1976 vintage from Domain Le Sable. This array of single estate Armagnac represents a veritable masterclass in the wonderful brandies from the venerated team in Vic-Fezensac. They've been afforded special access to some very limited and often times closed Domaines that normally would not be available to the American market. We're extremely lucky to be the only source for Encantada in California and highly recommend that anyone interested in their exquisite offerings take a discovery box home to find out what all the hype is about.
Price: $149.99 Add To Cart
Limit of 12 per customer

1997 L'Encantada 20 Year Old "Bellair #36" Bas-Armagnac (750ml)
Review Date: 11-06-2018
Bellair is a well regarded estate that have sold brandies via the Darroze brand as well. Encantada, through some personal connections, was able to secure a few casks of various ages, but they're an extremely unique style. While the domaine would normally use very little new oak, they do regularly use extra large puncheon style foudres and it seems that they purchase a new 600L barrel in the year or two before this special brandy was distilled. The larger size has a completely different affect on the brandy then we're used to showing much stronger oxidation and a more integrated addition of oak tannin. I fell in love with this cask because it offered something completely different from any thing else on the shelf. The ultra rancio nuttiness implies and almost sherried quality that very few of the other Encantada offerings show. The heavy oxidation makes us worried that the palate will be out of balance or bitter, yet not of the classic pitfalls exist here. The nose waffles between subtle funk and roasted nuts to nearly Creme de Cassis level fruitiness. Is it bourbon, is it Scotch, is it Brandy? We're in the wilderness here. The deep savoriness takes over on the palate, but because of the larger barrels the oak is not totally overpowering. The frighteningly high proof is totally lost if not for a powerful tingly pepper on the finish. For sure this one is the odd man out among the offerings this year, but it also offers some incredible links that will appeal to many many different types of drinkers. Another insane value from our dear friends at Encantada. Like all these brandies, this one loves to take it's time in the glass and really opens up after 30-45 minutes.
Price: $99.99 Add To Cart
Limit of 12 per customer

1982 L'Encantada 35 Year Old "Del Cassou #187" Bas-Armagnac (750ml)
Review Date: 11-06-2018
The Del Cassou estate is considered by the Encantada crew to be one of their greatest finds, on par maybe even with the exquisite Lous Pibous. Of course, it's style is in a whole different realm, but that's what makes brandy SO special - it's a product of terroir. In this particular case their using 100 year old Baco vines outside of the extremely well regarded town of Arthez d'Armagnac. There's absolutely no way to make a commercially viable Armagnac with vines this old. Production per acre is absolutely tiny and even with the very productive Baco grape the concentration of the wines is not ideal for actually turning a profit. But the old farmers here think the vines work pretty well and their old school aesthetic extends to the chai as well. This bold masculine style Baco exemplifies the grape perfectly. Here we're covered in blackberry fruit compote sprinkled with pepper. The sweet savory balances continues with roasted pecan and maple pointed by freshly moistened forest floor. The woodsy almost green quality on the nose isn't quite minty, but we're close. On the palate, medium bodied and surprisingly lifted for the age. Caramelize sugar drizzled over a basket of spices and underbrush. No harsh tannins, but a big warming spice that builds to a long sweet crescendo at the back of the palate. This one is scary good and WAY to easy to put back. It's a stay at home for the night type of drink.
Price: $139.99 Add To Cart
Limit of 12 per customer

1990 L'Encantada 27 Year Old "Domaine le Parre #18" Tenarèze Armagnac (750ml)
Review Date: 11-06-2018
The Le Parre estate is the first Tenareze producer that Encantada have worked with. The regions Armagnacs are much harder edged than the Bas-Armagnac to the West due to the preponderance of clay in the soils. There are certainly exceptional brandies being produced in the area and especially above 20 years old the can be absolutely exceptional. The nose here in a lot of ways is very typical Tenareze, with more overt herbaceous quality and a dark gravelly quality. It's layered enough to not feeling over powering and with some air we start to see something very much more than earthiness. Tons of dried stone fruits, apricots and dates. Hints of roasted nuts, wild honey and powerful dried spices. The savory quality on the nose braces you for a powerful dry entry, but this stuff goes completely the other way. Supple and round, without a hard tannin in site, the rancio fruit and candied nuts take over from the spice and herbs. Textured warm and long on the palate, it's definitely no lightweight, but has an unexpected finesse for a Tenareze. I feel like this deserves to be more expensive, but I just can bring myself to be that greed and pray that anyone who loves good brandy is able to afford a bottle of this benchmark offering from this special estate.
Price: $89.99 Add To Cart
Limit of 12 per customer

