Best Sellers New Arrivals Local Events Locations Gift Cards My Account Advanced Search

Reviewers


K&L Email Alerts

Sign up to receive custom alerts, new arrivals and the latest happenings from K&L Wines

Staff Favorites - David Driscoll

David Driscoll
David Driscoll  | Send Email  |   Subscribe to My Sommelier Service
David Driscoll likes to drink alcohol when he is not working at K&L. His main interests include wine, beer, and distilled spirits. Before he worked here he went to college at a decent school, got a masters degree from an OK school, worked as a waiter and taught elementary school in Chinatown. He decided to get into the wine business after reading a few books about wine and realizing that one cannot seriously learn about wine solely through reading. His career goals include: trying to convince K&L customers that he does know something despite his youthful appearance, and learning everything about everything about every single wine ever made.


Reviews

Page: prev 1 2 3
Bowmore 15 Year Old Sherry Cask Finish Islay Single Malt Whisky (750ml)
Review Date: 03-31-2015
I think the 15 year is probably the most iconic of the standard Bowmore selections because of the extra sherry maturation. The richness really drives home that combination of sweet and peat that makes Bowmore what it is. Campfire smoke, phenolic elements, but ultimately a softer, more rounder mouthfeel. Lovely stuff.
Price: $74.99 Add To Cart
WE 95 WA 90

Glenmorangie 10 Year Old "The Original" Highland Single Malt Scotch Whisky (750ml)
Review Date: 03-17-2015
The best single malt deal there is--period.
Price: $32.99 Add To Cart
WA 93 WE 90

St. George Green Chile Vodka (750ml)
Review Date: 03-03-2015
Love it. My Bloody Marys will never be the same. It smells like a big bowl of salsa and tastes like an explosion of Mexican cuisine. The applications are endless. It's basically gin made entirely with chiles.
Price: $24.99 Add To Cart

St. George All Purpose Vodka (750ml)
Review Date: 03-03-2015
Again, don't let the vodka moniker fool you: this isn't some BS, grain neutral throwaway. This is an art that Lance and Dave have perfected over at St. George. The all-purpose is actually made from a large proportion of pear distillate to give it a creamy and soft texture. They're not just trying to make a flavorless spirit. They're trying for ethereal beauty. And they've done it. The great vodka from the U.S. is now here.
Price: $24.99 Add To Cart

St. George California Citrus Vodka (750ml)
Review Date: 03-03-2015
While you may think of this as flavored vodka, this is really just orange gin. At least, as far as the process is concerned. Lance and Dave made this incredibly beautiful spirit through multiple macerations of separate varietals of orange, along with individual distillations. The amount of skill and blending is paramount to the finest of ginmakers. It's just that they didn't use juniper. Don't let the vodka moniker make you think this isn't something great. It is.
Price: $24.99 Add To Cart

Bruichladdich "Botanist" Gin (750ml)
Review Date: 02-19-2015
Fantastic gin from Bruichladdich distillery on the famous island of Islay. Potent and punchy flavor with an elegant mouthfeel. You can't go wrong.
Price: $34.99 Add To Cart

Eagle Rare 10 Year Old Kentucky Straight Bourbon Whiskey (750ml)
Review Date: 02-19-2015
10 year old Bourbon for a hot price. Buffalo Trace's classic whiskey is still a steal of a deal.
Price: $25.99 Add To Cart

Sazerac 90-Proof Kentucky Straight Rye Whiskey (750ml)
Review Date: 02-19-2015
The ultimate rye whiskey for the money. It doesn't get better.
Price: $29.99 Add To Cart
WE 93

Buffalo Trace Kentucky Straight Bourbon Whiskey (750ml)
Review Date: 02-19-2015
Still one of the best bang for your buck spirits of any kind on the market. Serious Bourbon that gets overlooked in the face of Pappy, even though this is the distillery's flagship product. There's a reason the distillery is called Buffalo Trace. This is the workhorse.
Price: $21.99 Add To Cart
WE 92

2011 Cos d'Estournel, St-Estèphe
Review Date: 01-15-2015
Off vintages? Cos d'Estournel doesn't have off vintages. That's why their 2011 (an "off vintage") is still loaded with soft, succulent fruit, an earthy core of integrated goodness, and pretty notes of flowers and spice on the finish. The price is right as well. A good Cos vintage to invest in considering the lower bottle cost and the outstanding quality here.

