Staff Favorites - David Driscoll

David Driscoll
David Driscoll  | Send Email  |   Subscribe to My Sommelier Service
David Driscoll likes to drink alcohol when he is not working at K&L. His main interests include wine, beer, and distilled spirits. Before he worked here he went to college at a decent school, got a masters degree from an OK school, worked as a waiter and taught elementary school in Chinatown. He decided to get into the wine business after reading a few books about wine and realizing that one cannot seriously learn about wine solely through reading. His career goals include: trying to convince K&L customers that he does know something despite his youthful appearance, and learning everything about everything about every single wine ever made.


Reviews

Page: << prev 2 3 4 5 next
2015 Clos Haut Peyraguey, Sauternes
Review Date: 05-04-2016
The 2015 Peyraguey is loaded with stone fruits almost a dried apple note, which made it a standout Sauternes for me. Most of the wines tend more towards tropical and lemon flavors, but this one was quite different. Very nice.

2015 Suduiraut, Sauternes
Review Date: 05-04-2016
This is just lovely stuff; just a classic Sauternes in every way. There's a perfect balance of lush hedonistic fruit, with ample sweetness, and a long, lingering finish of candied lemon zest and mango followed by just enough tanginess from the acidity. Wow.

2015 Coutet, Sauternes
Review Date: 05-04-2016
There's a lovely tropical mai tai note right on the entry of the 2015 Coutet, followed by a firm mineral note on the mid-palate and mouthwatering acidity on the finish. There's a new school of thought in Bordeaux at the moment that perhaps more Sauternes should be enjoyed young as an aperitif, rather than solely as a mature dessert wine. This Coutet is a prime candidate for that new mindset. It's absolutely delicious now!

2015 Guiraud, Sauternes
Review Date: 05-04-2016
The balance of the 2015 is what caught my attention when we tasted in Bordeaux this year. I thought the wines were utterly drinkable in their youth, yet classically structured with acidity simultaneously. The Guiraud is the perfect example of this phenomenon. There's bright acidity on the entry, but it's tempered by delicate flavors of tropical fruit and ample sweetness, all in perfect harmony. I'll definitely be going deep on Sauternes as they become available.

2015 Lespault-Martillac Blanc, Pessac-Léognan
Review Date: 04-28-2016
THE WHITE WINE DEAL OF THE VINTAGE. You heard it here first. In all seriousness, this was one of the most impressive wines I tasted from anywhere this vintage and it was on our last night in Bordeaux (when I was about ready to stop drinking wine period!). It was lovely and subtle on the palate with a leesy richness and a firm mineral note on the finish. There was finesse. There was beauty and elegance. There was soft fruit and refreshing acidity. I've just convinced myself to buy some now having written this all out.
Price: $29.99 Add To Cart
JS 94 RP 91

2015 Lespault-Martillac Rouge, Pessac-Léognan
Review Date: 04-28-2016
We tasted this wine before dinner at Domaine de Chevalier and I was thoroughly impressed. The wine was plump and dense with dark fruit, but balanced by a mineral note that one would associate with wines of the Graves. I like to think of this as baby Demaine de Chevalier. It's made by the same dudes!

2015 La Fleur de Boüard, Lalande-de-Pomerol
Review Date: 04-28-2016
This wine was plush on the palate with bright red juicy fruit, balanced by firm acidity and a richness of structure that carried through to the finish. Completely in balance and a nice price to match with the quality. I can see wines like this being what we remember about 2015. "All those value-priced Right Bank wines...."

2015 Bourgneuf, Pomerol
Review Date: 04-28-2016
If you’re looking for something a little more old school and less fruit-forward, then the 2015 Bourgneuf is the wine for you. There was more pronounced oak on the palate that will need to integrate over the next five years and a dustiness to the tannins that helped balance the lush fruit. This is a wine that should evolve beautifully over the next decade; a real cellar candidate.

2015 Lafleur-Gazin, Pomerol
Review Date: 04-28-2016
This was one of the better deals I tasted from Pomerol. The Lafleur-Gazin coated my palate with plush purple fruits, but finished dry and fine on the back end. It’s the kind of wine that gives Merlot a good name; a wine that’s almost too delicious to wait on. I’ll be interested to see how it develops though. These Pomerol wines have tiny production levels (compare the 21 acres of Lafleur-Gazin to the roughly 160 of Latour). I find it's best to grab these first during the pre-arrival campaign as they're the most likely to sell through.