2010 Caol Ila 7 Year Old "Sovereign" K&L Exclusive Single Sherry Finished Butt Cask Strength Single Malt Scotch Whisky (750ml)
Review Date: 11-01-2018
Oh Caol ila. We love you so much. There's just something about this malt that gets me everytime. It doesn't have the fanfare or mystery of the distillers on the southern coast (Lagavulin, Ardbeg, Laphroaig), but it does have some of the best peated malt in the world. Often when the super geeks lament the loss of legends like Port Ellen, we must reminded ourselves that we have a living legend near the little Port Askaig. Few seem to truly appreciate it majesty mostly because the owners don't care to make a big deal of it. But, this wonderful cask is something we rarely ever see - sherried Caol Ila! We've had Caol Ila finished in sherry before but here we've got an old used butt refreshed in Scotland with new sherry. After some time seasoning it was filled with this Caol Ila for a true maturation not just a finish. The result is not something hinting toward a sherried peater, but instead the full hog real deal. It almost feels like cheating. Apparently cheating tastes great sometimes because this stuff is on another level. Deep roasty bbq smoke, dense nutty toffee, leather, tar and salted fruit. The big bold peat (ozone, iodine, bacon smoke and leather) continues on the palate, but is tempered with a sweet dried fruit and smoldering cedar. With water it lightens a bit but keeps its hefty character and rich texture. Adding a bit of salinity and some burnt citrus peel which makes it feel almost refreshing. For some this will easily be the best value whisky of the year. Others might appreciate the depth and complexity. For the peat haters we have other things for you.
Price: $49.99 Add To Cart

2008 Tullibardine 10 Year Old "Sovereign" K&L Exclusive Single Barrel Cask Strength Single Malt Scotch Whisky (750ml)
Review Date: 11-01-2018
The odd and loveable little distillery in the Southern Highland is so compact and quaint it's almost laughable. The distillery is right off the road in the tiny town of Blackford and the visitor center is at the far end of a little mini-mall next to a Baxters. They've done a great job to take this tiny space and create a veritable Single Malt experience, but crossing over the little burn to the distillery you notice how incredibly tight the space actually is. The distillery's French owners sell most of the malt in France and this is the first Tulli we've ever bought. This whisky fits perfectly in a difficult to hit under $50 price point and offers some serious highland character. I highly recommend a drop of water as the first nosing has a malty gravelly quality, while the palate is full of bright fresh citrus fruit. With a drop of water the earthy grain falls completely away and you're left with a perfect little aperitif style malt that brings just the right amount of subtle floral quality, pure cereal notes and zippy citrus peel. The texture is creamy with a little hint of Szechuan pepper to keep it from feeling cloying. If you're a fan of a malt driven style and don't mind a bit of an aperitif in the afternoon, this will be the perfect whisky for you.
Price: $49.99 Add To Cart

2006 Craigellachie 12 Year Old "Sovereign" K&L Exclusive Single Sherry Butt Cask Strength Single Malt Scotch Whisky (750ml)
Review Date: 10-31-2018
I keep wanting to call this the cask of the season, but I only hesitate because there's SO much more coming down the line I don't want to overstate just how special this whisky truly is. That said there's no doubt that this will be one of those incredible values that people will be asking for in the months and maybe years to come. 12 full years in an Oloroso Sherry Butt have turned the majestic malt from Craigellachie into a veritable gem. The nose is full on Oloroso with the dry nutty aromatics taking full charge. It's not the extracted almost bitter bomb that we had from last years Aultmore, but it's no less complex and filled with sherry character. The palate is ultra rich with the bold Oloroso character blade locked with the dense malt - the tiniest hint of fresh peat aromatic is a bonus. With a bit of water the whole thing transmutes into one of the most balanced and approachable malts we've sold in years. The nuttiness gives way slightly to a complex dried blood orange, cigar box, exotic wood. The palate has tons of sweet malt to balance the sherry and while some may prefer this at full strength with water this is one of the most exciting and drinkable whiskies we've ever sold. The total package in every sense of the term and priced to bunker. The first of many legends in the 2018 Whisky Season!
Price: $54.99 Add To Cart

Russell's Reserve Single Barrel "#17-314" (Rickhouse B, 6th Floor) K&L Exclusive Kentucky Straight Bourbon (750ml)
Review Date: 10-31-2018
Part of what's so incredible about tasting all the Russell's single barrels side by side is that you find incredible diversity among them why easily identifying a core DNA that makes them unmistakably Wild Turkey. That's of course the result of the incredible care and detail that the distillery takes with each barrel and a testament to the complexity of this special product. There's also something cool about tasting them all at the same proof, which is only a couple of degrees off the full cask strength (not the only reason you should buy one of each of these excellent casks). This awesome whiskey was distilled just 5 days after 17-092 and stored in the same warehouse, but couldn't be more different. This one is pure cinnamon spice - a real Christmas bomb! The sweet candy corn and bright woodsy quality balanced out the hot cinnamon candy on the nose, but it comes right back on the palate. If you grew up loving Red Hots this is the perfect whisky for you. A total fireball and the hottest spiciest Russell's we have right now.
Price: $64.99 Add To Cart