Compass Box Great King Street "Glasgow Blend" Scotch Whisky (750ml)
Review Date: 11-11-2014
It's not often we get new, limited releases that are both plentiful, affordable, and this tasty. Imagine the regular Great King Street, but richer, fuller, and with a healthy dollop of peat smoke. That's all there really is to know! Just a super tasty, well-formulated blend from our buddy John Glaser.
Price: $34.99 Add To Cart

Singani "63" Bolivian Muscat Brandy (750ml)
Review Date: 09-15-2014
The is the do-it-all spirit for your liquor cabinet (and you don't even know what it is!). Fruity, floral, and clean, this can be substituted into a number of different cocktails in place of tequila, vodka, gin, and rum. I've made Singani Daiquiris, Singani Margaritas, Singani Negronis, Bloody Maries, Singani and Tonic, Singani Sangria--they're all fantastic. Bolivia's finest export may indeed be Singani. Now you just need to queue up "Che" on Netflix-instant, imagine you're Soderbergh drinking Singani on the set, and drink until your heart's content.
Price: $29.99 Add To Cart

2001 Malescasse, Haut-Médoc
Review Date: 06-08-2014
If you like traditional, earthy, savory Bordeaux that won't cost you an arm and a leg, then this is the bottle for you--and it's a damn good one. If you want the fruit and the oak, then maybe try something younger. This is classic claret for a hot price, with a soft, integrated core of tannins that spreads out nicely over the palate.
Price: $20.99 Add To Cart

Lot 40 Single Copper Pot Still Canadian Rye Whisky (750ml)
Review Date: 01-15-2014
Like other "American" rye whiskies, such as Whistle Pig, Masterson's, and Jefferson's, the Lot 40 showcases more of that great Canadian-distilled rye whiskey backstock. I was blown away by this whisky when I tasted it. Then I read Davin de Kergommeaux's amazing review and learned about the story behind the brand. This has been one of the most talked about whiskies by Canadian and European collectors for years. For the entire back story, check out Davin's post here: http://www.canadianwhisky.org/reviews/lot-no-40-2012-release-43-alcvol.html
Price: $31.99 Add To Cart
WE 97

Rey Fernando de Castilla Amontillado Jerez
Review Date: 09-19-2013
This is a crazy complex sherry full of candied caramel, nutty almondy flavors, and a rich, deep, long-lasting finish. Super good.
Price: $29.99 Add To Cart
WS 90

Taittinger "La Française" Brut Champagne
Review Date: 09-19-2013
I was quite taken aback by the quality of wine in this major brand-labeled bottle. The Taittinger "La Francaise" is a wonderful combination of leesy richness with firm acidity, that glides effortlessly over the palate, hitting all the right notes. The finish is full of citrus and rich, bready flavors. It tastes like it should cost twice as much. It tastes way better than 2003 Dom, which does cost twice as much.
Price: $44.99 Add To Cart
RP 91 WS 90

Nikka Coffey Still Japanese Grain Whisky (750ml)
Review Date: 09-11-2013
I am a BIG fan of grain whisky, but I'm always sure to express to customers that it's not for everyone. Grain whisky is much less supple, much less round and rich, and more spicy and herbaceous. In a Scotch and Soda, it's unbeatable. I absolutely LOVE the new Nikka Coffey Still grain whisky in a cocktail. I killed a third of the bottle the first night I opened it. It goes down way too easily. The vanilla notes are rich on the entry, but the finish is more intense. Give it a whirl and see what you think.
Price: $54.99 Add To Cart
WA 92 WE 90

Canard-Duchêne "Authentic" Brut Champagne
Review Date: 03-12-2013
This is fabulous bubbly for a great price. The richness and nuttiness of this wine make it easily accessible to the newcomer, but the bready, mineral notes offer the expert some nuance and depth. I'm a big fan - especially for the price!
Price: $29.99 Add To Cart

North Shore No. 11 Gin (750ml)
Review Date: 07-29-2009
This is the best gin I have yet tasted and I loooooove gin. Need I say more?
Price: $31.99 Add To Cart
WE 90

Ariston Aspasie Brut Rosé Champagne
Review Date: 07-13-2009
This wine is always our answer to the Billecart Salmon, which by the way sells for more than twice as much. This is all about the red Ariston fruit and their champagnes are permanent staff picks. Cherry notes from the pinot noir, crisp and vibrant acidity and brioche flavors swirl together with delicate bubbles. Anyone care for some?
Price: $34.99 Add To Cart

Arette Artesanal Blanco Suave Tequila (750ml)
Review Date: 07-01-2009
I've said it before, and I'll say it again, and, now that I'm the spirits buyer, maybe my opinion will hold more weight: Arette makes the best tequila that we carry! The blanco is so elegant and ripe with pure agave flowers, unfettered from any contact with an oak barrel. There are some purists who believe that blanco is the only real tequila, and to them I say, the Arette blanco is tequila in its truest form.
Price: $42.99 Add To Cart
WE 90

Luxardo Maraschino Liqueur (750ml)
Review Date: 07-01-2009
I've heard from a few bartenders that the sign of a quality bar is a bottle of Luxardo sitting on the shelf behind it. It is considered a signal that the bartenders there are committed to using quality ingredients in their libations. It is the only maraschino liqueur that you should ever use and is the ultimate addition to a plate of fresh fruit.
Price: $29.99 Add To Cart
WE 90 - 95