2015 Haut-Brisson, St-Emilion
Review Date: 04-15-2016
This wine has an intensely aromatic nose of cassis and dark raspberry with a mouthful of juicy fruit balanced by great acidity. The tannins were gritty and chewy on the finish, and the flavors were overall fresh and satisfying. We all thought this was a great deal at the chateau, and I'm excited that value wines like the Haut Brisson are part of the 2015 vintage en primeur launch. A case of this is likely going into my cellar as well.

2015 Tour St-Christophe, St-Emilion
Review Date: 04-15-2016
Tasting the 2015 next to the 2012 was a great way to contrast the vintages. The 2012 is an elegant and rounded wine with lovely highlights of red fruit, whereas the 2015 is a darker beast, full of fleshy Merlot and intensely concentrated black fruits with highlights from the oak and ripe tannins. The terraced slopes of Tour St. Christophe's vineyards are a very special place, capable of creating truly expressive wine, and this 2015 cuvee is just another example of that fact.

2015 Enclos Tourmaline, Pomerol
Review Date: 04-15-2016
This wine knocked my socks off. This is serious Pomerol on every level, deeply concentrated with a brooding note of dark red fruit. The palate is lithe and supple, elegant really, with perfect balance between the ripeness of the fruit and the mineral notes from the terroir. Enclos Tourmaline's vineyards are between Le Pin & Trotanoy, serious names in the Bordeaux hierarchy. This is top-tier wine.

2012 d'Issan, Margaux
Review Date: 01-12-2016
This wine is absolutely gorgeous in every possible way: delicate violet notes, soft plum, subtle structure, and an elegant finish. It's everything I expect from high-end Bordeaux, especially from Margaux. The caveat here is you're getting a wine that, in my opinion, completely outshines the 2009 Issan, yet is priced $30 less per bottle. It will easily hold up for a decade or more and should offer stunning complexity once the layers begin to unfold. This wine is a clear and shining example of why vintages must be assessed on a producer-by-producer basis, rather than as general blanket statements.

Copper & Kings "Butchertown" Reserve Casks Brandy (750ml)
Review Date: 11-16-2015
This is the ultimate crossover bottle for bourbon fans looking to explore the new age of brandy. It's a 62% monster that drinks more like some of our Four Roses single cask selections than our French imports. The flavors just explode from the 124 proof blast of oak, fruit, spice, and herbaceousness. I've found that I love this brandy on the rocks, straight, but also as a highball cocktail. The spirit cuts through all that soda water and never tastes diluted or minimized by the additional liquid. It's a brandy that will change the way you think about brandy. It's a brandy that will change the way you think about spirits in general.
Price: Hidden View Price

Henry McKenna 10 Year Old Bottled in Bond Straight Kentucky Bourbon Whiskey (750ml)
Review Date: 09-17-2015
McKenna is one of those under-appreciated gems of the booze industry. A throwback Bourbon made by Heaven Hill (the home of Elijah Craig, Evan Williams, Rittenhouse Rye, and many other great brands) that's all from a single barrel, bottled-in-bond at 100 proof, and well-priced to boot. There's not much of a reputation for it out west, so it tends to go rather unnoticed, but the quality is highly-regarded by those in the know. Our inventory on McKenna is inconsistent and spotty so we tend to load up when it becomes available again. I taste inferior Bourbons every week that sell for $40, $50, and $60 per bottle based on hype and perceived rarity. But this guy just keeps truckin' along. What a deal. What a whiskey.
Price: $29.99 Add To Cart
WE 92 WA 90

Potocki Polish Rye Vodka (750ml)
Review Date: 09-02-2015
The best vodka in the world. Period. Next!
Price: $39.99 Add To Cart

Wine Club

$34.99
WE 90 - 95

Cut Spike Nebraska Single Malt Whiskey (750ml)
Review Date: 07-13-2015
When I first tasted the Cut Spike whiskey, I thought it was simply the best American single malt out there; a true revelation for the domestic category. However, as I'm now tasting the newest batch from the Nebraskan producer, I'm realizing that the whiskey is starting to morph into something very particular and unique to the brand. That classic creaminess is still very pervasive, but for the second time in a row there's a pronounced note of pine that soon mutates into ginger and Asian spices before quickly turning back into rich vanilla and oak on the finish; smoothly seeping its way into my taste buds as that last little sip goes down. What we're starting to witness here is the development of a house style--a flavor that defines this distillery. It's very exciting, and it's becoming infectious.
Price: $49.99 Add To Cart