Russell's Reserve Single Barrel "#17-092" (Rickhouse B, 5th Floor) K&L Exclusive Kentucky Straight Bourbon (750ml)
Review Date: 10-31-2018
The Russell's Reserve stuff seems to be one of those ultra high quality amazing brands that the geeks get, but the greater public hasn't really began to appreciate just how special they are. If I were a collector rather than a drinker of Bourbon, I'd be loading up on the Russell's right now because these represent the last stocks of the old distillery. Yes the brand will continue to exist without even the tiniest hiccup, but for those who really understand they'll know they're drinking a piece of history. Cask #17-092 was selected last year and only arriving now. It's from the same warehouse as 17-314 but distilled 5 days earlier and racked one floor below. The nose is a heady mixture of rich nutty nougat, big earthy forest floor, wild cherries and exotic spices. The palate is brimming with deep baked apple spice, wild honey, dark cacao and roasted coffee notes. Beautiful length with a finish that continues for ages, this one is perfect for those who LOVE the darker toastier flavors that bourbon can sometimes exhibit.
Price: $64.99 Add To Cart

Old Potrero "K&L Exclusive Barrel #3" Single Malt Straight Rye Whiskey (750ml)
Review Date: 10-30-2018
Well this is it. Kind of the end of an era. And we scored two of the most special barrels I've ever tried yet from these guys. Both casks come a lot closer to the insane and unavailable Hotalings offerings that are sold at 10-16 years old than the younger offerings that are regularly available. The power rye malt and six years in a new charred oak barrel are a heady combination. I found cask 3 to be the drier of the two showing tons of baking spice, minty woodsy tones, and a rich malty character that sets the Old Potrero apart from other modern ryes. Bold spicy and dry, there's almost nothing on the market quiet like these, but they easily rank as some of the finest craft whiskies we've ever sold. A truly special offer that is will never be available again under the Anchor label.
Price: $99.99 Add To Cart

2015 Domaine Les Pins "Le Clos les Pins" Bourgueil
Review Date: 10-24-2018
Ok! So I'm a freak for cab franc, but there's kind of a trend right now toward something cleaner, safer, easier. I totally appreciate a fresh easy drinking Loire red that shows good fruit and great acid, but occasionally I crave the serious old school Cab Franc I cut my teeth on. Les Pins offers both styles, but when we tasted the Clos Les Pins I fell totally in love. Definitely some of that funky earthy green quality I love, but not to the point of being overwhelming. Just the right amount of barnyard to give the deep dark fruit a twist. Wonderful texture and with silky supple tannins that keeps this one from feeling astringent at all. This is a whole lot of wine for $15 and even if you're a total funky hater you might end up loving this and for anyone who even dabbles in the dirt will appreciate the complexity and quality immediately. Stock up!
Price: $14.99 Add To Cart
WE 90

Page: 1 2 3 4 5 next

More Favorites

David Othenin-Girard is also a fan of the following items. To become a fan of David Othenin-Girard, click here to join David Othenin-Girard's Personal Sommelier Service.
Laphroaig 10 Year Old Islay Single Malt Scotch Whisky (750ml) ($39.99)

Ardbeg "Uigeadail" Islay Single Malt Scotch Whisky (750ml) ($56.99)

Caol Ila 12 Year Old Islay Single Malt Scotch Whisky (750ml) ($69.99)

Ransom Old Tom Oregon Gin (750ml) ($39.99)

Cragganmore 12 Year Old Speyside Single Malt Scotch Whisky (750ml) ($49.99)

Bols Amsterdam Genever Dutch Gin (750ml) ($15.99)

Emile Pernot "Vieux Pontarlier 65" Absinthe (750ml) ($64.99)

St. George Spirits Absinthe Verte (750ml) ($59.99)

Rhum JM Vieux Agricole VSOP Martinique (750ml) ($44.99)

Old Weller "Antique" 107 Proof Straight Bourbon Whiskey (750ml) (1 bottle limit) ($27.99)

Dolin Rouge Vermouth de Chambéry (750ml) ($15.99)

Dolin Blanc Vermouth de Chambery (750ml) ($15.99)

Dolin Dry Vermouth de Chambery (375ml) ($11.99)