2004 Ferrero Brunello di Montalcino
Review Date: 06-28-2009
Note: this wine should not be opened anytime within the next few years! Everything that I expected from my first taste of the super-hyped '04 vintage. Plenty of structure, acidity, and just a tease of the coffee flavors and dark chocolate accents that make great Brunello what it is. Big, powerful, and enticing. Just wait.....
Price: $49.99 Add To Cart
WS 91

Los Danzantes "Los Nahuales" Reposado Mezcal (750ml) [Cannot ship]
Review Date: 05-31-2009
So, so smooth and oh-so-smoky. Mezcal has a distinct flavor profile that clearly separates it from tequila, and this bottle highlights those differences. The barrel aging imparts the richness and the vanilla notes, but the smoky, mineral character dominates and lingers long on the finish. I opened this bottle with a group of native Mexicans y tuvimos una fiesta! This is quality mezcal that puts low-grade tequila to shame.
Price: $62.99 Add To Cart

Rittenhouse Bottled in Bond 100 Proof Rye Whiskey (750ml)
Review Date: 05-26-2009
This is my whiskey of choice when making a Manhattan. The Rittenhouse is spicy, bold, rich, inexpensive, and delicious. I like a kick with my cocktails and I hate to mix expensive booze. I could sip the Rittenhouse, but at 100 proof, it's perfect over ice, or with sweet vermouth and a maraschino cherry.
Price: $23.99 Add To Cart
WE 95

Marolo "Milla" Chamomile Liqueur (375ml)
Review Date: 05-20-2009
I was soooooooooooooo skeptical when our Italian expert Mike Parres told me to buy a bottle of this delicious grappa. "Camomile in my grappa? Come on!" I said to him. However, this stuff is exquisite. It's thick, coating, and heavenly with pure notes of fresh camomile gently blended into the more subtle grappa flavors. If you love grappa, you'll love this. If you hate grappa, you'll still love this.
Price: $27.99 Add To Cart

Barbolini "Lancillotto" Lambrusco Grasparossa di Castelvetro
Review Date: 04-20-2009
This is sparkling wine with acidity and tannin! A combination of refreshing bubbles with that classic robust and earthy Italian style. Bone dry and not overtly fruity, this wine is as interesting as it is delicious. Made entirely of Grasparossa from Emilia-Romagna, and it's a dynamite match for almost anything from pizza to pasta and beyond.
Price: $15.99 Add To Cart

Clear Creek Eau de Vie Pomme 8 Year Old Apple Brandy (375ml)
Review Date: 03-18-2009
I'm not sure if anyone else read Mr. McCarthy's article in the New York Times about making Eau De Vie spirits, but I was fascinated by the process of how he captured the essence of the Douglas Fir tree in a bottle. This Pomme apple brandy, essentially an American Calvados, is absolutely outstanding and would make the perfect after dinner drink for almost any fine meal. Rich barrel flavors combine with can only be described as the soul of an apple to create a robust, yet smooth drinking spirit. My hat is off to Clear Creek.
Price: $26.99 Add To Cart
WE 96 - 100

Arette Artesanal Reposado Suave Tequila (750ml)
Review Date: 01-24-2009
I finally ponied up for the Arette Reposado the other night, after promising myself I would buy it eventually. I opened it for the staff before bringing it home, and everyone literally ooohed and ahhhed just smelling the nose in the glass. The aromas of pure blue agave are intoxicating. The delicacy and grace of the tequila as it slowly coats your mouth is even more impressive. By far the best tequila I have ever tasted; and I've had my share. Arette is known for being a hands-on, old-school distiller as well, so their reputation for quality craftsmanship lives up to the hype. I couldn't recommend it strongly enough.
Price: $44.99 Add To Cart

Four Roses Yellow Label Kentucky Bourbon (750ml)
Review Date: 10-22-2008
So smooth you won't think it's bourbon. Honestly, the distiller himself said he has problems selling it sometimes because people don't think it's bourbon, but I can vouch for him. It's bourbon alright, and it's divine. Your friends will be asking where you got it.
Price: $15.99 Add To Cart
WE 93

High West Rendezvous Rye Whiskey (750ml)
Review Date: 08-12-2008
Who said we had to review just wine? I just remembered that I love whiskey! This High West bottling is a superb blend of two casks that the producer found in the basement of another distiller; a 6 year old and a 16 year old. The flavors are semisweet and caramel-based, but the finish is pure rye. I have to be careful when I pull this bottle out because I might get a little greedy. Then I wouldn't be able to remember how it tasted!
Price: $54.99 Add To Cart
WE 96 WA 95

Franck Bonville "Prestige" Brut Blanc de Blancs Champagne
Review Date: 07-14-2008
This was the first champagne I tasted when I started working at K&L and it is still my favorite, when talking bang for your buck. This blanc de blanc will grab anyone's attention with its grace and its beauty. So elegant a palate for so little a price.
Price: $44.99 Add To Cart
WS 92

Page: prev 1 2 3