Macallan "Rare Cask" Single Malt Scotch Whisky (750ml)
Review Date: 06-16-2015
I'm one of those guys who would rather drink the richer, more robust flavor of sherry on the palate rather than an age statement or a number. There's no 12 or 18 on the label of the Macallan Rare Cask because the distillery uses a variety of ages, from top quality sherry butts, to create the Rare Cask. If you can get past the uncertainty, you'll be rewarded with fudge, decadent cocoa, and spice cake. If you like Macallan, there's no way you'll be disappointed.
Price: $269.99 Add To Cart

San Venanzio Prosecco Valdobbiadene Superiore Brut
Review Date: 06-10-2015
This is stunning for the price. Light, airy, a touch of stone fruit with a hint of what seems like sweetness, but really is just ripeness. It's fresh and dry and lovely. And the price!
Price: $12.99 Add To Cart
WE 91

Daniel Bouju "K&L Exclusive" Cognac Fines Saveurs (750ml)
Review Date: 05-19-2015
No caramel, no additives, just fresh, vibrant Grand Champagne brandy at a hot price. Nothing more to be said!
Price: $39.99 Add To Cart

Chokaisan Junmai Daiginjo Sake (720ml)
Review Date: 05-14-2015
This is one of the best sakes we carry at K&L - period. I would bring this bottle to a dinner party and just drink it like a bottle of white wine or rose. We need to get out of the habit where we only drink sake when we eat Japanese food. This is the bottle that should prove to serious wine drinkers that sake can easily hang with a great Sancerre or an Alsatian pinot gris. Crisp, vibrant fruit on the entry with hints of pear on the finish. Made with a unique yeast derived from flowers, the sake is one of the most aromatic and delicious we carry, as well as one of the most special.
Price: $49.99 Add To Cart

Glenlivet 12 Year Old Speyside Single Malt Scotch Whisky (750ml)
Review Date: 04-28-2015
Glenlivet is removing the 12 year old from many major markets in favor of the new "Founder's Reserve", which has no age statement and a higher price. Get your Glenlivet 12 before it goes the way of the Dodo.
Price: $29.99 Add To Cart
WE 90

Ketel One Vodka (750ml)
Review Date: 04-28-2015
$20 is a hot price for the biggest brand name in all of vodka. Get it while the gettin's good.
Price: $19.99 Add To Cart
WE 90

Westland American Single Malt Whiskey (750ml)
Review Date: 04-24-2015
The great American single malt has finally arrived and it's being made in Seattle, Washington. Don't believe me? Get a bottle and see for yourselves. This is made on real Forsyth pot stills just like in Scotland, aged in bourbon and sherry casks, and brimming with Macallan-like flavor. It's still a bit young, but man is it going to get better.
Price: $59.99 Add To Cart
WE 93

El Dorado 12 year old Demerara Guyana Rum (750ml)
Review Date: 04-23-2015
A must-try-before-you-die spirit. One of the all-time greatest deals in all of spirits in general.
Price: $32.99 Add To Cart

El Dorado 15 year old Demerara Guyana Rum (750ml)
Review Date: 04-23-2015
The best rum on the planet for under $50. It's made mostly from DDL's old wooden pot still with more of that funky molasses note through the mid-palate. Love it. All day, every day.
Price: $49.99 Add To Cart

El Dorado 21 Year Old Demerara Guyana Rum (750ml)
Review Date: 04-23-2015
Made from older stocks of DDL rums before the big transition into one consolidated Guyanese distillery, this is the ultimate aged rum. Rich oak, pure cane flavor, a bit of funky molasses, and a spicy, robust finish. I can't believe it's still $99.99
Price: $109.99 Add To Cart

El Dorado 3 year Old Demerara Guyana Rum (750ml)
Review Date: 04-23-2015
In lieu of Havana Club 3 year, the El Dorado 3 year is just as good and made the same way: three years in wood, then filtered to be a white rum. It's round and easy-drinking with pure rum flavor. Why use anything else for Daiquiris?
Price: $17.99 Add To Cart

