Staff Favorites - David Driscoll

David Driscoll
David Driscoll  | Send Email  |   Subscribe to My Sommelier Service
David Driscoll likes to drink alcohol when he is not working at K&L. His main interests include wine, beer, and distilled spirits. Before he worked here he went to college at a decent school, got a masters degree from an OK school, worked as a waiter and taught elementary school in Chinatown. He decided to get into the wine business after reading a few books about wine and realizing that one cannot seriously learn about wine solely through reading. His career goals include: trying to convince K&L customers that he does know something despite his youthful appearance, and learning everything about everything about every single wine ever made.


Reviews

Page: << prev 3 4 5
Arette Artesanal Blanco Suave Tequila (750ml)
Review Date: 07-01-2009
I've said it before, and I'll say it again, and, now that I'm the spirits buyer, maybe my opinion will hold more weight: Arette makes the best tequila that we carry! The blanco is so elegant and ripe with pure agave flowers, unfettered from any contact with an oak barrel. There are some purists who believe that blanco is the only real tequila, and to them I say, the Arette blanco is tequila in its truest form.
Price: $42.99 Add To Cart
WE 90

Los Danzantes "Los Nahuales" Reposado Mezcal (750ml) [Cannot ship]
Review Date: 05-31-2009
So, so smooth and oh-so-smoky. Mezcal has a distinct flavor profile that clearly separates it from tequila, and this bottle highlights those differences. The barrel aging imparts the richness and the vanilla notes, but the smoky, mineral character dominates and lingers long on the finish. I opened this bottle with a group of native Mexicans y tuvimos una fiesta! This is quality mezcal that puts low-grade tequila to shame.
Price: $62.99 Add To Cart

Rittenhouse Bottled in Bond 100 Proof Rye Whiskey (750ml)
Review Date: 05-26-2009
This is my whiskey of choice when making a Manhattan. The Rittenhouse is spicy, bold, rich, inexpensive, and delicious. I like a kick with my cocktails and I hate to mix expensive booze. I could sip the Rittenhouse, but at 100 proof, it's perfect over ice, or with sweet vermouth and a maraschino cherry.
Price: $23.99 Add To Cart
WE 95

Marolo "Milla" Chamomile Liqueur (375ml)
Review Date: 05-20-2009
I was soooooooooooooo skeptical when our Italian expert Mike Parres told me to buy a bottle of this delicious grappa. "Camomile in my grappa? Come on!" I said to him. However, this stuff is exquisite. It's thick, coating, and heavenly with pure notes of fresh camomile gently blended into the more subtle grappa flavors. If you love grappa, you'll love this. If you hate grappa, you'll still love this.
Price: $27.99 Add To Cart

Barbolini "Lancillotto" Lambrusco Grasparossa di Castelvetro
Review Date: 04-20-2009
This is sparkling wine with acidity and tannin! A combination of refreshing bubbles with that classic robust and earthy Italian style. Bone dry and not overtly fruity, this wine is as interesting as it is delicious. Made entirely of Grasparossa from Emilia-Romagna, and it's a dynamite match for almost anything from pizza to pasta and beyond.
Price: $13.99 Add To Cart

Clear Creek Eau de Vie Pomme 8 Year Old Apple Brandy (375ml)
Review Date: 03-18-2009
I'm not sure if anyone else read Mr. McCarthy's article in the New York Times about making Eau De Vie spirits, but I was fascinated by the process of how he captured the essence of the Douglas Fir tree in a bottle. This Pomme apple brandy, essentially an American Calvados, is absolutely outstanding and would make the perfect after dinner drink for almost any fine meal. Rich barrel flavors combine with can only be described as the soul of an apple to create a robust, yet smooth drinking spirit. My hat is off to Clear Creek.
Price: $26.99 Add To Cart
WE 96 - 100

Arette Artesanal Reposado Suave Tequila (750ml)
Review Date: 01-24-2009
I finally ponied up for the Arette Reposado the other night, after promising myself I would buy it eventually. I opened it for the staff before bringing it home, and everyone literally ooohed and ahhhed just smelling the nose in the glass. The aromas of pure blue agave are intoxicating. The delicacy and grace of the tequila as it slowly coats your mouth is even more impressive. By far the best tequila I have ever tasted; and I've had my share. Arette is known for being a hands-on, old-school distiller as well, so their reputation for quality craftsmanship lives up to the hype. I couldn't recommend it strongly enough.
Price: $44.99 Add To Cart

Four Roses Yellow Label Kentucky Bourbon (750ml)
Review Date: 10-22-2008
So smooth you won't think it's bourbon. Honestly, the distiller himself said he has problems selling it sometimes because people don't think it's bourbon, but I can vouch for him. It's bourbon alright, and it's divine. Your friends will be asking where you got it.
Price: $15.99 Add To Cart
WE 93

Blason Isonzo Bianco (3L Bag-in-a-Box) (cannot ship)
Review Date: 08-26-2008
OK, so this wine doesn't need a third review, but I can't help it! This box is pure genius because it is GOOD! If you are in my situation, which I am sure many out there are, one bottle a night is not enough and two is too many! I like a glass of white right when I get home, and then a nice bottle to pair up with my food. That means I have to open two bottles, or save some from a previous night. With this bag in a box, the wine lasts for weeks, if not months! I can come home and get my glass while I cook, then find the right bottle for dinner. I am sooooooo psyched about this. UPDATE: 6/10/09 THE BOX IS BACK!! SOOOO HAPPY!! SUMMER CAN BEGIN!
Price: $24.99 Add To Cart

High West Rendezvous Rye Whiskey (750ml)
Review Date: 08-12-2008
Who said we had to review just wine? I just remembered that I love whiskey! This High West bottling is a superb blend of two casks that the producer found in the basement of another distiller; a 6 year old and a 16 year old. The flavors are semisweet and caramel-based, but the finish is pure rye. I have to be careful when I pull this bottle out because I might get a little greedy. Then I wouldn't be able to remember how it tasted!
Price: $54.99 Add To Cart
WE 96 WA 95

Franck Bonville "Prestige" Brut Blanc de Blancs Champagne
Review Date: 07-14-2008
This was the first champagne I tasted when I started working at K&L and it is still my favorite, when talking bang for your buck. This blanc de blanc will grab anyone's attention with its grace and its beauty. So elegant a palate for so little a price.
Price: $44.99 Add To Cart
WS 92

2005 Château de Montfaucon "Baron Louis" Côtes du Rhône
Review Date: 05-20-2008
Southern Rhone wines (outside of CdP wines) are always a great value when it comes to a week-night dinner; maybe for Wednesday night when I only have time to grab a whole roasted chicken from Safeway. For just a few dollars more than the average $10-15 range of bargain bottles there is the "Baron Louis." It is more than just the typical Grenache-Syrah blend, regardless of what the description says. It actually has 40% grenache with almost equal parts syrah, carignan, cinsault, mourvedre and counoise. It has finesse, complexity, grace and style. That's not true for most of it's fellow colleagues. It is a true standout dating back to last winter when they actually let me pour the Rhone tasting at Redwood City. Everyone who attended thought this bottle was the best-valued Rhone wine we had. Now we have it again, thank heavens.
Price: $29.99 Add To Cart
WS 90

Page: << prev 3 4 5