Bulleit "Frontier" Kentucky Straight Bourbon Whiskey (750ml)
Review Date: 04-20-2015
Four Roses makes this lovely little number for the boys at Bulleit. It's still a great bargain for a light, easy drinking, mixing bourbon.
Price: $22.99 Add To Cart
WE 93

Glenmorangie "Lasanta" 12 Year Old Extra Matured Range Sherry Cask Single Malt Scotch Whisky (750ml)
Review Date: 04-20-2015
This is the original 10 and 2 whisky--10 years in bourbon casks, with 2 years finishing in sweet sherry wood. Glendronach, Balvenie, and Aberlour all do it down, but Glenmorangie did it first and they're still the best at it. Lovely spice cake and dark toffee notes round out the finish.
Price: $47.99 Add To Cart
WE 93

Basil Hayden's Kentucky Bourbon (750ml)
Review Date: 04-20-2015
The best and the most classic of the Beam bourbon portfolio. Big oak flavor, smooth and rich on the palate, and a finish that brings baking spices and vanilla goodness. YUM!
Price: $36.99 Add To Cart
WE 93

Bulleit "95 Rye" Straight Rye Whiskey (750ml)
Review Date: 04-20-2015
Of all the LDI-distilled bargain ryes on the market, the Bulleit has reigned supreme due to its low price and high quality of flavor. It's hard to justify buying more Templeton when Bulleit is the same stuff for almost 10 dollars less.
Price: $22.99 Add To Cart
WE 93

Auchentoshan 18 Year Old Lowland Single Malt Whisky (750ml)
Review Date: 04-19-2015
I LOVE this whisky. This is my new Glenmorangie 18. A classic sweet barley and vanilla flavor, but with extra viscosity and more weight on the palate. It's thick and chewy. You can almost bite into it. The Glasgow distillery is becoming relevant once again. Watch out other distilleries!
Price: $119.99 Add To Cart
WE 92

Springbank 15 Year Old Distillery Bottling Single Malt Scotch Whisky (750ml)
Review Date: 04-19-2015
All the great richness and weight of the 10 with more sherry and more spice cake. A true classic.
Price: $99.99 Add To Cart
WE 98

Springbank 10 Year Old Campbeltown Single Malt Scotch Whisky (750ml)
Review Date: 04-19-2015
Does it get any better than Springbank 10? I don't know. It's still my favorite whisky all these years later. There's nothing out there that combines the peat, richness, and oily nature of the Springbank spirits. There's also no other distillery that still does every step of the process from scratch.
Price: $54.99 Add To Cart
WE 92

Ardbeg 10 Year Old Islay Single Malt Scotch Whisky (750ml)
Review Date: 04-19-2015
Still the best deal for 10 year old whisky. Still the best deal for peated whisky. Still the best deal in whisky--period. I'm never without a bottle on my bar. A true classic of the single genre. You're never too cool, too rich, too knowledgeable, or too refined for Ardbeg 10.
Price: $44.99 Add To Cart
WA 93 WE 91

Carpano "Antica Formula" Sweet Vermouth (1L)
Review Date: 04-19-2015
The classic sweet vermouth. THE one. End all. Be all. Period.
Price: $28.99 Add To Cart
WE 95

Laphroaig 10 Year Old Original Cask Strength Islay Single Malt Scotch Whisky (750ml)
Review Date: 04-19-2015
All the classic flavor of Laphroaig 10 but with the punch dialed up to max volume. Gotta love it!
Price: $59.99 Add To Cart
WE 90

Laphroaig "Quarter Cask" Islay Single Malt Whisky (750ml)
Review Date: 04-19-2015
All the peat and power of Laphroaig, put into smaller barriques for extra richness and vanilla flavor.
Price: Hidden View Price
WA 91

Diplomatico Reserva Exclusiva Venezuelan Rum (750ml)
Review Date: 04-19-2015
A classic darker rum that offers richness and bold vanilla flavor, but without the sweetness and added caramel that many big brands offer. A true insider's rum if there ever was one.
Price: $34.99 Add To Cart

Nikka Yoichi 15 Year Japanese Single Malt Whisky (750ml)
Review Date: 04-19-2015
Nikka's northern distillery on the island of Hokkaido makes a slightly peated style of whisky; more along the line of Talisker, however, rather than Lagavulin. It's rounded and supple on the palate as well, making it one creamy, and slightly smokey delight.
Price: $299.99 Add To Waiting List
W&S 94 WE 94

Darroze Les Grand Assemblages "20 Year Old" Bas-Armagnac (750ml)
Review Date: 04-19-2015
The great Armagnac we carry at the moment. A marriage of 20 year old brandies from various properties, distilled by Marc Darroze, and packaged at one hot price. Bourbon drinkers might want to take note. This smokes Pappy 20 any day of the week.
Price: $99.99 Add To Cart

Bank Note Blended Scotch Whisky (1L)
Review Date: 04-19-2015
Still the best bang for you buck in the world of blended whisky. Still a ridiculous deal for $19.99
Price: $21.99 Add To Cart

Nikka 17 Year Old Taketsuru Pure Malt Japanese Whisky (750ml)
Review Date: 04-19-2015
Nikka 17 is the lightest and least heavy of the small portfolio the Japanese distillery has sent stateside. It's still packed with flavor, albeit more nuanced and less obvious than some of their other expressions. It's a concentrated palate of toasted almonds, soft vanilla, creme brulee, and sweet barley. One of the great whiskies of the world, let alone Japan.
Price: $249.99 Add To Waiting List

Westland Peated American Single Malt Whiskey (750ml)
Review Date: 04-02-2015
MAN, this is delicious. It's like an American version of Talisker or Springbank in terms of richness and oiliness, but it has its own fruity, malty character that helps it stand out from the pack. Soft stonefruit, creamy vanilla, earthy undertones, soft campfire smoke, rich malty sweetness on the finish. This stuff is already the total package. I can't wait to see what the future holds for Westland. By the end of 2015, they'll be the talk of the country.
Price: $69.99 Add To Cart

Westland Sherry Wood American Single Malt Whiskey (750ml)
Review Date: 04-02-2015
A stunning sherry expression that really redefines my entire perception of American single malt. This is incredible stuff, on the level of some of the younger Glendronach and Aberlour single whiskies from Scotland. Westland is already on another level that all other American single malt distilleries. Based on this incredible whiskey, I have to think it's only a few more years before they're completely dominant. Buy in now, while the gettin's good. That's my advice.
Price: $69.99 Add To Cart
WE 95

Bowmore 15 Year Old "Darkest" Sherry Cask Islay Single Malt Whisky (750ml)
Review Date: 03-31-2015
I think the 15 year is probably the most iconic of the standard Bowmore selections because of the extra sherry maturation. The richness really drives home that combination of sweet and peat that makes Bowmore what it is. Campfire smoke, phenolic elements, but ultimately a softer, more rounder mouthfeel. Lovely stuff.
Price: $69.99 Add To Cart
WE 95 WA 90

Nikka 21 Year Old Taketsuru Pure Malt Japanese Whisky (750ml)
Review Date: 03-17-2015
A marriage of 21 year old whiskies from both the Yoichi and Miyagikyo distilleries, the Pure Malt 21 is a stunning display of incredible balance, sweetness of barley, richness of malt, and depth of flavor. One of Japan's true treasures.
Price: $279.99 Add To Waiting List
Limit of 1 per customer

Glenmorangie "The Original" 10 Year Old Highland Single Malt Scotch Whisky (750ml)
Review Date: 03-17-2015
The best single malt deal there is--period.
Price: $32.99 Add To Cart
WA 93 WE 90

Lagavulin "Distiller's Edition" Islay Single Malt Scotch Whisky (750ml)
Review Date: 03-06-2015
The 2014 is the softest and most restrained version of this whisky I've yet tasted. The initial flavors are rounded sherry notes and toffee, but the finish is all classic Lagavulin filtered through a velvet glove. The peat comes through, the bright phenolic notes are clean and vibrant, but they never explode or overpower the balance of the whisky. It's perfectly graceful from beginning to end, which isn't usually an adjective I use to describe Lagavulin. It's incredibly refined. I'm tired of in-your-face whiskies. I want subtlety. This 2014 DE is exactly what I want.
Price: $109.99 Add To Cart

Page: << prev 2 3 4 5 next